About La Vecchia - Reno

3005 Skyline Blvd # 160
Reno, NV 89509
View Larger Map

The philosophy behind La Vecchia is to create a casual but refined ambiance, in which we prepare and serve authentic/progressive Northern Italian fare at reasonable prices. We have a fantastic seasonal patio dining overlooking Reno. No-corkage Tuesday’s BYOB. Our chef and his staff want diners to feel comfortable and welcome. Our pasta is made in house and so are our ravioli, we feature thin crusted, handcrafted wood-fired pizza. We are committed to reducing our impact on the environment and support sustainable agriculture through our purchases. Our menu comprise the freshest local and California organic ingredients, and change seasonally. A local neighborhood restaurant for 25 years and a great gathering spot with beers on tap, a diverse wine list and expertly crafted cocktails.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Comfort Food, Contemporary European

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: M-F 11:00am-2:00pm

Dinner: Daily 5:00pm-10:00pm

Cross Street:
Cashill

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(775) 825-1113

Website:
http://www.lavecchiareno.com/

Entertainment:
Patio Dining from May - September.
BYOB with no corkage fee all day Tuesday.
We hold quarterly special events like wine dinners, cocktail events and more. Go to www.lavechhiareno.com for more info.

Catering:
15 to 300, sit down, buffet or small bites. Full bar, wine, beer service.

Parking Details:
Private lots, plenty of parking.

Executive Chef:
Alberto Gazzola

Private Party Facilities:
AV ready room for up to 25 guests. Separate main dining room accommodate 80 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Alberto Gazzola: 7758251113x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

La Vecchia - Reno Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Value
Tahoe / Reno Area
Neighborhood Gem
Tahoe / Reno Area
Outdoor Dining
Tahoe / Reno Area
5 More
Best Overall
Reno
Best Ambiance
Reno
Best Value
Reno
Fit for Foodies
Reno
Neighborhood Gem
Reno
Best Restaurants in Reno ›

Scenic View (31)
Neighborhood Gem (27)
Great for Outdoor Dining (26)
See All
Fit for Foodies (21)
Special Occasion (21)
Romantic (18)
Good for Groups (15)
Great for Lunch (11)
Notable Wine List (9)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Authentic (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Good for a Date (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Business Meals (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Casual (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Family Style (2)
Healthy (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Private Room (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Cozy (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Sort By:
Newest
211 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Everything about the experience was perf ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 5 days ago

Everything about the experience was perfect! The server was lovely! Gracious, knowledgable, welcoming and accommodating. I gave her the freedom to select a glass of wine to complement my piccata with porcini and it was absolutely delicious. Had the perfect table for two looking out the windows at the city of Reno. Had the pate appetizer that was so generous I shared it with a nearby table. Very difficult to make a selection on the menu because it all looked extraordinary.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very limited menu...very few choices.... ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Very limited menu...very few choices......very forgetful wait person. How many times do I have to say it's a birthday dinner? Others in the restaurant got a dessert with candle for a birthday....we got nothing!

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Lovely lunch on the patio at LaVecchia. ...

vip
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Lovely lunch on the patio at LaVecchia. Great carpaccio and margherita pizza, topped off with hazelnut espresso gelato. Can't wait to return!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wow...more than I expected. This is a li ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Wow...more than I expected. This is a little known treasure in Reno with a fantastic view! It gives the impression of being a vacation spot. The food is authentic Italian! I strongly recommend that you give this jewel a chance.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, the food was delicious, and t ...

vip
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

As always, the food was delicious, and the service was excellent.

Tags: Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

La Vecchia never disappoints. The food i ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

La Vecchia never disappoints. The food is always delicious and the view from their patio is wonderful. Their specials are always particularly good but can be a bit pricey. Definitely the place to take family and friends when they come to town.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

LaVecchia's is my favorite restaurant. ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

LaVecchia's is my favorite restaurant. I have eaten there many times and have never been disappointed. The food is always delicious and the staff is alway very friendly.

Tags: Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value, Paleo Friendly, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Casual, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best handmade ravioli I have had in Reno ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Best handmade ravioli I have had in Reno! Cannot wait to go back for more!

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Wonderful service, great food and a view ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Wonderful service, great food and a view to die for. I love this place and go there often as it is right in my neighborhood.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First visit to La Vecchia since they mov ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

First visit to La Vecchia since they moved to Skyline Drive. I should not have waited so long. Excellent food and wine and great service. The view is wonderful too!!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, attentive service, and wonde ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Great food, attentive service, and wonderful house-made gelato!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I have to give this restaurant 5 stars. ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

I have to give this restaurant 5 stars. A group of our friends went for lunch not realizing they closed at 2 p.m. Even though we overstayed the 2 pm closing, our waiter did not rush us and was most cordial. I will definitely go again. The food and service was outstanding.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really delicious food!! We will definit ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Really delicious food!! We will definitely be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We are never disappointed when we dine a ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

We are never disappointed when we dine at LaVecchia. We tend to save it for special occasions.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

While I couldn't give it a bad rating, t ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

While I couldn't give it a bad rating, the food this trip was not a "knock your socks off" meal. My wife and I split a Mellenzane (crisp fried eggplant with marinara, cheese, and basil) appetizer and the bruschetta of the day (pesto, ricotta, and red pepper relish). The mellenzane was spicy which it has not ever been before, a disappointment to my wife, and the bruschetta was just "ok", nothing to write home about. For entrees my wife had a Chilean sea bass special with apricot sauce. She said the sauce made it too sweet, and they put some marinara on the polenta side dish, which she would have preferred plain. I had the Rigatoni a la Norma, which was very good . Service was as usual top notch, and had it been just a tad warmer, sitting on the terrace would have been a must with it's relaxing view, but inside was more comfortable. We are well experienced dining here, and will certainly return.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

calamari had a real fishy taste and was ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

calamari had a real fishy taste and was overly cooked my veal had no taste wine was very good . my wife's sea food was very good and the marties were very good

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

Lots of Pluses!

