About La Trattoria Old Town

524 Duval St
Key West, FL 33040
View Larger Map

LaTrattoria Old Town has been serving Authentic Italian cuisine since 1983. This is our original and flagship location located in the heart of Key West at 524 Duval Street. This bistro type setting offers one of the premier intimate settings in the lower keys. All of our entrees are prepared fresh to order using only the freshest of ingredients. Our signature dish, Yellowtail snapper, is locally caught daily and prepared fresh with garlic, capers and tomatoes in a lemon white wine butter sauce--it is to die for. When dinner is over look no further than Virgilios Martini Bar, located directly behind the restaurant. Virgilios offers an extensive Martini menu along with live entertainment 7 nights a week. This sexy speak easy sits just off of Duval street and is for sure to satisfy your pallet with refreshing libations.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Sunday thru Thursday open at 5:30pm till 10pm in our dinning room. Virgilios opens at 7pm till 2am
Friday and Saturday we open at 5:30pm till 11pm in our dinning room. Virgilios opens at 7pm till 3am

Cross Street:
Between Fleming and Southard Street on Duval

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(305) 296-1075

Website:
http://www.latrattoria.us/

Entertainment:
Live entertainment 7 nights a week starting at 9:30pm in Virgilios Martini Bar. Located directly behind La Trattoria Old Town.

Catering:
Catered Affairs of Key West, the premiere catering company of the keys. Off site events include weddings, corporate events, charities, birthdays and anything else you might need. We can accommodate groups from 30 to 300. Please visit us at cateredaffairsofkeywest.com.
Director of catering.......Amy Lay

Parking Details:
street parking

Executive Chef:
Chef Lloyd Gould

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • La Trattoria Old Town, Key West, FL

Report a photo problem

La Trattoria Old Town Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (35)
Authentic (22)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
See All
Notable Wine List (19)
Special Occasion (18)
Casual (18)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Cozy (14)
Romantic (13)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Bar Seating (10)
Good for Groups (10)
Quiet Conversation (9)
People Watching (8)
Fun (8)
Comfort Food (7)
Historic (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Business Meals (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Scenic View (3)
Family Style (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Happy Hour (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Dancing (1)
Live Music (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Tapas (1)
Healthy (1)
Private Room (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
439 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Jerry, our server was efficient & profes ...

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined 4 days ago

Jerry, our server was efficient & professional. We love this restaurant. We are never disappointed. Food is prepared to perfection.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Private Room, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Absolutely fantastic Italian food. The ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Absolutely fantastic Italian food. The best seafood pasta that I ever had anywhere in the United States. If you are looking for some quality Italian fare at a reasonable price this is the place! Highly recommended.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Authentic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have been here every time we come to key ...

 
 (Key West)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Have been here every time we come to key west for 30 years...each time is the same...never disappointed. More restaurants should be like this...fair priced,,,good friendly service and aware of the customers wants...

Tags: Fit for Foodies, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always enjoy dining here. The food i ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 12, 2017

We always enjoy dining here. The food is excellent. I had the Hogfish special, large portion with mango salsa. Very good. Hubby had lasagna, again very good. Try to sit in the front window table. Fun people watching and not as loud as the interior tables tend to be. Our server was attentive, and did not rush us or ignore us. He knew exactly when to show up!

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was by far the best Italian food we ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 10, 2017

This was by far the best Italian food we have had ever!! Our waiter, Chris was excellent making this experience even better. Every morsel of food exploded with flavor, every detail was taken care of before you could think about it. I don't know why this isn't listed as the best place to eat in Key West. Next time we travel down to Key West this will be the first stop.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A very nice friendly restaurant with goo ...

 
 (Key West)·Dined on January 8, 2017

A very nice friendly restaurant with good food and reasonable prices III

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I’ve been visiting Key West multiple tim ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 7, 2017

I’ve been visiting Key West multiple times a year for more than 20 years. La Trattoria never disappoints. Food and service are both excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We were a larger group and we we seated ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 6, 2017

We were a larger group and we we seated as soon as we arrived. The hostess was so nice and attentive. Our waitress was wonderful and the food was yummy! Make sure you try the key lime pie! I have eaten here many times and it never disappoints.

Tags: Fun, Authentic, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food and service! Best food and ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Amazing food and service! Best food and service on Key West! Can't wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place to eat !

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great place to eat !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The New Year's Eve experience at La Tra ...

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The New Year's Eve experience at La Trattoria was terrible. The hostess told us that there was pre fixe menu when we arrived. This was never revealed when we made the reservation or when they called us to confirm. We had no choice but to accept the menu and expensive price because all the other restaurants in town were booked solid. I will say that the servers were all extremely friendly and professional. The food, however, was less than average and very, very, slow in coming out of the kitchen. We were at dinner for almost 3 hours and rushed the end of our meal so we could get outside to see the Conch Shell drop. We actually had the server bring our dessert and bill with our entree so we could leave the restaurant. Very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Good food as usual. It is can be loud b ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Good food as usual. It is can be loud but that is part of the experience.

A favorite when in Key West.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was outstanding! The service, food, ...

vip
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 1, 2017

It was outstanding! The service, food, and atmosphere was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was very disappointed that on arrival ( ...

