About Lake Terrace - The Broadmoor

One Lake Avenue
Colorado Springs, CO 80901
View Larger Map

Nestled alongside Cheyenne Lake, the elegant Lake Terrace Dining Room offers a traditional breakfast menu Monday through Saturday (walk-in basis only), and also hosts our elaborate Sunday Brunch. Featuring over 150 enticing items, accented by dazzling florals, culinary displays and accompanied by live piano music, The Broadmoor's Sunday Brunch offers the type of unforgettable culinary experience you would expect from our award-winning Colorado Springs resort. Reservations are highly recommended.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast Monday thru Saturday 7 AM to 11 AM
Sunday Brunch from 9 AM to 1 PM

Cross Street:
Lake Circle

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(866) 381-8432

Website:
http://www.broadmoor.com/lake-terrace

Entertainment:
Live piano music at Sunday Brunch.

Parking Details:
Valet parking is also available.

Executive Chef:
Aaron Haga

Additional:
Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Lake Terrace - The Broadmoor Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Denver / Colorado
Best Food
Denver / Colorado
Great for Brunch
Denver / Colorado
8 More
American
Denver / Colorado
Best Overall
Colorado Springs
Best Food
Colorado Springs
Best Service
Colorado Springs
Best Ambiance
Colorado Springs
Best Value
Colorado Springs
Special Occasion
Colorado Springs
Most Booked
Colorado Springs
Best Restaurants in Colorado Springs ›

great for brunch (78)
special occasion (70)
scenic view (40)
See All
fit for foodies (36)
romantic (28)
good for groups (27)
great for lunch (18)
kid-friendly (15)
neighborhood gem (12)
notable wine list (5)
great for outdoor dining (5)
hot spot (4)
late-night find (3)
vibrant bar scene (2)
Sort By:
Newest
312 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My mother came into town to visit us, we ...

Dined 5 days ago

My mother came into town to visit us, we do not get to see each other as often as we would like, so I treated her for the brunch. Everything was Top Notch and on spot!! Thank you everyone for making it such an amazing and unforgettable dining experience!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

So amazing. The food was wonderful and t ...

Dined 5 days ago

So amazing. The food was wonderful and the staff were super nice.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Lovely.

Dined 5 days ago

Three of us each celebrating a special occassion is what it took for us to splurge on a Broadmoor Sunday Brunch. The staff here are exceptional, knowing how to be unobstrusive or engaging, depending on your cues. The food was delicious, with both the standards and then items that raise the bar of creativity. We especially enjoyed the seafood, both the cold (oysters, shrimp and crab claws) and the crab and lobster crepes. We each were served special desserts noting our individual special occassions - very fun!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were celebrating my sons 30th birthda ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

We were celebrating my sons 30th birthday and his engagement. Was perfect! Loved everything about our special day.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

The brunch buffet was fantastic. Every c ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

The brunch buffet was fantastic. Every conceivable brunch item was available, and then there was more!

food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Wish there were more salads

Dined on May 1, 2016

I was disappointed, there were two kinds of Salmon and two kinds of Lamb, however in the salad area it was sparse and unappealing. The woman who was shucking the oysters was battling, and from a presentation standpoint they should've had her shucking them in the kitchen, it wasn't a pretty site. There were a ton of employees but as an example at 12:00 noon (one of the busiest times) there were main courses that needed to be replenished and weren't being taken care of. Lots of employee and what appeared to be management standing around but not doing anything but chatting amongst themselves. Of course if you love dessert, then this was the place to be but for $$$ it is a one time venture for a special occasion so I guess it was alright, however I will probably never return. Oh BTW the dessert help was very good. They replenished desserts quickly!

