About Le Diplomate

1601 14th St. NW
Washington, DC 20009
View Larger Map

Stephen Starr brings his signature brand of hospitality and design to the nation’s capital with the opening of Le Diplomate, located at 14th & Q. Serving lunch, brunch and dinner, the stylish 260 seat restaurant transports diners to the beloved cafés of Boulevard Saint-Germain in Paris. The extensive menu features a variety of classic dishes including Onion Soup Gratinee, Steak Frites, and Poulet Roti as well as contemporary bistro fare, with dishes such as Shaved Veal Tongue with Mache and Bavette de Boeuf à l’Echalote. A thoughtfully curated wine list and cocktail program perfectly complements the cuisine and creates an environment suitable for romantic dinners or lively group gatherings. In warmer weather, enjoy dining "en plein air" in the stunning outdoor café where you can take in the bustling energy of DC while sipping on the perfect kir royale.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Sunday to Thursday 5:00PM to 11:00PM
Friday & Saturday 5:00PM to 12:00AM

Saturday & Sunday Brunch 10:00AM to 3:00PM

Cross Street:
Q Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 332-3333

Website:
http://lediplomatedc.com/

Executive Chef:
Michael Abt

Le Diplomate Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

French
Washington, D.C. Area
Most Booked
Washington, D.C. Area
French
District of Columbia
1 More
Most Booked
District of Columbia
Best Restaurants in Logan Circle ›

fit for foodies (613)
special occasion (479)
neighborhood gem (435)
See All
hot spot (397)
great for brunch (361)
great for outdoor dining (342)
notable wine list (303)
romantic (285)
good for groups (243)
great for lunch (177)
vibrant bar scene (164)
late-night find (75)
kid-friendly (67)
scenic view (42)
Sort By:
Newest
3760 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

You must ask for "no salt" / food can be ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 2 days ago

You must ask for "no salt" / food can be VERY SALTY

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

The place is great, the food is amazing ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined 3 days ago

The place is great, the food is amazing and Cat, the waitress made it evn better.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Food is always good. Best bread in DC an ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 3 days ago

Food is always good. Best bread in DC and now it is available to purchase!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love the creative cocktails---and the mu ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 4 days ago

Love the creative cocktails---and the mushroom tart! Great spirited atmosphere and the French decor is inspiring!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a great experience overall. My pa ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined 4 days ago

It was a great experience overall. My parents were in town for thee weekend and I took them for the 1st time. We were in the table across from the door leading outside on 14th street. Servers were gathered around the door 2-3 people at a time just chatting and laughing loudly, we could hear all of their conversations during the entire time we were there over an hour and half. My mom mentioned that she felt like we were in the servers area because we had to talk over them.

Also, it was 7/24 and it was so hot out (95 degrees) that no one was seated on that side patio in the heat but servers kept going in and out constantly and a huge wave of heat would smack us in the face, not enjoyable. I get that they probably had to set up for guests coming in later or something but they would just stand there with the door open talking to each other and not doing it in a more timely manner. I had sweat dripping down my face but yet I was in a fully air conditioned building. Not ideal.

Overall our server was great and the food was awesome. Had the servers been a bit more respectable of us trying to enjoy our meal I would have given all 5 stars.

Tags: romantic, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

My girlfriend and I did a double date wi ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 5 days ago

My girlfriend and I did a double date with some friends and we had a great experience at Le Diplomat. The food was delicious and the service was great. I would go back and I would recommend to others.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Worth the effort but once is enough. Ex ...

 
 (London)
·Dined 5 days ago

Worth the effort but once is enough. Expected a little better food but the service was excellent! Bread is incredible as are the cocktails.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

I am having Le Diplomate withdrawals. Th ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined 5 days ago

I am having Le Diplomate withdrawals. This restaurant reminded me of Bouchon in Vegas but bigger and a little more visual appeal (interior design-wise). Hands down the best brunch I've ever had. Husband and I like to order a few things and split everything. I ordered a mimosa and an espresso. Breakfast pastries for starters- flaky, buttery, goodness, a gruyere omelette for me, and salmon and lox for husband. Watering at the mouth while typing this review. A must see for anyone visiting DC.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Phenomenal food and service! On the pric ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 6 days ago

Phenomenal food and service! On the pricey side but worth it for a special occasion! Will definitely return if I'm ever in the D.C. Area again :)

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food. Amazing. Great service. Fi ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined 6 days ago

