Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 2.14mi
  2. Distance: 2.84mi
  3. Distance: 3.70mi
  4. Distance: 4.49mi
  1. Distance: 2.14mi
  2. Distance: 2.84mi
  3. Distance: 3.70mi
  4. Distance: 4.49mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 2.14mi
  2. Distance: 2.84mi
  3. Distance: 3.70mi
  4. Distance: 4.49mi
  1. Distance: 2.14mi
  2. Distance: 2.84mi
  3. Distance: 3.70mi
  4. Distance: 4.49mi

About Lake Elmo Inn

The Lake Elmo Inn offers award-winning American cuisine, and has been voted Best Restaurant, Best Service, Best Dessert, Best Brunch, and Twin Cities Institution locally by Minneapolis St. Paul Magazine 'Reader's Choice Awards'. Zagat scores the Lake Elmo Inn at a 28 out of 30 for food, calling us a "hidden secret". We also received Wine Spectator's Award of Excellence for our extensive wine list for twelve years in a row.
The Lake Elmo Inn has been chosen as one of the top 100 Brunches in the nation by Open Table. From shrimp cocktail, smoked salmon, double smoked ham, and carved rounds of beef, to eggs Benedict, Belgium waffles, mouthwatering salads, and fresh seasonal fruit, the Lake Elmo Inn serves a Sunday Brunch that is artfully prepared and elegantly presented.

3442 Lake Elmo Avenue North
Lake Elmo, MN 55042
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Continental, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm; Sunday Brunch: 10:00am – 2:00pm, Sunday: 4:30pm - 8:30pm. Between 2:00pm-5:00pm

Cross Street:
Highway 5

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(651) 777-8495

Website:
http://www.lakeelmoinn.com/

Catering:
Corporate events, weddings, picnics, etc. Please contact our Event Center staff for more details. We cater local and around the Twin Cities.651-779-5994

Parking Details:
Public lots also available in the area.

Executive Chef:
John Schiltz

Private Party Facilities:
The Lake Elmo Inn has four dining rooms to offer private parties. Our Kohler room can accommodate groups up to 50 people. The Oak room holds up to 70 people and can be separated into a semi-private area for smaller group of 35 or less. Our event center holds 75-300 people, a wonderful place for a wedding, reunion, celebration of life, or corporate event. Please call Chris Schiltz 651.779.5994

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Senior Appreciation Day

Mondays from 11:00 AM - 9:00 PM

Wednesday Night Raw Bar

Wednesdays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Thursday Night Prime Rib Special

Thursdays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Specials

Senior Appreciation Day

Mondays from 11:00 AM - 9:00 PM

Details

Senior Appreciation 25% off entree (60+ years old). Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jan 17, 2017 - May 15, 2017 on Mondays from 11:00 AM - 9:00 PM.

Wednesday Night Raw Bar

Wednesdays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Details

Raw Bar - (1/2 price fresh oysters, shrimp cocktail & crab claws) *while supplies last. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jan 17, 2017 - May 17, 2017 on Wednesdays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM.

Thursday Night Prime Rib Special

Thursdays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Details

Prime Rib - slow roasted served with creamed horseradish and au jus for $21.95 *while supplies last. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jan 19, 2017 - May 18, 2017 on Thursdays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM.

Lake Elmo Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (126)
Good for Anniversaries (93)
Good for a Date (88)
See All
Good for Birthdays (85)
Romantic (74)
Worth the Drive (70)
Great for Brunch (64)
Neighborhood Gem (64)
Quiet Conversation (59)
Cozy (58)
Historic (49)
Good for Groups (44)
Great for Lunch (42)
Sunday Lunch (37)
Comfort Food (35)
Fit for Foodies (32)
Creative Cuisine (31)
Business Meals (29)
Authentic (29)
Notable Wine List (28)
Casual (28)
Handcrafted Cocktails (21)
Bar Seating (20)
Fun (18)
Fireplace (18)
Outstanding Value (17)
Local Ingredients (17)
Healthy (16)
Seasonal (16)
Family Style (15)
Pre/post Theatre (14)
Private Room (14)
Tasting Menu (13)
Disabled Access (12)
Kid-friendly (11)
Happy Hour (8)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Afternoon Tea (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Afternoon Coffee (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Great Beer (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
People Watching (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Scenic View (2)
Waterfront (1)
Spicy (1)
Organic (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
3249 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 2 days ago

