About Las Canarias - Omni La Mansion

112 College Street
San Antonio, TX 78205
View Larger Map

Las Canarias is known for its romantic and relaxing atmosphere. Featuring award winning refined American cuisine with an inventive Texas twist, continuing to delight new and returning guests alike. Whether you are joining us for an intimate dinner for two or dinner event for a large group, we are dedicated to the very best in food, wine and service.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Daily: 6:30am - 11:30am; Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 2:30pm; Lunch: Daily: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
St. Mary's Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(210) 518-1063

Website:
http://www.omnihotels.com/FindAHotel/SanAntonioLaMansionDelRio/Dining.aspx

Entertainment:
Classical Spanish Flamenco guitar player, Chris Arispe.

Parking Details:
Valet Parking is complimentary at the Omni Hotel when you dine with us in the restaurant.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
At Las Canarias we are committed to each and every one of our guests and their dining experience. We take great pride in hosting both small and large groups, whether they are meeting for business or pleasure we are here to make your event a success! Call 210.518.1063 for more information.

Restaurant Photos

Brown Butter Lemon Cake
Waygu Beef Burger
Texas Watermelon Gazpacheo
Peach Ice Tea
Omelet Bar
French Toast
Bananas Foster
Wild Alaskan Salmon
Bluebonnet Farm Heirloom Tomatoes
Granola
Caesar Salad

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Daily 5:30PM - 6:30PM 9:30PM - 11:00PM

Private Dining

At Las Canarias, making special occasions absolutely unforgettable is our specialty. Our dazzling culinary artistry, expert coordination of every detail and unparalleled expression of service make every moment one that will be long remembered.

Las Canarias - Omni La Mansion Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Scenic View
San Antonio
American
San Antonio
Scenic View
San Antonio
1 More
American
San Antonio
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

special occasion (37)
romantic (30)
scenic view (29)
See All
great for brunch (26)
great for outdoor dining (20)
fit for foodies (14)
notable wine list (13)
good for groups (9)
neighborhood gem (8)
great for lunch (8)
hot spot (3)
kid-friendly (3)
Sort By:
Newest
1063 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great food,terrific service.They even ma ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Great food,terrific service.They even made us a special dessert for our anniversary.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

If you are dining with just two or four, ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

If you are dining with just two or four, ask for an area NOT around a group table which is noisy both times we went. But other than that, this place is just perfect for a business or romantic dinner. Servers are exceptional, tho one forgot our mango sorbet but didn't matter since we were so replete from paella, salad and asparagus. Just perfect. Salmon the next night was divine too!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant is special for the locat ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

This restaurant is special for the location, ambiance, food, and staff. I bring my friends here whether they are locals or visiting from out of town.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We have had breakfast, brunch and dinner ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We have had breakfast, brunch and dinner here and it has always been superb. The Sunday Brunch had a large selection of breakfast and lunch foods available that were a gourmet treat. We look forward to going back. The service is always excellent. There were several children there, as well as adults. This is a very nice restaurant , so children need to know how to behave accordingly, but children are welcome and there are many things for them to enjoy--including the dessert bar!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been to the brunch on numerous oc ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

I have been to the brunch on numerous occasions and enjoy the food and atmosphere. On this occasion Shaun Bruns, the food director, came by and said hello. He also constantly checked the food tables to ensure everything was available and presentable. This is great customer service and this attention to service and detail is what sets Las Canarias above the rest.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place has ALWAYS been top- notch! I ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

This place has ALWAYS been top- notch! I like the way single portions are served. My husband and I split a few of these. The oysters, ceviche and shrimp were popular with us. Mimosas and Bloody Mary's were perfect. I don't remember the outside grilled items 20 years ago, that was a nice addition. It made for a perfect Father's Day!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was our first time in SA and our fi ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

This was our first time in SA and our first time at this restaurant. We thoroughly enjoyed the restaurant and when we are back in town we will be sure to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We went here to celebrate my husband and ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We went here to celebrate my husband and father for a Father's Day brunch. The service was excellent and the food was delicious. We will be returning! I would recommend this place for brunch to EVERYONE!

