About La Thai

4938 Prytania St
New Orleans, LA 70115
View Larger Map

Come experience the culinary traditions of Southeast Asia. Savor the delicious and tantalizing flavors of Thai cuisine with a Louisiana flair, in a fun and inviting atmosphere. From the traditional to the contemporary, our dishes will invigorate the senses and delight the soul.

Whether it's hosting a private party or providing catering, La Thai is available to provide impeccable and professional services for all of your event and catering needs.

With comfortable seating up to 75 people, our Special Events Room is a great space for your next corporate lunch, private party, or social gathering. The unique and inviting space is the perfect venue for any occasion and will surely impress co-workers, guests, and friends.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Asian, Seafood, Thai

Hours of Operation:
OPEN 7 DAYS A WEEK


Lunch:

Tuesday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm


Dinner:

Sunday & Monday : 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Tuesday-Saturday 5:00pm-10:00pm



Happy Hour


Monday - Friday: 5:00pm - 7:00pm

1/2 off select beer, wine & cocktails
$5-$8 small bites menu!

Cross Street:
Robert St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 899-8886

Website:
http://www.lathaiuptown.com/

Catering:
For your catering needs, we provide dependable and professional service, with elegantly arranged dishes and the highest level of quality. Make your next event a great success with food that will leave a lasting impression.

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

La Thai
summer rolls
Pecan Crusted Oyster Salad topped with lump crab
Mama's Stuffed Chicken Wings
Tuna tataki
Red Velvet Cake
Coconut Shrimp
Tuna Tataki Salad
crab cake
Spring Rolls
Seafood Curry
Duck Delight
Drunken Noodles
Shu Mai
Hendrick's Cube Cocktail
Veggie Spring Roll
Cheesecake
Pecan Crusted Redfish
Massaman Chicken Curry
Phad Thai
Paht Thai
Thai Jumbo Shrimp
Tom Kar Gai Soup
fried chicken wings stuffed with pork dumpling meat
shrimp pad thai
Mango Sticky Rice
Sea Scallops & Shrimp
Pad Thai
Crawfish Red Curry
Mussels And Fries
House Salad
Skewerless Chicken Sate
Crab Three Ways
Tom Yum Goong
La Oysters
Thai Fried Rice

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 6:00PM

Tue - Thu 5:00PM - 6:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Whether it's hosting a private party or providing catering, La Thai is available to provide impeccable and professional services for all of your event and catering needs. With comfortable seating up to 75 people, our Special Events Room is a great space for your next special occasion.

La Thai Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
New Orleans
Best Restaurants in Uptown ›

neighborhood gem (24)
fit for foodies (20)
good for groups (19)
See All
special occasion (17)
great for lunch (14)
romantic (11)
kid-friendly (8)
hot spot (6)
vibrant bar scene (6)
great for brunch (3)
late-night find (3)
notable wine list (2)
Sort By:
Newest
225 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5

This was our first visit to La Thai, and ...

Dined 5 days ago

This was our first visit to La Thai, and cannot wait to go back. Our waitress was Lori , who was very helpful and offered good suggestions from the menu. Cucumber Cosmo was very refreshing .

food5
ambience5
service5

The drunken noodles were killer. Got the ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

The drunken noodles were killer. Got them "spicy." The tuna appetizer was also bomb.

food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Nothing bad, but also nothing really ex ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Nothing bad, but also nothing really exceptional. We (a party of 4 friends who eat out together a lot) personally prefer Sukho Thai - a lot. Perhaps LaThai is supposed to be fusion, but they don't really seem to be that either.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We enjoyed our dinner. The atmosphere wa ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

We enjoyed our dinner. The atmosphere was nice, the service was very good and the food was excellent. The owner came out and greated us, we enjoyed that also. I would recommend La Thai to friends.

Tags: special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience1
service5

The smell going in was horrible.

