Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 2.14mi
  2. Distance: 2.84mi
  3. Distance: 3.70mi
  4. Distance: 4.49mi
  1. Distance: 2.14mi
  2. Distance: 2.84mi
  3. Distance: 3.70mi
  4. Distance: 4.49mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 2.14mi
  2. Distance: 2.84mi
  3. Distance: 3.70mi
  4. Distance: 4.49mi
  1. Distance: 2.14mi
  2. Distance: 2.84mi
  3. Distance: 3.70mi
  4. Distance: 4.49mi

About Lake Elmo Inn

The Lake Elmo Inn offers award-winning American cuisine, and has been voted Best Restaurant, Best Service, Best Dessert, Best Brunch, and Twin Cities Institution locally by Minneapolis St. Paul Magazine 'Reader's Choice Awards'. Zagat scores the Lake Elmo Inn at a 28 out of 30 for food, calling us a "hidden secret". We also received Wine Spectator's Award of Excellence for our extensive wine list for twelve years in a row.
The Lake Elmo Inn has been chosen as one of the top 100 Brunches in the nation by Open Table. From shrimp cocktail, smoked salmon, double smoked ham, and carved rounds of beef, to eggs Benedict, Belgium waffles, mouthwatering salads, and fresh seasonal fruit, the Lake Elmo Inn serves a Sunday Brunch that is artfully prepared and elegantly presented.

3442 Lake Elmo Avenue North
Lake Elmo, MN 55042
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Continental, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm; Sunday Brunch: 10:00am – 2:00pm, Sunday: 4:30pm - 8:30pm. Between 2:00pm-5:00pm

Cross Street:
Highway 5

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(651) 777-8495

Website:
http://www.lakeelmoinn.com/

Catering:
Corporate events, weddings, picnics, etc. Please contact our Event Center staff for more details. We cater local and around the Twin Cities.651-779-5994

Parking Details:
Public lots also available in the area.

Executive Chef:
John Schiltz

Private Party Facilities:
The Lake Elmo Inn has four dining rooms to offer private parties. Our Kohler room can accommodate groups up to 50 people. The Oak room holds up to 70 people and can be separated into a semi-private area for smaller group of 35 or less. Our event center holds 75-300 people, a wonderful place for a wedding, reunion, celebration of life, or corporate event. Please call Chris Schiltz 651.779.5994

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Lake Elmo Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (100)
Good for Anniversaries (79)
Good for Birthdays (68)
See All
Worth the Drive (66)
Good for a Date (63)
Great for Brunch (61)
Romantic (60)
Neighborhood Gem (54)
Quiet Conversation (54)
Good for Groups (48)
Great for Lunch (43)
Cozy (41)
Sunday Lunch (38)
Fit for Foodies (37)
Notable Wine List (33)
Business Meals (32)
Authentic (31)
Creative Cuisine (27)
Comfort Food (26)
Casual (25)
Fun (20)
Handcrafted Cocktails (18)
Historic (17)
Local Ingredients (14)
Pre/post Theatre (14)
Bar Seating (14)
Great for Outdoor Dining (13)
Tasting Menu (13)
Gluten Free Options (13)
Seasonal (12)
Great Beer (7)
Afternoon Coffee (7)
Disabled Access (6)
Private Room (6)
Family Style (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Fireplace (3)
Organic (3)
Modern Decor (3)
People Watching (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Vegan (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Scenic View (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
3343 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 2 days ago

love lake Elmo inn...Sunday champagne brunch has always been my favorite ! love the specials every week ! sitting at the bar is always a fun experience too . but seating is great anywhere you sit.outside is always an option.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 2 days ago

Food was the usual fantastic quality that has made this the go to place for my anniversary celebration for many years. I'll be back for your Sunfish dinner soon.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value3

 
·Dined 3 days ago

We love it and will continue to enjoy the food and service

Tags: Cozy, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 3 days ago

I always enjoy the Lake Elmo Inn. Only complaint - the place is quiet/ empty and they seat another party right next to you!😲 Find this very annoying, intrusive and rude. Not just a LEI issue, but restaurants in general.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Afternoon Coffee, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 5 days ago

We have been to Lake Elmo Inn several times and every time it was excellent.
It is our go to place for special occasions . I had the Sunnies, my friend had the walleye and our
spouses had burgers. We all enjoyed our food.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 6 days ago

Been to the Lake Elmo Inn many times. Everything was very good except for the halibut special I had. It was a bit undercooked. It was a fairly thick fillet but the center appeared to be not cooked long enough to lose the raw fish look and texture, and it was not very warm. Otherwise, everything else was fine. My wife had shrimp and it was very good as well. The Sin of the Inn dessert is just great! We'll be going back again but next time I'll have their pork chops.

