About L'Auberge Chez Francois

332 Springvale Road
Great Falls, VA 22066
View Larger Map

Travellers in the beautiful Alsatian countryside, seek out "auberge", the little family inns that dot the roadsides, to eat well and enjoy the scenery. They know they will find fine food and glowing spirits, at an excellent value. Welcome to L"Auberge Chez François, our French country inn a short distance from the nation's capital, nestled among lush woods and fragrant gardens, that has captivated visitors for over 60 years. L'Auberge Chez François is the ideal spot to celebrate special moments, private parties,luncheons, weddings and cooking demonstrations. Our menu is extensive and full of the flavors of Alsace and traditional French cuisine. Excellent food and service, attention to detail and a casually elegant atmosphere are hallmarks that have made L'Auberge Chez François a Washington favorite! We sincerely hope that you will enjoy your visit with us. Reservations for Jacques' Brasserie at L'Auberge can be made through Open Table at L'Auberge Chez Francois-Jacques' Brasserie.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
L'AUBERGE CHEZ FRANÇOIS:
Lunch: Tuesday - Saturday: 11:30AM - 1:30PM, Sunday: 12:00PM - 3:00PM; Dinner: Tuesday - Friday: 5:00PM - 9:00PM, Saturday: 4:30PM - 9:30PM,
Sunday: 12:00PM - 7:30PM
JACQUES' BRASSERIE AT L'AUBERGE and BAR ROUGE:
Tuesday - Friday: 11:30 AM- 1:30 PM; 5:00PM - 9:00PM
Saturday - 11:30 AM - 1:30 PM; 4:30 PM - 9:30PM
Sunday - 12:00PM - 7:30PM

Cross Street:
Beach Mill Road

Dress Code:
Jacket Preferred

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(703) 759-3800

Website:
http://www.laubergechezfrancois.com/

Parking Details:
Self parking

Executive Chef:
Jacques E. Haeringer

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), View, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
L'Auberge Chez Francois loves special events! From Cooking Demos and Lunches led by Chef Jacques Haeringer; to Wine, Champagne and Artisinal Beer Dinners with Paul and Alex, Our Garden to Table Grand Dinners on our lovely outdoor terrace; Our new music series dinners at L'Auberge events, and so many more.
See our website for a complete list of our special events, and sign up for our monthly newsletter delivered right to your inbox! Our special events sell out quickly. Here's our link.

http://laubergechezfrancois.fbmta.com/members/UpdateProfile.aspx?Action=Subscribe/%22

Special events are always just that..special at L'Auberge Chez Francois!
We are proud to carry the honor of "Best Special Events Restaurant" voted by our diners, merci beaucoup!

Restaurant Photos

Private Dining

Celebrate life's special moments, weddings, corporate luncheons or dinners, holiday parties or "just want-to-party" events in one of L'Auberge Chez François warm and inviting dining rooms or outside terrace. Specializing in offering complete menus, we can accommodate groups from 25-100 persons.

L'Auberge Chez Francois Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Washington, D.C. Area
Best Food
Washington, D.C. Area
Best Service
Washington, D.C. Area
12 More
Best Ambiance
Washington, D.C. Area
Romantic
Washington, D.C. Area
Special Occasion
Washington, D.C. Area
French
Washington, D.C. Area
Best Overall
Virginia - DC Suburbs
Best Food
Virginia - DC Suburbs
Best Service
Virginia - DC Suburbs
Best Ambiance
Virginia - DC Suburbs
Best Value
Virginia - DC Suburbs
Romantic
Virginia - DC Suburbs
Special Occasion
Virginia - DC Suburbs
French
Virginia - DC Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Great Falls ›

special occasion (282)
romantic (236)
fit for foodies (194)
See All
notable wine list (122)
neighborhood gem (96)
great for outdoor dining (93)
great for lunch (92)
scenic view (70)
good for groups (65)
great for brunch (43)
hot spot (11)
kid-friendly (6)
late-night find (5)
vibrant bar scene (3)
Sort By:
Newest
3213 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Garden Splendor

Dined 5 days ago

I've been going to L'Auberge since the 80s and never ceases to amaze me with their quality and service. We had ONE day of sunshine on the day we went, so we asked to be seated in the garden. It always is a relaxed place in the garden to enjoy on a nice day. The waiter made it extra special too.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I go to L'Auberge for many s ...

