About Le Fou Frog

400 East 5th Street
Kansas City, MO 64106
View Larger Map

An eclectic French bistro tucked away in historic river city market area in downtown Kansas City is a local favorite serving 4 star traditional & contemporary food in a fun filled atmosphere. Chef/proprietor Mano Rafael works with seasonal ingredients to create an ever-changing chalkboard menu. The vast menu selections & wine list offer many choices for varying tastes & budgets. Check out La Fou Frog's reviews from Kansas City Star, Pitch Weekly, KC Magazine, Ingram's Magazine, the New York Times, Bon Appetit, Zagat & chowhound.com!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French, Contemporary French / American, European

Hours of Operation:
Dinner:
Tuesday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Happy Hour: Tuesday through Friday 4:30-6:30

Cross Street:
Oak Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 474-6060

Website:
http://www.lefoufrog.com/

Catering:
Please call for details.

Parking Details:
Pull parking adjacent to Le Fou Frog.

Public Transit:
Max - 5th & Grand

Executive Chef:
Mano Rafael

Private Party Facilities:
Le Fou Frog offers private dining on the patio, weather permitting, & semi-private dining in the restaurant. Restaurant buy-outs may be available on select nights, some restrictions apply.

Private Party Contact:
Barbara Rafael: 816-474-6060x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Le Fou Frog Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Kansas City
Fit for Foodies
Kansas City
Best Overall
Kansas City, MO
5 More
Best Food
Kansas City, MO
Best Service
Kansas City, MO
Fit for Foodies
Kansas City, MO
Romantic
Kansas City, MO
Special Occasion
Kansas City, MO
Best Restaurants in Downtown / River Market ›

special occasion (114)
fit for foodies (104)
romantic (97)
See All
neighborhood gem (67)
notable wine list (57)
great for outdoor dining (20)
hot spot (18)
good for groups (16)
late-night find (13)
vibrant bar scene (13)
kid-friendly (2)
great for lunch (2)
scenic view (1)
great for brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1876 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a special experience

Dined 6 days ago

My husband and I like to come here for our anniversary dinner. They have a wonderful wine list, which includes good choices of champagne. Most restaurants are limited in this area, which is disappointing for those of us seeking something bubbly. The food is always good with choices not found elsewhere, and the atmosphere is cozy and intimate. We have never eaten on the patio, but it is a nice space.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Went to Le Fou Frog for the first time l ...

Dined 7 days ago

Went to Le Fou Frog for the first time last weekend to celebrate our 38th anniversary. The food was outstanding, and the service was stellar. Sarah was wonderful and very helpful with making menu selections and catering to our likes. She sings later in the evening, and we will have to go at a later hour next time to hear her and cheer her on. Despite my husband's reluctance to try new restaurants, I think we now have a new favorite for special occasions.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Let Fou Frog - excellent

Dined on May 20, 2016

Great place. Super service. And our waitress was a peach. Great food, too.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Seared foi gras, calamari Caesar salad, ...

vip
Dined on May 16, 2016

Seared foi gras, calamari Caesar salad, wagyu beef and sea bass were phenomenal. I can't wait to go back and try everything else on the menu! Our waitress was outstanding, she really understands how she elevates the dining experience . The restaurant is a quiet quaint place with a homey feel that adds soul to the meal. Great place I can't say enough about it all around !

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food is amazing and isn't that why y ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

The food is amazing and isn't that why you go to a restaurant? The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. We had to eat in the bar because our reserved table sat there forever, but they treated us right for our wait. The seafood Gnocchi and Escargot are superb. Make sure if you go, you try something different!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service1

This restaurant has always been a favori ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

This restaurant has always been a favorite of mine in Kansas City having dined there many over the years. Tonight's service was horrendous. The food, while good, did not meet my expectations of great. A huge disappointment on a special occasion. I'll think twice before going back again.

food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Good value for the quality of food. Ser ...

vip
Dined on May 12, 2016

Good value for the quality of food. Service was good as well. Did not feel rushed. Waitstaff had good knowledge of menu and provided accurate description of the dishes. Not very expensive considering the wuality of food you get. Loved the Frog Legs. TheRack of Lamb was perfectly cooked, and almost too large of a serving, but was very much appreciated.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

Dessert was substandard and not up to par.

Dined on May 12, 2016

OUR WAITRESS WAS EXCELLENT..s.HE WAS VERY ATTENTIVE AND COMPLIED TO OUR REQUEST.

Tags: fit for foodies
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

great meal and wpnderful service and we ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

great meal and wpnderful service and we enjoyed our meals very much

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Charming Amazing Unique Restaurant

Dined on May 9, 2016

Le Fou Frog is a Wonderful Unique Restaurant... Decoration Is Pretty and a Unique... Tables are set up Perfectly to have enough room between table and table to enjoy a nice conversation.... Ambiance is Tranquil, Enjoyable and Nice... Food is Very Tasty and Inventive. Portions are a Moderately served. They use High Quality Ingredients and Cook their Dishes to Perfection.... Staff is Outrageously Corteous and Friendly; they Excell at their job.... An overall Magnificent Experience...