Tags: great for brunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We were disappointed with Las Canarias. ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We were disappointed with Las Canarias. I would nopt recommend this restaurant. We felt the menu was sub-par. I ordered a blackened ribeye. It was not blackened as that term is defined. We also had the bacon wrapped pork medallions. The were very heavy and not much flavor. The sides were average. The quail appetizer was the best thing we had. It was nearly impossible to drink the margaritas out of the glasses in which they were served.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

If i wanted a chips and a sandwich i wou ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

If i wanted a chips and a sandwich i would have gone to subway i hated the plate i wish you guys would have sed it came with potato chips i ruined my morning

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1
value1

Breakfast on the River walk

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Everyone else loved their food they ordered. I had the buffet and it wasn't anything special, pancakes were crispy, and sausage was below average. I would recommend not getting the buffet.

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

From what I saw the riverwalk area resta ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

From what I saw the riverwalk area restaurants are very casual but this place is fancy inside and it was a very good choice for my wife's 60th birthday celebration.I wouldn't recommend shorts and tees. Food was great but expensive and our waiter took good care of us .

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Las Canarias is always a great dining ex ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Las Canarias is always a great dining experience. This was no exception. We were seated so that we had an amazing view of the river. Food and service were flawless, as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Overpriced...lackluster flavors

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

Compared to some of the other eateries along the riverwalk... the food was lacking in overall quality, presentation, and flavor. I'd scratch this one off your list if you were it as a dinner option.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

Awesome Food and experience

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Awesome Food and experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Terrible!

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

This was a terrible breakfast experience. Almost everything was empty when we got there and they were so slow to replenish a station that people descend upon it quickly that it would be empty again. Just awful. Even the jam and jelly jars were empty. The only thing that was available at one point was the omlette station and it was about 20 people deep! One of the reasons we chose this breakfast buffet was because it was mentioned that they had a "gluten free station", which my 7-year old son was super excited about, but it was just a pathetic loaf of Udi's gluten-free bread and granola. They provided a dedicated toaster, but I watched another patron walk up and put a regular (full gluten) piece of bread in there, which makes that totally pointless. This was a seriously sorry excuse for a breakfast at $25 per plate. I asked our waitress politely a couple of different times what was going on with the buffet and was surprised that no attempt was made to discount our meal, which came out to over $100 (4 adults and 2 kids). I've honestly had better breakfast buffets for free at the Holiday Inn Express.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

We have had several special dinners here ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

We have had several special dinners here and the service and food is always tops. The staff goes out of their way to make sure we were taken care of. Best restaurant in San Antonio.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Las Canaris is a great restaurant. Food ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Las Canaris is a great restaurant. Food is incredible. Inside has a warm feel. Service is first rate.

Nice wine list. Our favorite San Antonio restaurant.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a lovely brunch on the Patio. We ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

We had a lovely brunch on the Patio. We had arrived early and they still seated us and made us very welcome. The food was wonderful and the staff amazing. Will absolutely dine here again.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Sunday Champagne Brunch

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

We've been going to Las Canarias for Sunday Brunch for about 35 years. Love the atmosphere and the service.

This time we felt that the quality has slipped a little, crab claws were "watery" and lacked flavor, dishes weren't labeled so you had to guess at the contents, shrimp was good and dessert selection seemed more limited than usual.

We will be back with the hope that it was just an "off week".

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Still the Best

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

I had visited San Antonio in for a week back in 1987 and stayed at the La Mansion. I had the brunch then and it was wonderful! Fast forward to 2016 and I get to visit San Antonio again. I took a group of business associates to the Las Canarias for Sunday brunch, and again, it was a wonderful dining experience. The food and staff are top tier. The staff treated us more like old friends rather than restaurant customers.

What was supposed to be a quick one hour meal on our schedules, turned into a two and a half hour truly memorable experience. One person kept thanking me for the great experience. The thanks goes to Las Canarias.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a great place to unwind

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

whether you sit inside or out the atmosphere is outstanding. The food is well prepared and the service is top notch. We have been here multiple times and always walk away in agreement that the next time we visit San Antonio we have to eat here.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

What a civilized way to live . . .

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Brunch at this beautiful restaurant directly on San Antonio's Riverwalk surpassed all my expectations. The spread was jaw-dropping: eggs, omelets, bacon, sausage, potatoes, fruit, French toast, muffins, shrimp, roast, vegetables, casseroles, croissants, and so much more that I can't remember it all. We had an absolutely magnificent table in a quite corner with a spectacular view of the Riverwalk. (Thanks to Open Table for honoring my request for a private location.) We could easily hear the soft jazz, but did not hear all the people around us--it was very crowded because it was Mother's Day--and were able to have a conversation.

