About Laurel Hardware

7984 Santa Monica Blvd
West Hollywood, CA 90046
View Larger Map


We are a neighborhood restaurant bar with new american cuisine influenced by local flavors.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American, Continental

Hours of Operation:

We will be closed on Saturday, December 24 and Sunday, December 25.


Dinner: Monday thru Wednesday 6:00pm-11:30pm, Thursday thru Saturday 6:00pm-midnight, Sunday 6:00pm-11:00pm

Happy Hour offered Sunday - Friday 6:00pm-7:00pm, Saturday 3:00pm-6:00pm

Afternoon Menu (Happy Hour Only): Saturday 3:00pm-6:00pm

Brunch: Sunday 11:00am-3:30pm



Bar opens at 5pm Monday thru Friday, 3pm Saturday, 11am Sunday and closes everyday at 2am

Cross Street:
Laurel

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(323) 656-6070

Website:
http://www.laurelhardware.com/

Entertainment:
We offer a 2am full liquor license and an array of great late night music with DJs on occasion spinning anything from classic rock to old school hip-hop, indie, euro electro, and new wave.

Catering:
We can fulfill needs for multiple types of offsite parties.

Parking Details:
There is street parking available but valet will probably be your best bet in this neighborhood.

Public Transit:
Santa Monica and Crescent Heights

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Crispy Brussel Sprout Salad - Laurel Hardware, West Hollywood, CA
Lollipop Sprouts - Laurel Hardware, West Hollywood, CA
Butterscotch Budino. - Laurel Hardware, West Hollywood, CA
Hanger Steak - Laurel Hardware, West Hollywood, CA
Apple Cake - Laurel Hardware, West Hollywood, CA
Broccoli With Papadew & Parmesan - Laurel Hardware, West Hollywood, CA
Japanese Sea Bass - Laurel Hardware, West Hollywood, CA
Duck With Orzo Risotto - Laurel Hardware, West Hollywood, CA
Fries - Laurel Hardware, West Hollywood, CA
Fried Chicken and Biscuit - Laurel Hardware, West Hollywood, CA
Spanish Octopus - Laurel Hardware, West Hollywood, CA
Truffled Broccolini - Laurel Hardware, West Hollywood, CA
Skirt Steak - Laurel Hardware, West Hollywood, CA
Margarita Pizza - Laurel Hardware, West Hollywood, CA
Chicken Wings - Laurel Hardware, West Hollywood, CA
Tasso Ham Pizza - Laurel Hardware, West Hollywood, CA
Shrimp Ceviche - Laurel Hardware, West Hollywood, CA
Hamachi - Laurel Hardware, West Hollywood, CA
Pork - Laurel Hardware, West Hollywood, CA
Eggplant Pizza With Burrata - Laurel Hardware, West Hollywood, CA
Cocktails - Laurel Hardware, West Hollywood, CA
Pork Spare Ribs - Laurel Hardware, West Hollywood, CA
Sweet Corn With Truffle And Parmesan Cheese - Laurel Hardware, West Hollywood, CA
Scallops - Laurel Hardware, West Hollywood, CA
Shiso Cucumber Infusion Cocktail - Laurel Hardware, West Hollywood, CA
Butterscotch Budino W Granola - Laurel Hardware, West Hollywood, CA
Fear And Loathing - Laurel Hardware, West Hollywood, CA
Fried Chicken, Pancetta Gravy, Jidori Egg, Greens, Biscuit - Laurel Hardware, West Hollywood, CA
Burrata, Nectarine And Arugula Salad  - Laurel Hardware, West Hollywood, CA
Burger - Laurel Hardware, West Hollywood, CA
Beef Shoulder With Mashed Potatoes - Laurel Hardware, West Hollywood, CA
Recovery - Laurel Hardware, West Hollywood, CA
The Vig - Laurel Hardware, West Hollywood, CA
Corn And Mushroom Pizza - Laurel Hardware, West Hollywood, CA
The Original Gangster - Laurel Hardware, West Hollywood, CA

