Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.07mi
  4. Distance: 0.08mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.07mi
  4. Distance: 0.08mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.07mi
  4. Distance: 0.08mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.07mi
  4. Distance: 0.08mi

About Lafayette Restaurant

Washington’s destination for power dining, the Lafayette Restaurant serves breakfast, lunch, dinner & Sunday brunch. With large windows opening onto Lafayette park & the White House, this sun-lit dining room is one of the most elegant settings in the capital & is certain to complement any dining experience.

800 16th Street, NW
Washington, DC 20006
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 6:30am - 11:00am, Saturday - Sunday: 7:00am - 11:00am; Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm; Sunday Brunch: 11:30am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
H Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 638-2570

Website:
http://www.hayadams.com/

Entertainment:
Our pianist Tom Vogt is playing every Monday – Saturday evening and for Sunday Brunch

Catering:
Private Dining available for groups of up to 18 guests.

Parking Details:
Parking is complimentary for dinner. A parking fee of $12.00 via hotel valet parking for breakfast Monday - Friday and Sunday Brunch. $28 for Lunch Monday - Saturday.

Public Transit:
McPherson Square, Farragut West, Farragut North

Executive Chef:
Nicolas Legret

Private Party Facilities:
The private room within the Lafayette Restaurant can accommodate up to 24 guests. Windows open to a panoramic view of Lafayette Park and The White House.

Private Party Contact:
Gabriel Lombardi: (888) 260-3497

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Brunch on most major holidays.

Lafayette Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (14)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Romantic (14)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Business Meals (9)
Great for Lunch (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Scenic View (6)
Live Music (6)
Good for a Date (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Cozy (5)
People Watching (5)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Historic (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Seasonal (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Authentic (3)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Hot Spot (1)
Private Room (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Fun (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
S
789 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

We were treated like VIPs throughout the meal. I am grateful for the gracious service we received. It made the meal a very special occasion indeed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 12, 2017

I am never disappointed when I come here. The food, service, and general atmosphere is always amazing. My friend mentioned it was her birthday and the waiter brought out a complementary dessert at the end of our meal. She absolutely loved it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Exceptional service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 8, 2017

The steak was delicious and they went out of their way to make my birthday, special.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Second visit here for brunch.
It is exceptional from start to finish
Amazing food and fantastic service
A definite stop on the 'to do' list.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 8, 2017

WE were here for lunch, as we had been several times before when we found the food great !! And that was why we returned with friends. It is very different now and just not great... The menu has changed..the food has changed..just not as good...what a shame !!! we would not return !!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Wow, wonderful classic atmosphere! The Lafayette Restaurant in the Hay-Addams was nothing short of fabulous! Good food, wine cocktails and deserts.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 1, 2017

The atmosphere is very elegant and romantic. Beautiful fireplace and piano playing. The food
was good, but not amazing. Only two courses and dessert. I was hoping for a more creative menu.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 1, 2017

As always ... this was a superb dining experience.. The wait staff was attentive and very congenial.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Afternoon Coffee, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Elegant venue with high quality food and service. A go to restaurant when in Wash DC.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Came for the view, which really was not that impressive at all. Otherwise, great restaurant, although almost no one was there.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Good atmosphere and good food. I was disappointed that I ordered a 2013 California wine tha I know is very good. However they brought me a 2014. That is bad for a restaurat that parades themselves as fine dining.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 23, 2017

My husband and I made a reservation in Lafayette as we wanted a special dinner to celebrate our last night in Washington. Whilst the ambience and attention of staff were excellent, our waiting period between our starter and main course was overly-long. Our waiter was obviously aware of this and apologised about same. I had ordered steak very well-cooked for my mains, and unfortunately it was still red inside when it arrived and I was unable to eat it. The waiter and maitre d' agreed it was unacceptable and took it away to be further cooked which it was. My husband had long finished his mains by this stage and had to content himself with finishing off the bread assortment while I ate my mains. The staff were very apologetic and we were given a complimentary dessert between us and a glass of dessert wine as a compensatory gesture.
I was just disappointed as the specialness of what had been anticipated for the occasion was spoilt, more so because of the excellent reviews we had read in advance about the restaurant which had raised our expectations and excitement, only to be crushed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Very sofisticated environment. Attentive service. Prices not excessive. Food well prepared and presented.

Tags: Live Music, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Complementary valet parking with dinner. Excellent service from every member of staff. Amazing cuisine in a beautiful environmennt. The pianist played a wonderful selection. All around the prices may seem high, but it is definitely an experience well worth having!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Great food, service, and ambiance. Always consistent over time.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Live Music, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on June 19, 2017

I went to this restaurant with my wife, daughter and another couple whom we invited for a special occasion. It is advertised as having a view of the White House. It is indeed across the street from the White House, but the windows are not panoramic and views are limited.
The decor is old-style elegant, the maitre d had a British accent, food was good, although not outstanding, wine selection extensive, there was a live pianist playing sedate music, etc. The place tries to convey an atmosphere of distinguished elegance, which almost succeeded except that there were gnats flying around inside the restaurant! One gnat fell into the wine glass of one of our guests! I realize it's Washington DC in the summer, hot and humid, but a place that takes on such airs should not have gnats flying around the tables. We ate at several other restaurants in Washington that weekend, including the museum cafeterias and hotel restaurant, and none had gnats bothering us. It is a small detail, but who knows what other things are not up to par. For a restaurant that is rated $$$$, insects should not be falling into the customers' drinks. Because of this, I do not plan to return, nor do I recommend it to anyone.

