Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.59mi
  4. Distance: 0.67mi
  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.59mi
  4. Distance: 0.67mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.59mi
  4. Distance: 0.67mi
  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.59mi
  4. Distance: 0.67mi

About Le Fou Frog

An eclectic French bistro tucked away in historic river city market area in downtown Kansas City is a local favorite serving 4 star traditional & contemporary food in a fun filled atmosphere. Chef/proprietor Mano Rafael works with seasonal ingredients to create an ever-changing chalkboard menu. The vast menu selections & wine list offer many choices for varying tastes & budgets. Check out La Fou Frog's reviews from Kansas City Star, Pitch Weekly, KC Magazine, Ingram's Magazine, the New York Times, Bon Appetit, Zagat & chowhound.com!

400 East 5th Street
Kansas City, MO 64106
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French, Contemporary French / American, European

Hours of Operation:
Dinner:
Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Happy Hour: Tuesday through Friday 4:30-6:30

Cross Street:
Oak Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 474-6060

Website:
http://www.lefoufrog.com/

Catering:
Please call for details.

Parking Details:
Pull parking adjacent to Le Fou Frog.

Public Transit:
Max - 5th & Grand

Executive Chef:
Mano Rafael

Private Party Facilities:
Le Fou Frog offers private dining on the patio, weather permitting, & semi-private dining in the restaurant. Restaurant buy-outs may be available on select nights, some restrictions apply.

Private Party Contact:
Barbara Rafael: (816) 474-6060

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Le Fou Frog Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (66)
Good for a Date (65)
Good for Anniversaries (60)
See All
Romantic (58)
Fit for Foodies (53)
Authentic (47)
Creative Cuisine (44)
Worth the Drive (35)
Neighborhood Gem (34)
Cozy (33)
Notable Wine List (30)
Good for Birthdays (25)
Fun (25)
Quiet Conversation (19)
Pre/post Theatre (15)
Casual (11)
Business Meals (11)
Bar Seating (11)
Seasonal (9)
Local Ingredients (9)
Historic (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Hot Spot (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Tasting Menu (8)
People Watching (8)
Late-night Find (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Healthy (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Organic (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Live Music (2)
Vegan (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Dancing (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Scenic View (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
2257 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined 2 days ago

This is now my new favorite place in KC. Service was beyond outstanding and food excellent. Husband had rack of lamb--delicious with crown presentation. My filet and lobster were wonderful. But the chocolate soufflé was extraordinary. Don't miss it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 3 days ago

Great date night

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 3 days ago

We were at Le Fou Frog with a friend who lived in France and Germany for many years. All agreed the food was excellent and authentically French. The appetizers were large and entree portions large enough to require take-home boxes. The server was knowledgeable and recommended different choices of wine for our food. Spectacular desserts. Can't wait to go again!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 3 days ago

We eaten there many time and always have a good meal and fun. Being entertained by one of our waiter is a highlight.

Tags: Authentic, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Live Music, Historic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 5 days ago

Le Fou Frog never disappoints and this time was one of the best. The roasted artichoke hearts were fantastic as were the scollops. The regular menu items were not tired and the specials were complex and lovely. The the team at Le Fou Frog is even better than the food. The chefs, cooks, servers, manager; all care deeply that we enjoy the whole evening. We did. You will too.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Casual, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Great food and a great time. Thanks. We will be back

Tags: Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Great little restaurant. Food was awesome and the soloist was an unexpected plus. Only downside was that the server wasn't fluent in French and I was hoping to have a french speaker since it's my husbands native language. Nice date spot. Close quarters and food is authentic.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Authentic, Romantic, Paleo Friendly, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 15, 2017

I love this place. We did wait a while for our food which we were okay with, but then they decided to give us free dessert and coffee as a service for keeping us waiting for our dinner. Talk about great and courteous service. I can't wait to go back here.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 11, 2017

The dinner entrées were both excellent. I specially enjoyed the veal sweet breads. Our server was impeccable.

The decor of the main seating area did not feel very French. The bathroom to the left was more French than in the main seating area.

