About Lafayette Restaurant

800 16th Street, NW
Washington, DC 20006
View Larger Map

Washington’s destination for power dining, the Lafayette Restaurant serves breakfast, lunch, dinner & Sunday brunch. With large windows opening onto Lafayette park & the White House, this sun-lit dining room is one of the most elegant settings in the capital & is certain to complement any dining experience.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 6:30am - 11:00am, Saturday - Sunday: 7:00am - 11:00am; Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm; Sunday Brunch: 11:30am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
H Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 638-2570

Website:
http://www.hayadams.com/

Entertainment:
Our pianist Tom Vogt is playing every Monday – Saturday evening and for Sunday Brunch

Catering:
Private Dining available for groups of up to 18 guests.

Parking Details:
Parking is complimentary for dinner. A parking fee of $12.00 via hotel valet parking for breakfast Monday - Friday and Sunday Brunch. $28 for Lunch Monday - Saturday.

Public Transit:
McPherson Square, Farragut West, Farragut North

Executive Chef:
Nicolas Legret

Private Party Facilities:
The private room within the Lafayette Restaurant can accommodate up to 24 guests. Windows open to a panoramic view of Lafayette Park and The White House.

Private Party Contact:
Gabriel Lombardi: (888) 260-3497

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Brunch on most major holidays.

Lafayette Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (23)
Quiet Conversation (23)
Special Occasion (20)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (20)
Good for a Date (19)
Business Meals (18)
Historic (17)
Scenic View (15)
Great for Brunch (10)
Good for Birthdays (10)
People Watching (8)
Live Music (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Authentic (6)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Afternoon Tea (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Cozy (5)
Private Room (4)
Healthy (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Happy Hour (1)
Family Style (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Casual (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Fireplace (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
S
734 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

I have been hosting or attending business meals (breakfasts primary) at the Lafayette Room in the Hay Adams for years. It is elegant, quiet, delicious, and with extraordinary service. Once again this week I had Geovanni as my primary server and he is just extraordinary. I'm always well cared for, made to feel like a special customer (and that's saying something given the power brokers that eat there regularly), and thrilled with the food quality. It's expensive but extraordinary.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Excellent food and service. The team at Lafayette is always extraordinary.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Simply superb service and exquisite menu selection.

Tags: Seasonal, Great for Brunch, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We were celebrating our 25th anniversary. Excellent service and the food and wine are delicious! We highly recommend The Lafayette. We plan to eat there on our next anniversary.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Great service! Great good! Highly recommended !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Food and service was good, but a gnat kept buzzing around our table and it was very annoying. We complained, but nothing was done

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We had dinner at Lafayette the Friday before Valentine's day to avoid the crowds. The restaurant was amazing, we had personalized service, and the food was superb. It was a fantastic romantic dinner with a table without any other people around us and the most fantastic piano music.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 10, 2017

This place was a breath of fresh air during an otherwise dreary week. Went with my best friend, who'd also had a bad week, and this place and its considerable ambience (have a live pianist playing gentle old favorites) and superior service were just what we needed. Expensive, yes, but not unreasonably so, as some fancy restaurants I've been to. The food was most excellent (pistachio-crusted scallops were excellent!), and you can catch a glimpse of the White House through one of the windows if you make the effort.

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Live Music, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 9, 2017

An amazing place with exquisite food and exceptional service! We loved it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Great food, impeccable service, wonderful atmosphere.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Beautiful, historical restaurant! The wait staff is wonderful and the food is delicious, and not overpriced as one may think upon arrival.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Afternoon Tea, Good for a Date, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 4, 2017

This elegant restaurant was degraded by a party of six nearby dressed in various street attire. Worn jeans, hooded sweatshirts and exercise gear. We had coat/tie and cocktail dress for our 50th - what happened to dress codes? Regardless , it was a good dining experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Classic DC Historic Hotel Fine Cuisine & staff makes it even more enjoyable.American food with flair and “impeccable” service, memorable experience for the taste buds and friends or family. Order anything on the menu, you will love it but the seafood dishes are out of this world.

The Lafayette

Officially Rated

KISS THIS (r) rated 5 Kisses out 5

Tags: People Watching, Business Meals, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Enjoyed the duck and the scallops. Nice wines paired well. Piano player added ambiance to an already beautiful place. Would definitely go again!

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Superb! Fine dining at it's best. Beautiful decor. Our lunch was perfection.

The service impeccable and friendly. Wonderful in every way.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Historic, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Superb experience. The ambiance, the décor, the food, the service, everything was outstanding. I love the Lafayette and the Hay Adams!

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The service here was truly amazing from the person that greeted you at the door to your server. I really enjoyed how well they treated us and it was my moms birthday so they even brought a gorgeous desert and both the server and hostess came by to wish her a happy birthday. The food was also delicious. I think my only thing was that it was supposed to be a restaurant with a view, and it was not. The White house is close by but you couldn't see it at all. Great live piano player and a very elegant atmosphere. Overall really nice but maybe just too quiet and no view for my taste.

