About L'Auberge Provencale

13630 Lord Fairfax Highway
Boyce, VA 22620
View Larger Map

L’Auberge Provençale of the Shenandoah Valley is a Washington DC Bed and Breakfast Getaway in the style of a quintessential French Country Bed and Breakfast Inn. L'Auberge Provencale is a Northern Virginia Luxury Bed and Breakfast Inn; a bit of Provence with award winning cuisine created by our team of talented chefs.
Enjoy Virginia Wine Country as you savor our local, farm to table cuisine. featuring a three course, five course and chef's tasting menu. Seasonal produce from our orchards and gardens. Our award winning wine list will help set the tone for a romantic Virginia weekend getaway. Al fresco dining on our terrace in season will take you to another time and place.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French American, Vegetarian, French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday & Wednesday thru Sunday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(540) 837-1375

Website:
http://www.latableprovencale.com/

Parking Details:
Free parking in private lot off restaurant entrance.

Private Party Facilities:
Join us in our Melon, Peach, or Blue room for your private party, dinner, or special event. Each room is spectacularly unique and fit for any occasion. We specialize in small intimate elopements and weddings, with beautiful gardens for your ceremony. At L'Auberge Provencale, we take the stress out of planning your magical day.

Private Party Contact:
Celeste Borel: 5408371375x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Annual Linden and RdV wine dinner Fall of 2015

Easter Sunday Lunch'Inn and dinner 11:-30-2:00, Dinner 3:00-9:00

Mother's Day Dinner 12:00-7:00, treat mom to the best of alfresco dining on local, regional cuisine.

Thanksgiving Day Dinner 12:30 - 7:00. Bring the family for this festive occasion and experience exceptional seasonal cuisine including GMO free Turkey and all your favorite traditional trimmings. Don't forget -all guests get a leftover turkey sandwich to go!

Christmas Eve Dinner 5:30 - 7:00

New Year's Eve Dinner - 1st Seating: 5:30-6:30 / 2nd Seating 8:30-10:30

New Year's Day Brunch 11:30-3:00

L'Auberge Provencale Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Washington, D.C. Area
Special Occasion
Washington, D.C. Area
Best Food
Virginia - DC Suburbs
2 More
Fit for Foodies
Virginia - DC Suburbs
Special Occasion
Virginia - DC Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Boyce ›

special occasion (23)
fit for foodies (19)
romantic (17)
See All
notable wine list (10)
scenic view (9)
great for outdoor dining (3)
neighborhood gem (2)
great for brunch (2)
great for lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
231 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Pricey, but a great experience

Dined on May 7, 2016

We ordered chef's tasting menu, so it ran $200/person. A bit pricier than we were used to for dinner, but when it was all said and done, we had sampled some of the best wines we had ever tasted. Unfortunately, we checked and you can't purchase the wines anywhere else (they have an agreement with the distributor). It was definitely a special occasion so we went for it -- we were not disappointed for a second.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

Delicate, expensive fare

Dined on May 2, 2016

We had a very pleasant evening, with excellent food and exceptional service. But, I could have found the same closer to home for a LOT less money. 1) The staff is wonderful and the service was exceptional. Helpful, friendly, attentive, without being obtrusive. 2) Menu/ordering- A 38-year Navy vet, I've traveled worldwide and eat/enjoy just about everything. At excellent restaurants, I expect to have difficulty deciding between several very tempting choices. Here, my choices were constrained by the number of items that were decidedly unappealing. My selections were forced by what I didn't want rather than what I wanted. Choosing 2 of 6 appetizers was easy since 4 were VERY unappealing. Odd predicament when spending this much money. 3) Amuse course: delightful. I would never have guessed that grapefruit and an oyster could be so good together. 4) The appetizers I was constrained to choosing tasted excellent. Fois Gras was buttery smooth. Salad was sparse but very flavorful. 5) Entrees were very well prepared and delicious. My date had rib-eye, which was probably a 4-5 oz serving, wonderfully prepared. I had fish. The 2-3 oz serving was very good, but tiny, even by French standards. Men should probably go for 5 course, vice 4 course, unless you know your date won't finish her entree. The extra $10 will be worth it, since you're already spending over $200 for 2. The small serving is really a silly business decision; it invites customer's derision. I expected small, and was still surprised by tiny. 6) Desserts- Wow, were these really good. Many high end restaurants have great-sounding, disappointing desserts. Not here. The pastry chef's desserts, breads (and breakfast goods) are consistently magnificent. So, you'll have a wonderful evening, provided you know you're spending $100 per person for tiny, delicate portions. While we enjoyed it, and may return, I wouldn't recommend it to most friends because I don't know they could get past the high cost and tiny portions.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Romantic Spot but Pretentious

