About Lafayette Restaurant

800 16th Street, NW
Washington, DC 20006
View Larger Map

Washington’s destination for power dining, the Lafayette Restaurant serves breakfast, lunch, dinner & Sunday brunch. With large windows opening onto Lafayette park & the White House, this sun-lit dining room is one of the most elegant settings in the capital & is certain to complement any dining experience.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 6:30am - 11:00am, Saturday - Sunday: 7:00am - 11:00am; Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm; Sunday Brunch: 11:30am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
H Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 638-2570

Website:
http://www.hayadams.com/

Entertainment:
Our pianist Tom Vogt is playing every Monday – Saturday evening and for Sunday Brunch

Catering:
Private Dining available for groups of up to 18 guests.

Parking Details:
Parking is complimentary for dinner. A parking fee of $12.00 via hotel valet parking for breakfast Monday - Friday and Sunday Brunch. $28 for Lunch Monday - Saturday.

Public Transit:
McPherson Square, Farragut West, Farragut North

Executive Chef:
Nicolas Legret

Private Party Facilities:
The private room within the Lafayette Restaurant can accommodate up to 18 guests. Windows open to a panoramic view of Lafayette Park & The White House.

Private Party Contact:
Gabriel Lombardi: 2026386600x6160

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Brunch on most major holidays.

Restaurant Photos

Lafayette Restaurant
Lafayette Restaurant
Lafayette Restaurant
Lafayette Restaurant
Lafayette Restaurant
Lafayette Restaurant
Lafayette Restaurant
Lafayette Restaurant
Lafayette Restaurant
Lafayette Restaurant
Lafayette Restaurant
Lafayette Restaurant

Lafayette Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
District of Columbia
Romantic
District of Columbia
American
District of Columbia
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

Special Occasion (31)
Romantic (26)
Fit for Foodies (17)
See All
Great for Lunch (16)
Notable Wine List (14)
Great for Brunch (12)
Scenic View (12)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Hot Spot (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Good for a Date (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
629 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My "go to" place for breakfast with coll ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

My "go to" place for breakfast with colleagues, and brunch with friends! Very unusual dishes. My favorite for breakfast in the Crab Cake Benedict; no muffin, but a large crab cake, served on a bed of warm spinich, and a poached egg on top. I ask for the Hollandaise Sauce on the side, and mix it with Tabasco! Heaven!

Tags: Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent Seemed a little short ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Food was excellent

Seemed a little short staffed as it took a while to place orders. Food did come out fast.

A fairly large crowd that all seemed to know each other and they were all over the dining room talking to each other. A little distracting

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Efrain and everyone were amazing

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Efrain and everyone were amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was a Bon Voyage dinner for a speci ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

This was a Bon Voyage dinner for a special friend from college. We wanted a quieter place than some of the other choices in the neighborhood. I had steak tartar as my entree and he had the burger. His burger arrived too rare for his liking and he requested that it just be heated. Meanwhile, he had eaten a few bites and we had devoured the delicious, hot and crispy French fries. When the host returned, he had an entire new burger and French fries entree. We couldn't have been more surprised. How gracious and unexpectedly generous. This place is always a delight.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a well traveled family visiting u ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

We had a well traveled family visiting us and we all enjoyed our dinner, service is great and food is excellent. Love it! Will come back again for certain occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The breakfast was delicious and the serv ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The breakfast was delicious and the service was excellent. That said, the place smelled of mildew and the under tablecloths begged to be washed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

DINING AS IT SHOULD BE Impeccable white ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

DINING AS IT SHOULD BE

Impeccable white linen table cloths, sparkling crystal and silver, a pianist playing in the background and a perfect vodka martini: I felt like I stepped into a time machine and was transported to another era. The lobster salad was delicious and beautifully presented. The scallops and Arctic char were both wonderful. I topped it all off with a vanilla soufflé. If you are really looking to impress your spouse or partner, this is the place. Simply MAHHVVELOUUS.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Thank you so much for an Awesome dining ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Thank you so much for an Awesome dining experience for my family , The staff was exceptional.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We thoroughly enjoyed our Sunday brunch ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our Sunday brunch experience in every way. The service was fantastic and the food was amazing!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Quite a nice location,

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

This is in the Hay Adams hotel, which I didn't realize until I arrived. It is right by the White House. It's quiet, with white table cloths, excellent service, and a short menu of great meals. Its a very classic sort of restaurant in a historic DC venue. In a town of overly noisy places, this is a gem. You can actually hear the people at your table.

the food was great. it was $160 plus tip, we shared a salad, had a main meal and a bottle of wine, plus shared a desert. that was a reasonable price for the setting and the quality of food.

if you want to take your teenage kids while on vacation in DC, or a date, or your mother, this is just a great place to dine. Especially if you are looking for a non-noisy, non-overly crowded kind of place.

and it is so close to the White House, it's great. Also they have a piano playing, its a nice place to dine.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The LAFAYETTE was marvelous, the food pr ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

The LAFAYETTE was marvelous, the food prepared to perfection, but the true gem of the LAFAYETTE is the desserts. In house pastry chef delivers, we enjoyed a pistachio soufflé with pistachio ice cream. Decadent and worth every last calorie.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Wonderful place, great service

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Wonderful place, great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The dining room is beautiful. The servic ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

The dining room is beautiful. The service is attentive, yet there is certainly a lot of room for improvement - it was not always easy to understand the servers' accents (and I am not a native speaker myself, so I know what it takes to enunciate clearly), their manners were not polished enough for this kind of restaurant, and the pace at which our food was brought to us was irregular (some arrived too fast). The food is alright, nothing memorable, I already forgot what I had. If you are looking to impress your date with a gorgeous room, this is the place; if you are looking for delicious food, go elsewhere.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Outstanding in every way. An oasis of ci ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 11, 2016

