About La Trattoria Old Town

524 Duval St
Key West, FL 33040
View Larger Map

LaTrattoria Old Town has been serving Authentic Italian cuisine since 1983. This is our original and flagship location located in the heart of Key West at 524 Duval Street. This bistro type setting offers one of the premier intimate settings in the lower keys. All of our entrees are prepared fresh to order using only the freshest of ingredients. Our signature dish, Yellowtail snapper, is locally caught daily and prepared fresh with garlic, capers and tomatoes in a lemon white wine butter sauce--it is to die for. When dinner is over look no further than Virgilios Martini Bar, located directly behind the restaurant. Virgilios offers an extensive Martini menu along with live entertainment 7 nights a week. This sexy speak easy sits just off of Duval street and is for sure to satisfy your pallet with refreshing libations.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Sunday thru Thursday open at 5:30pm till 10pm in our dinning room. Virgilios opens at 7pm till 2am
Friday and Saturday we open at 5:30pm till 11pm in our dinning room. Virgilios opens at 7pm till 3am

Cross Street:
Between Fleming and Southard Street on Duval

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(305) 296-1075

Website:
http://www.latrattoria.us/

Entertainment:
Live entertainment 7 nights a week starting at 9:30pm in Virgilios Martini Bar. Located directly behind La Trattoria Old Town.

Catering:
Catered Affairs of Key West, the premiere catering company of the keys. Off site events include weddings, corporate events, charities, birthdays and anything else you might need. We can accommodate groups from 30 to 300. Please visit us at cateredaffairsofkeywest.com.
Director of catering.......Amy Lay

Parking Details:
street parking

Executive Chef:
Chef Lloyd Gould

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • La Trattoria Old Town, Key West, FL
La Trattoria Old Town, Key West, FL

La Trattoria Old Town Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Key West / Florida Keys
Most Booked
Florida Keys - Monroe County
Best Restaurants in Key West ›

Good for a Date (18)
Romantic (17)
Special Occasion (15)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Notable Wine List (12)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Authentic (11)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
People Watching (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Cozy (7)
Casual (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Historic (5)
Fun (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Family Style (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Great for Lunch (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Seasonal (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Scenic View (1)
Business Meals (1)
Sort By:
S
400 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food was good, but when I specifically a ...

vip
 (Naples)·Dined 3 days ago

Food was good, but when I specifically asked for Al Dante pasta, what I got was very mushy and just not acceptable, especially since I requested. They re-did my dish and I think the chef was annoyed, because what I got was barely cooked...felt like pay back. Not too smart. Our other companions dishes were very good, so only mine was not what I expected.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Good Italian food on Duval Street. Bolo ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Good Italian food on Duval Street. Bolognese is very good. Bruschetta is fresh and great as a starter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Thanksgiving dinner was good. The servic ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Thanksgiving dinner was good. The service was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

the foods are great, but their cocktails ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 24, 2016

the foods are great, but their cocktails do not taste good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

After reading positive reviews, we dined ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on November 21, 2016

After reading positive reviews, we dined at La Trattoria our first night in Key West and it was just as suggested, delicious. The warm, friendly service equals the warm, friendly traditional Italian fare menu. While it is not inventive, it is just what you would expect from your neighborhood bistro and we understand some of the recipes are very old. The food, overall, is delicious Italian comfort food. You must dine here while in the Keys.

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Historic, Romantic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

A busy place with high but not excessive ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 21, 2016

A busy place with high but not excessive noise.

Wine prices are expensive which makes them not good value for money. But, in many ways, that's Key West.

The food was not exceptional and had cold patches. The risotto wasn't authentic.

Service wasn't the fastest or most attentive. I'm not sure how one is expected to walk in, sit down and immediately decide what one is drinking without an opportunity to peruse what they have available. Thereafter, you're at their mercy as to when there's another sweep past your table to provide service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

We ordered the hogfish special - it was ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We ordered the hogfish special - it was supposed to be served in a scampi sauce, but they went so heavy on the lemon juice that I could only handle a few bites. My beau ate the rest and had bad stomach cramps for the rest of the evening. I don't think the fish was old, I just think the sauce was just rushed and nobody thought to taste what they were sending out of the kitchen.

To his credit though, our waiter was exceptional; he even came back over to adjust our order when he realized that the sides we had selected contained onion (I'm allergic).

We also happened to be seated just inside the door - not the worst thing in the world but there was quite a bit of walk-in traffic, and people gathering by the host stand made our experience a tad on the claustrophobic side.

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value3

We had a great experience! Some of the b ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 18, 2016

We had a great experience! Some of the best Italian food we've ever had, Veal Piccata and Veal Cannelloni. Romantic but lively atmosphere. Outstanding service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a lovely dinner. Service was attent ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Had a lovely dinner. Service was attentive, food was good, Key Lime pie was great!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Our reservation was for six o'clock and ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Our reservation was for six o'clock and from the minute we sat down our waiter kept coming over and rushing us. He came right out and said that at seven o'clock the place would be packed and they start "turning over tables". We had a nice bottle of wine, an appetizer, and pasta dishes which would of been delicious if they weren't choked down in a hurry. Try the La Trattoria Oceanside instead and skip the old town location

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Very underwhelmed with the experience. T ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Very underwhelmed with the experience. The salad was very good but the meals were average at best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4

Too noisy. Service slow. Tables too cl ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Too noisy. Service slow. Tables too close together, causing noise level to be unpleasant. Food good, but service not the best. Had to keep asking server for bread, wine, etc.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

Wonderful! Service, food and atmosphere ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Wonderful! Service, food and atmosphere were all fantastic. This is a great find in an unexpected location on busy Duval St.

