About Lake Elmo Inn

3442 Lake Elmo Avenue North
Lake Elmo, MN 55042
View Larger Map

The Lake Elmo Inn offers award-winning American cuisine, and has been voted Best Restaurant, Best Service, Best Dessert, Best Brunch, and Twin Cities Institution locally by Minneapolis St. Paul Magazine 'Reader's Choice Awards'. Zagat scores the Lake Elmo Inn at a 28 out of 30 for food, calling us a "hidden secret". We also received Wine Spectator's Award of Excellence for our extensive wine list for twelve years in a row.
The Lake Elmo Inn has been chosen as one of the top 100 Brunches in the nation by Open Table. From shrimp cocktail, smoked salmon, double smoked ham, and carved rounds of beef, to eggs Benedict, Belgium waffles, mouthwatering salads, and fresh seasonal fruit, the Lake Elmo Inn serves a Sunday Brunch that is artfully prepared and elegantly presented.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Continental, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm; Sunday Brunch: 10:00am – 2:00pm, Sunday: 4:30pm - 8:30pm. Between 2:00pm-5:00pm

Cross Street:
Highway 5

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(651) 777-8495

Website:
http://www.lakeelmoinn.com/

Catering:
Corporate events, weddings, picnics, etc. Please contact our Event Center staff for more details. We cater local and around the Twin Cities.651-779-5994

Parking Details:
Public lots also available in the area.

Executive Chef:
John Schiltz

Private Party Facilities:
The Lake Elmo Inn has four dining rooms to offer private parties. Our Kohler room can accommodate groups up to 50 people. The Oak room holds up to 70 people and can be separated into a semi-private area for smaller group of 35 or less. Our event center holds 75-300 people, a wonderful place for a wedding, reunion, celebration of life, or corporate event. Please call Chris Schiltz 651.779.5994

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Promotions

Senior Appreciation Day

Mondays from 11:00 AM - 9:00 PM

Wednesday Night Raw Bar

Wednesdays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Thursday Night Prime Rib Special

Thursdays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Friday Night Chef's Tasting Menu

Fridays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Promotions

Senior Appreciation Day

Mondays from 11:00 AM - 9:00 PM

Details
Senior Appreciation 25% off entree (60+ years old). Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jun 15, 2016 - Oct 10, 2016 on Mondays from 11:00 AM - 9:00 PM.
Wednesday Night Raw Bar

Wednesdays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Details
Raw Bar - (1/2 price fresh oysters, shrimp cocktail & crab claws) *while supplies last. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jun 15, 2016 - Oct 12, 2016 on Wednesdays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM.
Thursday Night Prime Rib Special

Thursdays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Details
Prime Rib - slow roasted served with creamed horseradish and au jus for $21.95 *while supplies last. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jun 15, 2016 - Oct 13, 2016 on Thursdays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM.
Friday Night Chef's Tasting Menu

Fridays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Details
Includes a starter, entrée and dessert for $30.00. * Menus to change monthly. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jun 15, 2016 - Oct 14, 2016 on Fridays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM.

Lake Elmo Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
Minneapolis - St. Paul
Special Occasion
Minneapolis - St. Paul
Most Booked
Twin Cities / Eastern Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Lake Elmo ›

special occasion (195)
great for brunch (125)
neighborhood gem (118)
See All
romantic (96)
good for groups (94)
fit for foodies (82)
great for lunch (76)
notable wine list (50)
kid-friendly (22)
great for outdoor dining (19)
hot spot (8)
late-night find (7)
scenic view (5)
vibrant bar scene (4)
Sort By:
Newest
2704 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food and service is second to none. ...

Dined 3 days ago

The food and service is second to none. You won't find a more friendly atmosphere than the Inn.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

It was good but it was cold. Turn the A ...

Dined 4 days ago

It was good but it was cold. Turn the A/C down!! Many of us had jackets on. I tell you this everytime I give a review.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a wonderful evening!! We had the be ...

