About Lawry's The Prime Rib - Dallas

You'll know the moment you arrive that Lawry's The Prime Rib is an extraordinary restaurant. The signature Roasted Prime Ribs of Beef are aged 21 days, rock salt-roasted to perfection then carved to order tableside from shining silver carts. The famous Spinning Bowl Salad, whipped cream horseradish, mashed potatoes, Yorkshire Pudding and warm hospitality complete the experience that has landed Lawry's on countless "10 Best" lists and made it a dining legend since 1938.

14655 Dallas Parkway
Dallas, TX 75254
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Prime Rib, American, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch:
Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm


Dinner:
Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm


Sunday Brunch: 11:00am-2:30pm
Live Music: Thursdays 7-9pm

Cross Street:
Beltline

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(972) 503-6688

Website:
http://www.lawrysonline.com/

Catering:
Full Prime Rib dinners to-go

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Parking

Executive Chef:
Matt Melton

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Lawry's The Prime Rib hosts wine and specialty dinners each month.
Summer Dinner Special for $35.00 from June 1st through June 30th, 2010.
For more details go to http://bit.ly/cvf04e

Specials

$99 Dinner and Drinks for Two

Special valid May 4, 2017 - May 31, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Win a Dinner for Four During Wine Month

Special valid May 5, 2017 - May 31, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

$99 Dinner and Drinks for Two

Special valid May 4, 2017 - May 31, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

Menu includes bottle of Lawry's wine, spinning salad, prime rib or salmon or filet, and duo of cake truffles!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid May 4, 2017 - May 31, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

Win a Dinner for Four During Wine Month

Special valid May 5, 2017 - May 31, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Details

Win a Dinner for Four with wine! You'll receive one entry into the contest for each bottle of Ferrari-Carano you purchase with dinner in May, no limit. Winner will be chosen June 6th. Dinner retail value of $350. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid May 5, 2017 - May 31, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM.

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 8:00PM - 9:00PM

Mon - Wed 11:00AM - 11:15AM 12:15PM - 1:00PM 5:00PM - 5:30PM 7:45PM - 9:30PM

Thu 11:00AM - 11:15AM 12:15PM - 1:00PM 5:00PM - 5:15PM 7:45PM - 9:30PM

Fri 11:00AM - 11:15AM 12:15PM - 1:00PM 5:00PM - 5:00PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Sat 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

Lawry's The Prime Rib is available for nearly any private function from casual luncheons to business dinners to elegant weddings. Delicious food, exceptional hospitality and beautiful surroundings are available during the day for your group of 15 to 150.

Lawry's The Prime Rib - Dallas Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (83)
Good for Anniversaries (68)
Good for a Date (59)
See All
Romantic (53)
Good for Birthdays (52)
Quiet Conversation (43)
Worth the Drive (43)
Business Meals (42)
Good for Groups (28)
Notable Wine List (27)
Great for Lunch (25)
Cozy (21)
Sunday Lunch (21)
Bar Seating (18)
Great for Brunch (18)
Authentic (14)
Comfort Food (14)
Happy Hour (13)
Private Room (11)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Tasting Menu (9)
Historic (9)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Family Style (8)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Casual (7)
Fun (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Late-night Find (6)
Seasonal (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Quick Bite (2)
Scenic View (2)
People Watching (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Fireplace (1)
Live Sports (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
3114 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined 2 days ago

Brad was an impeccable water and the foid was superb!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 2 days ago

We had a slight wait for our table, but the Bar was a great place to wait. The service was first-rate and the prime rib was very tender and cooked to perfection. I would recommend Lawry's to anyone who enjoyed top notch dining!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 3 days ago

Had high expectations, was just ok

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 3 days ago

Briana was an excellent server. Really appreciate her letting us take our time and ensuring our meal was outstanding. Prime rib was really good and we love the Yorkshire pudding and horseradish that is served with it. Wasn't really fond of the mini cakes bits for dessert, but we were full so that was OK.

