About La Vecchia - Reno

3005 Skyline Blvd # 160
Reno, NV 89509
View Larger Map

The philosophy behind La Vecchia is to create a casual but refined ambiance, in which we prepare and serve authentic/progressive Northern Italian fare at reasonable prices. We have a fantastic seasonal patio dining overlooking Reno. No-corkage Tuesday’s BYOB. Our chef and his staff want diners to feel comfortable and welcome. Our pasta is made in house and so are our ravioli, we feature thin crusted, handcrafted wood-fired pizza. We are committed to reducing our impact on the environment and support sustainable agriculture through our purchases. Our menu comprise the freshest local and California organic ingredients, and change seasonally. A local neighborhood restaurant for 25 years and a great gathering spot with beers on tap, a diverse wine list and expertly crafted cocktails.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Comfort Food, Contemporary European

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: M-F 11:00am-2:00pm

Dinner: Daily 5:00pm-10:00pm

Cross Street:
Cashill

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(775) 825-1113

Website:
http://www.lavecchiareno.com/

Entertainment:
Patio Dining from May - September.
BYOB with no corkage fee all day Tuesday.
We hold quarterly special events like wine dinners, cocktail events and more. Go to www.lavechhiareno.com for more info.

Catering:
15 to 300, sit down, buffet or small bites. Full bar, wine, beer service.

Parking Details:
Private lots, plenty of parking.

Executive Chef:
Alberto Gazzola

Private Party Facilities:
AV ready room for up to 25 guests. Separate main dining room accommodate 80 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Alberto Gazzola: 7758251113x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

La Vecchia - Reno Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (17)
Good for a Date (14)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
See All
Romantic (9)
Authentic (9)
Special Occasion (9)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Good for Groups (8)
Casual (8)
Business Meals (7)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Cozy (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Fun (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Private Room (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Seasonal (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
People Watching (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Tapas (1)
Great Beer (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
236 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We are new to Reno and were looking for ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined 3 days ago

We are new to Reno and were looking for a new spot and chose La Vecchia based on other reviews on Open Table. We weren't disappointed and will return again. The spot has ample parking, lovely city views, and a wide selection of traditional dishes along with some fun twists. We had and can recommend the pumpkin gnocchi, the burrata bruschetta, the grilled romaine and spinach salad and delicious madeira gelato. All were fabulousI would pass on the eggplant rigatoni -- okay, but not the best dish in the house. So much good stuff to choose from though!

Tags: Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

La Vecchia's spaghetti carbonara (with d ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

La Vecchia's spaghetti carbonara (with delicious and authentic pancetta rendered before adding with the noodles) is a favorite and is far and above the best in Reno. The bruschetta is fantastic as well and gnocchi dishes are also delightful! In my opinion this is the tastiest Italian restaurant in the area!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Amazing food, amazing service and the am ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Amazing food, amazing service and the ambiance added greatly to the overall meal

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent service, top view and atmosphe ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Excellent service, top view and atmosphere/decor. Unfortunately, our meals did not match these attributes. The food was creative, but did not taste good. This was disappointing as we would like this to be a go to dinning option in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Wonderful as usual. La Vecchia never dis ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Wonderful as usual. La Vecchia never disappoints. My favorite Italian restaurant in Reno.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Romantic, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

One of our favorite local restaurants. G ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on December 31, 2016

One of our favorite local restaurants. Great food and service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Authentic, Cozy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Been a little disappointed the last few ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Been a little disappointed the last few times I've visited this restaurant. I ordered the special lamb and risotto, and it was just okay and a bit too salty. The convenience and ambiance is great, but noise level quite loud and we were having to shout to hear each other.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

I have been a longtime patron of this es ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 11, 2016

I have been a longtime patron of this establishment, but have been gone for a while. I was really looking forward to revisiting it. New location, and I fear that the service carried over from its old Skyline Cafe. Horrible.

We were told upon being seated in the empty restaurant that our table was reserved at 7, so we would need to be finished by then. Granted we would likely have been done in two hours, however, that's not the greeting I would expect from a high end Italian restaurant anywhere, let alone La Vecchia.

