About Lark Creek Walnut Creek

1360 Locust Street
Walnut Creek, CA 94596
View Larger Map

Lark Creek Walnut Creek is located in historic downtown Walnut Creek. The atmosphere is light and airy, with American country charm, sidewalk seating, an exhibition kitchen, and the new Oakville Room seating up to 36 guests for private functions. The changing menu, created by Chef Ron Rhiver includes seasonal Contemporary American fare featuring traditional and updated recipes. Housemade desserts; local and regional wines.



Lark Creek Walnut Creek features American wines, including offerings on tap, by the glass and in half-bottles, with local and regional producers featured. Full bar; fresh fruit and fountain beverages.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Monday - Saturday 11:30am - 2:30pm; Sunday Brunch: 10:00am - 2:30pm; Dinner Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm; Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm;

Cross Street:
Mount Diablo Blvd.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(925) 256-1234

Website:
http://www.larkcreek.com/walnut_creek/index.html

Parking Details:
Parking is available on the street and in the convenient public parking structure above the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Ron Rhiver

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Lark Creek Walnut Creek
Cheesecake
New York Steak
Vegetable Lasagne
Steelhead
Butternut Squash Soup
Darcie Kent 2010 Cabernet Sauvignon
Grilled Salmon With Tomato And Mozzarella
Eggs Benedict
Cheese Burger
Huevos rancheros
Fried Chicken Salad
Blueberry Muffin
Three Egg Omelette
Hash Browns
Lark Creek Fizz
Strawberry Bellini
Meyer Lemon Cheesecake
Complementary Caramels
NY Steak
Paella
Moscow Mule
Semifreddo
Rathburn
N.Y. Steak
Sockeye Salmon Cake
polenta fries
Baby Lettuce Salad
Nectarine & Blueberry Crisp
Halibut
Prime Rib With Creamed Spinach And Twice Baked Potato
Steelhead River Trout
Turkey dinner
Strawberry And Rhubarb Crisp
Tuna Melt
Antioxidant Intoxicant - Best Happy Hour Cocktail

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

We have our Private Dining Room, The Oakville Room, that can accommodate up to 36 people seated and 50 people for reception. We also offer semi-private parties, accommodating up to 25 guests in the main dining portion of the restaurant.

Lark Creek Walnut Creek Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

special occasion (104)
great for lunch (99)
fit for foodies (95)
See All
neighborhood gem (82)
great for outdoor dining (69)
good for groups (66)
great for brunch (43)
notable wine list (39)
romantic (35)
kid-friendly (20)
hot spot (12)
vibrant bar scene (6)
scenic view (4)
late-night find (3)
Sort By:
Newest
2686 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great as always. Love the July 1/2 off b ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 6 days ago

Great as always. Love the July 1/2 off bottles of wine and the fact that it's my wife's birthday is a plus.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The romaine salad with apples and blue c ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 6 days ago

The romaine salad with apples and blue cheese is an outstanding combination of tastes and textures. I loved the pressed chicken. The mussels are small but you get lots of them in a delish sauce.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Beautiful day to dine al fresco. Greete ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Beautiful day to dine al fresco. Greeted by sweet hostess and seated outdoors. Friendly & efficient waiter, Jose. SUPER wine sale! Food was great. Never felt rushed. Service was attentive but never hovering. A return visit has already been planned!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I've been wanting to eat here for some t ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

I've been wanting to eat here for some time only to find them almost always booked. I was thrilled to get a reservation on a warm Thursday evening, and we really had a nice meal. The smell of fish inside was overwhelming, but they were able to accommodate us outside, which was very pleasant. Everything we ate (flatbread, Fuji apple salad, and scallops) was excellent, in and old school way. Not fancy or pretentious.

The service, however, was another story. While our waitress was kind and friendly enough, it just took a very long time to get almost anything. Water went dry a couple times. Coffee was never refilled. By the time I got the check we had been there about 3 hours. It took so long to get our dessert that we almost forgot we had ordered it. I'm not sure if our experience is typical. Perhaps they were short-staffed. We'll probably give the restaurant another try as the food was really good and the al fresco setting was great. But it's going to have to be on a night when we're not in any hurry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

We had a group of 10 people for lunch at ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

We had a group of 10 people for lunch at noon. Although we liked our server, the overall service was slow. We were there 2-1/2 hours for a work lunch, which would have been fine if we didn't have to go back to work. The food was really good, and that's why I gave it a high rating.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

The food is not very good. We had lunch ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

The food is not very good. We had lunch and were disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

The kitchen was really having a problem ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

The kitchen was really having a problem getting the food out the night we were there. Our server, Jeff, was very apologetic about it, and bent over backwards to make things right. All in all, a good night, in spite of the delay.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I ordered the small sized fried chicken ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

I ordered the small sized fried chicken salad. The lettuce was not fresh. I rec'd 2 very small pieces of chicken that were perhaps 2 bites each. The batter on the chicken was bland and the pieces had been fried earlier in the day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Very good food. Always a favorite!

