About Lattanzi

361 West 46th Street
Between 8th Ave. and 9th Ave.
New York, NY 10036
View Larger Map

Now in the 30th year, this "winning" Restaurant Row Italian is renowned for its "Roman style specialties". (Don't miss "those fried artichokes"), "gracious services" and "after the theater" crowd departs for a more relaxed meal.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch:

7 days a week: 11:30 am - 2:30pm,

Dinner:
Monday-Sunday 4:30pm - 10:30pm
Tuesday-Saturday: 4:30pm - 11:30pm

Cross Street:
Between 8th Ave. and 9th Ave.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 315-0980

Website:
http://www.lattanzinyc.com/

Parking Details:
Two parking lots in the same block.

Public Transit:
Times Square

Executive Chef:
Paolo Lattanzi

Private Party Facilities:
Lattanzi Ristorante is an elegant-rustic, family-owned Italian restaurant in the heart of the Theater District on Restaurant Row; established in 1984, this classic local landmark has specialized in serving traditional Roman cuisine to upscale theater-goers for over a quarter of a century.

Private Party Contact:
Manager: 8883553149

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
With four dining rooms, a cozy indoor garden, beautiful rooftop terrace and two independent bars spread out across both floors, we host private functions and parties for virtually any occasion and of almost every size. We have several different party menus to choose from or we can help you design one according to your style and taste.

To schedule a private event, please call 212-315-0980 and ask for the Events Manager, Ed Kostner.

Restaurant Photos

Pasta Sampler
Panna Cotta
Carciofi Alla Giudia
Ravioli con Porcini
Carpaccio di Manzo
Peach Sorbet
Cannoli
Swordfish
Italian Lasagna
Linguini Con Vongole

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 11:30AM - 2:00PM 7:00PM - 8:00PM

Mon - Fri 11:30AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:00PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Lattanzi Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

neighborhood gem (117)
special occasion (116)
fit for foodies (100)
See All
romantic (87)
great for lunch (51)
good for groups (50)
notable wine list (30)
late-night find (20)
hot spot (13)
great for outdoor dining (12)
great for brunch (9)
kid-friendly (5)
scenic view (3)
Sort By:
Newest
2704 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

The cocktails were absolutely terrible. ...

Dined 4 days ago

The cocktails were absolutely terrible. The food was much better than the bar -- although dessert wasn't all that great.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Was our second visit. Great service an ...

Dined 4 days ago

Was our second visit. Great service and excellent food

Tags: romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

Food was very good to excellent. Ambianc ...

Dined 5 days ago

Food was very good to excellent. Ambiance very good. Service attentive. Good value. However, drinks expensive. I would not hesitate to recommend.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

Really? I have been to Lattanzi many ti ...

vip
Dined 5 days ago

Really? I have been to Lattanzi many times and always thought the food and service were very good. I was disappointed on this visit because the portions have gotten even smaller for an already very high price point. Not a great value. In addition we were asked to leave our table after being there for an hour and 40 minutes, with friends who I had not seen for three years, because they had a large party in the room that we were in. No offer was made to seat us elsewhere, To buy a drink, to send over dessert, or to in any way apologize for this rather rude request. I wont be back

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lattanzi is a New York classic in the th ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Lattanzi is a New York classic in the theatre district. It serves fresh and authentic italian and international cuisine. Service is very timely and prompt -- they can get you in an out quickly if you are going to a play or musical. The wine list in extensive. My family has been going there for 20 years and is always on our list when we visit New York.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love this Restaurant..our occasions h ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

We love this Restaurant..our occasions have always been for special outings. Next time we come I would like to reserve for the other rooms in the back. WE have always had excellent service and the food is well prepared and good.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and service. Should go more o ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Great food and service. Should go more often. Very attentive waiters.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Perfect choice for pre-theater. Food wa ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Perfect choice for pre-theater. Food was delicious and we were served promptly but with an un-rushed aura around us and all the pre-theater diners. We had one in our party on crutches and they very nicely accommodated us with a first floor table. Would love to see the upstairs next time we come in - and we do plan on returning!!

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious dinner before theater. Will di ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Delicious dinner before theater. Will dine again on future visits to NY.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Lattanzi used to be one of my favorite g ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Lattanzi used to be one of my favorite go-to restaurants, but it has changed and not for the better. Food was just adequate, nothing like it once was. Both of us felt the caliber of the food had declined significantly. Definitely no longer worth the price. Won't see us there again -- probably ever. Also had to signal for service when we needed wine, probably led to having one less glass each.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A lovely, romantic, delicious place to e ...

vip
Dined on June 17, 2016

A lovely, romantic, delicious place to eat on a lovely day in the city.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4

Very helpful staff.

