Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

About La Trattoria Old Town

LaTrattoria Old Town has been serving Authentic Italian cuisine since 1983. This is our original and flagship location located in the heart of Key West at 524 Duval Street. This bistro type setting offers one of the premier intimate settings in the lower keys. All of our entrees are prepared fresh to order using only the freshest of ingredients. Our signature dish, Yellowtail snapper, is locally caught daily and prepared fresh with garlic, capers and tomatoes in a lemon white wine butter sauce--it is to die for. When dinner is over look no further than Virgilios Martini Bar, located directly behind the restaurant. Virgilios offers an extensive Martini menu along with live entertainment 7 nights a week. This sexy speak easy sits just off of Duval street and is for sure to satisfy your pallet with refreshing libations.

524 Duval St
Key West, FL 33040
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Sunday thru Thursday open at 5:30pm till 10pm in our dinning room. Virgilios opens at 7pm till 2am
Friday and Saturday we open at 5:30pm till 11pm in our dinning room. Virgilios opens at 7pm till 3am

Cross Street:
Between Fleming and Southard Street on Duval

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(305) 296-1075

Website:
http://www.latrattoria.us/

Entertainment:
Live entertainment 7 nights a week starting at 9:30pm in Virgilios Martini Bar. Located directly behind La Trattoria Old Town.

Catering:
Catered Affairs of Key West, the premiere catering company of the keys. Off site events include weddings, corporate events, charities, birthdays and anything else you might need. We can accommodate groups from 30 to 300. Please visit us at cateredaffairsofkeywest.com.
Director of catering.......Amy Lay

Parking Details:
street parking

Executive Chef:
Chef Lloyd Gould

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

La Trattoria Old Town Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (47)
Authentic (39)
Special Occasion (37)
See All
Casual (33)
Neighborhood Gem (32)
Good for Anniversaries (29)
Fit for Foodies (24)
Good for Birthdays (24)
Notable Wine List (20)
Romantic (20)
Creative Cuisine (19)
Cozy (19)
Comfort Food (15)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Good for Groups (14)
Outstanding Value (14)
Bar Seating (13)
Local Ingredients (12)
People Watching (11)
Historic (10)
Fun (10)
Business Meals (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Kid-friendly (8)
Hot Spot (8)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Family Style (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Scenic View (3)
Healthy (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Tapas (2)
Live Music (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Private Room (2)
Dancing (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Seasonal (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Great Beer (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Sort By:
S
513 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 2 days ago

Food was excellent. Our waiter Chuck was attentive and helpful. Great wine recommendation

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 2 days ago

I don't usually write these, but I just had to. The food was good from what we could tell, but wait over an hour and a half for the food and all 5 dinners were cold. In asking for the manager he was less than friendly. They took 2 meals back, the others didn't want to take extra time, and the 2 that were reheated were still cold. We were given 1 meal free and a round of drinks, mind you we all probably had 2 extra drinks waiting for our food. The veal Marsala would have been wonderful if it wasn't cold.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

The food and service here were both good - attentive service, but not in your face. The place was a little noisy and our table was kind of in the middle of everything, which brought down my ambiance rating,. If you go here, be sure to request a window table when you make your reservation.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Very enjoyable dinner. Excellent service despite being very busy. Only criticism is that pasta with lump crab, mushrooms and sun dried tomatoes could have used more lumps of crab for the price. But it had excellent flavor.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Bar Seating, Romantic, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Key West)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Truly a must when in KW for a few days other wise impossible to pick a fav because there is too many! But if you need/love Italian, want romantic, great wine inpeccable service and creative Italian dishes using local fish than LA Trattoria Old Town is for you!!! Love love love the table in the window for people watching too!!!!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Healthy, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Fantastic evening, great environment and food even better

Tags: Historic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Key West)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Wait staff very personable and attentive. Excelent italian, great wine list. Their antipasto the best ever anywhere. They let you split plates, you don't find that often in the keys.

Tags: Private Room, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Fantastic food and service right on Duval Street! The food was some of the best Italian we've had. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We were on Vacation .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Key West)·Dined on March 17, 2017

One of our favorite places to dine. Always recommend it to people for a great place to go.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Restaurant was busy at 9pm and as a result service was very slow and non existent. Food was great.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 13, 2017

The food was good and the service efficient. That was the problem. It felt like they were trying to get us out so they could seat the next couple waiting in line. The food was very good and ample. I'm not sure if I would recommend the restaurant or not. It depends on what someone is looking for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Wonderful snapper dish
Pasta also great
Great cocktails
Nice service

Tags: Family Style, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Key West)·Dined on March 13, 2017

La Trattoria is one the better restaurants in Old Town. Excellent food and service and the Italian specialties are probably the best in town. We actually ended up going twice during our stay because we enjoyed it so much.