Laurel Hardware Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (23)
People Watching (22)
Fun (21)
See All
Bar Seating (20)
Handcrafted Cocktails (20)
Hot Spot (20)
Great for Outdoor Dining (19)
Fit for Foodies (19)
Vibrant Bar Scene (17)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Modern Decor (14)
Romantic (12)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Cozy (12)
Good for Groups (11)
Special Occasion (11)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Scenic View (9)
Happy Hour (9)
Casual (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Great for Brunch (5)
Tapas (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Great Beer (4)
Healthy (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Fireplace (3)
Authentic (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Spicy (2)
Historic (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Business Meals (2)
Organic (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Seasonal (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Live Music (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Live Sports (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Family Style (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
628 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Totally underwhelming. 1. Food is fin ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 5 days ago

Totally underwhelming.

  1. Food is fine, but nothing exceptional. Nothing made us say "wow".
  1. Prices are two-thirds higher than similar fare in the neighborhood. Appetizers are in the $15 range for an order of truffled fried or a bowl of roasted carrots. Desserts are $13. Entrees over $22. And portions for the mains are small. For example, Chicken Schnitzel, for a hefty $22, comes only with a small garnish of pickled cabbage. Add spaetzle or creamed potatoes and the value would have been more in the park.
  1. Service was friendly but incredibly slow. Especially the bar service. 15 minutes for a drink? And how does a place in which the bar is so central to the lay out and service run out of ice tea?
  1. Way too dark. On one occasion I did not even notice our waitress was standing at the end of our table.
  1. Way too loud. Have to shout to hear each other. The problem is that the communal tables are right across from the bar, which can get quite rowdy. Then all the people congregating around the bar start to bump into the tables, often without saying a word.
  1. Valet was a mess. He takes three spots. He doesn't mark them. We thought one of them was an available parking spot so we took it. Valet didn't say anything. 10 minutes later he told the maitre'd we were about to be towed. Why didn't he just stop us when we parked there? On the way out he said he could not get our car to start. When we got to the car we found he had not locked it, and we were able to start it immediately.

There are much better -- and price friendly -- options nearby.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value1

Food is very over rated. The menu makes ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 6 days ago

Food is very over rated. The menu makes no sense

Sharing bites is fine but when the items aren't shareable like the tomato soup and grilled cheese. The grilled cheese should be small bites, versus a full size sandwich. How do you share that ?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value2

Very lively atmosphere. Excellent food. ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Very lively atmosphere. Excellent food. Probably quieter through the week by Definitely not good for a romantic dinner.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Okay, food was good, cool scene

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 7 days ago

Okay, food was good, cool scene

Tags: People Watching, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Maybe we didn't look the part of the hip ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Maybe we didn't look the part of the hipster and young creative crowd packed in, but service treated us very different from other tables. Things just dropped hard on the table, impatient, and unwilling to answer even the basic of questions. And this was the before the weirdness of a glass window shattering next to us. Perhaps my last visit. Why deal with completely lousy service and rudeness.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1

Absolutely amazing meal. Each dish on po ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Absolutely amazing meal. Each dish on point. 5 Stars!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The server was beautiful but a little cu ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 10, 2017

The server was beautiful but a little curt. I felt rushed, and not very welcomed. How does she know who we are? Was it our first time there? We brought people from New York there because we heard it was great........

The drinks were fabulously delicious and generous, and the food was great!

Good place to go maybe sitting at the bar would be better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

There is nothing kitschy about this plac ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 8, 2017

There is nothing kitschy about this place, they're food is honest and their drinks are good! The bar and patio are gorgeous and the staff was friendly. We came in at 5pm before a show and caught happy hour. There was a good variety of items to enjoy.

I am definitely planning to return again for dinner. Thank you laurel hardware!

Tags: Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Historic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of my favorite dining experiences in ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 6, 2017

One of my favorite dining experiences in years. This restaurant is exactly what I hoped it would be -- delicious, great drinks, cool atmosphere, and a beautiful outside patio. Loved it!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Visiting LA. This was a home-run. Everyt ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Visiting LA. This was a home-run. Everything really good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday dinner for my daughter. Beautif ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Birthday dinner for my daughter. Beautiful outdoor space. Service was friendly but slow. Food was expensive for portions. I ordered the Branzino and it was ordercooked/fried to the point most of it was chewy. The truffle fries and pork rib apps were delicious. Still overall a couple hits, mostly misses. Not enough variety with desserts. No chocolate option. Overall, the ambiance didn't overcome the food, value and service. Probably won't return.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value1

This place was too loud. Next time I'll ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

This place was too loud. Next time I'll try to sit outside. Food was very good, especially the hanger steak and pork chop special.

