About L'Auberge Chez Francois

332 Springvale Road
Great Falls, VA 22066
View Larger Map

Travellers in the beautiful Alsatian countryside, seek out "auberge", the little family inns that dot the roadsides, to eat well and enjoy the scenery. They know they will find fine food and glowing spirits, at an excellent value. Welcome to L"Auberge Chez François, our French country inn a short distance from the nation's capital, nestled among lush woods and fragrant gardens, that has captivated visitors for over 60 years. L'Auberge Chez François is the ideal spot to celebrate special moments, private parties,luncheons, weddings and cooking demonstrations. Our menu is extensive and full of the flavors of Alsace and traditional French cuisine. Excellent food and service, attention to detail and a casually elegant atmosphere are hallmarks that have made L'Auberge Chez François a Washington favorite! We sincerely hope that you will enjoy your visit with us. Reservations for Jacques' Brasserie at L'Auberge can be made through Open Table at L'Auberge Chez Francois-Jacques' Brasserie.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
L'AUBERGE CHEZ FRANÇOIS:
Lunch: Tuesday - Saturday: 11:30AM - 1:30PM, Sunday: 12:00PM - 3:00PM; Dinner: Tuesday - Friday: 5:00PM - 9:00PM, Saturday: 4:30PM - 9:30PM,
Sunday: 12:00PM - 7:30PM
JACQUES' BRASSERIE AT L'AUBERGE and BAR ROUGE:
Tuesday - Friday: 11:30 AM- 1:30 PM; 5:00PM - 9:00PM
Saturday - 11:30 AM - 1:30 PM; 4:30 PM - 9:30PM
Sunday - 12:00PM - 7:30PM

Cross Street:
Beach Mill Road

Dress Code:
Jacket Preferred

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(703) 759-3800

Website:
http://www.laubergechezfrancois.com/

Parking Details:
Self parking

Executive Chef:
Jacques E. Haeringer

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), View, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
L'Auberge Chez Francois loves special events! From Cooking Demos and Lunches led by Chef Jacques Haeringer; to Wine, Champagne and Artisinal Beer Dinners with Paul and Alex, Our Garden to Table Grand Dinners on our lovely outdoor terrace; Our new music series dinners at L'Auberge events, and so many more.
See our website for a complete list of our special events, and sign up for our monthly newsletter delivered right to your inbox! Our special events sell out quickly. Here's our link.

http://laubergechezfrancois.fbmta.com/members/UpdateProfile.aspx?Action=Subscribe/%22

Special events are always just that..special at L'Auberge Chez Francois!
We are proud to carry the honor of "Best Special Events Restaurant" voted by our diners, merci beaucoup!

Restaurant Photos

L'Auberge Chez Francois
L'Auberge Chez Francois
L'Auberge Chez Francois
L'Auberge Chez Francois
L'Auberge Chez Francois
L'Auberge Chez Francois
L'Auberge Chez Francois
L'Auberge Chez Francois
L'Auberge Chez Francois
L'Auberge Chez Francois
L'Auberge Chez Francois
L'Auberge Chez Francois
L'Auberge Chez Francois
L'Auberge Chez Francois
L'Auberge Chez Francois
L'Auberge Chez Francois
L'Auberge Chez Francois
L'Auberge Chez Francois
L'Auberge Chez Francois
L'Auberge Chez Francois
L'Auberge Chez Francois
L'Auberge Chez Francois
L'Auberge Chez Francois
L'Auberge Chez Francois
L'Auberge Chez Francois
L'Auberge Chez Francois
L'Auberge Chez Francois
L'Auberge Chez Francois
L'Auberge Chez Francois
L'Auberge Chez Francois
L'Auberge Chez Francois
L'Auberge Chez Francois
L'Auberge Chez Francois
Cheesecake
Chocolate Tarte
Chocolate  Soufflé
Iles Flotantes
Chocolate Souflé
Escargot
Sweetbreads
Pâté
Plum Tart
Duck Foie Gras
Oysters with mignonette
Duck Breast Salad
Foie Gras
House Salad
Maine Lobster & Lump Crab W/Sauternes Butter
Key Lime Tart
Tomato Salad
Le Saute Gourmande Papa Ernest
Cream of Asparagus Soup
Champagne Appertif
Garlic Bread & Alsacien Cheese Spread
Beef Bourguignon
Le Picon Biere
Souflé De Grand Marnier
Sweetbreads With Foie Gras

