About Le Diplomate

1601 14th St. NW
Washington, DC 20009
View Larger Map

Stephen Starr brings his signature brand of hospitality and design to the nation’s capital with the opening of Le Diplomate, located at 14th & Q. Serving lunch, brunch and dinner, the stylish 260 seat restaurant transports diners to the beloved cafés of Boulevard Saint-Germain in Paris. The extensive menu features a variety of classic dishes including Onion Soup Gratinee, Steak Frites, and Poulet Roti as well as contemporary bistro fare, with dishes such as Shaved Veal Tongue with Mache and Bavette de Boeuf à l’Echalote. A thoughtfully curated wine list and cocktail program perfectly complements the cuisine and creates an environment suitable for romantic dinners or lively group gatherings. In warmer weather, enjoy dining "en plein air" in the stunning outdoor café where you can take in the bustling energy of DC while sipping on the perfect kir royale.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Sunday to Thursday 5:00PM to 11:00PM
Friday & Saturday 5:00PM to 12:00AM

Saturday & Sunday Brunch 10:00AM to 3:00PM

Cross Street:
Q Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 332-3333

Website:
http://lediplomatedc.com/

Executive Chef:
Michael Abt

Le Diplomate Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

French
Washington, D.C. Area
Most Booked
Washington, D.C. Area
French
District of Columbia
1 More
Most Booked
District of Columbia
Best Restaurants in Logan Circle ›

fit for foodies (611)
special occasion (458)
neighborhood gem (418)
See All
hot spot (391)
great for brunch (373)
great for outdoor dining (303)
romantic (291)
notable wine list (285)
good for groups (226)
great for lunch (182)
vibrant bar scene (161)
kid-friendly (66)
late-night find (65)
scenic view (36)
Sort By:
Newest
3542 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Terrific, as usual

Dined 4 days ago

Sunday night dinner; place was packed, yet we were still seated on time. Unhurried, enjoyed our drinks and mushroom tart appetizer; loved the veal and steak au poivre (although we took a large portion home) and thought the creme brûlée was light and delicious. Never disappointing.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Hot Spot Worth it

vip
Dined 4 days ago

One of the hottest spot in DC Could only get in at 5 15 everything excellent you name it and it was A1 Worth every penny! If I go back to DC I would go back ther

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service and wonderful food. Be ...

Dined 5 days ago

Excellent service and wonderful food. Best Eggs Benedict I've ever had!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved loved loved our meal last night. S ...

Dined 5 days ago

Loved loved loved our meal last night. Service was great. Food, cocktails and wine were perfect. Too many tempting French dishes to try in one sitting. Can't wait to go back.

food5
ambience5
service5

Love it. Food was fantastic. Service was ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

Love it. Food was fantastic. Service was as well. Top notch. Brunch was yummy. Pancakes were light and fluffy.

food5
ambience3
service1
value3

Great but pricey

Dined 6 days ago

This s my fifth time being at Le Diplomate and I felt a little disappointed in the pastry basket which lacked creativity and all of the items were slightly charred. I sent back the last two for replacements that were less overdone and the waitress instead of accommodating the request began lecturing about the carmelization of the sugar making the crust the hard and dark brown complexion it was... ummm well what about the dark brown/black parts on the muffin and what about it being so hard i could use it as a baseball? Anyway I was turned off by her response and equally irked when it took twenty minutes after ordering table wine for it to be served (didn't require uncorking as this was the house blend in a carafe). For a $200 meal for two people I expect better service. The food, as always, was great though, especially the tuna carpaccio and the ensalade vertes.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything is a hit

Dined 6 days ago

Absolutely everything on this menu is delicious. It was my 3rd time dining here and I brought my parents who were visiting from CA. All four of us at the table got something different (Sea Bass, Scallops, Beef Bourguignon, Moules-Frites) and all were cooked to perfection. They are always very accommodating with allergies (I am gluten-free/dairy-free) and my server was honest that the trout dish may not be as great cooked without its butter. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Major disappointment.

vip
Dined 6 days ago

This was among my most disappointing dining experiences in Washington ever. From the awful table location (for a special occasion!), to the server either actually or pretending not to have understood our order, to wait staff gathering around our table and brushing my head twice when bustling by, to an over-salted and inedible main course, this was a disaster.

food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Love the food here. Make sure to have di ...

