About Le Diplomate

Stephen Starr brings his signature brand of hospitality and design to the nation’s capital with the opening of Le Diplomate, located at 14th & Q. Serving lunch, brunch and dinner, the stylish 260 seat restaurant transports diners to the beloved cafés of Boulevard Saint-Germain in Paris. The extensive menu features a variety of classic dishes including Onion Soup Gratinee, Steak Frites, and Poulet Roti as well as contemporary bistro fare, with dishes such as Shaved Veal Tongue with Mache and Bavette de Boeuf à l’Echalote. A thoughtfully curated wine list and cocktail program perfectly complements the cuisine and creates an environment suitable for romantic dinners or lively group gatherings. In warmer weather, enjoy dining "en plein air" in the stunning outdoor café where you can take in the bustling energy of DC while sipping on the perfect kir royale.

1601 14th St. NW
Washington, DC 20009
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Sunday to Thursday 5:00PM to 11:00PM
Friday & Saturday 5:00PM to 12:00AM

Saturday & Sunday Brunch 10:00AM to 3:00PM

Cross Street:
Q Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 332-3333

Website:
http://lediplomatedc.com/

Executive Chef:
Michael Abt

Le Diplomate Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (210)
Special Occasion (198)
Fit for Foodies (194)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (148)
Authentic (144)
Hot Spot (134)
Good for Birthdays (130)
Great for Brunch (127)
Good for Anniversaries (123)
Romantic (106)
Fun (104)
People Watching (103)
Notable Wine List (101)
Sunday Lunch (89)
Great for Outdoor Dining (80)
Casual (76)
Worth the Drive (72)
Good for Groups (69)
Comfort Food (65)
Handcrafted Cocktails (62)
Great for Lunch (61)
Pre/post Theatre (60)
Vibrant Bar Scene (59)
Cozy (59)
Creative Cuisine (56)
Business Meals (46)
Bar Seating (41)
Late-night Find (30)
Afternoon Coffee (26)
Seasonal (26)
Outstanding Value (24)
Happy Hour (21)
Family Style (14)
Tasting Menu (13)
Historic (12)
Modern Decor (12)
Local Ingredients (11)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Great Beer (8)
Scenic View (8)
Kid-friendly (7)
Healthy (7)
Afternoon Tea (7)
Paleo Friendly (7)
Molecular Gastronomy (6)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Disabled Access (5)
Quick Bite (3)
Open Kitchen (2)
Spicy (1)
Organic (1)
Fireplace (1)
Private Room (1)
Sort By:
S
4548 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I had the quiche florentine which was ea ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 2 days ago

I had the quiche florentine which was easily the best spinach quiche I've ever had. My husband had the baguette Provençal which he loved. The Bloody Mary was delicious too.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious! Lived up to all the hype. Fel ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 2 days ago

Delicious! Lived up to all the hype. Felt like we were in Paris.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had another great dinner at Le Diplom ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 2 days ago

We had another great dinner at Le Diplomate

The food was wonderful and our waiter, Carlos, was terrific as was Mathias, the manager

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We LOVE this place. We were celebrating ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

We LOVE this place. We were celebrating my wife's bday and it was the perfect night. From the fantastic service to the delicious bread to the awesome meal, you must visit. We will be back! Be sure to ask for manager, Umer, as he was just delightful. C'est tres tres bon!!!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Meaghan was great!

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 3 days ago

Meaghan was great!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Le Diplomate is a DC stalwart. Unfortuna ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

Le Diplomate is a DC stalwart. Unfortunately, our visit was marred by some sub-par food. In fairness, the bread was very good and the profiteroles were as well. The onion soup was, however, below average (thin broth), the skate was also less than good (over cooked and fishy smell), and the spinach was cold as it arrived. Oh well. The service is excellent and the room and location are appealing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value1

Excellent, always a wonderful meal.

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent, always a wonderful meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Le Diplomate was a fantastic experience, ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

Le Diplomate was a fantastic experience, both the food and serve were top notch.

