About L'Auberge Chez Francois

332 Springvale Road
Great Falls, VA 22066
View Larger Map

Travellers in the beautiful Alsatian countryside, seek out "auberge", the little family inns that dot the roadsides, to eat well and enjoy the scenery. They know they will find fine food and glowing spirits, at an excellent value. Welcome to L"Auberge Chez François, our French country inn a short distance from the nation's capital, nestled among lush woods and fragrant gardens, that has captivated visitors for over 60 years. L'Auberge Chez François is the ideal spot to celebrate special moments, private parties,luncheons, weddings and cooking demonstrations. Our menu is extensive and full of the flavors of Alsace and traditional French cuisine. Excellent food and service, attention to detail and a casually elegant atmosphere are hallmarks that have made L'Auberge Chez François a Washington favorite! We sincerely hope that you will enjoy your visit with us. Reservations for Jacques' Brasserie at L'Auberge can be made through Open Table at L'Auberge Chez Francois-Jacques' Brasserie.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
L'AUBERGE CHEZ FRANÇOIS:
Lunch: Tuesday - Saturday: 11:30AM - 1:30PM, Sunday: 12:00PM - 3:00PM; Dinner: Tuesday - Friday: 5:00PM - 9:00PM, Saturday: 4:30PM - 9:30PM,
Sunday: 12:00PM - 7:30PM
JACQUES' BRASSERIE AT L'AUBERGE and BAR ROUGE:
Tuesday - Friday: 11:30 AM- 1:30 PM; 5:00PM - 9:00PM
Saturday - 11:30 AM - 1:30 PM; 4:30 PM - 9:30PM
Sunday - 12:00PM - 7:30PM

Cross Street:
Beach Mill Road

Dress Code:
Jacket Preferred

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(703) 759-3800

Website:
http://www.laubergechezfrancois.com/

Parking Details:
Self parking

Executive Chef:
Jacques E. Haeringer

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), View, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
L'Auberge Chez Francois loves special events! From Cooking Demos and Lunches led by Chef Jacques Haeringer; to Wine, Champagne and Artisinal Beer Dinners with Paul and Alex, Our Garden to Table Grand Dinners on our lovely outdoor terrace; Our new music series dinners at L'Auberge events, and so many more.
See our website for a complete list of our special events, and sign up for our monthly newsletter delivered right to your inbox! Our special events sell out quickly. Here's our link.

http://laubergechezfrancois.fbmta.com/members/UpdateProfile.aspx?Action=Subscribe/%22

Special events are always just that..special at L'Auberge Chez Francois!
We are proud to carry the honor of "Best Special Events Restaurant" voted by our diners, merci beaucoup!

Restaurant Photos

L'Auberge Chez Francois
L'Auberge Chez Francois
L'Auberge Chez Francois
L'Auberge Chez Francois
L'Auberge Chez Francois
L'Auberge Chez Francois
L'Auberge Chez Francois
L'Auberge Chez Francois
L'Auberge Chez Francois
L'Auberge Chez Francois
L'Auberge Chez Francois
L'Auberge Chez Francois
L'Auberge Chez Francois
L'Auberge Chez Francois
L'Auberge Chez Francois
L'Auberge Chez Francois
L'Auberge Chez Francois
L'Auberge Chez Francois
L'Auberge Chez Francois
L'Auberge Chez Francois
L'Auberge Chez Francois
L'Auberge Chez Francois
L'Auberge Chez Francois
Cheesecake
Chocolate Tarte
Chocolate  Soufflé
Iles Flotantes
Chocolate Souflé
Escargot
Sweetbreads
Pâté
Plum Tart
Duck Foie Gras
Oysters with mignonette
Duck Breast Salad
Foie Gras
House Salad
Maine Lobster & Lump Crab W/Sauternes Butter
Key Lime Tart
Tomato Salad
Le Saute Gourmande Papa Ernest
Cream of Asparagus Soup
Champagne Appertif
Garlic Bread & Alsacien Cheese Spread
Beef Bourguignon
Le Picon Biere
Souflé De Grand Marnier
Sweetbreads With Foie Gras

Private Dining

Celebrate life's special moments, weddings, corporate luncheons or dinners, holiday parties or "just want-to-party" events in one of L'Auberge Chez François warm and inviting dining rooms or outside terrace. Specializing in offering complete menus, we can accommodate groups from 25-100 persons.

