Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 2.14mi
  2. Distance: 2.84mi
  3. Distance: 3.70mi
  4. Distance: 4.49mi
  1. Distance: 2.14mi
  2. Distance: 2.84mi
  3. Distance: 3.70mi
  4. Distance: 4.49mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 2.14mi
  2. Distance: 2.84mi
  3. Distance: 3.70mi
  4. Distance: 4.49mi
  1. Distance: 2.14mi
  2. Distance: 2.84mi
  3. Distance: 3.70mi
  4. Distance: 4.49mi

About Lake Elmo Inn

The Lake Elmo Inn offers award-winning American cuisine, and has been voted Best Restaurant, Best Service, Best Dessert, Best Brunch, and Twin Cities Institution locally by Minneapolis St. Paul Magazine 'Reader's Choice Awards'. Zagat scores the Lake Elmo Inn at a 28 out of 30 for food, calling us a "hidden secret". We also received Wine Spectator's Award of Excellence for our extensive wine list for twelve years in a row.
The Lake Elmo Inn has been chosen as one of the top 100 Brunches in the nation by Open Table. From shrimp cocktail, smoked salmon, double smoked ham, and carved rounds of beef, to eggs Benedict, Belgium waffles, mouthwatering salads, and fresh seasonal fruit, the Lake Elmo Inn serves a Sunday Brunch that is artfully prepared and elegantly presented.

3442 Lake Elmo Avenue North
Lake Elmo, MN 55042
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Continental, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm; Sunday Brunch: 10:00am – 2:00pm, Sunday: 4:30pm - 8:30pm. Between 2:00pm-5:00pm

Cross Street:
Highway 5

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(651) 777-8495

Website:
http://www.lakeelmoinn.com/

Catering:
Corporate events, weddings, picnics, etc. Please contact our Event Center staff for more details. We cater local and around the Twin Cities.651-779-5994

Parking Details:
Public lots also available in the area.

Executive Chef:
John Schiltz

Private Party Facilities:
The Lake Elmo Inn has four dining rooms to offer private parties. Our Kohler room can accommodate groups up to 50 people. The Oak room holds up to 70 people and can be separated into a semi-private area for smaller group of 35 or less. Our event center holds 75-300 people, a wonderful place for a wedding, reunion, celebration of life, or corporate event. Please call Chris Schiltz 651.779.5994

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Lake Elmo Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (119)
Good for a Date (79)
Good for Anniversaries (77)
See All
Good for Birthdays (73)
Worth the Drive (65)
Romantic (60)
Quiet Conversation (58)
Great for Brunch (58)
Neighborhood Gem (52)
Cozy (49)
Good for Groups (46)
Sunday Lunch (37)
Historic (36)
Fit for Foodies (36)
Great for Lunch (35)
Notable Wine List (30)
Authentic (30)
Creative Cuisine (29)
Comfort Food (28)
Business Meals (28)
Casual (24)
Handcrafted Cocktails (17)
Fun (16)
Bar Seating (16)
Local Ingredients (16)
Healthy (15)
Outstanding Value (14)
Kid-friendly (14)
Tasting Menu (14)
Private Room (13)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Family Style (11)
Fireplace (11)
Seasonal (10)
Gluten Free Options (9)
Disabled Access (9)
Afternoon Coffee (8)
Happy Hour (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Great Beer (4)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Scenic View (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Organic (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Spicy (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
3280 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 2 days ago

I don't think brunch can get much better than this

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 3 days ago

The service was excellent and the food was scrumptious! We can't wait to go back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 7 days ago

Always a wonderful time. Our favorite restaurant. food was fabulous!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 21, 2017

great service and really good food. I went to a Sunday brunch at 10am and I'm glad I went early because it became very busy at 11am.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 21, 2017

We love LEI but not that room. Too bright, busy, cold like a conference room. Not nearly the experience we wanted.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value3

 
·Dined on May 20, 2017

We were at Lake Elmo Inn for our anniversary. It was our first time. The room we were in was quiet. There were groups in three other rooms. Our server was very good and let us take our time. She recommended a very tasty wine to pair with my meal. Because it was our anniversary, we were given champagne with our dessert. Very nice!! We had the pork sandwich and the duck with cherry sauce. Both were delicious!! We will be back! Excellent place for a special occasion.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Amazing food, atmosphere and service! Lake Elmo Inn was about 40 minutes from where I was staying, but have heard such good things I wanted to make the drive, and I will do it again next time I'm close to the area!

Thanks for the awesome food and experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Our time here for a Birthday celebration was terrific as is always the case.You are truly
one of our "special" places to dine

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Just wonderful. Lake Elmo Inn is like First Class on the best airline, a kudos to all of the the staff.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Authentic, Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Excellent service. Delicious food. Enjoyed every minute which is why the Lake Elmo Inn is my favorite restaurant.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Disabled Access, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Always a treat to dine at Lake Elmo Inn. The service and meal are worth the price....

