About Lawry's The Prime Rib - Dallas

14655 Dallas Parkway
Dallas, TX 75254
View Larger Map

You'll know the moment you arrive that Lawry's The Prime Rib is an extraordinary restaurant. The signature Roasted Prime Ribs of Beef are aged 21 days, rock salt-roasted to perfection then carved to order tableside from shining silver carts. The famous Spinning Bowl Salad, whipped cream horseradish, mashed potatoes, Yorkshire Pudding and warm hospitality complete the experience that has landed Lawry's on countless "10 Best" lists and made it a dining legend since 1938.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Prime Rib, American, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch:
Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm


Dinner:
Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm


Sunday Brunch: 11:00am-2:30pm
Live Music: Thursdays 7-9pm

Cross Street:
Beltline

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(972) 503-6688

Website:
http://www.lawrysonline.com/

Catering:
Full Prime Rib dinners to-go

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Parking

Executive Chef:
Matt Melton

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Lawry's The Prime Rib hosts wine and specialty dinners each month.
Summer Dinner Special for $35.00 from June 1st through June 30th, 2010.
For more details go to http://bit.ly/cvf04e

Restaurant Photos

Prime Rib - Lawry's Cut
Original Spinning Bowl Salad
Yorkshire Pudding
Merlot
Prime Rib with Calimari, Onions etc.
Capuchino
Prime Rib, Mashed Potatoes, Yorkshire Pudding, Creamed Corn
Lobster Tail
Mushroom Skillet
Ribeye Steak
Filet Oscar
Chocolate Cake A La Mode
Carrot Cake
Prime Rib
Potatoe Chips

Private Dining

Lawry's The Prime Rib is available for nearly any private function from casual luncheons to business dinners to elegant weddings. Delicious food, exceptional hospitality and beautiful surroundings are available during the day for your group of 15 to 150.

Lawry's The Prime Rib - Dallas Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Dallas - Fort Worth
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Dallas
Best Restaurants in North Dallas / Addison ›

special occasion (134)
romantic (80)
fit for foodies (48)
See All
notable wine list (43)
good for groups (42)
great for lunch (30)
neighborhood gem (25)
great for brunch (23)
late-night find (13)
great for outdoor dining (12)
hot spot (10)
vibrant bar scene (9)
kid-friendly (6)
scenic view (2)
Sort By:
Newest
2537 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server, Matthew, was excellent, as w ...

Dined 3 days ago

Our server, Matthew, was excellent, as well as the meal. Being our first time at a Lawry's we really enjoyed the rib carts and spinning salad. Our carver/chef was great. I ordered flowers through the open table reservation and they were beautiful. Many of the staff stopped by our table to comment on them.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4

Excellent food

Dined 4 days ago

Excellent food

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was outstanding. Our server was eff ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Food was outstanding. Our server was efficient, very cordial nod accommodating. Very enjoyable evening

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Have been here many times for special oc ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Have been here many times for special occasions. Best prime rib in Dallas. Love the spinning salad & the Yorkshire pudding is wonderful!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Very old school which I love. Food is al ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Very old school which I love. Food is always near perfect. My go to place for Father's Day every year. Brunch is also spectacular. Highly recommend Lawry's if you like prime rib!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

We came here for Father's Day Lunch. The ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

We came here for Father's Day Lunch. They have on their website as brunch on Sundays, but when we arrived they stated they serve a normal dinner menu on holidays. So no brunch fare, no unlimited mimosas. The other issue was still about disclosure. They offered sides at that the waiter told us we could ask for when the carver came by. Little did he mention that they were an additional $7 per person extra, each side. For a miserably small portion. I frequent a lot of high end steak places, all of which disclose the a la carte nature much better, with a good portion. Not a small ramekin of creamed corn. And then there's the complimentary valet for a parking lot that was only Lawry's and also pretty empty. That should have been the warning for "they're going to try to nickel and dime us here".

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a 7:45 PM reservation. We checked ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

We had a 7:45 PM reservation. We checked in at 7:30 PM. We did not get seated till 8:35 PM.

food3
ambience4
service3
value3

I was a bit disappointed, we remember a ...

vip
Dined on June 19, 2016

I was a bit disappointed, we remember a great mean when Lawrys was located on Cedar Springs. It doesn't have the polish the better steakhouses in Dallas now offer. Service was average.