L'Auberge Chez Francois Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Washington, D.C. Area
Best Food
Washington, D.C. Area
Best Service
Washington, D.C. Area
12 More
Best Ambiance
Washington, D.C. Area
Romantic
Washington, D.C. Area
Special Occasion
Washington, D.C. Area
French
Washington, D.C. Area
Best Overall
Virginia - DC Suburbs
Best Food
Virginia - DC Suburbs
Best Service
Virginia - DC Suburbs
Best Ambiance
Virginia - DC Suburbs
Best Value
Virginia - DC Suburbs
Romantic
Virginia - DC Suburbs
Special Occasion
Virginia - DC Suburbs
French
Virginia - DC Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Great Falls ›

special occasion (296)
romantic (242)
fit for foodies (201)
See All
notable wine list (128)
great for outdoor dining (125)
neighborhood gem (100)
great for lunch (94)
scenic view (79)
good for groups (65)
great for brunch (46)
hot spot (11)
kid-friendly (10)
late-night find (6)
vibrant bar scene (3)
Sort By:
Newest
3262 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Beautiful setting. We sat outside. Sur ...

Dined 5 days ago

Beautiful setting. We sat outside. Surprising how far apart the tables are; they could fit alot more tables on the patio, but it would definitely change the atmosphere. Our waiter was attentive and pleasant. Food is fairly expensive, fresh. My husband's Delmonico was medium, and he requested medium rare. Said the flavor was so-so. I enjoyed my appetizer, salad, main course and dessert. I would definitely go again and again. It's lovely.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

L'auberge chez Francois has been a Washi ...

Dined 5 days ago

L'auberge chez Francois has been a Washington institution for decades. It offers excellent food and wonderful service. One is always treated as a special guest. We like it not only for romantic evenings but also for special occasions. It is always a treat to dine here.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

An idyllic setting out on the patio in t ...

vip
Dined 5 days ago

An idyllic setting out on the patio in the warm weather. Impeccable service as we always expect from L'Auberge Chez Francois. We had the mixed grill and filets of trout and both were ample and delicious. The pacing is leisurely and never rushed. We thoroughly enjoyed it.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

My wife an I have gone to L'Auberge Che ...

Dined 5 days ago

My wife an I have gone to L'Auberge Chez Francois many times over the years to celebrate special occasions or just if the weather is nice. Their outdoor patio is very nice. While a bit expensive for everyday dining, the lunch prices are reasonable for the occasional mild spurge. Un this case, my wife wanted our 2 year old (and six month old) to experience the quality of food and ambiance that the restaurant provides. I had mixed feelings, in part because the experience is usually several hours long and , well our daughter is two. Lunch ended up taking over three hours as they were swamped at Father's Day- but my daughter loved the food and the garden and the staff was great with her- encouraging and allowing her to roam the gardens between courses. I would not take small kids there often- but it was a nice once in a while treat for her and my wife who enjoyed watching our kids savor the food. (my son loved the soup and veggies)

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Fantastic dining experience. Especially ...

Dined 6 days ago

Fantastic dining experience. Especially sensitive to needs of Gluten Free customers. Knowledgeable and friendly waiters

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I am always amazed at the warm and frien ...

