About La Vecchia - Reno

3005 Skyline Blvd # 160
Reno, NV 89509
View Larger Map

The philosophy behind La Vecchia is to create a casual but refined ambiance, in which we prepare and serve authentic/progressive Northern Italian fare at reasonable prices. We have a fantastic seasonal patio dining overlooking Reno. No-corkage Tuesday’s BYOB. Our chef and his staff want diners to feel comfortable and welcome. Our pasta is made in house and so are our ravioli, we feature thin crusted, handcrafted wood-fired pizza. We are committed to reducing our impact on the environment and support sustainable agriculture through our purchases. Our menu comprise the freshest local and California organic ingredients, and change seasonally. A local neighborhood restaurant for 25 years and a great gathering spot with beers on tap, a diverse wine list and expertly crafted cocktails.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Comfort Food, Contemporary European

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: M-F 11:00am-2:00pm

Dinner: Daily 5:00pm-10:00pm

Cross Street:
Cashill

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(775) 825-1113

Website:
http://www.lavecchiareno.com/

Entertainment:
Patio Dining from May - September.
BYOB with no corkage fee all day Tuesday.
We hold quarterly special events like wine dinners, cocktail events and more. Go to www.lavechhiareno.com for more info.

Catering:
15 to 300, sit down, buffet or small bites. Full bar, wine, beer service.

Parking Details:
Private lots, plenty of parking.

Executive Chef:
Alberto Gazzola

Private Party Facilities:
AV ready room for up to 25 guests. Separate main dining room accommodate 80 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Alberto Gazzola: 7758251113x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

La Vecchia - Reno Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Value
Tahoe / Reno Area
Neighborhood Gem
Tahoe / Reno Area
Scenic View
Tahoe / Reno Area
6 More
Best Overall
Reno
Best Food
Reno
Best Service
Reno
Best Ambiance
Reno
Best Value
Reno
Neighborhood Gem
Reno
Best Restaurants in Reno ›

scenic view (41)
neighborhood gem (38)
special occasion (35)
See All
fit for foodies (27)
romantic (21)
notable wine list (18)
good for groups (16)
great for lunch (14)
great for outdoor dining (13)
hot spot (9)
vibrant bar scene (7)
great for brunch (4)
kid-friendly (3)
late-night find (3)
Sort By:
Newest
188 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service4

Located in a neighborhood of homes so yo ...

vip
Dined 7 days ago

Located in a neighborhood of homes so you may think you're lost, but keep following the GPS. Good quality food in a quiet setting. Locally owned for several years and worth venturing out from the traditional restaurants.

food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Dining With a View

vip
Dined on May 23, 2016

Loved the pizza with calabrese peppers..nice ambience...

Tags: good for groups, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

lavecchia gets better every time I visit.

Dined on May 22, 2016

The Duck Risotto? YUM! My friend had the filet and pronounced it amazing. I'll be back, often!

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

I really like the possibility of reserva ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

I really like the possibility of reservation on-line

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Everything about La Vecchia was great ot ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

Everything about La Vecchia was great other than the fact that I got the black truffle butter new york steak ($30 mind you) with mashed potatoes and the steak was under seasoned and tough. The potatoes stood out more than the meat did.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful experience as usual.

Dined on May 14, 2016

My favorite Italian restaurant in Reno and it never disappoints. Wonderful food, great service and a spectacular view from the outside balcony. I almost always stick to their seafood linguini cooked in a red sauce while my wife tried their special, a lamb shank served over risotto. Both were absolutely delicious.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's always consistently great!

Dined on May 12, 2016

We've been to La Vecchia many times and for a lot of birthdays! Don't know why we don't go more often! I always order a chef special and have never been disappointed! Love this restaurant. Can't wait to take out of Towners! So impressive!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Great Italian!

Dined on May 9, 2016

Great Italian food with fresh ingredients in a nice neighborhood gem. Risotto and pasta dishes are outstanding! A bit on the expensive side and lacking in ambiance. Tables are close to each other so it can be loud. Some booths would make it romantic as it has a skyline view of downtown Reno.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Always a favorite! Love the food always ...

