About Le Colonial - Chicago

937 N. Rush Street
Chicago, IL 60611
View Larger Map

Le Colonial transports guests to another time and place, vividly recapturing the beauty, romance and spirit of 1920's French-Colonial Southeast Asia. Le Colonial invigorates the senses with exquisite décor and savory authentic Vietnamese cuisine. Le Colonial offers two unique dining options: The first floor dining room is adorned with louvered shutters, woven rattan chairs, potted palms, slow-moving ceiling fans and nostalgic black and white photos of turn-of-the century life in Saigon. The upstairs lounge includes a spacious, fully stocked mahogany bar, plush couches for enjoying light fare, dining tables and a veranda, for keeping warm in winter and cool in summer. Complete with unique, delicately prepared Vietnamese cuisine, Le Colonial is the perfect setting for an after-work social or a romantic evening for two.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Vietnamese, Asian, Vegetarian / Vegan

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 12:00pm - 2:30pm *Summer Lunch starts at 11:30am*, Late Café Lunch: 2:30pm - 4:30pm *Summer only/ weather permitting/ Café only*; Dinner: Monday - Friday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Saturday: 5:00pm - 12:00am, Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Oak

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 255-0088

Website:
http://www.lecolonialchicago.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available for $12. Public lots & street parking also available.

Public Transit:
Chicago El & Bus Route 22,36,151,156

Executive Chef:
Chan Le

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Le Colonial is celebrating 13 years in Chicago’s gold coast area on rush street. This noted up-scale french-vietnamese restaurant transports guests to another time and place, vividly recapturing the beauty, romance and spirit of 1920’s French colonial southeast Asia.

Le Colonial - Chicago Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

fit for foodies (148)
romantic (141)
special occasion (134)
See All
neighborhood gem (106)
great for lunch (41)
notable wine list (34)
good for groups (33)
hot spot (30)
great for outdoor dining (21)
scenic view (13)
great for brunch (12)
late-night find (12)
vibrant bar scene (9)
kid-friendly (3)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2433 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

The red snapper

Dined 3 days ago

The red snapper

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous food & service

vip
Dined 4 days ago

The room is gorgeous, the food delicious and the service impeccable. A wonderful dining experience that I highly recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great and amazing as always.....the food ...

Dined 5 days ago

Great and amazing as always.....the food was excellent. The ambience is very cool. The service professionals!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

The food is flavorful. The different spi ...

Dined 6 days ago

The food is flavorful. The different spices, fresh mint, etc. Just twists your tastebuds. I make a point to make reservation here everytime I'm in Chicago. The ambiance upstairs, candles , hip music is great.

food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Nice place for personal or business dinner

Dined on May 23, 2016

Took a new friend's advice and dined in during the National Restaurant Association trade show. The Fried Red Snapper was good but could have been stellar if it had not been drowned in sauce on the bottom, doing away with the crispy skin (which is why you order Fried Red Snapper, right?) there. Staff was super, balancing attention with leaving us to dine perfectly. The lighting is a bit on the low side, and could have been brighter if I'd had my druthers. Overall, good experience that is on the pricey side.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The bartender, Mediha(SP?) is a great gu ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

The bartender, Mediha(SP?) is a great guy! Young man from Morocco that was a lot of fun to talk to! I cant remember the waiters name but the bartender was great!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Red snapper over cooked and very dry for ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Red snapper over cooked and very dry for the ($42) MKP. Rice was not washed and hard.

food5
ambience5
service5

Very nice atmosphere and dinner. Second ...

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

Very nice atmosphere and dinner. Second visit and was consistently excellent.

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Always a great dining experience. They w ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Always a great dining experience. They were busy in the annual restaurant show so service was off just a little. But the food came out fast and was delicious as expected. All the rolls are great. Especially the beef rolls. Tenderloin with yams a favorite too.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Great food.

Dined on May 20, 2016

Great restaurant and good food. I had a great time with my nephew....

Tags: good for groups, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

AWESOME food, but warm

Dined on May 19, 2016

Very warm in the upstairs bar area and they were not that busy, but overall, great food, great service

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

An amazing meal. Everything we ordered w ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

An amazing meal. Everything we ordered was fabulous. A very special and interesting place to eat and visit.

food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding date night!

