About Lawry's The Prime Rib - Dallas

14655 Dallas Parkway
Dallas, TX 75254
View Larger Map

You'll know the moment you arrive that Lawry's The Prime Rib is an extraordinary restaurant. The signature Roasted Prime Ribs of Beef are aged 21 days, rock salt-roasted to perfection then carved to order tableside from shining silver carts. The famous Spinning Bowl Salad, whipped cream horseradish, mashed potatoes, Yorkshire Pudding and warm hospitality complete the experience that has landed Lawry's on countless "10 Best" lists and made it a dining legend since 1938.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Prime Rib, American, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch:
Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm


Dinner:
Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm


Sunday Brunch: 11:00am-2:30pm
Live Music: Thursdays 7-9pm

Cross Street:
Beltline

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(972) 503-6688

Website:
http://www.lawrysonline.com/

Catering:
Full Prime Rib dinners to-go

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Parking

Executive Chef:
Matt Melton

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Lawry's The Prime Rib hosts wine and specialty dinners each month.
Summer Dinner Special for $35.00 from June 1st through June 30th, 2010.
For more details go to http://bit.ly/cvf04e

Restaurant Photos

Prime Rib - Lawry's Cut
Original Spinning Bowl Salad
Yorkshire Pudding
Merlot
Prime Rib with Calimari, Onions etc.
Capuchino
Prime Rib, Mashed Potatoes, Yorkshire Pudding, Creamed Corn
Lobster Tail
Mushroom Skillet
Ribeye Steak
Filet Oscar
Carrot Cake
Chocolate Cake A La Mode
Prime Rib
Potatoe Chips

Private Dining

Lawry's The Prime Rib is available for nearly any private function from casual luncheons to business dinners to elegant weddings. Delicious food, exceptional hospitality and beautiful surroundings are available during the day for your group of 15 to 150.

Lawry's The Prime Rib - Dallas Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Special Occasion
Dallas
Best Restaurants in North Dallas / Addison ›

Special Occasion (141)
Romantic (90)
Good for Groups (46)
See All
Fit for Foodies (41)
Notable Wine List (40)
Great for Lunch (33)
Great for Brunch (29)
Neighborhood Gem (26)
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
Hot Spot (11)
Late-night Find (11)
Great for Outdoor Dining (11)
Kid-friendly (10)
Scenic View (2)
Business Meals (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2592 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My husband and I eat at Dallas Lawrys 2- ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined 3 days ago

My husband and I eat at Dallas Lawrys 2-3 times per year and have enjoyed the restaurant, food and service. Last night was an exception. I had the veal picatta which was delicious but the portion size was 3 very small thin slices with enough broccoli and potatoes to completely fill the plate. The tiny portion of veal and huge portion of broccoli made the dish over priced and a waste of money for me. My husband and the other couple had the prime rib. The other couples prime rib was tough and difficult to chew--needless to say one meal was not eaten and the other had a few bites taken. My husband's was 1/2 good--he ordered medium and ate the portion that was medium while the other was over done and tough. We ordered the spin salad and it was drenched in dressing--soggy and so much dressing we could only eat a few bites. All in all, it was a lot of money for a terrible meal. We will not return to lawrys again--which is a shame since we love the ambiance. We usually order coffee and dessert but were so disappointed, we quickly got our bill and left the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value2

This occasion for dinner was so worth th ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 4 days ago

This occasion for dinner was so worth the experience. The food was par-excellent. Our table was very exceptional. We enjoyed the this anniversary dinner, and will continue to make it an annual experience.

Thank you, Ann Miller

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Prime Rib in all of Dallas...cooked ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined 4 days ago

Best Prime Rib in all of Dallas...cooked to perfection...spinning bowl salad was cool, crisp and colorful...sides were outstanding...deserts to die for...SERVICE was Superior starting at the top...Nancy (The Manager) always makes us feel like a part of The Lawry's Family (she is a real GEM)..The servers ( MS . MILLER is the very BEST) always cater to our every dining want and need...The bus staff is always very friendly and very efficient...The Hostesses and host ( Banish ,Colleen and John) ALWAYS Greet us at the door and make us feel so incredibly warm and welcome. It's an experience we Treasure. Keeps us coming back each month since 1987 !!!!