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I am a restaurant manager and love eatin ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 4 days ago

I am a restaurant manager and love eating out. Anthony made our experience superb. His menu knowledge and kind service was impeccable.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value5

Classic brasserie style experience. Will ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

Classic brasserie style experience. Will not disappoint

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Pre Theater

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

Pre Theater

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Wonderful food, perfect service. Great ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

Wonderful food, perfect service. Great place to be any night. Brunch is also very special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great variety of authentic French cuisin ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

Great variety of authentic French cuisine and outstanding service.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The high standards and delivery of good ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

The high standards and delivery of good food, service and wonderful ambiance still remain at their lofty levels since the restaurant originally opened.

Tags: Casual, Authentic, People Watching, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

From beginning to end, it was a great di ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

From beginning to end, it was a great dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything c'est trés bien at this authe ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

Everything c'est trés bien at this authentic French restaurant. Service, ambience, cuisine, and drinks were all remarkably French and remarkably good!

Tags: Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for a Date, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Go to spot.

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Go to spot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

While the food is excellent, the service ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 12, 2017

While the food is excellent, the services is excellent plus....their aim to please.

Tags: Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Good food; had a bad table near toilet, ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Good food; had a bad table near toilet, so person sitting next to it was not entirely comfortable. Waiting staff courteous, helpful and knowledgeable.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Delicious! We had friends visiting from ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Delicious! We had friends visiting from out of town, and we immediately thought of this place for brunch. The food never disappoints! Our friends had Orchard Point Oysters and Quiche, which were delicious, as was my Eggs Basquaise, and my husband's Duck Sarladaise. All four of us enjoyed our meal immensely. They even remembered our request to celebrate our friend's birthday, bringing out tasty little cranberry muffins with a candle on top!

We'd be remiss not to mention how great the bread basket is. That cranberry and nut bread is incredible.

Our waiter was also great.

Tags: Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Every trip back to Le Diplomate is a joy ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Every trip back to Le Diplomate is a joy. From the atmosphere to the service and most especially to the food, I'm always surprised by how creative and tasty every dish I've tried is. Last time it was steak and eggs for Sunday brunch. The other day, we had the "to die for" bread basket and a salad nicoise. So delicious! The regular coffee and espresso drinks are about as good as it gets. No wonder this place is so very popular! Go treat yourself:)

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Molecular Gastronomy, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place definitely deserves a visit. ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 12, 2017

This place definitely deserves a visit. I have been here a number of times to sit outside on a nice spring or fall day, or cool summer evening and enjoyed the cheese and wine. I have always heard the food is great but had not done a full dining experience. We had the unfortunate experience of having a waiter who was clearly having a bad day. We waited and waited and waited for service and then pulled someone over to ask for water and low and behold it was our waiter. Then, when we waited and waited and waited again we asked for some bread. The walnut and cranberry bread is heaven. The bread subdued the lack of attention. We waited and waited for him again and had to pull him over to order the mushroom tart. That was beyond delicious!! Three of us shared it as an appetizer. When we were ready to order and still no real signs of our waiter we waived him down again and asked for eggs benedict to split and one Gruyere omelette. All the food was perfectly cooked. I hate when my eggs bene are cooked all the way through - these were perfectly runny. Finally, our waiter came and asked if we wanted dessert and I quickly said no, and he quickly returned our check. One person in our party changed their mind so when he returned with the check I said, "Excuse me, we do in fact want to see the dessert menus." His response and action to me was appalling. I normally will just write a scathing review but was so upset because the food is VERY GOOD that when the manager walked up and asked us how everything was I told her our whole experience and she MORE than rectified it. She handled it exactly how a restaurant should. Most of the staff were incredibly service oriented. I write all this because even though it was not the greatest service experience at first it ended the correct way. I will 100% go back for the walnut bread, the tart, the eggs benedict and everything in between and I greatly appreciate the managers response to us because this review could have been so much worse.

