About Le Colonial - Chicago

937 N. Rush Street
Chicago, IL 60611
View Larger Map

Le Colonial transports guests to another time and place, vividly recapturing the beauty, romance and spirit of 1920's French-Colonial Southeast Asia. Le Colonial invigorates the senses with exquisite décor and savory authentic Vietnamese cuisine. Le Colonial offers two unique dining options: The first floor dining room is adorned with louvered shutters, woven rattan chairs, potted palms, slow-moving ceiling fans and nostalgic black and white photos of turn-of-the century life in Saigon. The upstairs lounge includes a spacious, fully stocked mahogany bar, plush couches for enjoying light fare, dining tables and a veranda, for keeping warm in winter and cool in summer. Complete with unique, delicately prepared Vietnamese cuisine, Le Colonial is the perfect setting for an after-work social or a romantic evening for two.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Vietnamese, Asian, Vegetarian / Vegan

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:30am - 2:30pm, Late Café Lunch: 2:30pm - 4:00pm *Summer only/ weather permitting/ Café only*; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Oak

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 255-0088

Website:
http://www.lecolonialchicago.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available for $16. Public lots & street parking also available.

Public Transit:
Chicago El & Bus Route 22,36,151,156

Executive Chef:
Quoc Luong

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Gà Xào Càri
Tom Cuon Ram
Chao Tom
Tom Xao Sate
Crispy Banana Wonton
Ginger Margarita
Melon Martini
Mango Sundae
Spring Rolls
Banana Spring Rolls
Chicken Rice Noodles, Shrimp In Curry Sauce And Barbecue Pork
CA SONG
Banh Cuon
Pho – hearty oxtail soup, rice noodle, beef tenderloin slices, bean sprouts, aromatic herbs
Ca Chien Saigon – crisp, seared whole red snapper in light spicy-sour sauce
Vanilla ice cream with coconut macaroon shell, dark chocolate sauce and crème anglaise
Rau Xao – sautéd pea shoots in light garlic oyster sauce
Banh Pho Xao
Ga Xao Cari – sautéed diced chicken, Japanese eggplant, mango, string beans, cashew nuts, yams in yellow curry sauce
BO BITET TOM NUONG
Gui Bon So
GOI GA XOAI
Bombay Sapphire Martini
Goi Bo
Creme Brulee
Cha Gio
Com Chien
Mi Xao Do Bi
Cari Tom
Banh Mi
Dessert
Appetizers
Grilled Jumbo Shrimp With Asparagus
monkfish
Grilled Trout
Sup Do Bien
Seared Red Snapper
Fried Banana Wonton
Pho-Appetizer
Goi Bun So
Duck
Seafood Dumpling
Mango & Raspberry Sorbet
Mi Xao Don Chay
Salmon Over Vermicelli Noodles
Lemon Custard Tart (Fruit dessert pastry)
Goi Ngo Sen (Vietnamese Tofu Salad)
Tom Cuon Ram (Vietnamese Shrimp Beignets)
Goi Cuon (fresh spring rolls)
Ca Nuong
Vietnamese Coff
Com Tho Ga
Bo Luc Lac
Macaroon
Bouillabaisse
Macallan 25 Year Scotch
Goi Cuon Shrimp Rolls
BANH UOT
Martini
Vietnamese Curry Sauce
Ca Nuong La Chuoi (Vietnamese Trout Noodles)
Bun Thit Nuong
Goi Atiso
Vodka Martini
Banh Pho Xau

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Le Colonial is celebrating 13 years in Chicago’s gold coast area on rush street. This noted up-scale french-vietnamese restaurant transports guests to another time and place, vividly recapturing the beauty, romance and spirit of 1920’s French colonial southeast Asia.

Le Colonial - Chicago Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

fit for foodies (143)
special occasion (141)
romantic (139)
See All
neighborhood gem (112)
great for lunch (43)
good for groups (40)
notable wine list (38)
great for outdoor dining (36)
hot spot (33)
scenic view (14)
late-night find (13)
vibrant bar scene (12)
great for brunch (12)
kid-friendly (2)
Sort By:
Newest
2468 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

The food came out very quick, quicker th ...

vip
Dined a day ago

The food came out very quick, quicker than our drinks, which was alarming. When I thought about it though...I ordered a curry, which definitely is made in advance to develop the flavor. The other entrée that was ordered was sautéed vegetables and egg noodles. Since it was 6:30pm on a Tuesday the restaurant only had a few patrons, so it makes sense that that dish wouldn't take long to cook. So I ignored the irrational disappointment I was feeling and tried my food....the food was HOT (thank God) and delicious. Win! My worries immediately disappeared and I stuffed myself with every piece of food they had provided me. Our lychee sangrias arrived right after we were given our food and they too were delicious. For dessert we had the lemon and blood orange sorbet...scrumptious. Then we happily waddled home, very satisfied with our experience.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful restaurant backed up by great ...

