About Lawry's The Prime Rib - Dallas

14655 Dallas Parkway
Dallas, TX 75254
View Larger Map

You'll know the moment you arrive that Lawry's The Prime Rib is an extraordinary restaurant. The signature Roasted Prime Ribs of Beef are aged 21 days, rock salt-roasted to perfection then carved to order tableside from shining silver carts. The famous Spinning Bowl Salad, whipped cream horseradish, mashed potatoes, Yorkshire Pudding and warm hospitality complete the experience that has landed Lawry's on countless "10 Best" lists and made it a dining legend since 1938.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Prime Rib, American, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch:
Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm


Dinner:
Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm


Sunday Brunch: 11:00am-2:30pm
Live Music: Thursdays 7-9pm

Cross Street:
Beltline

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(972) 503-6688

Website:
http://www.lawrysonline.com/

Catering:
Full Prime Rib dinners to-go

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Parking

Executive Chef:
Matt Melton

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Lawry's The Prime Rib hosts wine and specialty dinners each month.
Summer Dinner Special for $35.00 from June 1st through June 30th, 2010.
For more details go to http://bit.ly/cvf04e

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Details
Celebrate your father with a feast fit for a king! We'll make sure your meal is memorable with world-class hospitality and incredible fare.
1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 8:00PM - 9:00PM

Mon - Tue 8:00PM - 9:30PM

Wed - Fri 8:00PM - 9:00PM

Sat 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

Lawry's The Prime Rib is available for nearly any private function from casual luncheons to business dinners to elegant weddings. Delicious food, exceptional hospitality and beautiful surroundings are available during the day for your group of 15 to 150.

Lawry's The Prime Rib - Dallas Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

special occasion (141)
romantic (85)
fit for foodies (55)
See All
notable wine list (48)
good for groups (46)
great for lunch (32)
neighborhood gem (31)
great for brunch (24)
late-night find (13)
great for outdoor dining (10)
vibrant bar scene (8)
hot spot (8)
kid-friendly (6)
scenic view (2)
Sort By:
Newest
2510 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Always enjoyable service and food. Don o ...

vip
Dined 3 days ago

Always enjoyable service and food. Don our waiter was excellent an the food was great. A memorable experience and meal.

food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Our waiter was not great, neither was th ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Our waiter was not great, neither was the large cut of prime rib. But my small, rare cut was delicious as was a friend's sea bass. We ran late arriving and so appreciated that they saved the booth we had requested! We sent an apology e-mail to our friends (due to his unfinished piece of prime rib and waiter) even though we all agreed that it was a lovely place for dinner

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was a great choice for our annivers ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

This was a great choice for our anniversary dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5

Great lunch spot!!

vip
Dined on May 9, 2016

Great lunch spot!!

food4
ambience2
service2
value3

Good Food, Expensive Sides

Dined on May 9, 2016

Prime Rib was very good, however, we felt the cost of the individual sides were expensive considering the portion size which was not sufficient to share.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The restaurant was very busy and there w ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

The restaurant was very busy and there was a little confusion in getting seated, but after we were seated the service was great.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Mother's Day dinner

Dined on May 8, 2016

The food was great! And our waiter Gary was excellent! Thanks again for a wonderful Mother's Day celebration for my wife.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mother's Day

Dined on May 8, 2016

We had a wonderful late lunch with an awesome server. I wish I could remember his name.

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Extremely Slow Service

Dined on May 8, 2016

We went to Lawry's for Mother's Day. It was very busy, which we expected. However, even for such a busy day, we still did not expect such slow service. We were seated at 2:30 and did not get our food until about 4:00. It took so long to take our order, we seriously considered leaving. We have been to Lawry's many times in the past and have always had a good experience. We will probably go back, just not on Mother's Day or any other special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mother's Day 2016

Dined on May 8, 2016

We have been to Lawry's many times through the years. The prime rib was excellent . We both had the English cuts which were served to are liking medium well. The service was good and we had the Texas pecan pie for dessert. All and all a great Mothers Day.

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Great prime rib, but ..

