About Le Club Chasse et Peche

423 Saint-Claude
Montreal, QC H2Y 3B6
View Larger Map

Coming Soon!

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 6:00pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
Notre-Dame

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(514) 861-1112

Website:
http://leclubchasseetpeche.com/

Parking Details:
Indoor parking available at 330 Champs de Mars H2Y 3Z3 ($10)

Additional:
Bar Dining, Counter Seating, Full Bar

Le Club Chasse et Peche Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Montreal / Quebec
Best Food
Montreal / Quebec
Best Service
Montreal / Quebec
11 More
Best Ambiance
Montreal / Quebec
Notable Wine List
Montreal / Quebec
French
Montreal / Quebec
Best Overall
Montreal
Best Food
Montreal
Best Service
Montreal
Best Ambiance
Montreal
Notable Wine List
Montreal
Romantic
Montreal
Special Occasion
Montreal
French
Montreal
Best Restaurants in Old Montreal ›

special occasion (104)
fit for foodies (97)
notable wine list (85)
See All
romantic (77)
neighborhood gem (26)
hot spot (23)
good for groups (23)
late-night find (18)
great for lunch (5)
great for outdoor dining (4)
great for brunch (1)
kid-friendly (1)
vibrant bar scene (1)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
402 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The entire experience was fantastic. Fi ...

Dined 6 days ago

The entire experience was fantastic. Firstly they were able to get us in sooner than our very late reservation. Our waiter took the time to explain the delicious offerings in impressive detail. The waiter opened the first bottle of wine we ordered and advised us that it was corked and brought us another bottle of the same wine which was fantastic even though one of more affordable wines on their wine list. Dinner was superb. Very special restaurant not to be missed.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife and I were in Montreal visiting ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

My wife and I were in Montreal visiting friends June 11 - 12, 2016 and were lucky enough to score Sunday night reservations at 8:45pm. Specialty drinks (ginger martinis) were on the menu, and were delicious! Waiters were friendly, informative, and gave a great wine recommendation. Ambience was amazing too; hardening back to an older time with dimmed lighting in a well-decorated downstairs area. Bar area was cool because it had red bricks along the wall and carrying overhead in the ceiling. Waiters also spoke great English with a delightful French accent. My French is a little rusty so this was really helpful. :) I started with the foie gras and then ordered the duck magret; both decadent and delicious. My wife ordered the beef carpaccio and her entree was the king salmon. Again, both were amazing. We finished the meal by sharing the stratum (maple syrup parfait, red berry sauce, dark chocolate); again delicious. Can't say enough good things about Le Club Chasse et Peche. Will definitely come hear during my next trip!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

There were so many things we wanted to t ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

There were so many things we wanted to try: the waitress was kind enough to offer to split each plate, and offer the selections up as a tasting menu. We suggested a progression, and the chef was attentive enough to change one according to the wine we had in front of us. An outstanding experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This place is very special. If you enjoy ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

This place is very special. If you enjoy amazing food and great wines this is a must do when in Montreal.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very good choice in old montreal. Easy t ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

Very good choice in old montreal. Easy to book on open table and appreciated the friendly personal call to confirm.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is the second time I've eaten here ...

Dined on June 9, 2016

This is the second time I've eaten here and both times have been outstanding experiences. I've eaten all over the world in Michelin-starred restaurants and the food here is definitely comparable as is the service. Our server, "Phillippe" was the same server I had last time in and was just as wonderful this visit as well. He painfully went through every detail of every dish being offered that evening. His description of the Risotto with frozen, shaved foie gras was the clincher though "the foie gras will melt in to the risotto as you are eating it" sealed the deal for my appetizer choice and what a choice it was. I told him that was easily one of the best dishes I've ever eaten in my life and it truly is. To say the food is prepared nicely is an understatement and does no justice to the chef's talents. Phillippe was well-versed in wine selections as well and helped us pick a wonderful French red which complimented our meals well (salmon for my wife, kobi beef/lobster for me). If you are in Montreal and looking for a great restaurant, do not hesitate to make this one your top choice-you will not be disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Special location

