About Laguna Cafe

2013 E 29 TH Ave
Spokane, WA 99203
View Larger Map

Spend an evening enjoying enticing foods in a comfortable environment with great company at Spokane's Laguna Café.
Your appetite for mouth watering food at a friendly place where you can hang out and enjoy the atmosphere is satisfied at the Laguna Café. When you sit down at our unique restaurant, you're served food that has over 84 combined years of experience and inspiration behind it.
We have over 90 wines, a dozen beers and cocktails from our new bar.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 8:00 am to 9:00 pm
Friday: 8:00 am to 10:00 pm
Saturday: 9:00 am to 10:00 pm
Sunday: 9:00 am to 8:00 pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(509) 448-0887

Website:
http://www.restaurantsspokanewa.com/

Executive Chef:
Debbie Barranti

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Laguna Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.1

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Special Occasion (3)
See All
Good for Birthdays (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Cozy (2)
Healthy (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Family Style (2)
Organic (1)
Authentic (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Casual (1)
Business Meals (1)
Live Music (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Fireplace (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Fun (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Sort By:
S
52 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Went there on Thanksgiving day. Food wa ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Went there on Thanksgiving day. Food was extremely good. Service was outstanding

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Filet was rare instead of medium rare an ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Filet was rare instead of medium rare and the salmon was a little dry. Great server and quiet table. Love the menu. Need to try some other items.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Food a little overpriced; basic food, n ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Food a little overpriced; basic food, nothing really unique but solid eats and nice owner.

Tags: Family Style, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

food was mediocre at best.meatloaf was ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 8, 2016

food was mediocre at best.meatloaf was too hard. pasta dish was strange. can't call something carbonara and have it prepared as they do. the burger was pretty nasty as well..like a hockey puck. this is the second time we have eaten here and will not go again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

We enjoy the new location and recommend ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 21, 2016

We enjoy the new location and recommend it for dinner. It is "home" cooking and nice portions.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great wines and made from scratch dinner ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Great wines and made from scratch dinners and desserts!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Just a fun place to go. Interaction with ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 16, 2016

Just a fun place to go. Interaction with the staff is a plus, and the owner will stop by and say hi. Well drinks are all top shelf so the standard is high.

Food is good not outstanding, all round good experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Really enjoyed out breakfast it was deli ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 3, 2016

Really enjoyed out breakfast it was delicious. However, I didn't think my Mimosa was good or worth the money. Orange juice didn't taste real and should have been whipped with a touch of vanilla. I will skip that in the future. Everything else was excellent and I will go there again for brunch.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Deeply enjoyed witty repartee with the o ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 29, 2016

Deeply enjoyed witty repartee with the owner, personalized clarification of lactose free and vegan options for two in our party, and attentive but not intrusive service. The food was very good for one and excellent for the other four. The atmosphere was both chic and comfortable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Lobster bisque is great!

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 26, 2016

Lobster bisque is great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Good food flavored were on point. Can't ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 4, 2016

Good food flavored were on point. Can't go wrong

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Great experience

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 31, 2016

We went on my birthday. Both wife and I ordered chicken parmesan which was outstanding. Prior to main course also had appetizer of stuffed mushrooms, also exquisite. Male server (sorry, can't remember his name) was very attentive as well.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Love the food and atmosphere. Great serv ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 12, 2016

Love the food and atmosphere. Great service and very friendly staff. Our new favorite place!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Laguna Cafe review

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 12, 2016

Most excellent food, great ambiance, wonderful host-fun and great!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a satisfying meal at Laguna

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 25, 2016

The new then location on 29th has more tables, a larger kitchen, a full bar, and lots of convenient parking. Larger staff gives more flexibility and allows more attention to your needs. Just a great place to dine. Friendly and dependable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

We were there for a late breakfast. We w ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 24, 2016

We were there for a late breakfast. We were pleasantly surprised.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Great food, great service, wonderful amb ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 20, 2016

Great food, great service, wonderful ambiance! Once discovered, we went 4 times in two weeks, meeting friends for lunch, a birthday and happy hour!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everyone was amazing, great food and win ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 12, 2016

Everyone was amazing, great food and wine. Desserts are a must if you can spare the room :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Just a slight hick-up!

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 4, 2016

Although our entrees were not hot when served the kitchen quickly remedied it when we pointed it out to the server. The Thursday evening music was great, however I would rather be seated at the other end of the restaurant to have conversation with the rest of our party.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Great Time Again

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 21, 2016

We celebrated my wife's birthday at Laguna Café this past Saturday night and our table all enjoyed the variety of appetizers + the wonderful entrees. Thanks for the wonderful food and experience, Dan & Deb!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Love their new digs and the cocktails ar ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 13, 2016

Love their new digs and the cocktails are AMAZING as was our service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Great little pace to eat.

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 6, 2016

The food was very good. I like ta they had small plate. I was actually able to feel like I ate healthy smaller healthier portion for dinner. Food tasted great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

If I could, I'd lick the plate!

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 3, 2016

Have been a customer for years and am very happy to see that the place is doing great business at its new location. Great comfort food is created here including appetizers & desserts!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Cook smoking an e-cig while cooking

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 17, 2016

From the table I was seated at, I had full view into the kitchen. On two separate occasions, I saw one of the cooks take a puff off of an e-cig while he was working with the food.

My child's food was delivered with the appetizer (since the appetizer was for child as well, it would have been nice if my child's meal had been delivered with our meal - or if the server would have asked).

