About La Trattoria Old Town

524 Duval St
Key West, FL 33040
View Larger Map

LaTrattoria Old Town has been serving Authentic Italian cuisine since 1983. This is our original and flagship location located in the heart of Key West at 524 Duval Street. This bistro type setting offers one of the premier intimate settings in the lower keys. All of our entrees are prepared fresh to order using only the freshest of ingredients. Our signature dish, Yellowtail snapper, is locally caught daily and prepared fresh with garlic, capers and tomatoes in a lemon white wine butter sauce--it is to die for. When dinner is over look no further than Virgilios Martini Bar, located directly behind the restaurant. Virgilios offers an extensive Martini menu along with live entertainment 7 nights a week. This sexy speak easy sits just off of Duval street and is for sure to satisfy your pallet with refreshing libations.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Sunday thru Thursday open at 5:30pm till 10pm in our dinning room. Virgilios opens at 7pm till 2am
Friday and Saturday we open at 5:30pm till 11pm in our dinning room. Virgilios opens at 7pm till 3am

Cross Street:
Between Fleming and Southard Street on Duval

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(305) 296-1075

Website:
http://www.latrattoria.us/

Entertainment:
Live entertainment 7 nights a week starting at 9:30pm in Virgilios Martini Bar. Located directly behind La Trattoria Old Town.

Catering:
Catered Affairs of Key West, the premiere catering company of the keys. Off site events include weddings, corporate events, charities, birthdays and anything else you might need. We can accommodate groups from 30 to 300. Please visit us at cateredaffairsofkeywest.com.
Director of catering.......Amy Lay

Parking Details:
street parking

Executive Chef:
Chef Lloyd Gould

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

La Trattoria Old Town Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (39)
Special Occasion (28)
Authentic (26)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (24)
Neighborhood Gem (23)
Casual (23)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Notable Wine List (18)
Romantic (18)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Cozy (15)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Comfort Food (10)
Fun (9)
Good for Groups (9)
Bar Seating (9)
Local Ingredients (9)
Outstanding Value (7)
Historic (7)
People Watching (7)
Hot Spot (6)
Business Meals (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Scenic View (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Family Style (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Tapas (2)
Happy Hour (1)
Live Music (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Dancing (1)
Healthy (1)
Private Room (1)
Seasonal (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
472 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Bolognese is what you order for your ent ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined a day ago

Bolognese is what you order for your enter- I do t care if it's lasagna or pasta- it's a staple-

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Best linguine with clam sauce I've ever ...

 
 (Key West)·Dined 2 days ago

Best linguine with clam sauce I've ever had! Hands down!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service. Tiramisu des ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 2 days ago

Excellent food and service. Tiramisu dessert was one of the best I've had. I'd definitely recommend it.

Tags: Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Arrived at restaurant 10 mins before res ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Arrived at restaurant 10 mins before reservation time & waited 30 mins to be seated. Staff seemed harried, disorganized, & rude. Tried to order a mojito at the bar while waiting, but bar woman said she couldn't make it & turned away rudely without offering an alternative. Dinner special was scallops with crab cake for $36, but the dish contained just 4 scallops with a crab cake that was smaller than any scallop. Felt like a ripoff, even for Duval St. Overall disappointing experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

We had an 830 reservation. They didn't s ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

We had an 830 reservation. They didn't seat us until 915. They bring you to a back bar and basically forget about you. If I had not gone back to the front to ask if our table was ready I would still be waiting

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

Great food that is reasonably priced. Th ...

 
 (Key West)·Dined 4 days ago

Great food that is reasonably priced. The service is always professional and friendly.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always fabulous never disappointed alway ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined 6 days ago

Always fabulous never disappointed always spend our anniversary and valentine's there

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Historic, Pre/post Theatre, Family Style, Authentic, , Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Excellent meal and service! We make this ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Excellent meal and service! We make this a priority each trip to Key West and are never disappointed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Spagettis bolognese was made in house an ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Spagettis bolognese was made in house and tasted amazing

Tags: Romantic, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always enjoy dinner here. Wonderful ...

 
 (Key West)·Dined on February 13, 2017

We always enjoy dinner here. Wonderful food, and service to match.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Delicious food, great service and reason ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Delicious food, great service and reasonable prices

Tags: Comfort Food, Authentic, Good for a Date, , Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The prices were better than the food. Av ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The prices were better than the food. Average Italian fare, nothing exciting. Good location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Love this place everytime i go! Birthday ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Love this place everytime i go! Birthdays especially with the fireworks! What a surprise for my friend!!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is excellent and portions can b ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The food is excellent and portions can be split between two guests. The service is great. The complimentary bread with oil and vinegar is delicious.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our first time visit to this Key West re ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Our first time visit to this Key West restaurant was perfect. The food-excellent. The service: outstanding. Lola was our waiter and she couldn't have been more accommodating (we like to take our time eating and there was absolutely no rush, though the restaurant was very busy). Portions were generous without being overbearing. A most enjoyable evening. We will certainly go back. And I should add, that my son in law owns and operates a very nice Italian restaurant in Austin, so we do not offer praise lightly.

Tags: Casual, Molecular Gastronomy, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved the atmosphere. Interesting menu o ...

