About Larkspur Events & Dining

458 Vail Valley Drive
Vail, CO 81657
View Larger Map

Larkspur’s warm, contemporary atmosphere never fails to surprise and delight. New American Cuisine with friendly, knowledgeable service for both public and private events. In the winter, enjoy our sunny patio for Après Ski, specialty cocktails and lighter fare menu in the popular bar. Tremendous setting for special events. Kid-friendly. Valet Parking.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
We are a special events based restaurant with public offerings including lunch and apres ski service during the ski season, and dinner on Friday and Saturday nights. We also specialize in weddings, corporate events, and off-site catering concepts. We look forward to serving you in the future!

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(970) 754-8050

Website:
http://www.larkspurvail.com/

Parking Details:
Free self parking is available in Golden Peak Skier Drop off parking lot from 11-2pm. Free valet parking on Friday and Saturday evenings only.

Public Transit:
Free Town of Vail bus route - Golden Peak stop.

Executive Chef:
Christian McCallion & Bill Fitzgerald

Private Party Facilities:
Our Private Dining Room offers a warm, intimate setting for smaller functions. This is the perfect location for your party to dine without the intrusion of the main dining room. Private yet not isolated, your group is separated from the main dining room by French glass doors and a sheer curtain.

Private Party Contact:
Isabel Piaggi: (970) 754-8070

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
A tasteful venue for special events of up to 200 people. Beautifully furnished dining room, striking great room perfect for dancing, large patio at the base of the ski lift, outdoor wedding ceremony site with a spectacular vista of the Gore Range.

Larkspur Events & Dining Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

77% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (5)
Good for Groups (4)
Scenic View (3)
See All
Fun (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Live Sports (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Seasonal (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Special Occasion (2)
Authentic (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Cozy (1)
Dancing (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Romantic (1)
Family Style (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Fireplace (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Great Beer (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Organic (1)
Casual (1)
Business Meals (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Sort By:
S
553 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We had a party of 4 and nobody was pleas ...

 
·Dined 2 days ago

We had a party of 4 and nobody was pleased with their meal. Lobster bisque fishy and bland; steak was overcooked and flavorless and veal was reported to have not even tasted like veal. There was no bread offered while we waiting a long time for our entrees and there were children running all over the place. Our bill was 200+ and the neither the food nor experience was anywhere close to that level. When the hostess asked how everything was while we were getting our coats, we told her we were very disappointed as we remembered it being much nicer a few years ago, to which she did not reply or apologize. Too many great places around, I suggest to pass and we will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Overall, Larkspur is a good restaurant. ...

 
·Dined on February 12, 2017

Overall, Larkspur is a good restaurant. The food and service were both excellent. However, I thought the menu was too small, the prices were too high, and we didn't get bread before dinner, while I saw it was served at other tables.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

Best tomato soup in Vail. Great burger; ...

 
·Dined on February 10, 2017

Best tomato soup in Vail. Great burger; skinny fries get cold too soon. Accommodating staff. Lovely dining room with comfortable booths. Ski-in @ Golden Peak. Good Champagne by the glass, good espresso. Could do without the open kitchen staff guy singing (badly) loudly.....suspect his co-workers could too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

They are becoming too institutional i.e. ...

 
·Dined on February 4, 2017

They are becoming too institutional i.e. large private body parties. I wouldn't go again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We had a fabulous evening at Larkspur. ...

 
·Dined on February 3, 2017

We had a fabulous evening at Larkspur. From start to finish, it was great. The hostess and wait staff were friendly, engaging, and very knowledgeable about the menu.Great value in terms of food quality and service if you're looking for a nice meal out!

Tags: Live Sports, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Great Beer, Seasonal, Sunday Lunch, Open Kitchen, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was superb: service, food, wi ...

 
·Dined on February 3, 2017

Everything was superb: service, food, wine and decor. The level of service is friendly, efficient, competent and non-intrusive. All staff was gracious and professional. Whole experience was above and beyond. Worth a repeat visit.

Tags: Dancing, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, Romantic, Family Style, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value5

I visited Larkspur for lunch and had a w ...

 
·Dined on February 2, 2017

I visited Larkspur for lunch and had a wonderful experience. The service and food were outstanding. The staff is very friendly, attentive, and professional, without being snobbish in any way. I would highly recommended.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overpriced for mediocre cuisine and medi ...

 
·Dined on January 29, 2017

Overpriced for mediocre cuisine and mediocre service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

There is not trip to Vail that I don't v ...

 
·Dined on January 8, 2017

There is not trip to Vail that I don't visit Larkspur. The food is always good, the wine selection is excellent and the service is superb.

The best burger in town!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

This was our first time to Larkspur even ...

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

This was our first time to Larkspur even though we've owned several homes in Beaver Creek for 20 years. We always seem to go to a handful of favorites in the Vail Valley and kept forgetting to try it. Everything was nice from decor, food and waitstaff.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Food and drinks were overpriced but of e ...

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

Food and drinks were overpriced but of excellent flavor and perfectly prepared. The valet parking is always a benefit in this downtown location.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

We had a lovely and delicious Christmas ...

