Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.61mi
  2. Distance: 0.97mi
  3. Distance: 1.09mi
  4. Distance: 1.44mi
  1. Distance: 0.61mi
  2. Distance: 0.97mi
  3. Distance: 1.09mi
  4. Distance: 1.44mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.61mi
  2. Distance: 0.97mi
  3. Distance: 1.09mi
  4. Distance: 1.44mi
  1. Distance: 0.61mi
  2. Distance: 0.97mi
  3. Distance: 1.09mi
  4. Distance: 1.44mi

About Laguna Cafe

Spend an evening enjoying enticing foods in a comfortable environment with great company at Spokane's Laguna Café.
Your appetite for mouth watering food at a friendly place where you can hang out and enjoy the atmosphere is satisfied at the Laguna Café. When you sit down at our unique restaurant, you're served food that has over 84 combined years of experience and inspiration behind it.
We have over 90 wines, a dozen beers and cocktails from our new bar.

2013 E 29 TH Ave
Spokane, WA 99203
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 8:00 am to 9:00 pm
Friday: 8:00 am to 10:00 pm
Saturday: 9:00 am to 10:00 pm
Sunday: 9:00 am to 8:00 pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(509) 448-0887

Website:
http://www.restaurantsspokanewa.com/

Executive Chef:
Debbie Barranti

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Laguna Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Comfort Food (5)
See All
Tasting Menu (4)
Casual (4)
Notable Wine List (3)
Healthy (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Romantic (3)
Good for Groups (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Authentic (2)
Cozy (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Local Ingredients (1)
Special Occasion (1)
Great Beer (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Fun (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Family Style (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Fireplace (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
63 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Best restaurant in Spokane. The owner is involved with the diners and recommends amazing wines. The food is beautifully presented and tastes so amazing. Lunch or dinner, this is the place to go!

Tags: Happy Hour, Romantic, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on April 19, 2017

A friend and business associate joined me at Laguna Cafe to use a Groupon. Wow, we were so pleased with the entire experirnce we'll definitely be back. Relaxed atmosphere, friendly service and great food were enjoyed at this quaint neighborhood retreat. We both had steak and prawns, they were prepared to perfection and we're delicious!

Tags: Fireplace, Casual, Authentic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Dan and Debbie have a winning formula! Really good food and specials. Excellent cocktails.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Love love this place...we like to support Dan and his wife. Hard hard workers...great food! Cheers!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 25, 2017

This visit coincided with Spokane's restaurant week and my wife had one of these 3 course special dinners which she enjoyed immensely. I went with my usual request ~ the steak salad that has a unique blend of ingredients that blend so well together. An excellent visit once again!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 23, 2017

I love going to Laguna Café to have a cocktail and a nice meal. My favorites are the Tuscan chicken pot pie and the chef salad. The wait staff are awesome and attentive and your food comes out quickly. I go there so much its like an extension of my own home!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 21, 2017

A great place to dine and not have to cook. Truely delicious food with a chip on its shoulder.
Jeff

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Healthy, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Everytime we go, the food is excellent, the service is outstanding, and the ambience is great.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Everything was wonderful except our wine service. It was very slow! Our food came before we got our wine!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 7, 2017

The creme brulee cheesecake and herbed potatoes are alone worth a visit. The wine selection, though not extensive is interesting and tasty.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Nice experience once again. This time with friends who we haven't seen in awhile. Wonderful dishes, great wine selction, and delicious desserts. Look forward to my next visit at Laguna!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Went there on Thanksgiving day. Food was extremely good. Service was outstanding

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Filet was rare instead of medium rare and the salmon was a little dry. Great server and quiet table. Love the menu. Need to try some other items.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Food a little overpriced; basic food, nothing really unique but solid eats and nice owner.

Tags: Family Style, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 8, 2016

food was mediocre at best.meatloaf was too hard. pasta dish was strange. can't call something carbonara and have it prepared as they do. the burger was pretty nasty as well..like a hockey puck. this is the second time we have eaten here and will not go again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 21, 2016

We enjoy the new location and recommend it for dinner. It is "home" cooking and nice portions.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Great wines and made from scratch dinners and desserts!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 16, 2016

Just a fun place to go. Interaction with the staff is a plus, and the owner will stop by and say hi. Well drinks are all top shelf so the standard is high.
Food is good not outstanding, all round good experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 3, 2016

Really enjoyed out breakfast it was delicious. However, I didn't think my Mimosa was good or worth the money. Orange juice didn't taste real and should have been whipped with a touch of vanilla. I will skip that in the future. Everything else was excellent and I will go there again for brunch.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 29, 2016

