About Lake Elmo Inn

3442 Lake Elmo Avenue North
Lake Elmo, MN 55042
View Larger Map

The Lake Elmo Inn offers award-winning American cuisine, and has been voted Best Restaurant, Best Service, Best Dessert, Best Brunch, and Twin Cities Institution locally by Minneapolis St. Paul Magazine 'Reader's Choice Awards'. Zagat scores the Lake Elmo Inn at a 28 out of 30 for food, calling us a "hidden secret". We also received Wine Spectator's Award of Excellence for our extensive wine list for twelve years in a row.
The Lake Elmo Inn has been chosen as one of the top 100 Brunches in the nation by Open Table. From shrimp cocktail, smoked salmon, double smoked ham, and carved rounds of beef, to eggs Benedict, Belgium waffles, mouthwatering salads, and fresh seasonal fruit, the Lake Elmo Inn serves a Sunday Brunch that is artfully prepared and elegantly presented.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Continental, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm; Sunday Brunch: 10:00am – 2:00pm, Sunday: 4:30pm - 8:30pm. Between 2:00pm-5:00pm

Cross Street:
Highway 5

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(651) 777-8495

Website:
http://www.lakeelmoinn.com/

Catering:
Corporate events, weddings, picnics, etc. Please contact our Event Center staff for more details. We cater local and around the Twin Cities.651-779-5994

Parking Details:
Public lots also available in the area.

Executive Chef:
John Schiltz

Private Party Facilities:
The Lake Elmo Inn has four dining rooms to offer private parties. Our Kohler room can accommodate groups up to 50 people. The Oak room holds up to 70 people and can be separated into a semi-private area for smaller group of 35 or less. Our event center holds 75-300 people, a wonderful place for a wedding, reunion, celebration of life, or corporate event. Please call Chris Schiltz 651.779.5994

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Promotions

Senior Appreciation Day

Mondays from 11:00 AM - 9:00 PM

Wednesday Night Raw Bar

Wednesdays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Thursday Night Prime Rib Special

Thursdays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Friday Night Chef's Tasting Menu

Fridays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Promotions

Senior Appreciation Day

Mondays from 11:00 AM - 9:00 PM

Details
Wednesday Night Raw Bar

Wednesdays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Details
Thursday Night Prime Rib Special

Thursdays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Details
Friday Night Chef's Tasting Menu

Fridays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Details

Lake Elmo Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Minneapolis - St. Paul
Great for Brunch
Minneapolis - St. Paul
Special Occasion
Minneapolis - St. Paul
1 More
Most Booked
Twin Cities / Eastern Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Lake Elmo ›

special occasion (208)
great for brunch (132)
neighborhood gem (122)
See All
romantic (103)
good for groups (99)
great for lunch (91)
fit for foodies (87)
notable wine list (48)
great for outdoor dining (29)
kid-friendly (25)
hot spot (9)
late-night find (6)
scenic view (5)
vibrant bar scene (5)
Sort By:
Newest
2732 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Our server Mo was FANTASTIC! She really ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined 4 days ago

Our server Mo was FANTASTIC! She really helped to make my dad's 70th birthday truly special. Great food and great service. Don't let the construction of the street / area deter you -- this place is WORTH the hassle! It's a true gem!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is such a special place with all th ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined 7 days ago

This is such a special place with all the great extra touches. The food is always fabulous and it really makes you feel special. We have celebrated all 37 anniversary's there. We love it so much. And are so lucky to have something so close to home.

Thank you for making our anniversary's so special.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Our food was delicious and the service w ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Our food was delicious and the service was great. It was not a problem getting there with the road construction.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love Lake Elmo Inn, we visit monthly. ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We love Lake Elmo Inn, we visit monthly. We have never had one complaint until this visit. Our waitress was quite rude. She was very short and seemed like she had better things to do. It took almost 15 minutes after we were seated to get our drink order, she never apologized. She seemed irritated while taking our food order. It took almost an hour to get our food. We were there at 5pm on Friday, it wasn't busy. Not impressed by this visit.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

Excellent food. Dinner is probably a bi ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Excellent food. Dinner is probably a bit better than brunch, although the food was still good with the exception of the sirloin. I must of gotten a bad part of it, it was tough and I couldn't cut it with a butter knife.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

As usual, their food and service exceeds ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

As usual, their food and service exceeds the overall genre of restaurants of that caliber. There was road construction in front of the restaurant. What did they do? Offer free valet services! The food was wonderful as usual. The tender beef was fabulous.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My cousin visits from out of town every ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

My cousin visits from out of town every summer and it is always on her list of things to do. e both love the brunch! I have been several other times of the year as well for brunch and I am never disappointed.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

All brunch food was excellent. Great va ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

All brunch food was excellent. Great variety. Champagne just kept flowin'! Desserts were to die for.

