About Lake Elmo Inn

3442 Lake Elmo Avenue North
Lake Elmo, MN 55042
View Larger Map

The Lake Elmo Inn offers award-winning American cuisine, and has been voted Best Restaurant, Best Service, Best Dessert, Best Brunch, and Twin Cities Institution locally by Minneapolis St. Paul Magazine 'Reader's Choice Awards'. Zagat scores the Lake Elmo Inn at a 28 out of 30 for food, calling us a "hidden secret". We also received Wine Spectator's Award of Excellence for our extensive wine list for twelve years in a row.
The Lake Elmo Inn has been chosen as one of the top 100 Brunches in the nation by Open Table. From shrimp cocktail, smoked salmon, double smoked ham, and carved rounds of beef, to eggs Benedict, Belgium waffles, mouthwatering salads, and fresh seasonal fruit, the Lake Elmo Inn serves a Sunday Brunch that is artfully prepared and elegantly presented.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Continental, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm; Sunday Brunch: 10:00am – 2:00pm, Sunday: 4:30pm - 8:30pm. Between 2:00pm-5:00pm

Cross Street:
Highway 5

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(651) 777-8495

Website:
http://www.lakeelmoinn.com/

Catering:
Corporate events, weddings, picnics, etc. Please contact our Event Center staff for more details. We cater local and around the Twin Cities.651-779-5994

Parking Details:
Public lots also available in the area.

Executive Chef:
John Schiltz

Private Party Facilities:
The Lake Elmo Inn has four dining rooms to offer private parties. Our Kohler room can accommodate groups up to 50 people. The Oak room holds up to 70 people and can be separated into a semi-private area for smaller group of 35 or less. Our event center holds 75-300 people, a wonderful place for a wedding, reunion, celebration of life, or corporate event. Please call Chris Schiltz 651.779.5994

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Promotions

Senior Appreciation Day

Mondays from 11:00 AM - 9:00 PM

Wednesday Night Raw Bar

Wednesdays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Thursday Night Prime Rib Special

Thursdays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Friday Night Chef's Tasting Menu

Fridays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Promotions

Senior Appreciation Day

Mondays from 11:00 AM - 9:00 PM

Details
Senior Appreciation 25% off entree (60+ years old). Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Feb 22, 2016 - Jun 20, 2016 on Mondays from 11:00 AM - 9:00 PM.
Wednesday Night Raw Bar

Wednesdays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Details
Raw Bar - (1/2 price fresh oysters, shrimp cocktail & crab claws) *while supplies last. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Feb 16, 2016 - Jun 15, 2016 on Wednesdays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM.
Thursday Night Prime Rib Special

Thursdays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Details
Prime Rib - slow roasted served with creamed horseradish and au jus for $21.95 *while supplies last. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Feb 16, 2016 - Jun 16, 2016 on Thursdays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM.
Friday Night Chef's Tasting Menu

Fridays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Details
Includes a starter, entrée and dessert for $30.00. * Menus to change periodically. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Apr 8, 2016 - Aug 5, 2016 on Fridays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM.

Lake Elmo Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
Minneapolis - St. Paul
Special Occasion
Minneapolis - St. Paul
Most Booked
Twin Cities / Eastern Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Lake Elmo ›

special occasion (224)
great for brunch (149)
neighborhood gem (132)
See All
good for groups (115)
romantic (115)
great for lunch (102)
fit for foodies (95)
notable wine list (62)
kid-friendly (24)
great for outdoor dining (13)
late-night find (11)
hot spot (11)
scenic view (4)
vibrant bar scene (3)
Sort By:
Newest
2668 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Cleo48

Dined 5 days ago

Probably first dined here in 1956. I'm that old. I was 7 years old. I remember the little bottle shop in the front entry. There is nothing not to like. This place is a Washington county treasure. Patronize it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lake Elmo Inn

Dined 6 days ago

The food was very good and the atmosphere was great. It was quiet so we could talk. Very nice.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

Lunch with a friend

Dined on May 20, 2016

Last few lunches here were not up to par. Seems strange they bring a bread basket when everyone is ordering burgers..... Had a wonderful meal this week at their event center however!

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was okay.

Dined on May 19, 2016

We visit at least once a month for the prime rib. This visit it was room temp at best.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good spot for long conversations

Dined on May 18, 2016

Am used to going to lunch on Tues - Buffet day. It is really busy and more noisy. Was quiet and very pleasant - easy to talk to friends and they did not hassle us about leaving. Sat for 2 1/2 hours just enjoying life. Food was very good too. Have never had bad food here.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A Family Favorite

Dined on May 17, 2016

We enjoyed a very nice family dinner out. The things that the kids remember over the years are still there - in particular the lemon sorbet palate cleanser, the large dessert selection and the chocolate covered strawberries at the end of the meal. Leftovers are put in a container and foil wrapped into swans making take-home a bit more fun. All of the food was very good - two different pork entrees, steak, even the kids macaroni and cheese. I had the jumbalaya, which I have to say, had much more of a tomato-sauce-like base than any other I have had before. Personal preference, but it wasn't my favorite. Overall, a great outing for our family celebration.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious and the service t ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

