About Le Colonial - Chicago

937 N. Rush Street
Chicago, IL 60611
View Larger Map

Le Colonial transports guests to another time and place, vividly recapturing the beauty, romance and spirit of 1920's French-Colonial Southeast Asia. Le Colonial invigorates the senses with exquisite décor and savory authentic Vietnamese cuisine. Le Colonial offers two unique dining options: The first floor dining room is adorned with louvered shutters, woven rattan chairs, potted palms, slow-moving ceiling fans and nostalgic black and white photos of turn-of-the century life in Saigon. The upstairs lounge includes a spacious, fully stocked mahogany bar, plush couches for enjoying light fare, dining tables and a veranda, for keeping warm in winter and cool in summer. Complete with unique, delicately prepared Vietnamese cuisine, Le Colonial is the perfect setting for an after-work social or a romantic evening for two.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Vietnamese, Asian, Vegetarian / Vegan

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:30am - 2:30pm, Late Café Lunch: 2:30pm - 4:00pm *Summer only/ weather permitting/ Café only*; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Oak

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 255-0088

Website:
http://www.lecolonialchicago.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available for $16. Public lots & street parking also available.

Public Transit:
Chicago El & Bus Route 22,36,151,156

Executive Chef:
Quoc Luong

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Le Colonial - Chicago
Le Colonial - Chicago
Le Colonial - Chicago
Le Colonial - Chicago
Le Colonial - Chicago
Le Colonial - Chicago
Le Colonial - Chicago
Le Colonial - Chicago
Le Colonial - Chicago
Le Colonial - Chicago
Gà Xào Càri
Tom Cuon Ram
Chao Tom
Tom Xao Sate
Crispy Banana Wonton
Melon Martini
Ginger Margarita
Mango Sundae
Spring Rolls
Banana Spring Rolls
Chicken Rice Noodles, Shrimp In Curry Sauce And Barbecue Pork
CA SONG
Banh Cuon
Pho – hearty oxtail soup, rice noodle, beef tenderloin slices, bean sprouts, aromatic herbs
Ca Chien Saigon – crisp, seared whole red snapper in light spicy-sour sauce
Vanilla ice cream with coconut macaroon shell, dark chocolate sauce and crème anglaise
Rau Xao – sautéd pea shoots in light garlic oyster sauce
Ga Xao Cari – sautéed diced chicken, Japanese eggplant, mango, string beans, cashew nuts, yams in yellow curry sauce
Gui Bon So
Banh Pho Xao
BO BITET TOM NUONG
GOI GA XOAI
Bombay Sapphire Martini
Goi Bo
Creme Brulee
Cha Gio
Cari Tom
Mi Xao Do Bi
Com Chien
Banh Mi
Dessert
Appetizers
Salmon Over Vermicelli Noodles
Seafood Dumpling
Duck
Grilled Jumbo Shrimp With Asparagus
Pho-Appetizer
Grilled Trout
Mango & Raspberry Sorbet
Fried Banana Wonton
Mi Xao Don Chay
Goi Bun So
monkfish
Sup Do Bien
Seared Red Snapper
Lemon Custard Tart (Fruit dessert pastry)
Tom Cuon Ram (Vietnamese Shrimp Beignets)
Goi Ngo Sen (Vietnamese Tofu Salad)
Goi Cuon (fresh spring rolls)
Ca Nuong
Vietnamese Coff
Com Tho Ga
Bo Luc Lac
Macaroon
Bouillabaisse
BANH UOT
Martini
Macallan 25 Year Scotch
Goi Cuon Shrimp Rolls
Vietnamese Curry Sauce
Ca Nuong La Chuoi (Vietnamese Trout Noodles)
Bun Thit Nuong
Goi Atiso
Vodka Martini
Banh Pho Xau

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Le Colonial is celebrating 13 years in Chicago’s gold coast area on rush street. This noted up-scale french-vietnamese restaurant transports guests to another time and place, vividly recapturing the beauty, romance and spirit of 1920’s French colonial southeast Asia.

Le Colonial - Chicago Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (151)
Special Occasion (141)
Romantic (127)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (121)
Great for Outdoor Dining (66)
Great for Lunch (59)
Good for Groups (41)
Hot Spot (35)
Notable Wine List (30)
Scenic View (22)
Late-night Find (19)
Vibrant Bar Scene (18)
Great for Brunch (11)
Kid-friendly (4)
Sort By:
Newest
2549 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Dining at Le colonial is always a uniqu ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined 3 days ago

Dining at Le colonial is always a unique and delicious experience. I've never had a bad meal here and service is impeccable. We had a show with dinner on this evening-they were filming shameless on the street very near our outdoor table

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

When I have guests from out of town, I o ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

When I have guests from out of town, I often bring them to Le Colonial for dinner. No one has been disappointed, everyone has been charmed. The dining area is a lovely understated French colonial space; as soon as you enter it you are off the street and into an aesthetically pleasing environment. Though lively, it's almost never too loud to have a real conversation. The food seems to get better every time I dine here—everything is fresh and well-prepared, and the dishes have a nice mixture of textures. We always get the soft rolls with shrimp, and the beef salad for appetizers—wonderful every time. The service is very good, though sometimes the staff seems a little more anxious that I would like to clear all of the plates from the table while we are still picking away at our food. That is a small weakness, however, in what is otherwise a very pleasant and tasty evening out.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I believe my experience was muffled by o ...

