About Le Diplomate

1601 14th St. NW
Washington, DC 20009
View Larger Map

Stephen Starr brings his signature brand of hospitality and design to the nation’s capital with the opening of Le Diplomate, located at 14th & Q. Serving lunch, brunch and dinner, the stylish 260 seat restaurant transports diners to the beloved cafés of Boulevard Saint-Germain in Paris. The extensive menu features a variety of classic dishes including Onion Soup Gratinee, Steak Frites, and Poulet Roti as well as contemporary bistro fare, with dishes such as Shaved Veal Tongue with Mache and Bavette de Boeuf à l’Echalote. A thoughtfully curated wine list and cocktail program perfectly complements the cuisine and creates an environment suitable for romantic dinners or lively group gatherings. In warmer weather, enjoy dining "en plein air" in the stunning outdoor café where you can take in the bustling energy of DC while sipping on the perfect kir royale.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Sunday to Thursday 5:00PM to 11:00PM
Friday & Saturday 5:00PM to 12:00AM

Saturday & Sunday Brunch 10:00AM to 3:00PM

Cross Street:
Q Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 332-3333

Website:
http://lediplomatedc.com/

Executive Chef:
Michael Abt

Le Diplomate Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

French
Washington, D.C. Area
Most Booked
Washington, D.C. Area
French
District of Columbia
1 More
Most Booked
District of Columbia
Best Restaurants in Logan Circle ›

Special Occasion (224)
Fit for Foodies (214)
Neighborhood Gem (182)
See All
Good for a Date (179)
Hot Spot (159)
Great for Brunch (149)
Romantic (137)
Authentic (128)
Notable Wine List (127)
Good for Birthdays (125)
Great for Outdoor Dining (123)
Good for Anniversaries (122)
Fun (114)
People Watching (111)
Sunday Lunch (88)
Good for Groups (75)
Vibrant Bar Scene (75)
Casual (71)
Creative Cuisine (64)
Worth the Drive (59)
Comfort Food (58)
Pre/post Theatre (53)
Business Meals (51)
Great for Lunch (51)
Cozy (47)
Handcrafted Cocktails (43)
Late-night Find (32)
Outstanding Value (28)
Bar Seating (28)
Seasonal (16)
Family Style (16)
Afternoon Coffee (15)
Happy Hour (15)
Historic (14)
Local Ingredients (13)
Good Vegetarian Options (12)
Kid-friendly (12)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Tasting Menu (9)
Modern Decor (9)
Afternoon Tea (8)
Healthy (8)
Scenic View (8)
Paleo Friendly (6)
Great Beer (5)
Disabled Access (5)
Molecular Gastronomy (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Quick Bite (3)
Vegan (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Spicy (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
4213 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

much larger inside the I thought, the se ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 2 days ago

much larger inside the I thought, the service was great, the food was great and the restaurant was beautiful. Excellent

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was worth the whole evening just to s ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

It was worth the whole evening just to see my partner's expression when they brought out our Petit Plateau. Delicious, presented well...and the hot towels after that juicy seafood goodness were a wonderful touch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Always a great experience!

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

Always a great experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Le Diplomate was wonderful - great food, ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

Le Diplomate was wonderful - great food, terrific wait staff, and fun vibe

We always have a great time at Le Diplomate

Tags: Hot Spot, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, People Watching, Great Beer, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dining experience. Enjoyed dinner ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

Great dining experience. Enjoyed dinner and ambience very much. Server was also very good. Will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We love French bistro style restaurants ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

We love French bistro style restaurants and this is one of the best we've experienced out side of Paris, possibly the best duck I've ever had ! Everything was great and the sommelier recommended a fantastic wine without trying to get us to spend a ton.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great experience! It was a litt ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

Always a great experience! It was a little hectic getting seated, we ended up waiting 25 minutes past our reservation, but they gave us a very nice table. The food was fantastic as usual! Great place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Impeccable service, out-of-this-world Fr ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

Impeccable service, out-of-this-world French cuisine, great ambiance. Highly recommend!

Tags: Historic, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

BEST MCDOUBLE YOU WILL EVER HAVE! YOU MU ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

BEST MCDOUBLE YOU WILL EVER HAVE! YOU MUST TRY THE BURGER.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

The dining room was freezing, the gouger ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 4, 2016

The dining room was freezing, the gougeres were cold and mushy. But the worst was the waiter, rude, uninformed about the menu, no manners whatsoever... so disappointed after hearing so much about it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1

Was hoping for a better experience from ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Was hoping for a better experience from a place with such a great reputation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Noisy but enjoyable ;busy but with good ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Noisy but enjoyable ;busy but with good service.

Great bread; good Tartare;good wine list

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Actually, for the first time it was very ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Actually, for the first time it was very disappointing. The waiter was snobby, the french onion soup cold. Seemed that the intent was to turn the table as fast as possible.

So sad because in the past it was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

Fantastic food and service.

