About Laurel

1617 E Passyunk
Philadelphia, PA 19148
View Larger Map

An intimate French/American BYO restaurant by Chef/Owner Nicholas Elmi.

Laurel only offers a 7 course tasting menu for $85/guest. An optional wine pairing is available at $60/guest. Please note any allergies or dietary restrictions in your reservation allowing us to accommodate.

*Sample Tasting Menu can be viewed on our website
*Menu is subject to change

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, American

Hours of Operation:
Sunday: CLOSED
Monday: CLOSED
Tuesday-Thursday: 5:30PM-10:00PM
Friday-Saturday: 5:30PM-11:00PM

Cross Street:
E. Passyunk & Tasker

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 271-8299

Website:
http://www.restaurantlaurel.com/

Parking Details:
Valet is available Tuesday-Sunday on East Passyunk Square where the Singing Fountain is located (Passyunk Avenue & Tasker Street).

$12 with validation.

Executive Chef:
Nicholas Elmi

Additional:
BYO Liquor

Specials

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Specials

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Details

We are ringing in the New Year with a special 7-course tasting menu for $150 per person. We will also be offering a wine pairing for $90 per person. Please contact the restaurant for reservations and availability!

Laurel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

French
Philadelphia / New Jersey Suburbs
French
Philadelphia
Best Restaurants in East Passyunk Avenue ›

Tasting Menu (12)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Special Occasion (8)
See All
Romantic (8)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Good for a Date (4)
Worth the Drive (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Authentic (3)
Cozy (2)
Seasonal (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Healthy (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Fun (1)
Business Meals (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
396 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Overpriced for portions and variety. Not ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 days ago

Overpriced for portions and variety. Not sure how they will remain open as I don't see paying $230 for two people without wine but once a year, if that. Portions small and special pasta for $60 overpriced. Nice place but way too expensive for portion sizes that leave you hungry.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

Phenomenal food! An experience to be had ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Phenomenal food! An experience to be had!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The most creative and inspired meal that ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The most creative and inspired meal that I've ever had in my life. The highest recommendation.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just fantastic. Service, food, ambiance ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Just fantastic. Service, food, ambiance - everything really - top notch and enjoyable through the meal. The value for the tasting menu is there is you are into this style of fare. The BYOB optional aspect is extremely nice. I'll definitely be returning

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We thoroughly enjoyed the pre fix menu t ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 4, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed the pre fix menu that while heavy on seafood included some amazing dishes. Laurel is a foodies delight. The dishes are truly unique. We will definitely return if we are fortunate to get another reservation!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

The ambiance was quiet and comfortable, ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 2, 2016

The ambiance was quiet and comfortable, and the wait-staff was courteous and extremely knowledgeable. Had those both been terrible, I would; however, STILL highly recommend Laurel as the food was absolutely incredible. Every dish was perfectly prepared, beautifully plated, and ripe with complimenting flavors and contrasting textures. Laurel is a foodie's dream.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We were very impressed with the creativi ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 13, 2016

We were very impressed with the creativity and attention to detail. Beautifully, artful craft. Allowing BYO in a full service place is additionally thoughtful and kind.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a great evening celebrating our a ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 4, 2016

We had a great evening celebrating our anniversary. The fois gras was out of this world. Such a creative preparation. Service was extremely friendly and professional. Thank you for the special evening

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Although there was confusion about our ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Although there was confusion about our reservation ( it was inadvertently cancelled by the restaurant) the staff accommodated us in the adjoining space and was very apologetic. They were gracious enough to pepper our meal with extras to make up for the confusion and even the owner came out to apologize. Every course was a treat for the palate. One of the finest meals we've had in Philadelphia.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great imaginative menu with excellent se ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Great imaginative menu with excellent service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I had wanted to visit Laurel for a long ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 14, 2016

I had wanted to visit Laurel for a long time and it didn't disappoint. A tasting menu allowed us to experience food we may not normally order on our own. Each course was amazing and explained in great detail. My personal favorites were the foie gras, snails, and swordfish. I can't wait to go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Definitely a must eat experience. Everyt ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 8, 2016

Definitely a must eat experience. Everything was perfect from the very start to the dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a fabulous meal and the service i ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 8, 2016

Always a fabulous meal and the service is professional and everyone is so nice and accommodating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Everything about Laurel was well done. ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 6, 2016

Everything about Laurel was well done. I consider it the best in Philly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious, creative food and a wonderful ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Delicious, creative food and a wonderful ambience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My husband, son & I had dinner at Laurel ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 30, 2016

My husband, son & I had dinner at Laurel recently. We waited 2 months for a reservation & it was well worth the wait. We did the wine tasting with our meal & would highly recommend it. The wines were well thought out & it was fun tasting wines that we wouldn't normally pick. As for the food, every course was an adventure! Chef Elmi certainly knows what he is doing. Our server, Nicole, was also a pleasure. She was pleasant, had a sense of humor & was well educated in wines. To sum up this review, the three of us did not want to leave the restaurant. We look forward to going back at another time.

