About Lawry's The Prime Rib - Dallas

14655 Dallas Parkway
Dallas, TX 75254
View Larger Map

You'll know the moment you arrive that Lawry's The Prime Rib is an extraordinary restaurant. The signature Roasted Prime Ribs of Beef are aged 21 days, rock salt-roasted to perfection then carved to order tableside from shining silver carts. The famous Spinning Bowl Salad, whipped cream horseradish, mashed potatoes, Yorkshire Pudding and warm hospitality complete the experience that has landed Lawry's on countless "10 Best" lists and made it a dining legend since 1938.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Prime Rib, American, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch:
Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm


Dinner:
Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm


Sunday Brunch: 11:00am-2:30pm
Live Music: Thursdays 7-9pm

Cross Street:
Beltline

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(972) 503-6688

Website:
http://www.lawrysonline.com/

Catering:
Full Prime Rib dinners to-go

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Parking

Executive Chef:
Matt Melton

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Lawry's The Prime Rib hosts wine and specialty dinners each month.
Summer Dinner Special for $35.00 from June 1st through June 30th, 2010.
For more details go to http://bit.ly/cvf04e

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Prime Rib - Lawry's Cut - Lawry's The Prime Rib - Dallas, Dallas, TX
Original Spinning Bowl Salad - Lawry's The Prime Rib - Dallas, Dallas, TX
Yorkshire Pudding - Lawry's The Prime Rib - Dallas, Dallas, TX
Merlot - Lawry's The Prime Rib - Dallas, Dallas, TX
Prime Rib with Calimari, Onions etc. - Lawry's The Prime Rib - Dallas, Dallas, TX
Capuchino - Lawry's The Prime Rib - Dallas, Dallas, TX
Prime Rib, Mashed Potatoes, Yorkshire Pudding, Creamed Corn - Lawry's The Prime Rib - Dallas, Dallas, TX
Lobster Tail - Lawry's The Prime Rib - Dallas, Dallas, TX
Mushroom Skillet - Lawry's The Prime Rib - Dallas, Dallas, TX
Ribeye Steak - Lawry's The Prime Rib - Dallas, Dallas, TX
Filet Oscar - Lawry's The Prime Rib - Dallas, Dallas, TX
Carrot Cake - Lawry's The Prime Rib - Dallas, Dallas, TX
Chocolate Cake A La Mode - Lawry's The Prime Rib - Dallas, Dallas, TX
Prime Rib - Lawry's The Prime Rib - Dallas, Dallas, TX
Potatoe Chips - Lawry's The Prime Rib - Dallas, Dallas, TX

Private Dining

Lawry's The Prime Rib is available for nearly any private function from casual luncheons to business dinners to elegant weddings. Delicious food, exceptional hospitality and beautiful surroundings are available during the day for your group of 15 to 150.

Lawry's The Prime Rib - Dallas Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (65)
Good for Anniversaries (57)
Good for a Date (49)
See All
Romantic (44)
Good for Birthdays (42)
Business Meals (40)
Quiet Conversation (34)
Worth the Drive (27)
Cozy (21)
Good for Groups (19)
Notable Wine List (16)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Authentic (14)
Outstanding Value (13)
Comfort Food (12)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Historic (10)
Great for Lunch (10)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Seasonal (9)
Great for Brunch (8)
Bar Seating (8)
Private Room (7)
Casual (5)
Fun (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Fireplace (4)
Family Style (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
People Watching (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Scenic View (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
2946 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Steak was good but soup was too salty, l ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Steak was good but soup was too salty, lobster was fishy and mashed potato tasted like instant powder made. Service was okay but not a steak house should have.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Lawry's is one of our go to spots for pr ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Lawry's is one of our go to spots for prime rib. It's very old school. Lots of wood, the carver taking prime rib around the floor, creamed spinach, cream corn, Yorkshire pudding, etc.. This is a restaurant for grown ups, but is accessible for a family with well behaved kids. We've been going there for dinner for a few years now, but a real gem is their lunch. It's not cheap, but it's worth it. I encourage you to go and enjoy a step back in time.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We had an enjoyable time at the restaura ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 13, 2017

We had an enjoyable time at the restaurant. Our prime rib wasn't that warm which was disappointing. The service was extremely slow. We appreciate taking a little longer of a meal for these type of restaurants, but our waiter, Al, was nowhere to be found when we were ready to order or get our check. The service of water was fine, but that wasn't our waiter. We like the restaurant and have had better meals/ service there before so we aren't discouraged to come back, but it wasn't what we are used to for this restaurant.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

Always wonderful service and they make y ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Always wonderful service and they make you feel at home. Relaxing.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time and I was very impressed! Foo ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 8, 2017

First time and I was very impressed! Food was great and so was the atmosphere. Service was also great. I will definitely be back

Tags: Casual, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

OUTSTANDING PRIME RIB AND STEAK SELECTI ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 7, 2017

