Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.99mi
  2. Distance: 3.29mi
  3. Distance: 3.72mi
  4. Distance: 3.75mi
  1. Distance: 1.99mi
  2. Distance: 3.29mi
  3. Distance: 3.72mi
  4. Distance: 3.75mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.99mi
  2. Distance: 3.29mi
  3. Distance: 3.72mi
  4. Distance: 3.75mi
  1. Distance: 1.99mi
  2. Distance: 3.29mi
  3. Distance: 3.72mi
  4. Distance: 3.75mi

About L'Auberge Chez Francois

Welcome to L'Auberge Chez François, our French country inn a short distance from the nation's capital that has captivated visitors for over 60 years. L'Auberge Chez François is the ideal spot to celebrate special moments, private parties, luncheons, weddings and cooking demonstrations. Our menu is extensive and full of the flavors of Alsace and traditional French cuisine. Excellent food and service, attention to detail and a casually elegant atmosphere are hallmarks that have made L'Auberge Chez François a Washington favorite! We hope that you will enjoy your visit with us.

332 Springvale Road
Great Falls, VA 22066
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Lunch:
Tuesday – Saturday: 11:30am – 1:30pm'
Sunday: 12:00pm – 3:00pm

Dinner:
Tuesday – Friday: 5:00pm – 9:00pm
Saturday: 4:30pm – 9:30pm
Sunday: 12:00pm – 7:30pm

Cross Street:
Beach Mill Road

Dress Code:
Jacket Preferred

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(703) 759-3800

Website:
http://www.laubergechezfrancois.com/

Parking Details:
Self parking

Executive Chef:
Jacques E. Haeringer

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
L'Auberge Chez Francois loves special events! From Cooking Demos and Lunches led by Chef Jacques Haeringer; to Wine, Champagne and Artisinal Beer Dinners with Paul and Alex, Our Garden to Table Grand Dinners on our lovely outdoor terrace; Our new music series dinners at L'Auberge events, and so many more.
See our website for a complete list of our special events, and sign up for our monthly newsletter delivered right to your inbox! Our special events sell out quickly. Here's our link.

http://laubergechezfrancois.fbmta.com/members/UpdateProfile.aspx?Action=Subscribe/%22

Special events are always just that..special at L'Auberge Chez Francois!
We are proud to carry the honor of "Best Special Events Restaurant" voted by our diners, merci beaucoup!

Private Dining

Celebrate life's special moments, weddings, corporate luncheons or dinners, holiday parties or "just want-to-party" events in one of L'Auberge Chez François warm and inviting dining rooms or outside terrace. Specializing in offering complete menus, we can accommodate groups from 25-100 persons.

L'Auberge Chez Francois Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.9

value

4.5

noise

Quiet

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (183)
Romantic (175)
Good for Anniversaries (166)
See All
Worth the Drive (150)
Good for Birthdays (126)
Good for a Date (122)
Quiet Conversation (120)
Authentic (110)
Great for Outdoor Dining (103)
Fit for Foodies (102)
Local Ingredients (78)
Notable Wine List (77)
Cozy (73)
Great for Lunch (69)
Creative Cuisine (68)
Neighborhood Gem (67)
Sunday Lunch (57)
Good for Groups (54)
Scenic View (43)
Business Meals (37)
Great for Brunch (29)
Seasonal (29)
Handcrafted Cocktails (21)
Organic (17)
Comfort Food (16)
Fun (15)
Gluten Free Options (15)
Tasting Menu (14)
Good Vegetarian Options (14)
Disabled Access (12)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Afternoon Tea (9)
Casual (6)
Happy Hour (5)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Vegan (5)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Great Beer (2)
People Watching (2)
Tapas (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Live Music (1)
Sort By:
S
4247 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

This restaurant is a staple for special family occasions and occasional fine dining. My wife and I have been going there annually for about 20 years and thoroughly enjoy experience each and every time. The food and service are excellent, and the prices are fair.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

Everything was delicious from start to finish. Would highly recommend getting the soufflé as a desert. We also noticed a down stairs bar area for food and drinks. We will definitely try that next time.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined 4 days ago

We just had the most lovely evening at L'Auberge Chez Francois. The service was excellent!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for Groups, Fun, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

We are never disappointed when we go to this restaurant. The food is always spectacular along with the service and ambience.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Romantic, Afternoon Tea, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

Service was a little slow in the beginning. Wine list could be more extensive. Server could have been more enthusiastic about the food.

