About Le Chien Fumant

4710 Rue de lanaudiere
Montreal, QC H2J 3P7
View Larger Map

Le Chien Fumant est un resto prisé par les restaurateurs, les oiseaux de nuits, les curieux et les bons vivants de la ville qui ne disent jamais non à une assiette qui surprend, des produits frais et cultivés localement, des cocktails étonnants, des brunchs réconfortants et une carte de vins distinctive. Bref, un restaurant mordant, mais facile à apprivoiser.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sunday: 10:00 am - 3:00 pm;


Dinner: Tuesday - Sunday: 6:00 pm - 2:00 am

Cross Street:
Rue Gilford

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(514) 524-2444

Website:
http://www.lechienfumant.com/

Executive Chef:
Maksim Morin

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Late Night, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Le Chien Fumant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Montreal / Quebec
Late Night Find
Montreal / Quebec
Best Ambiance
Montreal
1 More
Late Night Find
Montreal
Best Restaurants in Plateau Mont-Royal ›

fit for foodies (12)
neighborhood gem (12)
romantic (11)
See All
special occasion (9)
late-night find (8)
hot spot (7)
notable wine list (4)
great for brunch (2)
great for lunch (2)
good for groups (1)
Sort By:
Newest
61 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was amazing, except the millana ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

The food was amazing, except the millanaise veal was a little bit too salty. It was the best gnocchi I tasted my entire life though! I definitely recommend this restaurant, always. It is my favourite place to celebrate and I like its small cozy atmosphere.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent service and food!

Dined on April 9, 2016

Delicious food and the best service I've ever had even if it was during friday night peak time.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

A must go, must come back, must share wi ...

Dined on March 18, 2016

A must go, must come back, must share with friends!

food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Go for tapas and ambiance

Dined on January 22, 2016

Great ambiance but two main courses were disappointing. The (most expensive) lamb dish was not moist, as you'd expect, and the pulled pork dish should have bin called a chickpea dish with pork garnishing (very moist and flavourful though). We noticed that a number of other tables were simply ordering appetizers and drinks and, in fact, the appetizers we had were creative and delicious! Cozy setting. Great date spot. Nice service.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great ambiance and food

Dined on January 14, 2016

They offer great food on the menu, every meal is well put and tasty! Good music and a very Montrealish ambiance/people.

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Le chien fumant is a HOT dog

Dined on December 19, 2015

We love le chien fumant for its laid back atmosphere. The cooking team clearly knows what they're doing, serving amazingly fresh and inventive cuisine that borrows as much from Japan and Korea as Italy, France, or even Lebanon. Unpretentious, delicious, and cool!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Find

vip
Dined on November 29, 2015

Was on holiday in Montreal and was recommended by a local to try this place for brunch. Brunch was great experience, the service impeccable and the food divine. This is a must do if you're in Montreal.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience4
service4

Wonderful atmosphere, good enough food

vip
Dined on October 25, 2015

Really enjoyed the setting and the ambiance and the wine, but the dishes weren't all excellent.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service4

Never disapointed

Dined on August 2, 2015

We had an amazing night at le Chien Fumant. Great location and decor. The food was excellent! It's restaurent like that that makes Montreal the best restaurent scene.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service1

Excellent food

Dined on July 25, 2015

I went there with my wife, we where looking for gastronomic experience. We where not disappointed on that aspect; excellent food! Maybe we went a bad day for the waiter but we felt the service was terrible and that alone is lowering the experience of the restaurant. The ambiance and the decor is interesting, In that small bar salon like just missed the mechanic piano to complete. Surprising cocktail. On the money side of thing, i found that for the same price i can have much better service, ambiance and food somewhere else. Their wine card is extremely expensive for wine that have nothing exceptional. I would recommend this place to start the night; get a cocktail, get an entry then leave somewhere else...

Tags: good for groups
food3
ambience4
service5

Enjoyable dining

Dined on July 4, 2015

We enjoyed the great food & service! It's a must try.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service5

Delicious mix of vegetarian and creative ...

Dined on May 21, 2015

Delicious mix of vegetarian and creative elements.

food5
ambience5
service5

Such a little gem! One of my favorites! ...

Dined on May 10, 2015

Such a little gem! One of my favorites! Always exceptionally amazing!

food5
ambience5
service5

Toujours très bon !

