About Lake Elmo Inn

3442 Lake Elmo Avenue North
Lake Elmo, MN 55042
View Larger Map

The Lake Elmo Inn offers award-winning American cuisine, and has been voted Best Restaurant, Best Service, Best Dessert, Best Brunch, and Twin Cities Institution locally by Minneapolis St. Paul Magazine 'Reader's Choice Awards'. Zagat scores the Lake Elmo Inn at a 28 out of 30 for food, calling us a "hidden secret". We also received Wine Spectator's Award of Excellence for our extensive wine list for twelve years in a row.
The Lake Elmo Inn has been chosen as one of the top 100 Brunches in the nation by Open Table. From shrimp cocktail, smoked salmon, double smoked ham, and carved rounds of beef, to eggs Benedict, Belgium waffles, mouthwatering salads, and fresh seasonal fruit, the Lake Elmo Inn serves a Sunday Brunch that is artfully prepared and elegantly presented.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Continental, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm; Sunday Brunch: 10:00am – 2:00pm, Sunday: 4:30pm - 8:30pm. Between 2:00pm-5:00pm

Cross Street:
Highway 5

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(651) 777-8495

Website:
http://www.lakeelmoinn.com/

Catering:
Corporate events, weddings, picnics, etc. Please contact our Event Center staff for more details. We cater local and around the Twin Cities.651-779-5994

Parking Details:
Public lots also available in the area.

Executive Chef:
John Schiltz

Private Party Facilities:
The Lake Elmo Inn has four dining rooms to offer private parties. Our Kohler room can accommodate groups up to 50 people. The Oak room holds up to 70 people and can be separated into a semi-private area for smaller group of 35 or less. Our event center holds 75-300 people, a wonderful place for a wedding, reunion, celebration of life, or corporate event. Please call Chris Schiltz 651.779.5994

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Promotions

Senior Appreciation Day

Mondays from 11:00 AM - 9:00 PM

Wednesday Night Raw Bar

Wednesdays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Thursday Night Prime Rib Special

Thursdays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Friday Night Chef's Tasting Menu

Fridays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Promotions

Senior Appreciation Day

Mondays from 11:00 AM - 9:00 PM

Details

Senior Appreciation 25% off entree (60+ years old). Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jun 15, 2016 - Oct 10, 2016 on Mondays from 11:00 AM - 9:00 PM.

Wednesday Night Raw Bar

Wednesdays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Details

Raw Bar - (1/2 price fresh oysters, shrimp cocktail & crab claws) *while supplies last. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jun 15, 2016 - Oct 12, 2016 on Wednesdays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM.

Thursday Night Prime Rib Special

Thursdays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Details

Prime Rib - slow roasted served with creamed horseradish and au jus for $21.95 *while supplies last. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jun 15, 2016 - Oct 13, 2016 on Thursdays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM.

Friday Night Chef's Tasting Menu

Fridays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Details

Includes a starter, entrée and dessert for $30.00. * Menus to change monthly. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jun 15, 2016 - Oct 14, 2016 on Fridays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM.

Lake Elmo Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Minneapolis - St. Paul
Best Food
Minneapolis - St. Paul
Best Value
Minneapolis - St. Paul
2 More
Special Occasion
Minneapolis - St. Paul
Most Booked
Twin Cities / Eastern Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Lake Elmo ›

Special Occasion (211)
Neighborhood Gem (123)
Great for Brunch (121)
See All
Romantic (117)
Good for Groups (99)
Fit for Foodies (90)
Great for Lunch (86)
Notable Wine List (51)
Great for Outdoor Dining (38)
Kid-friendly (29)
Hot Spot (8)
Scenic View (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Authentic (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2776 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We celebrated our anniversary at the Lak ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined 4 days ago

We celebrated our anniversary at the Lake Elmo Inn (something we've done before). The Inn is a great place for celebrating a special occasion like an anniversary. The food, service, setting, and complimentary glass of champagne are all great. And where else can you see a marvelous salt-and-pepper-shaker collection! We definitely will return.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Great place to enjoy celebrations with f ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined 4 days ago

Great place to enjoy celebrations with friends and family. Food and service is first class and we will be back soon.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lake Elmo Inn is a local institution. T ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined 4 days ago

Lake Elmo Inn is a local institution. The food is delicious, service is excellent, staff is friendly and efficient---it is always a pleasure to be there.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous brunch on Sunday ! All you coul ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined 4 days ago

Fabulous brunch on Sunday ! All you could even imagine to eat was on the buffet line- one side board full of salads, cheese, salmon, fruit, rolls and dessert and the other side had eggs Benedict, French toast, bacon, sausage, rolls, vegetables, veal Parmesan, pasta, 2 kinds of sauce, prime rib and ham.

