About Lake Elmo Inn

3442 Lake Elmo Avenue North
Lake Elmo, MN 55042
View Larger Map

The Lake Elmo Inn offers award-winning American cuisine, and has been voted Best Restaurant, Best Service, Best Dessert, Best Brunch, and Twin Cities Institution locally by Minneapolis St. Paul Magazine 'Reader's Choice Awards'. Zagat scores the Lake Elmo Inn at a 28 out of 30 for food, calling us a "hidden secret". We also received Wine Spectator's Award of Excellence for our extensive wine list for twelve years in a row.
The Lake Elmo Inn has been chosen as one of the top 100 Brunches in the nation by Open Table. From shrimp cocktail, smoked salmon, double smoked ham, and carved rounds of beef, to eggs Benedict, Belgium waffles, mouthwatering salads, and fresh seasonal fruit, the Lake Elmo Inn serves a Sunday Brunch that is artfully prepared and elegantly presented.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Continental, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm; Sunday Brunch: 10:00am – 2:00pm, Sunday: 4:30pm - 8:30pm. Between 2:00pm-5:00pm

Cross Street:
Highway 5

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(651) 777-8495

Website:
http://www.lakeelmoinn.com/

Catering:
Corporate events, weddings, picnics, etc. Please contact our Event Center staff for more details. We cater local and around the Twin Cities.651-779-5994

Parking Details:
Public lots also available in the area.

Executive Chef:
John Schiltz

Private Party Facilities:
The Lake Elmo Inn has four dining rooms to offer private parties. Our Kohler room can accommodate groups up to 50 people. The Oak room holds up to 70 people and can be separated into a semi-private area for smaller group of 35 or less. Our event center holds 75-300 people, a wonderful place for a wedding, reunion, celebration of life, or corporate event. Please call Chris Schiltz 651.779.5994

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Senior Appreciation Day

Mondays from 11:00 AM - 9:00 PM

Wednesday Night Raw Bar

Wednesdays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Thursday Night Prime Rib Special

Thursdays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Friday Night Chef's Tasting Menu

Fridays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Specials

Senior Appreciation Day

Mondays from 11:00 AM - 9:00 PM

Details

Senior Appreciation 25% off entree (60+ years old). Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jun 15, 2016 - Oct 10, 2016 on Mondays from 11:00 AM - 9:00 PM.

Wednesday Night Raw Bar

Wednesdays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Details

Raw Bar - (1/2 price fresh oysters, shrimp cocktail & crab claws) *while supplies last. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jun 15, 2016 - Oct 12, 2016 on Wednesdays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM.

Thursday Night Prime Rib Special

Thursdays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Details

Prime Rib - slow roasted served with creamed horseradish and au jus for $21.95 *while supplies last. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jun 15, 2016 - Oct 13, 2016 on Thursdays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM.

Friday Night Chef's Tasting Menu

Fridays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Details

Includes a starter, entrée and dessert for $30.00. * Menus to change monthly. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jun 15, 2016 - Oct 14, 2016 on Fridays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM.

Lake Elmo Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Minneapolis - St. Paul
Best Food
Minneapolis - St. Paul
Best Value
Minneapolis - St. Paul
4 More
Great for Brunch
Minneapolis - St. Paul
Romantic
Minneapolis - St. Paul
Special Occasion
Minneapolis - St. Paul
Most Booked
Twin Cities / Eastern Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Lake Elmo ›

Special Occasion (181)
Great for Brunch (110)
Romantic (105)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (103)
Fit for Foodies (85)
Good for Groups (84)
Great for Lunch (76)
Notable Wine List (43)
Great for Outdoor Dining (36)
Kid-friendly (28)
Good for Anniversaries (23)
Worth the Drive (22)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Historic (15)
Good for a Date (13)
Hot Spot (10)
Cozy (10)
Casual (8)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Comfort Food (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Scenic View (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Healthy (4)
Business Meals (4)
Authentic (3)
Private Room (3)
Great Beer (3)
Fun (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Seasonal (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Family Style (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Fireplace (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2807 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I think Blah is a good descriptive to ap ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined 2 days ago

I think Blah is a good descriptive to apply to the host's attitude, the ambiance, the service and the food. What once was a good restaurant is now living off past performance. I felt we were being shuffled off to no man's land; I got to look at two tables covered with discarded bun crumbs and leftovers from the previous occupants. The watermelon bites were tasteless, the heirloom tomato caprese should be only seasonal due to mealy, not ripe tomatoes and the roasted duck was a let down. The best part of the meal was the wine and that was because it came from Willamette Valley, Oregon and not prepared there.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

We wanted a special place to celebrate m ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined 3 days ago

We wanted a special place to celebrate my father's106th birthday and a friend recommended Lake Elmo Inn. What a find! We now have a new favorite place. The food was excellent, the waitstaff very attentive and everyone made the evening vEry special, indeed. I will certainly recommend it to others!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Was absolutely wonderful, as usual.