 
 (London)
·Dined 4 days ago

I believe my experience was muffled by our seating. Although outdoors, it was a really small table (wobbled) with no room for the service plates. Also - by the bussing station.

Tags: Happy Hour, Outdoor Eating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

As always, the food at Le Colonial was v ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 6 days ago

As always, the food at Le Colonial was very good. But our waiter had a bad attitude and acted like we had just walked in to a diner. He was not welcoming or attentive, and very short in his answers. We told him from the beginning that we wanted 2 separate checks (party of 5). When the bill came, it was all on one check. When we said something, he asked us to check everything according to who ordered it and handed one of us a pen. Seriously?? The menu choices are by number and in Vietnamese. It was a difficult task given we had drinks, appetizers, entrees, and dessert on the bill. Considering we spent about $100 a person (including pre dinner drinks upstairs), it was very disappointing.

We had invited friends to join us and it was their first time there. I'm sure they will not go back. And I doubt that we will, also.

Tags: Happy Hour, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

Excellent prep and presentation.

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Excellent prep and presentation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I am from Cleveland. Every time I visit ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

I am from Cleveland. Every time I visit Chicago I always make it a priority to dine at Le Colonial. My ethnicity is Vietnamese & Irish so dining here really is a treat. Growing up eating authentic traditional Vietnamese food, I was able to taste the culture. Comparing the authenticity to the food at le colonial, I have noticed that Le Colonial mixes modern Asian fusion with a taste of heritage & culture into it which makes me appreciate it more. It's more Americanized but has the background of Vietnam. Knowing the culture, I truly appreciate Le Colonial.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is the place if you are looking for ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

This is the place if you are looking for a special spot for a date or big occasion. The interior design and ambiance of the restaurant is phenomenal. The food is inventive and delicious. You are bound to have a wonderful evening if you go to Le Colonial.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Consistent quality, nice service! Food i ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Consistent quality, nice service! Food is yummy and the outdoor balcony seating is nice if weather is good.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

This was our third visit to Le Colonial ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

This was our third visit to Le Colonial and each time has been great. From the service through dessert we were thoroughly pleased. We shall return again.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fine dining in the atmosphere of old Vie ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Fine dining in the atmosphere of old Viet Nam, not that I've been there ( ever). Service is good, food is excellent. Prices are high...our table of four, with wine and cocktails, spent over $420. It's a special occasion place, not just an Asian restaurant. And since the restaurant is located on the hot portion of a Rush Street, parking is the highest in the city....$20 before tip if you stay a minute beyond two hours ( which you tend to want to do if you're spending at least $100 per person.) highly recommend this restaurant, but keep your eyes open. Order with joy....the favors are to be celebrated.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Love the location and ambience. Entrees ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Love the location and ambience. Entrees were somewhat disappointing. My filet was more hamburger than steak, and the shrimp portion ended up numbering only three. I would recommend drinks on the veranda as opposed to dinner on the porch.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Another superb dining experience.

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Another superb dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The server was very friendly and the ser ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The server was very friendly and the service overal was great. Besides from the loud noise, the foods captures the Vietnamese as well as French taste very well

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

This is one of my favorite restaurants. ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

This is one of my favorite restaurants. Their soup broths are the best I have ever had and the food is very unique.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Miserably hot in the restaurant on the s ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Miserably hot in the restaurant on the second floor. They had a side air-conditioner but just wasn't nearly enough to make it comfortable. Great food though difficult to enjoy it because it was so unbelievably hot in the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5

Always a lovely civilized treat to dine ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Always a lovely civilized treat to dine at Le Colonial in Chicago. Once you step through the door you know you will have a terrific meal in a lovely spot. The food is outstanding, and easy to sample several things. I took my 17 year old son, and we had tuna tartare, shrimp on sugar cane and this yummy seasoned chopped monkfish appetizer that was fantastic. I could have kept going and indeed, should have also ordered the Japanese eggplant. Next time, since we will definitely be back. The service is excellent and it is all very refined, like you are in Singapore back in the day. Just delightful and delicious. One of my favorite spots.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Le Colonial has been a regular spot for ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Le Colonial has been a regular spot for our family for years. So no surprise my son's fiance fell in love as well. First place they ask to go when visiting here. The food, service and ambiance never fails to deliver. I recommend this to any and everyone!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Level of cuisine doesn't seem as high. ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Level of cuisine doesn't seem as high. Excellent service in a great atmosphere and convenient location. Wish the food was up to the standard it used to be.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

