Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi

About Las Ramblas at Hotel Contessa

Perfectly situated along a tranquil stretch of unspoiled riverfront at the Hotel Contessa, Las Ramblas offers breakfast, lunch and dinner. Adjacent to the restaurant is the Cork Bar with a great selection of beers and wines by the glass. Guests can enjoy both indoor and alfresco dining.

306 West Market Street
San Antonio, TX 78205
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Spanish, Steakhouse, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm; Breakfast: Monday - Sunday: 6:30am - 11:00am

Cross Street:
Navarro

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(210) 298-8040

Website:
http://thehotelcontessa.com/las_ramblas/las_ramblas.asp

Executive Chef:

Private Party Facilities:
Please contact us for more information.

Private Party Contact:
Restaurant Manager: (210) 298-8044

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Las Ramblas at Hotel Contessa Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.8

service

3.8

ambience

3.8

value

3.2

noise

Moderate

67% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Scenic View (5)
Special Occasion (4)
See All
Casual (4)
Great for Lunch (3)
Waterfront (3)
Fun (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Good for a Date (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Historic (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Romantic (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
People Watching (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Healthy (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Family Style (1)
Sort By:
S
351 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Good--albeit pricey--breakfast on the Riverwalk. Nice atmosphere on outside patio, but watch for birds and their droppings.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Very nice hotel with roomy suites. Conveniently located. Excellent food and outside dining was very enjoyable.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Special events are always challenging for restaurants. We have attended Easter Brunch 3 times at Las Ramblas. The children enjoy being on the river. The first year was fabulous...second year not as great. Unfortunately this year was a disappointment. We felt that the selection of sides and desserts was weak...for the 55$ price break I can do much better in San Antonio. Service was nonexistent until I complained...then became more attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We were there for the Easter Brunch. It was out of this world!!! The selection was incredible with everything you could ask for...beef, lamb, pork, fish, chicken, shrimp, oysters, salads, veggies and a dessert bar a mile long. Bottomless Mimosas and Bloody Marys. And everything tasted wonderful...fresh and flavorful. It was beautifully presented and really impressive. Our waiter, George, was a gem. A real gentleman and very efficient and professional, but still very friendly. It was a truly memorable meal.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Healthy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Over priced for the quality of food. I was disappointed. I was hoping for more.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 16, 2017

There were only four tables of diners so we were surprised at the slow and inattentive service. Our cosmos were served in high ball glasses which made us nervous for the rest of the evening. The meal however was very good.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Food was just okay. You could tell that the chicken on the salad was not fresh, cut up and cold like in a salad bar

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 11, 2017

I have traveled quite extensively and came into town for a decent meal considering the hotel review and restaurant web site. I infrequently right reviews unless the meals are extremely great or sub par. Needless to say, the bread was about the only thing I found appealing for my dinner. I ordered the filet and my date ordered the pork lion. She mentioned it was quite tuff and mine was of less quality. It was fatty and not the quality I would expect. I can honestly say that I have had better steak at Ihop (Steak tips), than this. Very disappointed in the food. Location was good with a nice view of the river though. The only reason for 2 stars.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 19, 2017

It was delicious! Great date night with husband. Sat outside and enjoyed the River and people watching. Gnocchi was perfect, soft with a delicate sauce. And no complaints on my Dirty Vodka Martini. Would highly recommend, can't wait to go back.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for a Date, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The description we read at our hotel said this was a Spanish restaurant. We were disappointed to learn that there was nothing Spanish about it. Hotel guide needs to be updated. We were there to celebrate a birthday. Food was mediocre. I had the roasted chicken that was flavorless and dry. Didn't finish it. My wife had the steak that was fatty and tough. Empty restaurant when we got there, and for some reason we were sat at a table right by a door leading to the patio. Cold air hitting us throughout the meal as people came in and out. And then a large volleyball group was seated right beside us. They were friendly, but very noisy.

I will say that our server was on point and very friendly.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Las Ramblas is located in the Hotel Contessa. We dined there on New Year's night so the service was spotty. Food was OK but we were disappointed that the menu didn't have any Tex-Mex items, which we thought it would at a restaurant of its name. easy access to the Riverwalk which is nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We selected Las Ramblas based on location/hotel association and the ambiance we could observe. That was all fine, but the food fell very very short of even moderate expectation. I ordered the bolognese and it was mediocre - this is a traditional Italian dish that should have 2-3 meats and up to 4 cheeses - what I was served was standard spaghetti with meat sauce, and the pasta was overcooked and water-logged. My dinner partner ordered mussels - and asked if they could be prepared not spicy. We were told yes, but the chef's solution was to leave out any broth or seasoning whatsoever. We tried to salvage the evening and meal - and it was almost OK. We spoke with the manager when we left to share the feedback, which he accepted very well. Not that I was looking for it - but he didn't offer to comp any part of the meal. He did offer dessert, but we were already departing, and why would we want to order something else?