Private Dining

Celebrate life's special moments, weddings, corporate luncheons or dinners, holiday parties or "just want-to-party" events in one of L'Auberge Chez François warm and inviting dining rooms or outside terrace. Specializing in offering complete menus, we can accommodate groups from 25-100 persons.

L'Auberge Chez Francois Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Washington, D.C. Area
Best Food
Washington, D.C. Area
Best Service
Washington, D.C. Area
11 More
Best Ambiance
Washington, D.C. Area
Romantic
Washington, D.C. Area
Special Occasion
Washington, D.C. Area
French
Washington, D.C. Area
Best Overall
Virginia - DC Suburbs
Best Food
Virginia - DC Suburbs
Best Service
Virginia - DC Suburbs
Best Ambiance
Virginia - DC Suburbs
Romantic
Virginia - DC Suburbs
Special Occasion
Virginia - DC Suburbs
French
Virginia - DC Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Great Falls ›

special occasion (313)
romantic (253)
fit for foodies (217)
See All
notable wine list (144)
great for outdoor dining (141)
neighborhood gem (103)
great for lunch (100)
scenic view (87)
good for groups (74)
great for brunch (43)
hot spot (10)
kid-friendly (10)
late-night find (6)
vibrant bar scene (3)
Sort By:
Newest
3325 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

A quick decision led to an unexpected re ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 3 days ago

A quick decision led to an unexpected reservation for six at 8:30 PM. While initially seated inside we requested outside seating, if possible, which was immediately accommodated. The service was outstanding as was the food. Whatever we requested was immediately handled. Beautiful outdoor dining with a waning moon. We closed the restaurant and walked out with the waiters. Definitely a memorable evening!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful way to celebrate a co-workers ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 4 days ago

Wonderful way to celebrate a co-workers birthday and introduce someone new to the restaurant that has been a favorite of mine for 30+ years. It never disappoints!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I went with her friend for her birthday. ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 4 days ago

I went with her friend for her birthday. Last year we went for my birthday, both time we were enchanted by the service, the courtesy of the staff, the quality of the food and presentation, It wasn't noisy in a beautiful surrounding. I hope we won't wait an other birthday or year to go back. I already recommended it to my friends. I highly recommend this restaurant to everyone.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

As always, L'Auberge comes through for a ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 6 days ago

As always, L'Auberge comes through for a romantic evening celebrating our wedding anniversary. Wonderful service is what we come to expect and why we come back. My 2 cents worth of advice: always get the souffle! Ask for extra garlic bread! And the Caesar salad is fantastic!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We celebrated my Mom's 80th birthday at ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 6 days ago

We celebrated my Mom's 80th birthday at the restaurant. It was a very special place, and the service was professional, friendly (but not intrusive). One in our party has severe wine allergies and we were accommodated with grace and delicious options.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful venue, fantastic food and serv ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

Wonderful venue, fantastic food and service by this family run and owned restaurant. Service spot on. Cold libations and drinks served with care. Food out of this world. Chef even gave us a tour of his three gardens and other chefs were picking the herbs and beans to use for the next service. Just a big bravo!! Would do 6 stars if possible! Not to be missed-

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The entire dining experience was excepti ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 6 days ago

The entire dining experience was exceptional. The waitstaff, hostess and manager were all very attentive and friendly. The food was excellent and authentic. Wonderful ambience. I was only a party of one, as I am in the area on business, but will definitely be returning soon, hopefully bringing my family with me next time.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always the food was excellent. We co ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 6 days ago

