Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.68mi
  2. Distance: 0.82mi
  3. Distance: 1.23mi
  4. Distance: 4.74mi
  1. Distance: 0.68mi
  2. Distance: 0.82mi
  3. Distance: 1.23mi
  4. Distance: 4.74mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.68mi
  2. Distance: 0.82mi
  3. Distance: 1.23mi
  4. Distance: 4.74mi
  1. Distance: 0.68mi
  2. Distance: 0.82mi
  3. Distance: 1.23mi
  4. Distance: 4.74mi

About L'Auberge Provencale

L’Auberge Provençale of the Shenandoah Valley is a Washington DC Bed and Breakfast Getaway in the style of a quintessential French Country Bed and Breakfast Inn. L'Auberge Provencale is a Northern Virginia Luxury Bed and Breakfast Inn; a bit of Provence with award winning cuisine created by our team of talented chefs.
Enjoy Virginia Wine Country as you savor our local, farm to table cuisine. featuring a three course, five course and chef's tasting menu. Seasonal produce from our orchards and gardens. Our award winning wine list will help set the tone for a romantic Virginia weekend getaway. Al fresco dining on our terrace in season will take you to another time and place.
Our new bar & lounge features an a la carte menu of brasserie fare, over 100 liqours, herb-infused cocktails, and local craft beers & ciders on tap!

13630 Lord Fairfax Highway
Boyce, VA 22620
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French American, Vegetarian, French

Hours of Operation:
Restaurant: Monday & Wednesday thru Sunday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm
Bar & Lounge: Monday 3:00 - 9:00pm, Wednesday thru Friday 1:00 - 10:00pm, Saturday 12:00 - 10:00pm, Sunday 1:00 - 10:00pm
Both the restaurant and bar & lounge are closed on Tuesdays.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(540) 837-1375

Website:
http://www.latableprovencale.com/

Parking Details:
Free parking in private lot off restaurant entrance.

Executive Chef:
Steve Ferrell

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Call or visit our website for dates and seating times of the following annual events:

Linden, RdV, and Glen Manor Vineyards Wine Dinners

Easter Sunday Lunch'Inn

Mother's Day Dinner

Thanksgiving Day Dinner: Bring the family for this festive occasion and experience exceptional seasonal cuisine including GMO free Turkey and all your favorite traditional trimmings. Don't forget -all guests get a leftover turkey sandwich to go!

Christmas Eve Dinner

New Year's Eve Dinner

New Year's Day Brunch

L'Auberge Provencale Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.3

ambience

4.6

value

3.9

noise

Quiet

84% would recommend it to a friend

Worth the Drive (7)
Romantic (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
See All
Good for a Date (5)
Special Occasion (5)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Scenic View (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Cozy (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Seasonal (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Authentic (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Organic (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
S
292 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

Food was amazing, really enjoyed the whole experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 10, 2017

We had a wonderful dinner and the service was exceptional. We have been there for brunch several times, but this was our first dinner experience. Miles was our server and he was excellent. We had a very enjoyable experience!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 8, 2017

My wife and I went here for an anniversary dinner on way to a different bed and breakfast. The meal was wonderful -- great appetizers and entrees. The menu is diverse but doesn't overwhelm you with choices. The service was great and the setting (out in the Virginia countryside) is great for a special occasion. We didn't stay at the Inn but many diners do -- it looks very nice.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 7, 2017

