About Las Margaritas

1999 4th Ave W
Vancouver, BC V6J1M7
View Larger Map

At Las Margaritas you'll find what's been called the city's best salsa and margaritas, as well as the largest tequila selection in B.C. Las Margaritas serves up hearty portions and the price range is hard to beat.

Owner Dan Rodriguez and general manager Rolando Guardia serve food more from the north of Mexico, Baja and California. Rodriguez frequently visits Mexico, Southern California and the Baja to make sure his restaurant keeps up with current trends in Mexican food and drinks.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Mexican

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Thursday: 11:30am - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 11:30am - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Maple Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(604) 734-7117

Website:
http://www.lasmargaritas.com/

Private Party Facilities:
For private parties of 6 or more please contact us to make arrangements.

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Las Margaritas Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Outdoor Dining
Vancouver
Best Restaurants in Kitsilano ›

good for groups (22)
neighborhood gem (19)
great for outdoor dining (18)
See All
special occasion (10)
great for lunch (10)
hot spot (8)
fit for foodies (8)
kid-friendly (7)
great for brunch (3)
late-night find (2)
romantic (1)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
116 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Good food, however a bit pricey for most ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Good food, however a bit pricey for mostly rice and beans when choosing vegetarian dishes. Table service was good, however server merely brought us the bill and did not ask if we wanted more drinks or dessert. I booked the table for three of us through Open Table for one of only two times indicated as available, however on arrival and throughout our meal there were many empty tables. I'm confused about the scarcity of free tables indicated when I reserved mine.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

The food is always great and the service ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The food is always great and the service is friendly. My favourite spot for a Melon Margaritta on a hot day. Great for date night, special occasions or friend get togethers.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What we had was well prepared and tasty; ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

What we had was well prepared and tasty; ample portions; good service. What is unfortunately missing in essentially all Vancouver Mexican restaurants is more grilled meats, fresh fish and dishes with vegetables other than tomatoes and beans.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Very good nice staff great dining room d ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Very good nice staff great dining room do try the fajitas

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great salsa and chips

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Great salsa and chips

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

We have been going to Mexico for years . ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We have been going to Mexico for years . The ambiance in the restaurant is believabley authentic.

The portions were big with a varied menu.

I would recommend Las Margaritas to friends .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

great food!! start with one of their ma ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 4, 2016

great food!! start with one of their many tequilas and have the appy platter while you review the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I love the chips and salsa!!!!! Best pat ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

I love the chips and salsa!!!!! Best patio seating in kits.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

awesome every time

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on March 30, 2016

Best mexican I've found. Always got and authentic. Great drink specials

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

good food, great ambiance

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

Food is great and portions are large. Prices are reasonable and the margaritas are worth a try. It's busy and loud, which I love. Overall a great place for any occasion.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Fantastic!

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on March 16, 2016

Had a great time. The food was and we will be back!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

busy but great atmosphere

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on March 15, 2016

We love a quick mexican lunch at Las Margaritas. The value is good and the atmosphere is great, lots of photographs, posters and scenery on the walls to give the place a more authentic ambience. Very popular, especially in the summer, so book ahead.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Mexican food in Vancouver????

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

Best Mexican food in Vancouver. Period. Good service, reasonable price. If you like Mexican food, try this for sure.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was very bland. Churros were overdo ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on March 3, 2016

Food was very bland. Churros were overdone and hard. Not too impressed. Won't be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

Best Mex

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

Tasty Mexican food with great friendly staff and the best margaritas in town. Wonderful in the summer when you can sit outside while enjoying some baja fish tacos and melon margarita

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

mini mexcan getaway

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on February 6, 2016

Cozy place to have a nice meal with friends and family.

Good food. Friendly service. Great neighbourhood.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Attentive service

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on February 3, 2016

Although Las Margaritas was very busy (no empty tables) the wait staff was very attentive, without appearing rushed.

Tags: kid-friendly, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

Bland food, Bad service.

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on February 1, 2016

I came here with my family for dine-out. Our appetizers were pretty good, and the margaritas we ordered were quite nice. However, the entrees (I had the chicken enchiladas) were extremely bland and just not appetizing at all, i couldn't finish my plate as i was so put off. This is not authentic mexican food. To top off this bad experience, our server seemed like she didn't want to serve us at all. We gave her no reason to be rude, as we made no complaints, she however would walk away before i finished asking for something (hot water, ordering a drink) and I would have to wait til she came back to finish what I was saying. It was busy, but when she was at the table next to us she was definitely not as rude.

If youre looking for good food, avoid this place. Come for margaritas, without the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Amazing Food

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on February 1, 2016

The food at Las Margaritas was superb! I had an excellent time catching up with old friends. The staff was extremely helpful and accommodating.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Decent, not spectacular

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on January 24, 2016

The food is decent with nice fresh salsas and sauces, but chicken enchiladas were a bit dry. Service is prompt and friendly and you can't miss with a margarita. The dessert is not worth it, as there are many places to have a nice coffee and treat nearby instead.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

Awesome date night place!

