About Lattanzi

361 West 46th Street
Between 8th Ave. and 9th Ave.
New York, NY 10036
View Larger Map

Now in the 30th year, this "winning" Restaurant Row Italian is renowned for its "Roman style specialties". (Don't miss "those fried artichokes"), "gracious services" and "after the theater" crowd departs for a more relaxed meal.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch:

7 days a week: 11:30 am - 2:30pm,

Dinner:
Monday-Sunday 4:30pm - 10:30pm
Tuesday-Saturday: 4:30pm - 11:30pm

Cross Street:
Between 8th Ave. and 9th Ave.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 315-0980

Website:
http://www.lattanzinyc.com/

Parking Details:
Two parking lots in the same block.

Public Transit:
Times Square

Executive Chef:
Paolo Lattanzi

Private Party Facilities:
Lattanzi Ristorante is an elegant-rustic, family-owned Italian restaurant in the heart of the Theater District on Restaurant Row; established in 1984, this classic local landmark has specialized in serving traditional Roman cuisine to upscale theater-goers for over a quarter of a century.

Private Party Contact:
Manager: 8883553149

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
With four dining rooms, a cozy indoor garden, beautiful rooftop terrace and two independent bars spread out across both floors, we host private functions and parties for virtually any occasion and of almost every size. We have several different party menus to choose from or we can help you design one according to your style and taste.

To schedule a private event, please call 212-315-0980 and ask for the Events Manager, Ed Kostner.

Restaurant Photos

Pasta Sampler
Panna Cotta
Carciofi Alla Giudia
Ravioli con Porcini
Carpaccio di Manzo
Cannoli
Peach Sorbet
Swordfish
Italian Lasagna
Linguini Con Vongole

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 11:30AM - 2:00PM 7:00PM - 8:00PM

Mon - Fri 11:30AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:00PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Lattanzi Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (107)
Neighborhood Gem (102)
Fit for Foodies (87)
See All
Romantic (74)
Good for Groups (40)
Great for Lunch (37)
Notable Wine List (25)
Late-night Find (15)
Great for Outdoor Dining (14)
Hot Spot (10)
Great for Brunch (6)
Scenic View (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Authentic (1)
Casual (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2761 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Authentic Italian food preparation. Limi ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 3 days ago

Authentic Italian food preparation. Limited menu, but that only assures that the kitchen can deliver whatever was ordered in a timely fashion. There were enough things on the menu that I would have had, so we will go back.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Great food - best Italian in New York Ci ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined 4 days ago

Great food - best Italian in New York City. Wonderful restaurant. My personal favorite and one I never miss when I go to New York.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went with a few family members, and we a ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

Went with a few family members, and we all enjoyed our meals. Service was professional and unobtrusive, and we were never rushed. Although the room was fairly crowded, the noise level was quite low, making it possible to have a conversation without shouting to make oneself heard. Low-key, relaxing atmosphere. Menu prices seemed to be fairly standard for comparable NY restaurants. Would definitely be happy to go back.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great spot in the theater district! Been ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined 5 days ago

Great spot in the theater district! Been there twice this week! Pre theater great, late night dinner great!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Fantastic night brought my mam as it was ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

Fantastic night brought my mam as it was her 70th birthday and her 1st time to newyork from the moment we arrived the staff to the service and to singing to my mam the customers even got in on the celebration would recomend lattanzi and hope to return food amazing well done

Tags: Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Warm welcome. Impeccable service. Vari ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

Warm welcome. Impeccable service. Varied selection. Too good-to-be true specials of the day. Fabulous wine list. Delicious desserts. Perfectly timed for theatre performances. Always want to return. Still dreaming of the artichokes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We have eaten here quite a number of tim ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

We have eaten here quite a number of times. This was the first time we were very disappointed. We got there about 5:00 for a 7:00 PM show, which should have been plenty of time for a nice dinner. The service and food was not up to their normal standards. By the time everything was served and it was time for dessert and coffee, it was too close to show time. When we received the check, the bottle of wine (approx. $ 60.00) was not included. When we told the server, he replied "Oh we have a new system", not even a thank you for bringing it to my attention. We have recommended this restaurant quite often. Not going to recommend again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

This is one of our favorite restaurants ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

This is one of our favorite restaurants for after theatre. Wait staff is efficient but not intrusive. You do not have to ask for a water glass to be refilled. I had the chicken milanese and my husband had the veal chop milanese. Both were excellent. Good value for the money.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent food and service.

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Excellent food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Consistently delicious! A wonderful plac ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Consistently delicious! A wonderful place pre theatre or just for dinner.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Everyone one was very friendly and anxio ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Everyone one was very friendly and anxious to please us. All courses were brought to us in a timely manner and were absolutely delicious. We can't wait to go back the next time we are in the city.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant was a cool respite on a h ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The restaurant was a cool respite on a hot summer's day. Service was attentive without being overbearing. The food was fresh and delicious.

