About L'Auberge Chez Francois

332 Springvale Road
Great Falls, VA 22066
View Larger Map

Welcome to L'Auberge Chez François, our French country inn a short distance from the nation's capital that has captivated visitors for over 60 years. L'Auberge Chez François is the ideal spot to celebrate special moments, private parties, luncheons, weddings and cooking demonstrations. Our menu is extensive and full of the flavors of Alsace and traditional French cuisine. Excellent food and service, attention to detail and a casually elegant atmosphere are hallmarks that have made L'Auberge Chez François a Washington favorite! We hope that you will enjoy your visit with us.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Lunch:
Tuesday – Saturday: 11:30am – 1:30pm'
Sunday: 12:00pm – 3:00pm

Dinner:
Tuesday – Friday: 5:00pm – 9:00pm
Saturday: 4:30pm – 9:30pm
Sunday: 12:00pm – 7:30pm

Cross Street:
Beach Mill Road

Dress Code:
Jacket Preferred

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(703) 759-3800

Website:
http://www.laubergechezfrancois.com/

Parking Details:
Self parking

Executive Chef:
Jacques E. Haeringer

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
L'Auberge Chez Francois loves special events! From Cooking Demos and Lunches led by Chef Jacques Haeringer; to Wine, Champagne and Artisinal Beer Dinners with Paul and Alex, Our Garden to Table Grand Dinners on our lovely outdoor terrace; Our new music series dinners at L'Auberge events, and so many more.
See our website for a complete list of our special events, and sign up for our monthly newsletter delivered right to your inbox! Our special events sell out quickly. Here's our link.

http://laubergechezfrancois.fbmta.com/members/UpdateProfile.aspx?Action=Subscribe/%22

Special events are always just that..special at L'Auberge Chez Francois!
We are proud to carry the honor of "Best Special Events Restaurant" voted by our diners, merci beaucoup!

Private Dining

Celebrate life's special moments, weddings, corporate luncheons or dinners, holiday parties or "just want-to-party" events in one of L'Auberge Chez François warm and inviting dining rooms or outside terrace. Specializing in offering complete menus, we can accommodate groups from 25-100 persons.

L'Auberge Chez Francois Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.9

ambience

4.8

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (153)
Romantic (131)
Good for Anniversaries (130)
See All
Worth the Drive (124)
Good for a Date (99)
Good for Birthdays (92)
Quiet Conversation (84)
Fit for Foodies (82)
Authentic (81)
Cozy (78)
Notable Wine List (64)
Fireplace (51)
Great for Lunch (48)
Sunday Lunch (46)
Neighborhood Gem (46)
Creative Cuisine (44)
Local Ingredients (36)
Historic (30)
Great for Outdoor Dining (29)
Business Meals (26)
Good for Groups (25)
Seasonal (24)
Outstanding Value (22)
Scenic View (22)
Handcrafted Cocktails (21)
Great for Brunch (21)
Fun (18)
Comfort Food (16)
Gluten Free Options (14)
Tasting Menu (14)
Private Room (11)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
People Watching (9)
Disabled Access (7)
Healthy (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Family Style (6)
Molecular Gastronomy (5)
Casual (5)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Organic (4)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Great Beer (2)
Modern Decor (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
3871 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Lives up to every list rating it has rec ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

Lives up to every list rating it has received! A wonderful dining experience all aspects. It truly does deserve the rating of top 100 and best restaurant in Virginia.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

L'Auberge is a long standing quality fin ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

L'Auberge is a long standing quality fine dining restaurant with great food and service. We had a wonderful time. Good wine, great waiter and sommelier. It was my wife's birthday and she had a great time.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

This was a great overall experience for ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

This was a great overall experience for my wife and me. Wanted to have a nice Valentine's Day dinner and we weren't disappointed. From the welcome to the service to the food and ambiance, it exceeded our expectations. It is pricy, especially if you love wine, but worth the cost.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic experience! Food terrific - fl ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

Fantastic experience! Food terrific - flavorful and subtle; waitstaff helpful, friendly and engaging; extremely enjoyable setting!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

L'Auberge has been one of my favorite re ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

L'Auberge has been one of my favorite restaurants for years. Food is fantastic; service is always excellent; ambiance is terrific. It's a long drive from our house--a solid 30 minutes--but always worth the effort. I wish I could find something negative to say so I'd sound clever, but I can't. Oh wait, the restrooms are downstairs! That's it. Love the place.

