About L'Auberge Provencale

13630 Lord Fairfax Highway
Boyce, VA 22620
View Larger Map

L’Auberge Provençale of the Shenandoah Valley is a Washington DC Bed and Breakfast Getaway in the style of a quintessential French Country Bed and Breakfast Inn. L'Auberge Provencale is a Northern Virginia Luxury Bed and Breakfast Inn; a bit of Provence with award winning cuisine created by our team of talented chefs.
Enjoy Virginia Wine Country as you savor our local, farm to table cuisine. featuring a three course, five course and chef's tasting menu. Seasonal produce from our orchards and gardens. Our award winning wine list will help set the tone for a romantic Virginia weekend getaway. Al fresco dining on our terrace in season will take you to another time and place.
Our new bar & lounge features an a la carte menu of brasserie fare, over 100 liqours, herb-infused cocktails, and local craft beers & ciders on tap!

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French American, Vegetarian, French

Hours of Operation:
Restaurant: Monday & Wednesday thru Sunday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm
Bar & Lounge: Monday 3:00 - 9:00pm, Wednesday thru Friday 1:00 - 10:00pm, Saturday 12:00 - 10:00pm, Sunday 1:00 - 10:00pm
Both the restaurant and bar & lounge are closed on Tuesdays.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(540) 837-1375

Website:
http://www.latableprovencale.com/

Parking Details:
Free parking in private lot off restaurant entrance.

Executive Chef:
Steve Ferrell

Private Party Facilities:
Join us in our Lower Round, Upper, or Front dining rooms for your private party, dinner, or special event. Each room is spectacularly unique and fit for any occasion. We specialize in small intimate elopements and weddings, with beautiful gardens for your ceremony. At L'Auberge Provencale, we take the stress out of planning your magical day.

Private Party Contact:
Celeste Borel: 5408371375x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Call or visit our website for dates and seating times of the following annual events:

Linden, RdV, and Glen Manor Vineyards Wine Dinners

Easter Sunday Lunch'Inn

Mother's Day Dinner

Thanksgiving Day Dinner: Bring the family for this festive occasion and experience exceptional seasonal cuisine including GMO free Turkey and all your favorite traditional trimmings. Don't forget -all guests get a leftover turkey sandwich to go!

Christmas Eve Dinner

New Year's Eve Dinner

New Year's Day Brunch

Restaurant Photos

  • L'Auberge Provencale
  • L'Auberge Provencale
  • L'Auberge Provencale
L'Auberge Provencale
L'Auberge Provencale
L'Auberge Provencale

L'Auberge Provencale Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Washington, D.C. Area
Romantic
Washington, D.C. Area
Special Occasion
Washington, D.C. Area
4 More
Fit for Foodies
Virginia - DC Suburbs
Notable Wine List
Virginia - DC Suburbs
Romantic
Virginia - DC Suburbs
Special Occasion
Virginia - DC Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Boyce ›

Special Occasion (24)
Romantic (21)
Notable Wine List (17)
See All
Fit for Foodies (15)
Scenic View (6)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Cozy (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Good for a Date (3)
Historic (3)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Great for Lunch (1)
Seasonal (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Private Room (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Authentic (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Healthy (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Sort By:
Newest
244 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I Called ahead, the staff was helpful in ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

I Called ahead, the staff was helpful in making the arrangements for a birthday dinner. However, When I arrived with guests they were not aware of the arrangements. The staff was very inexperienced. WHen we asked for more bread, the waiter rolled his eyes, the meals were mixed up, the coffee came and was consumed before the dessert every arrived, they did not offer refills. The wine selections which were made in advance using the wine list sent to me were not available. The price for 7 people was 1200 and the experience less than satisfactory.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

While the food was carefully and artfull ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

While the food was carefully and artfully constructed, it wasn't that appetizing. The chef seems to be enamored of the constructed food trend. He is so busy experimenting with unique texture and temperature combinations that he fails to provide appetizing food. He is very competent and highly skilled. But, the effort creates a contrived, fussy product. His execution is excellent. But, the result is unsatisfying. It's not a question of price. I'm certainly willing to pay for excellence. I don't think I will return. Elegance is found in simplicity. This was much to complicated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We stayed the weekend at the hotel and w ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

We stayed the weekend at the hotel and were required to also dine at the restaurant. This requirement was not stated anywhere while booking and only appears at the bottom of the confirmation email. Always read the fine print! Even then is too late because there is a cancellation fee. This is a deceptive and distasteful practice.