Dined 6 days ago

Love the food here. Make sure to have dinner here every time I am in Washington. Made my reservation a month ahead of time so was disappointed to have small table near bar instead of in more formal dining area

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Outstanding in Every Way

Dined 6 days ago

A friend recommended Le Diplomate and we were certainly not disappointed. We ate on the covered patio and it was perfect for people watching on the busy D.C. streets as well as a lovely spring evening breeze. The food was excellent - loved our escargot appetizer and amazing Profiteroles dessert. The entree was very tasty, too. But the entire experience was made even better by our outstanding server, Emma. She put the finishing touches on a lovely evening. Even a popular restaurant like Le Diplomate can only stay in favor if they have employees of the caliber of Emma. Thanks for making it special,

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Incredible service, great menu, would re ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Incredible service, great menu, would recommend the french onion soup & scallop dish for dinner

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Excellent food and service. Felt like b ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Excellent food and service. Felt like being in France.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3

The food and ambience are very good.

Dined on May 17, 2016

The food and ambience are very good.

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

I've always enjoyed my evenings at Le Di ...

vip
Dined on May 16, 2016

I've always enjoyed my evenings at Le Diplomate. Steven Starr brings the charm and taste of Paris to Washington, D.C. We had a lovely Bordeaux and Steak Tartar to start. Then I got the Braised Lamb, which was bursting with flavor and perfectly cooked. An all around, great job!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and drinks are always great at ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

The food and drinks are always great at Le Diplomate. We have a great time and enjoy the ambiance.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service2

Took forever to be seated despite having ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

Took forever to be seated despite having a reservation. Once seated, we were certain we got the worst 2 top in the house by the toilets/kitchen. Our waiter came out and took our orders, but never brought the wine. Our entrees arrived in 5 minutes, no pommes frites, and no wine! A big no no! The only redeeming quality about the whole experience was the mouth watering beef bourguignon. Here's what really gets me. MANAGERS bosses take note; A group of 4 managers stood for over 40 minutes chatting and complaining near our table while wait staff worked their tails off. Not right! Good thing the food shines! If you don't mind poor service, and noise, but love good food, come here. I would fire the chatty managers.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best restaurant in DC! I wou ...

vip
Dined on May 16, 2016

One of the best restaurant in DC! I would highly recommend this place if you can get a reservation.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service3

Very crowded but bread basket was delici ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

Very crowded but bread basket was delicious

food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Reservation, Reservation, and arrive early!

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

We reserved this restaurant a month ago. We arrived 5 minutes late and wait almost one hour to have our table. First waiter was no polite but at the end, another one took care about the table and it was good. Food is OK but nothing fancy that you will be delighted. Great for brunch.

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had the most amazing first time experien ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Had the most amazing first time experience with my young son! Everyone was very welcoming to us! The food was superb!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Family dinner for a college graduation, ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Family dinner for a college graduation, our graduate picked the spot and we were all pleased. Food superb (our table enjoyed steak, burgers, scallops, salads, and apple tart), wonderful wine and champagne, service attentive without being intrusive. Although noisy the atmosphere reminded us of neighborhood cafes in Paris and Sydney.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5

The steak frites was fabulous! Our waitr ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

The steak frites was fabulous! Our waitress was incredibly attentive. My only criticism was it seemed a little too crowded - my back was right up against someone else's chair the entire time.

food4
ambience3
service4
value2

A bit of France

Dined on May 14, 2016

The food gras appetizer and the onion soup were great. I had the beef burgundy: the meat was overlooked and dried out, but the sauce was flavorful. The carrots were undercooked, but the onions were well cooked as were the lardons. Wife had the lamb special. She liked the lamb slices; they were very tender and tasty, but I found the meat too salty and thought it drowned out the taste of the food. The sauce was velvety and delicious. The server was very attentive. The bill, including a modest bottle of wine, was $200. Very nice meal, but not in the same league as the best in DC.

