About Lark Creek Walnut Creek

1360 Locust Street
Walnut Creek, CA 94596
View Larger Map

Lark Creek Walnut Creek is located in historic downtown Walnut Creek. The atmosphere is light and airy, with American country charm, sidewalk seating, an exhibition kitchen, and the new Oakville Room seating up to 36 guests for private functions. The changing menu includes seasonal Contemporary American fare featuring traditional and updated recipes. Housemade desserts; local and regional wines.



Lark Creek Walnut Creek features American wines, including offerings on tap, by the glass and in half-bottles, with local and regional producers featured. Full bar; fresh fruit and fountain beverages.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Monday - Saturday 11:30am - 2:30pm; Sunday Brunch: 10:00am - 2:30pm; Dinner Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm; Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm;

Cross Street:
Mount Diablo Blvd.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(925) 256-1234

Website:
http://www.larkcreek.com/walnut_creek/index.html

Parking Details:
Parking is available on the street and in the convenient public parking structure above the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Ron Rhiver

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Lark Creek Walnut Creek
Halibut
Cheesecake
New York Steak
Vegetable Lasagne
Ceasar Salad
Chocolate Semifreddo
Steelhead
Butternut Squash Soup
Darcie Kent 2010 Cabernet Sauvignon
Grilled Salmon With Tomato And Mozzarella
Eggs Benedict
Cheese Burger
Huevos rancheros
Fried Chicken Salad
Hash Browns
Blueberry Muffin
Three Egg Omelette
Lark Creek Fizz
Strawberry Bellini
Meyer Lemon Cheesecake
NY Steak
Complementary Caramels
Paella
Moscow Mule
Semifreddo
Rathburn
polenta fries
N.Y. Steak
Sockeye Salmon Cake
Baby Lettuce Salad
Nectarine & Blueberry Crisp
Steelhead River Trout
Prime Rib With Creamed Spinach And Twice Baked Potato
Strawberry And Rhubarb Crisp
Turkey dinner
Tuna Melt
Antioxidant Intoxicant - Best Happy Hour Cocktail

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

We have our Private Dining Room, The Oakville Room, that can accommodate up to 36 people seated and 50 people for reception. We also offer semi-private parties, accommodating up to 25 guests in the main dining portion of the restaurant.

Lark Creek Walnut Creek Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Contemporary American
East Bay
Best Restaurants in Walnut Creek ›

Special Occasion (81)
Great for Lunch (77)
Fit for Foodies (66)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (63)
Great for Outdoor Dining (57)
Good for Groups (49)
Great for Brunch (36)
Notable Wine List (31)
Romantic (27)
Kid-friendly (18)
Hot Spot (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Scenic View (5)
Late-night Find (3)
Local Ingredients (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Authentic (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Casual (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2726 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Was just OK. Used to be one of our favo ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 3 days ago

Was just OK. Used to be one of our favorite places...but now is just ordinary. Service was slow and generic. Nothing special any more.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Lark creek is a hot spot for brunch on S ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 3 days ago

Lark creek is a hot spot for brunch on Sunday's. We had an opentable reservation and got seated right away. However it took an hour from the time we sat down to getting our food served. Luckily we were not in a hurry. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Good hearty food on limited menu but ver ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 4 days ago

Good hearty food on limited menu but very good quality and enjoyable.

We will add this to our list of places to eat and that's a recommendation as we have a limited list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Great food. Menu came with welcome and " ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 5 days ago

Great food. Menu came with welcome and "Happy Anniversary" printed on top for out 27th wedding anniversary I put in the opentable notes. Service was professional but a bit slow, however we were in no rush. Sat us on time of our reservation and made the night exactly what we wanted. Easy going, good food, window table to see downtown activity. The butterscotch pudding is AMAZING! Always a good experience. I positively recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Great service & tasty food. We had a res ...

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Great service & tasty food. We had a reservation and were seated quickly.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good restaurant, although the mozzarella ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 6 days ago

Good restaurant, although the mozzarella cheese was not as described. However, the manager took care of it without any hesitation , and for that reason, I will continue to return and recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

I normally like this restaurant but this ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 7 days ago

I normally like this restaurant but this is the second time in a row I have been disappointed. The special for Wednesday were pork ribs but there were hardly any meat on them and globs of fat. I have had many a pork rib and of course they have some fat, but not like this with barely any meat. The rest of the meal was good but it seems that the new management may be cutting corners at the expense of quality. My prior visit was also a problem as the meatloaf that I had ordered for years was way to bready with not enough meat.

Tags: People Watching, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Lark Creek is always consistent. Good f ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Lark Creek is always consistent. Good food, cocktails and service. A favorite of mine. Very comfortable atmosphere.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Disabled Access, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Predictable and always excellent Xxxxxxx ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Predictable and always excellent

Xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxc

Tags: Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Private Room, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Wood Oven, Great for Lunch, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The host and wait staff and manager were ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

The host and wait staff and manager were very accommodating, welcoming and friendly. Everyone (party of 10) enjoyed their meal.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Felt a little disappointed at check-in a ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Felt a little disappointed at check-in as the hostess carried on a conversation for about 2 minutes before greeting us.

Server was attentive and did a great job.