Tags: Romantic, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall the food/service were what we ex ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined 5 days ago

Overall the food/service were what we expected, very good. We had a great waiter. This was our first time here, which we picked on Restaurant Week's list. The food was great. The Spinning Salad is what their famous for and I have to agree, it was a very tasty salad! For my husband and I It seemed more of an environment for older couples/business meetings. The music was too much like elevator music, which for us is not something we enjoy. With that said, we would not pick Lawry's as a place to visit again. I'm glad it was offered for Restaurant Week and we had a great experience, but it's not a restaurant we would choose, if we were choosing a steak place. However, if you do have a chance to go, it is worth the trip.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Always reliable -- Lawry's is our favori ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined 5 days ago

Always reliable -- Lawry's is our favorite of all the higher end restaurants in Dallas. Moreover, the location is great for people in North Dallas!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

As always, food, service and ambience we ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined 5 days ago

As always, food, service and ambience were wonderful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I have been to almost every Lawrys (Las ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined 7 days ago

I have been to almost every Lawrys (Las Vegas, Beverly Hills)including the one that moved to this location a few years ago in Dallas. Never made it to the Lawrys in Chicago at Ontario and Michigan Ave. will make it there very soon though.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

excellent food, service and environment

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

excellent food, service and environment

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely some of the best prime rib I' ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Absolutely some of the best prime rib I've ever had. I had the "Diamond Jim Brady" cut which was the second biggest on the menu by a few ounces and by the end, I was wishing I'd have ordered the biggest since it was so good! Lawry's is a place I've wanted to try for years at it was fantastic! We started with the famous "Spinning Bowl Salad" which was also fantastic. It was a dining experience I won't soon forget.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Although I would not take kids to this r ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Although I would not take kids to this restaurant, there were three under the age of ten - all well behaved. We were a party of four. The two steaks were cooked to perfection and reportedly very tender. The same could be said about our prime ribs. The service was excellant. This was our fourth visit.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very disappointed in the food and the st ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Very disappointed in the food and the staff, considering the price. First, their bait and switch practice of saying things like, "and I will just add the creamed spinach to that, ok?" and then charging you for the additional side, is very unwelcome. It would be so simple to say something more like, "and would you like to add any of our delicious sides to your meal, such as our creamed spinach?" making the choice ours rather than theirs. Second, the Lawry's cut of prime rib that I ordered medium rare was neither the right size nor the right temperature. When I pointed this out, I was told that the piece the carvers cut varies, and the server turned and walked away. Finally, at the end of dinner, we noticed a large amount of an odd grainy substance sitting in the bottom of all our water glasses. It was extremely unappetizing (especially since it was my 3rd glass of water), and ruined the dinner. I told both the server, and the host, actually bringing the glass to the host and noted that somebody should probably inform the manager. Her response, "Thank you for dining with us, we hope to see you again." No acknowledgement of the issue, and certainly no apology.

I will tell you now, that going back isn't very likely. There are so many good steak restaurants here in Dallas, that I will absolutely take my business elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

Very nice. Hadn't been there in some ti ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Very nice. Hadn't been there in some time. Food was good, wait staff very nice and accommodating.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The lunch menu at Lawry's is outstanding ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

The lunch menu at Lawry's is outstanding. Whether you want a sandwich from the sandwich bar, a salad, or a nice slice of prime rib - great options, a nice selections of "sides" to choose from and outstanding service. The turkey or prime rib sandwiches are among the best in Dallas. Lunch is a very good reasonably price option at Lawry's The Prime Rib. Go and try!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Delicious meal with good device in a bea ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Delicious meal with good device in a beautiful setting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Disappointed with the flavor of my ribey ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Disappointed with the flavor of my ribeye. Had to add salt to my steak.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

I had not been to Lawry's for a while an ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

I had not been to Lawry's for a while and thought this would be a good opportunity to make the drive from Arlington. I was disappointed. The service was slow and the prime rib was dry. I like the end cut of the prime rib but I don't like it well done. The corn and potatoes were excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

I have been eating at Lawry's since 10 y ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

I have been eating at Lawry's since 10 years old at various different Lawry's locations (Beverly Hills, Vegas, Taiwan, Shanghai prior to this Dallas visit) and I will say the Dallas Lawry's is probably the worst of them all. The food was great, as always, but the service and carving was not. We had 6 people in our party- 2 people ordered medium plus and got completely different temperatures (one was medium well and one was still bloody); one person asked for half corn half spinach but only got mashed potatoes. We were there celebrating my birthday but did not get a birthday dessert like I do every year (even though the waiter redeemed my birthday double points for my VIP points). I mean I even got cake at the Beverly Hills location for celebrating graduation a few years back. The waiter just looked confused the whole time. This is also the only Lawry's I have been to where the spinning bowl salad was not included with the meal (this totally caught me by surprise as I was raving to my friends about the excellence of the complimentary salad). The tables were really close together; the waiter had to constantly reach across me (instead of going around me because there was another table there) to serve the other people at mytable. At the end of the meal, I was kind of embarrassed to have taken my friends there. If you're a first timer with Lawry's, this will be a fairly decent experience but if you are used to the usual excellent service and carving by the other Lawry's locations, expect to be disappointed.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Excellent prime Rib cooked to perfection ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Excellent prime Rib cooked to perfection and carved table side by a Master Carver (Rudy)...Service is always outstanding...Travis (our server) catered to our every dining want and need 9he is one of the best)...bus staff very friendly and very efficient..host and hostess always greet us warmly (Banish makes us feel right at home)....Nancy (The Manager) always makes us feel like a part of the Lawry's Family. She is a special person.. It's a dining experience we always treasure...keeps us coming back each month for the past 29 years..you can never get enough of a good thing.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Usually a great experience. But poor ser ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Usually a great experience. But poor service can ruin any great meal.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

outstanding "I love the relaxed feel o ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

outstanding "I love the relaxed feel of this place – like a comfortable dining room in a friends home. I definitely would return to try more dishes. Everyone loved the prime rib. Service was well-timed and friendly, wines were affordable."

