About Las Ramblas at Hotel Contessa

306 West Market Street
San Antonio, TX 78205
View Larger Map

Perfectly situated along a tranquil stretch of unspoiled riverfront at the Hotel Contessa, Las Ramblas offers breakfast, lunch and dinner. Adjacent to the restaurant is the Cork Bar with a great selection of beers and wines by the glass. Guests can enjoy both indoor and alfresco dining.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Spanish, Steakhouse, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm; Breakfast: Monday - Sunday: 6:30am - 11:00am

Cross Street:
Navarro

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(210) 298-8040

Website:
http://thehotelcontessa.com/las_ramblas/las_ramblas.asp

Executive Chef:

Private Party Facilities:
Please contact us for more information.

Private Party Contact:
Restaurant Manager: 2102988044x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Las Ramblas at Hotel Contessa Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

4

ambience

4.1

noise

Moderate

64% would recommend it to a friend

great for outdoor dining (7)
romantic (6)
scenic view (6)
See All
notable wine list (3)
special occasion (2)
kid-friendly (2)
fit for foodies (2)
good for groups (2)
great for lunch (2)
great for brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
304 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food2
ambience4
service3
value5

Just OK

Dined on May 6, 2016

Evening waiter was decent-had a good knowledge of wine list. We ate outside and view was wonderful. Unfortunately, food was just OK. One of our steak plates was tender and cooked to our liking,but had a tiny portion. The other steak plates were tough, dry and largely portioned. We expected more for $40 and $30 respectively. None of the sides were remarkable and the appetizer we ordered was barely touched. Overall we were sorely disappointed in the supper meal. The breakfast buffet the next morning was good. Unfortunately, our waiter that morning was horrible! Bar was always pleasant through our entire stay:) We chose not to eat future meals there, but rather dined at other locations on the Riverwalk for the rest of our stay.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Nice

Dined on April 30, 2016

Reason I went for the Paella. After we sat down the waiter told us Paella has been off the Menu for a while although many people ask for it. Restaurant is a bit pricey for quality of food.

Tags: great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Service, Great Food!

Dined on April 23, 2016

Upon arriving , my Wife and I were both greeted by name and treated very kindly. The employees at this location are genuinely nice. They gave us suggestions on what events to attend during the Fiesta Celebration. The food was great and fresh!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love it

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

This was our third visit. We love this restaurant and decided to bring our children and grandchildren. We requested outdoor seating on the river which is most beautiful. It's a very quiet section of the river and so people walking by art stacked up at your table. There happened to be a wedding that evening on the river right in front of us so it was extra special. The waitstaff is amazing so patient and it makes you feel like they're happy that you are there. The food was delicious from the tortilla soup to the wonderful salmon and perfectly cooked fillet mignon.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

BeautifulExperianceGreatFood

vip
Dined on March 20, 2016

Las Ramblas is on a wonderful part of the SA Riverwalk where the outdoor experience is peaceful and quiet as well as historic. The menu is varied and a good value with the best Crab Cakes I've had (and I've had a few) as well as one if the best (waiter recommended ) Tortilla Soups in South Texas. They offer seafood, steak, Pork and Fowl, all delicious. The service is impeccable especially for a hotel restaurant. It's a hidden gem and not one to miss.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Nice meal on the River Walk

Dined on March 6, 2016

My wife and I had an enjoyable and relaxing evening meal at Las Ramblas. We started with mussels which were flavored excellently. Both of our main courses where very enjoyable. I would recommend dinner.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Five of us came for the Restaurant Week ...

Dined on January 18, 2016

Five of us came for the Restaurant Week menu. We tried everything and it was all very good. We will come back soon to try the regular menu items.

food2
ambience3
service4
value2

So so

Dined on January 1, 2016

Great server!! She did the very best she could with what she was given. Food was fair and less so given the price. They were out of some menu items (and there are only 9 entrees) before 8:00 pm. The place was less than half full on New Year's Eve. Such great potential with that location but need to change a lot of things.

food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Food was good, but service slow.

Dined on December 31, 2015

Menu is very limited and service was good but slow. Seemed inderstaffed and there ess not that many people. Food was good though.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and service.

Dined on December 30, 2015

Excellent food and service.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service!