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined 5 days ago

Was absolutely wonderful, as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The Lake Elmo Inn is our favorite restau ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined 5 days ago

The Lake Elmo Inn is our favorite restaurant. Everything is always perfect.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A special occasion restaurant for us. E ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

A special occasion restaurant for us. Exceptional service and very good food always . Chef prepared a special item not on menu ..... have highly recommended.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Enjoyed our dinner and look forward to t ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Enjoyed our dinner and look forward to the next time at the Inn.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Outstanding Value, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food as always. We had a wond ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Excellent food as always. We had a wonderful anniversary dinner.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always a five star experience!

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Always a five star experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We took some friends visiting from Orego ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

We took some friends visiting from Oregon for the Tuesday buffet. Everyone enjoyed the food, and service. The salads and desserts were terrific. My only complaint was that the beef stroganoff was short on sour cream. I shared that with our server.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Historic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was great! However, our waitr ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Everything was great! However, our waitress Judy made it even better. Great service and attitude.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Fireplace, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My wife's short rib special was very goo ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

My wife's short rib special was very good. Unfortunately I had a chewy ribeye. The server handled it well and the manager gave me my meal free of charge. I was impressed by their service and will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

We had another delicious meal and wonder ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

We had another delicious meal and wonderful service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value, Historic, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious upscale food. Great service wi ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

Delicious upscale food. Great service with a fine-dining atmosphere. I would definitely go back. Price was just over $100 for two meals, one app, one soup, one salad, and one glass of wine.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We went to the Tuesday Buffett. They wer ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

We went to the Tuesday Buffett. They were serving Fried Chicken and Broiled Tilapia that day. Both were excellent. The salad bar and dessert bar were also excellent. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Historic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Lake Elmo Inn has been our favorite "Spe ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Lake Elmo Inn has been our favorite "Special Dining Place" for years and we use it, especially for

important occasions. This evening was no different except the food was a bit "rushed" from the kitchen, i.e. broiled shrimp were still in the shells and the garlic was overdone. The walleye was not cooked to perfection as in the past. However our guests had the roast duck and it was superb. Special kudos to "Pam" our wait person. She was a delight for us!

Tags: Historic, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Sunday brunch! Delicious food and ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Great Sunday brunch! Delicious food and you get champagne and caramel rolls. Raspberry french toast was especially tasty.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was exceptionally good. They s ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

The food was exceptionally good. They seem to do everything well.

It would be nice to see a somewhat broader menu.

Very pleasant homey atmosphere.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Even with road construction happening, d ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Even with road construction happening, detours clearly marked and parking was not difficult. Food and Server great, we especially enjoyed the patio dining for lunch.

Tags: Business Meals, Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Lake Elmo Inn met all of our expecta ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

The Lake Elmo Inn met all of our expectations for a delicious, beautifully prepared meal in a relaxing pleasant setting.

We meet here every New Years EVE DAY for alagge lunch with drinks and visiting with our friends.

My wife and I went for a pleasant early dinner and had such a wonderful evening.

Monica did just an outstanding job in making sure we not only enjoyed our time but served us as a true professional and with care.

Eric stopped by and was always keeping track of the diners needs.

PS - I also got a great drink suggestion from the bar-A 1910 Penalton on the rocks!

Thanks to all!!!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food at the Lake Elmo Inn is always ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

The food at the Lake Elmo Inn is always fresh, tasty and plentiful. Prime rib was done to

perfection.

Tags: Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Went for a birthday celebration for two. ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

Went for a birthday celebration for two. Had the Halibut/risotto special ...outstanding!

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A great restaurant for special ocassions ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

A great restaurant for special ocassions . We celebrated our 53rd anniversary there as we have each year since it opened. Great upscale resturant

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The Sunday Brunch is excellent.

