About Las Ramblas at Hotel Contessa

306 West Market Street
San Antonio, TX 78205
View Larger Map

Perfectly situated along a tranquil stretch of unspoiled riverfront at the Hotel Contessa, Las Ramblas offers breakfast, lunch and dinner. Adjacent to the restaurant is the Cork Bar with a great selection of beers and wines by the glass. Guests can enjoy both indoor and alfresco dining.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Spanish, Steakhouse, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm; Breakfast: Monday - Sunday: 6:30am - 11:00am

Cross Street:
Navarro

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(210) 298-8040

Website:
http://thehotelcontessa.com/las_ramblas/las_ramblas.asp

Executive Chef:

Private Party Facilities:
Please contact us for more information.

Private Party Contact:
Restaurant Manager: 2102988044x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Las Ramblas at Hotel Contessa
Las Ramblas at Hotel Contessa
Paella
Angel Food Cake W/Fruit & Gelato
Shrimp ala Plancha
Chocolate torte
Catalan Tomato Bread
empanadas
Mussels
Paella Valenciana
Seafood Stew "Zarzuela"
Brussel sprouts
Seafood Paella
Assorted tapas

Las Ramblas at Hotel Contessa Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Quiet

75% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Outdoor Dining
San Antonio
Scenic View
San Antonio
Outdoor Dining
San Antonio
1 More
Scenic View
San Antonio
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

Scenic View (14)
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
Romantic (10)
See All
Special Occasion (9)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Notable Wine List (6)
Great for Lunch (5)
Good for Groups (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
314 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food and service were excellent, the ov ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined 5 days ago

Food and service were excellent, the overall experience was fantastic. The special occasion was our 35th wedding anniversary and we couldn't find a better place to enjoy dinner.

Tags: Fireplace, Romantic, Family Style, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Las Ramblas had a great Restaurant Week ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Las Ramblas had a great Restaurant Week menu. The restaurant seemed virtually empty for a Saturday night, which made us nervous. But the service was great and the food was outstanding. The menu seemed to be a Spanish/Italian fusion, which seems to work very well. I would highly recommend their mussels which were served in a spicy, chorizo broth. The desserts were absolutely amazing, including the snickers bread pudding and the cheesecake. Our server was super friendly and helpful. They had plenty of options on their wine list.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Las Ramblas exceeded our expectations. T ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Las Ramblas exceeded our expectations. The restaurant was offering a prix fixe menu, in addition to their regular menu and the choices were delicious. We had our 9 month old daughter with us and the manager had a plate of fresh fruit and a plate of vegetables brought out for her at no additional charge. The food was delicious and we felt well taken care of.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved the food and scene at Las Ramblas. ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Loved the food and scene at Las Ramblas. Recommend the clams as an appetizer and the pork chop was amazing!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was fantastic and prices were m ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

The food was fantastic and prices were moderate. Definitely recommend eating here. Wine list was great but Margaritas a little weak in taste and alcohol. My family enjoyed the atmosphere and overall we had a great time. Thanks for accommodating my late arrival and changes . Steak and Pork Chops were FANTASTIC!!! Caesar salad is a must try as well.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We ate here several years ago, then coul ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

We ate here several years ago, then couldn't remember the name. We finally found it again this year, went for dinner, and enjoyed it so much that we went back the next day for lunch. The food is very good and the service was excellent. For dining in the "tourist" area, the ambience was great.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went there to celebrate a birthday an ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

We went there to celebrate a birthday and it was very nice and comfortable. We will go back!

