Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 2.14mi
  2. Distance: 2.84mi
  3. Distance: 3.70mi
  4. Distance: 4.49mi
  1. Distance: 2.14mi
  2. Distance: 2.84mi
  3. Distance: 3.70mi
  4. Distance: 4.49mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 2.14mi
  2. Distance: 2.84mi
  3. Distance: 3.70mi
  4. Distance: 4.49mi
  1. Distance: 2.14mi
  2. Distance: 2.84mi
  3. Distance: 3.70mi
  4. Distance: 4.49mi

About Lake Elmo Inn

The Lake Elmo Inn offers award-winning American cuisine, and has been voted Best Restaurant, Best Service, Best Dessert, Best Brunch, and Twin Cities Institution locally by Minneapolis St. Paul Magazine 'Reader's Choice Awards'. Zagat scores the Lake Elmo Inn at a 28 out of 30 for food, calling us a "hidden secret". We also received Wine Spectator's Award of Excellence for our extensive wine list for twelve years in a row.
The Lake Elmo Inn has been chosen as one of the top 100 Brunches in the nation by Open Table. From shrimp cocktail, smoked salmon, double smoked ham, and carved rounds of beef, to eggs Benedict, Belgium waffles, mouthwatering salads, and fresh seasonal fruit, the Lake Elmo Inn serves a Sunday Brunch that is artfully prepared and elegantly presented.

3442 Lake Elmo Avenue North
Lake Elmo, MN 55042
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Continental, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm; Sunday Brunch: 10:00am – 2:00pm, Sunday: 4:30pm - 8:30pm. Between 2:00pm-5:00pm

Cross Street:
Highway 5

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(651) 777-8495

Website:
http://www.lakeelmoinn.com/

Catering:
Corporate events, weddings, picnics, etc. Please contact our Event Center staff for more details. We cater local and around the Twin Cities.651-779-5994

Parking Details:
Public lots also available in the area.

Executive Chef:
John Schiltz

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Lake Elmo Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.5

noise

Quiet

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (97)
Good for Anniversaries (92)
Good for a Date (71)
See All
Good for Birthdays (70)
Worth the Drive (69)
Romantic (61)
Quiet Conversation (59)
Great for Brunch (58)
Neighborhood Gem (57)
Great for Lunch (48)
Good for Groups (47)
Cozy (40)
Authentic (34)
Fit for Foodies (34)
Casual (33)
Creative Cuisine (33)
Sunday Lunch (32)
Comfort Food (29)
Business Meals (28)
Fun (23)
Great for Outdoor Dining (20)
Local Ingredients (17)
Notable Wine List (17)
Bar Seating (16)
Handcrafted Cocktails (15)
Healthy (12)
Seasonal (12)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Tasting Menu (11)
Gluten Free Options (8)
People Watching (6)
Kid-friendly (6)
Afternoon Coffee (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Great Beer (4)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Organic (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Scenic View (2)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
3423 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 2 days ago

Excellent as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 2 days ago

It doesn't get any better, Lake Elmo Inn is the best!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent service, food and ambiance. We eat here 6-8 times per year and have never been disappointed.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent service and food. It is one of our go to places. Always excellent.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 3 days ago

We had an anniversary dinner for our family of 8. Excellent service and food was great. The sorbet palate cleanser was a surprise for our teenage grandsons. New experience. Complimentary champagne for the 2 wedding anniversaries was special. Sin of the Inn desert is sinful..Too good..Thank you for a great evening.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Lake Elmo Inn never disappoints us. The food is delicious and the service is excellent. We like to dine in the small room to the right as you enter. We like the fireplace and it is not overly air conditioned like the rest of the restaurant.

Tags: Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Afternoon Coffee, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 4 days ago

Lake Elmo Inn is a great place to go for lunch or dinner and especially their gorgeous Sunday brunch buffet. It is usually not so noisy that conversation among dining companions is not difficult to hear. Our server was more than willing to answer any questions about menu items and service was professional and prompt.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 5 days ago

My husband and almost 2 year old had a wonderful dinner on Thursday September 21st! The service was amazing! My husband ordered the filet mignon with blue cheese and it was so juicy and seasoned perfect! I had the risotto with sea scallops and was ok. We both had the sin of the Inn for dessert and it was delicious. I wish we had only order one as its very rich so after a few bites I was done! The mac and cheese for our daughter was also very good! We will definitely be back! Service was amazing!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 6 days ago

Berry Salad and Lobster Mac & Cheese was excellent. Also, the scallop risotto and the Elmo salad were very good. Note: Elmo salad is big enough to be a meal or to be shared by two.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 7 days ago

The Lake Emo Inn is one of our favorite restaurants. The food is always very good. The service is always outstanding. It is a very special place.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Quaint spot and a wonderful Sunday brunch, we'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Celebrated our 5th wedding anniversary, and could not be happier with the food, service, and ambiance. Everyone is always so friendly and helpful.

The menu has all of the classic dishes that they are known for, but the tasting menu and daily specials give you many other options to branch out.