Tags: Casual, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

service is always educated and impeccabl ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 12, 2017

service is always educated and impeccable here. the food is consistent and quality also. great ambiance and people watching. always full so get a reservation or you will wait a long long time.

Tags: People Watching, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Best French food in DC

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Best French food in DC

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

LeDiplomate does not disappoint. The atm ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 11, 2017

LeDiplomate does not disappoint. The atmosphere is a joy, wine selection as it should be food very good, service attentive & professional.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Yum. Had the French toast and chicken. T ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Yum. Had the French toast and chicken. The cream and lime on the French toast was an unexpectedly delicious combo. The chicken was simple, but juicy and flavorful, and the salad accompaniment, though slightly salty, was another highlight. Thus far, the hype is real. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: People Watching, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Three of us shared the petite plateau of ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Three of us shared the petite plateau of fruits de mer... it was amazing. So fresh, so impressive in its presentation. The ceviche scallops were a revelation.

Tags: , Afternoon Coffee, Great for Brunch, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tito provided outstanding service. He wa ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Tito provided outstanding service. He was personable, responsive, got great recommendations for the menu and just a great personality.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Always an amazing time when you get to g ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Always an amazing time when you get to go to Le Diplomate! Service is great, atmosphere are lively and fun, and the food is consistently delicious. Can't go wrong by making a reservation here!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The waiter was very good. The food was e ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 10, 2017

The waiter was very good. The food was excellent and the bottle of sauvignon blanc was perfect.

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, , Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best restaurants in Washingto ...

 
 (Dublin)·Dined on February 10, 2017

One of the best restaurants in Washington, DC. Book early for weekend tables.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

my first time here for dinner. friend vi ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 10, 2017

my first time here for dinner. friend visiting from out of town. Entrees are priced a little high from my perspective but my steak was tasty and cooked well. Beer selection is not great but it's not really that kind of place.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Wonderful food, very energetic atmospher ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Wonderful food, very energetic atmosphere. Nabil was excellent!

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience! The boeuf bourguignon ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Great experience! The boeuf bourguignon and charcuterie plate were excellent, especially the pate and the foie gras.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is an authentic French brasserie. ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 6, 2017

This is an authentic French brasserie. The food is spot-on French, the menu extensive. The service is excellent. We'll be back whenever we can.

Tags: Fun, Casual, Special Occasion, Family Style, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The service and food was impeccable!! We ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 6, 2017

The service and food was impeccable!! We both had the Dorado en Pappilote and we shared the Profiteroles for dessert! We've been there for birthdays and weekend lunches and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves!!! We have not found a bad thing on the menu yet!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Molecular Gastronomy, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Le Diplomat has great food, but can be o ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Le Diplomat has great food, but can be overrated. We got stuck in traffic and the hostess was incredibly rude that we were fifteen minutes late... We were hosting visitors from out of town for a job interview and the hostess' attitude was not a "selling point" for DC. She really made us feel embarrassed in front of our guests for being late.

Our waiter was fantastic and the food was good, but not crazy-delicious like we'd hoped for. It was fun to have dinner at Le Diplomat, but Stephen Starr should work with his host staff on being more friendly and welcoming. We won't hurry back to Le Diplomat.

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Dining at Le Diplomate is always a speci ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Dining at Le Diplomate is always a special occasion, and today's brunch was no exception. Vladimir was the perfect server - attentive, thoughtful, perfectly engaging and professional, and quick to acknowledge my food allergies (from my reservation notes), ensuring that we had no issues with them. He also clearly communicated with the kitchen so that our food selections were prepared just as we had asked them to be.

Excellent food. Excellent service. Thank you, Vladimir. Thank you again, Le Diplomate. We continue to have wonderful dining experiences with you, and very good reasons to keep you as one of our favorite places to dine in the Washington, DC metropolitan area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our favorites! Great for brunch, ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 5, 2017

One of our favorites! Great for brunch, great for dinner.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious and the service w ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The food was delicious and the service was great. We were seated 30 minutes past our reservation time (they did give us a complimentary app). The bar is difficult to get a drink from while waiting.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.