Tags: Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined 3 days ago

Prime Rib was good but a bit tougher than usual for one of our party. The management quickly & gladly replaced it. The second cut was much better.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 4 days ago

Always a treat!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 4 days ago

Nice dinner. Our waitress, Ashley did a great job.

Very friendly and attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined 5 days ago

It was hamburger Wednesday and they make the "best" hamburgers. You can get it with cheese and all the fixings on a pretzel bun. Your sides can be their fries or vegetables.
Jason our bartender/server is one of the "best" people working at Lawry's!
Hamburger Wednesday should be on everyone's list.

Tags: Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 23, 2017

We have visited before and so we were expecting the same kind of experience- an unforgettable, delicious meal with lovely service and a flawless ambiance.
Unfortunately, that was not our experience tonight.
I ordered a glass of prosecco by brand name and our server didn't know what I was talking about until I said "The prosecco..."
He went to get it for me and ten minutes later returned and said that they were completely out. Very disappointing.
Our appetizers took nearly 30 minutes to arrive, but they were just a shrimp cocktail and a bowl of lobster bisque.
Our food was fair quality. My Chilean sea bass plate was too hot to touch when it arrived (the server gave me the heads up) and was absolutely swimming in grease, I assume from the fingerling potatoes.
The plating was a bit haphazard.
My asparagus was raw- I ate only the tops and they were crunchy and green.
My husband ordered the regular Lawry cut but received a bone with his prime rib, which he hadn't wanted. He found the medium a little too "done" for his liking but next time he'll just order medium rare.
I ordered the ice cream sundae and it came with whole almonds. I asked why when the menu says "sliced almonds", and my server said that their restaurant supplier gives them both at different times and with different orders. Odd.
The restaurant was quite loud. We could clearly hear other tables' conversations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 21, 2017

As usual the food and service was excellent! This is one of our favorite paces to dine! The prime rib was AWESOME. But you expect that. The appetizers and lobster bisque were to die for. One person had a Fillet which was excellent as well!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Always enjoy dinner at this place but tried brunch for the time. Will not be the last.

Tags: Cozy, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Sat on patio & service was horrible. Mr Thompson (an excellent server) stepped in to try & make it better

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Fantastic place, the only reason I do not give it 5 stars on food was the disappointing wedge salad (will go for the spinning bowl salad next time), but everything else was top notch. A bit pricey, but worth it for the best prime rib & outstanding service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 21, 2017

My friend traveled from Akron, Ohio to help me celebrate my birthday, and he had nothing but good thing to say about Lawry's. I've always enjoyed your food, service and atmosphere. We will be back. And please tell our server Anthony GREAT JOB! Thanks :-)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Forget the prime rib (it's good!), the smoked ribeye and filet are AMAZING! It's all I order there now.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Outstanding as usual..prime rib cooked to perfection...Rudy (our carver) is a real gem...Ms. Miller was outstanding as usual. Keeps us coming back each month for the past 30 years.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Excellent ambiance for a business dinner - good acoustics helped the noise level for deep conversation. Waitress was professional and witty and very accommodating. Food was melt in your mouth! Excellent experience.

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Great food AGAIN! Travis was a great server AGAIN, although he was a little busy and forgot a little. Can't wait to come back AGAIN!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Great food, good drinks, excellent service. Celebrated a birthday.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Lawrys always does a great job. Just prepare to be there awhile because it is fine food and service that does take time.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mother's Day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The roast beef was delicious, we were disappointed that they were out of several wines that are on their website wine list. We noted why have a website if it is inaccurate. Get the beef and mashed potatoes, you won't be disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I hadn't been there is a long time. It was better than I remembered. A wonderful dining experience.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 14, 2017

As usual the dinner at Lawry's was awesome! Our waitress was wonderful, attentative and perfect. The food was superb! Our table was ready for us when we arrived for our reservation. Always look forward to going to Lawry's Dallas!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Great for Brunch, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 13, 2017

