About Le Fou Frog

400 East 5th Street
Kansas City, MO 64106
View Larger Map

An eclectic French bistro tucked away in historic river city market area in downtown Kansas City is a local favorite serving 4 star traditional & contemporary food in a fun filled atmosphere. Chef/proprietor Mano Rafael works with seasonal ingredients to create an ever-changing chalkboard menu. The vast menu selections & wine list offer many choices for varying tastes & budgets. Check out La Fou Frog's reviews from Kansas City Star, Pitch Weekly, KC Magazine, Ingram's Magazine, the New York Times, Bon Appetit, Zagat & chowhound.com!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French, Contemporary French / American, European

Hours of Operation:
Dinner:
Tuesday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Happy Hour: Tuesday through Friday 4:30-6:30

Cross Street:
Oak Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 474-6060

Website:
http://www.lefoufrog.com/

Catering:
Please call for details.

Parking Details:
Pull parking adjacent to Le Fou Frog.

Public Transit:
Max - 5th & Grand

Executive Chef:
Mano Rafael

Private Party Facilities:
Le Fou Frog offers private dining on the patio, weather permitting, & semi-private dining in the restaurant. Restaurant buy-outs may be available on select nights, some restrictions apply.

Private Party Contact:
Barbara Rafael: 816-474-6060x

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Lambrack
Dessert
Escargot in Puff Pastry
Duck Prosciutto Salad
Absinthe
Chocolate Mousse
Skate Wing
Quail
Champagne
20 Yr Tawny Port
Heritage Cote Du Rhône
Wishbone
Sea bass
Cassoulet
Morel Mushrooms
Short Ribs
Amuse Bouche
Mussels in White Wine Sauce
Escargots
Orwell Cove Oysters (Allegedly)
Mussels In Spicy Tomato And Dry Vermouth Sauce
Mussels Marinière
Chilean Sea Bass
Salmon
Kangaroo Loin
Oysters
Creme Brulee
Red Snapper
L'Amuse-bouche
Tuna Tartare
Elk Loin With Chocolate Sauce
Lobster Tails In A Sherry Sauce
Lamb Carpaccio
Mussels
Chocolate Mousse with Raspberry Coulis
Cheese Plate
Lamb Duo
tarte tatin
Seared Kangaroo Loin
Escargot
Moules
Scallops
Foie Gras
Branzino Fish
Anchovy Salad
Soft Shell Crab
Wagyu Filet With Foie Gras
Burnt Napkin
Profiteroles
Eggplant And Sundried Tomato Amuse Bouche
Wagyu Beef Short Rib
Bone Marrow
Couscous
Lobster Tails With A Sauce Of Madagascar Vanilla Bean Pureed With Champagne
Polenta Cake W/ Red Pepper Coulis Amuse Bouche
Roasted Beet Salad
Avacado And Goat Cheese Mousse
Kangaroo Loin With Sweet And Savory Spices
Rabbit Stew
Octopus Salad
Dover Sole
Fois gras
frog legs
Kangaroo
Pear Tart With Cranberry Ice Cresm
Gambas Amoricaine
Lamb Shank

Le Fou Frog Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Kansas City
Fit for Foodies
Kansas City
Best Overall
Kansas City, MO
6 More
Best Food
Kansas City, MO
Best Service
Kansas City, MO
Fit for Foodies
Kansas City, MO
Notable Wine List
Kansas City, MO
Romantic
Kansas City, MO
Special Occasion
Kansas City, MO
Best Restaurants in Downtown / River Market ›

Special Occasion (126)
Fit for Foodies (110)
Romantic (97)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (77)
Notable Wine List (72)
Great for Outdoor Dining (36)
Good for Groups (20)
Late-night Find (17)
Hot Spot (15)
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
Kid-friendly (4)
Great for Lunch (2)
Scenic View (1)
Live Music (1)
Fun (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Organic (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Authentic (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Historic (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1956 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This restaurant has an excellent Happy H ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined 4 days ago

This restaurant has an excellent Happy Hour menu and the food does not disappoint.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent as always. My favorite spot to ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Excellent as always. My favorite spot to dine. Staff is wonderful and the atmosphere is welcoming. Inch for inch, the best bar and bar service in the city.

