About Las Canarias - Omni La Mansion

112 College Street
San Antonio, TX 78205
View Larger Map

Las Canarias is known for its romantic and relaxing atmosphere. Featuring award winning refined American cuisine with an inventive Texas twist, continuing to delight new and returning guests alike. Whether you are joining us for an intimate dinner for two or dinner event for a large group, we are dedicated to the very best in food, wine and service.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Daily: 6:30am - 11:30am; Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 2:30pm; Lunch: Daily: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
St. Mary's Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(210) 518-1063

Website:
http://www.omnihotels.com/FindAHotel/SanAntonioLaMansionDelRio/Dining.aspx

Entertainment:
Classical Spanish Flamenco guitar player, Chris Arispe.

Parking Details:
Valet Parking is complimentary at the Omni Hotel when you dine with us in the restaurant.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
At Las Canarias we are committed to each and every one of our guests and their dining experience. We take great pride in hosting both small and large groups, whether they are meeting for business or pleasure we are here to make your event a success! Call 210.518.1063 for more information.

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Daily 5:30PM - 6:30PM 9:30PM - 11:00PM

Private Dining

At Las Canarias, making special occasions absolutely unforgettable is our specialty. Our dazzling culinary artistry, expert coordination of every detail and unparalleled expression of service make every moment one that will be long remembered.

Las Canarias - Omni La Mansion Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (18)
Scenic View (17)
Historic (17)
See All
Special Occasion (16)
Good for a Date (16)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Romantic (14)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Great for Brunch (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Good for Birthdays (9)
People Watching (9)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Notable Wine List (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Authentic (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Business Meals (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Cozy (4)
Live Music (4)
Great for Lunch (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Family Style (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Bar Seating (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Casual (1)
Vegan (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Organic (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Fireplace (1)
Seasonal (1)
Healthy (1)
Disabled Access (0)
Private Room (0)
Sort By:
S
1201 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Los Canarias has always been special but ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined 5 days ago

Los Canarias has always been special but my tenderloin was dry, the temperature was cold and the menu is over-priced.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

We had a memorable dinner on Valentine's ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 5 days ago

We had a memorable dinner on Valentine's Day at Las Carnarias. We arrived early for our 5:30 reservation but the staff was most accommodating and seated us immediately at an inside table overlooking the River walk. I ordered a glass of wine and my spouse ordered Scotch. The server brought a plate with a variety of bread and whipped butter. We both had a butter lettuce salad with fried onions drizzled with a balsamic glaze. The salad was overdressed. My spouse ordered shrimp and grits. He enjoyed the dish very much and said the chorizo gave it just the right spice. My grilled salmon was perfectly cooked, with a crisp exterior sear and moist interior. The haricots certs were perfectly cooked. The saffron potatoes were just okay. We shared the sticky toffee pudding for dessert. The plate was pretty with a cloud of whipped cream and a fresh berry garnish.

Our server was most attentive and took the time to talk to us. He made us feel both welcome and appreciated.

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

We were met at the door by the staff and ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We were met at the door by the staff and treated like special guests. The food was wonderful and the guitarist was awesome. We had a wonderful time.

Tags: Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Historic, Private Room, Cozy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another example of a restaurant featurin ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Another example of a restaurant featuring a beautiful room, good solid food, if not particularly inventive, nice live music (flamenco guitar), but lacking in service "savoir-faire" and timing. We had not finished our appetizers and the wait staff wanted to serve the entrée, which of course was cold, having been waiting around close by. The feeling of being rushed and the lack of proper pace for the meal really detracted from what might have been a most enjoyable evening. But that seems to be the way for "so called" fine dining restaurants these days.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

Amazing food and great service. 10/10 wo ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Amazing food and great service. 10/10 would recommend.

Tags: Historic, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Definitely not being kept up -- with lac ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Definitely not being kept up -- with lack of attention to details evidenced everywhere

Tags: People Watching, Historic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Excellent breakfast and great service

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Excellent breakfast and great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Despite an overall nice restaurant and e ...

 
 (Berlin)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Despite an overall nice restaurant and efficient and friendly staff, and basically good food, it was not really what we expected.