Dined on June 9, 2016

The dining area was unique and comfortable. Food was prepared perfectly with amazing seasoning. The steaks were cooked as ordered and the salmon was crispy as described.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Top Notch

Dined on June 8, 2016

Great place. Try the risotto with foie gras app its is 10/10, tuna tartar 9/10, Carpaccio is meh 4/10. Chasse peche main, kobe beef fm and lobster 10/10, beef tasted like heaven. Dessert was the Wine list 10/10. Cant say more...will go there with no hesitation. We loved it and will return. Staff 10/10

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Quintessential Montreal French Cusine

Dined on June 2, 2016

My beautiful wife, who is unfamiliar with Montreal, wanted to experience a quintessential Montreal French style cuisine. She readily admits that this will be the standard by which others will be measured. The food and the ambiance are the stars with service to match.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding gastronomic experience. Ser ...

vip
Dined on June 1, 2016

Outstanding gastronomic experience. Service was also outstanding.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous dining experience. Worth the ex ...

Dined on May 31, 2016

Fabulous dining experience. Worth the extra $$$.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great!

Dined on May 28, 2016

Wonderful meal, outstanding staff, and a truly great dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

classic reataurant

Dined on May 25, 2016

We had an excellent experience. The service, food, presentation, and atmosphere were all exceptional. A little expensive, but well deserved.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

excellent food, excellent service, excel ...

Dined on May 25, 2016

excellent food, excellent service, excellent wine selection and received excellent recommendation from waiter. Dinning room is a little too dark and very noisy although it can be seen that the management is trying to stay true to the hunting/fishing club theme. Overall a very good dinning experience and will definitely be back and recommend to friends.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Good, not great.

vip
Dined on May 20, 2016

We were looking forward to our dinner because of the reviews we have read. It just didn't meet our expectations. The venison two ways needed a sauce, as the meat was on the dry side. The accompanying vegetables were scant. The duck entree was good, but not outstanding. The scallops appetizer was good, but not a good value. The octopus appetizer was just okay. Overall, the value just wasn't there, to justify the price. Been there, done that, I suppose.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Out of three restaurants in Montreal wit ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Out of three restaurants in Montreal with 4.7 rating - this one was the best.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Cuisine was exceptional, especially the ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Cuisine was exceptional, especially the scallops, piglet risotto and lobster. Would have preferred a filet instead of hanger steak. Service was friendly and knowledgeable. A complimentary glass of champagne for our wedding anniversary was a lovely touch. Would love a return visit. Merci!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

A most fabulous experience !

Dined on May 17, 2016

A most fabulous experience !

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had an outstanding meal at Le Club Ch ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

We had an outstanding meal at Le Club Chasse et Peche. We were seated in a charming and cozy room. The service was wonderful, and the food was amazing. We can certainly understand why this restaurant is one of the best in Montreal!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Extremely high quality and very interest ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Extremely high quality and very interesting food. High international standard. Worth a detour

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Beautiful dining room, very comfortable ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Beautiful dining room, very comfortable chairs and great service. Food was great, however I found the dishes quite salty, and no fancy presentation. Find the price very expensive for the value.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent

Dined on May 8, 2016

Visited Montreal for our anniversary and researched restaurants using TripAdvisor and Yelp. Made reservations in advance for this restaurant based on reviews and we were thoroughly pleased with the experience. Very busy on a Saturday evening but we were sat on time with our choice of two nice tables. The server was friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. As with many top restaurants the menu was somewhat limited with 8+/- primary entree options, however, there was something for almost everyone. We were not extremely hungry that evening and so we split the Scallops to start. We are from Maine and have eaten at many good seafood restaurants in both Maine and Boston, however, we both agreed these were the best Scallops we have ever had. My wife ordered the Venison Two Ways and I had the Duck Magret. Both were exceptionally well prepared and delicious. We finished with the Caramel and Milk Chocolate Tart which was perfect as well. Overall, there was nothing we did not enjoy about this restaurant and would recommend it to anyone looking for a fine dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

The food and services were good, we enjo ...

