About La Trattoria Old Town

524 Duval St
Key West, FL 33040
View Larger Map

LaTrattoria Old Town has been serving Authentic Italian cuisine since 1983. This is our original and flagship location located in the heart of Key West at 524 Duval Street. This bistro type setting offers one of the premier intimate settings in the lower keys. All of our entrees are prepared fresh to order using only the freshest of ingredients. Our signature dish, Yellowtail snapper, is locally caught daily and prepared fresh with garlic, capers and tomatoes in a lemon white wine butter sauce--it is to die for. When dinner is over look no further than Virgilios Martini Bar, located directly behind the restaurant. Virgilios offers an extensive Martini menu along with live entertainment 7 nights a week. This sexy speak easy sits just off of Duval street and is for sure to satisfy your pallet with refreshing libations.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Sunday thru Thursday open at 5:30pm till 10pm in our dinning room. Virgilios opens at 7pm till 2am
Friday and Saturday we open at 5:30pm till 11pm in our dinning room. Virgilios opens at 7pm till 3am

Cross Street:
Between Fleming and Southard Street on Duval

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(305) 296-1075

Website:
http://www.latrattoria.us/

Entertainment:
Live entertainment 7 nights a week starting at 9:30pm in Virgilios Martini Bar. Located directly behind La Trattoria Old Town.

Catering:
Catered Affairs of Key West, the premiere catering company of the keys. Off site events include weddings, corporate events, charities, birthdays and anything else you might need. We can accommodate groups from 30 to 300. Please visit us at cateredaffairsofkeywest.com.
Director of catering.......Amy Lay

Parking Details:
street parking

Executive Chef:
Chef Lloyd Gould

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • La Trattoria Old Town
La Trattoria Old Town

La Trattoria Old Town Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Key West / Florida Keys
Best Food
Key West / Florida Keys
Best Service
Key West / Florida Keys
11 More
Best Value
Key West / Florida Keys
Neighborhood Gem
Key West / Florida Keys
Special Occasion
Key West / Florida Keys
Most Booked
Key West / Florida Keys
Best Overall
Florida Keys - Monroe County
Best Food
Florida Keys - Monroe County
Best Service
Florida Keys - Monroe County
Best Value
Florida Keys - Monroe County
Neighborhood Gem
Florida Keys - Monroe County
Special Occasion
Florida Keys - Monroe County
Most Booked
Florida Keys - Monroe County
Best Restaurants in Key West ›

special occasion (63)
fit for foodies (55)
romantic (53)
See All
neighborhood gem (44)
notable wine list (25)
good for groups (20)
vibrant bar scene (11)
late-night find (11)
scenic view (9)
hot spot (7)
kid-friendly (6)
great for brunch (2)
great for lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
339 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

La Trattoria Old Town is always a wonder ...

vip
Dined 4 days ago

La Trattoria Old Town is always a wonderful place to dine. The service is great and it still has a small restaurant atmosphere . It is the perfect place for special celebrations, date night with your significant other, or even a nice place if you are dining alone.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been going to this restaurant si ...

Dined 7 days ago

We have been going to this restaurant since they opened, over 30 years ago. It is on our "must do" list every time we visit Key West. It is always great!

Tags: neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Hogfish offering was very dry and unimag ...

vip
Dined on June 19, 2016

Hogfish offering was very dry and unimaginative. The rest of the meal was just okay.

food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Outstanding food and service. the Hogfi ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Outstanding food and service. the Hogfish (no kidding!) was excellent!

food5
ambience5
service5

Great location on Duval in the heart of ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Great location on Duval in the heart of Key West. Service was great and very helpful with recommendations from the menu. We had a table in the front window so people watching added to the experience. Overall, food was very good and would recommend this as an option if you are looking for good Italian while in Key West.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent. Drinks were great ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Food was excellent. Drinks were great (regular martini and mango martini were fantastic and quite oversize). White linen tablecloths and superior service, both at our table and at the bar after dinner. The fish was perfect. Note: It's a very nice place and probably not usually noisy but there was a large table of 6 or so women adjacent to us who were WAY TOO LOUD (turned out to be people who worked for the restaurant having dinner -party we weren't the only table that looked around for an open tanle, and Guests were looking at each other and shrugging at the noise level at that table. I think this was probably an isolated event). We will definitely go back the next time we are in town.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service5

Always great food and the service is alw ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

Always great food and the service is always on par.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

This is one of our favorite places when ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

This is one of our favorite places when we are in Key West. We have had many special occasions here.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Romantic little gem on Duval street. Gre ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Romantic little gem on Duval street. Great location, very attentive staff.