My husband and I ordered a meal to share and paid a split-meal fee. When someone from the kitchen brought the salad out, she brought a small salad on one plate. (She finally brought out two small salads after some discussion.)

I've been to this restaurant on one previous occasion and had an excellent experience, but this was not the case this time around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Great new space!

vip
 (Montana)·Dined on January 9, 2016

Laguna Café has always been a neighborhood gem...well priced and friendly service. The current new location is a welcome advancement with far more space and comfortable dining. With all of the growth the restaurant is faced with growing pains and working out some of the kinks of service. I was seated at the bar which was comfortable and had a friendly atmosphere. I placed my order for food starting with a cup of soup, salad and entrée. I waited about 15 mins. and everything showed up at the same time. Not good...a lot of apologies from the server...but all the food was lukewarm as well. I am sure the restaurant in their "new digs" will work this all out in time so I would encourage existing and potentially new customers to be patient.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

New location and reopened two nights prior

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 3, 2016

Laguna has always been a favorite spot for a quiet dinner with high quality food and service. This was not the case for our visit to their new and bigger space. They had only been opened 2 days and every table was filled although we did have reservations. The service was slow - took 30 minutes to get a bottle of wine- food delivered was cold and had to be sent back twice to reheat - food quality was disappointing- orders were incorrect- owner was apologetic. However, if you are going to offer a full menu without proper training for staff and chefs; then it should be spot on. We will go back to try again and hope the same quality of the old Laguna will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Consistantly great food, etc

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 14, 2015

I do not get here often enough since I moved away from the South Hill. Great food and wine and amazing deserts at a very reasonable price. Still a favorite place for me! Love the way the owner is always visiting and making comments.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Not Bad but Not Great

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 13, 2015

Laguna Cafe is not a bad place to go if you've never been or if you have way too much money to get rid of. The food is good, but not great. The service is good, but the vibe is very quiet. For a bustling Saturday night elsewhere, the place was very empty. The ambiance of a fancy California beach cafe is very weird and unique. Value for the food is not very good. Prices are about twice what they should be for the quality/ quantity received.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Nice neighborhood cafe. Food was so so. ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 29, 2015

Nice neighborhood cafe. Food was so so. Wine list very limited for a beer and wine only restaurant. Not a destination restaurant for us; if in area we may try it again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Average

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 8, 2015

The service was very good, but the food was average at best. I have to say the dessert was very tasty, but we still will not be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5

Excelent food and service. Owner very helpful

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 16, 2015

Ken, the owner, was very helpful, with many recommendations. Really knows his wines, letting us taste some before ordering. Food was cooked to prefection. Deserts were great! We will be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Great place, fabulous food, friendly staff

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 18, 2015

Laguna Cafe serves great food in a very inviting atmosphere. The service is exemplary and menu selections are fabulous. Laguna also offers a great number of small plate dishes at prices significantly less than the full plate versions. Further, consider yourself blessed if you hear the superb Diane Copeland at the piano. A great place - we'll be back.

Tags: Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great little place

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 28, 2015

We tried this during Restaurant Week this year. We ran into some friends who were having dinner right by our table which was fun. Laguna has small plates on their menu- which are small versions of their regular dinner entrees- perfect for the smaller appetite. The Caesar salad was tasty and a generous portion was served. We had the shrimp skewer appetizer, the small plate Filet Mignon with Prawn and my partner ordered the Shrimp Ettoufee' . Both dishes were delicious and the side vegetables were cooked al dente- which is the sign of an excellent chef for me. We ordered a nice Pinot Noir for wine. The owner came over to visit and treated us to an Italian after dinner cordial to go with the Bananas Foster for dessert. The French Cafe strings of lights added to the ambiance - making it cute and cozy.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Neighborhood Gem - Must visit

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 26, 2015

Love taking friends to Laguna Café for the first time. The food is ALWAYS delicious and the owner Dan really knows his wine. His wine pairings for the desserts are spot on and he has a wonderful selection.

Portions are smaller than most chain restaurants but large enough to feel satisfied. You can tell the detail and quality that goes into each dish.

Love it when Dan stops by the table to explain how he came up with the dish and his family and extensive traveling bring varied influences to the menu.

Must visit!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Thumbs up

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 22, 2015

Ask for the hidden wine list which has special bottles not on the regular list.

Good food, fun menu, great friendly service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

My favorite restaurant in Spokane!

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 27, 2014

Laguna Cafe is a treasure, and our very favorite restaurant in Spokane. Their lunch menu is varied and everything we have ordered was superb. We went for dinner for the first time this week, and oh what an experience! We were greeted and given descriptions about and recommendations for their many dishes by the owner. Although he was not our server, he checked back with us several times throughout our meal to make sure everything was prepared to perfection; it was--and he has got to be one of the nicest people we have ever met! Our entrees were to die for, but I think that would be our opinion no matter what we chose! I order their signature mushroom brie soup and lemon cake as part of every meal, and will never get enough of either.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A Special Spot!

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 26, 2014

All 5 of us thoroughly enjoyed our meals and service at Laguna Cafe and the owner is delightful ...we'll be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome find!

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 11, 2014

Great food and great service! Very surprised to find this place off the beaten path.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Some of everything

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 4, 2014

On Fridays there is always live music, also a wonderful lobster bisque. He has a wine list that is both affordable, and full of suprise.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Quaint dining

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 20, 2014

Our first time to your restaurant and it was excellent. Dinner was very good. We will be back especially to try the chocolate cake!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.