About La Trattoria Old Town

524 Duval St
Key West, FL 33040
View Larger Map

LaTrattoria Old Town has been serving Authentic Italian cuisine since 1983. This is our original and flagship location located in the heart of Key West at 524 Duval Street. This bistro type setting offers one of the premier intimate settings in the lower keys. All of our entrees are prepared fresh to order using only the freshest of ingredients. Our signature dish, Yellowtail snapper, is locally caught daily and prepared fresh with garlic, capers and tomatoes in a lemon white wine butter sauce--it is to die for. When dinner is over look no further than Virgilios Martini Bar, located directly behind the restaurant. Virgilios offers an extensive Martini menu along with live entertainment 7 nights a week. This sexy speak easy sits just off of Duval street and is for sure to satisfy your pallet with refreshing libations.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Sunday thru Thursday open at 5:30pm till 10pm in our dinning room. Virgilios opens at 7pm till 2am
Friday and Saturday we open at 5:30pm till 11pm in our dinning room. Virgilios opens at 7pm till 3am

Cross Street:
Between Fleming and Southard Street on Duval

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(305) 296-1075

Website:
http://www.latrattoria.us/

Entertainment:
Live entertainment 7 nights a week starting at 9:30pm in Virgilios Martini Bar. Located directly behind La Trattoria Old Town.

Catering:
Catered Affairs of Key West, the premiere catering company of the keys. Off site events include weddings, corporate events, charities, birthdays and anything else you might need. We can accommodate groups from 30 to 300. Please visit us at cateredaffairsofkeywest.com.
Director of catering.......Amy Lay

Parking Details:
street parking

Executive Chef:
Chef Lloyd Gould

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

La Trattoria Old Town Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Key West / Florida Keys
Best Food
Key West / Florida Keys
Best Value
Key West / Florida Keys
7 More
Neighborhood Gem
Key West / Florida Keys
Most Booked
Key West / Florida Keys
Best Overall
Florida Keys - Monroe County
Best Food
Florida Keys - Monroe County
Best Value
Florida Keys - Monroe County
Neighborhood Gem
Florida Keys - Monroe County
Most Booked
Florida Keys - Monroe County
Best Restaurants in Key West ›

special occasion (72)
fit for foodies (63)
romantic (63)
See All
neighborhood gem (58)
notable wine list (35)
good for groups (25)
vibrant bar scene (15)
hot spot (11)
scenic view (11)
late-night find (10)
kid-friendly (8)
great for brunch (2)
great for lunch (2)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
318 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food!

Dined 5 days ago

The food was outstanding, servers were polite and efficient, quiet, romantic atmosphere. Would return in a heartbeat!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The second time was as good as the first

Dined 6 days ago

This was our second visit to La Trattoria during or vacation in Key West. We are so happy we found this restaurant. The food is wonderful, we both tried different entrees from our first visit. The portions are nice sized and quite tasty. We are looking forward to trying more entrees on our future visits. One other comment, save room for dessert, it's amazing!

Tags: late-night find, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

I like the old world feel, classic Itali ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

I like the old world feel, classic Italian with all the usual fare. Small bar with a view of the street makes for fun people watching while enjoying well made pasta. Service was excellent

Tags: special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5

Favorite Italian place in KW

Dined on May 19, 2016

Favorite Italian place in KW

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We loved the food!

Dined on May 17, 2016

This was our first visit to La Trattoria and we absolutely loved it. We first came across their good reviews on Trip Advisor and thought we would give it a try. We are so glad we tried this restaurant, we think now this will be our go to restaurant for Italian food. I had the traditional spaghetti with meat sauce and my wife had the Cannelloni. We both loved the taste of the dishes and we plan on going again during our stay to try additional entrees. We would also like to mention that our server was fantastic, she could not have been better. We should also mention that you should try the Cannoli, it was a great dessert.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

We went to celebrate anniversaries and b ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

We went to celebrate anniversaries and birthdays with friends. Table was ready on time. Service was excellent and food amazing. Everyone had a great time. After dinner we slipped into the back for martinis. It was Salsa night and it was hopping! Fun times had by all! Highly recommend this place if you are in Key West. One of our favorites!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful experience and great meal.

