About Lawrence Restaurant

5201 St. Laurent Blvd
Montreal, QC H2T 1S4
View Larger Map

Delicious

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
European

Hours of Operation:

Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm

Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm

Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Fairmount

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(514) 503-1070

Website:
http://lawrencerestaurant.com/

Executive Chef:
Marc Cohen

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Paris Brest
  • Oysters
Paris Brest
Oysters

Lawrence Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Montreal / Quebec
Neighborhood Gem
Montreal / Quebec
Fit for Foodies
Montreal
1 More
Neighborhood Gem
Montreal
Best Restaurants in Mile End ›

Fit for Foodies (40)
Neighborhood Gem (29)
Notable Wine List (22)
See All
Great for Lunch (19)
Special Occasion (15)
Good for Groups (13)
Great for Brunch (11)
Hot Spot (11)
Romantic (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Late-night Find (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Authentic (5)
Good for a Date (5)
Casual (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Healthy (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Seasonal (3)
Fun (2)
People Watching (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Scenic View (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Cozy (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Business Meals (1)
Sort By:
Newest
128 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was very delicious and the serv ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

The food was very delicious and the service was great. An unexpected, yet extremely pleasing find.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We were introduced to Lawrence on a food ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

We were introduced to Lawrence on a food tour of mile end. It is affiliated with the organic and sustainable butcher 2 doors down. We came back that night and it was our favorite food of the 5 day trip. 4 of us got double appetizers. Good onion soup, great corn and sturgeon soup, fresh side salad, the shredded rabbit with artichokes, olives and capers. The only one we would skip is the shrimp with grilled zucchini. Excellent fresh oysters and our favorite was the octopus nduja with a chorizo spread on toast. Yum. Ah but the other 2 had stellar entrees ! A huge dinner plate sized pork chop that was fork tender and melt in your mouth with the most amazing potatoes fried in beef fat! And the perfectly seasoned and cooked lamb with cauliflower and salt lemon was only a slightly smaller portion. Good wine selection, casual atmosphere, great service!

Tags: Healthy, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Finally went to see what all the hype ha ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Finally went to see what all the hype has been about. I would go back but not for a main dish but rather a couple of appetizers. The two main dishes we had were not great: the lamb dish was not as tender as you'd expect nor as flavourful. The chicken liver and seaweed& pasta dish was moderately good. Service very pleasant though and a fantastic wine list.

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

A wonderful, cozy atmosphere paired with ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

A wonderful, cozy atmosphere paired with wonderful drinks and unique, local food. Service was perfect, too. Thank you for a great evening!

Tags: Fun, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Outstanding Value, Cozy, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Authentic, Bar Seating, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Seasonal, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I only have one word to describe our eve ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

I only have one word to describe our evening: AMAZING! It was a perfect dinner for a special occasion. Thank you very much Lawrence! We'll be back for sure.

Tags: Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Casual, Healthy, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good overall. My husband and I were in t ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Good overall. My husband and I were in town and met my son for lunch. We all enjoyed our food. Service was attentive and pleasant. The menu wasn't extensive but adequate for us. Thank you!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We visited Lawrence twice on our vacatio ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

We visited Lawrence twice on our vacation to Montreal, after an amazing meal the previous year.

The service was impeccable and the food is spectacular. My husband and I cannot recommend this restaurant enough.

Tags: Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service, staff, and food are all per ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The service, staff, and food are all perfect at Lawrence. The food is always amazing and the experience I was able to share with my friends will, for sure, be a lasting memory for all eleven of us. I look forward to dining at Lawrence every year, it absolutely never disappoints.

The beef tail for two with the corn risotto, by the way, is a dish I will surely never forget.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Seasonal, Fun, Romantic, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The staff was amazing! The food was real ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

The staff was amazing! The food was really good, with a menu that had much more than the old standards. Small, cozy, friendly

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was very good, as was the wine. ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The food was very good, as was the wine. Service was also very good. Decor was kind of industrial grunge, not too bad nevertheless. The big problem was the incredibly high noise level. Hard to hear what others were saying. Hard to hear what you were saying yourself.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

We dined at Lawrence with a group of 11, ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We dined at Lawrence with a group of 11, and the restaurant was gracious and accommodating. The food and service were excellent and we had a wonderful time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food and atmosphere. It cam high ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Amazing food and atmosphere. It cam highly recommended by a foodie that knows the Montreal culinary scene inside out and it did not disappoint.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

Great meal for our big group. Great lamb ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Great meal for our big group. Great lamb!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Great food and service. Way too noisy!

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Great food and service.

