About Las Canarias - Omni La Mansion

112 College Street
San Antonio, TX 78205
View Larger Map

Las Canarias is known for its romantic and relaxing atmosphere. Featuring award winning refined American cuisine with an inventive Texas twist, continuing to delight new and returning guests alike. Whether you are joining us for an intimate dinner for two or dinner event for a large group, we are dedicated to the very best in food, wine and service.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Daily: 6:30am - 11:30am; Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 2:30pm; Lunch: Daily: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
St. Mary's Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(210) 518-1063

Website:
http://www.omnihotels.com/FindAHotel/SanAntonioLaMansionDelRio/Dining.aspx

Entertainment:
Classical Spanish Flamenco guitar player, Chris Arispe.

Parking Details:
Valet Parking is complimentary at the Omni Hotel when you dine with us in the restaurant.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
At Las Canarias we are committed to each and every one of our guests and their dining experience. We take great pride in hosting both small and large groups, whether they are meeting for business or pleasure we are here to make your event a success! Call 210.518.1063 for more information.

Restaurant Photos

Brown Butter Lemon Cake - Las Canarias - Omni La Mansion, San Antonio, TX
Texas Watermelon Gazpacheo - Las Canarias - Omni La Mansion, San Antonio, TX
Waygu Beef Burger - Las Canarias - Omni La Mansion, San Antonio, TX
Peach Ice Tea - Las Canarias - Omni La Mansion, San Antonio, TX
Omelet Bar - Las Canarias - Omni La Mansion, San Antonio, TX
French Toast - Las Canarias - Omni La Mansion, San Antonio, TX
Bananas Foster - Las Canarias - Omni La Mansion, San Antonio, TX
Wild Alaskan Salmon - Las Canarias - Omni La Mansion, San Antonio, TX
Bluebonnet Farm Heirloom Tomatoes - Las Canarias - Omni La Mansion, San Antonio, TX
Granola - Las Canarias - Omni La Mansion, San Antonio, TX
Caesar Salad - Las Canarias - Omni La Mansion, San Antonio, TX

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Daily 5:30PM - 6:30PM 9:30PM - 11:00PM

Private Dining

At Las Canarias, making special occasions absolutely unforgettable is our specialty. Our dazzling culinary artistry, expert coordination of every detail and unparalleled expression of service make every moment one that will be long remembered.

Las Canarias - Omni La Mansion Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

American
San Antonio
American
San Antonio
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

Waterfront (21)
Scenic View (20)
Special Occasion (19)
See All
Quiet Conversation (18)
Great for Brunch (17)
Good for a Date (14)
Romantic (13)
Historic (13)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Cozy (9)
Business Meals (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
People Watching (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Authentic (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Live Music (4)
Great for Lunch (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Casual (2)
Healthy (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Family Style (2)
Local Ingredients (1)
Seasonal (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Vegan (1)
Tapas (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Sort By:
S
1113 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This is a good restaurant with some good ...

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined 5 days ago

This is a good restaurant with some good three course options. The food is thoughtfully described and displayed. 2/3 courses had one substantial missing seasoning or balance detracting from what with minor attention to detail might have been one of the best meals available in San Antonio. I have eaten here for many years and this critique could have been made many times over the last 30 years. I long to see a day when the food taste and flavor actually meets and exceeds the descriptions and the plating beauty.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

I ate the Sunday brunch years ago and it ...

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined 5 days ago

I ate the Sunday brunch years ago and it was superb. Recommended to our friends only to realize yesterday that it has been severely diminished. Gone are the fancier made to order waffles and chilaquile dishes, replaced with semi warm food items. For $42--very overpriced. One friend only ate the buffet and no 3 mimosas--for the same price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

Invited guests from Denver to dine with ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 6 days ago

Invited guests from Denver to dine with us and everything is great. It was an awesome for them Texas cuisine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely wonderful-- great food and dr ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Absolutely wonderful-- great food and drinks// bartender made a perfect "perfect" Manhattan! All the staff were delightful and attentive. Beautiful room !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great evening Fabulous food & services‼️

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Great evening Fabulous food & services‼️

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our first time here for Thanksgiving Din ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Our first time here for Thanksgiving Dinner brunch. What a wonderful experience. Everything was very good. Things that were suppose to be hot were and cold things cold. Great variety of dishes. Great, attentive servers. Dishes were refreshed often. After three years of mediocre to poor experiences at other places, it was such a treat to eat a good meal in a relaxing setting. We will be back next year. I give them my highest recommendation without reservation.