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

Outstanding date night!

food3
ambience5
service5

We had reservations. It was honored on t ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

We had reservations. It was honored on time and our request for a private table. The restaurant is true to era French Colonial. We had the shrimp on sugar cane for appetizer and the fish dish for entree both were bland. My duck was tasty but over priced for portion. I substituted the white rice for brown rice not expecting an up charge. I disagree with that. Our server should have told me if so I wouldn't have substituted. White rice or brown rice should be an option and not an up charge. The egg plant was delicious. Overall experience, 10 being the best I give the restaurant 6.5 rating.

food5
ambience5
service5

Loved the entire experience-was so nice ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Loved the entire experience-was so nice to be able to have a nice quiet conversation

food3
ambience3
service3
value2

A big miss on an important night. Went ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

A big miss on an important night. Went to celebrate a birthday and unfortunately, didn't feel very special at all. Had called the day before to inform them that we'd be celebrating a birthday and would appreciate any extra special touch the could do. But unfortunately waited forever to be rudely greeted and told that we needed to go upstairs. And then basically felt rushed by the wait staff the whole time to turn and burn. Food was ok and wish I had stuck to my gut instead of listening to the server's suggestion. Did not feel very good a few hours eating the seafood soup. Probably won't be back....

food5
ambience5
service4

Delicious food and overall great evening ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

Delicious food and overall great evening with out of town foodies

food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Ambiance over Food

Dined on May 13, 2016

I have dined here twice --10 years apart. It is a fun place to eat and have a drink. The food is c+ -not disappointing and not special.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a treat to dine here. Great decor and food.

Dined on May 8, 2016

Lovely restaurant with fresh ingredients and wonderful but not fussy presentation. Orchids on table, white tablecloths and attentive service. Excellent cocktails. Nice for special occasion or for a quiet dinner. Cozy at night and light and airy for daytime.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Well done!

Dined on May 7, 2016

The food, service and ambiance were great at this comfy Rush St restaurant. I highly recommend the bouillabaisse that was loaded with lobster, shrimp, scallops, fish and mussels in yummy broth. I would order this entree again. We will return.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great experience eating amazingly good food.

Dined on May 7, 2016

This was our family of 4's first time here. We ordered a variety of dishes and shared the experience. There was nothing we tried that we wouldn't have eaten a 2nd time. Real food made really well. Price is on the high side. 4 of us with a few drinks a couple of appetizers and a round of entree's was about $300.00 with tip.

food5
ambience4
service4

Staff were considerate of our 92 year ol ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Staff were considerate of our 92 year old birthday lady.

food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Cozy

Dined on May 7, 2016

Cute cozy atmosphere, nice food selection. Mild flavors. Perfect place for me and sisters to take my 80 year old Mom for a pre-mothers day dinner. Waiter was helpful and attentive. Steered us to share plates. It provided for a very nice evening.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Our favorite restaurant. Always exceptio ...

vip
Dined on May 6, 2016

Our favorite restaurant. Always exceptional food and service

food3
ambience4
service2
value3

A disappointment

Dined on May 6, 2016

We were anticipating a good relaxing meal for a birthday celebration. Unfortunately, the food was OK, but not great. However, we were most disappointed in the fact that, despite trying to get someone's attention during our meal, we were largely ignored. It wasn't until a neighboring diner flagged someone down when we could request a different table; we had a leaky ceiling above us, dripping on us through the whole last part of the meal. This could very well have influenced our negative reaction to the place, I'm sure. But the fact it made very little impact on the restaurant personnel that we spent much of our meal in discomfort does influence one's overall view of the place.

food4
ambience4
service4

Always good

vip
Dined on May 2, 2016

Always good

food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Food was just okay

vip
Dined on May 2, 2016

We have been to Le Colonial in San Francisco several times as we live in the Bay Area so decided to visit it in Chicago. Food was just okay here. For the prices we were not impressed. It is much tastier in San Francisco.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food

Dined on May 1, 2016

I took my boyfriend here for this birthday and it was delicious. Our server was so nice. She was able to give recommendations, and also tell us how to pronounce some of the food. Everything that we ordered was incredibly delicious. Definitely one of the best meals I have had in Chicago. Would highly recommend this to anybody looking for an interesting meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Birthday Celebration

Dined on April 29, 2016

My wife and I decided to celebrate our birthdays at Le Colonial and we had a fabulous dinner. We were seated at an intimate table by a window on the second floor. We ordered appetizers, one cold and one hot, and split a trout dinner. The hot appetizer, bbq ribs, were tender and flavorful and the trout was fresh and nicely seasoned. We ordered the banana wonton for dessert and it was excellent - topped off our meal nicely.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Dissatisfied