Way too noisy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Large group, 10 of us. This place was p ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Large group, 10 of us. This place was phenomenal, everyone of us was blown away by what we ordered. Wine pairings were great, cocktails were perfect. I'd absolutely go out of my way to have dinner here the next time I'm in Montreal. The whole staff was incredibly kind and helpful as well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My favorite place that I return to every ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

My favorite place that I return to every time I am in Montreal

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We stayed in the neighborhood on a recen ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

We stayed in the neighborhood on a recent trip to Montreal. Great little place with a wonderful menu and wine list. If you are a bit adventurous, this is the place for you. We shared three plates a seafood sampler, a tomato tart, and a lamb with cauliflower dish. All were delicious. We also had a nice bottle of red wine, there selection was great, not overwhelming like some places. We went to Liverpool House and Pastaga while we were there, and this was our favorite meal of the 3!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Such an enjoyable evening at Lawrence! A ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Such an enjoyable evening at Lawrence! As San Francisco area residents, we set a high expectational bar, and Lawrence 's talented English chef reached that bar with most dishes. The staff are young and enthusiastic, knowledgeable about what's in the food they offer. Cocktails were very well-made. A highlight of this very good meal was the seafood assiette starter, an assortment of perhaps eight small, well-conceived and beautifully executed ceviches, salads, and smoked fish slices. The corn, clam and smoked sturgeon soup was outstanding. We knew at that point we were in very good hands and relaxed! Next, meltingly tender lamb shank was accompanied by an over-exuberance of flavorful roasted cauliflower, and the smoked salmon and roasted garlic / goat cheese toasts my husband had as his main dish were very good as well. There was a bit of a drop-off in focus when we hit dessert: a deliciously tart summer pudding needed a more-sweetened whipped cream to balance, while the flavors of a pistachio/chocolate trifle were muddled. Minor quibbles, though. Overall, we recommend Lawrence highly!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Party of 11 to celebrate a bachelorette ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Party of 11 to celebrate a bachelorette and not many places have reservations for such a large party. Lawrence was accommodating with our delayed arrival (sat down at 9:15p) and server was friendly. The menu choices are more on the acquired taste/exotic end and everyone ordered foods that are familiar - we were hesitant to try new things (i.e. sturgeon fish dish). We had the lobster, the poached duck leg and the lamb. Feedback was that the mix of flavors for the lobster and duck were too varying and it wasn't a nice mix. Lamb was good.

We ordered appetizers and entrees but the wait time for our entrees to arrive was over 1hr. We had to order a second round of bread. By the time we finished our meal, the restaurant was closing (~11p) and we didn't have time to order coffee even if we wanted to.

I had read great reviews for brunch and therefore, had high hopes for dinner. I was disappointed in the overall food/experience but would go back to try their brunch menu. Hopefully, they'd win me over then.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value4

The liver was buttery, but not cloyingly ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

The liver was buttery, but not cloyingly so, and caramelised, but not burnt or fire-hardened - in a word, delicious! The garlic and goat cheese dish was also splendid (and splendidly 'like buttah'). And relaxing environs to boot!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good, but not wow, a bit pricey for what ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Good, but not wow, a bit pricey for what you got in your plate.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Great place!

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Some friends and I were having a stop over bite. Prior to our dinner, we had already made pitstops at two other food joints. The staff at Lawrence were more than happy to accommodate our "light" dinner request. We ordered 3 apps, 2 mains, 4 beers, 1 rosé, and 3 espressos. Tax and tip came out to $210 between the 5 of us. Money well spent and the food was worth more than the price!

It was my 2nd visit and there will certainly be more down the road!

Reservations certainly recommended.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dinner at Lawrence

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

My appetizer of pig's ear salad and main course of lamb bone marrow tortelloni was about as good as it could get. A completely great meal. We were well looked-after by our server, had a fantastic bottle of wine. Just about perfect.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful experience. Dishes were amazin ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

Wonderful experience. Dishes were amazing. It was quiet and pleasant. Service was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent Dinner

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

I'd made a reservation here for a large group (13 people) a few weeks in advance, and on the day of our meal I had to move the reservation back an hour, which they graciously accommodated. Bonus points for Lawrence.

The food was absolutely exquisite - most of the party agreed that it was the best meal many of us had had in a while. The bone-marrow tortelloni was a big hit, as well as the grilled lamb. The drinks were also on point.

