About Lavender Bistro

78073 Calle Barcelona
La Quinta, CA 92253
View Larger Map

Experience Lavender Bistro. At Lavender we combine the finest meats and seafood with the freshest organic ingredients to create unforgettable dishes. Dine indoors in a warm, cozy atmosphere or on our stunning tree-lined patio. Lavender Bistro also prides itself on providing superb live music daily to set a warm and friendly atmosphere for you and your guests.


For every occasion, to change the ordinary into extraordinary, come join us at Lavender Bistro, "the best kept secret of La Quinta", for a memorable dining experience.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Join us nightly for our popular Happy Hour from 4:00 to Close.
Dinner: Nightly: 5:30pm - close

Cross Street:
Desert Club Drive

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 564-5353

Website:
http://www.lavenderbistro.com/

Entertainment:
Live Music Nightly - piano and vocals.

Catering:
Lavender Bistro's catered events will take our wonderful dining experience into your home or venue of your choice.

Executive Chef:
Raul Garcia

Private Party Facilities:
For private functions or special occasions, our private room, private small patio or semi-private large patio are available. For larger parties, weddings, or banquets, the entire restaurant is available for your dining pleasure.

Private Party Contact:
Nicolas Despras: 7605645353x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Lavender Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.8

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
Outdoor Dining
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
Romantic
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
7 More
Californian
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
Most Booked
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
Best Ambiance
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Outdoor Dining
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Romantic
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Californian
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Most Booked
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Best Restaurants in La Quinta ›

great for outdoor dining (333)
romantic (291)
special occasion (276)
See All
fit for foodies (165)
neighborhood gem (163)
good for groups (113)
notable wine list (74)
vibrant bar scene (48)
scenic view (44)
hot spot (42)
great for brunch (22)
great for lunch (11)
 (11)
late-night find (10)
 (9)
 (6)
 (5)
kid-friendly (4)
 (3)
 (2)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1425 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Lovely lavender

Dined 3 days ago

We had. a WONDERFUL TIME; the outdoor patio was beautiful; the food was excellent. Only problem was the steak was a little overcooked The live music was perfect background -not too loud and great choice of songs Service excellent, did not feel rushed to eat and leave I would definitely go there again

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience5
service4

Romantic outside courtyard setting, very ...

Dined 3 days ago

Romantic outside courtyard setting, very pretty. Food was tasty Beetroot salad delicious and pretty Mussels delicious

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An Incredible Evening

Dined 4 days ago

This had to be the most enjoyable, relaxed dinner we have had in quite some time. Our server , Christian, respected our request for a "no rush" evening. Service was unobtrusive yet on the spot. Our appetizer and the ensuing meal was absolutely delicious, fresh and well prepared. The presentation was wonderful. My wife and I spent two and a half hours relaxing and enjoying our meal. We plan on returning after they reopen following the summer heat. Mainly, to sample other items on the menu and we will request Christian for another relaxed time. e

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

We love this place although the food see ...

vip
Dined 5 days ago

We love this place although the food seems have slipped since we last visited. Nothing bad just the food semed average rather than special. As always the ambiance was great. The service was fine although we got some attitude from the guy who brought us our food. Overall it was a good not great dining experience.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

Nice outdoor seating, great food and top ...

Dined 5 days ago

Nice outdoor seating, great food and topped off with really good live music.

food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Great food in a great setting

Dined 5 days ago

We were staying at a house in La Quinta for 4 nights and spent 2 of the nights at Lavender. There was live music, but very unobtrusive and created a nice ambiance. Food was very good with an unusual crème brulee fois gras appetizer. Hugely rich, but very good!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Lovely place

vip
Dined on May 24, 2016

Lovely place

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Elegant Dining

Dined on May 24, 2016

Lavender Bistro has been updated and is beautifully decorated since we dined there last when it was owned by our old friend Mario as the La Quinta Garden Cafe. While we miss the singing waiters of old, the new owners have done a great job with the food, and the entertainment. Worth he visit for any occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have a standing date night each week ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

We have a standing date night each week at Lavender Bistro. They keep our favorite table available. We prefer dining inside rather than the patio area. It is quiet, relaxing atmosphere and attentive service. Highly recommended!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

The food and service were excellent. Th ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

The food and service were excellent. There were several people working in the dining area. Great ambiance with the lit up trees in the courtyard. Live music. This is an excellent choice for a special occasion.

food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great spot for a romantic dinner with so ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Great spot for a romantic dinner with some music. 2 musicians playing , one outside and one inside.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This is a local restaurant for us.

Dined on May 19, 2016

We tend to stay away from Lavender when it is high tourist season since it is so popular. When less crowded it is the best in the East Valley. Great garden outdoor seating. Great service. Easy parking. What else could you ask for?