Dined 5 days ago

Had a wonderful evening!! We had the best Waitress, the food was perfect!!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We have dined at Lake Elmo Inn on severa ...

Dined 5 days ago

We have dined at Lake Elmo Inn on several occasions over the years. We prefer the Inn to most any other restaurant within a 30 minute drive from home. We chose to dine there for casual date nights or special occasions. Lunches with a small group are also very nice. The menu is always reliably interesting and the entrees and desserts are delicious.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lake Elmo Inn is our favorite restaurant ...

Dined 7 days ago

Lake Elmo Inn is our favorite restaurant in the Twin Cities area.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience1
service1
value2

Some co-workers got together for a speci ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

Some co-workers got together for a special celebratory lunch. Not realizing how hot it would be we agreed to be seated in the glassed in area. It was so hot, you could open a container of butter and pour it on the bread. One person had the shrimp and prongs and picked out 5 whole garlic gloves. That is a bit much even by garlic lovers standards. The blackened prime rib was flavorless. Two people had walleye and said it was good. The other had ribs and they were good too.

food5
ambience5
service5

Always great as prior visits! Definitely ...

vip
Dined on June 19, 2016

Always great as prior visits! Definitely recommend the steaks, otherwise you cannot go wrong with the shrimp pasta l, even the chicken!

food5
ambience3
service5
value3

it is a special place. our wait staff v ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

it is a special place. our wait staff very friendly and great service. Highly recommend to all.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We went to Lake Elmo Inn for the Father' ...

vip
Dined on June 19, 2016

We went to Lake Elmo Inn for the Father's Day Brunch. There was quite a crowd but the staff was attentive and constantly renewed, when items were getting low. They was quite a nice choice of alternatives, especially the desserts

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We visit Lake Inn about 4 times a year ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

We visit Lake Inn about 4 times a year for birthdays, Christmas, anniversary and we have never been disappointed. The atmosphere is wonderful and we always have wonderful service and the food is fabulous.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We had a great experience. Coming in kno ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

We had a great experience. Coming in knowing it was Father's Day we expected it to be super busy which it was. The lines for the Brunch Buffet seemed quite long and in the way of patrons waiting to be sat. Our server was on top of drink refills, ect.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

The food is good although the duck wasnt ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

The food is good although the duck wasnt cooked consistently. The red haired waitress thats helped us before treats us like we dont belong there and isnt very friendly. I would recommend this place to a friend because the food and atmosphere is good enough to have return trips.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great time celebrating Fathers Day. The ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Great time celebrating Fathers Day. The only good issue was the duck was quite dry. The rest of the buffet was outstanding!

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was quite good and enjoyed the swan ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Food was quite good and enjoyed the swan wrap for leftovers.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious food with an incredible wine l ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Delicious food with an incredible wine list ! Highly recommend!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Lake Elmo Inn is our family favorite for ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Lake Elmo Inn is our family favorite for special events. We've celebrated many birthdays and anniversaries here. The food and service are second to none.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

My husband and I went out for a date nig ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

My husband and I went out for a date night which is always a rare moment when you have little ones. The service was amazing! The wine paired very nicely with the food. Both of our entrées came out cold :( but the flavor was still amazing. Overall it was a great experience, we would give lake Elmo another shot again with the food.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

We usually leave the Lake Elmo Inn very ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

We usually leave the Lake Elmo Inn very happy with our meals and service. Our last visit wasn't great. The Prime Rib is usually delicious but this time was aweful! The Lobster was overcooked and the wild rice was undercooked.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We're really 'Old Timers', but the visit ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

We're really 'Old Timers', but the visit on the 16th was a gift from our children in Honor of our 62nd Anniversary. Quite Honestly we can't stop talking about our GREAT Evening! You sure made it SPECIAL for us. Naturally we have been to quite a few upscale Restaurants in our day, but if you hadn't sent us this inquiry I would be writing this to you anyway! THANKS Again for making our evening special. I know you made our Kids Happy too for picking the RIGHT Place for Mom and Dad!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