Tags: Romantic, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've been eating at L'Auberge for 30+ y ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

We've been eating at L'Auberge for 30+ years, and they've never disappointed us.

Tags: Authentic, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, , Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We dined at L'Auberge Chez Francois to c ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 6 days ago

We dined at L'Auberge Chez Francois to celebrate Valentine's Day (we actually went the day after V-Day as we both work in hospitality). The experience was nothing short of fantastic! The food was delicious and service outstanding. The pre-fix menu and coursing truly makes the meal feel like a special occasion. I would highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chez Francios is a Washington institutio ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

Chez Francios is a Washington institution. We have ben eating there since it was on Connecticut Avenue near the White House. The food is excellent, as is the service. Elegant, but not stuffy. Comfortable. Always pleasant. Good value.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Fireplace, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Valentine's Day 2017. We love L'Auberge ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Valentine's Day 2017. We love L'Auberge Chez François and have been going there for years! A great mix of food and wine with wonderful service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Valentines 45th Aniversary Wonderful exp ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Valentines 45th Aniversary

Wonderful experience not our first time

Outstanding Service I cannot say enough about the skill and care from the gentleman attended to our table. We felt the real concern he had for our enjoyment of our meal.

You need to go to appreciate this restaurant, because it is more than just a restaurant.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, , Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Romantic, Fireplace, Authentic, Organic, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of my very favorite restaurants. Ou ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 14, 2017

One of my very favorite restaurants. Outstanding food and service, beautiful indoors and out. Everything I've eaten there has been delicious. Lobster bisque and seafood boullabaisse are two of my favorites. Plan on a long meal and a big price tag, but I like to think of it as a special occasion/event.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Fireplace, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

For some reason both my wife and I had a ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 14, 2017

For some reason both my wife and I had a severe stomach indigestion in the very same night of our dinner (last Monday 13th). Most probably some of the meal courses was inappropriate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

I've been going to this restaurant for a ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 13, 2017

I've been going to this restaurant for about 30 years off and on. Amazingly, the food, service, total experience haven't changed a bit. It's a reliable place to take anyone, and the food is absolutely fantastic! The service is impeccable - not stuffy, just plain elegant and contributes greatly to the overall enjoyment of the meal. You really feel that you're in a wonderful country French restaurant, friendly, cozy with its many dining rooms, but run in a totally professional manner. Not for the budget conscious, but you certainly get what you pay for here!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything about our evening was perfect ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Everything about our evening was perfect. The food was delicious and the service was terrific. We hadn't been in several years and I forgot how truly special this place is. It is worth every penny. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Truly amazing! The food and service is ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Truly amazing! The food and service is superb, we will be coming back for years to come for special occasions.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Great food and service

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great Great food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very nice meal, good service, expensive.

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Very nice meal, good service, expensive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Hadn't been here in 10 years and expecte ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Hadn't been here in 10 years and expected something less than what we experienced. Excellent food, world-class service, and a close location make this place a must-go for any and all true food lovers in the NOVA region! Thank you for demonstrating that excellence in a tough industry can truly hold for so many years!

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Private Room, Neighborhood Gem, , People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful service for my daughter-in-law ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Wonderful service for my daughter-in-law's birthday!

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Valentine's Day

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Valentine's Day

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Worth the 1.5 hour drive from Maryland t ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Worth the 1.5 hour drive from Maryland to Great Falls. Had a wonderful 2 hour lunch with all the courses from the prefixed menu. Food was outstanding and so was the staff.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We came with friends. It was their first ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We came with friends. It was their first visit to L'Auberge Chez Francois.

We have been coming for many years and always have a great experience.

The service and food were great.

