Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.68mi
  2. Distance: 0.82mi
  3. Distance: 1.23mi
  4. Distance: 4.74mi
  1. Distance: 0.68mi
  2. Distance: 0.82mi
  3. Distance: 1.23mi
  4. Distance: 4.74mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.68mi
  2. Distance: 0.82mi
  3. Distance: 1.23mi
  4. Distance: 4.74mi
  1. Distance: 0.68mi
  2. Distance: 0.82mi
  3. Distance: 1.23mi
  4. Distance: 4.74mi

About L'Auberge Provencale

L’Auberge Provençale of the Shenandoah Valley is a Washington DC Bed and Breakfast Getaway in the style of a quintessential French Country Bed and Breakfast Inn. L'Auberge Provencale is a Northern Virginia Luxury Bed and Breakfast Inn; a bit of Provence with award winning cuisine created by our team of talented chefs.
Enjoy Virginia Wine Country as you savor our local, farm to table cuisine. featuring a three course, five course and chef's tasting menu. Seasonal produce from our orchards and gardens. Our award winning wine list will help set the tone for a romantic Virginia weekend getaway. Al fresco dining on our terrace in season will take you to another time and place.
Our new bar & lounge features an a la carte menu of brasserie fare, over 100 liqours, herb-infused cocktails, and local craft beers & ciders on tap!

13630 Lord Fairfax Highway
Boyce, VA 22620
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French American, Vegetarian, French

Hours of Operation:
Restaurant: Monday & Wednesday thru Sunday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm
Bar & Lounge: Monday 3:00 - 9:00pm, Wednesday thru Friday 1:00 - 10:00pm, Saturday 12:00 - 10:00pm, Sunday 1:00 - 10:00pm
Both the restaurant and bar & lounge are closed on Tuesdays.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(540) 837-1375

Website:
http://www.latableprovencale.com/

Parking Details:
Free parking in private lot off restaurant entrance.

Executive Chef:
Steve Ferrell

Private Party Facilities:
Join us in our Lower Round, Upper, or Front dining rooms for your private party, dinner, or special event. Each room is spectacularly unique and fit for any occasion. We specialize in small intimate elopements and weddings, with beautiful gardens for your ceremony. At L'Auberge Provencale, we take the stress out of planning your magical day.

Private Party Contact:
Celeste Borel: (540) 837-1375

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Call or visit our website for dates and seating times of the following annual events:

Linden, RdV, and Glen Manor Vineyards Wine Dinners

Easter Sunday Lunch'Inn

Mother's Day Dinner

Thanksgiving Day Dinner: Bring the family for this festive occasion and experience exceptional seasonal cuisine including GMO free Turkey and all your favorite traditional trimmings. Don't forget -all guests get a leftover turkey sandwich to go!

Christmas Eve Dinner

New Year's Eve Dinner

New Year's Day Brunch

Specials

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Specials

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Details

Easter Sunday April 16th, 2017
Brunch: 11:30am – 2:00pm
Dinner: 3:00pm – 8:00pm Join us as we celebrate Easter brunch and dinner with views of the rolling hills, views of the garden in bloom at L’Auberge Provencale. Reserve a table for two, or gather the whole family for this celebration. For this o

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Details

Brunch: 11:30am - 2:30pm Dinner: 3:00pm - 7:00pm
Celebrate the most important woman in your life and enjoy the beautiful Shenandoah Valley Mother’s Day. Produce and fresh herbs from our garden and surrounding farms make this farm to table meal a great way to spend time on a Sunday afternoon.

L'Auberge Provencale Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.2

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (10)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Notable Wine List (7)
See All
Authentic (7)
Romantic (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Good for a Date (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Cozy (5)
Historic (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Scenic View (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Healthy (2)
Casual (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Fireplace (1)
Fun (1)
Business Meals (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
S
263 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We had a fabulous meal at L'Auberge Provencale. Very creative dishes, some with non-traditional ingredients, and all of supremely high quality. The wine list is extensive, with French bottles ranging from $100 to $8000 which a true wine enthusiast would certainly appreciate. Three critiques are: 1) the restaurant seemed short staffed, with only three waiters and a busser taking care of the full dining room and bar. We had each of the three of them taking care of us throughout the two hours we were there. However, we didn't feel like we got the attention we deserved for paying such a significant amount of money for dinner (~$400 including wine). I wanted to ask about a certain ingredient on my plate and couldn't seem to get anybody's attention. Same thing with getting the check at the end of the meal. After several attempts to flag one of the waiters down, it was finally the sweet bus girl that helped us out. I noticed a table adjacent to us waited probably a good 15 minutes for their glasses of wine to arrive after they ordered. 2) While there was much attention paid to the food, I was shocked to pay $5.50 for hot tea after dinner that was a teapot of hot water and a tea bag on the side that you can find at 7-11 (Bigelow)!! At breakfast the next day they had canned juices out (Ocean Spray), nothing fresh squeezed or even sourced locally. Again, for as much as you pay to stay and dine there, I would have expected more on the drink choices. 3) the breakfast portions were reallllly small. A quiche that was maybe 8 total bites and five potatoes? Come on! People are there to indulge, so up your portions!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 18, 2017

