About Lawry's The Prime Rib - Dallas

You'll know the moment you arrive that Lawry's The Prime Rib is an extraordinary restaurant. The signature Roasted Prime Ribs of Beef are aged 21 days, rock salt-roasted to perfection then carved to order tableside from shining silver carts. The famous Spinning Bowl Salad, whipped cream horseradish, mashed potatoes, Yorkshire Pudding and warm hospitality complete the experience that has landed Lawry's on countless "10 Best" lists and made it a dining legend since 1938.

14655 Dallas Parkway
Dallas, TX 75254
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Prime Rib, American, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch:
Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm


Dinner:
Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm


Sunday Brunch: 11:00am-2:30pm
Live Music: Thursdays 7-9pm

Cross Street:
Beltline

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(972) 503-6688

Website:
http://www.lawrysonline.com/

Catering:
Full Prime Rib dinners to-go

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Parking

Executive Chef:
Matt Melton

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Lawry's The Prime Rib hosts wine and specialty dinners each month.
Summer Dinner Special for $35.00 from June 1st through June 30th, 2010.
For more details go to http://bit.ly/cvf04e

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Details

Treat Mom to an unforgettable meal with the world-class hospitality she deserves!

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 8:00PM - 9:00PM

Mon - Wed 11:00AM - 11:15AM 12:15PM - 1:00PM 5:00PM - 5:30PM 7:45PM - 9:30PM

Thu 11:00AM - 11:15AM 12:15PM - 1:00PM 5:00PM - 5:15PM 7:45PM - 9:30PM

Fri 11:00AM - 11:15AM 12:15PM - 1:00PM 5:00PM - 5:00PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Sat 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

Lawry's The Prime Rib is available for nearly any private function from casual luncheons to business dinners to elegant weddings. Delicious food, exceptional hospitality and beautiful surroundings are available during the day for your group of 15 to 150.

Lawry's The Prime Rib - Dallas Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (82)
Good for Anniversaries (73)
Good for a Date (61)
See All
Romantic (60)
Good for Birthdays (48)
Business Meals (47)
Quiet Conversation (46)
Worth the Drive (37)
Notable Wine List (28)
Cozy (24)
Good for Groups (20)
Sunday Lunch (20)
Great for Lunch (17)
Bar Seating (16)
Authentic (16)
Great for Brunch (14)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Private Room (11)
Outstanding Value (11)
Happy Hour (10)
Historic (10)
Comfort Food (10)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Paleo Friendly (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
Casual (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Fun (5)
Family Style (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Seasonal (5)
Hot Spot (4)
People Watching (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Fireplace (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Live Sports (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Healthy (1)
Scenic View (1)
Great Beer (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Sort By:
S
3068 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 6 days ago

I was excited to try this restaurant for my birthday because I love prime rib. Although our waitress was nice it seemed like she had several other table to attend to and I felt a bit neglected. There were two tables that came after us and got served their primerib first. Our reservation was at 7 and we didn't get out until after 8:30 and it wasn't because we wanted to. I was starving and got full off of bread and couldnt finish half of my meal when it did come. My husband and I felt that since the primerib sits in this heat contraption, it changed the texture of the meat and was a bit chewy and not melt in your mouth. Although they apologized and gave us cake and a glass of champagne, it just wasn't a good first impression. I think if I ever did come back I would try something else which is a shame because they are known for their prime rib.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 6 days ago

Maybe because we were all (6) very hungry, but it seemed a lengthy wait to get our food. At one point, I remember our "water guzzler" asking "Where's our waitress?" The food was definitely worth the wait!! We shall return!!!

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined 6 days ago

Great for holidays, average for everyday

My first visit to Lawry's was during the holiday season and the place was certainly hopping then! The parking lot was full and loved the carolers around the restaurant. We did not make reservations and were told wait-times would be a couple of hours, however it turned out to only be an hour. Once we were seated, the waiter was excellent in introducing us to the restaurant and taking the time to make sure we got exactly what we wanted for our prime rib dinners. He even provided complimentary creamed corn when we asked if he recommended it. It was such a lovely dinner, I thought it would be nice to come back for an anniversary dinner with my significant other.