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Food was mediocre. Service was very slow. Drinks were good but martinis were served in high ball glasses because they were out of glasses. Felt like we had the third string players - server, chef, manager - all evening. Would not recommend this establishment.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 26, 2016

We showed up at 8pm for reservation, and were told it would be a 30 minute wait. We actually only waited like 5 minutes. It was busy because it was Christmas, but they had many tables open. Server seemed frazzled. It took 30 minutes to get out appetizers, and main dishes were served 1 hour after sitting down. The table next to us said they waited 1 1/2 hours for their food, and the guy had to talk to the manager. Another table had some type of issue also, and was talking to the manager. The fish was very good, but the pork chops were very dry. I would not recommend Las Ramblas.

Tags: Cozy
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Went for Christmas lunch. The food spread was good, but no Christmas ambiance and seem to be short staffed as waiters were running a lot. Also witnessed a few arguments among wait staff, need a strong floor manager.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Horribly understaffed and disorganized. Hostess appeared to be pulled from somewhere in the hotel and had no hostess experience for a busy event. Seated 45 minutes late for reservations we had made over a month prior. All hot food was room temp and quickly running out. People were walking out left and right. Guests were visibly having to hunt down a server. Repeatedly. Rude bartenders. Beyond embarrassed that this was my recommendation based on last year's holiday reviews. Management was nowhere to be found, but I can't blame them as there was no salvaging the train-wreck that day. Will never be back.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 10, 2016

This is my second time eating here, a few years apart. Initially there had been an incredible chef, and a creatively sourced Spanish menu with exciting options. Upon this visit, the menu was riddled with what can only be described described as $5 words for $0.50 food.
My table of three opened with the artisan meat and cheese plate. Probably the highlight of the meal, although a poorly executed version of charcuterie.
I ordered the bolginaise, while my companions had the gnocchi and porkchop.
The dishes were tasteless.
I can now only equate this once specitacular restaurant with standard "hotel food." The food you get at the end of the night when you don't want to move farther than the lobby.
I am disappointed to say the least. I don't know the circumstances surrounding the prior chefs departure, but there is nothing worth returning for for me.

Tags: Bar Seating
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Thank you Joe, you turned something not so good to sweet!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Food was not worth the cost. Gnocchi was bland and mushy at best.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 25, 2016

We were looking forward to our visit during a recent stay at the hotel. Unfortunately, our experience was not what we would have hoped. While our welcome was a warm one at the front door, our service was lukewarm and our food was (often literally) cold. For a bill of about $100, including the tip, I would say the meal was with about half that price. We will likely not return, as the overall result of our visit was less than satisfactory.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 24, 2016

This was our first time there and we LOVED it! My husband could not have picked a better and comfortable place to enjoy our first Thanksgiving with not having any worries about cooking or cleaning up. The waiting staff and food servers were EXCELLENT, Courteous and always with a smile although the place was packed. We had a reservation and it took them about 10-15 minutes to seat us. The food was EXCELLENT and you never saw any of the Buffet platters empty, the staff was always stocking up on everything all the time. We are making plans for next year or even better for our upcoming anniversary.
EXCELLENT! EXCELLENT! EXCELLENT SERVICE TO ALL!

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Outstanding Value, Healthy, Special Occasion, Casual, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Food ok service below par and way too high prices. For a 50.00 dollar tip you would expect better service, what to ask for refills

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 6, 2016

My hubby and I stumbled upon Las Ramblas while walking along the Riverwalk. We were seated outside with a view of the Riverwalk. It's located on the quite part of the river which made our meal intimate and lovely. Hubby's steak was cooked to perfection and delicious. My chicken chopped salad was fresh and tasty. We will make this a must in our future trips to San Antonio.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Nice breakfast buffet..we had a large group and they were great with us

