About Lawry's The Prime Rib - Dallas

14655 Dallas Parkway
Dallas, TX 75254
View Larger Map

You'll know the moment you arrive that Lawry's The Prime Rib is an extraordinary restaurant. The signature Roasted Prime Ribs of Beef are aged 21 days, rock salt-roasted to perfection then carved to order tableside from shining silver carts. The famous Spinning Bowl Salad, whipped cream horseradish, mashed potatoes, Yorkshire Pudding and warm hospitality complete the experience that has landed Lawry's on countless "10 Best" lists and made it a dining legend since 1938.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Prime Rib, American, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch:
Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm


Dinner:
Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm


Sunday Brunch: 11:00am-2:30pm
Live Music: Thursdays 7-9pm

Cross Street:
Beltline

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(972) 503-6688

Website:
http://www.lawrysonline.com/

Catering:
Full Prime Rib dinners to-go

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Parking

Executive Chef:
Matt Melton

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Lawry's The Prime Rib hosts wine and specialty dinners each month.
Summer Dinner Special for $35.00 from June 1st through June 30th, 2010.
For more details go to http://bit.ly/cvf04e

Restaurant Photos

Prime Rib - Lawry's Cut - Lawry's The Prime Rib - Dallas, Dallas, TX
Original Spinning Bowl Salad - Lawry's The Prime Rib - Dallas, Dallas, TX
Yorkshire Pudding - Lawry's The Prime Rib - Dallas, Dallas, TX
Merlot - Lawry's The Prime Rib - Dallas, Dallas, TX
Prime Rib with Calimari, Onions etc. - Lawry's The Prime Rib - Dallas, Dallas, TX
Capuchino - Lawry's The Prime Rib - Dallas, Dallas, TX
Prime Rib, Mashed Potatoes, Yorkshire Pudding, Creamed Corn - Lawry's The Prime Rib - Dallas, Dallas, TX
Lobster Tail - Lawry's The Prime Rib - Dallas, Dallas, TX
Mushroom Skillet - Lawry's The Prime Rib - Dallas, Dallas, TX
Ribeye Steak - Lawry's The Prime Rib - Dallas, Dallas, TX
Filet Oscar - Lawry's The Prime Rib - Dallas, Dallas, TX
Carrot Cake - Lawry's The Prime Rib - Dallas, Dallas, TX
Chocolate Cake A La Mode - Lawry's The Prime Rib - Dallas, Dallas, TX
Prime Rib - Lawry's The Prime Rib - Dallas, Dallas, TX
Potatoe Chips - Lawry's The Prime Rib - Dallas, Dallas, TX

Private Dining

Lawry's The Prime Rib is available for nearly any private function from casual luncheons to business dinners to elegant weddings. Delicious food, exceptional hospitality and beautiful surroundings are available during the day for your group of 15 to 150.

Lawry's The Prime Rib - Dallas Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Special Occasion
Dallas
Best Restaurants in North Dallas / Addison ›

Special Occasion (72)
Romantic (49)
Good for a Date (43)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (40)
Good for Birthdays (39)
Business Meals (28)
Quiet Conversation (26)
Good for Groups (23)
Notable Wine List (20)
Worth the Drive (20)
Fit for Foodies (18)
Great for Lunch (17)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Comfort Food (14)
Cozy (13)
Outstanding Value (13)
Authentic (11)
Historic (10)
Fun (8)
Seasonal (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Great for Brunch (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Family Style (6)
Private Room (5)
Casual (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
People Watching (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Fireplace (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Live Sports (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
2677 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

A wonderful place to gather with friends ...

 
·Dined on November 26, 2016

A wonderful place to gather with friends to have a GREAT Prime Rib dinner with side dishes that are mouth watering delicious! Thank you for a really nice evening.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Private Room, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The prime rib, filet and salmon redeemed ...

 
·Dined on November 26, 2016

The prime rib, filet and salmon redeemed our choice to visit this restaurant.