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our anniversary venue

Dined on May 8, 2016

For the past fifteen years we've been going to LFF for our anniversary outing. We've never been disappointed. The venue is pleasant, the staff attentive without being intrusive, and the food is always excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The yak was astounding. This is my new f ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

The yak was astounding. This is my new favorite place to eat. Sooo good.

food4
ambience5
service5

Friendly staff, great food and two thumb ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Friendly staff, great food and two thumbs up

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing date night!

Dined on May 7, 2016

We recently went on a date night here. It is romantic without being in your face romantic. The food is AMAZING and the wait staff is fabulous. Not budget friendly but for special occasion it's great.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Service and Food

Dined on May 5, 2016

What a special meal, the waitress was excellent in explaining almost every selection of the daily menu. Food was great, and the little surprises she kept bringing us was unbelievable. We will go back as the service made our evening fantastic!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was awesome. My wife and I had ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

The food was awesome. My wife and I had a rare date night and we had a great time. We absolutely loved the experience. It is a little expensive for us to be regulars, but certainly an annual thing.

food5
ambience5
service5

The best meal I've ever had. They've ear ...

Dined on April 29, 2016

The best meal I've ever had. They've earned their reputation as the best restaurant in town. Pricey, but worth it.

food4
ambience5
service5

The food was excellent - a lovely cozy p ...

vip
Dined on April 28, 2016

The food was excellent - a lovely cozy place ... I highly recommend!

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great French food

Dined on April 23, 2016

We went with another couple. We had sea bass lobster bisque an escargot. We did not like the escargot but everything was great!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always consistent

Dined on April 9, 2016

On a very busy Saturday night, service and dinner were both exceptional. Le Fou Frog never disappoints.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience3
service3
value2

love it

Dined on April 5, 2016

This one of my top two favorites in Kansas City. Food is excellent.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Urban Setting for French Country

Dined on April 1, 2016

Nestled in the River market district Le Fou Frog's first impressions are under whelming. By all appearances it could be an automotive supply store. When you enter the decor could best be described as shabby chic- but a bit more on the shabby side. The service is welcoming and attentive with everyone striving to maintain a french atmosphere. The owner stopped by to greet us and inquire about the satisfaction of our meal. My wife and I started with soup and a charcuterie and cheese plate. Both were fine but nothing to write home about. We were delighted with our main entrees, Red Snapper and Chilean Sea Bass. The fish was cooked just right, tender and moist with excellent flavor. For dessert we indulged on a rich and oh so smooth and creamy creme brulee. It was warm and the sugar was freshly caramelized. To finish off the evening we were treated to a couple of complimentary chocolate truffles that melted in your mouth. Not too sweet, not too bitter just perfect. Le Fou Frog is a friendly restaurant and a good place for something a little different and good to eat.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

INCREDIBLE!

vip
Dined on April 1, 2016

It is impossible for me to say what was better...the food or the service. My wife and I took our 2 girls (ages 9 & 12) here before a production at the Sprint Center as a "date night" and we couldn't have been more pleased with the experience. The service is impeccable, the owner is visible throughout the dining room and the food is better than anything I've had downtown to date. I'm from the east coast and hesitate to order seafood in Kansas City--I was blown away with the selection of seafood options and the absolutely perfect execution of the dishes. Well done, Le Fou. We will be back soon and often.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service5

The overall experience did not connect f ...

Dined on April 1, 2016

The overall experience did not connect for me. The food was fine but did not live up to the reviews in my opinion. The wine recommendation was good. Our server was very nice and attentive. Portions were unnecessarily large. French onion soup was good.

food5
ambience5
service5

The BEST place we've eaten in a very lon ...

vip
Dined on March 30, 2016

The BEST place we've eaten in a very long time. We went here for our wedding anniversary. The service was out of this world. The drinks were awesome. The portions were American-sized, not French-sized (don't be fooled by the extremely reasonable prices). The food was impeccable and the atmosphere was comfortable but very nice. We can't wait to go back!

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Superb as ever

Dined on March 27, 2016

Fantastic food and really top-notch service as always at Le Fou Frog. Still quite pricey compared to the KC norm, but you get what you pay for. I had lamb carpaccio for an appetizer, which was soft and juicy and delicious, then the Filet le Fou, like I always do. Hard to turn down a filet steak and a lobster tail. Sublime.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The crazy Frenchman did it again

Dined on March 26, 2016

First time for me and the wife, it is pricey but we will be back every chance we can get to the city. Our waitress monica? Was phenomenal dumbed the menu down for us simple folks . Everything was on point

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience5
service5

We love this place.

