About Lafayette Restaurant

800 16th Street, NW
Washington, DC 20006
View Larger Map

Washington’s destination for power dining, the Lafayette Restaurant serves breakfast, lunch, dinner & Sunday brunch. With large windows opening onto Lafayette park & the White House, this sun-lit dining room is one of the most elegant settings in the capital & is certain to complement any dining experience.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 6:30am - 11:00am, Saturday - Sunday: 7:00am - 11:00am; Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm; Sunday Brunch: 11:30am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
H Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 638-2570

Website:
http://www.hayadams.com/

Entertainment:
Our pianist Tom Vogt is playing every Monday – Saturday evening and for Sunday Brunch

Catering:
Private Dining available for groups of up to 18 guests.

Parking Details:
Parking is complimentary for dinner. A parking fee of $12.00 via hotel valet parking for breakfast Monday - Friday and Sunday Brunch. $28 for Lunch Monday - Saturday.

Public Transit:
McPherson Square, Farragut West, Farragut North

Executive Chef:
Nicolas Legret

Private Party Facilities:
The private room within the Lafayette Restaurant can accommodate up to 24 guests. Windows open to a panoramic view of Lafayette Park and The White House.

Private Party Contact:
Gabriel Lombardi: 8882603497

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Brunch on most major holidays.

Restaurant Photos

Lafayette Restaurant, Washington, DC
Lafayette Restaurant, Washington, DC
Lafayette Restaurant, Washington, DC
Lafayette Restaurant, Washington, DC
Lafayette Restaurant, Washington, DC
Lafayette Restaurant, Washington, DC
Lafayette Restaurant, Washington, DC
Lafayette Restaurant, Washington, DC
Lafayette Restaurant, Washington, DC
Lafayette Restaurant, Washington, DC
Lafayette Restaurant, Washington, DC
Lafayette Restaurant, Washington, DC

Specials

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $75.00

Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays, Saturdays and Mondays from 5:30 PM - 10:00 PM

Four Course Prix Fixe Meal for $160.00

Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays, Saturdays and Mondays from 5:30 PM - 10:00 PM

Specials

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $75.00

Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays, Saturdays and Mondays from 5:30 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $75.00. Excludes Tax and Tip. Join us at The Lafayette Restaurant for an elegant three-course dinner. Special valid Nov 22, 2016 - Dec 15, 2016 on Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays, Saturdays and Mondays from 5:30 PM - 10:00 PM.

Four Course Prix Fixe Meal for $160.00

Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays, Saturdays and Mondays from 5:30 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

Four Course Prix Fixe Meal for $160.00. Excludes Tax and Tip. Join us at The Lafayette Restaurant for an elegant four-course Truffle Menu. Special valid Nov 22, 2016 - Dec 15, 2016 on Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays, Saturdays and Mondays from 5:30 PM - 10:00 PM.

Lafayette Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
District of Columbia
Best Service
District of Columbia
Best Ambiance
District of Columbia
1 More
American
District of Columbia
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

Quiet Conversation (20)
Special Occasion (18)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
See All
Romantic (12)
Historic (11)
Good for a Date (11)
Scenic View (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Business Meals (7)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Cozy (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Private Room (5)
Live Music (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
People Watching (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Healthy (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Authentic (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Fun (1)
Fireplace (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Organic (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Seasonal (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
661 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We celebrated a birthday dinner. Staff w ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

We celebrated a birthday dinner. Staff was great and Clarence was a very attentive and gracious server. Loved the experience from start to finish.

