About Laurel

1617 E Passyunk
Philadelphia, PA 19148
View Larger Map

An intimate French/American BYO restaurant by Chef/Owner Nicholas Elmi.

Laurel only offers a 7 course tasting menu for $85/guest. An optional wine pairing is available at $60/guest. Please note any allergies or dietary restrictions in your reservation allowing us to accommodate.

*Sample Tasting Menu can be viewed on our website
*Menu is subject to change

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, American

Hours of Operation:
Sunday: CLOSED
Monday: CLOSED
Tuesday-Thursday: 5:30PM-10:00PM
Friday-Saturday: 5:30PM-11:00PM

Cross Street:
E. Passyunk & Tasker

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 271-8299

Website:
http://www.restaurantlaurel.com/

Parking Details:
Valet is available Tuesday-Sunday on East Passyunk Square where the Singing Fountain is located (Passyunk Avenue & Tasker Street).

$12 with validation.

Executive Chef:
Nicholas Elmi

Additional:
BYO Liquor

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Laurel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.9

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Philadelphia / New Jersey Suburbs
French
Philadelphia / New Jersey Suburbs
Best Overall
Philadelphia
3 More
Best Food
Philadelphia
Best Service
Philadelphia
French
Philadelphia
Best Restaurants in East Passyunk Avenue ›

fit for foodies (75)
special occasion (66)
romantic (52)
See All
neighborhood gem (21)
hot spot (16)
notable wine list (10)
great for outdoor dining (2)
late-night find (1)
great for brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
346 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Truely unique food, and exceptional serv ...

Dined 7 days ago

Truely unique food, and exceptional service. Small space with a lot to enjoy

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Normally I'm not a "tasting menu person" ...

vip
Dined on June 17, 2016

Normally I'm not a "tasting menu person". I can be picky, allergic to sea food and like to be in charge of what I eat. I didn't have to feel worried at all in Chef Nick's genius hands. I let them know ahead of time about my sea food problems and they were gracious about it. I don't even know what to say about our dinner because my mind is still blown 3 days later. The food was ridiculously amazing, I'm still mentally drooling over the snails especially since I do not get the opportunity to have these prepared properly in my home town very often. I really loved that Chef came out to every table to shave truffles for one dish and to speak with each guest. He came back to my table a second time when I mention to my server that I was about to start making ramen at home. We spoke about how to make a proper dashi and I am so grateful for the advice. I just can't say enough about the whole staff. Love you guys!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food1
ambience2
service5
value1

i was excited I finally got a reservatio ...

vip
Dined on June 16, 2016

i was excited I finally got a reservation at laurel after months , but i realized this place is a complete fraud! Lackluster interior/ambiance. The web gives the "appearance" that there is a regular menu & a tasting menu. Well your only option is the extremely over-priced weird menu. The 7 course tasting menu, as they call it, is the most ridiculous meal i have EVER experienced. Most of the tiny dishes were approx 2 full bites. LOL One dish, was a crab in broth w/ nettles (greens) & if there was 1 lump of crab meat i'd be surprised & 2 Tbsp of broth. Lamb neck was nothing but fat, which was prob. the largest portion served. Clam app on sea foam?? WTF The most ludicrous menu, i have ever experienced in my life. Well we did get a slice of cheese at the end. Horrible meal. But if you want to spend $50 extra for some gnocchi, then add that to your bill! I called once, after reading that Laurel had opened a bar next door & asked if we could get liquor at the on the night we came. The man did not tell me that the bar was NOT open yet, nor did he tell me that all they offered was hugely over priced bottles of wine. Or glasses of wine averaging $17-25 /glass! I also didn't know they do seatings around 6:00 and 8:15. When we came in at 8:15pm, we had been trying to move up our reservation for an hour, they told us they would not be able to accommodate us any earlier, bc they were booked solid. But yet, when we showed up at 8:15, the restaurant was almost empty. So thats why i realized this place is such a hoax, they create the demand that they are so elite by serving things that no one would ever eat, and making it such a challenge of getting in there by controlling the reservations, that people think that they are getting something. Well if you want $20 worth of food, for $170 and ultimately leave there dropping $300 & still hungry, this is the place for you!I suggest eating at Townsend, couple of doors down. Way better food & a really lovely atmosphere & lovely staff.

food5
ambience5
service5

It's a tasting menu, but it is the best ...

vip
Dined on June 12, 2016

It's a tasting menu, but it is the best food in philadelphia! For the prof you pay, the quality and taste in the food beats other restaurants in Philly. We go once every 6 months in order to allow for the menu to change.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A true Chef tasting menu

Dined on June 10, 2016

The tasting menu items were great, then add in the gnocci and the Waygu Beef and you are are now eating an over the top amazing dinner. A must for anyone who is into great food. Plus you have the choice of BYOB or wine pairing!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Extremely creative cooking and taste pro ...