John, Eric and their staff do an amazing ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

John, Eric and their staff do an amazing job. You won't be disappointed.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food, great service. Our favo ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

Wonderful food, great service. Our favorite restaurant in this area.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

I am always hesitant about buffets and a ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

I am always hesitant about buffets and as I expected hot food not hot. I hate my food cold! Omelette was hot. That was good surprised they charged for coffee

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a perfect dining experience. We ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

It was a perfect dining experience. We were celebrating our birthdays and 16th wedding anniversary. We can't wait to return.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food!

Dined on June 10, 2016

Our service was awesome as well as the food. We were celebrating our 27th Anniversary.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Experience

Dined on June 7, 2016

First time in many years my wife and I experienced a palate cleanser (sorbet - in the cutest little cone we've ever seen!) Food & desert were "10's"

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best brunch we have ever had. Fresh ingr ...

Dined on June 5, 2016

Best brunch we have ever had. Fresh ingredients of the highest order. Friendly staff.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love coming here! Each time we come ...

Dined on June 5, 2016

We love coming here! Each time we come the food is always over the top delicious! My mother gets us a gift card every Christmas and it is the best gift we receive from her!

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sunday Brunch is a family favorite.

Dined on June 5, 2016

Our family has been enjoying the Sunday Brunches for years now, this last visit did not disappoint! It is a great opportunity for the younger family members to try new foods that they may not pick off a menu otherwise. Love the Lake Elmo Inn!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

"Our Inn" is always our special place fo ...

Dined on June 5, 2016

"Our Inn" is always our special place for occasions to celebrate. Always terrific and is a gastronomic event not just a meal. Stay away so we can get seated :-).

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always great service and food.

Dined on June 3, 2016

Ordered flowers for anniversary and they were on the table when we arrived.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always A Wonderful experience

Dined on May 31, 2016

We were out of state for several months and couldn't wait to get back to Lake Elmo Inn. It's definitely our favorite!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Food, Service and Value Again

Dined on May 29, 2016

We went for brunch, and as always, the food was excellent. The only concern I had was that their beef, usually fantastic, wasn't quite the same this time around, unlike all the previous times I have been there. The service was excellent, well above average for a restaurant of their caliber.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

First time

Dined on May 28, 2016

I didn't know what to expect, but wife said that she had been there for brunch and it was great, but we coming for dinner. To my surprise it was a great time with excellent food. The service was great and they paid attention to detail as knowing when to check on the table. The waitress had it timed great. I truly enjoyed the food and service. The portions was large, we brought home food for the next day. What a treat!!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Dining

Dined on May 28, 2016

Took the children there to celebrate graduation. We all enjoyed the food and service. We dined from 5:00 to 6:30pm. The noise was getting a little loud when we departed.

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good lobster!

Dined on May 27, 2016

Lobster was good and bigger then usual. French fries were cold. Thermostat should have been turned up. People had jackets on.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Cleo48

Dined on May 23, 2016

Probably first dined here in 1956. I'm that old. I was 7 years old. I remember the little bottle shop in the front entry. There is nothing not to like. This place is a Washington county treasure. Patronize it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lake Elmo Inn

Dined on May 22, 2016

The food was very good and the atmosphere was great. It was quiet so we could talk. Very nice.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

Lunch with a friend

Dined on May 20, 2016

Last few lunches here were not up to par. Seems strange they bring a bread basket when everyone is ordering burgers..... Had a wonderful meal this week at their event center however!

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was okay.

Dined on May 19, 2016

We visit at least once a month for the prime rib. This visit it was room temp at best.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good spot for long conversations

Dined on May 18, 2016

Am used to going to lunch on Tues - Buffet day. It is really busy and more noisy. Was quiet and very pleasant - easy to talk to friends and they did not hassle us about leaving. Sat for 2 1/2 hours just enjoying life. Food was very good too. Have never had bad food here.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.