About Lark Creek Walnut Creek

1360 Locust Street
Walnut Creek, CA 94596
View Larger Map

Lark Creek Walnut Creek is located in historic downtown Walnut Creek. The atmosphere is light and airy, with American country charm, sidewalk seating, an exhibition kitchen, and the new Oakville Room seating up to 36 guests for private functions. The changing menu includes seasonal Contemporary American fare featuring traditional and updated recipes. Housemade desserts; local and regional wines.



Lark Creek Walnut Creek features American wines, including offerings on tap, by the glass and in half-bottles, with local and regional producers featured. Full bar; fresh fruit and fountain beverages.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Monday - Saturday 11:30am - 2:30pm; Sunday Brunch: 10:00am - 2:30pm; Dinner Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm; Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm;

Cross Street:
Mount Diablo Blvd.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(925) 256-1234

Website:
http://www.larkcreek.com/walnut_creek/index.html

Parking Details:
Parking is available on the street and in the convenient public parking structure above the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Ron Rhiver

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Lark Creek Walnut Creek
Halibut
Cheesecake
New York Steak
Vegetable Lasagne
Ceasar Salad
Chocolate Semifreddo
Steelhead
Butternut Squash Soup
Darcie Kent 2010 Cabernet Sauvignon
Eggs Benedict
Cheese Burger
Huevos rancheros
Fried Chicken Salad
Hash Browns
Blueberry Muffin
Three Egg Omelette
Lark Creek Fizz
Strawberry Bellini
Meyer Lemon Cheesecake
NY Steak
Complementary Caramels
Paella
Moscow Mule
Semifreddo
Grilled Salmon With Tomato And Mozzarella
Rathburn
polenta fries
N.Y. Steak
Sockeye Salmon Cake
Baby Lettuce Salad
Nectarine & Blueberry Crisp
Steelhead River Trout
Prime Rib With Creamed Spinach And Twice Baked Potato
Strawberry And Rhubarb Crisp
Turkey dinner
Tuna Melt
Antioxidant Intoxicant - Best Happy Hour Cocktail

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

We have our Private Dining Room, The Oakville Room, that can accommodate up to 36 people seated and 50 people for reception. We also offer semi-private parties, accommodating up to 25 guests in the main dining portion of the restaurant.

Lark Creek Walnut Creek Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (71)
Neighborhood Gem (64)
Great for Lunch (62)
See All
Fit for Foodies (56)
Great for Outdoor Dining (46)
Good for Groups (39)
Great for Brunch (33)
Romantic (28)
Notable Wine List (27)
Kid-friendly (16)
Good for a Date (12)
Casual (11)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Hot Spot (7)
Authentic (6)
Business Meals (6)
Scenic View (6)
Modern Decor (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Healthy (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Wood Oven (3)
People Watching (3)
Fun (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Private Room (2)
Seasonal (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Happy Hour (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Cozy (1)
Family Style (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2736 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The service was great and the scallops w ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 6 days ago

The service was great and the scallops were delicious. Went on a Monday night so not too crowded. Is a great place for a group to get together.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It was our first time dining at this res ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

It was our first time dining at this restaurant and we had a wonderful experience. The food was tasty & staff was friendly.

Tags: Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Always enjoyable. The staff are great!!

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Always enjoyable. The staff are great!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have always loved Lark Creek, not cert ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

I have always loved Lark Creek, not certain what has happened there. Food below par, service with "attitude" was not up to their usual high standard. Disappointing given it was a celebration.

Hopefully, someone listens.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

Lark Creek is a great place for lunch. ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Lark Creek is a great place for lunch. The servers/hostesses are friendly and helpful. The food is always well above average, especially the meat loaf. Great place

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Always a go too favorite of mine because ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Always a go too favorite of mine because of the solid menu and the outstanding friendly service. I always feel well treated here!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice, uncomplicated dinner. Well priced ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Nice, uncomplicated dinner. Well priced, excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We made a reservation through Open Table ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