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Very good food. Always a favorite!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Always have a great meal and service. ke ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Always have a great meal and service.

keep up the good job !!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always perfect. Always reliable. Great a ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Always perfect. Always reliable. Great ambiance turns lunch into a relaxed celebration.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Only go to Lark Creek Inn in Walnut Cree ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Only go to Lark Creek Inn in Walnut Creek if you just need sustenance and nothing else is open. Menu is so uninspired, dated. Most entrees have the dated set up of meat and a form of potato. The daily Monday option of farmed trout with brussel sprouts would have been palatable if the brussel sprouts were cooked longer to take off the bitter taste. My companion got a ho-hum Cobb-ish salad--romaine, blue blue cheese, walnuts, and fuji apples (fujis are 80s, one dimensional flavor--probably used because they're cheaper than the more complex varieties).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

1/2 off wine for month of July is a kill ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

1/2 off wine for month of July is a killer deal, the meal was excellent as the service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

All 6 of us ordered different cocktails, ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

All 6 of us ordered different cocktails, meals and desserts and enjoyed them all. How often does that happen? Besides, it is 1/2 priced bottle month! Our friends were very impressed and we will come back again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Dined with 3 other people. All had the c ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Dined with 3 other people. All had the crawfish boil special. It was delicious. Service excellent. Restaurant was extremely busy. We all had a great time.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Not going again. I have given this thre ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Not going again. I have given this three shots and it was mediocre two of three times. Fries were large and meh. Burger this time and it was OK. At over $18, it should have been great and wasn't. Not likely to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

This is my "old reliable" where I take ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

This is my "old reliable" where I take out-of-town guests because I know I can always count on the food and the service. I asked for my usual table with Jose as my waiter. I guess he was either off that day or no longer there, because we four were served by a well-meaning, but undertrained waitress. Inattentive and slow on the up-take. (Granted, Jose, is a tough act to follow!) My guests who are very good friends, are Latino, and I felt we were definitely made to feel like second class citizens, even though they said nothing. Definitely not very cool in a progressive town like Walnut Creek. I was a mite disappointed, frankly. Maybe my "consistency quotient" is set at too high a level. I eat there often and am a regular. I expected better. Food, however, was up to par.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

It was our anniversary and the Waitress ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

It was our anniversary and the Waitress was on it. I am newly vegan, my husband is not. To start I had a refreshing cocktail, (so refreshing I forgot the name of it!), following by a glass of Seghesio Zin. My husband had two well-made dry gin martini's I had a delirious vegan corn soup. Also, I had a wonderful pasta with basil marinara, just wished there was a little more sauce. My husband had a salad with Gorgonzola and a filet, both delicious he said. For dessert he had butterscotch pudding and they even put "Happy Anniversary" In chocolate writing in the plate. Lastly, two important items of note, we had a gift certificate and there was no attitude. Secondly given my Vegan status I politely ask for moderation if needed and there was absolutely no attitude. The Waitress was well -tipped as a result. Highly recommended!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

We have been eating at Lark Creek for ma ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We have been eating at Lark Creek for many years and we have noticed a steady decline in the food preparation quality. This will be our last dining unless we hear about a dramatic improvement. The menu is very tired an the wine list is way over-priced, to the point of absurd. One of our appetizers was sent back and returned unchanged. One dinner was also sent back and not improved upon. Two of us ordered burgers medium-rare and they were, at best, medium well. Our server was very good and adjusted the bill, but that's not the point.

Great location, easy parking and nice atmosphere, but the food quality is really lacking, especially for the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

a little pricy... had the prime rib Sat ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

a little pricy... had the prime rib Sat night special. I was super excited it came with double baked potato until the potato arrived and it had blue cheese mixed in. I do not like funky cheese. blech. Everything else was descent.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

We were disappointed with our dinning ex ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We were disappointed with our dinning experience here. The waiter did not have eye contacts with us most of the time. He tossed the food on the table several times and the services was not what I expected for a restaurant like this. My husband ordered a Kale Salad that was not fresh. 20% of the salad leaves looked dark and old. For the main dish, I ordered the Lobster Jambalaya. It was way to salty. I could not eat it. We were very disappointed in their food quality and the services we received. We will not go there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Excellent waiter named Jim Mauer. He was ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Excellent waiter named Jim Mauer. He was funny and made us feel welcomed. The food portion on the Halibut was undersized for the price. The outside warmers should have been checked when the restaurant opened for weight (available gas). The only functional heater went out which made eating outside uncomfortably cool. They swapped tanks from another heater and got it going after awhile.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

We enjoyed our meal imensly! Great appet ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

