About Las Canarias - Omni La Mansion

112 College Street
San Antonio, TX 78205
View Larger Map

Las Canarias is known for its romantic and relaxing atmosphere. Featuring award winning refined American cuisine with an inventive Texas twist, continuing to delight new and returning guests alike. Whether you are joining us for an intimate dinner for two or dinner event for a large group, we are dedicated to the very best in food, wine and service.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Daily: 6:30am - 11:30am; Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 2:30pm; Lunch: Daily: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
St. Mary's Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(210) 518-1063

Website:
http://www.omnihotels.com/FindAHotel/SanAntonioLaMansionDelRio/Dining.aspx

Entertainment:
Classical Spanish Flamenco guitar player, Chris Arispe.

Parking Details:
Valet Parking is complimentary at the Omni Hotel when you dine with us in the restaurant.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
At Las Canarias we are committed to each and every one of our guests and their dining experience. We take great pride in hosting both small and large groups, whether they are meeting for business or pleasure we are here to make your event a success! Call 210.518.1063 for more information.

Restaurant Photos

Brown Butter Lemon Cake
Texas Watermelon Gazpacheo
Waygu Beef Burger
Peach Ice Tea
Omelet Bar
French Toast
Bananas Foster
Wild Alaskan Salmon
Bluebonnet Farm Heirloom Tomatoes
Granola
Caesar Salad

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Daily 5:30PM - 6:30PM 9:30PM - 11:00PM

Private Dining

At Las Canarias, making special occasions absolutely unforgettable is our specialty. Our dazzling culinary artistry, expert coordination of every detail and unparalleled expression of service make every moment one that will be long remembered.

Las Canarias - Omni La Mansion Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
San Antonio
Scenic View
San Antonio
American
San Antonio
3 More
Romantic
San Antonio
Scenic View
San Antonio
American
San Antonio
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

Special Occasion (30)
Romantic (25)
Scenic View (22)
See All
Great for Brunch (22)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Great for Outdoor Dining (11)
Good for a Date (9)
Great for Lunch (9)
Waterfront (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Business Meals (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Cozy (5)
Historic (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Late-night Find (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Authentic (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Healthy (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Seasonal (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Casual (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
People Watching (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Live Music (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1082 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food and the service provided were e ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined 2 days ago

The food and the service provided were excellent. It's noticeable that the personnel has been trained to provide a high quality service.

Tags: Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

anytime we travel to san Antonio, we alw ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined 4 days ago

anytime we travel to san Antonio, we always go to Las Canarias! it is romantic with a beautiful view of the water and traditional looking décor. The waiter made us feel very welcome and did not rush us, pacing our courses well. The food is excellent with a well varied wine list. Great for lunch too!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Crème brule was outstanding. Salmon on ...

 
 (South Dakota)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

Crème brule was outstanding. Salmon on the salad was also very good but I wish they left the anchovies off as that was unappetizing, or at least asked if I wanted them.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This is my favorite spot for Sunday Brun ...

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

This is my favorite spot for Sunday Brunch. The quality and variety of their offerings are wonderful. The bananas foster was outstanding.

However, it would be more enjoyable dining if the restaurant instituted a 'dress code'. When an elegant dining room allows patrons with tank-tops, shorts, and flip-flops, the quality of the experience declines.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Food quality has dropped. Bread was no ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Food quality has dropped. Bread was not even good and not exciting menue

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Excellent Sunday brunch, champagne and ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Excellent Sunday brunch, champagne and shrimp cocktail were wonderful and the prime rib and turkey at the carving station delicious. My favorite place in San Antonio and if I lived there I would be joining you for brunch every Sunday!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful setting, superb service, and a ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Beautiful setting, superb service, and attractively served food that was absolutely wonderful. We will definitely return on our next trip to San Antonio.

