Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.07mi
  4. Distance: 0.08mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.07mi
  4. Distance: 0.08mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.07mi
  4. Distance: 0.08mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.07mi
  4. Distance: 0.08mi

About Lafayette Restaurant

Washington’s destination for power dining, the Lafayette Restaurant serves breakfast, lunch, dinner & Sunday brunch. With large windows opening onto Lafayette park & the White House, this sun-lit dining room is one of the most elegant settings in the capital & is certain to complement any dining experience.

800 16th Street, NW
Washington, DC 20006
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 6:30am - 11:00am, Saturday - Sunday: 7:00am - 11:00am; Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm; Sunday Brunch: 11:30am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
H Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 638-2570

Website:
http://www.hayadams.com/

Entertainment:
Our pianist Tom Vogt is playing every Monday – Saturday evening and for Sunday Brunch

Catering:
Private Dining available for groups of up to 18 guests.

Parking Details:
Parking is complimentary for dinner. A parking fee of $12.00 via hotel valet parking for breakfast Monday - Friday and Sunday Brunch. $28 for Lunch Monday - Saturday.

Public Transit:
McPherson Square, Farragut West, Farragut North

Executive Chef:
Nicolas Legret

Private Party Facilities:
The private room within the Lafayette Restaurant can accommodate up to 24 guests. Windows open to a panoramic view of Lafayette Park and The White House.

Private Party Contact:
Gabriel Lombardi: (888) 260-3497

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Brunch on most major holidays.

Lafayette Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.9

ambience

4.8

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (36)
Romantic (33)
Quiet Conversation (30)
See All
Historic (28)
Business Meals (26)
Good for Anniversaries (25)
Good for a Date (25)
Scenic View (17)
Notable Wine List (15)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Authentic (12)
Sunday Lunch (12)
Great for Brunch (12)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
People Watching (9)
Live Music (8)
Cozy (8)
Afternoon Tea (8)
Worth the Drive (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Fireplace (4)
Private Room (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Healthy (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Family Style (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Casual (1)
Seasonal (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Fun (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Sort By:
S
760 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined 4 days ago

From the moment we walked in to the moment we left, everything was fantastic. I can't remember a dining experience so gourmet, yet so personal and affordable for the quality. It was our 1 year anniversary and I wrote a note in our reservation stating that. The host wrote me a note and asked if I'd like the pianist to play any song, so I chose our wedding song. Before I knew it, the song was playing in the restaurant and it caught my wife by surprise. The food was fantastic, the wine and champagne were great and desert was amazing. There wasn't one bad thing about this experience. Thank you for such an amazing dinner! We will be coming back.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

By far the best D.C. has to offer. Their signature dish is Dover sole but their tenderloin is unbelievable. Their entire staff is extremely professional. We always enjoy being served by Ely or Clarence. I give it a two star Michelin rating. Try it you'll be coming back often.

Tags: Live Music, Cozy, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Historic, Private Room, Special Occasion, People Watching, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

This restaurant was just what I was looking for when some family visited me in town: it was classy, quiet, and delicious. Service was topnotch, and there was a live pianist. I would highly recommend for a nice dinner.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined 7 days ago

Service was excellent and the food was amazing. Could not have been more pleased!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 16, 2017

With views of Lafayette Park, this is the quintessential elegant Washington restaurant. We had our wedding dinner here, so it has special meaning to us. We love to come here for Sunday breakfast before church and for dinner to celebrate special events. I have had several business lunches here as well. It is a beautiful space and the tables are spaced far enough apart and the room is quiet enough so you can have a great conversation. The food is classic and reliably good.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Business Meals, Fireplace, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Nothing short of perfect. The appetizer buffet was magnificent, the entrees were excellent and the ambience was peaceful. But what we enjoyed most and what made our special occasion (sister is having a baby and she's leaving the area in June!) even that more perfect was the service. Geovanny was so attentive and sweet and professional. My sisters and I were blown away by his personality and service. Can't wait to dine here again very soon.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Miss Jacqueline was wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 4, 2017

We had a lovely seat by the window and the food was good--although definitely a bit over priced for the value. I would go back though since I loved the ambience and service.

Tags: Historic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Wonderful dinner. Thank you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Visit to D.C. For brunch across from the whitehouse...pastries exceptional!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Historic, Authentic, Scenic View, Romantic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Had a prenominal dinner with our son while visiting him at Georgetown. Both the Filet and Duck were incredible!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Great food with excellent ambiance, show tunes all night on the piano made our weekend in Washington one to remember.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Spectacular! I've wanted to eat here for a long time and was finally able to. I figured the food didn't have to be that great given how incredible the location is. Boy, was a wrong! The lamb was out of this world and the lobster salad was fantastic! Oh! And the people watching was every bit "DC."

Tags: Scenic View, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 30, 2017

The Lafayette is a beautiful historic room with excellent food, locally sourced, and excellent service by a knowledgeable staff. Great place for friends or business associates to dine and talk.

