Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.59mi
  4. Distance: 0.67mi
  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.59mi
  4. Distance: 0.67mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.59mi
  4. Distance: 0.67mi
  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.59mi
  4. Distance: 0.67mi

About Le Fou Frog

An eclectic French bistro tucked away in historic river city market area in downtown Kansas City is a local favorite serving 4 star traditional & contemporary food in a fun filled atmosphere. Chef/proprietor Mano Rafael works with seasonal ingredients to create an ever-changing chalkboard menu. The vast menu selections & wine list offer many choices for varying tastes & budgets. Check out La Fou Frog's reviews from Kansas City Star, Pitch Weekly, KC Magazine, Ingram's Magazine, the New York Times, Bon Appetit, Zagat & chowhound.com!

400 East 5th Street
Kansas City, MO 64106
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French, Contemporary French / American, European

Hours of Operation:
Dinner:
Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Happy Hour: Tuesday through Friday 4:30-6:30

Cross Street:
Oak Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 474-6060

Website:
http://www.lefoufrog.com/

Catering:
Please call for details.

Parking Details:
Pull parking adjacent to Le Fou Frog.

Public Transit:
Max - 5th & Grand

Executive Chef:
Mano Rafael

Private Party Facilities:
Le Fou Frog offers private dining on the patio, weather permitting, & semi-private dining in the restaurant. Restaurant buy-outs may be available on select nights, some restrictions apply.

Private Party Contact:
Barbara Rafael: (816) 474-6060

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Le Fou Frog Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (58)
Romantic (55)
Good for Anniversaries (50)
See All
Good for a Date (47)
Authentic (43)
Cozy (42)
Fit for Foodies (40)
Creative Cuisine (37)
Neighborhood Gem (37)
Worth the Drive (34)
Notable Wine List (34)
Good for Birthdays (30)
Fun (25)
Quiet Conversation (21)
Pre/post Theatre (17)
Casual (14)
Great for Outdoor Dining (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Bar Seating (11)
Happy Hour (11)
Local Ingredients (11)
People Watching (10)
Tasting Menu (8)
Hot Spot (7)
Business Meals (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Seasonal (5)
Good for Groups (4)
Live Music (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Historic (4)
Healthy (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Dancing (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Scenic View (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
2318 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 3 days ago

We recently moved to KC and this place was recommended to us by a few people. Granted, we have eaten at some great restaurants around the country, but it surprises me that this place has consistently been rated one of the best places in town to get a special meal! We did not feel special during our experience, at times perhaps forgotten about. The food was subpar at best. I had a piece of shell in one of my oysters, and the entrees were just meh. The menu was not very French either. At the end, they suddenly remembered it was our anniversary and brought out a cold creme brûlée. Then they tried to charge us for a salad that they forgot to bring us. Overall, it was a thoroughly underwhelming experience and I doubt that we will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 3 days ago

I always love visiting this funky, authentic, and lovely little gem in the KC river market area. Don't expect a sterile, predictable dinning occasion, but rather, embrace a one of a kind venue with abundant character

Tags: Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Susan was wonderful as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Bastille Day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Bastille Day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Had a great time but had to wait 45 minutes to be seated with a reservation. People who had 8 pm reservations were seated prior to us.

Tags: Fun, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 14, 2017

We visited Le Fou Frog for our wedding anniversary which happens to be Bastille Day. It was fantastic! The staff danced around and were hilarious. Everyone had a huge smile on their face and you could tell were having a ton of fun. I genuinely feel that they all really enjoy their jobs and the food was INCREDIBLE. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Our favorite spot . Food is always wonderful food and merriment.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Very pleased with cocktails- they had some unique yummy choices. The appetizers sounded amazing-we had three & unfortunately they fell short of our expectations/hopes. The main course Mediterranean Sea bass was incredible! Truly awesome. The desserts were good not great. The service was Exellent! I wish I could remember the name of our waitress- she really worked hard to please us :-) everyone that worked there was warm & friendly, especially the hostess.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 5, 2017

We spent a delightful evening outside on the patio. Shabby chic would describe the dining area. There were not many people dining outside so it was relatively quiet. Our server was great! Very conversational, knew the menu very well and was able to recommend us a delicious rose wine.
Portion sizes were perfect. My only disappointment was the tart tartine. I was expecting a dessert with deeply caramelized, sliced apple with a light pastry underneath. What I was served was a mush of apple on top of what I think was a crisp, cookie like pastry. It was tasty and the ice cream was divine! but not what I was expecting. We would come back in a heart beat.
Thank you

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Me and my husband celebrated our 16th anniversary here, and it was an amazing experience! Everything was great from the food, to the service! We will definitely be back!

