About Lark Creek Walnut Creek

1360 Locust Street
Walnut Creek, CA 94596
View Larger Map

Lark Creek Walnut Creek is located in historic downtown Walnut Creek. The atmosphere is light and airy, with American country charm, sidewalk seating, an exhibition kitchen, and the new Oakville Room seating up to 36 guests for private functions. The changing menu includes seasonal Contemporary American fare featuring traditional and updated recipes. Housemade desserts; local and regional wines.



Lark Creek Walnut Creek features American wines, including offerings on tap, by the glass and in half-bottles, with local and regional producers featured. Full bar; fresh fruit and fountain beverages.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Monday - Saturday 11:30am - 2:30pm; Sunday Brunch: 10:00am - 2:30pm; Dinner Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm; Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm;

Cross Street:
Mount Diablo Blvd.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(925) 256-1234

Website:
http://www.larkcreek.com/walnut_creek/index.html

Parking Details:
Parking is available on the street and in the convenient public parking structure above the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Ron Rhiver

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Lark Creek Walnut Creek, Walnut Creek, CA
Halibut - Lark Creek Walnut Creek, Walnut Creek, CA
Pina Colada Cheesecake - Lark Creek Walnut Creek, Walnut Creek, CA
Cheesecake - Lark Creek Walnut Creek, Walnut Creek, CA
New York Steak - Lark Creek Walnut Creek, Walnut Creek, CA
Caesar Salad - Lark Creek Walnut Creek, Walnut Creek, CA
Filet Mignon - Lark Creek Walnut Creek, Walnut Creek, CA
Rocky Jr. Half Chicken - Lark Creek Walnut Creek, Walnut Creek, CA
Ceasar Salad - Lark Creek Walnut Creek, Walnut Creek, CA
Chocolate Semifreddo - Lark Creek Walnut Creek, Walnut Creek, CA
Vegetable Lasagne - Lark Creek Walnut Creek, Walnut Creek, CA
Steelhead - Lark Creek Walnut Creek, Walnut Creek, CA
Butternut Squash Soup - Lark Creek Walnut Creek, Walnut Creek, CA
Darcie Kent 2010 Cabernet Sauvignon - Lark Creek Walnut Creek, Walnut Creek, CA
Eggs Benedict - Lark Creek Walnut Creek, Walnut Creek, CA
Cheese Burger - Lark Creek Walnut Creek, Walnut Creek, CA
Huevos rancheros - Lark Creek Walnut Creek, Walnut Creek, CA
Fried Chicken Salad - Lark Creek Walnut Creek, Walnut Creek, CA
Hash Browns - Lark Creek Walnut Creek, Walnut Creek, CA
Blueberry Muffin - Lark Creek Walnut Creek, Walnut Creek, CA
Three Egg Omelette - Lark Creek Walnut Creek, Walnut Creek, CA
Lark Creek Fizz - Lark Creek Walnut Creek, Walnut Creek, CA
Strawberry Bellini - Lark Creek Walnut Creek, Walnut Creek, CA
Meyer Lemon Cheesecake - Lark Creek Walnut Creek, Walnut Creek, CA
NY Steak - Lark Creek Walnut Creek, Walnut Creek, CA
Complementary Caramels - Lark Creek Walnut Creek, Walnut Creek, CA
Paella - Lark Creek Walnut Creek, Walnut Creek, CA
Moscow Mule - Lark Creek Walnut Creek, Walnut Creek, CA
Semifreddo - Lark Creek Walnut Creek, Walnut Creek, CA
Grilled Salmon With Tomato And Mozzarella - Lark Creek Walnut Creek, Walnut Creek, CA
Rathburn - Lark Creek Walnut Creek, Walnut Creek, CA
polenta fries - Lark Creek Walnut Creek, Walnut Creek, CA
N.Y. Steak - Lark Creek Walnut Creek, Walnut Creek, CA
Sockeye Salmon Cake - Lark Creek Walnut Creek, Walnut Creek, CA
Baby Lettuce Salad - Lark Creek Walnut Creek, Walnut Creek, CA
Nectarine & Blueberry Crisp - Lark Creek Walnut Creek, Walnut Creek, CA
Steelhead River Trout - Lark Creek Walnut Creek, Walnut Creek, CA
Prime Rib With Creamed Spinach And Twice Baked Potato - Lark Creek Walnut Creek, Walnut Creek, CA
Strawberry And Rhubarb Crisp - Lark Creek Walnut Creek, Walnut Creek, CA
Turkey dinner - Lark Creek Walnut Creek, Walnut Creek, CA
Tuna Melt - Lark Creek Walnut Creek, Walnut Creek, CA
Antioxidant Intoxicant - Best Happy Hour Cocktail - Lark Creek Walnut Creek, Walnut Creek, CA

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

We have our Private Dining Room, The Oakville Room, that can accommodate up to 36 people seated and 50 people for reception. We also offer semi-private parties, accommodating up to 25 guests in the main dining portion of the restaurant.