Dined on June 13, 2016

The smell going in was horrible.

food1
ambience4
service4
value1

This is more Americanized Thai rather th ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

This is more Americanized Thai rather than Authentic. We began our meal with summer rolls. The peanut sauce was mixed with sweet and sour. We enjoyed it but the portion was more of a tapas serving than a sharing appetizer. My husband ordered the yellow curry, I ordered paht Thai chicken only and my daughter had the 3.5oz filet on the children's menu. My daughters filet was rare even though we said medium and the cut was terrible. It tasted like liver. Children don't eat meat that tastes like liver. So she had a very expensive (for a children's meal) plate of French fries. My paht Thai wasn't bad. I nixed the shrimp and had double chicken I'm glad I did because the amount of chicken served wasn't enough for my noodles. Unless, they forgot to add extra chicken which is a possibility. Lastly, my husband took two bites of his curry. He said it was very salty without any other flavors. The only redeeming factor was the service. It wasn't spectacular by any means, the waitress kept having to come back and clarify our order because she'd scamper off every time we finished a sentence. She didn't even mention the fact that we left our meals whole. That leads me to believe either she's seen it enough before to know the food isn't great or she's not a great server. Either way, we won't return and would vehemently discourage anyone thinking of having a meal at La Thai Uptown.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The duck delight is really good.We also ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

The duck delight is really good.We also had the crab 3 way was delicious also!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Delicious Thai-inpsired food. Great cal ...

vip
Dined on June 3, 2016

Delicious Thai-inpsired food. Great calamari. Interesting Pad Thai-not what I'm used to but delicious.

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great Spot for Good Eats

Dined on May 29, 2016

La Thai is a great place for dining on "Asian" food with a twist. We especially like to order a variety of the appetizers seated at the bar. The staff is always attentive and friendly. Prices are pretty reasonable and with good portions. One of our favorite Uptown area eateries.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service5
value2

Best Thai in Town?

Dined on May 29, 2016

Overall the meal was great. The service was quick almost too quick. We were presented with appetizers, drinks, and entrees in a flash that there was none of the normal restaurant layover time to talk. I haven't determined if this was good or bad thing. Food was very delicious with excellent presentation. The cocktails were overpriced for the average consumer. The decor of the restaurant did not match the expected ambiance of that of a normal thai spot. However offered a refreshing ornate dining experience. Overall great choice and would recommend to others. I will be back.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service3

Food was great. Service a little slow co ...

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

Food was great. Service a little slow considering restaurant was not crowded.

food3
ambience2
service2
value2

They are trying but

Dined on May 22, 2016

The are very happy to make any dish on the menu veg or vegan which is a big plus. The eggplant starter was outstanding. The rest of the food was good but nothing special. The service was ok. There was a bit to much of the "How is everything?" type of check-in and not enough promptness in order taking. The one thing that will keep me from ever going back, however, was the noise level. My wife and I practically had to shout at each other to carry on a conversation.

food4
ambience3
service3

Food is always good.

vip
Dined on May 19, 2016

Food is always good.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love this place it's Thai food with a ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

I love this place it's Thai food with a Cajun twist!! I've tried several Thai places and they're by far the best!!!!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Good appetizers, good food, good atmoshpere!

Dined on May 1, 2016

Located in a nice spot in uptown New Orleans Garden District off Prytania next door to Creole Creamery. The appetizers were delicious and the recommended entree, Crab 3 Ways, is excellent!!! Great service. The ambience is nice, not too loud, with low lighting (but not too low). Perfect restaurant for a "date night."

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Our meals were delightful and very tasty ...

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

Our meals were delightful and very tasty. Great service and ambiance.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and equally excellent ser ...

vip
Dined on April 12, 2016

Excellent food and equally excellent service.

food4
ambience5
service4

One of our favorite places to eat. There ...

Dined on April 3, 2016

One of our favorite places to eat. There are a variety of options - we brought some picky eaters and all where satisfied with there choices.

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great Thai restaurant

vip
Dined on April 3, 2016

It is very good. Much better than a typical thai restaurant in the US. The only drawback is that the prices are quite high for a thai restaurant.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5

Egg roll stuffed chicken wings? Amazing!

Dined on March 30, 2016

Egg roll stuffed chicken wings? Amazing!

food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious Thai food with local influence ...

vip
Dined on March 15, 2016

Delicious Thai food with local influence. Always great.

food5
ambience5
service4

The food was full of authentic Thai ingr ...

vip
Dined on March 15, 2016

The food was full of authentic Thai ingredients!

food5
ambience5
service5

The lunch dishes we have had and the sou ...

vip
Dined on March 15, 2016

The lunch dishes we have had and the soup were surprisingly good. The service was super friendly. I will come back and not once!

