Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

About La Trattoria Old Town

LaTrattoria Old Town has been serving Authentic Italian cuisine since 1983. This is our original and flagship location located in the heart of Key West at 524 Duval Street. This bistro type setting offers one of the premier intimate settings in the lower keys. All of our entrees are prepared fresh to order using only the freshest of ingredients. Our signature dish, Yellowtail snapper, is locally caught daily and prepared fresh with garlic, capers and tomatoes in a lemon white wine butter sauce--it is to die for. When dinner is over look no further than Virgilios Martini Bar, located directly behind the restaurant. Virgilios offers an extensive Martini menu along with live entertainment 7 nights a week. This sexy speak easy sits just off of Duval street and is for sure to satisfy your pallet with refreshing libations.

524 Duval St
Key West, FL 33040
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Sunday thru Thursday open at 5:30pm till 10pm in our dinning room. Virgilios opens at 7pm till 2am
Friday and Saturday we open at 5:30pm till 11pm in our dinning room. Virgilios opens at 7pm till 3am

Cross Street:
Between Fleming and Southard Street on Duval

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(305) 296-1075

Website:
http://www.latrattoria.us/

Entertainment:
Live entertainment 7 nights a week starting at 9:30pm in Virgilios Martini Bar. Located directly behind La Trattoria Old Town.

Catering:
Catered Affairs of Key West, the premiere catering company of the keys. Off site events include weddings, corporate events, charities, birthdays and anything else you might need. We can accommodate groups from 30 to 300. Please visit us at cateredaffairsofkeywest.com.
Director of catering.......Amy Lay

Parking Details:
street parking

Executive Chef:
Chef Lloyd Gould

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

La Trattoria Old Town Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (49)
Special Occasion (37)
Authentic (31)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (28)
Neighborhood Gem (26)
Romantic (26)
Casual (26)
Good for Birthdays (22)
Creative Cuisine (20)
Fit for Foodies (19)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Notable Wine List (17)
People Watching (16)
Local Ingredients (16)
Cozy (16)
Outstanding Value (13)
Comfort Food (12)
Bar Seating (11)
Historic (10)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Good for Groups (9)
Hot Spot (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Business Meals (7)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Worth the Drive (5)
Fun (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Healthy (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Family Style (3)
Great for Lunch (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Seasonal (2)
Scenic View (2)
Tapas (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Great Beer (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Private Room (1)
Live Music (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
561 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Typical Italian. Nothing special, but excellent service.

Tags: Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Not every place will make you something off the menu. All them fur the pasta puttanesca. Excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Wonderful Little Italian restaurant right in the middle of town in. Located on Duval Street which is the main street in new west.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Key West)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Great Alfredo!!! Chuck the waiter was good. Little pricey but was worth it.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Step out of the casual bustle that is Key West to a quiet trip to Italy. Veal marsala, fettuccini alfredo and tortellini with sweet Italian sausage (a bit heavy over tortellini, should put over a papardelle ) were our entrees. All very good. Fresh made mozzarella for the caprese salad had great pesto in it. Too full for desserts. A definite home run and reasonably​ priced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Great good- superb service!
I had the lasagna and my husband had pasta with crabmeat and chicken.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 15, 2017

So wonderful was the overall experience we booked dinner for another night during our Key West stay!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Good Vegetarian Options, People Watching, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Always my favorite restaurnat for years. Always where I want to go for speical occasions or anytime dinner. So, such a dissappointment for Mother's Day. I never send back food but my scallops were not cooked and were not even brown on the outside. the waiter sent it back to the kitchen and when the plate got back, it had so much salt on it that I couldn't eat it! And I did not salt my food! So sad - my favorite dish is the scallops! Bummer. Maybe chef had a bad night? This is the first dissappointment in all the years I have been coming here. Not going for my birthday this year. :(

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Key West)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Excellent service
Escargot was outstanding
Lasagna was delicious
Spaghetti Norma was delicious
Nice bottle of Red at a fair price
Cream brûlée was perfect

