L'Auberge Provencale

4.6
353 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$50 and over
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
French American
Top Tags:
  • Romantic
  • Special Occasion
  • Worth the Drive
L’Auberge Provençale of the Shenandoah Valley is a Washington DC Bed and Breakfast Getaway in the style of a quintessential French Country Bed and Breakfast Inn. L'Auberge Provencale is a Northern Virginia Luxury Bed and Breakfast Inn; a bit of Provence with award winning cuisine created by our team of talented chefs.
Enjoy Virginia Wine Country as you savor our local, farm to table cuisine. featuring a three course, five course and chef's tasting menu. Seasonal produce from our orchards and gardens. Our award winning wine list will help set the tone for a romantic Virginia weekend getaway. Al fresco dining on our terrace in season will take you to another time and place.
Our new bar & lounge features an a la carte menu of brasserie fare, over 100 liqours, herb-infused cocktails, and local craft beers & ciders on tap!
Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
French American, Vegetarian, French
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Mon, Wed–Sun 5:00 am–9:00 pm
Lunch
Mon, Wed–Sun 11:30 am–2:00 pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(540) 837-1375
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Richard Wright
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
L’Auberge Provençale of the Shenandoah Valley is a Washington DC Bed and Breakfast Getaway in the style of a quintessential French Country Bed and Breakfast Inn. L'Auberge Provencale is a Northern Virginia Luxury Bed and Breakfast Inn; a bit of Provence with award winning cuisine.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Christian Bentley: (866) 761-3447
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Free parking in private lot off restaurant entrance.
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
Call or visit our website for dates and seating times of the following annual events:

Linden, RdV, and Glen Manor Vineyards Wine Dinners

Easter Sunday Lunch'Inn

Mother's Day Dinner

Thanksgiving Day Dinner: Bring the family for this festive occasion and experience exceptional seasonal cuisine including GMO free Turkey and all your favorite traditional trimmings. Don't forget -all guests get a leftover turkey sandwich to go!

Christmas Eve Dinner

New Year's Eve Dinner

New Year's Day Brunch
Additional
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 353 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.6based on recent ratings
4.8
food
4.5
service
4.7
ambience
4.1
value
Noise · Quiet
94% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined on June 11, 2018

The food was over the top... creativity combined with the beautiful subtle flavors throughout all the dishes ... it’s worth the drive to enjoy not only the food but also the service....

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 9, 2018

Outstanding dining experience! We had the tasting menu and every item served was delicious and so beautifully served. And the wine served with each course was delightful, especially the vinsanto from Santorini. The sommelier was exceptional and very informative about each wine. And helped us to watch a run for the Triple Crown when the TV in the bar stopped working with his smartphone. Everyone was very kind and attentive. We have eaten here once a year for about the past 4 years, and this was our best experience yet. The garden room is very nice for dining.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 8, 2018

We've been enjoying L'Auberge Provencal for more than 25 years. Fortunately, they keep changing their menu to include seasonal items and to keep up with trends in changing tastes. The one thing they haven't changed is their welcoming staff and high standards for hospitality.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 31, 2018

Although I lost a bet over a radish, it was the best, absolutely the best

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 19, 2018

Food was wonderful. Service was s-l-o-w. We had 7:30 pm reservations and did not leave until 10:30 pm...not because we were delaying or being leisurely. The service was overwhelmed with amount of guests.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 13, 2018

I took my my fiance to Mothers Day and we spent the night. The package for the room with a $100.00 credit for dinner including a bottle of wine with a cheese platter in the room and that came out to $450.00+ taxes. You can plan to spend a minimum of another $200.00 at dinner, if you have wine or drinks.
The staff was pleasant and somewhat helpful, the problem with my meal was that our main entres did not come out at the same time, actaully my fiance was finished with her entre before I could find a server to ask what happened to mine. I was also supposed to have a five course meal and she was going to have a four course meal, so I cancelled my last course and we both were forced to eat alone, not a very nice situation for Mothers Day and specially when you spend over $600.00 for a room and dinner, they did offer a $50.00 credit on the bill.
I would also like to mention that they handed out fresh herb plants to all the Mothers as they left, they let me leave and did not offer my fiance a plant, not until later when I asked about it did they provide her a plant. I have mixed opinions about this Inn, and cannot recommend this to co-workers friends or family. To end on a positive note... the meal presentations were very nice and breakfast was terrific!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Went for Mother’s Day and took out 3yo. Staff was accommodating and the food was great. Our waitress disappeared near the end of our meal and we were overlooked for awhile. But other than that it was a great experience. We’ll definitely go again.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Mother’s Day brunch.
Food was very good; however, meal was highly overpriced. Charged $5 extra for non descript coffee, and $15 for a glass of average Prosecco. Other quality restaurants include these items, especially when a fixed price is set for brunch. $70 a person for three courses is excessive. Will not be returning.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Probably my 10th visit over the past 20 years...still an amazing, memorable meal. I particularly like the Prix Fix menu option. Wine list is amazing.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

