Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.34mi
  2. Distance: 2.28mi
  3. Distance: 2.35mi
  4. Distance: 2.75mi
  1. Distance: 0.34mi
  2. Distance: 2.28mi
  3. Distance: 2.35mi
  4. Distance: 2.75mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.34mi
  2. Distance: 2.28mi
  3. Distance: 2.35mi
  4. Distance: 2.75mi
  1. Distance: 0.34mi
  2. Distance: 2.28mi
  3. Distance: 2.35mi
  4. Distance: 2.75mi

About La Vecchia - Reno

The philosophy behind La Vecchia is to create a casual but refined ambiance, in which we prepare and serve authentic/progressive Northern Italian fare at reasonable prices. We have a fantastic seasonal patio dining overlooking Reno. No-corkage Tuesday’s BYOB. Our chef and his staff want diners to feel comfortable and welcome. Our pasta is made in house and so are our ravioli, we feature thin crusted, handcrafted wood-fired pizza. We are committed to reducing our impact on the environment and support sustainable agriculture through our purchases. Our menu comprise the freshest local and California organic ingredients, and change seasonally. A local neighborhood restaurant for 25 years and a great gathering spot with beers on tap, a diverse wine list and expertly crafted cocktails.

3005 Skyline Blvd # 160
Reno, NV 89509
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Comfort Food, Contemporary European

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: M-F 11:00am-2:00pm

Dinner: Daily 5:00pm-10:00pm

Cross Street:
Cashill

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(775) 825-1113

Website:
http://www.lavecchiareno.com/

Entertainment:
Patio Dining from May - September.
BYOB with no corkage fee all day Tuesday.
We hold quarterly special events like wine dinners, cocktail events and more. Go to www.lavechhiareno.com for more info.

Catering:
15 to 300, sit down, buffet or small bites. Full bar, wine, beer service.

Parking Details:
Private lots, plenty of parking.

Executive Chef:
Alberto Gazzola

Private Party Facilities:
AV ready room for up to 25 guests. Separate main dining room accommodate 80 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Alberto Gazzola: (775) 825-1113

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

La Vecchia - Reno Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (17)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Special Occasion (12)
See All
Good for a Date (11)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Romantic (9)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Casual (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Cozy (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Authentic (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Fun (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Business Meals (3)
Private Room (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Great Beer (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Tapas (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Live Sports (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Healthy (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
People Watching (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Sort By:
S
255 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Tahoe)·Dined on March 19, 2017

We dine here about once a week. It's my favorite place to eat for casual dining. I'm always greeted right away and they remember me and what I love always. Food is amazing and fresh and love the daily different specials

Tags: Modern Decor, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on March 13, 2017

We think the food and service was good but it was so noisy we could not hear each other much less the very good waiter. In this setting up on the hill, we would not come back. We made reservations well in advance and did not expect to be seated next to a very LOUD party. Rethinking the horrible experience we should have asked to move up to the bar; in fact, my husband suggested to a couple coming in that they would be wise not to go into the dining room. Richard B

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value1

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Wonderful as always! We brought a couple new to Reno, they will be back. Other than a very noisy Saturday night it was great. Their food is always excellent!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Went there for dinner before prom and the view was amazing as was the food! The stuffed salmon raviolis and steak was to die for! We then ordered tiramisu which was very delicious! Very simple yet elegant menu! Very nice place for a date!

Tags: Romantic, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Cozy, Private Room, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on March 4, 2017

La Vecchia has the best dining view in town. It can also be enjoyed on a large patio several months a year. The kitchen is dependable and creative. One of my favorite five spots in Reno.

Tags: Modern Decor, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Outstanding food and service. The noise level was way, way too high. Couldn't hear one another at our own table. And the portions were small for the price.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 20, 2017

This is the best restaurant experience that I've had in Reno overall. Amazing food, excellent service. We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on February 19, 2017

A favorite Italian restaurant with great service and even better food. Wish it were a little quieter, but that's just me.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on February 18, 2017

I've been to La Vecchia many times with great success. This time however was extremely poor and we were very disappointed as we brought out of town guest. Our waiter stopped by occasionally at most, we would have easily order another glass of wine each had he did. Now with that in mind, First our appraisers came out about 10-15 minutes apart from each other. Then he also forgot to put our salads in as part of the dinner order... when he did realize it and put them in, he forgot one of the salads all together, which never came out. Because he forgot the salads our dinner was warm at best instead of hot as I'm assuming they sat under the heat light for awhile. Don't know if it was a new waiter or not but it wasn't crowded at all. We had reservations at 6:30 on a Friday and the place only had a few tables seated at the time of arrival.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The waiter brought me a zinfandel instead of a pinot grigio. (Red instead of White). When he was mentioning the specials, he was speaking too fast and had to ask him for clarification. Lastly, my dish was not as warm as I would've liked. Overall, it was an good experience. The rest of the food was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Trying to go to here during a holiday almost ruins the experience. Service lacked due to the high volume of customers. Wanted to get dessert , but waited for over 20 minutes after our plates were cleared, and no one came back. Ended up leaving money without even getting a check and left.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on February 9, 2017

A lovely place with a fabulous view of the City! A great place to take out of town visitors, not only for the view, but the ambiance and the food. I was a bit disappointed in one of the signature dishes, Rigatoni Norma because the eggplant was tough and not much of it and the garlic overpowering. That said My guests loved their orders, the pumpkin sage ravioli and panini sandwich. Small dinner salads are certainly a must and they are so good it makes you want to try the lunch salads for sure. Pizzas are great! Well worth the drive and very reasonable; the wait staff are always so friendly and nice.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Food & Service ala Nick excellent as always. Also my Chocolate Martini for dessert quite yummy!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Romantic, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Live Sports, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Best meal in Reno. I travel to Reno twice a year on business and make sure to always come back to La Vecchio.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Fun, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Very glad we found this place. It is always nice to get away from the casinos when in Reno. Great people and great food. I well definitely be back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Private Room, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Always a great place to come for dinner. Very relaxing and service is great.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Quiet evening. Smaller crowd to start Good menu
Pasta enough for 2 to split
Wines a bit on the up $ side by the glass
Overall good not great