Tags: romantic
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Romantic setting

Dined on May 19, 2016

The atmosphere is serene and romantic. You can dine inside with cooling AC or sit on the romantic patio lit with twinkling lights and a live vocalist-piano player. Your choice. The food is very good. The special had cod with a lobster sauce and two lobster ravioli with little filling. The wine list varies from just ok to very good. Prompt service. We didn't go into the bar but it was full and lively. It too had a musical group - a guitarist who sang and another player. Recommended but choose wisely.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Special place in old town la quinta

Dined on May 17, 2016

What a nice atmosphere and good food and good variety on menu. Live here and want to go back for lighter fare in bar.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful restaurant! Extremely pretty p ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

Beautiful restaurant! Extremely pretty patio dining with soft guitar music enhancing the evening. Best oysters ever! Cannot wait to try Happy Hour!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Best Romantic Outdoor Atmosphere

Dined on May 15, 2016

I enjoyed the gorgeous romantic whimsical patio for dinner. The live music was appropriate for the setting and excellent set. The Oysters were the best I have had in the desert ever. They were notably fresh and had three sauces to add. The service was not attentive and the waiter did not know the special despite being the end of the evening. For a higher end restaurant I was disappointed in the service. The rest of the dinner was good, not great. I had lamb chop and fig salad.

Tags: romantic, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5

The mussels are fantastic and the truffl ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

The mussels are fantastic and the truffle fries that come with seal the deal. Add live music, excellent service, and a beautiful outdoor dining area and this is as good as it gets!

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Nice bar with music, although bar tender ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Nice bar with music, although bar tender was busy and not the friendliest. Patio is nice, lots of little white lights, but not too much else of interest in the way of decor. We were told to wait (by no less than three ladies at the front door) even though plenty of tables were open and looked available, perhaps to build bar business? We were placed at a small table in high traffic spot next to a huge group, which is not great for a romantic dinner! Good, not great, food, but still a nice option on occasion.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience5
service1
value3

Been there three times, the service was ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Been there three times, the service was was no service, waiter stated to me they were busy tonight! Brought out wrong appetizer, told our server, stated oh you want something different from what you order, no we want what we order the first time. Could not get drinks, or refills. My glass was broken, looked at it sat it down walked away, needed another drink had to keep asking for one....... The waiter came back to take glass away it shatter in his hands, said to me oh it is broken....... Revived our dinners, never was checked on, ect.... kept going this way through the night... Christie

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great Restaurant

Dined on May 14, 2016

We loved the restaurant, the service was great. The food was very good. This was our first time and would definitely go back. Would have loved to sat outside but it was a little warm so we sat inside. The martini's were excellent. We made our reservations thru Open Table with no problem.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food3
ambience5
service2
value4

Loved the atmosphere - outdoor courtyard ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

Loved the atmosphere - outdoor courtyard with trees and lights was great - we really liked it. Waitperson was odd - When I asked the waitperson if I could substitute vegetables instead of French fries with the hangar stake - she said to pick some thing else from the menu - ?? ... And then later forgot what we ordered for desert, and had to be reminded. The food itself was good liked the salads - overall the entries were a little less than what you'd expect from a place that looked this nice - the steak (I did get it but had to settle for mash potatoes instead of fries in order to get the wait person's "permission") was ok and spouses fish was ok but not great - has the potential to be a great restaurant but there's work to do.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Lovely evening

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

I think this has become my favorite restaurant. I just love dining in the courtyard with all the little lights and music in the background. So romantic and just a lovely. Lovely evening Our particular server was not the greatest and toward the end we felt almost ignored even when the restaurant was thinning out. I hesitate to brag too loudly about it because enough people have discovered it already!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Business dinners

Dined on May 13, 2016

Always plan a dinner here when in Indian Wells for a conference. Dinner is always great and service is exceptional. Always recommend to friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Our waiter, Javier, was great. Very ef ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

Our waiter, Javier, was great. Very efficient, friendly, and let us enjoy dining at OUR pace. It was not our first visit, nor will it be our last.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great brunch

Dined on May 8, 2016

We went here for Easter and Mother's day brunch and loved it. We had a reservation and got seated right away. Service was very good and so was the food. We have also been there for dinner and enjoyed it.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Lavender Bistro has one of the most beau ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Lavender Bistro has one of the most beautiful patios in the desert. It is covered with large ficus trees, wrapped and filled with twinkling lights, the tables are set with white tablecloths and festive (appropriate) lavender napkins. Service is impeccable and friendly, and the food is delicious.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Elegant brunch spot

Dined on May 8, 2016

Delicious food, great service, perfect live music, beautiful ambiance, what more could you ask? Patio dining under the lighted trees provided shaded comfort. A little pricey for Mother's Day Brunch, but all was wonderful and that's not easy to find!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

GREAT FOOD AND VALUE

Dined on May 8, 2016

GREAT FOOD, SERVICE AND VALUE. ALL WAS PERFECT. THIS PLACE IS GREAT

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Something for everyone......ask for outd ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Something for everyone......ask for outdoor dining on the patio-its enchanting with the strung lights. This is a very big venue, surprisingly big! Banquet big! Our server was very nice, offered suggestions with the wine list and considering it was the night before Mothers Day did an excellent job managing the tables. Our scallop dish was perfectly cooked, the beet salad was quite nice and beautifully presented. Crab cakes could have had a little more crust on top but it was more crab than filler which was nice for a change. Our oysters were a little small compared to the table next to ours but were offered with three toppings and were fresh and delicious. The ahi was good just need a little more 'crust' on top. We really enjoyed our meal and felt they did a great job for packed full house.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience5
service5

Food was just O.K, except for the shrimp ...