All served with all the champagne you wanted and a starter of warm caramel rolls Best brunch in town for sure!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It is always such a treat to come to the ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined 4 days ago

It is always such a treat to come to the Lake Elmo Inn. We have never been disappointed. The waitress, Monica was fantastic. She recognized us immediately, even thought it has been awhile. We look so forward to going !

Tags: Private Room, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Great for Brunch, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, a very nice treat. Food was ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined 5 days ago

As always, a very nice treat. Food was excellent.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Our server Jolene was excellent. We enjo ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined 5 days ago

Our server Jolene was excellent. We enjoyed the food . This restaurant is a classic and consistent dining experience.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our dining experience was again just not ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined 5 days ago

Our dining experience was again just not acceptable. We keep coming back with the hopes that the food and the value will improve and each time we are very disappointed. Our reservations were for 6:00 on a Saturday. The waitress suggested the prime rib as a feature for the evening. Our party of 3 said yes only to find out later that the prime rib was all gone. What "all gone" at 6:00. What a disappointment. We ordered from the menu. Prices were very very high and the quality was poor. This place is so over priced. We have learned our lesson and will never go back. There are just too many great restaurants in the Twin Cities to choose from.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Great ambience, wonderful service, uniq ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined 6 days ago

Great ambience, wonderful service, unique gem! Return frequently for special occasions.

Sound level is only mild problem.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Good food, nice atmosphere made for a v ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined 6 days ago

Good food, nice atmosphere made for a very enjoyable evening!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Unfortunately, our last visit found the ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined 6 days ago

Unfortunately, our last visit found the weather raining and the road repair requiring a more inconvenient parking regimen and longer walk to the restaurant. Nonetheless, the shrimp were superb but the duck was average. All else as we have otherwise experience at the Lake Elmo Inn.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

I've been to the Lake Elmo Inn multiple ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined 7 days ago

I've been to the Lake Elmo Inn multiple times and it's always such a good experience. This time our waitress would run back to the kitchen when it was kind of busy. We thought this was weird because it looked unprofessional of her and it would only save her about 2 seconds of time. We had two people and unfortunately sat next to this bigger group that also talked very loud. Once that group left it wasn't as noisy and we could hear each other better. Our food was fantastic and the guy who filled our waters and took our plates did really well. Always such a nice place to eat!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

This is our favorite restaurant. We usu ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

This is our favorite restaurant. We usually order the same items but this time we changed. The appetizer of calamari was superb. The French Onion soup and Lobster Bisque were exceptional. However our main course items left a great deal to be desired. I ordered the half fried chicken. It was more bread than chicken. The breading was tasty but there was no meat inside. My wife had the sunnies and they were just okay.

Here is the great news. They fixed my wife's order by providing a sensational salmon dish. Definitely worth ordering!

Finally, our server just made everything better and because of her and our great past experiences we will be back to the lack Elmo Inn real soon. Just do not order the chicken!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

The food was good as always, however it ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

The food was good as always, however it takes SO long from start to finish - we were there a total of 2 1/2 hours from the time we sat down to when we paid the check. Granted, some of that time was due to talking amongst ourselves, but that is still a ridiculous amount of time to spend. It took a long time to get our order taken, a long time before the server came back and asked us if we wanted dessert, a long time for the server to return with our check, and a long time for the server to bring back the bill for us to sign the credit card slip.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

We use Lake Elmo Inn for special occasio ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

We use Lake Elmo Inn for special occasions and have never been disappointed. Kudos to Judy,

our wait person.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a discovery. A must if you are in t ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

What a discovery. A must if you are in the Twin Cities area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We love this place--it is always "fab". ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We love this place--it is always "fab". Our go to for special occasions. The brunch is amazing.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Lake Elmo Inn is a gem that offers the l ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Lake Elmo Inn is a gem that offers the little extra special touches that have only been offered in years past! Thanks for continuing the traditions of hot rolls, pallet cleansers, aromatic cleansing cloths and special desserts. The menu selections are wonderful and so is the kids menu with some items that other places don't offer. what a treat it was to dine here!