Tags: Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Family Style, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and excellent service, plan t ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Great food and excellent service, plan to visit again soon

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have dined at Las Canarias many times ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 6, 2016

I have dined at Las Canarias many times and it is my favorite San Antonio Riverwalk special occassion restaurant for dinner service. This was my first Sunday brunch and it holds up to its reputation. The food choices were not especially imaginative, with the typical buffet brunch fare served. However, everything was fresh, tasty and substantial. The service was exceptional.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I read amazing reviews of this brunch bu ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 6, 2016

I read amazing reviews of this brunch buffet and was disappointed. I didn't think the food quality was that great and the menu was not very exciting. The only seafood items were shrimp that appeared slightly undercooked and a tablespoon of crab salad on endive. The carving station was nice with prime rib or turkey but the 1 slice of prime rib you were given was so thin, it was barely worth the wait. The remaining items were more of a traditional breakfast buffet . I also thought from reading reviews that it was unlimited mimosas but they made very clear when we sat down that it was 3 per person. That was fine, and possibly one more than I would have had but again, did not make me feel that we had a fabulous experience for the money. I have had brunch at the Hotel Galvez in Galveston and thought that was a brunch worth raving about ... this one was fine but nothing to go out of your way for.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

As always, we LOVED Las Canarias. It is ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 6, 2016

As always, we LOVED Las Canarias. It is one of our long-time favorites. The food is always superb, and the staff is always excellent...but the best part is that the outdoor dining is set back and slightly UP from the packed pedestrian traffic along the San Antonio Riverwalk. Many other "sidewalk" restaurant patrons must put up with people pushing and bumping their way through the tables. Las Canarias provides delightful people-watching in an upscale setting that is out of the fray!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Tasting Menu, Scenic View, Historic, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Here for a birthday weekend. Fabulous se ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Here for a birthday weekend. Fabulous service, friendly, great tasting food

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Cozy, Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Came here for breakfast on a Saturday mo ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Came here for breakfast on a Saturday morning and sat outside to take in the Riverwalk. Miguel was very attentive waiter, vanilla waffle with berries was perfect with just enough sweetness.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Celebrated our 28 th anniversary ,, and ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Celebrated our 28 th anniversary ,, and the Las Canaries made it perfect! Great food, and amazing service. They have an incredible wine list, and offer the perfect paring with your meal.

Tags: Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Waiter - Normally works night dini ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Great Waiter - Normally works night dining

Very amiable and knowledgeable

Entire Staff of service personnel were very helpful

Will return soon

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Waterfront, Authentic, Gluten Free Options, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Vegan, Family Style, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Champagne Brunch was phenomenal. Request ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Champagne Brunch was phenomenal. Requested a Riverwalk view to which they accommodated us wonderfully. Variety

of options at the buffet was superb. Service was outstanding, my mimosa glass never went dry (limit was 3 though). Overall great experience and reasonable for the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

staff were friendly and attentive. Food ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 30, 2016

staff were friendly and attentive. Food was delicious

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had the chefs 5 course tasting menu. ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on October 29, 2016

We had the chefs 5 course tasting menu. It was phenomenal! The chef is greatly talented and the staff was awesome. Our waiters and waitresses were friendly, professional and accommodating. The Sunday brunch is amazing!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It is one of our favorite restaurants, b ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 26, 2016

It is one of our favorite restaurants, but that night it was WAYYYYYYYY TOOOOOOOOO cold! Our food quickly lost it's warmth and became cold before we completed our meal.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent, quiet location on the Riverwa ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Excellent, quiet location on the Riverwalk. Only hitch was my tenderloin steak was cooked almost medium-well, and I had asked for medium-rare. They replaced it without question, but curiously, the chef himself came out to watch me check the replacement (which was cooked medium rare (+), but still acceptable). I don't understand why he had to come out, as the first one was obviously not cooked to order.

Tags: People Watching, Historic, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Very romantic! And the food was amazing! ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Very romantic! And the food was amazing! Great service too

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Dinner alone was great

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Dinner alone was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our first visit to San Antonio. ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 21, 2016

This was our first visit to San Antonio. We were fortunate to get a table by the window overlooking the beautiful River Walk which added a special element to the meal. The wine list is extensive & varied while the bread offerings were warm, fresh and delicious. The appetizer didn't thrill. My heirloom tomato salad with fried capers and olive powder was drowning in salad dressing that closely resembled Thousand Island. My husband's requested vegetable substitution resulted simply in the elimination of the original vegetable and we had to get the waiter's attention to have the other vegetable brought out. With so many restaurants to choose from on the River Walk, the quality & service need to be top notch. The wow factor was missing here.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

We really enjoyed dining here. Service a ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 18, 2016

We really enjoyed dining here. Service and hospitality were top notch, as was the food. My wife enjoyed the tasting menu, while I enjoyed the heirloom tomato salad (absolutely delicious!) and the paella. We were able to sit outside, along the Riverwalk- what a lovely evening!

