About La Trattoria Oceanside

3593 S Roosevelt Blvd
Key West, FL 33040
View Larger Map

Serving Authentic Italian Cuisine in Key West. Overlooking the beautiful and neverending Atlantic Ocean enjoy the ambiance as all of your entrees are prepared to order using only the freshest sesfood and quality ingredients available. After you've had any of our specialty desserts enjoy a romantic stroll along the Atlantic seawall as you watch the beautiful sunset or gaze at the beauty of night, Stars everywhere.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Open 7 nights a week
5pm to 10pm

Cross Street:
Next to Airport and Benihana

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(305) 295-6789

Website:
http://www.latrattoria.us/

Parking Details:
Parking in rear.

Executive Chef:
Chef Ross Bock

Additional:
Bar Dining, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

La Trattoria Oceanside Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Key West / Florida Keys
Scenic View
Key West / Florida Keys
Special Occasion
Key West / Florida Keys
3 More
Romantic
Florida Keys - Monroe County
Scenic View
Florida Keys - Monroe County
Special Occasion
Florida Keys - Monroe County
Best Restaurants in Key West ›

scenic view (69)
special occasion (54)
romantic (44)
See All
fit for foodies (30)
good for groups (26)
notable wine list (24)
neighborhood gem (22)
hot spot (7)
late-night find (6)
vibrant bar scene (2)
great for lunch (2)
great for brunch (1)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
272 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place just keeps getting better - l ...

Dined 4 days ago

This place just keeps getting better - let alone never lets me down. The food is unreal; with al dente pasta and sauces so thick they stick. Tried a steak for the first time with a broiled lobster tail, and it was great - steak was cooked just as I like it. The restaurant acknowledged my birthday with song and a firework candle on top of a fabulous tiramisu that was served with a luscious fresh strawberry place atop of cannoli cream. Even the coffee was superb - like I said, Never disappointed and it actually keeps getting better - Hats of La Trattoria, and thank you for another great meal and a memorable birthday celebration.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious dishes and Rubin was an excell ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Delicious dishes and Rubin was an excellent server

food2
ambience4
service4
value3

We were on vacation in Key West. If you ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

We were on vacation in Key West. If your from New York it is very hard to eat Italian food, as NY really has the best restaurants. I ordered Scallop scampi, and it was not scampi as I know it. It was extremely salty. Friends that had pasta were very happy with it, and their BREAD was awesome. Eat pasta when you go!

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this place.............bright, open ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Love this place.............bright, open and quiet enough for conversations at our table.

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service4

Excellent food. Beautiful location. We h ...

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

Excellent food. Beautiful location. We had a long wait , 45 min, for Entrees because of some large parties. Restaurant compensated us some for the kitchen service issue.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food and almost a 5 star experience

Dined on May 4, 2016

The food was excellent and the service started as excellent, however, as the restaurant filled up and got busier, service slowed down significantly. Not the fault of the server as he was great and worthy of 5 stars. He was hustling around, just apparently assigned too many tables or perhaps another server did not show up for work. The bar was also backed up so we ended up waiting for the second and third rounds of drinks. Everyone at our table greatly enjoyed the food. The roasted carrot soup was unbelievably good, I really considered ordering a second bowl.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

An all-around delight

vip
Dined on May 3, 2016

Whether you're in the mood for a light meal or a three-course traditional Italian feast this is the place. The same beautifully-prepared food as the original old town location, with the addition of fabulous ocean views - and parking! The service is always perfectly attentive without being intrusive. The only drawback, and it exists throughout Key West, is that the noise level can climb. But the positives outweigh any noise!!

Tags: romantic, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4

Delicious food

Dined on April 26, 2016

Delicious food

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday celebration

Dined on April 17, 2016

We dine here often when in the Keys. The food is always phenomenal especially their hogfish. We love the Duval at restaurant but with this view, it's a great place for dinner

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Fantastic

Dined on April 17, 2016

My wife and I came here during our honeymoon trip to the Keys. The service was quick and excellent, the food was terrific and served in a very timely fashion and our overall experience was most enjoyable. I would definitely recommend this to anyone spending time in the Keys simply to enjoy great food with a breathtaking ocean view.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Authentic Italian!