Dined on May 6, 2016

Food was just O.K, except for the shrimp cocktail which was terrific. Service and ambience were first rate.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great season-ending evening!

Dined on May 5, 2016

A wonderful meal, served in a lovely setting with attentive service...thoroughly enjoyable!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

mills

Dined on May 5, 2016

We really enjoyed our halibut entrees, with all the right vegetable combinations. And we really were a hit with the ladies with two great desserts. It is always a treat to dine out under the lights at Lavenders!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

great patio seating

Dined on May 4, 2016

Tuesdays are also half price all bottles of wine. We were advisedly friends that the calamari were outstanding--not so much. Very tough. We split a salad and were upcharged an additional $4. I had a sole dish and my husband had a filet and both were excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fun, Enjoyable Place to hit while in Indian Wells

vip
Dined on May 3, 2016

I was in Indian Wells/Indio for Stagecoach. Following the festival we stayed one extra day to relax and made a reservation here to get a 'real meal' following three days of festival food. My hotel (Miramonte Spa & Resort) recommended Lavender Bistro. It was a delight! Sit outside if you can -- Great Ambiance and even on a Monday night they had a piano player which was a nice touch. My friend and I shared a crab cake appetizer, which was fantastic. My entree was the Dover Sole and it was really good and then we shared the Truffle Mac & Cheese - all I can say it's worth every calorie! Then we shared the Creme Brûlée for dessert - YUM-O! It's huge, so definitely share it with the table. I would definitely go back to Lavender Bistro when back in the area. It was a prefect place to end my trip to the Cochella Valley.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Romantic hot spot

Dined on April 30, 2016

Great ambiance outside. So romantic for a first date or just a special occasion . The food is too expensive for the mediocrity of flavor. Drink menu is good , too expensive for my budget. This place focuses on the country club crowd that don't have a tight budget .

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful Outdoor Dining

Dined on April 30, 2016

We had dinner with friends on a busy Friday night, but that did not hinder our wonderful waiter (Reggie) from giving us great service. He was friendly and informative….I'd go back just to see him, but the food was great as well. It was a very romantic setting with the lights twinkling in the trees and a soft breeze blowing….great wine and great friends! Perfect evening :)

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Foodie

Dined on April 30, 2016

Two friends and I dined at Lavender Bistro on Friday evening, April 29. I started with the vegetable salad which was delicious and lightly dressed and then had the Barramundi for dinner. The fish was prepared perfectly and was incredibly flavorful. The presentation was beautiful. My friends enjoyed their Caesar salad and the Scottish salmon. If the weather permits be sure to request a patio table. It's lovely! Also, Marco was very attentive and his bus boy was terrific as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently Fabulous

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

We get to the desert several times a year and always make sure to include a dinner at Lavender Bistro. This was our third time this year and as always we were very pleased with the whole experience.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Gorgeous Patio

Dined on April 29, 2016

Excellent food and special dining experience. A beautiful evening in the desert.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience5
service2
value1

A sad decline in the qualit.

Dined on April 28, 2016

A year and a half ago, the restaurant was an immediate hit with us since it served many menu dishes as they have been served in France. It was a French dining experience but in the California desert. But when they opened last fall and I had my birthday dinner there, we noticed the start of a down slide. They had replaced the French style breast of duck that you could order cooked the way you want it with an over cooked roast duck. We love duck which is hard to find in the US. When we went to the Lavender Bistro for our 40th wedding anniversary, we were presented with a meal that was downright awful. The good ingredients has been replaced with cheap ingredients which were then badly cooked. My mushroom soup was disgusting and I yearned to drive over to Lulu in Palm Springs for their fabulous version. My wife's road duck was so over cooked it was tough and she could barely eat half of it. My rack of lamb (after my birthday disappointment last fall steered me to avoid the duck) was hit was hot mustard and crushed nuts leaving my mouth burning for a while after one bite. And I discovered why after washing off the mess in a glass of water and then tasting the lamb unadorned with deception; it was virtually tasteless. I have been eating lamb prepared in this fashion for many decades both in the US and France and have never been presented with such a taste free sample of meat. For the first time, the service was indifferent. We were clearly problem clients when we asked if the cooking of the duck could be altered to our tastes. It turns out the duck is roasted before we ever arrive. The glass of white wine was served far too warm. No condensation ever appeared on the glass. So after having recommended this former marvelous restaurant to friends, we have had to call them and tell them to stay away.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.