Dined on April 11, 2015

It's always a pleasant place, great service, perfect food, always vibrant, nice ambiance !

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4

Le Chien Fumant | Seb's Urban Adventures ...

vip
Dined on April 5, 2015

Le Chien Fumant | Seb's Urban Adventures http://sebblog.com/2015/04/14/le-chien-fumant/

food5
ambience5
service5

Inventive meat-centric brunch.

Dined on February 1, 2015

Serious chops in this kitchen. Very kind service. Interesting brunch fare that goes beyond the standards. Tremendous value for a meal of this quality. I would definitely go back for dinner.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service3

great spot

Dined on December 10, 2014

Great atmosphere, cocktails, wine list, food. Menu is small, but worth trying something new. Love the small dinning space, a hidden gem for sure.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience2
service2

Disappointing

Dined on December 9, 2014

Place is expensive so not the place for quality/price. The food was Ok but nothing outstanding and it was quite expensive. The waitress was constantly checking on us which was a bit annoying as we felt that they wanted, at some point , that we vacate the table for the next party. It is supposed to be a trendy place, but if that is the definition of trendy, I want no part of it.

food5
ambience4
service5

Le chien fumant est une fois de plus à l ...

Dined on November 9, 2014

Le chien fumant est une fois de plus à la hauteur de nos attentes! La bouffe est super, le staff aussi. Le meilleur resto du Plateua la mon avis

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service3

Accueillant

Dined on October 26, 2014

Petit resto agréable et accueillant avec un menu varié.

Tags: late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

True neighborhood gem!

Dined on October 7, 2014

Don't let the title fool you. It is as much of a "neighborhood" restaurant as we have found in Chicago (for example) however, as quaint and small as it is, extensive wine menu-accomplished and informative staff, and wonderful food. The Calamari is beyond excellent..crispy with greens and spices..perfect. My husband had the crispy duck and it was very good. I had the pork tacos..I have a hard time turning down a restaurant take on fresh tacos. They did not disappoint-the soft taco shells with greens, lime, sauces, and fresh corn made for an amazing meal. We loved the space with all the windows and energy from neighborhood. The staff was very accommodating with my sketchy French and I would definitely! Recommend!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Kind of a Big Deal.

Dined on October 5, 2014

Le Chien Fumant shines by its warm energy, its desire to meet high expectations, and its confident cuisine/cocktails. The small, charming venue is as friendly as its food is refined and consistent. I strongly recommend the classic "Calmars Chinatown" and the "Boeuf tartare à la Coréenne", and I'm partial to their "Bourbon Old Fashioned" and "Home-Brewed Ginger Beer Mocktail" from the tempting, eyebrow-raising cocktail list. For those looking for fine dining wrapped in a vibrant, sparkling atmosphere unmarred by the arrogance of success. I've brought all my loved-ones there over the course of multiple memorable dining experiences and my reputation has reaped the benefits by association. To them, I'm kind of a big deal now. So's this place.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service4

Great menu

Dined on October 3, 2014

Very different menu. All great choices. I was a fan of the smoked duck

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous food. We will dine here during ...

Dined on September 26, 2014

Fabulous food. We will dine here during each of our annual visits to Montreal. This place is a gem.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service4

OK

Dined on September 20, 2014

went for a dinner among friends. The service is friendly, cute small place, food is good, but dessert was a big disappointment.

food5
ambience4
service5

Food was delicious, well presented, grea ...

Dined on September 17, 2014

Food was delicious, well presented, great varied flavours...Ambiance was romantic yet energetic. The service was excellent! Looking forward to going back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience5
service5

Okay

Dined on September 12, 2014

Petit restaurant, ce qui est plutôt agréable. La déco et l'ambiance sont très bien. La bouffe était seulement ok. Le service très efficace, le serveur souriant.

Tags: neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service5

Bonne trouvaille

Dined on August 24, 2014

Première fois à cette adresse, plats très recherchés, cuisine innovatrice, tous les plats sélectionnés par notre groupe (6) étaient très bon. Bell présentation. Aussi, service impeccable, belle jeune équipe. Très recommandé. Très bon restaurent de quartier.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience2
service2

We felt rushed!

