About Lawry's The Prime Rib - Dallas

You'll know the moment you arrive that Lawry's The Prime Rib is an extraordinary restaurant. The signature Roasted Prime Ribs of Beef are aged 21 days, rock salt-roasted to perfection then carved to order tableside from shining silver carts. The famous Spinning Bowl Salad, whipped cream horseradish, mashed potatoes, Yorkshire Pudding and warm hospitality complete the experience that has landed Lawry's on countless "10 Best" lists and made it a dining legend since 1938.

14655 Dallas Parkway
Dallas, TX 75254
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Prime Rib, American, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch:
Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm


Dinner:
Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm


Sunday Brunch: 11:00am-2:30pm
Live Music: Thursdays 7-9pm

Cross Street:
Beltline

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(972) 503-6688

Website:
http://www.lawrysonline.com/

Catering:
Full Prime Rib dinners to-go

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Parking

Executive Chef:
Matt Melton

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Lawry's The Prime Rib hosts wine and specialty dinners each month.
Summer Dinner Special for $35.00 from June 1st through June 30th, 2010.
For more details go to http://bit.ly/cvf04e

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 8:00PM - 9:00PM

Mon - Wed 11:00AM - 11:15AM 12:15PM - 1:00PM 5:00PM - 5:30PM 7:45PM - 9:30PM

Thu 11:00AM - 11:15AM 12:15PM - 1:00PM 5:00PM - 5:15PM 7:45PM - 9:30PM

Fri 11:00AM - 11:15AM 12:15PM - 1:00PM 5:00PM - 5:00PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Sat 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

Lawry's The Prime Rib is available for nearly any private function from casual luncheons to business dinners to elegant weddings. Delicious food, exceptional hospitality and beautiful surroundings are available during the day for your group of 15 to 150.

Lawry's The Prime Rib - Dallas Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (83)
Good for Anniversaries (60)
Good for a Date (54)
See All
Good for Birthdays (52)
Business Meals (50)
Romantic (48)
Worth the Drive (39)
Quiet Conversation (38)
Good for Groups (27)
Great for Lunch (27)
Notable Wine List (25)
Cozy (23)
Sunday Lunch (22)
Bar Seating (15)
Great for Brunch (15)
Comfort Food (13)
Authentic (13)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Happy Hour (10)
Private Room (9)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Casual (8)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Tasting Menu (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Family Style (7)
Seasonal (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Fun (6)
Disabled Access (5)
Historic (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
People Watching (2)
Healthy (2)
Scenic View (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Fireplace (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Live Sports (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
3137 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined 20 hours ago

Great food! Nice and quiet for good conversation.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 2 days ago

Meridith was our server and she took very good care of us. The food is consistently wonderful at Lawry's!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 4 days ago

Very old school and very cool. However it was Father's Day and they seemed a little overwhelmed with an early dinner rush. My 7:15 reservation (2 top) wasn't honored until 7:40 and there was a slight service delay on top of that.
The bar and the cocktails (large) were very good. The service was professional and friendly. Actual dinner service was delayed a bit as we waited "for the wine to chill".

I loved the carving carts and the spinning salad. The quality of the food was very good however they did miss our order of Yorkshire pudding and I didn't want to remind them a second time.
Despite the mis-steps I found the experience charming and entertaining .

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 4 days ago

Great place and great food. We took our daddy there for Fathers Day and he loved it!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Cozy, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Paleo Friendly, Kid-friendly, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Healthy, Scenic View, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 4 days ago

Lawrys was amazing as always. Everything was flavorful and delicious.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 4 days ago

Service was wonderful!! However, my steak was overcooked :(

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 4 days ago

Both the food and service were excellent. Price however were too high. The beef was outstanding.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Comfort Food, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 5 days ago

The good was fantastic. Our waitress was very personable and friendly. The evening was memorable and enjoyable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent food, great service, prices in line with what you get. Very consistent year after year.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 5 days ago

We love Lawry's! It was the perfect place to bring my husband for a "pre-father's day" dinner!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined 5 days ago

The prime rib was wonderful. That certainly was our expectation and the very reason we dined there. However, we were very disappointed in the beef gravy, that was instead like au jus (thin and watery) and the Yorkshire pudding was over done. The service was good and I was glad to see they updated their uniforms.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined 5 days ago

Prime rib was outstanding as usual...cooked to perfection...wife loves the salmon which was superb...salad cool ,crisp and colorful...unlimited wine and beverage list...deserts to die for...SERVICE was supernatural...Nancy & Mike (The Managers) greet you at the door and Karen (the Asst. Mgr.) stopped by our table to say hello. They always make us feel like a part of the Lawry's Family. Ms. Miller (our server) catered to our every dining want and need...the bus staff is very friendly and very efficient. It's a dining experience we treasure. Keeps us coming back each month since 1988 !!!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Romantic, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 12, 2017

It was a pleasant experience. The food seemed to be dated and some what bland. I had an end cut expecting it to be well seasoned but it wasn't. The entree selections are good but overpriced. The sides could use modernizing.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 11, 2017

My husband is currently on the Adkins diet and both Ashley and the chef were able to swap out items to accommodate his dietary needs without hesitation. Plus Manuel was very attentive making sure our waters will always filled and our plates were cleared quickly and with a smile!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Love going to all of them. Been to one in Beverly Hills and 5 crowns

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Cozy, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Best Prime Rib ever! Love Lawrys

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Great food and excellent side dishes. The mushrooms are a must! And Travis our waiter was excellent!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 9, 2017

The food was divine, the service impeccable, as always!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 4, 2017