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed ourselves and felt very conte ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

We enjoyed ourselves and felt very content as well as happy

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

As expected, Lawry's was a quiet place t ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

As expected, Lawry's was a quiet place to have a great prime beef dinner with attentive staff in a relaxed atmosphere. Also great for weekend brunches.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Portion size was embarrassing for both p ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Portion size was embarrassing for both prime rib and cream corn side. Issued a complaint to GM via email and received credit to my VIP account.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Very good place for lunch or dinner. Gre ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Very good place for lunch or dinner. Great service and great food.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been dining at Lawrys since I fir ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

I have been dining at Lawrys since I first came to Dallas in 1991. It has always been my favorite place. Nothing else is like Lawrys. I would recommend Lawrys to anyone, young and senior. Great job Lawrys

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We're regulars at Lawry's and absolutely ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

We're regulars at Lawry's and absolutely love it. The decor, the service the food all outstanding. Our waiter Travis was very professional, a great credit to the company. Above all it's quiet enough to be able to hold a conversation! So many other restaurants are way too noisy.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We normally love Lawry's, but unfortunat ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We normally love Lawry's, but unfortunately this time we were not seated in the main dining room. It was very disappointing. The service was terrible. It was very upsetting because we had made the reservation months ago to celebrate our anniversary. We know now to always insist on being seated in the main dining room.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service2
value3

was not at all what we expected. very di ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

was not at all what we expected. very disappointing, especially for a birthday

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Always consistently good!! Prime rib wa ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Always consistently good!! Prime rib was so tender and delicious.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

the food is always excellent. our serve ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

the food is always excellent. our server was so so. we kept having to look for her. when we asked what the sides were she said," asparagus, a few other items and then she said "and on and on." that was her answer. she let us all order desserts including the birthday girl and then she brought out my sister's bday cake. then we cxld her dessert order. i had to ask server about her bday cake.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

My wife and I really enjoyed the Sunday ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

My wife and I really enjoyed the Sunday brunch! This was our 2nd time and are planning another Sunday visit!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We celebrate our anniversary all I can s ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

We celebrate our anniversary all I can say is Excellent overall!

Tags: Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We celebrated our 40th wedding anniversa ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We celebrated our 40th wedding anniversary with our family. I would have to say everyone felt their dish was just okay. I've always enjoyed Lawry's in the past and normally would not comment if it was just me but I certainly was disappointed. I would like to think we may have come on an off day. With our schedules my family has a hard time finding time together at the same time. I felt bad for them and the fact we didn't enjoyed the meal together. Hopefully, I will find my way back.

Joe Forman

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

I am a thirty year patron of Lawrys. It ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

I am a thirty year patron of Lawrys. It is a prime rib restaurant predominately, and for that

and the usual associated dishes it is phenomenal. We had excellent attentive timely service neither rushed nor neglectful. I can't comment on the alternative entree items but the beef and hot fudge sundae are exemplary.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My wife and I celebrated our 33rd weddin ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

My wife and I celebrated our 33rd weddings anniversary at Lawry’s. We arrived a little early and were greeted by a friendly hostess that seated us promptly. Our server welcomed us by name and congratulated us on our anniversary. The menu was given an appropriate review and items were suggested. The wait staff was attentive throughout the meal anticipating our every need. The prime rib was to die for, the flavor and it simply melted in our mouth… We finished the meal with fresh coffee and a triple layered chocolate cake that was more than the two of us could finish. Awesome evening!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was amazing and service was excelle ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Food was amazing and service was excellent! This was our first time at Lawry's but won't be our last!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful steaks for the wife and fabulo ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Wonderful steaks for the wife and fabulous prime rib for me..cooked to perfection...sides were excellent...spinning bowl salad was a treat...unlimited wine and beverage list...deserts to die for...service was supernatural (hostesses pleasant and charming as usual - make you feel right at home...wait staff is superior (Travis catered to our every dining want and need) bus staff friendly and efficient..Nancy -the Manager- always makes us feel like part of the Lawry's family. It's a dining experience we always treasure.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I really enjoyed Lawry's. Although I ha ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

I really enjoyed Lawry's. Although I had been there before it was still a unique restaurant experience. My husband really enjoyed his birthday dinner.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cream of spinach too salty. Prime rib ty ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Cream of spinach too salty. Prime rib typical. Good for very special celebrations as $$$$ in price.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Loved it!! We celebrated our anniversary ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Loved it!! We celebrated our anniversary and they brought us a lovely dessert to help us celebrate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.