Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.59mi
  4. Distance: 0.67mi
  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.59mi
  4. Distance: 0.67mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.59mi
  4. Distance: 0.67mi
  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.59mi
  4. Distance: 0.67mi

About Le Fou Frog

An eclectic French bistro tucked away in historic river city market area in downtown Kansas City is a local favorite serving 4 star traditional & contemporary food in a fun filled atmosphere. Chef/proprietor Mano Rafael works with seasonal ingredients to create an ever-changing chalkboard menu. The vast menu selections & wine list offer many choices for varying tastes & budgets. Check out La Fou Frog's reviews from Kansas City Star, Pitch Weekly, KC Magazine, Ingram's Magazine, the New York Times, Bon Appetit, Zagat & chowhound.com!

400 East 5th Street
Kansas City, MO 64106
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French, Contemporary French / American, European

Hours of Operation:
Dinner:
Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Happy Hour: Tuesday through Friday 4:30-6:30

Cross Street:
Oak Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 474-6060

Website:
http://www.lefoufrog.com/

Catering:
Please call for details.

Parking Details:
Pull parking adjacent to Le Fou Frog.

Public Transit:
Max - 5th & Grand

Executive Chef:
Mano Rafael

Private Party Facilities:
Le Fou Frog offers private dining on the patio, weather permitting, & semi-private dining in the restaurant. Restaurant buy-outs may be available on select nights, some restrictions apply.

Private Party Contact:
Barbara Rafael: (816) 474-6060

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Le Fou Frog Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (64)
Special Occasion (59)
Romantic (55)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (52)
Fit for Foodies (48)
Authentic (42)
Creative Cuisine (41)
Worth the Drive (37)
Neighborhood Gem (35)
Cozy (33)
Fun (29)
Notable Wine List (29)
Good for Birthdays (24)
Pre/post Theatre (16)
Casual (15)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Bar Seating (13)
People Watching (11)
Hot Spot (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Local Ingredients (9)
Happy Hour (9)
Business Meals (8)
Seasonal (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Historic (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Live Music (3)
Healthy (2)
Organic (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Scenic View (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Dancing (1)
Sort By:
S
2279 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

The service was nothing short of perfect. Our waiter was delightful, friendly, and just plain fun. He never let us go too long with an empty table, but he also didn't hover. His timing was flawless. And then the food was also perfect. Everything was cooked just right, all the meat cooked completely but still juicy and moist. The seasoning was spot-on as well, and everything tasted delicious. For desert, we had the best chocolate mousse I've ever had and a tarte tatin that beats any apple pie I've come across. I very highly recommend La Fou Frog!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Authentic, Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 5 days ago

From the moment we entered Le Fou Frog we were treated with the best attitudes from the hostess, to the bartender, to the server. Everyone we encountered were more than helpful and accommodating. The tuna tartar, and the ribeye, both were outstanding. The ribeye the largest I'd ever seen and would have been enough for the both of us. We had a great 15th anniversary and enjoyed every moment.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Molecular Gastronomy, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 5 days ago

Every night at the Frog is perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 5 days ago

We were two couples who enjoyed trying different restaurants. The food was excellent. We loved the decor, although the lighting is very low, and we found it hard to read the menu. Also, our table was too small. I think it was intended for only two people. We were given the opportunity to switch to another , larger table, but didn't, so can't complain too much. It was only when the food arrived that we realized our mistake. Overall, the evening was delightful. I didn't mind the closeness at the small table, except for finding places for the dishes.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 6 days ago

Always enjoy the experience, especially the food. Service is great, so A+.

Tags: Casual, Hot Spot, Seasonal, Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 18, 2017

This restaurant is a gem! Should not be missed by any foodie!

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Lovely French restaurant and foo is well prepared nicely presented. I had the seafood gnocchi and pleased with the portion of seafood (mussels, small scallops, shrimp) as well as the amount of gnocchi. Other entrees ordered were the Chilean Bass (good) and the Branzino (served with tail up! Also good) Desserts included the chocolate mousse (good) and creme brulee(maybe just a little too torched, but was fine). Service was great.

