About Las Margaritas

At Las Margaritas you'll find what's been called the city's best salsa and margaritas, as well as the largest tequila selection in B.C. Las Margaritas serves up hearty portions and the price range is hard to beat.

Owner Dan Rodriguez and general manager Rolando Guardia serve food more from the north of Mexico, Baja and California. Rodriguez frequently visits Mexico, Southern California and the Baja to make sure his restaurant keeps up with current trends in Mexican food and drinks.

1999 4th Ave W
Vancouver, BC V6J1M7
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Mexican

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Thursday: 11:30am - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 11:30am - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Maple Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(604) 734-7117

Website:
http://www.lasmargaritas.com/

Private Party Facilities:
For private parties of 6 or more please contact us to make arrangements.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Las Margaritas Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (15)
Fun (14)
Comfort Food (10)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Authentic (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Cozy (6)
Outstanding Value (5)
Family Style (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Good for a Date (5)
Good for Groups (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
People Watching (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Special Occasion (3)
Spicy (2)
Tapas (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Romantic (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Seasonal (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Great Beer (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Business Meals (1)
Live Sports (1)
Healthy (1)
Historic (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
160 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 5 days ago

The food was good! Servers were friendly, great atmosphere and the sangrias on special really fit with our menu for a mexican feel!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The margaritas were fantastic, and I was there during happy hour, meaning I had the opportunity to have $4.75 slushy margaritas. The food was mediocre, but that was to be expected. I was seated near the windows and it was quite cold inside the restaurant, so that was unpleasant. The service was great, and the price was very reasonable considering how many margaritas I drank.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great food as always. We come here once a year from out of town and it's always worth it. Wife loves the margaritas and the Mexican cola is tops for me. Haven't had a bad meal here and have been coming for over a decade.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Great for Lunch, People Watching, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Very good quality Mexican food, lots of great menu items to choose from

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Family Style, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Gluten Free Options, Fun, Kid-friendly, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 10, 2017

The staff & food are excellent! We enjoyed our time here . We were given a real personal type of service with the lovely manager coming to check if we needed anything & the server was very friendly!

Tags: Happy Hour, Family Style, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 6, 2017

First time here. Food was excellent, worth the 45 min drive.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Live Sports, Kid-friendly, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value, Healthy, Historic, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Great place for Dine Out Vancouver. Three courses for $20, all with good portion sizes. During other times of the year, this is a fun spot but not the best Mexican in town. It's the only place of its kind in the area though, and the patio in the summer is tough to beat. Worth the odd visit for sure.

Tags: Comfort Food, Tapas, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 4, 2017

I enjoy Las Margaritas particularly in summer when you can sit out on the deck, they have a great happy hour menu!

This was the first time we had been in the evening and was part of Dine Out Vancouver. The menu was 3 courses with 3 choices per course and was excellent value for money at $20pp, the portion sizes were just right - left feeling full but not stuffed.

There is a good selection of drinks at reasonable prices. Our server was attentive and friendly.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Great value for the food- especially as it was during Dine Out Vancouver. Food and margaritas were on point (as usual), however the service was bafflingly poor.

Our server ignored our empty drinks for a good twenty minutes, couldn't remember dessert orders, and switched our orders. We were a party of two and we dined here on a Thursday night- not sure why we weren't given the same level of service as other tables.

Still, good food :)

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 3, 2017

This was our first visit. Nice to change our regular preferences. Will return, looked at the regular menu and there are many choices. We dined there for Dine Out Vancouver. Like the ambience. open and airy. There is an outdoor dining space that would interest me in more temperate months. We will return and enjoy the wide range of items.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Good Mexican...big menu with lots of choices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Enjoyed Las Margaritas as part of Vancouver's Dine-out. Food and menu were very good, service was exceptional. Would certainly come back in the future with friends of family.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen, Family Style, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Great service and delicious food. Large choice of meals. We had a great time and we recommend it for sure.

Tags: Great Beer, Tasting Menu, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Had been there before and enjoyed the food, but their dine out vancouver plates were underwhelming. Would've been better off ordering from the normal menu. Very poor service, and loud. Had to ask for water. When my glass was empty, I waited 10 minutes until having to just outright to ask for a refill. The lowest default tip option was 20%, as the waiter hovered above me waiting for me to punch it in. Definitely didn't deserve 20%. Worst service I've had in recent memory, anywhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 23, 2017

We went there for dine out. The food was good, but I personally like the regular menu better. However, I really enjoyed the desserts in dine out menu.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Great Birthday dinner out with the girls! Couldn't have been better. Especially with the melon Margaritas! Mmm

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 10, 2017

We go for the nachos

They have the best in vancouver

Service at bar at lunch is super friendly

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Always delicious! The chips hat they serve as appetizers is delicious. I usually have the chimichanga but went for the shrimp tacos. Didn't disappoint.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 15, 2016

A really nice place to relax in a casual setting with great food. The enchiladas I had were perfect!! If you like Mexican cuisine, do yourself a favour and try Las Margaritas out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Great spot. Always visitwhen in Vancouver. Filled with memories.

