About Lawry's The Prime Rib - Dallas

14655 Dallas Parkway
Dallas, TX 75254
View Larger Map

You'll know the moment you arrive that Lawry's The Prime Rib is an extraordinary restaurant. The signature Roasted Prime Ribs of Beef are aged 21 days, rock salt-roasted to perfection then carved to order tableside from shining silver carts. The famous Spinning Bowl Salad, whipped cream horseradish, mashed potatoes, Yorkshire Pudding and warm hospitality complete the experience that has landed Lawry's on countless "10 Best" lists and made it a dining legend since 1938.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Prime Rib, American, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch:
Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm


Dinner:
Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm


Sunday Brunch: 11:00am-2:30pm
Live Music: Thursdays 7-9pm

Cross Street:
Beltline

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(972) 503-6688

Website:
http://www.lawrysonline.com/

Catering:
Full Prime Rib dinners to-go

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Parking

Executive Chef:
Matt Melton

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Lawry's The Prime Rib hosts wine and specialty dinners each month.
Summer Dinner Special for $35.00 from June 1st through June 30th, 2010.
For more details go to http://bit.ly/cvf04e

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 8:00PM - 9:00PM

Mon - Wed 11:00AM - 11:15AM 12:15PM - 1:00PM 5:00PM - 5:30PM 7:45PM - 9:30PM

Thu 11:00AM - 11:15AM 12:15PM - 1:00PM 5:00PM - 5:15PM 7:45PM - 9:30PM

Fri 11:00AM - 11:15AM 12:15PM - 1:00PM 5:00PM - 5:00PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Sat 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

Lawry's The Prime Rib is available for nearly any private function from casual luncheons to business dinners to elegant weddings. Delicious food, exceptional hospitality and beautiful surroundings are available during the day for your group of 15 to 150.

Lawry's The Prime Rib - Dallas Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (81)
Special Occasion (80)
Good for a Date (60)
See All
Romantic (58)
Quiet Conversation (50)
Business Meals (48)
Good for Birthdays (45)
Worth the Drive (36)
Cozy (26)
Notable Wine List (25)
Good for Groups (25)
Authentic (18)
Sunday Lunch (17)
Outstanding Value (15)
Bar Seating (15)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Great for Lunch (13)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Comfort Food (11)
Great for Brunch (11)
Seasonal (9)
Happy Hour (9)
Historic (9)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Tasting Menu (8)
Paleo Friendly (8)
Fun (7)
Private Room (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Casual (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
People Watching (5)
Fireplace (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Family Style (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Scenic View (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great Beer (1)
Healthy (1)
Live Sports (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
S
3004 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 2 days ago

Comparing to the Beverly Hills and Las Vegas location, this one was by far the worst. Even Lawry's Carvery locations in California have better food.

Medium Rare looked more medium and the meat isn't as tender as the prime rib you would get at other Lawry's locations. It was "good" for something you would get from a casino buffet but when comparing to other Lawry's, it was like comparing beef that cuts like butter to trying to eat beef jerky.

In addition the spinning salad bowl isn't included, however, the price of the dinner is cheaper so in the end it comes out to the same when comparing prices to other Lawry's.

Also they forgot the croutons for the salad and had to ask for them.

Also the Yorkshire Pudding wasn't light and fluffy like the ones you would get at the Beverly Hills / Las Vegas locations. It's more doughy.

If you never been to another Lawry's location, you'll probably enjoy your meal. However, if you are expecting the higher quality meal that is comparable to Lawry's Beverly Hills and Las Vegas locations... you'll be greatly disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Brunch was fantastic! Lovely dining area and excellent service

Tags: Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 3 days ago

Steaks were a little rare for our taste...everything else was wonderful...the server we had was EXCELLENT..she explained everything to us and wished my husband a Happy Birthday...very warm and comfortable surroundings

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 3 days ago

This was my first time coming here to eat, and after the wonderful experience I had, I'll defintely be back! The food was AMAZING!! So tasty!! And my server, Travis was exceptional!! The food is a bit costly, but it's a nice treat for an every once in awhile occasion, and to be honest, the cost is well worth it!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined 4 days ago

Food and service was outstanding! Atmosphere is very traditional with rich colors with modest noise level which is perfect for good conversation. If Prime Rib is your thing, this is one of the best!

