About Le Bouillon

1017 Howard St.
Omaha, NE 68102
View Larger Map

Located in the heart of the Old Market, Le Bouillon offers a return to the great regional culinary heritage of France. In a lively, airy room that offers tables for groups of any size, Chef Paul Kulik presents his take on the comfort foods of rural France. Sourcing the best ingredients from local producers, set in a open, alluring space, Le Bouillon is sure to fit any occasion.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary French, Basque, Spanish

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Menu 11:30-3:30 Tu-Sa
Dinner Menu 3:30-10 Tu-Sa
Brunch Menu 10-2:30 Su

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(402) 502-6816

Website:
http://bouillonomaha.com/

Executive Chef:
Paul Kulik

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Le Bouillon Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Nebraska
Fit for Foodies
Nebraska
Notable Wine List
Nebraska
4 More
Best Ambiance
Omaha
Fit for Foodies
Omaha
Neighborhood Gem
Omaha
Notable Wine List
Omaha
Best Restaurants in Downtown / Old Market ›

fit for foodies (51)
special occasion (48)
romantic (43)
See All
neighborhood gem (35)
notable wine list (33)
great for brunch (23)
great for lunch (16)
good for groups (16)
great for outdoor dining (10)
hot spot (9)
vibrant bar scene (5)
scenic view (5)
late-night find (5)
kid-friendly (4)
Sort By:
Newest
301 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My first experience at this restaurant w ...

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined 5 days ago

My first experience at this restaurant was to celebrate my daughter-in-law's birthday. It's in the space formerly occupied by The French Cafe. The layout has been changed a bit, all for the better, with carpeting to give more warmth, and the tables are spaced comfortably apart from one another. The Maitre' D explained the concept they had for the restaurant and gave an brief but informative orientation to the menu. Emily W. was our server and she was absolutely the best! She was informative about the preparation of some items available and answered each of our questions. Throughout our meal, she was attentive, replaced flatware as needed, and timed the presentation of each course perfectly. We chose to share a starter of pink shrimp presented beautifully on toasted baguette. The menu has several starters, a number of small plates appropriate for sharing, and several large plates. We shared a Spanish tortilla, unlike what one would expect....it was a beautifully-presented egg dish filled with garlic, onion, potato and another item or two, again served with toasted baguette. 2 of our party had the French onion soup and enjoyed the presentation and the soup itself, generous with caramelized onions, cheese and crouton. For an entree I chose the fish special which was cod, served with smoked cauliflower (excellent!), peas and crispy shreds of potato. One lady had the beef tartar as her entree, finding it tasty, rich, and just what she was craving. And the 3rd party ordered the Wagyu skirt steak, present beautifully on a bed of potatoes and a rich a jus; the steak itself was very tender and flavorful. We enjoyed the house wine, though they have a wide variety in their cellars. We were all too full to even consider dessert, but their dessert menu had a variety of items. The total for the meal was higher than moderate, but the ambiance, the quality of the food, and the service all made it a bargain as a fine dining experience.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went relatively early in the evening, se ...

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Went relatively early in the evening, seated very quickly and our server was with us right away. Server was helpful with suggestions and the food was excellent . We hadn't been to the old market in some time, and this was a nice reminder of why welove to go there

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Since it opened, we have enjoyed many fu ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Since it opened, we have enjoyed many fun evenings at Le Bouillon. The wait staff is knowledgeable about the food and wine and take excellent care of customers. The menu is quite varied, and the chef periodically tweaks regular menu items so they stay fresh according to the season. We took friends there on this last visit and were not disappointed with the menu choices or wines. We love the octopus!! We are relocating and will be unable to return to this restaurant soon. We wish Paul Kulik well - this is a great addition to the Old Market.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One seldom hears the terms “Haute Cuisin ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

