About La Thai

4938 Prytania St
New Orleans, LA 70115
View Larger Map

Come experience the culinary traditions of Southeast Asia. Savor the delicious and tantalizing flavors of Thai cuisine with a Louisiana flair, in a fun and inviting atmosphere. From the traditional to the contemporary, our dishes will invigorate the senses and delight the soul.

Whether it's hosting a private party or providing catering, La Thai is available to provide impeccable and professional services for all of your event and catering needs.

With comfortable seating up to 75 people, our Special Events Room is a great space for your next corporate lunch, private party, or social gathering. The unique and inviting space is the perfect venue for any occasion and will surely impress co-workers, guests, and friends.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Asian, Seafood, Thai

Hours of Operation:
OPEN 7 DAYS A WEEK


Lunch:

Tuesday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm


Dinner:

Sunday & Monday : 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Tuesday-Saturday 5:00pm-10:00pm



Happy Hour


Monday - Friday: 5:00pm - 7:00pm

1/2 off select beer, wine & cocktails
$5-$8 small bites menu!

Cross Street:
Robert St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 899-8886

Website:
http://www.lathaiuptown.com/

Catering:
For your catering needs, we provide dependable and professional service, with elegantly arranged dishes and the highest level of quality. Make your next event a great success with food that will leave a lasting impression.

Private Party Facilities:
Whether it's hosting a private party or providing catering, La Thai is available to provide impeccable and professional services for all of your event and catering needs. With comfortable seating up to 75 people, our Special Events Room is a great space for your next special occasion.

Private Party Contact:
Wendy Barry- Special Events Coordinator: 5042238965

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

La Thai
summer rolls
Pecan Crusted Oyster Salad topped with lump crab
Mama's Stuffed Chicken Wings
Tuna tataki
Tuna Tataki Salad
Red Velvet Cake
Coconut Shrimp
crab cake
Spring Rolls
Hendrick's Cube Cocktail
Veggie Spring Roll
Shu Mai
Drunken Noodles
Seafood Curry
Cheesecake
Duck Delight
Pecan Crusted Redfish
Massaman Chicken Curry
Phad Thai
Paht Thai
Thai Jumbo Shrimp
Tom Kar Gai Soup
fried chicken wings stuffed with pork dumpling meat
shrimp pad thai
Mango Sticky Rice
Sea Scallops & Shrimp
Pad Thai
Crawfish Red Curry
Mussels And Fries
House Salad
Skewerless Chicken Sate
Crab Three Ways
Tom Yum Goong
La Oysters
Thai Fried Rice

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Mon - Fri 5:00PM - 5:45PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

La Thai Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.1

ambience

3.9

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

neighborhood gem (23)
fit for foodies (18)
good for groups (17)
See All
special occasion (17)
great for lunch (11)
romantic (10)
kid-friendly (9)
vibrant bar scene (5)
hot spot (4)
late-night find (3)
notable wine list (2)
great for brunch (2)
Sort By:
Newest
230 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Delicious. I wish I remember our servers ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Delicious. I wish I remember our servers name...maybe Wendy, regardless she was great!!!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Ordered an appetizer initially. Took a ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Ordered an appetizer initially. Took a long time but when it came it was good. Before we were halfway through she brought the entrees. When I asked why she didn't wait until we were finished with our appetizer, she said she brought the entrees when they were ready and said "you don't want them to get cold do you" in a very snippy way. Server was rude and ignored us through the meal and I had to spend an inordinate amount of time just getting the check.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Was just ok, service was AWEFUL. I order ...

vip
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Was just ok, service was AWEFUL. I ordered the Spicy Thai Basil which comes with Chicken and Shrimp and the forgot to included the shrimp🙄. So I mentioned it and 30 minutes later here comes the owner with the shrimp in a cup🤔🤔. Will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

It's been at least a year a year ago I'v ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