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Very Good Italian in DownTown Key West!

Dined on June 7, 2016

Very Good Dinners! We were not disappointed. The Insalata Caprese had excellent mozzarella, good tomatoes and balsamic vinegar di Melanzana con Ricotta (Great appetizer that was enough for a meal) and the Tortellini alla Romana (tortellini with smoked ham, peas, tomatoes in a parmagiana cheese sauce)! Service was gracious and attentive. We'll be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My favorite restaurant in Keys. Always c ...

Dined on June 6, 2016

My favorite restaurant in Keys. Always come back for see food ravioli and penne Venezia. Good service. Highly recommend it!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Second time dining at La Trattoria

Dined on June 4, 2016

After a day of sightseeing, shopping and drinking frozen drinks it was a wonderful spot to settle down and enjoy a delicious meal. My son & his fiance were visiting from New York and this restaurant would compare to many in NYC! We will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

I eat here every time I go to Key West w ...

Dined on June 3, 2016

I eat here every time I go to Key West which is at least 10 times in the past 10 years. It always meets or exceeds our expectations and is a wonderful little escape off of Duval Street.

food3
ambience3
service4
value3

It's Okay

vip
Dined on May 30, 2016

Nothing great about this place. Food is about the quality of an Olive Garden. Friendly staff though.

food4
ambience4
service5

La Trattoria is a romantic little restau ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

La Trattoria is a romantic little restaurant on a very busy section of Duval St. For me it's #1 about the food. I had the Cape Sante which is sea scallops in a scampi sauce. It was perfectly cooked and seasoned. It came with rice and crisp green beans. Yum! Ambiance was nice. Service excellent. Prices reasonable. 4 1/2 stars!

food5
ambience5
service5

Great place, great location. If you can ...

vip
Dined on May 27, 2016

Great place, great location. If you can get a table by the window, the people watching is fabulous. The snapper was great and even the very simple aglia olio had plenty of garlic and they didnt balk about adding the extra italian sausage which i love. Wine list is good and service was really extraordinary. Our server (cannot recall her name), who spent 7 years traveling around the world and lived in Rome and has Italian decent was great. Wish we can remember her name. She made the experience such a wonderful one. Great advice on adding the cheese on the bruschetta starter and ordering the carpaccio.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Taste of Italy in Key West

Dined on May 26, 2016

The food was delicious, the price was right and our server was excellent. We ordered the lasagna, the gnocchi and the tortellini with sausage. Nothing disappointed!

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great experience and great food as alway ...

vip
Dined on May 25, 2016

Great experience and great food as always! We always end up going here for the past 12 years on our visits to Key West.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food!

Dined on May 23, 2016

The food was outstanding, servers were polite and efficient, quiet, romantic atmosphere. Would return in a heartbeat!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The second time was as good as the first

Dined on May 23, 2016

This was our second visit to La Trattoria during or vacation in Key West. We are so happy we found this restaurant. The food is wonderful, we both tried different entrees from our first visit. The portions are nice sized and quite tasty. We are looking forward to trying more entrees on our future visits. One other comment, save room for dessert, it's amazing!

Tags: late-night find, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

I like the old world feel, classic Itali ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

I like the old world feel, classic Italian with all the usual fare. Small bar with a view of the street makes for fun people watching while enjoying well made pasta. Service was excellent

Tags: special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5

Favorite Italian place in KW

Dined on May 19, 2016

Favorite Italian place in KW

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We loved the food!

Dined on May 17, 2016

This was our first visit to La Trattoria and we absolutely loved it. We first came across their good reviews on Trip Advisor and thought we would give it a try. We are so glad we tried this restaurant, we think now this will be our go to restaurant for Italian food. I had the traditional spaghetti with meat sauce and my wife had the Cannelloni. We both loved the taste of the dishes and we plan on going again during our stay to try additional entrees. We would also like to mention that our server was fantastic, she could not have been better. We should also mention that you should try the Cannoli, it was a great dessert.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

We went to celebrate anniversaries and b ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

We went to celebrate anniversaries and birthdays with friends. Table was ready on time. Service was excellent and food amazing. Everyone had a great time. After dinner we slipped into the back for martinis. It was Salsa night and it was hopping! Fun times had by all! Highly recommend this place if you are in Key West. One of our favorites!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful experience and great meal.

