About Larkspur Events & Dining

458 Vail Valley Drive
Vail, CO 81657
View Larger Map

Larkspur’s warm, contemporary atmosphere never fails to surprise and delight. New American Cuisine with friendly, knowledgeable service for both public and private events. In the winter, enjoy our sunny patio for Après Ski, specialty cocktails and lighter fare menu in the popular bar. Tremendous setting for special events. Kid-friendly. Valet Parking.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
We are a special events based restaurant with public offerings including lunch and apres ski service during the ski season, and dinner on Friday and Saturday nights. We also specialize in weddings, corporate events, and off-site catering concepts. We look forward to serving you in the future!

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(970) 754-8050

Website:
http://www.larkspurvail.com/

Parking Details:
Free valet and self parking is available.

Public Transit:
Free Town of Vail bus route - Golden Peak stop.

Executive Chef:
Paula Turner

Private Party Facilities:
Our Private Dining Room offers a warm, intimate setting for smaller functions. This is the perfect location for your party to dine without the intrusion of the main dining room. Private yet not isolated, your group is separated from the main dining room by French glass doors and a sheer curtain.

Private Party Contact:
Aaron Beckman: 9707548048x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
A tasteful venue for special events of up to 200 people. Beautifully furnished dining room, striking great room perfect for dancing, large patio at the base of the ski lift, outdoor wedding ceremony site with a spectacular vista of the Gore Range.

Restaurant Photos

Larkspur Events & Dining
Lobster Bacon Roll
The Larkburger
Jalapisco Sour
Margarita
Avery The Reverend Quadrupel Beer
Snake River Sturgeon
Brooklyn Blackout Cake
Veal Scaloppini
Fried Soft Shell Crab Sandiwch
Shrimp Po Boy
Sort By:
Newest
499 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Well Located, Excellent Experience, Great Service

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

This restaurant is very, very good, I went here with my wife and a couple of friends, we ordered Lobster club, Tacos, and a Larkburgers. It was amazing, service is attentive, food quality and presentation as well, the place it self is nice and comfortable. I would recommend without a doubt to anyone that goes to Vail. Congrats to the managers and staff.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was slow when you are trying to ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

Service was slow when you are trying to ski.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

Sill wonderful!

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

Larkspur is a must for anyone visiting the Vail area. We went here for a lunch and can honestly say is the best food I've ever eaten. I cannot recommend highly enough, it was fantastic. Service was superb, without being too intrusive - just right, made you feel like you must be a really special person and helped make the whole experience very memorable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding burger service and martinis ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on March 9, 2016

Outstanding burger service and martinis at the bar

Larkspur feels like a family-owned classic Vail restaurant. The manager and staff are great about remembering names and faces, and making you feel like a VIP. Our server was attentive without being intrusive, knowledgeable about the menu and wine and best of all, didn't rush us. The burger was one of the best I have had and the truffle French fries were outstanding. I look forward to my next visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Waiter distracted when taking order....s ...

 
 (México)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

Waiter distracted when taking order....salmon over cooked...lamb ordered medium rare came well done.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

I rate the food very high for Yumm facto ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

I rate the food very high for Yumm factor. Good wine list, take a look at the sommelier wine list with 50% off, good deals if you know what to pick. Very attentive service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

“Fab service w cool vibe”

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on February 26, 2016

This is a very busy restaurant with great food. Food is served by a very professional and engaged wait staff. You won't be disappointed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Guest oriented service

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on February 24, 2016

Excellent service from our server. Two couples we had mentioned to our server that we were celebrating both a wedding anniversary and an birthday. He was very attentive as were the other wait-staff. Service was efficient, pleasant and at just the right pace.Overall, this was an excellent dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value5

Lunch groomed daily!

