About Le Fou Frog

400 East 5th Street
Kansas City, MO 64106
View Larger Map

An eclectic French bistro tucked away in historic river city market area in downtown Kansas City is a local favorite serving 4 star traditional & contemporary food in a fun filled atmosphere. Chef/proprietor Mano Rafael works with seasonal ingredients to create an ever-changing chalkboard menu. The vast menu selections & wine list offer many choices for varying tastes & budgets. Check out La Fou Frog's reviews from Kansas City Star, Pitch Weekly, KC Magazine, Ingram's Magazine, the New York Times, Bon Appetit, Zagat & chowhound.com!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French, Contemporary French / American, European

Hours of Operation:
Dinner:
Tuesday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Happy Hour: Tuesday through Friday 4:30-6:30

Cross Street:
Oak Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 474-6060

Website:
http://www.lefoufrog.com/

Catering:
Please call for details.

Parking Details:
Pull parking adjacent to Le Fou Frog.

Public Transit:
Max - 5th & Grand

Executive Chef:
Mano Rafael

Private Party Facilities:
Le Fou Frog offers private dining on the patio, weather permitting, & semi-private dining in the restaurant. Restaurant buy-outs may be available on select nights, some restrictions apply.

Private Party Contact:
Barbara Rafael: 816-474-6060x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Lambrack
Couscous
Dessert
Escargot in Puff Pastry
Duck Prosciutto Salad
Absinthe
Chocolate Mousse
Skate Wing
Champagne
Quail
20 Yr Tawny Port
Heritage Cote Du Rhône
Wishbone
Sea bass
Cassoulet
Morel Mushrooms
Short Ribs
Amuse Bouche
Mussels in White Wine Sauce
Escargots
Mussels Marinière
Orwell Cove Oysters (Allegedly)
Mussels In Spicy Tomato And Dry Vermouth Sauce
Chilean Sea Bass
Salmon
Kangaroo Loin
Oysters
Red Snapper
L'Amuse-bouche
Tuna Tartare
Creme Brulee
Elk Loin With Chocolate Sauce
Lobster Tails In A Sherry Sauce
Chocolate Mousse with Raspberry Coulis
Mussels
Lamb Carpaccio
Cheese Plate
Lamb Duo
tarte tatin
Seared Kangaroo Loin
Escargot
Moules
Scallops
Foie Gras
Branzino Fish
Soft Shell Crab
Anchovy Salad
Wagyu Filet With Foie Gras
Burnt Napkin
Wagyu Beef Short Rib
Eggplant And Sundried Tomato Amuse Bouche
Bone Marrow
Profiteroles
Roasted Beet Salad
Octopus Salad
Rabbit Stew
Kangaroo Loin With Sweet And Savory Spices
Fois gras
Dover Sole
Polenta Cake W/ Red Pepper Coulis Amuse Bouche
Lobster Tails With A Sauce Of Madagascar Vanilla Bean Pureed With Champagne
Avacado And Goat Cheese Mousse
Kangaroo
frog legs
Gambas Amoricaine
Pear Tart With Cranberry Ice Cresm
Lamb Shank

Le Fou Frog Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Kansas City, MO
Best Service
Kansas City, MO
Fit for Foodies
Kansas City, MO
2 More
Notable Wine List
Kansas City, MO
Romantic
Kansas City, MO
Best Restaurants in Downtown / River Market ›

special occasion (103)
fit for foodies (94)
romantic (75)
See All
neighborhood gem (60)
notable wine list (54)
great for outdoor dining (25)
good for groups (13)
vibrant bar scene (12)
late-night find (12)
hot spot (11)
great for brunch (1)
great for lunch (1)
kid-friendly (1)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1897 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The whole Dining experience was so great ...

vip
Dined 3 days ago

The whole Dining experience was so great that I hesitate recommending this place to my friends because they all will come and would want to dine at Fou Frog all the time and take my opportunity to do the same away from me!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was some of the best I've ever ...

Dined 3 days ago

The food was some of the best I've ever had. The server was very knowledgeable and helpful. The only puzzling thing was the presentation of my plate of fish was very lacking but that's really not a big deal. It tasted wonderful.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Exceptional meal! Could not have been ha ...

