About Lawry's The Prime Rib - Dallas

14655 Dallas Parkway
Dallas, TX 75254
View Larger Map

You'll know the moment you arrive that Lawry's The Prime Rib is an extraordinary restaurant. The signature Roasted Prime Ribs of Beef are aged 21 days, rock salt-roasted to perfection then carved to order tableside from shining silver carts. The famous Spinning Bowl Salad, whipped cream horseradish, mashed potatoes, Yorkshire Pudding and warm hospitality complete the experience that has landed Lawry's on countless "10 Best" lists and made it a dining legend since 1938.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Prime Rib, American, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch:
Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm


Dinner:
Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm


Sunday Brunch: 11:00am-2:30pm
Live Music: Thursdays 7-9pm

Cross Street:
Beltline

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(972) 503-6688

Website:
http://www.lawrysonline.com/

Catering:
Full Prime Rib dinners to-go

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Parking

Executive Chef:
Matt Melton

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Lawry's The Prime Rib hosts wine and specialty dinners each month.
Summer Dinner Special for $35.00 from June 1st through June 30th, 2010.
For more details go to http://bit.ly/cvf04e

Restaurant Photos

Prime Rib - Lawry's Cut
Original Spinning Bowl Salad
Yorkshire Pudding
Merlot
Prime Rib with Calimari, Onions etc.
Capuchino
Prime Rib, Mashed Potatoes, Yorkshire Pudding, Creamed Corn
Lobster Tail
Mushroom Skillet
Ribeye Steak
Filet Oscar
Carrot Cake
Chocolate Cake A La Mode
Prime Rib
Potatoe Chips

Private Dining

Lawry's The Prime Rib is available for nearly any private function from casual luncheons to business dinners to elegant weddings. Delicious food, exceptional hospitality and beautiful surroundings are available during the day for your group of 15 to 150.

Lawry's The Prime Rib - Dallas Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Special Occasion
Dallas
Best Restaurants in North Dallas / Addison ›

Special Occasion (124)
Romantic (81)
Good for Groups (41)
See All
Notable Wine List (33)
Fit for Foodies (30)
Great for Lunch (29)
Neighborhood Gem (24)
Great for Brunch (24)
Good for a Date (23)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Business Meals (14)
Worth the Drive (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Cozy (9)
Late-night Find (8)
Hot Spot (8)
Kid-friendly (8)
Comfort Food (7)
Authentic (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Outstanding Value (6)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Fun (5)
Historic (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Casual (3)
Family Style (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Seasonal (3)
People Watching (2)
Private Room (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Happy Hour (1)
Scenic View (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Fireplace (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Live Sports (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2629 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Would come back- this was our 27th anniv ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 3 days ago

Would come back- this was our 27th anniversary !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Did not care for the waitress at all, sh ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined 5 days ago

Did not care for the waitress at all, she did not communicate well, she was hard on hearing and I had to get up and walk up to her across the room... and tell her what we needed, she eventually got to it, this did not look good during a business lunch! Rest of the experience was great!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We were there for my wife's birthday and ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

We were there for my wife's birthday and Christian was our waitress. She was AWESOME. The kitchen seemed a little slower than normal but overall - we love Lawry's...we will be back!!!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I wasn't very impressed with the level o ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

I wasn't very impressed with the level of service we received. It wasn't a busy day but there was a lack of attention and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Service very slow and many orders for ou ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Service very slow and many orders for our table of 8 not remembered.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

The prime rib was not as good as normal. ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

The prime rib was not as good as normal. It was tough

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The food is always great, The spinning b ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

The food is always great, The spinning bowl salad is very well presented. The smoked prime rib was fabulous and the filet was melt in your mouth tender.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were looking for a nice quiet place t ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

We were looking for a nice quiet place to have a Sunday Lunch to celebrate our 51st wedding anniversary. Lawry's was just PERFECT for what we were looking for. It was quiet, good food and attentive wait staff. It exceeded our expectations.

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I'm been eating at Lawry's for three dec ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

I'm been eating at Lawry's for three decades at their various locations. I promised myself I would not go back after a bad experience several months ago. The food is good enough but they are SO cheap on their portions for what many consider an expensive restaurant. The original location in Beverly Hills is fabulous. Good service, food, portions and ambiance. I will NOT be going back to Dallas location as it's clear that they are over managing their portion control. As I was leaving I heard other guests saying the same thing...it just is not as good as it used to be. I'd rather they raise prices a bit but do what you're know for. I give it a big thumbs down.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Excellent Prime Rib , sides were superio ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Excellent Prime Rib , sides were superior...salads crisp, clean and colorful...unlimited wine and beverage list...deserts to die for...service was supernatural (starting with Nancy - The Manager who stopped by our table to say hello..she always makes us feel like part of the Lawry's Family)...Jason (our waiter) catered to our every dining want and need..host (John) always greets us warmly...bus staff friendly and very efficient. It's a dining experience we've treasured each month since 1988.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Private Room, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I had an amazing time here,t ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