 
 (London)
·Dined on February 22, 2016

Always consistent 2 to groups of 14. Great service! The best grilled cheese and tomato soup lunch.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Elegant dining in Vail

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

Larkspur is excellent every time we go. The sommelier recommended a great French Pinot which was a fun addition to our meal. Service and food were excellent. Worth the price!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

May be better for lunch

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

They have dinner during peak times and special occasions. The menu was a mash-up of many of the lunch items and then some dinner items. We had the crispy shrimp appetizer which was delicious. The ahi tuna was good but almost an appetizer portion - I'd say 3 oz of tuna, tops. That was less impressive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Luxurious ski lunch

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

Larkspur has been our favorite ski lunch spot for years - right at base of Golden Peak, delicious and interesting food like seared tuna with bok choy or lobster rocket sandwich - much better than burgers and pizza on the mountain. Tomato soup and grilled cheese at I think $14 is expensive, but it's the best tomato soup and grilled cheese you'll ever have! Enjoy!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Good, but Pricey!

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

We've been many times. Love the room and the food is always quite good, but it is starting to get very pricey for what they provide. Service is good, but wait staff usually isn't well acquainted with the details of the menu. Loved the veal scallopini, petaluma chicken and petrale sole.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Incredible Service

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Service was phenomenal - friendly and attentive but not overbearing. Mushroom pizza was to die for. The bar area was vibrant with happy hour "hangers-on" but far enough away from the dining room to not be noisy. All in all a fabulous great experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect combination of food, ambiance and service

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Our most recent visit to Larkspur was as usual rewarded with an excellent meal, served in a warm and vibrant space. Service is always top notch, attentive, friendly and very knowledgeable. As always the both managers made a point of visiting tables over the course of the meal, making sure that everything is in order, and sharing their passion for great food and wine.

We're already looking forward to our next visit!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Order now or face the consequences.

vip
 (Idaho)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

We sat down and got the menu and the server wanted to take our order immediately. He came to our table 3 times in the next five minutes and acted inpatiently because we were not ready. It was clear to us that the most important thing at this restaurant is turning the table. The food; not really that great. Lots of other choices In the Valley.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

Fantastic!

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on February 6, 2016

Simply one of the best dining experiences I have ever had. The service and drinks were completely impeccable. Great food. Definitely returning to dine at Larkspur. Great job!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

We just love it here when we want to tre ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on February 6, 2016

We just love it here when we want to treat ourselves!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Disappointing, not the same restaurant it was

vip
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on February 6, 2016

Over the years we have eaten at Larkspur and considered it a first class restaurant. However, somewhere in the past two years, a decision must have been made to downscale the restaurant. It is now a lunch spot and a catering / events forum. Their web site still shows pictures of when it was first rate, but I should have known better when I saw they were serving hamburgers on the dinner menu. Don't get me wrong the hamburger was good, but I didn't come to larkspur to eat a hamburger, I could get that on the mountain! I ordered the sole and not only was it tasteless, it was clearly frozen fish. Even the cocktails were not up to par. We ordered an old fashion which came without muddled fruit and the specialty cocktails where just not that special. Lastly the service was not good and provided by children who had no idea, what they were doing. I am sure some people who are eating here for the first time might think it's a great place, but I know what it was. It's very sad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

ALWAYS a great time & great service! La ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on January 31, 2016

ALWAYS a great time & great service!

Larkspur was absolutely fantastic! The food is consistenly good. It is very well run restaurant with well trained staff. We loved casual and savory choices on the menú. The ruby rose was "to die for" and the larkspur staff is always on point... a staff by which all restaurant staff should be mesured. They are truly the best! Great service and food, I have never had to complain about. Manager visited our table which is always nice touch. By far my best restaurant in Vail. Thank you larkspur for making our night an awsome experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

LUXURY AT ITS BEST Larkspur lived up to ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on January 24, 2016

LUXURY AT ITS BEST

Larkspur lived up to its reputation and hype. Our server was knowledgeable and absolutely charming. He made some great recommendations on food and wine. The vibe at the restaurant not only enhanced the Experience, It also made you want to come back. We loved how they divided their menú by savory and classics. All the dishes tasted great and looked very stylish. I can't recommend this restaurant enough. It's definitely worth it once for the experience of truly being served a fine meal by a fine staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Outstanding! I would highly recommend th ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on January 24, 2016

Outstanding! I would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone who wants a truly amazing dining experience, food is amazing, service is faultless, and the atmosphere is romantic and upmarket! The menu has great variety and we thoroughly enjoyed each first course and entree.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thank you for another wonderful anniversary!!