One of our favorite restaurants in the country. The staff is always attentive, knowledgeable and friendly. Every item we have tried has been perfect. We look forward to our next visit.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 3 days ago

Special thanks to the staff for making my daughter and her date feel special for their Prom dinner!! They had a great time and really enjoyed the whole experience including the check in from the manager. Thanks again for making their night!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined 3 days ago

Always feel special with outstanding service. Lots of little extras come with the dining experience.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 4 days ago

Celebrated a special birthday with our family. Wonderful waitress, complimentary champagne and overall very special experience. Food was very good.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 4 days ago

I just wish their prices were a little more reasonable. I think $30 for 6 or 7 little Sunfish fillets is on the high side. So given that, we don't eat there as often as we would like to.

Tags: Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 5 days ago

The service was very good. It was a special occasion. We were seated next to a large table with 8 or 9. It was very noisy and difficult for my husband and I to talk and hear one another because of the noise. The restaurant was told it was a special occasion. It was a poor choice to seat us near a noisy table. The server was very busy and forgot to bring ordered items and did not check back often. My husband's pork loin was tough and he could not finish it.

Overall not a great dining experience.

Tags: Historic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 7 days ago

Never had a bad meal here. Food is always good. Minnesota casual atmosphere. Hands down, the best wild rice in the area.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 7 days ago

Delicious lunch. Excellent service by Cheryl. The Risotto was the real thing.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 7 days ago

Our server was wonderful, our food was great! I will be back !

Tags: Healthy, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 19, 2017

I'm 78 years old and remember going to Lake Elmo Inn after a Sunday day of fishing with my family. Our family has continued having occasions at LEInn even when we lived in Highland Park. We now live in White Bear Lake and are lucky to have their delicious food and wonderful service often...not just special occasions. (Our friends join us from Mpls. and Highland Park)
Thank you Lake Elmo Inn. You're great.
Phyllis Robinson and entire family

Tags: Comfort Food, Private Room, Cozy, Historic, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Good variety of food, fine table service and lots of choices. Buffet lines are awkwardly located near the entrance and can get long at times.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Very pleasant evening, excellent dinner, great waitress! We were celebrating our birthdays--appreciated the complimentary champagne, and chocolate covered strawberries. The perks added a really nice touch to our evening, as did the attentiveness of our waitress and cozy seating. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Wonderful evening with family.
"Bob" was exceptional!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 9, 2017

I have been coming to the Lake Elmo Inn for almost 30 years and it is still the best restaurant we have ever eaten at and the hospitality and service is second to none.

Tags: Historic, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Everything was excellent. From service to dessert. Made our 39 year anniversary a good memory.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Good food. Nice experienced waitress but she had the entire room we were in, at least 6 large tables. Service was painfully slow. This was on a Thursday night not close to any holiday. Decor is hideous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Went for Sunday champagne brunch to celebrate friends retirement. Food was exceptional and displayed beautifully. Service was impeccable with refills on champagne offered repeatedly. Very relaxed atmosphere. Fine dining atmosphere.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Romantic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Historic, Afternoon Tea, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 2, 2017

We enjoyed our time at the restraunt. Great service and good food.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Predictable excellence in quality, taste and delivery.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Molecular Gastronomy, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Lunch was lovely, but for whatever reason, we sat for about 10 minutes before we got water or could speak to anybody. The waitress was charming, but the service was slow, long waits between each stage of service. I think you need need bus people to assist the waitresses at lunch. We were there for 2 hours & not because we want to be. My daughter ordered chocolate mousse for dessert & it was not up to your standards at all. We had a very nice time, anyway.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 1, 2017

