Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

About La Trattoria Old Town

LaTrattoria Old Town has been serving Authentic Italian cuisine since 1983. This is our original and flagship location located in the heart of Key West at 524 Duval Street. This bistro type setting offers one of the premier intimate settings in the lower keys. All of our entrees are prepared fresh to order using only the freshest of ingredients. Our signature dish, Yellowtail snapper, is locally caught daily and prepared fresh with garlic, capers and tomatoes in a lemon white wine butter sauce--it is to die for. When dinner is over look no further than Virgilios Martini Bar, located directly behind the restaurant. Virgilios offers an extensive Martini menu along with live entertainment 7 nights a week. This sexy speak easy sits just off of Duval street and is for sure to satisfy your pallet with refreshing libations.

524 Duval St
Key West, FL 33040
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Sunday thru Thursday open at 5:30pm till 10pm in our dinning room. Virgilios opens at 7pm till 2am
Friday and Saturday we open at 5:30pm till 11pm in our dinning room. Virgilios opens at 7pm till 3am

Cross Street:
Between Fleming and Southard Street on Duval

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(305) 296-1075

Website:
http://www.latrattoria.us/

Entertainment:
Live entertainment 7 nights a week starting at 9:30pm in Virgilios Martini Bar. Located directly behind La Trattoria Old Town.

Catering:
Catered Affairs of Key West, the premiere catering company of the keys. Off site events include weddings, corporate events, charities, birthdays and anything else you might need. We can accommodate groups from 30 to 300. Please visit us at cateredaffairsofkeywest.com.
Director of catering.......Amy Lay

Parking Details:
street parking

Executive Chef:
Chef Lloyd Gould

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

La Trattoria Old Town Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

Noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (20)
Authentic (15)
Romantic (15)
See All
Special Occasion (14)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Cozy (10)
People Watching (9)
Casual (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Comfort Food (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Fun (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Good for Groups (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Business Meals (1)
Healthy (1)
Live Music (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Scenic View (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort by
S
658 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

Place was quite crowded, large noisy table nearby ruined the ambience. Otherwise the food was quite good and service kept up with the crowds. Problem with a place right on Duval.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

Great table and service was excellent. Lola allowed us to catch up with friends. Although the din became a near shouting match, we managed. Lastly, the consistency over the years have been good, but tonight it seem to be a bit lack luster tonight.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 8, 2018

Our waitress Tiffany was excellent. She visited with us and told us about Key West. She was attentive and greatly added to our experience. The food was excellent as well!

Tags: Romantic, People Watching, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 7, 2018

Awesome. Thanks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Key West)·Dined on January 7, 2018

Wonderful evening...great food...martinis and wines were presented with care.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 6, 2018

Good food...small restaurant and tables. A little load but overall very good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 5, 2018

Good food with attentive service. While eating dessert my husband remarked to our server that his entree wasn’t quite what he’d expected. Not bad, just different, and he wasn’t complaining at all. Nonetheless she passed his remarks on to the chef, and comped our dessert. Quite unexpected and nice of them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 5, 2018

The food was average and the service a little slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 3, 2018

We made a reservation for 8:00 p.m. and were not seated until 9:00 p.m. By 9:30 p.m., we still only had water. Not even bread. I had to walk up to the hostess, it was my birthday, and ask for the manager. I was told our server was the manager. Later, it was explained that the computers were down and that was the reason for the delay. I have worked in hospitality, if someone had communicated that to us, we would have understood, but no one told us. The food was amazing. The wine list was extensive and had a great selection. The bartender was spunky and makes a great martini, however, she was a little too concerned on saving spots at the bar for her customers, instead of for the patrons that had made a reservation and were told to go to the bar because they couldn't be seated. Service was extremely slow. The food, again, was great. I would recommend this restaurant to others if they have three hours to spare and aren't super hungry when they get there.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 3, 2018

I was pleasantly surprised as Italian food in Key West isn’t expected. Everything was great, even had food to take home. Our server Kathryn, was so pleasant and had a great sense of humor.
We will be back.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 3, 2018

Just awesome

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on January 2, 2018

Offering Tasty food and a very friendly accommodating staff. Thanks

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on January 1, 2018

My pasta was way over cooked. No flavor why so ever. My husband Seafood ravioli was missing his seafood also.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2
value5

vip
 (Key West)·Dined on January 1, 2018

New Years Eve is always a crazy time in Key West so I wasn’t sure about the wisdom of making late dinner reservations at a place on Duval Street, but I need not have worried. Our table was ready within a few minutes of our reservation time and La Trattoria Old Town was just as comfortable a place on New Years Eve as its been every other time I’ve dined there. While the restaurant offered some wonderful sounding specials for the evening my wife and I decided to order from the regular menu. Sue had a seafood pasta dish that was very good and I went for the Pollo Parm and it was excellent! We split half a bottle of Chardonnay and finished off with a Chocolate Mousse - the idea was to share the dessert and there was plenty of it, but I ended up eating the whole thing. It was more than I needed, but after all is was New Years Eve and by custom New Years resolutions don’t start until the next day. The ambiance was festive but not annoyingly so and the wait staff was excellent. Nita was our server and she was very good - there when we needed something without seeming to hover.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 1, 2018

Excellent as always. We have never had a bad meal here. Friendly staff, great bar scene. We usually spend several nights here when we are in town.

