About Le Colonial - Chicago

937 N. Rush Street
Chicago, IL 60611
View Larger Map

Le Colonial transports guests to another time and place, vividly recapturing the beauty, romance and spirit of 1920's French-Colonial Southeast Asia. Le Colonial invigorates the senses with exquisite décor and savory authentic Vietnamese cuisine. Le Colonial offers two unique dining options: The first floor dining room is adorned with louvered shutters, woven rattan chairs, potted palms, slow-moving ceiling fans and nostalgic black and white photos of turn-of-the century life in Saigon. The upstairs lounge includes a spacious, fully stocked mahogany bar, plush couches for enjoying light fare, dining tables and a veranda, for keeping warm in winter and cool in summer. Complete with unique, delicately prepared Vietnamese cuisine, Le Colonial is the perfect setting for an after-work social or a romantic evening for two.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Vietnamese, Asian, Vegetarian / Vegan

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:30am - 2:30pm, Late Café Lunch: 2:30pm - 4:00pm *Summer only/ weather permitting/ Café only*; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Oak

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 255-0088

Website:
http://www.lecolonialchicago.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available for $16. Public lots & street parking also available.

Public Transit:
Chicago El & Bus Route 22,36,151,156

Executive Chef:
Quoc Luong

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Le Colonial - Chicago
Le Colonial - Chicago
Le Colonial - Chicago
Le Colonial - Chicago
Le Colonial - Chicago
Le Colonial - Chicago
Le Colonial - Chicago
Le Colonial - Chicago
Le Colonial - Chicago
Le Colonial - Chicago
Gà Xào Càri
Tom Cuon Ram
Chao Tom
Tom Xao Sate
Crispy Banana Wonton
Melon Martini
Ginger Margarita
Mango Sundae
Spring Rolls
Banana Spring Rolls
Chicken Rice Noodles, Shrimp In Curry Sauce And Barbecue Pork
CA SONG
Banh Cuon
Pho – hearty oxtail soup, rice noodle, beef tenderloin slices, bean sprouts, aromatic herbs
Ca Chien Saigon – crisp, seared whole red snapper in light spicy-sour sauce
Vanilla ice cream with coconut macaroon shell, dark chocolate sauce and crème anglaise
Rau Xao – sautéd pea shoots in light garlic oyster sauce
Ga Xao Cari – sautéed diced chicken, Japanese eggplant, mango, string beans, cashew nuts, yams in yellow curry sauce
Gui Bon So
Bombay Sapphire Martini
BO BITET TOM NUONG
GOI GA XOAI
Banh Pho Xao
Goi Bo
Creme Brulee
Cha Gio
Cari Tom
Mi Xao Do Bi
Com Chien
Banh Mi
Dessert
Appetizers
Salmon Over Vermicelli Noodles
Seafood Dumpling
Duck
Grilled Jumbo Shrimp With Asparagus
Pho-Appetizer
Grilled Trout
Mango & Raspberry Sorbet
Fried Banana Wonton
Mi Xao Don Chay
Goi Bun So
monkfish
Sup Do Bien
Seared Red Snapper
Lemon Custard Tart (Fruit dessert pastry)
Tom Cuon Ram (Vietnamese Shrimp Beignets)
Goi Ngo Sen (Vietnamese Tofu Salad)
Goi Cuon (fresh spring rolls)
Ca Nuong
Vietnamese Coff
Com Tho Ga
Bo Luc Lac
Macaroon
Bouillabaisse
BANH UOT
Martini
Macallan 25 Year Scotch
Goi Cuon Shrimp Rolls
Vietnamese Curry Sauce
Ca Nuong La Chuoi (Vietnamese Trout Noodles)
Bun Thit Nuong
Goi Atiso
Vodka Martini
Banh Pho Xau

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Le Colonial is celebrating 13 years in Chicago’s gold coast area on rush street. This noted up-scale french-vietnamese restaurant transports guests to another time and place, vividly recapturing the beauty, romance and spirit of 1920’s French colonial southeast Asia.

Le Colonial - Chicago Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (135)
Fit for Foodies (133)
Romantic (125)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (109)
Great for Outdoor Dining (64)
Great for Lunch (52)
Hot Spot (34)
Good for Groups (33)
Notable Wine List (30)
Good for a Date (25)
Scenic View (20)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Cozy (16)
Late-night Find (16)
Authentic (16)
Good for Anniversaries (16)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Vibrant Bar Scene (15)
Business Meals (14)
Good Vegetarian Options (11)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Great for Brunch (7)
Casual (6)
Fun (6)
People Watching (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Healthy (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Vegan (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Spicy (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Historic (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Family Style (2)
Private Room (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Seasonal (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Tapas (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2595 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

It's a lovely place to dine Sit in the w ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined 4 days ago

It's a lovely place to dine

Sit in the window if you can

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good food, great ambiance.

