Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 6 times today

Las Fuentes Restaurant - Chicago

4.3
58 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Mexican
Top Tags:
  • Good for Birthdays
  • Kid-friendly
  • Comfort Food
Welcome to Las Fuentes Mexican Restaurant in Lincoln Park. We have been serving authentic Mexican food in Chicago for more than 33 years. We have a beautiful indoor dining rooms and a spacious patio that will make you feel as if you're in a beautiful part of Mexico eating al fresco, enjoying a margarita, some guacamole, and the company of your friends.

please call us to book your patio reservation. thanks.


You can also Find Las Fuentes Restaurants in Alsip, Stickney, Morton Grove and Palos Hills, Illinois.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Mexican, Traditional Mexican, Regional Mexican
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation


Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 11:00am - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 11:00pm

please call 773-935-2004 to make a patio reservation
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(773) 935-2004
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
We have accommodated many kinds of parties. We have had a private Patio party for an engagement party, where only invited guests were allowed, and we have had parties of 20 up to 120 people, where we have reserved an area of the patio or one of our inside dining rooms for parties. Please call the restaurant directly and ask for Daniel.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Daniel: (773) 935-2004
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Halsted and Wrightwood
Additional
Banquet, Beer, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wine
What 58 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.3based on recent ratings
3.9
food
4.1
service
3.9
ambience
3.7
value
Noise · Quiet
100% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
3.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Mediocre, nothing great.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 3, 2018

Exceptional service! The food was very good and we will return on future visits to Chicago...

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 3, 2018

Waiter delivered food then ignored us from then on .

Ed c

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 2, 2018

Food was delicious and portions were Huge! We all ended up taking home leftovers that the waiter thought we weren’t happy with our food!
We just ate too much chips with salsa and guacamole before our entrees! Definately plan on going back!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 28, 2018

I've probably driven by this place a million times..never gave it much thought.
My wife and I were looking to meet my folks for dinner and we all enjoy trying new places, so I looked up Las Fuentes and saw the reviews...
Wow!
Great service - super nice guy, but the food...If it was appropriate to swear here, I would!
The food was Outstanding! The margaritas (Las Fuentes Especial's) - Outstanding!
Will be going back soon and often..would like to try the majority of the menu!
Very happy with the new find!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 24, 2018

Hadn't been to Las Fuentes in many years went for birthday lunch - food was really good, service was super (margaritas were amazing), and cute sombrero with tequila shot and song for birthday,Will go back!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on February 24, 2018

There was a chicken bone and a hair in my girlfriend’s entree.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 3, 2018

Our dining experience was very good. This was the second time we had been there in as many months and were delighted both times. There were four of us, each ordering a different entree. Everyone loved their dish! (I really don’t understand the negative reviews on Open Table!)
I wish they had beer on tap but their offerings are fine! Definitely will be back, especially in the summer when they will be serving on the outdoor patio.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 14, 2018

Fresh, delicious Mexican food served by a friendly, accommodating staff. Generous portions at very reasonable prices. The Al Pastore flautas were flavorful, with tender meat in a crispy she'll. Excellent mole with chicken, which could have been a little more tender. Great tortilla chips, guacamole and salsa. Family friendly. We would definitely return.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 16, 2017

A great local option for solid Mexican fare, with a nice number of vegetarian options.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 21, 2017

Great service and amazing food! Love coming here when we’re home in Chicago

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 18, 2017

Excellent service, excellent food. Could not have hoped for anything better. Thanks!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 11, 2017

The veggie fajitas were the best i've ever had anywhere....

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 3, 2017

A wonderful find in Lincoln Park! We went here before going to DePaul theater. Food was some of the best Mexican I’ve ever had! Can’t wait to go back when the outdoor patio is open!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 19, 2017

Very consistent. A great local place and patio. Try the mole!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 16, 2017

Everything was great except was annoying small flies around while dining. I know its outside and challeng with volume of people, but there are things that can be done. We always enjoy ourselves, good fun food, drnks, and nice festve patio. Thank you

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 20, 2017

Daniel and Louis are our favorite , they treat you like family. Always great service and great food!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 18, 2017

I have been to Las Fuentes three times now, whenever I am with a big group, I suggest going here. It is so much fun and accommodating!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on August 12, 2017

The ambiance is great, the food was TERRIBLE!!! Service was bad too. Only going back for drinks if anything

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on July 29, 2017

Great patio and kid friendly! Would definitely go back.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on July 22, 2017

Awful experience. Heard great things about this place and took a chance... will never go back! Our service was horrible. Waited over an hour and a half for our entree that was cold. The waiter was rude and didn't acknowledge our concerns. We tried to voice our disappointment to him and we were shrugged off. I'm sure this place is good if you go in the middle of the afternoon with no one else in the restaurant .