We look forward to our next visit.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Top shelf service and food. Classy and c ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Top shelf service and food. Classy and classic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I hadn't been there in many years and wa ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 10, 2017

I hadn't been there in many years and was a bit concerned about changes but was in fact very happy with everything, ambiance with a nice welcome, immediate and attentive professional service including recommendations. The meal itself was super at every course and even had several nice gratis surprises. I wont stay away long again.

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, People Watching, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for the prix-fixe luncheon speci ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 10, 2017

We went for the prix-fixe luncheon special. The menu offered a wide range of choices--enough to satisfy the 4 members of my party. The service was attentive without being overwhelming. The food was delicious--especially the dark chocolate tart, a must for chocoholics! All in all, a wonderful afternoon!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Authentic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was my daughter's 60th birthday and w ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 9, 2017

It was my daughter's 60th birthday and we couldn't have chosen a better place. We had great conversation with little interuption and excellent service. The food was delicious and we felt special being there for this special occasion. Thank you for the wonderful afternoon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, , Fireplace, Private Room, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is my very favorite restaurant in t ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 5, 2017

This is my very favorite restaurant in the DC area. For special occasions this is our Fail-Safe choice

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

L'Auberge is everything you want it to b ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 5, 2017

L'Auberge is everything you want it to be, from the time you enter the drive of the inn till the moment you leave it is an exquisite experience. I took my wife here to celebrate my birthday, we chose the pre fixe menu and it did not disappoint. The veal sweetbreads were creamy and rich, the poached Maine lobster was heavenly and the soufflé was just the perfect finish! Our server was Richard, he was very attentive and was a true professional and man of his craft. This will not be the last time we visit The Inn.

Tags: Fireplace, Authentic, Special Occasion, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great meal at L'Auberge Chex Fr ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Always a great meal at L'Auberge Chex Francois! Service is excellent, the staff is very friendly and helpful and the meal was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

L'Auberge Chez Francois is always a deli ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 4, 2017

L'Auberge Chez Francois is always a delight. Food is very good and the service is friending and professional. The expansive menu makes you regret you can't order one of everything. The wine menu is not extensive, but I don't see that as a bad thing. It has plenty of great choices in each varietal, but not too many, which makes choosing easier. My son and I were enjoying the dinner for my birthday. Can't wait to return.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was delicious and prepared to ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Everything was delicious and prepared to perfection. The service was impeccable. It was our first time there, but definitely not the last!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is one of our favorite places. The ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 4, 2017

This is one of our favorite places. The food and service are always outstanding. Unfortunately, as retirees, we can't afford to come as often as we like. We definitely look forward to our next dinner. Keep up the good work!

Garvis Toler

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Every dish was top notch. Most dishes gl ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Every dish was top notch. Most dishes gluten free!

Tags: Fun, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent, as always! So enjoy this ven ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Excellent, as always! So enjoy this venerable and fabulous restaurant. Jacques Haeringer is by far the best chef in the area.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I hadn't been to Chez Francois for a few ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on January 30, 2017

I hadn't been to Chez Francois for a few years and this visit re-kindled my desire to come back every week! The service was excellent (the waiter was very attentive without being pushy), the food was fabulous (the menu is extensive), and the tables are well spaced and comfortable. So hard to find such a pleasant eating experience these days in downtown restaurants where the norm is overcrowded and rushed. I definitely won't wait so long to come back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything from the service to the food ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Everything from the service to the food was fantastic.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Fireplace, Business Meals, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

French country fare at its best. Beauti ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 28, 2017

French country fare at its best. Beautiful setting, wonderful service and great foods and wine. Our go to special celebration spot. Love every aspect of it!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was a perfect place to celebrate my b ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 28, 2017

It was a perfect place to celebrate my birthday! The food and service was impeccable!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was fantastic and there were pl ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 27, 2017

The food was fantastic and there were plenty of gluten free options. Great neighborhood restaurant. We will visit many more times.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Wonderful lunch at L'Auberge Chez Franco ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Wonderful lunch at L'Auberge Chez Francois. My friend from NC and I dined there twice in the last 2 weeks and delicious as always with outstanding service. It's my friend's favorite Metro area restaurant and she loved it again. Thanks L'Auberge" for 2 wonderful and relaxing meals.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.