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 4 days ago

Good food, great ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

This was a great find. The quality of f ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined 4 days ago

This was a great find. The quality of food was excellent. We started with the Pho, had a shrimp appetizer and a flat noodle dish with beef and chicken. All the food was extremely flavorful. The service was friendly and prompt. We had a great seat near the window downstairs. The upstairs has a completely different feel. If you are up for something different other than steak, Italian, or sushi, this is a great choice. We had a great dining experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Special place with great ambiance and wo ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined 6 days ago

Special place with great ambiance and wonderful Vietnamese food.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Private Room, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

The 4 of us were seated near the window ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 6 days ago

The 4 of us were seated near the window and the ambiance was fantastic. The food was excellent and the wait staff were just great.

Tags: Casual, Afternoon Coffee, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was exceptional. Everything abo ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined 6 days ago

The food was exceptional. Everything about the dining experience was five star

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant had been a favorite lunc ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined 6 days ago

This restaurant had been a favorite lunch stop for many years, although I had last eaten there about 15 year ago. I was anxious it would look dated and half empty, and was pleasantly surprised to see it was busy on a Friday night. Environment upbeat. I was a bit underwhelmed with my food, as the dish did not appear like the description. The vegetables were swimming in sauce, and not all of the vegetables listed could be found, which was a disappointment. The shrimp in the dish were of a good size and cooked perfectly.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Business Meals, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Pretty good food but their service needs ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined 6 days ago

Pretty good food but their service needs improvement. Our server has zero idea on their own wine list and was very slow. The owner came to help with the wine list, who was equally ignorant and to top it off very rude. Although I live in the neighborhood I probably won't come back anytime soon.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

Fantastic experience! The ambiance, serv ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 6 days ago

Fantastic experience! The ambiance, service and fabulous food make this a perfect place for a special occasion or romantic dinner. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We've been there a few times and each ti ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 7 days ago

We've been there a few times and each time, the food and service is terrific!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Tapas, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Lovely second story porch...nice plants ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 7 days ago

Lovely second story porch...nice plants and atmosphere.

Would definitely return!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

My favorite restaurant in Chicago. I tak ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 22, 2016

My favorite restaurant in Chicago. I take all my friends and family there as well as my colleagues.

Tags: Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Cozy, Vegan, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The menu and food preparation are really ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

The menu and food preparation are really dated and very pricey. The wine prices are very high. This is our first visit in a few years and we won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Great food. Although the Pho could have ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

Great food. Although the Pho could have been better. Besides that all other dishes were tasty. We tried the "Ga Xao Cari" and "Bo Bitet Tom Nuong". Both were delicious. Definitely a good restaurant to go to. Will definitely go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Food, service and ambiance are consisten ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

Food, service and ambiance are consistently great at this French/Vietnamese restaurant. I true Rush Street jewel.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic food, romantic settings. Excel ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

Fantastic food, romantic settings. Excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We found the food delicious! We were the ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

We found the food delicious! We were there to celebrate a Birthday . The food, Setting and service made it very special.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always excellent, servers always willing ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

Always excellent, servers always willing to answer questions about menu and excellent for vegetarian and vegan

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Casual, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I were in Chicago for a w ...

 
 (Tallahassee)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

My husband and I were in Chicago for a weekend getaway, and we had a great experience at Le Colonial for dinner. We had a drink at the bar, which was very nice, and dinner on the upstairs porch, which was even better. The ambience was perfect for a date night, food was everything we expected, service was unobtrusive and courteous, and the neighborhood had nice shopping. A great find!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Not as good as the last time we were the ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Not as good as the last time we were there. Had to wait 25 minutes after our 9:00pm reservation for a table upstairs. Upstairs is cramped. Used to be set up more as a lounge/bar. Now it feels like they have jammed a bunch of tables in. Food was good, not great. Service was fine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Wonderful food, our server was great and ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Wonderful food, our server was great and very knowledgeable. The cocktails we ordered were delicious and all of the appetizers didn't disappoint. I will certainly return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

What a let down. I'd been interested in ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

What a let down. I'd been interested in dining at Le Colonial for some time. I finally had the opportunity. I don't remember the last time i have been so disappointed in a restaurant. We arrived early for our reservation and waited at the bar. We ordered and received decent drinks promptly. However, the bartender was so over taxed that the opportunity to get a second was nil. We were seated on time, a d the decor and ambiance were pleasant. The wait staff was less than attentive. I saw our server when she took the order and dropped off the check. She seemed bored, and in now way enthusiastic about the restaurant. The food was slightly below mediocre. As in, if there was a restaurant right around the corner from your house that served the same entrees for $10, you'd go there once and not bother to return. The pork chewed like bubble gum, and the partially detailed shrimp was tepid and flavorless.I drove there and paid $26. Once. No way I'd ever go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

