About Lake Elmo Inn

The Lake Elmo Inn offers award-winning American cuisine, and has been voted Best Restaurant, Best Service, Best Dessert, Best Brunch, and Twin Cities Institution locally by Minneapolis St. Paul Magazine 'Reader's Choice Awards'. Zagat scores the Lake Elmo Inn at a 28 out of 30 for food, calling us a "hidden secret". We also received Wine Spectator's Award of Excellence for our extensive wine list for twelve years in a row.
The Lake Elmo Inn has been chosen as one of the top 100 Brunches in the nation by Open Table. From shrimp cocktail, smoked salmon, double smoked ham, and carved rounds of beef, to eggs Benedict, Belgium waffles, mouthwatering salads, and fresh seasonal fruit, the Lake Elmo Inn serves a Sunday Brunch that is artfully prepared and elegantly presented.

3442 Lake Elmo Avenue North
Lake Elmo, MN 55042
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Continental, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm; Sunday Brunch: 10:00am – 2:00pm, Sunday: 4:30pm - 8:30pm. Between 2:00pm-5:00pm

Cross Street:
Highway 5

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(651) 777-8495

Website:
http://www.lakeelmoinn.com/

Catering:
Corporate events, weddings, picnics, etc. Please contact our Event Center staff for more details. We cater local and around the Twin Cities.651-779-5994

Parking Details:
Public lots also available in the area.

Executive Chef:
John Schiltz

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Lake Elmo Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.5

Noise

Quiet

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (114)
Good for Anniversaries (106)
Good for Birthdays (85)
See All
Good for a Date (80)
Worth the Drive (71)
Romantic (67)
Neighborhood Gem (66)
Quiet Conversation (62)
Great for Brunch (55)
Great for Lunch (50)
Good for Groups (47)
Cozy (45)
Business Meals (39)
Sunday Lunch (39)
Creative Cuisine (38)
Authentic (37)
Casual (35)
Comfort Food (35)
Fit for Foodies (35)
Handcrafted Cocktails (20)
Bar Seating (19)
Fun (19)
Local Ingredients (19)
Seasonal (18)
Great for Outdoor Dining (16)
Notable Wine List (15)
Tasting Menu (13)
Healthy (13)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Gluten Free Options (10)
People Watching (7)
Afternoon Coffee (6)
Kid-friendly (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Scenic View (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Great Beer (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Organic (2)
Happy Hour (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort by
S
3500 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 2 days ago

Everyone in our group enjoyed our dining experience . Excellent choice for celebrations. Wait staff was friendly and helpful. Food was delicious.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 3 days ago

amazing service, they were almost running ,amazing food

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Elegant/High end dining experience. Great wine selection.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 4 days ago

While Washington County is awash in beer pubs and sports bars, only a handful of better restaurants survive. Lake Elmo Inn is one of them. I'm grateful that they persist against the odds.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 4 days ago

The food at Lake Elmo Inn is always amazing. Breakfast is no different. Brunch time is always busy so making a reservation makes the experience easy to enjoy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 4 days ago

Great food and service as always! Love the sorbet to cleanse your pallet and the chocolate dipped strawberries to finish off your dinner! Staple in the community!

Tags: Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 5 days ago

We meet every year around Veterans Day for a friends birthday and have done so for many many years and it is always fabulous. The food is delicious, the server Jody was very attentive and we were not rushed to leave. Always the best food ever.

Tags: Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Romantic, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Lake Elmo Inn never disappoints. It’s cozy, and quiet enough for conversation. The food excellent.

Tags: Comfort Food, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 7 days ago

Wonderful lunch, very pleasant and experienced server. First time going there, will be back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 14, 2017

Lake Elmo Inn never disappoints. Food is always outstanding; the service impeccable.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 14, 2017

Very attentive servers, relaxing atmosphere, great food.

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 12, 2017

It was wonderful. We will be going back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 12, 2017

We love the lake Elmo inn and we’ve gone there for quite a few anniversaries , Sunday brunches love the champagne brunch

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on November 12, 2017

Excellent service, very nice assortment at the buffets. We'll be back again, like it very much.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 12, 2017

We had a great time our waitress was wonderful. Choices of food were fixed with care. Champagne flowed. Best coffee I bad for quite awhile. There 4 of us cousins it was busy but we were able carry on a great conversation when we weren't eating. I've been there before and we will be coming back, and bringing new friends. Thank you

Tags: Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 11, 2017

handicap parking was around the corner so they could put out signs for valet parking. Host was rude.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 11, 2017

Awesome food. Love this place. Like a supper club of years gone by. Great ambience. Attentive staff

Tags: Authentic, People Watching, Gluten Free Options, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 11, 2017

Always fantastic food. Always classy! A staple eatery in the east side of the twin cities for decades. Never a disappointment.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 7, 2017