Thanks, for a great time.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved the view and ambience here. Gorge ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Loved the view and ambience here. Gorgeous views of the Riverwalk! Our server was wonderful! Food was not bad but just ok. Lacked flavor. We didn't mind b/c it was a lovely experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

We had a special family dinner while in ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We had a special family dinner while in San Antonio for just a few days. We had looked at many places on the Riverwalk, Las Ramblas had one of the highest ratings and did not disappoint! The food was excellent, the location on the Riverwalk was quiet and lovely, and the service was on point. We had a great time watching two weddings happen during our dinner on the river, too. I would take our family back again in a heartbeat!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fair Experience at Las Ramblas

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

This was our 45th anniversary trip. Overall, fairly nice layout/tables/view with great potential that was not realized. Food was fair to average for this type of restaurant. My steak was of average quality and my wife's entree salad was also average. It is not the fault of the waitress but the service was below average -- the waitress was very pleasant and tried hard, but the restaurant management just has not made any effort to train her properly for this type of restaurant -- the service was more like you would get from a small town restaurant rather than San Antonio -- food is always served from the left, drinks from the right, plates are cleared from the right, glasses and coffee cups are cleared from the right. When the tea glass is empty and the guest has not finished their meal, you should just fill the glass rather than ask if the guest wants more tea! And why did the waitress fail t ask if the guests wanted dessert and coffee -- again, pretty standard for this type restaurant. I didn't fault the waitress and gave her a 20% tip on an $85 bill. I am willing to give high tips for excellent service and gave a 53% tip to my waiter at another restaurant the next night -- night and day difference in service. Even though we are in San Antonio almost monthly, we definitely will never return here again.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Just OK

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Evening waiter was decent-had a good knowledge of wine list. We ate outside and view was wonderful. Unfortunately, food was just OK. One of our steak plates was tender and cooked to our liking,but had a tiny portion. The other steak plates were tough, dry and largely portioned. We expected more for $40 and $30 respectively. None of the sides were remarkable and the appetizer we ordered was barely touched. Overall we were sorely disappointed in the supper meal. The breakfast buffet the next morning was good. Unfortunately, our waiter that morning was horrible! Bar was always pleasant through our entire stay:) We chose not to eat future meals there, but rather dined at other locations on the Riverwalk for the rest of our stay.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value5

Nice

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Reason I went for the Paella. After we sat down the waiter told us Paella has been off the Menu for a while although many people ask for it. Restaurant is a bit pricey for quality of food.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Great Service, Great Food!

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Upon arriving , my Wife and I were both greeted by name and treated very kindly. The employees at this location are genuinely nice. They gave us suggestions on what events to attend during the Fiesta Celebration. The food was great and fresh!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love it

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

This was our third visit. We love this restaurant and decided to bring our children and grandchildren. We requested outdoor seating on the river which is most beautiful. It's a very quiet section of the river and so people walking by art stacked up at your table. There happened to be a wedding that evening on the river right in front of us so it was extra special. The waitstaff is amazing so patient and it makes you feel like they're happy that you are there. The food was delicious from the tortilla soup to the wonderful salmon and perfectly cooked fillet mignon.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

BeautifulExperianceGreatFood

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

Las Ramblas is on a wonderful part of the SA Riverwalk where the outdoor experience is peaceful and quiet as well as historic. The menu is varied and a good value with the best Crab Cakes I've had (and I've had a few) as well as one if the best (waiter recommended ) Tortilla Soups in South Texas. They offer seafood, steak, Pork and Fowl, all delicious. The service is impeccable especially for a hotel restaurant. It's a hidden gem and not one to miss.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Nice meal on the River Walk

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

My wife and I had an enjoyable and relaxing evening meal at Las Ramblas. We started with mussels which were flavored excellently. Both of our main courses where very enjoyable. I would recommend dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Five of us came for the Restaurant Week ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on January 18, 2016

Five of us came for the Restaurant Week menu. We tried everything and it was all very good. We will come back soon to try the regular menu items.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

So so

 
 (Central Texas)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

Great server!! She did the very best she could with what she was given. Food was fair and less so given the price. They were out of some menu items (and there are only 9 entrees) before 8:00 pm. The place was less than half full on New Year's Eve. Such great potential with that location but need to change a lot of things.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Food was good, but service slow.

