About Lawry's The Prime Rib - Dallas

14655 Dallas Parkway
Dallas, TX 75254
View Larger Map

You'll know the moment you arrive that Lawry's The Prime Rib is an extraordinary restaurant. The signature Roasted Prime Ribs of Beef are aged 21 days, rock salt-roasted to perfection then carved to order tableside from shining silver carts. The famous Spinning Bowl Salad, whipped cream horseradish, mashed potatoes, Yorkshire Pudding and warm hospitality complete the experience that has landed Lawry's on countless "10 Best" lists and made it a dining legend since 1938.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Prime Rib, American, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch:
Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm


Dinner:
Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm


Sunday Brunch: 11:00am-2:30pm
Live Music: Thursdays 7-9pm

Cross Street:
Beltline

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(972) 503-6688

Website:
http://www.lawrysonline.com/

Catering:
Full Prime Rib dinners to-go

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Parking

Executive Chef:
Matt Melton

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Lawry's The Prime Rib hosts wine and specialty dinners each month.
Summer Dinner Special for $35.00 from June 1st through June 30th, 2010.
For more details go to http://bit.ly/cvf04e

Restaurant Photos

Prime Rib - Lawry's Cut
Original Spinning Bowl Salad
Yorkshire Pudding
Merlot
Prime Rib with Calimari, Onions etc.
Capuchino
Prime Rib, Mashed Potatoes, Yorkshire Pudding, Creamed Corn
Lobster Tail
Mushroom Skillet
Ribeye Steak
Filet Oscar
Chocolate Cake A La Mode
Carrot Cake
Prime Rib
Potatoe Chips

Private Dining

Lawry's The Prime Rib is available for nearly any private function from casual luncheons to business dinners to elegant weddings. Delicious food, exceptional hospitality and beautiful surroundings are available during the day for your group of 15 to 150.

Lawry's The Prime Rib - Dallas Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

special occasion (137)
romantic (83)
fit for foodies (50)
See All
notable wine list (43)
good for groups (43)
great for lunch (31)
neighborhood gem (29)
great for brunch (27)
great for outdoor dining (12)
late-night find (12)
vibrant bar scene (11)
hot spot (10)
kid-friendly (9)
scenic view (3)
Sort By:
Newest
2561 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My wife and I really enjoyed the Sunday ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined 5 days ago

My wife and I really enjoyed the Sunday brunch! This was our 2nd time and are planning another Sunday visit!

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We celebrate our anniversary all I can s ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

We celebrate our anniversary all I can say is Excellent overall!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We celebrated our 40th wedding anniversa ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We celebrated our 40th wedding anniversary with our family. I would have to say everyone felt their dish was just okay. I've always enjoyed Lawry's in the past and normally would not comment if it was just me but I certainly was disappointed. I would like to think we may have come on an off day. With our schedules my family has a hard time finding time together at the same time. I felt bad for them and the fact we didn't enjoyed the meal together. Hopefully, I will find my way back.

Joe Forman

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

I am a thirty year patron of Lawrys. It ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

I am a thirty year patron of Lawrys. It is a prime rib restaurant predominately, and for that

and the usual associated dishes it is phenomenal. We had excellent attentive timely service neither rushed nor neglectful. I can't comment on the alternative entree items but the beef and hot fudge sundae are exemplary.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My wife and I celebrated our 33rd weddin ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

My wife and I celebrated our 33rd weddings anniversary at Lawry’s. We arrived a little early and were greeted by a friendly hostess that seated us promptly. Our server welcomed us by name and congratulated us on our anniversary. The menu was given an appropriate review and items were suggested. The wait staff was attentive throughout the meal anticipating our every need. The prime rib was to die for, the flavor and it simply melted in our mouth… We finished the meal with fresh coffee and a triple layered chocolate cake that was more than the two of us could finish. Awesome evening!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful steaks for the wife and fabulo ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Wonderful steaks for the wife and fabulous prime rib for me..cooked to perfection...sides were excellent...spinning bowl salad was a treat...unlimited wine and beverage list...deserts to die for...service was supernatural (hostesses pleasant and charming as usual - make you feel right at home...wait staff is superior (Travis catered to our every dining want and need) bus staff friendly and efficient..Nancy -the Manager- always makes us feel like part of the Lawry's family. It's a dining experience we always treasure.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I really enjoyed Lawry's. Although I ha ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

