About Lawry's The Prime Rib - Dallas

You'll know the moment you arrive that Lawry's The Prime Rib is an extraordinary restaurant. The signature Roasted Prime Ribs of Beef are aged 21 days, rock salt-roasted to perfection then carved to order tableside from shining silver carts. The famous Spinning Bowl Salad, whipped cream horseradish, mashed potatoes, Yorkshire Pudding and warm hospitality complete the experience that has landed Lawry's on countless "10 Best" lists and made it a dining legend since 1938.

14655 Dallas Parkway
Dallas, TX 75254
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Prime Rib, American, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch:
Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm


Dinner:
Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm


Sunday Brunch: 11:00am-2:30pm
Live Music: Thursdays 7-9pm

Cross Street:
Beltline

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(972) 503-6688

Website:
http://www.lawrysonline.com/

Catering:
Full Prime Rib dinners to-go

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Parking

Executive Chef:
Matt Melton

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Lawry's The Prime Rib hosts wine and specialty dinners each month.
Summer Dinner Special for $35.00 from June 1st through June 30th, 2010.
For more details go to http://bit.ly/cvf04e

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 8:00PM - 9:00PM

Mon - Wed 11:00AM - 11:15AM 12:15PM - 1:00PM 5:00PM - 5:30PM 7:45PM - 9:30PM

Thu 11:00AM - 11:15AM 12:15PM - 1:00PM 5:00PM - 5:15PM 7:45PM - 9:30PM

Fri 11:00AM - 11:15AM 12:15PM - 1:00PM 5:00PM - 5:00PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Sat 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

Lawry's The Prime Rib is available for nearly any private function from casual luncheons to business dinners to elegant weddings. Delicious food, exceptional hospitality and beautiful surroundings are available during the day for your group of 15 to 150.

Lawry's The Prime Rib - Dallas Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

Noise

Quiet

89% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (93)
Good for Anniversaries (69)
Good for a Date (61)
See All
Business Meals (54)
Romantic (50)
Good for Birthdays (50)
Quiet Conversation (46)
Worth the Drive (40)
Good for Groups (29)
Notable Wine List (27)
Great for Lunch (22)
Cozy (22)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Comfort Food (18)
Bar Seating (17)
Authentic (16)
Sunday Lunch (15)
Great for Brunch (14)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Happy Hour (11)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Casual (9)
Fun (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Paleo Friendly (5)
People Watching (5)
Seasonal (5)
Disabled Access (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Healthy (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
S
3275 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 5 days ago

The restaurant was practically empty and our waiter was very slow. Overall dining was not as good as our previous experience - the food was MUCH better last time. Our waiter dropped off desert menus and did not return to our table for over 20 minutes. Then brought desert and said he would be right back with plates and he never brought them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined 6 days ago

WIFE AND I TOOK OUR DAUGHTER OUT FOR BRUNCH...SALMON , CRAB CAKES AND PRIME RIB ALL COOKED TO PERFECTION..SALADS COOL, CRISP AND COLORFUL...SIDES WERE SUPERB...DESERTS TO DIE FOR. S E R V I C E WAS SUPERNATURAL - TRAVIS THOMPSON (OUR WAIT PERSON) ALWAYS CATERS TO OUR EVERY DINING WANT AND NEED...KAREN (THE MANAGER) STOPPED BY OUR TABLE AND MAKES US FEEL LIKE A PART OF THE LAWRY'S FAMILY..THE BUS STAFF (GABE) IS ALWAYS FRIENDLY AND VERY EFFICIENT..MIKE (THE MANAGER) SOUGHT US OUT TO SAY GOOD BYE AT THE END OF THE EXPERIENCE. IT IS AN EXPERIENCE WE TREASURE....KEEPS US COMING BACK EACH MONTH SINCE 1988 !!!!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 7 days ago

Don't order the small cut of prime rib it was $35 and my husband got the next cut up for $40 and it was 3 times as big as mine. We could have split it and shared. I thought my piece was a rip off I asked for med to med well and they gave me well done. Didn't really like it but my husband was very good. The spinach was very good

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

 
·Dined 7 days ago

As usual, the prime rib is its best! Potato chips are awesome! Overall a great dining experience. Should not have changed dessert from strawberry to raspberry-bad move. Ambiance in back room was disappointing compared to main dining room.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 14, 2017

My wife and I went there for our anniversary dinner. We had reservations for 730, got our table on time, but it took 20 minutes for the waitstaff to realize that our waiter had not come over. Finally, another waiter took our drink order. Once our drink order was taken, it took another 10 minutes for our wine to be brought out. At this time our food order was finally taken and it took another 25 minutes for our appetizers to come out. Once we ordered, our food did not come out for another hour. appetizers we sub-standard. 1 1/2 hours after we sat down, our food came out, and the food was very bland with almost no flavor.
After two bites , I had to send my prime rib back. When the busboy took my plate, he swore at me in Spanish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 13, 2017

Those who ordered steaks and prime rib were very pleaaed. However, the poached pear salad was a great disappointment. The salad arrived with only 4 paper-thin slivers of poached pear. Our waiter, Brian, was a gem and we would ask to be seated with him again.