It's been at least a year a year ago I've dined at La Thai. I remember my experiences more enjoyable than today. Restaurant had an awful sewer smell. Hot & humid. One of the AC units went out per waitress. I noticed the restaurant wasn't as crowded as previous times I've visited. I thought maybe because it's a Monday. Waitress was inexperienced & inattentive. Ordered glass noodles for my 2 year old daughter, received rice noodles instead. Informed waitress, she was very adimant it was glass noodles. I'm Asian, I'm very familiar with rice & glass noodles. Requested for her to ask the kitchen & clearly they confirmed I received rice noodles. Received correct order but the noodles were broken in pieces & were overly sweet. My husband ordered pineapple fried rice. Needless to say, everyone's food came out but his. Asked waitress if she put in the order, she came back to the table & said she accidentally deleted his order. Received our check, waitress writes in the tip line more than 20%. I've never experienced this service ever. I understand parties of 6 or more, you're automatically charged an 18% tip but it's included in the check, not written in. To top it off, she was supposed to tip on pretax amount, not subtotal amount. Will never return to this restaurant. Food quality & service is not how I remembered it to be.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Good food and friendly staff

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Good food and friendly staff

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

This was our first visit to La Thai, and ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

This was our first visit to La Thai, and cannot wait to go back. Our waitress was Lori , who was very helpful and offered good suggestions from the menu. Cucumber Cosmo was very refreshing .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The drunken noodles were killer. Got the ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

The drunken noodles were killer. Got them "spicy." The tuna appetizer was also bomb.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nothing bad, but also nothing really ex ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Nothing bad, but also nothing really exceptional. We (a party of 4 friends who eat out together a lot) personally prefer Sukho Thai - a lot. Perhaps LaThai is supposed to be fusion, but they don't really seem to be that either.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

We enjoyed our dinner. The atmosphere wa ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

We enjoyed our dinner. The atmosphere was nice, the service was very good and the food was excellent. The owner came out and greated us, we enjoyed that also. I would recommend La Thai to friends.

Tags: special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The smell going in was horrible.

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

The smell going in was horrible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service5

This is more Americanized Thai rather th ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

This is more Americanized Thai rather than Authentic. We began our meal with summer rolls. The peanut sauce was mixed with sweet and sour. We enjoyed it but the portion was more of a tapas serving than a sharing appetizer. My husband ordered the yellow curry, I ordered paht Thai chicken only and my daughter had the 3.5oz filet on the children's menu. My daughters filet was rare even though we said medium and the cut was terrible. It tasted like liver. Children don't eat meat that tastes like liver. So she had a very expensive (for a children's meal) plate of French fries. My paht Thai wasn't bad. I nixed the shrimp and had double chicken I'm glad I did because the amount of chicken served wasn't enough for my noodles. Unless, they forgot to add extra chicken which is a possibility. Lastly, my husband took two bites of his curry. He said it was very salty without any other flavors. The only redeeming factor was the service. It wasn't spectacular by any means, the waitress kept having to come back and clarify our order because she'd scamper off every time we finished a sentence. She didn't even mention the fact that we left our meals whole. That leads me to believe either she's seen it enough before to know the food isn't great or she's not a great server. Either way, we won't return and would vehemently discourage anyone thinking of having a meal at La Thai Uptown.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

The duck delight is really good.We also ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

The duck delight is really good.We also had the crab 3 way was delicious also!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious Thai-inpsired food. Great cal ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Delicious Thai-inpsired food. Great calamari. Interesting Pad Thai-not what I'm used to but delicious.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Great Spot for Good Eats

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

La Thai is a great place for dining on "Asian" food with a twist. We especially like to order a variety of the appetizers seated at the bar. The staff is always attentive and friendly. Prices are pretty reasonable and with good portions. One of our favorite Uptown area eateries.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Best Thai in Town?

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Overall the meal was great. The service was quick almost too quick. We were presented with appetizers, drinks, and entrees in a flash that there was none of the normal restaurant layover time to talk. I haven't determined if this was good or bad thing. Food was very delicious with excellent presentation. The cocktails were overpriced for the average consumer. The decor of the restaurant did not match the expected ambiance of that of a normal thai spot. However offered a refreshing ornate dining experience. Overall great choice and would recommend to others. I will be back.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value2

Food was great. Service a little slow co ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Food was great. Service a little slow considering restaurant was not crowded.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

They are trying but

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

The are very happy to make any dish on the menu veg or vegan which is a big plus. The eggplant starter was outstanding. The rest of the food was good but nothing special. The service was ok. There was a bit to much of the "How is everything?" type of check-in and not enough promptness in order taking.

