About La Trattoria Old Town

524 Duval St
Key West, FL 33040
View Larger Map

LaTrattoria Old Town has been serving Authentic Italian cuisine since 1983. This is our original and flagship location located in the heart of Key West at 524 Duval Street. This bistro type setting offers one of the premier intimate settings in the lower keys. All of our entrees are prepared fresh to order using only the freshest of ingredients. Our signature dish, Yellowtail snapper, is locally caught daily and prepared fresh with garlic, capers and tomatoes in a lemon white wine butter sauce--it is to die for. When dinner is over look no further than Virgilios Martini Bar, located directly behind the restaurant. Virgilios offers an extensive Martini menu along with live entertainment 7 nights a week. This sexy speak easy sits just off of Duval street and is for sure to satisfy your pallet with refreshing libations.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Sunday thru Thursday open at 5:30pm till 10pm in our dinning room. Virgilios opens at 7pm till 2am
Friday and Saturday we open at 5:30pm till 11pm in our dinning room. Virgilios opens at 7pm till 3am

Cross Street:
Between Fleming and Southard Street on Duval

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(305) 296-1075

Website:
http://www.latrattoria.us/

Entertainment:
Live entertainment 7 nights a week starting at 9:30pm in Virgilios Martini Bar. Located directly behind La Trattoria Old Town.

Catering:
Catered Affairs of Key West, the premiere catering company of the keys. Off site events include weddings, corporate events, charities, birthdays and anything else you might need. We can accommodate groups from 30 to 300. Please visit us at cateredaffairsofkeywest.com.
Director of catering.......Amy Lay

Parking Details:
street parking

Executive Chef:
Chef Lloyd Gould

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • La Trattoria Old Town
La Trattoria Old Town

La Trattoria Old Town Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.8

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Key West / Florida Keys
Best Value
Key West / Florida Keys
Romantic
Key West / Florida Keys
7 More
Special Occasion
Key West / Florida Keys
Most Booked
Key West / Florida Keys
Best Service
Florida Keys - Monroe County
Best Value
Florida Keys - Monroe County
Romantic
Florida Keys - Monroe County
Special Occasion
Florida Keys - Monroe County
Most Booked
Florida Keys - Monroe County
Best Restaurants in Key West ›

Special Occasion (42)
Romantic (37)
Fit for Foodies (36)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (23)
Notable Wine List (14)
Good for Groups (14)
Late-night Find (7)
Scenic View (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Great for Lunch (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
358 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

A fine meal for two -- veal piccata (ten ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 3 days ago

A fine meal for two -- veal piccata (tender veal, with good taste of lemon and capers), and cannaloni (lots of good cheese) -- both very good. Good wine. Good desserts -- tiramisu, and key lime pie. Great service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

We made this reservation because it was ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined 3 days ago

We made this reservation because it was close to our hotel (3 minutes walking). The waiter was attentive and polite. I ordered the fettachine Alfredo, delicious. My husband ordered steak & lobster. The steak was over cooked and small but he looked past that because of how good the lobster was. He also tried the tomatoe bisque and enjoyed that very much. Quick in and out around 5pm. Bill was expensive but we expected that as you're in key west.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice little Italian place with a good se ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Nice little Italian place with a good service staff and good food. The service was a little fast paced for us, they weren't busy.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

The staff was excellent. The food was ce ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

The staff was excellent. The food was certainly well worth the price. I had the special, which was hogfish, cooked perfectly. My wife had the ravioli and stated it was very good with plenty of seafood stuffed in each. Save room for their local dessert menu offerings.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Very good restaurant, the service was co ...

 
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Very good restaurant, the service was courteous and prompt, and the location beautiful in Key West, highly recommendable

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great location and great food!

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Great location and great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great dinner! I had lasagna wife had to ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Great dinner! I had lasagna wife had tortellini. Both were really delicious. Recommend a reservation as it allowed us to walk right in to a table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

As usual, the food was perfectly done, t ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

As usual, the food was perfectly done, the staff was friendly and welcoming.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wait staff was very attentive and the fo ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Wait staff was very attentive and the food was delicious. We will definitely come back again when we are in Key West.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place to have a meal. Awesome serv ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Great place to have a meal. Awesome service, ambience and food. We happened upon the restaurant and were pleasantly surprised.

I'd recommend this place to any and all.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our last visit was for Birthday dinner. ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Our last visit was for Birthday dinner. We dine here about once a month. Food, service and price always outstanding.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, great service, was quiet and ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Great food, great service, was quiet and relaxing when we were there. Definately will be back

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was perfectly prepared and serv ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

The food was perfectly prepared and served. We had chicken piccata and osso buco . Our waiter, Chris provided the most elegant professional service we have received in years.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent waitstaff! Restaurant was exac ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Excellent waitstaff! Restaurant was exactly what you want an Italian restaurant to be. I had the Hog fish, which was excellent as was my husband's Spaghetti Bolognese.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was very good. I had the bologn ...

