Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.26mi
  3. Distance: 0.35mi
  4. Distance: 0.36mi
  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.26mi
  3. Distance: 0.35mi
  4. Distance: 0.36mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.26mi
  3. Distance: 0.35mi
  4. Distance: 0.36mi
  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.26mi
  3. Distance: 0.35mi
  4. Distance: 0.36mi

About Le Diplomate

Stephen Starr brings his signature brand of hospitality and design to the nation’s capital with the opening of Le Diplomate, located at 14th & Q. Serving lunch, brunch and dinner, the stylish 260 seat restaurant transports diners to the beloved cafés of Boulevard Saint-Germain in Paris. The extensive menu features a variety of classic dishes including Onion Soup Gratinee, Steak Frites, and Poulet Roti as well as contemporary bistro fare, with dishes such as Shaved Veal Tongue with Mache and Bavette de Boeuf à l’Echalote. A thoughtfully curated wine list and cocktail program perfectly complements the cuisine and creates an environment suitable for romantic dinners or lively group gatherings. In warmer weather, enjoy dining "en plein air" in the stunning outdoor café where you can take in the bustling energy of DC while sipping on the perfect kir royale.

1601 14th St. NW
Washington, DC 20009
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Sunday to Thursday 5:00PM to 11:00PM
Friday & Saturday 5:00PM to 12:00AM

Saturday & Sunday Brunch 10:00AM to 3:00PM

Cross Street:
Q Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 332-3333

Website:
http://lediplomatedc.com/

Executive Chef:
Michael Abt

Le Diplomate Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (267)
Special Occasion (238)
Fit for Foodies (197)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (164)
Authentic (161)
Great for Brunch (158)
Hot Spot (158)
Good for Birthdays (151)
Good for Anniversaries (151)
Fun (139)
Notable Wine List (128)
Romantic (123)
People Watching (115)
Sunday Lunch (108)
Great for Outdoor Dining (94)
Worth the Drive (87)
Good for Groups (79)
Comfort Food (78)
Casual (76)
Great for Lunch (72)
Handcrafted Cocktails (70)
Creative Cuisine (66)
Vibrant Bar Scene (65)
Cozy (62)
Pre/post Theatre (61)
Business Meals (59)
Bar Seating (53)
Late-night Find (39)
Afternoon Coffee (35)
Happy Hour (33)
Seasonal (27)
Outstanding Value (26)
Historic (16)
Tasting Menu (14)
Local Ingredients (14)
Modern Decor (13)
Family Style (13)
Great Beer (12)
Afternoon Tea (10)
Kid-friendly (10)
Healthy (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Molecular Gastronomy (5)
Scenic View (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Organic (2)
Live Sports (1)
Private Room (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Fireplace (1)
Sort By:
S
4700 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 2 days ago

Excellent service with authentic French dishes. Fromage plate and profiteroles were exceptional.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

From walking in to leaving service was fantastic. Best food I have ever had!

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

This restaurant really lives up to the reputation. Everything about our dinner was just fabulous. Our waitress was outstanding and helpful answering all of our questions. The restaurant was extremely busy, but we did not have to wait long for anything. The food was amazing. We had the trout almondine, steak au poivre, mushroom soup, and oysters. Everything was absolutely delicious. We enjoyed a very nice a bottle of the Chateauneuf de Pape with dinner. We split the chocolate pots de creme, which was fabulous. Love this restaurant. Always a pleasure to dine here. We will be back soon!

Tags: People Watching, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

Big restaurant but still feels like a French bistro. Food was exceptional, especially the bread basket! The salad a la grecque was a bit too acidic for my tastes, but everything else (the loup, duck confit) was delicious. The tarte citron is one of my favorite desserts - not too sweet. Overall, great service, exceptional food; highly recommended.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

This is one of our favorite dining spots for weekend brunch or anytime dinner. We have had many items on the menu and never disappointed. It is hard to pick favorites since it depends on what we are in the mood for...comfort food like the Beef bourguignon or Half Chicken or something light like the Warm Shrimp Salad or Skate. We almost always start with the Moules Frites. And my husband's new favorite is the Sunday special of Calf Liver Steak. The service is always professional and friendly. The atmosphere is fun and energetic. Great wine and beer selection and cocktails are always made perfectly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

We had a GREAT time as always. The food was excellent and service to match. Marina Lane was our sever and she was on point and helped us out on getting a great bottle of wine. Will be back!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 4 days ago

Same owner as Parc in Philly - same model, same menu, same plate preparation, same everything except the location in Philly is better. From the start, our party needed to request a different table as the hostess attempted to seat us at a table by the five deep rows of diners at the bar; who were all waiting to be seated because their tables were not yet available. Of course, we rejected the table and this meant waiting 10 minutes longer. Food was up to par for a Steven Starr restaurant but not exceptional. The noise level was off the chart - way too loud. We had to secure our reservation two months in advance, and it wasnt worth the wait! Probably won't return to LeDiplomate as much better French options like Convivial have shown up in D.C.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent food, great service, and extremely good value. Le Diplomate lives up to the wonderful recommendations it has received. The bread was the best we have ever had at a restaurant. French fries are a must, and the mussels were cooked in a broth that was worth finishing on its own after they were all gone. Try the Belon oysters, which are different and really good (and not cheap). The martinis were excellent and reasonable. The only disappointment is that we were too full to eat dessert, which we will definitely leave room for next time.

