About Lake Elmo Inn

3442 Lake Elmo Avenue North
Lake Elmo, MN 55042
View Larger Map

The Lake Elmo Inn offers award-winning American cuisine, and has been voted Best Restaurant, Best Service, Best Dessert, Best Brunch, and Twin Cities Institution locally by Minneapolis St. Paul Magazine 'Reader's Choice Awards'. Zagat scores the Lake Elmo Inn at a 28 out of 30 for food, calling us a "hidden secret". We also received Wine Spectator's Award of Excellence for our extensive wine list for twelve years in a row.
The Lake Elmo Inn has been chosen as one of the top 100 Brunches in the nation by Open Table. From shrimp cocktail, smoked salmon, double smoked ham, and carved rounds of beef, to eggs Benedict, Belgium waffles, mouthwatering salads, and fresh seasonal fruit, the Lake Elmo Inn serves a Sunday Brunch that is artfully prepared and elegantly presented.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Continental, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm; Sunday Brunch: 10:00am – 2:00pm, Sunday: 4:30pm - 8:30pm. Between 2:00pm-5:00pm

Cross Street:
Highway 5

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(651) 777-8495

Website:
http://www.lakeelmoinn.com/

Catering:
Corporate events, weddings, picnics, etc. Please contact our Event Center staff for more details. We cater local and around the Twin Cities.651-779-5994

Parking Details:
Public lots also available in the area.

Executive Chef:
John Schiltz

Private Party Facilities:
The Lake Elmo Inn has four dining rooms to offer private parties. Our Kohler room can accommodate groups up to 50 people. The Oak room holds up to 70 people and can be separated into a semi-private area for smaller group of 35 or less. Our event center holds 75-300 people, a wonderful place for a wedding, reunion, celebration of life, or corporate event. Please call Chris Schiltz 651.779.5994

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Senior Appreciation Day

Mondays from 11:00 AM - 9:00 PM

Wednesday Night Raw Bar

Wednesdays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Thursday Night Prime Rib Special

Thursdays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Specials

Senior Appreciation Day

Mondays from 11:00 AM - 9:00 PM

Details

Senior Appreciation 25% off entree (60+ years old). Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jan 17, 2017 - May 15, 2017 on Mondays from 11:00 AM - 9:00 PM.

Wednesday Night Raw Bar

Wednesdays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Details

Raw Bar - (1/2 price fresh oysters, shrimp cocktail & crab claws) *while supplies last. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jan 17, 2017 - May 17, 2017 on Wednesdays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM.

Thursday Night Prime Rib Special

Thursdays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Details

Prime Rib - slow roasted served with creamed horseradish and au jus for $21.95 *while supplies last. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jan 19, 2017 - May 18, 2017 on Thursdays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM.

Lake Elmo Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (131)
Good for Anniversaries (119)
Good for a Date (93)
See All
Good for Birthdays (93)
Worth the Drive (88)
Cozy (80)
Great for Brunch (78)
Romantic (70)
Neighborhood Gem (69)
Quiet Conversation (66)
Historic (58)
Great for Lunch (50)
Good for Groups (49)
Comfort Food (43)
Business Meals (42)
Sunday Lunch (42)
Fit for Foodies (40)
Creative Cuisine (39)
Authentic (31)
Seasonal (30)
Notable Wine List (26)
Casual (26)
Fireplace (26)
Fun (24)
Bar Seating (20)
Outstanding Value (18)
Local Ingredients (17)
Handcrafted Cocktails (17)
Family Style (13)
Tasting Menu (13)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Healthy (12)
Private Room (11)
Disabled Access (11)
Happy Hour (7)
People Watching (6)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Great Beer (3)
Scenic View (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Organic (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Waterfront (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
3182 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great food & always love the sorbet pala ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 6 hours ago

Great food & always love the sorbet palate cleanser !

Appreciated the modifications for the gluten free guests . Service was slow but we still enjoyed ourselves as always . Great non-alcoholic beverage options for the kids to enjoy .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

Went to the all you can eat seafood nig ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 2 days ago

Went to the all you can eat seafood night. Always a special tradition!

Tags: Cozy, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing! Definitely a place to try for f ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 2 days ago

Amazing! Definitely a place to try for fine dining. Perfect date night out with your other half.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Spicy, Fit for Foodies, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The seafood buffet was excellent - many ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 2 days ago

The seafood buffet was excellent - many choices that I wouldn't have tried otherwise. Mo is an excellent waitress.

