Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.59mi
  4. Distance: 0.67mi
  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.59mi
  4. Distance: 0.67mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.59mi
  4. Distance: 0.67mi
  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.59mi
  4. Distance: 0.67mi

About Le Fou Frog

An eclectic French bistro tucked away in historic river city market area in downtown Kansas City is a local favorite serving 4 star traditional & contemporary food in a fun filled atmosphere. Chef/proprietor Mano Rafael works with seasonal ingredients to create an ever-changing chalkboard menu. The vast menu selections & wine list offer many choices for varying tastes & budgets. Check out La Fou Frog's reviews from Kansas City Star, Pitch Weekly, KC Magazine, Ingram's Magazine, the New York Times, Bon Appetit, Zagat & chowhound.com!

400 East 5th Street
Kansas City, MO 64106
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French, Contemporary French / American, European

Hours of Operation:
Dinner:
Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Happy Hour: Tuesday through Friday 4:30-6:30

Cross Street:
Oak Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 474-6060

Website:
http://www.lefoufrog.com/

Catering:
Please call for details.

Parking Details:
Pull parking adjacent to Le Fou Frog.

Public Transit:
Max - 5th & Grand

Executive Chef:
Mano Rafael

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Le Fou Frog Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.5

Noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (65)
Special Occasion (65)
Good for a Date (62)
See All
Romantic (60)
Good for Anniversaries (58)
Authentic (55)
Creative Cuisine (51)
Neighborhood Gem (45)
Good for Birthdays (44)
Notable Wine List (40)
Cozy (34)
Worth the Drive (31)
Fun (25)
Handcrafted Cocktails (19)
Pre/post Theatre (16)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Bar Seating (12)
Happy Hour (11)
Casual (9)
Hot Spot (9)
Business Meals (8)
Local Ingredients (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
People Watching (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Seasonal (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Healthy (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Live Music (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort by
S
2507 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 4 days ago

The food was amazing as well as the special menu for the evening! The menu was exceptional for handling my dairy allergy! Our waitress was truly accommodating and made our evening a wonderful occasion!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Overall very good. Bottle of wine had cork issues and I really felt they should have offered us another bottle instead of partially decanting it not even using a strainer which left us with less than a full bottle

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 6 days ago

Valentine’s Day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 6 days ago

As always the food and service was wonderful. Best french food outside of France. Will continue go to back for many more years.

Tags: Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 6 days ago

Most of the food was as excellent as we anticipated. However, both of our lobster entrees, 2 tails each, were very tough and rubbery. They took it back to the kitchen to cook it more but
it didn't improve at all. They did comp us for the entrees. A couple next to us said their lobster
was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 6 days ago

The best! I have already planned for next time! Thank you.

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined 6 days ago

Went to Le Fou Frog for Valentine's Day, as we have many times in the past. We were not disappointed. The food was excellent, and so was the service.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined 6 days ago

I can't think of a better place for Valentine's Day. Barbara gets very creative with the menu and it is always a fun read. The food is always excellent. The service leaves nothing wanting. This is also our 'go to' place for New Year's Eve.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Authentic, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 6 days ago

Another wonderful experience at Fou Frog! We went for Valentines Day when their menu is fun and very creatively written. If you haven’t been to the Fou...you MUST! Cocktails, appetizers and dinner are always spectacular! The French cuisine is the best in town...in my opinion. Did I mention the desserts???!! WOW.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 13, 2018

Meal was great! Service was superb! Serving size exceeded our expectations! Great place for dates!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 11, 2018

My wife and I had a wonderful experience going here for the very first time. I decided to pick this location for her birthday dinner together. Literally, everything was amazing. We were seated promptly. We ordered 2 cocktails, caramel apple old fashioned and I don’t remember her gin drink, but it was amazing. She ordered the Ruby Trout and I had the Wild Boar 🐗. Then both shared a Creme brûlée and Thin Mint Martini. We were impressed with every item! We will be back again, we loved it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 11, 2018

Le Fou Frog has always been a favorite of my husband and I, but we had never brought our kids for fear of it not being very kid friendly. However, we did on this occasion and we were thrilled with the very special attention our server gave to our 6 and 9 year old daughters. Though we anticipated the food to be amazing, as always, we never really anticipated such a kid-friendly environment. They made our special occasion, celebrating my birthday and my daughter's, an even more special event for the entire family and delighted us with fabulous food and attentive service. Thank you!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 10, 2018

Superb meal and service. Its has remained consistently amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 10, 2018

We’ve been coming to Le Fou Frog for years and it is just always fabulous. Wonderful service. Delicious food. I cannot recommend it enough.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 10, 2018

Many of my physician friends recommended this restaurant, but I was not impressed with this experience and for the amount of money that was spent, I definitely did not get the pleasure from the investment. Technique, preparation, and food presentations were less than expected for a place with this level of price. Wine list was quite good, a bit expensive. Bread was average, but NEVER bring it to the table with refrigerated rock hard butter. Of the dishes we had, one distinct ingredient overpowers the palate in every dish, alcohol remaining in the soup, overly earthy notes in a salad, garlic in a potato dish, and Béarnaise with a punch of lemon. Harmony and delight was not achieved, furthermore one does not need a 1/2 cup of Béarnaise butter for a steak. The steak should have been trimmed, was too big, and but was done to my request. Crab cakes were dry. Dessert was fairly good, my guess is that it was outsourced.
Most restaurants have uniform tables and chairs with all locations equally comfortable to the others. Not here, bar side is much different from the main room. What is more, there seems to be a scan for socioeconomic status when you arrive, those in more informal attire are seated bar side, those well-heeled, main area. While wait staff have been trained to bus all the tables and ensure water needs are met, there appears to be a layer of snobbery or aloofness that a few exhibit, which only loosens when the bill gets higher.
If you are going to drop some money on a meal and you want to culinary experience, go to Rye, 715, Justus Pharmacy, Cafe Provence, Story or one of the many other amazing places in our area.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 9, 2018

Chefs are superb! Ambiance is awesome - great experience - like being in Europe 😊

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 9, 2018

LOVE this place. Meal was wonderful and drinks were perfect. The food is rich so I can’t do it regularly but for my birthday... this place for the win.