We had a disappointing experience with the restaurant, visited after a 7 and ½ hour drive. The first of three difficulties was encountered in trying to enter the restaurant. An archway sign indicates to go to the front of the house to enter. Once inside, there was no one there to greet us. We noticed and rang a “service bell” on the side and someone then promptly came to seat us. Effective, but awkward.
Second, the wine list is extensive, but unnecessarily expensive. We were arriving from Charleston, SC, a food and wine mecca. We ate at four outstanding restaurants and had wine on each occasion. Wines there were priced at 2 to 2.5 times typical retail. Almost every wine on this restaurant’s list was 3 to even four times retail - It was usurious.
Finally, the menu. If you check on-line, you learn that the meals are basically on a Prefix menu. On-line it describes the option to pay $88 for four courses – 2 apps, 1 main (fish or meat), and a desert. For $98 you can select five courses – 2 appetizers, 2 mains (a fish and a meat) and a desert. I decided to opt for five courses, because I often find French restaurant courses to lack bulk (I am a Viking, and if I can hold it in one hand, it ain’t enough). When the waitress arrived, seemed unaware of the 5-course option – it was not on the restaurant menu we received. I assumed that maybe it was uncommon, and she responded that might be the case. A few minutes later a second waitress stopped by and said that she had talked with the manager and that the 5-course option would only be available if all guests ordered the 5-course menu. In that case I said I would decline and meal, my dinner guests agreed and we decided to leave the restaurant. So, I have no comments on the food, and had I not just experienced so many great meals in Charleston, perhaps I would not have held the restaurant to the service level I did, but, it just wasn’t a pleasant experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Dinner and overall experience was wonderful. Romantic setting for two to celebrate any special occasion. Owner and staff make you feel like family as well.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Where to begin? We ate dinner here several years ago. It was delightful. I was eager to return but for a variety of reasons, just made it in there recently. The decor change was shocking and horrid. Before, it had reminded me of a beautiful garden room, colorful and enchanting. This time the walls were painted a brown-purple, no window coverings save for cold metal blinds, the light fixtures were replaced with cheap-looking modern chandeliers that did not match the style or ambiance of the ceiling medallions and there was an antique wood water stand that looked old and dirty in such a nouveau-style room. The desserts arrived in ugly, black, huge bowls, reminiscent of a huge shell. Overwhelming for the beautiful dessert within. No signs of life other than the waitstaff and other diners. It would have helped tremendously to have some hanging ferns. A complete room redo is in order. Due to the inefficient metal blinds, we were also treated to the t-shirts and shorts crowd at the outdoor bar. They created a wine glass tower and we were subjected to many PDAs. Please don't tell me I could have looked away. There was nothing else to look at save my husband. He is pleasant to look at, very pleasant indeed but I have been looking at him for more than 35 years and was looking forward to seeing bright colors and greenery. Our main courses, our excellent main courses, took more than an hour to reach us and we kept getting apologies and were often told the food "would be out soon", or "they're plating it now." Remember, the food was outstanding and excellent. Clearly, this restaurant has a world-class chef. For all of our waiting and terrible hunger, we were comped a glass of wine each. Not nearly compensation at all.

I'd be happy to go back when the decor is un-uglied. Funeral homes are more tastefully decorated and alive than this restaurant. Remember, if you just want a world-class food experience and don't care about ambiance, this is your place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service2
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Food was excellent. Restaurant was quiet. Service was exceptional. Great place to get a quiet, delicious dining experience.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Awesome just like 20 years ago.
Celebrating our anniversary here again and staying the night as well.
Fantastic dinner and breakfast also. We shall be back even though 3+ hours away.
Christian took phone reservation for stay and was our breakfast server.
Thank you to all.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

Upon arriving we entered through the bar, no music playing, no one to greet us, rather awkward. After a few seconds our waiter greeted us from across the room and showed us to our table. Everyone was helpful in explaining the menu. Food was beautifully presented, proper temperature and tasted great. My husbands water glass was never replenished. I asked for a wine recommendation told the team what my upper price was and was told that I would see a couple of choices, only one bottle was presented, it was delicious but also at my most upper price, it would have been nice to have a couple of choices. Also I had to ask for wine to be poured and was told that the support staff was too young to pour the wine. About an hour and half into the service the music was turned on in the dining room. This is a beautiful restaurant, this is great food, this has the potential to be great service, but the truth is in the details and the details were missing.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Incredible food and service with Miles. Will go back in a heartbeat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 13, 2017

The combination of fabulous, creative cooking and excellent service made for a superb dining experience!

Tags: Cozy, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Prompt service. The staff was very accommodating. The food was fresh, healthy and delicious.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 24, 2017

We'd dined at L'Auberge Provencale a couple years ago with friends and had a wonderful dinner, so my husband and I figured we would come back this year to celebrate a special occasion. The evening started out great, as all our interactions were with the bar manager, Christian, but he must have finished his shift and left, at which point service became forgetful and inattentive. We heard the table behind us complaining about waiting 45+ minutes for something and demanding that parts of their meal be comped, and we figured those must have just been overly demanding patrons who weren't interested in having a slow-paced meal, but then the same thing happened to us. We enjoy the leisurely pace of fine dining, but when people forget to give you silverware when they serve your next course, when they neglect to see that cocktail glasses are empty and that we'd perhaps like to order a glass of wine, and when, after mentioning it to the table runners who couldn't take our wine order, they don't actually send anyone over until that course is finished... it's just not worth the money, even though the food was perfectly executed and delicious. Of course it's good practice to take this up with the manager while one is actually present at the restaurant that night, but we didn't want to make things awkward, especially since we thought we might linger and order a drink at the bar, which still had a few patrons sitting at it, but we were turned away and told, verbatim, "Nope, we're done." It's just not a pleasant experience to be kept waiting and waiting and then rushed away as though you're the one who's overstayed their welcome, and we honestly couldn't wait to get out the door and far away.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Uninterested service, the Porkchop was not cooked, but the ambience is nice. They need to up their game.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 27, 2017

The staff, service, and food quality are comparable to the Inn at Little Washington. Celebrated our 50th wedding anniversary there and will be remembered for a long time. The sweetbreads and foil gras appetizers were above expectations as were our entrees of monkfish, scallops and wagyu beef. Desserts of chocolate mousse with hazelnut sauce and peanut butter ice cream and the ice cream/sorbet flight were to,die for! Well worth $'s and trip.

