About Laurel

1617 E Passyunk
Philadelphia, PA 19148
View Larger Map

An intimate French/American BYO restaurant by Chef/Owner Nicholas Elmi.

Laurel only offers a 7 course tasting menu for $85/guest. An optional wine pairing is available at $60/guest. Please note any allergies or dietary restrictions in your reservation allowing us to accommodate.

*Sample Tasting Menu can be viewed on our website
*Menu is subject to change

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, American

Hours of Operation:
Sunday: CLOSED
Monday: CLOSED
Tuesday-Thursday: 5:30PM-10:00PM
Friday-Saturday: 5:30PM-11:00PM

Cross Street:
E. Passyunk & Tasker

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 271-8299

Website:
http://www.restaurantlaurel.com/

Parking Details:
Valet is available Tuesday-Sunday on East Passyunk Square where the Singing Fountain is located (Passyunk Avenue & Tasker Street).

$12 with validation.

Executive Chef:
Nicholas Elmi

Additional:
BYO Liquor

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Laurel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Philadelphia / New Jersey Suburbs
Best Food
Philadelphia / New Jersey Suburbs
Best Service
Philadelphia / New Jersey Suburbs
5 More
French
Philadelphia / New Jersey Suburbs
Best Overall
Philadelphia
Best Food
Philadelphia
Best Service
Philadelphia
French
Philadelphia
Best Restaurants in East Passyunk Avenue ›

fit for foodies (85)
special occasion (75)
romantic (58)
See All
neighborhood gem (24)
hot spot (17)
notable wine list (4)
late-night find (2)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
331 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

From the moment we found a parking space ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

From the moment we found a parking space as soon as we turned onto E Passyunk, this boded well for the rest of the evening. I cannot praise this restaurant too highly. Every serving person was wonderful. Each course brought an amazing surprise. It wasn't just the melange of ingredients in each dish that was so wonderfully creative, but the visual, the texture, the different sensations in one's mouth were all total perfection. Even the plates and bowls in which the food was served, of all shapes and sizes, added to the whole dining experience. A wonderful birthday dinner and hopefully an experience to repeat next year.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Astonishing food bursting with interesti ...

Dined 7 days ago

Astonishing food bursting with interesting fresh flavors; attentive, impeccable service; a wine pairing that enhances each already incredible course; a must try for every adventurous diner.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Horrible. The food was unedible! Very disappointed

Dined 7 days ago

I was served granola. I could not even eat most of the courses they were that bad. I was extremely disappointed.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was hard to read all the reviews and ...

Dined 7 days ago

It was hard to read all the reviews and not get hyped up. Laurel really delivered from the moment we walked in to the moment we floated out. The menu was a variety of fantastic journeys. If you are a wine drinker , I would recommend taking a bottle of red and white to accommodate. A definite new favorite and so close to home to boot.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent experience and friendly service.

Dined on May 19, 2016

We enjoyed the flow of dinner and the cozy environment. All staff was very friendly and attentive. The food was delicious and creative. Having Chef Nick bringing some of the entrees was fantastic and totally unexpected surprise!

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience5
service5

The restaurant is beautiful but the food ...

vip
Dined on May 19, 2016

The restaurant is beautiful but the food was a bit disappointing. Also, for the price, we expected more food.

food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing dining experience

Dined on May 19, 2016

Amazing dining experience

food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing, well prepared, delicious food ...

vip
Dined on May 17, 2016

Amazing, well prepared, delicious food was complimented by outstanding service in a warm environment. It took some time to obtain a dinner reservation at Laurel and the wait was worthwhile. Our high expectations were exceeded.

food4
ambience4
service5

Great experience, just couple of disappo ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

Great experience, just couple of disappointments: Have been to so many restaurants and their tasting menus are usually a lot and very filling but this one was not. Food was very good though, every dish tasted great. Wine pairing was okay

food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Life changing. This meal was soul enrich ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Life changing. This meal was soul enriching. I cannot recommend Laurel enough.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best dinners I have ever had ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

