About Las Margaritas

1999 4th Ave W
Vancouver, BC V6J1M7
View Larger Map

At Las Margaritas you'll find what's been called the city's best salsa and margaritas, as well as the largest tequila selection in B.C. Las Margaritas serves up hearty portions and the price range is hard to beat.

Owner Dan Rodriguez and general manager Rolando Guardia serve food more from the north of Mexico, Baja and California. Rodriguez frequently visits Mexico, Southern California and the Baja to make sure his restaurant keeps up with current trends in Mexican food and drinks.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Mexican

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Thursday: 11:30am - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 11:30am - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Maple Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(604) 734-7117

Website:
http://www.lasmargaritas.com/

Private Party Facilities:
For private parties of 6 or more please contact us to make arrangements.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Las Margaritas Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Fun (12)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Casual (11)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Authentic (6)
Good for a Date (6)
Great for Lunch (5)
Special Occasion (5)
Good for Groups (5)
People Watching (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Spicy (3)
Cozy (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Tapas (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Family Style (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
139 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This wasn't our best experience and we t ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 27, 2016

This wasn't our best experience and we truly are long time customers. We've been eating house nachos since the mid 80's, that's how far back we go.

When we arrived, we were placed right near the front door, and froze every time the door opened and closed. We lived with that, because it was fairly busy. Then they couldn't do the salad they have done for me in the past (for years!) - apparently the chef had never heard of it, yet, I had it within the past 6 months. The appies and entrees all arrived at the same time, so the table was jam packed. My appie (house nachos) wasn't hot, and the salad I got instead of what I wanted wasn't very good, so I didn't eat it. The waiter didn't ask if a) it could be packed up, or b) was everything okay, since I hardly touched it. He just took it away without acknowledging anything.

My pina colada was good, so I guess there's that... :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Staff as rude took forever to be served. ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Staff as rude took forever to be served. My meal was incorrect and the waitress tried to argue with me about it and tell me i was wrong. Whatever happened to "the customer is always right?"

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Had a great time the bulldog beergaritas ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Had a great time the bulldog beergaritas were great!

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Its always a lively place and the servic ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Its always a lively place and the service was excellent. I really liked the shrimp tacos and the pomegranate/grapefruit margarita was tasty. Very lively and loud place, but it never disappoints on food flavours

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Comfort Food, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Absolutely amazing drinks and great Mexi ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Absolutely amazing drinks and great Mexican food. Would deffeinitly go again.

Tags: Fun, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Good food, good ambiance and very casual ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Good food, good ambiance and very casual. Good value for family or group outings.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Always good always 100%

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Always good always 100%

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved the high quality chicken and gener ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Loved the high quality chicken and generous portion used in the fajitas and enchiladas. The mole sauce was excellent, as were the margaritas.

The fajitas though could be improved by actually grilling them on the skillet in which they were brought. They weren't hot and sizzling on the iron skillet, but rather placed on there and way too clean. It looked and tasted like they were just microwaved or broiled and then placed on the skillet. Very odd.

Tags: Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Hard to find a decent Mexican restaurant ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Hard to find a decent Mexican restaurant in Vancouver, and we really enjoyed it. The food was delicious, though a bit overpriced. The chips were good, but not enough to pay for the second basket!

Tags: Tapas, Casual, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Love the complimentary chips and salsa t ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Love the complimentary chips and salsa to begin the mean. Fantastic margaritas and delicious food.

Tags: Fun, Spicy, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Authentic food, good Mexican ambiance, g ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Authentic food, good Mexican ambiance, good service.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Don't know why they cannot take more tha ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Don't know why they cannot take more than 4 people reservation using open table. When we got there we had to wait for a table even though there were empty tables. I think it might have been that the servers don't start work until 5pm. We have been here so many times over the past 15 years because it is a neighborhood go to dinner place. Finally they have given us 2 baskets of salsa chips without charging for the second basket. I always thought it was unfair that a table of 4 gets 1 basket of salsa chips when a table of 2 gets 1 basket of salsa chips. So the times I had to pay for the extra basket I felt ripped off. Service was great because the waitress came by to fill up the water when she had time.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

We love Mexican food and we love Las Mar ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 2, 2016

We love Mexican food and we love Las Margaritas. They have great Margaritas and their Enchilada de Sonors is excellent!

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Authentic and delicious

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Authentic and delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

very dissapointed with menu selection an ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 18, 2016

very dissapointed with menu selection and flavours, server was great and made the evening fun and worth it!