Dined on April 14, 2016

We celebrated a birthday at La Trattoria Oceanside the other night. The atmosphere was elegant. The drink menu was full of creative and traditional cocktails. The food was delicious, fresh and authentically Italian. Desserts were the perfect ending. Highly recommend!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

food choices

Dined on April 14, 2016

I never never been disappointed with any of the food choices I have tried.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Waiter was attentive and personable. I ...

Dined on April 14, 2016

Waiter was attentive and personable. I usually get the veal Piccata. It was excellent as usual.

food5
ambience5
service5

One of my favorite restaurants. Has ama ...

Dined on April 8, 2016

One of my favorite restaurants. Has amazing staff. Good is great...

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Salad never came. But aside from that mi ...

Dined on April 5, 2016

Salad never came. But aside from that mistake, the dinner was "Outstanding".

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Not Worth the Money

Dined on April 5, 2016

First, the waiter was very nice and pleasant, but had no clue. One of us asked the waiter to change a dish for dietary reasons, it didn't happen. I ordered a well known brand of liquor, the waiter seemed to write it down phonetically, which at least showed he was trying and I did get the right drink. I ordered the seafood Fra Diablo, taste wasn't bad, no heat whatsoever but it was a mush of stuff. I got exactly 3 shrimp and 3 mussels and I think I saw a piece or 2 of calamari in the mush. My wife's dish was way too lemony and the rest of our party of 6 ate what they ordered but were blah about it. And finally, I LOVE CREME BRULEE, but not when it's room temperature. With over 300 restaurants in Key West, there is no reason to go back.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Great ambiance, food and service. It's o ...

vip
Dined on March 31, 2016

Great ambiance, food and service. It's our regular go-to place.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Service! Celebrated Birthday

Dined on March 29, 2016

Are whole experience was 5 Star! Our waiter was extremely knowledgable, efficient, & accomidating. It was our best diner in Key West this week. Keep up your great service & dining excellence.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

very consistent dining experience!!

Dined on March 26, 2016

very consistent experience that keeps us coming back for more. bill and his staff are professionals. looking forward to our next visit.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent foot

Dined on March 23, 2016

Excellent foot

food4
ambience5
service1
value3

Good view, slow service

Dined on March 20, 2016

Our server Eric was great! Unfortunately, it took almost an hour for our meals to be served. Although the restaurant was apologetic, they didn't follow through with a gesture like comping a dessert. That would have softened the negative impression. The food was good, and the view of the ocean was very nice.

Tags: scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5

Lovely setting, excellent Italian food. ...

Dined on March 20, 2016

Lovely setting, excellent Italian food. We've driven by so many times and never stopped . So glad we did.

food5
ambience5
service5

Food is delicious. Service excellent.

Dined on March 17, 2016

Food is delicious. Service excellent.

food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Food & Service Just OK

Dined on March 17, 2016

Based on mother reviews we had huh expectations for our meal. It was really not so good. I ordered Zuppa de pesce that was full of tomatoes and very thick with rice and butter. It was not a boullibase and wasn't at all light. My wife ordered seafood dishes that came with nearly whole cooked red peppers that were unexpected in the dish.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Just a nice night out with my girls

Dined on February 27, 2016

As usual, everything was extremely fine, even though the restaurant was packed with a special party in the main room for a retiring city employee. The parking lot was jammed when we arrived, so I parked in the hotel parking lot next door and everything went fine. Service was extremely professional under difficult conditions. Because the front dining room was filled to capacity the noise level was a bit higher than usual, but it was not intolerable. All in all, a very enjoyable experience.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Okay, but

Dined on February 22, 2016

I I always loved trattoria. Especially the downtown location. I like the Oceanside place, but it really is just too noisy for me.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

good food good service

Dined on February 21, 2016

we ask to change our table because they have a group and it was noisy and the accomodate us and change our table and the service perfect we recomande this restaurant

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I would highly recommend this restaurant ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

I would highly recommend this restaurant for the great food & service! We ate here on Valentine's day which is not usually the best night to eat out. Everything was fabulous!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Not surprised, excellent as usual. Share ...

