Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network. To see if they take reservations and have availability, you will need to call the restaurant directly or visit their website. View Details

Restaurants you may also like

HimalayasHimalayas
(21)
Indian | Downtown / Old Market, Omaha
Reserve Now
Jams - Old MarketJams - Old Market
(40)
American | Downtown / Old Market, Omaha
Reserve Now
Omaha PrimeOmaha Prime
(222)
Steakhouse | Downtown / Old Market, Omaha
Reserve Now
Hiro 88 - Old MarketHiro 88 - Old Market
(286)
Sushi | Downtown / Old Market, Omaha
Reserve Now
Stokes Grill and Bar - Old MarketStokes Grill and Bar - Old Market
(105)
Southwest | Downtown / Old Market, Omaha
Reserve Now
Twisted Fork - Old MarketTwisted Fork - Old Market
(147)
American | Downtown / Old Market, Omaha
Reserve Now
Upstream Brewing Company - Old MarketUpstream Brewing Company - Old Market
(591)
American | Downtown / Old Market, Omaha
Reserve Now
V.MertzV.Mertz
(830)
Contemporary American | Downtown / Old Market, Omaha
Reserve Now
Boiler RoomBoiler Room
(1024)
Contemporary American | Downtown / Old Market, Omaha
Reserve Now
Nosh Restaurant and Wine LoungeNosh Restaurant and Wine Lounge
(284)
Contemporary American | Downtown / Old Market, Omaha
Reserve Now
J's on JacksonJ's on Jackson
(206)
American | Downtown / Old Market, Omaha
Reserve Now
801 Chophouse at the Paxton801 Chophouse at the Paxton
(1048)
Steak | Downtown / Old Market, Omaha
Reserve Now
ZINC Holland Center DiningZINC Holland Center Dining
(3)
American | Downtown / Old Market, Omaha
Reserve Now
Sullivan's Steakhouse - OmahaSullivan's Steakhouse - Omaha
(1035)
American | Downtown / Old Market, Omaha
Reserve Now
Liberty TavernLiberty Tavern
(158)
American | Downtown / Old Market, Omaha
Reserve Now

About Le Bouillon

1017 Howard St.
Omaha, NE 68102
View Larger Map

Located in the heart of the Old Market, Le Bouillon offers a return to the great regional culinary heritage of France. In a lively, airy room that offers tables for groups of any size, Chef Paul Kulik presents his take on the comfort foods of rural France. Sourcing the best ingredients from local producers, set in a open, alluring space, Le Bouillon is sure to fit any occasion.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary French, Basque, Spanish

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Menu 11:30-3:30 Tu-Sa
Dinner Menu 3:30-10 Tu-Sa
Brunch Menu 10-2:30 Su

Cross Street:
11th and Howard

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(402) 502-6816

Website:
http://bouillonomaha.com/

Executive Chef:
Paul Kulik

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Le Bouillon Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (44)
Special Occasion (37)
Romantic (35)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (30)
Notable Wine List (25)
Great for Brunch (19)
Great for Lunch (15)
Good for Groups (12)
Hot Spot (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Late-night Find (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Scenic View (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Sort By:
Newest
311 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Nice restaurant. Waiters were very know ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined 6 days ago

Nice restaurant. Waiters were very knowledgeable about the wines and the food great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Nice place. Limited menu but interesting ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Nice place. Limited menu but interesting.