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 19, 2017

haven't been here in about 10 years and the food was outstanding as ever. we did the tasting menu and really enjoyed the selections. the wine list is fantastic and the restaurant ambiance is really nice. our servers were nice my only issue was them just dropping off the food and walking away. its nice to have an explanation of your dish, and for some courses how to eat it/enjoy it correctly. but aside from that it was a really nice experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

we were placed in a back room because we had a 13 and 10 yr old old. No attention . We asked for gluten free bread three times, because myself and two children had celiac disease. We were never asked if we wanted espresso..... no one went above and beyond . Waiters inexperienced for a 5 star. Would've spent more and more but no one even thought to ask if we wanted more . They just went through the motions to get to closing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Toledo)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Amazing meal with even better wine! Celeste had amazing wine offerings that paired great with the meal. Worth it!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Very nice dinner and accommodations. Wait service could have improved. Utensils missing from table on 2 occasions. No one ever asked if I wanted another glass of wine. Minor issues but the quality of the service needs to be improved to match the quality of the meal.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 29, 2017

The food was truly outstanding, but there was an issue with timing (an extremely long wait for entrees) -- something was obviously backed up in the kitchen. The staff was gracious and explained the situation when we inquired, then sent us a gift certificate as an apology. Overall, this is an lovely place with outstanding food; we look forward to returning and recommend it as a romantic, special-occasion spot!

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 24, 2017

We had the 4 course prix fixe meal. Many interesting choices available for each course. Food was creatively prepared and presented, great service. We were on a road trip and stayed at the accompanying inn, and while this location is way off the beaten path it was worth the trip.

This was an expensive meal for two, including some wine pairings, but W.E.P. (worth every penny).

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 22, 2017

This place is truly a gem. Wonderful people that serve with enthusiasm and behave as if they are enjoying their work. The place is quiet enough to have a peaceful, enjoyable experience even though it's a popular spot. Cuisine is creative and delicious. We can't wait to go back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 16, 2017

L'Auberge Provencale is in the beautiful Shenandoah Valley of Virginia. The setting is as lovely as the food is delicious. The menu changes frequently, but the constant is the option to choose a 4 or 5 course meal or a fixed tasting menu. Which ever is opted for, you will not be disappointed in anything. The wine list is so extensively curated that you will be faced with multiple excellent choices or decide to go with the wine flight that pairs with your meal course choice. If it all becomes overwhelming, you can decide to stay at this charming B&B and see what delights greet your senses until you must regretfully take your leave while planning a return visit at your earliest opportunity.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 15, 2017

I surprised my husband for our anniversary here. The hotel stay in itself was amazing, but we just could not get over the food and it's all we've continued talking about. It was so incredible! We felt a little out of place as this was our first "fine dining" experience, but the staff was quick to make us feel comfortable and was patient enough to explain the menu and all that went into the dishes. We can't rave about the staff from that evening enough. Thank you for making our anniversary so wonderful.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Certainly one of the best restaurants in the area for fine cuisine, possibly the best. I've eaten top restaurants al over Europe (40X in Paris, 30X in London, etc.) and it was refreshing to find a restaurant in my area that could compete with my other experiences.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Wonderful food and wonderful wait staff

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Food is creative, beautifully presented, and delicious. I have eaten at the restaurant a couple of times before though not in several years and was happy to see it still met high standards for quality and presentation. However, I was disappointed with the service. Took too long for the waiter to take our order, dishes weren't removed from the table after the course, served bread but no butter, had to ask for more water. I don't want hovering or fussy service but this was surprisingly lax for a restaurant of this quality and price. Still would recommend the drive there because the food is delicious.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 1, 2017

L'Auberge Provincale was AMAZING. Great service, excellent food, lots of wine choices, and lovely setting.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 30, 2017

I can't say enough good things about L'Auberge Provencale in White Post, VA. We stayed at the bed and breakfast for my wife's birthday and we were blown away. The Inn has been family run since the 80's and their attention to detail ensures that we will be back. Service was impeccable at both the Inn and Restaurant and we had one of the best dining experiences outside of NYC's five-star restaurants. We felt like a member of the family and will be back again and again...