I am sad to say I cannot review the food as we left after being seated. I will not be rushed through a nice meal. Several of my previous favorites were no longer on the menu, so maybe it is all for the best: I didn't need to have a bad taste in my mouth twice in one evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1

This was a business lunch and I was conc ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on December 9, 2016

This was a business lunch and I was concerned since a private/quiet area was requested in my reservation and could not be accommodated . The place was loud and crazy busy. Initially we were seated in a weird place, but when a reservation was cancelled we were asked if we wanted to move to a corner area. It worked out to be a little less noisy allowing for a somewhat private discussion. Thank you for the thoughtful consideration! PS: food was great!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Very nice neighborhood restaurant with i ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Very nice neighborhood restaurant with incredible views.

Consistently great service and cuisine.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Monday ravioli special $20. Your choice ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Monday ravioli special

$20. Your choice of salad or dessert, ravioli and glad of house wine. Spinach was very good, but nothing beats their mushroom ravioli. Best I've ever had. Must have. Dudley was our server, and very funny and friendly.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We always enjoy our meals at La Vecchia! ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 18, 2016

We always enjoy our meals at La Vecchia! Salad portions are generous, fresh bread is delicious and the pasta is always great. The staff is friendly and attentive. The wine list is large and prices are reasonable.

Tags: Scenic View, Comfort Food, Casual, Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Italian food in a neighborhood set ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Great Italian food in a neighborhood setting! Can get loud when busy but service is still excellent.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a great meal (salads, gnocchi, an ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We had a great meal (salads, gnocchi, and ravioli), wonderful desserts, and remarkably good coffee. We always enjoy La Vecchia, but we agreed that the eggplant appetizer was especially well prepared! It was a perfect birthday dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Perfect Margherita pizza and Caesar sal ...

vip
 (Tahoe)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Perfect Margherita pizza and Caesar salad. Capacious is delicious! Great service, as always. Looking forward to coming back soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Stopped in Reno on our to San Francisco ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Stopped in Reno on our to San Francisco and found this place on Open Table and it was great. Sits up on the hill over looking Reno and the food was great!

Tags: Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, , Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a nice view of Reno and such great ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on October 31, 2016

What a nice view of Reno and such great ravioli....wow...

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

An upbeat atmosphere to celebrate a birt ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on October 21, 2016

An upbeat atmosphere to celebrate a birthday and enjoy a delicious meal. I recommend it highly for locals and visitors who enjoy an Italian menu for both lunch and dinner.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very good Italian with specials every ni ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Very good Italian with specials every night to keep it unique. Love the view and the service is always good.

Tags: Authentic, Private Room, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Started out our dinner by ordering a gla ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Started out our dinner by ordering a glass of White Zinfandel. The wine I received was clearly not a White Zin but was a a Rose instead (which was not a problem, but not what I ordered). Second glass was totally different than the Rose. Not quite sure what it was, but it was awful. I called the waiter over; his response was: "well it's a Rose, not a White Zin and it must be a new bottle which is why it tastes different." No apology, no offer to bring an alternative. Dinner was mediocre at best. The pasta and chicken parmesan were tasteless. Additionally, the portions were much smaller than our previous visits to the restaurant. We have been dining at La Vecchia since it opened on Skyline and prior to that when the restaurant was located on Moana. Very disappointed in the decline. Sadly, we will not return.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Just perfect, the food was just great. S ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Just perfect, the food was just great. Second time here and will come again.

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Server was outstanding! Food was medioc ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Server was outstanding! Food was mediocre. But the table next to us with the 3 senior woman was obnoxious! Very loud to the point me and my wife could really not enjoy ourselves.

Felt their server could of done something, but he just egged them on!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Everything about the experience was perf ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Everything about the experience was perfect! The server was lovely! Gracious, knowledgable, welcoming and accommodating. I gave her the freedom to select a glass of wine to complement my piccata with porcini and it was absolutely delicious. Had the perfect table for two looking out the windows at the city of Reno. Had the pate appetizer that was so generous I shared it with a nearby table. Very difficult to make a selection on the menu because it all looked extraordinary.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very limited menu...very few choices.... ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Very limited menu...very few choices......very forgetful wait person. How many times do I have to say it's a birthday dinner? Others in the restaurant got a dessert with candle for a birthday....we got nothing!