The food was delicious and the service top shelf. We look forward to our next visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We really like the Inn. A good place to ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

We really like the Inn. A good place to dine and talk with friends without yelling. Great food. Great environment.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4

Food was elegantly prepared. It was deli ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Food was elegantly prepared. It was delivered hot with everything we needed. For the price point a small salad should be provided.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Our date night was fabulous thanks to La ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Our date night was fabulous thanks to Lake Elmo Inn. The service by Jolynn was excellent! Our food was outstanding with an excellent presentation! Thanks for an amazing night out!🖐

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great evening with our office staff. Our ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Great evening with our office staff. Our waitress was wonderful and attentive!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The food and the service were absolutely ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

The food and the service were absolutely wonderful. Our server Nancy was great!

food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Fabulous dinner at the Lake Elmo Inn. Th ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Fabulous dinner at the Lake Elmo Inn. The staff went out of their way to accommodate our time schedule. My grandchildren enjoyed a healthy meal of delicious food. Thank you so much for helping make this an amazing and memorable experience!🖐😇

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Food was great

Dined on May 10, 2016

The food was very good. Service was OK. We were seated in a room where a large group of people was celebrating and were very very noisy. Service was OK, but not great. Our waitress had a lot of tables. We will keep going back, however, because the food is good.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

We dined May 10, 2016 for a birthday cel ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

We dined May 10, 2016 for a birthday celebration. Several in our party of five ordered an item from the menu: Pork Tenderloin. The Pork Tenderloin was good but the vegetable was not done and the linguine tasted like it was sitting for some time. Since the food was just okay, I will not bring a group back to the restaurant.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service was top notch, as alway ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

Food and service was top notch, as always. Special place

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service3
value5

May celebration visit

Dined on May 9, 2016

The atmosphere was typical Lake Elmo Inn, very warm. A couple exceptions however were: We arrived 10 minutes early for our reservation and were told they weren't" open yet" so we went to the bar. Greeter at check in desk not friendly as in previous visits. Usual bartender not on duty, and Margarita ordered was in a large water glass. 8oz filet was not cooked properly, but the waitress, Vicki, was very obliging, friendly and helpful. Just seemed that the atmosphere greeting us at the door should be practiced by the check-in person and person showing guests to their tables.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Special lunch for best friend birthday

Dined on May 9, 2016

I brought my best friend here for her birthday. Not only did we have complimentary glasses of champagne, but my friend, who is a tea connoisseur, was delighted the Inn makes loose leaf tea, similar to what we both had in upscale English tearooms in London.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

I have had many outstanding meals at Lak ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

I have had many outstanding meals at Lake Elmo Inn. This time it was still good, just not Lake Elmo Inn good. The cornmeal breading on the walleye was not my wife's favorite. Service was friendly, but not very attentive. We had to waive down the waitress to give a drink order which she took and then came back to our table 5 minutes later asking if we wanted another drink and we had to remind her we gave a drink order and hadn't gotten it yet. They were also out of a few things, which surprised me. They've set a very high bar and when they don't hit that mark, it catches you off guard. Still recommend it, and looking forward to our next visit for a little redemption.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great small town gem

Dined on May 8, 2016

The Lake Elmo Inn is a minnesota treasure. The food is always amazing. The service professional. The atmosphere casual, while still feeling special.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Too Costly

Dined on May 7, 2016

Although the food was superb, the service incredible, it just is not worth the high price for Mother's Day. One cannot eat enough food to make this a value. We personally took tiny portions of foods, as it was not possible to really "eat"--just sample. We regret that we will probably not return again, as each year the Mother's Day Brunch just gets more and more expensive. Mom feels horrible that I have to pay such a high price, and it is not fun when Mom is not pleased. Sorry. We love the food, ambiance and service, but not the exorbitant price.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Few resturants still give you this experiance.

Dined on April 30, 2016

I suggested this restaurant for a special occasion but I really would recommend it anytime. There are so few restaurant's left that give you good service, food and service. This is one of my favorite places to dine for any reason. It is always a real treat. We had very good fun and lots of fun. It was a relaxing evening that everyone enjoyed.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious ! Classy place . Service was t ...

Dined on April 29, 2016

Delicious ! Classy place . Service was top notch .

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Reservations were easy to make on line a ...

Dined on April 29, 2016

Reservations were easy to make on line and we received a reminder email the day before,which was nice. It was easy to find and the decor was upscale but not stuffy , very comfortable.The service was excellent as well as the amount of time between courses.Every single thing we were served was amazing !The prime rib melted in my mouth,crab stuffed mushrooms -delicious !We will definitely go back and highly recommend Lake Elmore Inn.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

There roast beef seems to be a little to ...

