About Le Diplomate

1601 14th St. NW
Washington, DC 20009
View Larger Map

Stephen Starr brings his signature brand of hospitality and design to the nation’s capital with the opening of Le Diplomate, located at 14th & Q. Serving lunch, brunch and dinner, the stylish 260 seat restaurant transports diners to the beloved cafés of Boulevard Saint-Germain in Paris. The extensive menu features a variety of classic dishes including Onion Soup Gratinee, Steak Frites, and Poulet Roti as well as contemporary bistro fare, with dishes such as Shaved Veal Tongue with Mache and Bavette de Boeuf à l’Echalote. A thoughtfully curated wine list and cocktail program perfectly complements the cuisine and creates an environment suitable for romantic dinners or lively group gatherings. In warmer weather, enjoy dining "en plein air" in the stunning outdoor café where you can take in the bustling energy of DC while sipping on the perfect kir royale.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Sunday to Thursday 5:00PM to 11:00PM
Friday & Saturday 5:00PM to 12:00AM

Saturday & Sunday Brunch 10:00AM to 3:00PM

Cross Street:
Q Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 332-3333

Website:
http://lediplomatedc.com/

Executive Chef:
Michael Abt

Le Diplomate Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

French
Washington, D.C. Area
Most Booked
Washington, D.C. Area
French
District of Columbia
1 More
Most Booked
District of Columbia
Best Restaurants in Logan Circle ›

Fit for Foodies (546)
Special Occasion (461)
Neighborhood Gem (389)
See All
Hot Spot (372)
Great for Brunch (322)
Great for Outdoor Dining (317)
Notable Wine List (293)
Romantic (266)
Good for Groups (216)
Great for Lunch (160)
Vibrant Bar Scene (158)
Late-night Find (74)
Kid-friendly (60)
Scenic View (37)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Good for a Date (2)
Modern Decor (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
3845 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Another great meal at one of the most dy ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 5 days ago

Another great meal at one of the most dynamic, energetic restaurants in DC. We're always amazed at just how well the owners created not just the styling, but the ambience and energy of a real French brasserie (e.g. La Coupole, Balthazar). All of the food was delicious as usual: veal, lamb, steak-frites, mousse of foie gras, and profiteroles.

Always a great dining pleasure and fun experience.

Tags: Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Always consistently good

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 5 days ago

Always consistently good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Service and food were great, but the ste ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 5 days ago

Service and food were great, but the steak was overcooked. Instead of medium rear, it was served medium. Not a major sin in other more casual restaurants, but a major faux-pas at Le Diplomate.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

I have wanted to go to Le Diplomate for ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined 5 days ago

I have wanted to go to Le Diplomate for some time. It did not disappoint! The food was excellent and the service was great. It was a lovely night in Washington to enjoy the outside dining offered. I look forward to returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a great find. The decor was per ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined 6 days ago

This was a great find. The decor was perfect, just like being in a bistro in Paris. Food was good, worth the price. Service was attentive and friendly. Overall a great place to dine. I would diffinately recommend a visit

Tags: Hot Spot, People Watching, Casual, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

All around great restaurant! The atmosp ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

All around great restaurant! The atmosphere was lively, the service was great, the mac and cheese was the best!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We dined @ Le Diplomate on a Saturday ni ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We dined @ Le Diplomate on a Saturday night. We made the reservation in advance, as it is a busy night at this restaurant. The food was good french bistro. I love their bread. Everyone was pleased with what they ordered. I really enjoyed the mushroom tart, and the loup de mer. The only negative: the service. We felt rushed, the drink menu disappeared multiple times...we decided it would be best to order glasses of wine over ordering a bottle. I think we asked for the wines by the glass menu at least 5 times. A drink was also spilled on our table. And of course the waiter recommended some of the more expensive bottles on the menu over glasses. Not impressed with the service, such a disappointment for a nice evening w/friends.

Tags: Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

Seriously delicious food and great servi ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Seriously delicious food and great service. Worth booking in advance, even though it fills up quickly! Brunch is amazing, especially that pastry basket. For dinner, the roast chicken and burger are amazing. Cheese selection and board is always delicious and a good value. And for lunch, the jambon beurre baguette is SO GOOD.

