About Le Diplomate

1601 14th St. NW
Washington, DC 20009
View Larger Map

Stephen Starr brings his signature brand of hospitality and design to the nation’s capital with the opening of Le Diplomate, located at 14th & Q. Serving lunch, brunch and dinner, the stylish 260 seat restaurant transports diners to the beloved cafés of Boulevard Saint-Germain in Paris. The extensive menu features a variety of classic dishes including Onion Soup Gratinee, Steak Frites, and Poulet Roti as well as contemporary bistro fare, with dishes such as Shaved Veal Tongue with Mache and Bavette de Boeuf à l’Echalote. A thoughtfully curated wine list and cocktail program perfectly complements the cuisine and creates an environment suitable for romantic dinners or lively group gatherings. In warmer weather, enjoy dining "en plein air" in the stunning outdoor café where you can take in the bustling energy of DC while sipping on the perfect kir royale.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Sunday to Thursday 5:00PM to 11:00PM
Friday & Saturday 5:00PM to 12:00AM

Saturday & Sunday Brunch 10:00AM to 3:00PM

Cross Street:
Q Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 332-3333

Website:
http://lediplomatedc.com/

Executive Chef:
Michael Abt

Le Diplomate Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (207)
Fit for Foodies (204)
Good for a Date (204)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (156)
Good for Birthdays (149)
Authentic (147)
Great for Brunch (136)
Hot Spot (133)
Good for Anniversaries (126)
Fun (116)
Romantic (112)
Notable Wine List (108)
People Watching (103)
Sunday Lunch (94)
Great for Outdoor Dining (85)
Casual (71)
Good for Groups (71)
Worth the Drive (65)
Comfort Food (65)
Creative Cuisine (65)
Vibrant Bar Scene (63)
Cozy (62)
Great for Lunch (58)
Pre/post Theatre (58)
Handcrafted Cocktails (53)
Business Meals (45)
Bar Seating (33)
Late-night Find (25)
Outstanding Value (25)
Seasonal (24)
Afternoon Coffee (23)
Happy Hour (16)
Family Style (15)
Modern Decor (12)
Historic (12)
Local Ingredients (12)
Tasting Menu (11)
Healthy (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (10)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Kid-friendly (9)
Great Beer (8)
Scenic View (7)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Afternoon Tea (6)
Paleo Friendly (6)
Disabled Access (5)
Molecular Gastronomy (5)
Fireplace (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Spicy (1)
Organic (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
4455 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Our favorite restaurant in Washington DC ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined a day ago

Our favorite restaurant in Washington DC.both dinner and brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We make it a point to visit Le Diplomate ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined a day ago

We make it a point to visit Le Diplomate with every visit to DC. Its very quaint with a lovely atmosphere - indoor/outdoor seating - (with blankets and heatlamps too). Food is delicious. Service is great too. They know what they are doing!!! We've come for oysters & champagne, for dinner, for Sunday brunch. Every experience has been wonderful.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is s wonderful place in DC. Brunch ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined a day ago

This is s wonderful place in DC. Brunch is fabulous.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

What a treat to eat here, we had so much ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined a day ago

What a treat to eat here, we had so much fun! The food was delicious, so much butter and salt, very indulgent. I've always wanted to eat here when I was in college but couldn't afford it. Happy I got to experience it on my trip to DC. Try all the carpaccios, amazing!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Family Style, Disabled Access, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a wonderful experience. We were in ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

What a wonderful experience. We were in from NYC for the anti inauguration march and were looking for a fun place to have dinner. Le Diplomate really delivered! Not only was it a fun and lively atmosphere, but the food was the best I've ever had at a restaurant that seems to be as well known for its decor and ambiance as its cuisine. I am still thinking about my steak au poivre and the amazing duck confit. So flavorful. Even the bread basket was to die. Thanks!

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I reserved a table for 10 a month prior ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

I reserved a table for 10 a month prior to the Women's March on Washington. The servers were excellent; they managed a large group in the context of a busy restaurant with ease. The food was great and also very reasonable. The Frois Gras was some the of best I've had in the US.

