Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.26mi
  3. Distance: 0.35mi
  4. Distance: 0.36mi
  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.26mi
  3. Distance: 0.35mi
  4. Distance: 0.36mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.26mi
  3. Distance: 0.35mi
  4. Distance: 0.36mi
  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.26mi
  3. Distance: 0.35mi
  4. Distance: 0.36mi

About Le Diplomate

Stephen Starr brings his signature brand of hospitality and design to the nation’s capital with the opening of Le Diplomate, located at 14th & Q. Serving lunch, brunch and dinner, the stylish 260 seat restaurant transports diners to the beloved cafés of Boulevard Saint-Germain in Paris. The extensive menu features a variety of classic dishes including Onion Soup Gratinee, Steak Frites, and Poulet Roti as well as contemporary bistro fare, with dishes such as Shaved Veal Tongue with Mache and Bavette de Boeuf à l’Echalote. A thoughtfully curated wine list and cocktail program perfectly complements the cuisine and creates an environment suitable for romantic dinners or lively group gatherings. In warmer weather, enjoy dining "en plein air" in the stunning outdoor café where you can take in the bustling energy of DC while sipping on the perfect kir royale.

1601 14th St. NW
Washington, DC 20009
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Sunday to Thursday 5:00PM to 11:00PM
Friday & Saturday 5:00PM to 12:00AM

Saturday & Sunday Brunch 10:00AM to 3:00PM

Cross Street:
Q Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 332-3333

Website:
http://lediplomatedc.com/

Executive Chef:
Michael Abt

Le Diplomate Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (261)
Good for a Date (253)
Fit for Foodies (241)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (231)
Hot Spot (196)
Great for Outdoor Dining (183)
Great for Brunch (183)
Authentic (179)
People Watching (159)
Good for Birthdays (158)
Fun (149)
Good for Anniversaries (147)
Notable Wine List (145)
Romantic (137)
Sunday Lunch (109)
Good for Groups (90)
Casual (82)
Great for Lunch (80)
Vibrant Bar Scene (79)
Creative Cuisine (77)
Worth the Drive (77)
Business Meals (69)
Comfort Food (64)
Pre/post Theatre (58)
Handcrafted Cocktails (54)
Cozy (49)
Bar Seating (49)
Happy Hour (38)
Late-night Find (34)
Healthy (23)
Good Vegetarian Options (21)
Afternoon Coffee (19)
Local Ingredients (18)
Tasting Menu (17)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Scenic View (16)
Seasonal (15)
Kid-friendly (15)
Historic (14)
Family Style (12)
Afternoon Tea (9)
Modern Decor (7)
Great Beer (7)
Quick Bite (6)
Molecular Gastronomy (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Live Music (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Tapas (3)
Vegan (1)
 (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Organic (1)
Live Sports (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Private Room (1)
 (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
5141 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

The food was excellent and the service as well. The noise level would be the only reason I wouldn't rush back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 2 days ago

great birthday treat!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

The food is inflated, not as good as expected. We ordered frog leg, the flavor didn't go into the meat. Overall experience is good, but given its high reputation, we are a little disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

Impeccable service and delicious food! Le Diplomate never disappoints. Always consistently good.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Absolutely delicious food, as always! Staff are gracious and sweet and I am always happy I came here. The cheese plates and burger are my favorite, though the roast chicken and ham sandwich (at brunch) are delicious, too. Bread basket is always fantastic, brunch or otherwise. Love this place, highly recommend!

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Reminds me of dining in Paris. Fabulous tomato salad and sea scallops were perfect. The bartenders and our server were knowledgeable, courteous and professional. When back in DC will be stopping by again.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

Reliable good menu. I wish they did not restrict their lobster risotto to a Tuesday night special, or run out of it on Tuesday!!
The only downside is the noise level--off the charts! It helps to be a lip reader...

Tags: People Watching, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Birthday Dinner, food and service were excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 5 days ago

A bit disappointed in this very highly rated restaurant. There were 5 of us and none thought the food was great and one of us had to send the scallops back because they were too salty to eat. The onion soup was excellent but the two beef dishes were tough. It was so noisy you couldn't hear anything. Service was good but I'm sure there are better places to eat French food in DC.. it wasn't worth the money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

This is a trendy, noisy restaurant where the quality of food in not a prime consideration.
The salad was very good. I returned my medium steak because it was rare and was treated to a new serving with a rubbery piece of meat. My wife's "Loup de Mer" was underwhelming and my friend's Salad Nicoise tasted like canned tuna. Our waitress was annoying.The manager was very gracious in the manner in which he handled our dissatisfaction.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

This restaurant has really declined over the years I have eaten here. Our first courses were brought to the table twice. We had to wait too long for our wine once the food arrived. A steak ordered medium-rare came very rare. I tasted eight different savory dishes and each of them was notably over-salted. The management was accommodating, and even comped dessert (very delicious), but the overall experience was very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

We were not impressed with the atmosphere or the food at Le Diplomate. The place is extremely frenetic and noisy, making it difficult to talk, or even enjoy your food with all the bustling in the immediate vicinity. The reception and service were unenthusiastic, to put it kindly, and the food average at best.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

Le Diplomate is amazing and never disappoints. Fabulous brunch on Sunday with friends and very nice hostess stored the stroller.