 
·Dined on December 25, 2016

We had a lovely and delicious Christmas Day lunch at Larkspur. What a treat to ski in the morning and then sit down to a sumptuous meal in such a relaxing and beautiful setting. The service was attentive without being pretentious, and the food was so far above and beyond anything on the ski mountain, even the 10th. Larkspur is our family's favorite place for special occasions and ski day lunches.

Tags: Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I've been to Larkspur many times in the ...

 
·Dined on December 24, 2016

I've been to Larkspur many times in the past. It's now open on Thursday, Friday and Saturday evenings only. Our dinner was good, but certainly not for the price. All the entrees are well into the $30 range and up - Lobster ravioli for $50??? Really??? The food is good, but honestly, nothing special. Not decorated for the holidays at all, which was disappointing. Also, it is very dark. I have good eyes, but several at our table don't. Throughout the restaurant, people were using their flashlight app to read the menu. The menu is not extensive, wine is overpriced, too. Servers were very good.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

We love to eat at Larkspur to get a mid ...

 
·Dined on December 2, 2016

We love to eat at Larkspur to get a mid day snack from skiing Vail Mountain. You can ski to their doors which is always nice. There beer selections are great and Colorado inspired. This years menu is to notch and they are kid friendly. They also have an amazing dinner menu which they serve on Fridays and Saturdays only. Defiantly worth checking out for yourself.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Well Located, Excellent Experience, Great Service

 
·Dined on March 27, 2016

This restaurant is very, very good, I went here with my wife and a couple of friends, we ordered Lobster club, Tacos, and a Larkburgers. It was amazing, service is attentive, food quality and presentation as well, the place it self is nice and comfortable. I would recommend without a doubt to anyone that goes to Vail. Congrats to the managers and staff.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was slow when you are trying to ...

 
·Dined on March 19, 2016

Service was slow when you are trying to ski.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

Sill wonderful!

 
·Dined on March 19, 2016

Larkspur is a must for anyone visiting the Vail area. We went here for a lunch and can honestly say is the best food I've ever eaten. I cannot recommend highly enough, it was fantastic. Service was superb, without being too intrusive - just right, made you feel like you must be a really special person and helped make the whole experience very memorable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding burger service and martinis ...

 
·Dined on March 9, 2016

Outstanding burger service and martinis at the bar

Larkspur feels like a family-owned classic Vail restaurant. The manager and staff are great about remembering names and faces, and making you feel like a VIP. Our server was attentive without being intrusive, knowledgeable about the menu and wine and best of all, didn't rush us. The burger was one of the best I have had and the truffle French fries were outstanding. I look forward to my next visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Waiter distracted when taking order....s ...

 
·Dined on February 28, 2016

Waiter distracted when taking order....salmon over cooked...lamb ordered medium rare came well done.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

I rate the food very high for Yumm facto ...

 
·Dined on February 28, 2016

I rate the food very high for Yumm factor. Good wine list, take a look at the sommelier wine list with 50% off, good deals if you know what to pick. Very attentive service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

“Fab service w cool vibe”

 
·Dined on February 26, 2016

This is a very busy restaurant with great food. Food is served by a very professional and engaged wait staff. You won't be disappointed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Guest oriented service

 
·Dined on February 24, 2016

Excellent service from our server. Two couples we had mentioned to our server that we were celebrating both a wedding anniversary and an birthday. He was very attentive as were the other wait-staff. Service was efficient, pleasant and at just the right pace.Overall, this was an excellent dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value5

Lunch groomed daily!

 
·Dined on February 22, 2016

Always consistent 2 to groups of 14. Great service! The best grilled cheese and tomato soup lunch.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Elegant dining in Vail

 
·Dined on February 21, 2016

Larkspur is excellent every time we go. The sommelier recommended a great French Pinot which was a fun addition to our meal. Service and food were excellent. Worth the price!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

May be better for lunch

 
·Dined on February 21, 2016

They have dinner during peak times and special occasions. The menu was a mash-up of many of the lunch items and then some dinner items. We had the crispy shrimp appetizer which was delicious. The ahi tuna was good but almost an appetizer portion - I'd say 3 oz of tuna, tops. That was less impressive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Luxurious ski lunch

 
·Dined on February 20, 2016

Larkspur has been our favorite ski lunch spot for years - right at base of Golden Peak, delicious and interesting food like seared tuna with bok choy or lobster rocket sandwich - much better than burgers and pizza on the mountain. Tomato soup and grilled cheese at I think $14 is expensive, but it's the best tomato soup and grilled cheese you'll ever have! Enjoy!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Good, but Pricey!

 
·Dined on February 20, 2016

We've been many times. Love the room and the food is always quite good, but it is starting to get very pricey for what they provide. Service is good, but wait staff usually isn't well acquainted with the details of the menu. Loved the veal scallopini, petaluma chicken and petrale sole.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Incredible Service

 
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Service was phenomenal - friendly and attentive but not overbearing. Mushroom pizza was to die for. The bar area was vibrant with happy hour "hangers-on" but far enough away from the dining room to not be noisy. All in all a fabulous great experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect combination of food, ambiance and service

 
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Our most recent visit to Larkspur was as usual rewarded with an excellent meal, served in a warm and vibrant space. Service is always top notch, attentive, friendly and very knowledgeable. As always the both managers made a point of visiting tables over the course of the meal, making sure that everything is in order, and sharing their passion for great food and wine.