Amazing food. Amazing. Great service. First time and would definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Really need to have a reservation to din ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 6 days ago

Really need to have a reservation to dine at Le Diplomate, but it's ABSOLUTELY WORTH planning ahead. The food is phenomenal. It's a packed house here pretty much all the time, so it's loud, but very energetic. We had the mushroom tarte , a cheese board, trout and seared duck. The starters (tarte and cheese) were good, not great, but the entrees were spectacular. Would absolutely recommend to friends and would go back

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

What a gem! I cannot beleive in all my y ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 6 days ago

What a gem! I cannot beleive in all my years in DC I had never eaten at Le Diplomate. It was definitely worth every penny spent! Wonderful home-made bread, nice wine list, wonderful escargots, excellent service... I will definitely come back. There are too many things in the menu I want to try.

Tags: neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing. The food was superb the wait st ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 6 days ago

Amazing. The food was superb the wait staff incredible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My family and I went to had dinner with ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 7 days ago

My family and I went to had dinner with a friend who lives in Washington, at the beginning surpwell I saw french restaurant and was not sure, when we arrived to the restaurant my family and I change our mind, the place, the service and the food was really a graet surprise, thank you for the dinner Le Diplomate.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything from start to finish was incr ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 7 days ago

Everything from start to finish was incredible. The hostess made sure that we were seated on time and had a wonderful table. The server attended to every need that we had. The manager even came over to our table and complemented us on our wine choice as well as how much she enjoyed the bottle. Every course we had tasted delicious and the timing of each was perfect. I would love to come back

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Gina, although a seasoned server, was "i ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Gina, although a seasoned server, was "in training" for Le Diplomate. She was terrific! Attentive, well-spoken and very pleasant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Le Diplomate was fabulous. The food was ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Le Diplomate was fabulous. The food was excellent as well as the service. We ordered duck and veal and we couldn't help but eat every bite off of our plates. Our server was insightful into the menu and answered all of our questions beautifully. We expect to eat here the moment we land in DC next time.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

First time visit. Was hoping for more f ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

First time visit. Was hoping for more formally dressed requirement. But this is a very casually place. Recommended as romantic but we were placed in an area which was anything but.

Staff was off the chart awesome, frequently checking, interpreting the French cuisine choices.

The food was quality but nothing spectacular. Deserts and drinks were okay. Probably would go again but not for a romantic evening and never in a tie. Definitely festive and enjoyable.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

As always, I had a terrific dinner at Le ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

As always, I had a terrific dinner at Le Diplomate! The food was terrific and the service was spot on. I cannot wait to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were seated next to where the wait st ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

We were seated next to where the wait staff filled their service trays, which was distracting for us. It was also not pleasant watching the wait staff dart behind the screen to have a drink or chat with each other. The food and service was excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

A solid French and a very good value. A ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

A solid French and a very good value. Also good for people watching.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

My wife and I celebrated our 6th wedding ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

My wife and I celebrated our 6th wedding anniversary with dinner at Le Diplomate. Everything about the experience was superb. The hostess who seated us; to our waiter who took extremely good care of us; to the food and drink which were divine. I can't say enough good things about the restaurant. It is certainly fine dining at its finest!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I visited Le Diplomate for the fourth or ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

I visited Le Diplomate for the fourth or fifth time this weekend and was happy to see that the standards they set at opening are still in effect. First, let me compliment our server, Kiara, who was exceptional. Pleasant, professional and knowledgeable. She added to our enjoyment of the evening. The food was absolutely amazing, Steak Tartare and Pate for the appetizer, Scallops, Mushroom Tartlet and the Most Amazing Duck ever for entrees and the Babba Cognac for desert, The place is a bit crowded in the main dining room, and the hustle and bustle can be a distraction, but all in all, it was one of the finest restaurant experiences I've enjoyed in the District. The décor is interesting, if not a bit contrived, but does offer a certain charm, somewhere between commercial and fictional vintage, but it works. I'd highly recommend a trip to Le Diplomate,.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

the menu selection was very good, howeve ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

the menu selection was very good, however I felt that the food had a bit too much salt for my palate.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We came to Le Diplomate to celebrate my ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We came to Le Diplomate to celebrate my birthday. I ordered an omelette and the pastry basket and my friend ordered the warm shrimp salad. The brunch menu offers dishes for all times of day. My coffee was delivered cold, but quickly replaced. All the bread was exquisite. The lemon beurre blanc added a lively touch to the shrimp salad. We arrived for the last brunch seating when the noise level was a little high but quickly quieted down. We can't wait to go back for dinner!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Very pleasing ambience and excellent ser ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Very pleasing ambience and excellent service. I would recommend it more highly if they would add additional healthy and tasty menu selections.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was excellent as usual. Nice seatin ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Food was excellent as usual. Nice seating and ambience.