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

Always a favorite! Love the food always and views by the window and outside are great! Service is always friendly. Parking is the only thing that's a problem when it's a busy time

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great food

Dined on May 1, 2016

Had a group of prom kids nearby, but kept it down but were still a little loud. Food was great, service great, great view.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Reliable excellence

Dined on April 29, 2016

Always been one of our favorites. Personal attention in a relaxed ambience teamed with excellent food and a beautiful view of the city. A "go to" place for special family occasions is also my never-fail places for business dinners when I host visiting execs from my company. We are food and wine people and La Vecchia leaves them relaxed and impressed.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing Food, Top Chef Aesthetic present ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

Amazing Food, Top Chef Aesthetic presentations along with great service, location and excellent customer service!

food4
ambience5
service4

One of my favorite and my always go-to p ...

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

One of my favorite and my always go-to place to eat. Spinach salad and fish of the day are always so fresh and yummy. Ambience is nice and if you get seat by window, you get great views of the city.

food5
ambience4
service5
value1

la vecchia

Dined on April 23, 2016

Very good food and service. About as Italian as you can get. But... Very small portions for the price. The portions were bigger and the prices lower at the moana location. Sadly we will probably not go back. But the quality and flavor of the food is awesome. We missed having pasta as a side. Mashed potatoes just seemed wrong.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was delightful! We were celebrating ...

Dined on April 13, 2016

It was delightful! We were celebrating the birthdays of a 94 year old and an 80 year old. La Vecchia's food was wonderful! At the end, we all ordered dessert. When we got our bill, we noticed that they did not charge us for the two tiramisu desserts ordered by the two birthday people. La Vecchia never said a thing. They did it on their own. We thanked them graciously! I would recommend La Vecchia's always!

Tags: special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great food!

Dined on April 9, 2016

Food was delicious service friendly. Nice setting with view.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastimundo!

vip
Dined on April 5, 2016

Just spectacular!!! Julio was one of the best waiters we ever experienced!!

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Neighborhood eatery in Reno area

vip
Dined on April 5, 2016

Their paella special was outstanding and the rest of the choices were great.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place for Italian

Dined on April 1, 2016

This is our favorite Italian restaurant in the area. If you're in the mood for great Italian food, La Vecchia is for you.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

We had the best meal in Reno ever! I had ...

Dined on March 23, 2016

We had the best meal in Reno ever! I had the chicken parm and my boyfriend has the sea bass special. It was a good size serving, awesome service, great wine, and the best view of Reno! So pretty. We will be back. We loved it!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Neighborhood Spot

Dined on March 15, 2016

We are regulars at la Vecchia and for good reason - food, service, atmosphere - all are top notch. Monday night special is a great value. Any of the ravioli dishes with a glass of house wine and choice of salad or dessert is $20.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

La Vecchia is truly one of Reno's gem. ...

Dined on March 13, 2016

La Vecchia is truly one of Reno's gem. Alberto can flat cook!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service2

We went for a last "date night" before o ...

Dined on March 11, 2016

We went for a last "date night" before our son was born. Service was slow, even though they didn't seem to be that busy. Food was delicious - the calamari was fantastic, and the pear salad with the Parmesan bowl amazing. My husband had the pappardelle with duck confit ragout which was delicious. I had the gnocchi with mushroom sauce which was good.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food & specials

Dined on March 10, 2016

Been coming here for 12 years. Always good service. Great specials. I've never been disappointed. Really good value too.

food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Great Lunch!

vip
Dined on February 19, 2016

Really great lunch at LaVecchia. The only problem was deciding what to order - the menu has so many things that sound delicious. The gnocchi with tomato sauce is so delicate, and the salciccia pizza was nice and spicy with plenty of meat. Chocolate hazelnut gelato is worth the trip alone! We're looking forward to coming back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place for a quiet lunch!!!

Dined on February 19, 2016

The 5 of us "outgoing = talkative" women enjoyed our early Friday lunch very much! great service, food, & location - we had 2 hours of fun celebrating my mom's 88th b-day, seated in their smaller side room where they even turned the music down for her to be able to hear better ;.)

