About Lark Creek Walnut Creek

1360 Locust Street
Walnut Creek, CA 94596
View Larger Map

Lark Creek Walnut Creek is located in historic downtown Walnut Creek. The atmosphere is light and airy, with American country charm, sidewalk seating, an exhibition kitchen, and the new Oakville Room seating up to 36 guests for private functions. The changing menu includes seasonal Contemporary American fare featuring traditional and updated recipes. Housemade desserts; local and regional wines.



Lark Creek Walnut Creek features American wines, including offerings on tap, by the glass and in half-bottles, with local and regional producers featured. Full bar; fresh fruit and fountain beverages.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Monday - Saturday 11:30am - 2:30pm; Sunday Brunch: 10:00am - 2:30pm; Dinner Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm; Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm;

Cross Street:
Mount Diablo Blvd.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(925) 256-1234

Website:
http://www.larkcreek.com/walnut_creek/index.html

Parking Details:
Parking is available on the street and in the convenient public parking structure above the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Ron Rhiver

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Lark Creek Walnut Creek, Walnut Creek, CA
Lark Creek Walnut Creek, Walnut Creek, CA
Lark Creek Walnut Creek, Walnut Creek, CA
Lark Creek Walnut Creek, Walnut Creek, CA
Halibut - Lark Creek Walnut Creek, Walnut Creek, CA
Pina Colada Cheesecake - Lark Creek Walnut Creek, Walnut Creek, CA
Cheesecake - Lark Creek Walnut Creek, Walnut Creek, CA
New York Steak - Lark Creek Walnut Creek, Walnut Creek, CA
Caesar Salad - Lark Creek Walnut Creek, Walnut Creek, CA
Filet Mignon - Lark Creek Walnut Creek, Walnut Creek, CA
Rocky Jr. Half Chicken - Lark Creek Walnut Creek, Walnut Creek, CA
Ceasar Salad - Lark Creek Walnut Creek, Walnut Creek, CA
Chocolate Semifreddo - Lark Creek Walnut Creek, Walnut Creek, CA
Vegetable Lasagne - Lark Creek Walnut Creek, Walnut Creek, CA
Steelhead - Lark Creek Walnut Creek, Walnut Creek, CA
Butternut Squash Soup - Lark Creek Walnut Creek, Walnut Creek, CA
Darcie Kent 2010 Cabernet Sauvignon - Lark Creek Walnut Creek, Walnut Creek, CA
Eggs Benedict - Lark Creek Walnut Creek, Walnut Creek, CA
Cheese Burger - Lark Creek Walnut Creek, Walnut Creek, CA
Huevos rancheros - Lark Creek Walnut Creek, Walnut Creek, CA
Fried Chicken Salad - Lark Creek Walnut Creek, Walnut Creek, CA
Hash Browns - Lark Creek Walnut Creek, Walnut Creek, CA
Blueberry Muffin - Lark Creek Walnut Creek, Walnut Creek, CA
Three Egg Omelette - Lark Creek Walnut Creek, Walnut Creek, CA
Lark Creek Fizz - Lark Creek Walnut Creek, Walnut Creek, CA
Strawberry Bellini - Lark Creek Walnut Creek, Walnut Creek, CA
Meyer Lemon Cheesecake - Lark Creek Walnut Creek, Walnut Creek, CA
NY Steak - Lark Creek Walnut Creek, Walnut Creek, CA
Complementary Caramels - Lark Creek Walnut Creek, Walnut Creek, CA
Paella - Lark Creek Walnut Creek, Walnut Creek, CA
Moscow Mule - Lark Creek Walnut Creek, Walnut Creek, CA
Semifreddo - Lark Creek Walnut Creek, Walnut Creek, CA
Grilled Salmon With Tomato And Mozzarella - Lark Creek Walnut Creek, Walnut Creek, CA
Rathburn - Lark Creek Walnut Creek, Walnut Creek, CA
polenta fries - Lark Creek Walnut Creek, Walnut Creek, CA
N.Y. Steak - Lark Creek Walnut Creek, Walnut Creek, CA
Sockeye Salmon Cake - Lark Creek Walnut Creek, Walnut Creek, CA
Baby Lettuce Salad - Lark Creek Walnut Creek, Walnut Creek, CA
Nectarine & Blueberry Crisp - Lark Creek Walnut Creek, Walnut Creek, CA
Steelhead River Trout - Lark Creek Walnut Creek, Walnut Creek, CA
Prime Rib With Creamed Spinach And Twice Baked Potato - Lark Creek Walnut Creek, Walnut Creek, CA
Strawberry And Rhubarb Crisp - Lark Creek Walnut Creek, Walnut Creek, CA
Turkey dinner - Lark Creek Walnut Creek, Walnut Creek, CA
Tuna Melt - Lark Creek Walnut Creek, Walnut Creek, CA
Antioxidant Intoxicant - Best Happy Hour Cocktail - Lark Creek Walnut Creek, Walnut Creek, CA

