Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 2.14mi
  2. Distance: 2.84mi
  3. Distance: 3.70mi
  4. Distance: 4.49mi
  1. Distance: 2.14mi
  2. Distance: 2.84mi
  3. Distance: 3.70mi
  4. Distance: 4.49mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 2.14mi
  2. Distance: 2.84mi
  3. Distance: 3.70mi
  4. Distance: 4.49mi
  1. Distance: 2.14mi
  2. Distance: 2.84mi
  3. Distance: 3.70mi
  4. Distance: 4.49mi

About Lake Elmo Inn

The Lake Elmo Inn offers award-winning American cuisine, and has been voted Best Restaurant, Best Service, Best Dessert, Best Brunch, and Twin Cities Institution locally by Minneapolis St. Paul Magazine 'Reader's Choice Awards'. Zagat scores the Lake Elmo Inn at a 28 out of 30 for food, calling us a "hidden secret". We also received Wine Spectator's Award of Excellence for our extensive wine list for twelve years in a row.
The Lake Elmo Inn has been chosen as one of the top 100 Brunches in the nation by Open Table. From shrimp cocktail, smoked salmon, double smoked ham, and carved rounds of beef, to eggs Benedict, Belgium waffles, mouthwatering salads, and fresh seasonal fruit, the Lake Elmo Inn serves a Sunday Brunch that is artfully prepared and elegantly presented.

3442 Lake Elmo Avenue North
Lake Elmo, MN 55042
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Continental, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm; Sunday Brunch: 10:00am – 2:00pm, Sunday: 4:30pm - 8:30pm. Between 2:00pm-5:00pm

Cross Street:
Highway 5

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(651) 777-8495

Website:
http://www.lakeelmoinn.com/

Catering:
Corporate events, weddings, picnics, etc. Please contact our Event Center staff for more details. We cater local and around the Twin Cities.651-779-5994

Parking Details:
Public lots also available in the area.

Executive Chef:
John Schiltz

Private Party Facilities:
The Lake Elmo Inn has four dining rooms to offer private parties. Our Kohler room can accommodate groups up to 50 people. The Oak room holds up to 70 people and can be separated into a semi-private area for smaller group of 35 or less. Our event center holds 75-300 people, a wonderful place for a wedding, reunion, celebration of life, or corporate event. Please call Chris Schiltz 651.779.5994

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Senior Appreciation Day

Mondays from 11:00 AM - 9:00 PM

Wednesday Night Raw Bar

Wednesdays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Thursday Night Prime Rib Special

Thursdays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Specials

Senior Appreciation Day

Mondays from 11:00 AM - 9:00 PM

Details

Senior Appreciation 25% off entree (60+ years old). Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jan 17, 2017 - May 15, 2017 on Mondays from 11:00 AM - 9:00 PM.

Wednesday Night Raw Bar

Wednesdays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Details

Raw Bar - (1/2 price fresh oysters, shrimp cocktail & crab claws) *while supplies last. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jan 17, 2017 - May 17, 2017 on Wednesdays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM.

Thursday Night Prime Rib Special

Thursdays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Details

Prime Rib - slow roasted served with creamed horseradish and au jus for $21.95 *while supplies last. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jan 19, 2017 - May 18, 2017 on Thursdays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM.

Lake Elmo Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (130)
Good for Anniversaries (114)
Good for Birthdays (91)
See All
Good for a Date (88)
Worth the Drive (80)
Great for Brunch (69)
Romantic (69)
Neighborhood Gem (69)
Quiet Conversation (63)
Cozy (63)
Historic (50)
Good for Groups (49)
Great for Lunch (49)
Comfort Food (38)
Creative Cuisine (37)
Sunday Lunch (37)
Business Meals (35)
Fit for Foodies (34)
Casual (27)
Seasonal (27)
Authentic (27)
Outstanding Value (24)
Fireplace (23)
Fun (23)
Notable Wine List (21)
Bar Seating (19)
Handcrafted Cocktails (18)
Private Room (13)
Tasting Menu (13)
Healthy (12)
Local Ingredients (11)
Family Style (11)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Disabled Access (11)
Happy Hour (7)
Kid-friendly (6)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Hot Spot (5)
People Watching (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Open Kitchen (2)
Scenic View (2)
Great Beer (2)
Organic (1)
Waterfront (1)
Spicy (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Sort By:
S
3218 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Overall great experience! Food and service were fantastic.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Disabled Access, Pre/post Theatre, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Went as a group of 5 to celebrate a milestone birthday. Table was ready at the time of reservation and the server was exceptional! Food ordered included prime rib, steak and pasta entree's, with cake for dessert. Only reason the food/value wasn't exceptional was the amount of fat in the ribeye. The flavor was amazing, but about 1/4 of the inside was all fat (but that's probably what added to the flavor!) Great evening and we will go again!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Staff was very pleasant and accommodating to our special request. It was near closing time but our service remained spot on. Drinks and food served in a timely manner. The crusted shrimp and sunfish served with crusted egg plant and wild rice was excellent.

