Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 293 times today

Le Diplomate

4.7
6166 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
French
Top Tags:
  • Special Occasion
  • Good for a Date
  • Fit for Foodies
Stephen Starr brings his signature brand of hospitality and design to the nation’s capital with the opening of Le Diplomate, located at 14th & Q. Serving lunch, brunch and dinner, the stylish 260 seat restaurant transports diners to the beloved cafés of Boulevard Saint-Germain in Paris. The extensive menu features a variety of classic dishes including Onion Soup Gratinee, Steak Frites, and Poulet Roti as well as contemporary bistro fare, with dishes such as Shaved Veal Tongue with Mache and Bavette de Boeuf à l’Echalote. A thoughtfully curated wine list and cocktail program perfectly complements the cuisine and creates an environment suitable for romantic dinners or lively group gatherings. In warmer weather, enjoy dining "en plein air" in the stunning outdoor café where you can take in the bustling energy of DC while sipping on the perfect kir royale.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
French
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Sunday to Thursday 5:00PM to 11:00PM
Friday & Saturday 5:00PM to 12:00AM

Saturday & Sunday Brunch 10:00AM to 3:00PM
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(202) 332-3333
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Michael Abt
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Q Street

What Insiders Are Saying

The Infatuation
8.3

This French bistro is the place to see anyone who’s ever been on “Meet the Press". The food is also delicious.

Ratings 8.0-8.5:The best way to think about restaurants in the low to mid 8′s is that these are the places you would absolutely go back to, anytime. These restaurants are ones that you want to bring a friend to, just so they can also experience the duck carnitas, or burger, or whatever dish the place is known for.
What 6166 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.7based on recent ratings
4.7
food
4.6
service
4.6
ambience
4.3
value
Noise · Moderate
96% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 2 days ago

You just can never top the service at Le Dip! Huge fan, as always.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 3 days ago

Birthday dinner for my wife.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 3 days ago

Another great pre-theatre dinner at Diplomate. The skate is my favorite seafood dish and it did not disappoint. Crisp, buttery and delicious.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 4 days ago

Overpriced and food was moderate but great customer service

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 4 days ago

Great experience as usual.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 5 days ago

The service is impeccable! I took the last sip of my iced tea and right as I set the empty glass down, it was scooped up, refilled and back on the table within 1 minute...amazing service. The food is slightly above average for a French restaurant and the value is fair. The place is very lively and a great place for unique cocktails. Stick with the steak frites!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined 5 days ago

Our expectations for this restaurant were very high, and we were left disappointed by the service, and by the food somewhat. Two of the plates we ordered were very salty (the escargot and the mashed potatoes that came with the scallops). The bread was not brought out for a while, and only brought out when we asked the server. Additionally, the sommelier was extremely unhelpful when we asked him for guidance on the bottle of wine we should order.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined 6 days ago

one of my favorite restaurants in DC. went for a special occasion and waiter sort of spoiled it. a big disappointment.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

My wife and I had spent a rainy Sunday in DC doing the museum thing and had previously made a reservation for an early dinner on Sunday. We arrived a little early and after a drink at the bar were seated promptly at the appointed time.

The ambience is that of a classic Parisian bistro. If I were to close my ears so that I did not hear English being spoken, I could imagine myself in Paris. The room is casual, comfortable and appealing. We arrived around 6pm and by 6:30pm the place was packed. Remember, this is a rainy Sunday night in DC. Definitely make a reservation and if you don’t, be prepared to get there early.

After we were seated, our waiter was fairly prompt considering how busy the restaurant was. The service throughout dinner was best described as leisurely. We were not in a hurry and the waiter’s service matched pretty well with that. It did take a while for the appetizer course to come out which is why I dinged the service rating just a touch. I do want to mention the bread as well. I don’t often eat bread as I want to save room for the meal, but in this case, the baguette was worth it.

I started with the White Asparagus salad. The asparagus was done exact as I like it...firm, tender but not crunchy. The leek vinaigrette was piquant with the orange adding the perfect sweet counterpoint to the dressing. I will crave that appetizer. My wife had the Grilled Loup de Mer (sea bass) and thought it absolutely delicious. She likes her seafood flaky and moist and that is exactly how it came out. I had the Beef Bourguignon and it was wonderful as well. The beef was literally falling apart tender, the sauce delicious and smoky flavored from the lardon. I would highly recommend both entrees. Regarding our wine, my wife had a glass of one of the Malbecs. I don’t remember which one. I am a fan of CA central coast wines and enjoyed a Byron ‘Nielson’ Pinot that was very nice. All in all a wonderful meal. We will definitely be returning.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

Love this place!! Delicious food and great service! Brunch and dinner! One of my favorite restaurants in the city.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 6 days ago

Excellent!
My husband and I went there for brunch on Sunday, and the food was very good. Great wine selection! Our waiter was very helpful, friendly and provided excellent service. This place is very popular, so reservations is a must! Will be back!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 6 days ago

The food was probably the best it's been in all the times I've been here. Very consistent.
But the service was lacking, I'm not sure what happened on this night.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 7 days ago

Amazing. Every. Single. Time. Go there, get the chefs cheeses as an app and follow that with the seabass dish. It'll be your new favorite restaurant.... hands down. I'm from Raleigh, NC and always make reservations for every visit to DC multiple times a year.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 7 days ago

The prime rib was the best I’ve had, I asked the waiter for his recommendation on a wine to pair with it and it was perfect. The croquettes were also amazing.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 7 days ago

The cheese board was excellent

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 7 days ago

Great resto and hope to return....