We came in April for our anniversary dinner and I made sure to make reservations this time. However, it seemed a bit unnecessary as all the guests during prime dinnertime on the weekend fit in one row of the parking lot. The hostesses were welcoming as usual, but our waitress was not as amazing as the waiter I had the first time. She basically went through the motions and didn't explain like the other waiters nearby what Yorkshire pudding was or why Lawry's prime rib was the specialty. The food was good as usual, but the macaroni and cheese was extremely disappointing. The sauce was super watery and there was no cheese flavor at all, let alone the "smoke gouda" flavor to be expected.

When the place is busy and expecting to make an impression, the place is exceptional. However, on the average day it seems like the place rests on its laurels. I would recommend for holidays when Lawry's is at its best.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Worst $42 steak I ever had. Lobster bisque good. Everything else was awful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Worse ever took 1hour for food didn't acknowledge our anniversary or our daughter's birthday for $350 dinner rush the bill and removed our food before we could finish eating. Never going back

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The prime rib off the carvery is excellent. I was celebrating my birthday and was a bit disappointed that I did not get some small dessert as recognition. Apparently, you have to join their club to get these perks.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Great prime rib every time.
Wine selection is really nice as well.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Excellent!!! It's been a while so was happy to know they are still as good as I remember. The prime rib, the lobster bisque, the spinich articoke dip, the mac & cheese all wonderful!!!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Easter

Service was slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Even though we had a reservation, we waited an hour for a table while others were escorted to their tables. The girl at the hostess stand just kept saying we are waiting for people to get up from the table. When we finally got a table there were several empty tables that could have been pulled together to accommodate the seven of us. The website showed a brunch fixed price menu, but upon seating we were told that that is not available on Easter and they have no control over the website. We waited forever for our food and then the yorkshire pudding was not available and would have to be brought to us when baked which was halfway through our dinner. Also, my granddaughter ordered the half chicken and it turned out to be a leg and thigh only??? I asked the waiter about that and he asked if she wanted something else. Our waiter was good and attentive, but other wise the whole experience was a disaster. We have lived here for 28 years and have gone to Lawry's many times, but never experienced something like this. After spending almost $600.00 for this type of treatment, I doubt that we will be going back and we will not recommend this restaurant to anyone. I will say the bloody marys were delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Truly outstanding! Brad provided excellent service!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We enjoyed excellent service and very good steak and prime rib on Sunday. I would recommend Lawry's!

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Very good first visit. Will go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Shreveport)·Dined on April 14, 2017

my daughter and I were celebrating her birthday. The service was impeccable, and the meal was absolutely fabulous! It was a little expensive, but well worth it. Would go back again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 13, 2017

The dining format had changed since my last visit, or perhaps because it was my first lunch visit. Instead of sitting at the table, ordering from the menu and having the cart come to the table, we were immediately ushered to the carving station. We were a bit taken back and felt like we were ordering without knowing what all of our options were.
That said, the Prime Rib was as good as always and we enjoyed our meal.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Always a great meal! Our go-to place for a nice dinner experience for 20 years.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Good food. Nice place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Relaxed meal, excellent brunch deals with all frills of a fancy coursed meal.

Tags: Romantic, Historic, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Steak and salmon cooked to perfection - spinning bowl salad was cool , crisp and very colorful...unlimited wine and beverage list...side dishes superb...deserts to die for....service was Outstanding starting with Mike and Karen (The Managers) who make us feel like a part of the Lawry's family..Hostesses greet you at the door (Banish and Vanessa) and make you feel so welcome...wait staff cater to your every dining want and need (Ms. Miller and Mr. Thompson are superior)...bus staff always friendly and very efficient. It's a dining experience we treasure...keeps us coming back each month since 1988 !!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 5, 2017