food4
ambience5
service4

The atmosphere is amazing, like Europe! ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

The atmosphere is amazing, like Europe! I was not overly impressed with the food given all the hype about Le Diplomate. It may have been that I didn't choose the right menu item. And the service was very attentive but in not exactly the right way... E.g. Stopping by many times to check in on us, but not remembering to bring back what we had requested, or working with us on altering a menu item, but then not actually having the order made.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best brunch spots in DC. The ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

One of the best brunch spots in DC. The problem is deciding what to eat, too many wonderful options. Great staff, fun environment, indoor or outdoor seating almost year round.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I enjoy Le Diplomate and have been very ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

I enjoy Le Diplomate and have been very happy that they are able to accommodate my requests for a table on the 14th street side so I can enjoy brunch with my dog.

Tags: great for brunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious - Never fails!

Dined on May 14, 2016

One of my favorite restaurants in DC. From the food to the environment everything is always good.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Loved the upbeat vibe and the service wa ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Loved the upbeat vibe and the service was attentive and warm. Nice recognition of the birthday celebration and got a table by the window as requested. Food was nicely prepared and beautifully presented - and delicious!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

The food was good and the créme brûlée a ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

The food was good and the créme brûlée awesome!!!!

Tags: great for lunch, late-night find, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

It was a very nice dinner. Service was g ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

It was a very nice dinner. Service was good and food was good. Service was a little slow but it was busy so we understand! Will be back next time I am in DC.

food4
ambience4
service5

Great atmosphere...hopping after 9pm!

Dined on May 12, 2016

Great atmosphere...hopping after 9pm!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Seated immediately. Nicely casual. Ver ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Seated immediately. Nicely casual. Very good French Onion soup, but best fois gras pate that I have ever had. House red was a great value. Excellent service. Would definitely recommend, and will return at next visit to DC.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never disappointing. Too bad they aren't ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Never disappointing. Too bad they aren't open for lunch

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Service... wine

vip
Dined on May 11, 2016

Waited 30 min for a 73 dollar bottle of wine. Absolutely unacceptable. Apparently, the waiters can open and serve the wine, but can't go into the vault to fetch it. The man in the grey suit was apparently overwhelmed. Stop the fetishism over wine and let the waiters get it. I was extremely annoyed. The restaurant ought, out of courtesy, to have reduced the wine to 50 percent of price. I was too polite to ask.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had dinner here while in town on busines ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

Had dinner here while in town on business. Service was wonderful and attentive. Food was very good - loved the trout almondine. Went back for brunch and was not disappointed.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, reasonably priced. Lots of e ...

vip
Dined on May 9, 2016

Great food, reasonably priced. Lots of energy. Really fun evening.

food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Always a wonderful experience! Service ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

Always a wonderful experience! Service was a little uneven this time ... still good but it is usually outstanding. Food was brilliant (like always)!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Second Favorite Restaurant in DC

Dined on May 9, 2016

Amazing! Great food, great atmosphere. Will definitely come back. Came here in preparation of a vacation to Paris and was not disappointed!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Terrible Service/Terrible Seating Procedures

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

I made my reservation 3 weeks in advance. My family of 4 arrived on-time. In fact, we were a few minutes early. A table for 4 was cleared and set shortly after we arrived but we were not seated. After about 20 minutes a party of just 2 people arrived and they were seated at the table for 4, which was directly behind us. I asked the hostess on two occasions before the party of 2 arrived, when we would be seated. She responded on both occasions that we would be seated shortly but we were actually seated after the party of 2. I would have left the restaurant if not for the fact that my child and husband had previously mentioned that they were really hungry and it would have been difficult to find another restaurant at the last minute. We will never return to this restaurant again. There are too many other restaurants in DC, VA, and MD where people of all races are treated equally.

food4
ambience4
service4

Even on a busy Mother's Day evening, Le ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Even on a busy Mother's Day evening, Le Diplomate does not disappoint or phone it in. Even the cocktails were spot-on!

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.