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

We've dined here twice and both times the food was prepared very nicely... you can dine small or large, casual or more elaborate... food was very tasty, nice portions, well presented! We've dined inside and out... just wish the 4-top tables outdoors were a bit larger, there was a bit of juggling required to have everything on the table... The service was well-paced and our waiter had a great sense of humor! The view of Reno is very nice as well!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

A visit to Lavecchia and Zuppa

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

Next time tell the customer the Zuppa of the Day is tomato based. I should have asked as well. As usual the service was superb and the view amazing.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Friendly staff, great food, good view

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

We were not quite happy with our inside table as we had come for the view, and the hostess very courteously accommodated our request by seating us outside on a lovely evening. We had great cocktails at the bar while we waited for our table. We were all pleased with our meal choices including my risotto with lamb chops. Great combination!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place! They were short staffed the ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

Great place! They were short staffed the night we came in but they more than made up for it with great food and good service. I appreciated their honesty about our meal possibly taking more time than usual due to staff problem. They told us this upon checking in which is the way to go rather than guests being taken by surprise with slower service. Kudos to the hostess for being proactive. We chose to sit at bar because of this issue rather than wait a long time for a table. Chris our bartender was very knowledgeable about the menu and recommended some great food and a fabulous wine to go with. Love the Raviolis with meat sauce and veal piccata. Excellent food, ambiance and friendly service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not what it used to be

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

The food was good, but not as good as the price tag that came with it. The service was average, and the ambiance quaint except that it felt like you were very close to the people next to you. I wanted a nice, romantic date night, and I wouldn't go here again. This used to be my favorite restaurant.. when they made fresh homemade pasta and the environment was quiet and spacious.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

What an incredible find! Fantastic food & service

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Great view of Reno from the patio. The Wait staff was very accommodating of special dietary needs and very helpful in suggesting recommendations. Wonderful presentation and delicious food. We will be returning and recommending this restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Located in a neighborhood of homes so yo ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

Located in a neighborhood of homes so you may think you're lost, but keep following the GPS. Good quality food in a quiet setting. Locally owned for several years and worth venturing out from the traditional restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Dining With a View

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

Loved the pizza with calabrese peppers..nice ambience...

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

lavecchia gets better every time I visit.

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

The Duck Risotto? YUM! My friend had the filet and pronounced it amazing. I'll be back, often!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

I really like the possibility of reserva ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

I really like the possibility of reservation on-line

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything about La Vecchia was great ot ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

Everything about La Vecchia was great other than the fact that I got the black truffle butter new york steak ($30 mind you) with mashed potatoes and the steak was under seasoned and tough. The potatoes stood out more than the meat did.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Wonderful experience as usual.

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

My favorite Italian restaurant in Reno and it never disappoints. Wonderful food, great service and a spectacular view from the outside balcony. I almost always stick to their seafood linguini cooked in a red sauce while my wife tried their special, a lamb shank served over risotto. Both were absolutely delicious.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's always consistently great!

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

We've been to La Vecchia many times and for a lot of birthdays! Don't know why we don't go more often! I always order a chef special and have never been disappointed! Love this restaurant. Can't wait to take out of Towners! So impressive!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Italian!

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

Great Italian food with fresh ingredients in a nice neighborhood gem. Risotto and pasta dishes are outstanding! A bit on the expensive side and lacking in ambiance. Tables are close to each other so it can be loud. Some booths would make it romantic as it has a skyline view of downtown Reno.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Always a favorite! Love the food always ...

vip
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Always a favorite! Love the food always and views by the window and outside are great! Service is always friendly.

Parking is the only thing that's a problem when it's a busy time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great food

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Had a group of prom kids nearby, but kept it down but were still a little loud. Food was great, service great, great view.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Reliable excellence

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

Always been one of our favorites. Personal attention in a relaxed ambience teamed with excellent food and a beautiful view of the city. A "go to" place for special family occasions is also my never-fail places for business dinners when I host visiting execs from my company. We are food and wine people and La Vecchia leaves them relaxed and impressed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Amazing Food, Top Chef Aesthetic present ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

Amazing Food, Top Chef Aesthetic presentations along with great service, location and excellent customer service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of my favorite and my always go-to p ...

vip
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

One of my favorite and my always go-to place to eat. Spinach salad and fish of the day are always so fresh and yummy. Ambience is nice and if you get seat by window, you get great views of the city.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

la vecchia

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Very good food and service. About as Italian as you can get. But... Very small portions for the price. The portions were bigger and the prices lower at the moana location. Sadly we will probably not go back. But the quality and flavor of the food is awesome. We missed having pasta as a side. Mashed potatoes just seemed wrong.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value1

It was delightful! We were celebrating ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on April 13, 2016

It was delightful! We were celebrating the birthdays of a 94 year old and an 80 year old. La Vecchia's food was wonderful! At the end, we all ordered dessert. When we got our bill, we noticed that they did not charge us for the two tiramisu desserts ordered by the two birthday people. La Vecchia never said a thing. They did it on their own. We thanked them graciously! I would recommend La Vecchia's always!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

Food was delicious service friendly. Nice setting with view.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Fantastimundo!

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 5, 2016

Just spectacular!!! Julio was one of the best waiters we ever experienced!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Neighborhood eatery in Reno area

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on April 5, 2016

Their paella special was outstanding and the rest of the choices were great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.