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Lovely lunch on the patio at LaVecchia. ...

vip
 (Tahoe)·Dined on September 14, 2016

Lovely lunch on the patio at LaVecchia. Great carpaccio and margherita pizza, topped off with hazelnut espresso gelato. Can't wait to return!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wow...more than I expected. This is a li ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Wow...more than I expected. This is a little known treasure in Reno with a fantastic view! It gives the impression of being a vacation spot. The food is authentic Italian! I strongly recommend that you give this jewel a chance.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, the food was delicious, and t ...

vip
 (Tahoe)·Dined on September 2, 2016

As always, the food was delicious, and the service was excellent.

Tags: Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

La Vecchia never disappoints. The food i ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 27, 2016

La Vecchia never disappoints. The food is always delicious and the view from their patio is wonderful. Their specials are always particularly good but can be a bit pricey. Definitely the place to take family and friends when they come to town.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

LaVecchia's is my favorite restaurant. ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on August 22, 2016

LaVecchia's is my favorite restaurant. I have eaten there many times and have never been disappointed. The food is always delicious and the staff is alway very friendly.

Tags: Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, , Paleo Friendly, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Casual, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best handmade ravioli I have had in Reno ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Best handmade ravioli I have had in Reno! Cannot wait to go back for more!

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Wonderful service, great food and a view ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 27, 2016

Wonderful service, great food and a view to die for. I love this place and go there often as it is right in my neighborhood.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First visit to La Vecchia since they mov ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on July 19, 2016

First visit to La Vecchia since they moved to Skyline Drive. I should not have waited so long. Excellent food and wine and great service. The view is wonderful too!!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, attentive service, and wonde ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on July 15, 2016

Great food, attentive service, and wonderful house-made gelato!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I have to give this restaurant 5 stars. ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on July 6, 2016

I have to give this restaurant 5 stars. A group of our friends went for lunch not realizing they closed at 2 p.m. Even though we overstayed the 2 pm closing, our waiter did not rush us and was most cordial. I will definitely go again. The food and service was outstanding.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really delicious food!! We will definit ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 26, 2016

Really delicious food!! We will definitely be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We are never disappointed when we dine a ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on June 22, 2016

We are never disappointed when we dine at LaVecchia. We tend to save it for special occasions.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

While I couldn't give it a bad rating, t ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on June 19, 2016

While I couldn't give it a bad rating, the food this trip was not a "knock your socks off" meal. My wife and I split a Mellenzane (crisp fried eggplant with marinara, cheese, and basil) appetizer and the bruschetta of the day (pesto, ricotta, and red pepper relish). The mellenzane was spicy which it has not ever been before, a disappointment to my wife, and the bruschetta was just "ok", nothing to write home about. For entrees my wife had a Chilean sea bass special with apricot sauce. She said the sauce made it too sweet, and they put some marinara on the polenta side dish, which she would have preferred plain. I had the Rigatoni a la Norma, which was very good . Service was as usual top notch, and had it been just a tad warmer, sitting on the terrace would have been a must with it's relaxing view, but inside was more comfortable. We are well experienced dining here, and will certainly return.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

calamari had a real fishy taste and was ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on June 19, 2016

calamari had a real fishy taste and was overly cooked my veal had no taste wine was very good . my wife's sea food was very good and the marties were very good

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

Lots of Pluses!

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on June 9, 2016

We've dined here twice and both times the food was prepared very nicely... you can dine small or large, casual or more elaborate... food was very tasty, nice portions, well presented! We've dined inside and out... just wish the 4-top tables outdoors were a bit larger, there was a bit of juggling required to have everything on the table... The service was well-paced and our waiter had a great sense of humor! The view of Reno is very nice as well!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

A visit to Lavecchia and Zuppa

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on June 7, 2016

Next time tell the customer the Zuppa of the Day is tomato based. I should have asked as well. As usual the service was superb and the view amazing.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.