About L'Auberge Chez Francois

332 Springvale Road
Great Falls, VA 22066
View Larger Map

Travellers in the beautiful Alsatian countryside, seek out "auberge", the little family inns that dot the roadsides, to eat well and enjoy the scenery. They know they will find fine food and glowing spirits, at an excellent value. Welcome to L"Auberge Chez François, our French country inn a short distance from the nation's capital, nestled among lush woods and fragrant gardens, that has captivated visitors for over 60 years. L'Auberge Chez François is the ideal spot to celebrate special moments, private parties,luncheons, weddings and cooking demonstrations. Our menu is extensive and full of the flavors of Alsace and traditional French cuisine. Excellent food and service, attention to detail and a casually elegant atmosphere are hallmarks that have made L'Auberge Chez François a Washington favorite! We sincerely hope that you will enjoy your visit with us. Reservations for Jacques' Brasserie at L'Auberge can be made through Open Table at L'Auberge Chez Francois-Jacques' Brasserie.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
L'AUBERGE CHEZ FRANÇOIS:
Lunch: Tuesday - Saturday: 11:30AM - 1:30PM, Sunday: 12:00PM - 3:00PM; Dinner: Tuesday - Friday: 5:00PM - 9:00PM, Saturday: 4:30PM - 9:30PM,
Sunday: 12:00PM - 7:30PM
JACQUES' BRASSERIE AT L'AUBERGE and BAR ROUGE:
Tuesday - Friday: 11:30 AM- 1:30 PM; 5:00PM - 9:00PM
Saturday - 11:30 AM - 1:30 PM; 4:30 PM - 9:30PM
Sunday - 12:00PM - 7:30PM

Cross Street:
Beach Mill Road

Dress Code:
Jacket Preferred

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(703) 759-3800

Website:
http://www.laubergechezfrancois.com/

Parking Details:
Self parking

Executive Chef:
Jacques E. Haeringer

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
L'Auberge Chez Francois loves special events! From Cooking Demos and Lunches led by Chef Jacques Haeringer; to Wine, Champagne and Artisinal Beer Dinners with Paul and Alex, Our Garden to Table Grand Dinners on our lovely outdoor terrace; Our new music series dinners at L'Auberge events, and so many more.
See our website for a complete list of our special events, and sign up for our monthly newsletter delivered right to your inbox! Our special events sell out quickly. Here's our link.

http://laubergechezfrancois.fbmta.com/members/UpdateProfile.aspx?Action=Subscribe/%22

Special events are always just that..special at L'Auberge Chez Francois!
We are proud to carry the honor of "Best Special Events Restaurant" voted by our diners, merci beaucoup!

Restaurant Photos

L'Auberge Chez Francois
L'Auberge Chez Francois
L'Auberge Chez Francois
L'Auberge Chez Francois
L'Auberge Chez Francois
L'Auberge Chez Francois
L'Auberge Chez Francois
L'Auberge Chez Francois
L'Auberge Chez Francois
L'Auberge Chez Francois
L'Auberge Chez Francois
L'Auberge Chez Francois
L'Auberge Chez Francois
L'Auberge Chez Francois
L'Auberge Chez Francois
L'Auberge Chez Francois
L'Auberge Chez Francois
L'Auberge Chez Francois
L'Auberge Chez Francois
L'Auberge Chez Francois
L'Auberge Chez Francois
L'Auberge Chez Francois
L'Auberge Chez Francois
L'Auberge Chez Francois
L'Auberge Chez Francois
L'Auberge Chez Francois
L'Auberge Chez Francois
L'Auberge Chez Francois
L'Auberge Chez Francois
L'Auberge Chez Francois
L'Auberge Chez Francois
L'Auberge Chez Francois
L'Auberge Chez Francois
Cheesecake
Chocolate Tarte
Chocolate  Soufflé
Iles Flotantes
Chocolate Souflé
Sweetbreads
Escargot
Plum Tart
Pâté
Duck Foie Gras
Oysters with mignonette
Foie Gras
Duck Breast Salad
House Salad
Le Saute Gourmande Papa Ernest
Tomato Salad
Key Lime Tart
Cream of Asparagus Soup
Champagne Appertif
Maine Lobster & Lump Crab W/Sauternes Butter
Garlic Bread & Alsacien Cheese Spread
Le Picon Biere
Beef Bourguignon
Souflé De Grand Marnier
Sweetbreads With Foie Gras

Private Dining

Celebrate life's special moments, weddings, corporate luncheons or dinners, holiday parties or "just want-to-party" events in one of L'Auberge Chez François warm and inviting dining rooms or outside terrace. Specializing in offering complete menus, we can accommodate groups from 25-100 persons.