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on December 31, 2015

Menu is very limited and service was good but slow. Seemed inderstaffed and there ess not that many people. Food was good though.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Excellent food and service.

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on December 30, 2015

Excellent food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and service!

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on December 26, 2015

From the moment we were seated the service was excellent!

Our server was very friendly and had a great sense of humor, a great fit for my date, she even offered to take a picture of us seated at our table. Our steaks were cooked to perfection.. outdid allot of steak houses we have frequented. The atmosphere was quaint and our table was in the perfect location, we had a great view of the river walk even though we decided to sit indoors. We will definetely return for future dinner dates!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Christmas dinner at Las Ramblas

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on December 26, 2015

The menu was somewhat limited but the offerings for the evening were interesting and good. I was under the impression this was a Spanish restaurant and Paella was not on the menu. The meals we ordered were well prepared and presented as well. The wine selection is acceptable. The ambiance in and out of the restaurant is exquisite and our server took care of our needs in a promptly manner. If I find myself at the River Walk I will definitely consider them again.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Over Priced Christmas Brunch

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on December 25, 2015

I used Open Table to search San Antonio for lunch Christmas Day. Open Table indicated 2 $ signs for pricing, so I figure $15 - $25 entree values. I get to Las Ramblas at The Contessa and they do not have menu dining - only have a Christmas brunch for $62 an adult; at that cost I figure we would at least get some alcoholic drinks. Wrong! The food and desserts were good, but not $62.00 good. For good measure, the bums add a 18% gratuity to the bill for buffet service. I would have tipped well, since it was Christmas day, but do not force it on me when there were only two in our party. We did not leave and go somewhere else because I figured on such late notice, our dining options for lunch would be extremely limited. We ate, left The Contessa Hotel and walked next door to the Westin, just sightseeing and saw their restaurant, Zocco, had a similar buffet, but for only $43.00.

The moral: be careful and call a restaurant that you have a reservation for lunch when they may not have lunch available, but rather an overpriced brunch. Better yet, go to Zocco and not Las Ramblas for your dining. Even better yet, for a great Sunday brunch with one mimosa included, go to the Menger Hotel restaurant - we went earlier this year and it was $23.00 per person.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

So rude we walked out

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on December 25, 2015

We had reservations for Christmas Eve, a party of six which included friends and family. Despite arriving on time, the woman in charge displayed an angry, impatient, unfriendly demeanor I have never seen outside of a biker bar. It was shocking, and before she finished throwing chairs around we left. It was a horrible experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Really good location

 
 (New England)
·Dined on December 12, 2015

We really enjoyed our dinner here, the staff were very friendly.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

I was not impressed with the Thanksgiving meal.

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on November 27, 2015

I paid 28 dollars a plate for the thanksgiving meal, but felt the servings were rather small. I echoed a couple slices of turkey, a small scoop of potatoes, small amount of stuffing and only 3 brusselspouts (which were excellent, but would have loved more vegetables). I was surprised no dessert was part of the meal and when I asked I felt like I was putting the waiter out. For a table of 3, I spent 125.00 dollars and a 20.00 tip. I don't believe I would return back to this establishment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

Terrible!

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on November 26, 2015

Went for the Thanksgiving buffet. The food was terrible. Stale crackers; hard, stale rolls; room-temp, overcooked meats; tasteless food. Bad service as well. Wouldn't return, even if it was free, but at $60 for a buffet, it was practically a crime. And, no, I am not a competitor--just an extremely disappointed ex-patron.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1

Hooked on the Contessa!

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on November 26, 2015

We enjoyed a delicious Thanksgiving buffet at Las Ramblas. There was plenty of choice for all ages and tastes -- it was all so good that we stayed for the buffet the following night, on Black Friday -- very happy with our experience!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

You will want to come back; We did!

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on November 6, 2015

Such an enjoyable meal for so many reasons:

* We had a one-year-old with us and they were so helpful and accommodating with high chair, food and cheerios on the floor.