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and very attentive servic ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 2 days ago

Excellent food and very attentive service. A great place for a casual lunch with a date or friends. The wine list and cheese selection was spot on for the type of food the cost was reasonable. Would definitely go there again.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Casual, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was told to come here by Gtown law stude ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 2 days ago

Was told to come here by Gtown law student. SO WORTH IT. One of my all time favorite dining experiences ever. And that means a lot coming from me, I promise. I am obsessed. My family is in the business so I tend to be pickier. I would say top three dining experiences of my life. I will always stop by when I'm in town! Don't miss Le Diplomate!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely meal, solid wine list, good servi ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 3 days ago

Lovely meal, solid wine list, good service with nice ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

quite good. they really do a good job th ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

quite good.

they really do a good job

the bread is the best in the city.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've been here nearly a dozen times now ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

I've been here nearly a dozen times now for both brunch and dinner and every time I go I'm pleased with the consistency of the menu and service. This time was for dinner. We had oysters, tuna carpaccio, steak frites, scallops, and creme brûlée. Everything was excellent as always and the pacing of the meal was superb. It can get a bit loud during peak times, but that's also when it feels the most cozy and welcoming.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Cozy, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Excellent food. I had the Americain hamb ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent food. I had the Americain hamburger and it was outstanding. The best burger i have ever tasted.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a lovely time at Le Diplomate. Gr ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

We had a lovely time at Le Diplomate. Great food, service, and ambiance.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Fun, Afternoon Coffee, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love is not enough! We shared the last n ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

Love is not enough! We shared the last night of Obama's Presidency with the wonderful people at "Le Dip" and were honored by it. The space is warm and vibrant. The food is delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Tried the mushroom tarte 3 years ago and ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

Tried the mushroom tarte 3 years ago and it was just as good as I remember it. Had the moule frittes and the broth/sauce was just so flavorful. Brought my husband here for his birthday, and he got the steak frittes. We sat in silence for a few minutes because we just couldn't stop eating. The waitress, can't remember her name, was perfect. We were never without anything we could have possibly needed, nor was she intrusive. Great food great service. It was a bit loud, as this tends to be where friends gather, but not obnoxiously loud.

Tags: Great Beer, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Everything was amazing. I especially rec ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

Everything was amazing. I especially recommend the mussels and the escargot

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a wonderful experience, the staff ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

It was a wonderful experience, the staff was extremely knowledgeable on the menu. The food was excellent as always, and worth the price of the dishes. The food was delicious, in fact I had a hard time picking out what I wanted to eat because it all sounded good.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've been here often and this visit was ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 7 days ago

We've been here often and this visit was disappointing. I hope it was just an off night. It was a special birthday and unlike past special event visits this was not noted in any way. We were seated next to a noisy family with small kids and service was slow and did not follow up so i did not get a chance to send back the tepid snails. Still love the bread basket, pomme frites and recommend the house wine carafe. Hope this was a one-off. We usually have a great time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Food - deelish- my server was outstandin ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 7 days ago

Food - deelish- my server was outstanding - manager was attentive- biggest problem was the 4 count em 4 - hostess greeters that managed to put me in a bad mood the minute I got to the restaurant- barely looked up- no smile no greeting- we were 3 minutes early and she said they weren't quite ready- I could wait at the bar- The bar was 5 people deep!! I was not going to stand by the bar!! We waited about 7 minutes in front of the desk while not one hostess looked smiled or acknowledged our presence! Upon leaving not a thank you or acknowledgement either!!! They need to do something about this! Almost spoils a perfect evening! BTW I mentioned this to my server and he apologized - no way of knowing if he had the power to address the issue.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Met my aunt and uncle there for dinner o ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 7 days ago

Met my aunt and uncle there for dinner on a Monday night at 6:30PM. The restaurant was just getting busy for the evening and became more energetic as the night wore on. Was pretty tough to get reservations because of its popularity; I would recommend getting reservations more than a week out if you have a specific day/time in mind. Because it was a Monday, the special was the Dorade Royale en Papillote for $31... Absolutely fantastic and our service was top notch! Was very happy we were only able to get Monday reservations on short notice (4-days).