One of the best dinners I have ever had in my life. Every course was a masterpiece of art and flavor. The waitress was lovely, everything about the experience was incredible. So many combinations I had never tasted before, and special touches like shaved iced buttermilk on a gazpacho type cold soup sprinkled with foraged greens, looked like a miniature gnome could live in this small terrarium, so beautiful and delicious!! I also really appreciated the special detail to cutlery and dishes, for the fish an antique bent knife, for the lamb's neck an orange/white resin knife, the potato foam soup in a grey/white hand thrown artisan bowl, really just everything was so well thought out. Nick the chef/owner even came out and visited the tables, we really appreciated that, it showed his dedication and pride. Highly recommend, this was a lovely evening!

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perhaps like many first timers to Laurel ...

vip
Dined on May 12, 2016

Perhaps like many first timers to Laurel, we had found out about it when watching "King George's": the movie about Le Bec Fin. We were really excited to see what Nick Elmi had done on his own, and we were not disappointed. It was simply one of best meals we've had in over 15 years' of weekly date-nights. Each course was a pleasant culinary surprise and it was so much fun to experience great food presented in innovative ways. It was nice to have the chance to chat briefly with Chef on one of his several visits to the dining area during our time there. We will definitely be back - when an opening comes up!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Very unique and very good. An example of ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Very unique and very good. An example of excellence.

food2
ambience3
service4
value2

The atmosphere and food was good. Given ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

The atmosphere and food was good. Given the price, I was not very impressed with the flavors and tastes of the food. In my opinion Laurel is more like an American/French restaurant and not French/American. I will pay few dollars more to enjoy excellent French food at Bibou.

food5
ambience5
service5

Incredible dining experience. Every bite ...

Dined on May 6, 2016

Incredible dining experience. Every bite was delicious and perfectly prepared.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always Outstanding!

vip
Dined on May 5, 2016

We have been dining at Laurel since opening night with Chef Nick Elmi and it is always an outstanding dining experience. His creativity never ceases to amaze.... the new menu is a chef's tasting of 7 courses - and each one was more amazing . As well, the service is impeccable....attentive without being obtrusive, friendly and genuine. It's difficult to get in as the restaurant is small, but get a reservation even if it's a 2 month wait.... because it will be well worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Phenomenal Birthday Celebration

Dined on April 29, 2016

We had been looking forward to dining at Laurel, and the experience exceeded our expectations. The food was fabulous and the staff was the most knowledgeable and helpful I have experienced. We did the seven course tasting menu along with the wine paring. Our trip to Philly centered around being able to celebrate my birthday at Laurel. We are already looking for another special occasion in order to make a return visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Completely deserving of all of the hype. ...

vip
Dined on April 28, 2016

Completely deserving of all of the hype. Every dish was thoughtful and amazingly prepared. The staff was knowledgable and friendly, and everyone genuinely seemed as if they wanted to be sure we had the best meal ever - right down to the chef coming out to greet every table. Just simply incredible.

food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely phenomenal. I've had the tast ...

Dined on April 26, 2016

Absolutely phenomenal. I've had the tasting menus at Lacroix, Le Bec Fin, Vetri, Amada and several others in the city. This was hands down my favorite. Absolutely loved every course. The service was outstanding. My friend is expecting, and they were very accommodating to meet her dietary restrictions. The food was plated beautifully. The dishes were so unique, yet not overly complicated. The flavors were just amazing . There is a reason this is such a hard reservation to get! Can't wait to return.

food5
ambience4
service5

Food was delicious. Service impeccable. ...

Dined on April 22, 2016

Food was delicious. Service impeccable. It is a small place so the tables are close together. Worth the long wait to get a reservation!

food5
ambience5
service5

Special event experience.

Dined on April 21, 2016

Special event experience.

food5
ambience5
service5

The food was delicious and service was g ...