My wife and I had an amazing time here,the food was amazing,the music and lighting set he the tone just an overall great xperience at his location.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Prime Rib was excellent. Spinach and co ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Prime Rib was excellent. Spinach and corn was quite tasty too.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is always excellent. An old-fashion ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Food is always excellent. An old-fashion type of place in that customers are cared for and not just another number. Great experience.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Lawrys never disappoints. I have been go ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Lawrys never disappoints. I have been going to Lawreys ever since I came to Dallas 26 years ago. Worth every penny

Tags: Historic, Cozy, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service!! Hollie was our waitr ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Excellent service!! Hollie was our waitress and she was very knowledgable and super friendly!! Food was amazing, it was our first time ever dining at Lawry's and both of us were thrilled with the experience!! The location was easy to find, complementary valet parking was unexpected, and food was excellent!! We are from Wisconsin, attended a business meeting and will return to Lawry's again for sure!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service and ambiance. I felt the f ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Great service and ambiance. I felt the food was good but not excellent. I would go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Ordered two Lawry's Cuts and it took ove ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Ordered two Lawry's Cuts and it took over an hour of waiting before the food actually came. Other tables sat after us, finished their food, and left before we even started. Tipped the waiter anyways, but will not be recommending this restaurant to anyone.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Super waitstaff! Our curved booth was p ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Super waitstaff! Our curved booth was perfect and our server was attentive, fun and very professional. We ordered the California cut of prime rib cooked medium rare and it arrived just that way......It came with horseradish, mashed potatoes and Yorkshire Pudding and therein lies my only complaint. It was seriously overcooked and was tough as a boot.

We enjoyed our time together and did not feel rushed even though they were very busy.

Very enjoyable!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

If you like prime rib, this is the place ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

If you like prime rib, this is the place. The prime rib was amazing! The salad was great as well! It is pricey, but worth it!!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great food, nice ambience and dining e ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Great food, nice ambience and dining experience . Would recommend to my friends to go there and have a good prime rib as well as seafood

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I always get the oscar filet, my favorit ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

I always get the oscar filet, my favorite! I love that the staff does not rush us. I was there for 2 hours with a friend and had a great time, great food, great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lawry's is an outstanding place to dine ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

Lawry's is an outstanding place to dine and relax. It is a top notch restaurant. The manager is focused on customer service. Mr. G is a pleasure.

Tags: Seasonal, Sunday Lunch, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

For starters, the lobster bisque was run ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

For starters, the lobster bisque was runny and grease was sitting on the top. They took it back to the chef and he/she agreed that it should've never been served. The prime rib was tough and had lots of fat on it. The potatoes and cold were cold. I love Lawry's in Chicago but I'd never return to the Dallas location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

My husband ordered the filet and althoug ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

My husband ordered the filet and although it was cooked perfectly, it wasn't seasoned at all. I had the ribeye and it was pretty good but nothing to brag about. We probably won't be going back. The service was phenomenal though. Jason was our server and he was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Always enjoy a good prime rib and Lawry' ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Always enjoy a good prime rib and Lawry's has one of the best. I love that it is carved to your specifications at table side. Lawry's has several traditions that I am always in for, from their spinning salad to the Hot Fudge sundae. Just a great legendary experience that is always consistent.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

BEST RESTAURANT WEEK VALUE - PERIOD. Jus ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

BEST RESTAURANT WEEK VALUE - PERIOD.

Just came from dining there and we are stuffed. Best value for Restaurant Week by far.

Outstanding. If you are looking for an outing on the last week of extended restaurant week then go here. House spinner salad plus a combo for dinner and then dessert.

The combo is your choice of prime rib, filet or salmon PLUS your choice of crab cake, shrimp or ribs. Great food and so much of it. Tremendous value + $9 each to North Texas Food Bank!!!

Don't miss this place if you can fit it into your schedule.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Family Style, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, the food was delicious! The ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

As always, the food was delicious! The spinning salad, roast beef, mashed potatoes, etc. were outstanding. The service is always excellent. This time, it was a little slow, but with apologies from our waiter. I am ready to go again.

