About La Trattoria Oceanside

3593 S Roosevelt Blvd
Key West, FL 33040
View Larger Map

Serving Authentic Italian Cuisine in Key West. Overlooking the beautiful and neverending Atlantic Ocean enjoy the ambiance as all of your entrees are prepared to order using only the freshest sesfood and quality ingredients available. After you've had any of our specialty desserts enjoy a romantic stroll along the Atlantic seawall as you watch the beautiful sunset or gaze at the beauty of night, Stars everywhere.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Open 7 nights a week
5pm to 10pm

Cross Street:
Next to Airport and Benihana

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(305) 295-6789

Website:
http://www.latrattoria.us/

Parking Details:
Parking in rear.

Executive Chef:
Chef Ross Bock

Additional:
Bar Dining, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

La Trattoria Oceanside Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (46)
Scenic View (40)
Good for a Date (39)
See All
Romantic (38)
Good for Anniversaries (33)
Special Occasion (32)
Good for Birthdays (24)
Quiet Conversation (21)
Cozy (17)
Casual (14)
Authentic (14)
Notable Wine List (12)
Bar Seating (11)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Worth the Drive (11)
Local Ingredients (10)
Good for Groups (10)
Business Meals (9)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Outstanding Value (8)
Comfort Food (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Fun (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Family Style (4)
Healthy (3)
Seasonal (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Happy Hour (2)
People Watching (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Historic (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Spicy (1)
Tapas (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
419 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 3 days ago

The service was extremely slow my entree came out 15 minutes before my husband's did. And the $9 key lime pie was a small sliver not worth the money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Key West)·Dined 4 days ago

Too dark couldn't see our food. Like eating with the power off

Was not impressed with food very small portion .

Would never go back

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 4 days ago

Watch out for the prices of the martinis, they were a lot more expensive than they should have been

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 5 days ago

I usually like this place...it was very slow this time and the food was just ok.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Key West)·Dined 6 days ago

Consistently good, I really like the vitello picatta and the cannelloni.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined 7 days ago

Great food, service and atmosphere! La Trattoria Oceanside is highly recommended!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Key West)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The dishes are outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on February 12, 2017

It was convenient to our hotel so we tried it. The menu offered mostly pasta dishes but they did have seafood and some meats and poultry. It was good but not great.

The antipasto appetizer was a home run but would have liked to have more crustini served with it.

Tags: Waterfront, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

When we arrived I was perturbed but this restaurant was a pleasant surprise. I wanted a table on the window and didn't get it. My wife pointed out, by the way, the view from any table on the porch is great. She was right. Actually where we sat was good for people watching and a beautiful view of the water. I opened the menu and was disappointed at the limited selection. But coming from New Haven and knowing excellent Italian, the selections they had all looking like something I would eat. We ordered carpaccio and a caprese salad. Both were excellent. I had veal piccata and my wife had the hog fish special. Both were excellent. The wine list was limited. The decor needs attention. Take down the faded photos! The inside appears drab and in need of a make over but the food was spot on.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Key West)·Dined on February 10, 2017

The food, atmosphere and service were excellent. It was delightful to be able to carry on a conversation comfortably. The staff were members were all efficient, polite and pleasant. Our table as ready when we arrived a few minutes before our reserved time. Even when full, the noise level was low.

We all enjoyed the food that was fresh, plentiful and well prepared.

Our favorite dinner place in Key West.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Great food, we asked the chef to make our favorite pasta dish, what was brought out tasted exactly how we like it.

An Awesome chef is behind the kitchen doors. We will return! Thank you

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Key West)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Everything was great, as usual. The occasion was just a nice romantic date with my wife. La Trattoria fit the bill perfectly.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Key West)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Good food, good service, and good value! We will keep going back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on February 4, 2017

My wife and I were on vacation and wanted to revisit this venue. We had enjoyed the experience last year. This year was similarly enjoyable. We arrived as a large group did but were handled efficiently an seated promptly. Service was attentive and carrying. The food was excellent and presented well. All in all, a very pleasant experience and one that is worthy of trying.

Definitely worth recommending to others.

Tags: Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Key West)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Great meal.. ..thank you for the $25 gift coupon .

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Good food, but slow slow slow service on this night

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 3, 2017

If I could have chosen zero stars I would have. First they didn't honor our 7:30 reservation and made us wait, then, when we were finally seated the table was extremely cramped, tiny and there was no room to even move. We were given menus but it was so dark we needed to use the flashlight app on the phone to read them. The waiter's accent was so thick we had no idea what he was saying and it took an HOUR to get our meals. Not good!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 3, 2017

There was a moderate amount of customers that night but we had to wait a while for our hors d'oeuvres and then we had to wait again for another hour for actual food to be served , which was kind of cool. We had to send back some of it to be reheated. It was very good though. But it was some of the best Italian food we had.

Tags: Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Key West)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Very nice waterfront dining room. Excellent food and service. Good wine list.

Tags: Romantic, Waterfront, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Excellent food - highly recommended!! Nice window seat for two - came to celebrate my birthday - fabulous flaming tiramisu was a wonderful surprise!! Don't miss this one - made a reservation on open table same day

Tags: Scenic View, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Key West)·Dined on February 1, 2017

La Trattoria never fails us. The service is always great, the view is perfection. The food is always so very good. I thoroughly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Casual, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Waterfront, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Food and drinks were really good.We have been there before and always happy

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Key West)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We love "La Trot". It's a really great change from the noisy hustle bustle of most of Key West. Always a friendly greeting. You can count on the food to be good and the service to be excellent!