Dined 4 days ago

Beautiful restaurant backed up by great Vietnamese cooking. Great bar drinks too.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I feel I've been transported to colonial ...

vip
Dined 5 days ago

I feel I've been transported to colonial Saigon...simply wonderful.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service4

The food was bland

vip
Dined 6 days ago

The food was bland

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of my favorite spots when I want som ...

Dined 6 days ago

One of my favorite spots when I want something different than the typical Chicago restaurant experience. Food is very unusual and creatively prepared. Food quality is outstanding. Ambience is casual but not too casual. I highly recommend it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had wonderful food and service. Our w ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

We had wonderful food and service. Our waiter Fransisco was attentive as were the bus people - water glasses always full. Took our waiter's suggestions- spring roll and ravioli apps. Delicious pho as well. We shared 3 apps and one soup and that was plenty. Very pretty restaurant and great overall experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful food.

Dined on June 23, 2016

Wonderful food.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant is just excellent. Food ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

This restaurant is just excellent. Food is fantastic and the service is great.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5

Dined two weekend S in a row. Food was g ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Dined two weekend S in a row. Food was good. Service was great.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Le Colonial is a great place to be on a ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Le Colonial is a great place to be on a summer evening~beautiful outdoor dining, a great Vietnamese ambiance, and exciting, unusual food. We had a great time on the upstairs outdoor patio and will certainly go there again soon. It's not inexpensive but everything they do, they do well, from the cocktails through dessert.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

This is a favorite of ours when we are i ...

vip
Dined on June 17, 2016

This is a favorite of ours when we are in Chicago & staying at the Thompson. The last time I was here though with my girlfriends, we were very disappointed on all fronts. Maybe it was just an off night. This time was fantastic. We did have to search for our waitress to put our drink order in though, asking the busboy to get her.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Still one of my favorite restaurants in ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Still one of my favorite restaurants in Chicago! Service and food always consistently excellent. Host, Rafael always makes me feel welcomed and a valued patron of the restaurant.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We had a business dinner with 7 people. ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

We had a business dinner with 7 people. It took awhile to get a waiter, but once we did the service was excellent. We had appetizers, dinner and dessert. Everyone raved about their meals.

food4
ambience4
service1

We were not treated well even with a res ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

We were not treated well even with a reservation😫 Very noisy and not responsive to any of our needs. We all have lived this restaurant for many years, but were very disappointed with our reception and accommodation... Bordering very rude. Very sad to us😫

food5
ambience4
service4

Great food and atmosphere

vip
Dined on June 15, 2016

Great food and atmosphere

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A delight as always. I booked a table fo ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

A delight as always. I booked a table for 10, myself and 9 colleagues in town for a tradeshow. Service ahead of time was strong as the restaurant called 24 hours in advance to confirm the reservation still stood. It did at that time. I was so embarrassed as we were in the final countdown that one person had her flight cancelled, two others decided they needed to just rest up, and then the last person emailed me as we were being seated that he would not make it to dinner. I apologized to the staff who graciously kept us at the same round table, just removed extra chairs and place settings. I know other places would have made a commotion. One colleague who was at the meal said she'd wanted to try Le Colonial for years and was delighted when she saw the reservation. At the end of the meal she and others said without hesitation, "I can't wait to come back!"

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Food was excellent, but we did not order ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

Food was excellent, but we did not order appetizers and the food came out within 3 minutes. Not exaggerating. Great atmosphere.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great spot for foodies! Not too loud, go ...

vip
Dined on June 14, 2016

Great spot for foodies! Not too loud, good wine choices, great food.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have dined here many times. Always goo ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

I have dined here many times. Always good and one of my top Chicago go to places. Great location on Rush near the Gold Coast. Our server this night was exceptional. I love the red snapper and select often. This time I enjoyed roast duck and the mixed veggies paired nicely. Great place.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service2

Wonderful atmosphere and fantastic food! ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

Wonderful atmosphere and fantastic food! The only negative was the sloooowwww service... Would definitely return there.