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Hot Spot, Fun, Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The meal was spectacular--inventive, bea ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 23, 2016

The meal was spectacular--inventive, beautiful, varied--and felt like an event, well-paced over 2 hours, inviting conversation and reflection. Very very memorable. Thank you.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

OMG I can understand why this restaurant ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 21, 2016

OMG I can understand why this restaurant is voted number one in Philly. We were lucky to get a reservation only a few weeks in advance. Usually, there is a long lead time to snag one. Tasting menu is outstanding. You won't regret it. The Chef Nick Elmi spot serves some of the courses and chats it up. Love that it is BYO although there is a new bar attached so you can enjoy cocktails too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very expensive price unjustified in ligh ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Very expensive price unjustified in light of the menial number of courses served. Just not worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

Food and service were excellent. I love ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Food and service were excellent. I love a tasting menu as I'll try food I may otherwise not order plus the chef can be creative with what they present, which is definitely the case at Laurel. The restaurant is incredibly small and tight but they make it work. I highly recommend.

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The meal was spectacular. We splurged an ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 19, 2016

The meal was spectacular. We splurged and got an additional pasta, which we probably didn't need (at a $50 surcharge) but which was wonderful. It is seven courses, but they move rather quickly - maybe a bit too quickly as I would have liked more time savoring a dish before we moved on. All of it was delicious. It is definitely pricey and not some place we would go often, but it was definitely a treat.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service, wonderful experience!

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 18, 2016

Great service, wonderful experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Disappointing, given the hype. More atte ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 17, 2016

Disappointing, given the hype. More attention to being different than good. Substantially over priced for the food experience. Would not go back...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4

the temperature in the restaurant was 84 ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 14, 2016

the temperature in the restaurant was 84 degrees at 10pm. as this restaurant is always ranked very highly, we were eager to finally celebrate a special occasion there after placing a reservation over a month ago. unfortunately, halfway through the meal, the heat was so unbearable, we almost left.

i will never eat at laurel again or recommend the restaurant to anyone during the summer months.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value3

Eating is believing! The menu dazzles, ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Eating is believing!

The menu dazzles, and the service is superlative. Great tastes, presentation and a wonderful variety of ingredients.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

waited quite some time for a reservation ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 12, 2016

waited quite some time for a reservation and was very much looking forward to the meal. although the talent of the chef is apparent, we were not happy with either the pacing or the flow of the meal. The dishes were coming so quickly that I had to ask them to slow it down. As soon as it appeared that we were taking a break, they were ready to take the dish and immediately bring the next. The staff, though polite and pleasant seemed rushed . The food was clearly innovative and very good, but, seemed unnecessarily confused and experimental with each dish standing on it's own as opposed to flowing as part of a complete I'll take Bibou any time. An experience like this should be enjoyed for 3 hours. Instead, it felt that they were doing their best to get to that next seating. Of course their were highlights, but, overall, disappointed.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Absolutely phenomenal! Fabulous food an ...

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on August 11, 2016

Absolutely phenomenal! Fabulous food and wine! The staff was excellent....a true epicurean experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Am I eating at the same restaurant? I ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 11, 2016

Am I eating at the same restaurant? I was disappointed on all levels at Laurel. The front of staff was aloof and hurried. The tasting menu rather the flowing smoothly from one course to the next was an assault of flavors and textures that simply did not work. A few were just unpleasant. The only 2 note worthy courses were the crab/corn soup and the foie gras. We were also really offended to arrive and the first thing offered to us were two $50 upsells to the main menu. With so many other excellent restaurants in Philadelphia I suggest spending your money elsewhere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Truly The Best Restaurant In Philly. Foo ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 4, 2016

Truly The Best Restaurant In Philly. Food was exceptional. Service impeccable. What a delight. Brings a new meaning to fine food in Philly. Cannot wait to go back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and ambiance amazing. The menu is v ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 2, 2016

Food and ambiance amazing. The menu is very thoughtful and everything was flavorful and beautifully presented. We loved our waitress, who was sweet and prompt.

would love to come back.

