Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.99mi
  2. Distance: 3.29mi
  3. Distance: 3.72mi
  4. Distance: 3.75mi
  1. Distance: 1.99mi
  2. Distance: 3.29mi
  3. Distance: 3.72mi
  4. Distance: 3.75mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.99mi
  2. Distance: 3.29mi
  3. Distance: 3.72mi
  4. Distance: 3.75mi
  1. Distance: 1.99mi
  2. Distance: 3.29mi
  3. Distance: 3.72mi
  4. Distance: 3.75mi

About L'Auberge Chez Francois

Welcome to L'Auberge Chez François, our French country inn a short distance from the nation's capital that has captivated visitors for over 60 years. L'Auberge Chez François is the ideal spot to celebrate special moments, private parties, luncheons, weddings and cooking demonstrations. Our menu is extensive and full of the flavors of Alsace and traditional French cuisine. Excellent food and service, attention to detail and a casually elegant atmosphere are hallmarks that have made L'Auberge Chez François a Washington favorite! We hope that you will enjoy your visit with us.

332 Springvale Road
Great Falls, VA 22066
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Lunch:
Tuesday – Saturday: 11:30am – 1:30pm'
Sunday: 12:00pm – 3:00pm

Dinner:
Tuesday – Friday: 5:00pm – 9:00pm
Saturday: 4:30pm – 9:30pm
Sunday: 12:00pm – 7:30pm

Cross Street:
Beach Mill Road

Dress Code:
Jacket Preferred

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(703) 759-3800

Website:
http://www.laubergechezfrancois.com/

Parking Details:
Self parking

Executive Chef:
Jacques E. Haeringer

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
L'Auberge Chez Francois loves special events! From Cooking Demos and Lunches led by Chef Jacques Haeringer; to Wine, Champagne and Artisinal Beer Dinners with Paul and Alex, Our Garden to Table Grand Dinners on our lovely outdoor terrace; Our new music series dinners at L'Auberge events, and so many more.
See our website for a complete list of our special events, and sign up for our monthly newsletter delivered right to your inbox! Our special events sell out quickly. Here's our link.

http://laubergechezfrancois.fbmta.com/members/UpdateProfile.aspx?Action=Subscribe/%22

Special events are always just that..special at L'Auberge Chez Francois!
We are proud to carry the honor of "Best Special Events Restaurant" voted by our diners, merci beaucoup!

Private Dining

Celebrate life's special moments, weddings, corporate luncheons or dinners, holiday parties or "just want-to-party" events in one of L'Auberge Chez François warm and inviting dining rooms or outside terrace. Specializing in offering complete menus, we can accommodate groups from 25-100 persons.

L'Auberge Chez Francois Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

4.9

ambience

4.8

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (163)
Worth the Drive (135)
Good for Anniversaries (135)
See All
Romantic (126)
Good for Birthdays (95)
Good for a Date (95)
Fit for Foodies (85)
Quiet Conversation (83)
Authentic (83)
Cozy (71)
Notable Wine List (64)
Fireplace (59)
Neighborhood Gem (58)
Creative Cuisine (53)
Sunday Lunch (44)
Great for Lunch (43)
Business Meals (36)
Local Ingredients (35)
Historic (34)
Great for Outdoor Dining (31)
Seasonal (26)
Outstanding Value (24)
Great for Brunch (24)
Handcrafted Cocktails (22)
Good for Groups (21)
Scenic View (19)
Comfort Food (19)
Gluten Free Options (15)
Fun (14)
Tasting Menu (11)
Private Room (10)
Healthy (7)
People Watching (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Disabled Access (6)
Molecular Gastronomy (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Organic (5)
Casual (4)
Family Style (4)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Great Beer (3)
Wood Oven (3)
Kid-friendly (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
S
3926 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

I can always count on all the folks to make a special occasion even more so, If you are a fan of Pinot Noir, I highly suggest the Pommard. We had 2 bottles and I have been looking for more ever since.
Thank you Jacques Haeringer, magnificent as always my friend.
I will be looking forward to your videos & postings on Facebook , Cheers ,
Parris Pleger
President
Interstate Auto Lenders, Llc

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

Wonderful meal and outstanding service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

Last of a dying breed. A restaurant that maintains order and pays homage to its Alsatian roots. In a world of cucumber foam and molecular gastronomy, L'auberge chez Francois must be recorded for posterity. Will be back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 19, 2017

We went for a special family birthday, fabulous dinner, great service, elegant

Tags: Historic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Besheer provided outstanding service as well as accommodating my wish to be seated near the fireplace. It was on the occasion of my first wedding anniversary and I wanted to express to my wife how much she means to me. L'Auberge Chez Francois was a critical part of the day and enabled me to have a wonderful, romantic experience with her. We will certainly be back again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 19, 2017

It has been twenty years since we lived in N Virginia and ate here. What a great place for a romantic dinner with your wife or close friends. The food and service are outstanding. Prices are high but in my view fair for the quality.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Fireplace, Cozy, Special Occasion, Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 18, 2017

The talents and classic- dining gravitas of the waitstaff and chef are refreshingly evident here, resulting in a truly memorable meal.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Fireplace, Private Room, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Organic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We went to celebrate our children's 18 and 21 birthday. They enjoyed the experience - we all loved the food - and it was a great way to get 2.5 hours of uninterrupted family time.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 18, 2017

My absolute family restaurant in the Washington DC area. This restaurant is elegant and the attention to detail is outstanding. It is a wonderful combination of classic French dining with an Alsatian/Germanic country influence. This is a very special dining venue.