Tags: Scenic View, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 18, 2017

The service and food were outstanding. The appetizer buffet was a culinary experience bound to tap the taste buds of every foodie. The unlimited bellinis and main course options for brunch were both hearty and flavorful. And last but certainly not least, the dessert bar was just divine. My sister and I took my dad here for Father's Day and we all thoroughly enjoyed this experience.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 12, 2017

This is still one of the finest restaurants I have ever experienced! It is one of 2 restaurants in Washington DC that are stellar; and I come back every year.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 12, 2017

The best of the best in hotel dining. You can order blindfolded and enjoy your selection. It never disappoints. The view is simply spectacular--it's across from the White House. Try it and you will have the "dine of your life."

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 9, 2017

My wife and I were celebrating our anniversary, and the ambience was perfect. A pianist set the tone for a lovely dining experience. The food was phenomenal. It was evident that an experienced chef's artistry was on point. It was the most delicious meal we've enjoyed in a very long time.

Tags: Authentic, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 6, 2017

The Lafayette is a beautiful restaurant with a wonderful serving staff, but the kitchen needs improvement.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 1, 2017

The food and service was wonderful. The piano music made it a bit difficult to talk business.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Located in the historic Hays-Adams Hotel. Very elegant. Live piano music. Outstanding service by long time waiter, Clarence. Nice menu. Delicious. Highly recommend.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 20, 2017

The location is wonderful in the downtown, very close to the Whitehouse. The food is pretty tasty. Like the soup of the day and the lobster salad. The crab cake benedict is satisfying as well. They also serve various bread, which is tasty and fun to eat. The only thing is, we wait for a bit longer than expected between the appetizer and the course.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Exceptional food and service. High quality wine-by-the-glass program. Been here 3 times this year and looking forward to returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Food and service were both excellent, until the end of the meal when it was a little difficult to find our waiter and get our check. Otherwise a great breakfast.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Perfect time, perfect place, perfect service! We had a great night for my husband's birthday!

Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 24, 2017

From the moment we walked in to the moment we left, everything was fantastic. I can't remember a dining experience so gourmet, yet so personal and affordable for the quality. It was our 1 year anniversary and I wrote a note in our reservation stating that. The host wrote me a note and asked if I'd like the pianist to play any song, so I chose our wedding song. Before I knew it, the song was playing in the restaurant and it caught my wife by surprise. The food was fantastic, the wine and champagne were great and desert was amazing. There wasn't one bad thing about this experience. Thank you for such an amazing dinner! We will be coming back.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 24, 2017

By far the best D.C. has to offer. Their signature dish is Dover sole but their tenderloin is unbelievable. Their entire staff is extremely professional. We always enjoy being served by Ely or Clarence. I give it a two star Michelin rating. Try it you'll be coming back often.

Tags: Live Music, Cozy, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion, People Watching, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 22, 2017

This restaurant was just what I was looking for when some family visited me in town: it was classy, quiet, and delicious. Service was topnotch, and there was a live pianist. I would highly recommend for a nice dinner.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Mississippi)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Service was excellent and the food was amazing. Could not have been more pleased!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 16, 2017

With views of Lafayette Park, this is the quintessential elegant Washington restaurant. We had our wedding dinner here, so it has special meaning to us. We love to come here for Sunday breakfast before church and for dinner to celebrate special events. I have had several business lunches here as well. It is a beautiful space and the tables are spaced far enough apart and the room is quiet enough so you can have a great conversation. The food is classic and reliably good.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Business Meals, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Nothing short of perfect. The appetizer buffet was magnificent, the entrees were excellent and the ambience was peaceful. But what we enjoyed most and what made our special occasion (sister is having a baby and she's leaving the area in June!) even that more perfect was the service. Geovanny was so attentive and sweet and professional. My sisters and I were blown away by his personality and service. Can't wait to dine here again very soon.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Miss Jacqueline was wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 4, 2017

We had a lovely seat by the window and the food was good--although definitely a bit over priced for the value. I would go back though since I loved the ambience and service.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Wonderful dinner. Thank you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Visit to D.C. For brunch across from the whitehouse...pastries exceptional!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Authentic, Scenic View, Romantic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Had a prenominal dinner with our son while visiting him at Georgetown. Both the Filet and Duck were incredible!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Great food with excellent ambiance, show tunes all night on the piano made our weekend in Washington one to remember.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.