Dined on April 20, 2016

The food was delicious and service was great.

food5
ambience4
service5

This was our second visit, with way too ...

vip
Dined on April 14, 2016

This was our second visit, with way too much time I between. It was as great as we remembered it. Days later we are recalling the incredible layers of Flavors and the many textures.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great for foodies

Dined on April 12, 2016

This is the kind of restaurant you go to when you want to try new and innovative cuisine. Not your everyday chef's menu. Even if you think you don't like something, the way this chef prepares it will change your mind!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Worthy of three Michelin stars.

vip
Dined on April 12, 2016

If Laurel was transported to NYC or even Paris, it would be a standout.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely incredible food & dinner experience

Dined on April 7, 2016

Each course was unique and amazing. Truly memorable dinner. Service was outstanding

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Has got to be ranked - top 5 restaurants in Phila!

vip
Dined on April 7, 2016

Amazing food that you won't find anywhere else. Love, love, love the many courses served. Each is so special and good that you want seconds; however by the time you get to desert you are full. No wonder why it is so hard to get a reservation. Servers are top notch, friendly and very knowledgeable.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

WOW!!!

vip
Dined on April 6, 2016

There probably is not enough space for me to list everything I loved about my meal--from the taste profiles, inventive pairing of ingredients to the interesting plating choices. It is a culinary experience. Yes, it is expensive but I don't think there is a finer meal to be had--except maybe at Vetri--in all of Philadelphia. This was my second visit here with different dining companions. We were all blown away by how good each dish is. Loved the foie gras here (even though I don't like it anywhere else), dining companion loved the escargot (and he generally won't touch them anywhere else). We had the beef special for which there was an upcharge, but It is a byob so you can bring your own wine to pair up with the meal. The wait staff was top notch, attentive but not intrusive and was able to answer our many questions about the meal. My only complaint--it is next to impossible to get a reservation!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4

Outstanding food experience. Shame the s ...

Dined on April 6, 2016

Outstanding food experience. Shame the same cannot be said about the space.

food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Larger portions would be good.

Dined on April 5, 2016

Small portions, some dishes did not have strong flavors. Prefer Bistrot la Minette any day.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

It's always amazing. Just sit back and l ...

Dined on April 3, 2016

It's always amazing. Just sit back and let the meal come to you!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was perfect. Perfect food. P ...

Dined on April 1, 2016

Everything was perfect. Perfect food. Perfect service.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding

Dined on March 31, 2016

This was my second trip to Laurel and it was incredible, even better than the first time. All the dishes were outstanding, it was truly an experience. looking forward to the bistro opening next door and having the opportunity to get back to Laurel again to see what the Chef has thought of next.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Quite a culinary experience, I can see w ...

Dined on March 30, 2016

Quite a culinary experience, I can see why it's so difficult to get a reservation, the food is amazing

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great

Dined on March 30, 2016

wonderful - best restaurant in Philadelphia - one of the best in the country

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

fabulous

Dined on March 30, 2016

Prefix menu was pricey but outstanding and worth every penny. Wine pairing was excellent. Would highly recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent meal. Perfect service . Not ov ...

Dined on March 24, 2016

Excellent meal. Perfect service . Not overly fussy.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding and creative meal, perfect service!

Dined on March 18, 2016

The hype around Laurel is well-deserved. It is my third trip to Philadelphia in the last year, but the first time I was able to schedule far enough out to get a table. My colleagues and I are from different parts of the world, one is vegan and one is gluten free. My carnivore Texan friend and me (the Californian mostly-pescatarian) were ALL EQUALLY STUNNED with how amazing everything was. Each course was distinct, creative and beautifully balanced in terms of taste and presentation. We are all a bit fussy and all foodies, and everything was above and beyond expectations. We would have happily gone there for dinner every night if we could have gotten another reservation. We will all be returning. It is well worth the price, and actually underpriced for what it is.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

its hard to imagine how laurel gets bett ...

vip
Dined on March 15, 2016

its hard to imagine how laurel gets better each time we go back - but it does! Exceptional food, fantastic service and a spot not to be missed.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

Unsatisfied

vip
Dined on March 13, 2016

We have experienced quite a few chef selection tasting menus, and were looking forward to the experience. This menu was so unsatisfying, from one raw course to the next rare course. I will say that the service was great and everyone was friendly, but we definitely left hungry.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.