Tags: Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Afternoon Coffee, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Everything was classy and perfect - gr ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Everything was classy and perfect - great staff friendly and experienced

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

From the moment one enters the Hay-Adams ...

vip
 (Caribbean)·Dined on November 27, 2016

From the moment one enters the Hay-Adams Hotel and its signature restaurant you know you are in for a treat. Wanted to celebrate my birthday with a special Brunch and Lafayette hit all the right notes. From the bottomless strawberry Mimosas and Taittinger Champagne, to the vast selection of all you can eat appetizers: crab legs, jumbo shrimp, salmon, grilled veggies, assorted cheeses (even really good buffalo mozzarella),exquisite pastries (croissants, scones, cinnamon rolls!), green salads and even ceviche (my favorite thing of them all). There were meat dishes as well that I don't eat but looked perfectly cooked and beautifully presented. For $80 you get all the appetizers you want and then choose a hot main course of the menu; we had the pasta with mushrooms and mascarpone pancakes. The pancakes were a bit too skinny and dry for my taste but the pasta was scrumptious. With Mimosas, champagne and other drinks listed included, for us it was quite a bargain. And I only mention this because I do not understand any comment about this place being "expensive". It is elegant, classy and you get detailed, friendly service and haute cuisine. Forgot to mention the human element that makes this place outstanding: our server ElMahdee who was elegant, attentive and charming not only to us but to everyone he tended to. We could see how he knows to make every client feel special. And finally, the probably overlooked gentleman at the piano. I did not get his name, but the repertoire and musical selection was very whimsical and festive keeping a good soft level throughout our meal. Magical moments! Can't wait to come back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nothing short of superb. Fantastic servi ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Nothing short of superb. Fantastic service, just as one would expect. Never say never, never say I'll try, just "yes, we can do that."

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Some formal restaurants can tend toward ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Some formal restaurants can tend toward stuffiness and snootiness, but the staff at Lafayette is very friendly and extremely accommodating.

The ambience can't be beat.

The Food is excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Dinner perfectly served, very pleasing. ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Dinner perfectly served, very pleasing.

We also enjoyed the special bar drinks downstairs before. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

While I really wanted to love this resta ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 20, 2016

While I really wanted to love this restaurant, frankly it fell a bit flat. I made a reservation weeks in advance to celebrate my boyfriend's birthday. I requested a table by the window, which they did not fulfill even though there were such tables available. I'd mentioned in the reservation that we were celebrating a birthday and to pull out all the stops, but throughout the night the service was good but unremarkable. We noticed halfway through out meal that other tables had gotten a bread basket and we had not. Just minor details here and there that made the experience less than it could have been. I don't mind paying for great service, but there was nothing special about it. It was polite and fine.

My boyfriend had the rack of lamb and i had the beef tenderloin. Both were very good, flavorful, and well executed. Portions were of a good size, which is unusual for very high end dining. Overall dinner was enjoyable.

We ordered dessert and it was delicious, but again, no acknowledgment that it was a special occasion. Frankly, I don't frequent restaurants and run up a 300+ tab for two people to feel average. I had wanted this to be a special, memorable experience, but I've come away from it more frustrated than satisfied. The food was really good and our waiter was nice and helpful, but again, I think they did a poor job of making it a special evening. I would recommend the restaurant to people looking for somewhere elegant, but don't expect anything other than polite, adequate service.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

The service is unmatched and the restaur ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The service is unmatched and the restaurant has famous clientele. Kevin Spacey and Bob Dole are regulars. The food was awesome and plentiful. Definitely worth every penny. We enjoyed brunch for my boyfriend's birthday and they brought out an amazing chocolate mousse with a chocolate "happy birthday" message that was beautifully plated. Will definitely be going back!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

outstanding service, attentive and made ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 9, 2016

outstanding service, attentive and made the meal special!!!

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The restaurant is a great choice if you ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 4, 2016

The restaurant is a great choice if you are seeking a more formal lunch experience in a classic white table cloth venue. The service is exceptional, but the food is only adequate and is very limited in choice. It's a kitchen with a handle on classic preparation but short on executing anything that would be remotely memorable for its taste or ingredients.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

This restaurant sets the tone for seriou ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 4, 2016

This restaurant sets the tone for serious business. The service is outstanding and thoughtful...every guest is treated with the upmost hospitality.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Molecular Gastronomy, Cozy, Happy Hour, Private Room, Authentic, Outstanding Value, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Very friendly and polite service combine ...

