Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.26mi
  3. Distance: 0.35mi
  4. Distance: 0.36mi
  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.26mi
  3. Distance: 0.35mi
  4. Distance: 0.36mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.26mi
  3. Distance: 0.35mi
  4. Distance: 0.36mi
  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.26mi
  3. Distance: 0.35mi
  4. Distance: 0.36mi

About Le Diplomate

Stephen Starr brings his signature brand of hospitality and design to the nation’s capital with the opening of Le Diplomate, located at 14th & Q. Serving lunch, brunch and dinner, the stylish 260 seat restaurant transports diners to the beloved cafés of Boulevard Saint-Germain in Paris. The extensive menu features a variety of classic dishes including Onion Soup Gratinee, Steak Frites, and Poulet Roti as well as contemporary bistro fare, with dishes such as Shaved Veal Tongue with Mache and Bavette de Boeuf à l’Echalote. A thoughtfully curated wine list and cocktail program perfectly complements the cuisine and creates an environment suitable for romantic dinners or lively group gatherings. In warmer weather, enjoy dining "en plein air" in the stunning outdoor café where you can take in the bustling energy of DC while sipping on the perfect kir royale.

1601 14th St. NW
Washington, DC 20009
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Sunday to Thursday 5:00PM to 11:00PM
Friday & Saturday 5:00PM to 12:00AM

Saturday & Sunday Brunch 10:00AM to 3:00PM

Cross Street:
Q Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 332-3333

Website:
http://lediplomatedc.com/

Executive Chef:
Michael Abt

Le Diplomate Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (242)
Good for a Date (238)
Fit for Foodies (211)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (197)
Hot Spot (178)
Great for Outdoor Dining (166)
Good for Birthdays (155)
People Watching (155)
Great for Brunch (152)
Authentic (149)
Fun (144)
Notable Wine List (144)
Good for Anniversaries (143)
Romantic (136)
Sunday Lunch (100)
Worth the Drive (82)
Vibrant Bar Scene (81)
Good for Groups (80)
Casual (76)
Creative Cuisine (74)
Great for Lunch (72)
Business Meals (71)
Bar Seating (62)
Handcrafted Cocktails (61)
Comfort Food (50)
Pre/post Theatre (49)
Cozy (46)
Late-night Find (36)
Happy Hour (30)
Afternoon Coffee (24)
Good Vegetarian Options (19)
Local Ingredients (16)
Scenic View (16)
Tasting Menu (14)
Seasonal (13)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Great Beer (10)
Gluten Free Options (9)
Afternoon Tea (7)
Disabled Access (7)
Organic (6)
Tapas (6)
Live Music (5)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Vegan (2)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
5391 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 2 days ago

Great service. Great food. Had left overs. Great for taking the parents when they are in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined 2 days ago

Great food and service, vibrant scene (e.g. Loud!) but fun and delicious!

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined 2 days ago

Fantastic. Outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Texas)·Dined 2 days ago

I love Le Dip because it's so French, from the ambiance to the food. The foie gras was wonderful, as well as their eggs benedict, which is sort of the benchmark dish for me. Will try to go every time we're in DC.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fun, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 2 days ago

Great as usual. Have been a few times, but it’s always a good choice

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Good for a Date, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 2 days ago

The waitstaff was friendly, considerate, and extremely knowledgeable about the menu. Sitting outside on a Sunday morning was absolutely lovely for brunch - I felt like I was in a Parisian neighborhood with my latte and eggs Benedict! All of the meals looked fabulous, and our waiter had some wonderful suggestions. I'll definitely be returning - and bringing many friends and family with me!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Afternoon Coffee, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

Le Diplomate is big, beautiful and fun. It is also one of the loudest places to eat. One must yell at your dining partners to be heard. For that reason I would not recommend it for a date. However, the food has been consistently good. I've eaten a different entrée each time. I had the lope de mer (grilled fish) and my friend had the entrecote (beef). Both were especially good. We shared the wonderful mushroom tart and never skip the bread basket. I will eat there again.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

Best brunch in D.C. Hands down!! Love the walnut bread and eggs Benedict -

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Cozy, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

There was confusion when someone was seated under my reservation, however, the hostess and manager were incredibly gracious and offered champagne and appetizers while they worked for a solution as it pushed our reservation back by 30-minutes. They both did a good job and showed great customer service after the mix-up.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 5 days ago