Dined on December 26, 2015

From the moment we were seated the service was excellent! Our server was very friendly and had a great sense of humor, a great fit for my date, she even offered to take a picture of us seated at our table. Our steaks were cooked to perfection.. outdid allot of steak houses we have frequented. The atmosphere was quaint and our table was in the perfect location, we had a great view of the river walk even though we decided to sit indoors. We will definetely return for future dinner dates!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Christmas dinner at Las Ramblas

Dined on December 26, 2015

The menu was somewhat limited but the offerings for the evening were interesting and good. I was under the impression this was a Spanish restaurant and Paella was not on the menu. The meals we ordered were well prepared and presented as well. The wine selection is acceptable. The ambiance in and out of the restaurant is exquisite and our server took care of our needs in a promptly manner. If I find myself at the River Walk I will definitely consider them again.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Over Priced Christmas Brunch

Dined on December 25, 2015

I used Open Table to search San Antonio for lunch Christmas Day. Open Table indicated 2 $ signs for pricing, so I figure $15 - $25 entree values. I get to Las Ramblas at The Contessa and they do not have menu dining - only have a Christmas brunch for $62 an adult; at that cost I figure we would at least get some alcoholic drinks. Wrong! The food and desserts were good, but not $62.00 good. For good measure, the bums add a 18% gratuity to the bill for buffet service. I would have tipped well, since it was Christmas day, but do not force it on me when there were only two in our party. We did not leave and go somewhere else because I figured on such late notice, our dining options for lunch would be extremely limited. We ate, left The Contessa Hotel and walked next door to the Westin, just sightseeing and saw their restaurant, Zocco, had a similar buffet, but for only $43.00. The moral: be careful and call a restaurant that you have a reservation for lunch when they may not have lunch available, but rather an overpriced brunch. Better yet, go to Zocco and not Las Ramblas for your dining. Even better yet, for a great Sunday brunch with one mimosa included, go to the Menger Hotel restaurant - we went earlier this year and it was $23.00 per person.

food1
ambience1
service1
value1

So rude we walked out

Dined on December 25, 2015

We had reservations for Christmas Eve, a party of six which included friends and family. Despite arriving on time, the woman in charge displayed an angry, impatient, unfriendly demeanor I have never seen outside of a biker bar. It was shocking, and before she finished throwing chairs around we left. It was a horrible experience.

food4
ambience4
service4

Really good location

Dined on December 12, 2015

We really enjoyed our dinner here, the staff were very friendly.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food3
ambience4
service2

I was not impressed with the Thanksgiving meal.

Dined on November 27, 2015

I paid 28 dollars a plate for the thanksgiving meal, but felt the servings were rather small. I echoed a couple slices of turkey, a small scoop of potatoes, small amount of stuffing and only 3 brusselspouts (which were excellent, but would have loved more vegetables). I was surprised no dessert was part of the meal and when I asked I felt like I was putting the waiter out. For a table of 3, I spent 125.00 dollars and a 20.00 tip. I don't believe I would return back to this establishment.

food1
ambience2
service1

Terrible!

Dined on November 26, 2015

Went for the Thanksgiving buffet. The food was terrible. Stale crackers; hard, stale rolls; room-temp, overcooked meats; tasteless food. Bad service as well. Wouldn't return, even if it was free, but at $60 for a buffet, it was practically a crime. And, no, I am not a competitor--just an extremely disappointed ex-patron.

food5
ambience5
service5

Hooked on the Contessa!

Dined on November 26, 2015

We enjoyed a delicious Thanksgiving buffet at Las Ramblas. There was plenty of choice for all ages and tastes -- it was all so good that we stayed for the buffet the following night, on Black Friday -- very happy with our experience!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5

You will want to come back; We did!

Dined on November 6, 2015

Such an enjoyable meal for so many reasons: * We had a one-year-old with us and they were so helpful and accommodating with high chair, food and cheerios on the floor. * The menu was a good balance of breakfast - brunch - lunch. We had one of each * Good views inside and out. One of the best riverwalk locations for dining.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

My regular spot when in San Antonio - always good

vip
Dined on September 3, 2015

They have several small plates on the cork bar menu which I really enjoy. I also get the Caesar salad with the avocados smash and it is really a nice combination. Good wine list also.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

High quality food, great service. Dynamic menu

vip
Dined on August 18, 2015

High quality food, great service. Dynamic menu - miss the paella!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Lovely!

Dined on August 18, 2015

I made reservations at Las Ramblas for my boyfriend and I for our 2-year anniversary. We decided to head there since they were participating in Restaurant Week. Our 3 course meal was the most delicious meal I have ever had! Our waitress was very kind, and so was everyone else we had contact with. Highly recommend!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service4

The food use to be so much better.

Dined on July 18, 2015

Their menu has changed. They use to be unique. Now they are just a regular restaurant. For locals, it's not with the trip or the money. Change the menu back.

Tags: romantic, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service4

Quiet Riverwalk dinner

Dined on July 12, 2015

Excellent food, dined with spouse. Not crowded on Saturday night. Great view of the river. Seemed undiscovered.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience2
service1

wife 35th birthday

Dined on May 25, 2015

These place had such amazing food. Sadly the wait staff has not idea of the hard work chef and cooks staff. We make reservation to celebrated my wife 35th birthday (with In-laws with us) They have a descent wine list, we request a couple of bottle of wine and they bring the wife 30 minutes later. We request the appetizers at the same time as the wine and appetizers show one hour later. Nor mention they mistakes the type of wine. (Sauvignon blanc for Cabernet Sauvignon) Around 10 pm we asked our attendant for the main course, they said it will take 15 more minutes..... really? Long-short story overall, food is really great, (but a bittersweet when you wait that long) decor really gorgeous, ambiance (it was pretty empty the restaurant) Service, really bad! So sad we expend close to $250.00 in dinner for 5 and bad services. You have to work hard staff!!!

food4
ambience4
service2

The brunch variety and quality of food w ...

