About Lawry's The Prime Rib - Dallas

You'll know the moment you arrive that Lawry's The Prime Rib is an extraordinary restaurant. The signature Roasted Prime Ribs of Beef are aged 21 days, rock salt-roasted to perfection then carved to order tableside from shining silver carts. The famous Spinning Bowl Salad, whipped cream horseradish, mashed potatoes, Yorkshire Pudding and warm hospitality complete the experience that has landed Lawry's on countless "10 Best" lists and made it a dining legend since 1938.

14655 Dallas Parkway
Dallas, TX 75254
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Prime Rib, American, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch:
Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm


Dinner:
Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm


Sunday Brunch: 11:00am-2:30pm
Live Music: Thursdays 7-9pm

Cross Street:
Beltline

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(972) 503-6688

Website:
http://www.lawrysonline.com/

Catering:
Full Prime Rib dinners to-go

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Parking

Executive Chef:
Matt Melton

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Lawry's The Prime Rib hosts wine and specialty dinners each month.
Summer Dinner Special for $35.00 from June 1st through June 30th, 2010.
For more details go to http://bit.ly/cvf04e

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 8:00PM - 9:00PM

Mon - Wed 11:00AM - 11:15AM 12:15PM - 1:00PM 5:00PM - 5:30PM 7:45PM - 9:30PM

Thu 11:00AM - 11:15AM 12:15PM - 1:00PM 5:00PM - 5:15PM 7:45PM - 9:30PM

Fri 11:00AM - 11:15AM 12:15PM - 1:00PM 5:00PM - 5:00PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Sat 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

Lawry's The Prime Rib is available for nearly any private function from casual luncheons to business dinners to elegant weddings. Delicious food, exceptional hospitality and beautiful surroundings are available during the day for your group of 15 to 150.

Lawry's The Prime Rib - Dallas Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (100)
Good for Anniversaries (74)
Business Meals (61)
See All
Good for a Date (60)
Good for Birthdays (57)
Romantic (54)
Quiet Conversation (49)
Worth the Drive (43)
Good for Groups (36)
Great for Lunch (33)
Notable Wine List (32)
Cozy (26)
Comfort Food (22)
Sunday Lunch (21)
Authentic (19)
Bar Seating (18)
Great for Brunch (17)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Casual (10)
Happy Hour (9)
Fun (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Paleo Friendly (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
Seasonal (5)
People Watching (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Family Style (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Private Room (3)
Scenic View (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Historic (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Sort By:
S
3217 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Our waiter was knolegeable about history and very pleasant. The water server was great. Mom had asked our waiter for ketchup, because that is what she likes with her meat, but it never came until we asked the water server and he got it to her right away, thanks.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Awesome food and really good service! Highly recommend for special occassions.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Mediocre! Steaks no flavor, tomatoe salad was a joke! Thin sliced tomatoes all arugula. Dry had to ask for dressing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value2

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Lawry's has always been consistently good. No exception last Saturday night. Waiter was wonderful and very knowledgable.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Travis T is a great waiter. $99 prime rib dinner for two is a great value!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

The mashed potatoes that came with your steak tasted like instant mashed potatoes. The steak was OK but for the money you pay you would think this side dishes would taste more gourmet and the bread would be more gourmet for the cost. The bread and potatoes tasted like they were from a cafeteria at school

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 13, 2017

When we decide to go out for a nice dinner, it starts with great drinks at the bar, a wonderful dinner with a great bottle of wine. Lawry's was lacking in these areas important to us. I ordered a Rye Manhattan straight up. The bartender shook the drink rather than stirring, used a low end vermouth and put a generic maraschino cherry in the drink rather than a luxardo. Any high end restaurant should have a well stocked bar and be knowledgeable in how to make drinks. The wine selection was very limited, nearly all overpriced California Cabs. If would have been nice to have had some selections of French Rhone's & Burgundy's. The Lawry's prime cut was not cut evenly nevertheless it was commensurate with the price. The overall service was average at best. Next time we want a nice evening out it will not be at Lawry's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 12, 2017