Dined on February 12, 2016

Not surprised, excellent as usual. Shared an eggplant appetizer; one entree was the special - hogfish with crabmeat and other entree was snapper, both came with wild rice and green beans . Wonderful flavor and excellent service.

food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Great 1st time and lousy the 2nd. Chef?

Dined on February 4, 2016

I loved the fish soup on my first visit. We brought friends the second time and were quite disappointed. My linguini and clams dish was by far the worst I ever had anywhere. The sauce tasted lemony and ruined the dish. My wife's crab with penne was pasty and lackluster taste wise. It a shame that the quality cannot be predictably good. Good chef/bad chef depending on the night of the week?

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Focus on service with superior food

Dined on February 3, 2016

Seated promptly at ocean view table for romantic birthday celebration which met all of our expectations including birthday fireworks.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The occasion was my birthday.

Dined on January 26, 2016

We had a very enjoyable dinner. The food, as always, was excellent, and the atmosphere was very pleasant. La Trattoria has become my favorite restaurant in Key West.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Fantastic food and great service!

Dined on January 24, 2016

We LOVE going to La Trattoria Oceanside for special occasions! It's some of the most fabulous food on the island!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Fine Dining in Key West

Dined on January 24, 2016

The service here is very good with nice view of the Gulf. Food is Italian and very nice. I had the osso bucco which was beautifully prepared. Very nice wine and wonderful port selections along with limoncello. Jeannie had the lamb chops. Outstanding and done just the way she likes them. My third visit to this restaurant close to the hotel we stay at and would do it again.

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Great Place for Traditional Italian

Dined on January 23, 2016

We went here on a Saturday evening. We had a reservation and it was a good thing. The restaurant was very busy. There were 4 adults and one child. Our table afforded us a wonderful view of the water. The atmosphere was somewhat dim and candlelit and would be romantic for a party of two. They were very attentive to the young lady in our party and made her feel very special, however, they do not offer a children's menu. Some of the dishes we had were excellent and some not to our liking. The food presentation was very nice. One of our favorites was Penne Venezia. It had a delicious sun-dried tomato cream sauce with mushorooms and crab. Bites of this dish were shared around the table. The antipasto appetizer was very pretty and had a nice assortment of meats and vegetables. The stuffed mushrooms were also quite delicious. There was a nice variety of items on the menu as well as an extensive wine list. Our service was phenomenal. Drinks were refilled quickly. The server was very well versed on the specials and was very forthcoming with suggestions, humor and an award winning smile. We would definitely go back again.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5

Smaller portions than I am used to but v ...

Dined on January 21, 2016

Smaller portions than I am used to but very good food.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Joe's Review

Dined on January 12, 2016

Everything was great. I thought the wine pour by the glass was less than a normal 6oz pour. Other than that, great food, ambiance, scenery (ocean) and wait staff...

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Fresh ingredients and great taste

Dined on January 8, 2016

We tried some drinks and pasta dishes. The cannelonis are made to order so it takes a little longer but the food was great. Service was excellent.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Underwhelming!

Dined on January 1, 2016

Overall our visit/meal was just OK. We went for a second time for sentimental reasons (we married on the beach in front of the restaurant 2 years ago) but we decided it was our final visit. Food was just OK (an old menu not executed well) and service was only fair to slow. The Duval street location, we believe, is a much better restaurant and we'll be going there in the future and skipping Oceanside. In our opinion, it's not worth the cab fare there and back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great Italian

Dined on December 31, 2015

This is a nice Italian restaurant. Picked this one because I didn't want to fight the parking situation on Duval Street. Nice, quaint little restaurant. Food was good, and was promptly served which was a big surprise. Spare ribs was soft and moist, seasoned perfectly.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.