Dined on May 11, 2016

Our third time in last year, we enjoyed the window seat we requested. Thanks.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Same as it ever was, same as it ever was

vip
Dined on May 10, 2016

Same review as always - after over at least 1,500 meals I can't get enough!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Had a great meal at LaTrattoria and Chri ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Had a great meal at LaTrattoria and Chris, our server, was excellent. Great food, great service - we will definitely go back!

food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Food was fabulous. Nice menu selection, ...

Dined on May 6, 2016

Food was fabulous. Nice menu selection, offered many choices for every ones selection. Table was loud due to large party behind us. Would go again.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

The best Italian cuisine in Key West wit ...

Dined on May 3, 2016

The best Italian cuisine in Key West with service to match. Great break from seafood and typical KW pub grub.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Italian find

Dined on April 29, 2016

This restaurant was recommended to us by the shuttle driver. He made an excellent reccomendation. A bit noisy because of the location on Duval street but sitting in the rear of the restaurant cut out some of the noise. If you want to people watch while you eat there are tables facing Duval street. I enjoyed the decor... Reminded me of a little restaurant in Italy. We told our server we were in no hurry and he made sure we weren't rushed nor forgotten. The bruschetta was excellent and a great way to start the meal. I really enjoyed my chicken parmigiana. The red sauce was to die for. My wife chose the tortolini said it was wonderful. I did steal a bite and I agree. A wonderful, romantic restaurant and worth the price...

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfection

Dined on April 24, 2016

Wonderful food and exemplary service. This restaurant has a lovely atmosphere. We never felt rushed and highly recommend a visit to La Tratoria. You will not be disappointed. Next time in Key West we will definitely dine here.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Picked it based on other people's commen ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

Picked it based on other people's comments. We were not disappointed. If you are in Key West, put this one on the "short list"

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

went back twice during our vacation

Dined on April 22, 2016

love this place, we went twice during our week stay in Key West. Great food, well priced and the waitstaff are well trained..

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very good meal

vip
Dined on April 21, 2016

Food was reasonably priced and was good. Wait staff was very attentive with refilling the water classes and keeping bread coming to the table. The restaurant was quite busy on a Thursday night and it appeared there were locals dining there too. Nice atmosphere and a nice change to the craziness on Duval Street.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Go with a group, not for a romantic evening

Dined on April 21, 2016

The food was very good, but it was just too noisy for us. When we go to a pub, we expect it to be noisy, but not at a mid-priced Italian restaurant.... Also, the food process were fair on the mains, but $8.50 for a fairly plain house salad?

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service3

Food - fettuccine gnocchi and carpaccio ...

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

Food - fettuccine gnocchi and carpaccio - was average. Waiter had very good intentions but had probably too many tables to take care of us adequatly. We had to wait a lot for everything and had to stand-up to pay. Not a big deal but surprising. No kids menu, half portion yes but nothing special compared to many other very good places in Key West. Again as food is average it might not deserve a 4.5.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Gem in Key West

Dined on April 11, 2016

In a town where dinner can get expensive quick La Trattoria was a welcome find. Recommended by a local the restaurant did not disappoint. Great food, wonderful atmosphere.

Tags: romantic, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Italian Restaurant on Duval!

vip
Dined on April 7, 2016

A lot of the restaurants along Duval can start to feel all the same. By the end of our week-long vacation, my family of 4 was feeling tired of seafood and noisiness that Duval brings. La Trattoria was the perfect choice for us that night. The service was incredible, and our food was delicious. They do a great job of incorporating fresh seafood options (because you are in Key West, after all) with classic Italian dishes. Great beer/wine/cocktail list, relaxed yet upscale atmosphere, and really reasonable prices. It was one of our favorite meals of the trip!

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Always enjoyable

Dined on April 3, 2016

La Trat is a favorite. Food is always very good, service is attentive and ambiance pleasant (if a bit noisy). It is one of my regular restaurants.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A local favorite

Dined on April 2, 2016

The consistently good quality of food, a variety of menu choices and friendly service keep us returning to this Old Town restaurant. After our meal we usual take a walk to the back of the restaurant and enter Virgillios, a fun bar with indoor and outdoor seating. Live music, with fantastic local musicians can be found most nights.