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The best tuna tartare anywhere, and the soft shell crabs were in season. A truly memorable meal for my wife and me.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We have been to this place many times. The atmosphere of the place is outstanding. The menu changes which gives one the choice of trying something new or having an entrée of the main menu. My wife had the scallops and they did not disappoint. I tried the monkfish for the first time. It was OK. More of a dense fish, heavy fish. The tastes of the entire plate did not mesh to me. I would highly recommend the Escargot for an appetizer.

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 13, 2017

A great dinning experience. So many interesting dishes on the specials menu, that it was hard to choose what to eat from the variety available. I had the calamari Caesar, Skeet cheeks, and the Halibut. A fab meal with a great rose. Jill, our waitress, was simply amazing and patiently explained all the menu choices to us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 12, 2017

The restaurant is charming and delightful; there is a covered outdoor dining space that is very pleasant. Great venue for a date. There is a happy hour menu that is more cost-effective than full dinner, which I would recommend for those who want to try the place. My service was generally very good and my waiter knowledgeable, but there were a couple of missed steps, a too-long wait for coffee and bread. A strength is the cheerful use of significant quantities of expensive ingredients. The soft-shell crab was a high point. The food is generally not as sophisticated as I would hope for at these prices.

Tags: Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Le Fou Frog is always a great place for dinner. This night was my birthday we started with that tuna tartare It was wonderful. Then we had the salad avocado crab on a bed of arugula Wow. I had the halibut on top of polenta my halibut was sensational Polenta was a little dry but still very good My wife had the softshell crab she said it was wonderful. Then they brought the desert list and asked us to pick one it was on the house we had the lemon meringue very very good

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We love the place but the food was not as expected. A weak showing by a fantastic restaurant. I blame it on the time. 5:00 seating on a Sunday is probably not ideal. We will be back but I have high expectations when spending this kind of money for dinner. The service was great. Thank You.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Always love The Frog. This was a pre-symphony lunch with a friend who had never been and all was really good.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We had a great time celebrating together at Le Fou Frog. We had a very hard time choosing our entrees because everything sounded so delicious! The server was really nice and helpful. She was very knowledgeable too. I had the lobster with the vanilla risotto and my date had the Kobe steak meal (can't remember the name of the dish). We also had some great wine. I wish they'd put their truffles on the dessert menu. When they bring you your bill, you get the most divine truffles with cocoa powder on the outside. To die for! If they'd had this as a dessert menu item, I would have ordered it right away. We can't wait to go back to Le Fou Frog!

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Wonderful as normal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on April 30, 2017

The food is always perfect at Le Fou, the service top notch and the atmosphere laid back, cozy and fun. My favorite spot in KC.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Casual, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 30, 2017

i love this little bistro. they take great care of you

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 30, 2017

This is now my new favorite restaurant! Absolutely loved the cozy, friendly and low-key environment - The food is amazing, the service was amazing and we were also treated to a little opera!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 29, 2017

This is a place we always visit on our trips to KC. Their twin lobster tails with vanilla champagne sauce over risotto is my "usual". I start dreaming about it the minute I make reservations. Our table of 8 all loved their choices

Tags: Hot Spot, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Highly recommended. Great food and service. Wonderful staff and owner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 23, 2017

This is now my new favorite place in KC. Service was beyond outstanding and food excellent. Husband had rack of lamb--delicious with crown presentation. My filet and lobster were wonderful. But the chocolate soufflé was extraordinary. Don't miss it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Great date night

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 22, 2017

We were at Le Fou Frog with a friend who lived in France and Germany for many years. All agreed the food was excellent and authentically French. The appetizers were large and entree portions large enough to require take-home boxes. The server was knowledgeable and recommended different choices of wine for our food. Spectacular desserts. Can't wait to go again!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 21, 2017

We eaten there many time and always have a good meal and fun. Being entertained by one of our waiter is a highlight.