We made a reservation through Open Table, indicating we were celebrating our anniversary and asked for a quiet table as my 93 year old mom was coming with us and she wears a hearing aid. No mention of our anniversary at all the whole night, and where were seated was initially quiet, then they turned up the music and the place got super-noisy. WTF? Why do you need piped in music in a fairly expensive restaurant? Things started promisingly. Warm fresh bread and butter. But my wife ordered an Aperol spritzer, and I ordered the "Savannah Rose" a signature cocktails. Both arrived in generic wine glass with ice. Lame presentation. Mine was fair, but way too sweet. Could have used a little more gin, or less syrup, or a shot of fizzy water. Apps:Corn soup-delicious, but thought it would be cold, not hot. Gazpacho. Don't bother. Blah presentation. Bay shrimp-meh. No texture, no creaminess, no seasoning. I could get some cherry tomatoes at Safeway, throw them in my Vitamix Entrees: all had NY steak. Cooked perfectly. UJnder-seasoned. Also, my gratin potatoes werecold and underdone. Took awhile for anyone to check on us. Sent potatoes back. By the time it came back (and still barely lukewarm on the bottom) I was 3/4 of the way through my steak. :-( Ordered coffee and dessert. Coffee arrived, desserts didn't show up for over 20 min. Waiter finally came by and saw we didn't have desserts. With tip, 2 glasses of wine, Aperol spritzer & cocktail, $300 for 3 people. If I'm spending that $, I expect better service, better presentation, better timing. At least put your signature cocktail in a tall rocks glass, or a martini glass. We won't be back. Our server was nice enough, but not on the ball. If I want to spend that, I'll stay in San Francisco. Or I'll go to Flemings in Walnut Creek, where you pay a lot but you get a lot for the money, and they know how to wait on you, make you feel special, and cook a great steak.

We won't be back to Lark Creek in Walnut Creek.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

We are used to excellent service at lark ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

We are used to excellent service at lark creek, this time it was not even average. Our server did mention he's new, and we understand that. I think the management did a poor job with training this time or maybe they were short staffed.

We will definitely go back and try again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1

We look forward to dining at Lark Creek ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

We look forward to dining at Lark Creek every few months. Maybe the kitchen crew has changed. Food, chicken and pork chop are usually good. This time the chicken was dry while the chop was cold. Disappointing. It is usually a good experience this one was not.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

Was just OK. Used to be one of our favo ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

Was just OK. Used to be one of our favorite places...but now is just ordinary. Service was slow and generic. Nothing special any more.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Lark creek is a hot spot for brunch on S ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Lark creek is a hot spot for brunch on Sunday's. We had an opentable reservation and got seated right away. However it took an hour from the time we sat down to getting our food served. Luckily we were not in a hurry. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Good hearty food on limited menu but ver ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Good hearty food on limited menu but very good quality and enjoyable.

We will add this to our list of places to eat and that's a recommendation as we have a limited list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Great food. Menu came with welcome and " ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Great food. Menu came with welcome and "Happy Anniversary" printed on top for out 27th wedding anniversary I put in the opentable notes. Service was professional but a bit slow, however we were in no rush. Sat us on time of our reservation and made the night exactly what we wanted. Easy going, good food, window table to see downtown activity. The butterscotch pudding is AMAZING! Always a good experience. I positively recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Great service & tasty food. We had a res ...

 
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Great service & tasty food. We had a reservation and were seated quickly.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good restaurant, although the mozzarella ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Good restaurant, although the mozzarella cheese was not as described. However, the manager took care of it without any hesitation , and for that reason, I will continue to return and recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

I normally like this restaurant but this ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

I normally like this restaurant but this is the second time in a row I have been disappointed. The special for Wednesday were pork ribs but there were hardly any meat on them and globs of fat. I have had many a pork rib and of course they have some fat, but not like this with barely any meat. The rest of the meal was good but it seems that the new management may be cutting corners at the expense of quality. My prior visit was also a problem as the meatloaf that I had ordered for years was way to bready with not enough meat.

Tags: People Watching, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Lark Creek is always consistent. Good f ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Lark Creek is always consistent. Good food, cocktails and service. A favorite of mine. Very comfortable atmosphere.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Disabled Access, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Predictable and always excellent Xxxxxxx ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Predictable and always excellent

Xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxc

Tags: Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Private Room, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Wood Oven, Great for Lunch, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The host and wait staff and manager were ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

The host and wait staff and manager were very accommodating, welcoming and friendly. Everyone (party of 10) enjoyed their meal.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Felt a little disappointed at check-in a ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Felt a little disappointed at check-in as the hostess carried on a conversation for about 2 minutes before greeting us.

Server was attentive and did a great job.