One seldom hears the terms “Haute Cuisine” and “Family Friendly” used together in describing a fine dining restaurant. Yet that is exactly what you will find at Le Bouillon in the Old Market Section of Omaha. My wife and I went there for lunch on a Thursday, and liked it so much we went back for their Sunday Brunch. Both were excellent. Lunch included a delicious French Onion soup for me, and a Camembert cheese and apple sandwich for my wife. Brunch was definitely a family affair; both of us had the Canadian Lobster Salad which was outstanding, as was the service and the coffee! Owner/Chef Paul Kulik came out to greet his guests, as well as catch a glimpse of his own young son running throughout the restaurant. There is plenty of space between the tables, so children looking at the eclectic art or exploring the restaurant never seemed to be in the way. In addition to a very nice selection of wines by the glass, Le Bouillon also offers “pots” (pronounced “poe”) which are roughly the equivalent of a half bottle of wine. If you are going to be in, or even near Omaha, Le Bouillon at 1017 Howard St. in the Old Market district is a place you should have on your “MUST eat there” list.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely place! At first glance the space ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Lovely place! At first glance the space looks like it would be $$$$ to dine in but it wasn't. High class ambiance with affordable, delicious, traditional and innovative french food. The service was super friendly - everyone on staff from manager, waitstaff and bartender all interacted with us and were very nice. The punch of the night was amazing and a great selection of french wine - without being pretentious in the least. Food was superb; my only critique was that some of the dishes like the cassoulet were slightly too salty for my taste. This is the perfect place to eat out in Old Market!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food.

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Food was excellent. Wouldn't hesitate go ...

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Food was excellent. Wouldn't hesitate going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have always enjoyed and appreciated th ...

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

I have always enjoyed and appreciated this restaurant for its food and service.

Superior in my opinion. One of the best restaurants in Omaha.

A unique menu, done well.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had another enjoyable evening. The w ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

We had another enjoyable evening. The wait staff is knowledgeable about the food and wine, professional, and attentive. We felt well taken care of. Several items on the menu have been tweaked using seasonal ingredients and were excellent. We truly enjoyed our experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Old Market Gem

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

We found this lovely restaurant after a long day of driving as we were passing through Omaha. It had advertised having a farm to table menu and it did not disappoint. Located in an historic Old Market building , the decor was stunning, the food fabulous and our server was wonderful. We had the best dining experience and would love to visit again if we have the opportunity,

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Date Night

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Great place for a double date night. The wife and I love the food and have ordered family style every time because we want to try everything. The setting in Old Market can't be beat.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The atmosphere was great, the food was a ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

The atmosphere was great, the food was amazing, and the service was prompt and attentive. I don't speak or read French so a few of the item names on the menu were confusing but our server was very knowledgeable and gave great descriptions of everything. Did I mention the food was amazing? I will definitely be back with family.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The braised ribs were terrible. There wa ...

 
 (NW Florida)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

The braised ribs were terrible. There was at most a Tablespoon of shredded meat wrapped in a bunch of overly rich flavored rice

The pork was so tough my wife could not slice it. Most went home to the trash

Waiter came way too frequently as we were trying to enjoy a glass of wine and a cocktail. He eventually took my empty wine glass along with my empty cocktail glass even though our 1/2 half carafe was still half full? Why? Left me with no glass?

Frittes and the barely warm pea soup were great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2

Hidden Gem of Omaha. Outstanding

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

Hidden Gem of Omaha. Outstanding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

French farm to table

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Great farm to table experience with French food. It felt like you were in a modern rural France.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Everything was wonderful

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

The food and service was excellent , portions neither too big nor too small , nice variety of flavors .

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter Charles was awesome! He mad ...