Lark Creek Walnut Creek Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (36)
Great for Lunch (34)
Neighborhood Gem (31)
See All
Fit for Foodies (27)
Good for a Date (26)
Business Meals (21)
Casual (21)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Romantic (19)
Good for Groups (19)
Comfort Food (18)
Good for Anniversaries (18)
Pre/post Theatre (15)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Great for Outdoor Dining (13)
Great for Brunch (12)
Notable Wine List (12)
Local Ingredients (11)
Seasonal (11)
Healthy (10)
Open Kitchen (9)
Bar Seating (9)
Kid-friendly (8)
Modern Decor (8)
Fun (8)
Authentic (8)
Cozy (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
People Watching (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Private Room (5)
Family Style (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Wood Oven (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Organic (2)
Scenic View (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Historic (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
2796 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent meal and service.

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined a day ago

Excellent meal and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was top quality as usual. The n ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

The food was top quality as usual. The navy bean soup was quite good although mine is better. The petrale sole was perfect delicious. Our negative was service. Waiter forgot to turn in one order so one of us started eating when the rest were finishing. They deducted that meal from the bill and gave him a free dessert as compensation. Ok but the meal time was scarred by that delay. Will go back for food but will ask to sit away from this waiter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

Lark Creek never fails to deliver on foo ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

Lark Creek never fails to deliver on food and service!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What happened? No longer the restaurant ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

What happened? No longer the restaurant that it was. Prime rib was awful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Good location. Service was good. Appeti ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 6 days ago

Good location. Service was good. Appetizers were very good. The entrees were VERY disappointing...especially the hamburgers. Doubt I would go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

We've had Thanksgiving there the last 2 ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 25, 2016

We've had Thanksgiving there the last 2 years, and I would do it again. Thank you.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

We loved the hustle and bustle of the La ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 25, 2016

We loved the hustle and bustle of the Lark Creek Inn on Thanksgiving. The restaurant was packed with diners escaping the kitchen just like us. The service was very quick and we appreciated that because we had tickets for a performance later that evening.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a fantastic Thanksgiving celebrat ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 25, 2016

We had a fantastic Thanksgiving celebration. The food and service was excellent. I'm going to make reservations for next year.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I have been to this restaurant before an ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 25, 2016

I have been to this restaurant before and thought it was pretty good but did not find that on Thanksgiving. First course was tasty ( crab cake) but the turkey and stuffing, etc. we're just mediocre. It was clear that the mashed potatoes had been made the day before and there wasn't enough gravy. The pumpkin pie was ok. Service was rushed.

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

Fast & friendly service; tasty food well ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Fast & friendly service; tasty food well-presented.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fun, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent choice for traditional Thanksg ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Excellent choice for traditional Thanksgiving turkey meal.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Wood Oven, Seasonal, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always reliably good food and pleasant s ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Always reliably good food and pleasant service...and the butterscotch pudding is fantastic.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Had a really nice meal (Caesar salads, e ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Had a really nice meal (Caesar salads, entrees were pot roast and prime rib followed by the mini trio dessert). Excellent service. The only problem was finding parking on a Saturday night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our prime rib was room temperature/borde ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Our prime rib was room temperature/borderline cold. The bacon on the bacon wrapped meatloaf was raw. It took a long time to get our food. We asked for a substitute on the side veggies while ordering but when the dish come to the table the dish wasn't correct. Disappointing overall. For the price the meal shoulds have been much better

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3

I love this restaurant, but unfortunatel ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 20, 2016

I love this restaurant, but unfortunately this time we were seated at the table right next to the bar, where all the waiters congregate. It was a little intrusive.

Love the butterscotch pudding! Every time I go, I get it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

The service on a Saturday night, early, ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The service on a Saturday night, early, was excellent. We were late and they were very accommodating and the server was so nice about it. We also had our two young children with us and they have a great kids menu and crayons to color with. The only disappointing part was that 3 of us had the prime rib special and the meat was very tough and mine was slightly cold, although the sides were great. My mother had the half chicken and it was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5

Greeted like a special person!! Everyth ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Greeted like a special person!! Everything was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Delicious food and generous portions. I ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Delicious food and generous portions. I like they offer two sizes on several entrees. The vegetables with the pot roast were superb. The butterscotch pudding was was great.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was not our first time at this rest ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 16, 2016

This was not our first time at this restaurant. The menu has adjusted slightly but I still find things of interest for both my wife and I. She's a lite eater and usually picks something from the appetizer section. For me that's not enough food. I took advantage of the Tuesday night special and had a Chicken-Fried Steak. It was excellent, albeit somewhat undercooked in the center. Dessert was hard to choose between several items. The choice was a good one. Always enjoy dining here.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious food and excellent service

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Delicious food and excellent service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The butternut soup was wonderful. Loved ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The butternut soup was wonderful. Loved this restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lark Creek is my "old reliable" so I too ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Lark Creek is my "old reliable" so I took myself there to dine alone on my 85th birthday. It was great! New server to me, even though I have been there literally over a dozen times or more, I did not know this one. She started-out to be excellent, got my dry martini order exactly correct, paced my appetizer, salad and entree well..........and then abandoned me. I finally had to flag a manager to get my check.