Tags: Cozy, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not sure why we saw such glowing reviews ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Not sure why we saw such glowing reviews, because Sunday brunch was totally inadequate for the cost. Not sure if we were just too early or what, but no one manning the omelette station, no carving station, thawed frozen fruits . . . generally a buffet barely equal to a Hampton Inn.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

We had a great dinner for 5. NOTE about ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 13, 2016

We had a great dinner for 5. NOTE about all restaurants on riverwalk. If you want to enjoy your food, eat at an inside table. Many of the outside table are too close to the walkway and people are constantly standing and talking within a foot or two of your table. Thats fun if you are just drinking and people watching but not if you are trying to enjoy fine food and conversation.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

The food was excellent. The salmon was c ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 7, 2016

The food was excellent. The salmon was cooked perfect and very fresh. The reyka martinis were delicious and even though I was beyond full the pudding desert that the server recommended was devoured within seconds!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Ordered filet tenderloin medium. It was ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Ordered filet tenderloin medium. It was served well done. After 15 minutes, waiter brought out a filet that was almost raw. Got it right third time. Potatoes were undercooked. My meal should have been comped after this experience. Only two other diners in entire restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

When in San Antonio, riverwalk dining is ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 6, 2016

When in San Antonio, riverwalk dining is a must. There are many good restaurants and we especially enjoyed Las Canarias. Our table sat just above head level of the walkway and we had a nice view up and down the river. Food and service were both very good and the menu has a wide variety of choices. Would highly recommend!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Scenic View, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food and ambiance were great. Howeve ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on October 2, 2016

The food and ambiance were great. However, the menu failed to depict a price difference from "breakfast" to "brunch." The breakfast buffet is listed as $22. But no where on the menu does it say that the brunch buffet which starts at 11 am is double at $42. To my knowledge, there isn't even a brunch menu listed. But I wouldn't know there was a difference between the breakfast and brunch menus had I not gone and eaten there. Had I known that the price wasn't $22 a person, I would not have chosen this restaurant to have a birthday brunch. For an everyday Sunday brunch, yes. It was delicious, and the complementary mimosas were a huge plus. But I wouldn't have asked distant family and colleges to join me if I would have known it would be almost $50 a person after drinks and tips. And like I've stated, the food and buffet spread were great, the food has nothing to do with my review. Had I been eating with close family and friends only, whom I know have the luxury of spending $50 for brunch, price wouldn't be an issue. And the price actually wasn't the issue, as I've said, I would definitely go back and pay it again, it was the fact that the price wasn't listed for "brunch" and the bills were surprising as I had already let everyone know when I sent invites that the price would be $22 a person.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

This place never disappoints. I had the ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on September 29, 2016

This place never disappoints. I had the salmon and it was absolutely delish! The creme brûlée was awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and the service provided were e ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 25, 2016

The food and the service provided were excellent. It's noticeable that the personnel has been trained to provide a high quality service.

Tags: Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed our seat beside the window ov ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 24, 2016

We enjoyed our seat beside the window overlooking the Riverwalk. The service was excellent and it was a very quiet setting. Food was delicious, though the drinks were a bit pricey.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

anytime we travel to san Antonio, we alw ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 23, 2016

anytime we travel to san Antonio, we always go to Las Canarias! it is romantic with a beautiful view of the water and traditional looking décor. The waiter made us feel very welcome and did not rush us, pacing our courses well. The food is excellent with a well varied wine list. Great for lunch too!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Crème brule was outstanding. Salmon on ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on September 20, 2016

Crème brule was outstanding. Salmon on the salad was also very good but I wish they left the anchovies off as that was unappetizing, or at least asked if I wanted them.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This is my favorite spot for Sunday Brun ...

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 18, 2016

This is my favorite spot for Sunday Brunch. The quality and variety of their offerings are wonderful. The bananas foster was outstanding.

However, it would be more enjoyable dining if the restaurant instituted a 'dress code'. When an elegant dining room allows patrons with tank-tops, shorts, and flip-flops, the quality of the experience declines.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Food quality has dropped. Bread was no ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on September 14, 2016

Food quality has dropped. Bread was not even good and not exciting menue

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Excellent Sunday brunch, champagne and ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Excellent Sunday brunch, champagne and shrimp cocktail were wonderful and the prime rib and turkey at the carving station delicious. My favorite place in San Antonio and if I lived there I would be joining you for brunch every Sunday!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful setting, superb service, and a ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 5, 2016

Beautiful setting, superb service, and attractively served food that was absolutely wonderful. We will definitely return on our next trip to San Antonio.

Tags: Historic, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First off, it's bottomless mimosas and c ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on September 4, 2016

First off, it's bottomless mimosas and coffee...that alone is probably worth the price. We ate and drank mimosas for three hours and then passed out for a few hours at the hotel room. Soooo worth it.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Waterfront, Scenic View, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Las Canarias was wonderful in every way! ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Las Canarias was wonderful in every way! My husband and I had items from the Chef's three-course prix fixe menu. Each of the courses was paired with a wine of the Chef's choosing (and we were given a complimentary glass of champagne also!) Each course was spectacular. The service was also impeccable - polite, informative, yet not intrusive. We look forward to the next time we are in San Antonio so that we can visit Las Canarias again.

Tags: Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Historic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.