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Our waiter Charles was awesome! He made it a great experience.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I were in Omaha for business ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

My wife and I were in Omaha for business and really enjoyed the ambiance and the quality of the food but it was our server Robert that made it one of the best dining experiences we've had in a long time. We've apparently become used to settling for two out of three (quality, ambiance, service) and didn't realize experiencing all three at a high level at the same time was so rare until we were reminded of what it was like this past weekend.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and Service

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Although service was appearing to be attentive it really wasn't - coffee was served cold and had to summon waiter to rectify. The burger was barely ok-appeared to be grass fed beef and the grass taste was apparent. I always order burgers with no condiments to hide the true taste. It was ordered medium, but arrived medium rare and rather cold. Not sure how the burgers are cooked, but there were no char marks of any sort and no maillard reaction of course. Lady's luncheon sandwich was too large to grasp and eat without cutting it but only a butter knife was served. An attentive waiter would have brought a sharp knife or offered it cut. These are small things, but should not occur at a restaurant of this professed caliber.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

Awesome Food

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

I think the French menu intimidates some but not us... The server explained each dish and the entre's were fantastic. Oysters on the half shell were fresh and tasty. Dessert was t die for.

Reasonably priced as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Disappointed.

vip
 (Omaha)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

The first time we had dinner here it was wonderful. This time it was not. The shrimp and the pork Tartines were wonderful. Husband had the skirt steak ordered medium. It came medium rare and cool. The sides of mashed potatoes and caramelized onions were cold. The steak came sliced so it was easy to see the doneness of the steak. It should never have made it to the table. I had the Cassoulet. The temperature was blazing hot, which was ok, but it was so salty it was almost inedible. The cassoulet comes with ham and garlic sausage so I can understand it being a little salty, but this was over the top. We were seated on time, however no one ever came around to take our drink order. We had to ask a staff person to get our waiter for us (that was after waiting about 10 minutes). We ordered Pomme Frites and they were incredibly greasy.

This was so disappointing for us after such a wonderful experience the first time. I don't think we'll be back again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2
value2

Special place, Special day

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

This was the first time having brunch at Le Bouillon and it was just as delightful an experience as can be had at dinner. The staff work as a team, attending to every need, spoken or unspoken and are very helpful with a description of the menu items. The wine list is comprehensive and the staff will help you find an appropriate pairing. If you have not had the pleasure of dining at Le Bouillon, you are missing an outstanding experience.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Rough piece of meat for being advertised ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Rough piece of meat for being advertised as wagyu.

Unimpressed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2

Great food with great service in a great setting!

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

The service a par excellente! Surroundings were notable and the food delicious. A wonderful place for that special occasion. In addition, has separate rooms for groups!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Brilliant. Amazing food and service.

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 4, 2016

Brilliant. Amazing food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very good French bistro

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

We had a great dinner last Friday during the Berkshire weekend. The food was very good, the wine list interesting and the service impeccable. I would highly recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Another great meal and experience.

vip
 (Omaha)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Another great meal and experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food is mouth watering. Quail legs w ...

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on April 20, 2016

The food is mouth watering. Quail legs were tops. The service is impeccable. The staff strives for perfection. They're friendly and helpful with the menu. You will be thrilled and you'll come again and again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was very slow even though it was ...

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

Service was very slow even though it was not busy. We received our beer and "mocktail" AFTER 2 of our 3 small plates arrived. We had to ask several times for additional drinks. Many items on menu were not described accurately. The tartine was more like a calzone with little filling rather than a typical French tartine. Steak tartare was great but other than that, we will not be returning, will continue to visit The Boiler Room instead.

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Very good new restaurant

 
·Dined on April 14, 2016

A causal "everyday French" restaurant in the site of the old French Café, long Omaha's best. Limited but very good and interesting menu. Everything was very good and it should earn a reputation as one of Omaha's best,

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Jabolet wine dinner needed better wines.