Lasagna and Osso Bucco are highly recommended.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Been dining at the restaurant for years ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Been dining at the restaurant for years every time we visit Key West.

Great place. Love Chuck.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious dinner! Service was excellent ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Delicious dinner! Service was excellent. Very nice wine selection

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Not what it once was. My dish of veal pi ...

vip
 (Key West)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Not what it once was. My dish of veal piccata was skimpy and looked anemic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Had a fabulous post wedding dinner here! ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Had a fabulous post wedding dinner here!! From our appetizers to our dessert , it could not have been any better!! Can't wait to go back!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Family Style, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Yet again another terrific meal at La Tr ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Yet again another terrific meal at La Trattoria! Excellent martinis and their signature dish, the Ravioli Trattoria is to die for!

Tags: Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food as usual was great. Large very lou ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Food as usual was great. Large very loud party of 9 or 10, appeared somewhat intoxicated. Guys started taking off shirts (and 1 was going further) sort of made the evening less than perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Two in our party had the Ravioli Trattor ...

 
 (Key West)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Two in our party had the Ravioli Trattoria which is my husbands favorite. I had the Cape Sante which is always delicious. Great service. Definitely at the top of our list for places to eat in Key West.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife and I love the restaurant. It i ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 25, 2016

My wife and I love the restaurant. It is a place where you may easily talk with the people at your table. The food is the best Italian food in Key West. They serve authentic Italian recipes that are wonderful. They also have an well stocked bar and excellent wine selection. Service is great. this is a great experience you do not want to miss in Key West.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

So delicious! And great attentive servic ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 22, 2016

So delicious! And great attentive service:) We will definitely return next time we visit Key West.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love this resturant . Wouldn't think ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 21, 2016

We love this resturant . Wouldn't think of going anywhere else.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service. A great fin ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Excellent food and service. A great find on mostly a bar scene street. Noise level was excellent. Very low background music.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best restaurant in key west

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on October 12, 2016

Best restaurant in key west

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great food and vino ~ went here many yea ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 10, 2016

great food and vino ~ went here many years ago with my mom and dad and it is still just as good! would go back again and again...

Tags: Notable Wine List, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We were recommended to this restaurant b ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 9, 2016

We were recommended to this restaurant by the staff at the hotel were staying at. A great recommendation, the food was excellent along with the service and our waiter Chuck. If you're craving Italian, this is the place to go!

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Casual, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Paleo Friendly, Worth the Drive, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Evening out with friends. Good was outst ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Evening out with friends. Good was outstanding!!! Service was wonderful!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

For me the best Italian restaurant in Ke ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on October 8, 2016

For me the best Italian restaurant in Key West. He food is excellent and the service is always attentive and friendly. The crowd is always in good spirits which adds to the ambiance of the place. Also, it's way to get to, right on Duval St.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

My daughter has celiac disease and we fo ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on October 8, 2016

My daughter has celiac disease and we found this restaurant on our gf free app! The menu did not note gluten free but our server was told by the hostess that we needed this accommodation. We added this request in our open table reservation.

The food was prepared well and excellent and service was outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Been going here for more than 10 years. ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 6, 2016

Been going here for more than 10 years. Consistently delicious and excellent service.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Authentic, Seasonal, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great meet n greet waiter n staff on poi ...

 
 (Key West)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Great meet n greet waiter n staff on point

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food is great and always served very hot ...

 
 (Key West)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Food is great and always served very hot. Some Italian food, especially pasta dishes can be overrun with garlic but La Trot does a nice job delivering great taste without knocking every out around you all night with obnoxious garlic breath! Been here twice and service was very good both times too.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

This was our first time here. The waiter ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 18, 2016

This was our first time here. The waiter and service were outstanding. The food was authentic. We had the Chicken Marsala and Spaghetti Bologanese. We plan on eating here again before we head home.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Historic, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We enjoyed the food so much after dining ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 12, 2016

We enjoyed the food so much after dining there we made a reservation for the next night as well. Repeat business speaks volumes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Florida Keys do not make you think o ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 10, 2016

The Florida Keys do not make you think of Italian food but, this place makes you feel like you are back in the northeast for sure! The offerings are in line with Federal Hill in RI or even the north end of Boston, with reasonable prices as well. The staff offers attentive service and the location itself has a formal atmosphere but not a stodgy experience. When you are in Key West you are relaxing and they have melded fine dining with the casual Key West feel...great dining location all the way around!!

Tags: People Watching, Cozy, Authentic, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very nice Italian place in old town. We ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Very nice Italian place in old town. We had the cannaloni and chicken parm as entrees. Both were prepared just right. Service was on target. A very enjoyable meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

My wife and I had great service from the ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 8, 2016

My wife and I had great service from the moment we arrived, bartender, host and our server all delivered a memorable evening. Food was amazing!

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The foods always good, but it's the serv ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on September 5, 2016

The foods always good, but it's the service that makes the difference. Really attentive, professional, friendly - an excellent dining experience. Oh, fantastic martinis too.

Tags: Cozy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Was the perfect place for my birthday . ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Was the perfect place for my birthday . Good food y good service.

Tags: Family Style, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.