About La Thai

4938 Prytania St
New Orleans, LA 70115
View Larger Map

Savor the delicious and tantalizing flavors of Thai cuisine with a Louisiana flair, in a fun and inviting atmosphere at La Thai. From the traditional to the contemporary, our dishes will invigorate the senses and delight the soul.

"Nit Noi" is our sit down bar/lounge area with a special small plates menu. Nit Noi means "little bit" in Thai. The idea is to relax with craft cocktails and enjoy small bites while hanging out with friends, or a date night, or even watching sports at the bar or beautiful Nit Noi lounge.

Host your next event at La Thai with great space for your next corporate lunch, private party, or social gathering. The unique and inviting space is the perfect venue for any occasion and will surely impress co-workers, guests, and friends.

La Thai is available to provide impeccable and professional services for all of your catering needs at home, work, or on the go.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Asian, Seafood, Thai

Hours of Operation:
Lunch:
Thursday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner:
Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm
Closed Monday
Tuesday - Thursday : 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday -Saturday 4:00pm-10:30pm

Cross Street:
Robert St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 899-8886

Website:
http://www.lathaiuptown.com/

Catering:
For your catering needs, we provide dependable and professional service, with elegantly arranged dishes and the highest level of quality. Make your next event a great success with food that will leave a lasting impression.

Private Party Facilities:
Whether it's hosting a private party or providing catering, La Thai is available to provide impeccable and professional services for all of your event and catering needs. With comfortable seating up to 75 people, our Special Events Room is a great space for your next special occasion.

Private Party Contact:
Wendy Barry- Special Events Coordinator: (504) 223-8965

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Pecan Crusted Oyster Salad topped with lump crab - La Thai, New Orleans, LA
summer rolls - La Thai, New Orleans, LA
Mama's Stuffed Chicken Wings - La Thai, New Orleans, LA
Tuna tataki - La Thai, New Orleans, LA
Tuna Tataki Salad - La Thai, New Orleans, LA
Red Velvet Cake - La Thai, New Orleans, LA
Coconut Shrimp - La Thai, New Orleans, LA
crab cake - La Thai, New Orleans, LA
Spring Rolls - La Thai, New Orleans, LA
Hendrick's Cube Cocktail - La Thai, New Orleans, LA
Veggie Spring Roll - La Thai, New Orleans, LA
Shu Mai - La Thai, New Orleans, LA
Drunken Noodles - La Thai, New Orleans, LA
Seafood Curry - La Thai, New Orleans, LA
Cheesecake - La Thai, New Orleans, LA
Duck Delight - La Thai, New Orleans, LA
Pecan Crusted Redfish - La Thai, New Orleans, LA
Massaman Chicken Curry - La Thai, New Orleans, LA
Phad Thai - La Thai, New Orleans, LA
Paht Thai  - La Thai, New Orleans, LA
Tom Kar Gai Soup - La Thai, New Orleans, LA
Thai Jumbo Shrimp - La Thai, New Orleans, LA
shrimp pad thai - La Thai, New Orleans, LA
fried chicken wings stuffed with pork dumpling meat - La Thai, New Orleans, LA
Mango Sticky Rice - La Thai, New Orleans, LA
Sea Scallops & Shrimp - La Thai, New Orleans, LA
Pad Thai - La Thai, New Orleans, LA
Crawfish Red Curry - La Thai, New Orleans, LA
Mussels And Fries - La Thai, New Orleans, LA
House Salad - La Thai, New Orleans, LA
Crab Three Ways - La Thai, New Orleans, LA
Skewerless Chicken Sate - La Thai, New Orleans, LA
Tom Yum Goong - La Thai, New Orleans, LA
Thai Fried Rice - La Thai, New Orleans, LA
La Oysters - La Thai, New Orleans, LA

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Fri 5:00PM - 5:45PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

La Thai Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.3

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
See All
Modern Decor (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Casual (6)
Special Occasion (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Authentic (5)
Spicy (5)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Romantic (4)
Healthy (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Fun (3)
Business Meals (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Live Sports (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Private Room (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Family Style (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Cozy (1)
Sort By:
S
270 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Always enjoy my experience here. Pineapp ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 6 days ago

Always enjoy my experience here. Pineapple fried rice is incredible! Wonderful service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The sea bass was spectacular! The restau ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 6 days ago

The sea bass was spectacular! The restaurant was clean and pretty. The service was adequate but nothing exceptional. Prices were a little high for the portion sizes but all dishes were delicious. I'll be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Romantic, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

La Thai consistently proves itself to be ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 7, 2017

La Thai consistently proves itself to be the best Thai restaurant in the city. This place looks good, the food tastes great and the drinks menu is mighty fine. Every dish we had this visit was delicious. Thoroughly recommended.

