About Lavender Bistro

78073 Calle Barcelona
La Quinta, CA 92253
View Larger Map

Experience Lavender Bistro. At Lavender we combine the finest meats and seafood with the freshest organic ingredients to create unforgettable dishes. Dine indoors in a warm, cozy atmosphere or on our stunning tree-lined patio. Lavender Bistro also prides itself on providing superb live music daily to set a warm and friendly atmosphere for you and your guests.


For every occasion, to change the ordinary into extraordinary, come join us at Lavender Bistro, "the best kept secret of La Quinta", for a memorable dining experience.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Join us nightly for our popular Happy Hour from 4:00 to Close.
Dinner: Nightly: 5:30pm - close

Cross Street:
Desert Club Drive

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 564-5353

Website:
http://www.lavenderbistro.com/

Entertainment:
Live Music Nightly - piano and vocals.

Catering:
Lavender Bistro's catered events will take our wonderful dining experience into your home or venue of your choice.

Executive Chef:
Raul Garcia

Private Party Facilities:
For private functions or special occasions, our private room, private small patio or semi-private large patio are available. For larger parties, weddings, or banquets, the entire restaurant is available for your dining pleasure.

Private Party Contact:
Nicolas Despras: 7605645353x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Floating Island
Pork Chop
steak tartare
Peach Cobbler
Roasted Beet Salad
Warm Chocolate Cake with Pistachio Ice Cream and Chocolate Gelato
Oven Roasted Turkey
Filet
Rack of Lamb
Grilled Salmon
Seafood Tower
Lobster Salad
Happy Hour Cocktails
Heirloom Tomato Salad
Ahi Tuna Tower
Smoke Salmon

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Lavender Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.1

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
Outdoor Dining
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
Romantic
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
3 More
Best Ambiance
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Outdoor Dining
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Romantic
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Best Restaurants in La Quinta ›

Great for Outdoor Dining (33)
Romantic (28)
Special Occasion (26)
See All
Fit for Foodies (21)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Good for Groups (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Notable Wine List (9)
Hot Spot (4)
Great for Lunch (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1449 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Problem was that menu had changed and we ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Problem was that menu had changed and we requested patio dining and patio was closed. Restaurant and Open Table were not in sync. Table was not what we hoped for in celebrating anniversary. We've eaten here several times and this was our first disappointment.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

Was all good except that the waiter brou ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Was all good except that the waiter brought me lobster ravioli instead of butternut squash ravioli. I'm slightly allergic to lobster, has caused vomiting in the past....when I realized, they comped us to half the meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Our Les Dames d'Escoffier International ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Our Les Dames d'Escoffier International group wanted to get together for a Restaurant Week meal. Lavender Bistro was the choice, and we were all impressed with the ambiance, food, service and special Restaurant Week pricing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Restaurant Week in Palm Springs

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

This past week my wife and I along with another couple enjoyed a wonderful dinner at Lavender Bistro. The food and service (Jorge) were exceptional. We will be back soon.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice place. We were very happy with ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Very nice place. We were very happy with the pre fixed menue that they served for Palm Springs restaurant week. I believe they are closing for the summer. We will go back again in the fall.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great Resturant Week Value

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

This experience was a real gem. We enjoyed everything about the service, food and ambience. The resturant week menu was special. We look forward to the re-opening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I must say I was a little disappointed..

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

again, somewhat disappointing...kind of old world and lots of retirees...felt a little stuffy.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

First timer

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

This was a very delightful dinner and the drinks are superb. I always judge a bar by it's ability to give you a drink that is worthwhile.

Surprised at how large the restaurant is and yet it seemed more intimate.

Nothing to complain about and definitely on our list to return to.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Romantic outdoor dining.

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

If you like to dine outdoors for dinner, and don't want to be sitting on a foot path or sidewalk, then you will love this restaurant. The area around the restaurant is quiet and the outdoor portion is enclosed with beautiful ficus trees with strings of lights giving a beautiful glow. To make it even better, the food and service is top notch too. There are "booths" surrounding the area if you want more privacy. Booking reservations in advance, especially during high season, is a good idea.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

There is None Better!

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

We have gone to the Lavender Bistro the last two years for restaurant week, plus several times in between. We have never been disappointed. The ambiance, elegant atmosphere, beautiful lavender napkins, and lavender and white flowers as gorgeous as it all is takes a back seat to the exceptionally prepared food. Whether you are at the bar for a glass of wine, Kobe beef sliders with truffle oil french fries or in the dining room, with an elegant meal too good to share, the food is always incredible. My husband had the scallops and shrimp grilled to perfection--best he has ever had according to him. I had the lobster ravioli and every mouthful was fabulous. We started with a salad with a beautifully poached pear along side-- a beautiful presentation and tasted awesome. Our server Javier was excellent taking care of our needs, yet never imposing. He was charming. We happily recommend this restaurant to all we meet and a very excited to take friends and family when they visit. This place gets a 10+!!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently great

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

My partner and I enjoyed a "date night" at Lavender. I had been here a few times in the past, he had never been here. We loved it from start to finish. We were first seated at a table for two in a room with no windows, which also had two very large tables seating two different groups. We felt like we were seated at the kiddie table at a family gathering, so we asked to be moved. The hostess was more than pleased to move us to the larger room in the main dining area. We were seated at a corner table and loved it.

