Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 343 times today

Le Diplomate

4.7
6375 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
French
Top Tags:
  • Good for a Date
  • Special Occasion
  • Fit for Foodies
Stephen Starr brings his signature brand of hospitality and design to the nation’s capital with the opening of Le Diplomate, located at 14th & Q. Serving lunch, brunch and dinner, the stylish 260 seat restaurant transports diners to the beloved cafés of Boulevard Saint-Germain in Paris. The extensive menu features a variety of classic dishes including Onion Soup Gratinee, Steak Frites, and Poulet Roti as well as contemporary bistro fare, with dishes such as Shaved Veal Tongue with Mache and Bavette de Boeuf à l’Echalote. A thoughtfully curated wine list and cocktail program perfectly complements the cuisine and creates an environment suitable for romantic dinners or lively group gatherings. In warmer weather, enjoy dining "en plein air" in the stunning outdoor café where you can take in the bustling energy of DC while sipping on the perfect kir royale.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
French
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Sunday to Thursday 5:00PM to 11:00PM
Friday & Saturday 5:00PM to 12:00AM

Saturday & Sunday Brunch 10:00AM to 3:00PM
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(202) 332-3333
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Michael Abt
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Q Street

What Insiders Are Saying

The Infatuation
8.3

This French bistro is the place to see anyone who’s ever been on “Meet the Press". The food is also delicious.

Ratings 8.0-8.5:The best way to think about restaurants in the low to mid 8′s is that these are the places you would absolutely go back to, anytime. These restaurants are ones that you want to bring a friend to, just so they can also experience the duck carnitas, or burger, or whatever dish the place is known for.
What 6375 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.7based on recent ratings
4.7
food
4.5
service
4.6
ambience
4.3
value
Noise · Moderate
94% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 12 hours ago

We had a great experience. It was our son’s 21st birthday. He had the mussels, I had the scallops and his friend had the steak. The food was very good. Our service was spot on and they brought us champagne with dessert as a celebration.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 3 days ago

Le Dip has a very authentic Parisian bistro menu.
We had the skate and pan seared bass.
Service was excellent
Wine list had many good wines reasonably priced
Food was perfectly prepared
We would definitely return

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 3 days ago

One of my favorite restaurants in DC...service is outstanding. My only complaint is the noise level in the first room....really hard to have a conversation and people waiting for tables tend to surround some of the diners’ tables....awkward.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 3 days ago

Consistently creative and consistently consistent. Always superb.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 3 days ago

We were happy to take our Bichon-Westie, Sugar, with us for lunch on Father's Day. The staff made our baby feel accepted and the food was great. We always enjoy our visit here.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 3 days ago

My business meeting that went better than expected. The sun room had an amazing atmosphere with an abundance of natural light. Even when busy, the service never fails to meet expectations.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 3 days ago

Amazing food and service. The steak was perfectly cooked and the sides, too. You definitely pay top dollar for excellent service and quality food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

It was our 28th Anniversary. The first table we were shown to was in the back near a wait station so we asked to change and they gave us a better table. Service was friendly and prompt. Food came fairly quickly but was timed well. We didn’t feel rushed although a number of tables turned over more quickly around us. Dinner at as excellent.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

Always wonderful. Great food and service and the vibrancy makes for a fun meal

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

The food was excellent, the atmosphere is amazing, and the service was top notch.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

In DC to visit my son and we met at what is fast becoming our go to brunch/breakfast spot when I'm in town. He chose baked eggs, while I had the eggs Benedict. Both were fantastic. The service was great and the feel was perfect to start my trip off.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

Food, atmosphere, and service...this place has it all!! A must stop while in Washington DC!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

This is my favorite restaurant to celebrate a special occasion. My husband had to make the reservation a month in advance so we could celebrate our anniversary. I hope to return next month to celebrate my birthday.

Service was outstanding. Our water glasses were refilled promptly, wine selection was very good (many price ranges), and the food arrived fresh and hot.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

We enjoy le Diplomate a lot. They are responsive to our special requests. We go as often as we can.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

This restaurant topped all the DC lists so I thought it would be pretentious or overhyped. It was great in every way, the food was excellent, our waiter was so good, the people watching was stellar and the outside patio on a summer night was such a special treat!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 5 days ago

We sat in an outdoor area that is covered. I sat on a bench with a back BUT the back was so slanted it was very uncomfortable. I asked for a pillow for support - they don't offer them.
I would make sure I sat at a table with regular chairs if I go back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

Great authentic French bistro. Good service, excellent food. This is one of our favorites for dates or brunch.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 7 days ago

Despite requesting, the food arrived with the cocktails, instead of with the wine. The beef had good flavor but was overcooked and unremarcable. The deserts were outstanding. The service was attentive but the noise level was extremely loud.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 7 days ago

I have been to Le Dip numerous times and came away once more a very happy diner. As always, the service was excellent. A hat tip to our server, Genivieve (sp?) and to the manager, Ray. They were spot-on in giving advice and good service.