The waiter forgot to bring yorkshire pudding to go along with the prime rib.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Great food, service and ambiance. Thanks Brad for making our night special. Ice cold spinning salad is delicious! Prime rib and Yorkshire pudding are a must! Coconut cream pie is ultra big--split it!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Slow slow slow service. We were always waiting for food etc

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 12, 2017

The Prime rib is to die for! The service fantastic. The wine menu has something for everyone. They serve the meal from a rolling steam cart so you can get exactly the cut and how you like it cooked-and I mean exactly. This is a Restaurant where everyone working delights in you being there-and I mean everyone--even the valet who actually ran to my car. It's a gem-don't miss out.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Business Meals, People Watching, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 12, 2017

We enjoyed our dinner with our friends. Lawry's is a tradition for us and it was excellent as always. We have been dining at Lawry's for 40 years.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 12, 2017

the food was absolutely delicious. the service could've been better. our server was very forgetful and we had to sit around and wait for nearly everything.

Tags: Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Simply amazing I loved the tenderness and redness of the prime rib!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Quick Bite, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 9, 2017

I always enjoy Lawry's. The beef, the appetizers, the sides are consistently excellent and the service is always 1st class.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 6, 2017

The food was excellent. The service was lackluster. I've been to Lawrys Beverly Hills and Lawrys Las Vegas. This Lawrys needs a service boost. Examples include forgetting proper utensils for dining, not removing crumbs from the table, bread but no bread plates, etc. Agsin, the food was great. Pecan pie is killer!!!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Lawrys is famous for their "Prime Rib"; one reason for our choice for a birthday boy. Easy to get to on & off dallas Parkway; love the menu and the valet service was stupendous.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, People Watching, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

I have visited Lawrys many times over the years. The last two times have been very disappointing. I have ordered the Lawrys cut and each time the meat is not very warm, the cart does not keep the meat warm enough. The carver also likes to cut you a thinner piece of meat when they give you the bone as compared to a non bone piece. They have done this to me twice.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Still our favorite of favorites. We and our best traveling companions (4 in all) drove from Tyler just to have a special meal at Lawry's. We were not disappointed.

First, their bar is excellent. I love to start a special meal with a drink in the bar. Their cocktails are beautifully crafted to showcase the liquor not the mixer. Not overly sweet, they are made the way cocktails were meant to be. The complimentary homemade potato chips are outstanding.

Then, to the dining room with those wonderful booths reminiscent of fine dining in days gone by. Quiet and elegant with friendly yet professional servers. We enjoyed the $99 special: Started with spinning salad bowl, then prime rib with creamy mashed potatoes and gravy, Yorkshire pudding to soak up the amazing au jus , and one side (creamed spinach or creamed corn), wrapping up with amazing pecan pie or cheesecake.

An amazing meal and well worth the drive. Plus, using the Lawry's card, we earned enough points to return soon. The card also awards extra points for birthday month.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Amazing as always. We dine here often and are never disappointed.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Incredible evening! This was our first time to Lawry's in Dallas - we had been to other locations. As usual, it was fantastic! Their treatment of a "meal experience" is exquisite. You will not be disappointed.

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 4, 2017

food and service is excellent and our waiter Patrick was wonderful

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Our food was good with the exception of one us with a large filet. It was ordered med well but came raw in the center. When I got it back it was over cooked and dry and very hard on tge outside. Manager did give us free dessert which was excellent but a $50 inedible steak was bad. My dog did enjoy it though. Then to top it off we made sure to meet dresscode but I guess you can wear anything. Two young men came in and were seated a couple of tables from us and one was wearing a "wife beater" skin tight tank top with baggy gym shirts hanging to the floor the other baggy shirts with a tshirt that had the word "narcotics" in large print across the front. People dress better at mcdonalds! Very let down and it only cost my wife and I $160 for bad food and bad dressed people!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 31, 2017