The one thing that will keep me from ever going back, however, was the noise level. My wife and I practically had to shout at each other to carry on a conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Food is always good.

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

Food is always good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

I love this place it's Thai food with a ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

I love this place it's Thai food with a Cajun twist!! I've tried several Thai places and they're by far the best!!!!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good appetizers, good food, good atmoshpere!

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Located in a nice spot in uptown New Orleans Garden District off Prytania next door to Creole Creamery. The appetizers were delicious and the recommended entree, Crab 3 Ways, is excellent!!! Great service. The ambience is nice, not too loud, with low lighting (but not too low). Perfect restaurant for a "date night."

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Our meals were delightful and very tasty ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Our meals were delightful and very tasty. Great service and ambiance.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Excellent food and equally excellent ser ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on April 12, 2016

Excellent food and equally excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of our favorite places to eat. There ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

One of our favorite places to eat. There are a variety of options - we brought some picky eaters and all where satisfied with there choices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Great Thai restaurant

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

It is very good. Much better than a typical thai restaurant in the US. The only drawback is that the prices are quite high for a thai restaurant.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Egg roll stuffed chicken wings? Amazing!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 30, 2016

Egg roll stuffed chicken wings? Amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Delicious Thai food with local influence ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on March 15, 2016

Delicious Thai food with local influence. Always great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was full of authentic Thai ingr ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on March 15, 2016

The food was full of authentic Thai ingredients!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

The lunch dishes we have had and the sou ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on March 15, 2016

The lunch dishes we have had and the soup were surprisingly good. The service was super friendly. I will come back and not once!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great dining experience with delicious f ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

Great dining experience with delicious food. I had the ThaiCoon which was filled with seafood. The crab cakes were filled with plenty of crab meat.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Always our "go to" spot especially with ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

Always our "go to" spot especially with kids. The food is always consistent and wait staff is always attentive. Great cocktails and great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Great Food @ La Thai

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

One of my favorite restaurants in New Orleans. Great food and service. I can't eat here enough! I love La Thai

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent. Had the spring rolls ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

Food was excellent. Had the spring rolls, coconut shrimp, and the Panang Shrimp. The flavored were spot on.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

This was our second visit to this restau ...

vip
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

This was our second visit to this restaurant and our meals were just as good as the first time. We also had Cory as our server again. He is very attentive to our needs and always makes good menu recommendations. We'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Awesome as Always!!

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

Awesome as Always!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

cold, loud, and busy staff but food was very good

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

The building has a concrete floor and open ceiling and was quite noisy and cold when we were there. The fish was done perfectly, the portions are not too large, which I appreciate. The staff was pleasant but maybe overworked as the appetizer came out very fast, but then there was probably 30 min. before the entree, and hard to get his attention to get the bill. Overall good food but there are so many amazing places to eat in New Orleans, I don't think we'll be back anytime soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

Solid Thai Fusion

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

La Thai offers outstanding Thai food but with a South Louisiana twist to some dishes. Traditional Thai is very good and the creative dishes shine. On a recent visit I ordered surf and turf special, which while a bit pricey, was stellar. A tender, flavorful filet mignon topped with a fried softshell crab and some lump crabmeat! Wow. Getting again just writing about it. Service was attentive without being too fussy.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

we wanted ice cream with our dessert and ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

we wanted ice cream with our dessert and were informed that we would have to buy it next door, at the ice cream shop. Not what we wanted to hear.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

The New Orleans Thai fusion food is simp ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

The New Orleans Thai fusion food is simply delicious...and the service was wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great food, service, and atmosphere

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on February 12, 2016

Was my first visit, and was a great one. I am a curry fanatic, and their red was among the best I've ever had. Great, attentive service and though they were out of my date's favorite wine, the substitute they recommended was very good. Definitely will come back and recommend it to my friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was very good. Great location in q ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on February 6, 2016

Food was very good. Great location in quiet Uptown neighborhood.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.