About Lawry's The Prime Rib - Dallas

You'll know the moment you arrive that Lawry's The Prime Rib is an extraordinary restaurant. The signature Roasted Prime Ribs of Beef are aged 21 days, rock salt-roasted to perfection then carved to order tableside from shining silver carts. The famous Spinning Bowl Salad, whipped cream horseradish, mashed potatoes, Yorkshire Pudding and warm hospitality complete the experience that has landed Lawry's on countless "10 Best" lists and made it a dining legend since 1938.

14655 Dallas Parkway
Dallas, TX 75254
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Prime Rib, American, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch:
Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm


Dinner:
Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm


Sunday Brunch: 11:00am-2:30pm
Live Music: Thursdays 7-9pm

Cross Street:
Beltline

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(972) 503-6688

Website:
http://www.lawrysonline.com/

Catering:
Full Prime Rib dinners to-go

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Parking

Executive Chef:
Matt Melton

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Lawry's The Prime Rib hosts wine and specialty dinners each month.
Summer Dinner Special for $35.00 from June 1st through June 30th, 2010.
For more details go to http://bit.ly/cvf04e

Specials

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Details

Gather friends and loved ones to celebrate Easter with an unforgettable meal with world-class service.

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Details

Treat Mom to an unforgettable meal with the world-class hospitality she deserves!

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 8:00PM - 9:00PM

Mon - Wed 11:00AM - 11:15AM 12:15PM - 1:00PM 5:00PM - 5:30PM 7:45PM - 9:30PM

Thu 11:00AM - 11:15AM 12:15PM - 1:00PM 5:00PM - 5:15PM 7:45PM - 9:30PM

Fri 11:00AM - 11:15AM 12:15PM - 1:00PM 5:00PM - 5:00PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Sat 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

Lawry's The Prime Rib is available for nearly any private function from casual luncheons to business dinners to elegant weddings. Delicious food, exceptional hospitality and beautiful surroundings are available during the day for your group of 15 to 150.

Lawry's The Prime Rib - Dallas Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (92)
Special Occasion (92)
Good for a Date (69)
See All
Romantic (66)
Quiet Conversation (56)
Business Meals (52)
Good for Birthdays (52)
Worth the Drive (45)
Notable Wine List (31)
Cozy (30)
Good for Groups (25)
Sunday Lunch (18)
Authentic (18)
Bar Seating (18)
Great for Lunch (14)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Great for Brunch (13)
Outstanding Value (13)
Comfort Food (10)
Historic (10)
Paleo Friendly (10)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Happy Hour (10)
Private Room (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Seasonal (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
Fun (6)
Casual (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Family Style (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
People Watching (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Local Ingredients (3)
Fireplace (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Scenic View (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Live Sports (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Healthy (1)
Great Beer (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Sort By:
S
3039 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 2 days ago

The portions are alot smaller than I remembered. Ordered the California cut and got a 1/4 inch piece of prime rib. I used to get at least 1/2 an inch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined 2 days ago

Waiter was awesome and good food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined 3 days ago

This is the first time we have been disappointed with our visit in over 25 years of dining at Lawry's.

Our prime rib was cut by a carver I have never seen before and our Lawry's cut was about 1/2 thick. Then it gets even thinner at the end of the cut because of the bone.

After telling our waiter that our favorite part of the whole meal is the Yorkshire pudding, he arrives at our table as we start enjoying the prime rib to tell us it will be 10 minutes for the next batch to come out of the oven. We would have waited for the meat if we had known that. By the time it arrived, we had only a few bites of meat left. Not the typical meal we enjoy so much.

We are VIP Rewards members and visit Lawry's almost monthly.

Also, PLEASE bring back the peas!!!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 3 days ago

First timer. Service was great and so was the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined 4 days ago

Kristina was awesome. Food was great a usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 4 days ago

Very nice evening and dinner. Good service. Food good. Very pricy.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 4 days ago

Everything was delicious! I have not had prime rib that tasted as good as the one I had from Lawry's in a long time. The service was great, the atmosphere was also great. If I had to find something to "complain" about, I'd have to say that I thought the food was a bit pricey so it's not the kind of restaurant that I'd go to often but it's great for a special occasion.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 21, 2017

We love Lawry's...always great food! Lawry's is especially a great place for special occasions.