Dined on May 11, 2016

Our third time in last year, we enjoyed the window seat we requested. Thanks.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Same as it ever was, same as it ever was

vip
Dined on May 10, 2016

Same review as always - after over at least 1,500 meals I can't get enough!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Had a great meal at LaTrattoria and Chri ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Had a great meal at LaTrattoria and Chris, our server, was excellent. Great food, great service - we will definitely go back!

food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Food was fabulous. Nice menu selection, ...

Dined on May 6, 2016

Food was fabulous. Nice menu selection, offered many choices for every ones selection. Table was loud due to large party behind us. Would go again.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

The best Italian cuisine in Key West wit ...

Dined on May 3, 2016

The best Italian cuisine in Key West with service to match. Great break from seafood and typical KW pub grub.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The martinis were awesome and dinner was ...

Dined on May 2, 2016

The martinis were awesome and dinner was delicious :)

Tags: special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Italian find

Dined on April 29, 2016

This restaurant was recommended to us by the shuttle driver. He made an excellent reccomendation. A bit noisy because of the location on Duval street but sitting in the rear of the restaurant cut out some of the noise. If you want to people watch while you eat there are tables facing Duval street. I enjoyed the decor... Reminded me of a little restaurant in Italy. We told our server we were in no hurry and he made sure we weren't rushed nor forgotten. The bruschetta was excellent and a great way to start the meal. I really enjoyed my chicken parmigiana. The red sauce was to die for. My wife chose the tortolini said it was wonderful. I did steal a bite and I agree. A wonderful, romantic restaurant and worth the price...

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfection

Dined on April 24, 2016

Wonderful food and exemplary service. This restaurant has a lovely atmosphere. We never felt rushed and highly recommend a visit to La Tratoria. You will not be disappointed. Next time in Key West we will definitely dine here.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Picked it based on other people's commen ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

Picked it based on other people's comments. We were not disappointed. If you are in Key West, put this one on the "short list"

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience4
service5

Been coming here for 16 years! And it do ...

vip
Dined on April 22, 2016

Been coming here for 16 years! And it doesn't disappoint. Sometimes a bit too crowded, but they made us feel like we were the only table! Food was terrific too!

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

went back twice during our vacation

Dined on April 22, 2016

love this place, we went twice during our week stay in Key West. Great food, well priced and the waitstaff are well trained..

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very good meal

vip
Dined on April 21, 2016

Food was reasonably priced and was good. Wait staff was very attentive with refilling the water classes and keeping bread coming to the table. The restaurant was quite busy on a Thursday night and it appeared there were locals dining there too. Nice atmosphere and a nice change to the craziness on Duval Street.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Go with a group, not for a romantic evening

Dined on April 21, 2016

The food was very good, but it was just too noisy for us. When we go to a pub, we expect it to be noisy, but not at a mid-priced Italian restaurant.... Also, the food process were fair on the mains, but $8.50 for a fairly plain house salad?

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service3

Food - fettuccine gnocchi and carpaccio ...

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

Food - fettuccine gnocchi and carpaccio - was average. Waiter had very good intentions but had probably too many tables to take care of us adequatly. We had to wait a lot for everything and had to stand-up to pay. Not a big deal but surprising. No kids menu, half portion yes but nothing special compared to many other very good places in Key West. Again as food is average it might not deserve a 4.5.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Gem in Key West

Dined on April 11, 2016

In a town where dinner can get expensive quick La Trattoria was a welcome find. Recommended by a local the restaurant did not disappoint. Great food, wonderful atmosphere.

Tags: romantic, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Italian Restaurant on Duval!

vip
Dined on April 7, 2016

A lot of the restaurants along Duval can start to feel all the same. By the end of our week-long vacation, my family of 4 was feeling tired of seafood and noisiness that Duval brings. La Trattoria was the perfect choice for us that night. The service was incredible, and our food was delicious. They do a great job of incorporating fresh seafood options (because you are in Key West, after all) with classic Italian dishes. Great beer/wine/cocktail list, relaxed yet upscale atmosphere, and really reasonable prices. It was one of our favorite meals of the trip!

Tags: neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.