Dined 6 days ago

I am always amazed at the warm and friendly treatment by staff at this restaurant. The perfection of the overall meal and the freshness of the sides adds to the pleasure received by those dinning. The menu is always planned to perfection which is expected. Deserts are decadent and tempting. Always enjoyable and I look forward to my next visit.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We decided to celebrate Fathers' Day wit ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

We decided to celebrate Fathers' Day with lunch on the patio (one day early). The gardens are beautiful, the weather cooperated, our waitress (from Turkey) was wonderful, and the food was exceptional. It was so relaxing! The fixed price is very reasonable, particularly because a half glass of wine was included. Try the elderflower champagne appertif. We have already made Sunday Brunch reservations for August while our daughter is visiting.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Dinner for four at six on a Thursday. W ...

vip
Dined on June 16, 2016

Dinner for four at six on a Thursday. We love this destination restaurant. Located on a quiet country corner north of Reston VA, well away from the noise and bustle of DC. The true French restaurant is a must visit for any food enthusiast on the East Coast. We have been visiting for over 20 years and during each visit we have experienced exquisite food, service, and drinks. My only regret is that it is a bit far from my home in Alexandria. We love to visit here to celebrate life.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another delicious experience. We are al ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

Another delicious experience. We are always torn between trying a new dish, or sticking with one we kmow is superb. At this restaurant, there is no wrong answer.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is, by a long shot, our favorite re ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

This is, by a long shot, our favorite restaurant. Great food, friendly and attentive service, a fine regional touch (Alsatian), and a marvelous setting -- particularly the outdoor garden in good weather.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is outstanding. Service is attentiv ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

Food is outstanding. Service is attentive but not intrusive. Great for birthdays, anniversaries, and other celebrations.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been coming here for 30 years fo ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

We have been coming here for 30 years for special occasions and other meals. The food, service, and atmosphere have always been outstanding. They were for this visit too.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

one of the best restaurants in DC metro ...

vip
Dined on June 12, 2016

one of the best restaurants in DC metro after decades of operation. The team at Chez Francois always delivers!!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our first time, and it fully lived up to ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Our first time, and it fully lived up to its reputation. As the weather was great and they had plenty of patio tables, we ate outside and it was wonderful. One dessert was just so-so, but all the other food was outstanding. And the service could not be beat -- every employee exuded professionalism and old world courtesy. It is not cheap, but they are very clear about their prices. We couldn't have asked for a better evening.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Although not the most innovative cuisine ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Although not the most innovative cuisine, Chez Francois remains a favorite special occasion destination. Quality of food and service remains very high and the French country ambience retains it charm. A lovely way to spend a late spring evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I am always amazed at how L'Auberge Chez ...

vip
Dined on June 11, 2016

I am always amazed at how L'Auberge Chez Francois is able to maintain its exceptional kitchen and service staff consistently for the decades I have been dining with them. The sommelier offered us amazing wine pairings for our courses, from a stellar wine cellar. As I did in the early 80s when I first dined there, I can only highly recommend it to you, especially for a special occasion or when you are looking for a private romantic setting.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

We sat outside on a beautiful spring nig ...

vip
Dined on June 10, 2016

We sat outside on a beautiful spring night and enjoyed the outstanding service and fabulous food as the day turned to night. Always reliable, always special and always a perfect spot for a celebration or special occasion.

food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Overall OK, not exceptional

vip
Dined on June 8, 2016

Don't waste your money on the escargot. We have eaten much better at other places. The main entrees were excellent but my primary disappointment was with our server. With the extreme cost of dinner the servers are going to make a fantastic tip, and it shows. The service staff are effective, but not pleasant. Ours was very arrogant. When you're dropping over $300 for dinner, I don't need the server trying to upsell me to $150 bottle of wine. We had ordered the supercharged dessert (the soufflé) which was excellent, but when it came to coffees our waiter offered us a choice of regular, or cappuccino. We clearly asked if the cappuccino was included and he said it was, however when the check arrived there was a nine dollar surcharge. We questioned this, and the server said it was not included, but no discussion as to not charging. So we leave the restaurant with this aftertaste, and definitely not recommending for anyone else to try. Rather poor training for the staff . Overall, too many add-ons and up sells. Will not return, but the food was good.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious Birthday Dinner

