About Le Bouillon

1017 Howard St.
Omaha, NE 68102
View Larger Map

Located in the heart of the Old Market, Le Bouillon offers a return to the great regional culinary heritage of France. In a lively, airy room that offers tables for groups of any size, Chef Paul Kulik presents his take on the comfort foods of rural France. Sourcing the best ingredients from local producers, set in a open, alluring space, Le Bouillon is sure to fit any occasion.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary French, Basque, Spanish

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Menu 11:30-3:30 Tu-Sa
Dinner Menu 3:30-10 Tu-Sa
Brunch Menu 10-2:30 Su

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(402) 502-6816

Website:
http://bouillonomaha.com/

Executive Chef:
Paul Kulik

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Le Bouillon Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Nebraska
Notable Wine List
Nebraska
Fit for Foodies
Omaha
2 More
Notable Wine List
Omaha
Romantic
Omaha
Best Restaurants in Downtown / Old Market ›

special occasion (74)
fit for foodies (68)
romantic (64)
See All
notable wine list (52)
neighborhood gem (45)
great for brunch (32)
good for groups (25)
great for lunch (24)
hot spot (15)
scenic view (12)
great for outdoor dining (12)
vibrant bar scene (7)
kid-friendly (5)
late-night find (5)
Sort By:
Newest
283 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter Charles was awesome! He mad ...

Dined 6 days ago

Our waiter Charles was awesome! He made it a great experience.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I were in Omaha for business ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

My wife and I were in Omaha for business and really enjoyed the ambiance and the quality of the food but it was our server Robert that made it one of the best dining experiences we've had in a long time. We've apparently become used to settling for two out of three (quality, ambiance, service) and didn't realize experiencing all three at a high level at the same time was so rare until we were reminded of what it was like this past weekend.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

Food and Service

Dined on May 20, 2016

Although service was appearing to be attentive it really wasn't - coffee was served cold and had to summon waiter to rectify. The burger was barely ok-appeared to be grass fed beef and the grass taste was apparent. I always order burgers with no condiments to hide the true taste. It was ordered medium, but arrived medium rare and rather cold. Not sure how the burgers are cooked, but there were no char marks of any sort and no maillard reaction of course. Lady's luncheon sandwich was too large to grasp and eat without cutting it but only a butter knife was served. An attentive waiter would have brought a sharp knife or offered it cut. These are small things, but should not occur at a restaurant of this professed caliber.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome Food

Dined on May 15, 2016

I think the French menu intimidates some but not us... The server explained each dish and the entre's were fantastic. Oysters on the half shell were fresh and tasty. Dessert was t die for. Reasonably priced as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food1
ambience5
service2
value2

Disappointed.

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

The first time we had dinner here it was wonderful. This time it was not. The shrimp and the pork Tartines were wonderful. Husband had the skirt steak ordered medium. It came medium rare and cool. The sides of mashed potatoes and caramelized onions were cold. The steak came sliced so it was easy to see the doneness of the steak. It should never have made it to the table. I had the Cassoulet. The temperature was blazing hot, which was ok, but it was so salty it was almost inedible. The cassoulet comes with ham and garlic sausage so I can understand it being a little salty, but this was over the top. We were seated on time, however no one ever came around to take our drink order. We had to ask a staff person to get our waiter for us (that was after waiting about 10 minutes). We ordered Pomme Frites and they were incredibly greasy. This was so disappointing for us after such a wonderful experience the first time. I don't think we'll be back again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Special place, Special day

Dined on May 8, 2016

This was the first time having brunch at Le Bouillon and it was just as delightful an experience as can be had at dinner. The staff work as a team, attending to every need, spoken or unspoken and are very helpful with a description of the menu items. The wine list is comprehensive and the staff will help you find an appropriate pairing. If you have not had the pleasure of dining at Le Bouillon, you are missing an outstanding experience.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food with great service in a great setting!

Dined on May 7, 2016

The service a par excellente! Surroundings were notable and the food delicious. A wonderful place for that special occasion. In addition, has separate rooms for groups!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Brilliant. Amazing food and service.

Dined on May 4, 2016

Brilliant. Amazing food and service.

food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Very good French bistro

Dined on April 29, 2016

We had a great dinner last Friday during the Berkshire weekend. The food was very good, the wine list interesting and the service impeccable. I would highly recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Another great meal and experience.

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

Another great meal and experience.

food5
ambience5
service5

The food is mouth watering. Quail legs w ...

Dined on April 20, 2016

The food is mouth watering. Quail legs were tops. The service is impeccable. The staff strives for perfection. They're friendly and helpful with the menu. You will be thrilled and you'll come again and again

food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Service was very slow even though it was ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

Service was very slow even though it was not busy. We received our beer and "mocktail" AFTER 2 of our 3 small plates arrived. We had to ask several times for additional drinks. Many items on menu were not described accurately. The tartine was more like a calzone with little filling rather than a typical French tartine. Steak tartare was great but other than that, we will not be returning, will continue to visit The Boiler Room instead.