 
 (London)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Very friendly and polite service combined with very good food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Lafayette is my "go to" restaurant for b ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Lafayette is my "go to" restaurant for breakfast/brunch. I had not dined with them during the lunch hour, in quite some time. Service was, as always impeccable! The salad; quite disappointing. My friend, and I, each ordered the Cobb salad, and while I was very pleased to be served a small amount of greens, the remaining ingredients were average. There was plenty of blue cheese, but maybe a quarter of an avocado, and two ounces at best, of chicken. Thankfully, the service, made up for the disappointing salad. I will continue to recommend Lafayette for breakfast, and brunch, but not sure about lunch.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

The waiter was especially helpful and gu ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 27, 2016

The waiter was especially helpful and guided my business associate through the meal with excellent suggestions to add to our food experience.

Definitely would recommend the Lafayette for business dinners as well as special occasions.

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was actually really great. Ther ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 24, 2016

The food was actually really great. There were two problems though - one was that, despite the fact that very few people were in the restaurant and it was fully staffed, staff rarely came by. But much more important, the place was absolutely full of fruit flies. They were everywhere. It really took away from the otherwise beautiful ambiance and decor. I like this restaurant, but I would not recommend going unless and until they fumigate and solve this issue.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service3
value3

The food was excellent, the service was ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 21, 2016

The food was excellent, the service was very professional and the Ambience was exactly what we were looking for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a lovely time dining at the Lafay ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 19, 2016

We had a lovely time dining at the Lafayette. The food was great, the ambiance was simply elegant and sophisticated; the wait staff was warm, especially Emmanuel. The hotel and restaurant is simply a must visit when in DC.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Historic, Organic, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the loveliest evenings my friends ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 18, 2016

One of the loveliest evenings my friends and I have had celebrating a birthday, in this case my birthday. Wait staff made us feel very special- the piano player was the icing on the cake. Even the valet parking men went out of their way to welcome us . Being native New Yorkers, we're used to pricey places with very good food, but the Lafayette added the elegance and old world charm so lacking in the trendy places. Worth every penny!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I went to celebrate our 25th ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 15, 2016

My wife and I went to celebrate our 25th anniversary. Beautiful dining room, nicely spaced tables and perfect atmosphere for quiet, romantic dinner. Service was attentive but not overly formal. My wife had the Dover Sole, de-boned tableside, and said it was the best she has ever had. I had the rack of lamb which was delicious. At server's suggestion, we ordered the special vanilla souflee for dessert which was wonderful. Because it was our anniversary, we were informed, when the check came, that the dessert was "on the house." All in all, a great meal and a lovely evening.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The food and atmosphere were fantastic. ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 15, 2016

The food and atmosphere were fantastic. It was our anniversary, and the setting was very romantic with a pianist playing during the meal. Will go back again. Have been recommending to a lot of friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Having been to the restaurant several ye ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 12, 2016

Having been to the restaurant several years ago, we were disappointed in the quality of the food ("salad" consisted of a few beets and a few carrots arranged on a plate with a dollop of goat cheese. The duck was undercooked; the creme brule was salty and consistency was odd. Whipped cream with chocolate was served seperately for some reason.) A glass of St. Emillion seemed a little off. The restaurant was unusually loud and we had trouble hearing each other. Altogether a great disappointment, as we had looked forward to it for several weeks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Went for my birthday and they made it an ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Went for my birthday and they made it an exceptional and even more special experience .

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter Clarence was fantastic. Th ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 5, 2016

Our waiter Clarence was fantastic. This will be our go to restaurant in DC.

Tags: Fireplace, Special Occasion, Private Room, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food, service, atmosphere were all o ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on October 1, 2016

The food, service, atmosphere were all outstanding. The duck breast was superb. The desserts were all fabulous. There was live piano music to make the night even more special.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Lafayette Room is elegant in the cla ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 28, 2016

The Lafayette Room is elegant in the classic sense. Our server (Eli) was outstanding. The food (Diver Scallops for my wife, beef tenderloin for me) was perfect.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious meal and a very good value. El ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 26, 2016

Delicious meal and a very good value. Eli was knowledgeable, efficient and wonderful as was Ernesto. Piano player was arrogant and not only would not entertain our music requests, he feined stupidity about even knowing the songs - unacceptable for a restaurant of this caliber.