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on June 2, 2017

The hostess disappeared for 15 minutes at a time, left a line out the door and around the corner, then directed me to a different hostess. There were multiple large parties that were not able to be seated for 45 minutes, maybe longer. By the time we were given a table, we were told a waitress would be with us shortly; after asking where the waitress was twice, we were informed that there was only one waitress in the area and it would take awhile. Their service was extremely poor. Unless you're okay waiting an hour to be seated and risk not being served at all, I'd find a different place to go.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 29, 2017

This was our 2nd visit to Las Fuentes. We went back because we enjoyed it a lot the 1st time - great food, good service. Can't be as complimentary on our 2nd visit, especially about the food, which turned out to be non existent except for a basket of chips & a cup of salsa. I would have given Las Fuentes zero stars for food, but Open Table requires the reviewer give at least 1 star. Our 7:00 reservation for 4 was honored. The waitress, who did a good job, took our orders about 10-15 minutes later. At 7:50-:55, with still no food in sight, she came by our table to let us know the kitchen was backed up and it would be a short while till we got our meals. She brought over more chips and drinks for the grandkids. At 8:15 she came by again to let us know our dinners hadn't even been started and it would be at least 20 minutes till we would be served! I asked for some guacamole to tide us over but they had run out! We left a couple of bucks for the waitress and got up to leave. We refused to pay the check for the two glasses of wine and sodas. We spoke to the manager who said he'd take of the check after agreeing with us that he would never wait that long for a meal. A very disappointing dining experience.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 18, 2017

I want to like this place. Mainly because they make really good chile rellenos. But I don't. I hate it. Had a reservation on a Thursday night when the place was less than a quarter filled. Took a half hour to get margaritas and chips. Took another half hour to get our waiters attention to place our order. At which point in time we were told the kitchen would take between an hour and an hour and 15 minutes to make our food. Who manages this place? We left.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 5, 2017

I can't write a very thorough review for this restaurant because of one major issue: we didn't actually get to eat here.

Even though I made reservations for 4 people on Cinco De Mayo, the wait time for a table (at our scheduled reservation), was over an hour. We arrived at 7:45 pm (time of our reservation), to a large line of people waiting both inside and outside the restaurant. One of our party members went in to let the hostess know we had arrived. Upon doing this, he asked the people around them how long they had been waiting, and was told over an hour. He then asked the hostess when we would be seated for our RESERVATION and the hostess could not even provide an answer but just shrugged instead.

I understand that the traffic of people on Cinco De Mayo is much greater than any other night for a mexican restaurant; however, that is the exact reason we made a reservation. Because of this, we left the restaurant (rather than waiting over an hour to be seated for our reservation) and had to find somewhere else last minute to eat.

Looks like the airlines aren't the only companies overbooking....

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 1, 2017

One of the best Mexican restaurants outside Mexico. I ordered the molcajete mixto - better than the one I had in Guadalajara. The smoky mezcal Margarita is for the history books. Will be back!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 22, 2017

I have been to Las Fuentes before and dined on the back patio . On that occasion the service was excellent, with the wait staff being very attentive and especially kind to the baby in our group. This time wait staff was ok but our meal took an hour to be prepared, which I thought was unacceptable for tacos. Despite this experience, the food here is good and reasonably priced, so I will probably give it another chance.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 2, 2017

Excellent food and service. Our first time here and made to feel at home.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 20, 2017

I LOVE THIS PLACE!! I have already recommended it to two friends. The sopes that I ordered were delicious. of the 4 varieties , the fried plantains with sour cream and queso fresca were my favorites, but I really liked them all. The weather was beautiful so we ate outside and the patio is MASSIVE! Everything was very authentic and we're so glad we found it on Open Table. Definitely going back there when we are in the area again!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 9, 2016

Great! Food was yummy and service was so attentive. Would definitely recommend!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 6, 2016

Que Bueno! Sangria was outstanding

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on June 18, 2016

Beyond terrible experience

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 28, 2016

Already looking forward to my next visit. It's a summer hit that's hard to beat.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 22, 2016

Great patio!!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 6, 2016

We were seated and ordered almost immediately at 8:00 (our reservation time), but by 9:30 our food had still not arrived, despite the waiter coming around every 10 minutes or so to tell us it was "almost ready!" We had a show to catch at 10:00 so ended up having to cancel the order and leave without dinner and go to the show hungry. Manager offered no apology or explanation. Very disappointing.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 27, 2016

I'm not a huge fan of Mexican cuisine, but if you are I can say it was tasty. I enjoyed the quiet atmosphere. My date and I did not have to shout to hear each other.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on December 12, 2015

Food was awful. Salsa tasted like tomato paste. Margaritas tasted like syrup. I will never go back here.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on December 5, 2015

No idea why we needed a reservation. Place is HUGE. Mostly full of DePaul students and that terrible forced office birthday party mixer. Decor looks like the 1980's and the service and menu looks the same. Drinks are huge and just keep coming which helps numb the pain. Great for people watching and watching them get drunker and drunker. Then the after bar crowd shows up from all the local bars and it's time to leave. If your looking for standard, run of the mill, every day, bland, expected, Mexican food then this is the place.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 7, 2015

Great food. Friendly and helpful server. Las Fuentes is as good now as it was 35 years ago and the enlarged garden with murals on the walls is a great atmosphere. We have never been disappointed.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 7, 2015

I took my mom here to celebrate her Birthday with another one of my friends. We had an amazing time. The food was excellent but what made our experience was memorable was because of the outstanding service we received from Othelio. He truly made our evening special and we had fun with him. I know it just wasn't just us that he was giving special treatment to. I saw the way he interacted with his other tables and he is definitely a top-notch server. He is warm and friendly and gets a personal level with his tables because he really cares. Also, the ambiance on the patio was so beautiful. I will be back, definitely a neighborhood gem!

Report
Helpful
1
2