Most wait staff seemed unhappy, not excited about being at work. They seemed put out when told of lipstick on newly served glass of water. There was a jelly substance on some silverware.

I feel I can get the same quality, with better customer service and lower prices somewhere else.

Most likely will not. Is it again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

This is the second time I've been to thi ...

 
·Dined on November 25, 2016

This is the second time I've been to this location. First time was in the early years near uptown was a lot better. I came on Thanksgiving and was a bit disappointed with almost everything. If Lawry's wants to compete with other restaurants it must improve. First the carpet in the entrance was not clean, need vacuuming. The young lady at the front has no personality a must for a high quality restaurant. Although we had reservations we saw people walk in after us and get a table. Perhaps there's a reason for this but it just didn't sit well. Lastly the quality of food was not up to par. The turkey plate was terrible. The steak was a bit better was nothing like I've had at Morton's , Perry's or Nick and Sams...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Terrific food and service. It's one of o ...

 
·Dined on November 25, 2016

Terrific food and service. It's one of our favorite places for dining out.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Thanksgiving dinner, service was excelle ...

 
·Dined on November 25, 2016

Thanksgiving dinner, service was excellent , prime rib is always perfect and made for a thoroughly enjoyable evening. Been there many times in past 30 years never disappoints.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Business Meals, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Thanksgiving Dinner at Lawry's is a Trad ...

 
·Dined on November 25, 2016

Thanksgiving Dinner at Lawry's is a Tradition for my Friendsgiving. We had a great experience. It was pretty busy when we arrived, and after we were seated the maître de gave us a round of cocktails, and a shared appetizer, to tide us over while our server took care of a large party. We had a fantastic meal, everything came out on time and our turkey/prime rib combo selections were perfect.

Couldn't have asked for a better Friendsgiving!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very disappointing... my father in law h ...

 
·Dined on November 24, 2016

Very disappointing... my father in law has been going to lawrys for over 50 yrs.. we wanted to try going to a restaurant on thanksgiving.. we'll continue this new tradition but will not go back to lawrys.. waitress was horrible.. felt rushed.. and the attitude of the host seating us was poor.. for the price of the meal.. very disappointed.. we won't be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value1

Our small office went to Lawry's for our ...

 
·Dined on November 22, 2016

Our small office went to Lawry's for our Thanksgiving luncheon. The food and service were very good. The noise level was low enough that we could carry on conversations without too much trouble. In that lunch is served buffet style, we were able to get in and out well within an hour.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

The prime rib was delicious and as speci ...

 
·Dined on November 21, 2016

The prime rib was delicious and as special as always. The family thoroughly enjoyed it and the lamb chops, but were somewhat dismayed by the service. It was uneven and very slow with a sense of confusion and misunderstanding by our waitress. Maybe we just caught them on a bad day. I hope so.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

Am a fan of Lawry's but things have slip ...

 
·Dined on November 20, 2016

Am a fan of Lawry's but things have slipped. Shrimp cocktail was always a star in quality and presentation and has changed to a sub-par product. Prime rib was a bit tough. Standard sides no longer come in their own dishs. Condiments no longer presented nicely. It has lost its luster and edge. Next time it's Perry's or Capitol Grill. They need to bring it back.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

I was anticipating more all the way arou ...

 
·Dined on November 20, 2016

I was anticipating more all the way around. Tacky decor, mediocre service and very bland and highly overpriced food. A high-end steakhouse experience in this competitive market needs to be five star. This was a one star experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

Great food, great service ! and very fr ...

 
·Dined on November 19, 2016

Great food, great service ! and very friendly and accommodating to our 13 month old baby.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and service as always!

 
·Dined on November 16, 2016

Excellent food and service as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I enjoyed our dinner very ...

 
·Dined on November 12, 2016

My husband and I enjoyed our dinner very much.

It was a great place to celebrate my husband's

birthday. Food was excellent. Service was great.

Quiet enough to have a conversation.

