About Lake Elmo Inn

3442 Lake Elmo Avenue North
Lake Elmo, MN 55042
View Larger Map

The Lake Elmo Inn offers award-winning American cuisine, and has been voted Best Restaurant, Best Service, Best Dessert, Best Brunch, and Twin Cities Institution locally by Minneapolis St. Paul Magazine 'Reader's Choice Awards'. Zagat scores the Lake Elmo Inn at a 28 out of 30 for food, calling us a "hidden secret". We also received Wine Spectator's Award of Excellence for our extensive wine list for twelve years in a row.
The Lake Elmo Inn has been chosen as one of the top 100 Brunches in the nation by Open Table. From shrimp cocktail, smoked salmon, double smoked ham, and carved rounds of beef, to eggs Benedict, Belgium waffles, mouthwatering salads, and fresh seasonal fruit, the Lake Elmo Inn serves a Sunday Brunch that is artfully prepared and elegantly presented.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Continental, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm; Sunday Brunch: 10:00am – 2:00pm, Sunday: 4:30pm - 8:30pm. Between 2:00pm-5:00pm

Cross Street:
Highway 5

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(651) 777-8495

Website:
http://www.lakeelmoinn.com/

Catering:
Corporate events, weddings, picnics, etc. Please contact our Event Center staff for more details. We cater local and around the Twin Cities.651-779-5994

Parking Details:
Public lots also available in the area.

Executive Chef:
John Schiltz

Private Party Facilities:
The Lake Elmo Inn has four dining rooms to offer private parties. Our Kohler room can accommodate groups up to 50 people. The Oak room holds up to 70 people and can be separated into a semi-private area for smaller group of 35 or less. Our event center holds 75-300 people, a wonderful place for a wedding, reunion, celebration of life, or corporate event. Please call Chris Schiltz 651.779.5994

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Lake Elmo Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Special Occasion
Minneapolis - St. Paul
Most Booked
Twin Cities / Eastern Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Lake Elmo ›

Special Occasion (122)
Good for Anniversaries (87)
Great for Brunch (83)
See All
Worth the Drive (76)
Romantic (74)
Good for Birthdays (70)
Neighborhood Gem (69)
Good for a Date (69)
Cozy (54)
Quiet Conversation (54)
Good for Groups (53)
Great for Lunch (48)
Historic (46)
Fit for Foodies (45)
Comfort Food (35)
Notable Wine List (33)
Sunday Lunch (33)
Business Meals (26)
Casual (23)
Authentic (21)
Local Ingredients (19)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Bar Seating (15)
Outstanding Value (14)
Seasonal (13)
Fun (12)
Tasting Menu (11)
Kid-friendly (11)
Healthy (11)
Disabled Access (11)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Fireplace (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Family Style (10)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Private Room (9)
Hot Spot (7)
Modern Decor (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Great Beer (4)
Scenic View (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
People Watching (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Tapas (1)
Vegan (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
2891 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Amazing food and service. Perfect!

 
·Dined 2 days ago

Amazing food and service. Perfect!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

As always th food was delicious! Thenjo ...

 
·Dined 2 days ago

As always th food was delicious! Thenjoy whole place is decked out for Xmas, setting a festive ambiance.

The staff is knowledgeable & attentive.

Great experience

Tags: Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always the best experience!! We could or ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Always the best experience!! We could order off the menu or enjoy the buffet- we loved every bite!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great as usual! had unexpected buffet ( ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Great as usual! had unexpected buffet (must be for holiday, extra days)

Tags: Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I have never had a bad meal at the Lake ...

 
·Dined 5 days ago

I have never had a bad meal at the Lake Elmo Inn, but I always feel slightly rushed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

LEI never disappoints. The staff are re ...

 
·Dined on November 27, 2016

LEI never disappoints. The staff are real pros. 3 of us had the grouper special and loved it.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

All staff were extremely attentive and p ...

 
·Dined on November 26, 2016

All staff were extremely attentive and pleasant. Food was absolutely fantastic! Best prime rib I have ever had. Great attention to the small details - palate cleaning sorbet, warm finger towel, chocolate covered strawberries at end of meal. Holiday decorations were beautiful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Before retiring and living in Puerto Ric ...

 
·Dined on November 26, 2016

Before retiring and living in Puerto Rico we used to come for our anniversary and Valentine Days. Great service, great food, excellent atmosphere. Love the salt/pepper shakers. We gave them one that we bought in Puerto Rico. Thank you

Tags: Historic, Authentic, Fun, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a special gathering with family ...

 
·Dined on November 26, 2016

This was a special gathering with family from out of state and we were very disappointed with, the food preparation as most of it was served cold, and in two cases, over cooked. The server failed to provide the heated butter for the seafood dinner until well into the meal, the baked potatoes were cold and the sorbet was too late in arriving to serve its purpose. After dinner coffee service did not include cream or sugar service and had to be asked for twice. Seemed the wait person was over burdened with too many tables to serve.