We're already looking forward to our next visit!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Order now or face the consequences.

 
·Dined on February 14, 2016

We sat down and got the menu and the server wanted to take our order immediately. He came to our table 3 times in the next five minutes and acted inpatiently because we were not ready. It was clear to us that the most important thing at this restaurant is turning the table. The food; not really that great. Lots of other choices In the Valley.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

Fantastic!

 
·Dined on February 6, 2016

Simply one of the best dining experiences I have ever had. The service and drinks were completely impeccable. Great food. Definitely returning to dine at Larkspur. Great job!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

We just love it here when we want to tre ...

 
·Dined on February 6, 2016

We just love it here when we want to treat ourselves!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Disappointing, not the same restaurant it was

 
·Dined on February 6, 2016

Over the years we have eaten at Larkspur and considered it a first class restaurant. However, somewhere in the past two years, a decision must have been made to downscale the restaurant. It is now a lunch spot and a catering / events forum. Their web site still shows pictures of when it was first rate, but I should have known better when I saw they were serving hamburgers on the dinner menu. Don't get me wrong the hamburger was good, but I didn't come to larkspur to eat a hamburger, I could get that on the mountain! I ordered the sole and not only was it tasteless, it was clearly frozen fish. Even the cocktails were not up to par. We ordered an old fashion which came without muddled fruit and the specialty cocktails where just not that special. Lastly the service was not good and provided by children who had no idea, what they were doing. I am sure some people who are eating here for the first time might think it's a great place, but I know what it was. It's very sad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

ALWAYS a great time & great service! La ...

 
·Dined on January 31, 2016

ALWAYS a great time & great service!

Larkspur was absolutely fantastic! The food is consistenly good. It is very well run restaurant with well trained staff. We loved casual and savory choices on the menú. The ruby rose was "to die for" and the larkspur staff is always on point... a staff by which all restaurant staff should be mesured. They are truly the best! Great service and food, I have never had to complain about. Manager visited our table which is always nice touch. By far my best restaurant in Vail. Thank you larkspur for making our night an awsome experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

LUXURY AT ITS BEST Larkspur lived up to ...

 
·Dined on January 24, 2016

LUXURY AT ITS BEST

Larkspur lived up to its reputation and hype. Our server was knowledgeable and absolutely charming. He made some great recommendations on food and wine. The vibe at the restaurant not only enhanced the Experience, It also made you want to come back. We loved how they divided their menú by savory and classics. All the dishes tasted great and looked very stylish. I can't recommend this restaurant enough. It's definitely worth it once for the experience of truly being served a fine meal by a fine staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Outstanding! I would highly recommend th ...

 
·Dined on January 24, 2016

Outstanding! I would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone who wants a truly amazing dining experience, food is amazing, service is faultless, and the atmosphere is romantic and upmarket! The menu has great variety and we thoroughly enjoyed each first course and entree.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thank you for another wonderful anniversary!!

 
·Dined on January 24, 2016

This restaurant never, ever disappoints. Fabulous wine list and excellent food. The ambiance is always amazing - fun, yet elegant. We had fantastic service as always. We love the addition of the more casual meal options, which will suit our 18 year old son when we return in March. Keep up the great work!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Merle

 
·Dined on January 23, 2016

We have been coming to Larkspur for many years. We were sad that it has closed during a large part of the season...open only for parties etc. The food is excellent, ambience and atmosphere nice. My only complaint is that they redecorated and took away the white table cloths. It detracts from the elegance that should go with the price of a meal.

Our server was great, but the VERY young person who showed us our table tried to give us the worse table in the place, and there very few diners! That ALWAYS irritates us.

In the past, that never happened.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Larkspur was a perfect place for our anniversary.

 
·Dined on January 17, 2016

We had a wonderful meal from start to finish. The dining room is

lovely. We had plenty of room in our corner booth and were treated

well from beginning to end of the meal.Their level of service is high

and attention to all the small details are never overlooked. The

manager keeps a keen eye on the patrons and never hesitates to assist

them (& the wait staff) to facilitate good service when the restaurant

becomes crowded, I love when managers do that. We have never been

disappointed at Larkspur and hope it continues to maintain its high

standards for service and good food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I decided to dine at lark ...

 
·Dined on January 17, 2016

My husband and I decided to dine at larkspur for our date night dinner. Everything from the service to the ambiance to the food was phenomenal. We started with a couple of appetizers, the cured salmon being our favorite, but everything was delicious. We shared 3 entrees (yes we had lots left over to take home, we like to eat:) the veal scaloppini was absolutely to die for! We also enjoyed the strip loin with bone marrow and the lobster ravioli. All three wonderful, juicy, delicious entrees. We had the pleasure of meeting the chef, Paula, lovely lady and a magician in the kitchen. Bryan was our server that night who took great care of us. We also were greeted by the sommelier for our wine selection and manager who were all a delight. To say the least, we had a fantastic night. Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.