We choose the signature dish Canary Island Paella. We know that from the region as a some what spicy (not hot, but with a nice taste). However, this was not as it should be, a bit too mundane, not the red pepper / pimento taste, not the saffron, no olive oil and such.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

My wife and I had a delightful meal at t ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on January 15, 2017

My wife and I had a delightful meal at this restaurant. I had scallops while she tried the salmon. Both were outstanding. It is a little pricey, but the food was well worth it. One disappointment was the fact that wine was priced about 50 percent higher than the hotel's bar. Otherwise, this would have been a perfect evening.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Food selections limited by too much brea ...

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Food selections limited by too much bread and too much seafood on the new menu. I sent my undercooked shrimp back for something else. Need more vegetable offerings. Butternut squash soup was good. Caprese sandwich had too much bread and not enough tomatocand pesto.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Las Canarias never fails to impress. Fo ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Las Canarias never fails to impress. Food was wonderful -- both in taste and presentation. Our server, Ricardo, added to a wonderful evening by his grateful advice and sense of humor. Overall, a wonderful dining experience.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Historic, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was wonderful and the service w ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The food was wonderful and the service was excellent. The dining room is elegant yet comfortable. The only downside is that the wine by the glass is rather pricey.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful evening with good friends, fin ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Wonderful evening with good friends, fine food, fine wine, good service, neat ambiance!

Tags: Business Meals, Healthy, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have chosen Las Canarias for the last ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We have chosen Las Canarias for the last 6 years for a special occasion with our friends in TX.

Tags: Historic, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

So we went on New Years Eve and I didn't ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 1, 2017

So we went on New Years Eve and I didn't know there was going to be a special menu with a set price. They called to confirm our reservation but didn't tell us that detail. They had a nice set up with New Year's props and live music that was nice. The set menu was 125 a plate+tax and gratuity for a 5 course meal and we were six people. The food was ok. We all let each other try different foods and there seemed to be one consensus overall dish for each course. The plate that wasn't good did not taste like a 125/head dish, but the better one possibly was. If we had spent what the online menu would dictate then I probably wouldn't have been as picky but when we spent together over the millenium mark, I expected better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Did New Year's Eve here. The food was av ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Did New Year's Eve here. The food was average at best and sometimes less. The idea of serving multiple courses over a long evening simply was poorly executed. Seemed as though food had been sitting out. Steak came out cool instead of hot, for example. For a $400 meal for two, including two drinks each, the food should have been spectacular. Had music that was quite nice, yet not well chosen for a festive evening, which had guests restless and joking. Very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Amazing service and delicious food. I wo ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Amazing service and delicious food. I would definitely go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our server, Brahim, took good care of us ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Our server, Brahim, took good care of us. Paella and gnocchi were very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Went here to celebrate an anniversary an ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Went here to celebrate an anniversary and can honestly say it's my favorite spot on the riverwalk. The service was great and so was the food. Can't skip the table side guacamole or the Prickily Pear Margarita! Definitely recommend to folks looking for a Gem amongst the many chains and tourist traps on the river walk.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Scenic View, People Watching, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Overlooking the River Walk, enjoying a g ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Overlooking the River Walk, enjoying a great glass of wine with a fabulous pork dish and fresh bread...what a great place.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Live Music, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Wanted to eat outside along the Riverwal ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Wanted to eat outside along the Riverwalk. Nice location, elevated, so people are not running into your table. Food was good, but service was extremely slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

Granted it was Christmas Day. Thank you ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Granted it was Christmas Day. Thank you for being open. But what a HUGE disappointment. The fact it was a buffet was not properly noted on your website nor were we told it would be a buffet when you called to confirm. We arrived at 7:30 to find the buffet table decimated and we were shocked it wasn't being replenished. It was a $75 pp buffet and you were out of prime rib and oysters and and several side dishes. Our only compensation was you agreed to grill a steak for us to split. And that's thanks to a seasoned waiter who suggested it after the manager offered nothing. I was surprised there was no adjustment to the bill. Having chosen this retaurant carefully since was our first time in San Antonio we can't express how disappointed we were. Fortunately their sister restaurant, Ostra, provided us with a wonderful breakfast earlier in the day. We highly recommend the Bloody Mary's at Ostra.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value1

We dined at Las Canarias for Christmas D ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We dined at Las Canarias for Christmas Day Brunch. It was DELICIOUS! We made a reservation approximately 1 month in advance. Upon arrival, we were seated right away. In the waiting area there was a bar set up offering Bellinis and Mimosas. The atmosphere was top notch. Live music, several food stations. I enjoyed the custom omelette station and bananas fosters station the best. Head's up: They add 21% gratuity to all checks, regardless of party size. I'd highly recommend it for special occasions.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had Christmas Eve Dinner. Service wa ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We had Christmas Eve Dinner. Service was very poor if not non-existent. Food was bland, cold, and small portions compared to the price charged.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Beautiful food and gracious service in a ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Beautiful food and gracious service in a lovely historic property