Tags: Business Meals, Seasonal, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

Second visit; food and service is great. ...

 
·Dined on November 20, 2016

Second visit; food and service is great. Not far from Minneapolis. Pricey Brunch but for an occasional special treat it's worth it or to impress visitors it's nice.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I reserved a table for 6 on line. I lef ...

 
·Dined on November 19, 2016

I reserved a table for 6 on line. I left a message that we were going to be celebrating my sisters 60th Birthday and That I would like a cozy seating. Someone called to confirm my reservations about 2-3 days prior to our dinner. I so appreciated this! Our experience with your restaurant was so fantastic, so memorable! The waitress was amazing!! She was kind, helpful and VERY efficient. Our 2 waiter assistants ( young men, early college or HS age) were so friendly and nice. The food was amazing, our booth by the FP was so perfect and cozy!! Thank you for making this a very memorable moment in all of our lives. We will definitely be back and we will give your establishment high and rave reviews to all of our friends and family. Thank you!

Tags: Fireplace, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Romantic, Historic, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Healthy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lake Elmo Inn never disappoints. It is ...

 
·Dined on November 18, 2016

Lake Elmo Inn never disappoints. It is our go-to restaurant for special occasions. The Tournadoes Bernaise is absolutely decadent and everything is cooked to perfection. Top it off with the 'Sin of the Inn' for dessert for a special treat.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Historic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Positive and great food. Atmosphere was ...

 
·Dined on November 16, 2016

Positive and great food. Atmosphere was quite warm and welcoming. Loved the salt and pepper shaker collections.

The desert menu was over the top delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The street work in front of the restaura ...

 
·Dined on November 14, 2016

The street work in front of the restaurant has had a real affect on the atmosphere - at least on the day/time of day we usually go there. This is unfortunate because the food is very good and the decor is very pleasant. Don't let this keep you from giving it a try - it's well worth it.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value5

My best friend and I always celebrate ou ...

 
·Dined on November 14, 2016

My best friend and I always celebrate our joint birthdays at Lake Elmo Inn and have NEVER had a bad time...and the champagne is always a nice touch. AND Jody was so exceptional in her sweet service which made the whole experience even better. I always take family and friends there on special occasion especially those who live out of town and they are always so pleased with the event...Keep up the good work....Shirley DeVinney

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is our favorite restaurant in the M ...

 
·Dined on November 13, 2016

This is our favorite restaurant in the Minneapolis - St. Paul area. We love the atmosphere and the food. They offer unique dinner selections and have a very good wine list. It is a fine dining restaurant and well worth the trip out to Lake Elmo.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was amazing. Beer was cold. And bei ...

 
·Dined on November 12, 2016

Food was amazing. Beer was cold. And being able to have a conversation with someone without yelling was good. Only problem I had was our waitress paid a lot more attention to the people who are older then my girlfriend and I. It took us almost 35 min to put in order in on our food while other couples who got sat down after us had drinks and food before we were even able to place our order.. Maybe that's how it always is? But I just got the feeling that it was because of my age and the waitress thinking she wasn't going to get a good tip.. but if your in no rush and want some amazing food and good atmosphere it's a great place to go. I'll give it another try.

Tags: Romantic, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

We were there Thurs for Browne Family Wi ...

 
·Dined on November 11, 2016

We were there Thurs for Browne Family Winery Wine Pairing Event-which was, typical of Elmo Inn's expertise w/wines, just outstanding. We go to to these whenever we can. Have been to other Wine Pairings in other places, and they pale by comparison.

Was there the following Friday evening, Happy Hour into Supper. Had the Chef's Tasting Menu - Libster Bisque, Pheasant, Hazelnut desert. Another fabulous dish! Elmo Inn's Chefs are The Best. And, the Inn's Front Bar Team cannot be beat. Lisa, Curtis, & John operate like a well oiled machine...it's so much fun to spend the evening with them.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Met 3 ladies for a birthday lunch and ha ...

 
·Dined on November 11, 2016

Met 3 ladies for a birthday lunch and had a fabulous lunch!! Our server was delightful and offered to take our picture for the occasion. We were offered a glass of (at no charge)champagne to celebrate as well. Three had sunnies and said they were great!! I had the pasta and prawns and they too were fantastic!

Lovely all the way around

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

WE ALL HAD THE DAILY SPECIAL, SUNNIS, S ...

 
·Dined on November 11, 2016

WE ALL HAD THE DAILY SPECIAL, SUNNIS, SUNNIES SUNNIES.

Tags: Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Fireplace, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Lake Elmo Inn never disappoints me. Too ...