The booth was very comfortable.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time here....Ordered the filet mig ...

 
·Dined on November 11, 2016

First time here....Ordered the filet mignon (Oscar) and it was suppose to be medium....for an 8 oz steak should not have been hard to do but was over cooked and I enjoyed it anyways and I would try it again. :)

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

If you want prime rib, it's worth a go t ...

 
·Dined on November 7, 2016

If you want prime rib, it's worth a go there. But, honestly, it isn't what it used to be. We have only been to the one in Beverly Hills a number of years ago, but my daughter lives in Dallas now and was craving prime rib, so we tried it. It was a very slow night and I don't eat much red meat so I had the lobster tails. They were overcooked and not worth the price. The prime rib was delicious though and so was the hot bread.

Service and waiter were great.

Probably would not return though.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The Dallas Lawry's was good, but not as ...

 
·Dined on November 2, 2016

The Dallas Lawry's was good, but not as good as the flagship Lawry's in Beverly Hills. My server and all the host staff were exceptionally friendly and very helpful. It was a very nice evening to celebrate my belated birthday.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Unfortunately I'm not able to leave a ve ...

 
·Dined on October 30, 2016

Unfortunately I'm not able to leave a very glowing review of my experience last night at the Dallas Lawrys. We started off with a warm spinach salad which was the best a few pieces of baby spinach and some dressing with cheese and pecans. I ordered The Lawrys cut prime rib medium rare. Our server cut me a very large slice with a bone. It was cookedmedium rare however that was barely warm and very tough. The mashed potatoes were waterery and barely warm. The signature Yorkshire Pudding didn't come until my companion and I where half done eating. We where served 1 serving for 2 people who both ordered the. Prime rib.

I did not complain because my companion was treating me to dinner and I didn't want to embarrass her. Service was OK no real complaints but it was not quite the type of service

you would expect in a resturant like Lawrys.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

We had a little problem getting seated. ...

 
·Dined on October 30, 2016

We had a little problem getting seated. The restaurant only had 3 tables occupied and the hostess first sat us next door to the kitchen. We declined that table so she set us next to a large table set up for about 20 diners. Again we requested a different table. Finally she gave us a great table. The food, presentation and service were excellent after we got a nice table.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

extremely long wait for each course - Se ...

 
·Dined on October 30, 2016

extremely long wait for each course - Service was disappointing . We were shocked

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Our server, Brad, was vary attentive to ...

 
·Dined on October 30, 2016

Our server, Brad, was vary attentive to our needs. The food was quite good, and the atmosphere was appropriate for our dining experience. Had a wait a bit for our table (had reservations), but it all worked out well.

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Lawry’s is great place for a special din ...

 
·Dined on October 30, 2016

Lawry’s is great place for a special dinner, we visit several times a year. Known for their world famous prime rib, my favorite, they offer excellent steak and seafood too, my wife’s preferred. The wait staff are amazing, water glasses and bread plates are never empty. Suggestions are offered with sensitivity and grace making the guest feel special.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

For the price point I'd say the restaura ...

 
·Dined on October 29, 2016

For the price point I'd say the restaurant was extremely outdated design wise . When we tried to order the quail egg appetizer we were informed the menu was being changed (but it was still on the menu we were given), so it was no longer available. I expect a restaurant that you're spending $200 for 2 people to have dinner at to at least have a current menu available, or be able to offer a similar alternative to the item they had printed. I got the oscar filet and the plating was very messy, you had to search for the crab meat and his Lawry's cut of the prime rib was extremely fatty. Drinks were ok at best. There are multiple places within 2miles of Lawrys that offer the almost exact same menu for similar prices that are just an overall better dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

Excellent as always. I have never had ...

 
·Dined on October 23, 2016

Excellent as always. I have never had a bad, let alone poor, experience at Lawry's.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

First time for me and my wife at your re ...

