Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.26mi
  3. Distance: 0.35mi
  4. Distance: 0.36mi
  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.26mi
  3. Distance: 0.35mi
  4. Distance: 0.36mi

This French bistro is the place to see anyone who’s ever been on “Meet the Press". The food is also delicious.

We partner with The Infatuation to bring you their smart, helpful, trustworthy reviews of restaurants on OpenTable.

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.26mi
  3. Distance: 0.35mi
  4. Distance: 0.36mi
  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.26mi
  3. Distance: 0.35mi
  4. Distance: 0.36mi

About Le Diplomate

Stephen Starr brings his signature brand of hospitality and design to the nation’s capital with the opening of Le Diplomate, located at 14th & Q. Serving lunch, brunch and dinner, the stylish 260 seat restaurant transports diners to the beloved cafés of Boulevard Saint-Germain in Paris. The extensive menu features a variety of classic dishes including Onion Soup Gratinee, Steak Frites, and Poulet Roti as well as contemporary bistro fare, with dishes such as Shaved Veal Tongue with Mache and Bavette de Boeuf à l’Echalote. A thoughtfully curated wine list and cocktail program perfectly complements the cuisine and creates an environment suitable for romantic dinners or lively group gatherings. In warmer weather, enjoy dining "en plein air" in the stunning outdoor café where you can take in the bustling energy of DC while sipping on the perfect kir royale.

1601 14th St. NW
Washington, DC 20009
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Sunday to Thursday 5:00PM to 11:00PM
Friday & Saturday 5:00PM to 12:00AM

Saturday & Sunday Brunch 10:00AM to 3:00PM

Cross Street:
Q Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 332-3333

Website:
http://lediplomatedc.com/

Executive Chef:
Michael Abt

Le Diplomate Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

Noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (225)
Good for a Date (221)
Fit for Foodies (182)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (177)
Hot Spot (165)
People Watching (156)
Good for Birthdays (155)
Fun (151)
Authentic (149)
Good for Anniversaries (147)
Great for Outdoor Dining (132)
Great for Brunch (130)
Notable Wine List (130)
Romantic (129)
Sunday Lunch (111)
Creative Cuisine (88)
Worth the Drive (86)
Casual (85)
Vibrant Bar Scene (84)
Good for Groups (70)
Business Meals (69)
Great for Lunch (62)
Bar Seating (59)
Cozy (58)
Handcrafted Cocktails (56)
Pre/post Theatre (56)
Comfort Food (55)
Late-night Find (38)
Happy Hour (30)
Afternoon Coffee (22)
Healthy (22)
Good Vegetarian Options (21)
Local Ingredients (20)
Scenic View (18)
Seasonal (18)
Kid-friendly (15)
Tasting Menu (15)
Great Beer (13)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Gluten Free Options (11)
Afternoon Tea (7)
Organic (7)
Disabled Access (5)
Quick Bite (4)
Tapas (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Live Sports (2)
Vegan (2)
Sort by
S
5614 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 11 hours ago

Tuesday's lobster risotto is amazing. If you don't care about price and do it right. This is the place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined 2 days ago

Absolutely incredible dining experience!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 3 days ago

Food was good. Service was very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 3 days ago

Such a quaint, cute, French restaurant. Everything was wonderful. We enjoyed cocktails, a cheese board, the strip steak (delicious and a great value), French onion soup (best I've ever had), and an wonderful chocolate dessert with bourbon ice cream. We will definitely be back next time we visit DC.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Seasonal, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 3 days ago

I love Le Dip! I ate here all the time when I lived in D.C. so it's so exciting to be able to go back. The food is absolutely incredible - i always get the burger but then i add a million sides because it's literally impossible to just choose one! The value is so worth every penny you spend and it's a true D.C. treasure!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 days ago

We had a reservation at seven. We had to wait for a table. Once we were taken to our table people were still sitting down. We were just randomly standing by the other diners. Once we did sit we were given Some weird food as an apology. We would have preferred a free drink the food was horrible. The cheese was good as were some of the oysters the salmon was just OK as was the ricotta ravioli. I would not recommend this restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

We have been to Le Diplomate for Sunday brunch. This was our first time eating dinner there. We were seated outside next to a patio heater which kept us comfortable. We shared the beet salad which was wonderful with different colored beets. My wife had the steak with green sauce, and I had the trout. Both were excellent. The "Le Diplomat" (not related to the restaurant, we were told) white Bordeaux was excellent and went well with the fish. The meal was topped off with profiteroles and Vietnamese coffee. Both were great.

Our waiter Kevin was wonderful and took good care of us. Even though the restaurant was crowed, we received attentive service and had a leisurely meal.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, People Watching, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

Wonderful French bistro cuisine, well presented by competent and pleasant servers. The buzz is well deserved. Profiteroles were outstanding

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

Great brunch, but my eggs arrived cold. Otherwise a great experience!

Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 4 days ago

Very authentic brassiere with warmth and a cozy bar. Bloody Mary was tasty. Excellent service.

Tags: Casual, Healthy, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

The food was amazing! Perfect place to bring my friend from out of town for her birthday!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 4 days ago

Amazing as usual, great food, great service, hard to get a reservation (understandable)

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

This is the 3rd time that we have had dinner at Le Diplomate, and each time we have been seated at a less than desirable table. This time I reserved 2 months in advance, and we were still seated in a small alcove next to a partition to block the front door. We both enjoyed our dinner much less because of the seating. At this point I probably won't return, and I definitely couldn't recommend the restaurant to anyone. It is a shame because the food is very good.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 5 days ago

Typical French Brasserie menu - very well prepared. We went with friends and all enjoyed our meals. It is loud, but we could hear each other! We would go back when visiting Washington DC.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

Very nice-highly recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Have been here several times, mostly with reservations and it’s definitely our favorite place for romantic dinners and getting together with friends as well.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

The food was a triumph! I enjoyed the escargot and scallops so much I kept eating after I was full. So delicious. I make it to Le Diplomate every time I make a visit to DC. So worth it!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Delicious food, reliably great service and wine list. The burger, roast chicken, cheese plates and bread basket are all amazing. Warm lighting, lovely decor. Truly my favorite restaurant in DC!

Tags: Romantic, Great Beer, Hot Spot, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

Friends wedding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined 7 days ago

Recommended by another establishment in DC we found Le Diplomate to be one of the best meals in the city. Greeted warmly (confirmed reservations), and seated at a table of our choice, excellent service was the norm for the evening. Frog legs and escargot for the appetizer; sea bass and steak frites for the main. Wines, although a small-ish selection, will please every palate. Dessert, reluctantly, was impeccable.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 15, 2017

Noise level is 86 dB Food is very good. Service is fair

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 14, 2017

Decent French food, and all the real energy of a Paris brasserie.

Tags: Late-night Find, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 14, 2017

The food was delicious, and timely prepared. The server was adequate. Aggravated and displeased that I didn't get the table/seating arrangement requested, as I made the reservation at least two weeks in advance.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 14, 2017

Loved all the food that we ordered, a little bit less salt on the entrées would have made the experience even better

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 12, 2017

My boyfriend and I went to Le Dip for his birthday dinner. We loved the food. We got a lovely bottle of cabernet sauvignon/merlot blend, oysters, foie gras, coq au reisling, and steak frites. Everything was perfect and I was blown away. It was an expensive night out for us, but very worth it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 12, 2017

Excellent food and wine. Perfect bistro atmosphere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 12, 2017

Le Diplomate is always the perfect place to go for a wonderful dinner, lunch, celebration, etc. The staff is very helpful and the place is just perfect, always,. The food is outstanding - hor d'orves, fish, meat, and the deserts are to die for.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 11, 2017

Consistently terrific! Full of life authentic French bistro with excellent service and meals. We keep going back and the people watching isn't bad either!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 11, 2017

Nice cozy table for two near the door ended up being quieter than the open dining room! Delicious food!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 11, 2017

Always love a French Bistro and this restaurant did not disappoint. Everyone was very happy with their meal and the service was friendly and prompt. It's a great place to enjoy with friends and family.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 11, 2017

Fabulous brunch options. Delightful cocktails.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 11, 2017

Second time here. Best foie gras parfait I’ve had in the area. Their bread is simply amazing. Steak frites has been consistently perfect and the mushroom tart was decadent and delicious. Even a non-mushroom lover at the table enjoyed it. Really enjoy dining here and the staff always seems very attentive and friendly.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Groups, People Watching, Bar Seating, Authentic, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 11, 2017

Good 'americanized' french food. Worth going to, but make a reservation else you'll be waiting a while for a table (if you even get one).

Tags: Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 11, 2017

Bread!!! More bread!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 11, 2017

Veterans Day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 11, 2017

We had been looking forward to dining here since we missed out in September. The food is excellent. Kudos to the kitchen and support staff for sending out incredibly tasty dishes even though the restaurant was filled to capacity. The escargot and foie gras were delicious. I had the scallops, which were perfectly cooked. My husband had the trout almondine - also perfectly cooked and our friend had the steak au poivre. We all enjoyed our dishes immensely. My only complaint was that our server was extremely pushy and tried to hurry us along. I understand the place is busy but refilling our already half full wine glasses and removing our bread less than five minutes after dropping it off isnt cool. In the end we skipped out on dessert because she was just too much.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 10, 2017

Manager was delightful - engaging - knowledgeable and passionate about the menu

Tags: Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Romantic, People Watching, Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 10, 2017

Our waiter provided an outstanding service for us explaining the menu with detail and he guide us through a very tasteful dinner. We loved it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 10, 2017

Great really

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 10, 2017

Adnan was fabulous

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.