I have been going there for years and will continue to!!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Private Room, Notable Wine List, Casual, Special Occasion, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Carefully crated food - all scratch preparation; little service details that make for a special experience (welcome special occasion drink; palate cleansing sorbet; gauze enclosed lemon to squeeze- no seeds; and crumbs scraped between courses). The Lake Elmo Inn is a local gem!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Fireplace, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for a Date, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 13, 2017

We both ordered 6 is NY strip, it was tough and under done! The potatoes lyonese were over done and mushy! Eggplant parmesan was tasteless....no creativity! They really need to step up their game.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 12, 2017

The Sunday brunch had an unbelievable variety to dishes. All tasting delicious. After explaining the menu, the server started us out with a glass of champagne, which always seemed to be full. We were allowed to take our time to enjoy the meal. At great way to celebrate our anniversary.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The food is always fabulous. However, I would like to see more gluten free options on the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Our waiter Michael was fairly new and a little rough around the edges. But all in all, he did an admirable job proving service to our table. Wouldn't mind having him serve us again in a future visit.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 5, 2017

The Sunday lunch buffet is extraordinary. I'd rank one of the restaurants in Twin Cities Metro. Service is great. A very special day to go there to eat.

Tags: Comfort Food, Healthy, Outstanding Value, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Had a great visit with old friends. Did not feel rushed to leave even thou they were very busy. Food on buffet could have been hotter. Use valet parking and save yourself from trying to fine a parking space.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 5, 2017

The Sunday brunch is awesome. Presentation, variety, quality, and flavors are excellent.
Our server was top-notch.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 5, 2017

We very much enjoyed the great dinner and dessert!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 4, 2017

My husband & I came in for dinner on Saturday night to celebrate our 1st wedding anniversary. We were first greeted by the nice gentleman who was in charge of the valet parking. Then we were seated in a very cozy half moon booth and offered a glass of champagne. Our incredible meals were served on beautiful plates that said, "congratulations!" Thank you for a wonderful meal and an incredible, special experience! We'll definitely be back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Always had great food but the fish on Friday lunch was not that great, seemed dry and to much breaking not as good as years past I will still have lunches and dinners there but not the fish

Tags: Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Had a good family dinner. The duck and filet were both well prepared.

Tags: Business Meals, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 28, 2017

We have been going to Lake Elmo Inn for as many years as we have lived here which is 25 years. Mostly for special occasions. We feel it's a very special place. It reminds us of the supper clubs of time gone by. Sometimes we are tired of the loud tvs and loud noisy joints (not that they don't have their place too), clanging dishes and long wait lines. All the beautiful decor and dark warm wood is so neat to see again. Your wait staff is very good and of course, your food always excellent. We love the little extras like the sorbet, the chocolate strawberries, and the hot towel. Please keep those fun things. We also enjoy your bar. We met John your bartender and what good conversationalist and he made me the best old fashioned I ever had. We surely will keep coming. Thanks.

Tags: Private Room, Great for Brunch, Fireplace, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 27, 2017

A perfect place to celebrate a friend's 70th birthday...complete with a complimentary glass of champagne. The food was excellent and the service was outstanding. Tip: %25 off for Seniors on Mondays!