Dined 6 days ago

My wife and I go to L'Auberge for many special occasions, birthdays. anniversaries, etc. Our dinner there is never less than excellent.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

always great and you can't go wrong - te ...

Dined 7 days ago

always great and you can't go wrong - terrific food, beautiful setting!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

We have been to L'Auberge numerous times ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

We have been to L'Auberge numerous times over the past 40 years for special occasions and this was the first time we have been disappointed. The service and ambiance continue to be superb but the food this time was disappointing. We had four in our party. Neither the onion soup nor the lobster bisque were memorable - the onion soup broth was thin and not well favored, the lobster bisque was under seasoned and tasted more of sherry (?) than lobster. Of our four entrees only the entrecôte aux poivre was outstanding. The special soft shell crabs did not taste fresh, parts of the choucroute were overcooked and the lobster in the lobster and crab dinner was rubbery and overcooked. Desserts (souffle, plum tart, chocolate tart, baked alaska) were delicious - the best part of the meal. Sadly we felt the food was not worth the price and are reluctant to return

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food, service, and ambiance exceede ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

The food, service, and ambiance exceeded our expectations!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

An oldie but goodie

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

We celebrated by sister's birthday with family at L'Auberge. My favorite thing about this restaurant: the service. It's very professional, they don't rush you, they know the menu, and can make good recommendations. The decor is by no means modern...it's definitely a country cottage and it takes time to get to L'Auberge from the city. It's a very pretty drive. I wish the weather was better so we could take advantage of their beautiful outdoor area. I also like that they have their own garden, and everything tasted very fresh. The food was good quality, but you have to like french cuisine. Everything I had was delicious, and I look forward to visiting Francois again. Bon appetit!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing service and food. Took three hou ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Amazing service and food. Took three hours fro six course brunch and enjoyed every minute.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

Everything was very good, but a bit (mor ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Everything was very good, but a bit (more than a bit) pricy for my except for a special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

As always, our whole experience was outs ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

As always, our whole experience was outstanding from arrival to departure. Ambiance, food and service is first class.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding service, food, ambiance, loc ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Outstanding service, food, ambiance, location. We will be going back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Graduation Celebration

Dined on May 13, 2016

While the service and ambiance is wonderful, I am not sure that the $100+ price tag/person is really worth it. Food is really, really good but not out-of-this world.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been to Chez Francois many times ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

We have been to Chez Francois many times and it is always a delight to go to. We took a friend and it was her first time. She took a card with the intention of taking her family. The food is always wonderful and the service you just can't beat. The servers always make you feel very special. We love all of them but especially Tommy. The fixed price menu is a good buy for lunch.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience1
service2

Wanted a special evening with my wife bu ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Wanted a special evening with my wife but instead turned into sitting in a children's playground. When I was about to leave I spoke with the manager and conveyed to him that when spending 500.00 for dinner at such an upscale establishment, one should not have to deal with children running around the restaurant making all kinds of loud noises and parents taking no action to stop them. Nor did the staff make any attempts to ask the families to control their children. The manager's only response to me was a terse "thank you" Furthermore, the food was mediocre at best. We all agreed the French onion soup was better at Panera. And our drinks had little alcohol in them. We were all astonished at the quality of food and drink for the price paid. We think this place must run on prior reputation. My friends and I will not be back , nor will we recommend anyone eat here.

food5
ambience5
service5

Reliably excellent, and satisfyingly com ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Reliably excellent, and satisfyingly complete, as always.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Splendid Combination of Food and Service

Dined on May 7, 2016

This is fine dining as it should be. Relatively simple foods of great quality served in a manner that attends to all needs without intruding. You should understand that this restaurant is not trying to dazzle you with crystal, porcelain and candles. They are offering French country feed and they do it wonderfully. With drinks and wine, expect to spend about $120 per plate-- more if you order from the top end of the wine list. Understand what you are getting into and you will have a wonderful time.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Alsatian French cuisine and exceptional service

