About Le Colonial - Chicago

937 N. Rush Street
Chicago, IL 60611
View Larger Map

Le Colonial transports guests to another time and place, vividly recapturing the beauty, romance and spirit of 1920's French-Colonial Southeast Asia. Le Colonial invigorates the senses with exquisite décor and savory authentic Vietnamese cuisine. Le Colonial offers two unique dining options: The first floor dining room is adorned with louvered shutters, woven rattan chairs, potted palms, slow-moving ceiling fans and nostalgic black and white photos of turn-of-the century life in Saigon. The upstairs lounge includes a spacious, fully stocked mahogany bar, plush couches for enjoying light fare, dining tables and a veranda, for keeping warm in winter and cool in summer. Complete with unique, delicately prepared Vietnamese cuisine, Le Colonial is the perfect setting for an after-work social or a romantic evening for two.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Vietnamese, Asian, Vegetarian / Vegan

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:30am - 2:30pm, Late Café Lunch: 2:30pm - 4:00pm *Summer only/ weather permitting/ Café only*; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Oak

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 255-0088

Website:
http://www.lecolonialchicago.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available for $16. Public lots & street parking also available.

Public Transit:
Chicago El & Bus Route 22,36,151,156

Executive Chef:
Quoc Luong

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Gà Xào Càri
Tom Cuon Ram
Chao Tom
Tom Xao Sate
Crispy Banana Wonton
Ginger Margarita
Melon Martini
Mango Sundae
Spring Rolls
Banana Spring Rolls
Chicken Rice Noodles, Shrimp In Curry Sauce And Barbecue Pork
CA SONG
Banh Cuon
Pho – hearty oxtail soup, rice noodle, beef tenderloin slices, bean sprouts, aromatic herbs
Ca Chien Saigon – crisp, seared whole red snapper in light spicy-sour sauce
Vanilla ice cream with coconut macaroon shell, dark chocolate sauce and crème anglaise
Rau Xao – sautéd pea shoots in light garlic oyster sauce
Ga Xao Cari – sautéed diced chicken, Japanese eggplant, mango, string beans, cashew nuts, yams in yellow curry sauce
Banh Pho Xao
BO BITET TOM NUONG
Gui Bon So
GOI GA XOAI
Bombay Sapphire Martini
Goi Bo
Creme Brulee
Cha Gio
Com Chien
Mi Xao Do Bi
Cari Tom
Banh Mi
Dessert
Appetizers
Grilled Jumbo Shrimp With Asparagus
monkfish
Grilled Trout
Sup Do Bien
Seared Red Snapper
Fried Banana Wonton
Pho-Appetizer
Goi Bun So
Duck
Seafood Dumpling
Mango & Raspberry Sorbet
Mi Xao Don Chay
Salmon Over Vermicelli Noodles
Lemon Custard Tart (Fruit dessert pastry)
Goi Ngo Sen (Vietnamese Tofu Salad)
Tom Cuon Ram (Vietnamese Shrimp Beignets)
Goi Cuon (fresh spring rolls)
Ca Nuong
Vietnamese Coff
Com Tho Ga
Bo Luc Lac
Macaroon
Bouillabaisse
Macallan 25 Year Scotch
Goi Cuon Shrimp Rolls
BANH UOT
Martini
Vietnamese Curry Sauce
Ca Nuong La Chuoi (Vietnamese Trout Noodles)
Bun Thit Nuong
Goi Atiso
Vodka Martini
Banh Pho Xau

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Le Colonial is celebrating 13 years in Chicago’s gold coast area on rush street. This noted up-scale french-vietnamese restaurant transports guests to another time and place, vividly recapturing the beauty, romance and spirit of 1920’s French colonial southeast Asia.

Le Colonial - Chicago Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

fit for foodies (164)
special occasion (153)
romantic (148)
See All
neighborhood gem (129)
great for outdoor dining (58)
great for lunch (52)
good for groups (40)
hot spot (37)
notable wine list (36)
scenic view (19)
late-night find (19)
vibrant bar scene (14)
great for brunch (13)
kid-friendly (4)
Sort By:
Newest
2508 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We really enjoy going to this restaurant ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined 4 days ago

We really enjoy going to this restaurant. It is a regular stop for us when we are in Chicago. It is clean, well appointed and the waitstaff is excellent. The menu is very interesting, and since we love mint and cilantro, it is also easy to find great items to eat. Nice wine list too - plenty of variety.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Elegant, excellent. Have never been to S ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 4 days ago

Elegant, excellent. Have never been to SE Asia, bUt the atmosphere seemed authentic. Outstanding Server!

Will return.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've been there many times. Firstly I lo ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined 5 days ago

I've been there many times. Firstly I love the fact that they don't use butter !!!

Their Meat is excellent, as is their fish. Always friendly .

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service have been consisten ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined 6 days ago

The food and service have been consistent constants. And even 10 years after first trying these items, I still keep going back for the Red Snapper (entrée), the Monk fish (appetizer) and the Tuna Tartare (appetizer).