It was very empty and somehow the entrees came out one at a time spaced 5 minutes apart. Awkward and unforgivable. I will never return to a Restuarant that doesn't know any better. They need to straighten out their kitchen.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Trying to be sophisticated and can't pul ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Trying to be sophisticated and can't pull it off. Liver pate beneath 1/2 inch of stone ground mustard. So simple to make and so poorly presented. Go to Bella Rose to see how it should be made. Braised pork was no more than ham and beans in a soup bowl. Man across from us tried to cut his duck and finally gave up and put it in his soup bowl in disgust. Hopefully for the restaurant the chief is on vacation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

Great location, wonderful service but ho ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Great location, wonderful service but horrible food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5

Everyone was super nice but the French O ...

vip
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Everyone was super nice but the French Onion Soup which got rave reviews was not our "cup of tea". It was too sweet. Also the French bread was not fresh. My husband and I were very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

difficult to figure out what to order, n ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

difficult to figure out what to order, no side salad to go with meal other than a $20-25.00 salad that I guess you share with your other table guests?

French onion soup Ok but not knock-out. overall food was decent.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

We ate a late dinner at Le Bouillon rece ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

We ate a late dinner at Le Bouillon recently. La présentation, le service et le restaurant étaient magnifique but the food was not. Our meals did not match the ambiance of this very cozy venue in the heart of the Market District. I would like to give it another try some day if in the area and would like to think we simply caught the kitchen on an uninspired late evening.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

The cod special was outstanding! The se ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The cod special was outstanding! The service really good, too. it was perfect for a couples dinner--able to talk, have good wine and food!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Decent meals, well prepared, but fairly ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Decent meals, well prepared, but fairly pricey for what is actually solid Bistro food rather than high-end restaurant. Love that items are locally sourced; do not love that oyster bar happy hour is restricted to the poor oysters; love the atmosphere, do not love that a plain gin on the rocks cocktail took 15 minutes to be served. Love what a favorite Omaha chef is aiming for, it just needs a bit more precision and creativity for the price.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

This is the second time we have dined he ...

vip
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

This is the second time we have dined here, both for late morning Sunday brunch. Each time the staff as very friendly and unobtrusive. The food was excellent both times, and made a routine brunch a very special time for my wife and me.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My first experience at this restaurant w ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

My first experience at this restaurant was to celebrate my daughter-in-law's birthday. It's in the space formerly occupied by The French Cafe. The layout has been changed a bit, all for the better, with carpeting to give more warmth, and the tables are spaced comfortably apart from one another. The Maitre' D explained the concept they had for the restaurant and gave an brief but informative orientation to the menu. Emily W. was our server and she was absolutely the best! She was informative about the preparation of some items available and answered each of our questions. Throughout our meal, she was attentive, replaced flatware as needed, and timed the presentation of each course perfectly. We chose to share a starter of pink shrimp presented beautifully on toasted baguette. The menu has several starters, a number of small plates appropriate for sharing, and several large plates. We shared a Spanish tortilla, unlike what one would expect....it was a beautifully-presented egg dish filled with garlic, onion, potato and another item or two, again served with toasted baguette. 2 of our party had the French onion soup and enjoyed the presentation and the soup itself, generous with caramelized onions, cheese and crouton. For an entree I chose the fish special which was cod, served with smoked cauliflower (excellent!), peas and crispy shreds of potato. One lady had the beef tartar as her entree, finding it tasty, rich, and just what she was craving. And the 3rd party ordered the Wagyu skirt steak, present beautifully on a bed of potatoes and a rich a jus; the steak itself was very tender and flavorful. We enjoyed the house wine, though they have a wide variety in their cellars. We were all too full to even consider dessert, but their dessert menu had a variety of items. The total for the meal was higher than moderate, but the ambiance, the quality of the food, and the service all made it a bargain as a fine dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went relatively early in the evening, se ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Went relatively early in the evening, seated very quickly and our server was with us right away. Server was helpful with suggestions and the food was excellent . We hadn't been to the old market in some time, and this was a nice reminder of why welove to go there

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Since it opened, we have enjoyed many fu ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Since it opened, we have enjoyed many fun evenings at Le Bouillon. The wait staff is knowledgeable about the food and wine and take excellent care of customers. The menu is quite varied, and the chef periodically tweaks regular menu items so they stay fresh according to the season. We took friends there on this last visit and were not disappointed with the menu choices or wines. We love the octopus!! We are relocating and will be unable to return to this restaurant soon. We wish Paul Kulik well - this is a great addition to the Old Market.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One seldom hears the terms “Haute Cuisin ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