L'Auberge Chez Francois Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Washington, D.C. Area
Best Food
Washington, D.C. Area
Best Service
Washington, D.C. Area
11 More
Best Ambiance
Washington, D.C. Area
Romantic
Washington, D.C. Area
Special Occasion
Washington, D.C. Area
French
Washington, D.C. Area
Best Overall
Virginia - DC Suburbs
Best Food
Virginia - DC Suburbs
Best Service
Virginia - DC Suburbs
Best Ambiance
Virginia - DC Suburbs
Romantic
Virginia - DC Suburbs
Special Occasion
Virginia - DC Suburbs
French
Virginia - DC Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Great Falls ›

Special Occasion (307)
Romantic (263)
Fit for Foodies (192)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (141)
Notable Wine List (134)
Great for Lunch (93)
Neighborhood Gem (80)
Scenic View (80)
Good for Anniversaries (64)
Good for Groups (62)
Great for Brunch (47)
Worth the Drive (45)
Good for a Date (43)
Quiet Conversation (40)
Good for Birthdays (37)
Local Ingredients (30)
Authentic (30)
Cozy (23)
Sunday Lunch (19)
Creative Cuisine (19)
Historic (18)
Hot Spot (12)
Outstanding Value (11)
Fireplace (10)
Kid-friendly (9)
Seasonal (9)
Late-night Find (7)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
Business Meals (6)
Fun (4)
Healthy (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Family Style (3)
Great Beer (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Private Room (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Organic (2)
Casual (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Vegan (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Sort By:
Newest
3444 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great evening, service and food. Ambien ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 7 days ago

Great evening, service and food. Ambience was perfect for anniversary.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

L'Auberge is our favorite restaurant. W ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 7 days ago

L'Auberge is our favorite restaurant. We have never been disappointed in either the food or the service. It's a great place to celebrate a special occasion -- the ambiance is wonderful. Most of the veggies are fresh from their own garden in season, and much of the other food is locally sourced. Although it is not inexpensive, it's still a great value.

Tags: Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Pre/post Theatre, Outstanding Value, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding local favorite! We have been ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Outstanding local favorite! We have been coming here almost since they moved to Great Falls from downtown. Sitting on the patio overlooking the garden is sublimely peaceful and relaxing. The food is remarkable with a sophisticated Alsatian touch. The staff are down to earth and many have been there a long time. Don't miss this charming inn in the countryside--it is truly a gem!

Tags: Scenic View, Cozy, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing time with friends here. Celebrat ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Amazing time with friends here. Celebrated my husband's birthday and the food was great!!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Paleo Friendly, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As soon as we stepped through the door, ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

As soon as we stepped through the door, we were treated as honored guests. The food was superb and reminded us of our time in France.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Tommy was an amazing waiter :) the food ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Tommy was an amazing waiter :)

the food was awesome !

we sat in the gazebo outside on a beautiful day.

it was a lovely way to celebrate my birthday .

PERFECT in every way !!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently very good food & service, n ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Consistently very good food & service, never been let down.

Tags: Cozy, Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Afternoon Coffee, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

a wonderful evening with attentive wait ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

a wonderful evening with attentive wait staff- dinner was prepared beautifully - overall an absolutely lovely dinner. I felt as though I was in the countryside of France, I didn't want to leave and we'll be back.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Family Style, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service for a table o ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Excellent food and service for a table of 7, including a 3 year old outside at 4pm in September. The halibut, shrimp, bouillabaisse and Alsatian special were all raves for our crew of mostly 30-somethings. The starters, lobster bisque, french onion soup and gaspacho were also hits.

The huge wine list is hard to fathom and iur 2 wines didn't come close to living up to their $90 prices.

Service could not have been better.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Disabled Access, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I have been going to Chez Francois since ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

I have been going to Chez Francois since the original owner had his restaurant in D.C. Jacques took over after the owner died, and it hasn't dropped a beat. It is just a special place for a special outing.

Tags: Disabled Access, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Gluten Free Options, Good for Groups, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sunday dinner to celebrate anniversary w ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Sunday dinner to celebrate anniversary with a 7 year old in tow. My wife has a gluten sensitivity and we've never encountered such a bounty of options. The gluten-free souffle was the hit, but each dish was wonderful. The seafood dishes were particularly strong. This was our first visit but it has soared towards the top of our list of local restaurants worth a revisit. Service was excellent and they even had a children's menu (not online) that my daughter took advantage of.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Outstanding Value, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fireplace, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent. We had three cou ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

The food was excellent. We had three courses. Started with onion tart and mushroom crepe, then trout and salmon, and choc soufflé and bread pudding. Everything was prepared perfectly and served at the perfect temperature. Our waiter was confused about one sauce, but otherwise was very friendly and attentive. Other staff were equally attentive. I do wish for brunch that they could lighten up the foyer--literally with light or even open the doors on a nice day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Really exceeded our expectation! We wer ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Really exceeded our expectation! We were celebrating our anniversary. The food from appetizers to desserts were well prepared and delicious. The portion was great and the price is more than reasonable for the quality and quantity.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

L'Auberge Chez Francois was our go-to sp ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