 
 (Key West)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Loved the atmosphere. Interesting menu of Italian classics. Impeccable service. A great experience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have been going for over 20 years. Alway ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Have been going for over 20 years. Always excellent food and service

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was just ok. Staff were all excelle ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Food was just ok. Staff were all excellent. Cocktails and wine superb.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was ok. I like smooth marinara sauc ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Food was ok. I like smooth marinara sauce and theirs is very chunky. Our waiter was a blonde gentleman that was absolutely fabulous and he made our dining experience very enjoyable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

We found this lovely spot on our first e ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We found this lovely spot on our first evening in Key West. Never thought Italian could be done so authentically in Florida, but we very pleasantly surprised. Wonderful atmosphere, superb service ( our waiter was Ameth) and the food was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food, wine list and service. ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Excellent food, wine list and service. We will certainly return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Good food - great bread - and service, ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Good food - great bread - and service, but quite noisy. Cozy with white tablecloths. It was very nice of them to bring us a little anniversary dessert!

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Awesome. Went for my birthday and it del ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Awesome. Went for my birthday and it delivered on an excellent experience. Atmosphere was great and food was even better.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food chicken parm one of the b ...

 
 (Key West)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Excellent food chicken parm one of the best. Everyone at the table spoke in superlatives of their dishes. The service was also outstanding.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

A must when we go to Key West. Superb It ...

 
 (Key West)·Dined on January 29, 2017

A must when we go to Key West. Superb Italian food and fantastic service!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were seated on time with our Open Tab ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We were seated on time with our Open Table reservation. After that it's almost like we were invisible. After the waitress took our order our appetizers & main courses were delivered by food servers. The only time our waitress came to see us was when we got our appetizers & she refilled my water & we asked for more bread, which they are stingy about giving out. We had asked a food server for more bread & they never brought more over. She never returned to check on us with our main courses. We were finished with our main courses for 20 minutes before a food server cleaned them up & another 5 minutes before our waitress asked us if I wanted more water & dessert! Well I would've liked water probably twice in the previous 1/2 hour! The kicker is our waitress & food server were waiting on the table right next to us & never once looked at us that whole time! We couldn't get her attention either!

The food was very good but the service was atrocious. We ended up going out to Duvall St. & gave another place our dessert business.

This was our 1st & last time coming here!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

Great food & staff! A little noisy, but ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Great food & staff! A little noisy, but it was fine.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This is not your run-of-the-mill Italian ...

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 26, 2017

This is not your run-of-the-mill Italian eatery. The dishes are very authentic with fresh ingredients and fresh pasta. The menu is priced right and the staff is very accommodating. We do not come to Key West without visiting La Trattoria.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Bolognese is delicious.

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Bolognese is delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This place has very good Osso Bucco. My ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 24, 2017

This place has very good Osso Bucco. My wife and I always come here when in Key West. Service is great. Just visited 01/24/17.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We made a reservation and were seated im ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 24, 2017

We made a reservation and were seated immediately when we arrived. The staff pretty much ignored us once seated. We disappointed with the service however, the food was excellent . I'm really uncertain why the staff would behave in that fashion. If they were more gracious they would be a 10 all around.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Expresso martini and all drinks very goo ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Expresso martini and all drinks very good salads ceasar capricio chicken Parma NY Strip fettuccine and scallops pasta venizia all five star. Wonderful grand slam evening 😎🍸🌴👍

Tags: Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Jerry, our server was efficient & profes ...

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Jerry, our server was efficient & professional. We love this restaurant. We are never disappointed. Food is prepared to perfection.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Private Room, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Absolutely fantastic Italian food. The ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Absolutely fantastic Italian food. The best seafood pasta that I ever had anywhere in the United States. If you are looking for some quality Italian fare at a reasonable price this is the place! Highly recommended.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Authentic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have been here every time we come to key ...

 
 (Key West)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Have been here every time we come to key west for 30 years...each time is the same...never disappointed. More restaurants should be like this...fair priced,,,good friendly service and aware of the customers wants...

Tags: Fit for Foodies, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always enjoy dining here. The food i ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 12, 2017

We always enjoy dining here. The food is excellent. I had the Hogfish special, large portion with mango salsa. Very good. Hubby had lasagna, again very good. Try to sit in the front window table. Fun people watching and not as loud as the interior tables tend to be. Our server was attentive, and did not rush us or ignore us. He knew exactly when to show up!

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was by far the best Italian food we ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 10, 2017

This was by far the best Italian food we have had ever!! Our waiter, Chris was excellent making this experience even better. Every morsel of food exploded with flavor, every detail was taken care of before you could think about it. I don't know why this isn't listed as the best place to eat in Key West. Next time we travel down to Key West this will be the first stop.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A very nice friendly restaurant with goo ...

 
 (Key West)·Dined on January 8, 2017

A very nice friendly restaurant with good food and reasonable prices III

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I’ve been visiting Key West multiple tim ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 7, 2017

I’ve been visiting Key West multiple times a year for more than 20 years. La Trattoria never disappoints. Food and service are both excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We were a larger group and we we seated ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 6, 2017

We were a larger group and we we seated as soon as we arrived. The hostess was so nice and attentive. Our waitress was wonderful and the food was yummy! Make sure you try the key lime pie! I have eaten here many times and it never disappoints.

Tags: Fun, Authentic, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.