Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.99mi
  2. Distance: 3.29mi
  3. Distance: 3.72mi
  4. Distance: 3.75mi
  1. Distance: 1.99mi
  2. Distance: 3.29mi
  3. Distance: 3.72mi
  4. Distance: 3.75mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.99mi
  2. Distance: 3.29mi
  3. Distance: 3.72mi
  4. Distance: 3.75mi
  1. Distance: 1.99mi
  2. Distance: 3.29mi
  3. Distance: 3.72mi
  4. Distance: 3.75mi

About L'Auberge Chez Francois

Welcome to L'Auberge Chez François, our French country inn a short distance from the nation's capital that has captivated visitors for over 60 years. L'Auberge Chez François is the ideal spot to celebrate special moments, private parties, luncheons, weddings and cooking demonstrations. Our menu is extensive and full of the flavors of Alsace and traditional French cuisine. Excellent food and service, attention to detail and a casually elegant atmosphere are hallmarks that have made L'Auberge Chez François a Washington favorite! We hope that you will enjoy your visit with us.

332 Springvale Road
Great Falls, VA 22066
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Lunch:
Tuesday – Saturday: 11:30am – 1:30pm'
Sunday: 12:00pm – 3:00pm

Dinner:
Tuesday – Friday: 5:00pm – 9:00pm
Saturday: 4:30pm – 9:30pm
Sunday: 12:00pm – 7:30pm

Cross Street:
Beach Mill Road

Dress Code:
Jacket Preferred

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(703) 759-3800

Website:
http://www.laubergechezfrancois.com/

Parking Details:
Self parking

Executive Chef:
Jacques E. Haeringer

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
L'Auberge Chez Francois loves special events! From Cooking Demos and Lunches led by Chef Jacques Haeringer; to Wine, Champagne and Artisinal Beer Dinners with Paul and Alex, Our Garden to Table Grand Dinners on our lovely outdoor terrace; Our new music series dinners at L'Auberge events, and so many more.
See our website for a complete list of our special events, and sign up for our monthly newsletter delivered right to your inbox! Our special events sell out quickly. Here's our link.

http://laubergechezfrancois.fbmta.com/members/UpdateProfile.aspx?Action=Subscribe/%22

Special events are always just that..special at L'Auberge Chez Francois!
We are proud to carry the honor of "Best Special Events Restaurant" voted by our diners, merci beaucoup!

Private Dining

Celebrate life's special moments, weddings, corporate luncheons or dinners, holiday parties or "just want-to-party" events in one of L'Auberge Chez François warm and inviting dining rooms or outside terrace. Specializing in offering complete menus, we can accommodate groups from 25-100 persons.

L'Auberge Chez Francois Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.9

ambience

4.8

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (161)
Romantic (133)
Good for Anniversaries (128)
See All
Worth the Drive (128)
Good for Birthdays (110)
Good for a Date (86)
Fit for Foodies (80)
Quiet Conversation (80)
Authentic (76)
Notable Wine List (67)
Cozy (55)
Great for Outdoor Dining (55)
Neighborhood Gem (54)
Creative Cuisine (49)
Fireplace (43)
Great for Lunch (42)
Sunday Lunch (41)
Local Ingredients (38)
Historic (34)
Business Meals (32)
Scenic View (27)
Great for Brunch (25)
Good for Groups (20)
Seasonal (17)
Fun (17)
Comfort Food (15)
Gluten Free Options (12)
Outstanding Value (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Healthy (11)
Organic (9)
Private Room (8)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Molecular Gastronomy (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
People Watching (5)
Afternoon Tea (5)
Family Style (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Casual (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Wood Oven (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Great Beer (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
4013 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

Very attentive service staff and considerate of special requests. I loved the elegant plating of the Chateaubriand.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

My wife and I have gone here almost every anniversary for the past 20 years. This experience like those before was exceptional. From the gracious sommelier to the plethora of gluten-free items on the menu to the outstanding desserts, L'Auberge Chez Francois never disappoints. Weather prevented us from experiencing our normal outside seating but otherwise, the meal, service and overall experience was fantastic.