As for the restaurant, the prix fixe menu does not include tip so the cost rises to the level of Komi and Pineapple and Pearls and this restaurant does NOT come close to their quality. The food is OK, nothing spectacular. If you want an amazing experience worth the price in this area, go to the Inn at Little Washington. A bit further away but well worth it is the Restaurant at the Patowmack Farm. There are so many other excellent restaurants in the DC area, this is not one that should make your list.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Amazing food and ambiance. Service was o ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Amazing food and ambiance. Service was outstanding and wine and alcohol list was endless

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very creative and sophisticated cuisine. ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Very creative and sophisticated cuisine. A special occasion destination that is worthy of it's reputation. Great wine list - well worth investigating before your visit. A special place in the Virginia countryside.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I've enjoyed excellent cuisine around th ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

I've enjoyed excellent cuisine around the world. This was in the top five meals of my life, and possibly the best. Outstanding selections, preparation, presentation, taste, service, ambiance, and value. The local sourcing is a special plus; I was delighted to see Catoctin Creek Distillery products on the extensive drinks menu. I've already recommend La Table Provencal to family and friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exquisite food and menu. Very expensive ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Exquisite food and menu. Very expensive but worth it. Everything was extraordinary, tasty, and beautifully presented. A very romantic setting.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

An amazing culinary experience for veget ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

An amazing culinary experience for vegetarians as well as carnivores. A rare find in this area for a vegetarian course menu or tasting menu. Thank you for catering to us!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Visited relatively often in the 80's and ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Visited relatively often in the 80's and haven't been back in a number of years. Decided on dinner here for an important anniversary...and it was everything I could have hoped for and more. Can't recommend L'Auberge Provençale too highly.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place for a nice leisurely, specia ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Great place for a nice leisurely, special occasion dinner. The food was beautifully presented and very good. We aren't huge eaters and found the 4 course meal to be just right. But larger appetites have the option to do a 5-course meal or even a 10 course tasting menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We were happily surprised to find a deli ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We were happily surprised to find a delicious meal for dinner and especially breakfast surrounded by beautiful scenery and an adorable room for our stay. The owners were very friendly and take very good care of their bed and breakfast. Highly recommend for a romantic weekend with a loved one.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

What an amazing dining experience. We lo ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

What an amazing dining experience. We loved every course. The wait staff was to our every need.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed the tasting menu. It was ver ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

We enjoyed the tasting menu. It was very special and generous and delicious. The wine tastings were very good. The garden room is quite pleasant especially when the sun is shining. The service is attentive. Surprised some of the wine tastings were served with sediment in the wine. Missed seeing the hosts of the inn that have greeted us as guests in the past. Cheese offered on tasting menu replaced from goat cheese to blue cheese. Still an extraordinary place for dinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pricey, but a great experience

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

We ordered chef's tasting menu, so it ran $200/person. A bit pricier than we were used to for dinner, but when it was all said and done, we had sampled some of the best wines we had ever tasted. Unfortunately, we checked and you can't purchase the wines anywhere else (they have an agreement with the distributor). It was definitely a special occasion so we went for it -- we were not disappointed for a second.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Delicate, expensive fare

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 2, 2016

We had a very pleasant evening, with excellent food and exceptional service. But, I could have found the same closer to home for a LOT less money.

1) The staff is wonderful and the service was exceptional. Helpful, friendly, attentive, without being obtrusive.

2) Menu/ordering- A 38-year Navy vet, I've traveled worldwide and eat/enjoy just about everything. At excellent restaurants, I expect to have difficulty deciding between several very tempting choices. Here, my choices were constrained by the number of items that were decidedly unappealing. My selections were forced by what I didn't want rather than what I wanted. Choosing 2 of 6 appetizers was easy since 4 were VERY unappealing. Odd predicament when spending this much money.

3) Amuse course: delightful. I would never have guessed that grapefruit and an oyster could be so good together.

4) The appetizers I was constrained to choosing tasted excellent. Fois Gras was buttery smooth. Salad was sparse but very flavorful.

5) Entrees were very well prepared and delicious. My date had rib-eye, which was probably a 4-5 oz serving, wonderfully prepared. I had fish. The 2-3 oz serving was very good, but tiny, even by French standards. Men should probably go for 5 course, vice 4 course, unless you know your date won't finish her entree. The extra $10 will be worth it, since you're already spending over $200 for 2. The small serving is really a silly business decision; it invites customer's derision. I expected small, and was still surprised by tiny.

6) Desserts- Wow, were these really good. Many high end restaurants have great-sounding, disappointing desserts. Not here. The pastry chef's desserts, breads (and breakfast goods) are consistently magnificent.

