About Lark Creek Walnut Creek

1360 Locust Street
Walnut Creek, CA 94596
View Larger Map

Lark Creek Walnut Creek is located in historic downtown Walnut Creek. The atmosphere is light and airy, with American country charm, sidewalk seating, an exhibition kitchen, and the new Oakville Room seating up to 36 guests for private functions. The changing menu, created by Chef Ron Rhiver includes seasonal Contemporary American fare featuring traditional and updated recipes. Housemade desserts; local and regional wines.



Lark Creek Walnut Creek features American wines, including offerings on tap, by the glass and in half-bottles, with local and regional producers featured. Full bar; fresh fruit and fountain beverages.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Monday - Saturday 11:30am - 2:30pm; Sunday Brunch: 10:00am - 2:30pm; Dinner Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm; Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm;

Cross Street:
Mount Diablo Blvd.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(925) 256-1234

Website:
http://www.larkcreek.com/walnut_creek/index.html

Parking Details:
Parking is available on the street and in the convenient public parking structure above the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Ron Rhiver

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Lark Creek Walnut Creek
Cheesecake
New York Steak
Vegetable Lasagne
Steelhead
Butternut Squash Soup
Darcie Kent 2010 Cabernet Sauvignon
Grilled Salmon With Tomato And Mozzarella
Eggs Benedict
Cheese Burger
Huevos rancheros
Fried Chicken Salad
Blueberry Muffin
Three Egg Omelette
Hash Browns
Lark Creek Fizz
Strawberry Bellini
Meyer Lemon Cheesecake
Complementary Caramels
NY Steak
Paella
Moscow Mule
Semifreddo
Rathburn
N.Y. Steak
Sockeye Salmon Cake
polenta fries
Baby Lettuce Salad
Nectarine & Blueberry Crisp
Halibut
Prime Rib With Creamed Spinach And Twice Baked Potato
Steelhead River Trout
Turkey dinner
Strawberry And Rhubarb Crisp
Tuna Melt
Antioxidant Intoxicant - Best Happy Hour Cocktail

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

We have our Private Dining Room, The Oakville Room, that can accommodate up to 36 people seated and 50 people for reception. We also offer semi-private parties, accommodating up to 25 guests in the main dining portion of the restaurant.

Lark Creek Walnut Creek Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Contemporary American
East Bay
Best Restaurants in Walnut Creek ›

great for lunch (112)
special occasion (107)
fit for foodies (97)
See All
neighborhood gem (81)
good for groups (71)
great for outdoor dining (58)
great for brunch (46)
notable wine list (38)
romantic (37)
kid-friendly (20)
hot spot (12)
vibrant bar scene (6)
late-night find (4)
scenic view (3)
Sort By:
Newest
2664 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We enjoyed our meal imensly! Great appet ...

Dined 7 days ago

We enjoyed our meal imensly! Great appetizers and we liked the mini deserts

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This is our go to restaurant for a speci ...

Dined 7 days ago

This is our go to restaurant for a special occasion. It is one of our favorites. I like that it has a choice of smaller plates.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Went there for Father's Day. Space was ...

Dined 7 days ago

Went there for Father's Day. Space was pretty tight for the waiter and servers to move around the restaurant. Though it was pretty crowded the service was good. Waiter and servers were attentive and the food was excellent. Will definitely be back,

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

The food was some of the best we have ha ...

Dined 7 days ago

The food was some of the best we have had at Lark Creek and we've been going there for years. Service was excellent, but being Father's Day, it was very busy. We will be back.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food3
ambience1
service1
value2

We know that Father's Day can be a very ...

vip
Dined 7 days ago

We know that Father's Day can be a very busy day but what a disappointment! The area we sat in was so incredibly noisy that we had a hard time hearing each other. It took about 45 minutes for our food to arrive. Our main wait person was not very attentive, we had to ask for refills for our coffee and water several times. Not sure we will return.

food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We had a good experience overall. The fo ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

We had a good experience overall. The food was good although pricey. The noise level was high. It was a good place for the kids as well.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had the Rainbow Trout. Wife had the s ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

I had the Rainbow Trout. Wife had the scallops. Everything was delicious. Service impeccable.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Did care for my chicken salad sandwich b ...

vip
Dined on June 12, 2016

Did care for my chicken salad sandwich but corn soup was excellent.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I always enjoy myself at Lark Creek. No ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

I always enjoy myself at Lark Creek. No pretensions just good food in a comfortable atmosphere with good service. I'll always come back.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Great service, good food, good wine. Wo ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Great service, good food, good wine. Would love to see more vegetarian options.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Good food, great service and Birthday well wishes.