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great meal, whether brunch, lun ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Always a great meal, whether brunch, lunch or dinner. Don't forget to have dessert!!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It is always a pleasure to dine at Lake ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

It is always a pleasure to dine at Lake Elmo Inn. The food and service are always top notch.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We entertained two couples from out of t ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We entertained two couples from out of town and came here at the request of one who had heard the food and ambiance were great. No one was disappointed. The occasion was a birthday party. We are not familiar enough with the restaurant to comment on the other possibilities listed in the recommendations above.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Lake Elmo Inn is an institution, and for ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Lake Elmo Inn is an institution, and for good reason. Great prime rib, sirloin, shrimp...everything. Mostly long-time patrons, but it's always great.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Food was out of this world; fantastic pr ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Food was out of this world; fantastic preparation and presentation. Server was friendly, welcoming and efficient. Noise level very low.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had the usual excellent evening. Foo ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

We had the usual excellent evening. Food was good, the staff was professional (Nancy), friendly but not familiar, most pleasant.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Had a very pleasant evening celebrating ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Had a very pleasant evening celebrating my friend's birthday. Our server was wonderful and the food excellent.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed a fabulous lunch buffet. The fri ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Enjoyed a fabulous lunch buffet. The fried chicken and mashed potatoes were fabulous!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Outside patio, beautiful evening. Food ...

 
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Outside patio, beautiful evening. Food an service great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

As always, it was a fun experience. The ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

As always, it was a fun experience. The food was delicious and the service was very good.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Last of the old time supper clubs. Every ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Last of the old time supper clubs. Every thing is done to perfection.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lake Elmo Inn never disappoints. We can ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Lake Elmo Inn never disappoints. We can always count on a pleasant dining experience with good food and excellent service. This time, hubby tried a bratwurst burger on a pretzel bun. The different flavors of the brat, seasonings, cheese, and sauerkraut all came together on a delicious bun. He called it exceptional. Also, always exceptional, is the wild rice. Nobody does it better. We are fans of their lunches, but have enjoyed many evening meals as well. No matter how busy they are, the servers always treat you as their top priority. We'll be back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was a perfect evening! It was our wed ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

It was a perfect evening! It was our wedding anniversary and we could not have felt more special. Our server, Jody, was very attentive, and even though she was busy, graciously agreed to take a few pictures of us in the garden. We enjoyed free champagne, the food was delicious, and the ambiance was great. I don't remember the last time we've had such great service. 5+ stars!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is the first visit in a long time. ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

This is the first visit in a long time. I assure you that we will correct that oversight immediately.

It was just great!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thank you for providing a lovely for my ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Thank you for providing a lovely for my friend's birthday. Suggest a light dessert instead of champagne.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious and the service w ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

The food was delicious and the service was great. We can't wait for next time.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was great. Excellent service, v ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

The food was great. Excellent service, very friendly. Friends recommended to us. We will be back.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this place. We discovered it about ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Love this place. We discovered it about a year ago and now have returned several times. We have taken friends who look forward to going back. Prices are acceptable, service is always excellent. What is really important is that we can talk without shouting! Lately many restaurants are so loud one can't communicate the order, let alone visit with friends.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

At the Lake Elmo Inn the servers are al ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

At the Lake Elmo Inn the servers are always most gracious. Customer service is outstanding as is the food. A real treat.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service is second to none. ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The food and service is second to none. You won't find a more friendly atmosphere than the Inn.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is our favorite restaurant where we ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

This is our favorite restaurant where we go for birthdays, anniversaries and celebrations.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was good but it was cold. Turn the A ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

It was good but it was cold. Turn the A/C down!! Many of us had jackets on. I tell you this everytime I give a review.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Had a wonderful evening!! We had the be ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Had a wonderful evening!! We had the best Waitress, the food was perfect!!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have dined at Lake Elmo Inn on severa ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

We have dined at Lake Elmo Inn on several occasions over the years.

We prefer the Inn to most any other restaurant within a 30 minute drive from home.

We chose to dine there for casual date nights or special occasions.

Lunches with a small group are also very nice. The menu is always reliably interesting and the entrees and desserts are delicious.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Lake Elmo Inn is our favorite restaurant ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Lake Elmo Inn is our favorite restaurant in the Twin Cities area.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Some co-workers got together for a speci ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Some co-workers got together for a special celebratory lunch. Not realizing how hot it would be we agreed to be seated in the glassed in area. It was so hot, you could open a container of butter and pour it on the bread. One person had the shrimp and prongs and picked out 5 whole garlic gloves. That is a bit much even by garlic lovers standards. The blackened prime rib was flavorless. Two people had walleye and said it was good. The other had ribs and they were good too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value2

Always great as prior visits! Definitely ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Always great as prior visits! Definitely recommend the steaks, otherwise you cannot go wrong with the shrimp pasta l, even the chicken!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

it is a special place. our wait staff v ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

it is a special place. our wait staff very friendly and great service. Highly recommend to all.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

We went to Lake Elmo Inn for the Father' ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We went to Lake Elmo Inn for the Father's Day Brunch. There was quite a crowd but the staff was attentive and constantly renewed, when items were getting low. They was quite a nice choice of alternatives, especially the desserts

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We visit Lake Inn about 4 times a year ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We visit Lake Inn about 4 times a year for birthdays, Christmas, anniversary and we have never been disappointed. The atmosphere is wonderful and we always have wonderful service and the food is fabulous.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We had a great experience. Coming in kno ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We had a great experience. Coming in knowing it was Father's Day we expected it to be super busy which it was. The lines for the Brunch Buffet seemed quite long and in the way of patrons waiting to be sat. Our server was on top of drink refills, ect.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The food is good although the duck wasnt ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The food is good although the duck wasnt cooked consistently. The red haired waitress thats helped us before treats us like we dont belong there and isnt very friendly. I would recommend this place to a friend because the food and atmosphere is good enough to have return trips.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.