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Wonderful

Dined on April 24, 2016

Sunday brunch was the culmination of a birthday and life celebration. The day was my girlfriend's birthday and I had proposed to atop Pikes Peak earlier in -14 degree weather. We hurried to brunch and spent the time in awe of the ambiance and food. Everything was perfect. The food was outstanding. The pride and care taken in preparation is very evident in the food. I know the star of the dining is the pastries, and I wholeheartedly agree. But, pace yourself and hit all you can. The service staff is wonderful. Patsy was a standout and gave us great advice as to walk the area first and spoiled us with a great handmade dessert for our celebration. Even as the food was the best I have ever had in a buffet setting and top 5 anywhere else, she was the shining star of the culmination of our celebration. Thanks to all the staff. We will be back soon.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Best atmosphere and food we have had at ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

Best atmosphere and food we have had at a Sunday brunch

food5
ambience4
service4
value5

My husband always likes to do the Broadm ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

My husband always likes to do the Broadmoor brunch to celebrate his birthday. This year was no different. Our experience has always been a positive one and our recent visit was also enjoyable. The food is always delicious, with a variety of choices that is unsurpassed. My one complaint this time is the table at which we were seated. It was located directly above the steps, which left me with a view of the buffet lines and a steady stream of people coming and going. In my opinion, a table should not even exist in that location. Again, the food was great and the service was very good. The general ambience of the dining room was totally lost, due to the location of our table.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always EXCELLENT

Dined on April 24, 2016

As always, it was a wonderful brunch. So many selections, it's sometimes difficult to choose (so take them all!) Impeccable service. Beverages never empty; plates removed immediately; always attentive staff. The only complaint is the outrageous price and it's going up on Fathers Day from $52 per person to a whopping $65 per person. I doubt if they'll be adding anything to the selections for the additional $13.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience2
service5
value5

Sunday Brunch

Dined on April 24, 2016

We had made a reservation for the outstanding Broadmoor brunch. When we arrived, we were shown to a tiny table next to the bussing station, fair below the usual standards of the Broadmoor. We got our food and the servers provided exemplary service, but the table location took away from the whole experience. I talked to one of the managers, Karen, and expressed my dissatisfaction. She apologized and said that they usually used this table for walk-ins. I told her that we had made our reservation weeks before and that we had been coming to the Broadmoor and this brunch for over two decades. She comped us both of our brunches, which pleased me that they took care of us for the unusual lapse of service. She saved what would have been a bad experience for us. Thank you Karen!

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding, Per Usual

Dined on April 24, 2016

Lake Terrace at the Broadmoor continues to be the place where we wish to take out-of-town visitors for that "something extra special". It is truly exceptional.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday brunch

Dined on April 24, 2016

A little over priced for kids. Overall a great experience. We would definitely dine again.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved visiting the broadmoor again after ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

Loved visiting the broadmoor again after so many years. Still the same classy, upscale, remarkable, beautiful hotel and restaurants.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always have a wonderful experience here. ...

Dined on March 20, 2016

Always have a wonderful experience here. I've only been to brunch but I'm very confident any meal would be fabulous.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best brunch at the best hotel

Dined on March 20, 2016

I don't like to rate something 5 stars, because there's always something that can be upgraded, but not here. It doesn't get better, I will come back to the Broadmoor, just to be there at this hotel and have this brunch! It can't get any better.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Broadmoor Sunday Brunch

Dined on March 13, 2016

Like any elegant resort, Sunday Brunch at the Broadmoor is an exceptional experience. The array of food choices is overwhelming, the deserts are amazing, the service is top notch. Strolling around the lake outside afterwards allows your food to settle while you enjoy the astounding scenery. Not inexpensive but well worth it, this is a great value.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

special birthday location

Dined on March 6, 2016

i held a special birthday party at this lake terrace brunch. these reservations are hard to come by and i can see why. the space is beautiful and old world elegant. the choices on the buffet are enormous. the food is wonderful and the service great. my friend loved her special day

Tags: great for brunch
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Very relaxing

Dined on February 28, 2016

Service was wonderful, I enjoyed tasting dishes and food that I had never tried before. Excellent prime rib! Coffee was warmed up on a regular basis.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always Excellent!!!

