Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

About Larkspur Events & Dining

Larkspur’s warm, contemporary atmosphere never fails to surprise and delight. New American Cuisine with friendly, knowledgeable service for both public and private events. In the winter, enjoy our sunny patio for Après Ski, specialty cocktails and lighter fare menu in the popular bar. Tremendous setting for special events. Kid-friendly. Valet Parking.

458 Vail Valley Drive
Vail, CO 81657
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
We are a special events based restaurant with public offerings including lunch and apres ski service during the ski season, and dinner on Friday and Saturday nights. We also specialize in weddings, corporate events, and off-site catering concepts. We look forward to serving you in the future!

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(970) 754-8050

Website:
http://www.larkspurvail.com/

Parking Details:
Free self parking is available in Golden Peak Skier Drop off parking lot from 11-2pm. Free valet parking on Friday and Saturday evenings only.

Public Transit:
Free Town of Vail bus route - Golden Peak stop.

Executive Chef:
Christian McCallion & Bill Fitzgerald

Private Party Facilities:
Our Private Dining Room offers a warm, intimate setting for smaller functions. This is the perfect location for your party to dine without the intrusion of the main dining room. Private yet not isolated, your group is separated from the main dining room by French glass doors and a sheer curtain.

Private Party Contact:
Isabel Piaggi: (970) 754-8070

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
A tasteful venue for special events of up to 200 people. Beautifully furnished dining room, striking great room perfect for dancing, large patio at the base of the ski lift, outdoor wedding ceremony site with a spectacular vista of the Gore Range.

Larkspur Events & Dining Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Lunch (9)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Notable Wine List (6)
See All
Open Kitchen (6)
Special Occasion (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Casual (5)
Scenic View (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Fun (4)
Seasonal (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Business Meals (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Good for a Date (2)
Healthy (2)
Family Style (2)
Authentic (2)
Live Sports (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Fireplace (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Private Room (1)
Organic (1)
Great Beer (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Romantic (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Dancing (1)
Cozy (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Sort By:
S
564 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined 4 days ago

we ate lunch after skiing. food is outstanding and the service excellent. I've eaten dinner here as well and they excel. going back.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (London)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Great food and cocktails. Small wine list. Excellent service in the bar and restaurant. Pity it is only open at night on Friday and Saturday.

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We were greeted when we arrived and taken straight to our table. No wait. The service was quick. Our orders were taken. The bread was amazing. They have a great wine list too. The food arrived all at the same time and was wonderful. The presentation of each entree was so beautiful we had to stop and take photos. The wait staff was perfect. We will be back.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Great location, good food. Very busy active and loud during the Burton US Open.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Love the food and atmosphere for lunch as an excellent mid-day break from ski'ing. Nice to have the reservation so you are not waiting during your ski time.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 1, 2017

This is a great lunch and apres ski place at the Golden Peak Lodge in Vail. The gluten free pizza was AMAZING. The atmosphere is really pleasant and the tables for large groups are very comfortable.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 26, 2017

One of the best experiences we ever had. From the atmosphere of the restaurant, friendly staff, amazing food, and the choice of wine, the whole experience has been unique. I was impressed by the willingness of our server to help with our decision and accommodate every need. The service was incomparable. At the place like this you expect and receive truly outstanding food, and extraordinary attention. Larkspur however take this to the next level. If you are not happy about anything let them know and they will move heaven and earth to put it right. Thank you for a great meal. Definitely will be back

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 26, 2017

My husband and I have not visited Larkspur twice, and both times were amazing. The food is great as is the service. The menu has a variety of options to choose from and the wine list is vast. I personally love the ambiance and decor, it's modern and perfectly lit. Larkspur accommodates large groups which is hard to find in Vail. Highly recommend!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fireplace, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Very good food service and preparation. Gorgeous room. Prices appropriate for this level.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 25, 2017

We use Larkspur as our go to restaurant in Vail. We know that we or our guests will not be disappointed . We love the location and the atmosphere. Have always been delighted with the food.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 20, 2017

We are so spoiled - lunch at Larkspur every day while skiing! It is expensive, but of course, this is Vail. The food is delicious - simple favorites like grilled cheese and tomato soup or more elegant options like lobster rocket sandwich. Definitely worth it, and so much better than crowded fast food on the mountain.

Tags: Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We had a party of 4 and nobody was pleased with their meal. Lobster bisque fishy and bland; steak was overcooked and flavorless and veal was reported to have not even tasted like veal. There was no bread offered while we waiting a long time for our entrees and there were children running all over the place. Our bill was 200+ and the neither the food nor experience was anywhere close to that level. When the hostess asked how everything was while we were getting our coats, we told her we were very disappointed as we remembered it being much nicer a few years ago, to which she did not reply or apologize. Too many great places around, I suggest to pass and we will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Overall, Larkspur is a good restaurant. The food and service were both excellent. However, I thought the menu was too small, the prices were too high, and we didn't get bread before dinner, while I saw it was served at other tables.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Best tomato soup in Vail. Great burger; skinny fries get cold too soon. Accommodating staff. Lovely dining room with comfortable booths. Ski-in @ Golden Peak. Good Champagne by the glass, good espresso. Could do without the open kitchen staff guy singing (badly) loudly.....suspect his co-workers could too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 4, 2017

They are becoming too institutional i.e. large private body parties. I wouldn't go again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 3, 2017

We had a fabulous evening at Larkspur. From start to finish, it was great. The hostess and wait staff were friendly, engaging, and very knowledgeable about the menu.Great value in terms of food quality and service if you're looking for a nice meal out!

