HelpiOS AppAndroid AppWindows Phone AppWindows 8 App

Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network.
If you like, we’ll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.
Is this your restaurant? Claim this listing

Le Bouillon

4.4
315 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary French
Top Tags:
  • Fit for Foodies
  • Special Occasion
  • Romantic

Similar Restaurants

About

Tucked into the Old Market, Le Bouillon is a fabulous Omaha, NE tradition. It offers up classic French cuisine in a vibrant and welcoming setting, and uses only locally sourced foods to create unforgettable meals. The wine list changes seasonally, and diners can pop in for raw bar options, lunch, brunch or dinner.

The raw bar at Le Bouillon features daily oyster selection, homemade gravlax and a few charcuterie options for the non-seafood eaters. Dinner emphasizes the French background with choices like pickled onions, pork rillettes, grilled romaine salad, small plates such as frog legs or steak tartar and large plates that can include cassoulet, braised rabbit or the daily catch. Clearly, a meal at Le Bouillon will be inspired and optimally fresh.

Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary French, Basque, Spanish
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch Menu 11:30-3:30 Tu-Sa
Dinner Menu 3:30-10 Tu-Sa
Brunch Menu 10-2:30 Su
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(402) 502-6816
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Paul Kulik
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
11th and Howard
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 315 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
4.4  based on all time ratings
4.4
food
4.5
service
4.5
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Moderate
92% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
OpenTable Diner (Chicago)
3.0  Dined on August 30, 2016

Good, but not great, food and ambiance. Service was just fine. For a meal out in this neighborhood, I'd go back, but not without trying a couple of other places first. On the plus side, this is the second best of about ten restaurants I've eaten at in Omaha.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Denver)
5.0  Dined on August 19, 2016

Nice restaurant. Waiters were very knowledgeable about the wines and the food great experience.

Report
Helpful
vip5stars (New York Area)
3.0  Dined on August 14, 2016

Nice place. Limited menu but interesting.

It was very empty and somehow the entrees came out one at a time spaced 5 minutes apart. Awkward and unforgivable. I will never return to a Restuarant that doesn't know any better. They need to straighten out their kitchen.

Report
Helpful
chet (Chicago)
1.0  Dined on August 13, 2016

Trying to be sophisticated and can't pull it off. Liver pate beneath 1/2 inch of stone ground mustard. So simple to make and so poorly presented. Go to Bella Rose to see how it should be made. Braised pork was no more than ham and beans in a soup bowl. Man across from us tried to cut his duck and finally gave up and put it in his soup bowl in disgust. Hopefully for the restaurant the chief is on vacation.

Report
Helpful
sodbuster (Oklahoma City)
3.0  Dined on August 11, 2016

Great location, wonderful service but horrible food

Report
Helpful
vipBarbT (Omaha)
3.0  Dined on August 4, 2016

Everyone was super nice but the French Onion Soup which got rave reviews was not our "cup of tea". It was too sweet. Also the French bread was not fresh. My husband and I were very disappointed.

Report
Helpful
GalenS (Omaha)
2.0  Dined on August 3, 2016

difficult to figure out what to order, no side salad to go with meal other than a $20-25.00 salad that I guess you share with your other table guests?

French onion soup Ok but not knock-out. overall food was decent.

Report
Helpful
viphappydiner (Denver)
3.0  Dined on July 30, 2016

We ate a late dinner at Le Bouillon recently. La présentation, le service et le restaurant étaient magnifique but the food was not. Our meals did not match the ambiance of this very cozy venue in the heart of the Market District. I would like to give it another try some day if in the area and would like to think we simply caught the kitchen on an uninspired late evening.

Report
Helpful
KIMB (Kansas City)
4.0  Dined on July 30, 2016

The cod special was outstanding! The service really good, too. it was perfect for a couples dinner--able to talk, have good wine and food!

Report
Helpful
elizabeth (Washington DC)
4.0  Dined on July 30, 2016

Decent meals, well prepared, but fairly pricey for what is actually solid Bistro food rather than high-end restaurant. Love that items are locally sourced; do not love that oyster bar happy hour is restricted to the poor oysters; love the atmosphere, do not love that a plain gin on the rocks cocktail took 15 minutes to be served. Love what a favorite Omaha chef is aiming for, it just needs a bit more precision and creativity for the price.