 
·Dined on November 8, 2016

Lake Elmo Inn never disappoints me. Took my niece there for her birthday and we had their Tuesday buffet. Excellent food & service. Already have a reservation for another Tuesday buffet December 6th!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very enjoyable, we try to get to it for ...

 
·Dined on November 7, 2016

Very enjoyable, we try to get to it for special family occasions, birthdays especially

Tags: Fireplace, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The Lake Elmo Inn is unquestionably the ...

 
·Dined on November 7, 2016

The Lake Elmo Inn is unquestionably the best restaurant in Washington County. Its staff, menu, and quality are second to none in the area. It is definitely a restaurant I recommend to anyone who appreciates fine dining.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A good basic brunch is really hard to fi ...

 
·Dined on November 6, 2016

A good basic brunch is really hard to find these days. But the Lake Elmo Inn still knows how to do one. The hot menu is simple - pancakes or waffles, bacon and sausage, eggs benedict, a hot veggie, mashed potatoes, some sort of meat (short ribs when I went), and a cutting board with ham and roast beef. They don't do scrambled eggs, so they don't get rubbery, but they do made to order omelettes, with the order taken by your server. There's a good salad selection, smoked salmon and shrimp with a zesty cocktail sauce. And lots of desserts, both cold and not. Oh yeah, and a bottomless glass of champagne, all for $25.

It isn't going to win any culinary awards, but the food was fresh and tasty and I'll be going back. And don't for get to make a reservation. Even at 10:30 the place was jumping!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

This was my first experience. I'll defin ...

 
·Dined on November 6, 2016

This was my first experience. I'll definitely return and recommend.

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We understand why the Lake Elmo Inn is s ...

 
·Dined on November 6, 2016

We understand why the Lake Elmo Inn is such a well established, out standing, award winning restaurant. I'm not sure why we don't dine here more often. We need to make a point of going back often.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food, and service! Fabulous desser ...

 
·Dined on November 6, 2016

Great food, and service! Fabulous desserts!!

definitely will go back soon!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent meal selection with outstandin ...

 
·Dined on November 4, 2016

Excellent meal selection with outstanding service. Thanks to Teresa and all.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Disabled Access, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Expensive, but the food was very tasty. ...

 
·Dined on November 3, 2016

Expensive, but the food was very tasty. VERY nice atmosphere. Like the little sherbert cones.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Not the great food that used to come out ...

 
·Dined on November 2, 2016

Not the great food that used to come out of the kitchen.

Tags: Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Great local restaurant with traditional ...

 
·Dined on November 1, 2016

Great local restaurant with traditional American food. Always consistently good.

Not exotic but comfortable and excellent.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Historic, Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Special Occasion, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food. Great wait staff! You ...

 
·Dined on November 1, 2016

Excellent food. Great wait staff! You can talk at normal volumes instead of having to shout. Great ambiance. Overall good place to go.

Tags: Fun, Seasonal, Great for Brunch, Quick Bite, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

AS ALWAYS VERY GOOD, NEVER DISAPPOINTED! ...

 
·Dined on October 30, 2016

AS ALWAYS VERY GOOD, NEVER DISAPPOINTED!!

SERVER WAS AWESOME TOO!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The only thing that I did not find satis ...

 
·Dined on October 30, 2016

The only thing that I did not find satisfactory was the herbal tea selection. The only two available had spearmint and one was camomile. Neither worked for me so maybe offer more types and flavors. Thanks!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Sunday brunch at the Lake Elmo Inn is al ...

 
·Dined on October 30, 2016

Sunday brunch at the Lake Elmo Inn is always a treat!

Tags: Special Occasion, Healthy, Seasonal, Casual, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Except for the extremely rude hostess, I ...

 
·Dined on October 30, 2016

Except for the extremely rude hostess, I give this an A+.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We went there for Saturday breakfast. We ...

 
·Dined on October 29, 2016

We went there for Saturday breakfast. We had a reservation, but hostess check in process was slow, she either had problems with the software, or process convoluted. After waiting 15min, eventually were seated. Server seemed overwhelmed and disorganized. He apologized numerous times for not having time to wait on us, (this shouldn't be my problem), even though he only needed to bring us drinks.

This is a buffet filled with uninspired scrambled eggs and bacon/sausage. Save yourself the frustration, and go to a local cafe for a made to order meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

Service was great. Food was excellent. P ...

 
·Dined on October 28, 2016

Service was great. Food was excellent. Polite and caring wait staff

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food, excellent service, and loved ...

 
·Dined on October 28, 2016

Great food, excellent service, and loved the ambiance... what more could we want?

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was surprised at the food. It was disa ...

 
·Dined on October 26, 2016

I was surprised at the food. It was disappointing. As most of it was over cooked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.