About Larks Medford

200 N. Riverside Avenue
Medford, OR 97501
View Larger Map

Larks Restaurant, originally opened in May 2005 at the historic Ashland Springs Hotel. Larks Medford is our second location that opened inside Inn at the Commons in December 2013.
Larks celebrates Oregon: its farms, orchards, creameries and wineries offering dishes that excite and surprise with freshness and flavors.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Northwest

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: M-F 11:30am-2:00pm
Dinner: Su-Thu 5:00pm-8:00pm
Dinner: Fri-Sat 5:00pm-9:00pm
Brunch: Sa-Su 11:00am-2:00pm

Cross Street:
East 5th Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(541) 774-4760

Website:
http://www.larksrestaurant.com/

Catering:
If you enjoy food at Larks why not ask us to cater your next event? We offer full service catering and drop off for breakfast, lunch, dinner and hors d’oeuvres

Parking Details:
Complimentary parking on site.

Executive Chef:
Damon Jones

Private Party Facilities:
Over 9000 square feet of flexible banquet spaces at Inn at the Commons can accommodate catered events for up to 800 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Gina: 5416312006x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Larks Medford, Medford, OR
Larks Medford, Medford, OR

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Larks Medford Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Ashland / Medford
Best Food
Ashland / Medford
Best Service
Ashland / Medford
2 More
Best Ambiance
Ashland / Medford
Best Value
Ashland / Medford
Best Restaurants in Medford ›

Special Occasion (7)
Good for a Date (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
See All
Quiet Conversation (7)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Business Meals (5)
Modern Decor (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Healthy (3)
Seasonal (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Casual (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Authentic (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Organic (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Romantic (1)
Vegan (1)
Cozy (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Tapas (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Fireplace (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Live Music (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Sort By:
S
147 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent food at a fair price, wait st ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Excellent food at a fair price, wait staff are superb.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Using the Open Table reservation twice n ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Using the Open Table reservation twice now I walked in assured of a table. Staff very friendly, food and service more than outstanding.

Will be back !

Tags: Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Modern Decor, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was staggered, with several ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The service was staggered, with several persons ultimately working our table. I don't like it that one person takes your order, then when the food is delivered you are asked who has this, who has that; especially at this price point.

The decor was clean and modern, except for the the brass and plastic light fixtures hanging from the ceiling. We were told the owners specifically kept these from the original building during renovation. I'd rethink that idea now that the renovation is complete. They just don't look right.

The food was good, we ate everything on the plate. Meatloaf for me and fried chicken for my partner. A bit pricey, though, with a bill coming in right at $50 for those two items, no appetizers or drinks.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

I had the chicken fried steak which wasn ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 23, 2016

I had the chicken fried steak which wasn't what I was expecting. Usually this is a cubed meat that is coated. In this case it was a regular steak that had been cooked (I think) then battered and fried. It was just ok, wouldn't order it again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food and service was excellent and m ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 17, 2016

The food and service was excellent and my date and I enjoyed ourselves. Thank you and keep up the good work.

Tags: Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

We always enjoy eating here and are neve ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 17, 2016

We always enjoy eating here and are never disappointed.

Tags: Modern Decor, Fireplace, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

It was just what our threesome wanted fo ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 25, 2016

It was just what our threesome wanted for the first time of being out together, still getting to know each other and my friends were more toward the "foodies" type. They recommended the special when I told them I like seafood, so ordered the Chipino (sp?). It was better than ever tasted in previous memories. It rated an outstanding and Fit for Foodies. They seemed to be pleased with their choices and also with wines ordered. Ambience, service, noise level, and all,

just right for the evening. It seemed a little long in waiting for the food for me, but never mentioned from anyone and didn't want to fill up on something other than the meal and sips of wine. I was hungry, but then, I ate and enjoyed every spoon or forkful of the food and needed no "doggy box or bag"!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Lark restaurant had some of the best foo ...

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Lark restaurant had some of the best food I've ever eaten, and I've eaten in Paris, London, Provence, etc. We both had the petrale sole, with a wonderful sauce, and a polenta base. The wine list was exceptional with Oregon wines by the glass and by the bottle. If I lived in Medford, I would eat there every week.