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Fireplace, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Always wonderful Alsatian menu! Absolutely beautiful dining rooms with a gorgeous patio.
Lunch pre-fixe is a real great value. This is a wonderful restaurant in which to spend hours with friends enjoying the food, wine, and atmosphere.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We experienced another amazing meal at L'Auberge Chez Francois. Although an expensive meal, it is worth every penny because the food is always perfect, decadent and rememberable. The service is always top notch. It's an event. It's special, and that's how I like to enjoy good food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Almost everything was great except the puréed broccoli. It just go well with our lobster. My guest and I just ate a small portion. I hope the chef took that as a message.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 17, 2017

L'Auberge Chez Francois is a special place and we have celebrated many birthdays and anniversaries there as well as dinner with family or friends in the restaurant or Jacques' Brasserie. This was a special occasion, our 50th wedding anniversary, and truly the evening could not have been more perfect. The featured rockfish dish was creative and delicious. My husband raved about the mussels appetizer and the lobster and crab entree, which was beautiful in presentation. And, of course, the Grand Marnier souffle was as always - magnificent. Richard was our waiter and he was personable as well as professional. Such a pleasure to dine at this cozy quiet restaurant with the best of food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 15, 2017

The setting and history behind L'Auberge Chez François was amazing. So authenticly Alsace-Lorraine and the attention to detail and advice amazing. Lots of history around Chef François and what his live represented, as well as his passion for great dining, come alive in this setting in a quiet, unpretentious suburb of Washington DC. This is a must dining experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Historic, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Still spectacular after all these years. Everything just tastes great. Go every year on anniversary. Service outstanding. Has become an old friend.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 12, 2017

More than 30 years of eating here I would rate it the best restaurant in the DC area I have never been disappointed in the food or service. To me the beef cheeks for an appetizer is to die for

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Memorable !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 12, 2017

A lovely meal, fine service, nice atmosphere. Perfect for a special occasion.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Perfect every time

Tags: Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 12, 2017

This is consistently the best restaurant we go to. We travel 90 minutes to get there, and it is always worth it. The food is always perfect as is the service. They grow their own veggies and source locally. Will continue to go there as often as we can!

Tags: Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 11, 2017

In this charming and welcoming atmosphere, lunch is a relaxing experience . The available prix- fixe menu offers an excellent selection of appetizers, salad, entrees and desserts. Service is both superb and unhurried. The presentation of all courses is beautifully done. Everything was delicious. Lunch with friends at L'Auberge is a treat to anticipate and will not disappoint.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 11, 2017

It was all it is known for….great French cuisine, perfect service, great atmosphere. Just as good as I remembered it and it was not too expensive…although not cheap by any means. Worth it!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 10, 2017

It had been about nineteen years since my wife and I had last gone to L'Auberge, but it had come to mind now and then since. For my wife's birthday, I thought it about time to return . . . and we're glad we did. The setting, the atmosphere was better than we remembered. The food was an excellent experience, and we forgot all about the 'in between' treats provided; so much so, that I had to take some of my main course home, as I was so full! Our waiter, originally from Egypt, was a very pleasant and helpful professional. He added to the completely non-rush experience . . . again, something we had forgotten and had to re-adjust to! For us, this is at the top of the list for 'special occasion' restaurants.

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Special Occasion, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 10, 2017

While the food at L'Auberge Chez Francois was certainly excellent, it was the service that really set it apart for us. Old school in the best way. My wife and I were celebrating our 37th anniversary and we were extremely satisfied. The setting is on a quiet road in Great Falls and the dining rooms are not loud. Very highly recommended and on par with the best restaurants in the DC and we have eaten at most of them. A side note is their brasserie serves its own menu and was very popular when we were there. We didn't see it as it was downstairs (and we could not hear it either) but it has a strong following. So, in summary, one of my favorite places in 15 years of dining in the DC area.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 8, 2017

This was a repeat visit and disappointing. The special cheese salad and the raspberry soufle, both upcharge items, were excellent, but the pate de foie gras and the lobster entree were not. The pate was lacking in taste, the accompanying sauterne mediocre. In the main course, there was a decided mismatch in the flavors of the lobster and the sauce. There was a time when this was the only choice in the area for really fine dining, but now there are options. However, based on the history of this establishment and its proximity, I probably will return and hope for better.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 6, 2017

