Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.61mi
  2. Distance: 0.97mi
  3. Distance: 1.09mi
  4. Distance: 1.44mi
  1. Distance: 0.61mi
  2. Distance: 0.97mi
  3. Distance: 1.09mi
  4. Distance: 1.44mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.61mi
  2. Distance: 0.97mi
  3. Distance: 1.09mi
  4. Distance: 1.44mi
  1. Distance: 0.61mi
  2. Distance: 0.97mi
  3. Distance: 1.09mi
  4. Distance: 1.44mi

About Laguna Cafe

Spend an evening enjoying enticing foods in a comfortable environment with great company at Spokane's Laguna Café.
Your appetite for mouth watering food at a friendly place where you can hang out and enjoy the atmosphere is satisfied at the Laguna Café. When you sit down at our unique restaurant, you're served food that has over 84 combined years of experience and inspiration behind it.
We have over 90 wines, a dozen beers and cocktails from our new bar.

2013 E 29 TH Ave
Spokane, WA 99203
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 8:00 am to 9:00 pm
Friday: 8:00 am to 10:00 pm
Saturday: 9:00 am to 10:00 pm
Sunday: 9:00 am to 8:00 pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(509) 448-0887

Website:
http://www.restaurantsspokanewa.com/

Executive Chef:
Debbie Barranti

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Laguna Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (6)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
See All
Great for Lunch (5)
Worth the Drive (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Romantic (4)
Special Occasion (4)
Fun (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Healthy (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Good for a Date (3)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Casual (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Business Meals (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Seasonal (2)
Authentic (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Great Beer (2)
Live Music (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
People Watching (1)
Vegan (1)
Cozy (1)
Sort By:
S
78 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

Was very inviting and great service!! GREAT food!!!!! Music energetic and excellent on Thursdays... If you want quiet meal pick another time but we were celebrating a friend's birthday 🎉 and the guitar music made it very festive and fun!!!!!! Thank you Laguna for making a very special evening even more special!!!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 3, 2017

The owner is very knowledgeable about wine and very accommodating to your needs. It's a husband and wife team and they bend over backwards to make sure your experience is great!

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 31, 2017

Our food was excellent and our waitress was wonderful. She was very attentive and friendly. It was an easy walk for us so that made it extra nice. We would totally recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

We love the food and ambiance of Laguna. We especially love going when Diane Copeland performs. The food is always delicious, and every server we have had is so helpful, kind, and courteous. It is a very special place.

Tags: Happy Hour, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Vegan, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Great food and flavors. Always impressed by how good Laguna is.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 30, 2017

The people working there were very nice, too nice, just my personal opinion. I know how to read a menu and I do not need to be coaxed thru my entire meal. Chicken parm a little too sweet for my taste but the steak was cooked perfectly.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Laguna Cafe has been our go-to restaurant for quite some time. Dependably good food, excellent service, and pleasantly quiet compared to many other restaurants. Owners are warm and interact with guests. Staff is well-trained.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 22, 2017

I love this restaurant and its owners and staff!!!

Tags: Fun, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Loved the food, enjoyed the service, HATE the mandatory service/tip charge.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Honestly this was a horrible experience. We ordered several appetizers to start. The fried ravioli (meh) the marinara was ok. The spinach artichoke dip was nothing to write home about and the crackers were just bland and an odd texture. Got the stuffed mushrooms and no joke, the stuffing was the exact same mixture as the aforementioned dip. Also got the fruit and cheese platter. The cheese that came with it was laughable. It was a couple pieces of Sandwich cheese cut into triangles and a couple small chunks of Gouda which were decent but I know I've purchased that brand from Fred Meyers before.

The appetizers came quickly and then the salads. The dressing was weird. The balance between oil and vinegar were way off.

Next we waited for our entrees. And waited ..... and waited. Almost an hour before our microwaved hospital food made its appearance.

One of us ordered the meat loaf, another the blue cheese burger and I ordered the pot pie. So glad we went with the smaller portions.

Sooooo the pot pie was a wtf moment. It was a flattened piece of weird bread with chicken and the insides all slopped on top.
The meat loaf was a grayish brown lump that tasted seriously like it came from a hospital. The mashed potatoes were so bland.

The hamburger I figured was fine because how do you mess up a hamburger? Well apparently they do. It tasted fishy to the point we had to check our bill to make sure they rang it up correctly. Sure enough the burger was just wrong.

Finally the ambience was nice, they were trying to come across as upscale to the point of putting dollar store rocks in their bathroom sinks to seem fancy. Classic Spokane.