Dined on June 15, 2016

Very helpful staff.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fried artichokes are to die for and wort ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Fried artichokes are to die for and worth a trip of any length! We came up from Baltimore to our favorite lunch spot. Highly recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Jimmy and the guys make you very welcome ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

Jimmy and the guys make you very welcome without overpowering you - great food and wine list and nice neighborhood feel . get a corner table in same room as the bar and you'll never want to leave.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Went to this restaurant for pre-theater ...

vip
Dined on June 14, 2016

Went to this restaurant for pre-theater dinner. Been there about 3 - 4 times over the years, and it is an always reliable Italian restaurant. This time took my 14 year old daughter who ordered pasta with red sauce - emphasizing the to waiter she is vegetarian and wanted to make sure there was no meat in the sauce. Pasta came, and she ate it until she thought she was eating meat. Called the waiter over who said NO THIS IS NOT MEAT. She kept eating until it was obvious they put meat sauce on the pasta. Waiter came back DID NOT APOLOGIZE, took away the pasta and brought new pasta with veggie sauce second time. Again, no apologies. We got desert after. Bill came, nothing complementary, no apology from waiter, no manager comes over. Nada. All I can say is if that is how they treat their guests why bother going? I cannot recommend this restaurant now, even though the food is good. Diner was $120 for 2 people including tip with no wine or alcohol.

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

This was our 4th time at Lattanzi. The f ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

This was our 4th time at Lattanzi. The food is superb; especially the Jewish artichokes!! You will not be disappointed!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service3

Waiter was requested to find out ingredi ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Waiter was requested to find out ingredients in salad dressing due to medical condition but instead pushed guest to have oil and balsamic vinegar - guest would have preferred the regular salad dressing but did not have that option. Disappointed that the fried artichoke hearts appetizer were not available

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went back for a pre-theater dinner wi ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

We went back for a pre-theater dinner with friends. Arriving at 4:45, we had a leisurely early dinner that did not disappoint. We shared their signature artichoke appetizer and two half orders of pasta before getting serious with the veal special for two of us and fish for two others. We had the recommended Barolo and finished the dinner with tartufo, sorbets, and limoncello. All in all a wonderful dinner with impeccable service.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

First time in NYC for my daughter and fr ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

First time in NYC for my daughter and friend. They felt very classy because of how the staff treated us. Service was excellent and were very helpful. We enjoyed all aspects of meal. My family commented many time how quaint the back room was and the unique ceiling.

food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Lunch was a little bit less than expected.

vip
Dined on June 9, 2016

We were in the neighborhood after a long meeting and decided to have lunch nearby. Went to another restaurant that was unavailable as there was a private luncheon. We decided on Lattanzi since we've been there before and know what to expect. The menu was somewhat limited as the place was virtually empty. Ordered the gorgonzola salad which was fresh and enjoyable. Ordered the special of the day which was soft-shelled crabs. They were quite small but nicely prepared and meager in size. Food has always been expensive at Lattanzi but was generally very very good. This time I'd say it was a rating of fair to good and in-between the two ratings. Maybe lunch is really not the best time to go and dinner is the better choice. With so many wonderful restaurants nearby it's easy to try an alternative and see if it's a "better choice". I can't say I was disappointed but I was expecting a lot better.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We Had reservations for 5:15, after thea ...

Dined on June 8, 2016

We Had reservations for 5:15, after theater matinee. Service was excellent. Food was very good. As time went by, restaurant became very busy and active. We were never rushed and had a wonderful dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Although this has been our favorite go-t ...

vip
Dined on June 8, 2016

Although this has been our favorite go-to pre-theater dining spot for years, it is the first time I've done it for lunch and it did not disappoint. My pasta with artichokes and pecorino cheese sauce was to die for, and turned a gloomy, nasty, rainy day into a ray of sunshine.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

Wonderful food marred by the service

Dined on June 7, 2016

The food was terrific but the service was very poor. Usually the food and service are both excellent -- not this time. The person who took our order disappeared and was never seen again by us. A series of servers delivered the food. They missed one order to go along with the entrees and it took us a while to flag someone down to ask about the missing dish -- it is like they forgot we were there. They brought the missing dish after we reminded them twice. It arrived after we had finished the entrees. Then they completely forgot to bring the dessert we had ordered and we had to remind them twice. The comped us the dessert, but the bad service ruined the meal. The restaurant usually is not like that. I hope it was just an off night for them.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bigger than it looks. Tight seating but ...