Tags: Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Amazing spot for French food and cocktai ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Amazing spot for French food and cocktails; a beautiful wine list too!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Le Diplomate has great decor and ambianc ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Le Diplomate has great decor and ambiance and a wonderful outdoor patio for nice weather dining. But I have consistently been disappointed with the food, not because it is bad per se, but because the restaurant is so over-hyped and I have yet to think they food is worth the hype or the price. But people seem to love it and for that reason I would recommend it to others and the good decor.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Our service was impeccable! Food was ver ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Our service was impeccable! Food was very good. A very nice restaurant but too loud in the front area near the bar. We ask to be moved and it was taken care of immediately. We will definitely return the next trip to DC.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

inside is definitely loud ...we ate outs ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

inside is definitely loud ...we ate outside which was great (but hot)

attentive service..great meal reasonable prices...

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I have eaten at Le Diplomat numerous tim ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

I have eaten at Le Diplomat numerous times. This past visit was just not up to par. The beef Bourgogne was too salty and the escargot was just average. Also when we pointed out a discrepancy in the bill the waiter was rather rude instead of being apologetic. We will go back eventually- we live in the neighborhood, but it won't be for quite awhile- it is time to give some other establishments our business.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

We always enjoy the food at Le Diplomate ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

We always enjoy the food at Le Diplomate and find it to be a comfortable place. The only problem is the noise level. If you are with more than 4 people at a table, it is next to impossible to hear one another.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Excellent wait staff!!! Tables too small ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Excellent wait staff!!! Tables too small. Awesome bread basket. Average entrée quality

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

So we went here for our anniversary. Fis ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

So we went here for our anniversary. Fist time ever! Roger was out waiter. He was fantastic. So helpful, gave great recommendations and also didn't hover over us but made sure we had everything we needed. The food was phenomenal but the overall experience was made my Roger. He even brought us a little anniversary treat with a candle! How sweet. The dinner was well worth the money!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was FANTASTIC! It was the best ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

The food was FANTASTIC! It was the best French onion soup I've ever had.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Feels like a busy Ftench bistro in Paris ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Feels like a busy Ftench bistro in Paris. Food was excellent and portions were reasonable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Came highly recommended and it didn't di ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Came highly recommended and it didn't disappoint! I'm new to DC and the general neighborhood and can see myself making this a regular spot! Plus, I have a connection with the Architect who worked on the project and he wholeheartedly recommended it!!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Me and a friend made reservations for r ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Me and a friend made reservations for restaurant week because there restaurant was listed in the "Restaurant Week" open table section but when we got there the server looked at us like we were aliens when asked him the Restaurant Week menu. Then he came back and said ooooh, it is Restaurant week.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

This was our second time at Le Diplomate ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

This was our second time at Le Diplomate, and both times it was outstanding. Really terrific food and service. Both times it was for a special occasion: the first for our wedding anniversary, and the second time to wish bon voyage to my brother and wife who are moving. It is a fun and active place. The server was extremely knowledgeable about the food, the ingredients and how it is prepared. The menu is not particularly experimental, and that's fine with me. Solid fresh food, excellently prepared. The cocktails were very good and festive. The wine from the carafe was quite good and a good value. Expect to pay a premium for such a wonderful restaurant, but it is worth the splurge. They are at the top of their game.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing as always. First time for brunch ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Amazing as always. First time for brunch, will certainly not be the last.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Romantic, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Veal dish and profiteroles i have e ...

vip
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Best Veal dish and profiteroles i have ever experienced. Brought in wine, and the sommelier came over to welcome me... a very nice touch.

Tags: Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very loud - even at 10pm. Food and servi ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Very loud - even at 10pm. Food and service was wonderful though.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The steak was very juicy and tender. Als ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The steak was very juicy and tender. Also enjoyed the fresh bread. Hoping to their brunch menu next.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

The ambience was fairly good but the peo ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The ambience was fairly good but the people at the long table next to us kept spilling things and breaking them. Our waitress was very nice, however, and the wait staff in general were very professional.