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on January 23, 2016

They were crazy busy for dine out and managed to provide us with great service, food and drinks! I have worked in the service industry for over 13 years and can say 100% this place is awesome!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

Great food

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on January 22, 2016

The best Mexican in Vancouver. The food never disappoints and is delicious.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Great Dine-Out menu!

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on January 18, 2016

Our server for the evening was fantastic and the dine-out menu was excellent. Portion sizes were perfect! And the sangria......YUM!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

we go for the nachos and the great servi ...

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on January 12, 2016

we go for the nachos and the great service at the bar....and both were excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Three times a winner

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on January 5, 2016

I dined there 3 times over a 6 week period and each time the food and service was absolutely fantastic -I will definitely be keen to go there again as soon as I can.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My birthday choice!

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on January 4, 2016

we sat by the door but we weren't cold. It did remind me of Mexico a lot. the staff were very very friendly. The food was very tasty but not overly spicy. I would have liked to hear some traditional Mexican music and seen some string lights like they have in Mexican restaurants to make it feel authentic.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Great Mexican in Vancouver

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on January 2, 2016

A very nice Mexican restaurant for small groups or families. Had a nice lunch on a quiet Saturday in January. Fajitas were excellent and service was very good. Really recommend for a casual lunch or dinner for those who like great Mexican food.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Will be a while before we return

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

We were a party of four and were seated at a table that was suitable for 1 or 2 people. There was no way our drinks and entrees would fit on the tiny table so we had to ask to be moved.

We were given chips and salsa for two as well so when we asked for more we were charged.

We didn't have enough tortillas with our fajitas so we ordered two more and were charged for those as well.

The food was decent and the service was good aside from the tiny table and additional charge for everything. The only excellent part of the evening was the drinks which we really enjoyed.

I will definitely go elsewhere next time I want Mexican.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Good food.

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on December 9, 2015

The waitress was very attentive and the food was great. The only issue was the noise level. It was a bit loud and difficult to hear each other speak. Overall, a great place.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great mexican restaurant

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on December 9, 2015

What a great place. I had the quesadillas and they were stuffed full of chicken. I don't even remember what my wife had but it was also delicious. They don't use too much cheese so it wasn't too greasy. We felt a good, comfortable full afterwards, not bloated, gassy, or anything like that. Food was tasty, we will certainly be back.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

We go for the nachos and the service at ...

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on November 16, 2015

We go for the nachos and the service at the bar...both were great!!

The marg's were delicious also

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

A little bit of Mexico in Vancouver

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on November 15, 2015

Had lunch with my wife and youngest daughter. This was our first visit here and it didn't disappoint. The regular menu has many choices supplemented by a daily special sheet. Prices were reasonable and the food quality was high. I recommend enchiladas of which there are several varieties. Hough the restaurant was quite full, it wasn't noisy and we didn't feel crowded as the tables are larger than normal and well laid out. We loved the Mexican décor and the spectacular bar.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Fantastic

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on November 14, 2015

Fantastic food and great Mexican atmosphere. Great staff also. Thanks

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Excellent Mexican food, warm,friendly service

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on November 3, 2015

Great place for Mexican...prompt, attentive service. Wide range of food options with special Winter menu. Very generous servings and very tasty. Good selection. of beers and huge selection of tequilas. Moderate priced...lunch for four with four beers was 110.00. before tips. Only drawback was dificulty in finding parking. Recommended

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

One of my favorite birthday spots.

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on October 23, 2015

One of my favorite birthday spots, it's a family tradition to come here for birthdays and they always treat you to something nice. This last year I got a free piece of cake. I would say the only thing is that the servers sometimes get distracted even when it's not so busy so you can't be afraid to flag them down if necessary.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Great nachos

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on September 28, 2015

Great service at the bar.

We love to come to las Marg's for their nachos

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Canadian Anniversary Celebration

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on September 2, 2015

My husband and I moved to Canada 10 years ago and Las Margaritas was the restaurant we went to on night 1. We returned there to celebrate our 10 years with our kids and had a fabulous time. Great for kids, yummy food and drinks and great service! We'll be back for our next celebration!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

fabulous

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 19, 2015

We had great service! They seated us quickly and efficiently. The food was excellent as well!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Still Fantastic

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 19, 2015

Hadn't been for 7-10 years and was very happy to see that nothing has changed (in a good way). The food was still excellent and not insanely priced. The margaritas were still excellent and the service was great.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Reservation Salvation

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 30, 2015

I hadn't been to Las Magaritas for years. We had kids and moved further away. But a recent trip to Costa Rica made us look for that similar ambience. Met my daughter and wife there (Las Magaritas, not Costa Rica). I kinda blew it actually. Had plans to meet there at 6:00, but forgot to reserve in the morning . I called around 2:30. They said they were't taking reservations for that evening . Gulp! SO, as a last chance I went online and .... got one at the time I wanted! I actually couldn't believe it worked until I went to the restaurant and yes, I had a reservation. Sweet! Seriously, the online reservation system was amazing and saved me big time.

The food was great. The patio was much quieter than inside. The service was friendly. We will be back!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.