About Le Club Chasse et Peche

423 Saint-Claude
Montreal, QC H2Y 3B6
View Larger Map

Coming Soon!

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 6:00pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
Notre-Dame

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(514) 861-1112

Website:
http://leclubchasseetpeche.com/

Parking Details:
Indoor parking available at 330 Champs de Mars H2Y 3Z3 ($10)

Additional:
Counter Seating, Full Bar

Le Club Chasse et Peche Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Montreal / Quebec
Best Food
Montreal / Quebec
Best Service
Montreal / Quebec
10 More
Best Ambiance
Montreal / Quebec
Notable Wine List
Montreal / Quebec
French
Montreal / Quebec
Best Overall
Montreal
Best Food
Montreal
Best Service
Montreal
Best Ambiance
Montreal
Notable Wine List
Montreal
Romantic
Montreal
French
Montreal
Best Restaurants in Old Montreal ›

Special Occasion (103)
Fit for Foodies (100)
Romantic (88)
See All
Notable Wine List (75)
Neighborhood Gem (24)
Hot Spot (22)
Good for Groups (21)
Late-night Find (11)
Great for Lunch (3)
Scenic View (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Fun (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Business Meals (1)
Sort By:
Newest
441 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

One of Montreal's best. Nouveaux French ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

One of Montreal's best. Nouveaux French. Wait staff the best.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Although this restaurant is pricey it is ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined 4 days ago

Although this restaurant is pricey it is worth every dollar. The food was delicious, the service impeccable from the moment we walked in and the ambiance was warm and friendly. Great restaurant for a special occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for a Date, Business Meals, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An old fashioned place that cooks tradit ...

vip
 (London)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

An old fashioned place that cooks traditional food in innovative ways with modern twists.

The food wasn't splendid, but there's nothing much to complain either. The ingredients are the best you can get in Montreal, whilst the kitchen team is always able to accommodate special requests. What prevents the food from being outstanding is its geographical location in Montreal, which limits it from absorbing more ideas quickly like top restaurants in London or Paris are able to do.

Service was rather good, waiters were more than professional and knowledgable about the food and wine the restaurant offers. The only potential improvement is for them to chill. There's really no need to check the table once every 10 minutes or asking if there's any question about the menu every 3 minutes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Superb food and service.

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Superb food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Dined here for our 1st anniversary trip. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Dined here for our 1st anniversary trip. Food lacked flavor, every dish left us missing something. Portions were too small for the price. I will gladly pay any amount for good food, this was not good food. We visited as many top restaraunts as possible, this was our only disappointing meal in Montreal!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

We had a wonderful dinner here during ou ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

We had a wonderful dinner here during our short trip to Montreal. The food here was wonderful. Best scallops I've ever had. Wonderful dessert. The pork was a little dry and grisly which was the only issue but we ate it anyway. The wait staff here are absolute ninjas. They created a perfect dining experience and we had a 6 year old with us. Initially we were worried but they happily made a special fresh pasta for him without any fuss! Would come back again upon our return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

The service was impeccable. The food ex ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

The service was impeccable. The food excellent. The ambiance and setting exquisite. Truly an enjoyable experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had an amazing meal! One of the best ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We had an amazing meal! One of the best I've ever had! The service was impeccable as well! Loved the atmosphere....Overall, this was quite a find!

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely memorable evening! Food was f ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Absolutely memorable evening! Food was fantastic! Our server was very attentive, didn't feel rushed...the only negative is the high noise level

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Spectacular meal at Le Club Chasse et Pe ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Spectacular meal at Le Club Chasse et Peche. Room has a very old world feel. Food was wonderful. Service was excellent. Highly recommended!

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good, excellent meal with highly co ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Very good, excellent meal with highly competent service. Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The best in the west, big team, awesome ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

The best in the west, big team, awesome restaurant

with an incredible wine list

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful setting with lovely choice of ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Wonderful setting with lovely choice of wines and excellent food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Booked this to celebrate my beautiful wi ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Booked this to celebrate my beautiful wife's birthday & I'm delighted that I chose this place. We were on a short trip to Montreal & I managed to book a bit late dinner time at 9 PM. Due to the roadworks around the place, we reached a little late, but greeted warmly by the guy in reception. Our server took the time to explain the menu items. I went for the surf & turf & my wife took the lamb 2 ways as our main. The surf & turf was lobster & Kobe beef, both were amazing testing. My wife's lamb was out of the world! We never had lamb cooked to such perfection. I would recommend anyone to try these dishes without hesitation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Absolutely fantastic! One of the best m ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Absolutely fantastic! One of the best meals ever. The scallops were subtle, sweet and had more flavor than expected. Oysters 3-ways were a great wake-up to the taste buds. My wife's halibut main course was the hit of the night and my lamb two ways was cooked perfectly. Great recommendation from an old friend from here. Will definitely come back next time we are in Montreal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

YUMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMM ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

YUMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMM!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The Risotto with Fois Gras shavings was ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

The Risotto with Fois Gras shavings was off the charts amazing. Considered the best appetizer. I ordered it because I've never thought much of Risotto, but this was so amazing, I'm going to start learning how to make risotto!

The Lobster on my Chasse et Peche main was so succulent and perfectly cooked! The Kobe beef was OK, but wasted on me because I just felt it was nicely cooked beef. I prefer my own BBQ steak but beef lovers might enjoy it more than me.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Great food, great ambiance, amazing atte ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Great food, great ambiance, amazing attention from all staff makes for a very special dining experience. The consistent quality of the food shows the love they have for their craft.

We remain impressed every time!

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I enjoyed an excellent dinne ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

My wife and I enjoyed an excellent dinner here. Our server was superb and was able to assist us in choosing a perfect wine to accompany our meal. He carafed the wine for us and was quite informative regarding wine. Our food was perfectly prepared and plated beautifully. My wife ordered 2 appetizers - tuna tartare and fois gras. Both were wonderful. I had the lamb entree which was very well done. We both highly recommend this restaurant for special occasions or just to have a special evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Awesome restaurant, awesome food, but to ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Awesome restaurant, awesome food, but too loud...we really enjoyed the local and fresh ingredients, the service is very professional and friendly. The tables are too closed to each other's. I highly recommend that place but I hope the restaurant could make some acoustic adjustments.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We ate at three of the top restaurants i ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

We ate at three of the top restaurants in Montreal and believe that the Club was the best. All were exceptional so the decision was based on the Foie Gras. What made their Seared Foie Gras unique was the green strawberry sorbet that delicately balanced the Foie Gras without altering the taste of the Foie Gras. They also had a more generous portion. The scallops appetizer was also excellent. Fresh, seared, but not overdone. The beef TaTaki was also superb. Small pieces of extraordinary tender and flawless meat like a tartar, but larger. We ordered another Foie Gras for dessert, really. The other special restaurants that you must try are Bonaparte and Bouillon Bilk. All three were terrific.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One word: Amazing! Wonderful food, supe ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

One word: Amazing!

Wonderful food, superb service (Helene was the best server I've ever had), beautiful wine, outstanding decor, and that doesn't begin to do Le Chasse et Peche justice.

I will go back as soon as I am able. I will recommend to any and all that consider visiting Montreal.

An absolutely perfect night.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Stunning place.. Service was impeccable.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Stunning place.. Service was impeccable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I come from the Los Angeles area where t ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

I come from the Los Angeles area where there is no shortage of excellent restaurants. That being said, I absolutely can not wait to return to Montreal and have another dinner at Le Club Chasse et Peche. Not only was every dish absolutely delicious, the service was the some of the best my husband and I have experienced in years. We felt like we were in a top restaurant in France, where every potential need was expertly anticipated. It's a level of service rarely seen in the states, and one we did not otherwise experience on our Canadian vacation.

The only thing to note is the noise level of the restaurant. My husband and I were seated on the early side, and the restaurant was relatively empty and peaceful. Once every table was filled, the restaurant was surprisingly very noisy. Although everything else about the restaurant was top notch, you might be disappointed if you were expecting a quiet, peaceful dinner....but go anyway!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Only 3 words to describe : Wow wow wow

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Only 3 words to describe :

Wow wow wow

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious food, attentive service and lo ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Delicious food, attentive service and lovely ambiance. Worth the splurge when you are in Montreal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

After reading all the positive and great ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

After reading all the positive and great reviews about this restaurant, I expected much more. The food was not hot, they forgot to bring all that was ordered. However, the presentation was excellent. Service was so-so. Most disappointing was the noise level. I was hoping for a quiet special gourmet dinner to celebrate. It missed the mark.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