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on January 24, 2016

This restaurant never, ever disappoints. Fabulous wine list and excellent food. The ambiance is always amazing - fun, yet elegant. We had fantastic service as always. We love the addition of the more casual meal options, which will suit our 18 year old son when we return in March. Keep up the great work!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Merle

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on January 23, 2016

We have been coming to Larkspur for many years. We were sad that it has closed during a large part of the season...open only for parties etc. The food is excellent, ambience and atmosphere nice. My only complaint is that they redecorated and took away the white table cloths. It detracts from the elegance that should go with the price of a meal.

Our server was great, but the VERY young person who showed us our table tried to give us the worse table in the place, and there very few diners! That ALWAYS irritates us.

In the past, that never happened.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Larkspur was a perfect place for our anniversary.

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on January 17, 2016

We had a wonderful meal from start to finish. The dining room is

lovely. We had plenty of room in our corner booth and were treated

well from beginning to end of the meal.Their level of service is high

and attention to all the small details are never overlooked. The

manager keeps a keen eye on the patrons and never hesitates to assist

them (& the wait staff) to facilitate good service when the restaurant

becomes crowded, I love when managers do that. We have never been

disappointed at Larkspur and hope it continues to maintain its high

standards for service and good food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I decided to dine at lark ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on January 17, 2016

My husband and I decided to dine at larkspur for our date night dinner. Everything from the service to the ambiance to the food was phenomenal. We started with a couple of appetizers, the cured salmon being our favorite, but everything was delicious. We shared 3 entrees (yes we had lots left over to take home, we like to eat:) the veal scaloppini was absolutely to die for! We also enjoyed the strip loin with bone marrow and the lobster ravioli. All three wonderful, juicy, delicious entrees. We had the pleasure of meeting the chef, Paula, lovely lady and a magician in the kitchen. Bryan was our server that night who took great care of us. We also were greeted by the sommelier for our wine selection and manager who were all a delight. To say the least, we had a fantastic night. Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Not impressed by the food or service

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on January 17, 2016

Took them over 1 hour to serve the food. Some of the food was overcooked (probably a function of sitting under the heat lamp too long). I suspect part of the delay was due to the big party (40+ people) they were serving at the same time.

There are a lot better choices in Vail at similar prices.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

A must!

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on January 5, 2016

We recently enjoyed a wonderful meal at Larkspur. Food was wonderful: delicious, well presented but still not terribly overpriced. I can't remember the last time I ate in a restaurant with such vibrant, enthusiastic staff. Our service was warm and engaging. Atmosphere is relaxed and gorgeous. My favorite thing about Larkspur is the genuine, hospitable, friendly and welcoming service. Sometimes a great restaurant with such reputation can become "full of itself" and lose touch with what got them to the top in the first place. Larkspur seems to be able to keep its priorities in order: great food, welcoming staff and warm, inviting atmosphere. I cannot think of a restaurant in Vail that I enjoy more.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Super service

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on January 3, 2016

Fabulous service shone through the whole dining experience. The menu was superb and everything we chose in our group of seven was scrumptious. An amazing experience in every way.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

There are absolutely no minus marks abou ...

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on January 3, 2016

There are absolutely no minus marks about our visit. The food was excellent, the service was implacable. Our server was attentive and knew everything what's on the menu. We had to nurse a drink while waiting for our table, which was excellent, and we were early for our reservation. I seldom rate any experience as highly. If you get the chance to dine at Larkspur, DO IT

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

A dissapointing night!!!!

