About Le Fou Frog

400 East 5th Street
Kansas City, MO 64106
View Larger Map

An eclectic French bistro tucked away in historic river city market area in downtown Kansas City is a local favorite serving 4 star traditional & contemporary food in a fun filled atmosphere. Chef/proprietor Mano Rafael works with seasonal ingredients to create an ever-changing chalkboard menu. The vast menu selections & wine list offer many choices for varying tastes & budgets. Check out La Fou Frog's reviews from Kansas City Star, Pitch Weekly, KC Magazine, Ingram's Magazine, the New York Times, Bon Appetit, Zagat & chowhound.com!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French, Contemporary French / American, European

Hours of Operation:
Dinner:
Tuesday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Happy Hour: Tuesday through Friday 4:30-6:30

Cross Street:
Oak Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 474-6060

Website:
http://www.lefoufrog.com/

Catering:
Please call for details.

Parking Details:
Pull parking adjacent to Le Fou Frog.

Public Transit:
Max - 5th & Grand

Executive Chef:
Mano Rafael

Private Party Facilities:
Le Fou Frog offers private dining on the patio, weather permitting, & semi-private dining in the restaurant. Restaurant buy-outs may be available on select nights, some restrictions apply.

Private Party Contact:
Barbara Rafael: 816-474-6060x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Lambrack
Couscous
Dessert
Escargot in Puff Pastry
Duck Prosciutto Salad
Absinthe
Chocolate Mousse
Skate Wing
Champagne
Quail
20 Yr Tawny Port
Heritage Cote Du Rhône
Wishbone
Sea bass
Cassoulet
Morel Mushrooms
Short Ribs
Amuse Bouche
Mussels in White Wine Sauce
Escargots
Mussels Marinière
Orwell Cove Oysters (Allegedly)
Mussels In Spicy Tomato And Dry Vermouth Sauce
Chilean Sea Bass
Salmon
Kangaroo Loin
Oysters
Red Snapper
L'Amuse-bouche
Tuna Tartare
Creme Brulee
Elk Loin With Chocolate Sauce
Lobster Tails In A Sherry Sauce
Chocolate Mousse with Raspberry Coulis
Mussels
Lamb Carpaccio
Cheese Plate
Lamb Duo
tarte tatin
Seared Kangaroo Loin
Escargot
Moules
Scallops
Foie Gras
Branzino Fish
Soft Shell Crab
Anchovy Salad
Wagyu Filet With Foie Gras
Burnt Napkin
Wagyu Beef Short Rib
Eggplant And Sundried Tomato Amuse Bouche
Bone Marrow
Profiteroles
Roasted Beet Salad
Octopus Salad
Rabbit Stew
Kangaroo Loin With Sweet And Savory Spices
Fois gras
Dover Sole
Polenta Cake W/ Red Pepper Coulis Amuse Bouche
Lobster Tails With A Sauce Of Madagascar Vanilla Bean Pureed With Champagne
Avacado And Goat Cheese Mousse
Kangaroo
frog legs
Gambas Amoricaine
Pear Tart With Cranberry Ice Cresm
Lamb Shank

Le Fou Frog Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Kansas City
Best Overall
Kansas City, MO
Best Food
Kansas City, MO
4 More
Best Service
Kansas City, MO
Fit for Foodies
Kansas City, MO
Notable Wine List
Kansas City, MO
Romantic
Kansas City, MO
Best Restaurants in Downtown / River Market ›

special occasion (112)
fit for foodies (101)
romantic (81)
See All
neighborhood gem (67)
notable wine list (59)
great for outdoor dining (30)
good for groups (17)
hot spot (13)
late-night find (12)
vibrant bar scene (11)
kid-friendly (3)
scenic view (1)
great for brunch (1)
great for lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1921 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent food and really cordial wait s ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent food and really cordial wait staff! Out doors would be great, if it were not so hot...its a darling patio, but nobody could sit out there. Inside is eclectic, a bit close for me. But if you want a dining experience that's really different and superb food, this is the place.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Rude. Mediocre food. Rude. !!!!!!!!!!!!! ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined 6 days ago

Rude. Mediocre food. Rude. !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

