Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.59mi
  4. Distance: 0.67mi
  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.59mi
  4. Distance: 0.67mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.59mi
  4. Distance: 0.67mi
  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.59mi
  4. Distance: 0.67mi

About Le Fou Frog

An eclectic French bistro tucked away in historic river city market area in downtown Kansas City is a local favorite serving 4 star traditional & contemporary food in a fun filled atmosphere. Chef/proprietor Mano Rafael works with seasonal ingredients to create an ever-changing chalkboard menu. The vast menu selections & wine list offer many choices for varying tastes & budgets. Check out La Fou Frog's reviews from Kansas City Star, Pitch Weekly, KC Magazine, Ingram's Magazine, the New York Times, Bon Appetit, Zagat & chowhound.com!

400 East 5th Street
Kansas City, MO 64106
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French, Contemporary French / American, European

Hours of Operation:
Dinner:
Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Happy Hour: Tuesday through Friday 4:30-6:30

Cross Street:
Oak Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 474-6060

Website:
http://www.lefoufrog.com/

Catering:
Please call for details.

Parking Details:
Pull parking adjacent to Le Fou Frog.

Public Transit:
Max - 5th & Grand

Executive Chef:
Mano Rafael

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Le Fou Frog Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (49)
Romantic (47)
Good for Anniversaries (44)
See All
Authentic (41)
Good for a Date (36)
Creative Cuisine (35)
Cozy (34)
Notable Wine List (34)
Fit for Foodies (33)
Good for Birthdays (26)
Neighborhood Gem (24)
Worth the Drive (21)
Fun (18)
Handcrafted Cocktails (18)
Local Ingredients (18)
Great for Outdoor Dining (14)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Bar Seating (11)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Happy Hour (9)
Casual (8)
People Watching (8)
Hot Spot (6)
Seasonal (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Comfort Food (4)
Business Meals (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Good for Groups (2)
Healthy (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Tapas (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
2368 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 2 days ago

Great food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 7 days ago

Love this place, very French, quality food.. excellent service

Tags: Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 18, 2017

We always love Le Fou Frog. In fact, it is the lady remaining restaurant of my three original favorites in KC, and it has never gone done in being as spectacular as it was the first time we went.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot, Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

Celebrated an anniversary. The food and service where amazing. Good atmosphere. Enjoyed the overall experience. Could use a little TLC to the bldg, however we will return.

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Excellent service. Excellent food. This is why I avoid chain restaurants. It's something unique. Definitely a place to go for a special occasion with s special someone.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 17, 2017

We had a wonderful time, as always. Our out-of-town visitors loved the lamb and veal dishes they had. In fact, we took them there because we knew the lady thoroughly enjoyed finding lamb on the menu when we took them there a year ago.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, People Watching, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

This was our first time dining at Le Fou Frog and we were not disappointed. It was our 25th wedding anniversary and we wanted something special and the atmosphere was great and our food was fantastic. Our waiter was very knowledgeable and helpful throughout the night. It felt like a special place for a special occasion! We will be back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 17, 2017

The food is always novel and delicious. Jean Pierre who was our waiter has waited on us several times. He is so knowledgeable about menu items and what wines to suggest to accompany entrees. Great atmosphere as well.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Romantic, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 14, 2017

The waiter asks what main you would like, then asks each of us what appatizer we want, wanting us to each buy our own.(pushy) then they push you to buy a salad each. I said ill skip the salad. Guess what I got a 10 dollar pile of spinach and carrot spirals anyways. I dont see why pricey places feel the need to be like a sales job, taking on items and charges. $120.00 later the best thing was the free truffles at the end (im sure they charged somewhere)

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 10, 2017

We have enjoyed Le Fou Frog as a favorite restaurant for about 6 years. After moving to KC 4 years ago, we continued to make it a go to special restaurant. We have introduced friends to it as a favorite place to go. However, on our last visit we had an unexplainable terrible experience with non existent service. We waited a very long time for our drinks and again our food. Our server, Susie, was too busy chatting with tables she wasn't serving or tables who were leaving to give us any attention. We had to ask another waiter to get our bill. She was having a lengthy conversation with the table next to us which was not her table about a friend's new restaurant. She never even asked how our food was. This is totally unacceptable at a top notch high end restaurant. We complained to her and she had the management speak to us and they comped our meal and offered dessert which we declined. Free food is not our goal and it did not make up for a very disappointing special restaurant event. So sad to have this negative experience a a favorite place.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Great restaurant. Glad to finally make it there. They made our anniversary very special and the service was especiialy great.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Great food and great service! We will definitely be back.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 6, 2017

We got engaged there. Went back to celebrate the event. Love this place. "Off the chart" menu & wine list. Fantastic !