I was not a bit impressed with my meal. I ordered the softshell crabs. Though they were tasty they were ridiculously small and the chef tried to cover this up by cutting them in half and turning them up-wise. When I'm paying $31.00 for a meal, I expect better. Another diner at my table ordered the same meal and felt the same way. A third diner had the steak frites. His steak was of good quality but he ordered it medium well and it was medium rare at best. Given what we paid and all of the hype surrounding the restaurant, I thought it was a disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

My husband and I were visiting DC for th ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

My husband and I were visiting DC for the first time and three separate people recommended Le Diplomate to us, so it was an easy decision to give it a try. Our service was absolutely terrible. Our waiter maybe said 5 words to us the entire time. He never greeted us, introduced himself or even remotely try to start a conversation. I would love to give his name, however I'm unable to do so since he lacked the common courtesy of telling us his name. All I remember is that he was bald. He did not tell us what the specials were, what he would recommend, etc. I will say, the food was delicious and after we finished dinner, we were interested in dessert and he did not even ask us if we would like to see the menu, so we decided we didn't want to give him another cent of our money. It's sad that his terrible service ruined our experience. I'm disappointed that we wasted one of our two dinners in DC at Le Diplomate. I work in the hospitality industry and this kind of service is unacceptable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

Food was great but the restaurant is too ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Food was great but the restaurant is too busy to a point that they could not provide prompt service. We had to wait 20 min for drinks after our food was served. Would be nice to be more attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2

Took my out of town relatives here when ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Took my out of town relatives here when they were visiting DC. We had a table of 7. We had the most wonderful experience. Our table was in sun room - which I highly recommend requesting. Amazing atmosphere. We had the foie gras, macaroni and cheese and escargot appetizers. The macaroni and cheese is the very best I've ever had. Escargot was oddly not served inside the shells, but was delicious and the foie gras was delicious. The favorite table dishes were the boeuf bourguignon, lamb and the duck. Steak frites were also good but almost too rich and buttery for my taste. For desert we had the profiteroles (a must), chocolate mouse and creme brulee. All were incredible. Cocktails and wine were wonderful as was the service.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Classic French Bistro dining at its best ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Classic French Bistro dining at its best. Make your reservations early, they fill up quickly!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great experience! Summer tomatoes at the ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Great experience! Summer tomatoes at their best were recommended, Trout amandine was buttery and incomparable. My husband's passion for interesting and finely crafted breads was sated by the wonderful wonderful selections. Waitstaff member Donald was friendly and knowledgeable. We're coming back for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food and service was on point as normal. ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Food and service was on point as normal. This is a tremendous restaurant with great food and service. You will not be disappointed if you want a French bistro experience without the airfare.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thoughtful French brasserie with attenti ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Thoughtful French brasserie with attention to detail using quality ingredients.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing! Everything was excellent! The f ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Amazing! Everything was excellent! The foie gras parfait to doe for! The roast chicken like nothing you've ever had outside of Paris! Noise was an issue but it was packed to be fair.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

They burned my steak and gave my girlfri ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

They burned my steak and gave my girlfriend a super chewy hunk of steak she didn't even finish half of it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2
value4

Le Diplomate is always a good experience ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Le Diplomate is always a good experience. The food is exceptional and the service is some of the best in the district. They need to get better at dealing with larger parties, its a bit more complicated on that front than it really needs to be (we had a party of 8).

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Good ambience like that in France, altho ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Good ambience like that in France, although with no such traditional dishes as cassoulet or coq au vin on the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great experience - except for the salt. ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Great experience - except for the salt. They load it on. My guest's mashed potatoes were inedible because of the enormous salt content.

None of us at the table have a sodium problem , but it wouldn't take long the way they oversalt.

Still, a great place with fabulous bistro food. Just tell the server to have the lighten lighten up on the NACL.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

The mussels were the best I have ever h ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

The mussels were the best I have ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

Fabulous french cafe with killer bread a ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Fabulous french cafe with killer bread and mostly great food (a few missteps,but overall very good)

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.