About Las Fuentes Restaurant - Chicago

2558 N Halsted St
Chicago, IL 60614
View Larger Map

Welcome to Las Fuentes Mexican Restaurant in Lincoln Park. We have been serving authentic Mexican food in Chicago for more than 33 years. We have a beautiful indoor dining rooms and a spacious patio that will make you feel as if you're in a beautiful part of Mexico eating al fresco, enjoying a margarita, some guacamole, and the company of your friends.

please call us to book your patio reservation. thanks.


You can also Find Las Fuentes Restaurants in Alsip, Stickney, Morton Grove and Palos Hills, Illinois.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Mexican, Regional Mexican, Traditional Mexican

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 11:00am - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 11:00pm

please call 773-935-2004 to make a patio reservation

Cross Street:
Halsted and Wrightwood

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(773) 935-2004

Website:
http://lasfuentesrestaurant.com/

Private Party Facilities:
We have accommodated many kinds of parties. We have had a private Patio party for an engagement party, where only invited guests were allowed, and we have had parties of 20 up to 120 people, where we have reserved an area of the patio or one of our inside dining rooms for parties. Please call the restaurant directly and ask for Daniel.

Private Party Contact:
Daniel: 7739352004x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Beer, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Las Fuentes Restaurant - Chicago Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.3

service

3.1

ambience

3.2

value

2.6

noise

Moderate

60% would recommend it to a friend

great for outdoor dining (3)
good for groups (2)
neighborhood gem (2)
See All
great for lunch (1)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
27 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Beyond terrible experience

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Beyond terrible experience

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1

Las Fuentes never disappoints! Great food & patio.

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Already looking forward to my next visit. It's a summer hit that's hard to beat.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great patio!!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Great patio!!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

We were seated and ordered almost immedi ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

We were seated and ordered almost immediately at 8:00 (our reservation time), but by 9:30 our food had still not arrived, despite the waiter coming around every 10 minutes or so to tell us it was "almost ready!" We had a show to catch at 10:00 so ended up having to cancel the order and leave without dinner and go to the show hungry. Manager offered no apology or explanation. Very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

Quiet atmosphere

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on January 28, 2016

I'm not a huge fan of Mexican cuisine, but if you are I can say it was tasty. I enjoyed the quiet atmosphere. My date and I did not have to shout to hear each other.

Tags: kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

AWFUL

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on December 13, 2015

Food was awful. Salsa tasted like tomato paste. Margaritas tasted like syrup. I will never go back here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Bla, Bla, Bla ....

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on December 6, 2015

No idea why we needed a reservation. Place is HUGE. Mostly full of DePaul students and that terrible forced office birthday party mixer. Decor looks like the 1980's and the service and menu looks the same. Drinks are huge and just keep coming which helps numb the pain. Great for people watching and watching them get drunker and drunker. Then the after bar crowd shows up from all the local bars and it's time to leave. If your looking for standard, run of the mill, every day, bland, expected, Mexican food then this is the place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service5
value3

Great food. Friendly and helpful server ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 7, 2015

Great food. Friendly and helpful server. Las Fuentes is as good now as it was 35 years ago and the enlarged garden with murals on the walls is a great atmosphere. We have never been disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Excellent

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 8, 2015

I took my mom here to celebrate her Birthday with another one of my friends. We had an amazing time. The food was excellent but what made our experience was memorable was because of the outstanding service we received from Othelio. He truly made our evening special and we had fun with him. I know it just wasn't just us that he was giving special treatment to. I saw the way he interacted with his other tables and he is definitely a top-notch server. He is warm and friendly and gets a personal level with his tables because he really cares. Also, the ambiance on the patio was so beautiful. I will be back, definitely a neighborhood gem!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Does NOT accept OpenTable Reservations

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 25, 2015

I made a reservation for 4 on Friday night at 8pm using Opentable and when I got to the restaurant they said they do not accept open table reservations on Friday nights. When I showed her my reservation she said she would move me to "priority" and "honor my reservation" which meant finally getting a table 1 HOUR after our reservation at 9pm!!! I think this is completely unprofessional and wrong and they need to be held accountable for their mis-information. If they don't accept these reservations on the weekends, then don't allow people to actually make the reservation on this website.