Tags: Seasonal, Great for Lunch, Fireplace, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Lake Elmo Inn is one of the premier rest ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 4 days ago

Lake Elmo Inn is one of the premier restaurants in the Twin Cities. Top chefs prepare creative and delicious meals, beautifully presented and delivered to your table by some of the best wait staff you are likely to find anywhere. When you grow weary of the pretentious high-end restaurants in town, drive out to Lake Elmo Inn. It's like coming home.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been frequent customers of this ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 5 days ago

We have been frequent customers of this restaurant for seven years and never encountered this

lack of professionalism, poor food preparation and cocktail preparation as we did this evening. There were teenagers on the front reception desk and ones attitude was curt and sharp.

Food was room temperature and two baked potatoes were served, one to replace vegetable I

suppose. Worst experience at Lake Elmo Inn we have ever had!

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Our server, Bob, was attentive and helpf ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 5 days ago

Our server, Bob, was attentive and helpful. Fillet and lobster was sensational!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service and food were exquisite for ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 6 days ago

The service and food were exquisite for our Valentine's Day celebration.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful for a nice romantic evening ou ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Wonderful for a nice romantic evening out. Was a little noisier than it used to be, but still nice. Server was attentive and brought little extras for our celebration. We had our wedding rehearsal dinner there over 30 years ago and it's still just as good! Food was good as ever, ordered steak and it was done exactly how we requested. LOVE the desserts!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner at Lake Elmo Inn is never anythin ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Dinner at Lake Elmo Inn is never anything but perfect. Nice job....., again.

Tags: Disabled Access, Seasonal, Fun, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First visit to Lake Elmo Inn. Fabulous. ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 12, 2017

First visit to Lake Elmo Inn. Fabulous. Staff excellent and I enjoyed everything I had for the Valentine's brunch. We will be visiting again soon.

Tags: Historic, Fireplace, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We just moved back to town this summer s ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We just moved back to town this summer so wanted to celebrate Valentine's Day on Saturday at Lake Elmo in which I had not been to for 20 years. The service was OK but nothing like it used to be there and the food was it was not very good I had those lobster it was overcooked and chewy I wife had a steak which was very under cooked And I was done with my meal before she got her new steak

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Nice restaurant to bring a date or to ha ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Nice restaurant to bring a date or to hang out with good friends. Great food and ambiance.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Casual, Happy Hour, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Celebrated 38th Anniversary aqt Lake Elm ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Celebrated 38th Anniversary aqt Lake Elmo Inn , w/friends. The Seafood Buffet was good for 2of us, while the other 2 had the Pork Chop supper...which was awesome! From what I could tell (and getTing a bite here and there), the Seafood Buffet was spot on perfect, and it included a beef carving board. Lisa tended to us, and she was simply the best -as was Curtis & John. They are the best bar team! Lake Elmo Inn, thank you so much for a wonderful evening. Everything was just perfect!

Tags: Private Room, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Fun, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very cozy atmosphere, great food and ser ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Very cozy atmosphere, great food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

First time we were seated in smaller din ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 5, 2017

First time we were seated in smaller dining room. More intimate and cozy. As usual, a very enjoyable dining experience. Lake Elmo Inn has become very aware of dietary special needs and accommodates them well with signs specifying gluten free. Service was excellent and welcoming.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lake Elmo Inn is 100% pure greatness! Ab ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Lake Elmo Inn is 100% pure greatness! Absolutely great food and service. The decor is wonderful and every time we have been there we are extactic about it. First time at the Sunday brunch and it is the best in the Tein Cities!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Private Room, Family Style, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The "salmon 3 ways" is great. Love the l ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The "salmon 3 ways" is great. Love the lamb chops. Always perfectly done. The Sin of the Inn is what makes this place worth the 40 minute drive (one way)!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Went with family to celebrate my husband ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Went with family to celebrate my husband's continued life fighting cancer. Food and wine was excellent wait staff very attentive. The "sunnies" were excellent as was the Prime Rib. Will definitely be back and recommend to friends.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and great service.