Tags: Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Calamari was delicious. The duck cubes i ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Calamari was delicious. The duck cubes in my entree were chewy instead of tender. Decent service my food came out so fast I was not able to adjust my order after finding out my app was huge for just one person. This helped to sour my experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

Love this place! Food and cocktails are ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Love this place! Food and cocktails are always amazing and the ambiance is great too! And, service is impeccable!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent and the service was g ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Food was excellent and the service was good in general, but one server brought our entrees much too soon, before we were done with our soups.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Very good to excellent food. We love the ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Very good to excellent food. We love the appetizers and the drinks. Would recommend it to a friend.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Quick Bite, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

The service is always impeccable. They m ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The service is always impeccable. They make you feel like family for sure. The food of course is awesome. We had calamari and spring rolls for apps. So good. We love dining here!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was my son's birthday and he wanted T ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 22, 2016

It was my son's birthday and he wanted Thai food. He loves La Thai so it was an easy choice of where to go. Neither he nor the other two of us were disappointed. The food is always great and because it was his birthday he received a piece of "birthday" cake (red velvet cake) with a candle. That made it truly special for him.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The food was awesome - fresh, flavorful ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 19, 2016

The food was awesome - fresh, flavorful, good variety of options, reasonable portions. One of my favorite reataurants.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Authentic, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My husband and I love this restaurant. ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 11, 2016

My husband and I love this restaurant. It's perfect for a date night. I had the Spring rolls and they were delicious. I also had the Tom Kar Gai soup and my husband had Hot &a Sour soup. Both were yummy. For an entree we split the Panko crusted Sea Bass. It was the perfect amount to split, and delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is always amazing at La Thai, a ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 7, 2016

The food is always amazing at La Thai, and I like the renovations. However, the service was really poor. At first, our server was nice and she gave great recommendations. Our food came out quickly, and she checked on us to see how everything was. After this, we never saw her again until she picked up the credit card we had left on the table. We had waited and waited for an extremely long time for any acknowledgement. She seemed to struggle with multi-tasking. It wasn't busy, but once she had an additional table to wait on and bring drinks to, she completely forgot us. We were there almost an hour and a half.

That being said, she was nice, and the food was delicious. That just concerned me -- what if it had been busy??

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Spicy, Quiet Conversation, Disabled Access, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value4

Some of the best Thai food in the city. ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 5, 2016

Some of the best Thai food in the city. Love it . Repeat repeat repeat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value5

Always a great dinner.

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Always a great dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love the crispy Calamari, great sauce i ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Love the crispy Calamari, great sauce in it. Ginger shrimp stir fry great flavor if you are a fan of ginger . Scallops is a good dish with large sea scallops .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Great service. A wonderful Thai restaura ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Great service. A wonderful Thai restaurant with a modern flair.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The redfin dish was terrific. We had a g ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 4, 2016

The redfin dish was terrific. We had a grilled chicken dish with sauce on the side that was quite bland (first item on the menu under chicken). Our server was great and everyone helped out so very attentive service. Very cold at front of the house but better in back where we were seated. Somewhat loud music. Very hip decor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

La Thai was very accommodating about pro ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 1, 2016

La Thai was very accommodating about providing gluten-free food.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been going to La Thai for years.. ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 30, 2016

I have been going to La Thai for years...have not been in awhile, and everything was off. Maybe it was just that night, I sure hope so!

Tags: Spicy, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Loved food as always. On this occasion o ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Loved food as always. On this occasion our server didn't keep up with our table. She took our appetizer order and didn't come back until I asked another server for her. By that time our appetizers had already come and done with.

Tags: Spicy, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

Food below expected, chicken with bad af ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Food below expected, chicken with bad aftertaste. Shrimp ok though. Will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

One of our favorite restaurants. Best Th ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 20, 2016

One of our favorite restaurants. Best Thai food in town!

And their renovations make it one of the prettiest, modern restaurants in town.

Diana and her "Mama" are SO friendly and welcoming!

