Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.26mi
  3. Distance: 0.35mi
  4. Distance: 0.36mi
  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.26mi
  3. Distance: 0.35mi
  4. Distance: 0.36mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.26mi
  3. Distance: 0.35mi
  4. Distance: 0.36mi
  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.26mi
  3. Distance: 0.35mi
  4. Distance: 0.36mi

About Le Diplomate

Stephen Starr brings his signature brand of hospitality and design to the nation’s capital with the opening of Le Diplomate, located at 14th & Q. Serving lunch, brunch and dinner, the stylish 260 seat restaurant transports diners to the beloved cafés of Boulevard Saint-Germain in Paris. The extensive menu features a variety of classic dishes including Onion Soup Gratinee, Steak Frites, and Poulet Roti as well as contemporary bistro fare, with dishes such as Shaved Veal Tongue with Mache and Bavette de Boeuf à l’Echalote. A thoughtfully curated wine list and cocktail program perfectly complements the cuisine and creates an environment suitable for romantic dinners or lively group gatherings. In warmer weather, enjoy dining "en plein air" in the stunning outdoor café where you can take in the bustling energy of DC while sipping on the perfect kir royale.

1601 14th St. NW
Washington, DC 20009
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Sunday to Thursday 5:00PM to 11:00PM
Friday & Saturday 5:00PM to 12:00AM

Saturday & Sunday Brunch 10:00AM to 3:00PM

Cross Street:
Q Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 332-3333

Website:
http://lediplomatedc.com/

Executive Chef:
Michael Abt

Le Diplomate Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (282)
Special Occasion (269)
Fit for Foodies (242)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (216)
Hot Spot (193)
Great for Brunch (186)
Authentic (185)
Fun (168)
Good for Anniversaries (159)
Good for Birthdays (158)
People Watching (157)
Great for Outdoor Dining (147)
Notable Wine List (142)
Romantic (133)
Sunday Lunch (120)
Good for Groups (91)
Worth the Drive (90)
Casual (85)
Creative Cuisine (83)
Comfort Food (80)
Great for Lunch (80)
Vibrant Bar Scene (76)
Pre/post Theatre (65)
Business Meals (62)
Handcrafted Cocktails (62)
Cozy (59)
Bar Seating (52)
Happy Hour (36)
Late-night Find (36)
Afternoon Coffee (25)
Historic (25)
Good Vegetarian Options (21)
Seasonal (20)
Tasting Menu (20)
Local Ingredients (20)
Family Style (18)
Healthy (15)
Scenic View (14)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Outstanding Value (13)
Afternoon Tea (13)
Modern Decor (13)
Kid-friendly (11)
Quick Bite (9)
Great Beer (8)
Molecular Gastronomy (7)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Organic (3)
Private Room (2)
Live Sports (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Wood Oven (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
4952 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 18 hours ago

Fantastic, as usual. Bustling and loud, but good service and even better food. Upscale without being precocious, and the prices are certainly reasonable for the quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined 19 hours ago

Fantastic food and great ambiance

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 21 hours ago

Waitress, Lindsay, was knowledgeable and interested in our experience. Food was fabulous: pea/crab soup, very salad, escargot, veal, shrimp salad, beef bourginioine. One flaw-the foie gras was not pure duck liver, served with think sliced bread.
Overall, exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined a day ago

The shrimp salad is a revelation. It's bright and fresh, but also buttery and rich. A little bit of everything to sate all cravings. Have eaten here on many occasions and finally tried the burger, which was delightful. The fries are addictive.

Tags: Cozy, Afternoon Coffee, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined a day ago

Our favorite brunch in the city!!!.... and dinner is fantastic too!!

Tags: Casual, Hot Spot, People Watching, Fun, Cozy, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined 2 days ago

This was our first time dining at LeDiplomat and my husband and I agreed it reminded us of our dining at Parisian cafes with all the American benefits of people speaking English in a smoke free environment with a waitress, Kaira who was both patient and attentive throughout our entire meal! The food was heavenly, the desserts Devine and my cappuccino exquisite.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 2 days ago

As usual the service was awful
And the food made up for it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 3 days ago

The food and waitstaff were excellent. The noise level was ok and am glad we were seated away from the bar along the window. All in all a wonderful and memorable dinner with family and friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 3 days ago

Enjoyed Le Diplomate with 10 friends for a 5pm Friday reservation. The service was above average offering menu suggestions with willingness to provide separate checks for our large group. Consensus was excellent for the lamb being "melt in our mouth". Asparagus was superb. Onion soup was a bit too salty for me, likely due to the type or amount of cheese. Crème brûlée was the best I've had.

Tags: Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 5 days ago

A fabulous experience from the perspective of an out-of-town couple - felt like we were swept away to Paris. Hands down the best dining we had in DC.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, People Watching, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

Food is good, but service is medium. The food came out before our glasses of wine and the noise level was so high I could barely hear the people at my table.

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

One of my favorite D.C. Restaurants. Very much the French bistro it pretends to be. A gem

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

Beautiful surroundings with excellent bread/butter to start. Try the delicious onion soup complete with crusty cheese baked right on the crock. The best dressing on the warm shrimp/avocado salad I've tasted in a while. Casual dining with good service.
Definitely one of our favorite places for an early supper.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Fun, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent service and raw seafood selection

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

For 4 years LeDip has been saying that they'll open SOON for weekday lunch.
Well, when is this going to occur ?

