About Laguna Cafe

2013 E 29 TH Ave
Spokane, WA 99203
View Larger Map

Spend an evening enjoying enticing foods in a comfortable environment with great company at Spokane's Laguna Café.
Your appetite for mouth watering food at a friendly place where you can hang out and enjoy the atmosphere is satisfied at the Laguna Café. When you sit down at our unique restaurant, you're served food that has over 84 combined years of experience and inspiration behind it.
We have over 90 wines, a dozen beers and cocktails from our new bar.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 8:00 am to 9:00 pm
Friday: 8:00 am to 10:00 pm
Saturday: 9:00 am to 10:00 pm
Sunday: 9:00 am to 8:00 pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(509) 448-0887

Website:
http://www.restaurantsspokanewa.com/

Executive Chef:
Debbie Barranti

Additional:
Beer, Cafe, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Laguna Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Neighborhood Gem
Seattle / Eastern Washington
Best Value
Spokane
Fit for Foodies
Spokane
Best Restaurants in Spokane ›

neighborhood gem (16)
great for lunch (10)
special occasion (9)
See All
fit for foodies (9)
notable wine list (7)
romantic (6)
good for groups (4)
kid-friendly (2)
great for outdoor dining (2)
hot spot (1)
great for brunch (1)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
40 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the food and atmosphere. Great serv ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Love the food and atmosphere. Great service and very friendly staff. Our new favorite place!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Laguna Cafe review

Dined on May 12, 2016

Most excellent food, great ambiance, wonderful host-fun and great!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Always a satisfying meal at Laguna

Dined on April 25, 2016

The new then location on 29th has more tables, a larger kitchen, a full bar, and lots of convenient parking. Larger staff gives more flexibility and allows more attention to your needs. Just a great place to dine. Friendly and dependable.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5

We were there for a late breakfast. We w ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

We were there for a late breakfast. We were pleasantly surprised.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, great service, wonderful amb ...

Dined on April 20, 2016

Great food, great service, wonderful ambiance! Once discovered, we went 4 times in two weeks, meeting friends for lunch, a birthday and happy hour!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Everyone was amazing, great food and win ...

Dined on March 12, 2016

Everyone was amazing, great food and wine. Desserts are a must if you can spare the room :)

food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Just a slight hick-up!

Dined on March 4, 2016

Although our entrees were not hot when served the kitchen quickly remedied it when we pointed it out to the server. The Thursday evening music was great, however I would rather be seated at the other end of the restaurant to have conversation with the rest of our party.

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Time Again

Dined on February 21, 2016

We celebrated my wife's birthday at Laguna Café this past Saturday night and our table all enjoyed the variety of appetizers + the wonderful entrees. Thanks for the wonderful food and experience, Dan & Deb!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5

Love their new digs and the cocktails ar ...

Dined on February 13, 2016

Love their new digs and the cocktails are AMAZING as was our service.

food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Great little pace to eat.

Dined on February 6, 2016

The food was very good. I like ta they had small plate. I was actually able to feel like I ate healthy smaller healthier portion for dinner. Food tasted great.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

If I could, I'd lick the plate!

Dined on February 3, 2016

Have been a customer for years and am very happy to see that the place is doing great business at its new location. Great comfort food is created here including appetizers & desserts!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Cook smoking an e-cig while cooking

Dined on January 17, 2016

From the table I was seated at, I had full view into the kitchen. On two separate occasions, I saw one of the cooks take a puff off of an e-cig while he was working with the food. My child's food was delivered with the appetizer (since the appetizer was for child as well, it would have been nice if my child's meal had been delivered with our meal - or if the server would have asked). My husband and I ordered a meal to share and paid a split-meal fee. When someone from the kitchen brought the salad out, she brought a small salad on one plate. (She finally brought out two small salads after some discussion.) I've been to this restaurant on one previous occasion and had an excellent experience, but this was not the case this time around.

food3
ambience4
service2
value4

Great new space!

vip
Dined on January 9, 2016

Laguna Café has always been a neighborhood gem...well priced and friendly service. The current new location is a welcome advancement with far more space and comfortable dining. With all of the growth the restaurant is faced with growing pains and working out some of the kinks of service. I was seated at the bar which was comfortable and had a friendly atmosphere. I placed my order for food starting with a cup of soup, salad and entrée. I waited about 15 mins. and everything showed up at the same time. Not good...a lot of apologies from the server...but all the food was lukewarm as well. I am sure the restaurant in their "new digs" will work this all out in time so I would encourage existing and potentially new customers to be patient.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