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value2

Absolutely love Las Margaritas. The food ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Absolutely love Las Margaritas. The food was wonderful as was our server.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our favourite summer celebration locatio ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Our favourite summer celebration location for our August birthdays, never lets us down. Muchos gracias!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Outstanding Value, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The evening was nice for a birthday. The ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 20, 2016

The evening was nice for a birthday. The chicken dishes were good but the fish tacos were dry and uninspired. I wish I had requested a different dish but as it was a special occasion I didn't want to mar the mood.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Las Margaritas was a great place for a l ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 18, 2016

Las Margaritas was a great place for a large group of us to meet. The staff were very accommodating as we wanted our group to sit together, so they moved tables together. The service was good and quick and our dinners came at the same time and were hot. Definitely recommend it.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

service was very good...we all be bad... ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 8, 2016

service was very good...we all be bad...good margs

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was great! We loved the drinks : sa ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 7, 2016

Food was great! We loved the drinks : sangria was excellent! Highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Good food, however a bit pricey for most ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 18, 2016

Good food, however a bit pricey for mostly rice and beans when choosing vegetarian dishes. Table service was good, however server merely brought us the bill and did not ask if we wanted more drinks or dessert. I booked the table for three of us through Open Table for one of only two times indicated as available, however on arrival and throughout our meal there were many empty tables. I'm confused about the scarcity of free tables indicated when I reserved mine.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

The food is always great and the service ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 16, 2016

The food is always great and the service is friendly. My favourite spot for a Melon Margaritta on a hot day. Great for date night, special occasions or friend get togethers.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What we had was well prepared and tasty; ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 26, 2016

What we had was well prepared and tasty; ample portions; good service. What is unfortunately missing in essentially all Vancouver Mexican restaurants is more grilled meats, fresh fish and dishes with vegetables other than tomatoes and beans.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Great service, food arrived quickly, mea ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 25, 2016

Great service, food arrived quickly, meal was fantastic.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Fun, Casual, People Watching, Romantic, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Very good nice staff great dining room d ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 22, 2016

Very good nice staff great dining room do try the fajitas

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great salsa and chips

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 15, 2016

Great salsa and chips

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

We have been going to Mexico for years . ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 8, 2016

We have been going to Mexico for years . The ambiance in the restaurant is believabley authentic.

The portions were big with a varied menu.

I would recommend Las Margaritas to friends .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

great food!! start with one of their ma ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 4, 2016

great food!! start with one of their many tequilas and have the appy platter while you review the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I love the chips and salsa!!!!! Best pat ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 24, 2016

I love the chips and salsa!!!!! Best patio seating in kits.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

awesome every time

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 30, 2016

Best mexican I've found. Always got and authentic. Great drink specials

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

good food, great ambiance

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 19, 2016

Food is great and portions are large. Prices are reasonable and the margaritas are worth a try. It's busy and loud, which I love. Overall a great place for any occasion.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Fantastic!

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 16, 2016

Had a great time. The food was and we will be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

busy but great atmosphere

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 15, 2016

We love a quick mexican lunch at Las Margaritas. The value is good and the atmosphere is great, lots of photographs, posters and scenery on the walls to give the place a more authentic ambience. Very popular, especially in the summer, so book ahead.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Mexican food in Vancouver????

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 5, 2016

Best Mexican food in Vancouver. Period. Good service, reasonable price. If you like Mexican food, try this for sure.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was very bland. Churros were overdo ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 3, 2016

Food was very bland. Churros were overdone and hard. Not too impressed. Won't be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

Best Mex

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 20, 2016

Tasty Mexican food with great friendly staff and the best margaritas in town. Wonderful in the summer when you can sit outside while enjoying some baja fish tacos and melon margarita

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

mini mexcan getaway

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 6, 2016

Cozy place to have a nice meal with friends and family.

Good food. Friendly service. Great neighbourhood.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Attentive service

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 3, 2016

Although Las Margaritas was very busy (no empty tables) the wait staff was very attentive, without appearing rushed.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

Bland food, Bad service.

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 1, 2016

I came here with my family for dine-out. Our appetizers were pretty good, and the margaritas we ordered were quite nice. However, the entrees (I had the chicken enchiladas) were extremely bland and just not appetizing at all, i couldn't finish my plate as i was so put off. This is not authentic mexican food. To top off this bad experience, our server seemed like she didn't want to serve us at all. We gave her no reason to be rude, as we made no complaints, she however would walk away before i finished asking for something (hot water, ordering a drink) and I would have to wait til she came back to finish what I was saying. It was busy, but when she was at the table next to us she was definitely not as rude.

If youre looking for good food, avoid this place. Come for margaritas, without the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.