Excellent experience at Lawrence. Highly recommended.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great place. Servers were very nice and ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Great place. Servers were very nice and brunch was very good and unique.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Lovely dinner at Lawrence

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on May 10, 2016

My friend and I had an early dinner at Lawrence - she had to catch a train that evening. It was quiet when we arrived around 5:30 on a Tuesday evening. The waitress offered us drinks promptly and did a great job explaining the different dishes. I had the salad and albacore. The salad was so simple and yet - perfect! Greens with fresh tomatoes, cucumbers, balsamic vinegar and olive oil. Simplicity with quality ingredients. The albacore was seared to perfection and I enjoyed the accompanying lentils, carrots and yogurt sauce. My friend had the salad as well and two entrées - the urchin linguini an deviled crab. Both were delicious. I have been to Lawrence for brunch as well and if you like hearty, lively brunches it is the place to be!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Supper

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

I heard that their brunch was very good but we went for supper. Unfortunately, this restaurant is not for me. The service was really good and the atmosphere was also good. I just found that the plates did not have good combinations and there were too much "marinated" stuff for my taste. I guess other people might like that but it was not for me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Nice Surprise!

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

After being a little concerned about the menu, all three of us found something we thought we would enjoy.

All three dishes, seafood,beef ribs and duck were absolutely delicious.

Service was friendly and my martini was perfect.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Saturday at Lawrence

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

Small but cosy. Great wine list with expert recommendations.

I was extremely happy to be able to drink a Hill Farsmtead brew to start off the night even though the bottle is understandably pricey. They also have some Evil Twin which is not so easy to find either.

The appetizer (pork tongue) was excellent. The main (beef neck) was a bit under seasoned for my palate, but the meat was perfectly cooked. Presentation-wise, both my dishes looked very much alike... might just be my choice... kind of a mash of all the ingredients.

Can't say I'm too familiar with English cuisine, so take the above as it is.

The value/price ratio is good. Looking at the menu though, I think if I go back soon, it will be for breakfast/brunch... definitely looked quite hearty but original.

Overall, very satisfied with the experience at Lawrence.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Nice place but the squid was squishy and ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 15, 2016

Nice place but the squid was squishy and like in a greasy mush . The fries were delicious so was the wine. The service was slow and seemed to bore the waitress.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

A very interesting mix of flavours, orig ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

A very interesting mix of flavours, original and well presented. Excellent service and very knowldgeable staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

Amazing fries

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on March 3, 2016

Went to Lawrence for lunch. I would call this modern California style cuisine with some French favourites. The steak tartare was excellent, but the fries are "signature" level....perhaps the best fries ever. I'm a big guy at 6'2" and 250, so I took two appetizers and some fries. Big mistake. One appetizer (beef tartare) and fries would have been more than enough for lunch. Careful, the quantities here are substantial. The food was expertly prepared and not overly fussed-over. Foodsters (as opposed to foodies) will love it, i.e., people who love good food prepared from excellent ingredients without too much pretentiousness.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Great atmosphere

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on February 26, 2016

Read about this restaurant in a Best of Montreal list and the reviewer got it right. Truly interesting menu, great food and perfectly sized portions. Great wine recommendations by the attentive staff.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Maybe an off day?

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on January 17, 2016

Food was delicious but our server did a very poor job convincing us that would be the case, or making sure we were enjoying ourselves once we got it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Lawrence - one word. Wonderful

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on January 6, 2016

Everything was impeccable food, service and ambiance ! Thank you Lawrence

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great intimate place!

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on January 6, 2016

Took someone on a date there.. gteat spot for foodies.. very good wine list and knowledgeable waitress.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The details get the spotlight in this palate play

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on January 3, 2016

With a quiet and intimate setting, Lawrence serves dishes of such elegant simplicity that it may belie the attention invested in their preparation. To start, I had the herring and trotter dumpling on sauerkraut; clean flavours and a noteworthy start to the evening. For the main, I had the striped bass with celery root risotto; the skin of the fish was crispy and delicate, and the flesh was supple and sweet. The risotto was creamy and rich, perfectly augmented by the texture of the celery root and the perfume of the stock. Tastings around the table revealed a nutty and complex aged steak that was tender to the cut and served with a croûte (topped with complementary layers of savory pork fat, kale and pickled shallots), and a lamb dish served with squash (also delicious). For dessert, I had a ginger cake served with cream and pickled apple; a moist bite with an adventurous interplay of warming spice, velvet sweet and cleansing tart. Other observations: the bar offers up a very well-made (rye) Manhattan, and the fish and shellfish starter plate highlights the unique textures and flavours of the seafood in small, intricate bites. Our server was attentive, patient and very helpful; the food arrived in intervals that allowed for good conversation. A wonderful evening from start to finish.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Lawrence is excellent.

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

One of the best restaurants I've dined in. Great food, ambiance and service!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

For December 31st

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on December 31, 2015

We chose Lawrence for our December 31st supper. For its incredible natural wines on card & its great selection of orange ones especially. It is a neighbourhood gem in the Mile End with vintage England decoration ambiance. Everyone were pearls; the service and advices on the menu appropriate, the kindness, superb. It was a great evening! Many thanks to all.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.