Report
Helpful
vipgrjo (Omaha)
5.0  Dined on July 24, 2016

This is the second time we have dined here, both for late morning Sunday brunch. Each time the staff as very friendly and unobtrusive. The food was excellent both times, and made a routine brunch a very special time for my wife and me.

Report
Helpful
DPOmaha (Omaha)
5.0  Dined on July 21, 2016

My first experience at this restaurant was to celebrate my daughter-in-law's birthday. It's in the space formerly occupied by The French Cafe. The layout has been changed a bit, all for the better, with carpeting to give more warmth, and the tables are spaced comfortably apart from one another. The Maitre' D explained the concept they had for the restaurant and gave an brief but informative orientation to the menu. Emily W. was our server and she was absolutely the best! She was informative about the preparation of some items available and answered each of our questions. Throughout our meal, she was attentive, replaced flatware as needed, and timed the presentation of each course perfectly. We chose to share a starter of pink shrimp presented beautifully on toasted baguette. The menu has several starters, a number of small plates appropriate for sharing, and several large plates. We shared a Spanish tortilla, unlike what one would expect....it was a beautifully-presented egg dish filled with garlic, onion, potato and another item or two, again served with toasted baguette. 2 of our party had the French onion soup and enjoyed the presentation and the soup itself, generous with caramelized onions, cheese and crouton. For an entree I chose the fish special which was cod, served with smoked cauliflower (excellent!), peas and crispy shreds of potato. One lady had the beef tartar as her entree, finding it tasty, rich, and just what she was craving. And the 3rd party ordered the Wagyu skirt steak, present beautifully on a bed of potatoes and a rich a jus; the steak itself was very tender and flavorful. We enjoyed the house wine, though they have a wide variety in their cellars. We were all too full to even consider dessert, but their dessert menu had a variety of items. The total for the meal was higher than moderate, but the ambiance, the quality of the food, and the service all made it a bargain as a fine dining experience.

Report
Helpful
JoshC (Omaha)
5.0  Dined on July 16, 2016

Went relatively early in the evening, seated very quickly and our server was with us right away. Server was helpful with suggestions and the food was excellent . We hadn't been to the old market in some time, and this was a nice reminder of why welove to go there

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (Chicago)
5.0  Dined on July 7, 2016

Since it opened, we have enjoyed many fun evenings at Le Bouillon. The wait staff is knowledgeable about the food and wine and take excellent care of customers. The menu is quite varied, and the chef periodically tweaks regular menu items so they stay fresh according to the season. We took friends there on this last visit and were not disappointed with the menu choices or wines. We love the octopus!! We are relocating and will be unable to return to this restaurant soon. We wish Paul Kulik well - this is a great addition to the Old Market.

Report
Helpful
vipNOVAFoodies (Washington DC)
5.0  Dined on July 3, 2016

One seldom hears the terms “Haute Cuisine” and “Family Friendly” used together in describing a fine dining restaurant. Yet that is exactly what you will find at Le Bouillon in the Old Market Section of Omaha. My wife and I went there for lunch on a Thursday, and liked it so much we went back for their Sunday Brunch. Both were excellent. Lunch included a delicious French Onion soup for me, and a Camembert cheese and apple sandwich for my wife. Brunch was definitely a family affair; both of us had the Canadian Lobster Salad which was outstanding, as was the service and the coffee! Owner/Chef Paul Kulik came out to greet his guests, as well as catch a glimpse of his own young son running throughout the restaurant. There is plenty of space between the tables, so children looking at the eclectic art or exploring the restaurant never seemed to be in the way. In addition to a very nice selection of wines by the glass, Le Bouillon also offers “pots” (pronounced “poe”) which are roughly the equivalent of a half bottle of wine. If you are going to be in, or even near Omaha, Le Bouillon at 1017 Howard St. in the Old Market district is a place you should have on your “MUST eat there” list.