Dined on March 25, 2016

We love this place.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic Experience

vip
Dined on March 20, 2016

We had the good fortune to have Jill McKeon as our server. We have never been there before and she instantly put us at ease and even suggested the proper sequence of the courses. We no longer considered her a server, but a new-found friend guiding us through our dining experience. As a result we will be returning several times this year. Please pass along our comments to Jill, and we will be hopeful that she is our server in the future.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Disappointed with the meal

vip
Dined on March 19, 2016

I wanted to like the place as the atmosphere was very fun. Started with the mussels and fries which were very good. The french onion soup and lobster bisque were not very good. The lobster bisque tasted like flour and butter without a hint of lobster. The pepper steak was ok and the fish dishes were nothing special. For the price I was expecting much more. I did like the atmosphere but I have had much better French food so I can't say I would rush back.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Unending Gourmet Choices!

vip
Dined on March 17, 2016

Another superb dining experience at Le Fou Frog. As usual the numerous entree options can be dizzying until you accept that all of them are fabulous. The Filet Le Fou is phenomenal....grilled to perfection. For an unusual decadent treat try the Wagyu Rossini. The scallops are amazing. The cheese plate is fair and simple...might consider other appetizer options. Dessert - the orange rind filled with sorbet was a bit difficult to eat since its served frozen. Teresa our sever is always consistently pleasant and knowledgeable.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

SO GOOD!!!!

Dined on March 16, 2016

The service and the food at Le Fou Frog are always outstanding. We go here for all of our special occasions. We are looking forward to summer nights on the patio! Thank you for a wonderful night and Anniversary celebration. And thank you to our wonderful server, Theresa! She's awesome!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic French food!

vip
Dined on March 15, 2016

I only get to Kansas City a few times a year, but always make this one of my stops. The food and service always impresses. There are always new items on the menu to try.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

FABULOUS

Dined on March 5, 2016

We have eaten here before and since we are from out of town it is a treat and fabulous every time

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Nice dinner and great service at Le Fou Frog

Dined on February 28, 2016

Service was awesome. The food was very good and presented well. No complaints at all. Expect to spend some money.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just the BEST!

Dined on February 28, 2016

Always great food and ambiance. Mano and Barbara have been pleasing diners for 19 yrs.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My husband raved about the bouillabiase ...

vip
Dined on February 25, 2016

My husband raved about the bouillabiase he ordered. I loved the porc ossobuco saltimbacca. The calamari Caesar salad was OK. Our waiter was wonderful and suggested a perfect wine to complement our entrees.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amuse Bouche!

vip
Dined on February 25, 2016

Incredible flavors! The chef offers something for every palate. Exceptional attention to detail on the presentation and a complex arrangement for tastes.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

Dinner wirh friends for a birthday

Dined on February 21, 2016

Fist off, we LOVE this restaurant. Great atmosphere and even greater food. This is my favorite place to eat in KC. However, this last time was somewhat of a disappointment, not because of the food but because of the service. We were there with another couple for a 43 rd birthday. When we were waiting at the bar to be seated some gentleman came up to us and said "why don't you want to sit outside"? First of all we were not asked by the hostess if we preferred inside vs outside. It was a beautiful night however, it was February 20th and 8:00 pm in the eve so no thanks, we want inside. So needless to say I think where they sat us our waiter was overwhelmed. It took a long time to get the bottle of wine we ordered. We never got the speciality menu explained to us or even asked if we had questions. Appetizers came out, we asked for more bread that we never received. Entrees came out and of course, they were amazing. We had mentioned to the waiter that it was my best friends birthday and he got a glass with a candle in it from another table and told her, here happy birthday. I didn't expect a song and dance or even free desert but we never even got offered the desert menu. Really, we were there for a birthday for crying out loud. My husband asked what kind of desert would be good to take home to our daughter to which the waiter replied, nothing. He brought the normal le fou frog truffles out and brought a few extra for us to take home to our daughter which was very nice. However, we ALL wanted desert as we always do when we eat there. Very disappointed at the service on such a special night . Hoping next time is better.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Experience Fell Far Short of Expectations

vip
Dined on February 21, 2016

Having heard good things about Le Fou Frog we decided to experience it ourselves for the first time. We dine out quite a bit and I have only written one other below average review but this dining experience was a huge disappointment. Our mussels appetizer was good and so were the fries. I love Foie Gras but was not at all impressed with the $20+ appetizer served to us. The entrees took just over one hour to arrive after the appetizers were cleared. The Steak Au Poivre was highly recommended and was a tasteless cut of meat - even with the cognac sauce. The lobster tails were good but the risotto was also tasteless. I really don't know how Le Fou Frog is rated so high?!? Maybe it was just an off night?

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.