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Historic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall it was fantastic. We were disap ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Overall it was fantastic. We were disappointed with the cheese board. There were more sides on the cheese board than cheese. We order cheese boards everywhere we go, at home and when we travel, and this one was among our least favorites. The staff was top notch and made us feel very welcomed and special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Staying at LaMansion, always enjoy this ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Staying at LaMansion, always enjoy this restaurant. Excellent! Salmon was perfect - done yet moist inside, a bit of crisp sear on the outside. Pork also excellent. Consistently one of our favorite San Antonio restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have eaten here many times over the l ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 18, 2016

We have eaten here many times over the last 25 years and multiple times for brunch. Las Canarias never disappoints. Amazing food...beet risotto with redfish? Who knew? Wonderful food and amazing service!! We'll be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I went here specifically for the seafood ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 18, 2016

I went here specifically for the seafood paella. Disappointing. Little seafood and I swear it had chicken. Two shrimp, a couple mussels and one oiece of chorizo. Nice restaurant but the paella was sorely lacking flavor and authenticity.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Went for a pre-show dinner with my mom- ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Went for a pre-show dinner with my mom- great food but somewhat slow and inattentive service- seems like they were busy and under-staffed. This was made up at end of meal with us being served a complimentary dessert- since maitre'd knew that we had been somewhat ignored. Still like this place- it is my go-to place when I take visitors from out of town to the Riverwalk- easy to park (you can use the Omni's valet parking if you are in hurry), easy to access from parking, location on Riverwalk is excellent and is close to theaters etc. Food is always very good, and service is usually prompt and attentive- the former was somewhat lacking this time but wont keep me from going back...

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Brahim and Marta are amazing servers and ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Brahim and Marta are amazing servers and the food was amazing!

Great place with service that is not usually found on the Riverwalk.

We will come back soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We dined outside along the river walk in ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 13, 2016

We dined outside along the river walk in December.

The ambience was great (lighting, warm heaters, table setting, etc)

The service was phenomenal - considerate, kind, helpful with making decisions and Chef suggestions. One person in our party ordered the 4 side dishes (cauliflower was amazing) and our waiter took the liberty to have it served family style so we could share!!! So thoughtful. The food had great presentation, taste, and came out in a prompt fashion. We were so pleased with the food, service, and ambience. We were visiting for work and this was a great find!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food great service very nice atmos ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Great food great service very nice atmosphere. Guitar music was nice ! Wines with fixed 3 course menu were outstanding ! I'll be back.

Tags: Live Music, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

If you want to be in a venue that has ou ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 9, 2016

If you want to be in a venue that has outstanding food and service and you can actually talk to the people you are having dinner with, this is an excellent choice. Terrific wine list also. I go there every time I am in San Antonio.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We used to go there every year but the m ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 8, 2016

We used to go there every year but the menu seems to have changed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

This is a good restaurant with some good ...

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on December 5, 2016

This is a good restaurant with some good three course options. The food is thoughtfully described and displayed. 2/3 courses had one substantial missing seasoning or balance detracting from what with minor attention to detail might have been one of the best meals available in San Antonio. I have eaten here for many years and this critique could have been made many times over the last 30 years. I long to see a day when the food taste and flavor actually meets and exceeds the descriptions and the plating beauty.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

I ate the Sunday brunch years ago and it ...

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 4, 2016

I ate the Sunday brunch years ago and it was superb. Recommended to our friends only to realize yesterday that it has been severely diminished. Gone are the fancier made to order waffles and chilaquile dishes, replaced with semi warm food items. For $42--very overpriced. One friend only ate the buffet and no 3 mimosas--for the same price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

Invited guests from Denver to dine with ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Invited guests from Denver to dine with us and everything is great. It was an awesome for them Texas cuisine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely wonderful-- great food and dr ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Absolutely wonderful-- great food and drinks// bartender made a perfect "perfect" Manhattan! All the staff were delightful and attentive. Beautiful room !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great evening Fabulous food & services‼️

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Great evening Fabulous food & services‼️

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.