We are always treated like valued customers and have never had a sub-par meal. Reliable excellence.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Buyer Beware!!! Open Table lists prices for entrees $ 7.00 less than actual menu AND states that meal is accompanied with a choice of corn or spinach. Waitress asked us which one we would prefer, without telling us it was not included in price. Realized later that we had been charged for two sides that we would not have ordered if we had known. Talked to Manager Mike, who said it was an Open Table problem, but was sorry and he would check out the site. Also told us it was a waitress mistake and he would advise her. I told him it was a deceptive practice that I'm sure most diners do not catch. I had to sweetly TWIST his arm to get him to refund the sides (which we hardly ate, because we would have chosen other vegetables). Crab cake appetizer was two tiny half dollar size patties on a smear of sauce (very expensive and tasted just okay). We shared the spinning salad, which they just served on two plates (no special spin!). It was just lettuce with crumbles of egg whites. The tiny thimble of dressing requested on the side was thin, lacking blue cheese crumbles and flavor. Could not even tell it was blue cheese. Prime rib portion was very thin and not as good as the prime rib we have had at Flemings/Saltgrass/Ruth Chris!!! Okay, I admit the bread was AMAZING! We use Open Table all the time, and realize that sometimes the write-ups are not accurate, but the manager's attitude was not customer friendly. We have been to the Lawrys in Beverly Hills, and the Dallas restaurant was a big disappointment! BEWARE!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 30, 2017

My wife and I have come to Lawry's for special occasions and have never been disappointed. The food is excellent, and the noise level is great. Will recommend Lawr'ys to anyone who wants a special placed to celibate a special occupation with a loved one.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 29, 2017

Our waiter was kind but the service was painfully slow. 2 hours and 10 minutes for a family of 4 to be served 3 prime rib dinners and a salmon dinner. Carver was rude. Prime rib was cold and tough. Corn and potatoes tasteless. Bad news!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Always wonderful to come back to dine at Lawry's what made this occasion extra special was our waiter, Brad. He is sincere, genuine and caring. We felt taken care of the entire time. Will definitely be back!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Brad was an impeccable water and the foid was superb!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 28, 2017

We had a slight wait for our table, but the Bar was a great place to wait. The service was first-rate and the prime rib was very tender and cooked to perfection. I would recommend Lawry's to anyone who enjoyed top notch dining!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Had high expectations, was just ok

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Briana was an excellent server. Really appreciate her letting us take our time and ensuring our meal was outstanding. Prime rib was really good and we love the Yorkshire pudding and horseradish that is served with it. Wasn't really fond of the mini cakes bits for dessert, but we were full so that was OK.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Prime Rib was good but a bit tougher than usual for one of our party. The management quickly & gladly replaced it. The second cut was much better.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Always a treat!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Nice dinner. Our waitress, Ashley did a great job.

Very friendly and attentive.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 24, 2017

It was hamburger Wednesday and they make the "best" hamburgers. You can get it with cheese and all the fixings on a pretzel bun. Your sides can be their fries or vegetables.
Jason our bartender/server is one of the "best" people working at Lawry's!
Hamburger Wednesday should be on everyone's list.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 23, 2017

We have visited before and so we were expecting the same kind of experience- an unforgettable, delicious meal with lovely service and a flawless ambiance.
Unfortunately, that was not our experience tonight.
I ordered a glass of prosecco by brand name and our server didn't know what I was talking about until I said "The prosecco..."
He went to get it for me and ten minutes later returned and said that they were completely out. Very disappointing.
Our appetizers took nearly 30 minutes to arrive, but they were just a shrimp cocktail and a bowl of lobster bisque.
Our food was fair quality. My Chilean sea bass plate was too hot to touch when it arrived (the server gave me the heads up) and was absolutely swimming in grease, I assume from the fingerling potatoes.
The plating was a bit haphazard.
My asparagus was raw- I ate only the tops and they were crunchy and green.
My husband ordered the regular Lawry cut but received a bone with his prime rib, which he hadn't wanted. He found the medium a little too "done" for his liking but next time he'll just order medium rare.
I ordered the ice cream sundae and it came with whole almonds. I asked why when the menu says "sliced almonds", and my server said that their restaurant supplier gives them both at different times and with different orders. Odd.
The restaurant was quite loud. We could clearly hear other tables' conversations.

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 21, 2017

As usual the food and service was excellent! This is one of our favorite paces to dine! The prime rib was AWESOME. But you expect that. The appetizers and lobster bisque were to die for. One person had a Fillet which was excellent as well!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Always enjoy dinner at this place but tried brunch for the time. Will not be the last.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Cozy, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Sat on patio & service was horrible. Mr Thompson (an excellent server) stepped in to try & make it better

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Fantastic place, the only reason I do not give it 5 stars on food was the disappointing wedge salad (will go for the spinning bowl salad next time), but everything else was top notch. A bit pricey, but worth it for the best prime rib & outstanding service.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 21, 2017

My friend traveled from Akron, Ohio to help me celebrate my birthday, and he had nothing but good thing to say about Lawry's. I've always enjoyed your food, service and atmosphere. We will be back. And please tell our server Anthony GREAT JOB! Thanks :-)

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Forget the prime rib (it's good!), the smoked ribeye and filet are AMAZING! It's all I order there now.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Outstanding as usual..prime rib cooked to perfection...Rudy (our carver) is a real gem...Ms. Miller was outstanding as usual. Keeps us coming back each month for the past 30 years.

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Excellent ambiance for a business dinner - good acoustics helped the noise level for deep conversation. Waitress was professional and witty and very accommodating. Food was melt in your mouth! Excellent experience.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.