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 18, 2017

This was our first visit to La Vecchio. We both had a ravioli dish and they were wonderful- large portions too. We took what we couldn't finish home and had it the next day. We will certainly visit again the next time we are in Reno.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on January 17, 2017

The services was very good, friendly servers. Tolerant of our raucous group too. Food was ok. Caesar salad was just ok. Could have used more dressing. Seafiod linguine was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We are new to Reno and were looking for a new spot and chose La Vecchia based on other reviews on Open Table. We weren't disappointed and will return again. The spot has ample parking, lovely city views, and a wide selection of traditional dishes along with some fun twists. We had and can recommend the pumpkin gnocchi, the burrata bruschetta, the grilled romaine and spinach salad and delicious madeira gelato. All were fabulousI would pass on the eggplant rigatoni -- okay, but not the best dish in the house. So much good stuff to choose from though!

Tags: Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 12, 2017

La Vecchia's spaghetti carbonara (with delicious and authentic pancetta rendered before adding with the noodles) is a favorite and is far and above the best in Reno. The bruschetta is fantastic as well and gnocchi dishes are also delightful! In my opinion this is the tastiest Italian restaurant in the area!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Amazing food, amazing service and the ambiance added greatly to the overall meal

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Excellent service, top view and atmosphere/decor. Unfortunately, our meals did not match these attributes. The food was creative, but did not taste good. This was disappointing as we would like this to be a go to dinning option in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Wonderful as usual. La Vecchia never disappoints. My favorite Italian restaurant in Reno.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Romantic, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on December 31, 2016

One of our favorite local restaurants. Great food and service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Authentic, Cozy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Been a little disappointed the last few times I've visited this restaurant. I ordered the special lamb and risotto, and it was just okay and a bit too salty. The convenience and ambiance is great, but noise level quite loud and we were having to shout to hear each other.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 11, 2016

I have been a longtime patron of this establishment, but have been gone for a while. I was really looking forward to revisiting it. New location, and I fear that the service carried over from its old Skyline Cafe. Horrible.
We were told upon being seated in the empty restaurant that our table was reserved at 7, so we would need to be finished by then. Granted we would likely have been done in two hours, however, that's not the greeting I would expect from a high end Italian restaurant anywhere, let alone La Vecchia.
I am sad to say I cannot review the food as we left after being seated. I will not be rushed through a nice meal. Several of my previous favorites were no longer on the menu, so maybe it is all for the best: I didn't need to have a bad taste in my mouth twice in one evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on December 9, 2016

This was a business lunch and I was concerned since a private/quiet area was requested in my reservation and could not be accommodated . The place was loud and crazy busy. Initially we were seated in a weird place, but when a reservation was cancelled we were asked if we wanted to move to a corner area. It worked out to be a little less noisy allowing for a somewhat private discussion. Thank you for the thoughtful consideration! PS: food was great!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Very nice neighborhood restaurant with incredible views.
Consistently great service and cuisine.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Monday ravioli special
$20. Your choice of salad or dessert, ravioli and glad of house wine. Spinach was very good, but nothing beats their mushroom ravioli. Best I've ever had. Must have. Dudley was our server, and very funny and friendly.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 18, 2016

We always enjoy our meals at La Vecchia! Salad portions are generous, fresh bread is delicious and the pasta is always great. The staff is friendly and attentive. The wine list is large and prices are reasonable.

Tags: Scenic View, Comfort Food, Casual, Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Great Italian food in a neighborhood setting! Can get loud when busy but service is still excellent.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We had a great meal (salads, gnocchi, and ravioli), wonderful desserts, and remarkably good coffee. We always enjoy La Vecchia, but we agreed that the eggplant appetizer was especially well prepared! It was a perfect birthday dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Tahoe)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Perfect Margherita pizza and Caesar salad. Capacious is delicious! Great service, as always. Looking forward to coming back soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Stopped in Reno on our to San Francisco and found this place on Open Table and it was great. Sits up on the hill over looking Reno and the food was great!

Tags: Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Outstanding Value, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on October 31, 2016

What a nice view of Reno and such great ravioli....wow...

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on October 21, 2016

An upbeat atmosphere to celebrate a birthday and enjoy a delicious meal. I recommend it highly for locals and visitors who enjoy an Italian menu for both lunch and dinner.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Very good Italian with specials every night to keep it unique. Love the view and the service is always good.

Tags: Authentic, Private Room, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Started out our dinner by ordering a glass of White Zinfandel. The wine I received was clearly not a White Zin but was a a Rose instead (which was not a problem, but not what I ordered). Second glass was totally different than the Rose. Not quite sure what it was, but it was awful. I called the waiter over; his response was: "well it's a Rose, not a White Zin and it must be a new bottle which is why it tastes different." No apology, no offer to bring an alternative. Dinner was mediocre at best. The pasta and chicken parmesan were tasteless. Additionally, the portions were much smaller than our previous visits to the restaurant. We have been dining at La Vecchia since it opened on Skyline and prior to that when the restaurant was located on Moana. Very disappointed in the decline. Sadly, we will not return.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Just perfect, the food was just great. Second time here and will come again.

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.