Report
Helpful
vipCarrieM (San Francisco)
4.0  Dined on July 1, 2016

Lovely place! At first glance the space looks like it would be $$ to dine in but it wasn't. High class ambiance with affordable, delicious, traditional and innovative french food. The service was super friendly - everyone on staff from manager, waitstaff and bartender all interacted with us and were very nice. The punch of the night was amazing and a great selection of french wine - without being pretentious in the least. Food was superb; my only critique was that some of the dishes like the cassoulet were slightly too salty for my taste. This is the perfect place to eat out in Old Market!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Omaha)
5.0  Dined on June 28, 2016

Great food.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Omaha)
5.0  Dined on June 25, 2016

Food was excellent. Wouldn't hesitate going back.

Report
Helpful
omnivorinomaha (Omaha)
5.0  Dined on June 24, 2016

I have always enjoyed and appreciated this restaurant for its food and service.
Superior in my opinion. One of the best restaurants in Omaha.
A unique menu, done well.

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (Chicago)
5.0  Dined on June 15, 2016

We had another enjoyable evening. The wait staff is knowledgeable about the food and wine, professional, and attentive. We felt well taken care of. Several items on the menu have been tweaked using seasonal ingredients and were excellent. We truly enjoyed our experience.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Chicago)
5.0  Dined on June 9, 2016

We found this lovely restaurant after a long day of driving as we were passing through Omaha. It had advertised having a farm to table menu and it did not disappoint. Located in an historic Old Market building , the decor was stunning, the food fabulous and our server was wonderful. We had the best dining experience and would love to visit again if we have the opportunity,

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Omaha)
5.0  Dined on June 4, 2016

Great place for a double date night. The wife and I love the food and have ordered family style every time because we want to try everything. The setting in Old Market can't be beat.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Denver)
5.0  Dined on June 4, 2016

The atmosphere was great, the food was amazing, and the service was prompt and attentive. I don't speak or read French so a few of the item names on the menu were confusing but our server was very knowledgeable and gave great descriptions of everything. Did I mention the food was amazing? I will definitely be back with family.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Tallahassee)
1.0  Dined on May 31, 2016

The braised ribs were terrible. There was at most a Tablespoon of shredded meat wrapped in a bunch of overly rich flavored rice

The pork was so tough my wife could not slice it. Most went home to the trash

Waiter came way too frequently as we were trying to enjoy a glass of wine and a cocktail. He eventually took my empty wine glass along with my empty cocktail glass even though our 1/2 half carafe was still half full? Why? Left me with no glass?

Frittes and the barely warm pea soup were great

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (Charleston)
5.0  Dined on May 31, 2016

Hidden Gem of Omaha. Outstanding

Report
Helpful
foodieadventures (St. Louis)
5.0  Dined on May 28, 2016

Great farm to table experience with French food. It felt like you were in a modern rural France.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Omaha)
5.0  Dined on May 27, 2016

The food and service was excellent , portions neither too big nor too small , nice variety of flavors .

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Omaha)
5.0  Dined on May 21, 2016

Our waiter Charles was awesome! He made it a great experience.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Kansas City)
5.0  Dined on May 20, 2016

My wife and I were in Omaha for business and really enjoyed the ambiance and the quality of the food but it was our server Robert that made it one of the best dining experiences we've had in a long time. We've apparently become used to settling for two out of three (quality, ambiance, service) and didn't realize experiencing all three at a high level at the same time was so rare until we were reminded of what it was like this past weekend.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Omaha)
2.0  Dined on May 20, 2016

Although service was appearing to be attentive it really wasn't - coffee was served cold and had to summon waiter to rectify. The burger was barely ok-appeared to be grass fed beef and the grass taste was apparent. I always order burgers with no condiments to hide the true taste. It was ordered medium, but arrived medium rare and rather cold. Not sure how the burgers are cooked, but there were no char marks of any sort and no maillard reaction of course. Lady's luncheon sandwich was too large to grasp and eat without cutting it but only a butter knife was served. An attentive waiter would have brought a sharp knife or offered it cut. These are small things, but should not occur at a restaurant of this professed caliber.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
11