Tags: notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Very good new restaurant

Dined on April 14, 2016

A causal "everyday French" restaurant in the site of the old French Café, long Omaha's best. Limited but very good and interesting menu. Everything was very good and it should earn a reputation as one of Omaha's best,

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

Jabolet wine dinner needed better wines.

Dined on April 14, 2016

We attended the Jabolet wine dinner. The explanation for the lamb stew did not list the lemon or lemon grass ingredients, and did not pair well with the wine for that coarse. The stew was good, but not savory. The other courses were good, but nothing I would request to have again. They tried hard, but missed the mark on a truly great dinner.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

An EXCEPTIONAL dining experience

Dined on April 10, 2016

This was a nearly flawless dining experience. My fiance and I dined at Le Bouillon to celebrate her birthday, and we were very pleased. The service was exceptional, and our waitress was EAGER and EXCITED to be able to help guide us through our first dining experience at this restaurant. The aperitifs were pleasant, and our fried quail legs were delicious with a bit of a kick. My fiancee had the skirt steak, and she was very pleased with it. I had the roasted chicken, and it was perfectly cooked-- tender and moist flesh with crispy skin, seasoned beautifully. Our desserts were also excellent, a pot de creme and a raspberry pound cake of some kind. Our waitress even happily delivered a special present to my fiancee during dessert. Of special note was how well educated on the wine list our waitress was. She didn't even hesitate to answer any questions about wine choices, including explaining some background about the varietals. I am looking forward to dining again at Le Bouillon.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was amazing.

Dined on April 8, 2016

We ordered a variety of items stuff that I wouldn't normally order like the chicken liver or steak tartare. Those items were absolutely amazing!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fine food!!

Dined on April 3, 2016

I enjoy this restaurant because of the changing varied menu. I had the bone marrow and the elk short ribs (English translation). Both selections were exactly what was described by the waiter and tasted delicious. We have been there several times and have not been disappointed with the varied selections.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our meal started with oysters, followed ...

vip
Dined on March 30, 2016

Our meal started with oysters, followed by small plates of fried quali legs and calamari. Ended with homemade hazelnut ice cream. The food was spectacular. Every aspect of this experience was outstanding. We like their "pots" of wine, which is about a half bottle. Haley the wine steward is very knowledgeable and great with suggesting pairings for the food.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Perfect Easter

Dined on March 27, 2016

Brunch at Le Bouillon should satisfy both traditional tastes and those looking for a distinguished experience. Everything served attentively and the food was, quite honestly, just divine.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious Sunday Brunch

Dined on March 27, 2016

Easter Sunday brunch at Le Bouillon was delightful. Each diner in my party ordered something different, and each dish was equally delicious, from the omelette to the kaiserschmarrn. The basket of pastries was delightful. We particularly enjoyed the financieres. You need not wait until next Easter to enjoy the brunch. We ordered from the regular brunch menu.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Stellar

Dined on March 20, 2016

The wait staff is attentive, friendly, and frankly a lot of fun. And the food -- well, the WSJ got it exactly right: French food, beautifully executed, in a relaxed presentation. Le Bouillon is a jewel of a restaurant. (And I thought I'd never get past the French Café closing.)

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Exceptional

Dined on March 19, 2016

Dined with a date on Friday night. Started with cocktails then Kushi oysters (these are kind of hard to come by) and an app. White wine by the glass with the first courses. Switched to red for the entrees (she had the skirt steak, I had the Arroz la plancha which is fantastic) and when I asked our server for a recommendation he sent the Owner/Chef Paul Kulik over. He brought out a split of Grenache which wasn't on the list, gave us some background on the vineyard and placed it on the sideboard. Right before the entrees arrived he came back, opened it up, we sampled and he poured. It was a perfect match for both dishes. If you like fine food, good wine and a relaxed atmosphere you can't go wrong with Le Bouillon.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food! Tammi, Tammi, Tammi the crowd roars!

vip
Dined on March 18, 2016

I am guilty; I went for the $1.00 oysters during happy hour and ended up with sweetbreads and foie gras and tons of wine and a sauterne! The place is amazing and the dishes are delicious. All of the staff are helpful and quite knowledgeable regarding the food and wine. The oysters are sweet and briny and I could have eaten more than 2 dozen for sure. Not sure I could break the 6 dozen record but I could try! Sweetbreads are delightful and come with a nice spicy arugula. The foie is a delight with a lovely portion and as my European friends say a "gorgeous" taste! Lastly, Tammi. What a smile, what incredible knowledge and just the right amount of attentiveness. She is the consummate professional who exuberates..."I love what I do"! Tammi would be an asset anywhere and I enjoyed her service and conversation for the 2 evenings!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

excellent French bistro

vip
Dined on February 25, 2016

Great food and service. Our server Katie couldn't have been better.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've been back twice in two weeks!