Tags: Special Occasion, Live Music, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2017

Excelente servicio. No nos dejaron desatendidos ni un segundo. La comida de muy buena calidad. Los platos un poco grandes para nuestro gusto. Podrían ser un poco mas pequeños que igual uno quedaría satisfecho. Pero en general, una muy buena experiencia.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Savannah)·Dined on December 28, 2017

We were really looking forward to this place but it just didn’t deliver. The service was average at best while the food really was tasty - what very was poor was the ambiance. Besides the bright floodlights throughout the restaurant (?!) there was a big, loud table and a 2 top that had 3 on it (with one person in the aisle, directly facing us) making for an awkward dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Key West)·Dined on December 26, 2017

Seated in the bar area at a high top table. Very noisy and congested between the bar and doorway. Greeted by a friendly server. Ordered wine and received right away. Salad arrived quickly. Waited a long while for entrees. Food was good, not exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 26, 2017

Awesome Christmas night food and vibe. Chris was a fantastic waiter

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on December 26, 2017

Terrific as always. I always make a point of going to La Trattoria when I'm in Key West.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 25, 2017

Christmas dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on December 25, 2017

PERFECTION .... from the greeters at the entry way to your wait staff. Our server Brinn was gracious, professional and engaged our table politely. The wine list was complete, the aroma enhanced our palate upon arrival of all ordered entrees. The ambiance is perfect for a date of two or larger gatherings to celebrate that special occasion . Italian cuisine at its Best!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 24, 2017

One of our favorite places to eat in Key West; this was an excellent choice for us on Christmas Eve and the meal and service was top notch as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 24, 2017

We had a very nice waiter but the food was very, very mediocre. A tough steak, bland pasta—out of the six dishes that we ordered (including their snapper), nothing stood out as anything but okay. The Caesar salad that we had as a starter was good, but that’s it. We later learned from locals that only tourists eat here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value2

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 21, 2017

Our first visit, and definitely not our last. Everything was great.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Key West)·Dined on December 20, 2017

We celebrated my husbands 50th Birthday. We requested the high top table in the window. Our table, dinner, and service was perfect and to top it off they bought out a piece of tiramisu with a candle and sang happy birthday. It was the perfect night

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Key West)·Dined on December 17, 2017

Great place!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 14, 2017

The Pasty's of Key West! When I am in New York, I eat at Pastys
WhenI am in Key West, I eat a La Trattoria. Wonderful place to eat while I'm
Key West.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Key West)·Dined on December 11, 2017

One of my favorite places to eat in Key West. The food is always good. We often eat at the bar and the bar tenders are the best.💜

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 10, 2017

Best meal I had in key west . Secure and drinks were excellent

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 10, 2017

Wonderful Food, Great Staff.
Love this place...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on November 28, 2017

The ravioli was by far the winner on this menu!! The service was impeccable!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on November 25, 2017

Terrific food and service. Love this quaint little Italian restaurant. Had a nice quiet romantic dinner. This was our first time at La Trattoria but certainly not our last.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
·Dined on November 24, 2017

My first Italian Thanksgiving dinner and i must say it was a delight. Being a Italian from NY i've had italian in many places and i was very impressed with my dinner . I'd definitely come back for dinner again next time im in Key West !

Tags: Romantic, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on November 23, 2017

Our party of 4 decided on going to LaTratorria for Thanksging dinner. Their traditional turkey dinner was ample and delicious. We left with left-overs just like a Thanksgiving dinner at home. Ambiance and service were excellent.

Tags: People Watching, Bar Seating, Casual, Business Meals, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 23, 2017

We celebrated a WONDERFUL Thankgiving dinner in Key West at this wonderful restaurant! Our server was fantastic. Would definitely recommend.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Key West)·Dined on November 18, 2017

It was our last night in Key West (from Denver, CO) and it turned out to be a great decision to dine at La Trattoria Old Town. Service was excellent (and good looking), and my wife and I loved our food. The salmon and mushroom sauce was incredible, and the linguini con pollo alla parmigiana was equally as great. I overdid it in the bread & oil with grated parmigiana, vinegar and pepper...oh yeeesss. Great time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 18, 2017

Definitely in the top three best Italian restaurants!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 16, 2017

Service was outstanding and the food was excellent. Four of us traded bites and couldn't decide which dish we liked best. We will definitely add this wonderful restaurant to the rotation when we visit Key West.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.