Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.59mi
  4. Distance: 0.67mi
  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.59mi
  4. Distance: 0.67mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.59mi
  4. Distance: 0.67mi
  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.59mi
  4. Distance: 0.67mi

About Le Fou Frog

An eclectic French bistro tucked away in historic river city market area in downtown Kansas City is a local favorite serving 4 star traditional & contemporary food in a fun filled atmosphere. Chef/proprietor Mano Rafael works with seasonal ingredients to create an ever-changing chalkboard menu. The vast menu selections & wine list offer many choices for varying tastes & budgets. Check out La Fou Frog's reviews from Kansas City Star, Pitch Weekly, KC Magazine, Ingram's Magazine, the New York Times, Bon Appetit, Zagat & chowhound.com!

400 East 5th Street
Kansas City, MO 64106
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French, Contemporary French / American, European

Hours of Operation:
Dinner:
Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Happy Hour: Tuesday through Friday 4:30-6:30

Cross Street:
Oak Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 474-6060

Website:
http://www.lefoufrog.com/

Catering:
Please call for details.

Parking Details:
Pull parking adjacent to Le Fou Frog.

Public Transit:
Max - 5th & Grand

Executive Chef:
Mano Rafael

Private Party Facilities:
Le Fou Frog offers private dining on the patio, weather permitting, & semi-private dining in the restaurant. Restaurant buy-outs may be available on select nights, some restrictions apply.

Private Party Contact:
Barbara Rafael: (816) 474-6060

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Le Fou Frog Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (65)
Good for Anniversaries (62)
Romantic (58)
See All
Special Occasion (54)
Authentic (48)
Fit for Foodies (44)
Creative Cuisine (40)
Cozy (30)
Notable Wine List (29)
Neighborhood Gem (27)
Worth the Drive (27)
Good for Birthdays (21)
Fun (20)
Pre/post Theatre (18)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Seasonal (12)
Casual (10)
Business Meals (10)
Bar Seating (10)
Tasting Menu (9)
Happy Hour (8)
Hot Spot (8)
Historic (8)
Late-night Find (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
People Watching (6)
Local Ingredients (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Healthy (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Organic (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Vegan (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Sort By:
S
2232 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 19, 2017

What a fabulous restaurant! A very warm greeting and a wonderful French Martini at the bar. The food was exceptional. My wife had the baked Brie and I the great onion soup. This was followed by exceptional Dover Soul for my wife and the wonderfully spiced steak an poivre for me. We shared the profiteroles for desert, wonderful.

The warm atmosphere really enhanced the whole meal. A great experience. The wine list with so many great French wines was music to our ears.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Le Fou never ceases to impress us. Excellent service, great food- a wonderful evening. This time it was the Sea Bass over risotto- just the most tasty, succulent fish! The Bisque is a staple, and for once we didn't finish our wine which they happily sealed and sent us off with. Thanks LeFou!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Excellent meal and service as usual this past Thursday night. Their specials for the night were so many it was hard to pick. Lamb, veal, Dover soul, wagyu steak, bass, cassoulet... absolutely stunning selections. Service was spot on and very helpful. A wonderful evening with spectacular food, wine, dessert and service.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Fun, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, People Watching, Authentic, Organic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Our server was helpful and attentive. The escargot was amazing as was the Mediterranean sea bass. We love French cuisine and were not disappointed. We will be going back when we return to Kansas City March 2018 for the NAIA basketball tournament.

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Great place for dinner to celebrate our wedding anniversary. My wife loved it!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 13, 2017

A great experience from start to finish. Will definitely return

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Fun, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Night out with my wife. Great meal. Chocholate souffle was to doe for!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 3, 2017

wonderful french cuisine in a delightful atmosphere with excellent wait service. a jewel in an unexpected location that thrives for delivering a consistent product over the years. it is nice to get out of the "bubble" and enjoy a unique dining experience. for the less intrepid, there are no concerns with safety at this location at night as well as adjacent very well lit parking.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 2, 2017

The cuisine was impeccable. The server was very knowledgeable about the food and very attentive. It was our first time attending, but we'll definitely be back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 26, 2017

French. Food is delicious! Fois gras is the best I've had. Dover sole prepared perfectly, light, flaky, just like it's supposed to be. Wine pairings were on point. Servers are wonderful, attentive when you want, absent when you want to be alone. A little worn around the edges but fits with the ambiance of the place. Wonderful place to spend an evening with your significant or with a group of friends.