Tags: People Watching, Special Occasion, Authentic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent meal. Great server and very attentive. Exceeded all our expectations. Friendly and helpful staff. We highly recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 6 days ago

Always enjoy eating at Lawry's. the food is excellent and service superb. Lunch offers several options as well as the famous Prime Rib. It is a quiet place for conversations as well.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined 7 days ago

Predictably good, but not great. This is excellent prime rib and the spinning salad and loaded baked potato have been staples of Lawry's for decades. Coming to Lawry's is like going home for Christmas. It was more fun in the old days but it still feels good. The service was great and the food was good, but it's just a little dated.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Good place for traditional prime rib roast. Service was good and the ambience was very nice.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Clearly outstanding!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Excellent atmosphere, Excellent food and superb service. The wait staff was extra attentive ,answered all guestions and was very friendly.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Everything we had was absolutely amazing. Our server Brad was fantastic and our meat carver was great as well. They both gave great suggestions and were very attentive. The food was top notch and I have no complaints.

Tags: Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Historic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 17, 2017

It was our anniversary and I was disappointed in the service and lack of attention. It was a very special day for us. Our waitress was very nice, I wouldnt short her for that. Just a disappointing eventing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 15, 2017

This was our first time to try the $20 for two specials; Wed-Fri in the bar. Fantastic! Will definitely try the other two options. Fun, relaxed after work crowd.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The meat cuts were mostly fat and very bland, the sides were low quality. For $50 per plate this place is no value. Its a huge disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 15, 2017

valentines day reservations on time, great seating, excellent service, just excellent.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Excellent service. Employees are very professional. Will return!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Paleo Friendly, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Delicious as always. Cheaper than a sushi dinner and as satisfying as a caveman's feast.

Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Wonderful wait staff. Very attentive and responsive. Helpful and kind.

Prime rib: cool to cold on serving. Tender. Juicy, not very flavorful.

What's up with that giant silver beast rolling around and its attendant that was treated like a plantation slave? A disturbing novelty as it did not seemed to serve the purpose of keeping food hot or even warm.

Seating was very good with a booth that was private and cozy yet roomy enough to accommodate several plates.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Will not go back. Meat was bland and had no flavor. Prime rib was so bloody, could only taste blood. My wife ordered a $52 filet and ordered it rare. It came out medium well. Bill was $186 and we didn't even eat our plates!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service5
value1

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The server was excellent. Very professional, friendly and attentive. The food was excellent, prime Rib the best in all of North Texas. The ambiance was exquisite. As always an outstanding establishment. Thanks

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date, Historic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Mr. G and the rest of the administrative team are fantastic. They provide outstanding customer service. The food is delicious and the servers are very good.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Normally the food is outstanding but I was disappointed that the creamed horseradish was very bland and the creamed spinach was course and bland, too. Not sure why the changes but nevertheless we love Lawry's and will continue to go for special occasions!

Tags: Seasonal, Comfort Food, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Have been here before and this was the first time the service was poor. She couldn't remember what we ordered and served some salads they didn't order. She was a train wreck. You don't expect this at a fine dining establishment.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Lawry's has been a favorite of mine for quite some time. I have enjoyed their Sunday brunch, a nice glass of bourbon at the bar after a long day at work, and I am a regular at their monthly wine dinners. The staff is professional and provide superior service. The chef team clearly puts thought and love into their creative creations and menu standards. The wine list is impecable and their bar manager clearly cares about putting the very best in front her guests. It is a great restaurant for any occasion (or no occasion)... which is a part of why it is perfect.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Private Room, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 12, 2017

So very disappointed in this experience. The entire service from beginning to end was very slow and inattentive. Appetizer was slightly warm but on a very hot plate indicating it had been sitting under a heat lamp for some time. Cuts of prime rib were flavorless and unappealing. The pre-dinner cocktails and sourdough bread were excellent but that was the best part of the evening. The birthday celebration for my guest was such a disappointment. I will not return here or recommend to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Prime rib was very good. Staff was very timely, helpful and courteous. Wine menu was limited but very good, all excellent choices. Valet parking was quick and convenient. Bathrooms were very clean. We enjoy the atmosphere but miss the old location in the arts district, with the fireplace and sofas in the entry area. Still coming back after first visit in 1987. 30 years wow!