Dined on February 25, 2016

The menu and wine list is sophisticated and simple at the same time. The food is amazing and their sommelier has been perfect with his recommendations. Food and wine like this could be a lot more expensive but it is nice to have such a wonderful experience and atmosphere for a reasonable price. Everyone is professional and personable. This is a great place to take clients or meet friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice dinner

Dined on February 20, 2016

This was a pre-symphony dinner and we forgot to mention that we had a deadline. However, it was not a problem and turned out to be timed perfectly. The food was excellent and the service was pleasant and attentive.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food2
ambience2
service2

Eating at Le Bouillon begs the question ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

Eating at Le Bouillon begs the question - is this French food? Because if you hadn't told me it was French, I wouldn't have guessed it. If you hadn't told me there would be no baguette slices and butter I wouldn't have guessed it. If you hadn't told me I was eating carrot soup I wouldn't have guessed it. It's certainly not Escoffier's food, especially when the scallops had zero sear on them! Add out-of-place artwork and a waiter who comes to the table every three minutes, and you have to wonder which version of French cuisine Le Bouillon is trying to do.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Gem

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

This place gets mislabeled as an expensive, posh French restaurant. I agree with the second, but not the first. Everything was excellent and reasonably priced. Every aspect of our meal was wonderful. We hope to be back soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Sunday Brunch

Dined on February 14, 2016

We've been to this restaurant twice for brunch. Both times the Austrian Pancakes were ordered. Truly delicious. Also been introduced to a "new" very flavorful ham. The service has been extremely friendly and educational (since we were unfamiliar with the menu items). Well worth a trip to the Old Market.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Top 10 best meal I've ever had.

Dined on February 14, 2016

The food was great-- interesting and flavorful. Our waiter was knowledgeable, attentive and relaxed, which enhances the ambiance. It's a beautiful space that had the right amount of energy for a fun night out. I'd highly recommend Le Bouillon to anyone who is looking for a great place to celebrate a special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

First time dinner

Dined on February 13, 2016

My wife and I had Valentine's Day dinner here. We had a 5 o'clock reservation on a Saturday. Was sat immediately by the nice and warm vent because my wife was cold as usual. Our waitress was very knowledgeable of the specials and of the wine pairing. She steered us through the menu and knew ingredients of every dish. Food was delicious and cocktails were great. What else could you ask for?

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and atmosphere!

Dined on February 13, 2016

The trout is amazing, the shrimp toast was delicious, it was all really good food.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The ambience and food is spot-on.

Dined on February 6, 2016

Yet another gem in the crown jewels of Omaha's Old Market. Nice ambience, fantastic food, friendly service...a great place to eat and hang out. Thoroughly enjoyed everything we ordered-we will definitely return!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A great expierence

Dined on January 31, 2016

This was a great find going to this restaurant for a great Saturday evening date night. My wife and I had not been to it yet since it had opened and we are so thankful we finally did. The main room has a beautiful atmosphere, the staff is tremendous, and our waiter Charles is probably the best waiter we have ever had period at any fine dining restaurant. Oh yeah, and the food was excellent! We can't wait to go back! Cheers...

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Place

Dined on January 30, 2016

My wife and I just went this past weekend and everything was great. I loved the old building and the food was great. Well worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

I had a lovely dinner with a friend whom ...

Dined on January 29, 2016

I had a lovely dinner with a friend whom I had not seen in a long time. It was a quiet evening and we took a long time because we were talking so much! But our server (Joe) was excellent and never rushed us. He explained all of the dishes and made recommendations, which helped tremendously. Everything by Chef Paul is delicious. I had the cassoulet and my friend had the burger. My only "complaint," if you can call it that, was that I wished they had more "by the glass" wine selections.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4

Our server was fantastic but I believe t ...

Dined on January 24, 2016

Our server was fantastic but I believe they were under staffed.

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

One of the better options in the Old Market

Dined on January 24, 2016

I happened to go here during the months after the Ms Pub fire. It was not that busy, maybe half full on a Saturday night at 7pm. There is sort of an I formal feel about this place, but I would never had known this the way people talk about it in Omaha. Located right in the middle of the Old Market, it is a quality restaurant for dates and business meetings - but the food here I'd by no means super fancy. It is traditional southern French good with a Midwest fusion thing going on. The building is great and I love the feel of the Old Market. If you are looking for drinks other than wine, they have them, but I guarantee it will be with liquor you have never heard of.overall, you can fine here for about $50 a person including apps and drinks.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good experience

Dined on January 3, 2016

I found the overall experience to be great. We were able to branch out and try a few new things in addition to items that we already knew that we liked. This applied to food and cocktails. Also, when we did order one item that we ended up not liking (not prepared wrong I believe, just not something we liked!) they replaced it for no charge. Our waiter was knowledgeable about the menu and was willing to spend a fair amount of time talking about each item.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Almost as good as I expected

Dined on January 3, 2016

My wife and I went here for our 20th aniversery. They had punch that night , that was an unexpected treat. The food was very good,but the service was not quite up to my expectations for this price point. I had questions about menu selections and wine pairings and I found the server's advice not very helpful. Neighboring tables were getting very different descriptions of the same dish. Overall,it was a good night and we will likely try it again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.