Dined on May 10, 2015

The brunch variety and quality of food was great. Service was subpar as staff delayed in bringing ordered beverages to the table. Also, the staff overcharged by charging a meal for our children who are less than 6 years of age. Although the food was excellent. The level of service made for a suboptimal experience.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
food5
ambience1
service4

Won't ever go here again

Dined on May 10, 2015

We made reservations here for Mother's Day, after requesting a view of the river from our table. Since we live 25 miles north of town, we didn't want to make the drive unless we could see the river, as there are plenty of nice places out here, including our club. We were celebrating just as a couple as our grown kids live out of town. When we checked in we politely reminded them of the request for a river view. Unfortunately for us, the restaurant had decided to cram all of the 2-top tables into a small, windowless alcove AS IF WE WERE AT DENNY'S. (Oh wait, you can usually see a window at Denny's). We were only 18" from the table next to us, so there was no ambience or privacy whatsoever. This was particularly egregious because a number of 6-8 top tables were right by the windows and STAYED VACANT the whole time we were there (1.5 hours). The snippy young ladies at the front desk didn't even have the grace to apologize for the poor seating (our waiter did - he was great). They also forgot to give us a rose! Food was good but will never go back because of this annoying experience!

Tags: good for groups
food2
ambience2
service2

Mothers Day Brunch Let Down

vip
Dined on May 10, 2015

We booked under the impression that this would be something very special for my wife for mothers day. At $65 a person I had higher expectations. The food was just fine, the service was slow and dim. There were no additional decorations, no table cloths, no flowers. Drinks were not only extra but very expensive. I should have booked elsewhere

food4
ambience4
service5

Tapas Menu

vip
Dined on May 9, 2015

We wanted a lighter meal and ordered tapas from the bar menu. The choice was somewhat limited but the food was very good.

food5
ambience5
service5

Repeat Visit the Next Day

vip
Dined on March 27, 2015

I went back a second time the next day to order the same exact thing that I had ordered the day before. Wedge salad, tapas meatballs, side of asparagus. On the salad, I would personally recommend requesting the avocados smash versus the sliced avocado. Another nice glass of wine, the seat outside by the Riverwalk, great service, and great food.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

The chef put fresh-made guacamole on the ...

vip
Dined on March 26, 2015

The chef put fresh-made guacamole on the wedge salad, and it was incredible! I came back the very next day just to order it again. The next day it came with avocado wedges – still good, but be sure to order the avocado smash vs. the wedges - it makes all the difference.

food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome food!

Dined on March 21, 2015

We had a great experience here. Steak, paella, and meat/cheese platter were all very tasty!

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service4

Nice selection of small plates

Dined on March 9, 2015

Nice selection of small plates, supported by a good wine list. Each dish was well-presented, with some kind of pleasant surprise - Guacamole on the side of a traditional wedge salad, etc. Great view of a quiet area of the River Walk. Quiet and easy for conversation. Wait staff was helpful and courteous but not all that experienced.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service4

tapas

vip
Dined on March 6, 2015

if you want to sit in or out on the riverwalk, share some small plates with friends, drink some nice wine and watch the tourists go by, this is the place for you

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service1

Horrible customer service

vip
Dined on February 16, 2015

I had dinner on a Sunday night and seated on the patio, we were not the only guests out there but certainly the last served. Halfway through our meal, someone came out and turned off all heaters and never asked if we would like dessert. Clearly they wanted us out of there. Meals were overly priced and I would not return.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5

Valentines Dinner

Dined on February 15, 2015

It was great atmosphere for a wonderful romantic night. Food was great and service was great without overcrowded tables. Price is very expensive but worth the quality for special night!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5

Nice evening

vip
Dined on January 28, 2015

We had been to a reception so we wanted something light. As a result, we just ordered two tapas of which the meat and cheese dish was wonderful. The food was complimented by the wait staff which was attentive and very friendly. We were quite impressed.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, late-night find, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service3

Great tapas at SA

vip
Dined on January 23, 2015

Our visit to San Antonio was great with dining at Las Ramblas. We enjoyed the selection of tapas and cocktails. Dessert was great!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service4

Very pleasant experience

Dined on January 12, 2015

Delicious tapas, generously portioned. Happy hour prices were very reasonable.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, scenic view
food3
ambience4
service4

Another Riverwalk Overrated Dining

Dined on December 31, 2014

Over-priced but good. Great for outdoor dining. Red Sangria was very good.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.