Tags: Business Meals, Happy Hour, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Private Room, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

OUTSTANDING FOOD AND SERVICE FROM TOP TO ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

OUTSTANDING FOOD AND SERVICE FROM TOP TO BOTTOM. IT'S A DINING EXPERIENCE WE TREASURE. KEEPS US COMING BACK SINCE 1987

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Definitely not even close to the beverly ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Definitely not even close to the beverly hills location. Food was not even lukewarm. Very disappointed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2

Excellent food and venue for a date nigh ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Excellent food and venue for a date night. We'll be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

service was very slow and below average. ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

service was very slow and below average. Food was very good. I would go back for the prime rib. I was not impressed with the appetizer (calamari / onion string combo). A bit pricey but we expected that going in - $190 for two. we had an appetizer, each got the lawrys cut prime rib and had 2 drinks a piece.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Ridiculously slow service. Prime Rib wa ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Ridiculously slow service. Prime Rib was just ok . Disappointed

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

We where disappointed with the overall e ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

We where disappointed with the overall experience. We have been dinning at Lawerys for as long as we have lived in Dallas ( 25+ yrs) but I am sorry to report that the only thing great as the wine which we have been getting for many years. When you dine at a fine restaurant, you expect the best food, service and atmosphere. This was definitely mediocre experience all around. Prime rib is supposed to be the signature meal. It was not in this case. It was Not as hot and favorable as we remember. The mashed potatoes didn't good consistency. The Yorkshire pudding was cold, tough and tasteless. Service was mediocre. Something has changed at Lawery,s.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

We drove to Dallas from Denton for our m ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

We drove to Dallas from Denton for our meal as there was a "special" in the DMN Guide. We were generally disappointed. My husband's roast beef was not tender and was full of sinue and gristle. My medium cut was the same. Flavor was lacking. The mashed potatoes, creamed corn and spinach were very good. I make a better salad. The dressing was ho-hum. Dessert wise, the cheese cake was good and the pecan pie was excellent. Service was outstanding, but the meal was not worthy of the drive from Denton.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

My husband and I eat at Dallas Lawrys 2- ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

My husband and I eat at Dallas Lawrys 2-3 times per year and have enjoyed the restaurant, food and service. Last night was an exception. I had the veal picatta which was delicious but the portion size was 3 very small thin slices with enough broccoli and potatoes to completely fill the plate. The tiny portion of veal and huge portion of broccoli made the dish over priced and a waste of money for me. My husband and the other couple had the prime rib. The other couples prime rib was tough and difficult to chew--needless to say one meal was not eaten and the other had a few bites taken. My husband's was 1/2 good--he ordered medium and ate the portion that was medium while the other was over done and tough. We ordered the spin salad and it was drenched in dressing--soggy and so much dressing we could only eat a few bites. All in all, it was a lot of money for a terrible meal. We will not return to lawrys again--which is a shame since we love the ambiance. We usually order coffee and dessert but were so disappointed, we quickly got our bill and left the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value2

We were 25 minutes late being seated fel ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

We were 25 minutes late being seated felt like our reservation had been overlooked. Got to the restaurant at 7:10 for a 7:30 reservation was seated at 7:55 after I had inquired when we would be seated.

Had the prime rib and is was tough.

Don't plan to return can find better prime rib at other restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

This occasion for dinner was so worth th ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

This occasion for dinner was so worth the experience. The food was par-excellent. Our table was very exceptional. We enjoyed the this anniversary dinner, and will continue to make it an annual experience.

Thank you, Ann Miller

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Prime Rib in all of Dallas...cooked ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Best Prime Rib in all of Dallas...cooked to perfection...spinning bowl salad was cool, crisp and colorful...sides were outstanding...deserts to die for...SERVICE was Superior starting at the top...Nancy (The Manager) always makes us feel like a part of The Lawry's Family (she is a real GEM)..The servers ( MS . MILLER is the very BEST) always cater to our every dining want and need...The bus staff is always very friendly and very efficient...The Hostesses and host ( Banish ,Colleen and John) ALWAYS Greet us at the door and make us feel so incredibly warm and welcome. It's an experience we Treasure. Keeps us coming back each month since 1987 !!!!

Tags: Romantic, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall the food/service were what we ex ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Overall the food/service were what we expected, very good. We had a great waiter. This was our first time here, which we picked on Restaurant Week's list. The food was great. The Spinning Salad is what their famous for and I have to agree, it was a very tasty salad! For my husband and I It seemed more of an environment for older couples/business meetings. The music was too much like elevator music, which for us is not something we enjoy. With that said, we would not pick Lawry's as a place to visit again. I'm glad it was offered for Restaurant Week and we had a great experience, but it's not a restaurant we would choose, if we were choosing a steak place. However, if you do have a chance to go, it is worth the trip.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Always reliable -- Lawry's is our favori ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Always reliable -- Lawry's is our favorite of all the higher end restaurants in Dallas. Moreover, the location is great for people in North Dallas!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.