Tags: Historic, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First off, it's bottomless mimosas and c ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

First off, it's bottomless mimosas and coffee...that alone is probably worth the price. We ate and drank mimosas for three hours and then passed out for a few hours at the hotel room. Soooo worth it.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Waterfront, Scenic View, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Las Canarias was wonderful in every way! ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Las Canarias was wonderful in every way! My husband and I had items from the Chef's three-course prix fixe menu. Each of the courses was paired with a wine of the Chef's choosing (and we were given a complimentary glass of champagne also!) Each course was spectacular. The service was also impeccable - polite, informative, yet not intrusive. We look forward to the next time we are in San Antonio so that we can visit Las Canarias again.

Tags: Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Historic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful experience and atmosphere.

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Beautiful experience and atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Went to Sunday Brunch and had a multitud ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Went to Sunday Brunch and had a multitude of delicious dishes to include smoked salmon & caviar. Endless champagne & OJ? was a nice touch. Custom Omelette and carving stations. Separate desert area with bananas foster prepared to order. Little on spend side but we felt it was worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Nice atmosphere, good food and service , ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Nice atmosphere, good food and service , good location. Good variety on the menu .

The margaritas were great!!

Tags: Business Meals, Late-night Find, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was great but food was bland and ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Service was great but food was bland and overpriced.

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value1

Went for restaurant weeks menu. Shrimp a ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Went for restaurant weeks menu. Shrimp appetizer course and main courses were outstanding. Dessert was good but not at same quality level as first two courses.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food, great service. The staff al ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Great food, great service. The staff always makes us feel special! We'll be back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We were under the impression that brunch ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We were under the impression that brunch was served all morning as there was conflicting information on line. We arrived to a very typical breakfast buffet and were told that brunch would not begin for another hour. We have had brunch there and it was incredible, absolutely worth $35 per person. This breakfast buffet was certainly not worth the $22 per person we were charged. The ambience was very nice and our waiter was very attentive, but we were incredibly disappointed by the selection of the breakfast buffet.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value3

Best place on river walk for Sunday Cham ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Best place on river walk for Sunday Champagne brunch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Gone with the old chef is good service, ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Gone with the old chef is good service, better selection, and management. Crowd of people being horribly loud and disrespectful ruined night,. No help from management. No longer is the best meal available and bread selection gone too. Used to love it. Now it's doubtful I'll return.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value1

While visiting the Riverwalk in San Anto ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

While visiting the Riverwalk in San Antonio we chose this for our anniversary dinner. It was what we were looking for, a quiet place in the midst of the hubbub of huge summer vacation crowds on the Riverwalk. The service was outstanding and the setting was delightful.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food,terrific service.They even ma ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Great food,terrific service.They even made us a special dessert for our anniversary.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

If you are dining with just two or four, ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

If you are dining with just two or four, ask for an area NOT around a group table which is noisy both times we went. But other than that, this place is just perfect for a business or romantic dinner. Servers are exceptional, tho one forgot our mango sorbet but didn't matter since we were so replete from paella, salad and asparagus. Just perfect. Salmon the next night was divine too!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant is special for the locat ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

This restaurant is special for the location, ambiance, food, and staff. I bring my friends here whether they are locals or visiting from out of town.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We have had breakfast, brunch and dinner ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We have had breakfast, brunch and dinner here and it has always been superb. The Sunday Brunch had a large selection of breakfast and lunch foods available that were a gourmet treat. We look forward to going back. The service is always excellent. There were several children there, as well as adults. This is a very nice restaurant , so children need to know how to behave accordingly, but children are welcome and there are many things for them to enjoy--including the dessert bar!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been to the brunch on numerous oc ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

I have been to the brunch on numerous occasions and enjoy the food and atmosphere. On this occasion Shaun Bruns, the food director, came by and said hello. He also constantly checked the food tables to ensure everything was available and presentable. This is great customer service and this attention to service and detail is what sets Las Canarias above the rest.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place has ALWAYS been top- notch! I ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

This place has ALWAYS been top- notch! I like the way single portions are served. My husband and I split a few of these. The oysters, ceviche and shrimp were popular with us. Mimosas and Bloody Mary's were perfect. I don't remember the outside grilled items 20 years ago, that was a nice addition. It made for a perfect Father's Day!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was our first time in SA and our fi ...