We decided to try several appetizers instead of ordering individual meals. This turned out to be a wise choice. We got to sample more dishes and flavors than had we ordered a meal. I would definitely go back if I'm in the neighborhood.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We arrived early and were seated quickly ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

We arrived early and were seated quickly. Unlike every other NYC restaurant that had my allergies and special occasion information beforehand Lattanzi was not aware of either. We shared me allergies and then got a surprise when the food came with some of the problem foods. My husbands food an artichoke gnocchi was presented well and he reported tasted good. Mine went back to the kitchen. When returned the chicken had two versions - one way too tough and the other way too fatty. A surprise was inside as well one of the allergens made its way onto the plate. The vegetables that came with the food were quite good. When the allergen was pointed out they apologized and removed the item from the bill. The outcome was I ate elsewhere. Disappointed in the experience. I wonder if the poultry chef had an off night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2

Lattanzi is a great place with pleasant ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Lattanzi is a great place with pleasant ambiance. The noise level is low compared to many places. Service was outstanding as we were seated on arrival at a nice table for two in a corner area. The wait staff was prompt, timely and helpful. We tried the Montepulciano wine which was very good. The pasta was "home made" and delicious. The salmon was very good, moist but a large portion. Overall a very nice place on Restaurant Row. We plan to return and recommend Lattanzi to our friends who visit NYC.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I felt they made no effort with the food ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

I felt they made no effort with the food. My meal was just barely room temperature and I doubt it had been recently cooked. Their beer selection was especially poor; no Heineken? How hard is that? I have been there before when in NYC and it was much better. The restaurant needs to change hands.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value2

Went for dinner before the theater. Ex ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Went for dinner before the theater. Excellent choice.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Beautifully decorated, quaint restaurant ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Beautifully decorated, quaint restaurant, with a romantic feel. We went for dinner and the tables were dresses with white table linens, a nicely lit candlestick and fresh flowers. The staff was very attentive and food was fresh and absolutely delicious. I would definitely return for the ravioli as well as the huge piece of chicken parmigiana. They even accommodated my mother in law with a gluten free pasta entree and she loved it!! This is a little gem definitely worth the $$.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thoroughly delightful pre theater dinner ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Thoroughly delightful pre theater dinner. Food and service was excellent. Staff was friendly and engaging. Very pleasant atmosphere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I have mixed feelings about this restaur ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

I have mixed feelings about this restaurant. I found the service cold, abrupt and off-putting. I arrived first. I use a cane. The man who seated me did not pull out a chair for me. Whether or not I was using a cane, he should have--but most especially because I was using one. Waiter was terse and aloof. You could hardly finish the course before someone was snatching the dish out from under you. I was served one course without any flatware--had to ask for it. There were more than enough staff. The restaurant was busy, but not full.

On the other hand, the food is absolutely delicious, first-rate. I can't say enough about it. They even make their own mozzarella--which was absolutely scrumptious--even though the tomatoes weren't very good in the caprese salad. My friend's salmon was cooked perfectly and very delicious. I had chicken. Again, perfection. Cheesecake dessert was one of the best cheesecakes I ever had--and not too sweet. Really lovely.

They also charged for something I sent back (just because it wasn't to my liking, not bad), and then claimed they had made a mistake. ?! And lastly, the restaurant was empty when I left. My friend had to leave to make a curtain so I walked out alone. Lots of staff standing around, no one thanked me for coming. Or opened the door. I'd have to say that all the grace notes are missing.

I think I will try it again because of the truly excellent food. Just wish the atmosphere and treatment were a little more friendly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

We loved everything.Food,Service,Ambienc ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

We loved everything.Food,Service,Ambience and they get you at on time to make your show

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My chicken Milanese was so dry I could b ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

My chicken Milanese was so dry I could barely cut or eat it. The head waiter, a dark haired shorter man in a suit was so absolutely rude twice. Shame on me for staying. Overpriced bad food. Won't go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

Fantastic meal! Everything was delicious ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Fantastic meal! Everything was delicious. Service was superb. We had the steak, lamb chops, a fish special, seafood pasta and loved everything. The chocolate mousse was amazing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love Lattanzi! Been coming here for o ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

I love Lattanzi! Been coming here for over thirty years? Can that be correct? All the food is terrific, but don't miss the sauteed artichokes (Carciofi alla Giudia), the veal scaloppine pizzaiola and the Napoleon for dessert!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We ate at Lattanzi a couple of weeks ago ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

We ate at Lattanzi a couple of weeks ago for the first time with friends who had eaten there several times before. We enjoyed the food and service so much that we came back, just the two of us for a birthday celebration. We each had a glass of a pretty good house Sauvignon Blanc and Moscato. As a main I had a Bronzino and my wife had a pappardelle with veal ragout. Topped off with a coffee and fruits and a cannoli the meal was very good.