Dined on May 8, 2016

I took my wife for mother’s day lunch this past Sunday; we had reservation for 12:15pm, and were quickly seated. The waiter was friendly and efficient. We ordered lobster bisque and it was disappointing, it would have been better if it was hot. Prime rib is great, tender and juicy.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Great prime rib, service just ok on a busy day

Dined on May 8, 2016

Went to brunch on Mother's Day. It's nice when the servers don't have to write down your order, but even nicer when they get it right. We had to remind ours a couple of times, but she still gave us creamed corn instead of creamed spinach (and charged us for both the creamed corn AND the replacement creamed spinach. ) worst of all was when my wife ordered the coffee ice cream with Godiva chocolate liqueur right off of the dessert menu. The server looked puzzled, read it herself and said "I don't know why it says that, we only have vanilla." No apologies necessary I guess! We still eat there once every couple of years because the prime rib is top drawer, but for a memorable meal, Dallas has much more to offer.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service3

Prime rib, steak and sides consistent as ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Prime rib, steak and sides consistent as always. Was a Little disappointed that brunch was not being served, when I made the Mother's Day reservation the ad said brunch items would be served and when we got there they said they don't serve brunch on "holidays ".

food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Disappointed

Dined on May 8, 2016

The food was undercooked and not hot enough. Everybody was very polite.

food5
ambience5
service1
value3

Lawry's May 7, 2016

Dined on May 8, 2016

We arrived early and went to the bar. The bar service was fine and the drinks were quite good. We were seated at 8:00---the time of our reservation. The restaurant, while somewhat busy, was not "packed." I have eaten at Lawry's several times both in Dallas and in Chicago. I have always had a wonderful experience---until tonight. The food was good as always but the pace on the meal was terrible. There was way too much time between courses and our server seldom made an appearance at the table. Though I have always preferred Lawry's to other high-end beef establishments, there are too many other options in Dallas to tolerate this kind of experience. I WILL recommend Lawry's to a friend but with a caveat. I personally will probably not return to this location but I will not hesitate to go to others in Chicago, Las Vegas or Beverly Hills.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday Dinner

Dined on May 8, 2016

Lawry's has been a favorite of our family for the last 25 years. We have been to the Dallas and Las Vegas locations and have always been happy with our service, meal, and ambience. My husband and I celebrated my birthday this last visit and, again, we were not disappointed! We plan to celebrate our anniversary there in July! We would visit more often, but we live in Oklahoma. Love our Lawry's!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love that Prime Rib ans steak

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

I love the prime rib..wife loves the steak...always cooked to perfection..sides are wonderful...salads are cool, crisp and colorful...unlimited wine and beverage list...deserts to die for 9 i like the carrot cake , wife likes the banana creme pie)...service is supernatural (starting with Nicole, the Manager)...wait staff cater to your every dining want and need (Ms. Miller is the BEST)...bus staff always friendly and very efficient. it's a dining experience we always treasure.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Classic and Quaint

Dined on May 7, 2016

It is a nice place to dine for those special occasions, like an anniversary, birthday, or graduation. I would not go here for just an casual dinner, but that is just my personal opinion. The food was good, the service was great, but it was really slow when I went. I would definitely go back for another special occasion and recommend it to others for theirs.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great, but not quite like the one in Beverly Hills

Dined on May 4, 2016

The experience at the Dallas Lawry's was great, but not quite like the one in Beverly Hills. Our server and master carver were very friendly. They have been open about 3 years. The prime rib and sides were perfect, as usual. Although, you had to choose an a la carte salad. After flying into Dallas, I wanted to enjoy a cocktail in the bar, but we were taken directly into the dining area. I was too tired to remember I wanted to do that. Even though the server stated, 'no rush to order', I still felt like I needed to order my meal because I was in the dining area. Overall, the meal and CC Brown's Hot Fudge Sundae were the crowning point! Still glad I live in SoCal tho!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food2
ambience4
service4

Food was terrible! I ordered a steak and ...

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

Food was terrible! I ordered a steak and was terrible. I had to send it back and get the prime rib. The prime rib was very fatty. I was very disappointed.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Good food as Always

Dined on April 28, 2016

We dined in the bar for the Thursday Rib special. Our server was attentive as always & food was good!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A very Nice experience. Good food. Great ...

Dined on April 27, 2016

A very Nice experience. Good food. Great service. Will go again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Prime Rib in all of Dallas

vip
Dined on April 27, 2016

Wife and I celebrated our lives together for over 47 years. Lawry's was the place to go. Prime rib was outstanding..cooked to perfection..sides were sensational...salads cool, crisp and colorful...deserts to die for. ...unlimited wine and beverage list..service was outstanding (ask for Ms. Miller - she will cater to your every dining want and need)..bus staff friendly and very efficient... great food and great service ...we'll be back !!!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

ANNIVERSARY

vip
Dined on April 25, 2016

The restaurant is definitely a SPECIAL OCCASION place because I think it is too expensive except for a Special Occasion. The cream corn is to die for!