Scallops were tasty, though the presentation was a bit basic for Lark Creek's standard.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Nice ambiance but food was not worth the ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Nice ambiance but food was not worth the prices. Steak was over cooked and service felt rushed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

don't sit next to where the open kitchen ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

don't sit next to where the open kitchen - too noisy.

nice atmosphere - very busy on Saturday night.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

It was our 35th wedding anniversary. I l ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

It was our 35th wedding anniversary. I let them know on open table, the hostess had a great window table for us and said Happy Annv. The staff was top notch, they wrote Happy Annv on our dessert which impressed my wife! Overall, they did an excellent job.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Usually the food and atmosphere is very ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Usually the food and atmosphere is very good, however this time the food was good, but the service was just OK. Our first server was good, but then she left and the person that replaced her was not good at all. She never checked on us at all- we even had to flag her down to get the bill. The table next to us also was wondering where she was and we laughed about how silly it was that we couldn't find her! (we were the ONLY 2 tables in the section) Also, we were not served warm bread OR the signature fudge with the bill. I know that these things may seem small, but they are so good and the reason we go there! I honestly forgot about the bread until our food had already arrived, otherwise I would have asked for it. Overall, not great. Had I not been a returning customer, I probably wouldn't come back. You can do better!

Tags: Romantic, Kid-friendly, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Food was delicious.wine and was wine awe ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Food was delicious.wine and was wine awesome.Aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa+++++++++++++++++++

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service and delicious food!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Great service and delicious food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was fantastic. Service a bit slow ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Food was fantastic. Service a bit slow to take away dinner plates and present desert options. Our first time here and will definitely come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

The food continues to taste good, but th ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The food continues to taste good, but the prices have risen way too high. We can't go there for a casual mid week meal anymore. PLUS they took off the menu my favorite prix fix 3 course meal!!!!! WHY? Management says no reason.

Gotta get it back or I'll look elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Lark Creek has been has been a favorite ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Lark Creek has been has been a favorite of our for many years. The wait staff is great! It is a known fact, that a good waitress can make or break a meal! I choose the Prime Rib, the Saturday night special, I would not order it again. Since the last great meal we have eaten at Lark Creek, you need to retrain, or get a different cook!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

I enjoyed my lunch with my two friends f ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

I enjoyed my lunch with my two friends from high school. We enjoyed the food and the company. I would recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Normally, I really like this restaurant, ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Normally, I really like this restaurant, but my meal was very disappointing this time. I have ordered their meatloaf for years and it was one of the best. However, this last time it was mostly "filler" and not much meat. I understand that there is new management and maybe they are cutting costs and skimping on quality. I hope this is not the case and that it was just a recipe malfunction but with all the competition in Walnut Creek, they cannot afford to skimp on quality.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

All 4 diners were pleased with their d ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

All 4 diners were pleased with their dinners from starters to dessert. Service was excellent and ambiance was upscale.. Never disappointed every time I come to this restaurant over the last several years.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our server was great, friendly & efficie ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Our server was great, friendly & efficient! A pleasure! All three guests cleaned their plates! Can't wait to go back again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Waitress was very friendly , helpful and ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Waitress was very friendly , helpful and attentive. Made special drink for my guest for her birthday ( peach Belini). Food was excellent and arrived in a timely manner.

Perfect lunch

Tags: Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been coming to Lark Creek for ma ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

We have been coming to Lark Creek for many years. As a family, we come here every Christmas Eve. This year we came here for our 36th Anniversary and we weren't disappointed. Great food, great service, and the butterscotch pudding is to die for! We would like to see more vegetarian and fish options however.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The scallop entree was quite good. The h ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

The scallop entree was quite good. The half chicken entree was possibly the worst chicken I have ever had in a restaurant. Whoever sent this dish out of the kitchen should not be in a kitchen. The dark meat was fine, the breast portion was beyond inedible. Almost the entire breast portion was left on the plate and no one asked why or whether we enjoyed our meal. It really was that bad. I should have said something but I did not have the energy to do so.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3

Good food, excellent service, as usual

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Good food, excellent service, as usual

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Excellent as always! I know that I can ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Excellent as always! I know that I can always count upon Lark Creek. The heirloom gazpacho was as good as ever. My very favorite!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent. Server was friendly ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Food was excellent. Server was friendly but rather inattentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.