One of my favs! This restaurant never disappoints.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 11, 2017

we were celebrating a wedding anniversary. Lawry's always does a wonderful meal. No surprises at Lawry's. great prime rib.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Very modest cut on the prime rib. Not worth the money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Prime rib succulent and cooked to perfection...sides superb...salad cool, crisp and colorful...deserts to die for....several dining rooms to choose from....SERVICE was SUPERIOR - The Hostess (Banish) and the Manager (Mike) greet you at the door and make you feel so welcome...Travis Thompson (our waiter) catered to our family's EVERY dining want and need..he left nothing to chance (even arranging to have our car waiting for us as we left the restaurant)...extremely courteous and cordial, and very professional. He is a real asset to Lawry's . He was AMAZING !!! Bus staff always very friendly and very efficient. It's a dining experience we treasure. Keeps us coming back each month for roughly 30 years !!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Customer Service from everybody was excellent. Very friendly, quick and cheerful.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fun, Family Style, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 6, 2017

As always, wonderful meal and atmosphere. Our server, Garrett, was very attentive and knowledgeable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Always a favorite we enjoy the perfectly prepared prime rib with the favorite sides, served in the traditional English manner. Dining room is sophisticated yet comfortable. Wait staff is consistently professional and attentive.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on May 5, 2017

It was delicious as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Could have been outstanding if we did not have to chase down our server. Buffet service, but server was no place to be found.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Plate's are $25+ and we stood in line and ordered from a buffet like a bbq restaurant. Then after having a standing ordering experience we had to find our table and begin the business meeting with the food present.
The menu options from what I could tell by the menu on the wall was prime rib or turkey and a prime rib sandwich. Based on feedback from our party the food was poor. I gave it a 3/10 and a co worker gave it a 2/10. Worst business meeting lunch venue I have ever been a part of.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 1, 2017

The food was great and reasonably priced. I loved that the Prime Rib is carved table side.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 30, 2017

My smoked filet that I ordered cooked medium came out medium rare. I sent it back and about 30 minutes later I got it back overcooked. It was well-done and dry except for the very center which was medium as it should have been to begin with. In other words, 90% of it was overcooked. In the meantime while I was waiting for my steak, my husband had finished his dinner. We essentially ate separately at the same table. My creamed corn got cold while waiting for my steak. Not a good experience. I was offered dessert "to make up for it". How does that make up for a $40 steak being ruined?

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Lawry's is a "FINE" restaurant with excellent Prime Rib as well as salmon, chicken and filet. Their brunch is a real treat with several entrees that come with their famous spinning bowl salad, or lobster bisque or fruit and endless champagne or mimosas. The service is always great and you are NEVER rushed which makes dining a pleasure. We were there for brunch, but their lunch and dinner menus are great, too. I go many times throughout the year for special occasions and have always enjoyed the food and service.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 30, 2017

We were so looking forward to our dinner at Lawry's and what a big disappointment. We most likely will not go back. The service was mediocre at best but the worst part was the food. I can cook better Prime Rib at home for a lot less money. The meat was so fatty and grissely you could hardly eat it. The portion was so small and the baked potato was barely cooked and was barely warm enough to melt the butter. I am not sure what is going on at this restaurant but it was not good. I should have known when we got there at 7:45 p.m. on a Saturday night and the place was not packed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Good service and great food. The prime rib was tender and the starters and sides were all quite good. The best bite, however, was probably the chocolate cake. Would recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Our server Samanantha was phenomenal. She was very engaging and attentive. She was also very funny and hilarious. She made our dining experience wonderful and we will defiantly be back ! We had the lamb chops and it was seasoned well and very tender.

Tags: Modern Decor, Cozy, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Family Style, Good for Groups, Casual, Romantic, Bar Seating, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.