We will be back!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Dined here with my Mother (at her recomm ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Dined here with my Mother (at her recommendation) before heading to a show. Not sure how she came across Lattanzi, but I was very happy with her selection. We were seated in a small room to the rear, just before the "glass room" which was quiet and nicely lit with some natural lighting. The service was courteous, attentive, and our food arrived fairly quickly considering it was a busy Friday night. We very much enjoyed our choices and the portions were good. We were slightly late for our show even though we had given ourselves two hours to eat, but not by the fault of the restaurant. The ambiance contributed to comfort and extensive conversation, causing us to lose track of time. My only complaint would be the parking situation, as there are limited lots in the area. 46th Street also gets very jammed up, so give yourself some extra time to get to/from the restaurant - especially if you are using Uber, etc.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This had been one of my favorite restaur ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

This had been one of my favorite restaurants, their signature artichoke dish had always been outstanding...until this visit.

I was excited to take 2 people who had never been there before, we were very disappointed.

I ordered a double portion of the artichoke starter which was dominated by salt and oil The chicken was tough, pasta was OK, but overall very disappointing given the great meals I have had there in the past.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value2

I have dining at Lattanzi for at least 2 ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

I have dining at Lattanzi for at least 25 years. I can honestly say it has always been spectacular.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious, polished service, tables nice ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Delicious, polished service, tables nicely spaced and double-draped, so excellent noise control.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Lattanzi on Restaurant Row, in NYC's the ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Lattanzi on Restaurant Row, in NYC's theatre district, this is where you want to have dinner before or after your play. Welcoming to tourists but this is no tourist trap, as the locals will attest to. Great ambiance, terrific food and personal service will bring me back again. Try it. You can't lose.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

WE FOUND THIS GEM AND IT WAS AMAZING, TH ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

WE FOUND THIS GEM AND IT WAS AMAZING, THE FOOD AND SERVICE WAS BY FAR THE BEST WE HAD IN THE CITY ALL WEEKEND, WISHED IT WAS CLOSER TO HOME I WOULD GO FREQUENTLY.

GREAT PLACE TO GO BEFORE THE THEATRE !! WELL DONE lATTANZI!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lattanzi is a great pre/post theatre res ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Lattanzi is a great pre/post theatre restaurant located smack in the middle of restaurant row. Plenty of white tablecloth covered tables and a nice bar off to the right side. They are open from 11 straight through the day so it's a great place for mid-afternoon dining also. The menu is pretty standard Italian fare with a hint of Jewish Roman dishes (the artichokes are terrific). Now on this occasion (we had been here several times before) we sat in the lovely back "garden area". Our waiter was punctual but not to good on explaining the dishes. I asked if the veal valdostana was rolled like a braciole and he said yes. But it wasn't. It was a piece of veal that was sliced and the prosciutto and mozz inserted. The bread felt like it was a day old. One person asked for their pasta al dente and it didn't come out that way. The wine list was good and the desserts were delicious. Overall was disappointed but will be back.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

1st visit and will be sure to return . F ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

1st visit and will be sure to return . Food was excellent!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

have been there many times and it is con ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

have been there many times and it is consistently good with food and service. It's especially hard to find Jewish artichokes outside of Italy and they prepare it well. Overall a fine dining experience

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

LATTANZI is one of the special restauran ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

LATTANZI is one of the special restaurants in the theater district. It has a lovely ambience and the food is excellent. The Jerusalem artichokes are a delicious appetizer. We were going to an early show and they were very helpful in keeping our meal paced without rushing us. I have been there many times and always look forward to returning. Worth the visit!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Went for lunch before a Sunday matinee. ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Went for lunch before a Sunday matinee. The staff was very polite and attentive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lattanzi combined old world charm with e ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Lattanzi combined old world charm with excellent service and fine food. Service was prompt but not rushed. My daughter appreciated the many vegetarian options. A lovely spot for dinner before the theatre.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a fantastic meal at a reasonable ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Always a fantastic meal at a reasonable price. Love this place

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love Lattanzi as our pre-theater dini ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

We love Lattanzi as our pre-theater dining spot. We have had dinner many times, but this was the first pre-matinee lunch. Equally efficient and delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good food; however a bit overpriced for ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Good food; however a bit overpriced for quality / portions. Service mediocre at best - waiter not very friendly or attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

Fantastic - go there at least once each ...

vip
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Fantastic - go there at least once each year during our trip to NYC.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.