vip
 (Charleston)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

This was our first time in SA and our first time at this restaurant. We thoroughly enjoyed the restaurant and when we are back in town we will be sure to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We went here to celebrate my husband and ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We went here to celebrate my husband and father for a Father's Day brunch. The service was excellent and the food was delicious. We will be returning! I would recommend this place for brunch to EVERYONE!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We were disappointed with Las Canarias. ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We were disappointed with Las Canarias. I would nopt recommend this restaurant. We felt the menu was sub-par. I ordered a blackened ribeye. It was not blackened as that term is defined. We also had the bacon wrapped pork medallions. The were very heavy and not much flavor. The sides were average. The quail appetizer was the best thing we had. It was nearly impossible to drink the margaritas out of the glasses in which they were served.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

If i wanted a chips and a sandwich i wou ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

If i wanted a chips and a sandwich i would have gone to subway i hated the plate i wish you guys would have sed it came with potato chips i ruined my morning

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1
value1

Breakfast on the River walk

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Everyone else loved their food they ordered. I had the buffet and it wasn't anything special, pancakes were crispy, and sausage was below average. I would recommend not getting the buffet.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

From what I saw the riverwalk area resta ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

From what I saw the riverwalk area restaurants are very casual but this place is fancy inside and it was a very good choice for my wife's 60th birthday celebration.I wouldn't recommend shorts and tees. Food was great but expensive and our waiter took good care of us .

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Las Canarias is always a great dining ex ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Las Canarias is always a great dining experience. This was no exception. We were seated so that we had an amazing view of the river. Food and service were flawless, as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Overpriced...lackluster flavors

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

Compared to some of the other eateries along the riverwalk... the food was lacking in overall quality, presentation, and flavor. I'd scratch this one off your list if you were it as a dinner option.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

Awesome Food and experience

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Awesome Food and experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Terrible!

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

This was a terrible breakfast experience. Almost everything was empty when we got there and they were so slow to replenish a station that people descend upon it quickly that it would be empty again. Just awful. Even the jam and jelly jars were empty. The only thing that was available at one point was the omlette station and it was about 20 people deep! One of the reasons we chose this breakfast buffet was because it was mentioned that they had a "gluten free station", which my 7-year old son was super excited about, but it was just a pathetic loaf of Udi's gluten-free bread and granola. They provided a dedicated toaster, but I watched another patron walk up and put a regular (full gluten) piece of bread in there, which makes that totally pointless. This was a seriously sorry excuse for a breakfast at $25 per plate. I asked our waitress politely a couple of different times what was going on with the buffet and was surprised that no attempt was made to discount our meal, which came out to over $100 (4 adults and 2 kids). I've honestly had better breakfast buffets for free at the Holiday Inn Express.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

We have had several special dinners here ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

We have had several special dinners here and the service and food is always tops. The staff goes out of their way to make sure we were taken care of. Best restaurant in San Antonio.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Las Canaris is a great restaurant. Food ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Las Canaris is a great restaurant. Food is incredible. Inside has a warm feel. Service is first rate.

Nice wine list. Our favorite San Antonio restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a lovely brunch on the Patio. We ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

We had a lovely brunch on the Patio. We had arrived early and they still seated us and made us very welcome. The food was wonderful and the staff amazing. Will absolutely dine here again.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Sunday Champagne Brunch

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

We've been going to Las Canarias for Sunday Brunch for about 35 years. Love the atmosphere and the service.

This time we felt that the quality has slipped a little, crab claws were "watery" and lacked flavor, dishes weren't labeled so you had to guess at the contents, shrimp was good and dessert selection seemed more limited than usual.

We will be back with the hope that it was just an "off week".

Tags: Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Still the Best

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

I had visited San Antonio in for a week back in 1987 and stayed at the La Mansion. I had the brunch then and it was wonderful! Fast forward to 2016 and I get to visit San Antonio again. I took a group of business associates to the Las Canarias for Sunday brunch, and again, it was a wonderful dining experience. The food and staff are top tier. The staff treated us more like old friends rather than restaurant customers.

What was supposed to be a quick one hour meal on our schedules, turned into a two and a half hour truly memorable experience. One person kept thanking me for the great experience. The thanks goes to Las Canarias.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.