About Le Fou Frog

400 East 5th Street
Kansas City, MO 64106
View Larger Map

An eclectic French bistro tucked away in historic river city market area in downtown Kansas City is a local favorite serving 4 star traditional & contemporary food in a fun filled atmosphere. Chef/proprietor Mano Rafael works with seasonal ingredients to create an ever-changing chalkboard menu. The vast menu selections & wine list offer many choices for varying tastes & budgets. Check out La Fou Frog's reviews from Kansas City Star, Pitch Weekly, KC Magazine, Ingram's Magazine, the New York Times, Bon Appetit, Zagat & chowhound.com!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French, Contemporary French / American, European

Hours of Operation:
Dinner:
Tuesday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Happy Hour: Tuesday through Friday 4:30-6:30

Cross Street:
Oak Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 474-6060

Website:
http://www.lefoufrog.com/

Catering:
Please call for details.

Parking Details:
Pull parking adjacent to Le Fou Frog.

Public Transit:
Max - 5th & Grand

Executive Chef:
Mano Rafael

Private Party Facilities:
Le Fou Frog offers private dining on the patio, weather permitting, & semi-private dining in the restaurant. Restaurant buy-outs may be available on select nights, some restrictions apply.

Private Party Contact:
Barbara Rafael: 816-474-6060x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Lambrack
Dessert
Escargot in Puff Pastry
Duck Prosciutto Salad
Absinthe
Chocolate Mousse
Skate Wing
Quail
Champagne
20 Yr Tawny Port
Heritage Cote Du Rhône
Wishbone
Sea bass
Cassoulet
Morel Mushrooms
Short Ribs
Amuse Bouche
Mussels in White Wine Sauce
Escargots
Orwell Cove Oysters (Allegedly)
Mussels In Spicy Tomato And Dry Vermouth Sauce
Mussels Marinière
Chilean Sea Bass
Salmon
Kangaroo Loin
Oysters
Creme Brulee
Red Snapper
L'Amuse-bouche
Tuna Tartare
Elk Loin With Chocolate Sauce
Lobster Tails In A Sherry Sauce
Lamb Carpaccio
Mussels
Chocolate Mousse with Raspberry Coulis
Cheese Plate
Lamb Duo
tarte tatin
Seared Kangaroo Loin
Escargot
Moules
Scallops
Foie Gras
Branzino Fish
Anchovy Salad
Soft Shell Crab
Wagyu Filet With Foie Gras
Burnt Napkin
Profiteroles
Eggplant And Sundried Tomato Amuse Bouche
Wagyu Beef Short Rib
Bone Marrow
Couscous
Lobster Tails With A Sauce Of Madagascar Vanilla Bean Pureed With Champagne
Polenta Cake W/ Red Pepper Coulis Amuse Bouche
Roasted Beet Salad
Avacado And Goat Cheese Mousse
Kangaroo Loin With Sweet And Savory Spices
Rabbit Stew
Octopus Salad
Dover Sole
Fois gras
frog legs
Kangaroo
Pear Tart With Cranberry Ice Cresm
Gambas Amoricaine
Lamb Shank

Le Fou Frog Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Kansas City
Fit for Foodies
Kansas City
Best Food
Kansas City, MO
5 More
Best Service
Kansas City, MO
Fit for Foodies
Kansas City, MO
Notable Wine List
Kansas City, MO
Romantic
Kansas City, MO
Special Occasion
Kansas City, MO
Best Restaurants in Downtown / River Market ›

Special Occasion (116)
Fit for Foodies (94)
Romantic (84)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (70)
Notable Wine List (61)
Great for Outdoor Dining (38)
Late-night Find (17)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Authentic (16)
Good for Groups (16)
Cozy (16)
Hot Spot (15)
Good for a Date (13)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Fun (9)
Worth the Drive (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
People Watching (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Casual (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Historic (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Live Music (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Organic (1)
Healthy (1)
Waterfront (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Business Meals (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1987 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The bartender was very helpful and enter ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined 4 days ago

The bartender was very helpful and entertaining, with it being my girlfriend's birthday. The food was good overall, but her filet was not a good cut and was chewy. We had a great time overall though!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Always a treasure to bring family & frie ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined 5 days ago

Always a treasure to bring family & friends. The food is excellent. The service always so friendly. Kathleen was especially wonderful this evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a wonderful gem of a restaurant! Am ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined 5 days ago

