Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 37 times today

L'Auberge Chez Francois

4.8
4712 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$50 and over
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
French
Top Tags:
  • Special Occasion
  • Good for Anniversaries
  • Romantic
Welcome to L'Auberge Chez François, our French country inn a short distance from the nation's capital that has captivated visitors for over 60 years. L'Auberge Chez François is the ideal spot to celebrate special moments, private parties, luncheons, weddings and cooking demonstrations. Our menu is extensive and full of the flavors of Alsace and traditional French cuisine. Excellent food and service, attention to detail and a casually elegant atmosphere are hallmarks that have made L'Auberge Chez François a Washington favorite! We hope that you will enjoy your visit with us.
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private dining
Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
French
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch:
Tuesday – Saturday: 11:30am – 1:30pm'
Sunday: 12:00pm – 3:00pm

Dinner:
Tuesday – Friday: 5:00pm – 9:00pm
Saturday: 4:30pm – 9:30pm
Sunday: 12:00pm – 7:30pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(703) 759-3800
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Jacket Preferred
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Jacques E. Haeringer
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Beach Mill Road
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Self parking
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
L'Auberge Chez Francois loves special events! From Cooking Demos and Lunches led by Chef Jacques Haeringer; to Wine, Champagne and Artisinal Beer Dinners with Paul and Alex, Our Garden to Table Grand Dinners on our lovely outdoor terrace; Our new music series dinners at L'Auberge events, and so many more.
See our website for a complete list of our special events, and sign up for our monthly newsletter delivered right to your inbox! Our special events sell out quickly. Here's our link.

http://laubergechezfrancois.fbmta.com/members/UpdateProfile.aspx?Action=Subscribe/%22

Special events are always just that..special at L'Auberge Chez Francois!
We are proud to carry the honor of "Best Special Events Restaurant" voted by our diners, merci beaucoup!
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Celebrate life's special moments, weddings, corporate luncheons or dinners, holiday parties or "just want-to-party" events in one of L'Auberge Chez François warm and inviting dining rooms or outside terrace. Specializing in offering complete menus, we can accommodate groups from 25-100 persons.

View Private Dining Details
What 4712 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.8based on recent ratings
4.8
food
4.8
service
4.8
ambience
4.4
value
Noise · Quiet
97% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 5 days ago

Excellent French cuisine! Their sunday Lunch is really good value/deal. Service is outstanding. We were dining on Father's day. It was very crowded. Despite of crowd their service was very good. Food is always great here. You will not go wrong if you take your family friends or guest to this restaurant. I highly recommend this restaurant

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

This place is fantastic. I had it recommended to me by several people for years and took my wife here for dinner and it was worth every single penny. It's pricey, of course, but you get great value for it. The appetizer of wagyu was the best I've ever had and that's no exaggeration. Cooked to perfection. I can't say enough about the service and the politeness of the staff and how well-coordinated they were in covering for one another. The charm of the place is another plus. If you didn't know any better you'd think I own stock in this restaurant but I'll always recommend this location.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

The service is the best you could ask for. Staff is quite knowledgeable about the menu and the ingredients

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 5 days ago

The food was delicious as always. However, I did not appreciate the constant and relentless upselling by the waiter - from insisting we needed to order champagne at the start of our evening (my companions ordered cocktails - when I ordered a glass of wine, the waiter actually told me that they only recommend champagne or a cocktail) to the upselling of salads to soufflés for dessert. I eat at Chez Francois several times per year. I have never experienced the up selling to this degree and it left a very bitter taste in my mouth. It has, for over 30 years, been the place my family goes to celebrate birthdays and other milestones. After my experience Saturday evening, I will be rethinking this.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

We had dinner here for our 30th Anniversary. The food and the service was wonderful. They gave us an extra dessert for our anniversary which was so nice but then I was too full to eat all my chocolate tart.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

excellent meal. and excellent service. Thanks for a great dinner!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

We always enjoy our experience at this restaurant and highly recommend it. The outdoor seating is the best of any in the MD/DC/VA area and the service is conducted by professionals. You will not be disappointed.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

Feels like eating at a French country inn. Setting is lovely and the food is always good.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

Tremendous menu choices and execution.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on June 14, 2018

We had very high expectations, but were severely underwhelmed. The duck and lamb were tasteless, vegetables were soggy and the food presentation was outdated. This used to be a top-notch place to eat, what happened? Look elsewhere... better food can be found at half the price in Tyson’s or DC. I don’t enjoy giving this type of review, but someone has fallen asleep at Chez Francois...