Dined on June 7, 2016

We arrived just on time for an early Birthday reservation. Greeted nicely and seated quickly. Waiter was friendly and efficient. It's not our first time at Lark Creek but some of the menus items had changed. I had a very delicious and correctly prepared filet cooked rare. My wife had trout and was pleased with the meal. Overall, we like Lark Creek and we have for years. I would recommend the restaurant to anyone that asks.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service5

When our server came over, she was so ni ...

vip
Dined on June 6, 2016

When our server came over, she was so nice, and bubbly, just fun and professional. She then said something that completely shocked me. She remembered serving me like 2 years ago on my birthday and remembered where I sat and what I ordered and everything!!! I was completely lost for words, I have no idea how she even remembered all that but I was so impressed! That was just the start to probably one of the best dinning experiences ever! I didnt know what I wanted to drink so she asked me what type of spirit and I liked and that she was going to decide what I would have for my cocktail, and it was absolutely DELICIOUS! She made the best food recommendations, and was completely honest when answering any questions we had. My friend has celiac diesease, and she knew EVERYTHING that she could and couldn't eat, and she even taught my friend some stuff that is grown with strains of gluten like certain types of peppers! She was just absolutely wonderful!! She really brought lark creek back up to the top of my list of go to places!! I feel completely horrible though because I forgot her name!! :(

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Chicken three ways was good, but a bit d ...

vip
Dined on June 5, 2016

Chicken three ways was good, but a bit dry. The appetizers and other entree were all very good. Outdoor service was somewhat spotty.

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

very very good

Dined on June 5, 2016

We enjoyed my husband's birthday dinner here. Staff was very friendly and professional, but through a mixup we got seated in a dead zone where we waited a long time before they realized no waitperson was assigned to our table. Once they realized the mistake the service was fine. We had a very nice table and the food was very good.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Lovely lunch

Dined on June 4, 2016

Had lunch there yesterday. We got the table I had requested and were greeted nicely. Jeff, our server was great, in fact probably one of the best I have experienced. We chose the Chef's special lunch and were pleased. The salad had a nice vinaigrette, the turkey sandwich was delicious and the cut up varied fruit a nice addition. I have dined there before or had lunch and never have been disappointed, and I will come back. My friend agreed.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent!

Dined on June 3, 2016

Whenever my family comes to visit from out of town they always want to dine at Lark Creek. We have been here on three different occasions and each visit is better than the last. The hostesses are friendly and seat you promptly. The waiters and waitresses are very knowledge about the menu options and always make great recommendations. The wine menu is spectacular. Their chuck burger is my personal favorite and my father is a big fan of the paella. I love sweets so the desert menu is my favorite. The butterscotch pudding is to die for, the creme brûlée is delicious, and the cheesecake is truly something to rave about. Also, during brunch they have the best blueberry muffins. I love Lark Creek and I look forward to coming back!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

My husband and I went for our Anniversar ...

Dined on May 30, 2016

My husband and I went for our Anniversary. Food was great...highly recommend the paella! My husband had the filet mignon and he said it was good. Our waitress was very nice and attentive. This was our first time here and we will be back!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Disappointed

vip
Dined on May 28, 2016

Lark Creek needs to be updated. Menu needs to be refreshed. Nothing really new. Staff is stressed. Rushed and at times careless. table was not ready so bus person threw forks on table -rushed away. We ordered appetizers and he rushed over and put plates right on the menus that we were looking at! Bathrooms are in need of updates! Bartender is awesome!

food3
ambience3
service2

I wanted to try lark Creek out based on ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

I wanted to try lark Creek out based on an ad that I had seen with their butterscotch pudding desert on it. We arrived and were greeted by friendly staff. We were seated outside and our waitress came by and took out drink order. I had ordered my daughter a half water half lemonade, when the waitress brought it out it was in a small glass (my daughter is 3) which I thought ok well we will I guess have to work with this. Half way into her drinking it of course she spilled it. I asked for another drink for her and told her she had spilled the other one. At the end we were billed for two $3.50 lemonades, which I thought was silly. I ordered the fillet and it was ok, I ordered it to be cooked MED rare but what came out was well done, with little flavor. My husband had he paella, he thought it was ok. Again little flavor and the rice was dry. I finally made it to what I was long awaiting for the butterscotch pudding! It was ok but seriously nothing to get excited about. Last night I tried a butterscotch creme de pot and it was to die for. Bottom line I will not likely be returning to this establishment.

food4
ambience4
service4

Enjoyed our meal.

vip
Dined on May 28, 2016

Enjoyed our meal.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Terrific as always!