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

Chef Jacques and the crew Chex Francois never, ever disappoint. Seasonal special appetizer of pan fried soft shell crab, salad nicoise, chateaubriand, the best soufflés anywhere ... what more need I say? Oh, and a lovely setting with the most professionally trained service.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

We come here often. The vintage wines complement a wide range of French-influenced entrees, and both are served by knowledgeable servers and sommeliers. We expect a great experience, and the restaurant delivers! Don't forget to pre-order the special desserts 😊

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

For an evening with great food and service in a charming atmosphere, this place can always be counted on to please. It is our favorite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 21, 2017

The chateaubriand done medium rare had a very nice texture and flavor. Combined with the truffle sauce it was one of the best renditions I have had. The Caesar salad was fantastic with whole anchovies and a quail egg. One of the best I've had aside from The Continental in Quebec City. The wait staff was there when we needed them and not when we didn't. We had a cold breeze blowing on us which was turned off as soon as we asked. Of course, the soufflés were excellent, having tried all of the chocolate, raspberry, and hazelnut.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Marvelous meal and wonderful service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Anniversary for my wife and me

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 20, 2017

One of the very best and indeed a favorite of mine!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Great way to spend an evening with friends. Very nice atmosphere and delicious food.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 20, 2017

We had a wonderful Saturday lunch. The food was delicious, service was top notch and for $43 per person the prix fixe menu was extensive and a great value. We have been several times over the years and are never disappointed. Beautiful location and charming restaurant. Highly recommend.

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Romantic, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 20, 2017

The meal was perfect. Everything was perfectly prepared. The restaurant was the perfect setting for our occasion. It was formal enough but still relaxed enough for all of our party to enjoy themselves. The Filet of Sole lived up to its reputation. The wine list was excellent and we found several bottles which went well with the meals we had chose. The restaurant is an exceptional value when you consider the quality of ingredients and the final product.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Celebrated my mother's 102 birthday with a delicious lunch. This is her favorite restaurant! They treated her royally and surprised her with a special dessert. Love this place!!!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Always a special experience! It's too bad that it's so pricey my visits are limited.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Went there for lunch with several retired teachers. We each indulged in the tasting menu that includes appetizer, salad, entree and dessert. Everyone enjoyed all of our choices. The service was excellent as always. Can't wait to return. Still one of my favorite places to eat in NOVA, DC area.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 16, 2017

The service was excellent, warm with personal touch. The food -a fixed menu with 4 courses was good as well. The settings of this restaurant were elegant with a home feeling. The only downside is the tables were bit of too close; the conversation of the adjacent tables came clear and loud especially after a few runs of alcohol were consumed by those people.

Tags: Romantic, Fun, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 16, 2017

By far the best restaurant I have visited. I have been to many places all over the world and this place is still my favorite.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Healthy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We had a wonderful Mother's Day dinner. The food was spectacular.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We celebrated our anniversary at L'Auberge Chez Francois, and it was the perfect place for a romantic night out. The service was impeccable, and the food was delicious. We split the chateaubriand steak, and it was amazing! We upgraded the menu with Caesar salads and the grand marnier soufflé, and both were well worth it. Overall, an A+ evening!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 13, 2017

On the recommendation of several friends who dine here regularly, we were excited to celebrate our wedding anniversary with dinner at L'Auberge Chez Francois. The restaurant was charming. Although we were early for our reservation, we were seated promptly. The amuse bouche and appetizers were amazing. However, from the salad forward, things went rapidly downhill. First, I found plastic in my Caesar salad. I informed the gentleman who cleared our course, and watched him report it rapidly -- but no one came to talk to me. Some time later, the waiter, upon serving the main course, offered a casual "sorry for your salad" comment as he was placing the next course down. (The salad was ultimately removed from the bill, but I had to figure that out for myself because no one spoke to me about it.) The entrees were barely average (my husband's duck breast was overcooked), and the desserts were unremarkable. To add even further insult -- we heard most of the tables around us being wished happy birthday/anniversary, but no one said anything to us (we indicated on our Open Table reservation that we were celebrating our anniversary, and I also mentioned it when the restaurant called to confirm our reservation). In the end, we left the restaurant very disappointed, and are not likely to return. We also shared our experiences with our friends who frequent the restaurant -- and they are disappointed as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 13, 2017

hadn't been there for a couple years. glad to see the food and service were terrific.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 13, 2017