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

The Sunday Brunch is excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful brunch to celebrate anniversar ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Wonderful brunch to celebrate anniversaries and birthdays with my family.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was the perfect spot to spend our a ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

This was the perfect spot to spend our anniversary. The servers were attentive, but we never felt rushed. The food was extremely well prepared. The dessert menu was extensive. The space was not crowded, and included many thoughtful details. Would highly recommend starting with the Minnesota Wild Rice & Duck soup.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great place food is amazing service is b ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Great place food is amazing service is better dessert sin and the inn is the best I have ever had

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had the Chef's Tasting Menu (Pork Belly) ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Had the Chef's Tasting Menu (Pork Belly) - was awesome!

Bar Team (Curtis, John, Lisa) are great and will take good care of you.

Food is always creative and tasty. Have NEVER had a bad experience.

Am repeat customer.

Elmo Inn is my favorite place!

Tags: Disabled Access, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My cousins and I go on Monday - Senior A ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

My cousins and I go on Monday - Senior Appreciation Day- and joined the crowd. It's great value and we have actually gone on a day other than a Monday. I go for the duck breast which is excellent. We like to sit in the bar because it's less crowded. There's also a very nice enclosed patio/sunroom. The parking's a bit limited.

By the way - the dessert tray is outstanding!!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We celebrated our anniversary at the Lak ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

We celebrated our anniversary at the Lake Elmo Inn (something we've done before). The Inn is a great place for celebrating a special occasion like an anniversary. The food, service, setting, and complimentary glass of champagne are all great. And where else can you see a marvelous salt-and-pepper-shaker collection! We definitely will return.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Great place to enjoy celebrations with f ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Great place to enjoy celebrations with friends and family. Food and service is first class and we will be back soon.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was exquisite. Sunday champagne ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

The food was exquisite. Sunday champagne brunch is an excellent value for all you can eat buffet. Prime rib au jus was perfection. The desserts are a mini version of the fabulous desserts on the menu. Their chefs are amazing. Our group of 12 was thrilled with the seating in the indoor/outdoor glassed in area surrounded by flowers, a water feature and a summer breeze. We were seated at one long table with a white table cloth. Our busy 2 year old could run around and not disturb anyone. Highly recommended.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lake Elmo Inn is a local institution. T ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Lake Elmo Inn is a local institution. The food is delicious, service is excellent, staff is friendly and efficient---it is always a pleasure to be there.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous brunch on Sunday ! All you coul ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Fabulous brunch on Sunday ! All you could even imagine to eat was on the buffet line- one side board full of salads, cheese, salmon, fruit, rolls and dessert and the other side had eggs Benedict, French toast, bacon, sausage, rolls, vegetables, veal Parmesan, pasta, 2 kinds of sauce, prime rib and ham.

All served with all the champagne you wanted and a starter of warm caramel rolls Best brunch in town for sure!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It is always such a treat to come to the ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

It is always such a treat to come to the Lake Elmo Inn. We have never been disappointed. The waitress, Monica was fantastic. She recognized us immediately, even thought it has been awhile. We look so forward to going !

Tags: Private Room, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Great for Brunch, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, a very nice treat. Food was ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

As always, a very nice treat. Food was excellent.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Our server Jolene was excellent. We enjo ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Our server Jolene was excellent. We enjoyed the food . This restaurant is a classic and consistent dining experience.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our dining experience was again just not ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Our dining experience was again just not acceptable. We keep coming back with the hopes that the food and the value will improve and each time we are very disappointed. Our reservations were for 6:00 on a Saturday. The waitress suggested the prime rib as a feature for the evening. Our party of 3 said yes only to find out later that the prime rib was all gone. What "all gone" at 6:00. What a disappointment. We ordered from the menu. Prices were very very high and the quality was poor. This place is so over priced. We have learned our lesson and will never go back. There are just too many great restaurants in the Twin Cities to choose from.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Great ambience, wonderful service, uniq ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Great ambience, wonderful service, unique gem! Return frequently for special occasions.

Sound level is only mild problem.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Good food, nice atmosphere made for a v ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Good food, nice atmosphere made for a very enjoyable evening!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Unfortunately, our last visit found the ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Unfortunately, our last visit found the weather raining and the road repair requiring a more inconvenient parking regimen and longer walk to the restaurant. Nonetheless, the shrimp were superb but the duck was average. All else as we have otherwise experience at the Lake Elmo Inn.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.