We enjoyed lovely weather for our outdoor patio dining and the only negative is that it is situated next to a busy road and it’s hard to completely tune out the cars passing by when we’re enjoying such exquisitely prepared meals. I wonder if this could be solved one day by moving the outdoor dining area to the back of the property where it’s quieter with a pretty country view.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 20, 2018

This was a fantastic experience. The service is impeccable, the food was divine, and the ambiance was everything we hoped for.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 11, 2018

We have been several times here for dinner, with much pleasure and rave reviews, but never for lunch. My expectations were quite high, as this B&B always presents itself as top of the line.
I have made reservations through OpenTable, indicating it's my friend's Birthday celebration. We arrived punctually, at 12-17 on a Wednesday, with all the tables at our service. The table, where we sat, did not have napkins or silverware, - not a big deal, we asked for it. Needless to say, the place was very quiet: just one traveler from NJ. The salads - we both chose beet salad - were very fresh, and the dressing was outstanding. Highly recommend crabcakes with fried green tomatoes - it's a unique match. Of course, one can never be disappointed with the wine list! I mentioned again that we are celebrating the birthday, but any special gestures from the chef, like a tiny dessert or a symbolic treat, were NEVER received. The bartender - sweet young lady - was charming. Expected more, but "C'est la vie!", L'Aberge whispered to us.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 6, 2018

Quiet, romantic setting with outstanding food. My fiancé and I chose the 5 course option and every bite was excellent. The staff was courteous and attentive.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

This place is very special in many ways and will please not only the palate but all of the senses. Staying there adds to the charm. Plan on going back every year - would go more but it's a two hour drive. Highly recommend

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 31, 2018

Great food, great service, and great overall experience. We stayed overnight and enjoyed both a wonderful dinner and a delicious Easter
brunch.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 30, 2018

My husband and I dined here this past weekend during a stay at the inn. Everything was wonderful. The food, the service, the atmosphere - all beautiful! Highly recommend for a special night out.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 27, 2018

El ambiente es muy agradable, el cuarto limpio y confortable, sin embargo la relación costo vs. calidad de comida y servicio es muy mala, el tiempo de espera entre los platos es muy largo, después de esperar la comida llego fría.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2018

Great meal. Stay the night because you aren’t going to want to drive home after!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 11, 2018

It is very expensive restaurant but the food, service, and particular the wine parings are just amazing, so definitely a special occasion only place but worth the money.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 10, 2018

Exceptional tasting menu complete with a dedicated vegetarian menu. Friendly, attentive staff. The whole evening was a real treat - and yes, definitely worth the drive.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 9, 2018

I hadn't been there since the bar area was added a couple years ago. It's a welcome addition so a more casual experience is available with the same high quality kitchen.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 4, 2018

The husband and I went here on a whim. The menu looked intriguing, and the location only added to the mystery. We both had the chefs tasting menu and cocktails, but will certainly be taking advantage of their stellar wine selection upon our next visit.

The food was sublime, each course was well timed, and the plating was immaculate. We chose the tasting menu to get a feel for the chefs strengths, and explore his reach. This option was chosen, with full knowledge that certain plates we would not enjoy as much as others (personal tastes/dislikes being the reason). The chefs take on many known dishes was a delight, and broadening our palate was the main goal.