Dined on May 7, 2016

The country cottage atmosphere reminded us of a good restaurant in Colmar. The food reminded me of my grandmother's cooking she learned in Germany (Rhineland-Pfalz) just north of the Alsace border. The service was superior, provided by a waiter and busboys who were cordial, but business-like and didn't ask us what we wanted to drink before we'd settled into our chairs. The price was higher than we usually pay for a dinner, but a good value and appropriate for the special occasion we celebrated.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always Excellent

Dined on May 7, 2016

We have been going to this restaurant for many years for special occasions -- birthdays, anniversaries, etc. Though it had been some time since we had been back, we loved the experience. Food, atmosphere, etc. all wonderful. The grand marnier souffle is always wonderful and the food always cooked just right. Lots of variety on the menu, good wine list, great appetizers. One of the prettiest places in the DC area for a special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Eat here.

Dined on May 6, 2016

Just eat here. It's phenominal. Excellent food and wine list.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

A consistent favorite

vip
Dined on May 6, 2016

We have been going to "Auberge for over 30 years for birthdays, anniversaries, Mother's Day, and when we have guests. The restaurant has been our consistent favorite- we can count on menus we likeand the service is always impeccable. Keep it up!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

As usual, it was wonderful.

Dined on May 6, 2016

As usual, it was wonderful.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A true gem in every way

Dined on May 5, 2016

An exquisite dining experience! Outstanding food, impeccable service, and beautiful ambience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Anniversary

vip
Dined on May 5, 2016

We love to celebrate special occasions at L'Auberge - the food is consistently incredible and a wonderful way to have a romantic evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

"Perfect 25 years wedding celebration"

Dined on May 5, 2016

The food and wine were very exquisite it was the perfect date for my wife and I to celebrate our 25th. Wedding anniversary! Everything was perfect that night , I will be back not only for especial occasions but just to enjoy a very delicious dinner with friends and family.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A special place for special,occasions and more

vip
Dined on May 3, 2016

This is our fo-to place for special occasions. The food, the service, the ambiance-it has it all. We always look forward to our next meal there.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our favorite place to celebrate!

Dined on May 3, 2016

We have been coming for over 30 years-since they moved from downtown DC. We have celebrated special times in our lives -- birthdays, anniversaries and just a lovely summer evening in the garden. We have hosted a group of 20 and gone as a couple. Every visit has been pure pleasure!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Very good food in a nice setting

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

The menu offers a great variety of dishes. Everything is prepared with talent and care and the waiters do a good job of informing and serving. I have known this restaurant for many years and my only regret is the distance from my home in Potomac: I would visit it more often were it closer!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A wonderful, delicious, romantic dinner for 2

Dined on April 30, 2016

L'Auberge is the special place I go with my girlfriends for lunch. I got a gift certificate for my birthday and took my husband for dinner. The food was outstanding!! Many wonderful hors d'oeuvres and entrees to choose from on the prix fixe menu. The atmosphere was romantic. It was very busy on Saturday night but the service was still great. The wine recommended with dinner by the sommelier was also outstanding. $$$$ for dinner but worth it on a special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Service suggestion

Dined on April 29, 2016

Service was much slower than we've been accustomed to at this restaurant. The server was quick to promote the prix fixe menu and had to be asked for the conventional a la carte one for four senior citizens who obviously were not equipped to accommodate the multi-course program being proposed. The experience would have been better had the conventional menu been provided initially along with a mention that the prix fixe arrangement was available.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

The food was very good but nothing compa ...

Dined on April 29, 2016

The food was very good but nothing compared to our first visit. The service this time was just average. I think the waitress had too many tables and wasn't nearly as knowledgeable as our first waiter. We were in the upstairs formal dining area this time. Our previous and first experience was downstairs in the more casual area. The waiter downstairs was extremely knowledgeable and ordered our entire meal which was the best meal of my life. Not the case this experience. Also to my surprise the menus were different. Beware open table does not give you a choice on which area you want to dine. You will be booked for the formal area. I realized this too late (by a call not anywhere in open table) and this experience with friends didn't even compare to our first. Although it was very good (food) we talked it up to friends to be so much more.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent meal, great value!