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our dinner at the Lake Elmo Inn was perf ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Our dinner at the Lake Elmo Inn was perfect. We ate on their outdoor patio and the ambiance was nice. The food was great and our server, Bob, was wonderful. He made sure that we were having a good time, was extremely pleasant, an insured that we had a all the time we needed for a romantic anniversary dinner. This place is a gem!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We waited quite awhile for our food and ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We waited quite awhile for our food and when it came the plates were very hot. I suspect it had be under the heat lamps for quite some time. My wife had walleye and it was rubbery, not flaky. I had the pork which I ordered "medium" and it was well done. The broccolini was overdone. I was very disappointed as I had heard very good things about the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Beautiful setting with a friendly staff ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Beautiful setting with a friendly staff that were very warm and engaging. The food was delightful and the staff even better - I ordered the walleye with jalapeño and bacon potatoes (money!) but stated that I was very intrigued by the potato encrusted sunnies. In what seemed like minutes, there were two sunny filets for me to sample - delicious!!! And that was before we informed the waitress that it was our Anniversary. We loved our meal and had no intention of ordering desserts until the tray came out. Let's just say the desserts were decadent and delicious, as was our evening!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server was excellent and she made ou ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Our server was excellent and she made our experience wonderful. The food was excellent. We look forward to dining here again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food wasn't as good as usual and server ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Food wasn't as good as usual and server wasn't very attentive.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

The Tuesday lunch buffet is outstanding. ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

The Tuesday lunch buffet is outstanding. The service was excellent.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food served here top notch. We had ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

The food served here top notch. We had the Tuesday brunch and the meatloaf was great. Do not forget the dessert tables. That alone is worth the price of the buffet! Always a great experience...

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Our waiter Bobby Rivas was wonderful,ver ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Our waiter Bobby Rivas was wonderful,very efficient and witty.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Construction didn't slow down this place ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Construction didn't slow down this place! Offered valet parking catered to special diet needs service wa special

First visit will be back

Tags: Romantic, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always love the Lake Elmo Inn. Great ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We always love the Lake Elmo Inn. Great service from the valet stand to management. Karen was very attentive and good to us. we were also greeted by almost all of the other staff that was near our table.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service as usual. Ro ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Excellent food and service as usual. Road construction was handled by having a valet service. Overall, better than a normal restaurant of this caliber!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice gem in small town. Toured around St ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Nice gem in small town. Toured around Stillwater before dinner, then 10 minute drive. Old historic house-like atmosphere. Dined outside, like being on an elegant front porch. Nice waterfall fountain outside. Filet mignon is terrific. Béarnaise sauce add-on was great. Sorbet served to cleanse palette. Chocolate dipped strawberries and warm wet towels served after dinner. Been meaning to come here for a long time, but finally came for 38th anniversary. Worth the drive from Burnsville for something different than city dining, but city menu and service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our friend has severe allergies and they ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Our friend has severe allergies and they cooked her an amazing meal and kept her healthy.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Despite construction, the Inn was well w ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Despite construction, the Inn was well worth it! The signage to the restaurant was clear and visible. Our server was a LOT of fun and she made our 80th Birthday party special. Thanks, Jordan! The food was super tasty and we really thought the menu had a lot of variety to offer. We drove from the northern part of the cities and we won't hesitate to come back. Thanks so much!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful, as always. We really enjoyed ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Wonderful, as always. We really enjoyed ourselves. We will go back again and again.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not my best experience there and I am th ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Not my best experience there and I am there several times a year. The server seemed distracted and harried....which never happens at the Inn.....the food was okay...not memorable....but then this was lunch....maybe they bring on the A-team at dinner?

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

We go here about once a year for a birth ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

We go here about once a year for a birthday or anniversary. It's a little pricey and we are cheap, so we don't go more often! This year we invited two other couples to join us for our anniversary. Everyone ordered something different, and we were all very happy with our meals. Our server was wonderful. We all left full and happy!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The reservation process is easy. The sta ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

The reservation process is easy. The staff is very courteous. Our waiter was so helpful and met all of serving needs excellently! Food is A1!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Would have gotten higher marks but poor ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Would have gotten higher marks but poor waitress had butter fingers and dropped a plate lid at table next door and dropped our leftovers (though they made new to give us a doggy bag).

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

We have been coming here over 25 years a ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

We have been coming here over 25 years and have never been disappointed. We now live in northern Minnesota but make a point to come to LEI, our favorite restaurant, at least 4 times a year. Their brunch is the absolute best.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was my birthday. Everything was perf ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

It was my birthday. Everything was perfect. Really felt pampered.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Appreciated the free valet service given ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Appreciated the free valet service given all of the construction. Thanks!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.