It was great. Actually I was there 2 days in a row. The Tuesday buffet was fabulous. Monday Pub steak sandwich also excellent!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Afternoon Tea, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 6, 2017

Treat yourself to Lake Elmo In . Food is delicious as is the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 5, 2017

We invited my step-son and his wife and their 13 year old son for Sunday brunch to celebrate their birthdays. We made reservations and were seated immediately. The table settings are lovely, the waitress was very friendly and the ice carvings were beautiful. The featured item was walleye and wild rice and it was excellent. There were many salads, shrimp, salmon to choose from and hand carved beef and ham. The deserts choices are plentiful and tempting and small enough so you can try more than one. We all enjoyed the experience and the food very much.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 4, 2017

Lake Elmo Inn is ALWAYS a great choice. Their attention to every detail is amazing!

Tags: Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raum Hamburg)·Dined on November 4, 2017

Great food and wonderful wine with which to wish our friends an enjoyable retirement. A lovely occasion!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 31, 2017

Fabulous food and excellent service! A classic favorite that never disappoints!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 29, 2017

Our brunch was wonderful and we were so happy to find seating through open table as we wrapped up our confirmation celebration at church

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 29, 2017

Felt the brunch was well over priced. Options were good but meat in the sterno heated containers seemed dry and not very palatable. Was very underwhelmed and would not recommend the sunday brunch for the price.

Tags: Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 29, 2017

I have tried many brunches at many locations over time, and this still ranks as the very best there is. The food options are exceptional, the staff friendly and attentive, and the dessert bar is mind - boggling. As far as I'm concerned, no one should waste time going anywhere else for brunch. These people do it right!!

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Disabled Access, Cozy, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 29, 2017

My wife ordered a drink(hot apple pie) that listed on the menu that it came with whipped cream- never did come with it and my wife asked about it to the waitress - she looked at her like she was crazy and said "no, I don't think so" even when it states it on the menu. I doubt she even checked on it. It was our anniversary and we had that on the reservation which they seated us in a very nice romantic booth. Normally they give you champagne but none was ever offered- that was a little disappointing, but maybe they have changed that policy. At that point we didn't want to ask the waitress from the prior question. Food and atmosphere were great though!! , just the service was lacking that night.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
·Dined on October 28, 2017

The visit to the Lake Elmo Inn was very quiet clean great food the lighting was excellent in the waitress was spectacular I would recommend to Lake Elmo Inn for All Occasions

Tags: People Watching, Paleo Friendly, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Spicy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 28, 2017

The food and service was excellent! We have never been disappointed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 28, 2017

We attended the Saturday breakfast. We had no idea the last reservation was at 10:30 and they started putting the food away about 11:30. Our reservation was at 10. Our server took our drink order, brought out the caramel rolls and informed us to help ourselves to the buffet or we could also order an omelette. We thanked her and chatted for a while, she stopped once asked how we were doing, never mentioned the food would be put away. By the time we got up to get our food, one side of the buffet had been put away. There was stil plenty of food on the other side but the Denver frittata was gone. We asked our server for an omelette but she said the kitchen was no longer making omlettes, and no more Denver frittata would be brought out. We were very disappointed in the service and communication. Had we known, we would have ordered and gotten up and filled out plates!!! We should have been told when the food was being put away and the end time for made to order omlettes. Dissapointing experience.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 28, 2017

Our food was delicious and the service was outstanding. We will definitely go back.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 28, 2017

We have dined at the Lake Elmo Inn many times and have always been very impressed with the quality of the food and service. This last time was not so good. Service was friendly but slow. People that arrived after we did were served before us. We planned on a leisurely dinner but it was longer than we thought normal. Two of us had the special prime rib; it was definitely not up to Lake Elmo Inn standards (thin slice over cooked). We will dine at the Lake Elmo Inn again but this one time was not their typical great service & great food.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
·Dined on October 27, 2017

Went her for wife's birthday. Wish we had found this place sooner. We loved everything about it. Tournados Bernaise was incredible.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 26, 2017

The food and service were definitely up to standards.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 24, 2017

Lake Elmo Inn was excellent as it always is. I've never been disappointed.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 23, 2017

A very nice old school supper club. Excellent food, great staff, and overall just a very nice dining experience.

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 23, 2017

As always, a great meal at the Elmo Inn. Prime rib for everybody that never disappoints.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 22, 2017

We had a lovely anniversary dinner. Bob, our server took good care of us.

Tags: Cozy, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 22, 2017

Great place. Not cheap. Huge portions. You can go thinking you're not going to overspend but everything is so good, so good luck. Great service. They take care of you. It's never slammed always busy but they food just flies out. Fun spot for a Sunday night.

Tags: Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.