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on January 3, 2016

First of all, when we arrived at the restaurant, they had given our table to another group of people, so we had to wait for a while to get sat, even though we had made our reservation very much in advance. Second, when our server approached us to talk about the menu and daily specials, he specifically recommended the duck. 5 people at our table ordered it, and the server returned about 5 minutes later to tell us in a careless manner, that they had run out of duck for the evening. To add to this, the restaurant seemed to have a very big problem with keeping up with their wine inventory. We had to change our choice of wine at least three times, because they were out of all the bottles we picked. The restaurant also seemed to have a terrible communication between the back and front of house staff: along with the duck issue mentioned before, we ordered two entrées in half portions, and received full ones. I usually love the idea of open kitchens, but in this occasion, the kitchen staff seemed to be fooling around, and I even saw one eating food off of his work area. Lastly, when I tried to pay the bill, they rejected two of my credit cards which have never been rejected before. I wanted to take care of the bill because we were dining with friends, and was unable to do so because of this issue. I can't deny that the food was okay for the price, but the bad service ended our meal with a sour note.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Casual, fun, yet great experience . High ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on January 2, 2016

Casual, fun, yet great experience . High end good in a relaxed setting .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, shame about the service!

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on January 2, 2016

We have been coming to Vail for the last 12 years and Larkspur has always been a 'must visit' for dinner.

As always, the food was excellent, as were the cocktails and delicious wine.

Unfortunately, the service was disappointing for the following reasons:

1. 10 minutes before our server acknowledged us.

2. The table was only part laid - missing cutlery and napkins.

3. When we asked for napkins, we were given paper ones rather than the linen ones we could see on all the other tables.

4. Our server apologised, when challenged, and replaced with linen ones and commented "it's been. Long day". Not my problem!

5. Our starter was taken to the wrong table.

6. Our wine arrived after our starter.

7. We were only given forks for a desert which included ice cream!

Overall, the food absolutely saved the day, as it was lovely.

The server made no attempt throughout the evening to engage with us, which we found most unusual in Vail.

We will go back again and hope we get a different server.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

A very nice lunch experience during a da ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on December 30, 2015

A very nice lunch experience during a day of skiing in Vail. The only miscue was a forgotten glass of wine order at the beginning of the meal, but it was quickly resolved after a reminder.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Underrated

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on December 27, 2015

Our overall experience with Larkspur was excellent. The presentation of the food was incredible. The roasted cauliflower side was amazing, as were the Caesar salads. 2 members of our party got the beef tacos which were amazing. I got the butternut squash soup which was very nice & light, not too thick like many others. The presentation was again, wonderful. My brother got the lobster ravioli which he said was the best meal that he had in Vail. For dessert I had the flourless chocolate cake which was perfectly moist and the apple dessert was also very amazing. It was similar to a crepe filled with apples topped with caramel ice cream which was delicious. Service was great, everything was very fast moving, our three course meal took about 75 minutes. Also, the only issue was the volume. A party of 12 with 8 children was seated very close to us & they were quite rowdy. My other complaint would be that the manager kept opening up the back door which was close to where we were seated and it would create quite the draft into the room.

I would have to say this was easily the best meal in Vail, we very much so enjoyed the experience at Larkspur. I would definitely recommend it for everyone.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Christmas Dinner Ruined. Our service wa ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on December 26, 2015

Christmas Dinner Ruined.

Our service was poor: We sat for 15 minutes without anyone attending to us. Our drink order was wrong and when it arrived they were watery and subpar.

Food: The sirloin as an entree was way too salty.

Not worth the money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

Beano's Cabin is such a great experience ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on December 25, 2015

Beano's Cabin is such a great experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Delicious dinner

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on December 20, 2015

Excellent experience, unhurried service that makes you aware of the good value of good service. Classic restaurant with dishes that make you feel like each dish was made especially for you. They create food that looks like art work, and taste amazing!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our favs for lunch!

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on December 18, 2015

Love love love. Amazing burger and fries. Superb gluten free grilled cheese and tomato soup. Great flourless chocolate cake!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent service and food with scenic view

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on December 4, 2015

I was so excited to hear that Larkspur was open again for the winter season. I had to go the first day they opened. The menu is never a disappointment. We had the signature lobster club and grilled cheese with tomato soup. We also tried the new croque madame pizza which was beyond amazing. The server was very attentive. The best part is that we could ski down, eat lunch, and go back for another round of skiing. I look forward to seeing the dinner menu and dining on weekend night with my partner in crime.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.