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on April 14, 2016

We attended the Jabolet wine dinner. The explanation for the lamb stew did not list the lemon or lemon grass ingredients, and did not pair well with the wine for that coarse. The stew was good, but not savory. The other courses were good, but nothing I would request to have again. They tried hard, but missed the mark on a truly great dinner.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

An EXCEPTIONAL dining experience

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

This was a nearly flawless dining experience. My fiance and I dined at Le Bouillon to celebrate her birthday, and we were very pleased. The service was exceptional, and our waitress was EAGER and EXCITED to be able to help guide us through our first dining experience at this restaurant. The aperitifs were pleasant, and our fried quail legs were delicious with a bit of a kick. My fiancee had the skirt steak, and she was very pleased with it. I had the roasted chicken, and it was perfectly cooked-- tender and moist flesh with crispy skin, seasoned beautifully. Our desserts were also excellent, a pot de creme and a raspberry pound cake of some kind. Our waitress even happily delivered a special present to my fiancee during dessert.

Of special note was how well educated on the wine list our waitress was. She didn't even hesitate to answer any questions about wine choices, including explaining some background about the varietals.

I am looking forward to dining again at Le Bouillon.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was amazing.

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on April 8, 2016

We ordered a variety of items stuff that I wouldn't normally order like the chicken liver or steak tartare. Those items were absolutely amazing!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fine food!!

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

I enjoy this restaurant because of the changing varied menu. I had the bone marrow and the elk short ribs (English translation). Both selections were exactly what was described by the waiter and tasted delicious. We have been there several times and have not been disappointed with the varied selections.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our meal started with oysters, followed ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 30, 2016

Our meal started with oysters, followed by small plates of fried quali legs and calamari. Ended with homemade hazelnut ice cream. The food was spectacular. Every aspect of this experience was outstanding. We like their "pots" of wine, which is about a half bottle. Haley the wine steward is very knowledgeable and great with suggesting pairings for the food.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Perfect Easter

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Brunch at Le Bouillon should satisfy both traditional tastes and those looking for a distinguished experience. Everything served attentively and the food was, quite honestly, just divine.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious Sunday Brunch

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Easter Sunday brunch at Le Bouillon was delightful. Each diner in my party ordered something different, and each dish was equally delicious, from the omelette to the kaiserschmarrn. The basket of pastries was delightful. We particularly enjoyed the financieres. You need not wait until next Easter to enjoy the brunch. We ordered from the regular brunch menu.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Stellar

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

The wait staff is attentive, friendly, and frankly a lot of fun. And the food -- well, the WSJ got it exactly right: French food, beautifully executed, in a relaxed presentation. Le Bouillon is a jewel of a restaurant. (And I thought I'd never get past the French Café closing.)

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

Dined with a date on Friday night. Started with cocktails then Kushi oysters (these are kind of hard to come by) and an app. White wine by the glass with the first courses. Switched to red for the entrees (she had the skirt steak, I had the Arroz la plancha which is fantastic) and when I asked our server for a recommendation he sent the Owner/Chef Paul Kulik over. He brought out a split of Grenache which wasn't on the list, gave us some background on the vineyard and placed it on the sideboard. Right before the entrees arrived he came back, opened it up, we sampled and he poured. It was a perfect match for both dishes.

If you like fine food, good wine and a relaxed atmosphere you can't go wrong with Le Bouillon.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing food! Tammi, Tammi, Tammi the crowd roars!

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on March 18, 2016

I am guilty; I went for the $1.00 oysters during happy hour and ended up with sweetbreads and foie gras and tons of wine and a sauterne! The place is amazing and the dishes are delicious. All of the staff are helpful and quite knowledgeable regarding the food and wine.

The oysters are sweet and briny and I could have eaten more than 2 dozen for sure. Not sure I could break the 6 dozen record but I could try! Sweetbreads are delightful and come with a nice spicy arugula. The foie is a delight with a lovely portion and as my European friends say a "gorgeous" taste!

Lastly, Tammi. What a smile, what incredible knowledge and just the right amount of attentiveness. She is the consummate professional who exuberates..."I love what I do"!

Tammi would be an asset anywhere and I enjoyed her service and conversation for the 2 evenings!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.