Dined on March 19, 2016

We booked a room at the hotel and because it was on the weekend we were required to also dine at the restaurant. I feel like this was a hidden cost, as there was no a la carte options and you are required to do one of the tasting menus, so the hotel is guaranteed to get an additional $200 on top of your stay. The food was okay, but I thought the restaurant was a little pretentious, which was funny since it still in the middle of Virginia (not France). I think it would serve the restaurant well to consider highlighting the use of local farms rather then appear to be a high end restaurant. You can get much better meals for cheaper within the DC metro region. Not worth the price to go back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our Special Date Destination

Dined on February 14, 2016

My husband and I had a lovely Valentine's Day at L'Auberge Provencale. The service is always impeccable and the food is delicious and beautifully presented. The atmosphere of the inn is enhanced by the warm colors and the fire burning in the fireplace. I can't say enough about the staff... They are professional, friendly and take care of every detail without being intrusive or overly formal. Treat yourself to a wonderful weekend in the country at this charming inn.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food is exceptional and ambiance quiet

Dined on February 14, 2016

The service is excellent and the food and ambiance superb.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Why didn't I find this place sooner

Dined on February 14, 2016

Had 5 course dinner which was out of this world. I don't paying good money for great food! I will be back

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a pleasure!

Dined on February 13, 2016

Wonderful food, atmosphere, and service. The renovations are gorgeous and the bar addition is great! L'Auberge Provencale is our favorite place for dinner and we look forward to our next visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Pricey, but very romantic

Dined on February 5, 2016

The service was wonderful, food was great, wine list is very extensive!! While the food seems a little overpriced and the wine is also expensive the experience is worth it for the special meal that you want to share with a loved one. The presentation of the food was lovely -- and the food tasted wonderful. The 4 course dinner took us about 2.5 hours. We were well taken care of, but the wait staff was not at the table all of the time, so we had plenty of time to talk and enjoy each others company. Definitely not a meal for the average dinner, one for a special occassion with a loved one.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fresh off a terrific renovation...

Dined on February 1, 2016

My wife and I have been going here for over 25 years and this remains our favorite special occasion for romantic dinners. We were the first diners post-renovation and LOVE the update. Each course was fabulous and we enjoyed a well-suited wine and terrific service. Well worth it!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chef tasting menu was spectactular

Dined on January 3, 2016

My wife and I were first time visitors and went for dinner to celebrate our anniversary. We both had the chef's tasting menu which was 8-10 courses of absolutely delicious and creative small plates that left us full but not stuffed. Wait staff was knowledgable and friendly.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

L'auberge Provencale

Dined on January 1, 2016

Beautifully curated atmosphere, menu and wine list

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

Good brunch.

Dined on January 1, 2016

We enjoyed a good brunch here. My only negative impression was that the portions were very small compared to the prices. I ordered a bowl of soup. The soup was delicious, but there was only about 1/4" of soup in the bowl. I think they charged about $8 for the bowl of soup, which was no more than maybe 1/3 of a measuring cup of soup, if that. I found that skimpiness to be very irritating. Other than the small portions of some of the dishes, it was very enjoyable and the surroundings are very beautiful and cozy.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Well worth it!

Dined on December 30, 2015

Some reviews complain about the small portions at L'Auberge Provencal. But each one is a feast for the eyes and rewarding to the palate in a way one seldom finds elsewhere. The menu is unique and creative. Prepare for a leisurely meal and take a moment to look at the beauty on each plate; savor the wonderful textures and delicious sauces. I would have eaten my shoe leather with those sauces. My wife and I had the five-course meal and did not consider the price excessive for what we got. Along with amuse bouche, good bread, and candy selection at the end, we did not go away hungry. This is a restaurant for people who appreciate fine dining and perfect service in a beautiful setting. But it is also relaxed and not prissy or intimidating -- good for those of us who just want to step out now and then.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5

My dinner companion was a bit boisterous ...

vip
Dined on November 28, 2015

My dinner companion was a bit boisterous. The room cheered when we left. The wait staff did not let on at all that he was causing a problem. His first time at a place of this class. I really appreciate their attitudes!

food4
ambience4
service5

A lovely day in the country.

Dined on November 26, 2015

It was a great location for a Thanksgiving lunch. The food was spaced out nicely, and it was beautifully prepared with some outstanding dishes like the chestnut ravioli, sunchokes, shrimp, etc. My only caveat is that when a dessert is called Apple pie, then it should at least have all the ingredients of a pie in it, and not be an apple crepe. We also ordered a pecan pie that looked nothing like it, but was a deconstructed version that had all the elements of a pecan pie and tasted sublime. The wait staff were stellar and made us feel at home.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Fine dining and wonderful experience

Dined on November 4, 2015

We love this restaurant and we always look forward to seeing what amazing dishes the chef has in store for us. The food is amazing and the portions are just right. We especially enjoyed having Michelle take such good care of us in a Wednesday night.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Consistently excellent!