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Our server, I believe her name was Nora, has been with Lawry's for 23 years, and she made our visit even more personal and enjoyable. We enjoyed our evening very much.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 18, 2017

The service was OUTSTANDING. While the food was not HOT, it was somewhat tasty. I was disappointed with my side dishes. I paid $14 for a spoon of corn and spinach - REALLY? I enjoyed the spinach. It just was not enough for the price. I thought it would have least been served on a small platter where I could have shared it... I have been here for lunch. I think I like this place for a lunch gathering better - the buffet.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Hostess was trying to put us I'm bar area after as a VIP member I had asked for main dining room and a table not a booth. I had to stop her and she did put us in main room. We had a grandchild with us and the food is excellent. Hollie was a great server and we were very happy after being seated. Steve the manager came by table tocheck on us and that was appreciated.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Excellent food, excellent service. Not much more to say, as that sums it up.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Had a great time and great food for my Grandson's 14 birthday. They made him feel like he was a young adult not just a kid. Thanks for memory.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Last Friday March 17th at my daughter's birthday request we reserved dinner for the Fish and Chips. We were celebrating with her aunt and uncle. We are all regular customers with Lawry's and have celebrated numerous holidays, special family days and when we wanted prime rib. You can look back on our visit and find our memberships have been established for years.

The Friday special we were looking forward to trying because we love fish and chips. I have to say it was one of the most horrible meals we have experienced anywhere in a long time. Very little fish, too much batter and very chewy. The portions where not acceptable. If your going to skimp Lawry's is not the establishment to do so. You will not bring in new clients with that type of food quality. If your doing it for established clients via email advertisement then you have let down very loyal customers.

I can speak on behalf of my family (Wood) and our extended family (Baranowski) we were extremely disappointed.

This is no reflection on the waiter. His service was good. I did have to request malt vinegar and the bottle was maybe 1/4 full.

I request a patio table upon making reservations and was lead to the lunch dining area. Even after asking about the patio upon arrival.

At this point in time I question if we will return again let alone recommend Lawry's.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service4
value1

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 17, 2017

i have been going to Lawry's Dallas since the original location on Maple many years ago and nothing has changed .....all the great service and servers and food are are still top notch.....

Tags: Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Live Sports, Wood Oven, Paleo Friendly, Local Ingredients, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Good food. Service was slow. Hostess does not know how to treat OpenTable customers. For a business meeting they sat us at a very uncomfortable table asked to be switched. Got placed at a round table but placed by noisy kitchen area. Love The Lawrys in Beverly Hills the one in Dallas needs work.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Excellent food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Excellent food, ambiance and service. The best prime rib in the country!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Very good service and very good food. We were seated right on time and the server made an excellent wine suggestion for the table.

Tags: Business Meals, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 12, 2017

One disappointment we encountered was that we had a 7:30 reservation and arrived at 7;00. Early, so we told the girl at that was seating people we would wait in the bar. So, waiting until almost 7:45 I went back to her and said has our reservation been forgotten about ? She said oh I'm sorry I was running an errand. I was watching her and she was busy seating other customer!!! Very disappointing! She had blonde hair. Food was good and perfect touch was the waiter brought us a complementary dessert as we were there for our 34th anniversary.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Excellent prime rib an wine dinner special - Food and drink were excellent - Service was superior. A wonderful dining experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 9, 2017

I went to Lawry's for my birthday. I did not volunteer this information but no one asked what brought us in.
We ordered rare and it was perfectly prepared. We also ordered asparagus and it was cold and the hollandaise sauce was broken.
The service was efficient . The atmosphere was typical steak house decor, dark paneling , no natural light.
Overall, a decent dining experience.

Tags: Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 7, 2017

I use to frequent this establishment when it was located near downtown Dallas several years ago. It was EXQUISITE! Now that it has moved off the Toll Road, it comes no where NEAR the way it was. The prime rib was 'served' to you before versus you having to 'stand' in line like a cafeteria. The cream spinach was absolutely horrible. I thought it was just me, but my other three guests said it was bad as well. The salt and pepper caddy was filthy and past tarnished. At one time NO jeans were allowed and gentlemen had to were jackets. If they arrived without a jacket or not familiar with the dress code, one was provided by the restaurant. There were jeans every where on this visit. Small children were also present and one in a high chair. This restaurant has totally lost my respect and rating as the finest place to dine for prime rib. Those were the good old days...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Great traditional prime rib. Spinning salad is a a must. Nice quiet atmosphere. You can actually converse during a scrumptious dinner. Loved it!

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Paleo Friendly, Disabled Access, Cozy, Special Occasion, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 5, 2017

First, I will say I have been enjoying Lawry's in Beverly Hills for over 30 years as a special event location for my family. Other than the name and the silver carving carts for the prime rib I see no resemblance. I think they should actually rename this location Larry's.