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 12, 2017

Service was excellent in the bar and at dinner in the restaurant. All of the staff were very welcoming and helpful. Our waiter was sure nice and made us feel comfortable and checked on us to make sure we had great service and were aware of all the menu items we desired. Great experience. Highly recommend.

Tags: Business Meals, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Fun, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 12, 2017

A bunch of mature ladies (70+ and 2 young beautiful ladies) thoroughly enjoyed the evening. We celebrated lifetime friendships and a couple of birthdays.

Ambiance, food and service was superb.

I have to call special attention to the lady I spoke to regarding reservations. I was calling to make an addition to our headcount and experienced phone troubles. The call didn't appear to go through. I hung up and made a note to try again later. However within 10 minute, I received a call-back. She made a note of the display in her caller id and followd up. She was amazing on multiple occasions.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 11, 2017

After 20 years of membership and always great food. We were a bit disappointed with the price value of the dinner. I Always had lawrys obviously my travel list even when I travel to Singapore. But I think I will re consider Ruths Chris or Del Friscos

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Great atmosphere Great service Great food Wait staff is excellent

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Everything was magnificent and it was a perfect dinner date.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 5, 2017

Over the years I have always had a 5 star experience. This time I was there on a slow evening and still got great service. Always a top choice for entertaining guests, clients or special occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 5, 2017

Went to Lawry's last night to celebrate wife's birthday. The service was marginal in the bar, if not rude, and the food was very marginal, which was odd. The outside patio is nice and we did enjoy drinks and cigars in the patio, but we will not be going back anytime soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 1, 2017

I can now proudly say that I’ve eaten at every Lawry’s in North America. This little cation, Dallas, did not disappoint. The only thing that was a surprise was the "spinning salad” was not included in the meal. Everything I had was way beyond good! Can’t wait to go again!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

My birthday dinner was absolutely wonderful!
They were so understanding about our late and staggered arrival times, our waitress, Roxanne, was super sweet and completely catered to me, the birthday dessert was DELICIOUS and this was absolutely the BEST PRIME RIB dinner that I have had in YEARS.

Thank you, Lawry's!
You definitely live up to your reputation.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Our waiter totally messed up our order. I wanted prime rib and he brought me a filet. I ended up eating a little of it. The waiter also gave my husband a filet and he ordered a salmon. It was a mess. My son did get his filet. The waiter charged us for 3 filets when the bill came. I was very upset. I can't believe a manger did not come and apologized.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 28, 2017

This is my special occasion go to and I am never disappointed but this time we noticed the food was delicious as usual but potions smaller.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 27, 2017

I went to this restaurant for my 62nd birthday. It was great. The wine, appetizers, prime rib were excellent I will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 24, 2017

On other social media people did not rate the device, our service was excellent, at the bar, at the table it was great. Food was good with both the Prime Rib and Filet Mignon served exactly as we had asked. Good choice of wines. Only downside was there seemed to be a mismatch between what was described in the menu and what we were served both the starter and my wife's main course had items missing. All be it small the difference between 4 stars and 5 is the detail

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 23, 2017

I had the shrimp cocktail appetizer. It had 5 large shrimp, an unusual find these days and surprisingly less expensive than most places for 3 or 4. I had the Dallas cut 24 oz prime rib, rare. It was fantastic. The dessert souffle' was chocolate and was excellent. Another great experience at Lawry's.
I almost never order prime rib anywhere else, since first eating at Lawry's in 1991. Even if it is a high end restaurant and they brag on how great their prime rib is, it will, invariably, suck compared to Lawry's. I went to KC for the recent eclipse. We ate at one of the consensus best restaurants. Our waiter bragged about their prime rib. Despite my warning him I eat at Lawry's and am often disappointed by others, he said, "I know Lawry's. I would put ours up against theirs any day." Ugh...no! He was wrong. Don't waste your time with prime rib elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