Tags: Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

From the outside I was a bit concerned. ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

From the outside I was a bit concerned. The building seemed a bit run down and once inside it was a little dated...not sure if that added to the charm or just seemed untouched for awhile. Once our server finally made it to us, things improved a bit. The food was great, the mussels in the spicy tomato broth were absolutely delicious. The stuffed sea bass was also amazing and the duck was just okay....not a lot of flavor to it. Between the slow service and desserts that were just a bit on the disappointing side, I am not exactly rushing back, but glad to have made it once.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

We had a well timed, good experience. Th ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

We had a well timed, good experience. The escargot and frog legs were great appetizers and we both had gnocchi. It was the best gnocchi I have ever had.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Initially our service was poor. I think ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Initially our service was poor. I think we waited for water for 20 minutes! I think then they realized no one was waiting on us and our service got much better.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Excellent French cuisine. Very good, kno ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Excellent French cuisine. Very good, knowledgeable wait staff who were pleasant & attentive. The restaurant is small, but comfortable with charming ambiance. Definitely will return!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

What can I say, but Le Fou did it again! ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

What can I say, but Le Fou did it again! We come here every anniversary, and more. The crew is always lively and friendly, food always superb, and the experience exceptional! They have a "standard" menu, as well as their daily menu written on chalk boards. Their chalk board menu has many things you won't find in many other restaurants, and I have yet to be disappointed in any of my choices. The dining room is a bit smaller than other places, but that just adds to the atmosphere. While dining, you will often be entertained by a staff member or two singing and interacting with the guests, as well as other surprises. The Happy Hour is phenomenal, as food and drink are reduced significantly, but still just as delicious. Don't forget to reserve your spots for the special events they have, either!

Tags: Fun, Comfort Food, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Organic, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for a Date, Historic, Bar Seating, Live Music, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent in all respects. The wait sta ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Excellent in all respects. The wait staff was very knowledgeable and not the leasrt bit pretentious.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

once again, le fou exceeded our expectat ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

once again, le fou exceeded our expectations and provided an outstanding experience!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have already recommended Le Fou Frog t ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

I have already recommended Le Fou Frog to three people since I was there on Friday night. I took my mother in law and she loved it. Our food was excellent. All of the waitstaff made us feel like old friends. Loved the impromptu opera aria from a former staffer as well as everyone singing Happy Birthday. Le Fou Frog is simply the BEST! I won't be staying away for long.

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding food and service as usual. I ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Outstanding food and service as usual. It can get pretty loud and crowded, so it's not a quiet romantic place but still a perfect date spot if you don't plan to discuss private matters - you may have to raise your voice! The patio is great as well and often quieter. It can be difficult to make a choice on food but everything I've had has been wonderful. Lobster bisque, escargot, halibut with perfectly creamy risotto, duck, filet mignon, all excellent. Every last bite down to the few carrots on my dish were some of the best I've had. Treat yourself to an indulgent meal and save room for the creme brulee!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Ambiance reminded me of one of the many ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Ambiance reminded me of one of the many cafes in Paris - including the noise level and small tables. Booths around the edges would be the most comfortable choice.

Good variety of food and cocktails. Well prepared and displayed. Not a bargain, but nice for a special meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Le Fou Frog never disappoints. We have b ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Le Fou Frog never disappoints. We have been going there since it opened and it continues to be one of our favorite places.

Tags: Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food, atmosphere, service. Rea ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Wonderful food, atmosphere, service. Really enjoyed it so much.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The menu was amazing with something for ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

The menu was amazing with something for everyone. My daughter has some dietary restrictions and my son in law is a chef. The server was very helpful and we were delighted with our choices. Wish we had requested to dine outside as was a bit cool inside but who knew that the weather would be so nice that night. Will definitely be back👍

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding!! I always save my occasiona ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Outstanding!! I always save my occasional visits to Le Fou Frog for when I want something really special. And they are special!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Been there three or four times and this ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Been there three or four times and this was my last time. For the prices I really wanted to like the food but it's just not that good. I ordered the New York Strip and first of all the thing was absolutely HUGE (what ever happened so small French portions). Second, it was really tough. I almost cried. For $35 I wanted at least a good steak. One 1/3 that size but a better cut would have made me really happy. There are two much better French restaurants in the Kansas City area, if you want French food, I would highly recommend either of them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

Our family of 5 (2 adults, 3 teenagers) ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Our family of 5 (2 adults, 3 teenagers) dined at Le Fou Frog as an end of summer treat. The food was amazing, the wait staff was attentive and very kind, and we had a wonderful evening all around. My 16 year old son ordered the steak au poivre - it was beautifully cooked and a very generous portion. Our other entrees included the two lobster tails, scallops and the seafood gnocchi. It was all glorious. We will be back- hopefully very soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is well known as fine dining bu ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The food is well known as fine dining but LeFou Frog is so much more than just the food. Chef roams the dining room to visit, waiters break into song, the patio is a wonderful option and I have not had a dish that wasn't prepared perfectly!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The bison special was not very flavorful ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

The bison special was not very flavorful nor was my husband's cooked as he requested.

Lobster risotto was good as was the special tomato salad.