Dined on May 27, 2016

I am a regular, and this is the restaurant I call my "old reliable" because I know that I can count on a really good meal. Great chef keeps menu fresh and current without sacrificing favorites. Jose is an outstanding server whose tables I ask for every time. Main dining room can get too noisy to talk at peak lunch and dinner hours, so I opt for a table in the back room and let Jose give me the benefit of his perfect service.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

I ordered the chefs healthy chicken sand ...

Dined on May 24, 2016

I ordered the chefs healthy chicken sandwich and a cup of corn soup. The soup was wonderful. The chicken sandwich was very dry. I did see other dishes served to other and their meals looked very appealing.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent experience and wonderful servi ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

Excellent experience and wonderful service. The food was delicious!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love Lark Creek. Our go to restaurant. ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

I love Lark Creek. Our go to restaurant. Always a great meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My "old reliable" place to meet with fri ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

My "old reliable" place to meet with friends visiting from out-of-town for catch-up conversation. The latest chef is doing a great job updating old favorites and putting in some new items. Keep it up. You are doing great!

Tags: great for lunch
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

LC Inn

Dined on May 21, 2016

Lark Creek in Walnut Creek is very predictable... good food, fair prices, and stable menu..nothing too exotic but good solid choices and prepared as you desire. Good day in and day out restaurant

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Delightful meal!

vip
Dined on May 18, 2016

Found Lark Creek through Open Table. It was a delightful restaurant with delicious, well-prepared food. The menu offered a variety of options, all of which looked to be balanced combinations of flavors and textures. I would certainly enjoy another meal at Lark Creek.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Has become a favorite spot. Never dissap ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Has become a favorite spot. Never dissappointing. Great comfort food. Menu changes to add in season vegetables, etc.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

A great place to duck into for a quiet d ...

vip
Dined on May 16, 2016

A great place to duck into for a quiet dinner after the business of shopping and traversing the downtown Walnut greek art fair. The half chicken was as good as always, and the side dish of chard was simple but pleasantly not overcooked. We decided to try the pork chop with adobo sauce, which sounded good on the menu, and were pleasantly surprised to find it was very juicy and tender, the best rendition of pork chops this place has had -- in the past they were drier and sort of boring! Service was OK, friendly but slow.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food2
ambience3
service3

Our entrees were a bit cold

Dined on May 14, 2016

Our entrees were a bit cold

food5
ambience4
service5

Really enjoyed our dinner, both the file ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Really enjoyed our dinner, both the filet mignon and the gumbo with seafood was superb. Service is always excellent, one of our "go to" spots in Walnut Creek for great food.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Friday the 13th lunch!

Dined on May 13, 2016

I met a bay area friend. I live in Woodland, so this was a convenient location. I have eaten there before. The food is always good. The location is great.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

This is a consistently outstanding resta ...

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

This is a consistently outstanding restaurant! We have never been disappointed with food or service. It can be a bit noisy.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were celebrating Mothers Day and had ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

We were celebrating Mothers Day and had a fantastic server, great meal, a most enjoyable evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

Waiter

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

I have dined at Lark Creek several times and enjoyed the food and service. This time the food was good, but the service was not. Jeff, the waiter, was very aggressive and practically ordered drinks and appetizers for us before we had a chance to sit down. He pressured us more than once to order a bottle of wine before several members of our party were seated. I had to tell him more than once to wait until we knew what everyone preferred. He made obnoxious remarks about the older ladies at the table behind us.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch
food5
ambience3
service4

The food is better than ever!

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

The food is better than ever!

food2
ambience2
service4
value3

WAY Too Noisy & Menu Not Thrilling

Dined on May 5, 2016

I do not like going to Lark Creek because it is WAY TOO NOISY and hearing others is a major problem. Forget it if you are hard of hearing or with someone who is! Can't hear across the table! Not pleasant atmosphere. The menu needs some revisions in my opinion. Where is the chicken in the chix wrap? Too gooey with sour cream or mayo. Back to basics, I'd say. And hang some rugs or something!!!! Can't hear even at a small table!

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Very reliable dinners

vip
Dined on May 4, 2016

Rainbow trout was very tasty! Brussel sprouts needed a bit more flavor. Unobtrusive service.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday treat

Dined on May 1, 2016

Food and service were excellent, but have your alcohol drinks before you go to the restaurant. Booze is expensive at this restaurant

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Happy Birthday Celebration

Dined on May 1, 2016

Went to this lovely restaurant for my wife's birthday celebration. Every meal was prepared beautifully and each was quite delicious - even the ice cream sundae at the end!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.