New location and reopened two nights prior

Dined on January 3, 2016

Laguna has always been a favorite spot for a quiet dinner with high quality food and service. This was not the case for our visit to their new and bigger space. They had only been opened 2 days and every table was filled although we did have reservations. The service was slow - took 30 minutes to get a bottle of wine- food delivered was cold and had to be sent back twice to reheat - food quality was disappointing- orders were incorrect- owner was apologetic. However, if you are going to offer a full menu without proper training for staff and chefs; then it should be spot on. We will go back to try again and hope the same quality of the old Laguna will return.

food5
ambience5
service5

Consistantly great food, etc

Dined on September 14, 2015

I do not get here often enough since I moved away from the South Hill. Great food and wine and amazing deserts at a very reasonable price. Still a favorite place for me! Love the way the owner is always visiting and making comments.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4

Not Bad but Not Great

Dined on September 13, 2015

Laguna Cafe is not a bad place to go if you've never been or if you have way too much money to get rid of. The food is good, but not great. The service is good, but the vibe is very quiet. For a bustling Saturday night elsewhere, the place was very empty. The ambiance of a fancy California beach cafe is very weird and unique. Value for the food is not very good. Prices are about twice what they should be for the quality/ quantity received.

Tags: romantic
food3
ambience3
service4

Nice neighborhood cafe. Food was so so. ...

Dined on August 29, 2015

Nice neighborhood cafe. Food was so so. Wine list very limited for a beer and wine only restaurant. Not a destination restaurant for us; if in area we may try it again.

food3
ambience2
service5

Average

vip
Dined on July 8, 2015

The service was very good, but the food was average at best. I have to say the dessert was very tasty, but we still will not be returning.

food4
ambience4
service5

Excelent food and service. Owner very helpful

Dined on May 16, 2015

Ken, the owner, was very helpful, with many recommendations. Really knows his wines, letting us taste some before ordering. Food was cooked to prefection. Deserts were great! We will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place, fabulous food, friendly staff

Dined on April 18, 2015

Laguna Cafe serves great food in a very inviting atmosphere. The service is exemplary and menu selections are fabulous. Laguna also offers a great number of small plate dishes at prices significantly less than the full plate versions. Further, consider yourself blessed if you hear the superb Diane Copeland at the piano. A great place - we'll be back.

Tags: kid-friendly, romantic, late-night find, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Great little place

Dined on February 28, 2015

We tried this during Restaurant Week this year. We ran into some friends who were having dinner right by our table which was fun. Laguna has small plates on their menu- which are small versions of their regular dinner entrees- perfect for the smaller appetite. The Caesar salad was tasty and a generous portion was served. We had the shrimp skewer appetizer, the small plate Filet Mignon with Prawn and my partner ordered the Shrimp Ettoufee' . Both dishes were delicious and the side vegetables were cooked al dente- which is the sign of an excellent chef for me. We ordered a nice Pinot Noir for wine. The owner came over to visit and treated us to an Italian after dinner cordial to go with the Bananas Foster for dessert. The French Cafe strings of lights added to the ambiance - making it cute and cozy.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience3
service5

Neighborhood Gem - Must visit

Dined on February 26, 2015

Love taking friends to Laguna Café for the first time. The food is ALWAYS delicious and the owner Dan really knows his wine. His wine pairings for the desserts are spot on and he has a wonderful selection. Portions are smaller than most chain restaurants but large enough to feel satisfied. You can tell the detail and quality that goes into each dish. Love it when Dan stops by the table to explain how he came up with the dish and his family and extensive traveling bring varied influences to the menu. Must visit!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5

Thumbs up

vip
Dined on January 22, 2015

Ask for the hidden wine list which has special bottles not on the regular list. Good food, fun menu, great friendly service.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

My favorite restaurant in Spokane!

Dined on October 27, 2014

Laguna Cafe is a treasure, and our very favorite restaurant in Spokane. Their lunch menu is varied and everything we have ordered was superb. We went for dinner for the first time this week, and oh what an experience! We were greeted and given descriptions about and recommendations for their many dishes by the owner. Although he was not our server, he checked back with us several times throughout our meal to make sure everything was prepared to perfection; it was--and he has got to be one of the nicest people we have ever met! Our entrees were to die for, but I think that would be our opinion no matter what we chose! I order their signature mushroom brie soup and lemon cake as part of every meal, and will never get enough of either.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

A Special Spot!