* The menu was a good balance of breakfast - brunch - lunch. We had one of each

* Good views inside and out. One of the best riverwalk locations for dining.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

My regular spot when in San Antonio - always good

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on September 3, 2015

They have several small plates on the cork bar menu which I really enjoy. I also get the Caesar salad with the avocados smash and it is really a nice combination. Good wine list also.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

High quality food, great service. Dynamic menu

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 18, 2015

High quality food, great service. Dynamic menu - miss the paella!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lovely!

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 18, 2015

I made reservations at Las Ramblas for my boyfriend and I for our 2-year anniversary. We decided to head there since they were participating in Restaurant Week. Our 3 course meal was the most delicious meal I have ever had! Our waitress was very kind, and so was everyone else we had contact with. Highly recommend!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food use to be so much better.

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 18, 2015

Their menu has changed. They use to be unique. Now they are just a regular restaurant. For locals, it's not with the trip or the money. Change the menu back.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

Quiet Riverwalk dinner

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 12, 2015

Excellent food, dined with spouse. Not crowded on Saturday night. Great view of the river. Seemed undiscovered.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

wife 35th birthday

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on May 25, 2015

These place had such amazing food. Sadly the wait staff has not idea of the hard work chef and cooks staff. We make reservation to celebrated my wife 35th birthday (with In-laws with us) They have a descent wine list, we request a couple of bottle of wine and they bring the wife 30 minutes later. We request the appetizers at the same time as the wine and appetizers show one hour later. Nor mention they mistakes the type of wine. (Sauvignon blanc for Cabernet Sauvignon) Around 10 pm we asked our attendant for the main course, they said it will take 15 more minutes..... really?

Long-short story overall, food is really great, (but a bittersweet when you wait that long) decor really gorgeous, ambiance (it was pretty empty the restaurant) Service, really bad!

So sad we expend close to $250.00 in dinner for 5 and bad services.

You have to work hard staff!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1

The brunch variety and quality of food w ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on May 10, 2015

The brunch variety and quality of food was great. Service was subpar as staff delayed in bringing ordered beverages to the table. Also, the staff overcharged by charging a meal for our children who are less than 6 years of age. Although the food was excellent. The level of service made for a suboptimal experience.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

Won't ever go here again

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on May 10, 2015

We made reservations here for Mother's Day, after requesting a view of the river from our table. Since we live 25 miles north of town, we didn't want to make the drive unless we could see the river, as there are plenty of nice places out here, including our club. We were celebrating just as a couple as our grown kids live out of town. When we checked in we politely reminded them of the request for a river view.

Unfortunately for us, the restaurant had decided to cram all of the 2-top tables into a small, windowless alcove AS IF WE WERE AT DENNY'S. (Oh wait, you can usually see a window at Denny's). We were only 18" from the table next to us, so there was no ambience or privacy whatsoever. This was particularly egregious because a number of 6-8 top tables were right by the windows and STAYED VACANT the whole time we were there (1.5 hours). The snippy young ladies at the front desk didn't even have the grace to apologize for the poor seating (our waiter did - he was great). They also forgot to give us a rose!

Food was good but will never go back because of this annoying experience!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service4

Mothers Day Brunch Let Down

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on May 10, 2015

We booked under the impression that this would be something very special for my wife for mothers day. At $65 a person I had higher expectations. The food was just fine, the service was slow and dim. There were no additional decorations, no table cloths, no flowers. Drinks were not only extra but very expensive. I should have booked elsewhere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

Tapas Menu

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 9, 2015

We wanted a lighter meal and ordered tapas from the bar menu. The choice was somewhat limited but the food was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Repeat Visit the Next Day

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on March 27, 2015

I went back a second time the next day to order the same exact thing that I had ordered the day before. Wedge salad, tapas meatballs, side of asparagus. On the salad, I would personally recommend requesting the avocados smash versus the sliced avocado. Another nice glass of wine, the seat outside by the Riverwalk, great service, and great food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.