Tags: Casual, Outstanding Value, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

We were seated promptly for our 7:30 reservation even though we asked for a table change so we wouldn't be right next to the door leading to the patio. Good things: our waitress was friendly but not overly familiar; the cocktails were delicious; the bread was wonderful; the cheese board was excellent; the meal was paced as we requested--slowly; the lamb was tasty; the coffee was great! Not as good: the lamb and the brussell sprouts were served cold. We sent them back and they came back at the proper temperature with apologies from the manager. The manager comped those items for us as well as sending out a delicious crème brulee gratis. Both the scallop dish and the skate seemed overly salty. I was told that the men's room was dirty, and one of the two faucets in the ladies room was out of commission. But even with the little annoyances, it was an enjoyable experience, and I would come back.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

Very crowded on a Saturday night in March. Reservations were made @ 7:15 pm, but wasn't sat until 8:00 and got the worst table. It's a good spot for drinks, but food is average at best.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 4 days ago

We took a friend here for her birthday. Were seated in a special events section of he restaurant. Appetizers were French onion soup, Fois Gras and Salad Lyonnaise. All spectacular. We had Lamb and Scallops as entrees. And split the sorbet and lemon tart for dessert. My friend got a special pastries with a candle for her birthday. House cocktails were delicious. The whole meal was amazing and my friend was made to feel very special. Thank you!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

Incredible! Loved the Duck.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

Food is always good, ambiance lively and energetic. Seated in the solarium area for the first time and absolutely loved being indoors yet feeling like I was outdoors. Made me think about hosting a big birthday gathering there later this year!

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

Always exceptional! Service was a little today, but that was a first --still 4 stars for service!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 5 days ago

We were in DC from out of town. Dined with the entire family, 3 children included and had a wonderful experience. Waiter was excellent!

Tags: Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

The food and the service was impeccable but the experience was marred by a loud foulmouthed group (5 guys) behind us who also spilled their red wine - some of which ended up on the back of my sweater. I had difficulty hearing the two seated across from me at my table. There was another table who tried to 'shush' them but to no avail.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

Great restaurant! Wonderful food, great service.. A bit pricey but worth it!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

The ambiance really varies from section to section. Get in the main section where the bar is if you want a buzz. The food is only ok. Large portions (all appetizers will do for 2), if that is what turns you on. Very limited menu choices. Wine list is fantastic but food is nowhere near the same level.

Tags: Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

This is our go to place when our grown daughters come to visit DC. Everyones favorite.
Great service food and Atmosphere.

Tags: Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

Food was amazing, service was impeccable!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined 6 days ago

Best restaurant we visited in 5 day D.C. stay. Loved the mushroom tart and braised lamb!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

This was one of the most delicious meals I have ever had! My daughter had the steak frites and I had the moules frites and both were incredible. The cheese plate appetizer was extraordinary, with fig jam, a roasted cherry compote and honey drizzled roasted almonds. We ended with chocolate pot de creme and it was perfect. Highly recommend!

Tags: Seasonal, Romantic, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 22, 2017

We were disappointed. We were shunted off to the bar before our table was ready. The bar is too small and crowded. The food was fair at best. In particular, my beef bourguignon was horribly salty. The atmosphere is too noisy for a conversation and the service was erratic. I have had wonderful experiences at other Steven Starr restaurants but this one was a real disappointment.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Service was perfect from making a reservation, hosts, bar service and wait Staff. Thank you for a perfect evening.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Authentic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 22, 2017

We LOVE le Diplomate. Always delicious - and such a wonderful atmosphere.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 22, 2017

The food is great and shows attention to detail. I enjoyed the cheese plate and desserts. There is one vegetarian option, which is over priced, but I live in a food desert so it was good.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Great food but noisy. Quieted down after 10:00.

Tags: Bar Seating, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Stand out restaurant in an excellent D.C. Neighborhood. It's easy to see why the place is packed all the time. Can't wait to come back and try another item from the amazing menu. The lamb was melt-in-your-mouth. Don't skip dessert!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 20, 2017

I am a steak snob and I'm typically disappointed but mine was amazing. My friends also were in love with their dishes from the special of the day to the omelette. Also was one of the better creme brulees I've had in a while (it's my go-to dessert) and the waiter was great. Slightly pricey but I think that's typical for DC (I'm from TX) and the food was worth it. It's also beautiful inside.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 20, 2017

The food was amazing and the service was fantastic!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Le Diplomate is a terrific venue. Food is great, service professional and there is always a positive energy flowing from guests. It's a happy place. I love to take out of towers there both for business meals and with old friends.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 20, 2017

The bread basket was amazing! I think I got full off of just the cranberry walnut bread. We also ordered escargot, fois gras parfait, onion soup, & creme brûlée for dessert. My least favorite was the soup because it was way too salty for my taste. The escargot was also salty & had a strong garlic taste that was a tad over whelming. The fois Gras was delicious with the huckleberry mustard. The creme brûlée was definitely on point. We didn't try any entrees but I would definitely go back to try other options on the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Great place but don't get stuck in green tile room with long table area. You end up dining with the tables in both sides of you and one person ends up staring at the wall

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Wonderful French onion soup. Quite authentic with cheese dripping over side of baking dish. Onion soup has been cooked for hours . Crab legs delicious, as was beef bourgiounne. (Sp?).

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Amazing. Don't miss the Foie Gras Parfait. Simply amazing and HUGE

Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 19, 2017

a favorite. great food. wonderful casual atmosphere. our go to for special occasions and brunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Perfect every time. This time was especially good.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fun, Seasonal, Afternoon Tea, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Have been waiting to eat here and it didn't disappoint. The food was gorgeous and excellent service. The hard part was trying to decide on what to eat as the menu choices are great. It has a lovely ambiance to it. Great value for money as well. The portion sizes are large!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Steak frites had a ton of frites, excellent sized steak. Ricotta ravioli delish; bread basket fantastic

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 18, 2017

My favorite restaurant in DC! The bread is to die for!

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.