OUTSTANDING PRIME RIB AND STEAK SELECTIONS....SALADS COOL, CRISP AND COLORFUL..UNLIMITED WINE AND BEVERAGE LIST...DESERTS TO DIE FOR....SERVICE IS SUPERNATURAL - MS. MILLER (OUR WAITRESS)IS THE VERY BEST....ALWAYS CATERS TO OUR EVERY DINING WANT AND NEED...BUS STAFF ALWAYS FRIENDLY AND VERY EFFICIENT...HOSTESSES (BANISH) ALWAYS GREETS US SO WARMLY AT THE DOOR...KAREN (THE MANAGER) IS A REAL GEM !!! IT'S A DINING EXPERIENCE WE TREASURE...KEEPS US COMING BACK EACH MONTH SINCE 1988 !!!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Private Room, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We took our children to Lawrys 19 years ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We took our children to Lawrys 19 years ago. Our youngest daughter wanted to share the experience with her new husband. Road trip. We traveled 6 hours just to eat at lawrys. So worth it plus we had great family time. Dallas was the closet location to us.

Tags: Business Meals, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always a treat to dine at Lawrys! Great ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Always a treat to dine at Lawrys! Great food and great service! ❤

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for lunch and the lunch is a carvin ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Went for lunch and the lunch is a carving station and you pay for what you order. A little confusing but the food very good.

Tags: Historic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

What a disappointment for a birthday din ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 6, 2017

What a disappointment for a birthday dinner.

Service was mediocre and food was not anywhere near as good as it used to be.

Arrived 7 minutes prior to our reservation time and hostess told us we would need to wait until our reservation time to be seated. The restaurant was not very full so not sure why we had to wait until our exact reservation time. She could have said something other than we would have to wait until our reservation time.

Once seated, waited several minutes for someone to take our drink orders - not a big deal. Three out of four in our party ordered the California Cut. All agreed that the prime rib was tough, bland and not very warm. The mashed potatoes were piping hot, but seemed to have been overwhipped as they tasted watery. Our drinks were nearly empty when food arrived, no one offered refills nor came to check on us the entire time we were eating. Eventually flagged down someone to refill waters at least. Waitress returned to our table after we were finished eating and table had been cleared. Had she come sooner she might have seen half eaten meals.

Lawry's used to be one on my favorite restaurants. Doubt I will ever return given my most recent dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

Awesome prime rib!! Great experience, e ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Awesome prime rib!! Great experience, everyone was so nice!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was our first time to Lawry's and w ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 4, 2017

This was our first time to Lawry's and was a 55th Birthday Celebration for my husband. He had heard great things about the restaurant and it was sure not to disappoint. A very nice and quiet atmosphere with light jazz music playing. He ordered their famous prime rib which is carved tableside and I ordered the hickory smoked filet with a demi-glas that was out of this world. The server asked if we would care for dessert after the meal which there was no way we could indulge. When she brought our check we were surprised with a slice of strawberry drizzled napoleon cake topped with with cream and a single candle for his birthday. We highly recommend Lawry's for the excellent food and exceptional service for any occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Cozy, , Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Fireplace, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Family Style, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Love Lawry’s always have, but on this ev ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Love Lawry’s always have, but on this evening we were seated in a room full of what we were later told were High School student? Not sure why they were drinking like they were but they roamed around the room talked crude and loud, bumped into my wife’s chair. Just a bad experience. We were offered comp deserts, my wife had something I did not. So than they came and offered to comp our wine. Than they came back and said no to the wine and just knock off a few dollars. Sad to see management allow this, to a otherwise great establishment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value4

Perfect evening out. Excellent food an ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Perfect evening out. Excellent food and great service. The bartenders were also very friendly. The Prime Rib and Yorkshire pudding were phenomenal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Top shelf dining with excellent service. ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Top shelf dining with excellent service. Food and atmosphere will delight the senses.

Tags: Happy Hour, Fireplace, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lawry's never disappoints and the servic ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Lawry's never disappoints and the service is outstanding. The bar manager was very knowledgeable of the winrs and actually recommended a wine that was less expensive for the taste. She was fabulous and we loved her selection as it went so well with our food. I had a smoked ribeye that was firk tender and bursting wi5h flavor.

Tags: , Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service- this is one of m ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great food and service- this is one of my favorite places to eat. The cost is well worth it.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lawry's is a classic! I've been going t ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Lawry's is a classic! I've been going to this restaurant since my grandparents took me to the Beverly Hills location as a child. If you love prime rib, this is the place for you. They have the most amazing prime rib and the sides (creamed corn, creamed spinach, mashed potatoes, and yorkshire pudding for me) are delicious. They have other options, too, but for me, it's the classics. Don't miss the spinning salad bowl as a starter either. We go to Lawry's whenever we are in Dallas, Chicago, Las Vegas or Beverly Hills....

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I went to dinner for our 48t ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 30, 2016

My wife and I went to dinner for our 48th wedding anniversary. We have been there a number of times and have never been disappointed. The prime rib was outstanding, service excellent, we have no complaints. Thank you Lawry management for maintaining excellence in food and service in your restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

As always everything was excellent. Can' ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 29, 2016

As always everything was excellent. Can't beat the Yorkshire pudding and prime rib.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

The Grill area (bar) is a great deal for ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 29, 2016

The Grill area (bar) is a great deal for a quick dinner. We try to go on Wednesday when they have their burger special. Wonderful burger with truffle fries. Plus, happy hour until 7 is a great value.