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We had a fabulous meal at L'Auberge Provencale. Very creative dishes, some with non-traditional ingredients, and all of supremely high quality. The wine list is extensive, with French bottles ranging from $100 to $8000 which a true wine enthusiast would certainly appreciate. Three critiques are: 1) the restaurant seemed short staffed, with only three waiters and a busser taking care of the full dining room and bar. We had each of the three of them taking care of us throughout the two hours we were there. However, we didn't feel like we got the attention we deserved for paying such a significant amount of money for dinner (~$400 including wine). I wanted to ask about a certain ingredient on my plate and couldn't seem to get anybody's attention. Same thing with getting the check at the end of the meal. After several attempts to flag one of the waiters down, it was finally the sweet bus girl that helped us out. I noticed a table adjacent to us waited probably a good 15 minutes for their glasses of wine to arrive after they ordered. 2) While there was much attention paid to the food, I was shocked to pay $5.50 for hot tea after dinner that was a teapot of hot water and a tea bag on the side that you can find at 7-11 (Bigelow)!! At breakfast the next day they had canned juices out (Ocean Spray), nothing fresh squeezed or even sourced locally. Again, for as much as you pay to stay and dine there, I would have expected more on the drink choices. 3) the breakfast portions were reallllly small. A quiche that was maybe 8 total bites and five potatoes? Come on! People are there to indulge, so up your portions!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 18, 2017

This is a nice surprise in a kind of rural area. I eat here often when I am in the area. This time I was surprised to find that you can eat in the bar pretty much any time of day, and you can be in casual attire! I was in sweats as I had been hiking, and they fed me and boozed me just as nicely as though I was in the dining room :) Even got bread and three wonderful types of butter! This is one of my go tos when I am in the area.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Casual, Scenic View, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 15, 2017

2nd visit , just as awesome as the 1st. Had drinks at the bar to start the evening. Miles was an awesome bartender. Our 5 course with wine pairing picked by Miles was delicious as well. We stayed the night as you should too. Very nice room. We stayed in the Main house. We will be back for a 3rd.

Tags: Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Outstanding Value, Healthy, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Love this place. Our second visit to this outstanding B&B. We would come back again. Chef here is outstanding and the "Lover's Tasting Menu" for Valentines weekend was outstanding especially when we added the wine pairings. Sommelier, Christian did a great job. You owe yourself a visit here.

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Wonderful as usual! Christian runs a great crew. Utmost attention to detail.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Our first Server came to our table with cigarette breath so bad that when he left the table the odor stuck around.

Aside from that, it was a great meal.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 14, 2017

I didn't think the food stood out as exceptionally French tasting. I had the salmon, nothing special. The wait staff was terrific as well as the ambiance.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 2, 2016

L'Auberge Provencale is a lovely little (11 rooms) Bed & Breakfast in White Post, VA (Boyce), with a tasty Breakfast; additionally, it has this excellent Dinner Restaurant. The dinner menu was innovative and executed beautifully; we had the 5 course menu with a wonderful bottle of wine. It was pricey, but the service was impeccable, the property was clean, bright and inviting, and our 2-night stay was relaxing and just lovely! Family run, with a small staff, the ambiance was very cozy. Certainly gives the wonderful Inn at Little Washington a run for its money; less expensive, albeit without the Michelin stars.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 20, 2016

One of our favorite places to both stay and eat. Terrific rooms and wonderful meals. Difficult to find any faults. There are some new staff who may be trying a bit too hard but that is the worst we can say about it. It is pricey. We usually stay one or two times a year as we travel south.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We were greeted warmly upon arriving in spite of our casual dress (this was a spontaneous birthday trip from DC). Tasting menu was the highlight of the evening of course. Excellent wine list with a wide price range from affordable to only bottles President Trump could afford :) ...as a great wine list should be. Service was brisk (i.e., executed efficiently and professionally, but still personable). Only point for improvement (?) would be to better accommodate those that cannot eat without bread at their elbows. I suppose we violated some written or unwritten rule about bread in fine restaurants, but as they handed pieces out individually we could see the irritation in the server's face when we ask for a third round. Other than our "pain faux pas", a wonderful experience. Will be back...

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Visited the area to check out VA wineries and found this place when searching for lodging; they did not have any rooms available, but we checked out the menu and decided it would be our splurge dinner for the weekend. The restaurant itself is lovely and wait staff are excellent. The food was good - all presented beautifully and at the proper temperature. There was just no big "WOW" factor for either of us who had dinner - three days later - we can barely recall what we had to eat... it was all good - just a bit underwhelming. Loved the dessert and the post-dessert dry ice and special treats was lovely. The sommelier was very helpful in suggesting a wine pairing for our meal - and the wine he selected was very nice.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.