Dined on April 29, 2016

Been there several times in the past. This time, food was salty!!! Steak was tough. I would have had a better meal at my local Vietnamese place. ( compared to Green Basil in Naperville, food was poor!

food3
ambience4
service4
value2

New chef, bad news

vip
Dined on April 27, 2016

The original chef from 20 years ago has returned, and his first act was to cut the portion size in half. $19 for a chicken salad with half a cup of chicken is an outrage, even on Rush Street. The tourists won't know the difference, but regulars will. In truth, you can eat much better Vietnamese food on Argyle Street at half a dozen family-owned places, twice as much of it and for a third of the cost. Plus the decor is getting very tired. Clean the carpeting as an opening shot. The owners are plainly milking the location for all that it is worth.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great evening with my wife

Dined on April 24, 2016

Great evening with my wife

food1
ambience4
service4

This is the first time in over two years ...

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

This is the first time in over two years that I have eating at Le Colonial. The ambiance and the service is quite good. Seems to be a very popular place. The featured drinks were so-so, nothing spectacular. Although they did shake and pour at the table which was a nice touch. Most disappointingly was the quality of the food. It was nothing special. He components and presentation was good but the food was bland and lacked characteristic freshness and flavor of quality Vietnamese food. Maybe it was my food choices -- duck, shrimp and BBQ pork. The latter was dry and flavorless. The duck was bland to the pint of almost tasting like chicken. The shrimp was the best. The restaurant used to be quite good. They need to step up their game.

food4
ambience5
service1

Always a classic. I've been dining here ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

Always a classic. I've been dining here for twenty years. However, on our recent visit, we found the service to be lacking. We had a slow, inattentive waiter who provided little to no insight to the menu. Furthermore, when my wife expressed disappointment in her entree, he demonstrated no interest or concern. In summary, he displayed a lack of professionalism that one would expect at this establishment.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All around amazing

Dined on April 23, 2016

This was our second time to dine there. Service was great, food was great, price was fair and staff was friendly. I will go back again soon!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Obnoxiously Loud - Substandard service

Dined on April 23, 2016

The restaurant was crowded and loud to a fault. Uncomfortably loud (my wife and I couldn't have a conversation without practically yelling), and tables so tightly placed together, the servers are unable to move. Service was slow, and unresponsive. While the food was good, it was honestly nothing to get excited over. There are far better dining experiences in Chicago.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding

Dined on April 22, 2016

This was the best Asian food we've ever had. The ambiance was perfect, the service was impeccable. We're going back next week!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very romantic location for date night

Dined on April 21, 2016

We ate here during Chef's week. I had heard good things about it from family members who have been here. I was very pleased with the atmosphere, as we were looking for a nice quiet place for a little romance. The waiter was very personable and you could tell they got to know their regulars very well. He suggested a nice wine to pair with our dinner and we were pleased with his knowledge of the wine list. They food was very good, French style cuisine with Thia touches and ingredients. I would definitely go back and will recommend this to others as well. I'm a tour guide in the city and am always looking for good places to recommend. Not everyone meets my expectations and Le Colonial more than exceeded them.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our Chicago Favorites

Dined on April 20, 2016

Le Colonial is one of our favorite places in Chicago. Food is exceptional along with the service. Whenever I am in the Windy City, I make time to enjoy a meal there !

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Fabulous food, wine, ambience and interior decor

Dined on April 19, 2016

This is my second time over there (Chef Week is the usually the only time we make it there) but my partner has been there several times and this is his favorite Chicago restaurant (and he manages a restaurant himself so I trust his judgement). What can I say except Bravo! these guys have perfected the art of dining and I can keep coming here over and over and I am sure I will love it everytime. First the tastefully done decor, the lighting and wall art and indoor plants et al. just gorgeous, and romantic and so visually inviting and classy! The food: so tasty! and I always think the portion sizes will be too small but not at all! they are just right! The wine: exquisite, the service: fabulous! The downside: we always end up spending way more than we want to but every penny is worth it! Only one small word of advice: when we were seated, there was a good long period of time when we just kept waiting and waiting to be waited on even though the restaurant was half empty and I felt there is some room for improvement in that area of service, otherwise no complaints!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.