L'Auberge Chez Francois was our go-to special occasion restaurant for many years when I lived in the area. It did not disappoint on my return. The best service that does not constantly bother you; the tables are spaced beautifully so all can converse; the staff is so friendly and welcoming; the food exceptional. A wonderful evening.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Highly recommended for a romantic dinner ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Highly recommended for a romantic dinner with that special someone in your life. Food, setting, and the service were all absolutely outstanding!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We come here several times a year and it ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

We come here several times a year and it is always an event. The fixed price lunch is a great value. We always ask for Tommy but the entire staff serves the tables. The food is scrumptious and we try different things all the time.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always Great I get to Chez Francois abo ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Always Great

I get to Chez Francois about 3 times a year and no matter the reason, it is always a great experience. The lunch menu on weekdays is truly a bargain, but the best part is the pitch-perfect service. If you're a hipster and want to try great Old-School fine dining, this is the place to come!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

L'Auberge Chez Francois has been a speci ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

L'Auberge Chez Francois has been a special event favorite of ours for over thirty-five years. The food is excellent and the ambiance is perfect for an anniversary or other special event.

Tags: Authentic, Historic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were a little disappointed in the foo ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

We were a little disappointed in the food. For a main course, I had the rack of lamb for one. The meat was great. The vegetables were lack luster. My partners main course was the Halibut. She though the coating was bad. Since we were celebrating her birthday, the waiter brought her a complimentary dessert. A nice gesture. However, she said the meringue tasted like glue and had that consistency.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value1

Great restaurant that we have enjoyed ov ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Great restaurant that we have enjoyed over the years since it first opened. The quality of the food has remained excellent and the service also. We have never been disappointed.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service were excellent as a ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

The food and service were excellent as always though the meal was disturbed by two patrons who after having their photo taken to celebrate their wedding anniversary, proceeded to talk at length on their mobile phones to their grand child! A restaurant of this caliber should have a strict and published no phone policy, no exceptions.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

It was our anniversary dinner and everyt ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

It was our anniversary dinner and everything was fabulous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was our first trip back to L'Auberg ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

This was our first trip back to L'Auberge Chez Francois in about 2 years and I don't know why we waited so long.....everything was outstanding. We've all seen once successful restaurants that rest on their old reputation, but L'Auberge Chez Francois hasn't lost a step and it is still one of the finest restaurants in the country.

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We never realize how good food can be un ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

We never realize how good food can be until we dine at Chez Francois. The way in which the flavors of every course meld together to create a symphony on your palate is incredible and should't be missed. It was our 25th anniversary and the staff at Chez Francois made it even more memorable, thank you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and very romantic tables for ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Great food and very romantic tables for two. We came for our anniversary.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value1

Impeccable service, outstanding food, an ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Impeccable service, outstanding food, and beautiful location! L'auberge chez Francois is a wonderful experience every time!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Our waiter, Jose was exceptional. Rarely ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Our waiter, Jose was exceptional. Rarely does one receive such attentive care in a restaurant. The food was well prepared, and the celebration was one we will cherish for quite a long time.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent food and service; great outdoo ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Excellent food and service; great outdoor ambiance; thoroughly enjoyable experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

So happy to be returning to Chez Francoi ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

So happy to be returning to Chez Francois for a special anniversary dinner.

Our server was outstanding, very attentive and helpful.

a Fabulous night.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Authentic, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dependable high quality food, ambience a ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Dependable high quality food, ambience and service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious! So tasty--worth the wander d ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Delicious! So tasty--worth the wander down winding roads. Looking forward to bringing friends from out of town soon!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Authentic, Organic, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant never fails to please. ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

This restaurant never fails to please. The atmosphere enhances the wonderful food which is made more enjoyable by the fabulous service. We love coming!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Superb as ever. Appreciate the quality ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Superb as ever. Appreciate the quality and care you put in everything!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Not inexpensive but worth the splurge. G ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Not inexpensive but worth the splurge. Great food and service.

Tags: Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

gastronomic excellence and ambiance- was ...

vip
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

gastronomic excellence and ambiance- was a mem\orable evening

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

a wonderful meal. not a single thing to ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

a wonderful meal. not a single thing to find fault with. The service was old world and perfect, the food was classic and stunningly good. A perfect location for special occasions

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another pleasurable dining experience, s ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Another pleasurable dining experience, service was wonderful and the food exceeded expectations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I hadn't been to Chez Francois for about ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

I hadn't been to Chez Francois for about 15 years and heard it wasn't as good as it used to be. I disagree - It was wonderful and every bit as good as I remembered.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

WE had a wonderful Birthday celebration. ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

WE had a wonderful Birthday celebration. Asparagus and VA ham for an appetizer, a superb

tomato (from their garden) salad, delicious lemon sole and topped off with peach melba-a perfect meal with great service!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our dining experience at L'Auberge Chez ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Our dining experience at L'Auberge Chez Francios was fabulous! We had the special set luncheon four- course menu. The luncheon was excellent as was the service. We sat outside in the garden area--beautiful setting. We will be back!!

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.