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food, Molecular Gastronomy, People Watching, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 27, 2016

This wasn't our best experience and we truly are long time customers. We've been eating house nachos since the mid 80's, that's how far back we go.

When we arrived, we were placed right near the front door, and froze every time the door opened and closed. We lived with that, because it was fairly busy. Then they couldn't do the salad they have done for me in the past (for years!) - apparently the chef had never heard of it, yet, I had it within the past 6 months. The appies and entrees all arrived at the same time, so the table was jam packed. My appie (house nachos) wasn't hot, and the salad I got instead of what I wanted wasn't very good, so I didn't eat it. The waiter didn't ask if a) it could be packed up, or b) was everything okay, since I hardly touched it. He just took it away without acknowledging anything.

My pina colada was good, so I guess there's that... :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Staff as rude took forever to be served. My meal was incorrect and the waitress tried to argue with me about it and tell me i was wrong. Whatever happened to "the customer is always right?"

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Had a great time the bulldog beergaritas were great!

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Its always a lively place and the service was excellent. I really liked the shrimp tacos and the pomegranate/grapefruit margarita was tasty. Very lively and loud place, but it never disappoints on food flavours

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Comfort Food, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Absolutely amazing drinks and great Mexican food. Would deffeinitly go again.

Tags: Fun, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Good food, good ambiance and very casual. Good value for family or group outings.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Always good always 100%

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Loved the high quality chicken and generous portion used in the fajitas and enchiladas. The mole sauce was excellent, as were the margaritas.

The fajitas though could be improved by actually grilling them on the skillet in which they were brought. They weren't hot and sizzling on the iron skillet, but rather placed on there and way too clean. It looked and tasted like they were just microwaved or broiled and then placed on the skillet. Very odd.

Tags: Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Hard to find a decent Mexican restaurant in Vancouver, and we really enjoyed it. The food was delicious, though a bit overpriced. The chips were good, but not enough to pay for the second basket!

Tags: Tapas, Casual, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Love the complimentary chips and salsa to begin the mean. Fantastic margaritas and delicious food.

Tags: Fun, Spicy, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Authentic food, good Mexican ambiance, good service.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Don't know why they cannot take more than 4 people reservation using open table. When we got there we had to wait for a table even though there were empty tables. I think it might have been that the servers don't start work until 5pm. We have been here so many times over the past 15 years because it is a neighborhood go to dinner place. Finally they have given us 2 baskets of salsa chips without charging for the second basket. I always thought it was unfair that a table of 4 gets 1 basket of salsa chips when a table of 2 gets 1 basket of salsa chips. So the times I had to pay for the extra basket I felt ripped off. Service was great because the waitress came by to fill up the water when she had time.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 2, 2016

We love Mexican food and we love Las Margaritas. They have great Margaritas and their Enchilada de Sonors is excellent!

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Authentic and delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 18, 2016

very dissapointed with menu selection and flavours, server was great and made the evening fun and worth it!

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value2

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Absolutely love Las Margaritas. The food was wonderful as was our server.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Our favourite summer celebration location for our August birthdays, never lets us down. Muchos gracias!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Outstanding Value, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 20, 2016

The evening was nice for a birthday. The chicken dishes were good but the fish tacos were dry and uninspired. I wish I had requested a different dish but as it was a special occasion I didn't want to mar the mood.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 18, 2016

Las Margaritas was a great place for a large group of us to meet. The staff were very accommodating as we wanted our group to sit together, so they moved tables together. The service was good and quick and our dinners came at the same time and were hot. Definitely recommend it.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 8, 2016

service was very good...we all be bad...good margs

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 7, 2016

Food was great! We loved the drinks : sangria was excellent! Highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 18, 2016

Good food, however a bit pricey for mostly rice and beans when choosing vegetarian dishes. Table service was good, however server merely brought us the bill and did not ask if we wanted more drinks or dessert. I booked the table for three of us through Open Table for one of only two times indicated as available, however on arrival and throughout our meal there were many empty tables. I'm confused about the scarcity of free tables indicated when I reserved mine.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 16, 2016

The food is always great and the service is friendly. My favourite spot for a Melon Margaritta on a hot day. Great for date night, special occasions or friend get togethers.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 26, 2016

What we had was well prepared and tasty; ample portions; good service. What is unfortunately missing in essentially all Vancouver Mexican restaurants is more grilled meats, fresh fish and dishes with vegetables other than tomatoes and beans.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 25, 2016

Great service, food arrived quickly, meal was fantastic.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Fun, Casual, People Watching, Romantic, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 22, 2016

Very good nice staff great dining room do try the fajitas

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 15, 2016

Great salsa and chips

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 8, 2016

We have been going to Mexico for years . The ambiance in the restaurant is believabley authentic.

The portions were big with a varied menu.

I would recommend Las Margaritas to friends .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 4, 2016

great food!! start with one of their many tequilas and have the appy platter while you review the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 24, 2016

I love the chips and salsa!!!!! Best patio seating in kits.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.