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 14, 2018

One of the best restaurants in the Washington area
We have been dining here since 1980 for special occasions and have never been disappointed.
We just celebrated our anniversary and thoroughly enjoyed the experience.
A tip: the lunch menu is considerably less expensive and every bit as elegant. Also the drive on Georgetown Pike is less hectic in the afternoon.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 13, 2018

As always le auberge does not disappoint. Everything they make is fantastic. They have opened up a smaller less formal dining area on the lower level where single selections can be made. We will try that for lunch or happy hour some time in the future. Still, the main dining continues to be one of the best experiences and tastes in the dc area.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 13, 2018

I’ve been there many times over the last 25 years and it doesn’t disappoint.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 13, 2018

My first time for lunch. Lovely.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 13, 2018

Another great meal. It is fairly expensive, but there is outstanding food and ambience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 12, 2018

We love Chez Francois and it’s are go to place for special occasions.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 12, 2018

If you're looking for classical French cuisine, this is the spot. The food is on point and the staff is outstanding.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 12, 2018

What can you say about Chez Francois that has not already been say? One of the best places to each in the whole DC area. We had lunch there which is the best value in DC for great food and fantastic service. It was a nice day so we went outside. You're in the woods, and we could look over at the garden where many items on the menu are grown. No one is rusting you out the door, and you can meet friends and have a great meal. Do get on their mailing list for special events. My wife and I have gone to several of them and had a great time.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 10, 2018

It has been many years since we have dined here. I have to admit that I wondered if it would still be as good since Francois had passed away. I am happy to report that it is still amazing. The food was absolutely delicious and the service was impeccable. The entire experience made my birthday celebration very memorable. There were no missteps and nothing just average. Everything was first rate from beginning to end. Our server was very attentive to all of the details and we enjoyed him immensely. Thanks for a great evening.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 10, 2018

Fantastic food and great service! A little pricey, but well worth it. My wife and I said we will make it our special occasion restaurant from now on.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 9, 2018

We have gone here for 30 years and have always had an amazing experience!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 9, 2018

Wonderful evening as everything is done very professionally.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 9, 2018

Lovely setting for a secluded restaurant in a quintessential area of Northern Virginia with close proximity to Washington DC. Special occasion restaurant with stellar service and prices. Notable wine list and lovely setting in the woods.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 8, 2018

Have been coming for 39 years. It’s reputation rests on great food and attentive service. Our experience was a bit disappointing. The appetizers and entrees were wonderful. The amuse bouche was an unappetizing, brown, muddy shallot soup. The pastry chef must have changed as the meringue celebration dessert and our other two desserts were disappointing, small and lacking a lot of flavor. The service was not up to standard. Our waiter was not very attentive, seemed to be pushing certain menu items, never brought the Brasserie menu I asked to take a look at, spoke very fast and with his accent was difficult to understand, when placing my entree he had to tell me how great it looked (I’ll decide thank you) and finally spent some time within earshot chatting with another employee (couldn’t understand the language so wonder if they were talking about dinners). Just seemed like the waiters might not be getting the training they once did? It seemed like the little touches were missing. Maybe I’m just old-fashioned and too picky. We dined outside so maybe their goal is to be less formal. Will still return next year to celebrate going there for 40 years.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 8, 2018

Lovely view of dining room fro table in front of fireplace
David excellent waiter
Jacques a cheap , par none

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 7, 2018

Gracious service. Charming atmosphere. Fabulous food! A perfect high school graduation lunch to top off a commencement from Stone Ridge School of the Sacred Heart- a school founded by French Sisters!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 6, 2018

The food and service was excellent. The menu is set up where the price of the meal is based on the entrée you chose (there are many great choices) and then you get to choose one each from amongst a number of appetizers, then salads, and desserts. While it is a little expensive it is an experience that is well worth it.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 5, 2018

the onion and bacon tart was very dry. The salmon was perfectly cooked and the bread pudding was superb.

My partner is in a wheelchair and as he was getting into car, he fell and couldn't get up. I went into the restaurant and told the maitre d what happened and he and another man came out and helped my partner to get into the car. Then they put the wheelchair in the back for me.

Wonderful service

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on June 5, 2018

Very poor service....our waitress was working both outside and inside, to the detriment of both. We were mostly ignored..