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

it's never disappointing. took friends ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 7 days ago

it's never disappointing. took friends there for their first visit and they loved it.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hostess not very nice, stressed out not ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Hostess not very nice, stressed out not welcoming

Food and service was good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Food, cocktails, and ambience all close ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Food, cocktails, and ambience all close to perfect!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The staff at this restaurant were very n ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 16, 2017

The staff at this restaurant were very nice which makes it difficult to say that I would never recommend this restaurant to a friend and I also would not go back there again. I ordered a radish crudite as an appetizer and I literally received an enormous bunch of radishes on a wooden cutting board with a big mound of butter. First of all, there was so many radishes, more than four people could eat let alone one person. They were not even sliced or presented nicely, just a pile of radishes. As an entree, I got Moules Frites, the mussels were not hot or tasty, just eww (the fries were very good, thank goodness). The worst dish though was my husband's entree of veal which was cooked on the edges and absolutely raw on the inside. This was breaded veal, it was just ugh, yuck. Our server apologized and offered to bring him something else but he was just disgusted from biting into that gooey raw breaded veal and decided to pass. The manager came over and apologized and took the veal off the bill. He also sent over a few complimentary desserts. As I said the staff were incredibly nice and if it had been just one thing I could have chalked it up to a bad night. There were just too many things that went wrong for us that evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

One of my favorite restaurants in DC. G ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 16, 2017

One of my favorite restaurants in DC. Great environment and delicious food mixed with great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

It was our first time here. We were hopi ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 15, 2017

It was our first time here. We were hoping for a deja vue Paris brasserie experience and weren't disappointed. The menu is amazing, making choices difficult. There were 5 of us and everyone liked their food. The service, Kevin, was wonderful. We'll be back.

Tags: Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Late-night Find, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Fun, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The performance of waiter Nabil was disa ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The performance of waiter Nabil was disappointing. He has been our server on previous dining occasions and there was marked disinterest on his part in serving the table on Sunday.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

With three of my besties in town from NY ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 15, 2017

With three of my besties in town from NY Le Diplomate offered the most perfect brunch spot for our last meal together. Carlos, our waiter, was as close to perfection as you can get!! He knew just what to suggest to make the meal amazing. I will be back! Thank you.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Some food too salty. My duck was excelle ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Some food too salty. My duck was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The waiter provided excellent customer s ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 14, 2017

The waiter provided excellent customer service. It was out second time coming to this restaurant and wanted to introduce our out of state relatives to La Diplomate. Unfortunately the escargot was underwhelming and the two stakes we ordered, one was over the salty and the other was not cooked as desired. Considering the amount of money we spent, the quality of food could've been better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Reminds me of New Orleans's restaurants ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Reminds me of New Orleans's restaurants but more expensive.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

This place was amazing! A great way to ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 14, 2017

This place was amazing! A great way to celebrate my engagement! Thank you so much!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, , Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fourth visit. Entertaining out-of-town s ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Fourth visit. Entertaining out-of-town sons & grandsons. Dylan loved his pancakes and I loved my poached eggs with proscuitto and polenta. Fresh squeezed orange juice hit the spot. Andrea's omelet was overcooked and then was replaced with a pie slice Quiche that was over-herbed. Every one else loved their food. The basket of pastries was the hit of the day…two pieces each for the table of 4. Never empty coffee cups were always filled. Service was superb. Door ope ned at 9:30 AM and were seated and ordering coffee within minutes.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

Went with friends to celebrate 2 anniver ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Went with friends to celebrate 2 anniversaries. We were very pleased. Food was exceptional and our server delightful and attentive.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fun, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Dined after seeing "The Hard Problem" at ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Dined after seeing "The Hard Problem" at the Studio Theatre a block south. As usual, service was friendly and efficient. She had the mushroom soup and an entrée salad. I got the charcuterie followed by an omelet. Everything was very tasty.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great French restaurant! Two friends an ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Great French restaurant! Two friends and I went here just after beers down the street based on a recommendation. We ordered mix drinks (all were great!) and had escargot as an app (very tasty!). I had the steak au poivre and it was really yummy (a bit on the peppery side, so if you aren't a black pepper fan, probably not your cup o tea). Friends commented that their dinners were great too! Definitely worth a visit!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Really impressed by the timely, exceptio ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Really impressed by the timely, exceptional service and food!

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Fun, Special Occasion, Romantic, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Paleo Friendly, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was too salty.

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Food was too salty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Fantastic service. Absolutely the best ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Fantastic service. Absolutely the best in DC. Our sever was incredible. Knew the menu and wine list very well.

Tags: Bar Seating, , Notable Wine List, People Watching, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Generally a big fan. Come here quite oft ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Generally a big fan. Come here quite often. Service was absolutely terrible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.