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great dining experience with delicious f ...

vip
Dined on March 12, 2016

Great dining experience with delicious food. I had the ThaiCoon which was filled with seafood. The crab cakes were filled with plenty of crab meat.

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience4
service5

Always our "go to" spot especially with ...

Dined on March 12, 2016

Always our "go to" spot especially with kids. The food is always consistent and wait staff is always attentive. Great cocktails and great food!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Food @ La Thai

Dined on February 28, 2016

One of my favorite restaurants in New Orleans. Great food and service. I can't eat here enough! I love La Thai

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience3
service5

Food was excellent. Had the spring rolls ...

Dined on February 28, 2016

Food was excellent. Had the spring rolls, coconut shrimp, and the Panang Shrimp. The flavored were spot on.

food4
ambience3
service5

This was our second visit to this restau ...

vip
Dined on February 21, 2016

This was our second visit to this restaurant and our meals were just as good as the first time. We also had Cory as our server again. He is very attentive to our needs and always makes good menu recommendations. We'll be back.

food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome as Always!!

Dined on February 21, 2016

Awesome as Always!!

food4
ambience2
service3
value3

cold, loud, and busy staff but food was very good

Dined on February 15, 2016

The building has a concrete floor and open ceiling and was quite noisy and cold when we were there. The fish was done perfectly, the portions are not too large, which I appreciate. The staff was pleasant but maybe overworked as the appetizer came out very fast, but then there was probably 30 min. before the entree, and hard to get his attention to get the bill. Overall good food but there are so many amazing places to eat in New Orleans, I don't think we'll be back anytime soon.

food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Solid Thai Fusion

Dined on February 14, 2016

La Thai offers outstanding Thai food but with a South Louisiana twist to some dishes. Traditional Thai is very good and the creative dishes shine. On a recent visit I ordered surf and turf special, which while a bit pricey, was stellar. A tender, flavorful filet mignon topped with a fried softshell crab and some lump crabmeat! Wow. Getting again just writing about it. Service was attentive without being too fussy.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

we wanted ice cream with our dessert and ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

we wanted ice cream with our dessert and were informed that we would have to buy it next door, at the ice cream shop. Not what we wanted to hear.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

The New Orleans Thai fusion food is simp ...

Dined on February 13, 2016

The New Orleans Thai fusion food is simply delicious...and the service was wonderful.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, service, and atmosphere

Dined on February 12, 2016

Was my first visit, and was a great one. I am a curry fanatic, and their red was among the best I've ever had. Great, attentive service and though they were out of my date's favorite wine, the substitute they recommended was very good. Definitely will come back and recommend it to my friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4

Food was very good. Great location in q ...

Dined on February 6, 2016

Food was very good. Great location in quiet Uptown neighborhood.

food2
ambience4
service4
value3

We had a group of 8 and the service was ...

Dined on January 24, 2016

We had a group of 8 and the service was really good. Appetizers were great but the meals were just okay. Of the 8 no one raved about the meal but all left satisfied.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

My husband and I love La Thai! We go as ...

Dined on January 24, 2016

My husband and I love La Thai! We go as many times as we can! I love the Garlic Chicken!

food5
ambience4
service5

Great service, great food, fun time fo ...

Dined on January 16, 2016

Great service, great food, fun time for out group

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

La Tahi is always good!

vip
Dined on January 10, 2016

The entries are always delicious and complex. This time we got the more standard fare: crab cakes and Phat Woon Sen. And they were delicious as well! Good service, nice wine list. We will return.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service5

First time at this location. Was lookin ...

vip
Dined on December 30, 2015

First time at this location. Was looking for a nice northern Italian restaurant. Very nice corner location near French market. The wait staff was very friendly and helpful. We had bruchetta which was fresh and tasted great! Our main dishes were the Italian sausage pasta and lasagna both were very good. The chocolate "cookie" and lemon desert were both excellent. Would definitely go back.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.