This is a nice surprise in a kind of rural area. I eat here often when I am in the area. This time I was surprised to find that you can eat in the bar pretty much any time of day, and you can be in casual attire! I was in sweats as I had been hiking, and they fed me and boozed me just as nicely as though I was in the dining room :) Even got bread and three wonderful types of butter! This is one of my go tos when I am in the area.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Casual, Scenic View, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 16, 2017

2nd visit , just as awesome as the 1st. Had drinks at the bar to start the evening. Miles was an awesome bartender. Our 5 course with wine pairing picked by Miles was delicious as well. We stayed the night as you should too. Very nice room. We stayed in the Main house. We will be back for a 3rd.

Tags: Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Outstanding Value, Healthy, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Love this place. Our second visit to this outstanding B&B. We would come back again. Chef here is outstanding and the "Lover's Tasting Menu" for Valentines weekend was outstanding especially when we added the wine pairings. Sommelier, Christian did a great job. You owe yourself a visit here.

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Wonderful as usual! Christian runs a great crew. Utmost attention to detail.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Our first Server came to our table with cigarette breath so bad that when he left the table the odor stuck around.

Aside from that, it was a great meal.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 14, 2017

I didn't think the food stood out as exceptionally French tasting. I had the salmon, nothing special. The wait staff was terrific as well as the ambiance.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 3, 2016

L'Auberge Provencale is a lovely little (11 rooms) Bed & Breakfast in White Post, VA (Boyce), with a tasty Breakfast; additionally, it has this excellent Dinner Restaurant. The dinner menu was innovative and executed beautifully; we had the 5 course menu with a wonderful bottle of wine. It was pricey, but the service was impeccable, the property was clean, bright and inviting, and our 2-night stay was relaxing and just lovely! Family run, with a small staff, the ambiance was very cozy. Certainly gives the wonderful Inn at Little Washington a run for its money; less expensive, albeit without the Michelin stars.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 21, 2016

One of our favorite places to both stay and eat. Terrific rooms and wonderful meals. Difficult to find any faults. There are some new staff who may be trying a bit too hard but that is the worst we can say about it. It is pricey. We usually stay one or two times a year as we travel south.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We were greeted warmly upon arriving in spite of our casual dress (this was a spontaneous birthday trip from DC). Tasting menu was the highlight of the evening of course. Excellent wine list with a wide price range from affordable to only bottles President Trump could afford :) ...as a great wine list should be. Service was brisk (i.e., executed efficiently and professionally, but still personable). Only point for improvement (?) would be to better accommodate those that cannot eat without bread at their elbows. I suppose we violated some written or unwritten rule about bread in fine restaurants, but as they handed pieces out individually we could see the irritation in the server's face when we ask for a third round. Other than our "pain faux pas", a wonderful experience. Will be back...

Tags: Worth the Drive, Molecular Gastronomy, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Visited the area to check out VA wineries and found this place when searching for lodging; they did not have any rooms available, but we checked out the menu and decided it would be our splurge dinner for the weekend. The restaurant itself is lovely and wait staff are excellent. The food was good - all presented beautifully and at the proper temperature. There was just no big "WOW" factor for either of us who had dinner - three days later - we can barely recall what we had to eat... it was all good - just a bit underwhelming. Loved the dessert and the post-dessert dry ice and special treats was lovely. The sommelier was very helpful in suggesting a wine pairing for our meal - and the wine he selected was very nice.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Absolutely amazing! Food, service, atmosphere was beyond compare. We had the tasting menu which was wonderfully prepared with thought and imagination. Ingredients were fresh and locally grown. Will definitely dine and stay here again!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 26, 2016

This was an special treat. Everyone was friendly and informative. We did the Chef'S Tasting with the wine pairing. Pricey, but worth the experience. I will definitely return!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 17, 2016

I Called ahead, the staff was helpful in making the arrangements for a birthday dinner. However, When I arrived with guests they were not aware of the arrangements. The staff was very inexperienced. WHen we asked for more bread, the waiter rolled his eyes, the meals were mixed up, the coffee came and was consumed before the dessert every arrived, they did not offer refills. The wine selections which were made in advance using the wine list sent to me were not available. The price for 7 people was 1200 and the experience less than satisfactory.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 14, 2016