What a wonderful gem of a restaurant! Amazing French bistro here in Kansas City, we came down from Columbia mo and wanted to try a new restaurant. Le fou frog did not disappoint. Great selection of wine, wonderful people from the bar to waitresses. Now the food was absolutely amazing, we could have eaten more because we wanted to try so much, but we limited ourselves to Moules Marinières (steamed mussels) wonderful starter. Then we had Coquilles St. Jacques ( bay scallops, white wine, leeks, mushrooms and Gruyere cheese) amazing also, escargot and then onto the sautéed chilean sea bass with a sauce of saffron, beef chorizo and tomato beurre blanc served with creamy risotto. One of the top 5 fish dishes I've ever had!! A great family owned French bistro, great food, great people and we will go back as soon as we are back in Kansas City. Thank you for a wonderful meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our food was really good. Or server was ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined 6 days ago

Our food was really good. Or server was get friendly and knowledgeable, however it looked like there were only 2 servers for the whole restaurant so a couple things took a while to get refills and stuff like that.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

I have found the Frog to be a reliable s ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined 7 days ago

I have found the Frog to be a reliable spot for special occasions. Excellent menu (try the lobster) but lots of choices, well prepared. Staff have always been friendly, responsive, and knowledgable. The building looks like it should be torn down, but the interior is very bistro and the experience is great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mano and Barbara and their staff have fo ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined 7 days ago

Mano and Barbara and their staff have for years always delivered wonderful food and great service for an outstanding dining experience. Just a great place to spend an enjoyable evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Le Fou Frog is one of our favorite resta ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Le Fou Frog is one of our favorite restaurants; we have dined there many times. Usually, I give the restaurant all 5s, but this was an exception. While our appetizers were outstanding, my wife and I both had the trout, and it was over-seasoned. My trout in particular was so salty I almost sent it back. Perhaps I should have.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious food and excellent service.

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Delicious food and excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

You can go many places for good food but ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

You can go many places for good food but the personal service makes this place special

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We tried the halibut and the baked, stuf ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

We tried the halibut and the baked, stuffed sea bass and both were amazing. Thank goodness there was bread on the table so none of the sauce got left behind. What a great dining experience.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Always outstanding. Short ribs and lamb ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Always outstanding. Short ribs and lamb were excellent. Chef always has numerous offerings on the "chalkboard."

Michelle in the bar/patio area will take great care of you.

Sometimes the best day to go is WED/THURS...food is spot on, service is attentive and personal. Weekends are fun if you want the full French cuisine experience.

Enjoy!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Saturday nights are busy with a small ki ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Saturday nights are busy with a small kitchen it takes quite a while to get your order. For appetizer, salad, entrée and dessert it took over 3 1/2 hours. Most of it was good, the whole Dover sole was delicious and the crown rack of lamb was hard to carve and just okay. Our server Kathleen was great!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

first time there everything wanted it t ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

first time there everything wanted it to be. Great food, great staff. YUM

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Incredible food! Wonderful waitress - Mi ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Incredible food! Wonderful waitress - Michelle. Tasty wine that was reasonably priced. Entire evening was fabulous!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fight in the Kitchen This used to be on ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

Fight in the Kitchen

This used to be one of my favorite restaurants. On this last visit, where I was holding a celebration dinner for members of my executive team, we were startled to hear a loud fight develop in the kitchen at the restaurant at 6PM.

It started with shouting, and quickly escalated to loud cursing, including the “F” word and then you could hear things being thrown. we were not sure if this was turning into a workplace violence situation and considered running...

Our waiter informed us “this was just the owner” implying this happens regularily and the waiter did not seem surprised in any way.

No apology was ever provided and it was completely unacceptable for a high end French Restaurant. I hate to image what really happens with the food given the unprofessional environment that clearly exists in the kitchen!

Crossing this one off my list forever!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value1

Making a reservation was super easy. The ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Making a reservation was super easy. The hostess sat us down right away. Our waiter was friendly and attentive. The lobster tails were fantastic, but my date didn't really care for the scallops. Our waiter also suggested a wine that paired perfectly with our meal. The restaurant was cozy and romantic. Perfect for a date night.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Late-night Find, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Disappointing experience overall. Servic ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Disappointing experience overall. Service was slow, food was marginal, building is old and run down.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

This is a cullinary experience. The foo ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

This is a cullinary experience. The food is so magnificentlly prepared, delightfully presented & the staff is educated re: the selections & professionally trained to ensure a true feast for all senses.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Special Occasion, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love the restaurant in every way. Exp ...

 
·Dined on September 4, 2016

We love the restaurant in every way. Expectations were surpassed. Our birthday girl was turning 18 and loves everything French.

Tags: Late-night Find, Tasting Menu, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Casual, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Happy Hour, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was an enchanting evening. We were e ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

It was an enchanting evening. We were entertained by our wonderful waiter, the owner and singing. The food was amazing.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding authentic cuisine and top no ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Outstanding authentic cuisine and top notch service!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quick Bite, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Comfort Food, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a pleasant surprise. My lady f ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

This was a pleasant surprise. My lady friend and I particularly enjoyed not being rushed. Our waitress, Suzie, was top drawer.