Dined on June 9, 2016

Extremely creative cooking and taste profiles. Great spot for dinner out with friends. Top notch ingredients.

food2
ambience5
service5

I was disappointed in the food. I had on ...

Dined on June 9, 2016

I was disappointed in the food. I had only heard good things and was let down by almost all of the overpriced small seven tasting dishes. Even with a gift certificate and it being a byob the evening was over $80 a person. In addition we had to book three months in advance. Frankly, I'm not sure what all the fuss is about.

food5
ambience4
service5
value2

The most amazing delicious food I've eve ...

Dined on June 7, 2016

The most amazing delicious food I've ever had and the smallest portions I've ever had. When they say a tasting menu they really mean it - you get only a taste. The 7 courses together did not make a meal. Do not go there hungry.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Long time coming

Dined on June 2, 2016

I got reservations back in February for June 1st. I think that was a bit on the far side, most people say two months is the most you need to plan for. I knew it was worth literally saving up for, and all the people who told me it was ended up being right. The "Value" rating is a bit misleading; dinner for two, one optional extra course (huge, they recommend one to split, so we did), two espressos to cap it off, and a decent (20% ish) tip came out to every bit of 300$. I don't regret a dime, though. The service was amazing, each course presented and gently, thoroughly explained. Wine (BYOB, though there is apparently an optional wine tasting menu) was presented, my glass was ever empty (though, I suppose I was drinking slow). If you're planning something special, this is the place. If you wanna have the best, most creative meal in philly, this is the place. Looking forward to an excuse to go back (hopefully celebrating a raise!!)

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely a wonderful experience in din ...

vip
Dined on June 1, 2016

Absolutely a wonderful experience in dining.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Dining Experience

Dined on May 28, 2016

Delicious, expertly prepared, creative menu. Service was remarkable and added to the dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and the service went beyond my ...

vip
Dined on May 27, 2016

The food and the service went beyond my expectations. Looking forward to a return visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, hot spot
food4
ambience2
service4

Air conditioners was broken or not funct ...

vip
Dined on May 26, 2016

Air conditioners was broken or not functioning well. Our table and the table around us both complained and were sweating throughout the meal. At an establishment like this, they should have called their customers and canceled the service or brought in a portable air conditioner (which was brought out when we got dessert).

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unique and Flavorful

Dined on May 25, 2016

Wow. My meal at Laurel was one of a kind. Chef Elmi's use of gastronomy was not oppressive and in every instance served to further the dish. He utilized local, seasonal fresh ingredients and maximized flavor. I have never been to a restaurant with NO MENU but this was not concerning to me. They asked if there were any allergies and then the flavorful and inventive dishes flowed from the kitchen. This is a MUST for anyone within driving distance. Look out for tweets for day-of cancellations.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

From the moment we found a parking space ...

vip
Dined on May 20, 2016

From the moment we found a parking space as soon as we turned onto E Passyunk, this boded well for the rest of the evening. I cannot praise this restaurant too highly. Every serving person was wonderful. Each course brought an amazing surprise. It wasn't just the melange of ingredients in each dish that was so wonderfully creative, but the visual, the texture, the different sensations in one's mouth were all total perfection. Even the plates and bowls in which the food was served, of all shapes and sizes, added to the whole dining experience. A wonderful birthday dinner and hopefully an experience to repeat next year.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Astonishing food bursting with interesti ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Astonishing food bursting with interesting fresh flavors; attentive, impeccable service; a wine pairing that enhances each already incredible course; a must try for every adventurous diner.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Horrible. The food was unedible! Very disappointed

Dined on May 19, 2016

I was served granola. I could not even eat most of the courses they were that bad. I was extremely disappointed.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was hard to read all the reviews and ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

It was hard to read all the reviews and not get hyped up. Laurel really delivered from the moment we walked in to the moment we floated out. The menu was a variety of fantastic journeys. If you are a wine drinker , I would recommend taking a bottle of red and white to accommodate. A definite new favorite and so close to home to boot.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent experience and friendly service.

Dined on May 19, 2016

We enjoyed the flow of dinner and the cozy environment. All staff was very friendly and attentive. The food was delicious and creative. Having Chef Nick bringing some of the entrees was fantastic and totally unexpected surprise!