The mimosas flowed. All of the staff was attentive and accommodating. Our glasses were never empty. The waiters and bussers were happy to help us mark the occasion with a picture.

What a lovely way to spend an afternoon . . .

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delightful Dining

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

This was a beautiful location and excellent service. The servers were very knowledgable and helpful with our selections. Food was excellent and presentation was beautiful. I would go back many times just to be able to try everything on the menu. I was told this was the best restaurant in downtown San Antonio and they were right.

Also has a very romantic atmosphere and would also be great for company vip dining.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is always good here. Their Sunday brunch is

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Service and food excellent! They have a good bar and even though we did. It go this trip, Sunday Brunch is very good

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dining on the river...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on May 3, 2016

Great evening, great 'wait' staff, very attentive!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Too expensive!

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

You can get much more in Vegas with the same price. Not a suitable price for San Antonio!

Tags: hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Amazing service! Fabulous food! Ralph wa ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Amazing service! Fabulous food! Ralph was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

All restaurants should strive to be like this!

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

My husband and I went to Las Canarias for our anniversary. I did note on my reservation that we were celebrating our anniversary. We were congratulated when we walked into the restaurant. Brahim was our waiter. He was exceptional! He was personable, knew the dishes, and treated us to a bottle of champagne. The food was delicious. Everything was perfect. Loved this place! Go now!!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sunday brunch may not be the time to vis ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

Sunday brunch may not be the time to visit if what you're looking for is the scrumptious Benedicts. Buffet only on Sundays.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5

Took 6 clients out for a nice dinner. W ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

Took 6 clients out for a nice dinner. We had a great time and everything was excellent. The dining room was fairly empty so we lucked out and had basically private dining. The service level was out of this world! Don't hesitate to dine here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Ok

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on April 6, 2016

The butternut squash soup was delicious and the ambience was nice. Beautiful space. However, the wine pairings were quite lacking and everyone received the same wine per course. It was more like a course tasting. We were disappointed. I probably will not go again.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Great meal and service

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

Perfect find for a wonderful meal. Located on a quieter section of riverwalk. Food and service was spot on!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A wonderful, quiet respite from the craz ...

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

A wonderful, quiet respite from the craziness on the Riverwalk. I just wish the menu were a bit more varied.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Outstanding meal! Highly recommend. I l ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

Outstanding meal! Highly recommend. I look forward to returning.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

special dinner on riverwalk

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

This restaurant was recommended and it was more than expected. Wait staff was very attentive. Nice selections on the menu, something for everyone. Very nice fine dining.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had breakfast 2 mornings in a row. Th ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on February 17, 2016

We had breakfast 2 mornings in a row. The service and quality are exceptional and the price was in par with the rest of the river walk. We were not staying at this hotel. Our hotel had a good breakfast buffet but no omelets. I found this one online, it had great reviews and the price was only $3 more than ours and had omelets. However, when we arrived, the menu had the buffet $6 more and we can't eat $44 worth of breakfast. So, we decided to split the omelet and get oatmeal (only $5 a HUGE bargain) and some fruit. We had so much food, it was delicious and we enjoyed Hector so much. We just had to go back again. I understand they validate their valet parking. Do yourself a favor and go here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Romantic Gem on Riverwalk, San Antonio.

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

This was a last minute Valentine's Day find selected to celebrate both V-Day and our anniversary. It was fabulous, from the friendly greeting to the end. We enjoyed quiet dining where we could actually hear and enjoy the acoustic guitar as well as our conversation. The meal, a fixed menu for this special evening, was delightful, tasty and filling. The wine menu had plenty of choices, and our server knowledgeable. Our chef visited our table (a surprise) and was friendly, engaging, and quick to answer our questions about the evenings offerings...a personal touch that was greatly appreciated. We'd never been here before...it's on our list as a repeat. Yes, a little expensive, but oh so worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Beautiful Place

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

Beautiful place right on the river walk, but I felt it was a little overpriced. The food was very good, but not commensurate with the cost.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

This is our third trip to Las Canarias o ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

This is our third trip to Las Canarias on Valentine's Day. As usual the food and service were outstanding. The fried oysters were fantastic as was the smoked filet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.