vip
Dined on June 7, 2016

I went to L'Auberge Chez Francois for my birthday dinner with my husband and 7.5 month old daughter. We got an early reservation as we had our little one with us. I believe we may have been the first guests there for the night at 5:15pm. Overall the experience and food was superb. The waiter (sorry I forgot his name) was so nice and attentive. In most other fancy restaurants they would not be happy with our little squirmy one but he and the waiter in training tried their best to be accommodating to our needs (we didn't have much other than hot water to warm up her bottle). The food was delicious. It was a pre fixe meal with 4 courses (in reality with dishes from the chef we received 8 dishes). The early reservation turned out to be a good idea since dinner took 2.5hrs. We weren't in a rush but something to note for next time. The souffles are so good. They are made to order so came out pipping hot. Our appetizers and entrees all came out pipping hot and was delicious. We will be back to try other dishes! I highly recommend you give L'Auberge Chez Francois a try.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Always a pleasure to dine at Chez Francois!

Dined on June 7, 2016

A friend that used to live in Great Falls was in from California, where she now lives. We decided to go to L'Auberge Chez Francois and were glad we made that choice. We had a wonderful lunch, ate too much of their delicious garlic and seeded bread...skipped dessert but had a great fish and salad. Thoroughly enjoyable lunch.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Always classic, but not so classically A ...

Dined on June 5, 2016

Always classic, but not so classically Alsatian this time....and certainly not sufficiently generous with table space! It's been a few years since our last visit, & we picked it again for a special celebration family dinner, marking a college graduation. As usual, the caliber of the restaurant doesn't fail -- classic service, truly an evening out. BUT....we were all surprised (as people who have lived near & spent considerable time in Alsace) that the menu really veered away from the restaurant's Alsatian roots. Lots & lots & lots of seafood on the menu (crab, crab-stuffed fish, shrimp, scallops, lobster -- not very classically Alsatian foodstuffs), but very few dishes that would be recognizable in Alsace. Oh well, well-prepared & delicious, just not what we were expecting. Our biggest complaint of the evening, though, was the size of the table, especially given reservations made well in advance, for what appeared to be a fairly quiet Sunday evening in the restaurant. Five people squished into a table for four is never comfortable, but given the number of glasses, bread & appetizer plates, and then an amuse bouche from the chef -- the table was both completely dysfunctional & a challenge for our extremely skilled server. Not a relaxing proposition.... Probably won't be back again for years at this rate.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday Celebration

Dined on June 5, 2016

We had a very nice dinner and the service was perfect. Abel was very attentive and his food recommendations were spot on. The wine and food were very good. I forgot how much I like this restaurant. We'll be back again soon.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A perfect night out every single time.

Dined on June 5, 2016

L'Auberge has been the best restaurant in the D.C. area for as long as I can remember. The food is spectacular, the ambiance is wonderful--I actually like it better in cold weather when the fireplaces are going and the staff does everything in its power--from the minute you walk into the restaurant--to make you feel comfortable, welcome and about to have a great evening. My wife and I go three times a year: Valentine's Day; our anniversary and the day after Thanksgiving after we've taken the kids out to buy the Christmas tree and get it decorated. Arguably my favorite day of the year and the climax is always seeing the lights of L'Auberge as we drive up and know what is ahead of us. The only problem is picking ONE entree to order because each is so good. And no, I don't work for L'Auberge, I'm not related to Chef Jacques or anyone else there, I've just been fortunate enough to enjoy it since I was a teen-ager many years ago and my parents began taking me there at the old location.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect place ever

Dined on June 5, 2016

Nice place for a special occasion and our kids were very warmly welcomed. As an Alsatian, I really appreciated having the atmosphere of my country. People were kind with our kids and friends. Food was perfect, and I am not speaking about the desserts ! Thank you, we will definitely be back !

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been many times to this restaura ...