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

We have our Private Dining Room, The Oakville Room, that can accommodate up to 36 people seated and 50 people for reception. We also offer semi-private parties, accommodating up to 25 guests in the main dining portion of the restaurant.

Lark Creek Walnut Creek Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (43)
Great for Lunch (40)
Comfort Food (34)
See All
Good for a Date (34)
Good for Birthdays (33)
Business Meals (31)
Neighborhood Gem (30)
Pre/post Theatre (30)
Fit for Foodies (29)
Good for Anniversaries (26)
Romantic (21)
Good for Groups (19)
Casual (18)
Seasonal (16)
Great for Outdoor Dining (16)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Notable Wine List (15)
Local Ingredients (14)
Bar Seating (12)
Cozy (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Open Kitchen (11)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Worth the Drive (10)
Healthy (9)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Fun (8)
Wood Oven (7)
Authentic (7)
People Watching (6)
Organic (5)
Family Style (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Private Room (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Historic (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Spicy (1)
Fireplace (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
3024 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food is good but the prices are too ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 2 days ago

The food is good but the prices are too high. I had a burger and fries for $20 at lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

Nice restaurant, food as good as I had r ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

Nice restaurant, food as good as I had remembered. Our waitress showed no interest

in us when we didn't order wine. She didn't even come back to check that our

meal was OK. Chatted up the table next to us who did order wine.

Food good; service poor.

Tags: Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

I was disappointed in the restaurant due ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

I was disappointed in the restaurant due to the food. Service was very good. The New York steak was surprisingly thin, which always makes it difficult for the cooks to cook to a medium rare. It was also tough, perhaps due to the fact that it was almost medium well. The side dishes were okay. Also the paella wasn't that good as the shrimp tasted as if it were boiled and the whole piece of fried chicken was unusual for paella.

Overall, the restaurant was average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Our wait person was incredibly attebtive ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

Our wait person was incredibly attebtive & even brought 3 different birthday desserts as there were 3 bday girls!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never disappoints. Always great food an ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Never disappoints. Always great food and service. Pot roast one of our favorites.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We usually have a great meal. We were t ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

We usually have a great meal. We were there on New Years Eve and was great. We Celebrated my husband's B-Day and he was looking forward to the prime rib. It was thin, dry and lacked the usual flavor. I told the waiter about his b-day and no special candle on our dessert or mention or wish. Sad!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value2

Welcoming host and hostess, always a plu ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Welcoming host and hostess, always a plus these days. Very attentive server. Manager checked on table. Very good food, brought out in timely fashion. Reasonably varied food and wine menus, white tablecloths, pleasant ambience. I thought Lark Creek had taken a step back but this visit indicated otherwise. Worthy of an upscale restaurant experience in Walnut Creek.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I invited five friends to join me for di ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

I invited five friends to join me for dinner to celebrate my birthday. I wanted to limit the selections and the restaurant created a custom minute that was at each place setting so my guests could order from it. The food was very good and my friends all told me they had a great dining experience. Very accommodating and service-oriented reataurant.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Disabled Access, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent food, excellent service. I'll ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent food, excellent service. I'll be back soon. Love it!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service, excellent selection, wond ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Great service, excellent selection, wonderful food. I have eaten brunch, lunch and dinner here and have never been disappointed. One of my favorites.