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Amazing. It was a lovely evening, sitting along the River Walk watching the boats glide by. The drinks, dinner and desserts were delicious. I highly recommend this restaurant on the quieter side of the River Walk.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Went for my wedding anniversary, the table was ready on time, that was it. The waitress came to ask for drinks, we ask for the cocktail menu, it took good 5 minutes, while we waited for it, she came 2 times more, we reminded her for the cocktail menu. The cocktails were good. Food whiles, bread was good, fried portobello was good, but the sauces were watery.(maybe they should turn into a bakery)
My wife ordered Gnocchi with creamy sauce, asparagus, mushrooms and heirloom tomatoes, it had NO SAUCE (was dry and flavorless), maybe 1/4 of a asparagus, 1 sliced mushroom and 2 tomatoes; I had the roasted chicken with fries and pesto, the spinach was extremely salty and they put me an enormous amount of fries with ketchup.
Ambiance was decent, but for the price, I don't come back, even if they invite me.
And, by the way, they have absolutely No Spanish food, not even close.
VERY DISAPPOINTING.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 18, 2016

A fantastic meal in a fantastic quiet location on The Riverwalk. The brussels sprouts were the best thing that we had in San Antonio.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 9, 2016

It's the best spot along the Riverwalk. The ambiance is fantastic! Service was a little slow. Everyone was friendly. Food is good, but should have been better for the location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 17, 2016

I made this reservation on Open Table because it was advertised as having a Tapas menu and was on the Riverwalk. I looked at the menu on Open Table and also on the Las Ramblas website and they had small plates on it. When we got to the restaurant 15 minutes early we were shown to a nice table inside, but looking out to the Riverwalk. Our waiter, Mike, brought the menus and I looked at them and then asked about the Tapas menu. He said they hadn't had the Tapas menu in over a year. We were ready to leave but on a Friday night in San Antonio finding another restaurant would have been hard. We ordered our meal and I was still so upset. I talked to the manager and also complained about the Tapas still being on their on-line menu. The meal came and I was ready to not like it but I must say it was very good. I found out out waiter, Mike, was really the bar tender so that explained some early mistakes that he made. He was a super nice guy and ended up doing a really good job. But, the next morning I had an email from Open Table saying our reservation at las Ramblas had been canceled. I immediately contacted Open Table and told them the whole story and that we had eaten there and were 15 minutes early. The response from Open Table came back within an hour. They said they had given us the credit for the meal and been in contact with the restaurant. I am very impressed with Open Table.

Tags: Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Delicious breakfast, kids ate for free (under 8) as they were having a special.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Went for restaurant week. Other than the waitress interrupting mid sentence several times it was a great experience .

The brussel sprouts and portabella fries were outstanding. Probably the best I've had. Incredibly flavorful.

The steak perfectly prepared and the sunset drink... My new favorite!

Hands down THE BEST creme Brule and I've tried it everywhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on August 26, 2016

Absolutely delicious food. My boyfriend and I went for dinner during San Antonio Restaurant Week. Our server (I believe his name was David) was fantastic. Validated valet is a nice perk. Minus 1 star bc the restrooms needed to be cleaned- badly.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Really great service! But the food was also amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Food and service were excellent, the overall experience was fantastic. The special occasion was our 35th wedding anniversary and we couldn't find a better place to enjoy dinner.

Tags: Fireplace, Romantic, Family Style, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Las Ramblas exceeded our expectations. The restaurant was offering a prix fixe menu, in addition to their regular menu and the choices were delicious. We had our 9 month old daughter with us and the manager had a plate of fresh fruit and a plate of vegetables brought out for her at no additional charge. The food was delicious and we felt well taken care of.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Las Ramblas had a great Restaurant Week menu. The restaurant seemed virtually empty for a Saturday night, which made us nervous. But the service was great and the food was outstanding. The menu seemed to be a Spanish/Italian fusion, which seems to work very well. I would highly recommend their mussels which were served in a spicy, chorizo broth. The desserts were absolutely amazing, including the snickers bread pudding and the cheesecake. Our server was super friendly and helpful. They had plenty of options on their wine list.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 8, 2016

Loved the food and scene at Las Ramblas. Recommend the clams as an appetizer and the pork chop was amazing!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on August 5, 2016

The food was fantastic and prices were moderate. Definitely recommend eating here. Wine list was great but Margaritas a little weak in taste and alcohol. My family enjoyed the atmosphere and overall we had a great time. Thanks for accommodating my late arrival and changes . Steak and Pork Chops were FANTASTIC!!! Caesar salad is a must try as well.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 1, 2016

We ate here several years ago, then couldn't remember the name. We finally found it again this year, went for dinner, and enjoyed it so much that we went back the next day for lunch. The food is very good and the service was excellent. For dining in the "tourist" area, the ambience was great.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on July 27, 2016

We went there to celebrate a birthday and it was very nice and comfortable. We will go back!


Thanks, for a great time.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.