Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.07mi
  4. Distance: 0.08mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.07mi
  4. Distance: 0.08mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.07mi
  4. Distance: 0.08mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.07mi
  4. Distance: 0.08mi

About Lafayette Restaurant

Washington’s destination for power dining, the Lafayette Restaurant serves breakfast, lunch, dinner & Sunday brunch. With large windows opening onto Lafayette park & the White House, this sun-lit dining room is one of the most elegant settings in the capital & is certain to complement any dining experience.

800 16th Street, NW
Washington, DC 20006
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 6:30am - 11:00am, Saturday - Sunday: 7:00am - 11:00am; Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm; Sunday Brunch: 11:30am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
H Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 638-2570

Website:
http://www.hayadams.com/

Entertainment:
Our pianist Tom Vogt is playing every Monday – Saturday evening and for Sunday Brunch

Catering:
Private Dining available for groups of up to 18 guests.

Parking Details:
Parking is complimentary for dinner. A parking fee of $12.00 via hotel valet parking for breakfast Monday - Friday and Sunday Brunch. $28 for Lunch Monday - Saturday.

Public Transit:
McPherson Square, Farragut West, Farragut North

Executive Chef:
Nicolas Legret

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Brunch on most major holidays.

Lafayette Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

value

4.4

Noise

Quiet

95% would recommend it to a friend

Quiet Conversation (13)
Romantic (13)
Special Occasion (11)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Good for a Date (10)
Great for Lunch (7)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
People Watching (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Live Music (4)
Scenic View (4)
Authentic (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Business Meals (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Cozy (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Fun (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Organic (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
S
808 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

Just what we wanted!!! Great atmosphere, wonderful food, and the fantastic Clarence!! If we lived here, we would be inviting him over to our house and cook and serve dinner for him. He made us feel so welcomed! Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

This classic restaurant that everyone in Washington has been going to for brunch and tea over decades is in a perfect spot overlooking Lafayette Park. The dining room is beautifully decorated. The waiters are polite. It's quiet and elegant. The only problem is the cuisine. Sometimes it's fine and sometimes it's literally horrible, as if the kitchen is having wild mood swings. The "chicken salad" served at lunch the other day was worthy of a 7-11 refrigerator case or a cheap deli in a bad neighborhood - old chicken bits dripping in bad mayonnaise, mixed with limp melon (?) Appalling. Have no idea why it would be hard to present a decent salad with chicken, especially given the high prices charged for simple basics like this. Lafayette chefs apparently need closer supervision? Or maybe a holiday.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

Good dishes have been added to the menu. The atmosphere, as always, is elegant, quiet the night we were there letting the piano create the mood. The staff is so warm that we feel like we're meeting old friends every time we're there.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 13, 2017

Our server, Anthony, was fantastic, in every way a customer could want! Tom, the pianist, was his usual -- most excellent pianist who mixed his songs from fun to romantic to addressing all requests -- Tom is a gem!!!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 10, 2017

This is an excellent venue for a business dinner if you are eager to impress your out of town guests with Washington elegance.

Tags: Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 9, 2017

The staff was top notch and the food superb! We have celebrated our anniversary here twice now, and it is always an incredible evening!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Very beautiful dining room. Service impeccable.
It was my wife’s birthday and pianist played Happy Birthday as the waiter brought out our dessert. Food Devine. This a great venue for special occasions. Very quiet setting. Hotel itself is both historic and beautiful to see.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

Clarence was out waiter on Friday evening. He was very attentive , hospitable, and kind. Enjoyed his service. We all enjoyed our food very much. Prompt attention to our few requests.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on October 4, 2017

The Lafayette Room always delivers an exceptional meal with attentive and knowledgeable staff and in the tranquility that defines the Hay Adams. It is an ideal dining room if conversation is an important part of your repertoire.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Lafayette is a favorite. The atmosphere is very elegant and the service just exquisite. The food is delicious. This time I went for brunch and it was just fabulous! Bottomless Taittinger champagne, chilled crab claws, amazing appetizers. I had the fried chicken entree and my friend the filet mignon. Both were excellent and the dessert table was just lovely. It is pricey but worth it.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Live Music, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Edinburgh)·Dined on September 28, 2017

Elegant atmosphere and attentive staff. Delicious food beautifully plated.

Tags: Authentic, Kid-friendly, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

An excellent restaurant that provides for a memorable overall experience. The food was superb, the service top notch, and the attention to detail justifying the value being provided. We were there with our 7-year old for a special family occasion and the restaurant staff made us feel extremely welcome! We had a great evening.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 21, 2017

Amazing service, amazing decor, amazing ambiance, excellent food, amazing location. Highly recommend.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 16, 2017

This restaurant is quite elegant and the food is exceptionally prepared. It is also a quiet location, good for conversation. Perhaps a little too much hovering by the wait staff.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 11, 2017

Impeccable service by our very knowledgeable waiter Clarence, who was an absolute delight! The food was exquisite, and thoughtfully prepared. I had the rockfish, pan fried to perfection served on a bed of pasta. My husband had the New York striploin, once again, cooked to perfection. The chocolate dessert was profoundly delicious as well. Our 2 guests were undoubtedly impressed.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 10, 2017