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Great food with super service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 7, 2017

My wife and I always visit when in Key West. Our service was experienced and professional. Portions are generous and well-valued. Just a nice place to have a fresh, quality Italian meal. We have yet to be disappointed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Food quality was wonderful- server a little automated.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 2, 2017

We've been to Key West many times and always pass this place by. This time we decided to stop in and give it a try - this place is truly a gem!!!! The Service was outstanding and the Food was Fabulous especially the Gnocchi al Gorgonzala (OMG)!!!!! We will definitely be back next year :)

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 1, 2017

If you're lucky enough to nab a table at the front window, you will have a great time people-watching while eating a great Italian meal. Everything we've ever eaten here was delicious. The service is always friendly and efficient. Lovely dinner in a great location.

Tags: People Watching, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Key West)·Dined on April 30, 2017

we come to Key West every year for a week and always eat here for one nice dinner

Tags: Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Casual, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Always enjoy this restaurant when we visit Key West.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Great pasta, good service--made us feel special! Wonderful tiramisu dessert!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Key West)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Food and service were excellent as usual! Noise level is above average, but tolerable.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (London)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Very good night food was great and by far better value than most of the over priced restaurants in key west

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 25, 2017

We were seated at a small table in bar area which was noisey in spite of open tables in restaurant. Food was average. Ambience poor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 24, 2017

One dinner was not edible, replacement food arrived not edible, third try was cancelled as otherd had long finished their meal. Others stated meal was.good.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Always awesome. Eat here on all our trips to KW.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Key West)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Everything was over the top as usual and we got our favorite table! Chris was attentive and a great waiter.

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fun, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Historic, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Great up-scale dining! If your looking for a great dining experience in Key West this should be on your list!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Ate here the day after my anniversary. Wish this would have been my anniversary meal, excellent for a special
Occasion!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 18, 2017

We had dinner on 4/18. The food was "out of this world!" My wife had the gnocchi, and I had the cannelloni. We both agreed that these items were the best we ever had. The service was great, the cocktails were good, and we loved the ambience. If you like Italian food, you will definitely love this place.

Tags: Casual, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Good food and good location at a reasonable price.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Key West)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Have been dining here since mid 90's...and always happy to return!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Staff rude, food below average. Had reservations for 7, was rushed out by 7:25. Main course came before appetizer and salad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Very popular restaurant and service was good. The waiter brought a wrong glass of wine but happily changed it when i complained. Good thing i know the taste of sauvignon blanc

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Quaint setting and attentive service. Very disappointed with the bolognese sauce, though. Had high expectations considering the reviews, but I must admit to leaving the entire dish uneaten.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Key West)·Dined on April 13, 2017

We had an excellent meal made even more enjoyable by our waiter who had been there 30 years!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 13, 2017

If you like fine Italian food and fine service this isn't for you. Maybe try Antonia's instead. This place is very tired I wouldn't recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Key West)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Waitress was superb. Very glad to have Montepulciano.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Our waitress was lovely and very helpful the food was good

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Good Italian Food on Duval Street! Fresh seafood and pasta. Not very kid friendly, definitely more an adult dining place.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 8, 2017

We came here for dinner. The restaurant is lovely. The service top rate. The food was presented beautifully. Great restaurant for families too. Located on Duval Street it was a really nice place with out the loud drinking that takes place on the street. Highly recommend!

Tags: Good for Groups, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Tapas, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Quick Bite, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 7, 2017

The best night of our 2 week trip!
Chris was a great server and our dinners were delicious!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Try the bolognese it's very good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 4, 2017

I asked for s quiet corner and/or a table in the window, and I got both! A high top with a view of people walking by on Duval Street in a quiet corner of the bar area. Perfect!
My entree was really delicious and plentiful. I had a grouper special with a garlic cream sauce and capers, served on a bed of vegetables. I couldn't stop making yummy sounds! I didn't love the Caesar salad, but the bread served with dipping oil with balsamic glaze and cheese was very good!
We live in Key West, and this is one of our favorite places to eat.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.