Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.34mi
  2. Distance: 2.28mi
  3. Distance: 2.35mi
  4. Distance: 2.75mi
  1. Distance: 0.34mi
  2. Distance: 2.28mi
  3. Distance: 2.35mi
  4. Distance: 2.75mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.34mi
  2. Distance: 2.28mi
  3. Distance: 2.35mi
  4. Distance: 2.75mi
  1. Distance: 0.34mi
  2. Distance: 2.28mi
  3. Distance: 2.35mi
  4. Distance: 2.75mi

About La Vecchia - Reno

The philosophy behind La Vecchia is to create a casual but refined ambiance, in which we prepare and serve authentic/progressive Northern Italian fare at reasonable prices. We have a fantastic seasonal patio dining overlooking Reno. No-corkage Tuesday’s BYOB. Our chef and his staff want diners to feel comfortable and welcome. Our pasta is made in house and so are our ravioli, we feature thin crusted, handcrafted wood-fired pizza. We are committed to reducing our impact on the environment and support sustainable agriculture through our purchases. Our menu comprise the freshest local and California organic ingredients, and change seasonally. A local neighborhood restaurant for 25 years and a great gathering spot with beers on tap, a diverse wine list and expertly crafted cocktails.

3005 Skyline Blvd # 160
Reno, NV 89509
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Comfort Food, Contemporary European

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: M-F 11:00am-2:00pm

Dinner: Daily 5:00pm-10:00pm

Cross Street:
Cashill

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(775) 825-1113

Website:
http://www.lavecchiareno.com/

Entertainment:
Patio Dining from May - September.
BYOB with no corkage fee all day Tuesday.
We hold quarterly special events like wine dinners, cocktail events and more. Go to www.lavechhiareno.com for more info.

Catering:
15 to 300, sit down, buffet or small bites. Full bar, wine, beer service.

Parking Details:
Private lots, plenty of parking.

Executive Chef:
Alberto Gazzola

Private Party Facilities:
AV ready room for up to 25 guests. Separate main dining room accommodate 80 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Alberto Gazzola: (775) 825-1113

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

La Vecchia - Reno Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.6

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (14)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Special Occasion (10)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Good for a Date (8)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Romantic (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Authentic (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Good for Groups (4)
Business Meals (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Casual (3)
Family Style (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Private Room (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Fun (2)
Healthy (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Modern Decor (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
276 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 7 days ago

We stopped here on a lark after arriving at airport - what a wonderful meal. Truly outstanding and we will definitely be back. The salad was delicious and our pasta dishes were wonderful. Great service as well. All at a reasonable price!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 7 days ago

Amazing restaurant with views to match! We sat on the terrace for ravioli night. Great price with amazing views and wonderful food!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on June 29, 2017

My husband and I had dined at La Vecchia twice on Moana Lane and were impressed with the cuisine then. This was our first time dining at the new location and were surprised to find the cuisine and ambiance superior to our previous experiences.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Food was excellent. Waitress was terrible! Never read specials and barely checked on us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on June 21, 2017

We sat on the patio and the view was fabulous. Our waiter paced the meal as we had requested (sedate.) The timing of everything couldn't have been better. Excellent food and wine. Good value.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 18, 2017

The food was AMAZING!!!! Appitizers, salad and homemade pasta was was all fabulous. Duck ragu was out of this world.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fun, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Great food, good service. Can be really loud inside and tables are close together.
If the weather is good a seat on small the patio is ideal!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Wait staff was knowledgeable, attentive and very personable

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Dinner, service and view were wonderful... highly recommend!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on June 1, 2017

My kids recommended this restraunt for our anniversary dinner. I think they gave us the best table with view. Dinner was very good. Service was wonderful. We enjoyed our special night.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Always consistently good food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We found this location through their social media posting. Decided to give it a try for Mother's Day. Unfortunately, one of us has a strict need for Gluten Free items. GF pasta was not available this day. Garlic seemed to be too generously used and was undercooked. This made one of the meals difficult to enjoy. Should have known by the wilted flowers at the reception desk that the attention to detail was not there. 3 stars for effort and understanding it was late in the afternoon on a busy dining day. (Mother's Day) Will not return. Will try to find a local restaurant that more closely follows the true al dente method of Italian pasta meals.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 2, 2017

La Vecchia is great for dinner and lunch! I love the true Italian taste of the food and the service!
Oh...and did I mention, the best tiramisu!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Consistently good Italian can be found at this neighborhood bistro, and we eat here once every month or so as it is conveniently located close to home. The menu offers nightly specials that are tasty and fresh, but the basic offerings are also quite good and I find myself returning to them on a regular basis. I went out on a limb and had the carbonara this time . . . very tasty and also very rich . . . and paired that with a lovely Barolo and a salad. The bread pudding was also delicious and I'll happily have it again. Our waiter was pleasant and attentive, and truly the only negative was our location in the restaurant next to large and very loud multigenerational birthday celebration. In future I'll make a point of asking for a quiet table, and I suggest you do the same in order to really enjoy your evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Love the food - Svc was great from hostess to busboy!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Great evening at La Vecchia! We celebrated our anniversary and it was amazing as usual!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Organic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Always good, great service and food. Some tables have a great downtown view. In good weather try the outside tables! And don't miss out on Ravioli Mondays.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Tahoe)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Everything was great as always!! One of my favorites!