It was absolutely wonderful. The best meal I had in Washington DC.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Superb restaurant with Gourmet food at very high quality. The service and the attention to details and to our needs was excellent. highly recommended to anyone that wants a real excellent restaurant. perfect for Food connoisseur.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 5, 2017

Always a special treat to have lunch in the Lafayette Room...food is very good but the staff makes it an event...very attentive and friendly.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Organic, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Hot Spot, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Perfect place for breakfast during our stay in D.C. Great service!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 16, 2017

We were treated like VIPs throughout the meal. I am grateful for the gracious service we received. It made the meal a very special occasion indeed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 12, 2017

I am never disappointed when I come here. The food, service, and general atmosphere is always amazing. My friend mentioned it was her birthday and the waiter brought out a complementary dessert at the end of our meal. She absolutely loved it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Exceptional service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 8, 2017

The steak was delicious and they went out of their way to make my birthday, special.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Second visit here for brunch.
It is exceptional from start to finish
Amazing food and fantastic service
A definite stop on the 'to do' list.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 8, 2017

WE were here for lunch, as we had been several times before when we found the food great !! And that was why we returned with friends. It is very different now and just not great... The menu has changed..the food has changed..just not as good...what a shame !!! we would not return !!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Wow, wonderful classic atmosphere! The Lafayette Restaurant in the Hay-Addams was nothing short of fabulous! Good food, wine cocktails and deserts.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 1, 2017

The atmosphere is very elegant and romantic. Beautiful fireplace and piano playing. The food
was good, but not amazing. Only two courses and dessert. I was hoping for a more creative menu.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 1, 2017

As always ... this was a superb dining experience.. The wait staff was attentive and very congenial.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Afternoon Coffee, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Elegant venue with high quality food and service. A go to restaurant when in Wash DC.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Came for the view, which really was not that impressive at all. Otherwise, great restaurant, although almost no one was there.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Good atmosphere and good food. I was disappointed that I ordered a 2013 California wine tha I know is very good. However they brought me a 2014. That is bad for a restaurat that parades themselves as fine dining.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 23, 2017

My husband and I made a reservation in Lafayette as we wanted a special dinner to celebrate our last night in Washington. Whilst the ambience and attention of staff were excellent, our waiting period between our starter and main course was overly-long. Our waiter was obviously aware of this and apologised about same. I had ordered steak very well-cooked for my mains, and unfortunately it was still red inside when it arrived and I was unable to eat it. The waiter and maitre d' agreed it was unacceptable and took it away to be further cooked which it was. My husband had long finished his mains by this stage and had to content himself with finishing off the bread assortment while I ate my mains. The staff were very apologetic and we were given a complimentary dessert between us and a glass of dessert wine as a compensatory gesture.
I was just disappointed as the specialness of what had been anticipated for the occasion was spoilt, more so because of the excellent reviews we had read in advance about the restaurant which had raised our expectations and excitement, only to be crushed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Very sofisticated environment. Attentive service. Prices not excessive. Food well prepared and presented.

Tags: Live Music, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Complementary valet parking with dinner. Excellent service from every member of staff. Amazing cuisine in a beautiful environmennt. The pianist played a wonderful selection. All around the prices may seem high, but it is definitely an experience well worth having!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Great food, service, and ambiance. Always consistent over time.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Live Music, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on June 19, 2017

I went to this restaurant with my wife, daughter and another couple whom we invited for a special occasion. It is advertised as having a view of the White House. It is indeed across the street from the White House, but the windows are not panoramic and views are limited.
The decor is old-style elegant, the maitre d had a British accent, food was good, although not outstanding, wine selection extensive, there was a live pianist playing sedate music, etc. The place tries to convey an atmosphere of distinguished elegance, which almost succeeded except that there were gnats flying around inside the restaurant! One gnat fell into the wine glass of one of our guests! I realize it's Washington DC in the summer, hot and humid, but a place that takes on such airs should not have gnats flying around the tables. We ate at several other restaurants in Washington that weekend, including the museum cafeterias and hotel restaurant, and none had gnats bothering us. It is a small detail, but who knows what other things are not up to par. For a restaurant that is rated $$$$, insects should not be falling into the customers' drinks. Because of this, I do not plan to return, nor do I recommend it to anyone.

Tags: Scenic View, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 18, 2017

The service and food were outstanding. The appetizer buffet was a culinary experience bound to tap the taste buds of every foodie. The unlimited bellinis and main course options for brunch were both hearty and flavorful. And last but certainly not least, the dessert bar was just divine. My sister and I took my dad here for Father's Day and we all thoroughly enjoyed this experience.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 12, 2017

This is still one of the finest restaurants I have ever experienced! It is one of 2 restaurants in Washington DC that are stellar; and I come back every year.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 12, 2017

The best of the best in hotel dining. You can order blindfolded and enjoy your selection. It never disappoints. The view is simply spectacular--it's across from the White House. Try it and you will have the "dine of your life."

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 9, 2017

My wife and I were celebrating our anniversary, and the ambience was perfect. A pianist set the tone for a lovely dining experience. The food was phenomenal. It was evident that an experienced chef's artistry was on point. It was the most delicious meal we've enjoyed in a very long time.

Tags: Authentic, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.