Dined on October 23, 2015

We have been going to L'Auberge Provencale ever since it opened. It gets better and better! We had another delicious dinner there this past weekend. Wonderful menu, terrific wine list, and attentive (but not too attentive) service. Highly recommend to anyone within 50 miles.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service4

Lacking Flavor and Tiny Portions

vip
Dined on October 18, 2015

I really wanted to love this place. The website makes it sound like a fabulous French oasis with excellent cuisine. This is not the case. They offer 3, 4, and 5 course tasting menus. My husband and I do not eat large portions, so we both opted for 3. The appetizers (hamachi, arctic char) were both basically raw fish without any seasoning applied. Also, the fish was not expertly cut as one would find in a sushi restaurant. Our seafood entrees were TINY and were devoid of any seasoning at all. My dish in particular was literally 9 tiny bites. No exaggeration. We left hungry and angry that we paid ~$230 for this dinner. We will not go back.

food4
ambience5
service5

Anniversary Dinner

Dined on October 18, 2015

We spent a night here for our wedding anniversary. Wonderful french atmosphere and friendly welcoming staff. Food was excellent, extensive wine list and peaceful( which is hard to find these days). Great location for a scenic w/e retreat.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Food is visual too

vip
Dined on October 11, 2015

We're repeat offenders, having dined here at least eight or ten times over the past seven or eight years. The lovely restaurant has gone through several re-conceptualizations over the years, from standard French country-fare, to bordering on Patrick O'Connell overreach, i.e. "can I put still one more ingredient into this dish and have it still work," to its current approach of food as works of visual art. This is our third visit under the new approach, and it was the most rewarding. The food was beautiful to look at and delicious to eat. We ordered a la carte, although there was an interesting chef's fixed-price menu as well. The biggest question mark about L'Auberge is the service. Some nights, it's casually elegant, befitting a country inn. Other nights, it's unschooled and uneven. This evening, we had the "A" Team, so all was well. If you visit, especially in the winter, get there early enough to sit in the reception area, in front of the fire, perhaps have a drink or a cup of tea and partake of some dried fruit or nuts, while relaxing before your meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

Delicious food with attention to detail ...

Dined on September 28, 2015

Delicious food with attention to detail at every point. Perfect for a romantic dinner or special occasion. Definitely expensive, but worth it!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service3

Past Its Prime

vip
Dined on September 26, 2015

L'Auberge Provencale is a great idea that has past its prime. Though charming, the inn visibly needs some TLC (and some safety upgrades). The menu was okay, but not great, and definitely not worth the exorbitant prices. There are so many stellar options in Virginia now, L'Auberge is going to have to up its game to keep up. While we had a lovely time, we wouldn't recommend it.

food4
ambience4
service5

Great meal, great staff. Excellent cockt ...

Dined on September 26, 2015

Great meal, great staff. Excellent cocktails and mocktails. The chocolate desert was to die for! Thanks for having us.

food3
ambience3
service3

Saturday Night Dinner

Dined on September 19, 2015

Staff was very attentive and service was excellent. We did not order the tasting menu, but every course was the size for a tasting menu. Therefore, basically filled up with bread and a normal size portion of desert. I ordered fish as an entree that was so small and wrapped in a large piece of bacon it tasted more like I ordered bacon. This was very disappointing especially when paid over $200 for 2 people and basically filled up with bread and desert. We have eaten at some of the finest restaurants in DC and even their tasting menu often serves larger portions. Making the portions "tiny" does not make it gourmet.

Tags: romantic, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Delicious dishes and the service was out ...

Dined on September 19, 2015

Delicious dishes and the service was outstanding! The tables are close so it's a little short on intimate privacy the overall ambiance is quiet so that makes up for it.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing

Dined on September 11, 2015

One of the best dining experiences we ever had. The food and service was exceptional. Extremely impressive wine list. We lost track of time. My wife and I spent 3 hours on dinner and had a wonderful evening. I wasn't sure what to expect considering its out of the way location, but our expectations were far exceeded. It's not cheap so if you are on budget, research the prices on line or you may be in for a shock particularly if you order wine. We are already planning our next visit

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Trust me on this one!

Dined on September 11, 2015

The best meal of my life anywhere in the world. Each course is a sensual and unusual experience. You will not need to search for something new and interesting! The wine list is a world tour itself. The service was perfect - attentive, knowlegeable, and welcoming - yet not hovering. All in an historic inn in the beautiful Virginia countryside. I ordered the four course and would order the four or tasting menu next time - just to have another course to taste. Thank you! I live right hours away but will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

A bit of Provence in Virginia

Dined on September 5, 2015

Excellent dining experience. Food is outstanding and the service anticipates your needs. Expensive but not outrageous. Wonderful for special occasions and just wanting to think about the south of France

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

we always stop for the night on our trip ...