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We have never been disappointed when eating at Lawry's and this time was no different from the ease of getting seated right away to the perfect service we had. Top notch. We were eating there as a date night without the kids, but it would be good for any occasion. We have gone to lots of places we love, but quality ends up going down hill, but we've been eating at Lawry's for better than 10 yrs maybe even 15 and it stays the same and although more than we can do on real regular basis, it is great quality and the food is worth every penny spent. Fantastic service every time as well. They take their servers very seriously. Thanks Lawry's for another great dinning experience.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 11, 2017

It was perfect for an early Valentines dinner. My wife's first time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Food was great! Service exceptional. Pricey but worth it to celebrate special occasions.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Incredible food and service! Came here for lunch and it was set up as a 'business express' type of service. Food and service were nothing shy of spectacular! Next time I'm in Dallas I will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Wonderful meal which started with craft cocktails and sourdough bread. Everyone enjoyed different salads, and there were not enough superlatives to describe them. 1 person had the sea bass and nearly licked her plate clean, while the rest of us had the prime rib. We love the presentation and details of each plate. Our favorite server, Hollie, was training another server; and there were no hiccups in our service. Beautiful dinner followed by a slice of their decadent chocolate cake. We were a party of 5 and we could not finish the cake. We love this restaurant! Cannot wait to go again.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Historic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Lawry's is the gold standard for delivering a consistently superior meal in a sophisticaled athmosphere. This is prime rib and old-school at its best.

Too bad that they've eliminated some of the standards from the menu over the years.

Never disappoints.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Took a co-worker to Lawry's for a celebratory lunch and was surprised that it was served buffet style. Despite the limited menu, I just didn't pick up on that. We both ordered the Lawry's cut, which was generous in portion size, but the creamed veggie and mashed potato sides were the only other options, so when it was all placed on the same plate, the meat juices combined with everything else into a rather texture-less meal. If prime rib is your thing, than you can't really go wrong, but this isn't a place to impress anyone with variety or interesting (or even solid) sides. Seating near the buffet station with patrons continuously walking by wasn't the best ambiance, and they charged extra for the chocolate chip cookies. Overall, not worth the price tag for me or my co-worker.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Excellent food. Best prime rib ever. Wonderful idea.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 4, 2017

There are only a few of these restaurants in the U.S. Well worth the drive and $$$$.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 3, 2017

This place has been around for many year. The menu never seems to change so you wont get a lot of variety. Nonetheless, its consistent and pretty good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Lovely ambiance and warm service. The food was excellent, overall great experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Perfect!!!! Celebrating Christmas with my children.

Tags: Historic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The food was very good, but the English Cut I had was not as tender as in the past. Are you still preparing it the same way?

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Service was very bad. We spent over 3 hrs at the restaurant. When entrees were served, ordered sides never showed up. We had to find someone to get our sides. For dessert, we waited for menus but we had to find someone to get us menus. Our coffees went cold because sweeteners were not provided. We had to find someone to get us the check. The experience was not worth the price of the dinner.

Bottom line, the waiter was not attentive. When we asked for things it took a long time. It impacted a good evening with friends. I won't do this again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The prime rib was outstanding. It nearly melted in your mouth. We all loved the yorkshire pudding . This is our favorite meal. The salads and sides were all very tasty. Ofcourse with all this the service was excellent, very helpful.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We get together with friends twice a year at Lawry's. We love the ambience and cart side service of the prime rib. Our server Travis is great and we always ask for him when we dine at Lawry's.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 27, 2017

The prime rib was really good. Got the Lawrys cut. 10 ounces. Good size. Ate the whole thing. Great au jus. I can't imagine eating there two bigger options. The next up was 16 ounces and then they have a 24 ounce version!

Pork belly app was also good.

Caesar salad was good.

Yorkshire pudding was good.

We had creamed corn and spinach as sides. They were just okay. Not worth $7 each.

Didn't try the mashed potatoes.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 26, 2017

This is our regular spot for birthdays, anniversarys, Sunday brunches, and anytime that we want a special meal.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Went to Lawry's for prime rib on our anniversary. It is a cut of meat that is hard to prepare at home. The prime was excellent, veggies the same and the deserts (pecan pie and hot fudge sundae) were special. I give the food and experience four stars. The only thing that I would change is the addition of cheese as an option on the baked potato.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 25, 2017

As always the food and service are great, but this time our server Travis went above and beyond great service and personality made sure our dining experience was great.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Romantic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 23, 2017

This is my first trip to Lawry's in Dallas and it was simply excellent. Superb service and wonderful food. We will be back again soon!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 22, 2017

great experience. very busy, but had table available at the time of our reservation. service great as was the food.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Roxanne was our waitress...she was outstanding!!! (As was our food). A great date night for my wife and me!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.