About Le Diplomate

1601 14th St. NW
Washington, DC 20009
View Larger Map

Stephen Starr brings his signature brand of hospitality and design to the nation’s capital with the opening of Le Diplomate, located at 14th & Q. Serving lunch, brunch and dinner, the stylish 260 seat restaurant transports diners to the beloved cafés of Boulevard Saint-Germain in Paris. The extensive menu features a variety of classic dishes including Onion Soup Gratinee, Steak Frites, and Poulet Roti as well as contemporary bistro fare, with dishes such as Shaved Veal Tongue with Mache and Bavette de Boeuf à l’Echalote. A thoughtfully curated wine list and cocktail program perfectly complements the cuisine and creates an environment suitable for romantic dinners or lively group gatherings. In warmer weather, enjoy dining "en plein air" in the stunning outdoor café where you can take in the bustling energy of DC while sipping on the perfect kir royale.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Sunday to Thursday 5:00PM to 11:00PM
Friday & Saturday 5:00PM to 12:00AM

Saturday & Sunday Brunch 10:00AM to 3:00PM

Cross Street:
Q Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 332-3333

Website:
http://lediplomatedc.com/

Executive Chef:
Michael Abt

Le Diplomate Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

French
Washington, D.C. Area
Most Booked
Washington, D.C. Area
French
District of Columbia
1 More
Most Booked
District of Columbia
Best Restaurants in Logan Circle ›

fit for foodies (602)
special occasion (448)
neighborhood gem (414)
See All
hot spot (383)
great for brunch (361)
great for outdoor dining (336)
notable wine list (272)
romantic (267)
good for groups (230)
great for lunch (173)
vibrant bar scene (150)
late-night find (76)
kid-friendly (66)
scenic view (41)
Sort By:
Newest
3640 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious food. We picked off of each o ...

Dined 2 days ago

Delicious food. We picked off of each others plates. Only one issue... the steak knives are really DULL. I tried 2.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Absolutely marvelous menu with a wonderf ...

vip
Dined 3 days ago

Absolutely marvelous menu with a wonderful wine list. However, it's noisy, the tables are small and packed tightly together. It's a trade off to visit one of America's top French restaurants! We really loved the restaurant. Our server was delightful and the food delicious. I highly recommend Le Diplomate. However, the tables are small and cramped. So much do that our food did not fit on our table. They had to move us after a 20 minute delay.

food3
ambience4
service1

Indifferent server, took 25 minutes to g ...

vip
Dined 4 days ago

Indifferent server, took 25 minutes to get drinks. 20 minutes to see manager, very poor service. Ran out of special. Had to eat at a competitor restaurant.

food4
ambience5
service3
value3

This restaurant is consistently good. C ...

Dined 4 days ago

This restaurant is consistently good. Classic French bistro!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, hot spot
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Good French dishes though mediocre servi ...

Dined 5 days ago

Good French dishes though mediocre service. Not sure if this was due to a busy Tuesday night, but our waitress did not seem particularly interested in refilling our water glasses.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Delicious food in a great space, very bu ...

Dined 6 days ago

Delicious food in a great space, very busy even on a Monday. Loved everything we had, we will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent dining...Easy to fine....Respo ...

Dined 6 days ago

Excellent dining...Easy to fine....Responsive staff...Eclectic atmosphere...

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Server was so kind and attentive! The fa ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

Server was so kind and attentive! The faster order of soup in my life!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Such a lovely spot, the atmosphere is gr ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

Such a lovely spot, the atmosphere is great and the food is simply outstanding.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Utterly awesome! Le Diplomat is in an a ...

vip
Dined on June 19, 2016

Utterly awesome! Le Diplomat is in an aerie spot all to itself. Every bite was sublime, from the breads, to the steak tartare to the gougere, veal, wine list and more. I cannot say enough good things about this restaurant. The overall vibe is infectious, putting one into an instantaneous good mood. There is a choice of outdoor or inside dining. We selected inside. Our server was a real pro. He knew the dishes well; he found the sommelier for us in a flash - her choice was excellent! The bread is the absolute best in the DC area. I can hardly wait to return!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was wonderful. We ordered the ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Everything was wonderful. We ordered the 3 cheese plate - amazing!

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent! We had heard about Le Diplom ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Excellent! We had heard about Le Diplomate when we visited her sister restaurant in Philly. They told us since we live in DC go to Le Diplomate. We're glad we took their advice. Both my husband and I ordered the steak and frites. Absolutely delicious!! The martinis were very, very good. The server/waiter was superb. Even the attendant who took our finished plates away displayed superb customer service! Keep up the good work (and food!), Le Diplomate. We will return!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Le Diplomate is outstanding in every way ...

vip
Dined on June 19, 2016

Le Diplomate is outstanding in every way (except noise). The seafood extravaganza is simply marvelous. We look forward to our next visit in a few weeks.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Went here while visiting D.C. for Sunday ...

vip
Dined on June 19, 2016

Went here while visiting D.C. for Sunday brunch (on Father's Day, actually). We had a great experience. I love how all the servers wear navy dresses with red belts - it gave me the patriotic feel while in our nation's capital. The food was fantastic and the service great.