Great great service though!

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Private Room, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Fantastic service... professional yet very friendly and the dinner items from appetizers to desserts were extremely tasty. Highly recommend a night out at this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 2, 2017

What an amazing experience for our 27th Anniversary! Outstanding experience from the moment we arrived until departure. Food was excellent and staff was amazing. Exemplary service.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great appetizers, salads and desserts are all included in the brunch. This also includes all you can drink mimosas and/or bloody Marys. Select an entree then be prepared to roll yourself out the door when you are done.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The service was wonderful -- helpful & attentive but not aggressively so. The food was delicious & well presented.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 28, 2016

The waiter was attentive, but not overpowering. The food was excellent served quickly, and still hot. The overall ambiance definitely contributed to a most enjoyable evening.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 27, 2016

The Hay Adams is always a formal, quiet place to meet clients and out of town visitors, right down near The White House. Service is the best, food is excellent, and very comfortable,

non-crowded seating.

Tags: Historic, Afternoon Tea, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 25, 2016

I showed up for Christmas Brunch as I thought I had a reservation. I made it through Open Table. When I arrived they told me I could not reserve Christmas brunch through Open Table. Then why was it advertised there? And no, they could not squeeze in my family of 3. So we had an average breakfast at very expensive prices in their downstairs restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Special place for great conversation and a lovely environment - so pretty a restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 18, 2016

It was all rather....yaaaawn...pleasant. Basically a cliche fancy restaurant. The meal was superbly refined, as expected, but nothing unique. The ambiance was sonambulistic. I don't know, it just didn't do much for me. Good for business in the political sphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 17, 2016

TO bad you cannot give Lafayette six stars!! If so we would!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Very nice prix fixe at $55 including a delicious and tender tenderloin of beef. Sea bass could have been a heartier serving. Fine wine selection. Dessert of 'modified' sacher torte was creative and tasty.

The biggest asset of the dining room is the pianist Tom Vogt, who seamlessly wove standard after standard together into a melodious whole. He also put up with people like me asking who composed, etc. In my mind Tom is the overriding reason to dine at Lafayette.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 16, 2016

The Lafayette at the famous Hay-Adams hotel is a Washington classic, especially during the holiday season. It starts with the ambience and great service; the food is very good and, perhaps my only critique, is a rather limited wine list---but I had no trouble finding an excellent bottle for the evening. If you are in DC, especially during the holidays, stop by The Lafayette for breakfast or dinner.

Tags: Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 4, 2016

We celebrated a birthday dinner. Staff was great and Clarence was a very attentive and gracious server. Loved the experience from start to finish.

Tags: Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Afternoon Coffee, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Everything was classy and perfect - great staff friendly and experienced

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Caribbean)·Dined on November 27, 2016

From the moment one enters the Hay-Adams Hotel and its signature restaurant you know you are in for a treat. Wanted to celebrate my birthday with a special Brunch and Lafayette hit all the right notes. From the bottomless strawberry Mimosas and Taittinger Champagne, to the vast selection of all you can eat appetizers: crab legs, jumbo shrimp, salmon, grilled veggies, assorted cheeses (even really good buffalo mozzarella),exquisite pastries (croissants, scones, cinnamon rolls!), green salads and even ceviche (my favorite thing of them all). There were meat dishes as well that I don't eat but looked perfectly cooked and beautifully presented. For $80 you get all the appetizers you want and then choose a hot main course of the menu; we had the pasta with mushrooms and mascarpone pancakes. The pancakes were a bit too skinny and dry for my taste but the pasta was scrumptious. With Mimosas, champagne and other drinks listed included, for us it was quite a bargain. And I only mention this because I do not understand any comment about this place being "expensive". It is elegant, classy and you get detailed, friendly service and haute cuisine. Forgot to mention the human element that makes this place outstanding: our server ElMahdee who was elegant, attentive and charming not only to us but to everyone he tended to. We could see how he knows to make every client feel special. And finally, the probably overlooked gentleman at the piano. I did not get his name, but the repertoire and musical selection was very whimsical and festive keeping a good soft level throughout our meal. Magical moments! Can't wait to come back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Nothing short of superb. Fantastic service, just as one would expect. Never say never, never say I'll try, just "yes, we can do that."

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Some formal restaurants can tend toward stuffiness and snootiness, but the staff at Lafayette is very friendly and extremely accommodating.

The ambience can't be beat.

The Food is excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Dinner perfectly served, very pleasing.