The service was impeccable Prime Rib is outstanding and sides were perfect.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 31, 2017

Excellent as usual

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 30, 2017

We were a little disappointed as we'd only eaten at the Lawry's in Las Vegas prior to this and Vegas was much better. The service was fine though we were told we'd get a special dessert as we were celebrating our anniversary. It didn't get delivered. Also, the meal was warm, not hot, my cut was grisly and somewhat tough. Finally we were offered sides of cream corn and spinach but not made aware of up charges for each. Probably won't return.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 30, 2017

We've eaten at Lawry's several times and although the quality has varied over the years it is still one of the best restaurants for prime rib. The prime rib itself was slightly less "prime" than we remembered, maybe they're using a different supplier. And, I was really disappointed in the stingy little piece of yorkshire pudding we were served as well as very little gravy. However, the high point of the evening had to be Lawry's staff. The hostess provided some cushioning for what one of our party found to be uncomfortable chairs, and our waiter, Ryan, was as professional and courteous and obliging as any server we've probably ever had anywhere. On our return to Lawry's we would always hope to be seated at Ryan's station.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

The only complaint I have is I ask for my filet to be cooked Medium well and it came out well done very DRY. I didn't send it back because it messes up the whole meal and evening when you do that. just need to follow instructions better when preparing guests food.

Tags: Casual, Tasting Menu, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 28, 2017

The bone-in ribeye is the best steak in Dallas. Service was great - polite, friendly and professional.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Food was exceptional and the staff were very helpful/friendly. Great dining experience!

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Celebrated a Birthday and they did it with class. You can't go wrong with the Prime Rib. Kudos to Christia and Chef Carlos.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

Great place, but we could hear the complete discussion from the table next too us, very disappointed with that..
My steak came out too bloody sent it back but came back bout same.. by this time waitress had volunteered to get a new dish but was full and rest of table was almost done, service from kitchen was little bit slow dinner took over 2hts to compete, and the my dessert order couldnt be filled tbey ran out..😭
But waitress did a great job.

Tags: Seasonal, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 26, 2017

I have been to all of Lawry's locations in the United States. The food is wonderful along with impeccable service, however, the best thing is CONSISTENCY in quality no matter the location. To me that is a sign of quality.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Lawry's is the benchmark for the best prime rib anywhere period! They also deliver well prepared seafood along with some other entrees that are also delicious.

Lawry's is wonderful for a special occasion or if the occasion is just to have dinner and make it a sense of occasion. The serving staff is outstanding as well as the cuisine.

Enjoy!🍴🍷

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 26, 2017

We gathered for a friends get together and were introduced to Lawry's seasonal meal for two promotion. The value, quality, and presentation was excellent. Although we scheduled our dinner during Lawry's renovations to their main dining area, they had managed to move their tables into the banquet room and bar dining area and while not as fashionable as their dining area will be upon completion of the renovations, the service and was excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Best Prime rib I have ever had, Mac and Cheese was fantastic.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Outstanding, as always, highly recommend for a special occasion or romantic date!

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Lawry's champagne brunch is a special time for Sunday brunch with family and/or friends. Their menu is not only their famous prime rib entrees but many others to choose from. They have 3 starters to choose from and you will be served their delicious sourdough bread along with most flavorful blueberry muffins first along with 3 speciality butters. Go and ENJOY!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

Sad experience. Started with a shabby dressed valet, the springs in our booth were sagging, daughter ordered white wine, got red. The waitress should be working at a sports bar, the people around us were dressed in Hawaiian shirt and beach wear. The prime rib cart could not come close to our table, we were told to turn around and look down the aisle at it. My tea was never refilled, had to flag down the bus boy. I was very disappointed in the $300 experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

The waiter was awesome. i wish I could remember his name. The food and service was perfect. My only complaint is that I ate too much!

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.