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Service was very good. I had the bolognese sauce with penne instead of spaghetti. Very pasty - not that great. Luckily, my friends ordered the hogfish special and had a few bites of that - it was delicious! Very pricey. My bolognese with one martini cost $44 with tip. My friends ordered the dinner deal, $35 for salad/soup, entree and dessert. The waitress suggested to add 1/2 pasta serving for "a couple more dollars". Ended up being charged $9.50 more! They paid $73-77 for their meal and one drink. We enjoyed the other restaurants on Duval better

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value1

Old world charm coupled with superb serv ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Old world charm coupled with superb service, and "to die for"food. An excellent find among all the good places to eat in key west

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The waiter was very knowledgeable and a ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

The waiter was very knowledgeable and a true professional! Thoroughly enjoyed a relaxing and delicious dinner! Key West is casual but this experience had an elegant feel even while we were in shorts!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was a nice Italian restaurant with a ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

It was a nice Italian restaurant with a large menu. Our waitress was very knowledgeable about the menu and nightly specials.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Everyone was very nice and helpful Enjoy ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Everyone was very nice and helpful Enjoyed the dinner

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

La Trattoria Old Town is always a wonder ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

La Trattoria Old Town is always a wonderful place to dine. The service is great and it still has a small restaurant atmosphere . It is the perfect place for special celebrations, date night with your significant other, or even a nice place if you are dining alone.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We have been going to this restaurant si ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

We have been going to this restaurant since they opened, over 30 years ago. It is on our "must do" list every time we visit Key West. It is always great!

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hogfish offering was very dry and unimag ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Hogfish offering was very dry and unimaginative. The rest of the meal was just okay.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Outstanding food and service. the Hogfi ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Outstanding food and service. the Hogfish (no kidding!) was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Great location on Duval in the heart of ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Great location on Duval in the heart of Key West. Service was great and very helpful with recommendations from the menu. We had a table in the front window so people watching added to the experience. Overall, food was very good and would recommend this as an option if you are looking for good Italian while in Key West.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was excellent. Drinks were great ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Food was excellent. Drinks were great (regular martini and mango martini were fantastic and quite oversize). White linen tablecloths and superior service, both at our table and at the bar after dinner. The fish was perfect.

Note: It's a very nice place and probably not usually noisy but there was a large table of 6 or so women adjacent to us who were WAY TOO LOUD (turned out to be people who worked for the restaurant having dinner -party we weren't the only table that looked around for an open tanle, and Guests were looking at each other and shrugging at the noise level at that table. I think this was probably an isolated event).

We will definitely go back the next time we are in town.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always great food and the service is alw ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Always great food and the service is always on par.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

This is one of our favorite places when ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

This is one of our favorite places when we are in Key West. We have had many special occasions here.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Romantic little gem on Duval street. Gre ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Romantic little gem on Duval street. Great location, very attentive staff.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very Good Italian in DownTown Key West!

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

Very Good Dinners! We were not disappointed. The Insalata Caprese had excellent mozzarella, good tomatoes and balsamic vinegar di Melanzana con Ricotta (Great appetizer that was enough for a meal) and the Tortellini alla Romana (tortellini with smoked ham, peas, tomatoes in a parmagiana cheese sauce)! Service was gracious and attentive. We'll be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

My favorite restaurant in Keys. Always c ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

My favorite restaurant in Keys. Always come back for see food ravioli and penne Venezia. Good service. Highly recommend it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Second time dining at La Trattoria

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

After a day of sightseeing, shopping and drinking frozen drinks it was a wonderful spot to settle down and enjoy a delicious meal. My son & his fiance were visiting from New York and this restaurant would compare to many in NYC!

We will be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I eat here every time I go to Key West w ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

I eat here every time I go to Key West which is at least 10 times in the past 10 years. It always meets or exceeds our expectations and is a wonderful little escape off of Duval Street.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It's Okay

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

Nothing great about this place. Food is about the quality of an Olive Garden. Friendly staff though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

La Trattoria is a romantic little restau ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

La Trattoria is a romantic little restaurant on a very busy section of Duval St. For me it's #1 about the food. I had the Cape Sante which is sea scallops in a scampi sauce. It was perfectly cooked and seasoned. It came with rice and crisp green beans. Yum! Ambiance was nice. Service excellent. Prices reasonable. 4 1/2 stars!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Great place, great location. If you can ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Great place, great location. If you can get a table by the window, the people watching is fabulous. The snapper was great and even the very simple aglia olio had plenty of garlic and they didnt balk about adding the extra italian sausage which i love. Wine list is good and service was really extraordinary. Our server (cannot recall her name), who spent 7 years traveling around the world and lived in Rome and has Italian decent was great. Wish we can remember her name. She made the experience such a wonderful one. Great advice on adding the cheese on the bruschetta starter and ordering the carpaccio.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Taste of Italy in Key West

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

The food was delicious, the price was right and our server was excellent. We ordered the lasagna, the gnocchi and the tortellini with sausage. Nothing disappointed!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience and great food as alway ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

Great experience and great food as always! We always end up going here for the past 12 years on our visits to Key West.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Wonderful food!

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

The food was outstanding, servers were polite and efficient, quiet, romantic atmosphere. Would return in a heartbeat!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The second time was as good as the first

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

This was our second visit to La Trattoria during or vacation in Key West. We are so happy we found this restaurant. The food is wonderful, we both tried different entrees from our first visit. The portions are nice sized and quite tasty. We are looking forward to trying more entrees on our future visits. One other comment, save room for dessert, it's amazing!

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I like the old world feel, classic Itali ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

I like the old world feel, classic Italian with all the usual fare. Small bar with a view of the street makes for fun people watching while enjoying well made pasta. Service was excellent

Tags: Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.