Tags: Bar Seating, Romantic, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Excellent meal, Hillary our server was a ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Excellent meal, Hillary our server was also excellent, loved it. Surprised at the lack of dress code as I had "talked up" the restaurant as dressy and elegant to family in town from Boston. Very surprised to see people in jeans and very casual attire.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Molecular Gastronomy, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

One of my favorite places, great food a ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 28, 2016

One of my favorite places, great food and service

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Thoroughly enjoyed using the gift card w ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed using the gift card we received from a friend - our first visit to Lawry's. However, I lost my eye glasses that evening, perhaps at Lawry's or perhaps not. I have telephoned twice, but no glasses have been turned in. Would appreciate a final look. My telephone is 214.321.8618. Thank you for the delightful evening. Larry Miller

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Or waitress Miss Quintenilla and the des ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Or waitress Miss Quintenilla and the dessert!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

The Prime Rib was perfect as always. The ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 27, 2016

The Prime Rib was perfect as always. The side dishes were fabulous. We tried the Smoked Gouda Mac & Cheese. It was wonderful. We had the pecan pie and coffee for desert, it was amazing as well.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed the meal very much and the se ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 27, 2016

We enjoyed the meal very much and the service was excellent. Samantha did a very good job of taking care of our needs.

Tags: Bar Seating, People Watching, Good for Groups, Paleo Friendly, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Service is of the highest quality and pe ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Service is of the highest quality and people are warm and friendly. Highly recommend.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

NOT OUR OR YOUR BEST NIGHT. Sort of blah ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 24, 2016

NOT OUR OR YOUR BEST NIGHT.

Sort of blah, hardly saw Carolers or heard them. Food ok and staff acted like they really did not want to be there. Maybe others had experienced what we did as we noticed the numbers seem to be way down for Christmas Eve.

Not sure we will be back for Christmas Eve again. Very sad as we have been coming to Lawry's for a long period of time - tradition for us but will look around for other options next year and start a new tradition.

Not a memorable night for our Family. No talk of how much fun we had or how good it was this time as we have in the past.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Went out to celebrate some graduations. ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Went out to celebrate some graduations. The restaurant is good looking but it was a little cramped. Our server was excellent and the food was superb. The dining experience was all around fantastic and I will make this a regular special occassion/celebratory destination.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Pre Christmas dinner with family from ou ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Pre Christmas dinner with family from out of town. Service was impeccable. Food was delicious. Will be our go to special occasion restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Hadn't been in years, was as remembered. ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Hadn't been in years, was as remembered. Great food & service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Food was cold, meat was very tough. No ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Food was cold, meat was very tough. Not very good showing for a holiday event.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

We had six people and we all thought the ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 22, 2016

We had six people and we all thought the food was wonderful and plan to return. Special occasions we will always go there.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Please know I am not fishing for a free ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Please know I am not fishing for a free meal, but offering an honest appraisal of our dinner. We ordered Lawry's Cut Prime Rib. Without a doubt, we left more gristle on our plates than there were edible portions. I knew we were in trouble when the meat cutter had difficulty cutting through meat that was on the portable cart. Likewise, we had trouble cutting through the meat that was edible. The wine was very good, and the potatoes were fine, but not spectacular, considering the total price of the two dinners, which was $190.00, including tip. The strolling carolers were a nice touch. We found them to be very talented. My salad was very good as was my wife's lobster bisque. Our waiter was very attentive and professional, and particularly so, given the night's busy attendance. Perhaps you simply had a bad night, as we have heard positive comments in the past from friends and business associates. Truly, we expected a much better dining experience than we received.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

My husband and I love going each year du ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 20, 2016

My husband and I love going each year during the holidays. They have carolers singing Christmas music. My favorite time of year to eat there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lawry's has the BEST prime rib you will ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Lawry's has the BEST prime rib you will ever eat. Their seafood and steaks are excellent, too!

The spinning bowl salad is always nice and cold and delicious! A wonderful special occasion restaurant! Beautiful delicious desserts. Go and ENJOY!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was wonderful as usual. The ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Everything was wonderful as usual. The food was great, the atmosphere was great and Hollie our server was super as usual.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lawry's The Prime Rib is one of the best ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Lawry's The Prime Rib is one of the best lunch spots in Dallas. Wonderful sandwiches - prime rib, turkey, pastrimi, or a slice of the best prime rib in the city. Excellent side items. Great atmosphere. Worth a trip.

Tags: Worth the Drive, , Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

This place was good years ago. Service ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 18, 2016

This place was good years ago. Service was not attentive and slow. Food was overpriced for poor quality. The available cuts are too small. Who ever heard of a 6 oz prime rib and the largest without a bone is 10 oz. The $39 Lawry's cut (10 oz) appeared to be the lowest grade of beef certainly not prime and did not even appear to be choice. Then when you order the $7 corn and $7 spinach side for the table you get a single serving small bowl that is reminiscent of the small plastic bowl you got at the school cafeteria. Nothing we got was hot and quite frankly I can prepare this at home and it is far superior.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.