We enjoyed our meal imensly! Great appetizers and we liked the mini deserts

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is our go to restaurant for a speci ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

This is our go to restaurant for a special occasion. It is one of our favorites. I like that it has a choice of smaller plates.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Went there for Father's Day. Space was ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Went there for Father's Day. Space was pretty tight for the waiter and servers to move around the restaurant. Though it was pretty crowded the service was good. Waiter and servers were attentive and the food was excellent. Will definitely be back,

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was some of the best we have ha ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The food was some of the best we have had at Lark Creek and we've been going there for years. Service was excellent, but being Father's Day, it was very busy. We will be back.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

We know that Father's Day can be a very ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We know that Father's Day can be a very busy day but what a disappointment! The area we sat in was so incredibly noisy that we had a hard time hearing each other. It took about 45 minutes for our food to arrive. Our main wait person was not very attentive, we had to ask for refills for our coffee and water several times. Not sure we will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value2

We had a good experience overall. The fo ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We had a good experience overall. The food was good although pricey. The noise level was high. It was a good place for the kids as well.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

I had the Rainbow Trout. Wife had the s ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

I had the Rainbow Trout. Wife had the scallops. Everything was delicious. Service impeccable.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Did care for my chicken salad sandwich b ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Did care for my chicken salad sandwich but corn soup was excellent.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

I always enjoy myself at Lark Creek. No ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

I always enjoy myself at Lark Creek. No pretensions just good food in a comfortable atmosphere with good service. I'll always come back.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great service, good food, good wine. Wo ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Great service, good food, good wine. Would love to see more vegetarian options.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Good food, great service and Birthday well wishes.

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

We arrived just on time for an early Birthday reservation. Greeted nicely and seated quickly. Waiter was friendly and efficient. It's not our first time at Lark Creek but some of the menus items had changed. I had a very delicious and correctly prepared filet cooked rare. My wife had trout and was pleased with the meal.

Overall, we like Lark Creek and we have for years. I would recommend the restaurant to anyone that asks.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

When our server came over, she was so ni ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

When our server came over, she was so nice, and bubbly, just fun and professional. She then said something that completely shocked me. She remembered serving me like 2 years ago on my birthday and remembered where I sat and what I ordered and everything!!! I was completely lost for words, I have no idea how she even remembered all that but I was so impressed! That was just the start to probably one of the best dinning experiences ever! I didnt know what I wanted to drink so she asked me what type of spirit and I liked and that she was going to decide what I would have for my cocktail, and it was absolutely DELICIOUS! She made the best food recommendations, and was completely honest when answering any questions we had. My friend has celiac diesease, and she knew EVERYTHING that she could and couldn't eat, and she even taught my friend some stuff that is grown with strains of gluten like certain types of peppers! She was just absolutely wonderful!! She really brought lark creek back up to the top of my list of go to places!! I feel completely horrible though because I forgot her name!! :(

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Chicken three ways was good, but a bit d ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Chicken three ways was good, but a bit dry. The appetizers and other entree were all very good. Outdoor service was somewhat spotty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

very very good

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

We enjoyed my husband's birthday dinner here. Staff was very friendly and professional, but through a mixup we got seated in a dead zone where we waited a long time before they realized no waitperson was assigned to our table. Once they realized the mistake the service was fine. We had a very nice table and the food was very good.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Lovely lunch

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Had lunch there yesterday. We got the table I had requested and were greeted nicely. Jeff, our server was great, in fact probably one of the best I have experienced. We chose the Chef's special lunch and were pleased. The salad had a nice vinaigrette, the turkey sandwich was delicious and the cut up varied fruit a nice addition. I have dined there before or had lunch and never have been disappointed, and I will come back. My friend agreed.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Whenever my family comes to visit from out of town they always want to dine at Lark Creek. We have been here on three different occasions and each visit is better than the last. The hostesses are friendly and seat you promptly. The waiters and waitresses are very knowledge about the menu options and always make great recommendations. The wine menu is spectacular. Their chuck burger is my personal favorite and my father is a big fan of the paella. I love sweets so the desert menu is my favorite. The butterscotch pudding is to die for, the creme brûlée is delicious, and the cheesecake is truly something to rave about. Also, during brunch they have the best blueberry muffins. I love Lark Creek and I look forward to coming back!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I went for our Anniversar ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

My husband and I went for our Anniversary. Food was great...highly recommend the paella! My husband had the filet mignon and he said it was good. Our waitress was very nice and attentive. This was our first time here and we will be back!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Disappointed

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Lark Creek needs to be updated. Menu needs to be refreshed. Nothing really new. Staff is stressed. Rushed and at times careless. table was not ready so bus person threw forks on table -rushed away. We ordered appetizers and he rushed over and put plates right on the menus that we were looking at! Bathrooms are in need of updates! Bartender is awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.