Always delicious, top quality, great service. The fois gras was fantastic, as was the new duck recipe ( entree) and for dessert, the Vacherin and the fig tart, Creme brûlée ... can't go wrong!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined 7 days ago

Everything great, lot os people/fun for a Tuesday night. But if you need to have a thoughtful conversation, the noise around would not allow you to do it.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 7 days ago

We had our anniversary dinner here, it was great! Our server Jeff was a really awesome waiter. He knew the menu and wines really well, plus he was just a nice person and easy to talk to.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
·Dined 7 days ago

The server Jay was fantastic! He was knowledgeable and super nice. I was thrilled to take my husband here (his fav restaurant) for his birthday and everything was practically perfect!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 7 days ago

Le Diplomate was recommended as an excellent dining spot in Washington, D.C. This outstanding restaurant did not disappoint in any category. The lobster risotto was the special plate for the evening. It was wonderful with a lobster tail and large claw meat. The knowledgeable service was very attentive with great suggestions for first time diners.

Tags: Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 19, 2017

Really enjoyed my first experience at Le Diplomate. Ambiance was great, food was delicious and made to our specifications.

Sara was super attentive, kind, and always made sure we had fresh drinks! She even took a recipe for a drink I wanted and the bartender made it perfectly! She also made sure my burger was made exactly how I wanted it with my 6+ modifications!

Outdoor seating was very nice and enjoyable as well. Would definitely go back next time I am visiting DC.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 18, 2017

Steak Au pouvre was delicious! I would come back for dinner!

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 18, 2017

Very salty food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on September 18, 2017

One of the best meals ever - get the beef bourguignon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Very, very noisy, very,very crowded, food mediocre, service rather slow and not especially friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Everything about this visit was perfect start to finish. I've been waiting to experience this place since they opened and I was blown away by everything. The host staff were very accommodating about us running late for our reservation (Thanks Metro!) and we're happy to see us and cracked a good joke about our four block run from the station. We received a great outside seat in what was described by staff as a "garden section" as opposed to the street-view overlooking 14th. The aesthetic gives that vintage French cafe vibe; the service and menu knowledge was unlike anything I have ever experienced. The same can be said for the food, make sure you sample the bread basket they give you! Ratatouille and Steak frites were beyond my normal expectation for food. The herb butter roasted steak collapsed when poked with one of the fries that comes with the meal. Onion soup and half roast chicken for my date were met with equal enthusiasm. The desserts were exciting and flavorful; creme brûlée; a timeless French classic, sweet but not overbearing with a perfect glaze on top. Profiteroles; which this writer just experienced for the first time last night is a revelation, vanilla ice cream with banana slices covered in dark chocolate glaze with pralines. Both desserts were heinously decadent- in a great way. We had to split our check due to the price point and our relative low income for the space which was to be expected but don't let it discourage you, you absolutely get what you pay for. I will be back; hungry for more!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 17, 2017

We were visiting from San Francisco and had dined at all the standard must do's while in Washington, wanted to dine at a classic French bistro on our last night. My sister-in-law recommended Le Diplomate. It was a perfect recommendation. It's located in a restaurant-lively neighborhood on 14 St. NW. It was buzzing with patrons and the dishes hat were passing us while we were seated made deciding on a dish very difficult. Everything looked great. Our waitress Lauren could not have been more charming, helpful and professional. In the end we opted for the classic steak frites and we were not disappointed. We will definitely be going back to try some of those other classics on our next visit and we'll be sure to ask for Lauren, too!

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Paleo Friendly, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 17, 2017

I love French cuisine and I always ask steak tartare. At Le Diplomate, I tasted one of the best steak tartare and boeuf bourguignon in my life!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 17, 2017