For us, the restaurant was pretty differ ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined 6 days ago

For us, the restaurant was pretty different. We live in Olathe with our two young boys. Even though it's been in KC for 20 years, it was new for us. It was a small adventure, great dining experience, and a little different, but not out of our comfort zone. It was just right!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Interesting menu but the food just didn' ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 6 days ago

Interesting menu but the food just didn't measure up to expectations. It's a small cozy restaurant, perhaps trying too hard and it shows in the food and the prices. I don't mind the prices if the food measures up to it, but it just doesn't.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

I was disappointed that the MC didn't sh ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

I was disappointed that the MC didn't show up for the Bastille Day event on Saturday but these things happen. The food was excellent as always, the staff friendly as always. I haven't had brunch or lunch at Le Fou Frog so can't comment on it. I'm sure it's wonderful.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Everything is alway excellent at Le Fou ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Everything is alway excellent at Le Fou Frog!! This occasion was Bastille Day and the staff was in costume and put on quite a great, musical show! As well as achieving the usual excellent level of food and service!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our second time at Le Fou Frog' ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

This was our second time at Le Fou Frog's Bastille Day celebration. A highlight of my year. Love the owners, staff and food. The songs and silly costumes add a je ne sais quoi to the experience. If not France exactly, I always feel like I'm on vacation. XO

Tags: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Bastile Day added festive note, fun ente ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Bastile Day added festive note, fun entertainment by staff.

The food was superb, as always. True French style, and great ingredients. Le Fou Frog always is a treat!

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

It's great for any occasion, but we were ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

It's great for any occasion, but we were celebrating Bastille day.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Once again Le Fou Frog meets expectation ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Once again Le Fou Frog meets expectations. Filet Le Fou is magnificent. If you aren't a fan of asparagus and don't want the starchy potatoes, they will likely sub the sides...if the kitchen isn't too busy.

Favorite spot to sit is actually at a table in the Bar.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The best meal I have had in KC and I hav ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

The best meal I have had in KC and I have lived here since 1973. Karli said the same thing. Outstanding food. My wife and I celebrated our 12yr. anniversary and it was the greatest!

Michelle was our server, the best server we have ever had, anywhere!

I was surprised by the bill, I expected it to be at least 30% higher, So we shared our good fortune with our server.

Bob & Karli

Smithville, MO

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is one of our go-to favorites - esp ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

This is one of our go-to favorites - especially for a special occasion. The food is always outstanding. Ashley (our server) does a terrific job. We love the atmosphere, food, service, etc. Thanks for another great evening!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First rate from our cheese app to our wi ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

First rate from our cheese app to our wine, dinner, service, atmosphere, all our top notch. You wont be disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was a wonderful dinner experience. Ev ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

It was a wonderful dinner experience. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. My wife and I both had seafood. The lobster and sea bass were amazing!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We not usually adventurous, but wanted ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

We not usually adventurous, but wanted to try something different for our anniversary. The waitress was very helpful explaining what items were popular, what the item included, and gave her own recommendations upon our request. We liked everything we tried and will be back again!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All ages would be welcome at this venue ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

All ages would be welcome at this venue but it's pricey. My husband and I went for our anniversary and had a wonderful time. We will definitely be returning.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food and atmosphere were spectacular ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The food and atmosphere were spectacular! After a wonderful meal, we had the best cheesecake we've ever had. We will definitely go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have not been there for years, but we do ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Have not been there for years, but we don't intend to wait long before we go back. Four of us had wine, salad or soup, entrees, and shared a dessert. We spent most of our dinner time raving about our food. Everyone shared bites and loved their dinner. Service was upbeat and appreciably languid, making for a relaxed experience. We left planning our next evening there.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

A neighborhood gem! Quaint, romantic, an ...