The food was delicious. The spring pea soup with crab, the duck in cherry sauce, the roast chicken and the lamb were all spectacular.

If you enjoy excellent French-inspired cuisine in a fun atmosphere, add Le Diplomate to your list!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 12, 2018

We finished eating the APERO then all of a sudden, the waitress brought the check without even checking if we would like anything else. Even though, we wanted to order a dessert. In a place like Le Diplomate, I expect waiters and waitresses to be more aware of this specific detail: DO NOT BRING THE CHECK before asking the customers if they want to order something else. Thanks

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 11, 2018

This is a very special place because of the service manager, Leiam. We had the pleasure of getting to chat with him a bit and I could see his enthusiasm for running a truly great restaurant had rubbed off on the entire staff. He told us the head chef had the same passion but I already knew this from the quality of the food I had been served. Truly a great dining experience in every way.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on June 11, 2018

Totally unimpressive experience. Nothing special about this place from food to ambiance to service. Don’t understand the hype, it is a very ordinary everyday dining experience and nothing special.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 10, 2018

Fabulous food. Going back again for sure

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 10, 2018

I was recommended this place from my friend. Appetizers were great. However, steaks and services were not outstanding as I expected.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 10, 2018

The place was jumping on the Sunday afternoon we arrived (15 minutes early). We were asked to hang out at the bar for a few minutes. We traded trips to the bathroom (the wall paper is not for the prudish) and were shown our table at the exact time of our reservation (2:15). We ordered brunch with the help of our server who was very nice and attentive. My lobster omelet had more meat in it than I expected. My date's western omelet (made to order) was also very good. We had dessert and coffee and were on our way in 1 hr and 15 minutes. We had a very enjoyable time. The place is busy and slightly overcrowded, but the great music overcame any ambient noise and we spoke in a normal voice the whole time. I would highly recommend this place for any one of a wide variety of occasions.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 10, 2018

"Le Dip" is always a great experience. Food is consistently good, as is the service. (and the bread and pastries are to die for). My only minor complaint, and it doesn't affect me returning again and again, is the noise level. Some tables are better than others, but this continues to be my "go to" restaurant for an outstanding dinner or brunch.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 9, 2018

Good food, good service, fair price, but very noisy. I would not hesitate to go back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 9, 2018

Great as always - busy b/c of Pride DC and the waiter was really busy, but he did an awesome job considering he had several tables flip at one time.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 9, 2018

Exceptional food and service. Our waiter had great suggestions concerning the menu. We arrived earlier than our reservation, but the hostess was kind and recommended we wait at the bar for our table to be ready. It was very busy, so I would recommend a reservation for maximum enjoyment. The food was promptly delivered after ordering without any compromise to quality. Long story short, it’s really good.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 9, 2018

Went here for Sunday brunch with some friends. Delicious food, great ambiance. Highly recommend.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 8, 2018

Le Diplomate is one of the few restaurants where you can always expect consistency, fantastic food, exceptional service, a lively atmosphere, and the likelihood of ruining into a few friends. This is a place where you can go for a casual weeknight dinner, a happy hour with friends, a celebration, or date night. You can always count on the staff to go out of their way to ensure you had nothing but the best. We have nothing but great things to say about Le Diplomate.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 8, 2018

Definitely one of the best restaurantes of DC

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 8, 2018

The sommelier was a great treat to start the night. Ewin was a pleasure, and quite entertaining. Our server was satisfactory. Nothing out of the ordinary.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 7, 2018

Great food and ambience, as always!! Great staff and a happening place.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 7, 2018

Great server, nice people, good food.......

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 6, 2018

Took my family of 7 to celebrate the graduation of my twin daughters from high school. It was a wonderful experience. The waiter was very attentive and had the girls ordering their food in French. The baguette was superb and the overall menu was excellent. I have never seen that much waiting staff attend to the dining guests experience. It reminded my family of the café scenes in France. Very impressive. Will be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 6, 2018

Open an hour or two later than most restaurants and I love that. My favorite late night restaurant and the best food too! Always a memorable meal.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 5, 2018

The skate was fabulous, I wanted a lighter meal, it was delish! The profiteroles dessert is beyond amazing!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 5, 2018

Our theater group loves going to the Diplomate. Convenient, great food and valet parking is a plus.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on June 5, 2018

My friends and I felt very humiliated by the staff for being foreigners and not having US IDs. So much so that we canceled most of the order and left to finish dinner at a different restaurant.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
160

Tweets by Le Diplomate