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tahoe)·Dined on April 7, 2017

We look forward to each visit to LaVecchia. Service is excellent and friendly, and the food is always prepared well and delicious. Great pizzas, carpaccio and the gelato and tiramisu are a treat worth the splurge. Thank you!

Tags: Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on March 31, 2017

We had a great time and the service was great too. I had the chicken parm and my boyfriend had the mushroom ravioli, which both were great and we finished our plate clean. The bread also was great, soft and warm. Beautiful view and great atmosphere.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on March 27, 2017

First time visit, on the recommendation of a friend who eats there often. Good east coast style Italian restaurant. They do a nice job serving classic Italian fair, with a nice level of refinement.
Friendly wait staff, and comfortable environment. Will go again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Tahoe)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We dine here about once a week. It's my favorite place to eat for casual dining. I'm always greeted right away and they remember me and what I love always. Food is amazing and fresh and love the daily different specials

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We think the food and service was good but it was so noisy we could not hear each other much less the very good waiter. In this setting up on the hill, we would not come back. We made reservations well in advance and did not expect to be seated next to a very LOUD party. Rethinking the horrible experience we should have asked to move up to the bar; in fact, my husband suggested to a couple coming in that they would be wise not to go into the dining room. Richard B

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value1

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Wonderful as always! We brought a couple new to Reno, they will be back. Other than a very noisy Saturday night it was great. Their food is always excellent!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Went there for dinner before prom and the view was amazing as was the food! The stuffed salmon raviolis and steak was to die for! We then ordered tiramisu which was very delicious! Very simple yet elegant menu! Very nice place for a date!

Tags: Romantic, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on March 3, 2017

La Vecchia has the best dining view in town. It can also be enjoyed on a large patio several months a year. The kitchen is dependable and creative. One of my favorite five spots in Reno.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Outstanding food and service. The noise level was way, way too high. Couldn't hear one another at our own table. And the portions were small for the price.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 19, 2017

This is the best restaurant experience that I've had in Reno overall. Amazing food, excellent service. We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on February 18, 2017

A favorite Italian restaurant with great service and even better food. Wish it were a little quieter, but that's just me.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on February 17, 2017

I've been to La Vecchia many times with great success. This time however was extremely poor and we were very disappointed as we brought out of town guest. Our waiter stopped by occasionally at most, we would have easily order another glass of wine each had he did. Now with that in mind, First our appraisers came out about 10-15 minutes apart from each other. Then he also forgot to put our salads in as part of the dinner order... when he did realize it and put them in, he forgot one of the salads all together, which never came out. Because he forgot the salads our dinner was warm at best instead of hot as I'm assuming they sat under the heat light for awhile. Don't know if it was a new waiter or not but it wasn't crowded at all. We had reservations at 6:30 on a Friday and the place only had a few tables seated at the time of arrival.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The waiter brought me a zinfandel instead of a pinot grigio. (Red instead of White). When he was mentioning the specials, he was speaking too fast and had to ask him for clarification. Lastly, my dish was not as warm as I would've liked. Overall, it was an good experience. The rest of the food was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Trying to go to here during a holiday almost ruins the experience. Service lacked due to the high volume of customers. Wanted to get dessert , but waited for over 20 minutes after our plates were cleared, and no one came back. Ended up leaving money without even getting a check and left.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on February 9, 2017

A lovely place with a fabulous view of the City! A great place to take out of town visitors, not only for the view, but the ambiance and the food. I was a bit disappointed in one of the signature dishes, Rigatoni Norma because the eggplant was tough and not much of it and the garlic overpowering. That said My guests loved their orders, the pumpkin sage ravioli and panini sandwich. Small dinner salads are certainly a must and they are so good it makes you want to try the lunch salads for sure. Pizzas are great! Well worth the drive and very reasonable; the wait staff are always so friendly and nice.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Food & Service ala Nick excellent as always. Also my Chocolate Martini for dessert quite yummy!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Romantic, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Live Sports, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Best meal in Reno. I travel to Reno twice a year on business and make sure to always come back to La Vecchio.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Fun, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Very glad we found this place. It is always nice to get away from the casinos when in Reno. Great people and great food. I well definitely be back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Always a great place to come for dinner. Very relaxing and service is great.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Quiet evening. Smaller crowd to start Good menu
Pasta enough for 2 to split
Wines a bit on the up $ side by the glass
Overall good not great

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 17, 2017

This was our first visit to La Vecchio. We both had a ravioli dish and they were wonderful- large portions too. We took what we couldn't finish home and had it the next day. We will certainly visit again the next time we are in Reno.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on January 16, 2017

The services was very good, friendly servers. Tolerant of our raucous group too. Food was ok. Caesar salad was just ok. Could have used more dressing. Seafiod linguine was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.