Tags: People Watching, Healthy, Romantic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Walking into Le Fou Frog you are immedia ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Walking into Le Fou Frog you are immediately transported to your favorite family owned restaurant in France. I felt the love of serving authentic French cuisine flowing from the kitchen. Make no mistake this is not a snooty bistro .. It is a cozy well run bar and eatery with an extensive menu . While I enjoyed every bite. The Appel tartan was the best I have ever had. I will go many times and as soon as possible again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved the food and service. Waited out a ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

Loved the food and service. Waited out a rainstorm and when a taxi wasn't available a staff member gave us a ride back to the hotel. Had a great time.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Though we had a reservation we were seat ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

Though we had a reservation we were seated by the door on a warm evening. We wished the air conditioning had been on. The filet was priced at $50. Though it was very good the price was too high.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

I love this place, the food is very good ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

I love this place, the food is very good, the ambiance amazing and the additional spontaneous musical performances a nice surprise. I love the fact that they are not tryouts nog to rush you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Incredible food. Fun waiter; BUT, I will ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Incredible food. Fun waiter; BUT, I will not return until the air conditioner is fixed or the weather is cooler outside. It was too hot inside to enjoy the evening. When I inquired they said the ac was just old and had trouble keeping up. I fanned myself the entire evening and drank cold water. Very disappointing to bring friends who had never been to be so miserable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value4

Went to the Frog for anniversary dinner ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Went to the Frog for anniversary dinner with friends. Awesome food in a great atmosphere. Weathered the downpour at the bar after dinner and topped it off with dessert and conversation with Jean Pierre (whom we mistakenly believed was Jean Paul). Our favorite restaurant.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Our favorite restaurant in KC, hands-dow ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Our favorite restaurant in KC, hands-down. Just a great atmosphere and great neighborhood feel. Perfect for couples or small groups.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and even better service! ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Excellent food and even better service! The twin lobster tails are fantastic

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This restaurant has an excellent Happy H ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

This restaurant has an excellent Happy Hour menu and the food does not disappoint.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent as always. My favorite spot to ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Excellent as always. My favorite spot to dine. Staff is wonderful and the atmosphere is welcoming. Inch for inch, the best bar and bar service in the city.

Tags: Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

From the outside I was a bit concerned. ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

From the outside I was a bit concerned. The building seemed a bit run down and once inside it was a little dated...not sure if that added to the charm or just seemed untouched for awhile. Once our server finally made it to us, things improved a bit. The food was great, the mussels in the spicy tomato broth were absolutely delicious. The stuffed sea bass was also amazing and the duck was just okay....not a lot of flavor to it. Between the slow service and desserts that were just a bit on the disappointing side, I am not exactly rushing back, but glad to have made it once.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

We had a well timed, good experience. Th ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

We had a well timed, good experience. The escargot and frog legs were great appetizers and we both had gnocchi. It was the best gnocchi I have ever had.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Initially our service was poor. I think ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Initially our service was poor. I think we waited for water for 20 minutes! I think then they realized no one was waiting on us and our service got much better.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Excellent French cuisine. Very good, kno ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Excellent French cuisine. Very good, knowledgeable wait staff who were pleasant & attentive. The restaurant is small, but comfortable with charming ambiance. Definitely will return!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

What can I say, but Le Fou did it again! ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

What can I say, but Le Fou did it again! We come here every anniversary, and more. The crew is always lively and friendly, food always superb, and the experience exceptional! They have a "standard" menu, as well as their daily menu written on chalk boards. Their chalk board menu has many things you won't find in many other restaurants, and I have yet to be disappointed in any of my choices. The dining room is a bit smaller than other places, but that just adds to the atmosphere. While dining, you will often be entertained by a staff member or two singing and interacting with the guests, as well as other surprises. The Happy Hour is phenomenal, as food and drink are reduced significantly, but still just as delicious. Don't forget to reserve your spots for the special events they have, either!

Tags: Fun, Comfort Food, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Organic, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for a Date, Historic, Bar Seating, Live Music, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent in all respects. The wait sta ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Excellent in all respects. The wait staff was very knowledgeable and not the leasrt bit pretentious.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

once again, le fou exceeded our expectat ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

once again, le fou exceeded our expectations and provided an outstanding experience!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have already recommended Le Fou Frog t ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

I have already recommended Le Fou Frog to three people since I was there on Friday night. I took my mother in law and she loved it. Our food was excellent. All of the waitstaff made us feel like old friends. Loved the impromptu opera aria from a former staffer as well as everyone singing Happy Birthday. Le Fou Frog is simply the BEST! I won't be staying away for long.

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.