Tags: Historic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Fabulous as always. My favorite restaurant Love the atmosphere. The wait staff is always attentive. Always look forward to the little appetizer treat and the chocolate truffle.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 8, 2017

If you enjoy predictable appetizers, blaring televisions or pop-up displays recommending photographed food... This place is not for you!

If you're looking for a uniquely French dining experience in an eclectic atmosphere? The Frog will not disappoint. Chef Mano Rafael's culinary creations are both intriguing and enjoyable. The staff doesn't wear name tags, but don't worry, you'll get to know them! And fair warning, they may even break into song and dance during dinner...
Who knows? You may find yourself joining in!!!

Oh... and don't let the outside of the building fool you... the heart of this place is on the inside! Joie de vivre

Tags: Bar Seating, Cozy, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 8, 2017

I go to Le Feu Frog every year for my birthday and then wonder why I wait a year between visits! I LOVE the ambience, service, and the food is always stellar. This year's experience was no exception.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for a Date, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 8, 2017

The atmosphere was amazing and the food was authentic and incredible. Top notch.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Fun, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 8, 2017

New favorite place in KC. Took my girlfriend there fur her birthday. She loved it.

Tags: Authentic, Fun, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 4, 2017

I was meeting a friend for dinner who I hadn't seen in 37 years. We had a lovely time at Le Fou Frog and it was perfect for a long, lingering dinner. The food was great and our server was the perfect amount of attentive. He was great at recommending items off the menu as well as wine. We had a great evening and Le Fou Frog was part of it!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Bit of a small place but the best food I've ever had, for sure. You pay the price, you'll get what you paid for.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 1, 2017

What can be said that hasn't been said for years about Le Fou Frog? Great food, wine, cozy loud ambience...just a fun place to go.

This time I extended myself and had the sweetbreads, needless to say they are my new favorite. My wife had the ribeye special but I think she would lean towards the scallops special. We also shared the soufflé with a grandson mariner sauce - are you kidding me?

Don't forget the escargot or foie gras appetizers to start. Off the chart.

This is our new "go-to" place just to have fun and enjoy ourselves. It's run by a family and they have it figured out.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 1, 2017

My favorite restaurant, hands down - anywhere. I haven't lived in Kansas City for 10 years now, but any time I make my way back to the Midwest, Le Fou is a must stop destination. Same faces, consistently perfect food decade after decade, truly a gem.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for a Date, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on March 31, 2017

The food was great. The service was very good. Prices reasonable. I struggle with a paper table cloth for a restaurant of this caliber. I felt like I should ask for crayons.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 29, 2017

this by far was the best place that I have ever ate at... the food was outstanding... the service was also outstanding... out compliments to the chef....

Tags: Dancing, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 28, 2017

This is the place we go for special occasions. Atmosphere is that of a typical Paris cafe. The menu has many options and you are sure to find something to tantalize your palate!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 25, 2017

This restaurant never fails to deliver! We've been dining here for 20 years & always leave happy, full & relaxed.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Hadn't been here in a few years but wanted to take the wife for a fun night out. Food was decent, but not at all memorable. Spending nearly $200 for drinks and food for two, I expected to be wow'd, just a little. We weren't the only ones sharing this same opinion. The table behind us kept talking about how their food was just "OK". There are other options with far better food. Maybe the chef was having an off night or it's possible that this place is just overrated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 23, 2017

a spur of the moment reservation for french food close to the hotel. Staff very friendly and engaging, and while my dining part=tner was not impressed with the Fois Gras, or the corked bottle of Alsace white, we did enjoy the overall dinner and ambiance, albeit at a price.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 19, 2017

What a fabulous restaurant! A very warm greeting and a wonderful French Martini at the bar. The food was exceptional. My wife had the baked Brie and I the great onion soup. This was followed by exceptional Dover Soul for my wife and the wonderfully spiced steak an poivre for me. We shared the profiteroles for desert, wonderful.