Dined on April 28, 2016

My wife and I were celebrating our wedding anniversary and decided to have lunch instead of the usual dinner. She'd always wanted to go to Chez Francois and we determined to go this year. We chose from the prix fixe menu and the choices were varied and interesting. Both first and second courses were excellent, although my cassoulet was a bit too salty. We were also given extras: an amuse bouche of split pea soup, a salad between courses, an an extra plate of meringue with ice cream to recognize our anniversary. Only to be expected from a gourmet restaurant. Service was first class and wait staff were always on hand. Overall it was a great dining experience and reasonably priced at that. We'll definitely recommend this restaurant and what's more, we'll be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always Outstanding

vip
Dined on April 28, 2016

Celebrated my friend's birthday and had a lovely experience. The food was outstanding as was the service. It has been one of my very favorite restaurants for years and it never disappoints.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Coming Home...

Dined on April 27, 2016

We've been dining at L'auberge for almost thirty years! It remains one of my favorite restaurants for special occasions. Sometimes predicitibility is a good thing especially when it comes to fine dining! The dover sole never fails to disappoint--my favorite. Always cooked to perfection just the way my French grandmother would have prepared it! It is such a pleasant experience to be transported back to quieter times while savoring the French country ambiance of L'auberge. The dining room is so meticulously clean that I can't help but wonder if a league of elves descend upon the restaurant and clean thoughout the night til the place sparkles! Mainly, when I think of dining out for a birthday or anniversary, I think L"Auberge! I can count on my favorite dishes, prepared with care and, of course a delicious hot souffle to end a wonderful evening. Don't forget to take home a slice of Plum Tart!

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Another wonderful lunch

vip
Dined on April 27, 2016

Another wonderful lunch

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful lunch made so by the ...

vip
Dined on April 26, 2016

We had a wonderful lunch made so by the warm atmosphere, excellent service and great food. Conversation was able to just flow with only the required interruptions

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Terrific Lunch

Dined on April 26, 2016

We love L'Auberge Chez Francois for lunch on our anniversary. It's classic French, with tables discretely apart, low noise level, excellent traditional French food with an Alsatian bent. The drive out there can be tricky especially on a foggy night which is why we prefer a two hour lunch there with a bottle of wine, followed by a short drive to Great Falls Park with its easy walk/hike. At the end of that you've sobered up enough to drive home safely. The prices are excellent for a gourmet lunch. And the setting is lovely. Can't miss!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Classic, elegant dining in an old-world setting

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

On our first visit to the famous Chez Francois, we were greeted and treated like frequent diners. Wonderful wine list featuring a wide range of Alsacian (and other) selections, we took the advice from a knowledgeable and friendly sommelier. Bring your appetite, and be prepared to relax at a wonderful 4 course meal. The bread basket and the Baked Alaska were among the highlights of our amazing meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Happy 40th Anniversary!

Dined on April 24, 2016

AMAZING staff. They treat you like the night was specifically for you. PERFECT ambiance. The chef totally outdid himself. THANK YOU to everyone there. Will cherish being the ones to close down the restaurant I grew up next door to the last 40 years that night.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Found this place on Open Table!

Dined on April 24, 2016

Perfect place for our 14 year anniversary. Was not aware this place existed . Will come back for special occasions.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect!

Dined on April 23, 2016

Our plans changed during the day. Instead of arriving on time for our 5:30 reservations, we arrived 1.5 hours early. We sat on the patio under the trees enjoying the light breeze, the sun, the good service and wonderful wine. We were offered a slightly early seating which we accepted, again enjoying great food, delicious wine and the atmosphere of the Alsace region of France. The afternoon and evening could not have been better.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I have loved this place for 30 years

Dined on April 22, 2016

This is such a special place, with wonderful food, skillful and attentive service, and a lovely ambiance. It's not inexpensive, but every meal is memorable. L'Auberge is a monument to traditional fine dining that can never be replaced by whatever the restaurant du jour happens to be.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.