Tags: Fun, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Paleo Friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Afternoon Coffee, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 7 days ago

We went for a birthday dinner and had a lovely time. The service was excellent, the food was delicious, we both had wonderful cocktails, and even got a little birthday surprise at the end of the meal. Definitely get reservations, especially for weekend nights. It was crowded but since we had reserved a table we were seated very promptly. The restaurant is also fairly noisy when crowded so those who are hard of hearing may have some difficulty at peak times.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 7 days ago

The atmosphere is incredible, and the food is delicious. Waiters seemed a little short but overall the meal was very enjoyable and I would recommend to a friend.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 7 days ago

We have dined at the Dip many times. We lucked out dining the day after Bastille Day celebration as the restaurant wasn't overly crowded and they offered the Bastille Day cuisine. We enjoyed our meals. My son was exceptionally pleased with the Quail and I loved the vegetable tartine. They added a few new vegetarian selections which featured fresh local produce. I was however looking forward to the radish board but they no longer offer the selection which sadden me. The service was exceptional. It takes awhile to get a reservation but worth it.

Tags: Fun, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 15, 2017

If I could come here everyday ❤️ I came here for the first time and it exceeded my expectations!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Tasting Menu, Vibrant Bar Scene, Live Music, Scenic View, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Wonderful brunch and great ambiance. My sister came to visit and we had the zucchini frittata and the poached eggs basquaise, which were both delicious. Highly recommend Le Diplomate for brunch.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Fun, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 14, 2017

A winner as usual, great in all aspects. Love going to Le Diplomate.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Our server was engaging and very professional. I really enjoyed the Bastille special dinner. It was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Amazing anniversary dinner...we really enjoyed the Bastille Day decorations, mime, face painting, etc.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 14, 2017

Second best burger I've ever had, which is a great feat. Honestly one of the most delicious meals I've had in DC.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Vive la France! Magnifique!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Good food. Charcuterie platter and Trout Amandine were amazing . Great atmosphere and wine list.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 14, 2017

We were there for the Bastille day celebration. Awesome!!!

Tags: Fun, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 14, 2017

These folks always nail it with the food. Generally, service is pretty good, but it can so.etimes get so busy that it overwhelms the server. The table wait is also too long. It is really, really loud there, so it is not the place to go for a nice quiet evening orconversational lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Went for Bastille Day. We each had a baby in a stroller and they were very accommodating. Warm shrimp salad was amazing, and our server and staff were excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion, People Watching, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 13, 2017

The noise level is very high,but tolerable because the food and service are so good.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 13, 2017

This restaurant had great food and the cocktails were awesome as well. It is perfect for special occasions. It's a little pricey but the food is so good that it's totally worth it.

Tags: Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Great meal in great authentic French bistro ambiance. Staff was very attentive and we really enjoyed ourselves. We will return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Doug was fantastic server! Great food and fun atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Great menu and food. The only drawback is the noise level which is almost deafening. To their credit, sound system is kept low. We will return for the positive aspects of this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Le Diplomate's menu is nicely varied, as is the wine list. Many hard surfaces create more noise than buzz so be sure dinner companions don't have hearing issues. Services can be surly. For example, our server got confused about our salad order, and when we pointed it out he responded "well, I read your order back to you!" rather than simply saying "I'm sorry and will take care of it."

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 11, 2017

we have enjoyed this restaurant since it opened but this time the food was only fair, one dish had to be sent back because it was tepid, we had to ask for more bread and aside from the dark bread the others were not of the previous times quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 10, 2017

There's a reason this place was packed even at 10pm on a Monday. We started with escargot (good even though I don't love escargot) & the foie gras parfait. The latter came in a delicious, large portion, with a great compote; one suggestion would be to bring out more than the 2 slices of bread, e.g., those 2 slices as well as some baguette slices like the ones that come with the escargot; there is simply too much of the foie gras for the bread provided, which isn't really a problem after all. I ended up using the bread basket for it.

The scallops I ordered were delicious & cooked just right, although 1 or 2 more would've been nice (but hey, this place isn't for cheap dates). I didn't try my friend's steak frites, but the portion was quite generous & she was quite the fan.

One of the best surprises was the wine. We shared a carafe of white wine, the house blend, not wanting to buy one of the moderately or immoderately expensive ones. I expected a less-than-stellar quality given that we ordered the house wine, but it was delicious and refreshing. Our server refilled as needed without rushing us or coming back too frequently, a very nice touch. This was true of his service throughout, including giving us some time to order & enjoy our appetizers before proceeding to the entrees. I forget his name unfortunately.

We opted for a table on the patio outside, which is open-air & lovely. A popular spot for couples or pairs, rather than some of the bigger booths and tables inside. Going later (after 9pm) meant we avoided the blazing heat of the afternoon. The only caveat with sitting outside is that the patio shuts down at 11pm, so if you're still enjoying your meal or drinks you'll have to move inside at that time. They warned us of this when we arrived & were quite friendly about it, so it wasn't an issue at all to finish our crème brûlée & pear liqueur inside. Only then did we realize what a cool space it is. It reminded me of a recent trip to Paris, full of ambience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Authentic, Cozy, Disabled Access, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Great food. Perfect steak frites. A little slow & sloppy with the drinks (first ones they brought out were wrong - they caught it pretty quickly but...). Profiteroles were outstanding. They could put one or two great pilsners on the menu to good effect.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Service was a little slow but otherwise good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Good food, nice ambiance for this neighborhood favorite French bistro. Note: the place is usually very crowded and can get loud, particularly in the main dining room.

Tags: People Watching, Fun, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Amazing food. Great service. Burger and french onion soup best I've ever had!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Always a lovely time. Our waiter was wonderful. The food did not disappoint.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.