Scallops were tasty, though the presentation was a bit basic for Lark Creek's standard.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Nice ambiance but food was not worth the ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Nice ambiance but food was not worth the prices. Steak was over cooked and service felt rushed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

don't sit next to where the open kitchen ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

don't sit next to where the open kitchen - too noisy.

nice atmosphere - very busy on Saturday night.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

It was our 35th wedding anniversary. I l ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

It was our 35th wedding anniversary. I let them know on open table, the hostess had a great window table for us and said Happy Annv. The staff was top notch, they wrote Happy Annv on our dessert which impressed my wife! Overall, they did an excellent job.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Usually the food and atmosphere is very ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Usually the food and atmosphere is very good, however this time the food was good, but the service was just OK. Our first server was good, but then she left and the person that replaced her was not good at all. She never checked on us at all- we even had to flag her down to get the bill. The table next to us also was wondering where she was and we laughed about how silly it was that we couldn't find her! (we were the ONLY 2 tables in the section) Also, we were not served warm bread OR the signature fudge with the bill. I know that these things may seem small, but they are so good and the reason we go there! I honestly forgot about the bread until our food had already arrived, otherwise I would have asked for it. Overall, not great. Had I not been a returning customer, I probably wouldn't come back. You can do better!

Tags: Romantic, Kid-friendly, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Food was delicious.wine and was wine awe ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Food was delicious.wine and was wine awesome.Aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa+++++++++++++++++++

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service and delicious food!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Great service and delicious food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was fantastic. Service a bit slow ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Food was fantastic. Service a bit slow to take away dinner plates and present desert options. Our first time here and will definitely come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

The food continues to taste good, but th ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The food continues to taste good, but the prices have risen way too high. We can't go there for a casual mid week meal anymore. PLUS they took off the menu my favorite prix fix 3 course meal!!!!! WHY? Management says no reason.

Gotta get it back or I'll look elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Lark Creek has been has been a favorite ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Lark Creek has been has been a favorite of our for many years. The wait staff is great! It is a known fact, that a good waitress can make or break a meal! I choose the Prime Rib, the Saturday night special, I would not order it again. Since the last great meal we have eaten at Lark Creek, you need to retrain, or get a different cook!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

I enjoyed my lunch with my two friends f ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

I enjoyed my lunch with my two friends from high school. We enjoyed the food and the company. I would recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Normally, I really like this restaurant, ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Normally, I really like this restaurant, but my meal was very disappointing this time. I have ordered their meatloaf for years and it was one of the best. However, this last time it was mostly "filler" and not much meat. I understand that there is new management and maybe they are cutting costs and skimping on quality. I hope this is not the case and that it was just a recipe malfunction but with all the competition in Walnut Creek, they cannot afford to skimp on quality.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

All 4 diners were pleased with their d ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

All 4 diners were pleased with their dinners from starters to dessert. Service was excellent and ambiance was upscale.. Never disappointed every time I come to this restaurant over the last several years.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our server was great, friendly & efficie ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Our server was great, friendly & efficient! A pleasure! All three guests cleaned their plates! Can't wait to go back again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Waitress was very friendly , helpful and ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Waitress was very friendly , helpful and attentive. Made special drink for my guest for her birthday ( peach Belini). Food was excellent and arrived in a timely manner.

Perfect lunch

Tags: Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been coming to Lark Creek for ma ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

We have been coming to Lark Creek for many years. As a family, we come here every Christmas Eve. This year we came here for our 36th Anniversary and we weren't disappointed. Great food, great service, and the butterscotch pudding is to die for! We would like to see more vegetarian and fish options however.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The scallop entree was quite good. The h ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

The scallop entree was quite good. The half chicken entree was possibly the worst chicken I have ever had in a restaurant. Whoever sent this dish out of the kitchen should not be in a kitchen. The dark meat was fine, the breast portion was beyond inedible. Almost the entire breast portion was left on the plate and no one asked why or whether we enjoyed our meal. It really was that bad. I should have said something but I did not have the energy to do so.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3

Good food, excellent service, as usual

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Good food, excellent service, as usual

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Excellent as always! I know that I can ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Excellent as always! I know that I can always count upon Lark Creek. The heirloom gazpacho was as good as ever. My very favorite!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent. Server was friendly ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Food was excellent. Server was friendly but rather inattentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

wonderful dining spot with friends or fo ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

wonderful dining spot with friends or for date night. a great place to people watch while enjoying a cocktail or a glass/two of wine. parking is plentiful in the building above the restaurant.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Have been to this restaurant many times. ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Have been to this restaurant many times. Always excellent. This time, however, we ordered a side of sautéed Brussels sprouts (always delicious), but they came to the table quite raw. Mentioned to server as he cleared table. A gentleman came to the table, apologized profusely and removed our entrees from the bill. This was totally unexpected.

Of course we will return, and would have regardless.

It's nice to know that a restaurant cares about its diners. Many of them don't.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

A very nice evening with well done food

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

A very nice evening with well done food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Salads are not large so don't plan to sh ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Salads are not large so don't plan to share one as a lunch entre. My kale salad was okay tasting but not the best I've ever had...very light on the cheese.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Our server was so sweet and personable. ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Our server was so sweet and personable. I didn't get his name, but want to commend the excellent service from the whole staff.

Our food was delicious and I will definitely be returning soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Excellent meal served well. My wife thor ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Excellent meal served well. My wife thoroughly enjoyed the scallops with pork belly and my pork chop was wonderful.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great place! Great Manager (JOSH)Go ther ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Great place! Great Manager (JOSH)Go there often! One of our Favorite Places to eat!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Didn't like that they didn't tell us we ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Didn't like that they didn't tell us we couldn't use the passport along with the 50% off on wine.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Another delightful early afternoon Sunda ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Another delightful early afternoon Sunday brunch. The food is consistently top-notch, excellent service and a delightful environment. We like the quieter, less crowded surroundings that one gets with a 1:30 reservation.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great as always. Love the July 1/2 off b ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Great as always. Love the July 1/2 off bottles of wine and the fact that it's my wife's birthday is a plus.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.