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Pricey but worth it because of the excellent food and service. Very relaxing and enjoyable evening. We will definitely go again!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Wonderful food , excellent service always enjoy going there and found it by accident.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Cozy, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 29, 2017

The place to go for food prepared with flavor and special care. The service is always outstanding. One of my favorites around the world.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Romantic, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 28, 2017

It hurts me to write this but, has Le Fou Fou run its course? It felt dark & dated but darkness is its thing so that was fine. Our waiter, Jean Paul, was delightful and the cocktails and wine that he recommended were perfect. It was the food that was so disappointing.
We started with the Baked Brie which all four of us agreed had very little Brie & was mostly breading or fry coating. There was nothing to spread. You just cut it in to pieces but no cheese oozed out on to the plate.
I had the mussels app for my meal and, unfortunately, I had to send them back. They tasted fishy and were mushy. (Both of which left a bad taste in my mouth.) Everything else (including the soft shell crab), was so soaked in butter and sauce that it was hard to taste the food itself. (The cod was the best thing we ordered that night.)
This was my first time at Fou Frog and I had been assured by the friends I was with (regulars) that this was one of the best restaurants in town, and not one of those "typically" heavy & & cream sauce laden French restaurants.
Unfortunately, the 3 regulars and I, will not be returning again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Astounding meal, as always. We must get to Le Fou Frog more often!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 27, 2017

I took a friend of mine here to celebrate her birthday & every thing was very good, as always. Her coquilles st. Jacque was great, as was my pork saltimboca (very different). Our chocolate raspberry martinis were grest!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 24, 2017

It doesn't feel like your in KC when you dine here. This is the kind of place you would find in NYC

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Wonderful, innovative food! Huge variety of seafood.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fun, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 23, 2017

This place was so good I can't quit thinking about it. Service was impeccable and the food and drinks were delish! I love their champagne! I will definitely go back for more.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Everything excellent except the restroom I used. While the sink and toilet were clean, the floor and the woodwork, etc. were dirty. The room needs a top to bottom cleaning immediately! It makes you wonder about the kitchen.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 20, 2017

One of our favorite restaurants. Food top-notch as always.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 18, 2017

A favorite for that special occasion or date night.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 17, 2017

We absolutely love Le Fou Frog and visit here anytime we come into town for a visit. The atmosphere, service and food are consistently wonderful! Highly recommend!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Outstanding food and excellent service are standard. We have been here many times and it never fails to make our evening very enjoyable. Thank you.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Magnificent first time here. The food was impeccable and our waiter was delightful. So many wonderful things to choose from on the specials menu it was so hard to decide! I'm not usually a big seafood fan but the sea bass was perfect! The best creme brulee I've had outside of Paris.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 13, 2017

This place was remarkable. Great wine, fantastic food, and very knowledgeable staff. We had a great candle lit dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 10, 2017

We've been coming to Le Fou for almost 20 years. Love everything about it! It's our Paris fix once a year 😊

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Everything was superb. We took our friend from the San Francisco Bay Area (where there is no shortage of good restaurants) and she was really impressed. We always feel like we are in Paris when we visit and the food as always was wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Food well prepared. Strong fish smell but you get used to it. Food overall was okay but not wow. Also very hot in the room. Wouldn't go back but fine experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 30, 2017

Great evening, wonderful staff,

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 28, 2017

This is absolutely one of my favorite places. Not only is the food food delicious, the staff is wonderful- very polite, fun, on top of everything. They make us feel as if we are the most important people there.
Thank you Monica Rodriquez

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Live Music, Business Meals, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Late-night Find, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 27, 2017

My new favorite restaurant in KC! The food is amazing and the service was unbeatable!!!

Tags: Cozy, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Cashed in a wedding gift card and had an absolutely wonderful dinner with a very attentive waitress-without being 'pushy' or hovering. The pork saltimbocca and lamb rib crown were superb, as were the salad and sides. Truffle bit rolled in cocoa powder a perfect finish!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 25, 2017

We were first timers here, and loved the whole experience. The place exudes French atmosphere, except friendlier! We were greeted with enthusiasm and warmth. Authentic food was wonderfully prepared, and plated with imagination. Loved the Homard vanille, and the Sea bass with goat cheese sauce was to die for. Our waiter was very fun and had a great French accent. The cocktail menu is full of good choices, so we will be back for happy hour!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Fun, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Great food, excellent service! Love this place! If you haven't been here and you like French food, and a bit of old world charm, GO! Staff is usually energetic and fun!

Tags: Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Wonderful meal and wonderful evening. We all ordered off the special chalkboard and everything was excellent. I enjoyed my soft shell crab and he even tasted good the next day! Waitstaff was very friendly. Can be a bit expensive, especially if you over order! I also enjoy their happy hour.

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Romantic, Healthy, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 23, 2017

The service was nothing short of perfect. Our waiter was delightful, friendly, and just plain fun. He never let us go too long with an empty table, but he also didn't hover. His timing was flawless. And then the food was also perfect. Everything was cooked just right, all the meat cooked completely but still juicy and moist. The seasoning was spot-on as well, and everything tasted delicious. For desert, we had the best chocolate mousse I've ever had and a tarte tatin that beats any apple pie I've come across. I very highly recommend La Fou Frog!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Authentic, Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 20, 2017

From the moment we entered Le Fou Frog we were treated with the best attitudes from the hostess, to the bartender, to the server. Everyone we encountered were more than helpful and accommodating. The tuna tartar, and the ribeye, both were outstanding. The ribeye the largest I'd ever seen and would have been enough for the both of us. We had a great 15th anniversary and enjoyed every moment.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Every night at the Frog is perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.