The food was spectacular. the portions w ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The food was spectacular. the portions were generous. the service was excellent. the wine list was amazing. overall, a wonderful experience. A real highlight of a weekend trip to Montreal. Explanations of the menu items was patient and thorough. The piglet risotto was to die for - my only comment is that if it had been a hot July night (it was not), this would have been too heavy a dish. We had been told this dish had been on the menu since Day 1 - it's their signature. There is a reason - it is spectacular, but share it as it is rich and extremely filling. Gorgeous selection of French wines (though lots from other regions too). Loved the small rooms - felt very intimate. Although we were visitors to Montreal (and Le Club), we were treated like regulars - the mark of a very classy spot. Highly recommended.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The food was great. The wine was okay. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

The food was great. The wine was okay. Would go again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Amazing gourmet food impeccable service. ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Amazing gourmet food impeccable service. I was very fortunate to get one of the best tables at this venue and have nothing but positive feedback for this restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Delicious food in a great setting! Very ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Delicious food in a great setting! Very romantic ambience. Fois gras was amazing and presentation of food was beautiful. Would definitely recommend for a special occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Went for an anniversary dinner. Arrived ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Went for an anniversary dinner. Arrived on time at 9 p.m., but table was not ready. Restaurant was full.

The menu has a good selection and many items sounded tempting. We ordered the tuna appetizer (very fresh and tasty), octopus appetizer (not fresh and disappointing), seared muscat duck (done perfectly and very tasty) and suckling pig (very tender, tasty, small portion, but because it was very rich, it was more than enough). For a fine restaurant, the bread could have been a little better and less pedestrian. There is an option for a vegetable side, but is not necessary. If we had ordered the vegetable side, we would have had a hard time finishing it.

The wine list is quite extensive, but on the expensive side.

Service was very good.

We ordered tea, expresso and a dessert. Dessert was light and very nice. Like many North American restaurants, including fine-dining ones, the expresso was disappointing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

wonderful experience. Priced for special ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

wonderful experience. Priced for special occasions only, it was a tasty and pleasant experience.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food, and especially the service , w ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

The food, and especially the service , were excellent, however the evening was marred somewhat by an extremely noisy table next to us. The staff recognized it and comp'ed me a martini, but could not change the seating ( although they had made a suggestion). From a noise perspective to truly move this restaurant up to the next level, sound baffles should be installed. Even without the next table's noise, the ambient noise was detrimental to C&P being a 1st class restaurant. Best Regards, Neal St Jacques

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

Loved the amazing appetizers, more so th ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Loved the amazing appetizers, more so than the entrees. Service was top notch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely loved this restaurant! Servi ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Absolutely loved this restaurant! Service was impeccable. Very friendly well-informed attentive staff. Rissotto and scallops are a must try.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The entire experience was fantastic. Fi ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The entire experience was fantastic. Firstly they were able to get us in sooner than our very late reservation. Our waiter took the time to explain the delicious offerings in impressive detail. The waiter opened the first bottle of wine we ordered and advised us that it was corked and brought us another bottle of the same wine which was fantastic even though one of more affordable wines on their wine list. Dinner was superb. Very special restaurant not to be missed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife and I were in Montreal visiting ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

My wife and I were in Montreal visiting friends June 11 - 12, 2016 and were lucky enough to score Sunday night reservations at 8:45pm.

Specialty drinks (ginger martinis) were on the menu, and were delicious!

Waiters were friendly, informative, and gave a great wine recommendation. Ambience was amazing too; hardening back to an older time with dimmed lighting in a well-decorated downstairs area. Bar area was cool because it had red bricks along the wall and carrying overhead in the ceiling.

Waiters also spoke great English with a delightful French accent. My French is a little rusty so this was really helpful. :)

I started with the foie gras and then ordered the duck magret; both decadent and delicious. My wife ordered the beef carpaccio and her entree was the king salmon. Again, both were amazing. We finished the meal by sharing the stratum (maple syrup parfait, red berry sauce, dark chocolate); again delicious.

Can't say enough good things about Le Club Chasse et Peche. Will definitely come hear during my next trip!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

There were so many things we wanted to t ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

There were so many things we wanted to try: the waitress was kind enough to offer to split each plate, and offer the selections up as a tasting menu. We suggested a progression, and the chef was attentive enough to change one according to the wine we had in front of us. An outstanding experience!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This place is very special. If you enjoy ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

This place is very special. If you enjoy amazing food and great wines this is a must do when in Montreal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.