What a disappointment. My friend and I had been waiting forever to finally get to go to brunch at this restaurant. We made a 2:30 reservation and it was at a time when the brunch crowd was really thinning out. We started by sharing the mushroom tart, which was really fabulous but it took 30 minutes to arrive. My friend ordered one of the brunch egg dishes which she said was quite good. I ordered the chicken pallard, which was terrible. It was dried out and over cooked. The worst is that after waiting so long for our appetizer, it took another hour for us to get our meal. We could not understand it, especially since the crowd had really diminished. Then my friend ordered a dessert of 3 small scoops of ice cream. That took an additional 20 minutes to arrive. The one good thing I can say about the waiter was that he was quite diligent in refilling the water glasses on a regular basis and the after-meal coffee arrived right away. On the way out we complained to the manager, and she said she would comp us the meals even though we had already paid. That is very decent of her but I am hard pressed to want to return for brunch another time. We were there from 2:30 to 5 PM!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 17, 2017

The food was delicious. Our side order of eggs arrived late. Other than that, the entire experience was great!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Healthy, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 17, 2017

We went for DD's birthday brunch - the cocktails and eggs (benedict, norwegian) were great. Husband ordered the burger , and let us have a bite - it was brilliant. The only thing that detracted from the meal was that the glasses smelt of egg - guess that's inevitable at a breakfast place.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Still a fun place to dine, but food is not what it had been. Veal, for example, is swimming in tasteless cream when it used to be superb.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Our server, Carlos, was great and I always love the food and ambience of le diplomate. However, when we arrived for our reservation, I walked up to the hostess table and the hostess ignored me for 3-5 minutes while she carried on a conversation with another staff member. During this time no one acknowledged me which I felt was rude. People go to le diplomate for special occasions and the dining experience begins when you are walk in the door. The hostess' actions left a bad taste in my mouth which I why I have my experience a 3. All the other staff members I encountered were great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Hot Spot, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 16, 2017

I have visited Le Diplomate often, typically before going to the Studio Theater nearby. It is always great, but last night may have been the best. Service was perfect, and there were a couple of additions to the menu that were outstanding - Plum Gazpacho and Vegetable Tagine, to be specific. (Other notable dishes were the omelette [don't laugh, it is a great dinner main course and not too filling], the heirloom tomato salad, and the mushroom tart.) We sat outside - great weather and quieter than inside. Other than the noise inside, it is hard to fault. Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Ambiance was great. Felt like you were in a Paris bistro

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Le Diplomate has been one of our favorite restaurants since we moved to DC three years ago. This weekend we went back for the first time in 5-6 months, with foodie friends from out of town, and were pretty dissappointed. We went for brunch and everyone's food was bland/flavorless/plain unimpressive. The bread was great as always but our server didnt bring it out until after 20mins and asking directly about it twice. The place was packed and busy but our overall experience was pretty mediocre. We'll be taking a break from le diplomate for some time and scouting other restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

Wonderful food and experience. Highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Stopped in after seeing "Skeleton Crew" at the Studio Theatre a block south on 14th Street. Was disappointed that pate wasn't available, but enjoyed the foie gras instead. She had a warm shrimp salad and I an omelet. Both were very tasty.

We will return to Le Diplomate after future shows at Studio.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Good French styled restaurant. Authentic food, well cooked. Service was friendly. Busy bar area, a little noisy, but overall we enjoyed.

Tags: Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Casual, Afternoon Coffee, People Watching, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Love it here!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 14, 2017

I went here a couple of years ago and It is was suggested (politely) since my friends and I had finished our meals, we should give up the table for people waiting. They had overbooked reservations. That left such a negative impression I vowed not to return. But finding myself in the neighborhood last Thursday, I and a friend ventured in, and I am glad I did. The food and the service were both superb. The pacing was good (an issue with so many D.C. Restaurants). When we had finished eating and declined dessert, with a "We'll just finish our wine for dessert", our waiter told us to take our time. Nice switch from last visit. The manager was out on the floor and checking each table for how it was going. Try the scallops if you are looking light but also filling meal. Lovely presentation and perfect preparation - nicely roasted but not overly cooked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 13, 2017

Superb food but the restaurant is too big to guarantee outstanding service, despite the very nice and friendly wait staff. Often long waits for them to check on you, fill water, ask a question.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 13, 2017

Fantastic restaurante in French style, vibrant ambient, great food including seafood and amazing service.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 12, 2017

Just a great place to have dinner/ fun & great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

The service was pretty slow in the beginning. We waited about 6 minutes before anyone came to our table to ask our drink order. Other than that, it was nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

Second dine out at the location. Celebrating two BD's. Lived in Europe for many years and for a moment or two we are back in Paris. Do try the Tanant from Uruguay!

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.