Tags: Authentic, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Live Music, Historic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Le Fou Frog never disappoints and this time was one of the best. The roasted artichoke hearts were fantastic as were the scollops. The regular menu items were not tired and the specials were complex and lovely. The the team at Le Fou Frog is even better than the food. The chefs, cooks, servers, manager; all care deeply that we enjoy the whole evening. We did. You will too.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Casual, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Great food and a great time. Thanks. We will be back

Tags: Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Great little restaurant. Food was awesome and the soloist was an unexpected plus. Only downside was that the server wasn't fluent in French and I was hoping to have a french speaker since it's my husbands native language. Nice date spot. Close quarters and food is authentic.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Authentic, Romantic, Paleo Friendly, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 15, 2017

I love this place. We did wait a while for our food which we were okay with, but then they decided to give us free dessert and coffee as a service for keeping us waiting for our dinner. Talk about great and courteous service. I can't wait to go back here.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 11, 2017

The dinner entrées were both excellent. I specially enjoyed the veal sweet breads. Our server was impeccable.

The decor of the main seating area did not feel very French. The bathroom to the left was more French than in the main seating area.

Tags: Historic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 9, 2017

This place was recommended by a friend otherwise due to the outside appearance I would have never went there. Once we arrived we were greeted with sincere smiles and the staff took amazing care of us from that time on. It was our anniversary and our dining experience lasted 3-1/2 hours, we were never rushed to leave. The food was the best I've had in the 2-1:2 years I've lived in KC. We actually felt like we were back in Paris for awhile. Our waiter was fantastic and even performed 3 songs, that was a great touch. Take my advice, order the chocolate soufflé. We'll be back!

Tags: Casual, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Fabulous as always. My favorite restaurant Love the atmosphere. The wait staff is always attentive. Always look forward to the little appetizer treat and the chocolate truffle.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 8, 2017

If you enjoy predictable appetizers, blaring televisions or pop-up displays recommending photographed food... This place is not for you!

If you're looking for a uniquely French dining experience in an eclectic atmosphere? The Frog will not disappoint. Chef Mano Rafael's culinary creations are both intriguing and enjoyable. The staff doesn't wear name tags, but don't worry, you'll get to know them! And fair warning, they may even break into song and dance during dinner...
Who knows? You may find yourself joining in!!!

Oh... and don't let the outside of the building fool you... the heart of this place is on the inside! Joie de vivre

Tags: Bar Seating, Cozy, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 8, 2017

I go to Le Feu Frog every year for my birthday and then wonder why I wait a year between visits! I LOVE the ambience, service, and the food is always stellar. This year's experience was no exception.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for a Date, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 8, 2017

The atmosphere was amazing and the food was authentic and incredible. Top notch.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Fun, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 8, 2017

New favorite place in KC. Took my girlfriend there fur her birthday. She loved it.

Tags: Authentic, Fun, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 4, 2017

I was meeting a friend for dinner who I hadn't seen in 37 years. We had a lovely time at Le Fou Frog and it was perfect for a long, lingering dinner. The food was great and our server was the perfect amount of attentive. He was great at recommending items off the menu as well as wine. We had a great evening and Le Fou Frog was part of it!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Bit of a small place but the best food I've ever had, for sure. You pay the price, you'll get what you paid for.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 1, 2017

What can be said that hasn't been said for years about Le Fou Frog? Great food, wine, cozy loud ambience...just a fun place to go.

This time I extended myself and had the sweetbreads, needless to say they are my new favorite. My wife had the ribeye special but I think she would lean towards the scallops special. We also shared the soufflé with a grandson mariner sauce - are you kidding me?

Don't forget the escargot or foie gras appetizers to start. Off the chart.

This is our new "go-to" place just to have fun and enjoy ourselves. It's run by a family and they have it figured out.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 1, 2017

My favorite restaurant, hands down - anywhere. I haven't lived in Kansas City for 10 years now, but any time I make my way back to the Midwest, Le Fou is a must stop destination. Same faces, consistently perfect food decade after decade, truly a gem.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for a Date, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.