Tags: Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 26, 2017

As always, this is one of our favorite places to dine. It is so much fun and full of energy. The service is fantastic and the food is exceptional. The Dover sole and the trout were delicious and so we our cocktails. One must not forget the pomme frites and the mussels. Be prepared for a long, fun evening at one of KC's most special restaurants.

Tags: Happy Hour, Seasonal, Romantic, Historic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The food and service were amazing. It was a pricey date night, but definitely worth it. Drinks, appetizers, entrées, and dessert were amazing. Decor and building didn't match the quality of food. Great place if you want the quality of fine dining but not formality (no suit and tie needed).

Tags: Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The lobster bisque was disappointing and we were underwhelmed by the pricey spinach salad. Our entrees (4 different fish dishes) were all tasty. The chocolate mousse was the star of the evening so we literally left with a good taste in our mouths! Also found a very reasonably priced wine on the menu - which is always a plus!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Fabulous great amazing food , great food, drinks reasonably priced, attentive service! Some French is spoken around- how much better can it be?

Tags: Late-night Find, Local Ingredients, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 19, 2017

This was our first time at Le Fou Frog, it will not be our last. The food was great, but we also had so much fun.

Now, I said it was good for anniversaries and special occasions. This is true unless you want a quiet, romantic place to dine; if that's what you are looking for then Le Fou Frog is not for you. But we like to enjoy our food, great wine, great desserts, good service, and we enjoy laughing and don't mind tight quarters. So that's why we will go back for special occasions.

My wife and I always arrive at a restaurant 30 minutes prior to our reservation so we can have a cocktail at the bar. This was one of the times where that was a great decision. The bartenders, and patrons are all so friendly. We got advice on the wine and the menu prior to dining as well. For an appetizer we had the Foie Gras, and the Escargot - truthfully, I don't know which one was better. For dinner my wife had the scallops special and I had the Le Fou Filet (with lobster). Both were fantastic. My dessert was a lemon cake/pastry type of dish that was crazy good. Unfortunately I have no idea what my wife had because I was so focused on eating mine slowly.

The price ended up about what we figured when you have 2 bottles of French wine, appetizers, main course, and dessert. We couldn't finish the 2nd bottle so they cork and wrap it so you can take it home.

If you go to Le Fou Frog, plan on it being loud, but have a smile on your face and enjoy yourself!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Authentic, Fun, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 18, 2017

This is my first less-than-glowing review for Le Fou Frog. When I recommend this restaurant to friends and acquaintances (and I do), I usually rave about it. This time left me a bit disappointed, though.
I was out of town for V-Day, so I noted in my reservation this would be our V-Day dinner. I didn't expect them to make a fuss, but I was hoping they would seat us at one of the quieter tables. Instead, they seated us next to 2 tables for 6. The group behind my wife was having a very good time. Good for them - not for us. It made quiet conversation impossible. Definitely not what I would consider a romantic meal. And this is where Le Fou Frog normally excels.
The food did not quite live up to expectations either. My wife ordered her steak medium rare and it was over-cooked. She also specified no peppercorns, and yet there they were. Even my steak did seem not quite as tender as usual. But perhaps it was my imagination. I've had far worse elsewhere.
These are relatively small things, but it was not up to the high standards I've come to expect from Le Fou Frog. It makes me wonder if Mano and Barbara had taken the night off. It should be noted that service was good and the rest of our dinner was fine.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 17, 2017

It was a nice looking restaurant, good atmosphere, and had excellent escargot. It looks like it's gone down since we were last there many years ago. I had lamb shank and it came without any real taste! We also had mussels and those came basically cold - oops!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Excellent restaurant!!! I would recommend it to anyone - anytime!!!! Professional staff and delicious food! Great night out.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Food was good. Dessert was ultimate. Though the crown of lamb was bit raw but I think thats expected. We left around 7.15 and try to take car from parking, we were about to get mugged. Another old couple came at the same time and that guy left. The area is bit insecure. They should do something about that if possible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We have been to Le Fou Frog for three Valentines in a row, and have had a wonderful experience each time. The food is phenomenal, the staff are friendly and attentive, and the drinks are great. We will continue to come here every year.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Great food, great service and great menu.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Took my girlfriend here for Valentine's Day, and it was a rousing success!! The restaurant was the perfect setting, the staff was very helpful and friendly, the menu for the evening was quite entertaining, and the food was absolutely amazing!!! It is pricier then some other places, but guys if you are gonna do it then do it right!!
I highly recommend this place!!