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The Lafayette never fails to exceed expe ...

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on September 23, 2016

The Lafayette never fails to exceed expectations!! Both the food and the service are impeccable. We always dine at The Lafayette when we are in Washington,DC.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Oatmeal Souffle is OUT OF THIS WORLD ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 21, 2016

The Oatmeal Souffle is OUT OF THIS WORLD! As always excellent service, attention to detail, food quality.

Tags: Hot Spot, Quick Bite, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We live in NJ and visit Lafayette whenev ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 17, 2016

We live in NJ and visit Lafayette whenever we are in DC. It is an elegant restaurant with fine food. The staff is extremely professional and provides a high level of service. You will be hard pressed to find a more comfortable restaurant with such a beautiful atmosphere. The food is so delicious that we went back a second time within a four day period. The scallops, pasta, salads and the vegetables are all prepared to perfection. Save room for the chocolates that arrive at the end of the meal. Over the top!

Tags: Special Occasion, Private Room, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ours was an anniversary celebration and ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Ours was an anniversary celebration and the Lafayette Restaurant was the perfect venue. The atmosphere is historic and truly special. The staff was appropriate for the formal setting, but was very friendly. The food was fantastic. Live piano music made the setting perfect for a memorable and wonderful experience. Thanks to all!

Tags: Fun, Historic, Live Music, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Recently dined at Lafayette to celebrat ...

 
 (Glasgow)·Dined on September 14, 2016

Recently dined at Lafayette to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary on our visit to the United States . I'd like to thank and congratulate all the staff for the wonderful evening they gave us. I would also like to thank Clarence in particular for his attention to detail and also his kind and courteous manners. Overall we couldn't have chosen a better establishment to celebrate our day and would have no hesitation in recommending the dining experience offered at this fine restaurant. Thank you.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional Service, great food and very ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 1, 2016

Exceptional Service, great food and very pleasant surroundings. Would definitely recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

My "go to" place for breakfast with coll ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 22, 2016

My "go to" place for breakfast with colleagues, and brunch with friends! Very unusual dishes. My favorite for breakfast in the Crab Cake Benedict; no muffin, but a large crab cake, served on a bed of warm spinich, and a poached egg on top. I ask for the Hollandaise Sauce on the side, and mix it with Tabasco! Heaven!

Tags: Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent Seemed a little short ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Food was excellent

Seemed a little short staffed as it took a while to place orders. Food did come out fast.

A fairly large crowd that all seemed to know each other and they were all over the dining room talking to each other. A little distracting

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Efrain and everyone were amazing

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 9, 2016

Efrain and everyone were amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was a Bon Voyage dinner for a speci ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 27, 2016

This was a Bon Voyage dinner for a special friend from college. We wanted a quieter place than some of the other choices in the neighborhood. I had steak tartar as my entree and he had the burger. His burger arrived too rare for his liking and he requested that it just be heated. Meanwhile, he had eaten a few bites and we had devoured the delicious, hot and crispy French fries. When the host returned, he had an entire new burger and French fries entree. We couldn't have been more surprised. How gracious and unexpectedly generous. This place is always a delight.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a well traveled family visiting u ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 27, 2016

We had a well traveled family visiting us and we all enjoyed our dinner, service is great and food is excellent. Love it! Will come back again for certain occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The breakfast was delicious and the serv ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 23, 2016

The breakfast was delicious and the service was excellent. That said, the place smelled of mildew and the under tablecloths begged to be washed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

DINING AS IT SHOULD BE Impeccable white ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 10, 2016

DINING AS IT SHOULD BE

Impeccable white linen table cloths, sparkling crystal and silver, a pianist playing in the background and a perfect vodka martini: I felt like I stepped into a time machine and was transported to another era. The lobster salad was delicious and beautifully presented. The scallops and Arctic char were both wonderful. I topped it all off with a vanilla soufflé. If you are really looking to impress your spouse or partner, this is the place. Simply MAHHVVELOUUS.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Thank you so much for an Awesome dining ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 18, 2016

Thank you so much for an Awesome dining experience for my family , The staff was exceptional.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.