Tags: Live Music, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 30, 2017

If you are on any sort of budget.. just dont. The food was good but very over priced. While the service was exclent, i have gotten the same food in my home town for a qurter of the price that has honestly tasted better. Understand that when you go there you are paying for atmosphere, no childern, and to rub elbows with a higher class. To be perfectly honest the highlight of the whole visit was our waiter. I am glad that i went, but i would have been much happer watching a show at fords or a spa day.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Overall our dining experience was outstanding. We sincerely appreciate a restaurant that is classic, rather than trendy.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Our favorite brunch place

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Inside the Hay-Adams Hotel, this restaurant has excellent views of the White House. It is a quiet, formal place in the traditional way with an excellent menu.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 24, 2017

The setting and ambiance can't be beat in DC. The service was excellent, the bar made excellent drinks. The Menu was somewhat limited, but the food was excellent. The soup and foie gras were well prepared, and the risotto was just right. The scallops were not as caramelized as I like, but were tasty. The wines by the glass complimented the meal, and the desserts were likewise well prepared. The piano made for an incredibly romantic and quiet dinner. Not a place for little children, but great for a special occasion.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Very accommodating and excellent service. Perfect venue for getting together with out friends.

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 18, 2017

This was a memorable restaurant. I loved the quiet elegance of The Lafayette housed in the beautiful Hay Adams Hotel. This was a wonderful treat.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 18, 2017

The ambience, the setting, the staff (from the moment we arrived), the food and the wine made it a memorable night. For fine dining in DC you couldn't wish for anything else.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Our breakfast consists of eggs,bacon, biscuits,coffee and pancakes. The eggs were nothing special. The bacon was was tasty - the texture indicated that the bacon might have been oven-baked. The flavor of the pancakes was sweet but the texture was gummy. Overall - I'd say it's a little overpriced for what you get. Elegant setting,though.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 17, 2017

A room and approach that exudes "old-fashioned" elegance and beauty, but doesn't assume these attributes can compensate for less than excellent menu choices, preparation and service. Delicious appetizer and entrée portions ideally sized -- but caution, desserts tend to be overly generous, suggest sharing versus ordering individually to avoid feeling overstuffed.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Our favorite restaurant in DC. Simply put, whenever we are in town, we make this our last dinner reservation. In more than 10 years, we have not found a better restaurant. Elegant, quiet, and friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 22, 2017

I have been hosting or attending business meals (breakfasts primary) at the Lafayette Room in the Hay Adams for years. It is elegant, quiet, delicious, and with extraordinary service. Once again this week I had Geovanni as my primary server and he is just extraordinary. I'm always well cared for, made to feel like a special customer (and that's saying something given the power brokers that eat there regularly), and thrilled with the food quality. It's expensive but extraordinary.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Excellent food and service. The team at Lafayette is always extraordinary.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Simply superb service and exquisite menu selection.

Tags: Seasonal, Great for Brunch, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We were celebrating our 25th anniversary. Excellent service and the food and wine are delicious! We highly recommend The Lafayette. We plan to eat there on our next anniversary.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Love this restaurant. Elegant dining. The food is always fine and our favorite server, Clarence, makes the evening special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Great service! Great good! Highly recommended !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Food and service was good, but a gnat kept buzzing around our table and it was very annoying. We complained, but nothing was done

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We had dinner at Lafayette the Friday before Valentine's day to avoid the crowds. The restaurant was amazing, we had personalized service, and the food was superb. It was a fantastic romantic dinner with a table without any other people around us and the most fantastic piano music.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 10, 2017

This place was a breath of fresh air during an otherwise dreary week. Went with my best friend, who'd also had a bad week, and this place and its considerable ambience (have a live pianist playing gentle old favorites) and superior service were just what we needed. Expensive, yes, but not unreasonably so, as some fancy restaurants I've been to. The food was most excellent (pistachio-crusted scallops were excellent!), and you can catch a glimpse of the White House through one of the windows if you make the effort.

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Live Music, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 9, 2017

An amazing place with exquisite food and exceptional service! We loved it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Great food, impeccable service, wonderful atmosphere.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Beautiful, historical restaurant! The wait staff is wonderful and the food is delicious, and not overpriced as one may think upon arrival.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Afternoon Tea, Good for a Date, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 4, 2017

This elegant restaurant was degraded by a party of six nearby dressed in various street attire. Worn jeans, hooded sweatshirts and exercise gear. We had coat/tie and cocktail dress for our 50th - what happened to dress codes? Regardless , it was a good dining experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Classic DC Historic Hotel Fine Cuisine & staff makes it even more enjoyable.American food with flair and “impeccable” service, memorable experience for the taste buds and friends or family. Order anything on the menu, you will love it but the seafood dishes are out of this world.

The Lafayette
Officially Rated
KISS THIS (r) rated 5 Kisses out 5

Tags: People Watching, Business Meals, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Enjoyed the duck and the scallops. Nice wines paired well. Piano player added ambiance to an already beautiful place. Would definitely go again!

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.