We also enjoyed the special bar drinks downstairs before. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 20, 2016

While I really wanted to love this restaurant, frankly it fell a bit flat. I made a reservation weeks in advance to celebrate my boyfriend's birthday. I requested a table by the window, which they did not fulfill even though there were such tables available. I'd mentioned in the reservation that we were celebrating a birthday and to pull out all the stops, but throughout the night the service was good but unremarkable. We noticed halfway through out meal that other tables had gotten a bread basket and we had not. Just minor details here and there that made the experience less than it could have been. I don't mind paying for great service, but there was nothing special about it. It was polite and fine.

My boyfriend had the rack of lamb and i had the beef tenderloin. Both were very good, flavorful, and well executed. Portions were of a good size, which is unusual for very high end dining. Overall dinner was enjoyable.

We ordered dessert and it was delicious, but again, no acknowledgment that it was a special occasion. Frankly, I don't frequent restaurants and run up a 300+ tab for two people to feel average. I had wanted this to be a special, memorable experience, but I've come away from it more frustrated than satisfied. The food was really good and our waiter was nice and helpful, but again, I think they did a poor job of making it a special evening. I would recommend the restaurant to people looking for somewhere elegant, but don't expect anything other than polite, adequate service.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The service is unmatched and the restaurant has famous clientele. Kevin Spacey and Bob Dole are regulars. The food was awesome and plentiful. Definitely worth every penny. We enjoyed brunch for my boyfriend's birthday and they brought out an amazing chocolate mousse with a chocolate "happy birthday" message that was beautifully plated. Will definitely be going back!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 9, 2016

outstanding service, attentive and made the meal special!!!

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 4, 2016

The restaurant is a great choice if you are seeking a more formal lunch experience in a classic white table cloth venue. The service is exceptional, but the food is only adequate and is very limited in choice. It's a kitchen with a handle on classic preparation but short on executing anything that would be remotely memorable for its taste or ingredients.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 4, 2016

This restaurant sets the tone for serious business. The service is outstanding and thoughtful...every guest is treated with the upmost hospitality.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Molecular Gastronomy, Cozy, Happy Hour, Private Room, Authentic, Outstanding Value, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Very friendly and polite service combined with very good food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Lafayette is my "go to" restaurant for breakfast/brunch. I had not dined with them during the lunch hour, in quite some time. Service was, as always impeccable! The salad; quite disappointing. My friend, and I, each ordered the Cobb salad, and while I was very pleased to be served a small amount of greens, the remaining ingredients were average. There was plenty of blue cheese, but maybe a quarter of an avocado, and two ounces at best, of chicken. Thankfully, the service, made up for the disappointing salad. I will continue to recommend Lafayette for breakfast, and brunch, but not sure about lunch.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 27, 2016

The waiter was especially helpful and guided my business associate through the meal with excellent suggestions to add to our food experience.

Definitely would recommend the Lafayette for business dinners as well as special occasions.

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 24, 2016

The food was actually really great. There were two problems though - one was that, despite the fact that very few people were in the restaurant and it was fully staffed, staff rarely came by. But much more important, the place was absolutely full of fruit flies. They were everywhere. It really took away from the otherwise beautiful ambiance and decor. I like this restaurant, but I would not recommend going unless and until they fumigate and solve this issue.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 21, 2016

The food was excellent, the service was very professional and the Ambience was exactly what we were looking for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 19, 2016

We had a lovely time dining at the Lafayette. The food was great, the ambiance was simply elegant and sophisticated; the wait staff was warm, especially Emmanuel. The hotel and restaurant is simply a must visit when in DC.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Historic, Organic, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 18, 2016

One of the loveliest evenings my friends and I have had celebrating a birthday, in this case my birthday. Wait staff made us feel very special- the piano player was the icing on the cake. Even the valet parking men went out of their way to welcome us . Being native New Yorkers, we're used to pricey places with very good food, but the Lafayette added the elegance and old world charm so lacking in the trendy places. Worth every penny!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 15, 2016

My wife and I went to celebrate our 25th anniversary. Beautiful dining room, nicely spaced tables and perfect atmosphere for quiet, romantic dinner. Service was attentive but not overly formal. My wife had the Dover Sole, de-boned tableside, and said it was the best she has ever had. I had the rack of lamb which was delicious. At server's suggestion, we ordered the special vanilla souflee for dessert which was wonderful. Because it was our anniversary, we were informed, when the check came, that the dessert was "on the house." All in all, a great meal and a lovely evening.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 15, 2016

The food and atmosphere were fantastic. It was our anniversary, and the setting was very romantic with a pianist playing during the meal. Will go back again. Have been recommending to a lot of friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 12, 2016

Having been to the restaurant several years ago, we were disappointed in the quality of the food ("salad" consisted of a few beets and a few carrots arranged on a plate with a dollop of goat cheese. The duck was undercooked; the creme brule was salty and consistency was odd. Whipped cream with chocolate was served seperately for some reason.) A glass of St. Emillion seemed a little off. The restaurant was unusually loud and we had trouble hearing each other. Altogether a great disappointment, as we had looked forward to it for several weeks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.