Tags: Business Meals, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Great Beer, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 7 days ago

Surf and Turf Tuesday!!! Awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 15, 2017

I always enjoy Lake Elmo Inn. We went out for my husband's birthday and brought our 11-year-old son with. My son loved the Cajun pork chop! My husband ordered the whole hog and I had the halibut special and both were delicious. Everything was wonderful from the wine, to the lemon sorbet to cleanse our pallets to the final chocolate covered strawberries.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 15, 2017

The food has never let us down...FANTASTIC. The service is amazing! I have been going there for 25 years and have never been disappointed in any aspect.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Great Beer, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 13, 2017

The food was very good. My salmon was cooked perfectly with a delicious sauce. Our server was very pleasant and efficient.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 12, 2017

We were there celebrating a birthday. The entire staff at Lake Elmo Inn was excellent. Food was awesome as usual. Deserts are worth saving room for. We'll definitely be back.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 10, 2017

We met to celebrate a retirement and had a wonderful time. Great service and congenial too! We had a special giant chocolate chip cookie made for desert with writing on it and it was a smash hit. Great job on the cookie! Our waiter was a young man working summers and going to school for Accounting. He was very funny and gave us just the right amount of attention. We all ended up with a variety of salads and everyone loved their order. I highly recommend the Berry Berry salad! The street repairs out front are done now and it was easy to get to the Inn. This one of my favorite places to go or to use as take out! Jackie

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Great Beer, Spicy, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Best Sunday brunch in the entire Twin Cities area!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Our perennial favorite because the food is excellent, there is something for everyone, and so many options. We really liked the free valet parking option as well.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 9, 2017

The brunch is not worth $26 if you don't eat excessively or drink a lot of champagne. Food quality has gone done over the past few years. Save your money and go for dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 8, 2017

My steak was delicious. But my potatoes were the special of the night but one of them was under cooked.

Service was fine but she forgot to ask if it was a special occasion, it was our 30th wedding anniversary.

We have been here numerous times,
I always order the chocolate mousse for dessert. This time it was terrible, I do not think it was fresh. It will be awhile before we go back. I was dissatisfied this time.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 7, 2017

I don't go to restaurants often. I wanted to take my girl friend on a fancy date, and The Lake Elmo Inn was by far the closest location wise. We got in and were sat quickly, and they let us sit where we requested-outside. Many meal choices, exceptional pacing, and although my date and I were quite young, we were well respected by the staff. Great time, will go again.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Lake Elmo Inn remains a favorite! great staff, great food, and they make every meal feel special

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 6, 2017

This place never disappoints...always wonderful! We have been enjoying the Inn for years. Also one of our first choices to take guests when they visit. Top notch food and service!

Tags: Bar Seating, Casual, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 28, 2017

The food and service were outstanding just as it always is.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic, Authentic, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 27, 2017

A little disappointed on the table location. Did ask for quite booth just Kidde corner. Was reserved - nobody came to use it until 2 hours later.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 26, 2017

Lake Elmo Inn on a Monday night was fairly empty. Even so, we felt the service was a bit uneven. I felt like they may have been short on wait staff. The food was good but not great. We received nothing special, although we told them we were celebrating our 57th anniversary.

However, we enjoyed our evening and still feel this is a special place to dine.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 26, 2017

Everything was great. Great service and food. We will come back.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 26, 2017

Food good,how ever prices have gone up significantly , so won't be coming back as often!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 26, 2017

We have been going to the Lake Elmo Inn for many years now. It is our 'go to' anniversary spot!
We have been there for many other occasions as well. The food, service and ambiance are second to none! It is well worth the drive if you are not from the east metro. I'm lucky, I only live a few miles from my favorite restaurant!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 25, 2017

We attended the Sunday brunch and it was superb. The chicken was delicious as well as the vegetables. There were so many different salads to eat it could be a meal in itself, not to mention all the breakfast items as well. Save room for desserts, many choices, best in the valley! We'll be back soon.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Great service, better food!

Tags: Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 24, 2017

We have been going to the Lake Elmo Inn for years and I order the Cajun Pork Chop 50% of the time because it is always very moist and not dry. This time however it was very dry. Keep in mind we will be back. From one business owner to another I thought I would let you know.

Thank You!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 23, 2017

My shrimp were so tough I had to ask for a steak knife. Very disappointing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 22, 2017

We were there for a nice dinner to celebrate my wife's birthday. The restaurant was very nice and clean. All of the staff was extremely friendly. And the good was awesome!
Great restaurant!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Have always had a good meal here. Was looking forward to the Oriental salad which was not on your menu this time. Did not like the ginger salad as well. But heard that you relook at menu every six months, so hope that item comes back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Always fabulous and a very pleasant surprise that Monday nights is a 25% off your food for anyone over 60. Well worth it!!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Des Moines)·Dined on June 18, 2017

No one. NO ONE understands a special dining out experience more than the Lake Elmo Inn. It's so worth the trip from wherever you are. I don't get there as much as I should, but it never ever disappoints. Come early and sit at the bar for a bump. Professional and knowledgeable wait staff. HUGE menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 17, 2017

It was great, one of my favorite restaurants! Would go every weekend!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Awesome as always!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Always great. Fun to go to for special occasions. We will come back again and again.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on June 14, 2017

All foods were fresh tasting. My risotto was just perfect. I'd drive those 100 miles again for that dish. Jerry

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Lake Elmo Inn is our favorite restaurant in the east metro area. Food, service, ambience are all excellent.

Tags: Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 14, 2017

We have had occasion to be there a few times in the last year to celebrate special events.
Always good food and great friendly service.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Great as usual! Good food selection and tasty tasty tasty!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.