Tags: Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 4, 2017

I always love my time at Le Fou Frog. The food is great, yes, but the service and atmosphere put the experience over the top.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Fun, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 2, 2017

katie, our waiter, was outstanding. really did well explaining the menu. honestly gave feedback to questions and paid close attention to our needs while dining. aaaa++++

Tags: Authentic, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Meal was divine and our service was impeccable.
Loved it

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 30, 2017

We had a lovely anniversary dinner. Our waiter was top notch. Highly recommend French soup, Caesar salad and steak au poivre. Our first time but we will definitely be back.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

Can't even tell you how great this food is! Amazing food, service and wine!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Authentic, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Great food and wonderful service! Looking forward to a repeat visit soon!

Tags: Vegan, Paleo Friendly, Worth the Drive, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

Our first visit to Le Fou Frog far exceeded expectations. The ambiance transported us to France. Kathleen was our guide providing recommendations on request that were spot on! Food, wine, drink and presentation were outstanding. Absolutely wonderful!

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Extensive hand written menu compliments print menu. Creative, tastie meals--foodie delight.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 20, 2017

My in-laws were in town to visit and they lived in Paris for a year, so I thought some French cuisine would be fun! We had such a great dinner, the food was amazing, and our server was very knowledgeable about the entire menu. They have a paper menu for the offerings that they always have, and then an even bigger menu on a chalk board for their seasonal offerings. We got two bottles of the house wine (bourdeaux) and were shocked at how expensive it tasted! I got the lobster tails with risotto -- super rich but SO good! We will definitely come back! Perfect for a nice date night or special occasion!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Love this place. I have been there multiple times, and every meal has been fantastic. Great food, great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 17, 2017

As always, a great meal. New dish this visit was the Calamari Caesars Salad. Delicious. Sweetbreads top of the chart again. Foie Gras superb.
Always depend on true French cuisine

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Had to send the curry shi tuna fish back. Horrible.
Over priced for very average food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Food and service do not compare well with other French restaurants in the city such as Cafe Provence and Aixois.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Akwys enjoy The Frog! Exceptionally good service from Susie. Food was outstanding as always.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Never disappointed! When you enter you feel as if you have stepped into a French cafe in France! The food is outstanding and the service is impeccable. I am astounded at the varied menu selections. When we are out with friends and we get to choose - this is our first choice for a dining experience!

Tags: Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Outstanding service from Jill and Barbara. Still a KC favorite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 8, 2017

Great experience, delicious food and wine--like no where else in the city. Service: outstanding.

Tags: Casual, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Afternoon Coffee, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Happy Hour, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Everything was incredible the service and the food. Best meal we have ever had. We can't wait to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 5, 2017

This is one of our favorite places. On Saturday we went for our anniversary and the owner was screaming at his staff at the beginning of the evening which wasn't uncomfortable for my husband and i because i come from a loud family BUT i did feel embarrassed for the staff.

Tags: Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Late-night Find, Cozy, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Although our server didn't seem very polished, it didn't take away from a beautiful dinner on a beautiful Friday evening. We sat on the covered patio, and it definitely transports you to rustic France. The food here is excellent, and the serving size is outstanding. So many French restaurants in KC really parcel out portions, but not Fou Frog. The appetizer, soup and entree all were very plentiful. We enjoy that they provide a handy smoking area, something not found in many restaurants, and it lends to the charm. Also seeing chef and his lovely wife mingle with diners is a treat. We had a wonderful anniversary dinner!!!

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Birthday celebration, and they were ready for us at the reservation time. The restaurant was busy, but service was readily available. The food was very good. We will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Good food and service. Our waitress knew her stuff; well prepared. We'll be back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 2, 2017

We enjoyed the staff, the food, the drinks! Everything was excellent! We will definitely go back

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 2, 2017

First visit to restaurant. Very disappointed. Perplexing why it has such a good reviews.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 1, 2017

Good.aaaaaaaaaass

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 1, 2017

The menu, food, wine and service was very good. Lot's of noise for this hearing impaired guy, but worth the discomfort. Pretty pricey, but worth the extra.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Always a treat for us to dine at Le Fou Frog. The vibe is always energetic. The ambiance is eclectic and the food is amazing. On this visit, our server was frequently distracted by another table, thus the service level provided to us on this most recent visit was less than what is our common experience. But, she made up for it with apologies and bought me a martini, so all was good in the end.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Fun, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.