Lake Elmo Inn remains at the top of our favorites list.

Tags: Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 11, 2017

A very friendly staff across the board. Food and wait staff was excellent. We were with another couple celebrating 50 year wedding anniversary. It was fun!

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 9, 2017

The food was absolutely fantastic and service was perfectly timed. It was an active, but relaxed atmosphere and we enjoyed our anniversary dinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

I've been dining at the Inn for almost forty years and it remains my all time favorite restaurant. The prime rib is what all dinners search for, it's consistently divign.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 9, 2017

I have several food allergies. Scott, the chef, was wonderfully accommodating and ensured that I had a safe and delicious meal. Our server, Jessica D, cheerfully took all questions back to the kitchen to confirm whether I could or could not eat any menu items that I had not discusssed with Scott. Everyone was professional, courteous, and friendly. Thank you for a lovely evening.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 9, 2017

This was the second occasion we dined at the Lake Elmo Inn. We love the staff, food, and the owner was friendly. First rate operation. We will be going back. Great alternative to downtown Minneapolis. You could leave your keys in the car!

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

I first went to Lake Elmo Inn with some of my church friends and I liked the food, the service and the place in general. I thought it will be a great place to bring my husband. The environment was cozy, light music, and the service was fantastic. Not much noise. Could hear ourselves talking; the food was good except for the potato salad I ordered that was very heavy. We liked the experience and we will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 7, 2017

Great 1st experience. Great food and wonderful, genuine service

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Best prime rib! Thursday night special with mixed veggies and Yukon smashed potatoes

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Excellent restaurant to take the next generation to, learning dining etiquette !

Tags: Fun, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 7, 2017

Excellent food, quiet atmosphere, easy to visit. Complimentary champagne for all (Birthday), and most enjoyable time. Service pretty good, a bit slow to get the check, but no problem.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 7, 2017

On our recent visit things were ok but not at the level i expect from the Lake Elmo Inn

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
·Dined on September 6, 2017

We had a great time for our anniversary. Lake Elmo is 100% reliable for great service and great dinners. Thank you, we'll be back.

Chuck Alfonso

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Special Occasion, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 5, 2017

Elmo Inn is a great place to go for any occasion. Service is great and very accommodating. The outdoor room is beautiful. Food is delicious. Sunday brunch is the best. Love to dine there any chance I get.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 3, 2017

The service was excellent. The food was superb. The extra touches like complimentary champagne for our anniversary, the warm cloths for cleaning hands and face, the amazing choices for desserts, and the chocolate covered strawberry for after the meal

Tags: Organic, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

I made reservations for 10, for a 50th birthday party. No problems, we were seated quickly, our table was ready, our waitress "Sue" was excellent, which set the expectations for very nice dinner.
We are already planning our next family reservations, and we will definitely ask for Sue to be our waitress again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

Always a good place for a special occasion. Food is amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Always fabulous food and service to match. Don't skip dessert.

Tags: Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 29, 2017

Fabulous Food! Great service! Our waitress got a little busy with a couple big groups she had, so the Hostess there took over and did a great job!! Thank you Monica! Of course the food is exceptional, as always!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 28, 2017

They never fail to provide delicious food with 5 star service! There were 8 of us and everyone raved about the perfection of their steaks and Vickie was perfectly attentive.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 27, 2017

This was for my mom's birthday, and it didn't disappoint! It was very quiet on a Sunday at 5:15 pm, but we could all hear each other, and were able to enjoy being together as a family. The complimentary glass of champagne was lovely, and the sorbet intermezzo, fresh bread, warm towels, and chocolate-covered strawberries add such a special touch to the evening.

Tags: Comfort Food, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 27, 2017

I have a friend who has allergies and when we went for dinner it was amazing! The server, the food and a over all 5 star review however we went again for Sunday Brunch and were rather disappointed, still a 4 star but the catering to allergies and the glass filling service and the line to get food takes a star away.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 27, 2017

The service and food were excellent! We had a salmon and a duck enter; both were prepared the way we wanted. There were some interesting surprises added to the meal and service that made the experience special.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Everything was wonderful. The prime ribs was great we had people here from Iowa they were very impressed...

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Very disappointing. I used to think of their food as well above average, but we had everyday Applebee type good, watered down drinks, and poor service. No longer on my go to list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Great atmosphere. Very attentive service, and wonderful food. Outstanding place for any occasion but absolutely perfect for a special occasion!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Elegant neighborhood gem with fine dining of many delicious unique entrees. Great restaurant for a special occasion/ romantic date. Easy, stress free drive and parking unlike going to some "high class restaurant" downtown.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Food was great as ever; service was quite slow. Our entrees arrived 55 minutes after we were seated. They seemed short of wait staff.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
·Dined on August 23, 2017

Since I don't live in the area, it was wonderful to visit a fine dining venue. My friends that I met there for a get together lunch do live nearby. The service was wonderful, the food excellent and the hospitality were spot on. I won't wait so long to come back even though it is a drive. Cheers!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Late-night Find, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Afternoon Coffee, Quick Bite, Authentic, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.