One seldom hears the terms “Haute Cuisine” and “Family Friendly” used together in describing a fine dining restaurant. Yet that is exactly what you will find at Le Bouillon in the Old Market Section of Omaha. My wife and I went there for lunch on a Thursday, and liked it so much we went back for their Sunday Brunch. Both were excellent. Lunch included a delicious French Onion soup for me, and a Camembert cheese and apple sandwich for my wife. Brunch was definitely a family affair; both of us had the Canadian Lobster Salad which was outstanding, as was the service and the coffee! Owner/Chef Paul Kulik came out to greet his guests, as well as catch a glimpse of his own young son running throughout the restaurant. There is plenty of space between the tables, so children looking at the eclectic art or exploring the restaurant never seemed to be in the way. In addition to a very nice selection of wines by the glass, Le Bouillon also offers “pots” (pronounced “poe”) which are roughly the equivalent of a half bottle of wine. If you are going to be in, or even near Omaha, Le Bouillon at 1017 Howard St. in the Old Market district is a place you should have on your “MUST eat there” list.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely place! At first glance the space ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Lovely place! At first glance the space looks like it would be $$$$ to dine in but it wasn't. High class ambiance with affordable, delicious, traditional and innovative french food. The service was super friendly - everyone on staff from manager, waitstaff and bartender all interacted with us and were very nice. The punch of the night was amazing and a great selection of french wine - without being pretentious in the least. Food was superb; my only critique was that some of the dishes like the cassoulet were slightly too salty for my taste. This is the perfect place to eat out in Old Market!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food.

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Food was excellent. Wouldn't hesitate go ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Food was excellent. Wouldn't hesitate going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have always enjoyed and appreciated th ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

I have always enjoyed and appreciated this restaurant for its food and service.

Superior in my opinion. One of the best restaurants in Omaha.

A unique menu, done well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had another enjoyable evening. The w ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

We had another enjoyable evening. The wait staff is knowledgeable about the food and wine, professional, and attentive. We felt well taken care of. Several items on the menu have been tweaked using seasonal ingredients and were excellent. We truly enjoyed our experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Old Market Gem

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

We found this lovely restaurant after a long day of driving as we were passing through Omaha. It had advertised having a farm to table menu and it did not disappoint. Located in an historic Old Market building , the decor was stunning, the food fabulous and our server was wonderful. We had the best dining experience and would love to visit again if we have the opportunity,

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Date Night

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Great place for a double date night. The wife and I love the food and have ordered family style every time because we want to try everything. The setting in Old Market can't be beat.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The atmosphere was great, the food was a ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

The atmosphere was great, the food was amazing, and the service was prompt and attentive. I don't speak or read French so a few of the item names on the menu were confusing but our server was very knowledgeable and gave great descriptions of everything. Did I mention the food was amazing? I will definitely be back with family.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The braised ribs were terrible. There wa ...

 
·Dined on June 1, 2016

The braised ribs were terrible. There was at most a Tablespoon of shredded meat wrapped in a bunch of overly rich flavored rice

The pork was so tough my wife could not slice it. Most went home to the trash

Waiter came way too frequently as we were trying to enjoy a glass of wine and a cocktail. He eventually took my empty wine glass along with my empty cocktail glass even though our 1/2 half carafe was still half full? Why? Left me with no glass?

Frittes and the barely warm pea soup were great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2

Hidden Gem of Omaha. Outstanding

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

Hidden Gem of Omaha. Outstanding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

French farm to table

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Great farm to table experience with French food. It felt like you were in a modern rural France.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Everything was wonderful

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

The food and service was excellent , portions neither too big nor too small , nice variety of flavors .