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Great duck little pricy but great food and service

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Great as always, love the freshness and flavor of the food.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Casual, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Authentic, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 23, 2017

This was our first visit. We felt that it was expensive for the small portions that we received. We filled up on the bread which wasn't overly good. The waitress was ok but in a hurry. We won't be back anytime soon.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Lake Elmo Inn is fantastic !!! We had a wonderful time there celebrating my sisters birthday ..
The customer care is amazing.... the filet steak was amazing.. and the desserts outstanding !!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Outstanding Value, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 21, 2017

We were a party of six. Our waitress did a mediocre job. We ordered our food. She brought out our basket of rolls but apparently she forgot about our salads and soup. After quite some time she brought out sorbet to cleanse our pallets. We reminded her that we hadn't received our salads and soup. She left and, again, after quite some time brought the soup and salads. Once finished with that course the table was cleared and our main course was brought. The food was quite dry. It was like it had been prepared and then sat for awhile. Our dinner turned into a 3 hour ordeal.
We were there on a Monday, senior citizen discount night, and server failed to tell us or take off the 25%. My wife called the next day to get the discount. The owner called to apologize.
My wife and I had dinner at the Lake Elmo Inn the previous Monday and had an excellent experience with tasty food.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 21, 2017

BEST FOOD AND BEST SERVICE YUMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMM

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 20, 2017

As usual the service and food were excellent....we dine there quite frequently especially for special occasions and sometimes a quiet lunch with a friend....I did miss the valet service on this last Monday as it was raining out and had to find a place to park close. But did find one and no problem.....BUT that valet service for lunch would have been better....I have NEVER had a bad meal or service there and their Sunday Brunch is really a spectacular occasion....I have entertained out of town guests and everyone has been impressed....thank you for the on line reservation service also....

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Cozy, Family Style, Great for Lunch, Disabled Access, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Great food & always love the sorbet palate cleanser !
Appreciated the modifications for the gluten free guests . Service was slow but we still enjoyed ourselves as always . Great non-alcoholic beverage options for the kids to enjoy .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Waiter was too gabby, forgot my wine with the meal, left us sitting there when we were done eating, when he finally showed up, we asked for the check and left. He apologized and gave us two extra strawberries. That service is unacceptable when you are paying those prices for a fine meal.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Your Team always delivers on the commitment to Hospitality, Quality, Taste and Value. We love the Sunday Brunch and it's variety. As my parents are getting up there in years, kudos for adding Valet service. It is much more practical that HC parking. Keep up the GREAT JOB.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Sunday Brunch is always fabulous and truly the best deal around!

Tags: Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Great food and good service overll. Our waitress was very busy though, so service was a little slow to start with. I was disappointed that they were out of chocolate lava cake, which I had been looking forward to all day and had saved room to enjoy. My husband and I went here for a belated Valentines Day celebration.

Tags: Cozy, Bar Seating, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Fireplace, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We enjoyed our evening at the Lake Elmo Inn. Haven't been there in awhile! Food was great: steak, salmon and Sin of the Inn dessert, which is a must have! Service always impeccable. Love the cleanse your palette lemon cones, the hot towels and the chocolate covered strawberries!

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 18, 2017

one of my favorite classic restaurants. food is always great. since i was last at the restaurant, they completed some renovation - the place looks great.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Went to the all you can eat seafood night. Always a special tradition!

Tags: Cozy, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Amazing! Definitely a place to try for fine dining. Perfect date night out with your other half.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Spicy, Fit for Foodies, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Amazing as always!!! Sin of the Inn dessert is always fabulous!!!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 17, 2017

The seafood buffet was excellent - many choices that I wouldn't have tried otherwise. Mo is an excellent waitress.

Tags: Seasonal, Great for Lunch, Fireplace, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Great restaurant I have been coming since 2010, when a friend introduced me to this place. Classic ambiance. Wonderful food and selection. Good quality.

Tags: Special Occasion, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Fun, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Lake Elmo Inn is one of the premier restaurants in the Twin Cities. Top chefs prepare creative and delicious meals, beautifully presented and delivered to your table by some of the best wait staff you are likely to find anywhere. When you grow weary of the pretentious high-end restaurants in town, drive out to Lake Elmo Inn. It's like coming home.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The special was a shrimp/rice dish, which was nice but the shrimp were small and a little tough. I would not order this again. The Asian salad, however, was absolutely excellent. I would order a large salad next time and have it for my entree.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We have been frequent customers of this restaurant for seven years and never encountered this
lack of professionalism, poor food preparation and cocktail preparation as we did this evening. There were teenagers on the front reception desk and ones attitude was curt and sharp.
Food was room temperature and two baked potatoes were served, one to replace vegetable I
suppose. Worst experience at Lake Elmo Inn we have ever had!

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Our server, Bob, was attentive and helpful. Fillet and lobster was sensational!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.