The service was excellent and ambiance very fun....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

The food was excellent but they need to ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

The food was excellent but they need to improve their professionalism in service.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

We were a little early for our reservati ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We were a little early for our reservations, so we grabbed a drink at the bar. Our bartender was great and very friendly, she made us feel right at home! We got to our table and it was a few minutes before our waitress was able to get to us. It was not her fault, as she had a lot of tables and you could tell she was hustling as fast as she could! She was very friendly, answered all our questions, and recommended some great wine to pair with our meal. I wish I remembered her name because she was great, she was a younger girl with dark hair and tattoos. We started with the tuna tartar and it was amazing! We will for sure be ordering it again! All our food was amazing, I had the sea bass and my husband had the Kobe beef. After dinner they let us go out to the patio for coffee and dessert. The patio was nice and quite and a great way to end the evening. We will be going back soon for sure!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The owners and staff made our first time ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

The owners and staff made our first time experience more than a memory. Top this with food that tasted so phenomenal that every bite was only exceeded by the next. I can't say when we have ever had such an overall experience like this. Le Fou Frog has captured our heart and taste buds. An absolute gem for those wanting the best in service and taste.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food is fantastic. Servers are very frie ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Food is fantastic. Servers are very friendly. I could take the noise level being a little lower, but am a little older.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food was good but a little pricy. Th ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

The food was good but a little pricy. The service was mediocre at best. I felt bad for our server. She was stretched very thin. She was responsible for the large outside patio area, the bar area and the two tables in my area. She was very apologetic and reluctant to except my tip. For the money spent I doubt I would try this place again.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

We so enjoyed the evening, but it ended ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

We so enjoyed the evening, but it ended on a sour note with one of the employees accused us of running into her car and causing damage, which was unfounded. Food and service was very good.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful food and service! I could use ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Wonderful food and service! I could use a little more light to see my food, the red lighting was a bit much.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

My husband I needed a date night. We're ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

My husband I needed a date night. We're so glad we picked Le Fou Frog for it. Our server Kathleen was knowledgeable and very friendly. We both adored her. Though we declined the after dinner absinthe at the bar, we're glad we didn't pass on the recommended escargot. Delicious. My scallops were the best I've had and my husband enjoyed his halibut entree, too. Great night, great experience. Such a charming place!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food for all 4 of us. I didn't ge ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Great food for all 4 of us. I didn't get to tell Barbara hello!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our first time at Le Fou Frog a ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

This was our first time at Le Fou Frog and it will definitely not be our last! Everything about our dining experience was wonderful! The food is outstanding. We went with two other couples and all six of us were incredibly impressed with every item brought to our table. We all had appetizers, soup, entrees and dessert, we shared appetizers and desserts and tried each others entrees, everything was so good. I highly recommend the French onion soup and the Filet Le Fou. Both were to die for. Save room for dessert... the creme brulee and chocolate mousse are excellent! Our waiter was also wonderful, I can't say enough positive things about this place!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went to Le Fou Frog for my wife's bir ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

We went to Le Fou Frog for my wife's birthday. We had a fabulous meal. The ambience is terrific and the service superb. The dishes we ordered were delicious and very visually appealing. We absolutely loved this restaurant and will definitely. We want to try out the patio when it is a bit cooler.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place always have the best food and ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

This place always have the best food and service. I live happy hour. Dinner is a must every week.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent food and really cordial wait s ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Excellent food and really cordial wait staff! Out doors would be great, if it were not so hot...its a darling patio, but nobody could sit out there. Inside is eclectic, a bit close for me. But if you want a dining experience that's really different and superb food, this is the place.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Rude. Mediocre food. Rude. !!!!!!!!!!!!! ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Rude. Mediocre food. Rude. !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

For us, the restaurant was pretty differ ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

For us, the restaurant was pretty different. We live in Olathe with our two young boys. Even though it's been in KC for 20 years, it was new for us. It was a small adventure, great dining experience, and a little different, but not out of our comfort zone. It was just right!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Interesting menu but the food just didn' ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Interesting menu but the food just didn't measure up to expectations. It's a small cozy restaurant, perhaps trying too hard and it shows in the food and the prices. I don't mind the prices if the food measures up to it, but it just doesn't.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

I was disappointed that the MC didn't sh ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

I was disappointed that the MC didn't show up for the Bastille Day event on Saturday but these things happen. The food was excellent as always, the staff friendly as always. I haven't had brunch or lunch at Le Fou Frog so can't comment on it. I'm sure it's wonderful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Everything is alway excellent at Le Fou ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Everything is alway excellent at Le Fou Frog!! This occasion was Bastille Day and the staff was in costume and put on quite a great, musical show! As well as achieving the usual excellent level of food and service!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our second time at Le Fou Frog' ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

This was our second time at Le Fou Frog's Bastille Day celebration. A highlight of my year. Love the owners, staff and food. The songs and silly costumes add a je ne sais quoi to the experience. If not France exactly, I always feel like I'm on vacation. XO

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Bastile Day added festive note, fun ente ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Bastile Day added festive note, fun entertainment by staff.

The food was superb, as always. True French style, and great ingredients. Le Fou Frog always is a treat!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.