Dined on February 21, 2016

As always, excellent food- high quality, great selection, and beautiful presentation. Service was superb- always receive a table by the window. Favorite place to dine.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

The staff are wonderful and the food is ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

The staff are wonderful and the food is incredible. Highly recommended.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Pre-Valentine Sunday Brunch

vip
Dined on January 31, 2016

My husband & I had a leisurely paced and delightfully delicious brunch here on Sunday. Staff was helpful and attentive. Couldn't have asked for anything to be better! It was wonderful and we highly recommend!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Brunch at the Broadmoor

Dined on January 31, 2016

My family truly enjoyed our recent trip to the Broadmoor for Sunday brunch. It was our first time taking the kids (10 and 12 years old), so it was nice to see that brunch was kid-friendly. My kids were both amazed and amazing. . . . They were overwhelmed with all the food, both savory and sweet. They were also mature and very well behaved, which was shocking. (I think that ambiance of the Broadmoor helped them to "elevate their game.") Brunch at the Broadmoor is definitely something that we will try again.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful service and atmosphere for a s ...

Dined on January 31, 2016

Wonderful service and atmosphere for a special occassion.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Experience

Dined on January 31, 2016

There was a fantastic selection of food at Sunday Brunch. This is a great treat for a special occasion.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Br ...

Dined on January 31, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Broadmoor and dining experience at Lake Terrace in celebration of my mother's 50th birthday. It was a great brunch to finish off a fabulous weekend. Thank you to everyone who played a role in making the weekend special.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Best Brunch Ever

Dined on January 24, 2016

Great brunch! Fabulous food selection; charming atmosphere; wonderful view; very special treat. A little pricey.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

sticky bun

Dined on January 24, 2016

the sticky buns are even better than the desserts. the overall food quality was superb. we loved it.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome Brunch

Dined on January 10, 2016

Awesome Brunch, the best selection I have ever seen. Great service and ambiance that you would expect at the Broadmoor.

Tags: brunch, child friendly, fit for foodies, special occasions
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First class all the way!

Dined on January 10, 2016

We have been to this brunch many times for special occasions. It is pricey but worth it. Staff is ever present to refill drinks and check on everything. Customer service is excellent. Highly recommended.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Brunch - Great food, expensive, busy

Dined on January 3, 2016

Food was great, special area for gluten free, lots of variety. Given how expensive the brunch was, I was disappointed in the service - it wasn't bad by any means, but it wasn't up to what I expected from the Broadmoor.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

So much more than just Sunday brunch...

Dined on January 3, 2016

If you can't find most of your favorite brunch items here you probably won't be satisfied anywhere. The selection is awesome and there is never a feeling that the buffet tables have been picked over. For us, particularly notable was the seafood table with a great assortment of smoked salmon, oysters, shrimp and crab claws as well as the prime rib station. Have an omelet any way you want, and tons of sweets to choose from too. Then when your comfortably full head out for a stroll of the property. Don't miss walking all of the meeting rooms, it is like spending the day at an art museum. The western art is second to none. And walking the property is a treat in itself. Truly a special place in the US, and luckily right in our backyard.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5

First time dining at the Broadmoor

Dined on December 6, 2015

Absolutely first class from the valet, right down to the buffet servers, and our waitresses. Everyone was pleasant and helpful as we had lots of questions. The food was beyond words. Everything we sampled seemed to top whatever we had just tasted. The chefs up at the Broadmoor have to be acknowledged as everything and I mean everything was incredible. We will be going back every year for my sons birthday, they made it that special.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place to enjoy great good and company

Dined on December 6, 2015

We made a reservation at Lake Terrace so I could spend some time with my daughter. My experience was outstanding, and my daughter was delighted with the variety of choices that we had. The atmosphere is just right to have a pleasant conversation. After our meals, we decided to go out and take a walk around The Broadmoor. I would love to come back and have a great time again.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly
food4
ambience2
service3