Irina

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

2 of the 3 waitresses were not friendly. ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 28, 2016

2 of the 3 waitresses were not friendly. One of the waitresses talked so quietly as she explained what we were being served that we didn't know what we were eating. When I asked her to say it again because I couldn't hear her she was annoyed. We had to ask 2 times for our wine glasses to be refilled. When you are spending this much money service should be much better than this. The overall experience is ruined by unfriendly waitresses no matter how good the food is.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

Laurel was pretty amazing - friends gave ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 27, 2016

Laurel was pretty amazing - friends gave us their gift certificate, and we were anxious to try it, having heard so much about Nick Elmi and his fabulous cooking. I have to say though, when we first sat down, I was a bit skeptical - the amuse bouche came, and it was tiny - almost like a joke from Portlandia - however, everything after that was really fabulous - interesting, amazing blends of flavors - caused me to eat things I would never order - razor clams, snails, but all delicious, and beautifully presented in wonderful china pieces that showed off the food to best advantage. They do have a good wine and cocktail list, but also don't charge a corking fee if you want to BYO - it's a real experience - and also quiet and comfortable with great service. go!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Simply amazing!!

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 23, 2016

Simply amazing!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I have been to Laurel before and I prefe ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 22, 2016

I have been to Laurel before and I prefer the former tasting menu where you could choose your dishes. The food is beautiful and creative; however the razor clam dish was too salty. I also would not recommend spending an additional $50 for the gnocchi dish.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Easily one of the best, if not the best ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 21, 2016

Easily one of the best, if not the best meal I have had in Philadelphia. Chef Nick is doing some incredible things with Laurel.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thanks to Open Table, I had $70 Open Tab ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 21, 2016

Thanks to Open Table, I had $70 Open Table gift certificate to spend on a restaurant of my choice. I figured, I would make it worth it by checking out Laurel!

When we walked in, we were very surprised with the ambiance. The lighting was very bright, too bright for a romantic-ish spot. I would expect it to be on the dimmer side. The decor was pretty much non existent besides the cute tufted white chairs. Seemed sparse.

Food wise though... every dish was impeccable with the plating and the interesting flavor combinations. We added the additional $55 wagyu beef. I couldn't decide between the beef or the gnocchi since the gnocchi seemed to be a bit hit with reviewers but the BF chose the beef. What an excellent choice!!! It melts in your mouth. mmMmMMmm.

Each dish was very small but I was so full towards the end of the meal that I was giving my BF half my dishes. He was happy since he has a bigger appetite. He walked out being pleasantly full. It was a total of 10 courses - favorites included the coconut sorbet palette cleanser, wagyu beef, chocolate pudding, crab and corn, foie gras.. and whatever fish they used.

Our waitress was amazing. I wish I had gotten her name! I do agree with other reviewers about other staff members though. When they dropped off our dishes, they were distantly polite - it kind of made the process awkward. No smiles - just gave us our dishes and recited what it was. Some of them spoke very softly so we would just sit there, smile and say thanks with no idea as to what we were about to eat.

Overall, 4 stars because while the food and our waitress were amazing, for the price we paid for the meal, there is room for improvement.

Also, I booked the reservation a month prior for a Wednesday night 9PM spot! I'm glad I was able to try it out. The chef also came around to say hi and see how we were doing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Laural was everything we hoped it would ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 19, 2016

Laural was everything we hoped it would be and more. We were able to speak to chef Nick on two occasions and he was very gracious. We will be back

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We dined at the restaurant to celebrate ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 16, 2016

We dined at the restaurant to celebrate my girlfriends birthday. Normally it is a 7 course tasting menu but due to it being her birthday the chef cooked an extra dish for us. Everything was fantastic. Although it was an add on, our favorite dish was the ricotta gnocci with the fresh shaved black truffle (which the head chef/owner personally shaves tableside) and we recommend that everyone try it when available.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Tasting menu was a pleasure, didn't have ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 15, 2016

Tasting menu was a pleasure, didn't have to think about ordering. Kitchen was very accommodating about our food allergies/preferences. Dining was leisurely. This restaurant is definitely for foodies or those interested in high quality preparation. Diners should be on the adventurous side and open to trying new things. Our table of three agreed that each of the tasting plates was a little gem, VERY DELICIOUS. Expensive /special occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

After an amazing first time at Laurel we ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 14, 2016

After an amazing first time at Laurel we couldn't wait to come back. Unfortunately, this time around it was a disappointment. The food was good but all the dishes that were supposedly "hot": the fish and the duck, were warm. Presentation was superb but it defeats the point if time is wasted in plating while the food itself is getting cold. The gnocchi were -as before- to die for but not enough to elevate the whole dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.