The warm atmosphere really enhanced the whole meal. A great experience. The wine list with so many great French wines was music to our ears.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Le Fou never ceases to impress us. Excellent service, great food- a wonderful evening. This time it was the Sea Bass over risotto- just the most tasty, succulent fish! The Bisque is a staple, and for once we didn't finish our wine which they happily sealed and sent us off with. Thanks LeFou!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Excellent meal and service as usual this past Thursday night. Their specials for the night were so many it was hard to pick. Lamb, veal, Dover soul, wagyu steak, bass, cassoulet... absolutely stunning selections. Service was spot on and very helpful. A wonderful evening with spectacular food, wine, dessert and service.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Fun, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, People Watching, Authentic, Organic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Our server was helpful and attentive. The escargot was amazing as was the Mediterranean sea bass. We love French cuisine and were not disappointed. We will be going back when we return to Kansas City March 2018 for the NAIA basketball tournament.

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Great place for dinner to celebrate our wedding anniversary. My wife loved it!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 13, 2017

A great experience from start to finish. Will definitely return

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Fun, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Awesome food and an atmosphere that somehow encourages magic, it's always the best time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Night out with my wife. Great meal. Chocholate souffle was to doe for!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 3, 2017

wonderful french cuisine in a delightful atmosphere with excellent wait service. a jewel in an unexpected location that thrives for delivering a consistent product over the years. it is nice to get out of the "bubble" and enjoy a unique dining experience. for the less intrepid, there are no concerns with safety at this location at night as well as adjacent very well lit parking.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 2, 2017

The cuisine was impeccable. The server was very knowledgeable about the food and very attentive. It was our first time attending, but we'll definitely be back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 26, 2017

French. Food is delicious! Fois gras is the best I've had. Dover sole prepared perfectly, light, flaky, just like it's supposed to be. Wine pairings were on point. Servers are wonderful, attentive when you want, absent when you want to be alone. A little worn around the edges but fits with the ambiance of the place. Wonderful place to spend an evening with your significant or with a group of friends.

Tags: Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 26, 2017

As always, this is one of our favorite places to dine. It is so much fun and full of energy. The service is fantastic and the food is exceptional. The Dover sole and the trout were delicious and so we our cocktails. One must not forget the pomme frites and the mussels. Be prepared for a long, fun evening at one of KC's most special restaurants.

Tags: Happy Hour, Seasonal, Romantic, Historic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The food and service were amazing. It was a pricey date night, but definitely worth it. Drinks, appetizers, entrées, and dessert were amazing. Decor and building didn't match the quality of food. Great place if you want the quality of fine dining but not formality (no suit and tie needed).

Tags: Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The lobster bisque was disappointing and we were underwhelmed by the pricey spinach salad. Our entrees (4 different fish dishes) were all tasty. The chocolate mousse was the star of the evening so we literally left with a good taste in our mouths! Also found a very reasonably priced wine on the menu - which is always a plus!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Fabulous great amazing food , great food, drinks reasonably priced, attentive service! Some French is spoken around- how much better can it be?

Tags: Late-night Find, Local Ingredients, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 19, 2017

This was our first time at Le Fou Frog, it will not be our last. The food was great, but we also had so much fun.

Now, I said it was good for anniversaries and special occasions. This is true unless you want a quiet, romantic place to dine; if that's what you are looking for then Le Fou Frog is not for you. But we like to enjoy our food, great wine, great desserts, good service, and we enjoy laughing and don't mind tight quarters. So that's why we will go back for special occasions.

My wife and I always arrive at a restaurant 30 minutes prior to our reservation so we can have a cocktail at the bar. This was one of the times where that was a great decision. The bartenders, and patrons are all so friendly. We got advice on the wine and the menu prior to dining as well. For an appetizer we had the Foie Gras, and the Escargot - truthfully, I don't know which one was better. For dinner my wife had the scallops special and I had the Le Fou Filet (with lobster). Both were fantastic. My dessert was a lemon cake/pastry type of dish that was crazy good. Unfortunately I have no idea what my wife had because I was so focused on eating mine slowly.

The price ended up about what we figured when you have 2 bottles of French wine, appetizers, main course, and dessert. We couldn't finish the 2nd bottle so they cork and wrap it so you can take it home.

If you go to Le Fou Frog, plan on it being loud, but have a smile on your face and enjoy yourself!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Authentic, Fun, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.