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Great service, great menu and great night for Valentines weekend dinner. Escargot appetizer and scallop entree were amazing. Our waitress was super friendly and very helpful!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Valentines Day date and had an outstanding experience. The food was amazing and staff could not have been more friendly and helpful. Very romantic and we plan to come back again!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Business Meals, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Excellent food, service and ambience. Would recommend for a special occasion, a romantic dinner for 2 or a group outing. I think it's one of the best restaurants in the Kansas City area

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Absolutely my favorite special occasion restaurant. Good is always interesting and wonderful. Service great. Traffles awesome. Love it

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We come every year for Valentine's Day. While I'm certain it is equally fabulous every other day of the year, this place is over the top fabulous for Val. The menu is written with a "romantic" flair, the décor is awash in a red, warm ambient glow, the staff all seem to love what they do and they are happy you are spending the evening with them, the food has never disappoints me and my very high expectations. I always come with a plan to relax and enjoy this time with my husband, eat and drink it all in slowly. Start with a champagne cocktail, relish the smoked salmon tartar with caviar, melt as I have a filet mignon with lobster in boursin cheese sauce and top off the evening with a spiced rum cake. I make my reservations in December every year so that I do not miss this night. Enjoy, mes amis.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The food was absolutely extraordinary. Waitstaff struggled a bit with the special Valentine's Day menu and my kids were young enough to miss the "Fifty Shades" allusions on the special V-Day menu, but a great experience overall. Entrees were pretty pricey by KC standards.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 11, 2017

I thought it was great. Between the atmosphere and the quality of the food, it might be the best restaurant in K.C.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Booked a table for a surprised Valentine's Day dinner with the wife and it turned out quite well.
Romantic scene and great tasting food that made the wife love me just a little bit more for taking her there.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 11, 2017

One of if not THE favorite restaurant of ours in KCMo. After 20 years, le Fou Frog is a iconic experience in dining without pretention. Fine food and a little bit of the French flare for service...without the 'attitude'!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The food and service did not disappoint as usual. A great place to eat and we look forward to dining there.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 10, 2017

I went here with my girlfriend for dinner on a Thursday, and I gotta say the atmosphere was great. The restaurant doesn't fit more than 50 diners but they sure had us crammed in there. I could see on a busy night how it may be too close quarters for some. The menu (they have a regular menu and specials menu which they change periodically) had many great options. From appetizers to drinks to entrees this restaurant has it all. Would recommend this place to anybody who enjoys French food and a good atmosphere.

Tags: Organic, Healthy, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fun, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Everything was incredible, the food, the service, and the ambiance.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 9, 2017

This was our second visit to Le Lou Frog and just as amazing as the first time. Went this summer for our anniversary and then this week for pre Valentine and a show that evening. Wow! Everything was so amazing. I couldn't decide which wine and the server, who was so knowledgeable and friendly, brought out two samples for me which I've never had happen anywhere. Totally helped me decide too. Soup was amazing, cream of asparaus! Wow. Had a meal of fish, which I don't always do, and I was so happy that I did. So amazing. I was really full and there was no way for dessert but did have an after dinner drink..omg. What a great dining experience...again! Told my husband this is definitely my go to for special occasions.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Wonderful food with exceptional service!!! You can't go wrong here, no matter what you order.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Amazing as always, Le Fous Frog does not disappoint!

Tags: Good for a Date, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 4, 2017

I really enjoy spending special occasions at le fou frog. The only negative that I have for this visit was our server/service. Ashley was our server and she wasnt as helpful as some of the other servers that we've had in the past. She wasnt interested in discussing the daily specials menu. She allowed us to wait too long between salad and entree. Ashley did do a good job at choosing wine for our meal/taste and she did provide the birthday girls with dessert.

Tags: Cozy, Historic, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 4, 2017

One of our favorite restaurants in KC. Delicious Bass with risotto and a nice bottle of white wine shared with friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Everything about our dining experience was DIVINE!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.