Tags: Business Meals, Kid-friendly, Local Ingredients, Wood Oven, Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My friend from Seattle was in the Bay Ar ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 12, 2017

My friend from Seattle was in the Bay Area on business. We had a fabulous meal. Our waiter, Daniel, was helpful, attentive and extremely funny. We had a great time!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Open Kitchen, Afternoon Coffee, , Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Was my wife's birthday and a booth was a ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Was my wife's birthday and a booth was available as requested. Unfortunately service was very slow and not what we have experienced many times before. We chalked it up to a "one off" but we will not be going back for a while.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Lark Creek Inn was wonderful. Food, serv ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Lark Creek Inn was wonderful. Food, service, general ambiance was great. We each had hamburgers and they were excellent; lots of add-ons and perfectly cooked. Our server was attentive without being cloying. All in all, excellent.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My only complaint was that the salad was ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 9, 2017

My only complaint was that the salad was swimming in dressing and the crab was a bit salty. Won't stop me from going again. The food and ambience are great!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We had not been to Lark Creek in a while ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We had not been to Lark Creek in a while and were looking forward to trying again. Service was ok. Several items were missed from our order. Found out after dinner they now charge $25 corkage. They need to up their game to compete in Walnut Creek. Many good restaurants to choose from. Lark Creek was a disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Prime rib was not all that good. I've h ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Prime rib was not all that good. I've had much better. There were 3 of us who ordered it. All rated it average to so-so. I've eaten here many times. Most always enjoyed my meal. This time not so much. Noise level too much for anyone with a TBI, like me. Even after requesting a quiet area to sit.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

We three friends try a new spot each yea ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 6, 2017

We three friends try a new spot each year to celebrate each birthday, treating the birthday gal. Lark Creek celebrated our special occasion with complimentary dessert for the birthday person!

Food and service were great.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good first time experience- met expectat ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Good first time experience- met expectations

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

A great Walnut Creek staple with dependa ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

A great Walnut Creek staple with dependable food. Came here on New Years Eve, was sat in the little "tent" room. Was a little bummed as you miss out on the ambiance and music inside the restaurant. I'm going to say the chef may have been tired for the late night reservation, I know I've had better food there before. I won't pan my dinner based on this experience alone as I have eaten here many times before. Definitely a must try!

Tags: Romantic, , Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

Delicious food, excellent service. Good ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Delicious food, excellent service. Good desserts. One of our favorite places.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service as ever, even on ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great food and service as ever, even on New Year's eve!!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Lark Creek has been our choice for New Y ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Lark Creek has been our choice for New Year's Eve dinner the past few years. They always have nice decorations and friendly and professional staff. We had a great table and outstanding service by Maya. I appreciated their making a grilled vegetable plate for me. They have some of our favorite wines. The butternut squash soup, salad with apples & walnuts, pot roast, apple crisp and caramel pudding were all delicious.

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was our New Years Dinner party of 6 ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

It was our New Years Dinner party of 6 - we have been doing this for years. What made this night special was our server Amy. She was superlative - attentive - helpful and of good cheer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

It took a long time for us to get our fo ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

It took a long time for us to get our food. The creamed spinach was cold and the prime rib was rare when we had ordered medium rare. They did acknowledge the slow service and took off the charge for the glass of wine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

We went for New Year's Eve. Our reserva ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We went for New Year's Eve. Our reservation was for 5:30 and the restaurant was mostly empty when we arrived, but we were put out in this weird outdoor patio area that was very unpleasant. When we arrived, we were the only ones out there and it was so eerily quiet that you felt like you had to whisper because everything you said echoed very loudly. Later, after other guests arrived, it was so loud that we couldn't talk at all because we could not hear each other. There was a radiant space heater that was cranked up to about 85 degrees so we had to shed as many clothes possible to survive without sweating. Food was fine, but nothing special. Server was pleasant, but seemed inexperienced.