Anniversary Brunch

Dined on December 6, 2015

This was our third experience at the Broadmoor Lake Terrace Sunday Brunch. The staff is outstanding. Although, our waiter was a bit hard to understand and it may have been his first week because he had a difficult time describing the intro to our brunch. The honeydew was the second thing I noticed, as it was not ripe or succulent as usual. The third notice I took was the fresh flowers stems were broken leaving the table flowers to sadly sag. I then noticed the chandelier and the tops were not straight. I finally noticed one of my forks silver plating was chipping off. A waitress offers to get a refill of milk for my husband but, somehow it was forgotten so I had to request later on. The high expectations I have of the Broadmoor were suddenly were taken down. I will definitely eat there again. The food is spectacular and so is the service. I always feel like a queen when I am there! Our waiter did bring us a beautiful slice of cake to celebrate our anniversary! It was delicious of course!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5

Gourmet Sustenance in the shadow of Pike's Peak.

vip
Dined on November 22, 2015

The iconic hotel serves up a classic brunch, on a par with Ellynton's at the Brown Palace and the brunches provided by the Ritz-Carltons, the upper echelon Hyatts and their ilk. While not as creative as, say, the Canadian Pacific Railway hotels, with their Japanese breakfast offerings in addition to the classic Benedicts and roasts, the Broadmoor,s Lakeside Terrace provides a credible assortment of the standards, and the customer gets to ladle the hollandaise onto the eggs benedict, so no need to ask for extra sauce. The only disappointments were in the salad bar, which was limited to a small table with a few offerings, and a serious shortage of vegetables other than potatoes, onto which one might have spooned up some more of that delicious hollandaise.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience3
service1

The Broadmoor it's self is very impressi ...

Dined on November 22, 2015

The Broadmoor it's self is very impressive. The brunch was just ok. The service was horrible. At one point, there was 2 shrimp on the floor and numerous waiters and waitresses walked over it and never bothered to clean the area. We also had to ask for refills on coffee and tea, and the wait staff acted annoyed. As far as the food, for the most part good, but many items were not as hot as they should have been. Again we had to ask the wait staff to take our plates. The price that they charge for the brunch is way over priced for the quality of food but most importantly the service.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

The staff was kind and courteous, the fo ...

vip
Dined on November 22, 2015

The staff was kind and courteous, the food was excellent. They put on a great brunch!

food5
ambience4
service4

Be prepared to PAY for a lot for all

Dined on November 15, 2015

I knew that I would be paying $52 a person for the Sunday Brunch for our anniversary, but I didn't expect to have to pay for parking as well--over 2 blocks away, too--and tax and tip. You get free parking if you're going to go to Seven Falls (far less money for that adventure), but not to their pricey (but absolutely fantastic) Sunday Brunch. That started the day off badly. Because I had given them a heads up about my food allergies, I was promised that there would be someone there to let me know what I could eat & what to stay away from. I had to ask 5 different people over a 20 minute time span for answers to my questions. I was getting really upset because no one was doing what I was told they would do by the reservations person and I was hungry! Eventually Susan helped me by getting Theresa who then found a (not really knowledgeable) chef to come out and answer my questions. He didn't know that 'vegetable oil' is soy oil 99% of the time or that 'hydrolyzed vegetable protein' is also soy. He told me of the items that he knew that had soy (sauce) in them- the fish dishes. Then he found out (to his surprise) that their pancake mix has soy flour in it! I never did find out about most of the main dishes because he got the answers to 3 of my questions, then disappeared. On the plus side, the wait staff was fantastic and deserved the tip! The food (what I could eat) was perfect! My husband ate some of the things that I couldn't and really enjoyed them (he's a former chef so he knows how things are supposed to taste & be prepared). I'm looking forward to going back, but not for a while (because of the price). I'll recommend it, but with the warning of the total cost of $140-150 for 2 people for brunch.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

Definitely one of the fanciest brunches around.

Dined on November 8, 2015

This is a lovely, old school Sunday brunch. Monday through Saturday the brunch is fantastic but the Sunday experience is really a once in a lifetime experience. It is a feast for the eyes as much as the mouth. It does have the price to match so it definitely is for special occasions. My only coplaint is that I felt the wait staff could be better trained. when paying over $50 for a brunch, I expected better service. We had to flag our waiter down for coffee and water refills and our plates were not always cleared promptly. They were all pleasant and I saw many servers providing excellent service to others, but our team could have used some added training.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.