This continues to be a wonderful place f ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

This continues to be a wonderful place for the more than 20 years I have been going here. I love the decor indoors; however, this was the first time I sat outside on the upstairs balcony. It was a lovely evening. The food is great. We ate it tapas style to try 4 different appetizers to share, and then we shared an entree and had a dessert. Some slowdown in wine service and dessert service, but it was pleasant enough. I come her no matter what season it is and am never disappointed. This time I shared it with a friend for their birthday, as they had never been here before. They , too, were delighted.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Fantastic dinner with amazing food and h ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Fantastic dinner with amazing food and hospitality. The wine list was accessible and extensive. Our server was attentive and very helpful. Amazing upstairs bar!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter Terry, was both attentive and ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Our waiter Terry, was both attentive and helpful. He provided guidance about ordering only one entree with the spring rolls as an entree for each of us would have been too much. Always available for questions yet unobtrusive. The ambiance and food are wonderful- La Colonial feels like an oasis in otherwise chaotic world! Well done!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was excellent and the host was s ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Service was excellent and the host was super kind and helpful bc I had booked the wrong date.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding service with creative and ta ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Outstanding service with creative and tasteful food. Great neighborhood find.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

the service was awful. after i ordered m ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

the service was awful.

after i ordered my duck and we dcvd the first plate which was after 30 minutes we sit,the lady told me there is no more duck.

we were drinking beer and before we finishing the glass the glass was not there....

we asked how come after 30 minutes to ordering u told us u do not have anymore there is a silence....

we asked for compensating they gave us 11 usd compensating.

i will definitely not recommend this restaurant!!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

My husband and I spent the weekend in Ch ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

My husband and I spent the weekend in Chicago. We like ethnic food/restaurants and Le Colonial was near to our hotel and sounded interesting. We were rewarded with friendly service. Our cocktails were inventive and very good. Ingredients I would not normally have on hand. Food was excellent. We initially shared an order of soft spring rolls with shrimp that were delicious. My husband had the spicy beef salad which was very flavorful. I had the sea bass which was very nice but not spicy. We shared the macaroon dessert and that was lovely.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

We have eaten here during restaurant wee ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

We have eaten here during restaurant week and the food was nothing less than spectacular. This visit the food was mediocre, and hence not with the price tag. We were seated outside on the second floor and although we love dining al fresco the setting sun was oppressive. They did offer us a table inside but we had been settled in and thought the sun would drop soon to a level where we were not squinting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

Fish tasted fishy and table next to us w ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Fish tasted fishy and table next to us was extremely loud

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

We had scrimp on sugar cane sticks and s ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

We had scrimp on sugar cane sticks and spicy Monk fish appetizers. I found the sesame cracker that came with the monk fish rather hard, but the combo of flavors was great.

We also shared the pho which was really very tasty.

For the main we shared the spicy red snapper. Yummy!

Our waiter was very very knowledgeable about all the plates on the menu and we took all his recommendations, including the wine pairing. A lovely Sancerre.

Overall 5 stars, highly recommend and will go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

As always, the service and food were per ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

As always, the service and food were perfect. Dishes that are so unique and a treat to have. Service that other restaurants such follow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Proposal day so brought my GF to reenact ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Proposal day so brought my GF to reenact our first date. The host called a few times to ensure that I get the table I want and checked to see if I need anything else. Incredible service. Not to mention the food, delicious indeed.

Tags: Comfort Food, Family Style, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was disappointing compared to m ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

The food was disappointing compared to my prior visit. Trout was overcooked and chicken curry was dry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Our Saturday night at Le Colonial was me ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Our Saturday night at Le Colonial was memorable. The decor is lovely, the food was of such excellent variety, and the waiter is probably the very best waiter we have had

Tags: Vegan, Paleo Friendly, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter, Alfredo, was unbelievably he ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Our waiter, Alfredo, was unbelievably helpful. He walked us through the menu and options and provided perfect explanations of the choices and portions. He made a great place with great food even better. Thank you

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A friend told us about Le Colonial and w ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

A friend told us about Le Colonial and we were very impressed with our whole experience. Excellent waiter that was informative as to what we should try. Very good food, as all dishes were great, and a very warm and comfortable place to dine. We will come back on our next trip to Chicago.

Tags: Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

One of my most favorite restaurants in m ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

One of my most favorite restaurants in my neighborhood... go frequently! Never disappoints- great food... lovely staff!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I really enjoyed this restaurant. Good V ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

I really enjoyed this restaurant. Good Vietnamese food with great service that made it the perfect place to have lunch.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.