So, you'll have a wonderful evening, provided you know you're spending $100 per person for tiny, delicate portions. While we enjoyed it, and may return, I wouldn't recommend it to most friends because I don't know they could get past the high cost and tiny portions.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

Romantic Spot but Pretentious

 
 (México)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

We booked a room at the hotel and because it was on the weekend we were required to also dine at the restaurant. I feel like this was a hidden cost, as there was no a la carte options and you are required to do one of the tasting menus, so the hotel is guaranteed to get an additional $200 on top of your stay. The food was okay, but I thought the restaurant was a little pretentious, which was funny since it still in the middle of Virginia (not France). I think it would serve the restaurant well to consider highlighting the use of local farms rather then appear to be a high end restaurant. You can get much better meals for cheaper within the DC metro region. Not worth the price to go back.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Our Special Date Destination

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

My husband and I had a lovely Valentine's Day at L'Auberge Provencale. The service is always impeccable and the food is delicious and beautifully presented. The atmosphere of the inn is enhanced by the warm colors and the fire burning in the fireplace. I can't say enough about the staff... They are professional, friendly and take care of every detail without being intrusive or overly formal. Treat yourself to a wonderful weekend in the country at this charming inn.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is exceptional and ambiance quiet

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

The service is excellent and the food and ambiance superb.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Why didn't I find this place sooner

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Had 5 course dinner which was out of this world. I don't paying good money for great food! I will be back

Tags: Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a pleasure!

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Wonderful food, atmosphere, and service. The renovations are gorgeous and the bar addition is great! L'Auberge Provencale is our favorite place for dinner and we look forward to our next visit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pricey, but very romantic

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on February 5, 2016

The service was wonderful, food was great, wine list is very extensive!! While the food seems a little overpriced and the wine is also expensive the experience is worth it for the special meal that you want to share with a loved one. The presentation of the food was lovely -- and the food tasted wonderful. The 4 course dinner took us about 2.5 hours. We were well taken care of, but the wait staff was not at the table all of the time, so we had plenty of time to talk and enjoy each others company. Definitely not a meal for the average dinner, one for a special occassion with a loved one.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fresh off a terrific renovation...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on February 1, 2016

My wife and I have been going here for over 25 years and this remains our favorite special occasion for romantic dinners. We were the first diners post-renovation and LOVE the update. Each course was fabulous and we enjoyed a well-suited wine and terrific service. Well worth it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chef tasting menu was spectactular

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on January 3, 2016

My wife and I were first time visitors and went for dinner to celebrate our anniversary. We both had the chef's tasting menu which was 8-10 courses of absolutely delicious and creative small plates that left us full but not stuffed. Wait staff was knowledgable and friendly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

L'auberge Provencale

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

Beautifully curated atmosphere, menu and wine list

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Good brunch.

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

We enjoyed a good brunch here. My only negative impression was that the portions were very small compared to the prices. I ordered a bowl of soup. The soup was delicious, but there was only about 1/4" of soup in the bowl. I think they charged about $8 for the bowl of soup, which was no more than maybe 1/3 of a measuring cup of soup, if that. I found that skimpiness to be very irritating. Other than the small portions of some of the dishes, it was very enjoyable and the surroundings are very beautiful and cozy.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

Well worth it!

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on December 30, 2015

Some reviews complain about the small portions at L'Auberge Provencal. But each one is a feast for the eyes and rewarding to the palate in a way one seldom finds elsewhere. The menu is unique and creative. Prepare for a leisurely meal and take a moment to look at the beauty on each plate; savor the wonderful textures and delicious sauces. I would have eaten my shoe leather with those sauces. My wife and I had the five-course meal and did not consider the price excessive for what we got. Along with amuse bouche, good bread, and candy selection at the end, we did not go away hungry.

This is a restaurant for people who appreciate fine dining and perfect service in a beautiful setting. But it is also relaxed and not prissy or intimidating -- good for those of us who just want to step out now and then.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

My dinner companion was a bit boisterous ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on November 28, 2015

My dinner companion was a bit boisterous. The room cheered when we left. The wait staff did not let on at all that he was causing a problem. His first time at a place of this class. I really appreciate their attitudes!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

A lovely day in the country.

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on November 26, 2015

It was a great location for a Thanksgiving lunch. The food was spaced out nicely, and it was beautifully prepared with some outstanding dishes like the chestnut ravioli, sunchokes, shrimp, etc. My only caveat is that when a dessert is called Apple pie, then it should at least have all the ingredients of a pie in it, and not be an apple crepe. We also ordered a pecan pie that looked nothing like it, but was a deconstructed version that had all the elements of a pecan pie and tasted sublime. The wait staff were stellar and made us feel at home.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Fine dining and wonderful experience

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on November 4, 2015

We love this restaurant and we always look forward to seeing what amazing dishes the chef has in store for us. The food is amazing and the portions are just right. We especially enjoyed having Michelle take such good care of us in a Wednesday night.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Consistently excellent!