Tags: Casual, Quick Bite, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Groups, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Hot Spot, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 6 days ago

Looks French, but if you've been fortunate enough to have experienced France, the taste was not authentic, and I didn't see anyone there (working or dining) who was French.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

the menu is great, the food is great, the service is great. I thought people were exaggerating about this place but every thing was wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 6 days ago

Fabulous steak ah poivre. The warm shrimp salad is a great srarter. Very attentive service. Treat yourself to a little bit of Paris in DC!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined 6 days ago

Always a great choice when visiting D.C. The brunch is very special. Make reservations early.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

Love this place. Try to make it when am in town. Ambiance is great. Love menu.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for a Date, Authentic, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 7 days ago

Great food and service. Busy dining room well into the evening -- make reservation well in advance. A very lively place that can get noisy, may not be the best place for quiet conversations. Highly recommended.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 7 days ago

Outstanding in every way - this is a very busy restaurant but yet still very personal. excellent food, service and ambience
our favorite place in DC

Tags: Fun, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 7 days ago

after all the hoopla of getting the reservation it's just an average meal. The pot a feau was very well executed but it was not worth the terrible mushroom appetiser and the he hectic atmosphere and most of all the pretence There are better ways to spend your time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

This was our first visit to Le Diplomate as we celebrated our daughter's graduation from college. The food was excellent; started with steak tartare and frogs legs. Entree's included Steak Frites, Duck Confit, Soft Shell Crab and Mussels. We loved every dish. The mussels in particular were outstanding as the broth was to-die-for...

The meal was rounded out with a 3-cheese selection (highly recommended) and an apple tart ala mode, which was liked by the table, but not me.

Can't wait for our next visit!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Nabil is the best server in all of D.C... can't wait to go back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Booking with some trepidation because of prior ratings for poor service, less than stellar food and uncontrollable noise levels, I really wanted to go back to my old stand-by Mon Ami Gabi where the Steak Frites are phenomenal.

Well, I'm happy to report that the experience at Le Diplomate was even more "French" and the breads and Steak Frites tasted like they were straight out of a Parisienne brasserie.

My only objection - we got served our main courses before our appetizers were even half consumed. That's a big no-no in my book, and something a true french restaurant or staff would do. Next time, I'll send the food back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Enjoyed it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 21, 2017

le diplomate is always the go-to when my parents come to town. this time was no disappointment - the best veal i've ever had!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 21, 2017

The food and service was outstanding. Seating is cramped and the noise level is high.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 21, 2017

When a restaurant has over 200 guests seated by 5:30 pm on a Sunday evening, it must be doing something right. Our server said that Sunday evening is just their third busiest night (after Saturday and Friday), and that 21 servers are required, to adequately handle the 400 guests served nightly. At an average tab of $62 per guest (including liquid refreshment), that comes to a cool $25,000 revenue per night, making this one of the most popular restaurants in the city.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 21, 2017

The food was amazing and the service was excellent.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 21, 2017

We enjoyed an amazing anniversary dinner. Our waiter, Nabil, offered delicious recommendations & excellent service. We enjoyed a selection of local & regional oysters---very tasty. The beet salad has every variety of beet. A fresh alternative to most salad options. The classic beef Bourguignon is hearty and full of flavor. We can't wait for an opportunity to return to Le Diplomate.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Molecular Gastronomy, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 21, 2017

I've been to Le Dip many times. The food took a really long time and the waiter did not acknowledge until we asked why it was taking so long. He didn't apologize or even seem to care. Not my typical experience.... Service is usually much more attentive and on-point.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Happening place, very busy and crowded, ambiance is great, food is great, good wine selection. Recommend making a reservation and review menu online also wine list. Great naiberhood to walk around afterwards to burn it off.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 21, 2017

A fantastic spot for brunch! No regrets! Must go back to try other menu options!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 21, 2017

It's a great brunch spot! The food and service are top notch. One on my favorites on the hood.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 20, 2017

My wife and I recently celebrated our anniversary here. The table was held for us and we were seated immediately upon arrival. The server checked with us in a very time manner and brought us both a glass of champagne to celebrate our anniversary--this was unexpected, but a very pleasant surprise. A delicious bread and butter basket was delivered and we ordered our dinners. My wife had a foie gras, and I enjoyed the macaroni au gratin. Both were excellent. Dinner came next and she loved her soft shelled crabs and I enjoyed my steak frites. Dessert was and coffee services followed dinner. Both were fabulous. We had a hazelnut coffee and a café au lait and the chocolate cup (basically their version of chocolate mousse). It was outstanding. All aspects of the dinner were top notch--from service to the food prep and executive. I can see what Le Diplomate continues to be a very in demand reservation. I heartily recommend Le Diplomate--it's an excellent dining experience.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 20, 2017

We had dinner at Le Diplomate to celebrate my husband's birthday. The meal was excellent - he had the entrecote de boeuf and I had the roast chicken, with escargots and foie gras parfait as appetizers and profiteroles for dessert. The service was great -- there are good reasons why it is tough to get a reservation for this restaurant.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 20, 2017

I usually don't write reviews, but I will say that the mushroom tart was the die for!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 20, 2017

We met up with old friends for brunch @ le diplomate. First time eating brunch here. The bread and pastry basket was a great start. We all had very good drinks and focused on breakfast. Everyone loved their meal and would return. Just wish we could keep eating as we saw several items on the menu we would like to try. Make a reservation, it was busy. Our waiter was wonderful. Never rushed us, answered questions and checked in on us at all the right times. We will be back!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.