Service was just OK...nothing notably bad, just not the excellent service we've come to excpect. Been here 4 times for brunch and once dinner. The last 2 brunches, service was not superior. The food is of course the big draw but the best service is more important. Had to look for wait staff several times, to return 2drinks not what we ordered.

We will definetly be back for brunch.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

We had arrived late to our reservations, ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We had arrived late to our reservations, but thankfully we were able to keep our table. The service was oddly slow but the food was good.

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Had an amazing time and loved the food! ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Had an amazing time and loved the food! Excellent service from staff.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful dining experience. Service was ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Wonderful dining experience. Service was superb and everyone's meal was memorable. Would highly recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was outstanding. Loved the basket ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Food was outstanding. Loved the basket of gougeres, and the mushroom tart. Dessert was spectacular.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Attentive staff, outstanding food.

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Attentive staff, outstanding food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a fun dinner here on Saturday. I ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We had a fun dinner here on Saturday. I love the atmosphere at this restaurant. Our waiter was fantastic and was helpful answering all of our questions. All the food was very good. We enjoyed a few varieties of oysters and for our main courses, we ordered soft shell crabs, the famous burger and the warm shrimp salad. All were great, but the soft shells were tiny ! The hamburger here is amazing and the fries are cooked to perfection. On previous visits, I have always had the trout almondine, which is fabulous, but I wanted to try the soft shells here. We finished the meal with the pots de creme and profiteroles. Fabulous.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Lot of new servers but charm and food ma ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Lot of new servers but charm and food made up for challenges. Very loud

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

The food was pretty much worth the high ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The food was pretty much worth the high price and the service was flawless. It was cold in the restaurant so I recommend bringing layers.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our server was the best

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Our server was the best

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

The interior of the restaurant was beaut ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The interior of the restaurant was beautiful, but crammed full of tables and quite loud. The service was excellent. Two of us got the bouillabaise which we both enjoyed, but it was missing the "wow" factor one hopes for in a classic dish. My husband had the lamb which he loved. We had two desserts: the Saint Honoré cake and the creme brulee. Again, both were very good, but not very memorable. We'll probably go back, but perhaps during a less busy time of day and try something else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Food was excellent only to be surpasses ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Food was excellent only to be surpasses by our server Roger and Chevelle most accommodating*this was a special occasion and they made it more special

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The workers were very nice and helpful w ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

The workers were very nice and helpful with the menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We found this place on our last visit to ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We found this place on our last visit to DC a few months ago. We simply HAD to go back. This visit was just as good, so now we have a 'must go' place for each visit. I'm reviewing based on both visits.

This restaurant is in the DuPont Circle area. Lots of restaurants and shops -- which means scarce street parking if you have a car. They do offer valet parking for $12. I'm not sure where they actually park the cars, but it must be far away. Both times, we waited 8-10 minutes to get ours back. It would have been helpful if the valet had been notified when we were paying our restaurant bill -- so our sidewalk wait would have been shorter.

This restaurant is traditional French. If you are dieting, or don't like cheese and butter -- maybe you should save it for another time.

The wine list is extensive, but their cocktails are delicious -- we didn't bother with wine! For starters, I'd recommend either a cheese plate (choose 3, 5, or 7 kinds from a long list) or the mac & cheese. Both were delicious! The warm shrimp salad has a dressing that I have craved since my first visit. We shared the salad and the kitchen split it onto two plates -- both beautifully plated. That was a nice touch. When we were torn between two entrees, our servers were able to describe how the dishes are prepared and share their thoughts on what we should try based on what else we had ordered. So much more helpful than 'they're both good -- depends on what you are in the mood for'. We were not disappointed. We have now sampled four entrees that we would order again. But not until we try the rest!

The saddest part of both visits is that we couldn't sample their delicious-sounding desserts. We have to plan better next time and save room for that!

We will be back in a few months. But as soon as we have our dates finalized, we will make reservations for a dinner. This trip, we only booked a week out and ended up with 5:00 on a Thursday (we prefer 7 or 8:00, like most others!).

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.