I warn anyone trying to go there on the weekend to be careful since they will likely not "honor" your reservation

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

My first time here and I thought it was great!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 25, 2015

The food was great, and exactly what I expected. I really liked the patio area, it was not crammed at all. Our waiter was busy, but still took a moment to answer our questions. I will recommend this place and go back again.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Not the same...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 24, 2015

This used to be my go-to summer spot. No longer. Outside seating is no set up in many spcommunsl rows....you are literally on top of one another. All ambience is gone! Rude hostess and I was told they would not make a tequila drink I requested...even though every other bar does. We didn't even stay for the chips. Left and had a much better experience at Tarascas down the street.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

food was great..the workers were very friendly..

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 21, 2015

Took hubby here for father's day. .he love it ..my kids too they said they want to come back sometime. ..

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Fantastic lunch!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 24, 2015

My wife and I had a wonderful lunch at Las Fuentes - Morton Grove.

The service and the food was outstanding. You can tell it is made fresh.

Las Fuentes has become our favorite Mexican restaurant.

We will see you soon...

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delightful Dining

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 11, 2015

The service was spectacular and the food was amazing.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great place for groups and outdoor dining

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 9, 2015

Great place for groups and outdoor dining. We celebrated Mother's Day with dinner the evening before and although it was too cold to eat outside they were easily able to accommodate a group of 5 adults and a child. Service is quick and you usually see the same wait staff there which to me is a sign that they at least treat them decently. The inside is spacious enough that you don't feel mashed together. When warm out, the outdoor dining area is beautiful and large. Very friendly and attentive waitstaff without being the type that you feel are interrupting you every 5 minutes.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

worst service ever

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 3, 2015

Reservation was at 7:15. We received a basket of chips that had sour cream on some of the chips. It seems as though they reuse them. The first food that arrived was at 8:30 and our appetizers and entrees came all at once. Even though we asked the person that brought us the food for silverware, he never returned with it. Finally 10 minutes later our waiter brought silverware but no steak knife and I had ordered steak. We had to get up and locate our waiter to get a steak knife. I asked for a check immediately and we left after eating just enough food to survive the margaritas we had been drinking on an empty stomach. No apologies were ever offered to us. The service was about as bad as it gets but the lack of apology was what will keep us away for good and share our experience with anyone we can.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

Poor service

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 13, 2014

When we sat down we had to ask multiple times for water, silverware and napkins. The server also changed my tip amount on my receipt even though I still tipped him just under 20% even with his bad service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1

Great Mexican Restaurant for Classic food

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 1, 2014

We really enjoyed our meal here. From the beginning we were greeted enthusiastically. It was summer, and the outdoor seating area was great, a little kitchy, but with two kids, fit the bill for entertainment. Service was prompt and orders taken immediately. They were very friendly with the kids as well (4 and 2,5). Food is classic Mexican dishes--enchiladas, rellenos, etc, but was well made and tasted homemade. Service did slow a little bit after our meals were served, but we would return again.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Great patio, good food

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 31, 2014

Upon arriving we had our choice of seating on the spacious patio. Service was quick, almost too quick. Prices are reasonable - we would go back

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Loved the outdoor patio.

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 29, 2014

As you enter the restaraunt at the corner for the first time, you don't realize that it consists of three buildings and a huge outdoor courtyard in the rear. The food was fantastic. The price was affordable (with drinks, dinner for 2 and 20% tip - $45). Service was attentive and supportive (we had a show to attend, the Apollo Theatre is 4 blocks away). The courtyard and namesake fountain is decorated well. Felt like I was in Mexico City. The restaurant could be a destination in itself. The interactive wait staff and attending "Patrons" meeting in the bar area pointing the way to the courtyard gave it the authentic Mexican atmosphere.

We will return!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love Las Fuentes, a golden treasure, gre ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 22, 2014

Love Las Fuentes, a golden treasure, great Mexican food, great service, great outdoor space!! One of our favorites in the city!!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Solid but reasonably unremarkable

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 6, 2014

Food was OK, service was good. Went there because it's close to Kingston Mines

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

This is located in a great

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 15, 2014

This is located in a great neighborhood and this place works well. We were there last week, but i want to come back in the summer to dine outside. The food was very good Mexican fare There was also a nice cocktail and beer selection. No doubt I will be back.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The food was simply not very

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 9, 2014

The food was simply not very good. Will not return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2

Great Food and excellent service

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on January 3, 2014

We enjoyed our meal! The service was excellent and the waiters were very friendly. I will definitely be back!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Great Dinner

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on November 2, 2013

Just when my husband and I thought our taste buds were changing and we no longer liked most Mexican dishes, we tried this restaurant that was close to the theater we were going to and realized it wasn't the food but the poor restaurant choices we'd made recently. We'll go back even if not going to the theater.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.