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

The food and services were good, we enjoyed very much and for sure we'll come back.

food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent everything

Dined on May 7, 2016

Excellent everything

food4
ambience4
service5

Wonderful dining experience with the bes ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Wonderful dining experience with the best service. Such decadent food. Worth every penny!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfection

Dined on May 7, 2016

Beautiful location with great service. Had two appetizers, two mains and a dessert, and it's hard to choose a favorite. The risotto with foie gras shavings manages to be rich and light at the same time, the beef carpaccio had the perfect amount of truffle and paired excellently with the other ingredients on the plate, the duck was cooked to perfection and the venison melted in the mouth...Ranks as one of the best meals I've ever had in Montreal.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Worth the dinner

Dined on April 30, 2016

Overall great service and if a foodie great place to have dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

If you can't get a table, sit at the bar ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

If you can't get a table, sit at the bar. We were well taken care of. Food and ambience were exceptional. Highly recommended.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding food and service,would highl ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

Outstanding food and service,would highly recommend this Restaurant

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Another fantastic meal at Club Chasse et ...

Dined on April 15, 2016

Another fantastic meal at Club Chasse et Peche. Excellent food and service.

food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Terrific Night to Linger

Dined on April 15, 2016

The appetizers at this romantic hideaway were absolutely fabulous. We shared the oysters done three ways, the meaty octopus and the gorgeous seared scallops. The scallops were perfectly succulent served on a rich fennel foam. The duck was perfectly cooked. The staff accommodated a late arriving vegetarian with a complete appropriate menu and gracious service. The desserts were described poorly on the menu but they were light and had great mouth feel. The server was knowledgeable and affable. Perfect.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Late for our reservation but welcomed warmly

vip
Dined on April 14, 2016

We were on a tour that ended late and so were late to our 8:45 pm reservation for dinner. However, we called and the restaurant was very accommodating. When we arrived, we were greeted very warmly and promptly led to our table which was in a small alcove and very romantic. We had a wonderful French wine, and then ordered dinner Our food was excellent, and our waiter was very attentive , and kept checking for our every need. We would highly recommend this restaurant

Tags: fit for foodies, romance, special occasions, late night find, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was Great

Dined on April 10, 2016

From the minute you walk in this place is professional. Attentive without disturbing. Enthusiastic without being pretentious. Loved it. Food was A+

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous

vip
Dined on April 8, 2016

The restaurant was a highlight of our weekend in Montreal. The server was friendly, very well informed and a great help ordering wine. The food and presentation was outstanding -- dinner was pricey but well worth it. We would definitely recommend it for a special evening

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Food Great Wine

Dined on March 26, 2016

Enjoyed the atmosphere and the food !! This is a great place for evening dinner in a quiet and peaceful atmosphere.

Tags: romantic, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing diner experience!

vip
Dined on March 26, 2016

My husband and I really enjoyed the food and environment! We had the best diner in Montreal.... The food, service and wine list are great! Totally recommended for romantic celebrations!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Still the best

Dined on March 23, 2016

From ambiance, to presentation, to taste, still the best of Montreal. Second time back. Well thought out combinations. Don't ask for substitutions or changes, everyone is terrified of the chef. For good reason, the chef knows what works.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Chasse et Pêche

Dined on March 19, 2016

The name Chasse et Pêche sets expectations and I was expecting to have an outstanding night and dinner. Entering Chasse te Pêche with lots of expectations due to the name of the establishment, it felt short. The ambiance was okay, not outstanding, the service was great, not outstanding, the food was good, not outstanding. It was an overall good experience but when you pay over 80$ for your meal, you expect to be blown away. There's a lot of goods restaurant in Montreal and I don't think my choice will go back to Chasse et Pêche the next time I will have 300$ to spend on a dinner with my fiancée. PS : The restrooms really needs to be updated.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was amazing and a great place a ...

Dined on March 18, 2016

The food was amazing and a great place and should not be missed in my opinion . I Recommend this place for sure. 5 stars

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I loved the ambiance, it was really a ro ...

Dined on March 18, 2016

I loved the ambiance, it was really a romantic atmosphere, i would go back and try more dishes. The oysters were to die for, but should have kept them a bit longer in the oven for more grilled.The introduction of the food from the waiter was very accurate and the taste of the food was excellent. The wine was perfect as well the service.. a 10

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.