The service was too good. We waited in the bar for 10 minutes. After we ordered, they brought out 7 courses in what seemed like 5 minutes. Too rushed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

We had a 9pm reservation. On arrival, w ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We had a 9pm reservation. On arrival, we were told our table wasn't ready and to wait in the bar. It was 9:20pm before we were seated. This is a pet peeve of mine; if you have a reservation, the table should be ready when you arrive. I can understand a five minute wait, but a 20 minute wait is unacceptable.

The service was slow and inattentive. Much like getting the table, it felt like the wait staff thought they were doing you a favor to serve you.

The food is an odd collection of items with no real unifying theme. We ordered a salad, chicken wings, tuna tartare, a shrimp dish, and a grilled cheese sandwich. You might think the tuna tartare would come first - WRONG! The salad and the chicken wings came first, and the rest in the order that I listed them. This was a mistake, as the chicken wings overwhelm your palate and you have a hard time appreciating tuna tartare after that.

In general, the dishes were OK, nothing special. They generally follow the trend we have seen repeated and imitated in what passes for today's crop of "hip" restaurants: "small plates designed for sharing" that combine overly seasoned food, too many culinary influences, and no point of view.

As for the ambience, Laurel Hardware can't decide if it wants to be a nightclub or a restaurant. It's crowded, the tables are lounge style, the music is loud, and there are a lot of drunk people. Not my idea of a restaurant.

We went because we heard someone recommend it, but this place isn't worth a return visit. LA has much better options on offer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Awesome happy hour! Make a reservation a ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Awesome happy hour! Make a reservation and try everything on the menu. Divine...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice evening. Good food, not too crowded ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Nice evening. Good food, not too crowded, holiday week

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I took my friend to Laurel Hardware for ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 18, 2016

I took my friend to Laurel Hardware for his birthday dinner when he visited from out of town. It is definitely a great place aesthetically, you hardly know what you're walking into when you get there. The outside looks like an actual hardware store, and once you walk past the hostess you are in a chic bar/lounge with low lights and a view of the back terrace with trees and tables. Really impressive for a guest. The service was great and the food was great too! I definitely recommend this place!

Tags: Tapas, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food in a comfortable yet inte ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Delicious food in a comfortable yet interesting room. The Lollipop Sprouts were great, the Papardelle was deliciously savory, and the Chocolate Croissant Bread Pudding was not to be missed. My server was exception ally helpful, courteous and prompt. It was a great dining experience.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

After a not so warm and friendly hostess ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 14, 2016

After a not so warm and friendly hostess, and waiting almost an hour for a table that we had a reservation for, the manager came over and apologized to us for the delay. She got us some drinks, finally sat us, and made sure we were well taken care of by our server. The server was awesome! Very fun atmosphere. We ordered small plates to share, and the food was delicious!! So after a rocky start, we had a great time.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Fun, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I felt like we we're all we'll taken car ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 12, 2016

I felt like we we're all we'll taken care of and our waitress Levy was super cool! The food is consistently good! Thanks again!

Tags: Quick Bite, People Watching, Scenic View, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not a pleasurable experience. Food was n ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Not a pleasurable experience. Food was not good at all. Lighting was bad it felt like dining in the dark. Wait staff inconsistent. Never go again or recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value2

The brunch food was sad! The blueberry ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 11, 2016

The brunch food was sad! The blueberry pancakes were fine, fluffy but two of the pancakes were burnt on the bottom side! The grilled cheese sandwich wasn't GRILLED. Too much butter or probably enough IF the sandwich was actually grilled to a golden brown. The eggs were barely poached... almost raw on the edges. The waitress was pleasant. There was a large party having brunch too and therefore the whole meal took 1/2 hour to come to the table. We were offered a slice of bread and ONE croissant for our trouble. It was to be a special brunch to celebrate my daughter's new job. Disappointing!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value2

Dinner is great there, brunch was awful.