Tags: Fun, Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Had not been to that location before. Was wonderful with 2 small bits of feedback. First, we waited a little too long before being greeted once we were at our table, and it was my sense that there was some confusion as to the server assigned. Also we would have preferred our break to be warmer. Neither of these items will stop us from returning. I had the hog fish special which was delicious. My wife had lasagne which also was terrific.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Key West)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Service was very slow. Waiter was forgetful and wasn't attentive barely saw him after he took our order.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 26, 2017

The restaurant had an extensive menu plus great specials. Everything we ordered was delicious and plentiful. Our waitress was great and very helpful.

Tags: Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Key West)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Wonderful meal, excellent service and terrific views. My only negative is that it was very noisy.

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 22, 2017

La Trattoria Oceanside is an excellent, out-of-the-way Key West Italian restaurant located on the south side of the island near the airport. My wife and I have dined there two times and both times were quite impressed. The service was friendly and the food was excellent. Typical Italian dishes but with many unusual items available. (The last time I ate there I had shrimp and mussels in a Fra Diavolo sauce - great!)

Tags: Healthy, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Romantic, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Key West)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Wonderful food and service, with a great view of the gusting windy ocean just across the Boulevard. Hogfish special among the best I've ever tasted in my 20 years here. Server gave us a free dessert for my wife's birthday, though we did not know that was offered.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Key West)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Great place to eat and relax food excellent and service as well

Tags: Business Meals, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Here on our yearly vacation and eating here is a must for us. Food and service is always a 5 star. And the drinks are great as well. Already thinking of next year.

Tags: Disabled Access, Happy Hour, Cozy, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Key West)·Dined on January 18, 2017

This gem is located right next door to the Hyatt Residence Club. Simple walk over. Evan, our waiter was excellent & Stephanie at the bar makes fabulous martini drinks! The food was very good & the tiramisu was excellent. So good that we visited twice this week! Worth a try.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Waterfront, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 17, 2017

We were getting tired of fish and needed Italian while visiting KW. Coming from NY we are hard to please. I was happy with the entrees, the homeade pasta was excellent, good salad and bread, cannolis were good. Service was EXCELLENT -our waiter was attentive and professional. Considering this is FL not NY they did a great job! would recommend.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Key West)·Dined on January 16, 2017

This was a friends birthday and I certainly picked the right place to celebrate at. Food and service were both great.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The food and service excellent. It was my best meal in Key West.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 12, 2017

My wife and I have a wonderful quiet evening dining at this wonderful restaurant and would highly recommend it to anyone looking for an evening of relaxation and great food.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Key West)·Dined on January 11, 2017

The food is outstanding. We always have a great meal and time when we dine there.

Tags: Waterfront, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Cool atmosphere, great food, incredible service. Staff were very attentive and polite.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Key West)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Good Italian food with very attentive service, I would recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Key West)·Dined on January 9, 2017

We got a great table with Oceanside view, outstanding food and service,

Thank You!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Key West)·Dined on January 8, 2017

always is good at oceanside or on duvall your choice

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Food is basic Italian, nicely presented in a scenic setting. Fish entree was prepared very well. Dinner for two with cocktails and a split of wine (including appetizers and one dessert) cost close to $200. Although our dining was an enjoyable experience, there's better quality and value available elsewhere in Key West.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Key West)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We had a great experience with food and service and ambiance Until a family with 3 young children were seated right next to us and the screaming began! This is not a "cheap" place to eat and the staff should have known better than to seat this family in the main dining area, they should have put them in the other dining area where they wouldn't have been so disruptive. I noticed many tables turning their heads and looking at this situation unpleasantly as did I. Also, shame on those parents! I'm a parent and I would never subject other people to that.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Delicious authentic Italian. Great wine and drink menu.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Key West)·Dined on January 6, 2017

We arrived early for our 7:30 reservation. We were seated immediately by a very friendly Hostess. We were greeted by our waiter within a couple of minutes. We split the Escargot appetizer which was excellent. My wife ordered the Hogfish Special, I the Canneloni. Both entrees we cooked to perfection, delicious and generous portions. (We both took half home with us).

Always exceeds expectations at LaTrattoria Oceanside.

Thank you.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Key West)·Dined on January 3, 2017

The food was excellent and the service was helpful, prompt and efficient. A great atmosphere across from the ocean was very relaxing as well. The La Trattoria Resturant is a great restaurant for a special occasion or for and everyday meal as well.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Not what it used to be. Just another checkered table cloth Italian restaurant flirting with upscale. Pasta was over cooked, service really non existant if you were not a large table drinking heavily. Have been there several times, probably wont be back for a long time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Eggplant app good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We've enjoyed many meals at La Trattoria -- especially on South Roosevelt. We like the atmosphere here much better than the crowded, noisy and too-busy LaTrattoria on Duval Street. The menu is excellent with many choices including local seafood cooked in the Italian style. The servers are friendly and very helpful -- they aim to please.

Tags: Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We throughly enjoyed our dinner there! Excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.