Dined 4 days ago

Exceptional meal! Could not have been happier. Wines were great, the food very creatively prepared and the atmosphere was amazing.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I'm from out of town and this was my sec ...

vip
Dined 5 days ago

I'm from out of town and this was my second visit to Le Fou Frog. As with my first visit to years ago, everything was top notch. The food was perfectly prepared and served with friendly graciousness. I recommend this restaurant to anyone looking for great food in an elegant but informal atmosphere in the Kansas City area.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife, daughter, and I celebrated Fath ...

vip
Dined on June 19, 2016

My wife, daughter, and I celebrated Father's Day at Le Fou Frog, one of our favorite restaurants. As usual, the food and service were excellent. I started with tuna tartare, had the stuffed branzino for the entre, and finished with crème brule. Delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful service and incredible food!

Dined on June 19, 2016

Wonderful service and incredible food!

food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Food was great! I do think that the rest ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Food was great! I do think that the restaurant was over staffed, even though it was full. We couldn't get through 1 full minute of our meal without someone stopping by to try to refill our waters, ask how our food was, whether we needed something, or even trying to clear our plates while we're still eating off of them. Our server stood incredibly close, went into so much detail about describing our meal - I thought she was going to put her hand directly into my plate (she almost did). It was honestly slightly stressful. I did not go to the restaurant to have dinner with the staff :) They clearly just want to do a good job, can't fault them for that, but easing off a bit to let people enjoy their meal would be greatly appreciated! Next time, I'll request a table outside on the patio - seemed to be a bit more relaxed out there.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was excellent , especially the ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

The food was excellent , especially the osso buco recommendation by our server Tracy. Service and ambiance great and what we've come to expect from this gem in the neighborhood. It's by no means cheap but you get incredible value in what you pay for!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Le Fou Frog is our special splurge dinne ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Le Fou Frog is our special splurge dinner when we are in Kansas City each year for the AP reading. The food is exquisite and as soon as we finish dinner we talk about our next visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Charming French restaurant. Don't let t ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

Charming French restaurant. Don't let the outside of the restaurant fool you. Great place for special occasions. Food and server were both wonderful. Will be back next time I am in Kansas City.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

Meal was fine, but nothing special. To ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Meal was fine, but nothing special. Too expensive for just fine. We frequent other french restaurants that serve much more flavorful food.

food4
ambience4
service5

I had an excellent first experience at t ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

I had an excellent first experience at the Frog! Michelle was our server and she did a fantastic job. All of the food was great and the cocktails were pretty decent. Will definitely go back.

food5
ambience5
service5

Ask for Jean Pierre. Foie gras is fabulo ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Ask for Jean Pierre. Foie gras is fabulous!

food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely one of the best restaurants i ...

vip
Dined on June 9, 2016

Absolutely one of the best restaurants in KC. Impeccable service, staff is very accommodating, helpful and pleasant. One of our favorites.

food5
ambience5
service5

What wonderful food with excellent servi ...

Dined on June 5, 2016

What wonderful food with excellent service - truly a memorable night and meal!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always Great

Dined on June 4, 2016

I've had the pleasure of dining here a number of times. The servers are efficient and knowledgable. The food never disappoints. Atmosphere is completely unpretentious. Every time I dine here, I find myself saying: "That was a great decision."

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best service, delicious food

vip
Dined on June 4, 2016

We came here to celebrate an anniversary and everything was fantastic! Our server was wonderful, food on point, and wine recs were perfect. We will definitely return!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service4

Fun place in the north end with a lot of ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

Fun place in the north end with a lot of character. Fun energetic waitstaff. Food was disappointing. We started with a meat and cheese platter which my husband did not really like. The asparagus soup was good and really rich. The lobster bisque was just ok. The escargot are canned which is inexcusable. The osso bucco was good but it was covered with cooked prosciutto and a huge blob of mozzarella cheese, very confusing for French food and really it detracts from the meat. French food should be simple with outstanding quality flavored which are perfected and not made unnecessarily complicated. The tables are close together which limits private conversations. Honestly it was just ok.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We're new to the area we always look for ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

We're new to the area we always look for the most recommended French restaurant and chose this one. We were not disappointed Ashley was our server and did a superb job. Can't wait to go back

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Le Fou Outstanding

Dined on May 26, 2016

We went here for our 32nd anniversary. We ate like royalty. From my wife's Duck, to my Lobster and Filet, everything was flawless!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a special experience

Dined on May 23, 2016

My husband and I like to come here for our anniversary dinner. They have a wonderful wine list, which includes good choices of champagne. Most restaurants are limited in this area, which is disappointing for those of us seeking something bubbly. The food is always good with choices not found elsewhere, and the atmosphere is cozy and intimate. We have never eaten on the patio, but it is a nice space.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Went to Le Fou Frog for the first time l ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Went to Le Fou Frog for the first time last weekend to celebrate our 38th anniversary. The food was outstanding, and the service was stellar. Sarah was wonderful and very helpful with making menu selections and catering to our likes. She sings later in the evening, and we will have to go at a later hour next time to hear her and cheer her on. Despite my husband's reluctance to try new restaurants, I think we now have a new favorite for special occasions.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Let Fou Frog - excellent