Love this place. Service and food are always top notch. Wife and I have been celebrating our anniversary at Lawreys for the past 5 Years. It's a tradition for us.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Service was excellent...Travis (our server) catered to our every dining want and need.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Had a wonderful experience and our waiter was outstanding (Mr. Thomson). We were celebrating my boyfriends birthday and they followed my directives to a tee. I asked them to say he was 27 but he was turning 56. They were attentive but not overbearing. Great night thank you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 23, 2017

As always prime rib was perfect
Spinning bowl salad was great
Service was ok

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 22, 2017

Amazing as always. The assistant wait staff is the best I have ever encountered. Many have been there over a decade.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 21, 2017

Our Meals were very good. Server did not ask if we wanted gravy before serving, I prefer no gravy on the potato. She had to take back. Meat was a little chilled for my liking. Value was very good.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 20, 2017

My daughter and I love Lawrys. It is our go-to place when we want to feel special. Patrick is an awesome server!

Tags: Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Fun, Cozy, Comfort Food, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 19, 2017

Always great food and great service. I branched out and tried the salmon ....wonderful! I have always had the beef in the past...really enjoy this restaurant because you just cant go wrong....

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Lawry's is always the place to go to celebrate a special occasion.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

I have dined at Lowry's Dallas on numerous occasions with great satisfaction until this last occasion. Unfortunately my party was seated in the annex dining room. Unlike the main dining room, the annex left a lot to be desired. The decor, atmosphere and especially the service were well below par for Lowry's. In summary, it was a bad experience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Rather disappointed. Half of the food was good and the other half not. Our steaks were very good, but the vegetables that came with my filet (potatoes and onion rings) were both dry and tasteless. Also, the steak was supposed to be "Oscar" style with crab on top, but the crab portion was very, very small. The stuffed dates appetizer was good, as was the premium salad, but the tomato salad was not so great. Right after we got our food, the place was pretty much emptied out except for us, and the nice jazz music they play during dinner shut off. So, we were sitting by the kitchen and could hear all the staff talking when we got our entrees (i.e. not a good dining atmosphere) and had to ask someone to please turn on the music again. It made us feel like they wanted us to hurry up and get out of there. It was explained to us that that wasn't the case; that there's a loose wire that cause the music to shut off at times. My husband and I believe it is the responsibility of management to stay on top of things like that. And, you would think that, with how much they charge for a meal there, that they could afford to get that fixed. So, not up to snuff and don't know whether we will go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
·Dined on September 14, 2017

Nice Place, Great location, good menú,
good wine list.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 13, 2017

This was a birthday dinner celebration. The birthday girl had salad, filet, wine, and specially prepared chocolate soufflé. The food was staged very elegantly. No one left hungry.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 10, 2017

We had a wonderful meal in a nice, quiet atmosphere. We always suggest this restaurant to our friends.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Cozy, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 9, 2017

We have been going to Lawry's for many years, and the staff, management run a very tight ship
Kudos to Steve for an exceptionally run restaurant

Tags: Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 7, 2017

We like to go to Lawry's for the Prime Rib and it didn't disappoint this time. The Yorkshire pudding was excellent and the Prime Rib was perfect. Love the sundae for dessert too! We always ask for a table with our favorite server, Travis Thompson, and it was good to see him again. It was a little busy when we arrived although we weren't in a hurry so everything was perfect.

Tags: Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 6, 2017

We go regularly for "Date Night" to have a special meal. Also we celebrate birthdays, anniversaries, sometimes just the two of us, sometimes extended family. Never a bad meal.
The wine is great also.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 4, 2017

FOOD WAS WONDERFUL - STEAKS COOKED TO PERFECTION - SPINNING BOWL SALAD WAS COOL, CRISP AND COLORFUL...UNLIMITED WINE AND BEVERAGE LIST....DESERTS TO DIE FOR...SERVICE WAS SUPERNATURAL STARTING WITH NANCY - THE MANAGER ( WHO GREETS YOU AT THE DOOR AND MAKES YOU FEEL LIKE PART OF THE LAWRY'S FAMILY ..SHE STOPPED BY THE TABLE TO CHAT AND MAKE SURE ALL WAS GOOD) TO THE SERVERS (HOLLY IS A GEM - SHE CATERED TO OUR EVERY DINING WANT AND NEED) TO THE BUS STAFF ( MANNY WAS A CHAMPION - ALWAYS FRIENDLY AND VERY EFFICIENT). IT'S A DINING EXPERIENCE WE TREASURE. KEEPS US COMING BACK EACH MONTH SINCE 1988 !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 4, 2017

We came all the way to Dallas from Michigan and had to go back to Lawrys. The prime rib is the best. We had great service and enjoyed our meal. Thanks so much.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

Absolutely wonderful dinning experience, great service, marvelous food, all around great experience.

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Quick Bite, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.