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter Charles was awesome! He mad ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Our waiter Charles was awesome! He made it a great experience.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I were in Omaha for business ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

My wife and I were in Omaha for business and really enjoyed the ambiance and the quality of the food but it was our server Robert that made it one of the best dining experiences we've had in a long time. We've apparently become used to settling for two out of three (quality, ambiance, service) and didn't realize experiencing all three at a high level at the same time was so rare until we were reminded of what it was like this past weekend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and Service

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Although service was appearing to be attentive it really wasn't - coffee was served cold and had to summon waiter to rectify. The burger was barely ok-appeared to be grass fed beef and the grass taste was apparent. I always order burgers with no condiments to hide the true taste. It was ordered medium, but arrived medium rare and rather cold. Not sure how the burgers are cooked, but there were no char marks of any sort and no maillard reaction of course. Lady's luncheon sandwich was too large to grasp and eat without cutting it but only a butter knife was served. An attentive waiter would have brought a sharp knife or offered it cut. These are small things, but should not occur at a restaurant of this professed caliber.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

Awesome Food

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

I think the French menu intimidates some but not us... The server explained each dish and the entre's were fantastic. Oysters on the half shell were fresh and tasty. Dessert was t die for.

Reasonably priced as well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Disappointed.

vip
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

The first time we had dinner here it was wonderful. This time it was not. The shrimp and the pork Tartines were wonderful. Husband had the skirt steak ordered medium. It came medium rare and cool. The sides of mashed potatoes and caramelized onions were cold. The steak came sliced so it was easy to see the doneness of the steak. It should never have made it to the table. I had the Cassoulet. The temperature was blazing hot, which was ok, but it was so salty it was almost inedible. The cassoulet comes with ham and garlic sausage so I can understand it being a little salty, but this was over the top. We were seated on time, however no one ever came around to take our drink order. We had to ask a staff person to get our waiter for us (that was after waiting about 10 minutes). We ordered Pomme Frites and they were incredibly greasy.

This was so disappointing for us after such a wonderful experience the first time. I don't think we'll be back again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2
value2

Special place, Special day

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

This was the first time having brunch at Le Bouillon and it was just as delightful an experience as can be had at dinner. The staff work as a team, attending to every need, spoken or unspoken and are very helpful with a description of the menu items. The wine list is comprehensive and the staff will help you find an appropriate pairing. If you have not had the pleasure of dining at Le Bouillon, you are missing an outstanding experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Rough piece of meat for being advertised ...

vip
 (Corpus Christi)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Rough piece of meat for being advertised as wagyu.

Unimpressed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2

Great food with great service in a great setting!

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

The service a par excellente! Surroundings were notable and the food delicious. A wonderful place for that special occasion. In addition, has separate rooms for groups!

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Brilliant. Amazing food and service.

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 4, 2016

Brilliant. Amazing food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very good French bistro

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

We had a great dinner last Friday during the Berkshire weekend. The food was very good, the wine list interesting and the service impeccable. I would highly recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Another great meal and experience.

vip
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Another great meal and experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food is mouth watering. Quail legs w ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on April 20, 2016

The food is mouth watering. Quail legs were tops. The service is impeccable. The staff strives for perfection. They're friendly and helpful with the menu. You will be thrilled and you'll come again and again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was very slow even though it was ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

Service was very slow even though it was not busy. We received our beer and "mocktail" AFTER 2 of our 3 small plates arrived. We had to ask several times for additional drinks. Many items on menu were not described accurately. The tartine was more like a calzone with little filling rather than a typical French tartine. Steak tartare was great but other than that, we will not be returning, will continue to visit The Boiler Room instead.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Very good new restaurant

vip
 (Mobile)
·Dined on April 14, 2016

A causal "everyday French" restaurant in the site of the old French Café, long Omaha's best. Limited but very good and interesting menu. Everything was very good and it should earn a reputation as one of Omaha's best,

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.