Outstanding in every way. An oasis of civility and calm with exquisite food and service.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had the foie gras and filet Rossini-- ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

I had the foie gras and filet Rossini-- both were excellent. Service was outstanding, with the Waiter providing great wine and whiskey recommendations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

the old school standby

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

this is the place to get your business done. no one is watching, they are minding their own business

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful Mother's Day Location

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

What a lovely spot for an early morning Mother's Day breakfast. The dining room was very quiet and elegant. Service was exceptional and yet friendly. They treated my son like a prince. :-) The food was delicious and beautifully presented. After eating we were able to walk across the way to view the White House.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Don't Miss It

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

An old fashioned restaurant with table cloths, carpeted floors, low noise levels, and Dover Sole boned table side. A rarity in these days of noisy, one-size-fits all venues.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Old fashioned dining at its best. So goo ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Old fashioned dining at its best. So good to see the lovely table laid out with beautiful linen.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Group Bookings, Hot Spot, Neighbourhood Gem, Romance, Scenic View, Special Occasions
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Lafayette Room Hay-Adams Hotel

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

One of the most enjoyable dining experiences!!! . EVERYTHING ASSOCIATED WITH THIS ELEGANT ' RESTAURANT IS +*****. Deserves all the praise that it receives.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome Service

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

Excellent service and very elegant and dignified atmosphere. Eli and Ernesto were wonderful.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I had a great time it was a celebration ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

I had a great time it was a celebration between my wife and I. We enjoyed ourselves.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Great hotel restaurant

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on April 26, 2016

Beautiful, old-world restaurant in the beautiful, old-world Hay-Adams hotel. Great place for a breakfast interview with a senior executive candidate. Food was good, but not spectacularly so. Don't come here if you're looking for cheap eats. Service is old-world.

Tags: Brunch, Lunch, Neighbourhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Absolutely loved!

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

Beautiful restaurant, perfect view of the White House, amazing food and wonderful service! Highly recommended.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceeded our expectations! Great date ni ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Exceeded our expectations! Great date night ;)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always perfect

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 20, 2016

Lafayette has high standards for service and food and they never disappoint.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sub bar service. Mediocre food. We not ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

Sub bar service. Mediocre food.

We notice the server not only messed up our order also other table. For such a DC landmark Hay Adams needs to hire a well trained staff.. What shame for such a historic hotel. The food scene in DC is getting better everyday with superb choices all around. So please step up to it.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value1

Elegant, Classy Brunch at the Lafayette

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

My husband and I dined at the Lafayette, where we had impeccable service, excellent brunch ($80 per person), unlimited champagne, appetizers, desserts, etc. We were also permitted to choose one entree from a menu. I had the crab cakes while my husband had the steak frites - both were excellent. The appetizer buffet was plentiful and could have very well been the entire brunch. The croissants and pastries were amazing. The seafood - shrimp ceviche, smoked salmon, seared tuna - from the appetizer buffet were all excellent. The staff was so incredibly welcoming and polite. It is hard to find service like the Lafayette these days.

Definitely want to dress appropriately for the Lafayette - a 'Sunday best' brunch attire is recommended (for brunch, of course)! Ladies - nice dress and heels ;) Men - coat is best!

Also - I would absolutely recommend this place for Mother's Day or any other special occasion.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent all-around experience from beg ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on April 8, 2016

Excellent all-around experience from beginning to end. Food and service were impeccable.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Classic Washington Dining

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on April 8, 2016

The best is yet to come- timeless elegance and a wonderful evening. First class location, presentation and preparation. A wonderful and romantic dinner for two in downtown DC across from the White House.

Tags: Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Make special occasions truly special.

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 8, 2016

Dinner at Lafayette is always an enjoyable occasion, with exceptionally good food...AND service.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

undiscovered gem

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on April 4, 2016

a great place for an elegant quiet meal; not a trendy place by any means but just a wonderful gem.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Brunch!

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

We had a great brunch here to celebrate a number of recent occasions! A tremendous spread of great offerings, accommodating staff, flowing champagne and wonderful piano music! Would definitely recommend to anyone looking to celebrate or just to have a great Sunday brunch!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I picked this restaurant to celebrate my ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

I picked this restaurant to celebrate my birthday and wanted to have a nice brunch with some friends. The food ended up being delicious, but the experience was definitely tarnished by the manager, who approached our group and told us in a brusque manner that we must order right now, because they were preparing their buffet and the kitchen needed to take our orders right then. Additionally, the soufflé I wanted was quoted as needing 20 minutes for preparation but keen I attempted to order it was actually 30-35 minutes. If you're willing to accept this kind of poor service, then you likely will enjoy the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

Wonderful dinner

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

Very romantic, would highly recommend this for any special occasion.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

More people looking for an overall beaut ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on March 31, 2016

More people looking for an overall beautiful dining experience need to get dolled up and head over to The Lafayette. Really beautiful classic, upscale dining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Just Incredible

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 28, 2016

The view doesn't get any better than across from the White House - we saw the President arrive home. Gorgeous ambiance and incredible service. Breakfast and dinner were both outstanding. Delightful piano during dinner.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Elegant

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on March 16, 2016

The restaurant and staff are superb. A great place for a quiet meeting and beautiful surroundings.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Lovely

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on February 26, 2016

Great place for out of town guests. Ask for a view of the wh.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was good, we enjoyed it

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on February 16, 2016

Everything was good, we enjoyed it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.