Tags: Private Room, Fun, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Diana (the owner) and her crew were so g ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Diana (the owner) and her crew were so great to host our large party of 18. The staff was very attentive and accommodating. When we first arrived Diana came up to introduce herself to use and made sure we were well taken care of. For vegetarians and gluten free (legitimate ones, not the ones that pretend to be) diners there are so many options. Great food and good drinks. This is my 3rd time in New Orleans and I make sure to visit La Thai every time I'm in town.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Fun, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Food was amazing - fresh, delicious. The ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Food was amazing - fresh, delicious. The Tom yum soup is phenomenal as was the friedcalamari and coconut shrimp. Looking forward to going back and trying other options on the menu - a lot to choose from. The Rose cocktail with blood orange was delish as well.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Food was good. Service felt awkward but ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Food was good. Service felt awkward but experience was still enjoyable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Great place. Hidden gem. Local ingredien ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Great place. Hidden gem. Local ingredients. Big flavors. Awesome small plates.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Outstanding Value, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Private Room, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding meal that combines local in ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 15, 2016

Outstanding meal that combines local ingredients with traditional Thai cuisine. Great value. Beautiful restaurant. Friendly yet professional service. Great value.

Tags: Quick Bite, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Business Meals, Kid-friendly, People Watching, Private Room, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great as always, liked the addi ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Food was great as always, liked the additional menu items and service was great! The only complaint is that noise level was really loud and hard to have a conversation at our table

Tags: Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great food, but not a good idea to go to ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Great food, but not a good idea to go to La Thai 2nd day after renovations. A long wait for water, drink, and menu. Ran out of a few of their most favorite food items and the computers had some pricing problems. Had fun anyway and would go back again.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

My friend & I love La Thai. We come as o ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 9, 2016

My friend & I love La Thai. We come as often for lunch as possible. The service is always excellent. You cannot find any tastier seafood dishes and FRESH than here. We actually brought a small cake the last time and the girls were happy to put it in the frig for us until we were ready. They even put 3 candles on the cake and added a cake serving knife. It was my friends birthday and a send off as she was leaving for Rome & the Swiss Alps the next day.

Their new remodel is very nice giving a very inviting cocktail hour space.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was delicious.

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Food was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Love Thai food and LaThai did not disapp ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 7, 2016

Love Thai food and LaThai did not disappoint me. Was pleasantly surprised by cleanliness and appealing atmosphere. Will be back for lunch for sure!

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Larb Gai is awesome!

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 31, 2016

The Larb Gai is awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were a group of 6. We shared several ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 26, 2016

We were a group of 6. We shared several appetizers and entrees so we were able to try different things. Interestingly, we each liked something we didn't think we would. We will definitely go back and share again.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Delicious. I wish I remember our servers ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 3, 2016

Delicious. I wish I remember our servers name...maybe Wendy, regardless she was great!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Ordered an appetizer initially. Took a ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 30, 2016

Ordered an appetizer initially. Took a long time but when it came it was good. Before we were halfway through she brought the entrees. When I asked why she didn't wait until we were finished with our appetizer, she said she brought the entrees when they were ready and said "you don't want them to get cold do you" in a very snippy way. Server was rude and ignored us through the meal and I had to spend an inordinate amount of time just getting the check.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Was just ok, service was AWEFUL. I order ...

vip
 (Mississippi)·Dined on June 30, 2016

Was just ok, service was AWEFUL. I ordered the Spicy Thai Basil which comes with Chicken and Shrimp and the forgot to included the shrimp🙄. So I mentioned it and 30 minutes later here comes the owner with the shrimp in a cup🤔🤔. Will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

It's been at least a year a year ago I'v ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 28, 2016

It's been at least a year a year ago I've dined at La Thai. I remember my experiences more enjoyable than today. Restaurant had an awful sewer smell. Hot & humid. One of the AC units went out per waitress. I noticed the restaurant wasn't as crowded as previous times I've visited. I thought maybe because it's a Monday. Waitress was inexperienced & inattentive. Ordered glass noodles for my 2 year old daughter, received rice noodles instead. Informed waitress, she was very adimant it was glass noodles. I'm Asian, I'm very familiar with rice & glass noodles. Requested for her to ask the kitchen & clearly they confirmed I received rice noodles. Received correct order but the noodles were broken in pieces & were overly sweet. My husband ordered pineapple fried rice. Needless to say, everyone's food came out but his. Asked waitress if she put in the order, she came back to the table & said she accidentally deleted his order. Received our check, waitress writes in the tip line more than 20%. I've never experienced this service ever. I understand parties of 6 or more, you're automatically charged an 18% tip but it's included in the check, not written in. To top it off, she was supposed to tip on pretax amount, not subtotal amount. Will never return to this restaurant. Food quality & service is not how I remembered it to be.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Good food and friendly staff

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 26, 2016

Good food and friendly staff

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

This was our first visit to La Thai, and ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 25, 2016

This was our first visit to La Thai, and cannot wait to go back. Our waitress was Lori , who was very helpful and offered good suggestions from the menu. Cucumber Cosmo was very refreshing .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.