Dined on June 7, 2016

Bigger than it looks. Tight seating but this is typical for NYC. We had reservations which are recommended. Menu is good. I had the special ravioli dish that was exquisite in looks as well as flavor. Service attentive. Definitely will return.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Very adequate but not spectacular

Dined on June 5, 2016

I have no major complaints about this restaurant, and I liked the ambience. However, I wouldn't recommend it for a special occasion. I had a chicken dish that was rather salty, and the meat was a bit tough/dry, but the salad and dessert were both very good. For the price, I expected the main dish to be better than it was, but it was ok. The servers were all very pleasant and polite, though we did have to flag people down a couple times when we wanted to order dessert and when we were ready for the bill, because no one seemed to be stopping by.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Italian restaurant right off Braodway

Dined on June 4, 2016

My wife and I were looking for a nice spot to have dinner on a Saturday evening before an 8:00 p.m. Broadway show, so of course we turned to OpenTable to find the best spot and, gosh darn, it did not disappoint. This little Italian gem is right off Broadway. The service is impeccable and the food is wonderful, from a perfectly prepared salmon filet to aromatic and perfectly prepared mushroom ravioli, the entire meal was a delight.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

Not as good as it used to be

Dined on June 4, 2016

This has been our special occasion place for almost 20 years. However, this last visit was disappointing. They seated us late, and the service was terrible. We mentioned that it was our anniversary -- and no one did anything special for us. They were out of the artichokes (their signature dish!) and we ordered a side order of brussel sprouts that never arrived (and we then pointed it out and asked them to take this off of our check since we never received it). Such a disappointment after all of these years.....

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

absolutely a wonderful find with rooftop dining!

Dined on June 4, 2016

the food, service and atmosphere exceeded my expectations. it was a very special evening and being seated on the roof on a beautiful summer evening made for a great night!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Quaint & intimate

Dined on June 4, 2016

We had a nice dinner at Lattanzi. The service was excellent and the food was very fresh. I had wanted something more intimate where we could easily hold a conversation, and this definitely fit the bill. The menu is somewhat limited, but as long as you are not a foodie, you will be pleased with this very traditional Italian meal.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Consistent

vip
Dined on June 3, 2016

As always, the food and service were very good. A nice pre theater spot

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Experience!

Dined on June 2, 2016

On a recent visit to NYC, my friends and I had reservations at Lattanzi. Despite our flight being delayed, the staff was very accommodating to allow us to arrive later. The wine was great, the food was fantastic, ambience was wonderful, all in all it was a very good experience, would definitely go there again!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A restaurant row staple

Dined on May 29, 2016

Always love the food, service, wine, and history of this place. Can't go wrong. Simple, good food.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience2
service1

Terrible meal and we will not be back! ...

Dined on May 25, 2016

Terrible meal and we will not be back! My husband ordered a seafood pasta that was uneatable and our waiter could care less that his plate was untouched. This was our anniversary dinner and a huge disappointment. Couldn't wait to leave.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Girls theatre nite

vip
Dined on May 24, 2016

We are a group of women that go to Broadway shows several time a year. Latanzzi is always on top of our list. Its consistent which most restaurants everywhere are not. Food is yummy and comes out at the same time.. Highly recommend

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday Celebration

Dined on May 22, 2016

Six of us enjoyed a fantastic meal after a Sunday matinee. Our servers were so attentive and allowed us time to linger and enjoy our meal, champagne and wine. This was a lovely day all around. we were seated in the back and were free to talk for hours. There was no sense of being rushed. Our meals were excellent. Really a wonderful experience all around.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful dinner. The service ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

We had a wonderful dinner. The service was just great and we were never rushed to leave. My dinner was a mixed grill of the daily catch. It included 3 different fishes. It was just great.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Restaurant works so well, especially whe ...

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

Restaurant works so well, especially when the Theater is in the equation. Service is the best Excellent choice

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

very nice

Dined on May 20, 2016

The five of us all had fish-four Branzini and one -salmon All were very pleased with the meal. We found the salads to bre on the samll side. The tartufo was the best we have ever had . The waitstaff was was friendly and prompt

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Like clockwork

Dined on May 19, 2016

Lattanzi's pre theatre is a no brainer.... Service routinely excellent and the Italian fare Is quite good but not inventive...you will get very good food served efficiently in a nice setting...what more could you want?....seating in back area is nicely sunlit .....

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food and wine very good and service attentive.

Dined on May 18, 2016

We were going to the theatre, leaving sufficient time to have a leisurely dinner. However, we felt a bit rush when our appetizers came shortly after ordering, and our entre was placed on the table as our apps were being removed. We had to ask for time to finish a second glass of wine before ordering dessert. I think the waiter got the message and left us alone until we called him. Overall, it was a very good dining experience which I wouldn't hesitate to do again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.