Tags: special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I reckon 1,000 Times

vip
Dined on April 1, 2016

As always I go to La Trot 2 or 3 times a week. Figure even only once a week for 30 years would make 1,530 meals... Have not had a bad one yet!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food and service!

Dined on March 31, 2016

Wonderful food and service! We always go here when we are in Key West.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious!

Dined on March 29, 2016

We enjoyed a delightful family meal together! The service was excellent as was the food. Highly recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Italian meal, great service, and n ...

Dined on March 28, 2016

Great Italian meal, great service, and nice atmosphere.

food5
ambience5
service5

Love the food. I have been coming to Key ...

vip
Dined on March 26, 2016

Love the food. I have been coming to Key West for 12 years and this restaurant is always on my list. This time, i had the spaghetti and meat sauce and their soup, mushroom. I love Italian food and love this place. In years past, have enjoyed their fish dishes as well. Highly recommend.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our favorites.

Dined on March 23, 2016

Absolute perfection, as it is each time we done there. Will definitely return the next time we're here.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful experience

Dined on March 23, 2016

Great service, great ambiance, great food. This was the best dining experience we had during our trip to Key West.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Good food, properly sized portions, exce ...

Dined on March 22, 2016

Good food, properly sized portions, excellent service. Good choice for Italian in Key West.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Just s perfect spot for an intimate dinn ...

vip
Dined on March 22, 2016

Just s perfect spot for an intimate dinner while on vacation.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Awesome service and excellent food.

Dined on March 16, 2016

I wasn't sure about eating fish- never have liked it. Our server assured me that this was different "hog fish" and that I would like it. It was excellent- everything was perfect.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of my favorite places

Dined on March 15, 2016

The food is excellent and they have a great wine list. The service is great. One of my favorite places to eat. I've recommended it several times.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous Food!

Dined on March 12, 2016

Eggplant appetizer was amazing as always along with the carpaccio ! Hogfish was outstanding.... Service was great! Never disappointed when I eat here...

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistent for 33 years!

vip
Dined on March 12, 2016

What more can I say? I have been coming here 30 years often 2 or 3 times a week and I keep coming back. By my estimate I have eaten here at LEAST 1,000 times as it is about 100 yards from my building!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

A diamond in the rough

Dined on March 9, 2016

This is a great restaurant with reasonable prices and a spectacular beer and wine list. Premium beers were well under what I expected to pay from a nice restaurant in the area. I had the ravioli and was pleasantly surprised by the portions, but what blew me away was the sauce they used...gotta find that recipe. Unfortunately, you're surrounded by the epitome of Key West, and as a result there's usually a homeless man and his dog outside the door and if you continue down 50 feet, a man in high heels and a dress propositioning you to enter a shady bar. So yes, the restaurant was lovely and I'd definitely go back again if I went back to Key West. -TLDR: Key West may not be for me, but this restaurant sure is.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4

Overall very nice restaurant very good f ...

vip
Dined on March 4, 2016

Overall very nice restaurant very good food and service Reasonably priced menu.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great time

Dined on March 2, 2016

We shared the veal piccata and a salad. Our server Chris made helpful suggestions and was very nice. The vegetable soups and key lime pie were amazing. A very nice atmosphere too! Great way to start our stay in Key West.

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

wonderful dining experience

Dined on February 29, 2016

The food was excellent, the atmosphere was pleasant, and the service was great. We were made to feel especially welcome by our waiter. (Thank you, Chuck!). We will return during our next visit to Key West.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

Good Sauces but Too Much Sauce

vip
Dined on February 27, 2016

Well made Italian sauces but way too much sauce on an entree, especially the chopped tomatoes; not at all like an entree in Italy. Thought the pasta portion on the chicken parmigiana was quite small while the sauce filled the plate. Green beans were served quite hard. Wine list better than average.

Tags: neighborhood gem, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.