Might be okay for just an average weekday evening, but we would not return for a special occasion. Who want to get all dressed up for a night out and then sit on patio chairs?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value3

Always good. Consistent favorites with ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Always good. Consistent favorites with seasonal specials

Tags: Authentic, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The service from our waiter was seriousl ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The service from our waiter was seriously lacking. He was inattentive, slow, and constantly distracted and visiting with others while serving us. The bar service was not only very, very slow, but gin and tonics arrived with little ice and no limes and the whiskey on the rocks arrived with a cherry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

We are regulars. Keep coming back becaus ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We are regulars. Keep coming back because the food and service is top notch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great food and great service. First time ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Great food and great service. First time back in a couple of years, but definitely back on the top of our list in Walnut Creek to eat now.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Overall this visit was a disappointment ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Overall this visit was a disappointment... The food was just okay but should have been much better for the prices we paid. The wait staff were quite good, just the presentation and quality of the food was not that great.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Best burger in NorCal.

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Best burger in NorCal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Lark creek was closed and shuttered the ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Lark creek was closed and shuttered the night of our reservation. No call and phone was out of service. We have loved this restaurant in the past but it gets a failing grade for terrible customer service. Even a note on the door would have helped!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

We were unable to actually dine at the r ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 29, 2016

We were unable to actually dine at the restaurant. I made the reservation via OT, and I received an email confirmation.

But when we arrived, we discovered that the restaurant was closed to the public for the entire evening due to a private event.

So why was the reservation confirmed by OT? Do they simply send a "push notification" to the business client without waiting for an actual confirmation from the restaurant?

Or did Lark Creek confirm the reservation without first checking their calendar?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Deeply disappointed. Booked this table ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Deeply disappointed. Booked this table on this date and was confirmed ON OPENTABLE. When I called the restaurant the morning of that day to make minor changes, I left a message and no one called to confirm. Worried, I called a number of times only to be told an automated message that 'mailbox was full" and "try again later". No one bothered to give me a courtesy call to at least let me know that the whole restaurant was booked for a private party until we got there and I had booked it for a fairly large group! We were left high and dry but fortunately I was able to find another restaurant to accommodate us that night which was a feat in itself since it was a few days after Christmas and most restaurants were full. This WAS one of my favorite restaurants but no longer. Courtesy and thoughtfulness goes a long way even for well established restaurants. Will not be dining here any longer.

Tags: Good for a Date, Seasonal, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

They unexpectedly closed for lunch when ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 28, 2016

They unexpectedly closed for lunch when I had reservations and no one contacted me. It was very unprofessional and most upsetting. I will never go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Wood Oven Baked Paella was nicely done. ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Wood Oven Baked Paella was nicely done. Baked rice on top had a nice crunchy texture and a smokey flavor from the wood oven. Grilled Swordfish was nicely seared. Bacon wrapped Meatloaf was tasty comfort food. Starters included crispy calamari, mussels in a wine sauce, and caesar salads with anchovies. Service was attentive and unobtrusive. An enjoyable meal with family during the holidays.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Been there several times. This time it w ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Been there several times. This time it was my birthday dinner. Every bite was a winner. I really like the fact that some of the entrees can be ordered in a smaller size. That leaves extra room for their delicious desserts. Butterscotch pudding is a big winner!!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Perfect dinner on Christmas Eve with fam ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Perfect dinner on Christmas Eve with family.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Consistently good. Always a pleasure!

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Consistently good. Always a pleasure!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Lark Creek was up to snuff, as almost al ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Lark Creek was up to snuff, as almost always. It is why I call them my "old reliable." Out-of-town long-time friends and I was not disappointed. Excell

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.