The meat and potatoes to both mine and my wifes entrees was great, but both of our vegetables came out cold. The problem was quickly fixed, and the manager bought both of us a dessert. This is the first time I have ever had a problem eating at the restaurant.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Great food our server David was terrific, we had jambalaya, shrimp and ribeye plus dessert. Everyone loved their food. Will try the seafood buffet next time.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Our compliments to the chef,of course, but our waiter(BOB) was outstanding. Special food, special evening all around.Great time!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 31, 2017

First time visitor and was not disappointed. Service was friendly and timely. Meal was delicious. So impressed we made reservations for Mother's Day before we left. Would recommend to anyone looking for fine food and great service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Prime rib and baked potato were both tasty and both could have been warmer. Service was excellent and overall experience was enjoyable.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Fooled again with slow and confused new wait staff! I am so embarrassed to ask my friends to go to this expensive restaurant and have such poor service AGAIN. I won't be going back, as slow and incompetent wait service TWICE with 2 different new servers is enough!! It took us 90 minutes to get our food and 2 hours for lunch. Two requests for bread for the table; multiple ignored requests for water- finally got the pitcher myself; and the bills were incorrect AGAIN.

They need to better train their wait staff or hire good experienced wait staff. Why is there so much turnover of wait staff? It will hurt the business if they don't get it figured out soon. The table next to us was also complaining about the slow service and no wait staff around to get coffee or take orders.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Lake Elmo Inn is our go to place for Sunday Brunch. The food is always delicious and there is such a nice variety. We have eaten here many times and every server has been kind and helpful.

Tags: Family Style, Historic, Casual, Afternoon Coffee, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 26, 2017

excellent anniversary dinner. service very good - not pushy, not too slow. food outstanding.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Special Occasion, Family Style, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 25, 2017

The restaurants in located in a historic building in a quaint Town. You are greeted by friendly staff who are eager for you to have an enjoyable experience. The buffet was outdtanding.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Have always enjoyed LEI but had the seafood buffet which was ok, not as great as we expected and service was lacking.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Overall great experience! Food and service were fantastic.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Disabled Access, Pre/post Theatre, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Went as a group of 5 to celebrate a milestone birthday. Table was ready at the time of reservation and the server was exceptional! Food ordered included prime rib, steak and pasta entree's, with cake for dessert. Only reason the food/value wasn't exceptional was the amount of fat in the ribeye. The flavor was amazing, but about 1/4 of the inside was all fat (but that's probably what added to the flavor!) Great evening and we will go again!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Staff was very pleasant and accommodating to our special request. It was near closing time but our service remained spot on. Drinks and food served in a timely manner. The crusted shrimp and sunfish served with crusted egg plant and wild rice was excellent.

I have been going there for years and will continue to!!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Private Room, Notable Wine List, Casual, Special Occasion, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Carefully crated food - all scratch preparation; little service details that make for a special experience (welcome special occasion drink; palate cleansing sorbet; gauze enclosed lemon to squeeze- no seeds; and crumbs scraped between courses). The Lake Elmo Inn is a local gem!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Fireplace, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for a Date, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 13, 2017

We both ordered 6 is NY strip, it was tough and under done! The potatoes lyonese were over done and mushy! Eggplant parmesan was tasteless....no creativity! They really need to step up their game.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 12, 2017

The Sunday brunch had an unbelievable variety to dishes. All tasting delicious. After explaining the menu, the server started us out with a glass of champagne, which always seemed to be full. We were allowed to take our time to enjoy the meal. At great way to celebrate our anniversary.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The food is always fabulous. However, I would like to see more gluten free options on the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Our waiter Michael was fairly new and a little rough around the edges. But all in all, he did an admirable job proving service to our table. Wouldn't mind having him serve us again in a future visit.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Seasonal
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 5, 2017

The Sunday lunch buffet is extraordinary. I'd rank one of the restaurants in Twin Cities Metro. Service is great. A very special day to go there to eat.

Tags: Comfort Food, Healthy, Outstanding Value, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Had a great visit with old friends. Did not feel rushed to leave even thou they were very busy. Food on buffet could have been hotter. Use valet parking and save yourself from trying to fine a parking space.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.