As always the food was excellent. We come here two to three times a year, as we are nover disappointed with the food, the ambience, the service, and the value. It was a bit noisy on a Sunday afternoon due to people enjoying several birthdays at the same time...but it is understandable why people come here for special occasions. The only issue was the cappuccino, which was very watery. Have the expresso!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

elWe have dined here several times and a ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 7 days ago

elWe have dined here several times and always have a good experience..great food, service and ambiance. Still confused on "dress code"...after reading some reviews... and a "dress code" is NOT stated on their website.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Had not eaten at Chez Francois for seven ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Had not eaten at Chez Francois for seven years and this proved to me that it is still the best place for a special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Top notch in every way. The service and ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Top notch in every way. The service and food were impeccable. The dishes were timed perfectly. The only mishap was at one point the waiter misheard a drink order and brought the wrong cocktail. It was immediately corrected. The maitre d' was friendly and helpful.

My one nitpick is my date doesn't eat salad dressing, and her L'Auberge Salad was kind of a plain affair with no dressing. But that is mostly about her being a picky eater. My meal could not have been improved in any way.

Allow at least two hours for your meal, and you will enjoy every minute of it.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent..dessert was fair.. c ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Food was excellent..dessert was fair.. creme brûlée probably had been done earlier.. Sole was outstanding

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful and memorable experience for h ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Wonderful and memorable experience for husband's birthday dinner! The waiter was very attentive and polite, yet relaxed. The food was out of this world! The ambiance is intimate and lovely, like being at a restaurant in the European countryside.

Caution - Show up hungry because it's a lot of food!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The cocktails were great, in particular ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

The cocktails were great, in particular the one with French beer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5

It used to be my favorite restaurant, wh ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

It used to be my favorite restaurant, which had excellent food, service and ambiance. Can't say that I enjoyed service and food this time. Can't give it five stars for either, sad...

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

We had a wonderful anniversary dinner. S ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

We had a wonderful anniversary dinner. Six course dinner with a bottle of wine. Every item was interesting and well prepared. The staff's team approach meant your needs were met timely. We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our waiter was new.....but great. The s ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Our waiter was new.....but great.

The support staff has gone down since we were last there.

I had to ask twice for them to clean our table.

Also, no butter knife. I had to use a huge knife to butter my bread.

Not the way it's done in Alcase I'm afraid.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

This is my favorite restaurant. Everyth ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

This is my favorite restaurant. Everything was great, as usual. We enjoyed sitting outside on this lovely day. After lunch we visited the garden. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I took my wife of 17 years on our annive ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

I took my wife of 17 years on our anniversary based on a recommendation from a work associate. From beginning to end the experience might have been the best dinning experience I have had in my life. All 6 courses were perfect and amazingly delicious. For our anniversary, we were even treated to a special "off-menu" shared small desert while we waited for our desert course. I have already recommended the restaurant to everyone I know in the area and I know I will try to go back at least one more time before I move. Simply AMAZING!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant has been one of the best ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

This restaurant has been one of the best in the DC area for over 30 years. The food remains top notch, as does the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Still my favorite since the days many y ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Still my favorite since the days many years ago when the restaurant was down on Vermont Ave. I am constantly amazed at Francois' vision when he moved out to the country. He certainly knew what he was doing! Still the best French food and service in the metro area.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our family celebrated a special occasion ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Our family celebrated a special occasion by having the 6-course prix fixe Sunday lunch at Chez Auberge. The food was outstanding and plentiful and served beautifully. For the entrees we had the lamb tenderloin, veal scallopini with Virginia country ham, short ribs and trout almondine - all were superb. Vegetables and salad came from the restaurant's organic garden and were wonderful. This is a pricey restaurant that is worth it for a special occasion.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is a special place to celebrate spe ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

This is a special place to celebrate special occasions and the staff never fails to deliver. Service and the meal was excellent. L'Auberge Chez Francois is always at the top of its game. We had a wonderful time celebrating a birthday!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

L'auberge Chex Francois us our favorite ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

L'auberge Chex Francois us our favorite restaurant. Whenever we go anywhere else my husbands why mess with perfection :)

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall the restaurant is excellent in a ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Overall the restaurant is excellent in all categories, specifically Service, food, and ambience. Special thanks to our server, Yacine. He provided few good suggestions with respect to food, cocktails. He was very attentive and pleasant.