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Dinner is great there, brunch was awful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2

Dined here for a girls holiday dinner! W ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Dined here for a girls holiday dinner! We shared several small plates and the food was incredibly tasty👍‼️ The inside of the restaurant is very cool & hip but a bit noisy so we were happy to be seated out in the back patio where we could enjoy all the ambiance of pretty white lights & coziness. We loved our whole dining experience...definitely recommend and will be back again‼️

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The waitress forgot our entrees And the ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 8, 2016

The waitress forgot our entrees

And the service was horrible

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value2

I always have the best time at Laurel Ha ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 4, 2016

I always have the best time at Laurel Hardware. I always love to bring friends here who have never been. They are ALWAYS impressed.

Tags: Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful patio, food was great, terribl ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Beautiful patio, food was great, terrible service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

The food was actually good but some of t ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 30, 2016

The food was actually good but some of the people in our party are not meat eaters and there isn't much for them to choose from. I would be my only

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Ive been here before and the service is ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Ive been here before and the service is always great. Ambiance is great in the night time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and drinks were awesome - I haven't ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Food and drinks were awesome - I haven't had anything here I did not like (even if the description seems a bit unique). Compliments to the chef for creative and well executed dishes coupled with very knowledgeable wait staff. We took Ryan's recommendations for the specials and dessert and he was spot on.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We love Laurel Hardware. It had been a ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We love Laurel Hardware. It had been a while since we there last and this meal was great as well. I will say, however, that the food was not as universally outstanding. Don't get me wrong, it's amazing. But the chicken skewers were fair. And the hand-cut fries were unmemorable. Overall, I still love this place!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food with a romantic patio. However ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Good food with a romantic patio. However, it was too cold even under a heater, so we (group of 5) eventually got a table inside.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great spot for drinks and ambiance, but ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Great spot for drinks and ambiance, but don't get me wrong, the food is good, the price point is not. It's just way to inflated for what is placed on to the table. That's just part of WeHo dining I guess. I'll stick to just drinks next time and maybe a pizza.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

It's a vibrant scene, but if you want to ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 13, 2016

It's a vibrant scene, but if you want to have a conversation, it's probably not going to happen inside. Make sure you get on the patio if you want to talk.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Not handicap or wheelchair accessible!!

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Not handicap or wheelchair accessible!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

The food was fantastic, the room is mode ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 6, 2016

The food was fantastic, the room is modern and well decorated rustic chic- and the cocktails were really good. My only complaint is that the drink order (1 beer,1 cocktail) took a full 15 minutes (clocked) to arrive and the delay was apparently due to a changing of the keg which explains the beer but not the cocktail as we were one of only 3 tables seated at 11:15am. The other thing is that my husbands meal arrived a full 10 minutes before mine so we had to share his so that we both could eat as opposed to him waiting while it got cold or him eating while I watched. He was pretty much finished his food by the time my meal arrived. Not good timing and no apology was given. The food was delicious though so I'd go back. The server gave us the minimum amount of service required.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Great Beer, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

The service was good, but waiting in an ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 6, 2016

The service was good, but waiting in an overcrowded bar for my table to become ready was a bit much. Too many people crowded around. The server was very nice and my food came out pretty quickly. This is not a place to go for a date, especially on the weekend. I think they need to cut back on how many people they allow to squeeze in at the bar so people eating can actually hear each other. I will try a week night and see how it goes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Burger was not good. Way too much arugul ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Burger was not good. Way too much arugula and not even enough meat flavor. For $19 I could have had a much better meal elsewhere. If I wanted to eat arugula I could have done that at home.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Food was delicious; service was slow-but ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Food was delicious; service was slow-but-courteous-and-knowledgable; room is loud; if you sit in the booth area, there is a hollow wooden platform that makes an annoying racket every time someone stomps by! Would not recommend sitting in that area as a deuce.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

Always greeted so well & always a magica ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Always greeted so well & always a magical time here ✨❤️✨

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The bronzino was amazing. 👌🏼👌🏼

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 2, 2016

The bronzino was amazing. 👌🏼👌🏼

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.