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Fantastic food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had a great time, food was great, ambien ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Had a great time, food was great, ambience amazing, loved it

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

The food is good, but not great. It's n ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 1, 2016

The food is good, but not great. It's not my favorite french spot in the city. We went for a special occasion, but this place is probably better for everyday dining. The dessert was better than the dinner, which is an odd thing to happen. Profiteroles were good, so you should order that, and the presentation was nice. Service is great, that's the best part.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

The food is as great as all the reviewer ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 1, 2016

The food is as great as all the reviewers say; our only down side was that we were seated in an area that was chilly. We asked to be moved, and they were most gracious about it. The roast chicken is not to be believed, this is a dish we don't usually order, because chicken, ya know? But I could not wait to return to Le Diplomate to eat it again. Also the profiteroles for dessert are astounding. Deep chocolate fudge, crunchy shells, ice cream and a small slice of banana on the bottom. And beautiful when they pour the fudge over the chocolate bar on top and you see it melt. Oh. My. Gosh. Taste, texture and visuals. Don't miss it.

Tags: Romantic, Fun, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food is excellent and the sommelier ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on December 1, 2016

The food is excellent and the sommelier recommended a great bottle of wine to complement our dinners. The tables are a little too close together but it does add to the energy...I just like my meal at this price point to feel a little more relaxed. The wait staff is attentive and it's an overall great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent foie gras and duck. The waitre ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Excellent foie gras and duck. The waitress was very knowledgable and attentive. Perfect for a special birthday!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food and service were outstanding. Afte ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Food and service were outstanding. After living in DC for 2 years I was finally moving away and needed to try Le Diplomate before I left. I', really glad I did and will definitely try to go when I come back to visit. I was slightly disappointed in getting seated 25 minutes after my reservation time but that can be easily overlooked when the food was incredible and the service was great.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Excellent food, though overpriced on som ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Excellent food, though overpriced on some menu items. Attentive service, though too many

people dropping by to ask the same question: "How is everything?"

Tags: Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Incredible food as always. The best Fren ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Incredible food as always. The best French food and service, what else can I say? I had the incredible lobster risotto with what was the best lobster I've ever had in my life - butter poached.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best restaurant in town!

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Best restaurant in town!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love this great restaurant that features ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Love this great restaurant that features country French cuisine. They're known for having the best hamburger in the entire Metro area and I agree!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great restaurant, great service! Truely ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Great restaurant, great service! Truely amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

My eggs Benedict was outstanding. The f ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 27, 2016

My eggs Benedict was outstanding. The first time my dish was brought out, my food was only slightly warm. The manager brought out a new dish for me which was piping hot. It made all the difference! She even inquired later how everything was. Everyone in my party enjoyed their dishes as well.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Nice brunch setting. Excellent choice o ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Nice brunch setting. Excellent choice of french bistro style food; sadly out of croque for some odd reason as it's a signature dish. Moules frites were good, salmon benedict excellent, bloody marys good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The food here is wonderful, but the serv ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 27, 2016

The food here is wonderful, but the service is even better. Highly recommend!

Tags: Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Authentic, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

always fabulous - been many times - wil ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 26, 2016

always fabulous - been many times - will return great value - all good

Tags: Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Excellent brunch. Will return with pleas ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Excellent brunch. Will return with pleasure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ok, lived in Paris for 2 years and this ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Ok, lived in Paris for 2 years and this is the most authentic Parisian restaurant I've been to outside of Paris...with one exception: no attitude. Great food, great unpretentious service. Love this place.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the trout almandine but it wasn't a ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Love the trout almandine but it wasn't as fresh this time so was disappointment. Fruit and nut bread is delicious! Wine also very good and service good. Can get a little noisy but area where I saw was reasonable this time. Will try again but a little disappointed this time.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

Excellent restaurant -- our favorite in ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Excellent restaurant -- our favorite in DC. Fantastic food, great service and terrific ambiance. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

everything about this restaurant was gre ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 25, 2016

everything about this restaurant was great! The food, the service and the ambiance! I wish we were not 2 hours away.

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Seasonal, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hosted a reunion with friends. Service i ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Hosted a reunion with friends. Service is excellent. Mimmosas and Bloody Mary were very good, wine list is very nice, I can recommend the Brouilly , an excellent bottle.

Food was superb , we had EGGS NORWEGIAN, EGGS BENEDICT, EGGS VOL AU VENT, and the TROUT AMANDINE. All were superbly prepared. We all tried only one dessert, the PROFITEROLES, beautifully done.

It was a trip to a Paris bistro!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a Sunday brunch there after stron ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 25, 2016

We had a Sunday brunch there after strong recommendations from friends and the very good reviews. But we didn't found the food special and found it very salty. I had foie gras parfait and the famous beef bourguignon - they were ok and rather salty. Perhaps my expectation was too high and perhaps dinner menu is better.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Organic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Fantastic. Will come back here once I'm ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Fantastic. Will come back here once I'm back in DC

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good for a Date, Romantic, Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Too noisy. No options for Thanksgiving p ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Too noisy. No options for Thanksgiving pre fix. Gift card did not work.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The service is mediocre at best if you c ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 25, 2016

The service is mediocre at best if you can yell over the noise. Meanwhile the food is so bland and boring you'll wonder if you're in a cruddy midwestern town's bar ordering chicken fingers. Trust me you can walk outside and see 5 better restaurants in an instant.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

Le Diplomate is always a fantastic exper ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Le Diplomate is always a fantastic experience. Good for everyday dining or a special occasion. Wonderful seafood.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.