I didn't know what to expect in terms of ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

I didn't know what to expect in terms of the food, but it was delicious! The outdoor terrace was really nice - not sitting on the street as is the usual in Chicago. The service, ambiance, food - everything was great. We would definitely go back.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service and food. excellent am ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Excellent service and food. excellent ambiance as well

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Le Colonial still remains a Chicago's be ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Le Colonial still remains a Chicago's best. The experience is always a pleasant one both food wise and drink wise. The veggies spring rolls are delicious, the martini lychee cocktail simply great.... Service is always impeccable, friendly without being obnoxious and consistent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The pho was surprisingly delicious, and ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The pho was surprisingly delicious, and the desserts were delicious and presented well!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

It was a wonderful night! Will definite ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

It was a wonderful night! Will definitely go back,food and ambiance great!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely love this place! And thrilled ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Absolutely love this place! And thrilled to try the new opening in Houston!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great spot. The ambiance is great and th ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Great spot. The ambiance is great and the food even better. Rush Street is full of a lot of noisy places or places where the scene is just a little too "scene-y". This place is none of those things.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Very good food. The service was excelle ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Very good food. The service was excellent. Atmosphere was very romantic. A good place for a special occasion or romantic dinner. Valet parking provided for $16.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I was very disappointed. I had picked t ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

I was very disappointed. I had picked the restaurant for my out of town friends.

The service was awful. From the minute I sat down, I couldn't get a clear read on who the waiter or waitress was. No one came to the table. I had to stop other waiters several times to get service. They took the wine list prematurely and then when we tried to get it back, it was a chore and we ended up not ordering wine because of the delay. There was absolutely no attention to detail. The food was ordinary. This place is past its prime.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Always first rate and always wonder why ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Always first rate and always wonder why we don't head there more often. From the welcoming greeting from Raphael through our exit everything was excellent. Food is always full of distinct flavor and never heavy. Server was exceptional nor rushing yet very helpful and spot on in describing our potential selections. Once ordered our server helped pair our selections with good wine that truly enhanced the flavors and was surprisingly reasonable. A great spot and worth the drive in from the suburbs.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Le Colonial did not disappoint! We've al ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Le Colonial did not disappoint! We've always heard good things about the restaurant and were very pleased with our dinner there. Service was excellent, ambiance lovely, and food sensational.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went to LeColonial for a birthday celebr ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Went to LeColonial for a birthday celebration. Requested to sit upstairs as the ambiance is better. The room was quite warm and was not impressed with our overall experience. The food was OK but with such great dining options in Chgo, we will not be back. Hard to sit thru dinner when u are uncomfortable from the heat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4

It has become a favorite go to spot to s ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

It has become a favorite go to spot to showcase great food and ambiance and Chicago's fun Rush Street. Drinks are great, food is perfect for sharing and trying many wonderful dishes. Highly recommend it

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We sat in the upstairs dinning room. It ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

We sat in the upstairs dinning room. It was so dark we had to use a flashlight to read our menu. It was also hard to see the food when it came.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Its been a long time since I've gone to ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Its been a long time since I've gone to Le Colonial - it was my go to special occasion restaurant in the mid to late 90's but I now live on the far northside and I stopped going. It absolutely lived up to my memory of the place and I look forward to returning soon! I brought three out of town guests and they loved it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Delicious food and cocktails, combined w ...

 
 (Raum Frankfurt)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Delicious food and cocktails, combined with a very unique and nice atmosphere. The server was also great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best Pho outside Vietnam! Fabulous atmos ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Best Pho outside Vietnam!

Fabulous atmosphere!

Great waiter

Great for gluten and lactose free

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this restaurant . A must for me eve ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Love this restaurant . A must for me every time I visit Chicago which is often!! Food is great and so is the ambiance and service! Great location. All around gem!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Salmon dinner was overlooked. Large gro ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Salmon dinner was overlooked.

Large group seated near us was very loud.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Food was delicious and our server, Terry ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Food was delicious and our server, Terry, was terrific!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We really enjoy going to this restaurant ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

We really enjoy going to this restaurant. It is a regular stop for us when we are in Chicago. It is clean, well appointed and the waitstaff is excellent. The menu is very interesting, and since we love mint and cilantro, it is also easy to find great items to eat. Nice wine list too - plenty of variety.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Elegant, excellent. Have never been to S ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Elegant, excellent. Have never been to SE Asia, bUt the atmosphere seemed authentic. Outstanding Server!

Will return.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.