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Great food and great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

First time for us. Fantastic blend of o ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 4, 2017

First time for us. Fantastic blend of old school ambiance and great menu. Service is fantastic. Beef was perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely fantastic! The food is beyond ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Absolutely fantastic! The food is beyond delicious and the service is outstanding. The Lake Elmo Inn is perfect for all occasions and will never disappointment. We will definitely be back every chance we get.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion, Casual, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great walleye, prime rib, and sirloin st ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Great walleye, prime rib, and sirloin steak. We all liked the mixture of wild rice, especially with the onions and other ingredients. Slicing the sirloin and layering in between with your special sauce and seasonings was delicious and one of the best ways I've every been served steak. Be sure to check wrapped leftovers before leaving. Never 'assume' as ours got mixed up.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We have been to this restaurant before, ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 3, 2017

We have been to this restaurant before, but it always delivers. The food is always delicious and the service excellent. Everyone from the desk host to the valet attendant are friendly and concerned about my experience. We did not even use the valet parking, but he was friendly and greeted us as we were leaving. Our waitress was attentive and friendly, but, unfortunately I cannot remember her name.

Tags: Historic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent dining experience and food. I ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Excellent dining experience and food. I think I have said all that needs to be said for your feedback.

Tags: Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have dined here before and it is alwa ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 30, 2017

We have dined here before and it is always a great treat. The food is excellant.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Waitress, Monica, was outstanding. Frie ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Waitress, Monica, was outstanding. Friendly, attentive without even knowing she was there. Please give her our thanks. Food assortment for brunch was tremendous, tasty and wide variety. I question the extra for coffee but everything was great.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Wonderful Brunch! The selections and va ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Wonderful Brunch! The selections and variety of food offered was excellent. It was well worth the money. I love the quiet sophisticated ambiance of this restaurant. Great service, great food, and price is reasonable.... what more could you want?

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have heard great things about the food ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 29, 2017

I have heard great things about the food, and the Sunday brunch at this place, so I wanted to try it. The food was great, the coffee was awesome! (Since we do not care for champagne, We did not partake in the free champagne as part of the buffet ) I wish one could switch out the champagne for another beverage, Like coffee instead, without having to pay extra. BUT we will be back for sure, as I have already made future reservations :) Did I mention how good the coffee was ? ;)

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Not sure if the experience we had on 1/2 ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Not sure if the experience we had on 1/28/2017 was typical for a Saturday night however we had a 7:30 reservation and didn't end up getting seated until roughly 7:50, and finally had our first glass of wine arrive at 8:05. Aside from the delay the food was very good. The waitress apologized for the delay.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Awesome service, attentive yet not in yo ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Awesome service, attentive yet not in your face. All four entrees were excellent, drinks very good, seated on time.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been here several times in the p ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We have been here several times in the past and were very satisfied. This time was very poor. My wife's baked potato was cold and her shrimp were overcooked. The waitress was inattentive to the point that we were unable to complain or order an additional glass of wine during the meal. A great deal of attention was being paid to a couple of other tables but very little to ours.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

We've been to Lake Elmo Inn a couple of ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We've been to Lake Elmo Inn a couple of times, and every time it has been a great experience. The food is fantastic and the service is always great. While not cheap, I always felt that for the quality and service, it's a great value!

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had the lobster special. I was treated ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 27, 2017

I had the lobster special. I was treated to a healthy salad first. Delicious avocado with quinoa. The presentation was fabulous!

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great as usual. Lunch special was soooo ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Great as usual. Lunch special was soooo tasty I was glad to have enough for second meal. And Lobster Bisque was lovely.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Afternoon Coffee, Afternoon Tea, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Historic, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Private Room, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was a wonderful brunch experience a ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 22, 2017

This was a wonderful brunch experience as we celebrated my friends birthday.

I did have one complaint and that was the beef. Rare but not tender.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Curtis the bartender was amazing. We wil ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Curtis the bartender was amazing. We will be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was good, ambience good. Steak ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Service was good, ambience good. Steak was okay, not great, potato wasn't hot, waitress forgot horseradish sauce and steak knife. Whole meal was good but not great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food reservations are easily done ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Great food reservations are easily done online nice family style atmosphere with a really nice bar also the wait help are very good

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

My dates birthday meal was served on a s ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 21, 2017

My dates birthday meal was served on a special decorated Happy Birthday plate which was a very nice touch. Good food, nice quiet atmosphere made fort an enjoyable evening dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.