Deeply enjoyed witty repartee with the owner, personalized clarification of lactose free and vegan options for two in our party, and attentive but not intrusive service. The food was very good for one and excellent for the other four. The atmosphere was both chic and comfortable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 26, 2016

Lobster bisque is great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 4, 2016

Good food flavored were on point. Can't go wrong

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 31, 2016

We went on my birthday. Both wife and I ordered chicken parmesan which was outstanding. Prior to main course also had appetizer of stuffed mushrooms, also exquisite. Male server (sorry, can't remember his name) was very attentive as well.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 12, 2016

Love the food and atmosphere. Great service and very friendly staff. Our new favorite place!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 12, 2016

Most excellent food, great ambiance, wonderful host-fun and great!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 25, 2016

The new then location on 29th has more tables, a larger kitchen, a full bar, and lots of convenient parking. Larger staff gives more flexibility and allows more attention to your needs. Just a great place to dine. Friendly and dependable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 24, 2016

We were there for a late breakfast. We were pleasantly surprised.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 20, 2016

Great food, great service, wonderful ambiance! Once discovered, we went 4 times in two weeks, meeting friends for lunch, a birthday and happy hour!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 12, 2016

Everyone was amazing, great food and wine. Desserts are a must if you can spare the room :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 4, 2016

Although our entrees were not hot when served the kitchen quickly remedied it when we pointed it out to the server. The Thursday evening music was great, however I would rather be seated at the other end of the restaurant to have conversation with the rest of our party.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 21, 2016

We celebrated my wife's birthday at Laguna Café this past Saturday night and our table all enjoyed the variety of appetizers + the wonderful entrees. Thanks for the wonderful food and experience, Dan & Deb!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 13, 2016

Love their new digs and the cocktails are AMAZING as was our service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 6, 2016

The food was very good. I like ta they had small plate. I was actually able to feel like I ate healthy smaller healthier portion for dinner. Food tasted great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 3, 2016

Have been a customer for years and am very happy to see that the place is doing great business at its new location. Great comfort food is created here including appetizers & desserts!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 17, 2016

From the table I was seated at, I had full view into the kitchen. On two separate occasions, I saw one of the cooks take a puff off of an e-cig while he was working with the food.

My child's food was delivered with the appetizer (since the appetizer was for child as well, it would have been nice if my child's meal had been delivered with our meal - or if the server would have asked).

My husband and I ordered a meal to share and paid a split-meal fee. When someone from the kitchen brought the salad out, she brought a small salad on one plate. (She finally brought out two small salads after some discussion.)

I've been to this restaurant on one previous occasion and had an excellent experience, but this was not the case this time around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (Montana)·Dined on January 9, 2016

Laguna Café has always been a neighborhood gem...well priced and friendly service. The current new location is a welcome advancement with far more space and comfortable dining. With all of the growth the restaurant is faced with growing pains and working out some of the kinks of service. I was seated at the bar which was comfortable and had a friendly atmosphere. I placed my order for food starting with a cup of soup, salad and entrée. I waited about 15 mins. and everything showed up at the same time. Not good...a lot of apologies from the server...but all the food was lukewarm as well. I am sure the restaurant in their "new digs" will work this all out in time so I would encourage existing and potentially new customers to be patient.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 3, 2016

Laguna has always been a favorite spot for a quiet dinner with high quality food and service. This was not the case for our visit to their new and bigger space. They had only been opened 2 days and every table was filled although we did have reservations. The service was slow - took 30 minutes to get a bottle of wine- food delivered was cold and had to be sent back twice to reheat - food quality was disappointing- orders were incorrect- owner was apologetic. However, if you are going to offer a full menu without proper training for staff and chefs; then it should be spot on. We will go back to try again and hope the same quality of the old Laguna will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 14, 2015

I do not get here often enough since I moved away from the South Hill. Great food and wine and amazing deserts at a very reasonable price. Still a favorite place for me! Love the way the owner is always visiting and making comments.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 13, 2015

Laguna Cafe is not a bad place to go if you've never been or if you have way too much money to get rid of. The food is good, but not great. The service is good, but the vibe is very quiet. For a bustling Saturday night elsewhere, the place was very empty. The ambiance of a fancy California beach cafe is very weird and unique. Value for the food is not very good. Prices are about twice what they should be for the quality/ quantity received.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 29, 2015

Nice neighborhood cafe. Food was so so. Wine list very limited for a beer and wine only restaurant. Not a destination restaurant for us; if in area we may try it again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.