Out server was attentive without being intrusive, and answered our questions about menu items and wine pairing with confidence. We enjoyed a half dozen oysters on the half shell and glasses of sparkling wine. We ordered rack of lamb and the pork shop, both of which we were told are very popular menu items. Both were delicious and the presentation on the plates was perfect. We shared the apple tart for dessert, which wowed us with its delectable combination of flavors!

Overall, a wonderful dining experience, and we look forward to returning soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Phenomenal meal!

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

Best meal ever at Lavender. We went for restaurant week and had the best time! Thanks, Juan Carlos, for such great service. Wonderful meal. We're heading back this Saturday.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lavender Bistro

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

We're never disappointed at Lavender Bistro. When temperatures are not too hot, we prefer eating on the lovely patio. I miss an outstanding appetizer they used to have -- a carmelized pate with pear (sounds questionable but I would choose to go there just for that appetizer.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Lovely meal, slightly spotty service

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

We were visiting the area and picked Lavender just based on the menu and across-the-board solid reviews. The restaurant is beautiful and bustling; it is classy and warm without feeling at all stuffy or pretentious. The lighting and ambiance are on point. Food was excellent...what we got. However, immediately upon being seated, we were told water and bread would be brought out...great. 15 minutes later we asked for water, it did not come, our wine order ended up coming first, and water after we requested it for the third time....the bread never came, which ultimately wasn't the worst thing, but we noticed since it had been mentioned by our server first. We ordered two apps and two entrees and a side; the side never came. Again, all of our food that did come was wonderful, tasty and beautifully presented, and we were not charged for the side we never received, but it added up to a third small service strike for us that made me take one overall star away.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Lavender Bistro for Restaurant Week

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Beautiful restaurant - we love the patio, but it was too hot to sit outside that night! Food was not only cooked perfectly, but the presentation and service were excellent. Several of us began with the poached pear salad -super, though I am not a great fan of the frisse greens. Most of us had the rack of lamb, perfectly cooked with delicious vegetable and potato sides. One in our group had the curry dish and said it was divine. We all loved the butterscotch pudding desert with the salted caramel, but the date cake was not a hit for most of us. It was tasty, but just not one of our faves. Overall this place is excellent! Two of us did the wine pairings and thought they were perfect with the dishes!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very positive first experience from Palm ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Very positive first experience from Palm Springs for Restaurant Week pre fixe menu. Great ambience, no patio tables open as it was hot (6pm and 106). Food for all four of us was excellent, service was very good our female waitress needed to smile, she just didn't look too happy. We will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Return visit for Restaurant Week

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

We have dined at Lavender Bristro on many occasions. This experience was during Restaurant Week. The entree was great...the dessert was average. Unfortunately, the service was sub-par. The waitperson dropped off the menues and promptly left...only to return for the order and never returned to follow-up with us. We had to flag down a service person for water refills. One could assume they were busy however,plenty of wait staff were standing by. Disappointing experience overall.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Memorial day blues!

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

Ordered Duck. Very disappointed. Duck was undercooked and server no where to be found. Ask twice for steak knife as duck was rubbery and it took 20 minutes. This was our fourth time and maybe last.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

tinkle tinkle in the night

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

My husband and I frequent the Lavender Bistro and always have a consistent meal. We usually eat outside with the beautiful light wrapped trees and a little electric piano music with the full meal.

This night we moved inside to the bar because we wanted to watch the NBA playoff game with the Warriors and Okla....If you go I doubt you will be disappointed. There is something for everyone at the Lavender.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Wonderful experience! It was 97 degrees ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

Wonderful experience! It was 97 degrees but with all the shade, it was very pleasant. The ambiance is the best. Food was great as was the service! Definitely will come again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Lovely lavender

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

We had. a WONDERFUL TIME; the outdoor patio was beautiful; the food was excellent. Only problem was the steak was a little overcooked

The live music was perfect background -not too loud and great choice of songs

Service excellent, did not feel rushed to eat and leave

I would definitely go there again

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Romantic outside courtyard setting, very ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Romantic outside courtyard setting, very pretty.