I really enjoyed Lawry's. Although I had been there before it was still a unique restaurant experience. My husband really enjoyed his birthday dinner.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cream of spinach too salty. Prime rib ty ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Cream of spinach too salty. Prime rib typical. Good for very special celebrations as $$$$ in price.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Loved it!! We celebrated our anniversary ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Loved it!! We celebrated our anniversary and they brought us a lovely dessert to help us celebrate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our waiter was not polished, was unprofe ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Our waiter was not polished, was unprofessional, and forgot our cocktails 2x. Felt like we were at a Chili's not a high end restaurant. For the people in our party that had never been. They won't return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

Food was fantastic and we loved the comp ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Food was fantastic and we loved the complimentary champagne. The service was excellent and I feel that the price was a good value for what you received. We will make this a Sunday destination spot.

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have enjoyed Lawry's for the past 30 ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We have enjoyed Lawry's for the past 30 years. They have never disappointed me! Food and service is excellent every time we go.

Cant beat Lawry's!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lawry's maintains that traditional steak ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Lawry's maintains that traditional steak house mentality. Although there are places I like better in Dallas, I appreciate that they continue traditions since the 1930s.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Lawry's is an excellent restaurant for s ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Lawry's is an excellent restaurant for special occasions.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Although the food was good, I was disapp ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Although the food was good, I was disappointed that my order for a medium rare steak arrived almost well done. Corrected , and was good .

thank you

Claire Singleton

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I've eaten at Lawry's consistently throu ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

I've eaten at Lawry's consistently through the years. This particular time the service seemed very slow. They also don't allow you to order the happy hour wine an beverages in the dining room - which seems to defeat the purpose of happy hour. Food was good, servers very pleasant but with no more than ten tables occupied, the service was just slow.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

OUTSTANDING BIRTHDAY BRUNCH FOR MY SON A ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

OUTSTANDING BIRTHDAY BRUNCH FOR MY SON AND WIFE AND BROTHER. TABLE FOR TEN WAS PERFECT. FOOD AND SERVICE IS ALWAYS OUTSTANDING.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The meat was cold server tried to get a ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The meat was cold server tried to get another piece that was better. She got one & after waiting a long time it was not only cold but tough& too rare very disappointed

Usually very good but very slow service in addition to poor meat

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

Never disappoints. Beautifully appointe ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Never disappoints. Beautifully appointed. Staff are attentive without being obtrusive. Food is always outstanding.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service amazing, exactly what you expect ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Service amazing, exactly what you expect from Lawry's. Brunch was great. Will always return and promote the Dallas Location...

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good wait staff. Polite and very he ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Very good wait staff. Polite and very helpful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Eating at Lawry's for the first time was ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Eating at Lawry's for the first time was a nice experience, we will visit again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Our server, Matthew, was excellent, as w ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Our server, Matthew, was excellent, as well as the meal. Being our first time at a Lawry's we really enjoyed the rib carts and spinning salad. Our carver/chef was great. I ordered flowers through the open table reservation and they were beautiful. Many of the staff stopped by our table to comment on them.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This one of our favorite restaurant and ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

This one of our favorite restaurant and love to take our friends and family here because of the unique service. The prime rib is carved tableside from a silver cart. Very impressive for those who have not dined there before. Also the spinning salad is a must too. We always ask for Travis to be our server. He does an outstanding job.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Excellent food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Food was outstanding. Our server was eff ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Food was outstanding. Our server was efficient, very cordial nod accommodating. Very enjoyable evening