The prime rib is more than a meal... It's the full experience. Everybody should see how its done. Also noticed they have a cigar patio which will draw me back soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Lawry's was not quite on their game the other night. First, they did not have their pretzel buns for their hamburgers (and it was hamburger night!). Second, they were short handed in the bar area making everything run very slowly. Third, we love their hamburgers but the meat was really salty. Just like in sports, it was one of those nights where they were off their game!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Quick Bite, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Great Sunday Brunch! The brunch options were really tasty, and probably the best value I've encountered in town. For $15 - $20, a nice brunch entree came with soup or salad, as well as unlimited orange juice, mimosas and/or champagne. It certainly wasn't Dom Perignon, but it was very drinkable. Crab cake benedict was really tasty, with tons of crab meat and nicely poached eggs. Kids got the French Toast and it looked great. There are kids and adult portions for many items. Will definitely make this a regular spot for brunch. Service is always good @ Lawry's too.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Prime rib cooked to perfection ...salad cool, crisp and colorful...sides were exceptional..unlimited wine and beverage list....deserts to die for...SERVICE was outstanding starting with the hostesses who greet you at the door and make you feel so welcome (Vanessa and Banish) ..wait staff cater to your every dining want and need (ask for Ms Miller or Mr.Thompson -they are the best)...bus staff is friendly and very efficient..Karen (The Manager) always stops by the table and makes us feel like a part of the Lawry's family. It's a dining experience we treasure. Keeps us coming back each month since 1988.

Tags: Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Private Room, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Great place for a date night. Great service and even better food. The prime rib was excellent. Would definitely recommend to everyone.

Tags: Disabled Access, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Late-night Find, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Overall, not so good. Vegies ordered were good.
With the prime rib we expect some gristle. This was somewhat excessive, and overwhelmned the steak knife

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 30, 2017

This is the very best place for Prime Rib! The Creamed Corn is very good. The perk is very good Potato Chips!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Great dinner. Love taking first timers, who are always impressed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Always a good time, great service & great food. We not only enjoy dinner at Lawrys but lunch as well!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 26, 2017

The portions are alot smaller than I remembered. Ordered the California cut and got a 1/4 inch piece of prime rib. I used to get at least 1/2 an inch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Waiter was awesome and good food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 26, 2017

This is the first time we have been disappointed with our visit in over 25 years of dining at Lawry's.

Our prime rib was cut by a carver I have never seen before and our Lawry's cut was about 1/2 thick. Then it gets even thinner at the end of the cut because of the bone.

After telling our waiter that our favorite part of the whole meal is the Yorkshire pudding, he arrives at our table as we start enjoying the prime rib to tell us it will be 10 minutes for the next batch to come out of the oven. We would have waited for the meat if we had known that. By the time it arrived, we had only a few bites of meat left. Not the typical meal we enjoy so much.

We are VIP Rewards members and visit Lawry's almost monthly.

Also, PLEASE bring back the peas!!!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 25, 2017

First timer. Service was great and so was the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Kristina was awesome. Food was great a usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Very nice evening and dinner. Good service. Food good. Very pricy.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Everything was delicious! I have not had prime rib that tasted as good as the one I had from Lawry's in a long time. The service was great, the atmosphere was also great. If I had to find something to "complain" about, I'd have to say that I thought the food was a bit pricey so it's not the kind of restaurant that I'd go to often but it's great for a special occasion.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 21, 2017

We love Lawry's...always great food! Lawry's is especially a great place for special occasions.

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Our server, I believe her name was Nora, has been with Lawry's for 23 years, and she made our visit even more personal and enjoyable. We enjoyed our evening very much.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 18, 2017

The service was OUTSTANDING. While the food was not HOT, it was somewhat tasty. I was disappointed with my side dishes. I paid $14 for a spoon of corn and spinach - REALLY? I enjoyed the spinach. It just was not enough for the price. I thought it would have least been served on a small platter where I could have shared it... I have been here for lunch. I think I like this place for a lunch gathering better - the buffet.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Hostess was trying to put us I'm bar area after as a VIP member I had asked for main dining room and a table not a booth. I had to stop her and she did put us in main room. We had a grandchild with us and the food is excellent. Hollie was a great server and we were very happy after being seated. Steve the manager came by table tocheck on us and that was appreciated.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Excellent food, excellent service. Not much more to say, as that sums it up.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.