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience5
service5

The restaurant is beautiful but the food ...

vip
Dined on May 19, 2016

The restaurant is beautiful but the food was a bit disappointing. Also, for the price, we expected more food.

food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing dining experience

Dined on May 19, 2016

Amazing dining experience

food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing, well prepared, delicious food ...

vip
Dined on May 17, 2016

Amazing, well prepared, delicious food was complimented by outstanding service in a warm environment. It took some time to obtain a dinner reservation at Laurel and the wait was worthwhile. Our high expectations were exceeded.

food4
ambience4
service5

Great experience, just couple of disappo ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

Great experience, just couple of disappointments: Have been to so many restaurants and their tasting menus are usually a lot and very filling but this one was not. Food was very good though, every dish tasted great. Wine pairing was okay

food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Life changing. This meal was soul enrich ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Life changing. This meal was soul enriching. I cannot recommend Laurel enough.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best dinners I have ever had ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

One of the best dinners I have ever had in my life. Every course was a masterpiece of art and flavor. The waitress was lovely, everything about the experience was incredible. So many combinations I had never tasted before, and special touches like shaved iced buttermilk on a gazpacho type cold soup sprinkled with foraged greens, looked like a miniature gnome could live in this small terrarium, so beautiful and delicious!! I also really appreciated the special detail to cutlery and dishes, for the fish an antique bent knife, for the lamb's neck an orange/white resin knife, the potato foam soup in a grey/white hand thrown artisan bowl, really just everything was so well thought out. Nick the chef/owner even came out and visited the tables, we really appreciated that, it showed his dedication and pride. Highly recommend, this was a lovely evening!

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perhaps like many first timers to Laurel ...

vip
Dined on May 12, 2016

Perhaps like many first timers to Laurel, we had found out about it when watching "King George's": the movie about Le Bec Fin. We were really excited to see what Nick Elmi had done on his own, and we were not disappointed. It was simply one of best meals we've had in over 15 years' of weekly date-nights. Each course was a pleasant culinary surprise and it was so much fun to experience great food presented in innovative ways. It was nice to have the chance to chat briefly with Chef on one of his several visits to the dining area during our time there. We will definitely be back - when an opening comes up!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Very unique and very good. An example of ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Very unique and very good. An example of excellence.

food2
ambience3
service4
value2

The atmosphere and food was good. Given ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

The atmosphere and food was good. Given the price, I was not very impressed with the flavors and tastes of the food. In my opinion Laurel is more like an American/French restaurant and not French/American. I will pay few dollars more to enjoy excellent French food at Bibou.

food5
ambience5
service5

Incredible dining experience. Every bite ...

Dined on May 6, 2016

Incredible dining experience. Every bite was delicious and perfectly prepared.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always Outstanding!

vip
Dined on May 5, 2016

We have been dining at Laurel since opening night with Chef Nick Elmi and it is always an outstanding dining experience. His creativity never ceases to amaze.... the new menu is a chef's tasting of 7 courses - and each one was more amazing . As well, the service is impeccable....attentive without being obtrusive, friendly and genuine. It's difficult to get in as the restaurant is small, but get a reservation even if it's a 2 month wait.... because it will be well worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Phenomenal Birthday Celebration

Dined on April 29, 2016

We had been looking forward to dining at Laurel, and the experience exceeded our expectations. The food was fabulous and the staff was the most knowledgeable and helpful I have experienced. We did the seven course tasting menu along with the wine paring. Our trip to Philly centered around being able to celebrate my birthday at Laurel. We are already looking for another special occasion in order to make a return visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Completely deserving of all of the hype. ...

vip
Dined on April 28, 2016

Completely deserving of all of the hype. Every dish was thoughtful and amazingly prepared. The staff was knowledgable and friendly, and everyone genuinely seemed as if they wanted to be sure we had the best meal ever - right down to the chef coming out to greet every table. Just simply incredible.

food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing presentation, taste, ambiance. C ...

vip
Dined on April 26, 2016

Amazing presentation, taste, ambiance. Cannot wait to go back! Byob !!!!!

food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely phenomenal. I've had the tast ...

Dined on April 26, 2016

Absolutely phenomenal. I've had the tasting menus at Lacroix, Le Bec Fin, Vetri, Amada and several others in the city. This was hands down my favorite. Absolutely loved every course. The service was outstanding. My friend is expecting, and they were very accommodating to meet her dietary restrictions. The food was plated beautifully. The dishes were so unique, yet not overly complicated. The flavors were just amazing . There is a reason this is such a hard reservation to get! Can't wait to return.

food5
ambience4
service5

Food was delicious. Service impeccable. ...

Dined on April 22, 2016

Food was delicious. Service impeccable. It is a small place so the tables are close together. Worth the long wait to get a reservation!

food5
ambience5
service5

Special event experience.

Dined on April 21, 2016

Special event experience.

food5
ambience5
service5

The food was delicious and service was g ...

Dined on April 20, 2016

The food was delicious and service was great.

food5
ambience4
service5

This was our second visit, with way too ...

vip
Dined on April 14, 2016

This was our second visit, with way too much time I between. It was as great as we remembered it. Days later we are recalling the incredible layers of Flavors and the many textures.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great for foodies

Dined on April 12, 2016

This is the kind of restaurant you go to when you want to try new and innovative cuisine. Not your everyday chef's menu. Even if you think you don't like something, the way this chef prepares it will change your mind!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Worthy of three Michelin stars.

vip
Dined on April 12, 2016

If Laurel was transported to NYC or even Paris, it would be a standout.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.