Tags: Cozy, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 12, 2017

My wife and I were in Key West for the day and booked La Trattoria. We had been here in a previous trip a couple of years ago. It remains great and reservations are recommended after 7 PM. We split a mixed green salad, which was plenty. It was delicious and the accompanying home-baked bread was, as well. She ordered the Cannelloni and I had the Tortellini Virgilio. The Cannelloni was a blend of veal and spinach in a nice red sauce. The tortellini was huge and had roasted tomatoes, mushrooms, pasta and sweet Italian sausage. Great service left us not needing anything. Highly recommend. Nice casual ambience with a touch of class.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Excellent food and service. Great ambience, acoustics could be better. Overall -always a favorite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 12, 2017

La Trattoria in Old Town is an excellent choice for classic Italian dishes, both northern and southern. Great choices of wines by the glass. And stop at Virgilio's, behind but connnected to the restaurant, for excellent martinis in a cozy atmosphere.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Always a favorite of ours whenever we visit KW. Tiffany is an excellent mixologist and equally friendly and engaging bartender. Gnocchi Gorgonzola and Zuppa de Pesce are amazing but so is everything else on the menu.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on March 7, 2017

We went there on a Tuesday night and sat at a table. We ordered Chicken Marsala and Chicken Piccata. We shared a bottle of wine, a salad, and Key Lime pie. It was delicious. The Marsala was the best I’ve had. The service was excellent and the price very reasonable. We liked it so much we went back on our last night there and ate at the bar which was also very nice and social (which we like). The bartender awesome, she was personable, knowledgeable, and on point.

There is also a back room bar that serves the same food and has entertainment. It is dimly lit with a speak-easy kind of feel. We just walked through there (all bar seats were taken) but it looked like a nice place for a night cap and entertainment. Would definitely try it out on my next trip to Key West!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Special Occasion, Casual, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Kitchen was a bit backed up and service was slow but the food was phenomenal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Great food and wine list...you should definitely go if in Key West!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Outstanding Value, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Food was quite good and authentic. We have spent years in Italy and trattoria is absolutely legitimate. Service was good and friendly. Highly recommended.

Tags: Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Key West)·Dined on March 4, 2017

We received a gift certificate as a wedding present for our key west honeymoon. It was upscale yet traditional Italian fare in a lively atmosphere. Delicious food. Best veal piccata I have ever had and great service. It was busy and noisy and tight quarters. But the food and great cocktails and wine made for a wonderful festive treat!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Key West)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Upscale restaurant on Duval street in Key West. Not the average KW party restaurant/bar. Prices average for the area.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 3, 2017

La Trat is a favorite. Always good food and pleasant service.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Eaten here on every visit, always enjoyed the food, it's a great find, it does get busy so after our first visit I book a table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 28, 2017

The bar was very cozy and the bartender was excellent, though my wife's drink was too strong for her to finish, even after adding more water. The food was very good but the service was a little slow. The wait staff repeatedly kicked my wife's chair as they passed by too wait on another table. The noise level in the bar was ok. The noise level in the restaurant was so loud we had to shout at each other to be heard, and we were sitting right next to one another. For me, the noise made the experience unpleasant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Requested quiet table. Noise level too high for conversation. Excellent food.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 26, 2017

The meal was fine. We were sat at 830 but didn't see our entrees for almost a hour and a half. The time wasn't an issue but did t expect to be sitting for that long. The service was very good. I would def come back but maybe a little earlier.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Best food ever. In Key West for 2 weeks and went twice. Will visit every time we come.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Food was good,service was excellent
Was a little noisily but would recommend as a good Italian restaurant

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 24, 2017

The lamb chops were fantastic! We sat in the front window which was great for watching the Duval crowd pass by. Always a good experience at La Trattoria.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Food was very good, though the service was a little slow.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Cozy, Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 23, 2017

We enjoyed our meal and cocktails. Lola our server was pleasant and professional. The hog fish special was outstanding.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Now this Restaurant is one of those special places where you consider your meal and your whole experience as, MEMORABLE. We were there tonight for the first time and quite frankly can't wait to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Excellent restaurant. Staff was professional, attentive and very friendly.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 21, 2017

The food was excellent also no rush service was much appreciated. Service was excellent.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Good food comfortable setting . Always no want your getting .

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Bolognese is what you order for your enter- I do t care if it's lasagna or pasta- it's a staple-

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Key West)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Sehr freundlicher Service und leckeres Essen für einen angemessen Preis.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.