Food was very good. Not too salty or rich.

Solidly good. Best for special occasion once every couple years.

Tags: Organic, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Authentic, Cozy, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Our waiter Tommy (along with the rest of the staff) was great, he attended to our every need and was easily the most polite server that we had ever had. The scene was nice for a relaxing evening outside with light music and the food was absolutely delicious!

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

What a civilized experience to have lunch at L'Auberge! Quiet, delicious, prix-fixe lunch menu includes all courses and a mini glass of wine! A lovely treat occasionally...

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

This was our go-to restaurant for special occasions when we lived in Maryland. We went back 15 years later to celebrate an anniversary and it was just as special as we remembered it. Wonderful food and service!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 10, 2017

As always, everything is always impeccable!!!!! Have been dining here since the early eighties. Always the best.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

This place is great for a special occasion. If you're looking for an entire dining experience (we were there for 3 hours) with amazing and classic French food, wonderful service and a great atmosphere, this is the place to go!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Organic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 10, 2017

The service, food and ambiance were all outstanding. It's in a pretty setting, perfect for a special occasion. The menu is varied so there is something for everyone. I will definitely return.

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 10, 2017

The very best dining experience in the area. 5 stars all around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Our party of 6 had a remarkable dining experience and overall wonderful evening at L'Auberge. It was a 75th birthday and I can't think of a more outstanding way to celebrate the occasion. The service was impeccable, the food was interesting and so flavorful. The wild mushroom crepe and the soft shell crabs were outstanding, but then, so was pretty much everything else. I loved the ambience, including the gardens and floral arrangements. The only suggestion I would make is that the menu is very limited for vegetarian and vegan options. Three of our party were vegetarians and they really only had one choice on the menu.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

It has been a while between visits, but our experience and the food were as excellent as we remembered.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Such a lovely setting for outdoor dining at lunch! Just gorgeous!

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Overall, it was excellent. The only glitch was our initial waiter, who seemed to want to rush us through ordering of appetizer, salad and main course. After a brief word with the maitre d' the problem was solved.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Cozy, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 8, 2017

My wife and I came here for our anniversary and we were not disappointed. Yes, it is $$$$$, but worth every penny. Food was delicious and prepared with care. Service was outstanding. Our server was attentive and checked with us several times during the course of the meal, but not annoyingly so. The menu is priced by entree, and includes several course selections, including some items for an additional charge. The food just keep on coming and is excellent. Give them a try!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 8, 2017

We sat outside in one of the gazebos. It was perfect weather, the waiter (Jefferson, I think) was most accomodating and attentive. All 3 of us said it was a magical and memorable experience

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Afternoon Tea, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Absolutely wonderful every time! They make every meal special!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Always a pleasure. However the plum tart is not as good as the original plum tart.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 5, 2017

Experience and service per usual was stellar.
Special thanks to our server (name escapes my mind, but the gentlemen server the night of 9/5/17); he was very inviting, extremely courteous, and knowledgeable, hence the five stars for service.
Food was tasty and seemed fresh and well cooked. Drinks were intriguing and good, with a variety to satisfy most palettes.
There is a level of excellence you expect at a high-end French restaurant/brasserie and Chez Francois always maintains that high mark.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Authentic, Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 5, 2017

Having been to L'Auberge dozens of times since the 1970's, I'd say the cuisine is on a high note now. Our party of 4 had escargots in a heavenly garlic sauce, oysters with an excellent mignonette, and foie gras, followed by chateaubriand for two, Virginia trout with lump crabmeat, and Maine lobster in a sauternes sauce. Chocolate and grand marnier soufflés for desert.