Food was tasty

Beetroot salad delicious and pretty

Mussels delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

An Incredible Evening

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

This had to be the most enjoyable, relaxed dinner we have had in quite some time. Our server , Christian, respected our request for a "no rush" evening. Service was unobtrusive yet on the spot. Our appetizer and the ensuing meal was absolutely delicious, fresh and well prepared. The presentation was wonderful. My wife and I spent two and a half hours relaxing and enjoying our meal. We plan on returning after they reopen following the summer heat. Mainly, to sample other items on the menu and we will request Christian for another relaxed time. e

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another wonderful evening with friends a ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Another wonderful evening with friends at Lavender's. A bit taken back by the lack of attention early on, but found out the waiter assigned to our table had been injured in the kitchen and sent home. Our table had fallen thru crack until we asked another waiter for service and he checked and told us of the situation. He immediately took over and the rest of the evening was as wonderful as always. Strongly recommend this jewel!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We love this place although the food see ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

We love this place although the food seems have slipped since we last visited. Nothing bad just the food semed average rather than special. As always the ambiance was great. The service was fine although we got some attitude from the guy who brought us our food. Overall it was a good not great dining experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Nice outdoor seating, great food and top ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Nice outdoor seating, great food and topped off with really good live music.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Great food in a great setting

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

We were staying at a house in La Quinta for 4 nights and spent 2 of the nights at Lavender. There was live music, but very unobtrusive and created a nice ambiance. Food was very good with an unusual crème brulee fois gras appetizer. Hugely rich, but very good!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Lovely place

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

Lovely place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Elegant Dining

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

Lavender Bistro has been updated and is beautifully decorated since we dined there last when it was owned by our old friend Mario as the La Quinta Garden Cafe. While we miss the singing waiters of old, the new owners have done a great job with the food, and the entertainment.

Worth he visit for any occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We have a standing date night each week ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

We have a standing date night each week at Lavender Bistro. They keep our favorite table available. We prefer dining inside rather than the patio area. It is quiet, relaxing atmosphere and attentive service. Highly recommended!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service were excellent. Th ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

The food and service were excellent. There were several people working in the dining area. Great ambiance with the lit up trees in the courtyard. Live music. This is an excellent choice for a special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great spot for a romantic dinner with so ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Great spot for a romantic dinner with some music. 2 musicians playing , one outside and one inside.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

This is a local restaurant for us.

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

We tend to stay away from Lavender when it is high tourist season since it is so popular. When less crowded it is the best in the East Valley. Great garden outdoor seating. Great service. Easy parking. What else could you ask for?

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Romantic setting

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

The atmosphere is serene and romantic. You can dine inside with cooling AC or sit on the romantic patio lit with twinkling lights and a live vocalist-piano player. Your choice. The food is very good. The special had cod with a lobster sauce and two lobster ravioli with little filling. The wine list varies from just ok to very good. Prompt service. We didn't go into the bar but it was full and lively. It too had a musical group - a guitarist who sang and another player.

Recommended but choose wisely.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Special place in old town la quinta

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

What a nice atmosphere and good food and good variety on menu. Live here and want to go back for lighter fare in bar.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Beautiful restaurant! Extremely pretty p ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

Beautiful restaurant! Extremely pretty patio dining with soft guitar music enhancing the evening. Best oysters ever! Cannot wait to try Happy Hour!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Romantic Outdoor Atmosphere

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

I enjoyed the gorgeous romantic whimsical patio for dinner. The live music was appropriate for the setting and excellent set. The Oysters were the best I have had in the desert ever. They were notably fresh and had three sauces to add. The service was not attentive and the waiter did not know the special despite being the end of the evening. For a higher end restaurant I was disappointed in the service. The rest of the dinner was good, not great. I had lamb chop and fig salad.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

The mussels are fantastic and the truffl ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

The mussels are fantastic and the truffle fries that come with seal the deal. Add live music, excellent service, and a beautiful outdoor dining area and this is as good as it gets!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Nice bar with music, although bar tender ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Nice bar with music, although bar tender was busy and not the friendliest. Patio is nice, lots of little white lights, but not too much else of interest in the way of decor. We were told to wait (by no less than three ladies at the front door) even though plenty of tables were open and looked available, perhaps to build bar business? We were placed at a small table in high traffic spot next to a huge group, which is not great for a romantic dinner! Good, not great, food, but still a nice option on occasion.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Been there three times, the service was ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Been there three times, the service was was no service, waiter stated to me they were busy tonight! Brought out wrong appetizer, told our server, stated oh you want something different from what you order, no we want what we order the first time.

Could not get drinks, or refills. My glass was broken, looked at it sat it down walked away, needed another drink had to keep asking for one....... The waiter came back to take glass away it shatter in his hands, said to me oh it is broken.......

Revived our dinners, never was checked on, ect.... kept going this way through the night...

Christie

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.