 
·Dined on October 22, 2016

First time for me and my wife at your restaurant. Celebrating our 20th anniversary. Everything superb. Outstanding service all around. Thank you so much and we will be back before our next anniversary lol.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service and food was top notch. Servers ...

 
·Dined on October 22, 2016

Service and food was top notch. Servers were great with our son and daughter n law 3 1/2 year old foster child. Very attentive. The food was fabulous as always.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Outstanding Value, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service was wonderful!! We ...

 
·Dined on October 22, 2016

The food and service was wonderful!! We were there to celebrate our anniversary and when we checked in, the host recognized our anniversary! We had a really good time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were celebrating 3 October birthdays. ...

 
·Dined on October 21, 2016

We were celebrating 3 October birthdays. Prime rib is always fantastic and our server Mr. Thompson is the best. He made their birthday celebrations very special.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service is always excellent. Starti ...

 
·Dined on October 20, 2016

The service is always excellent. Starting at the bar and then to the dinning room. Ambiance is great. It makes it a dining experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The waiter was not very attentive or fri ...

 
·Dined on October 19, 2016

The waiter was not very attentive or friendly. My guests wanted to order off the menu and he never asked, and did not seem very open to that plan. He also did not explain where to get what food very well. Then when my guest tried to order from him he indicated that she could get that from the bar but he would do it for her (which made her feel stilly). If we had a better waiter, the experience would have been great. I will skip Lawry's next time for a business lunch. The staff should be exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Always a wonderful experience!

 
·Dined on October 16, 2016

Always a wonderful experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was the worst lamb chops I have eve ...

 
·Dined on October 16, 2016

This was the worst lamb chops I have ever had. The restaurant did the right thing and did not charge me for them. It was told to me that the chef did not think they were good when they left the kitchen. Then why serve them. I am a good customer and feel the restaurant owes me a comp dinner

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value5

After we were seated - we were told that ...

 
·Dined on October 15, 2016

After we were seated - we were told that the special advertised could not be served in that room - we would have to get up and move to another dining room. Poor table location (# 1) in the very front near wait station. Finally, wait person was an infrequent visitor to table. Food was excellent though making it an ok overall night. Spent 4x as much as we would have for the special!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1

Our server was absolutely outstanding. ...

 
·Dined on October 12, 2016

Our server was absolutely outstanding. She has a whit about her that was much appreciates by all 5 of the mixed gender group. And of course as always, the food was excellent.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great as usual. Our waitres ...

 
·Dined on October 11, 2016

The food was great as usual. Our waitress was outstanding. We are planning to ask for her on future visit. Food is pricy, but well worth the extra.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and great service! It is how ...

 
·Dined on October 9, 2016

Great food and great service! It is how service used to be and I miss that kind of service.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for Mother's 68th birthday and we w ...

 
·Dined on October 9, 2016

Went for Mother's 68th birthday and we were both disappointed in the prime rib because it was dry. We go a few times per year for special occasions because it is usually wonderful. The service with Meridith was fantastic as always and the décor is a dark wood with commissioned paintings on the walls - very cool. Would like for Lawry's to open in uptown Dallas.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Private Room, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value4

I love the prime rib and having it carve ...

 
·Dined on October 9, 2016

I love the prime rib and having it carved at the table per my request. The service is impeccable, and the food is outstanding. The spinning bowl is my favorite salad. My mom's 80th birthday was celebrated by everyone.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Fun, Business Meals, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been coming to this Restaurant ...

 
·Dined on October 8, 2016

We have been coming to this Restaurant for many years...have also been to Chicago and Hollywood....needs t o be a little more friendly ( I know its Tx.) Food was ok but not outstanding as it once was....need to rethink itself....pecan pie was outstanding!!!

Used a certificate from The Table seemed to confuse them????will wait for American

Express bill to see how the payment comes out.

Thanks

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Lawry's is always a 5-star experience. O ...

 
·Dined on October 7, 2016

Lawry's is always a 5-star experience. Our waitress was outstanding and very personable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.