While the food was carefully and artfully constructed, it wasn't that appetizing. The chef seems to be enamored of the constructed food trend. He is so busy experimenting with unique texture and temperature combinations that he fails to provide appetizing food. He is very competent and highly skilled. But, the effort creates a contrived, fussy product. His execution is excellent. But, the result is unsatisfying. It's not a question of price. I'm certainly willing to pay for excellence. I don't think I will return. Elegance is found in simplicity. This was much to complicated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 12, 2016

We stayed the weekend at the hotel and were required to also dine at the restaurant. This requirement was not stated anywhere while booking and only appears at the bottom of the confirmation email. Always read the fine print! Even then is too late because there is a cancellation fee. This is a deceptive and distasteful practice.

As for the restaurant, the prix fixe menu does not include tip so the cost rises to the level of Komi and Pineapple and Pearls and this restaurant does NOT come close to their quality. The food is OK, nothing spectacular. If you want an amazing experience worth the price in this area, go to the Inn at Little Washington. A bit further away but well worth it is the Restaurant at the Patowmack Farm. There are so many other excellent restaurants in the DC area, this is not one that should make your list.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 23, 2016

Amazing food and ambiance. Service was outstanding and wine and alcohol list was endless

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 9, 2016

Very creative and sophisticated cuisine. A special occasion destination that is worthy of it's reputation. Great wine list - well worth investigating before your visit. A special place in the Virginia countryside.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 3, 2016

I've enjoyed excellent cuisine around the world. This was in the top five meals of my life, and possibly the best. Outstanding selections, preparation, presentation, taste, service, ambiance, and value. The local sourcing is a special plus; I was delighted to see Catoctin Creek Distillery products on the extensive drinks menu. I've already recommend La Table Provencal to family and friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on July 2, 2016

Exquisite food and menu. Very expensive but worth it. Everything was extraordinary, tasty, and beautifully presented. A very romantic setting.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 26, 2016

An amazing culinary experience for vegetarians as well as carnivores. A rare find in this area for a vegetarian course menu or tasting menu. Thank you for catering to us!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 26, 2016

Visited relatively often in the 80's and haven't been back in a number of years. Decided on dinner here for an important anniversary...and it was everything I could have hoped for and more. Can't recommend L'Auberge Provençale too highly.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 26, 2016

Great place for a nice leisurely, special occasion dinner. The food was beautifully presented and very good. We aren't huge eaters and found the 4 course meal to be just right. But larger appetites have the option to do a 5-course meal or even a 10 course tasting menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 19, 2016

We were happily surprised to find a delicious meal for dinner and especially breakfast surrounded by beautiful scenery and an adorable room for our stay. The owners were very friendly and take very good care of their bed and breakfast. Highly recommend for a romantic weekend with a loved one.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 17, 2016

What an amazing dining experience. We loved every course. The wait staff was to our every need.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 11, 2016

We enjoyed the tasting menu. It was very special and generous and delicious. The wine tastings were very good. The garden room is quite pleasant especially when the sun is shining. The service is attentive. Surprised some of the wine tastings were served with sediment in the wine. Missed seeing the hosts of the inn that have greeted us as guests in the past. Cheese offered on tasting menu replaced from goat cheese to blue cheese. Still an extraordinary place for dinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 7, 2016

We ordered chef's tasting menu, so it ran $200/person. A bit pricier than we were used to for dinner, but when it was all said and done, we had sampled some of the best wines we had ever tasted. Unfortunately, we checked and you can't purchase the wines anywhere else (they have an agreement with the distributor). It was definitely a special occasion so we went for it -- we were not disappointed for a second.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 2, 2016