 
 (Key West)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Was very disappointed that on arrival ( New Year's Eve) everyone was advised that they had changed the normal menu to a fixed four course at $110 per person. Pretended they had tried to contact us but said the same to everyone. 30% of customers said no and left. I was lucky as could afford it but others obviously couldn't. I think it was very unprofessional to profiteer like that

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value1

always consistant. never disappointed we ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 30, 2016

always consistant. never disappointed we have been dining here for over 15 years. we always visit at least once during our stay, sometimes 2 or 3 times

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Historic, Family Style, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good pasta place on ducal, the lasagna b ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Good pasta place on ducal, the lasagna bolognese is great. Not a great wine list in my opinion but the food is good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

ABSOLUTELY HORRIBLE!! We have been patr ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 30, 2016

ABSOLUTELY HORRIBLE!! We have been patrons for 20 years. Since the sale to new owners a couple of years ago everything has gone down hill! This year was the final straw. It took 40 minutes to get our entrees, despite the fact that several tables that arrived after us got served immediately. Unfortunately the wait did not make the food better, it sucked BIG TIME! Never again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Very nice Italian food in a nice cozy se ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Very nice Italian food in a nice cozy setting on Duval street. Food was very good and the service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The spices they put in their red sauce m ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 29, 2016

The spices they put in their red sauce make it so amazing! It is so flavorful and delicious! The eggplant app is my fave. The pasta i had this time had sweet sausage in it and was out of this world. They stuff u so come hungry! Its a beautiful place- noisy but in a fun lively way- and what u would expect in a packed place in the middle of duval street! Their bar in back- Virgilios- is an after dinner must when the blues bands go on after nine. Coolest spot in key west for great food, live music, dancing and cocktails.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

the fact that this place had great ratin ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 29, 2016

the fact that this place had great ratings and was very bust and right on the main tourist area of Duval Street in Key West intrigued us - and we were not disappointed. Great drinks, great food and good service

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The location is excellent. The food is ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 28, 2016

The location is excellent. The food is reasonably priced and done nicely. Nothing fancy and it doesn't try to be more than it is. The service was fantastic. We had a waiter who clearly understands that the food is good but the service is what makes a meal. I cannot remember his name but he was the difference.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent! Very good meal. Love this pla ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Excellent! Very good meal. Love this place. I could eat there every night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lasagna bolognese is something you shoul ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Lasagna bolognese is something you should try. The bruschetta is three different types and good too. Don't expect much from the wine list, wines are average but still good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Fantastic service. Our waiter was engagi ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Fantastic service. Our waiter was engaging and congenial. Service was fast but not pushy. Everyone was very attentive. Pasta servings were large enough to split. Just add a salad. They went out of their way to please our party of four. Even chased me down after we left to bring me the sweater I left on my chair.

Tags: Casual, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great spot...always go there when in key ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Great spot...always go there when in key west👍

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and SUPERB service. It d ...

 
 (Key West)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Excellent food and SUPERB service. It doesn't get any better than this. One of our very favorite restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was a last minute switch from anoth ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on December 17, 2016

This was a last minute switch from another spot, and what a find! One of the better Italian meals we have had as a family. Our Server, Chris was GREAT! Will go back if we are in Key West. Thanks La Trattoria!!!!!

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I thought this the best restaurant we at ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 17, 2016

I thought this the best restaurant we ate in at Key West. It was a step above the fast food,overly breaded and fried choices that were available in the town.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We love this place & make it a point to ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 16, 2016

We love this place & make it a point to visit at least once (usually more often!) whenever we are in town! We have been dining there for decades. We've brought family members when possible. Everyone has enjoyed it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a great place to eat if you wou ...

 
 (Key West)·Dined on December 13, 2016

This was a great place to eat if you would like a quiet romantic setting. The service and food were excellent and the decor was very inviting and had a lot of charm. The only real downside I could see is there is not much room at or between tables. For a big guy like me it was a little cramped, but that seems to be the norm in key west. Overall everything was great though. It was a little pricey but not bad for a once in a while place to dine at.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great !! good service food was outstandi ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Great !! good service food was outstanding very nice location

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We live here so we dine alot at La Tratt ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 11, 2016

We live here so we dine alot at La Trattoria Old Town. This evening we had brought friends who'd never been here before and the food was superb! The special of the evening was a pan fried hog fish with a wine red pepper sauce over the fish and polenta cake. The fish was PERFECTLY cooked and we all had ordered the same dish. Congratulations La Trot, excellent consistent preparations!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great service and food was top notch!

 
 (Key West)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Great service and food was top notch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very good meal. Great service. Will defi ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Very good meal. Great service. Will definitely return when we go back to Key West.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

one of our favorite spots in Key West al ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 9, 2016

one of our favorite spots in Key West always consistant in food and service! The entire menu is great, but the hog fish & lamb are exceptional!!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Fun, Notable Wine List, Dancing, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Live Music, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, , Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service and food! A little larger ...

 
 (Key West)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Great service and food! A little larger table for 4 would've just been a little more comfortable but will be back for sure

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Food was good, but when I specifically a ...

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on December 5, 2016

Food was good, but when I specifically asked for Al Dante pasta, what I got was very mushy and just not acceptable, especially since I requested. They re-did my dish and I think the chef was annoyed, because what I got was barely cooked...felt like pay back. Not too smart. Our other companions dishes were very good, so only mine was not what I expected.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Good Italian food on Duval Street. Bolo ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Good Italian food on Duval Street. Bolognese is very good. Bruschetta is fresh and great as a starter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Thanksgiving dinner was good. The servic ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Thanksgiving dinner was good. The service was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

the foods are great, but their cocktails ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 24, 2016

the foods are great, but their cocktails do not taste good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.