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have been here many times for special oc ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Have been here many times for special occasions. Best prime rib in Dallas. Love the spinning salad & the Yorkshire pudding is wonderful!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Very old school which I love. Food is al ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Very old school which I love. Food is always near perfect. My go to place for Father's Day every year. Brunch is also spectacular. Highly recommend Lawry's if you like prime rib!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

We came as a family for Father's Day. Th ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We came as a family for Father's Day. The service was wonderful from the valet to the wait staff -friendly and attentive. The prime rib was excellent in flavor and cut, the flavor of my ribeye was flavorful but the cut was varied, from 1/4 inch on one side to about 1 inch on the other. The sides were not good. My scalloped potatoes were not cooked and were crunchy, the creamed corn was not blended and firm, and cool in some spots. The Yorkshire pudding was flat as a pancake, tough, and bland. We were disappointed and felt the restaurant overall could use an overhaul with menu updates and recipes. We have come to Lawry's several times and were satisfied previously, hoping this will not be the norm.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

We came here for Father's Day Lunch. The ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We came here for Father's Day Lunch. They have on their website as brunch on Sundays, but when we arrived they stated they serve a normal dinner menu on holidays. So no brunch fare, no unlimited mimosas.

The other issue was still about disclosure. They offered sides at that the waiter told us we could ask for when the carver came by. Little did he mention that they were an additional $7 per person extra, each side. For a miserably small portion. I frequent a lot of high end steak places, all of which disclose the a la carte nature much better, with a good portion. Not a small ramekin of creamed corn.

And then there's the complimentary valet for a parking lot that was only Lawry's and also pretty empty. That should have been the warning for "they're going to try to nickel and dime us here".

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

We had a 7:45 PM reservation. We checked ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We had a 7:45 PM reservation. We checked in at 7:30 PM. We did not get seated till 8:35 PM.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I was a bit disappointed, we remember a ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

I was a bit disappointed, we remember a great mean when Lawrys was located on Cedar Springs. It doesn't have the polish the better steakhouses in Dallas now offer. Service was average.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Waiter not good, food just so so,tables ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Waiter not good, food just so so,tables there with small children and babies crying, not very classy place anymore.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Only complaint is excessive noise. Coul ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Only complaint is excessive noise. Couldn't hear across our table without talking very loudly. Kind of obnoxious.

Food was excellent, as always.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is the best restaurant I have eaten ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

This is the best restaurant I have eaten at in years. My daughter and I were in Dallas on a shopping trip and picked this restaurant because my daughter had eaten at the one in Las Vegas. We will definately go again when in Dallas. The atmosphere was very old style steakhouse with leather chairs and white tableclothes. There was soft music and we cold talk without shouting. Loved it.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service were exceptional. ..

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Food and service were exceptional. ..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lucy Finger

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

I noted it was my husband's birthday. We arrived a little early & gave our name to Hostess. She walked us toward dining room. She leaned into doorway, pointed, and said if you want a booth you can sit there or if you want a table you can sit there & walked away. At end of meal, our server was promoting their membership & its benefits at birthday time. I said - it's my husband's birthday. He said he didn't know. I told him I noted it on my Open Table reservation. He asked - are you Lucy? I said yes. He said -well, the hostess never checked you in, so we thought you were a No Show. End of his engagement, VERY DISAPPOINTING!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Business Celebration Lunch

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

It's *expensive* at lunch but this was a special occasion. $5 a side adds up. But the food is good and it was full of important-looking men doing deals at lunch, so we fit in. Service was inattentive because they have a buffet and our "server" only asked us for drinks and gave us the check. Disappointing. Would I go back? Yes, but probably just for dinner.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Prime Rib Perfection.

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Prime Rib Perfection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Proud Place to Eat

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

We find it an extremely nice place to dine. We are proud to call it a place that ranks very high on our list of accomplishments for ourselves. It's like owning a luxury automobile or home that makes you proud of your own accomplishments.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.