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mother's Day

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Fun, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Private Room, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 13, 2017

It's my wife's birthday. Where else to go than the Lake Elmo Inn? Non pretentious evening with great food, a staff that made her feel extra special, and those sinful desserts. It continues to be our destination of choice to celebrate together.

Tags: Historic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 12, 2017

We were seated at one of your very odd half round booths. Very strange, and uncomfortable. If you got rid of those and put in regular booths it would be much better, They are very awkward to sit at and it ruins an otherwise nice dining experience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Never disappointed while dining at Lake Elmo Inn. Very friendly from check in to departure. Experienced wait staff. Accomodates special requests. Elegant touches like sorbet and huge chocolate covered strawberries. Delicious food, daily specials and consistent items on the menu. I need to go just for dessert some time- always too full to order it!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Always great food, service and overall experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Kid-friendly, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Great place to have an amazing Brunch, a little pricey, but worth the fee what what is included. All fresh scratch made items, including the pasteries and desserts!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 7, 2017

This was our second time within a few months for dining at Lake Elmo Inn. The first time was for dinner to celebrate my birthday. This time we attended the Sunday brunch and it was excellent. Nice variety of hot and cold choices. My favorites were the eggs benedict with a lovely sauce that was not so rich that it took over all the flavors. Next were the warm caramel rolls they serve right after your seated. The made to order omelets were done nicely. Last but definitely not least, the desserts were amazing. The "Sin of Inn" will you put your pallet in a euphoric state, it's the bomb! I will be back for a meal just so I can have the pleasure of eating one those little delicacies again.

Lake Elmo Inn will always be one of my top rated and favorite restaurants to dine at in Minnesota.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Lake Elmo Inn did not disappoint! Service was great and so was the food.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 7, 2017

My husband said it perfectly..."best meal/service ever!"

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 6, 2017

The "Sunnies" on the menu were absolutely delicious! We were so full, we passed on the most appealing dessert tray. Next time, we will start with dessert first! Holly, our waitress, delivered exceptional service. Such a nice place for a Saturday lunch!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Organic, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Modern Decor, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Over all very good, however my prime rib was very disappointing. For the price charged, the portion of my prime rib was very small!!! Would not order it again.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 4, 2017

This restaurant simply has the best tasting food you can buy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 2, 2017

The Tuesday buffet was delicious and a great value. Each course is more than delicious.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Never been disappointed when eating here; everything tastes so good.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 27, 2017

I ate there for lunch the other day. The burger was big and juicy. Key Lime pie for dessert was delicious.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Cozy, Comfort Food, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Lake Elmo Inn never disappoints. This is the go-to place for a special occasion or just a nice night out. The food is plentiful, delicious and beautifully presented. The staff is experienced, courteous and friendly, and efficient. The menu offers a wide variety of items, and the wine list is extensive. I recommend it highly.

Tags: Private Room, Seasonal, Sunday Lunch, Historic, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Fantastic! The servers were exceptional; the food was fabulous and the whole experience was wonderful. You made my 60th birthday a very memorable experience. I was even given a Happy Birthday plate. How special is that!

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Great Beer, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Food and service were excellent. Ambience was also great. We especially enjoyed the quartet!

Tags: Great Beer, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Great food and service as usual, great atmoshere. Would recommend to anyone.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 24, 2017

One of our favorite restaurants in the country. The staff is always attentive, knowledgeable and friendly. Every item we have tried has been perfect. We look forward to our next visit.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Went for Sunday brunch. The restaurant is very nicely decorated and has a great ambience, the server was very attentive and pleasant. The brunch food was great- very fresh tasting. While everything was really good, items of note were the potato pancakes and the braised short ribs, which I believe were the specialty dish they rotated in for that week's brunch.

Tags: Casual, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Special thanks to the staff for making my daughter and her date feel special for their Prom dinner!! They had a great time and really enjoyed the whole experience including the check in from the manager. Thanks again for making their night!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Always feel special with outstanding service. Lots of little extras come with the dining experience.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Celebrated a special birthday with our family. Wonderful waitress, complimentary champagne and overall very special experience. Food was very good.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 21, 2017

I just wish their prices were a little more reasonable. I think $30 for 6 or 7 little Sunfish fillets is on the high side. So given that, we don't eat there as often as we would like to.

Tags: Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 20, 2017

The service was very good. It was a special occasion. We were seated next to a large table with 8 or 9. It was very noisy and difficult for my husband and I to talk and hear one another because of the noise. The restaurant was told it was a special occasion. It was a poor choice to seat us near a noisy table. The server was very busy and forgot to bring ordered items and did not check back often. My husband's pork loin was tough and he could not finish it.

Overall not a great dining experience.

Tags: Historic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Never had a bad meal here. Food is always good. Minnesota casual atmosphere. Hands down, the best wild rice in the area.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Delicious lunch. Excellent service by Cheryl. The Risotto was the real thing.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Our server was wonderful, our food was great! I will be back !

Tags: Healthy, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.