About Lark Creek Walnut Creek

1360 Locust Street
Walnut Creek, CA 94596
View Larger Map

Lark Creek Walnut Creek is located in historic downtown Walnut Creek. The atmosphere is light and airy, with American country charm, sidewalk seating, an exhibition kitchen, and the new Oakville Room seating up to 36 guests for private functions. The changing menu, created by Chef Ron Rhiver includes seasonal Contemporary American fare featuring traditional and updated recipes. Housemade desserts; local and regional wines.



Lark Creek Walnut Creek features American wines, including offerings on tap, by the glass and in half-bottles, with local and regional producers featured. Full bar; fresh fruit and fountain beverages.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Monday - Saturday 11:30am - 2:30pm; Sunday Brunch: 10:00am - 2:30pm; Dinner Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm; Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm;

Cross Street:
Mount Diablo Blvd.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(925) 256-1234

Website:
http://www.larkcreek.com/walnut_creek/index.html

Parking Details:
Parking is available on the street and in the convenient public parking structure above the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Ron Rhiver

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

We have our Private Dining Room, The Oakville Room, that can accommodate up to 36 people seated and 50 people for reception. We also offer semi-private parties, accommodating up to 25 guests in the main dining portion of the restaurant.

Lark Creek Walnut Creek Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Contemporary American
East Bay
Best Restaurants in Walnut Creek ›

great for lunch (117)
special occasion (115)
fit for foodies (111)
See All
neighborhood gem (96)
good for groups (79)
great for outdoor dining (66)
great for brunch (53)
notable wine list (46)
romantic (46)
kid-friendly (23)
hot spot (18)
vibrant bar scene (10)
scenic view (4)
late-night find (4)
Sort By:
Newest
2642 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

I ordered the chefs healthy chicken sand ...

Dined 4 days ago

I ordered the chefs healthy chicken sandwich and a cup of corn soup. The soup was wonderful. The chicken sandwich was very dry. I did see other dishes served to other and their meals looked very appealing.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent experience and wonderful servi ...

Dined 6 days ago

Excellent experience and wonderful service. The food was delicious!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love Lark Creek. Our go to restaurant. ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

I love Lark Creek. Our go to restaurant. Always a great meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My "old reliable" place to meet with fri ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

My "old reliable" place to meet with friends visiting from out-of-town for catch-up conversation. The latest chef is doing a great job updating old favorites and putting in some new items. Keep it up. You are doing great!

Tags: great for lunch
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

LC Inn

Dined on May 21, 2016

Lark Creek in Walnut Creek is very predictable... good food, fair prices, and stable menu..nothing too exotic but good solid choices and prepared as you desire. Good day in and day out restaurant

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Delightful meal!

vip
Dined on May 18, 2016

Found Lark Creek through Open Table. It was a delightful restaurant with delicious, well-prepared food. The menu offered a variety of options, all of which looked to be balanced combinations of flavors and textures. I would certainly enjoy another meal at Lark Creek.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Has become a favorite spot. Never dissap ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Has become a favorite spot. Never dissappointing. Great comfort food. Menu changes to add in season vegetables, etc.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

A great place to duck into for a quiet d ...

vip
Dined on May 16, 2016

A great place to duck into for a quiet dinner after the business of shopping and traversing the downtown Walnut greek art fair. The half chicken was as good as always, and the side dish of chard was simple but pleasantly not overcooked. We decided to try the pork chop with adobo sauce, which sounded good on the menu, and were pleasantly surprised to find it was very juicy and tender, the best rendition of pork chops this place has had -- in the past they were drier and sort of boring! Service was OK, friendly but slow.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food2
ambience3
service3

Our entrees were a bit cold

Dined on May 14, 2016

Our entrees were a bit cold

food5
ambience4
service5

Really enjoyed our dinner, both the file ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Really enjoyed our dinner, both the filet mignon and the gumbo with seafood was superb. Service is always excellent, one of our "go to" spots in Walnut Creek for great food.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Friday the 13th lunch!

Dined on May 13, 2016

I met a bay area friend. I live in Woodland, so this was a convenient location. I have eaten there before. The food is always good. The location is great.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

This is a consistently outstanding resta ...

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

This is a consistently outstanding restaurant! We have never been disappointed with food or service. It can be a bit noisy.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were celebrating Mothers Day and had ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

We were celebrating Mothers Day and had a fantastic server, great meal, a most enjoyable evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

Waiter

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

I have dined at Lark Creek several times and enjoyed the food and service. This time the food was good, but the service was not. Jeff, the waiter, was very aggressive and practically ordered drinks and appetizers for us before we had a chance to sit down. He pressured us more than once to order a bottle of wine before several members of our party were seated. I had to tell him more than once to wait until we knew what everyone preferred. He made obnoxious remarks about the older ladies at the table behind us.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch
food5
ambience3
service4

The food is better than ever!

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

The food is better than ever!

food2
ambience2
service4
value3

WAY Too Noisy & Menu Not Thrilling

Dined on May 5, 2016

I do not like going to Lark Creek because it is WAY TOO NOISY and hearing others is a major problem. Forget it if you are hard of hearing or with someone who is! Can't hear across the table! Not pleasant atmosphere. The menu needs some revisions in my opinion. Where is the chicken in the chix wrap? Too gooey with sour cream or mayo. Back to basics, I'd say. And hang some rugs or something!!!! Can't hear even at a small table!