We had a very pleasant evening, with excellent food and exceptional service. But, I could have found the same closer to home for a LOT less money.
1) The staff is wonderful and the service was exceptional. Helpful, friendly, attentive, without being obtrusive.
2) Menu/ordering- A 38-year Navy vet, I've traveled worldwide and eat/enjoy just about everything. At excellent restaurants, I expect to have difficulty deciding between several very tempting choices. Here, my choices were constrained by the number of items that were decidedly unappealing. My selections were forced by what I didn't want rather than what I wanted. Choosing 2 of 6 appetizers was easy since 4 were VERY unappealing. Odd predicament when spending this much money.
3) Amuse course: delightful. I would never have guessed that grapefruit and an oyster could be so good together.
4) The appetizers I was constrained to choosing tasted excellent. Fois Gras was buttery smooth. Salad was sparse but very flavorful.
5) Entrees were very well prepared and delicious. My date had rib-eye, which was probably a 4-5 oz serving, wonderfully prepared. I had fish. The 2-3 oz serving was very good, but tiny, even by French standards. Men should probably go for 5 course, vice 4 course, unless you know your date won't finish her entree. The extra $10 will be worth it, since you're already spending over $200 for 2. The small serving is really a silly business decision; it invites customer's derision. I expected small, and was still surprised by tiny.
6) Desserts- Wow, were these really good. Many high end restaurants have great-sounding, disappointing desserts. Not here. The pastry chef's desserts, breads (and breakfast goods) are consistently magnificent.
So, you'll have a wonderful evening, provided you know you're spending $100 per person for tiny, delicate portions. While we enjoyed it, and may return, I wouldn't recommend it to most friends because I don't know they could get past the high cost and tiny portions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (México)·Dined on March 19, 2016

We booked a room at the hotel and because it was on the weekend we were required to also dine at the restaurant. I feel like this was a hidden cost, as there was no a la carte options and you are required to do one of the tasting menus, so the hotel is guaranteed to get an additional $200 on top of your stay. The food was okay, but I thought the restaurant was a little pretentious, which was funny since it still in the middle of Virginia (not France). I think it would serve the restaurant well to consider highlighting the use of local farms rather then appear to be a high end restaurant. You can get much better meals for cheaper within the DC metro region. Not worth the price to go back.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 14, 2016

My husband and I had a lovely Valentine's Day at L'Auberge Provencale. The service is always impeccable and the food is delicious and beautifully presented. The atmosphere of the inn is enhanced by the warm colors and the fire burning in the fireplace. I can't say enough about the staff... They are professional, friendly and take care of every detail without being intrusive or overly formal. Treat yourself to a wonderful weekend in the country at this charming inn.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 14, 2016

Had 5 course dinner which was out of this world. I don't paying good money for great food! I will be back

Tags: Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 14, 2016

The service is excellent and the food and ambiance superb.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 13, 2016

Wonderful food, atmosphere, and service. The renovations are gorgeous and the bar addition is great! L'Auberge Provencale is our favorite place for dinner and we look forward to our next visit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 5, 2016

The service was wonderful, food was great, wine list is very extensive!! While the food seems a little overpriced and the wine is also expensive the experience is worth it for the special meal that you want to share with a loved one. The presentation of the food was lovely -- and the food tasted wonderful. The 4 course dinner took us about 2.5 hours. We were well taken care of, but the wait staff was not at the table all of the time, so we had plenty of time to talk and enjoy each others company. Definitely not a meal for the average dinner, one for a special occassion with a loved one.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 1, 2016

My wife and I have been going here for over 25 years and this remains our favorite special occasion for romantic dinners. We were the first diners post-renovation and LOVE the update. Each course was fabulous and we enjoyed a well-suited wine and terrific service. Well worth it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 3, 2016

My wife and I were first time visitors and went for dinner to celebrate our anniversary. We both had the chef's tasting menu which was 8-10 courses of absolutely delicious and creative small plates that left us full but not stuffed. Wait staff was knowledgable and friendly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 1, 2016

We enjoyed a good brunch here. My only negative impression was that the portions were very small compared to the prices. I ordered a bowl of soup. The soup was delicious, but there was only about 1/4" of soup in the bowl. I think they charged about $8 for the bowl of soup, which was no more than maybe 1/3 of a measuring cup of soup, if that. I found that skimpiness to be very irritating. Other than the small portions of some of the dishes, it was very enjoyable and the surroundings are very beautiful and cozy.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 1, 2016

Beautifully curated atmosphere, menu and wine list

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 30, 2015

Some reviews complain about the small portions at L'Auberge Provencal. But each one is a feast for the eyes and rewarding to the palate in a way one seldom finds elsewhere. The menu is unique and creative. Prepare for a leisurely meal and take a moment to look at the beauty on each plate; savor the wonderful textures and delicious sauces. I would have eaten my shoe leather with those sauces. My wife and I had the five-course meal and did not consider the price excessive for what we got. Along with amuse bouche, good bread, and candy selection at the end, we did not go away hungry.

This is a restaurant for people who appreciate fine dining and perfect service in a beautiful setting. But it is also relaxed and not prissy or intimidating -- good for those of us who just want to step out now and then.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 28, 2015

My dinner companion was a bit boisterous. The room cheered when we left. The wait staff did not let on at all that he was causing a problem. His first time at a place of this class. I really appreciate their attitudes!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.