Dined on October 26, 2014

All 5 of us thoroughly enjoyed our meals and service at Laguna Cafe and the owner is delightful ...we'll be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Awesome find!

Dined on October 11, 2014

Great food and great service! Very surprised to find this place off the beaten path.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5

Some of everything

Dined on October 4, 2014

On Fridays there is always live music, also a wonderful lobster bisque. He has a wine list that is both affordable, and full of suprise.

Tags: neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Quaint dining

Dined on July 20, 2014

Our first time to your restaurant and it was excellent. Dinner was very good. We will be back especially to try the chocolate cake!

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Friendly Atmosphere

Dined on June 21, 2014

Great service with friendly personell. Food is very good but a bit pricey however there are specials that are featured that I felt were a fair value for how fresh your meal is. A lot of imported gifts are offered in the establishment and less local gifts to buy. So, to see the same stuff I can get anywhere was puzzling. Do not be afraid to order seafood here. You won't be disappointed.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4

Plugins Cafe

Dined on May 17, 2014

The inside space was small but had a wonderful feel to it. The food was great and the wine selection paired well with the food, You could have a casual dinner or something more.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great experience and able to get reserva ...

Dined on May 11, 2014

Great experience and able to get reservation on short notice.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3

great place

Dined on May 11, 2014

On a whim we decided to go here and have a romantic dinner. we were NOT disappointed ! the food was great we were very pleased !

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Always perfect!

Dined on April 20, 2014

This is my fourth recommendation or so for Laguna and it could possibly be my favorite restaurant in Spokane/CDA. The wine is awesome and the list changes every time I go. My family & I have gone every time and we are always very pleased with the food, drink and service. I sure hope you give it a try if you haven't gone yet!

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Still stunned and shocked and awed.

Dined on March 2, 2014

This is not a place to just stop and eat ... it's a destination. It's full of radiance, joy and it's like eating at your best friends kitchen, and will have you vowing to always comeback. Make it your first choice and prepare to enjoy a long and amazing dining experience. Service beyond belief. Staff makes you laugh and will become apart of your table. Owner actually offered us samples and stories of some of the dishes creations and a wine glass never saw empty. You are not treated just as a customer... you are truly celebrated. Cheers.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5

Great food, wine and service

Dined on February 27, 2014

Delicious meal with great local wine. The service was out of this world. Sarah was delightful, very knowledgeable and helpful with recommendations. Dan the owner stopped by and told us history of the family recipe we were enjoying. Cozy atmosphere.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Do yourself a favor and go!!

Dined on February 26, 2014

During Spokane's Restaurant week we decided to try Laguna Cafe and were rewarded with not only great food, but a wonderful dining experience. Our waiter was knowledgeable and helpful, the courses were perfectly paired and the owner stopped by out table to tell us a bit about the family owned restaurant and the menue. A truly enjoyable dining experience. I can't wait for my daughter to visit so she can experience this South Hill gem!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service5

Total Gem

Dined on February 23, 2014

Wonderful experience. Food was exceptional. Hubby said it was the best meal out he can remember. We will definitely be back. Recommend the Laguna Shrooms and Lobster and Crab Bisque for a starter. The Bracioli was Dan's family recipe and amazing. The Lemon and Chocolate cakes were heavenly. Things only got better with Dan's personal attention and wine pairing recommendations.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent as usual

Dined on January 26, 2014

Seriously, this is probably my third review after my third visit with my wife and kids. There's not many places like Laguna anymore. The Outstanding Service and the Owner who walks around and talks to most everyone. If you're considering going to Laguna, do it and you won't be disappointed.

Tags: kid-friendly, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service4

Wonderful food

Dined on December 28, 2013

I had the small plate filet minion with shrimp.. Perfectly done. With a loaded baked potato, it is just the right amount to satisfy without leaving you with the over fed, bloated feeling of the usual restaurant steak dinner (or a doggie bag, if you have that kind of self control). Thank you, Laguna, for offering this option. My husband was disappointed in his meatloaf dinner, reporting it was "nothing special". But, thankfully there are many other to choose from, because we're going back!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4

Cozy intimate neighborhood

Dined on November 25, 2013

Cozy intimate neighborhood spot. Good food, friendly service

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.