Save your money. Wouldn't return if I was paid.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Place was packed but Sean still managed to give us the first rate dining experience we hoped for. Custom made cocktails. Wonderful meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Arrived on time, but they were overbooked because of some large parties. However, they made us feel special and that they understood our inconvenience. After a 20 minute wait, were seated and nicely taken care of. The food was fabulous and prices were excellent for the quality and quantity of food. Despite a packed restaurant, service was fast and attentive. This restaurant definitely has its act together. Highly recommended!

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Quick Bite, Great for Lunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Great service, pleasant people. The owner's are right there many evenings and very pleasant.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 29, 2017

This was a special occasion for my mom's 88th birthday. The cafe accommodated our group of 10 and we had a great time. Food was also very good. Entertainment was fun.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Great food, the soup flight was fabulous, and the music was terrific. Diane was awesome as always, and she is the main reason we come to Laguna. Although the food is definitely reason enough. The Crab Bisque is the best ever. I absolutely recommend this restaurant!

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Live Music, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Quick Bite, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Best restaurant in Spokane. The owner is involved with the diners and recommends amazing wines. The food is beautifully presented and tastes so amazing. Lunch or dinner, this is the place to go!

Tags: Happy Hour, Romantic, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on April 18, 2017

A friend and business associate joined me at Laguna Cafe to use a Groupon. Wow, we were so pleased with the entire experirnce we'll definitely be back. Relaxed atmosphere, friendly service and great food were enjoyed at this quaint neighborhood retreat. We both had steak and prawns, they were prepared to perfection and we're delicious!

Tags: Casual, Authentic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Dan and Debbie have a winning formula! Really good food and specials. Excellent cocktails.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Love love this place...we like to support Dan and his wife. Hard hard workers...great food! Cheers!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 24, 2017

This visit coincided with Spokane's restaurant week and my wife had one of these 3 course special dinners which she enjoyed immensely. I went with my usual request ~ the steak salad that has a unique blend of ingredients that blend so well together. An excellent visit once again!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 22, 2017

I love going to Laguna Café to have a cocktail and a nice meal. My favorites are the Tuscan chicken pot pie and the chef salad. The wait staff are awesome and attentive and your food comes out quickly. I go there so much its like an extension of my own home!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 20, 2017

A great place to dine and not have to cook. Truely delicious food with a chip on its shoulder.
Jeff

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Healthy, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Everytime we go, the food is excellent, the service is outstanding, and the ambience is great.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Everything was wonderful except our wine service. It was very slow! Our food came before we got our wine!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 6, 2017

The creme brulee cheesecake and herbed potatoes are alone worth a visit. The wine selection, though not extensive is interesting and tasty.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Nice experience once again. This time with friends who we haven't seen in awhile. Wonderful dishes, great wine selction, and delicious desserts. Look forward to my next visit at Laguna!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Went there on Thanksgiving day. Food was extremely good. Service was outstanding

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Filet was rare instead of medium rare and the salmon was a little dry. Great server and quiet table. Love the menu. Need to try some other items.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Food a little overpriced; basic food, nothing really unique but solid eats and nice owner.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 7, 2016

food was mediocre at best.meatloaf was too hard. pasta dish was strange. can't call something carbonara and have it prepared as they do. the burger was pretty nasty as well..like a hockey puck. this is the second time we have eaten here and will not go again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 20, 2016

We enjoy the new location and recommend it for dinner. It is "home" cooking and nice portions.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 26, 2016

Great wines and made from scratch dinners and desserts!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 15, 2016

Just a fun place to go. Interaction with the staff is a plus, and the owner will stop by and say hi. Well drinks are all top shelf so the standard is high.
Food is good not outstanding, all round good experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 3, 2016

Really enjoyed out breakfast it was delicious. However, I didn't think my Mimosa was good or worth the money. Orange juice didn't taste real and should have been whipped with a touch of vanilla. I will skip that in the future. Everything else was excellent and I will go there again for brunch.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 28, 2016

Deeply enjoyed witty repartee with the owner, personalized clarification of lactose free and vegan options for two in our party, and attentive but not intrusive service. The food was very good for one and excellent for the other four. The atmosphere was both chic and comfortable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 26, 2016

Lobster bisque is great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 3, 2016

Good food flavored were on point. Can't go wrong

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 30, 2016

We went on my birthday. Both wife and I ordered chicken parmesan which was outstanding. Prior to main course also had appetizer of stuffed mushrooms, also exquisite. Male server (sorry, can't remember his name) was very attentive as well.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 11, 2016

Love the food and atmosphere. Great service and very friendly staff. Our new favorite place!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 11, 2016

Most excellent food, great ambiance, wonderful host-fun and great!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.