Dined on August 23, 2015

we always stop for the night on our trip to and from Vero Beach,Fl. and Vermont. dinner and bed, and breakfast, of course.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful Birthday Dinner

Dined on August 22, 2015

My neighbor was kind enough to take me to Dinner last Saturday evening at L'Auberge Provencale. Not only was the weather beautiful for a summer evening but the food and staff could not have been any better. Every course of the meal was delicious and Christian did a fine job pairing beverages with the meal! I hope to return soon.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

L'Auberge review

Dined on August 15, 2015

It was a beautiful summer night in the Shenandoah Valley and this was a special occasion. The food was absolutely delicious. The service was excellent - authentic and professional wait staff throughout our meal. The best meal I have had anywhere in this area. We will definitely return!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Anniversary Stay in White Post

vip
Dined on August 15, 2015

This was our third visit to L'Auberge Povencale. An this time like the previous times our stay was truly a delight. Jason was so nice and very well prepared for us. The room was very comfortable. Our meals were perfect. We wish we could go every month and enjoy the area. We highly recommend the restaurant and the accommodations.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

worth the trip

Dined on August 14, 2015

Don't be discouraged by the remote location. The experience is not to be missed. Beautiful French decor and food with great service.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience2
service4

Great for a special occasion.

Dined on August 13, 2015

If you are willing to overlook the tractors in the back yard and a construction zone, you will be for a special treat. The dinner is amazing: with the choice of 3-, 4-, or 5-course dinner, starting at 80$ per person, it is all fresh, delicious, and will please your palate. The dessert, which was mostly ice cream, calls for more variety. But then - hooray, hooray! - along with the traditions of the Parisian chefs (we thought of Le Jules Verne in Eiffel Tower), they brought a variety of french little sweet treats. PS. The restaurant website states they are open for brunch, but, unfortunately, they are not.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service5

never again

Dined on August 2, 2015

We have eaten here before. Both times the food was delicious. However, this time compared to last time (about 5 years ago), the portions were miniscule. I had duck breast and it was a very small portion, but when my husband's beef entree was served, we were speechless, because it was so small. We would have laughed but after spending $300 (2 three course dinners plus a $100 bottle of wine), there was truly nothing to laugh about. The wine list included only bottles of wine $100 and up. So, buyer beware!

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience3
service4

Disappointed

Dined on June 14, 2015

We had fond memories of L'Auberge and so we decided to celebrate our anniversary with "a wonderful dinner". It was a let down - it was good but not great.

food5
ambience5
service5

Don't miss this gem!!

Dined on May 29, 2015

Outstanding dinner and superb wind list. Multiple small plate with wide variety of gourmet choices. Rooms are quaint and cheery. Every aspect of this inn is first class. It keeps getting better each time we visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service4

Teeny tiny portions of food and you pay A LOT

vip
Dined on May 23, 2015

The food was okay - nothing spectacular - but the portions were incredibly small - and we arrived starving so that was a huge mistake. We go to 'high end' restaurants and we prefer the smaller portions -but they were ridiculously small here. My 'starter course' salad - was 2 cherry tomatoes and a tablespoon of crab. That's it. My fish entrée was about 2" inches and my husband's 'steak' was 2 tiny pieces. (which he paid an extra $65 for because it was Kobe beef) It was all we could do not to burst out laughing at the 'teeny portions' of food on our plates. The dessert portions were 'normal' size. And that cost us $227 for 2 people. Go to Ashby Inn instead.

food5
ambience4
service5

Magnifique

vip
Dined on May 15, 2015

Exquisite in every detail. Wine, service (especially so), food, preparation, presentation and design. The meal was an artful extravagance. We chose the 3 course: my wife lobster, beef & chocolate, and I the tomato, cod and lemon. Each were course prepared and presented elegantly and with unique palate cleansers & bread selections interspaced. My tomato was so picturesque I did not want to spoil it by eating. To my chagrin I did not think to photograph with phone camera. Wine list was broad in varietal, geo sourced and uncommon. Atmosphere was my only negative. Two large rooms separated by only a split wall and step down, I would have preferred smaller front room with fewer tables. Outside tables were not in use. Overall however, an impressive evening. Kudos around.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Our forty-seventh anniversary

Dined on April 15, 2015

We were enroute from Florida to Connecticut for a family wedding. In 2001 we had dined there on my first day off after thirty-nine straight days of 12 hours on / 12 hours off at BWI Airport after the terrorist attacks in New York and Washington, D.C. and the UAL crash in Pennsylvania. It was a wonderful stress reliever for my wife and me back then and a very pleasant dinner last week. The dining room was well appointed and the staff very attentive. The kitchen staff, chefs and subs presented a great dinner. We had a wonderful evening and it will be much sooner than fourteen years for our third visit.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.