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

There roast beef seems to be a little tough at the brunch the times I have been there.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Dinner

Dined on April 24, 2016

Great food and service. Was loud however, sometimes hard to hear the people at my table. Went on a Sat night and it was very busy. The desserts were fantastic too.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

What I expect from Lake Elmo Inn

Dined on April 23, 2016

Adult daughter birthday on a Saturday at noon. Very good food in a pleasant setting with good service.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great find - don't judge by outside appearance!

Dined on April 23, 2016

My wife and I booked a reservation on Open Table for a Friday night. We were looking for a elegant dining experience and are not from the area. From outside appearance, it seems perhaps like a local dining spot, although the parking area was full (usually a good sign). When you walk through the front doors, you feel like you are in a downtown elegant dining hotspot, although with much more charm and friendliness from the staff. Our host, servers, and other staff were all exceptional! The food is also truly unique. We tried an appetizer, as well as a couple different options on the menu, followed by desert. Each course was exceptional contributed to the experience. We will be back and may have found our new favorite place!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

NOt as good as usual

Dined on April 19, 2016

We were seated at one of the "half moon booths". VERY uncomfortable, I would rather go somewhere else than try and sit at one of those again. Also, I had a filet mignon and it wasn't good. Everything else was, but that was a very big disappointment

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Lake Elmo Inn

Dined on April 18, 2016

We eaten here many times and have always enjoyed the food.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

The Disappointing Sunday Buffet

Dined on April 17, 2016

The best thing on the Sunday Buffet was the shrimp cocktail. The worst thing on the buffet was every thing else. Tough breaded park cutlets, dry dinner rolls, soggy desserts and a carving station that produced stingy portions of grisly beef rounded out the experience. The service was OK, but couldn't overcome the rest of the experience. Never again!

food5
ambience5
service5

Great selection of brunch items. I espec ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

Great selection of brunch items. I especially liked the blueberry french toast and spaetzle they had. As always, a great experience!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best Sunday brunch in the St. Paul Area

Dined on April 17, 2016

Lake Elmo Inn has the best Sunday brunch in the St. Paul area for sure, possibly the entire Twin Cities. Food quality is outstanding. Service is friendly and attentive, with a comfortable ambiance. It's not cheap, but you get what you pay for. I've never left there disappointed.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Never Disappoints!

vip
Dined on April 13, 2016

The food is a bit above traditional though this is a traditional restaurant as far as décor and service go. Linen tablecloths, attentive service are the norm. But there is often a unique twist to traditional favorites, with a little more flavor than expected. We had appetizers of wontons and pot stickers and they did the Asian influence quite well. Delicious! Two of the four of us had a traditional beef entrée, both were satisfying. A couple of us went with the Cajun side of things with a seafood mac n cheese. Also excellent. Full bar menu, a server who had personality but not intrusive.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Always a special "special of the day !"

Dined on April 13, 2016

My husband and I have treated friends and relatives at The Lake Elmo Inn as we know just what we are in for...no surprises!, no disappointment. We felt privileged to meet Chef John!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Good food, warm inviting atmosphere.

Dined on April 12, 2016

The food is consistently good with fresh salads such as their wonderful Festival Salad. I must rave about their splendid decadent deserts to die for. The warm welcoming atmosphere feels as if it were family. We like the ambience because it is easy to visit and talk.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

ms

Dined on April 10, 2016

I would go back for the coconut bon bond. Also, the waitress we had in the small side room was quite wonderful. She entertained us while keeping our champagne glasses full. The layout was delightful and the ice carving gave everything a touch of elegance.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience5
service5

Our first dinner went pretty well. The s ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

Our first dinner went pretty well. The service is great and I fell in love with the restaurant. The only down side was we both ordered steaks and they were not seasoned at all. It was first time I had to add salt to a steak. The crab wontons are amazing for a starter. We will still be back, I'm sure the seasoning was a hiccup.

food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Bad Experience

Dined on April 9, 2016

What happened to this place. We had a waitress who was nice, but overwhelmed and it wasn't that busy. The rolls were in the oven, and late. We never got our water glasses refilled. The steaks were not done right and the tables nearby were never cleared off. It was awful!!

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

We went to Lake Elmo In. For my mom's bi ...

vip
Dined on April 5, 2016

We went to Lake Elmo In. For my mom's birthday and all I can say was everything from the food, service, price, and ambience was beyond my expectations. Everyone got different things off the menu, but for myself, I got the chicken forestiere. It was a chicken breast with spinach, mushrooms, and wild leeks with a balsamic reduction. I got it with wild rice and curried cauliflower. It was amazing. The chicken was extremely tender and the sides were also delicious! It honestly was better than any of the restaurants I've been to in downtown Minneapolis. In all, I completely recommend Lake Elmo Inn to everyone. Definitely will be coming back in the near future!

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.