Dined on August 15, 2014

Food was good but we felt rushed throughout dinner. We had to ask for time to finish our wine before dessert was brought to our table. This was supposed to be a nice evening out without the kids but we ended up having dinner and getting back home to Laval in under 2 hours... Very disappointing.

food5
ambience4
service5

Le Chien Fumant - Hot, Hot, Hot!

vip
Dined on August 11, 2014

There are few places across this wonderful globe that surprise me, Le Chien Fumant just did. The food is absolutely wonderful and the service top notch. Highly recommend Le Chien Fumant for any meat lover!

Tags: late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service5

Food for thought

Dined on July 12, 2014

I like the way they cook a whole roast for the table. If you go on with friends it's a must. Food is very well cook and drinks are very out of the ordinary. The wine list is very impressive and very good. The excellent diversity make it for every pallet's. I will return. It's a nice place. Easy to find, but easier is you live around it.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

J'adore!

Dined on July 11, 2014

Charmant et chic petit restaurant sans snobisme où les repas sont succulents. Nous y allons depuis leur ouverture et les meilleures places sont au bar. D'ailleurs, les cocktails sont aussi délectables que les repas. Barman qui saisit bien les goûts de ses clients. Pour explorer encore plus les plats, opter pour 3 entrées est intéressant (et amplement nourrissant).

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service1

Great food, poor service

Dined on June 4, 2014

This was (at least) my sixth time at Le Chien Fumant. Every other occasion had been an unqualified success, due in great part to the quality of the food and of the service. This time, the food was great as usual (although I would stay away from the steak next time), but the service was plain pushy. Our waiter was a nervous looking and stressed-out acting man, who kept on insisting that our party of 4 gave him our orders and feedback quickly, and simply made us feel pressured. Seriously: I am not in a position to give feedback on food and drinks if I haven't had time to take a bite or gulp, yet! Very disappointing, and partly ruined the experience for my friend's birthday...

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Délicieux comme toujours

Dined on May 29, 2014

Souper hallucinant, saveurs au rendez-vous, originalité en plus !

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4

Excellent!

Dined on May 9, 2014

Je suis allé au Chien Fumant un vendredi soir, très occupé, mais rien n'a affecté la qualité et la rapidité du service. J'ai pris en entrée la pieuvre tandori; excellent choix! Tendre, légèrement sucré et épicé, j'ai rarement mangé de la pieuvre aussi bonne. Servie avec coriandre, tomates, concombre et yogourt frais; une belle découverte que je recommande sans hésiter. Repas principal: tartare coréen servi avec riz collant. Contrairement aux tartares habituels, ici la viande n'était pas hachée en cubes, mais plutôt servi en lanières assez grossières avec riz collant, le tout bien épicé et parfumé avec des herbes fraîches. Différent, mais à essayer!

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4

Excellent restaurant

Dined on May 9, 2014

Le Chien Fumant est devenu un classique, toujours excellent!

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service4

Great Brunch!!!

Dined on April 27, 2014

A vegetarian at the next table got refused a special menu by the chef... its called ’’Le Chien Fumant’’ not ’’La Carotte Enchantée’’ get over it!!! The Best expensive breakfast i ever had, food is amazing. will be back.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great find.

Dined on April 23, 2014

Loved every aspect of it. The look, service, food and drinks.

food5
ambience3
service3

Great Easter Brunch

Dined on April 20, 2014

We ordered 2 mimosa's to start off, and unfortunately while the OJ was deliciously fresh, the champagne was flat. The waitress replaced them right away, despite the fact we had already finished half! After that we tried a blackberry cocktail with fresh blackberry's, gin, lemon juice, simple syrup, and an egg white for extra froth. The cocktail was amazing....but it did take almost 15 minutes for us to receive it. For brunch we ordered the Lobster Eggs Benedict with avocado hollandaise, and an order of steak and eggs. Both were absolutely amazing, with the winner being the eggs benny. Overall, while the service was a little slow, the experience was awesome, and most importantly the food was outstanding. I will be going back for sure!

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience3
service4

Nice Brunch!

Dined on April 6, 2014

Went there for our monthly girls' brunch, small place, can't accomadate more than 6 people. Tight squeeze, very pricey, $40 for one person (meal, and two coffee's including tip), music was very loud. Can't tell if staff were genuinely nice or just patronizing us. Had difficultly speaking english, so we switched to french. They have pork in everything - so if you don't eat it this isn't the place for you!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.