Tags: Seasonal, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Dinner was quite pleasant on a quiet Fri ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Dinner was quite pleasant on a quiet Friday evening. The service was good and the kitchen was very accommodating to switch out my polenta for collard greens to satisfy this paleo person. The steelhead salmon was nicely prepared, and the slightly spicy slaw was tasty. My husband's tuna came in two odd shaped (pyramidal) chunks, seared on the outside and very rare in the centers. There was a lot on our plates so we skipped dessert and went for a lovely walk on the commons instead.

Tags: Business Meals, Paleo Friendly, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

My waiter who was the bartender was amaz ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 8, 2016

My waiter who was the bartender was amazing ! Made amazing food even more amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The wild mushroom soup was excellent! Se ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 6, 2016

The wild mushroom soup was excellent! Service was also very good, my water glass was never empty. I have only been there for business lunches, will come for dinner soon.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a very nice dinner at Larks. We w ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 2, 2016

We had a very nice dinner at Larks. We were seated promptly and water brought to the table right away. We told our server we needed a few minutes to decide on wine and what we wanted to eat. He told us the specials and left us to decide. At some point some table bread was brought. A bonus that the butter was soft and easily spreadable on the warm bread. A mark of a great restaurant, IMO. Food and wine went well together. It was our 37th anniversary and dessert was on the house, so that was a very nice gesture. We will go back again, especially for a special occasion.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Lark's is in a challenging situation. t ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 22, 2016

Lark's is in a challenging situation. there is zero view, nothing to look at, but nothing you can do about it. so you'd think you would make up for it in value or quality. you failed on both accounts. i paid $28 for some frozen fish, on a bed of non-impressive spinach and who-knows-what. the waiter was good, informative, and professional.

but food quality and value were non-existent. why should i have to pay almost $30 a plate for un-inspiring food. i'll not return.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

We usually LOVE Larks. In fact, we sat d ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 7, 2016

We usually LOVE Larks. In fact, we sat down discussing how we've never had a bad experience. Bummer timing. My husband's food was under-seasoned and lackluster. Mine was soaking in truffle oil and unpalatable. The dipping sauce for the calamari was all jalapeño and no nuance. Not sure if it was a new chef, but the food lacked balance and left us both disappointed. We paid for 5 star food and regretted every penny that night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Good food, pretty good service- but the ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Good food, pretty good service- but the view of I5 and the motel 6 next left something to be desired-

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Service was slow considering that there ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 2, 2016

Service was slow considering that there were a number of staff just standing around doing nothing. Portions were large. I liked the food better than my husband did.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Larks is my go to place for dinner and w ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 27, 2016

Larks is my go to place for dinner and will probably become so for lunch!

I've never been disappointed with my food or service.

My lunch guest had not been to Larks before and she was equally as pleased.

Thank you for your consistency.

Ruth

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was quite good. Loved the charcuter ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 24, 2016

Food was quite good. Loved the charcuterie board. Ginger, our waitress was the best ! Very attentive and had great travel suggestions for surrounding area since we were on vacation. Wonderful personality. Would definitely recommend this place and to request Ginger as a waitress. Very nice meal and evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Waiter seemed inexperienced but was nice ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 22, 2016

Waiter seemed inexperienced but was nice and did a fair job. Some of the patrons were ill mannered, taking phone calls at table and returning cajun shrimp because it was too spicy! Food in general was a little under spiced for our taste.

We would go to their location in Ashland most likely next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

We travel from the Sacramento area to Po ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 19, 2016

We travel from the Sacramento area to Portland, Oregon to visit our daughter. We have made Larks our half way stop. We love the 50's-70's vibe. The food and service have always been top notch.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our repeated visits speaks of the qualit ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 12, 2016

Our repeated visits speaks of the quality and value received.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Wonderful food, great atmosphere, and se ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 3, 2016

Wonderful food, great atmosphere, and service with a smile and pleasant disposition.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The salmon salad was so creative and bea ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 1, 2016

The salmon salad was so creative and beautiful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

The occasion was to get my husband out - ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 26, 2016

The occasion was to get my husband out - in other w therapy and activity. He is feeble and has difficulty therefore one suggestion I have is to move the handicapped parking spots closer to the door to the dining room.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was excellent, the service was ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 13, 2016

The food was excellent, the service was impeccable, Tyson I believe was our server and he was just superb. There were 4 of us in our party and we will dine at Larks again. Excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