Tags: special occasion
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Waiter not good, food just so so,tables ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Waiter not good, food just so so,tables there with small children and babies crying, not very classy place anymore.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Only complaint is excessive noise. Coul ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Only complaint is excessive noise. Couldn't hear across our table without talking very loudly. Kind of obnoxious. Food was excellent, as always.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is the best restaurant I have eaten ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

This is the best restaurant I have eaten at in years. My daughter and I were in Dallas on a shopping trip and picked this restaurant because my daughter had eaten at the one in Las Vegas. We will definately go again when in Dallas. The atmosphere was very old style steakhouse with leather chairs and white tableclothes. There was soft music and we cold talk without shouting. Loved it.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Food and service were exceptional. ..

Dined on June 11, 2016

Food and service were exceptional. ..

food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Lucy Finger

Dined on June 8, 2016

I noted it was my husband's birthday. We arrived a little early & gave our name to Hostess. She walked us toward dining room. She leaned into doorway, pointed, and said if you want a booth you can sit there or if you want a table you can sit there & walked away. At end of meal, our server was promoting their membership & its benefits at birthday time. I said - it's my husband's birthday. He said he didn't know. I told him I noted it on my Open Table reservation. He asked - are you Lucy? I said yes. He said -well, the hostess never checked you in, so we thought you were a No Show. End of his engagement, VERY DISAPPOINTING!

food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Business Celebration Lunch

vip
Dined on June 7, 2016

It's *expensive* at lunch but this was a special occasion. $5 a side adds up. But the food is good and it was full of important-looking men doing deals at lunch, so we fit in. Service was inattentive because they have a buffet and our "server" only asked us for drinks and gave us the check. Disappointing. Would I go back? Yes, but probably just for dinner.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

Prime Rib Perfection.

vip
Dined on June 5, 2016

Prime Rib Perfection.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Proud Place to Eat

Dined on June 3, 2016

We find it an extremely nice place to dine. We are proud to call it a place that ranks very high on our list of accomplishments for ourselves. It's like owning a luxury automobile or home that makes you proud of your own accomplishments.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner at Lawry's

vip
Dined on June 1, 2016

Wednesday night at Lawry's is for one main reason only................their hamburgers on a pretzel bun with the truffle french fries. It is the Wednesday night special. They have them on other days too though. They cook the burgers just right and you add a little of the whipped horseradish and all I can say is, "YUM".

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of our All-time Favorites!!

Dined on May 29, 2016

We have enjoyed eating at Lawry's Beverly Hills for over 30 years. A few years ago, we moved to the DFW area, and have been able to enjoy Lawry's Dallas. Even though it is a 1 hour drive from where we now live, it is worth it. The food is just as good as always, and there are even several additions to the menu that the Beverly Hills location doesn't offer. This is a smaller location in Dallas, and isn't Beverly Hills, but it is still an enjoyable Lawry's experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

spectacular Sunday Brunch

vip
Dined on May 29, 2016

Wife and I had special Sunday brunch...unlimited mimosas (2 is our limit) salad cool,crisp and colorful, prime rib cooked to perfection, sides were excellent and deserts to die for. SERVICE was supernatural starting with Nicole (the Manager) who always makes us feel like a part of the Lawry's Family...we just love her !!!!..hostesses make you feel so welcome (Colleen is a gem)..bus staff is so friendly and efficient. Don (our server) was excellent. It's a dining experience we continue to treasure ( and keeps us coming back each month since 1987) !!!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Favorite

Dined on May 29, 2016

I have enjoyed eating at both this and the location on Maple. Took my fiancé to dinner there way back when. We have been together for over 30 years.....And we will be back for many more.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

Very disappointing

Dined on May 29, 2016

Chefs cannot cook a steak properly, 2 steaks ordered med. rare were served med. well. Prime rib ordered medium rare was also over done. Management did nothing to make experience better. will not go back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nobody does Prime Rib like Lawry's

vip
Dined on May 24, 2016

Took a friend who hadn't been and the experience was outstanding. Attentive service from Travis and Aurelio and the prime rib was absolutely perfect and tender.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Always enjoyable service and food. Don o ...

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

Always enjoyable service and food. Don our waiter was excellent an the food was great. A memorable experience and meal.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was very good, food was delicio ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Service was very good, food was delicious and just what we expected as well as reasonably priced. Nice quiet atmosphere.