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife and I always look forward to our ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined 7 days ago

My wife and I always look forward to our Chicago trips from our home in San Diego. Our experience at Le Colonial was outstanding. The food was great, service superb and overall ambiance was top of the chart. Le Colonial will definitely be among our stops on our next Chicago visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a great experience at Le Colonial! ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Had a great experience at Le Colonial! Atmosphere was very warm and friendly. Food was excellent! Our waiter, Terry, was amazing! Very knowledgeable about the menu and Chicago. He gave us some great tips for places to go. Love this restaurant and will definitely visit again when we are back in Chicago!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Overall concept of French and Vietnamese ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Overall concept of French and Vietnamese is bizarre. Plus me and my dinner guests basically received a piece of meat on a plate with a couple bean sprouts on the side.....weak. French food is rich and built to be balanced and flavorfull. Vietnamese food is based around a cohesive blend of broths, noodles and spices. Not sure why anyone would combine the two...especially in such a dissapointing way

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

We ordered coffee and there was lipstick ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

We ordered coffee and there was lipstick all over the mug and then the glasses were filthy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

Still one of my favorite Gold Coast plac ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Still one of my favorite Gold Coast places. What a great place and amazing food. best Pho, best service, simply amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent, quaint restaurant with delici ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Excellent, quaint restaurant with delicious food. Great wine list and very consultative wait staff. A nice change of pace for a meat focused town!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Phenomenal experience across the board. ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Phenomenal experience across the board. The Pho, scallop salad, lemongrass chicken and salmon were all superb. Our server was darling and gave us great ordering advice. Will definitely be coming back more often.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We go to Chicago often and this is a mus ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We go to Chicago often and this is a must every time! Food is fabulous, staff is professional and location is perfect. You can't go wrong with the Tom Cuon Ram or Chao Tom appetizers, the fried rice is yummy with plenty to share. I love the Ga Xao Xa Ot which is lemongrass chicken with portobello mushrooms and a basil-chili sauce, my husband orders the Bun Thit Nuong with barbecued pork, angel hair noodles and a flavorful fish sauce. Wine list is great - servers are very knowledgeable and can make recommendations.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My girlfriend and I like trying new plac ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

My girlfriend and I like trying new places and I decided to take her here for her birthday. We had a nice balcony view, and it felt real cozy. The food was mediocre especially for the price. I went in with high expectations and left unimpressed. We had a couple of appetizers, and I was pleased with the spring rolls, but the shrimp was not that great. For the main course I had the chicken curry which was a generous portion size, but it was dry. My girlfriend had the filet minion which was probably the only thing that I liked, however my girlfriend did not care for the salad that was on the side(it was drenched in a vinegar dressing). My last complaint is the plating; for as pricey as this place was you would expect it to have nice presentation, but even that was off. I won't be going back to Le Colonial anytime again. Two weeks before we went here we tried Green River, which is in the same price range as this restaurant but Green River actually knows how to do it all. The view was also an added bonus!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Le Colonial is one of my favorite restau ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Le Colonial is one of my favorite restaurants. Our guests just loved it.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service were excellent. Waiter ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Food and service were excellent. Waiter was very helpful for what to try on the menu. Special drinks were pricey but very good. Monkfish appetizer was spicy but that's what we wanted and flavor was incredible. Shrimp & Asparagus entree was even spicier, but again a great flavor. We were there for lunch. We highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We have enjoyed consistently spectacular ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We have enjoyed consistently spectacular food and service.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was hosting a local celebrity for her ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

I was hosting a local celebrity for her birthday. The general manager, Rafael recognized her and gave us a first class dining experience. The food was prepared to her vegan specifications and the lychee sangria was phenomenal. I was very pleased as was my guest.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Returning here after many years, and was ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Returning here after many years, and was disappointed in the variety of the menu and the flavor of the dishes - just not sufficiently flavorful. Given that, no differentiation and a lesser value versus more typical, less-expensive Asian restaurants. Note to other diners - make sure you specify terrace or outdoor (much more entertaining), or barring that, the downstairs restaurant. Upstairs was a bit crowded, loud, and hot for dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

we have dined at le colonial a number of ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

we have dined at le colonial a number of times. this time we were seated upstairs and it was very dark - so dark that it was hard to read the menu. food was fine, not outstanding, but fine. the lack of light really affected our enjoyment of the place. request a table on the porch upstairs if the weather is nice.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

The chicken dish , #41, was so perfectly ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The chicken dish , #41, was so perfectly flavored. I will order it again and again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Not what we had in mind We started with ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Not what we had in mind

We started with drinks at the bar. The bartender on July 7, 2016 ~7pm was rude and judged us based on our wine selection. She referred to the wine we selected by the price, not the name. Obviously pointing out that it was one of the less expensive ones. How embarrassing - I was entertaining business visitors and they selected the wine! It's from their region of Europe not far from their hometown! What a screw up - a talented bar tender should know much much better!