First, the prime rib was under seasoned and bland and, typically was handcarved to get rid of the fat and this was not done by the Carver. Second the pricing is unbelievably high for the quality of the food and quantity served. A side order (which literally was about a third of a cup) of cream spinach was $7 The mashed potatoes were not nearly as silky and smooth and creamy as the original and were more room temperature than hot. We did not get our Yorkshire pudding until halfway through our meal.

Another thing that was frustrating is how they handled the situation when a full glass of champagne that spelled (granted it was my fault for reaching across the table) and they asked if I would like another which I excepted; I did not expect that I would be charged for the second class. Certainly it was not their fault it's spilled but traditionally I have found that fine dining establishments and good servers will replace it. This is hardly a big deal in the overall evening but since everything else was just so mediocre this just added to the disappointing evening.

Overall for three people with one appetizer, two salads, prime rib with one glass of wine and two champagnes was close to $300. I Will not be back anytime soon. Also we've mentioned it before that they really need the tasty meat balls that are served in the BH lounge! I don't mind if the quality is outstanding; However this was not the case. Disappointing for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Great food and service. will be back in April. Thanks

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 4, 2017

exceptional quality and value. Prime rib cooked to perfection....wine was superior...deserts to die for....service was supernatural..The wait staff (Travis Thompson was our server) catered to our every dining want and need...bus staff friendly and very efficient...Karen (the Manager) stopped by our table and always makes us feel like a part of the Lawry's family....The Hostesses greet you at the door and make you feel so welcome...It's a dining experience we treasure. Keeps us coming back each month since 1987 !!!

Tags: Private Room, Romantic, Outstanding Value, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 4, 2017

This was a spur of the moment celebration and I was excited to be able to get reservations on a Friday night. Brad, our server, was awesome! Friendly, knowledgeable and very personable. Too bad we have to wait for another special occasion to return!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Enjoyable evening with good quality food selection , presentation and food. Our server, Al, was exceptional.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 4, 2017

We went on Friday to sample the Fish and Chips special. The wait for the fried fish was longer than we would have expected for this dish. The fish was prepared well, but was a bit greasy as well as the fries(chips). The fish portion was average, the chips portion was small. Not sure if I would try this dish again but will be coming back to try the burger special on Wednesdays.

Tags: Romantic, Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Comparing to the Beverly Hills and Las Vegas location, this one was by far the worst. Even Lawry's Carvery locations in California have better food.

Medium Rare looked more medium and the meat isn't as tender as the prime rib you would get at other Lawry's locations. It was "good" for something you would get from a casino buffet but when comparing to other Lawry's, it was like comparing beef that cuts like butter to trying to eat beef jerky.

In addition the spinning salad bowl isn't included, however, the price of the dinner is cheaper so in the end it comes out to the same when comparing prices to other Lawry's.

Also they forgot the croutons for the salad and had to ask for them.

Also the Yorkshire Pudding wasn't light and fluffy like the ones you would get at the Beverly Hills / Las Vegas locations. It's more doughy.

If you never been to another Lawry's location, you'll probably enjoy your meal. However, if you are expecting the higher quality meal that is comparable to Lawry's Beverly Hills and Las Vegas locations... you'll be greatly disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Brunch was fantastic! Lovely dining area and excellent service

Tags: Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Wood paneled old school restaurant. Excellent service. Seeing the carts roll around with prime rib and sides are fun for out of towners or guests. Nice place to visit once in awhile but I would get bored visiting regularly.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Enjoyed the evening. Food was delicious and service was excellent.
MBBJ

Tags: Family Style, Special Occasion, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Steaks were a little rare for our taste...everything else was wonderful...the server we had was EXCELLENT..she explained everything to us and wished my husband a Happy Birthday...very warm and comfortable surroundings

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 25, 2017

This was my first time coming here to eat, and after the wonderful experience I had, I'll defintely be back! The food was AMAZING!! So tasty!! And my server, Travis was exceptional!! The food is a bit costly, but it's a nice treat for an every once in awhile occasion, and to be honest, the cost is well worth it!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Food and service was outstanding! Atmosphere is very traditional with rich colors with modest noise level which is perfect for good conversation. If Prime Rib is your thing, this is one of the best!

Tags: People Watching, Special Occasion, Authentic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Very nice well cooked meat

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Excellent meal. Great server and very attentive. Exceeded all our expectations. Friendly and helpful staff. We highly recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Always enjoy eating at Lawry's. the food is excellent and service superb. Lunch offers several options as well as the famous Prime Rib. It is a quiet place for conversations as well.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.