Do not hesitate to explore this restaurant, and you will be rewarded by a memorable meal. Go into the experience with an open mind, and order the dishes as they come. This chef will surprise you, and like us you will be returning.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 1, 2018

Exceptional food. Kudos to the chef for taste, texture, flavor profiles and general creativity. 5 courses of perfect bites, surprises and unconventional pairings. The service was formal but not snooty. Loved our two servers. There are lots of forks and knives but you won’t feel out of place if you aren’t used to fine dining. It’s expensive but well worth it if you consider yourself a foodie.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 17, 2018

Superb meal on the whole. My wife thought that her duck was a bit undercooked. This was our fourth visit to L’Auberge and we love it.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 16, 2018

Fantastic meal. Christian the sommelier was outstanding!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Beautiful setting near the VA blue ridge. Great good and hosts. Also a romantic bed and breakfast

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Wonderful food and service as always!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Been here several times, usually each course is suberb. This time i actually dodnt care for one, the salmon, and not impressed by the another, lamb.. I also was ill fpr 24 hrs after eating..while i cant say it was food caused for sure...it just added tp a less than stellar meal.
Service was also below what I normally have experienced there. they seemed shorthanded.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Attentive staff, excellent food, wonderful presentation. Small, quiet and memorable. Dined in February, will return in the spring to fully appreciate surroundings.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 11, 2018

The food is prepared well and is always tasty. They have a very large wine selection and a nice bar area. The dinning room is cozy, intimate and nicely decorated. We always enjoy eating here.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 11, 2018

The staff was so friendly and informative. They made us feel welcome and well cared for. Being new to French cuisine was no hindrance. It really was an adventure. We enjoyed the food and the fine details including the brilliant presentation. Thank you for an exciting evening out!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 10, 2018

Perfection. My husband and I are blown away every time we eat at LB. We had the tasting menu for pre-valentines and it was spectacular. Every course introduced and paired perfectly with a wine. Plenty of food but not overly full - again it was exactly what you want in a romantic evening for two. I love ❤️ this place. It is close enough to DC to make an evening of it - or just stay at the inn for the night. We have done both, but prefer to stay overnight and enjoy the wine paring. Lovely staff and scenery- picturesque.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 20, 2018

A little pricy but the food was well deserving and worth it. Look forward to coming back soon

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 6, 2018

Amazing food, staff, and wine selection! A hidden gem; worth the drive!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 31, 2017

We got married at L'Auberge, so we try to go back as much as possible, either on our anniversary or New Years. This year we brought friends who had never been. I think we may make it our new New Years Eve place! Food was incredible.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 31, 2017

We enjoyed the PreFixe dinner on New Years Eve. We started with drinks in the bar and then were seated at a wonderful table. Everything was wonderful including excellent Fois Gras, octopus, lobster tail and duck. The white chocolate Brie cheesecake was awesome. A wonderful special dinner.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 24, 2017

Staff were amazing. Food was out of this world. Will absolutely come back. Can't say enough about this place!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 24, 2017

My husband and I celebrated Christmas Eve at L’Auberge Provençal. We had the chefs tasting menu with wine pairings. I can honestly say it was the best meal I have ever had. The food was fresh, creative and cooked perfectly! Each wine paired perfectly with each course. I would definitely return!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 24, 2017

Four of us felt pampered at the Inn and the Restaurant on Christmas Eve. It was the most luxuriously relaxed atmosphere. No rushing you out the door here. Whoever reviewed below saying they want more color or fro-fro is crazy. The new decor is stylish, chic, and clean. Space between and among the tables. Conversations were not able to be overheard. Lots of windows and views of the mountains. I loved the Escher-like restroom flooring! Yes, they wait (as they should) for everyone at your table to complete their course, before serving the next to all others at table. Miles, our excellent server, was friendly and efficient. Every course was beautifully plated, flavors were unusual but matched and nothing overpowered the other - blending naturally and not so self-consciously as some chefs are prone to do. If you want a place to breeze in, eat without smelling (the roses) or chewing, and breeze out again - go somewhere else. On the other hand, if you want a special night out, go to L'Auberge Provencale. I recommend staying at the Inn as well, so you don't have to drive back home. With your room at your doorstep, you simply open the door, light up the wood fireplace in your room, and sink into the comfortable arm chair...reminiscing about the meal and wine you just enjoyed...and if you need ANYTHING, the Inn's major domo, "Bentley" is at your service...there's a reason the Inn is included in the Select Registry book...ah....

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 23, 2017

We were celebrating our sons 16th birthday and we each choose the 5 course meal. Each selection was delicious and quite beautiful! The beets and lobster courses were our favorite out of the five courses. We loved how the food was presented and took pictures to share with friends. The service was excellent.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
9

Tweets by L'Auberge Provencale