But my favorite Lark Creek Caesar salad was excellent as usual, and the filet mignon was excellent and perfectly cooked! Note: I had never had a steak here and believe me Ruth's Cris, and Flemings and Vic Stewarts so-called steak chefs should be sent to Lark Creek for training on how to cook a great steak

I had a very nice time, by myself, doing what I wanted, my way not someone else's way on my 85th birthday. It was great!

Still "old reliable!"

rbmiller

Walnut Creek

Tags: Seasonal
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Nonexistent service on a slow Sunday nig ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Nonexistent service on a slow Sunday night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

The food was quite good. The service was ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 6, 2016

The food was quite good. The service was, too. But the noise level was too high to have a conversation at our table of six, even with the person sitting next to me, unless we were yelling. If anyone has a hearing loss before arriving, you are out of luck to have a conversation. Why go to a fine restaurant with friends and be unable to visit with them?

Tags: Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Love Lark Creek for lunch - either busin ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Love Lark Creek for lunch - either business or pleasure the menu, food, service and ambiance fit the bill. The sole was excellent and the escarole that was under it along with the fingerling potatoes was great. Ceasar salad was crunchy and tasty but an anchovie on it would have topped it right off. The dessert standard, butterscotch pudding was just the right sweetness and as creamy as every.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Lark Creek is one of my favorite restaur ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Lark Creek is one of my favorite restaurants, the service was pretty slow, but busy. The waiter was apologetic and tried to accommodate me and my daughter.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Open Kitchen, Seasonal, Outstanding Value, Family Style, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

the servicer seemed to rush us and then ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 5, 2016

the servicer seemed to rush us and then only took half our order for starters to we were delayed the main dish could have had more vegetables we were placed by a large private room although we had booked a table and it was noisy this was a business meal would not pick it again for that occasion but would give it a try again for casual dining

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value2

Disappointed in the menu. Ordered the R ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Disappointed in the menu. Ordered the Rueben and it was tough and chewy. Also ordered the salad with prawns, and it was not good. Dressing had a weird after taste. Bread brought to the table was hard and my knife would not cut it!

Ordered cheeseburger and it was ok.

The service and atmosphere was nice and wait staff attentive. Just not a great menu for lunch.

Would not be a first choice with so many other great restaurants in the area.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

High quality food and service, varied me ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 1, 2016

High quality food and service, varied menu, mid-high prices. Good option for a group of 8-10. Very reliable option.

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The appetizers were very good. We order ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 30, 2016

The appetizers were very good. We ordered the fried polenta sticks and the tamale pancake, which was excellent...would also make a great entrée. Everyone loved their food...filet mignon, pot roast, and swordfish were all prepared perfectly. I ordered the paella and it was not very good. Presentation was nice, but the rice was bland and very crunchy on the top...maybe left to cook too long. Deserts were also very good. If you order the right food, you will love it.

Tags: Casual, Fun, Family Style, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Been to Lark Creek a number of times and ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Been to Lark Creek a number of times and found it quite good. This time, though, the server was pushy, and the prime rib dinner was sub-par (under cooked, not well carved).

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value4

Nice food, good lighting and ambience, w ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Nice food, good lighting and ambience, with good service. The tuna was delicious!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent, predictable menu, with some i ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Excellent, predictable menu, with some interesting specials added for variety and change!

Service is friendly and wait staff familiar with menu, wines and dessert offerings.

Good for friends, dates or family!

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

It took some time to get things started ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 24, 2016

It took some time to get things started, we were seated then took some time to have a waiter come to get a drink order then it seems like we waited forever for the drinks to come. I had to get up, find someone who could help, let them know we were still for waiting for our cocktails, then low and behold our service picked up momentum

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

Our prime rib was like no other. Not go ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Our prime rib was like no other. Not good. No taste not tender and served warm not hot

Twice baked potato hard and not twice baked. Strange spinach cold and watery we have eaten here many times but it seems the quality has gone downhill However the ceaser was great.

for an $80.00 meal seems not worth the $$$. Too bad. Not to return. It's a done deal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

The food wasn't anything special. The se ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The food wasn't anything special. The service was the same

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Lark Creek has always been a favorite de ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Lark Creek has always been a favorite destination in Walnut Creek. Walnut Creek has a plethora of restaurants from which to choose. We've lived here for over 30 years and Lark Creek remains one of our favs! Great food, attentive service, land easy parking are all pluses of this renowned establishment.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Quick Bite, Historic, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and service. Reliable! Good p ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Great food and service. Reliable! Good place for a business dinner or lunch.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Unfortunately the service was pretty slo ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Unfortunately the service was pretty slow. Our waiter was very friendly and kind, but the time between getting our cocktails and taking our dinner order was probably close to 1/2 hour. This seemed quite long to us.

Our paella eater didn't love theirs, and my pot roast was just mediocre. I'm afraid there wasn't much to it.

We love the location, but this particular trip wasn't spectacular.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Tamale Pancake!!!!

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 17, 2016

Tamale Pancake!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.