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great brunch

Dined on April 24, 2016

Very good food and relaxed atmosphere, especially for Sunday brunch. We'd been there before in the evening and enjoyed going for brunch a great deal.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

scott

Dined on April 23, 2016

very relaxed and peaceful atmosphere, no need to speak up to communicate with others at your table. The prime rib was very good although the small cuts were pricy for what was served. I will go back , like to try their steaks and lobster tail.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Service

Dined on April 23, 2016

I had found a gift certificate from a former employer that had a date of 1998. I called Lawry's to see if by any chance it was still good. Michael Hollis, the manager did some checking and I was told it was still good. Surprise! The entire dining experience was absolutely wonderful. We were very warmly greeted and sat. Our waiter, Anthony was beyond reproach in his attention to our needs. After we had ordered, Michael came over and greeted us. And again as we were getting ready to leave he came back over to see if everything had been good. Told him it was excellent and we would be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

Not as good as it usually is

Dined on April 23, 2016

Usually it's a lot better as I love their prime rib. But the food was so-so and service was slow. I'll chalk it up to it just being an off night but it was definitely a disappointment.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Don't get the first cut of the night!

Dined on April 23, 2016

My wife got the regular cut (medium) and I got the double cut (medium rare). Both of them were end pieces with lot's of bark and fat. I would have complained but didn't want to ruin the evening.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Consistancy is back

Dined on April 17, 2016

A couple of years ago the consistence started waning here. Go in one time fantastic - next time, Mhe... Never bad just kind of hit or miss. Been back several times in the last year and they seem to be firing on all cylinders. Really the perfect spot for Prime Rib or steaks with an old school ambience. You can actually have a conversation with your guests even if the room is packed. QUIET. So, great for biz or romance

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

A little disappointed.

Dined on April 16, 2016

Our waiter was too talkative and interruptive, our asparagus side was served so early it was cold. The floors were so slippery my wife almost fell even with my support, no alcohol involved. The prime rib was excellent the rest of the meal very average. I doubt we will return

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best steaks and prime rib and service

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

Wife loves the steak and i love the prime rib..both cooked to perfection..just the way we like it. sides are superior..salads cool crisp and colorful...unlimited wine and beverage list...deserts to die for (banana creme and pecan pie are our favorites)..SERVICE is always supernatural starting with Nicole (The Manager) who always makes us feel like part of the Lawry's family...she is a real GEM...to the wait staff (ask for Ms. Miller..she is the best) to the bus staff who are always so friendly and efficient...to the hostesses who greet you at the door and make us feel so welcome. it's a dining experience we trasure...it keeps us coming back each month for the past 28 years.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Servers

Dined on April 14, 2016

Everyone of them did their job superbly. Any raises promotions, bonus are in order to your wonderful staff.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday Celebration

Dined on April 9, 2016

It was great as always. The server was helpful and personable and checked back with us just the right amount of times. I appreciate the fact that they offer a lighter cut of prime rib for those people that want to eat a smaller portion. Love the ambiance and the food was tasty as always.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

OUTSTANDING STEAKS AND XERVICE

vip
Dined on April 9, 2016

OUR STEAKS WERE COOKED TO PERFECTION....SPINNING BOWL SALAD WAS COOL, CRISP AND COLORFUL...UNLIMITED WINE AND BEVERAGE LIST...DESERTS TO DIE FOR....SERVICE IS ALWAYS SUPERNATURAL...STARTING WITH NICOLE, THE MANAGER, WHO IS WONDERFUL..TO THE WAIT STAFF (MS. MILLER IS A GEM)..TO THE BUS STAFF WHO ARE FRIENDLY AND EFFICIENT..THE HOSTESSES ALWAYS MAKE US FEEL SPECIAL. IT'S A DINING EXPERIENCE WE TREASURE...KEEPS US COMING BACK EACH MONTH FOR THE PAST 29 YEARS !!!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

YUM!

Dined on April 8, 2016

As always, the food was superb; the staff attentive, but not overly so. Expensive, but worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Lawry's is a favorite of ours and we go ...

Dined on April 3, 2016

Lawry's is a favorite of ours and we go there every time we want a great experience. The food is always excellent and the service never disappoints.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lawry's The Prime Rib - Never Disappointed

Dined on April 3, 2016

The evening was great. Food was outstandin g and the service was attentive and friendly

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Traditional Meal

Dined on April 2, 2016

The service was excellent and the meat was cooked perfectly. The sides were good. Each person is allotted one slice of fairly ordinary bread. A selection of rolls and an offer to refilll the basket would be nice. The atmosphere is classy and classic. A nice evening but feel like it was just a little over-priced.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

best steak and prime rib in Dallas

vip
Dined on April 2, 2016

food was outstanding...service was superior....we do miss Nicole (The Manager) when she is not there. She always makes us feel like part of the Lawry's family.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.