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 3, 2018

I had the Prix fixe menu lamb chops and my date had the haddock. The portions were perfect as the various courses were served. The entire dining experience is difficult to match in the Washington DC area. C'est tres Bon Appetit

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 3, 2018

An amazing experience. The staff was phenomenal, and the food was as well exceptional as always. We feted a special occasion there, and the restaurant accommodated us to the extreme. It was a very memorable night. Thank you!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 3, 2018

Celebrated a milestone birthday with 7 others in the party. Food and taste are exceptional. The Chef Pascal really knows what he is doing with his culinary expertise. Great selections on the menu for appetizers and entrees.

Price is on the high end but then again it is to be expected in such a high class restaurant.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 3, 2018

Excellent for Special Occasions. The food is exquisite and service is impeccable. Highly Recommended for Fine Dining options.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 3, 2018

60th birthday celebration.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 2, 2018

An amazing find! In the style of an old roadhouse inn, the decor and food are delightful. A four course meal is the design of the menu. The lobster bisque was a little shy on the lobster, but tasted great. Duck breast main course as well as the meat medley main courses were perfect. Save room for the chocolate soufflé for dessert. With the amuse bouche between courses, we had a very relaxing evening.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 1, 2018

The food was absolutely amazing. This is definitely the place to go if you want fantastic French cuisine. Not to mention the place is adorable. With a slightly relaxed atmosphere this was upscale and comfortable all at the same time. We were also in love with the wine recommendation we received and since then have gone out to purchase a similar bottle from the same region. I’m quite sure you could order anything on the menu and still be happy, but I had the steak medallions and my husband had the lamb- both were to die for!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 1, 2018

My wife and I hadn't been to L'Auberge since before we were married, and to celebrate our 15th anniversary we went back. If anything, the meal, service, and atmosphere were even better than we'd remembered. Back in the day L'Auberge routinely showed up in Top Ten lists of restaurants, but more recently it has been overshadowed by the many new and fine restaurants and celebrity chefs in the DC area. Not to worry, as it turned out. We were warmly greeted with anniversary wishes, and given a table with a view of the outside dining area and gardens. The house aperitif was delicious, as was the cremant and poire "cocktail". The sommelier gave good guidance on wines for dinner, with a nicely priced half bottle of Bordeaux. The fennel soup amuse bouche was hearty, and set the perfect beginning to our meals. The appetizers kept up the pace, as did the house salad with home grown greens - nicely sized leaves not overly dressed. After orange sorbet to cleanse the palate, our entrees of sole and rack of lamb did not disappoint; the accompanying vegetables were not mere afterthoughts either. We had ordered baked alaska and Grand Marnier souffle for dessert, but before they came out we were surprised with a meringue for our anniversary, perhaps the best I have ever had with its melt-in-your-mouth meringue accompanying ice cream and sorbet. The desserts were just as good. At the end we felt full but not overstuffed, which is the best way to leave a meal.

All in all it was a wonderful evening in the country, perhaps pricy for everyday dining but worth every penny.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 1, 2018

Memorable celebration of our 50th Anniversary: superb food, service, table on the terrace, birds chirping in the beautiful gardens around us!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 1, 2018

A Classy Restaurant From Start to Finish!

This is a place to keep for high-caliber events, with top service, a wide range of food choices, unexpected gems (the garlic bread, the free offering of fennel soup offered to start off a meal, the desserts, the organic chicken, the free glass of wine that accompanies the prix fixe luncheon its own availability representing a winner, the free dessert provided if you inform the restaurant of your meal being to celebrate a birthday or other special event), and a beautiful setting, both inside and outside. You feel like you've been transported to a Swiss chalet set in the woods of Virginia. One slightly disappointing item on the menu: the fairly bland salad that accompanied our prix fixe luncheon. But overall, what an experience! As long-time visitors here, we're proud that our now grown sons have appreciated eating here right from age 10 and up! (One son even insisted that we take him here for to celebrate his high school graduation.)

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 29, 2018

We have eaten at L'Auberge several times over 20 years for special occasions because it is such an exceptional restaurant from all perspectives - ambiance, service, selection and quality of menu items. Special favorites are Lobster Bisque, their breads, split pea soup (served as an enticer), lobster salad, beef bourginoine. Save room for desert though - grand marnier souffle is delicious. I doubt that you can go wrong with anything off their menu, but a special value is presented in their afternoon prix fixe menu, which includes a small glass of rose wine. We ate in their lovely outside garden area and practically had the place to ourselves in the early afternoon.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
118

Tweets by L'Auberge Chez Francois