About Le Diplomate

1601 14th St. NW
Washington, DC 20009
View Larger Map

Stephen Starr brings his signature brand of hospitality and design to the nation’s capital with the opening of Le Diplomate, located at 14th & Q. Serving lunch, brunch and dinner, the stylish 260 seat restaurant transports diners to the beloved cafés of Boulevard Saint-Germain in Paris. The extensive menu features a variety of classic dishes including Onion Soup Gratinee, Steak Frites, and Poulet Roti as well as contemporary bistro fare, with dishes such as Shaved Veal Tongue with Mache and Bavette de Boeuf à l’Echalote. A thoughtfully curated wine list and cocktail program perfectly complements the cuisine and creates an environment suitable for romantic dinners or lively group gatherings. In warmer weather, enjoy dining "en plein air" in the stunning outdoor café where you can take in the bustling energy of DC while sipping on the perfect kir royale.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Sunday to Thursday 5:00PM to 11:00PM
Friday & Saturday 5:00PM to 12:00AM

Saturday & Sunday Brunch 10:00AM to 3:00PM

Cross Street:
Q Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 332-3333

Website:
http://lediplomatedc.com/

Executive Chef:
Michael Abt

Le Diplomate Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Hot Spot
Washington, D.C. Area
French
Washington, D.C. Area
Most Booked
Washington, D.C. Area
3 More
Hot Spot
District of Columbia
French
District of Columbia
Most Booked
District of Columbia
Best Restaurants in Logan Circle ›

Fit for Foodies (453)
Special Occasion (398)
Neighborhood Gem (352)
See All
Hot Spot (329)
Great for Outdoor Dining (283)
Great for Brunch (282)
Notable Wine List (260)
Romantic (251)
Good for Groups (178)
Vibrant Bar Scene (138)
Great for Lunch (131)
Late-night Find (63)
Good for a Date (62)
Kid-friendly (45)
Good for Anniversaries (42)
People Watching (34)
Sunday Lunch (33)
Fun (33)
Good for Birthdays (32)
Scenic View (30)
Authentic (28)
Worth the Drive (23)
Casual (22)
Pre/post Theatre (19)
Business Meals (18)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Handcrafted Cocktails (16)
Comfort Food (15)
Outstanding Value (12)
Cozy (11)
Bar Seating (10)
Happy Hour (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Family Style (7)
Afternoon Coffee (6)
Historic (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Modern Decor (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Seasonal (4)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Healthy (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Vegan (1)
Great Beer (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
3942 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Our server Mario was top notch. The food ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 4 days ago

Our server Mario was top notch. The food was right on point for the concept.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The space and service was nice. The food ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined 4 days ago

The space and service was nice. The food for the price is way overrated. This is more of a happening spot than a great restaurant. There are far better places if you like great food for the money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Always a delight. Diplomate is a wonderf ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 5 days ago

Always a delight. Diplomate is a wonderful experience. The staff and kitchen are very good. Love going to Diplomate.

Tags: Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Authentic, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice service and delicious dishes. I go ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 6 days ago

Nice service and delicious dishes. I go frecuently and always I feel satisfied

Tags: Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Went here for my girlfriend's birthday. ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined 6 days ago

Went here for my girlfriend's birthday. It was a little noisy but it wasn't too much and it created a lively atmosphere. Food was excellent and our server was the right balance of attentive but not overbearing. Definitely a little on the expensive end, but we did get a bottle of wine. I have been here several times and it has never disappointed. One of my favorites in DC.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Our server was absolutely amazing! Made ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 6 days ago

Our server was absolutely amazing! Made great recommendations and was a joy to have waiting on us. She was great and really made it a great experience!

Tags: Hot Spot, Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent French restaurant. Frog legs ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent French restaurant. Frog legs were divine. Breads delicious. Carpaccio superb.

Entrees equally good.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Lovely setting, great neighborhood and w ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 7 days ago

Lovely setting, great neighborhood and wonderful wait staff. It's a little loud. Ask the wait staff for recommendations for dinner options.

Tags: Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

The only reason that I will not give it ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 7 days ago

The only reason that I will not give it closer to 5 stars is that we had to wait 15 to 20 minutes for our table. However, we will definitely return.

Tags: Authentic, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Excellent food and a very interesting me ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 7 days ago

Excellent food and a very interesting menu. Liked everything about our experience except the noise level.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

This was my first time eating dinner her ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 7 days ago

This was my first time eating dinner here and my mother's first time overall. Everything we ordered was delicious - from our gin cocktails (tonic & Negroni), to the escargot, duck, and creme brûlée. Our server was friendly enough but could've been a bit more engaging. Worth the visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Le Dip and its team always exceeds expec ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 7 days ago

Le Dip and its team always exceeds expectations!

Great food, excellent service

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely wonderful service! And, of c ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 7 days ago

Absolutely wonderful service! And, of course, every part of the meal was lovely.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service! Blueberry muffins and cra ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Great service! Blueberry muffins and cranberry walnut bread really good. Everything we tried was delicious. Plum gazpacho hit the spot. Sunday brunch one of the best in D.C. Reservations highly recommended.

Tags: Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Good brunch / breakfast menu. Make sure ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Good brunch / breakfast menu. Make sure to reserve on the weekends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Le Diplomat has been our favorite for di ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Le Diplomat has been our favorite for dinners and brunch. Excellent food and service.