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on October 23, 2015

We have been going to L'Auberge Provencale ever since it opened. It gets better and better! We had another delicious dinner there this past weekend. Wonderful menu, terrific wine list, and attentive (but not too attentive) service. Highly recommend to anyone within 50 miles.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lacking Flavor and Tiny Portions

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on October 18, 2015

I really wanted to love this place. The website makes it sound like a fabulous French oasis with excellent cuisine. This is not the case. They offer 3, 4, and 5 course tasting menus. My husband and I do not eat large portions, so we both opted for 3. The appetizers (hamachi, arctic char) were both basically raw fish without any seasoning applied. Also, the fish was not expertly cut as one would find in a sushi restaurant. Our seafood entrees were TINY and were devoid of any seasoning at all. My dish in particular was literally 9 tiny bites. No exaggeration. We left hungry and angry that we paid ~$230 for this dinner. We will not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

Anniversary Dinner

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on October 18, 2015

We spent a night here for our wedding anniversary. Wonderful french atmosphere and friendly welcoming staff. Food was excellent, extensive wine list and peaceful( which is hard to find these days). Great location for a scenic w/e retreat.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Food is visual too

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on October 11, 2015

We're repeat offenders, having dined here at least eight or ten times over the past seven or eight years. The lovely restaurant has gone through several re-conceptualizations over the years, from standard French country-fare, to bordering on Patrick O'Connell overreach, i.e. "can I put still one more ingredient into this dish and have it still work," to its current approach of food as works of visual art.

This is our third visit under the new approach, and it was the most rewarding. The food was beautiful to look at and delicious to eat. We ordered a la carte, although there was an interesting chef's fixed-price menu as well.

The biggest question mark about L'Auberge is the service. Some nights, it's casually elegant, befitting a country inn. Other nights, it's unschooled and uneven. This evening, we had the "A" Team, so all was well.

If you visit, especially in the winter, get there early enough to sit in the reception area, in front of the fire, perhaps have a drink or a cup of tea and partake of some dried fruit or nuts, while relaxing before your meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious food with attention to detail ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 28, 2015

Delicious food with attention to detail at every point. Perfect for a romantic dinner or special occasion. Definitely expensive, but worth it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Past Its Prime

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 26, 2015

L'Auberge Provencale is a great idea that has past its prime. Though charming, the inn visibly needs some TLC (and some safety upgrades). The menu was okay, but not great, and definitely not worth the exorbitant prices. There are so many stellar options in Virginia now, L'Auberge is going to have to up its game to keep up. While we had a lovely time, we wouldn't recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Great meal, great staff. Excellent cockt ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 26, 2015

Great meal, great staff. Excellent cocktails and mocktails. The chocolate desert was to die for! Thanks for having us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Saturday Night Dinner

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on September 19, 2015

Staff was very attentive and service was excellent. We did not order the tasting menu, but every course was the size for a tasting menu. Therefore, basically filled up with bread and a normal size portion of desert. I ordered fish as an entree that was so small and wrapped in a large piece of bacon it tasted more like I ordered bacon. This was very disappointing especially when paid over $200 for 2 people and basically filled up with bread and desert. We have eaten at some of the finest restaurants in DC and even their tasting menu often serves larger portions. Making the portions "tiny" does not make it gourmet.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Delicious dishes and the service was out ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 19, 2015

Delicious dishes and the service was outstanding! The tables are close so it's a little short on intimate privacy the overall ambiance is quiet so that makes up for it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Amazing

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 11, 2015

One of the best dining experiences we ever had. The food and service was exceptional. Extremely impressive wine list. We lost track of time. My wife and I spent 3 hours on dinner and had a wonderful evening. I wasn't sure what to expect considering its out of the way location, but our expectations were far exceeded. It's not cheap so if you are on budget, research the prices on line or you may be in for a shock particularly if you order wine. We are already planning our next visit

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Trust me on this one!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 11, 2015

The best meal of my life anywhere in the world. Each course is a sensual and unusual experience. You will not need to search for something new and interesting! The wine list is a world tour itself. The service was perfect - attentive, knowlegeable, and welcoming - yet not hovering. All in an historic inn in the beautiful Virginia countryside. I ordered the four course and would order the four or tasting menu next time - just to have another course to taste. Thank you! I live right hours away but will be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.