Le Fou Frog

4.8
2602 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
French
Top Tags:
  • Special Occasion
  • Good for Anniversaries
  • Good for a Date
An eclectic French bistro tucked away in historic river city market area in downtown Kansas City is a local favorite serving 4 star traditional & contemporary food in a fun filled atmosphere. Chef/proprietor Mano Rafael works with seasonal ingredients to create an ever-changing chalkboard menu. The vast menu selections & wine list offer many choices for varying tastes & budgets. Check out La Fou Frog's reviews from Kansas City Star, Pitch Weekly, KC Magazine, Ingram's Magazine, the New York Times, Bon Appetit, Zagat & chowhound.com!
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
French, Contemporary French / American, European
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dinner:
Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Happy Hour: Tuesday through Friday 4:30-6:30
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(816) 474-6060
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Mano Rafael
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Please call for details.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Oak Street
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Pull parking adjacent to Le Fou Frog.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
Max - 5th & Grand
Additional
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Wheelchair Access, Wine
Sort by
Newest
Filters
4.0Dined 4 days ago

Great service, food was very delicious too, we definitely enjoyed the sauce of every dish, very savory

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined 7 days ago

This was a Father's Day dinner for my husband. He has been wanting to go there for quite awhile. Neither of us was impressed given that it was a costly dinner. His dinner was better than mine, but didn't warrant the cost. The wine was ok but again didn't warrant the cost (but there aren't too many restaurants out there that charge a fair price for a bottle of wine!). We felt rushed. Twice we had to keep waiters from taking food plates that we hadn't finished yet! The salad was just a large plate of greens with some dressing that was ok, but not great. The only thing really, really good was the little chocolate at the end of the meal. Probably won't go back....

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 17, 2018

This place never disappoints. Our favorite spot in town!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 16, 2018

Symphony night

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 16, 2018

Everything was perfect. Wish more Parisian music was played.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 15, 2018

Went for early Father's Day celebration and this Friday night was crowded and lively! Always fun to be here, great appetizers, plenty of entrée choices, everything you would ask for to make it a wonderful evening!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 15, 2018

Friendly service, good ambience, and great food selection. Their seasonal ono was phenomenal. Would definitely go back there again!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 15, 2018

Our 44th anniversary was made very special by our waitress Jill! Loved the food,wine and atmosphere, will definitely go there again!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 15, 2018

Everything was delicious and a terrific ambiance. Perfect for a date night, impress out of town guests, or just to make your day Way better.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 13, 2018

Perfect for a date night or special occasion! Great food and wonderful service.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 8, 2018

It was a Friday night and they were busy but they were really in a hurry to get us served and out of there!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 8, 2018

This is my favorite place in all of Kansas City. Fantastic food and superb service. What more could you ask for

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 7, 2018

First time here. Everything was excellent. The food was great, our server was outstanding, and the ambience was perfect. The portions were large (not a complaint, just beware). We will definitely be back. Thank you for a great experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 5, 2018

Our 51st anniversary dinner!!
Server knew her “stuff”...maybe a bit rushed...next time I won’t give full order at start of meal:-) OR I can tell server to sloooow down, too!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 4, 2018

The food was amazing and the service was top notch! I would recommend this restaurant to any and everyone in the area!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 3, 2018

Great as usual.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 2, 2018

It was a wonderful experience for our anniversary. Could not have asked for better service, the food was magical.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 2, 2018

My gal and I absolutely love this place. Amazing staff and service with 5 star quality dinners and desserts. Will return for years to come.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 30, 2018

Food was good, not great. Restaurant was kind of dumpy, needs some TLC inside and out!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 27, 2018

Wonderful atmosphere and food. Highly recommended!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 24, 2018

This was,my first occasion to celebrate my grandson's promotion and move downtown.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 23, 2018

We came to Le Fou Frog for our anniversary. We were stunned when we were given a bottle of champagne ( delicious) on the house. We ordered the mussels ( outstanding), Goat Cheese Salad ( terrific). I had the Crown Rack of Lamb and my husband had the special fish all were outstanding.. we finished with the Profiteroles....wow! Such a delightful evening the service was outstanding also. We will be back!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 22, 2018

Excellent service! Food was very fresh and good, but several plates were under seasoned. This was noticed by everyone at the table

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 21, 2018

The food was excellent and the service was stellar. We felt like we were the only table in the place. It’s kind of small, but otherwise perfect!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 16, 2018

Delightful evening-amazing food and great service! Loved the "feel" of Le Fou Frog and sharing the experience with dear friends.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 15, 2018

Absolutely delightful!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Had a lovely dinner at Le Fou Frog last evening! The food was delicious (with very large portions for fine dining) and the service was great. Our waitress was very friendly, made wonderful recommendations, and orchestrated a lovely pacing to the meal presentation. Also - the amuse-bouche and the dessert truffles were lovely extra touches to the meal! We were seated inside, but noticed that they also have a side patio....which we will definitely be back to try some other time!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 10, 2018

Everything we have heard was true. Prompt setting, excellent service, wonderful menu that didn’t disappoint. Definitely will recommend and return. Thank you.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 10, 2018

LOVE Le Fou! Never disappoints in food or service. Sat outside -- great patio. Truly one of the best restaurants in KC for seafood, French food and good wine choices. Almost hesitate to rave this much because it's also a "locals" place and I don't ever want this great place to get too busy!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 8, 2018

The menu is awesome and the food is always so delicious, beautifully presented and innovative in preparation. Kudos to a phenomenal chef!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Delicious food, knowledgeable and friendly wait staff....It would be impossible to overstate what a great experience this was!!//Une soirée très bien passée, des plats délicieux, la service impeccable, d'une ambiance agréable et chaleureuse.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

I can't believe that I had never been to Le Fou Frog before. The service was wonderful, and very friendly. I had duck for 2 courses, and a cheese plate instead of dessert. The menu is elegant without being fussy or uptight. Although it was a special occasion dinner, I felt completely comfortable and relaxed. I can't wait to go back.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 2, 2018

Usually exceptional, but not this time. Exceptional service, but soups were not up to normal excellence. Four entrees were half very good and half not as good. Nothing changed our normal high opinion. Everyone has a night off.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 1, 2018

I took 2 friends that had not been before. The food was excellent as usual.
Device was good. Waitress very knowledgeable.
They want to go back, me too

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 29, 2018

Dinner with a friend I have not seen in 20 years.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 27, 2018

The atmosphere reminds us of Le Terminus, our favorite restaurant in Paris. The food is excellent, if a little pricey, but delicious and authentically French. Be sure to save room for dessert!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 22, 2018

La Fou Frog was a wonderful experience. We spent our 20 year anniversary there and Barbara helped make it special for us. She arranged my wife's favorite flowers to be on the table and recommended a great wine. She placed us in a great spot for a romantic evening. The food was amazing, beautifully plated and tasty. The table hostesses, the waiters, the entire staff was excellent. My wife and I had a wonderful time and highly recommend it.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

A neighborhood gem is the best description. Worth the drive if you aren't an actual neighbor. Co-owner, Barbara, captivated us with the restaurant location's history dating back to the 1940s. The somewhat cramped environment makes me feel connected to other diners giving the place a cozy, intimate appeal. You can dress casual but the atmosphere inspires me to kick the wardrobe up a notch. Adds to the fun. Oh, and the food is outstanding!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

Always a great service. Nice, interesting food. Romantic, comfortable atmosphere

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 20, 2018

Always a great experience at this restaurant. Service was excellent courtesy of Jean Pierre. Food was outstanding. Great atmosphere in the restaurant. It's pricey but well worth the expense.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
66

Tweets by Le Fou Frog