The food was average. Has nothing on some reliable Vietnamese food venues found elsewhere in town.

Our table was in the middle of two aisles. All the while we dined there not more than 60% to 70% of the tables were taken. So , yea, thanks a lot for making our entertainment dinner a flop at the bar and a poorly placed table

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

The food and service were excellent. The ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

The food and service were excellent. The 4 of us would have liked a table in a more comfortable location on the 1st floor but it really didn't bother us to any great extent. The oxtail soup was delicious, as was the Chilean Sea Bass. Cocktails were excellent as well. All in all we thoroughly enjoyer the experience and definitely recommend Le Colonial to our friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

I had wanted to go to Le Colonial for ye ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

I had wanted to go to Le Colonial for years, and I finally had the chance. The experience there certainly did not disappoint, as a matter of fact, it well exceeded my expectations. We enjoyed the seamless customer service, and were well attended at every moment without being fussy. The food was creative and delicious, with a nice wine list to complement the food. There's something on the menu for everyone, including vegans like me. I highly recommend the restaurant if you like Vietnamese food and are looking for an upscale dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've been enjoying Le Colonial for year ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

We've been enjoying Le Colonial for years. It is still an outstanding restaurant in Chicago.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, Intimate atmosphere. A real ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Great food, Intimate atmosphere. A real gem The scallop salad is a must

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything is great. My only suggestion ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Everything is great. My only suggestion is that they occasionally change/add new items to their menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Restaurant was great and food was wonder ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Restaurant was great and food was wonderful. However, there were 3 drunk ladies sitting at table next to us that were loud and using foul language. This was not ideal with my kids with us. The manager and wait staff later on shuffled them out quickly and then it was a great evening.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The bar tender was personal and accommod ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

The bar tender was personal and accommodating, the service was excellent, and the food superb!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food is always excellent.

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Food is always excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

With a French Vietnamese twist, Le Colon ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

With a French Vietnamese twist, Le Colonial proffers an upscale version of the traditional Vietnamese menu. The highly perfected seasoning and cooking methodologies make heavy sauces unnecessary. The seafood dishes are my favorite. LeColonial offers fresh whole pieces of fish ,deboned table side. The Vietnamese noodles are yummy. The fresh sald rolls with plumb peanut sauce are the best I've ever had. Balcony seating is limited, so request ahead of your arrival.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I have been here multiple times and it i ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

I have been here multiple times and it is always outstanding. Extremely competent staff and very interesting menu offerings. It is elegant, but comfortable and the decor fits a French Vietnamese theme perfectly.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The lack of a decent first floor bathroo ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The lack of a decent first floor bathrooms is unacceptable

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Food and service are always outstanding! ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Food and service are always outstanding! One of my most favorite restaurants in Chicago!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Phenomenal. Can't wait to go back!!

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Phenomenal. Can't wait to go back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best Pho and beef Chow Fun I've ever had ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Best Pho and beef Chow Fun I've ever had! I tried Le Colonial for the first time in May when in Chicago for a business trip. This restaurant was a huge part of the decision making when coming for vacation during July 4th weekend.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place, wonderful Vietnamese food i ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Great place, wonderful Vietnamese food in a special atmosphere. Service is always good and the rooms are quaint and look like they should.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The hostess was very unfriendly. I had a ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

The hostess was very unfriendly. I had a reservation and when I arrived there she very impolitely asked us t go to the second floor, saying that first floor was only for reservation...but I HAD a reservation!!!! And there were plenty of tables available.

We decided to go to second floor and I talked to the manager and was worse, cause he stood up for the hostess behavior. I told him: " look, I'm trying to help you here.. I'm saying that this is not a way towards a client.. " he did not apologize or take any action to make it up for us. The waitress, on the other hand, was amazingly friendly and kind. I have second thoughts if I ever go there again or recommend to a friend.. I'm new in town, just moved and this was my first time at your place. Sandra

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

The food came out very quick, quicker th ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

The food came out very quick, quicker than our drinks, which was alarming. When I thought about it though...I ordered a curry, which definitely is made in advance to develop the flavor. The other entrée that was ordered was sautéed vegetables and egg noodles. Since it was 6:30pm on a Tuesday the restaurant only had a few patrons, so it makes sense that that dish wouldn't take long to cook. So I ignored the irrational disappointment I was feeling and tried my food....the food was HOT (thank God) and delicious. Win! My worries immediately disappeared and I stuffed myself with every piece of food they had provided me. Our lychee sangrias arrived right after we were given our food and they too were delicious. For dessert we had the lemon and blood orange sorbet...scrumptious. Then we happily waddled home, very satisfied with our experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful restaurant backed up by great ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Beautiful restaurant backed up by great Vietnamese cooking. Great bar drinks too.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I feel I've been transported to colonial ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

I feel I've been transported to colonial Saigon...simply wonderful.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.