The award-winning sommelier guided us to an excellent Bordeaux that managed to do justice to the fish and was a perfect match for the beef. She even brought more of the outstanding garlic toast with homemade cottage cheese (served gratis at the start of the meal) so we could appreciate how well it went with the wine.

The service was gracious and efficient as usual. Al in all a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 5, 2017

BD very enjoyable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 5, 2017

It was fabulous as always! It was my husband's birthday and this is his special place. However, it is our special place at any time. The food is delicious and wonderful and the service is unbelievable. A day there is always event. We love Tommy and the other servers.

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Disabled Access, Comfort Food, Organic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy, Romantic, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Casual, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Seasonal, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 3, 2017

This is a great place for a special occasion. Loved the chateubriand and all the veggies come from their garden

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 3, 2017

The food is always exceptional. You are never rushed. The staff makes you feel like you are the only people in the restaurant . Homegrown ingredients are a bonus. Just a wonderful experience all around.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 3, 2017

This is one of the best restaurants in the area. The food is amazing and the service is exceptional. A great place to celebrate a special occasion because the excellence comes at a significant cost. However, the value is there for the money much more than other similarly priced restaurants.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 3, 2017

80th Birthday

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Excellent anniversary dinner outside on pastio with perfect weather...

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 3, 2017

L'Auberge Chez Francois has been my destination restaurant for many years. Whether I have lived in Virginia, Texas, California, or overseas, if I am close to the proximity of this restaurant, I will find a reason to enjoy the experience of a top of the line cuisine and atmosphere. It is the measure by which all other restaurants and establishments are evaluated in my list of experiences. Have never been disappointed on any level and my expectations are always exceeded.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 3, 2017

For over 23 years, L' Auberge Chez Francois remains our #1 favorite restaurants for birthdays, anniversaries, or whenever we just need to treat ourselves to a special dinner. From the fresh herbs and vegetables picked from the garden to the 5 star service, every meal is a special fine dining experience. We tend to go for the later seating, around 8:30 pm. You definitely need to come hungry because a wonderful medley of food awaits, from the garlic bread and special cottage cheese and fresh breads to the decadent chocolate torte dessert, every mouthful is a delight.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 3, 2017

I hate to review as outstanding, but this is one of our favorite spots to dine. It is quaint and lovely, the service is wonderful and the food is just delicious. We have visited many times - usually for a special occasion - and have never been disappointed.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Terrific restaurant. Best in area. One of the best I have ever eaten. Great birthday meal n

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Food was excellent. Ambiance was very good. Waiter was slow and not sufficiently attentive.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Outstanding Birthday celebration. Everything was superb from the appetizers to the wonderful home grown tomato salad to the great entrees-halibut, twin medallions, soft shell crabs, veal scalopine and the unique delicious filet-veal-lamb-lobster entree.
Desserts were likewise great especially the souffles.
Waiter made the dinner really special and memorable!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 1, 2017

service was excellent with attention to dietary restrictions. food excellent as usual. I have been coming to this restaurant since it was downtown and it does not disappoint.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 31, 2017

The food was exceeleant and the staff was friendly, helpful and attentive without being intrusive. We have celebrated many special occasions here and will continue to do so!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 31, 2017

L'Auberge Chez Francois never disappoints. My family has been coming here to celebrate for over 30 years. When dining here, you can depend upon outstanding food, meticulous service (but still warm and friendly) and a lovely setting. The entire staff seems totally committed to ensuring that your dining experience is first rate....and it always is!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 29, 2017

Every year we come to Chez Francois for our anniversary dinner. This year it was the 52nd. I hope we can continue as long as we can drive the one hour to get there. It always wonderful, never a disappointment. Our favorite!!

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 29, 2017

Another fabulous meal. I had the haddock, she had the salmon. Both were great.
Had the gazpacho, tomato and Basil salad and grandmas bread pudding with coffee plus rose' wine

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.