This is our families favorite restaurant for special occasions. The ride out there is so relaxing on a country road just outside the hustle and bustle of city life. The ambiance is perfect, and the food devine. All of the appetizers are delicious. Several of us covet the soft shell crab entree when they are in season. They are the very best we have found. The menu is varied and sure to please everyone.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 13, 2017

I've been going to L'Auberge for over 35 years. It never changes, which I love. Excellent food and service. The consistency of the experience is amazing.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Outstanding! Our favorite restaurant! Everything is ALWAYS wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Awesome as always. A real gem for special occasions. Love the food, ambiance, and staff.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Romantic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 12, 2017

This is a fine restaurant and the food is delicious. The chef came out to talk to us. We also met a small group of people who would be accompanying the chef on a cruise in Europe. The French food served at L'auberge is perhaps one of the best in the DC area.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Fun, Healthy, Romantic, Fireplace, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Our latest meal at L'Auberge Chez Francois was perfect. The staff here. is always attentive, helpful and knowledgeable while remaining totally unpretentious. The same is true for the sommelier who listened to our preferences and was eager to educate/guide us. She introduced us to the large selection of 1/2 bottles on the wine list so we could enjoy different wines with our meal. Our meal was perfect from the first bite to the last. L'Auberge always exceeds our expectations. Impeccable service, flawless food and great atmosphere are the hallmarks of any meal at this authentic Alsatian restaurant/institution.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Organic, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 10, 2017

This is absolutely the best French food in the DC Metro area! I was disappointed when the meal was over. The food and the staff were absolutely wonderful. I will definitely be returning to this restaurant again!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 9, 2017

If you can go on a beautiful day, eat outdoors. The setting is beautiful, the food great, and the service excellent

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 7, 2017

I celebrated my birthday at L'auberge Chez Francois. From the moment we arrived, my small party of three was treated with graciousness and attentiveness. Our wait person was amiable and knowledgeable without being intrusive. We loved the ambiance, the decor, and the overall warmth of the restaurant. The amuse bouche and the palate cleansing sorbet were delicious and unexpected treats. We finished the meal with out of this world souffles. Hats off to Chef Francois and his team, both in the kitchen and in the front of the house.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 6, 2017

I have dined at this restaurant since the late 60's when they it was located in DC. and it has always been one of my favorites. Their current establishment is much more sophisticated. The ambience is fantastic, the service is terrific and the food is always five star +. They have updated their menu to some degree but the traditional items are still available.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Fireplace, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 6, 2017

As always, the food was very good. Service was attentive, but not remarkable.

The problem was, on this particular occasion, the wait for the main course to arrive was unacceptably long (30-45 minutes). I have dined here a number of times over many years, this was a first poor experience.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Enjoyed the rich flavors of everything we ordered. The restaurant is expensive and totally worth the expense. Every table was taken when we were there, but the spacing of the tables permitted easy conversation with all 5 members of our group. We always look forward to a meal at Chez Francois every year.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 6, 2017

As always, the Auberge provided impeccable service, excellent food and special attention for our 17th anniversary. We love Alsace and it's cooking and the Auberge easily matches the best of that region has to offer. We can hardly wait to return. The soft shell crabs were superb, the souffles perfect - all in all, another nice evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 5, 2017

The food was excellent as always. We greatly recommend the restaurant.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 4, 2017

The food was amazing! The service was great my new favorite

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Basically, quality doesn't live up to the price. $250 for two with two glasses of wine. Some of my surf and turf meat was tough and my scallops came in the meat sauce. Yuk. Wouldn't go back. One of the deserts was good the other terrible. Coffee, although they assured me it was French roast was watered down. Dover sole and beef cheeks were not interesting nor was plum tart. Had expected a much better meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 30, 2017

L'Auberge is classic country French cuisine. Great attention to detail. Go there with 3 hours for a dining experience. Wonderful wines by the glass at great value.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Sunday brunch was wonderful. The food - as always - was great. The staff were all very attentive. Whether it's the Brassiere or the main restaurant the experience is always special.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Simply outstanding

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.