Dined on June 5, 2016

We have been many times to this restaurant for special occasions, and once again, we had a wonderful experience. Our waiter, David, was not only knowledgeable about the food, but went above an beyond to provide us with the best experience possible. We will definitely be back !!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always lovely

Dined on June 4, 2016

Wonderful food and service in a beautiful and quiet garden. a Delightful way to celebrate wedding anniversaries with friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Overall great experience... but

Dined on June 4, 2016

Been here several times, but this time my main course was not up to par with the past. I had the scallops and failed to meet my expectations. Everything else was great!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Traditional French Dining

vip
Dined on June 3, 2016

L'Auberge Chez Francois maintains their status as the only Mid-Atlantic establishment committed to providing diners a traditional French meal, in a relaxed and enjoyable environment, free of excess noise, allowing patrons to enjoy the company of their fellow diners as well as the food. Six courses is the standard and each one enjoyable. While the wine list is impressive and many worthy bottles from the great regions are included, they are also happy to indulge patrons with their own cellar with a $40 corkage (somewhat on the high side compared to other fine dining establishments, but worth it). Highly recommend the chateaubriand.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

As usual, everything was up to par..

Dined on June 3, 2016

The ambiance is superb, the food is excellent and well prepared. The service could not have been more attentive and helpful. We ordered from the a la carte menu - too much food with their "standard multi-course meal, and it was perfect. We had a tasted bread with cream cheese to spread, olus delicous other Eurpean-style breads. They aslo brought a very small, narrow cup with a handle of their delicious cream of asparagus soup and also a small dish of what appeared to be a pureed vegetable. Our souffles were terrific! We'll return soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful place

Dined on June 2, 2016

I love this restaurant. I especially love its idyllic patio when weather permits. The food is magnificent , the service peerless. For lunch especially, the value is good but bring an appetite. And relax and enjoy. My latest visit was a celebration and we took 3 hours --- it was wonderful.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Lobster bisque and chocolate soufflé are ...

Dined on May 29, 2016

Lobster bisque and chocolate soufflé are especially amazing

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A 4-star experience all around. Everythi ...

Dined on May 29, 2016

A 4-star experience all around. Everything was perfect: food, service, ambiance and location.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Special Treat

Dined on May 29, 2016

Great place for a special occasion. Very nice food, service and ambience. Waiter was very knowledgeable about choices - and portion size! We'll be back .

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Very Pleasant Afternoon

Dined on May 29, 2016

Sat outside on a lovely afternoon for the multi-course prix fixe Sunday luncheon. Overall food quality was good with attentive, but not intrusive service. The only glitch was that I had called and inquired about their corkage policy and was told that it was $40, a little high, but the fee would be waived if we ordered a bottle from their list, which we did. However, the corkage charge appeared on our check. I was told that there was no corkage waiver policy despite what I had been told. There was no dispute, however, and they graciously removed the charge. Would be happy to return.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful experience....Freddie was a te ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

Wonderful experience....Freddie was a terrific server.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious birthday celebration!

Dined on May 26, 2016

What a beautiful setting! The service was perfect - we were treated royally by everyone we met. And the food was outstanding! We had been there years ago and it was still as memorable as it was then - and I look forward to going again!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went here for a special birthday celebra ...

vip
Dined on May 25, 2016

Went here for a special birthday celebration and it was just an awesome evening of amazing food and impeccable service. If you want to do something special, this is a great choice. Highlights were the frog legs, dover sole, specialty starter beverage and dessert. We can't wait to try the Bistro.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service4

A beautiful spot with well prepared food ...

vip
Dined on May 25, 2016

A beautiful spot with well prepared food and charming staff. Alsatian classics plus all the Chez Francois touches, great bread, plus a little something from the chef, the waiter can pretty much add or subtract anything to your plate. They want you to enjoy your meal. I find the lunch pre fixe to an excellent value.

food4
ambience5
service4

For a lunch on the lovely terrace on a s ...

vip
Dined on May 25, 2016

For a lunch on the lovely terrace on a sunny late spring afternoon you cannot find a more delightful place in the DMV.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was delicious and the service ...

Dined on May 24, 2016

Everything was delicious and the service was outstanding. The only negative was the chairs can become quite uncomfortable after just 30 mins let alone 2 hrs.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.