food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Poor Service, Average Food

Dined on June 10, 2016

It seems the quality of both the service and food have declined. The upstairs balcony where we sat was lovely, but based on the poor service and average food, I don't think I can recommend it for more than a place for drinks and appetizers.

food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding experience from the service ...

vip
Dined on June 9, 2016

Outstanding experience from the service to the food

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect Every Time

Dined on June 6, 2016

Not only is Le Colonial perfect ever time, it is perfect for every occasion whether it is a special birthday with friends, a romantic brunch, a lucky lunch with a grown son, or just a reliable dinner on a warm summer evening. Your taste buds will be delighted. You will feel transported to a beautiful exotic place. Enjoy.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience5
service4

The food is just average level. But it's ...

Dined on June 5, 2016

The food is just average level. But it's a very romantic place for couples.

food5
ambience4
service5

This was a great discovery for my dinner ...

Dined on June 5, 2016

This was a great discovery for my dinner with friends when staying in Chicago for a conference. Very friendly attendees that helped us to choose the best experience in Vietnamese food; don't miss the fried rice as side dish; it goes well with most of menu.

food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Good ambience but not for casual meals

Dined on June 4, 2016

My friend and I sat on the second floor balcony and the view was great. However, the dishes were mediocre and the service was no on par with the price of this place. Overall, over-priced, but worth trying for the ambiance. Not a great place for real foodies.

Tags: special occasions, lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anniversary

Dined on June 4, 2016

Took my girlfriend here for our 1 year anniversary and boy do they treat you well. When I booked the reservation, I told them it was a 1 year anniversary dinner and when we arrived for our dinner, they had a romantic table set for 2 right by the window! They sure know how to treat people right. The staff was really friendly and the food was out of this world. Not too expensive either! I would recommend this place to everyone!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistent service and ambiance

vip
Dined on June 3, 2016

My husband and I have been coming here (both separately and together) for years and just love it! If we can't sit outside ask for Table 44 (very Gatsby-ish feel). Mehdi was our waiter this time and he was great

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent service - beautiful setting - ...

vip
Dined on June 3, 2016

Excellent service - beautiful setting - delicious and unique flavors. We brought out of town friends and all enjoyed a wonderful dining experience.

food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Great Vietnamese Food

Dined on June 1, 2016

Best Vietnamese food we have found in Chicago. The real ting

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We have a special place in our hearts fo ...

vip
Dined on May 29, 2016

We have a special place in our hearts for this restaurant. We come on special occasions and we enjoy the terrace upstairs. Great ambience, nice service, loved the tuna tartar! Entire meal was great, had a few hick ups with the making of the mango margaritas, but it was handled nicely by our waitress.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

A nice place to be

Dined on May 29, 2016

excellenet blend of french and asiatic taste and atmosphere. Excellent food served in a charming manner. Most likely the best restaurant I have ever experienced in Chicago

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The red snapper

Dined on May 26, 2016

The red snapper

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous food & service

vip
Dined on May 25, 2016

The room is gorgeous, the food delicious and the service impeccable. A wonderful dining experience that I highly recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great and amazing as always.....the food ...

Dined on May 25, 2016

Great and amazing as always.....the food was excellent. The ambience is very cool. The service professionals!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

The food is flavorful. The different spi ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

The food is flavorful. The different spices, fresh mint, etc. Just twists your tastebuds. I make a point to make reservation here everytime I'm in Chicago. The ambiance upstairs, candles , hip music is great.

food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Nice place for personal or business dinner

Dined on May 23, 2016

Took a new friend's advice and dined in during the National Restaurant Association trade show. The Fried Red Snapper was good but could have been stellar if it had not been drowned in sauce on the bottom, doing away with the crispy skin (which is why you order Fried Red Snapper, right?) there. Staff was super, balancing attention with leaving us to dine perfectly. The lighting is a bit on the low side, and could have been brighter if I'd had my druthers. Overall, good experience that is on the pricey side.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The bartender, Mediha(SP?) is a great gu ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

The bartender, Mediha(SP?) is a great guy! Young man from Morocco that was a lot of fun to talk to! I cant remember the waiters name but the bartender was great!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Red snapper over cooked and very dry for ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Red snapper over cooked and very dry for the ($42) MKP. Rice was not washed and hard.

food5
ambience5
service5

Very nice atmosphere and dinner. Second ...

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

Very nice atmosphere and dinner. Second visit and was consistently excellent.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.