Tags: special occasion
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Our waiter was not great, neither was th ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Our waiter was not great, neither was the large cut of prime rib. But my small, rare cut was delicious as was a friend's sea bass. We ran late arriving and so appreciated that they saved the booth we had requested! We sent an apology e-mail to our friends (due to his unfinished piece of prime rib and waiter) even though we all agreed that it was a lovely place for dinner

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was a great choice for our annivers ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

This was a great choice for our anniversary dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lawry's is always wonderful.

Dined on May 12, 2016

We always go to Lawry's for special occasions and when we simply want the best possible prime rib.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience3
service5

Great lunch spot!!

vip
Dined on May 9, 2016

Great lunch spot!!

food4
ambience2
service2
value3

Good Food, Expensive Sides

Dined on May 9, 2016

Prime Rib was very good, however, we felt the cost of the individual sides were expensive considering the portion size which was not sufficient to share.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The restaurant was very busy and there w ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

The restaurant was very busy and there was a little confusion in getting seated, but after we were seated the service was great.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Prime rib is always excellent! Great re ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Prime rib is always excellent! Great restaurant for special occasions. The main dining room has more atmosphere than the spaces off the bar area.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Mother's Day dinner

Dined on May 8, 2016

The food was great! And our waiter Gary was excellent! Thanks again for a wonderful Mother's Day celebration for my wife.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mother's Day

Dined on May 8, 2016

We had a wonderful late lunch with an awesome server. I wish I could remember his name.

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Extremely Slow Service

Dined on May 8, 2016

We went to Lawry's for Mother's Day. It was very busy, which we expected. However, even for such a busy day, we still did not expect such slow service. We were seated at 2:30 and did not get our food until about 4:00. It took so long to take our order, we seriously considered leaving. We have been to Lawry's many times in the past and have always had a good experience. We will probably go back, just not on Mother's Day or any other special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mother's Day 2016

Dined on May 8, 2016

We have been to Lawry's many times through the years. The prime rib was excellent . We both had the English cuts which were served to are liking medium well. The service was good and we had the Texas pecan pie for dessert. All and all a great Mothers Day.

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Great prime rib, but ..

Dined on May 8, 2016

I took my wife for mother’s day lunch this past Sunday; we had reservation for 12:15pm, and were quickly seated. The waiter was friendly and efficient. We ordered lobster bisque and it was disappointing, it would have been better if it was hot. Prime rib is great, tender and juicy.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Great prime rib, service just ok on a busy day

Dined on May 8, 2016

Went to brunch on Mother's Day. It's nice when the servers don't have to write down your order, but even nicer when they get it right. We had to remind ours a couple of times, but she still gave us creamed corn instead of creamed spinach (and charged us for both the creamed corn AND the replacement creamed spinach. ) worst of all was when my wife ordered the coffee ice cream with Godiva chocolate liqueur right off of the dessert menu. The server looked puzzled, read it herself and said "I don't know why it says that, we only have vanilla." No apologies necessary I guess! We still eat there once every couple of years because the prime rib is top drawer, but for a memorable meal, Dallas has much more to offer.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service3

Prime rib, steak and sides consistent as ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Prime rib, steak and sides consistent as always. Was a Little disappointed that brunch was not being served, when I made the Mother's Day reservation the ad said brunch items would be served and when we got there they said they don't serve brunch on "holidays ".

food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Disappointed

Dined on May 8, 2016

The food was undercooked and not hot enough. Everybody was very polite.

food5
ambience5
service1
value3

Lawry's May 7, 2016

Dined on May 8, 2016

We arrived early and went to the bar. The bar service was fine and the drinks were quite good. We were seated at 8:00---the time of our reservation. The restaurant, while somewhat busy, was not "packed." I have eaten at Lawry's several times both in Dallas and in Chicago. I have always had a wonderful experience---until tonight. The food was good as always but the pace on the meal was terrible. There was way too much time between courses and our server seldom made an appearance at the table. Though I have always preferred Lawry's to other high-end beef establishments, there are too many other options in Dallas to tolerate this kind of experience. I WILL recommend Lawry's to a friend but with a caveat. I personally will probably not return to this location but I will not hesitate to go to others in Chicago, Las Vegas or Beverly Hills.

Tags: special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.