Thanks

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

L'Auberge always makes dining there for ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

L'Auberge always makes dining there for any meal something special and magical. Service is always outstanding and the food is delectable every time. Never rushed or hurried it is a fine and relaxing dining experience hard to find anywhere else. Merci!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

From the moment you walk through the doo ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

From the moment you walk through the door you know you are about to have a fabulous evening. Nothing but top notch service and delicious food. An all time favorite restaurant of mine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best meal I have had in years, fantastic ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Best meal I have had in years, fantastic! The service was impeccable, the sommelier was extremely friendly and helpful, and the food was amazing!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely wonderful evening. Exquisite ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Absolutely wonderful evening. Exquisite food, atmosphere, service, and food. 100% recommend, even despite the high prices. Best restaurant in the DC area, and one of the top in the United States.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What can I say .....the best. I love th ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

What can I say .....the best. I love this restaurant. I love taking loved ones for special dinners.

My friend from England has been twice in less than a year. When in the USA, this will be his go to place. From England, he recommends it on Facebook. There is so much to recommend. You can't go wrong with anything you order. Everything is over the top excellent from the service to the food. It's fine dining. Ask for Fredy.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A great menu backed by a superb kitchen. ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

A great menu backed by a superb kitchen. The service was ommipresent yet not overbearing and the Nigronis were just right. A magnificent dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

As they say in France, the experience wa ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

As they say in France, the experience was simply "magnifique." Our waiter Sammy was awesome. Nothing more to say.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have gone to L'Auberge chez Francois ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We have gone to L'Auberge chez Francois for almost 30 years and always have been very satisfied. The food is fabulous, the service is impeccable and we love the atmosphere. It is our favorite restaurant even though we have to travel 50 minutes + to get to the restaurant. I would recommend it to anyone

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Always an excellent meal!! Service impe ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Always an excellent meal!! Service impeccable!! Sommelier recommendations pared well with each of our main courses.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Unfortunately, my wife's entree was not ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Unfortunately, my wife's entree was not very good. She is a big fan of lobster, being from New England, and ordered the lobster entree. The sauce that came on the lobster was so rich that one could hardly taste the lobster through it (she shared it with me as she lost interest). Also, we were seated at a table in the corner of a second room, although the main room was wide open in terms of available tables. Since we drove from Charlottesville expressly for the dinner, I would have reservations recommending the restaurant to others down here.

We have been to CF before for special occasions. However, it has been 6 years since we were last there, and things seemed to be different, without the former ambience.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

Chez Francois remains one of the elite r ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Chez Francois remains one of the elite restaurants in the area.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding in every way. This is our a ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Outstanding in every way. This is our absolute favorite restaurant

in the DC Area. We returned to the area with out-of-state friends and had to dine here. The food, service, and ambiance were all excellent. We had a thoroughly memorable evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been celebrating our anniversary ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We have been celebrating our anniversary there for the last 40 years.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were looking forward to a lovely even ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

We were looking forward to a lovely evening to celebrate our wedding anniversary! We enjoyed the food, but felt the choices were somewhat dated.

The server was almost to attentive and opinionated expressing his views on what we should have for our anniversary dinner! My major criticism was the speed at which the food was delivered and how little time we had to enjoy between courses. We have been to many amazing restaurants around the world and have been able to enjoy the ambiance of each! Sadly knowing that a 2 hour window is all we had, we won't be rushing back soon

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Our lunch was exceptional. We enjoyed t ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Our lunch was exceptional. We enjoyed the price fixed menu and everything from the appetizers to desserts were exceptional. Eating lunch in the garden was divine. I look forward to coming back soon. I have already told my friends how wonderful the restaurant is.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.