Tags: Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 8, 2018

The people that work there were great, the waitress was very articulate and had vast knowledge of the menu for recommending to our likings.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 6, 2018

We had a lovely dinner and the young lady that waited on us was phenomenal .

Tags: Authentic, Quick Bite, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 2, 2018

Wonderful experience! Great food, great atmosphere, quaint and intimate.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 2, 2018

Le Fou Frog is one of the best hidden gems in KC. Very intimate and quaint. The food is outstanding every single time. It is my absolute favorite.

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 2, 2018

Great after I was stood up by my date.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 1, 2018

The service was excellent. Food quality was great and the portions were appropriate and didn't leave anyone hungry. The atmosphere is authentic -- and tables aren't too crowded. I didn't feel like I was sitting on top of the couple next to us.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 27, 2018

We went for my wife's birthday. This restaurant replicates a French bistro with an eclectic menu of well prepared traditional dishes and modern creative dishes. I had scallops with wagyu short ribs after considering the wild boar as a choice. All dishes were excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 23, 2018

The Restaurant Week menu was arguably the best of the 7 or so places I visited during this year’s iteration. I could talk for days about the dishes, but the true value of Le Fou Frog was its service team. I believe our waitress was JoEllen, and she provided service that was unparalleled. I’ve waited tables, tended bar, and managed upscale restaurants, and I used to dream about having a service staff comprised of individuals like her. We were on a tight timeline, and she was absolutely accommodating. The food was delicious and came out in a timely fashion, the cocktail recommendations were on point, and I never had an empty glass, be it water or liquor. Thank you again for sharing your food and atmosphere with my friend and I.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 23, 2018

If you've ever wondered what it's like to be in a French or European bistro, this is the place to be. The food was fantastic. It's been 2 days ago and I can still taste the Salade de Canard Fume - (Smoked Duck Breast with sliced apples over greens with a raspberry vinaigrette) . My waiter interacted with me in French (and even helped me out when it was obvious that my French was a little rusty). The Coquilles St. Jacques and Mousse au Chocolat ( chocolate mousse) was also top notch. It's been a while since I dined by candle light and it was really intriguing. It was a little pricey but you get what you pay for.

Tags: People Watching, Romantic, Casual, Hot Spot, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 21, 2018

Very personable wait staff. Interesting and delicious food options. Definitely an enjoyable experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 20, 2018

Loved eating at this place! Delicious food and an intimate atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 20, 2018

Overall great experience with my husband. Quaint and charming atmosphere. Would definitely come back!

Tags: Late-night Find, Authentic, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 20, 2018

Very Enjoyable. Will definitely return. Friendly owner.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 20, 2018

The food and presentation are always good at Le Fou Frog. The lobster bisque was delicious. We were disappointed in the quantities, however. It was restaurant week, but we felt they were skimpy to perhaps reflect the fixed price? Never had that happen before. Not sure, but not a good way to promote the restaurant.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 20, 2018

Went for restaurant week. The service and the food were excellent. It's a small space, but expands with outdoor seating in warmer weather. I loved the charm and will definitely be back.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 20, 2018

Fantastic, authentic french food. Absolutely delicious.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 19, 2018

Always excellent food and superb service, would recommend this restaurant anytime.

Tags: Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 19, 2018

Always an exceptional experience here for a fun date night or a special occasion. We love the gluten free options. Great wine selection.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Romantic, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 19, 2018

Adorable restaurant with romantic atmosphere. We've wanted to try the food for some time given the positive feedback we've heard, and it was spot on. Food and customer service is fantastic. Best escargot we've ever had, cocktails are great, and all dishes tried for restaurant week were cooked to perfection. We'll definitely dine again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 18, 2018

THE " Crazy Chef's" wife seated us and was so gracious and down to earth. She highly rec'd HH!
Amaxing Amuse Bouche, mussel w?.. Entree was scallop on delish gratin topped w Wagyu beef. Divine! My salad w sliced apple & duck was Perfect! Chocolate Mousse from Heaven! Panna Cotta also perfect & they brought chocolate truffles to us! Bartender made great bourbon drink.

Tags: Bar Seating, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 18, 2018

It was great food, drinks and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 17, 2018

This was our first time visiting after hearing many good reviews from friends and the experience lived up to reviews!

The food was excellent, with a more laid back atmosphere than anticipated. The restaurant was full/busy during KC Restaurant Week but the waiter and other staff was still attentive and knowledgeable when we asked questions.

As a young couple, we generally eat at home but go out for special occasions. The best review that I can leave is the guarantee that we will return very soon!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 17, 2018

My son and I always enjoy Le Fou Frog and enjoy bringing new people with us. I brought a couple that had not been there before and as expected they enjoyed it immensley. We started going there for special occasions about 20 some odd years ago and it never disappoints. The waitress was especially good this time.

Tags: Happy Hour, Hot Spot, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.