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Yummy

Dined on February 19, 2016

We just moved here to Reno, and found this hidden gem. Amazing Italian food, our waiter Bruno, was perfection & very attentive. I had the Risotto with asparagus & duck, it was one of the specials of the night. My husband had Pasta with duck, it was on the menu, I just can't remember the name of the dish. He loved his dish too. We look forward to revisiting this restaurant again.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Good food, great service

Dined on February 16, 2016

The food was pretty good (a little expensive), and the service was great. The server was actually excited about his job and resturant.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5

The mushroom ravioli was very tasty and ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

The mushroom ravioli was very tasty and the bruschetta appetizer was excellent. Attentive service, definitely will be back.

food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Could offer information regarding requests

Dined on February 14, 2016

I had included in my reservation that a two-person table with a great view through the big window would be immensely preferred and got a table near the window, yes, but in the corner with little space to experience the view.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

Absolutely excellent Northern Italian cuisine !

Dined on February 13, 2016

La Vecchia serves wonderful food for a price that is reasonable for the quality. Service is good. The view of Reno is spectacular. Unfortunately the night we were there (Valentine's weekend) there were two horrendously loud tables sharing the dining room with us. The volume of their shouting coupled with the glass windows was not at all pleasant. Would have been nice if management noticed and addressed the issue.

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent as Always

Dined on February 13, 2016

Lively bar scene. Dining area is inviting with warm lighting and spectacular view of the downtown Reno skyline.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

Need to improve the service

Dined on February 9, 2016

The second time I have had this waiter and he was not good either time. He argued about taking back and heating up cold food. He was slow, and generally not enjoyable at all. My husband and our friends have been to La Vecchia several times but this is the last time we will go. Even the hostess that showed us to our table was unfriendly, no smile, no welcome, no nothing. Too many other restaurants to try. We looked for the manager to let him know but even the hostess had vanished.

Tags: scenic view
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Great view, good food, below average service

Dined on February 6, 2016

Can't beat the view if you can get a seat near the front. Calamari was crispy, light and not rubbery; the best item we were served. Food was tasty but had some issues. Pasta was overcooked in the seafood stew but overall flavor profile was good. Veal dish was average, don't recall the side dish but the vegetables were undercooked. Chicken Parmesan was covered in too much cheese and tomatoes. Did not see pasta as a side dish to the veal or chicken and have never been to an Italian restaurant where it was not an option. There are other, better Italian restaurants in Reno. Service was very slow and had to ask multiple times for requested items.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always enjoy it here!

Dined on February 6, 2016

Have been here twice, with 6 people, then 4, thoroughly enjoyed all the different entrees, evening specials, bar service, and table service. Good views by the front windows for day and night time. Easy parking.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Food and Service!

Dined on February 4, 2016

La Vechhia moved from its Virginia Street location to its current Skyline neighborhood location a few years ago. We were there on a Wednesday night. For a restaurant located off any beaten path in Reno to draw a good crowd on A Wednesday night is remarkable. It speaks to La Vecchia's continued excellent service and quality, tasty food. The city view is a plus as it the outdoor seating during warmer weather.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely birthday dinner

Dined on February 1, 2016

The food at La Vecchia is always consistently wonderful and the service is excellent - the reason I eat there so often! The veal (prepared three different ways) is delicious, the gnocchi are scrumptious (also prepared three different ways - I like the Gorgonzola sauce the best), the spinach is flavorful with garlic and wine and we tried the bruschetta (a different presentation every day) as a fun way to start with creamy mozzarella, fresh tomatoes and pesto. My friend even received a free birthday dessert! In nice weather I love to eat on the patio where the view of all of Reno is spectacular.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The ambiance was lovely

Dined on January 28, 2016

We were seated next to a window for great view of the city. The veal was excellent as was the side of spinach.vvOur waiter could not have been more attentive and helpful. We had a quick happy birthday dessert too. Very reasonable and great food.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Healthy choices

vip
Dined on January 11, 2016

We were looking for a restaurant on a Sunday that had healthy food choices! This restaurant nailed it! The decor is cozy. They put prepare their menu choices to fit your diet! Our only complaint would be that it was noisy!

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We went here to celebrate my wife's 73rd ...

Dined on January 10, 2016

We went here to celebrate my wife's 73rd birthday. We were seated immediately upon arrival. We brought our own wine, but were not charged a corkage fee. The service was excellent and attentive. The food choices were extensive and what we ordered was very good. the view of Reno at night was gorgeous. All in all it was a very pleasant experience. The only issue was the noise level in the restaurant. We will be returning again. I do recommend the restaurant. Phil

Tags: special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.