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Very reliable dinners

vip
Dined on May 4, 2016

Rainbow trout was very tasty! Brussel sprouts needed a bit more flavor. Unobtrusive service.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday treat

Dined on May 1, 2016

Food and service were excellent, but have your alcohol drinks before you go to the restaurant. Booze is expensive at this restaurant

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Happy Birthday Celebration

Dined on May 1, 2016

Went to this lovely restaurant for my wife's birthday celebration. Every meal was prepared beautifully and each was quite delicious - even the ice cream sundae at the end!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Consistently good food

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

I took my friend to Lark Creek for dinner for her birthday before we went to the Lesher. We like this restaurant but felt it didn't quite live up to it's reputation and prices this time. We ordered chardonnay from the tap. Our waiter gave us a taste ahead of time and we were satisfied. When we got our half carafe it wasn't very cold, not as cold as chardonnay should have been. The waiter asked if we wanted some ice and we said yes. Best would have been to put the carafe on ice but instead we got ice to add to our wine. Oh well, no biggee. We were close to the bar and an employee made quite a bit of noise by dropping plates and glasses into a bin under the bar. We were close to asking to be moved but put up with it. Our food was well prepared and tasty.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

92nd birthday celebration

Dined on April 30, 2016

I brought my grandmother to celebrate her 92nd birthday and the entire night was amazing!! From the personalized menus to the phenomenal service and food- the entire night was so much fun!! We will definitely be back!!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Lacking a good menu

Dined on April 29, 2016

I believe that this restaurant needs a new chef......there is a lack of imagination, taste, value and amount of quality food. No wonder that during the chief hours when people go out to eat the restaurant was relatively empty. My friends and I will not be going back.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great spot for lunch or dinner.

vip
Dined on April 28, 2016

Always a great meal here and good service and very consistant

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Slow Birthday Lunch

vip
Dined on April 28, 2016

Service was very very slow. Soup course got to the table before the wine did. Moved inside because no server was appearing on the horizon. Got seated in a very noisy back room. Had told them it was a special occasion celebrating two birthdays, but got no recognition. Disappointing lunch.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Nice place, we'll be back

Dined on April 28, 2016

We were celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary and were looking for a nice place that we have not been to before. I made reservations but they were not needed and we were seated immediately. My wife liked the wine selection and the menu had plenty of choices too. Our meals were fantastic and the service was on point. Amy was our server and she was top notch, she noticed that we exchanged cards and asked if we were celebrating something, we told her that it was our anniversary and she brought us a beautifully decorated desert. All around nice experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Lark Creek is my "Old Reliable" Walnut C ...

Dined on April 26, 2016

Lark Creek is my "Old Reliable" Walnut Creek restaurant. I can depend on them!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

I did love this place i come for my anni ...

Dined on April 25, 2016

I did love this place i come for my anniversary twice . But this is the second time i had dinner here and both our plates came out cold. Meal was dry not hot or warm at all .

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always great food and service

Dined on April 24, 2016

Server was most accommodating and patient with 5 particular women. Everyone had a wonderful time, even a 93-year old POW survivor. This was her first visit (new resident) and already is planning a future visit soon.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Never Disappoints

Dined on April 24, 2016

Over the years, we have enjoyed numerous dinners, brunches etc. Always delicious, well prepared and nicely plated. Have never had anything but a happy feeling post dining at Lark Creek. It's our favorite upscale local spot for a great meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

A Special Birthday

Dined on April 23, 2016

It was a delight to be able to get a large table for a group of friends to celebrate my birthday, and to thank everyone for help over the years. We all enjoyed being able to order from a diverse menu that met varied tastes. The staff was attentive and diligent without interrupting us or our conversations. Our food was delicious and everyone enjoyed their dinners. And it was delightful to receive a special dessert presentation for the occasion. I strongly recommend Lark Creek for a group!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service3

Hamburger was delicious. Scallops were o ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

Hamburger was delicious. Scallops were okay. Veggies with scallops came diced. Should have been served prepared differently. Overall, good evening.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Delicious Food in Upscale Atmosphere

Dined on April 23, 2016

The cuisine here is consistently good, fresh and served in generous portions. The atmosphere is upscale, lively, casual elegance. It's a great place for date night or dining with friends. The martinis are excellent. Very attentive service too. It's one of our favorite places in Walnut Creek.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

70th Birthday Lunch

Dined on April 22, 2016

My 3 friends and I met to celebrate our 70th birthday

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Restaurant Week - Food

vip
Dined on April 22, 2016

This was one of 3 restaurants we went to during Restaurant Week. The food was much better than expected and the service was outstanding. This place will be on our list for repeats.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Neighborhood Gem - great for business

Dined on April 20, 2016

This is a great restaurant for business meetings. The menu is good & fresh. The food well prepared and service is excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great combination of service and food

Dined on April 19, 2016

Jose always does a great job of taking care of my table. The food is always creative. There is parking in the garage right over the restaurant. This is a perfect combo for a business lunch where the parties are coming from different locations.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and service.

Dined on April 18, 2016

Great food and service.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous Sunday brunch!

Dined on April 17, 2016

We enjoy coming to lark Creek with our Sunday paper and having a leisurely brunch. The brioche French toast is to die for!

Tags: great for brunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

First time here for Lunch

Dined on April 16, 2016

My husband and I really enjoyed the lunch here. We had some nice Rose and split a flat-bread and a salad. Great atmosphere and good service.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic service and perfect for date n ...

Dined on April 11, 2016

Fantastic service and perfect for date night. My girlfriend and I went here for our anniversary and we both really enjoyed everything. The service was wonderful and food was fantastic. They even offered us free samples while we were waiting for our entree and check. A little pricey but worth every penny! Would go back 10/10.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.