We've been going to L'Auberge Chez Francois for special occasions since 1980 - anniversaries, engagements, big birthdays (took each child here for their 21st). Every single time has been perfect. The food, the ambiance, the service. The wait staff is impeccable, they give you just enough time between courses without rushing you, yet they anticipate your every request. The ambiance is quiet enough to hear your dinner companions, welcoming and warm and relaxing. There are no bad tables here but if you're lucky enough to get one by the fireplace in winter, enjoy feeling pampered! It's expensive but we've never had less than a stellar meal, from the delicious garlic bread and cheese spread at the start, to the amuse bouche, the simple but perfect salad, sorbet to cleanse the palate, the appetizers, entrees and desserts, all fabulous. Last time we shared the chateaubriand for two. We don't eat a lot of beef but this is so incredibly delicious we can't resist. Make sure to order a souffle at the beginning of the meal so it's ready for your dessert. Gran Marnier and Hazelnut are our favorites. We've probably been to L'Auberge 20 or more times over the years and hope to keep going back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 5, 2017

I've been to L'Auberge several times over the years and I regret to say this dinner just wasn't up to previous experiences. Service was cheery but haphazard and the food was good but not exceptional except for the goat cheese salad and the amuse bouche fennel soup. This is normally a terrific restaurant so I'm hoping we just experienced an off night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Amazing as always. A special request was not a problem for my wife's birthday dinner. No doubt my favorite restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Fantastic French restaurant that I have always had a fantastic meal and a lovely time.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Wood Oven, Healthy, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Historic, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Excellent as always. We like to go for lunch on Sunday. 4 course meal including appetizer, salad, entree and dessert for the price of the selected entree (in the 40-49 range). Note a few choices cost a bit extra such as the caesar salad. The food is excellent and the service is excellent. I especially enjoyed the frog legs on this last visit. Very tasty lemony flavor with capers.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fireplace, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Chez Francois truly has a charming Southern French countryside feel from the decor to dishes. If you have two to three hours to spend for conversation, amazing food and service, I could not recommend this enough.

I came here for Sunday brunch with a friend and we were blown away by the incredible service. The food was extraordinary in its own right. I would say compared to other restaurants I've been to, this has a more laid back vibe. Chez Francois, from the outside to interior decor is more cottage like and less modern. I find it charming and great for a dining experience with friends and family rather than business.

The price was actually not as expensive as I thought it would be. For four courses (plus complimentary items), about $50 per head is a steal, especially for the service. The location is a bit out of the way, but if you're willing to make the drive, it is well worth it.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 4, 2017

One word: Divine.
The rest of the wording here is to satisfy Open Table's requirement for 50. characters.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 4, 2017

The service was great, and the food was excellent. The restaurant has a cozy feel, and st the same time, you know you are somewhere out of the ordinary.

Tags: Fireplace, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 4, 2017

My husband and I were celebrating our anniversary. I have been to the restaurant prior to this occasion, but it was my husband's first time. He simply loved it! Food was excellent, attention to detail, and our waiter fabulous!

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Afternoon Coffee, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 4, 2017

A last minute decision of where to celebrate a major milestone birthday resulted in an early seating (5:15 pm) as later seatings were full. Because of this, there was a better choice of tables. They seated us at a round table for four and cleared the extra place settings. (Couples who arrived later were seated at tables for two.) It was very quiet when we arrived but by the time we left and the restaurant filled up, it was quite noisy. Having said that, we were still able to have a conversation without straining or raising our voices. The food here is delicious and well-prepared. The dinners are fixed price and several courses, with your choice of entree determining the price; but the selection of each course is extensive and varied enough to satisfy the pickiest eater. The service is wonderful: the waiters are familiar enough with the menu to make knowledgeable recommendations. They are polite, helpful, relaxed, and discreet. What struck me most was how relaxed our dinner was. At no time did we feel rushed to finish our dinner. Even as the restaurant filled up, service was nicely paced. Indeed, the waiter insisted there was no reason to rush. It is definitely the place for a special celebration, and well worth it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 4, 2017

A classic. Dining at L'Auberge is an exceptional experience. Every aspect is of the highest quality and in terms of ambience, it is a virtual trip to a Michelin starred restaurant in the heart of the Alsatian region of France, where we have visited many times. On this latest occasion, we were celebrating a Birthday and took our 28 year old son and his girlfriend for their first visit. Both were awestruck and said repeatedly that it was the best meal and dining experience they had ever enjoyed. Unquestionably, L'Auberge Chez Francois is our favorite and we highly recommend it!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Outstanding food and service with a wide menu selection. This place is the BEST in the area!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Delicious lunch with excellent service. Melt in your mouth steak and terrific veggies. The soufflé was gorgeous and perfectly cooked. Lovely time was had for an anniversary celebration.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 4, 2017

We have dined at L'Auberge many times, and each time has been a memorable pleasure. The service is discrete yet attentive, the feeling of the dining room exceptionally comfortable, and the food always reminds one of why one goes to a fine restaurant. I look forward to the "amuse bouche" served at the beginning of every meal (a leeks and potato soup), and never tire of the bouillabaisse. The soufflés and baked alaska are not too heavy and finish off the meal superbly.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 4, 2017

The best food and service in the dc area! Romantic, impressive, phoenominal food and good for conversation. Impressed guests by taking them here. Authentic French cuisine. You can't do wrong. Everything we've ever ordered has been spectacular!

Tags: Fun, Outstanding Value, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.