 
 (Pinehurst)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

A neighborhood gem! Quaint, romantic, and great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Outstanding service, superb lamb and hal ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Outstanding service, superb lamb and halibut. Wonderful celebration of our anniversary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall our experience was very good. On ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Overall our experience was very good. One exception was the New England clam chowder. Way to much garlic. Should have been advertised as garlic soup

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I loved La Fou Frog, although it is not ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

I loved La Fou Frog, although it is not easy on the wallet.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

The whole Dining experience was so great ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

The whole Dining experience was so great that I hesitate recommending this place to my friends because they all will come and would want to dine at Fou Frog all the time and take my opportunity to do the same away from me!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was some of the best I've ever ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The food was some of the best I've ever had. The server was very knowledgeable and helpful. The only puzzling thing was the presentation of my plate of fish was very lacking but that's really not a big deal. It tasted wonderful.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Exceptional meal! Could not have been ha ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Exceptional meal! Could not have been happier. Wines were great, the food very creatively prepared and the atmosphere was amazing.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

While traveling for work the week of 6/2 ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

While traveling for work the week of 6/20/16. Le Fou Frog was recommended to me by my bar tender Renee at Gram & Dun. She spoke very highly of this place. I was not disappointed. The intimate atmosphere was great! My fish soup and red snapper dinner were flavorful and the seasonal Rose wine was a bright complement to my meal. My server was informative and friendly and knew of other places to go around town. If you are into well appointed french cuisine then this is the place for you.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

I'm from out of town and this was my sec ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

I'm from out of town and this was my second visit to Le Fou Frog. As with my first visit to years ago, everything was top notch. The food was perfectly prepared and served with friendly graciousness. I recommend this restaurant to anyone looking for great food in an elegant but informal atmosphere in the Kansas City area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife, daughter, and I celebrated Fath ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

My wife, daughter, and I celebrated Father's Day at Le Fou Frog, one of our favorite restaurants. As usual, the food and service were excellent. I started with tuna tartare, had the stuffed branzino for the entre, and finished with crème brule. Delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful service and incredible food!

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Wonderful service and incredible food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was great! I do think that the rest ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Food was great! I do think that the restaurant was over staffed, even though it was full. We couldn't get through 1 full minute of our meal without someone stopping by to try to refill our waters, ask how our food was, whether we needed something, or even trying to clear our plates while we're still eating off of them. Our server stood incredibly close, went into so much detail about describing our meal - I thought she was going to put her hand directly into my plate (she almost did). It was honestly slightly stressful. I did not go to the restaurant to have dinner with the staff :) They clearly just want to do a good job, can't fault them for that, but easing off a bit to let people enjoy their meal would be greatly appreciated! Next time, I'll request a table outside on the patio - seemed to be a bit more relaxed out there.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

The food was excellent , especially the ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

The food was excellent , especially the osso buco recommendation by our server Tracy. Service and ambiance great and what we've come to expect from this gem in the neighborhood. It's by no means cheap but you get incredible value in what you pay for!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Le Fou Frog is our special splurge dinne ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Le Fou Frog is our special splurge dinner when we are in Kansas City each year for the AP reading. The food is exquisite and as soon as we finish dinner we talk about our next visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Charming French restaurant. Don't let t ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Charming French restaurant. Don't let the outside of the restaurant fool you. Great place for special occasions. Food and server were both wonderful. Will be back next time I am in Kansas City.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Meal was fine, but nothing special. To ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Meal was fine, but nothing special. Too expensive for just fine.

We frequent other french restaurants that serve much more flavorful food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

I had an excellent first experience at t ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

I had an excellent first experience at the Frog! Michelle was our server and she did a fantastic job. All of the food was great and the cocktails were pretty decent. Will definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Ask for Jean Pierre. Foie gras is fabulo ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Ask for Jean Pierre. Foie gras is fabulous!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely one of the best restaurants i ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Absolutely one of the best restaurants in KC. Impeccable service, staff is very accommodating, helpful and pleasant. One of our favorites.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

What wonderful food with excellent servi ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

What wonderful food with excellent service - truly a memorable night and meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always Great

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

I've had the pleasure of dining here a number of times. The servers are efficient and knowledgable. The food never disappoints. Atmosphere is completely unpretentious. Every time I dine here, I find myself saying: "That was a great decision."

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best service, delicious food

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

We came here to celebrate an anniversary and everything was fantastic! Our server was wonderful, food on point, and wine recs were perfect. We will definitely return!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.