As always, we enjoyed ourselves and the ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 12, 2016

As always, we enjoyed ourselves and the meals at our last visit to Larks Medford. There is a certain natural sophistication at Larks that some other restaurants don't have. Very nice atmosphere and the waitstaff is knowledgeable about the meal preparation and kitchen.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Beautiful place with very good food and ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 4, 2016

Beautiful place with very good food and impeccable service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great creative cocktails, expertly prepa ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 30, 2016

Great creative cocktails, expertly prepared. Food equally delicious. Don't be put off that it is a restaurant in a hotel. The food stands on its own.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was our second time at Lark's and h ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 24, 2016

This was our second time at Lark's and hope to be back again. Excellent food and great service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

LARK'S DOES NOT DISAPPOINT! GREAT FO ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 17, 2016

LARK'S DOES NOT DISAPPOINT! GREAT FOOD! GREAT SERVICE! JUST LIKE THE ASHLAND RESTAURANT BUT IN MEDFORD!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a nice surprise

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 8, 2016

Traveling through Medford and unfamiliar with the restaurants, we relied on Open Table to steer us in the right direction and were not disappointed. The service was excellent from check in through dinner and our server, Tyson, made some great wine and entrée recommendations. Totally enjoyed the crab cocktail, and the pork cheek pasta and the pastrami entrées were amazing! We will definitely be back when we return to Medford.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great Food

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on May 4, 2016

Consistently serving good food. My dining friend loved her Caesar salad (we both told the wait person they serve just the right amount of dressing.) I had the lamb patty melt with caramelized onions. So good! Atmosphere perfect for "ladies who lunch" and want to talk. If a booth is available they do not hesitate in seating you there. Very cordial staff and pretty atmosphere. One of the bright spots in Medford dining, for sure!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

First but not last time we will eat here.

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 3, 2016

We all had a very good dinner. We brought our own wine and paid the corkage fee. No problems and they still used very nice wine glasses.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food and service

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 1, 2016

We dined here while visiting from out of town. I was uncertain when I saw the location of the restaurant and even inside the decor felt a bit of a hodge-podge mixing many decades of style. These qualms were completely quieted by the food. From appetizer to dessert, every course was outstanding. We had the pork cheeks and papparadelle which was such a homey, comforting dish that I can't recommend it highly enough. The portion was huge and we ended up with enough left to enjoy another meal. The service was good without being overly solicitous and we felt the staff went out of their way to make the guest comfortable. Overall, this one gets a big thumbs up.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

jimmy

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 30, 2016

CAME FOR BRUNCH EVERTHING WAS GREAT WILL BE BACK LOVE THIS PLACE

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Homestyle Cooking at its best

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on April 2, 2016

Excellent food at a fair price-Larks is a great place to have a delicious meal. I only wish the brisket would come back on the menu!

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Dinner at Larks

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 2, 2016

I always enjoy eating at both Lark's. This Lark's at Inn At the Commons is great for lunch or before theater at Craterian. We always have a good meal. This time was no exception.

However I must say that I was very disappointed in changes to the menu. Lark's has fabulous brisket, and I have been looking forward all day to having that brisket for dinner. It was no longer on the menu.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Superb food and service with a retro-modern vibe

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 25, 2016

Enjoyed a special dinner with another couple. We arrived early for our reservation but were promptly seated. The quality of the food was excellent; well prepared and artfully plated. The service was expert; knowledgable and professional but friendly. The high-backed booth offered great privacy and a comfortable, cozy retro-feeling enclave to visit with our guests without having to shout. We would definitely visit again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice Dining Experience

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 21, 2016

I love Lark's in Medford, but the food wasn't as good as usual when I was last there. The rib eye steak I ordered had a large line of gristle running through the middle of it. The sauce for it was delicious but quickly became overwhelming and much too rich. The potatoes with the dinner had an abundance of blue cheese, which normally I would like, so perhaps my taste was off that night.

When I had steak there before around the holidays, it was to die for and perfect, so I am comparing perfection to mediocrity.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

A Lark had a Lark at Larks!

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 20, 2016

What a delightful find in Medford! Superb food. Had a romantic evening with my newly betrothed. Staff was professional and warm. Please visit this restaurant. You won't be disappointed!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.