Tags: Disabled Access, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Healthy, Tasting Menu, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Vegan, Fun, Great for Brunch, Authentic, Business Meals, Seasonal, Casual, Family Style, Romantic, Kid-friendly, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for breakfast on a Saturday. Excell ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Went for breakfast on a Saturday. Excellent food and service.

Tags: Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

lovely bistro quintessentially french in ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

lovely bistro quintessentially french in the best way

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

To die for! Place is amazing, food even ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

To die for! Place is amazing, food even better! Great dinning experience! Will definitively go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great dining experience from valet parki ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Great dining experience from valet parking to wait staff to manager on duty.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant is really overhyped. The ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

This restaurant is really overhyped. The food is good. While I have never been to France, I imagine that it represents the classic neighborhood eatery. Perhaps this is why it is so popular. We were able to be seated outside, which was fortunate. The noise level inside the restaurant would have made conversation impossible. Our server appeared to be new to his job, because he could not answer any of our questions about the menu. Eventually another waiter helped him out and our order was taken. We selected a bottle of wine from the wine list, but when it arrived, it was not the wine we ordered. When this was pointed out to the waiter, he claimed we were wrong. He returned quite a while later with the correct bottle of wine. After that, our meal was served in a timely and efficient manner. While it was a good meal out on a week night, I don't think I could recommend this place for a special night out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

We really enjoyed our first experience a ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

We really enjoyed our first experience at Le Diplomate. It was our fifteenth wedding anniversary and the staff could not have been nicer. From the greeting at the front desk to the complimentary champagne and little dessert treats, all was done with class and thoughtfulness. Our server, Alex, was especially professional and kind. Thanks for a most enjoyable evening - we definitely will return!!

Tags: Casual, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We went to dinner after the ball game wi ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

We went to dinner after the ball game with old friends who were in town on business. Had a superb meal, great service & even the chef stopped by to say hello ! We felt like VIPs!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Classic, delicious French cuisine. Loud ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Classic, delicious French cuisine. Loud, but lively. On happening 14th St. Excellent cocktails.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

This is the second restaurant I've dined ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

This is the second restaurant I've dined at in DC that seems to have a policy of putting older patrons in the back away from the entrance and windows. I'm not ancient, but am older with graying hair. I and my dinner guest were seated as far back in the restaurant as you could get. I noticed that most of the people sitting around me were older as well and there was a definite line in the room where the older patrons ended and the younger patrons started. So if you're over 45, be aware that you'll be seated in the back of the place.

The food was great, we loaded up on apps and the Tuna Carpaccio was excellent as were the Sardines. I'd go again, if I didn't mind being seated in the old folks section of the place but I do.

Tags: Hot Spot
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

The three of us all wanted something dif ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

The three of us all wanted something different: an omelet, the Skate special and steak frites. And all three of us were extremely happy with our meals. We will be back.

Tags: Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent and we enjoyed th ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

The food was excellent and we enjoyed the atmosphere. The only really annoying, which could easily have been avoided, was the fact that despite seeing us deep in conversation, the support staff several times insisted on interrupting us to remove empty, or nearly empty plates.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Very friendly and helpful staff. Very Go ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Very friendly and helpful staff. Very Good wine menu, knowledgeable staff. Very good food. Seafood was great.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious with ambiance typ ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

The food was delicious with ambiance typical of the bistros in Paris. Lively and fun.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food, excellent service, excel ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Excellent food, excellent service, excellent wine list... Ambience was great, not too loud. Suggest reservation because they are busy. Highly recommend this restaurant... we will be back!

Tags: Healthy, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went on the recommendation of a friend. ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Went on the recommendation of a friend. Good food and service. Tables much too close together which resulted in way too much noise, greatly detracting from the ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

A foodie friend and I wanted to check ou ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

A foodie friend and I wanted to check out Le Diplomat, because we are les diplomats. We enjoyed the food and the people watching. Service was generally great, but we thought the price was a bit high for the overall quality.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Overrated restaurant, food was not great ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Overrated restaurant, food was not great. Waiter was very good and explained the details but the front desk was not helpful. They missed a important details of my request and cared less about my experience as a customer

I'm definitely not a repeat customer to this restaurant!

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

They usually provide complimentary drink ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

They usually provide complimentary drinks for birthdays. That did not happen this time around. We still had a great meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The food was outstanding and the server ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

The food was outstanding and the server was attentive. The breakfast pastries were incredible!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Closest thing to being back at the cafes ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Closest thing to being back at the cafes in Paris. Great pastries, espresso and ambiance. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We love, love Le Dip. The ambience remin ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

We love, love Le Dip. The ambience reminds us of a typical cafe' in France. The food was delicious as always. The service was great as well.

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

I love this restaurant for its consisten ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

I love this restaurant for its consistently high-quality, true bistro, food. Wine list is extensive & offers good quality wines at reasonable prices, as well as very fine, expensive ones. Weekday specials are always a standout. My only complaint is the noise level which really impinges on dining conversation, but that's unfortunately what is found in most U.S. restaurants. Eat outside if you want quiet.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was excellent. Service was outstand ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Food was excellent. Service was outstanding. Ask to be seated in Cheveale's section.!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Best place to take guests!

vip
 (Savannah)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Best place to take guests!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.