Dined on May 20, 2016

Great place. Super service. And our waitress was a peach. Great food, too.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Seared foi gras, calamari Caesar salad, ...

vip
Dined on May 16, 2016

Seared foi gras, calamari Caesar salad, wagyu beef and sea bass were phenomenal. I can't wait to go back and try everything else on the menu! Our waitress was outstanding, she really understands how she elevates the dining experience . The restaurant is a quiet quaint place with a homey feel that adds soul to the meal. Great place I can't say enough about it all around !

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food is amazing and isn't that why y ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

The food is amazing and isn't that why you go to a restaurant? The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. We had to eat in the bar because our reserved table sat there forever, but they treated us right for our wait. The seafood Gnocchi and Escargot are superb. Make sure if you go, you try something different!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service1

This restaurant has always been a favori ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

This restaurant has always been a favorite of mine in Kansas City having dined there many over the years. Tonight's service was horrendous. The food, while good, did not meet my expectations of great. A huge disappointment on a special occasion. I'll think twice before going back again.

food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Good value for the quality of food. Ser ...

vip
Dined on May 12, 2016

Good value for the quality of food. Service was good as well. Did not feel rushed. Waitstaff had good knowledge of menu and provided accurate description of the dishes. Not very expensive considering the wuality of food you get. Loved the Frog Legs. TheRack of Lamb was perfectly cooked, and almost too large of a serving, but was very much appreciated.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

Dessert was substandard and not up to par.

Dined on May 12, 2016

OUR WAITRESS WAS EXCELLENT..s.HE WAS VERY ATTENTIVE AND COMPLIED TO OUR REQUEST.

Tags: fit for foodies
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

great meal and wpnderful service and we ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

great meal and wpnderful service and we enjoyed our meals very much

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Charming Amazing Unique Restaurant

Dined on May 9, 2016

Le Fou Frog is a Wonderful Unique Restaurant... Decoration Is Pretty and a Unique... Tables are set up Perfectly to have enough room between table and table to enjoy a nice conversation.... Ambiance is Tranquil, Enjoyable and Nice... Food is Very Tasty and Inventive. Portions are a Moderately served. They use High Quality Ingredients and Cook their Dishes to Perfection.... Staff is Outrageously Corteous and Friendly; they Excell at their job.... An overall Magnificent Experience...

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our anniversary venue

Dined on May 8, 2016

For the past fifteen years we've been going to LFF for our anniversary outing. We've never been disappointed. The venue is pleasant, the staff attentive without being intrusive, and the food is always excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The yak was astounding. This is my new f ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

The yak was astounding. This is my new favorite place to eat. Sooo good.

food4
ambience5
service5

Friendly staff, great food and two thumb ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Friendly staff, great food and two thumbs up

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing date night!

Dined on May 7, 2016

We recently went on a date night here. It is romantic without being in your face romantic. The food is AMAZING and the wait staff is fabulous. Not budget friendly but for special occasion it's great.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Service and Food

Dined on May 5, 2016

What a special meal, the waitress was excellent in explaining almost every selection of the daily menu. Food was great, and the little surprises she kept bringing us was unbelievable. We will go back as the service made our evening fantastic!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

I have never been to a restaurant where ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

I have never been to a restaurant where I feel like I am part of a family as I do at Le Fou Frog. From the servers, although Sarah is the best! To the bartenders, Judy!! And no one will ever beat Barbara and Mano the owners. The kitchen staff is amazing, not complaining when Mano gave me a cooking lesson at closing time. You all are the greatest!!!

food5
ambience5
service5

The food was awesome. My wife and I had ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

The food was awesome. My wife and I had a rare date night and we had a great time. We absolutely loved the experience. It is a little expensive for us to be regulars, but certainly an annual thing.

food5
ambience5
service5

The best meal I've ever had. They've ear ...

Dined on April 29, 2016

The best meal I've ever had. They've earned their reputation as the best restaurant in town. Pricey, but worth it.

food4
ambience5
service5

The food was excellent - a lovely cozy p ...

vip
Dined on April 28, 2016

The food was excellent - a lovely cozy place ... I highly recommend!

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great French food

Dined on April 23, 2016

We went with another couple. We had sea bass lobster bisque an escargot. We did not like the escargot but everything was great!

Tags: romantic, special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.