Tags: Live Sports, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Great Beer, Seasonal, Sunday Lunch, Open Kitchen, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Everything was superb: service, food, wine and decor. The level of service is friendly, efficient, competent and non-intrusive. All staff was gracious and professional. Whole experience was above and beyond. Worth a repeat visit.

Tags: Dancing, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, Romantic, Family Style, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 2, 2017

I visited Larkspur for lunch and had a wonderful experience. The service and food were outstanding. The staff is very friendly, attentive, and professional, without being snobbish in any way. I would highly recommended.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Overpriced for mediocre cuisine and mediocre service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 8, 2017

There is not trip to Vail that I don't visit Larkspur. The food is always good, the wine selection is excellent and the service is superb.

The best burger in town!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 31, 2016

This was our first time to Larkspur even though we've owned several homes in Beaver Creek for 20 years. We always seem to go to a handful of favorites in the Vail Valley and kept forgetting to try it. Everything was nice from decor, food and waitstaff.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Food and drinks were overpriced but of excellent flavor and perfectly prepared. The valet parking is always a benefit in this downtown location.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We had a lovely and delicious Christmas Day lunch at Larkspur. What a treat to ski in the morning and then sit down to a sumptuous meal in such a relaxing and beautiful setting. The service was attentive without being pretentious, and the food was so far above and beyond anything on the ski mountain, even the 10th. Larkspur is our family's favorite place for special occasions and ski day lunches.

Tags: Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Tucson)·Dined on December 24, 2016

I've been to Larkspur many times in the past. It's now open on Thursday, Friday and Saturday evenings only. Our dinner was good, but certainly not for the price. All the entrees are well into the $30 range and up - Lobster ravioli for $50??? Really??? The food is good, but honestly, nothing special. Not decorated for the holidays at all, which was disappointing. Also, it is very dark. I have good eyes, but several at our table don't. Throughout the restaurant, people were using their flashlight app to read the menu. The menu is not extensive, wine is overpriced, too. Servers were very good.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 2, 2016

We love to eat at Larkspur to get a mid day snack from skiing Vail Mountain. You can ski to their doors which is always nice. There beer selections are great and Colorado inspired. This years menu is to notch and they are kid friendly. They also have an amazing dinner menu which they serve on Fridays and Saturdays only. Defiantly worth checking out for yourself.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 27, 2016

This restaurant is very, very good, I went here with my wife and a couple of friends, we ordered Lobster club, Tacos, and a Larkburgers. It was amazing, service is attentive, food quality and presentation as well, the place it self is nice and comfortable. I would recommend without a doubt to anyone that goes to Vail. Congrats to the managers and staff.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 19, 2016

Service was slow when you are trying to ski.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 19, 2016

Larkspur is a must for anyone visiting the Vail area. We went here for a lunch and can honestly say is the best food I've ever eaten. I cannot recommend highly enough, it was fantastic. Service was superb, without being too intrusive - just right, made you feel like you must be a really special person and helped make the whole experience very memorable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 9, 2016

Outstanding burger service and martinis at the bar

Larkspur feels like a family-owned classic Vail restaurant. The manager and staff are great about remembering names and faces, and making you feel like a VIP. Our server was attentive without being intrusive, knowledgeable about the menu and wine and best of all, didn't rush us. The burger was one of the best I have had and the truffle French fries were outstanding. I look forward to my next visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (México)·Dined on February 28, 2016

Waiter distracted when taking order....salmon over cooked...lamb ordered medium rare came well done.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 28, 2016

I rate the food very high for Yumm factor. Good wine list, take a look at the sommelier wine list with 50% off, good deals if you know what to pick. Very attentive service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 26, 2016

This is a very busy restaurant with great food. Food is served by a very professional and engaged wait staff. You won't be disappointed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 24, 2016

Excellent service from our server. Two couples we had mentioned to our server that we were celebrating both a wedding anniversary and an birthday. He was very attentive as were the other wait-staff. Service was efficient, pleasant and at just the right pace.Overall, this was an excellent dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 22, 2016

Always consistent 2 to groups of 14. Great service! The best grilled cheese and tomato soup lunch.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 21, 2016

Larkspur is excellent every time we go. The sommelier recommended a great French Pinot which was a fun addition to our meal. Service and food were excellent. Worth the price!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 21, 2016

They have dinner during peak times and special occasions. The menu was a mash-up of many of the lunch items and then some dinner items. We had the crispy shrimp appetizer which was delicious. The ahi tuna was good but almost an appetizer portion - I'd say 3 oz of tuna, tops. That was less impressive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 20, 2016

Larkspur has been our favorite ski lunch spot for years - right at base of Golden Peak, delicious and interesting food like seared tuna with bok choy or lobster rocket sandwich - much better than burgers and pizza on the mountain. Tomato soup and grilled cheese at I think $14 is expensive, but it's the best tomato soup and grilled cheese you'll ever have! Enjoy!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 20, 2016

We've been many times. Love the room and the food is always quite good, but it is starting to get very pricey for what they provide. Service is good, but wait staff usually isn't well acquainted with the details of the menu. Loved the veal scallopini, petaluma chicken and petrale sole.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 14, 2016

Service was phenomenal - friendly and attentive but not overbearing. Mushroom pizza was to die for. The bar area was vibrant with happy hour "hangers-on" but far enough away from the dining room to not be noisy. All in all a fabulous great experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 14, 2016

Our most recent visit to Larkspur was as usual rewarded with an excellent meal, served in a warm and vibrant space. Service is always top notch, attentive, friendly and very knowledgeable. As always the both managers made a point of visiting tables over the course of the meal, making sure that everything is in order, and sharing their passion for great food and wine.
We're already looking forward to our next visit!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.