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 7 days ago

It seems that the clientele has gotten more casual here. I know it is a brasserie, but flip flops, a t-shirt with writing on it and jean shorts seems a bit much. Also, the service was pretty slow this last weekend. Overall, I will still go back, but doesn't seem as special as it once was.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 7 days ago

The only way to have better French is by flying.

Went for a family spring break brunch. Only learned afterward of the political infamy of late. Service was excellent and attentive. Cappuccinos were perfect. Complimentary bread plate was REDICULOUS! Followed but the ordered pastry plate which was also extraordinary. Every treat with unexpected citrus or mint accents to rise above.

The breakfast entries were sublime. Croque madame as good as I’ve had anywhere, French toast was the best ever anywhere, with the whipped cream and mint topping and pineapple. Just perfect.

Atmosphere was so great. We were lucky to have the windows ope on a nice day. Also arriving at 9:30 it was relaxed and uncrowded. I’d go any time again. This was a super memorable event for the families last brunch or spring break!

We bought bread to go and was so happy the day after!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 7 days ago

Beautiful day to sit on the patio and enjoy a lovely brunch. Our server Brian made it even more wonderful.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 13, 2018

So good. Noise was definitely a little annoying but the food was amazing - such a fun night

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 13, 2018

I took my girlfriend here for our third anniversary, and it was excellent. The service was excellent, the food was amazing, and they surprised us with champagne after the meal. The whole experience was absolutely perfect, and we will be back again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 13, 2018

Really enjoyed our dinner and can’t wait to come to the D.C. area to come again. The bouillabaisse was delicious!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 13, 2018

Overall we enjoyed our experience here. The only complaint we had was the slow service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 12, 2018

After 10 years in the district, I was leaving back to the west coast and knew I wanted my last meal to be at le diplomate. They did not fail me. My meal, my drinks and all my dear friends had a blast and it was delicious. I will always recommend this place. From when this restaurant opened to now, they’ve never dropped in quality and service. I will miss Le Diplomate!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 12, 2018

Food would have gotten 5 stars except it was entirely too salty! My extremities were swollen for days. Authentic French food with American portion sizes. Nice wine selection.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 12, 2018

Great ambiance and wonderful service. A tad loud with the music. Had perfectly cooked steak frites and Brussels sprouts. A nice but ordinary old fashioned. (Cocktail) My colleague had roasted chicken and he loved it as well.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 11, 2018

I came here for a business meal on a recommendation. The ambiance was great, however our entrees were so salty they were inedible. Service was great, however the cocktails were also nothing to write home about.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 11, 2018

Just love this restaurant when in need of delicious comfort food!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 11, 2018

For all the hype surrounding this restaurant, I can't put into words how disappointed I was by the food. The appetizer was bland and disgusting, a collection of cold vegetables and seafood that they charged $20 for. The main courses were mediocre. The biggest thing about this place is the price. This food was worth maybe $10-15 based on how good it was. But they charged 30 for each entree. It just isn't worth it. I can't for the life of me figure out why people go crazy over this restaurant. I highly recommend you go to somewhere like Mintwood Place, which is better French food at a better price.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 10, 2018

My husband and I celebrated our 24th wedding anniversary at my favorite restaurant - Le Diplomate! It is always my first choice if I can get a reservation, as its very popular. The bread basket alone is worth the trip. I highly recommend!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 10, 2018

Fantastic food, drinks, service, atmosphere. Last minute find, best meal!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 10, 2018

Always fresh, deliciously prepared food. Nice & experienced waitstaff.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 10, 2018

Poor, rushed, inattentive service.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 9, 2018

I've heard a lot about Le Diplomate and been looking forward to my visit since I booked a table several weeks in advance. The food did not disappoint! Neither did the wine. And the service was excellent!
However I would like to add that the place is very noisy. I brought my parents who had trouble hearing almost everything the waiter said (their English is not perfect so it would be difficult enough without any noise), and it was difficult to have a relaxed conversation. At least it took some time to get used to the the high levet of noise, which surprised me. The light was very dim and I saw several people using their smartphones to be able to read the menu.
That being said, the overall impression was great, I am just surprised that such a great and well-renowned place haven't done anything about the noise.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 9, 2018

Very good menu, lot of choices yet not overwhelming.Outstanding food half way between sophisticated and comfort food.Managment seems hands on and very professional.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 9, 2018

Classic French (brasserie + bistro)/2 with an authentic feel - like you just parachuted into Lyon, or Paris. It's a fairly large, bustling place. The food is what you'd expect from a very good French bistro/brasserie. Exceptional for the price.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2018

I have had the pleasure of eating at Le Diplomate three times. This last time was just as delicious as the other two. Their food and their service are both consistently good. They even have valet parking if you need it. My date had the sea scallops which were great. I had the beef bourguignon and it was fabulous. They have daily specials which sound good, too. My appetizer was the warm shrimp salad and it was incredible. I could have made a meal out of it as it was large. If you want fabulous food, great service, and a lively atmosphere, you MUST go to Le Diplomate. I will be coming back again!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2018

Delicious, if rich, classic French food and a friendly, helpful wait staff. The carafes of house wine are so good that it's hardly worth ordering any other choice. The noise level is the only negative.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 8, 2018

I've been here before and will go again. My service this time was eh. Not sure if the waitress was too busy or what. I asked for bread 2-3 times before I got it and it was only one serving when the server knew my guest was coming. I asked for more bread and got an acceptable amount the second time. When we got our meal, she didn't check on our satisfaction. She was good about asking about my wine but the rest was just eh. Le Diplomate is also on the noisy side. But the food, wine and bread are great. I wish it was easier to get to.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2018

I love this place. Make sure to order extra pastries to bring back home.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
155