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Father's Day brunch at Le Diplomat ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Great Father's Day brunch at Le Diplomate! The ambiance, mimosas, food, and service were top notch! Cannot wait to return for dinner one day!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Nothing is better for brunch the Le Dip' ...

vip
Dined on June 19, 2016

Nothing is better for brunch the Le Dip's duck sarladaise and a basket of pastries with a mimosa and coffee. And the service is even better than the food and wine selection. Truly heavenly.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I lived in Paris for 3 years. This resta ...

vip
Dined on June 19, 2016

I lived in Paris for 3 years. This restaurant is so authentic, it really takes me back in time...almost everything is Parisian. Decor, food, vibe. Everything but the wait staff. In Paris, they can be surly and rude. At Le Diplomate, the staff wer e friendly and attentive. I've been here 8 times, and love it.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

I love this restaurant the food here is ...

vip
Dined on June 19, 2016

I love this restaurant the food here is perhaps the best in DC. Probably one of the best places in DC.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

As always brunch was delicious. I have n ...

vip
Dined on June 19, 2016

As always brunch was delicious. I have never had a more delicious quiche. Our table for two was next to one of the window s that open onto 14th Street so it was quiet spot and with the morning breeze an overall lovely experience.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Fine French food with good service. Noi ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Fine French food with good service. Noise levels were difficult, as I am hearing impaired. The seafood appetizer was overly large, and I was unable to finish my dinner, as a result.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Glad I had the experience of dining here ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Glad I had the experience of dining here on my recent visit to DC. Our waiter was very helpful in his suggestions on what to order, and he was super attentive. I will most certainly dine here again during my next visit to the city. The food was delicious and I highly recommend Le Diplomate!

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

I had never dined there before. I found ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

I had never dined there before. I found that the menu was Parisian bistro style and that food was tasty and the wine quite good.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Yummy and decadent food, beautiful inter ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Yummy and decadent food, beautiful interior, top notch cocktails.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of my favorite restaurants in DC. ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

One of my favorite restaurants in DC. Service and food always great. You have to try the Romarin cocktail

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Le Diplomate never fails to impress! It ...

vip
Dined on June 18, 2016

Le Diplomate never fails to impress! It would be enough with the beautiful ambiance, and delicious food, but it's really the service that sets it apart. We had the most wonderful waiter who was so attentive, thoughtful and made fantastic food recommendations. I highly recommend the big seafood platter to share with 3-4 people. It is out of this world and a great deal for the price!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had written in that we were celebrati ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

We had written in that we were celebrating a birthday, and thought it was so nice of the staff to bring over a dessert for us to celebrate, very nice touch!

food4
ambience3
service1
value2

Terrible Service! We had a total of 5 pe ...

vip
Dined on June 17, 2016

Terrible Service! We had a total of 5 people waiting on us throughout the meal. One of them was incredibly rude. Overall very poor service even though we had so many waiters/waitresses. One persons meal was not cooked properly and it took right under 30 minutes to get the meal back, the rest of us were all finished with dinner by then. Not a good experience.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We have eaten twice at the Philadelphia ...

vip
Dined on June 16, 2016

We have eaten twice at the Philadelphia location and heard many good things about the Washington location. Meeting a friend for dinner and catching up on a year or so of news, Le Diplomate seemed like a good choice, especially since her hotel was a few minutes away on New York Avenue. We were not disappointed: scallops, lamb chops, a variety of first courses - allure very good and the noise was not overwhelming, although the level is definitely not that of a Parisian restaurant !

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Phenomenal experience. fabulous food, t ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Phenomenal experience. fabulous food, terrific staff, great ambience and well priced, all in one. We wouldn't change one thing about Le Diplomate. It is truly perfection in dining!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous as usual. My favorite place in ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Fabulous as usual. My favorite place in DC!!

food5
ambience5
service5

Le Diplomate is one of my favorite resta ...

vip
Dined on June 16, 2016

Le Diplomate is one of my favorite restaurants in D.C.! The food and service is five star. Portions are plentiful. If looking for something light, try the Warm Shrimp Salad. Save room for dessert! The dessert menu boasts a plethora of dreamy, creamy creations.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We had a great evening at Le Diplomate. ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

We had a great evening at Le Diplomate. The food was delicious. There was more lag time between our appetizers and entree than we like. However, we were still sipping out wonderful cocktails, so we did not let that bother us. The waiter was very personable but not intrusive. All in all, a truly pleasant evening out. I would definitely go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great selection on the menu AND on the w ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Great selection on the menu AND on the wine list! You won't be disappointed here, Duck Breast was very good and service was spot on. Highly recommend!

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Great french bistro food

vip
Dined on June 15, 2016

Great french bistro food

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The SERVICE was Outstanding!! Enjoyed o ...

vip
Dined on June 14, 2016

The SERVICE was Outstanding!! Enjoyed our dinner and were able to relax before the theatre

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Tuesday special of lobster risotto is fa ...

vip
Dined on June 14, 2016

Tuesday special of lobster risotto is fantastic

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great menu, atmosphere and service. Food ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

Great menu, atmosphere and service. Food is always very good. Always enjoy dining here for brunch and dinner.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We'd been to Le Diplomate once before a ...

vip
Dined on June 13, 2016

We'd been to Le Diplomate once before a few years ago and - although it was good then - have to say the ambiance was more memorable than the food. My son's request to celebrate high school graduation & earning Eagle Scout last week was dinner at Le Diplomate. I'm happy to say the food was FANTASTIC this time! Every dish we ordered was done to perfection. (Steak Frites, Steak Au Poivre, salmon, Boeuf Berguignon, & duck) I am already planning another meal here for another special occasion soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was delicious. We had a table ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

The food was delicious. We had a table toward the back, which was much quieter than the front. Service was good and we will definitely go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've only been here for brunch, and it n ...

vip
Dined on June 12, 2016

I've only been here for brunch, and it never disappoints. Egg dishes are excellent, and their beef tartare is one of the best I've found. I also appreciate the broad selection of digestif. Bon appetit!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.