About La Tavola Trattoria

992 Virginia Avenue NE
Atlanta, GA 30306
View Larger Map

"Best Italian" - The Sunday Paper's Reader's Choice Awards. "Top 50 Restaurant" - Atlanta Journal-Constitution.

Exposed brick, dark wood floors & rustic colors give La Tavola its authentic trattoria feel, while progressive touches hint at its innovative cuisine. The food is simple yet creative, elegant & certainly delicious - the kind of food you could eat every day or turn into a celebration.

La Tavola also offers one of the city's most unique brunch menus. It is a can't miss!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
DINNER NIGHTLY;
Monday-Thursday, 5:30-10pm;
Friday-Saturday, 5:30pm-11pm;
Sunday, 5:30pm-10pm;

SUNDAY BRUNCH, 11am-3pm

Cross Street:
N. Highland Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(404) 873-5430

Website:
http://fifthgroup.com/

Catering:
La Tavola is owned by Fifth Group Restaurants which also owns Bold American Events & Catering. For more information on catering, please visit http://boldamerican.com.

Parking Details:
La Tavola offers valet parking across the street at Wells Fargo Bank after 5pm and a private parking lot behind the restaurant; street parking is also available.

Executive Chef:
Justin Jordan

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Molto Monday - Every Monday choose one of four special pastas for $10.

Lasagna Sunday - Every Sunday is Traditional Lasagna Bolognese for $10.

Restaurant Photos

La Tavola Trattoria, Atlanta, GA
La Tavola Trattoria, Atlanta, GA
La Tavola Trattoria, Atlanta, GA
La Tavola Trattoria, Atlanta, GA
La Tavola Trattoria, Atlanta, GA
Burrata With Fried Eggplant - La Tavola Trattoria, Atlanta, GA
Chicken Saltimbocca - La Tavola Trattoria, Atlanta, GA
Spaghetti - La Tavola Trattoria, Atlanta, GA
Meyer Lemon Olive Oil Cake - La Tavola Trattoria, Atlanta, GA
Ricotta Gnocchi With Rabbit Ragu - La Tavola Trattoria, Atlanta, GA
Braised Pork Belly Ravioli - La Tavola Trattoria, Atlanta, GA
Grilled Cotechino - La Tavola Trattoria, Atlanta, GA
Fiori D'arancio - La Tavola Trattoria, Atlanta, GA
Braised Wild Boar Shoulder - La Tavola Trattoria, Atlanta, GA
Smoked Salmon Crostini - La Tavola Trattoria, Atlanta, GA
Angelina, I Adore You Cocktail - La Tavola Trattoria, Atlanta, GA
Sausage & Eggs - La Tavola Trattoria, Atlanta, GA
Root Julep Cocktail - La Tavola Trattoria, Atlanta, GA
Bread & Butter - La Tavola Trattoria, Atlanta, GA
Manicotti - La Tavola Trattoria, Atlanta, GA
Octopus Salad - La Tavola Trattoria, Atlanta, GA
Grilled Octopus Salad - La Tavola Trattoria, Atlanta, GA
Fried Calamari - La Tavola Trattoria, Atlanta, GA
Roasted Trout W/ Walnut Agrodolce - La Tavola Trattoria, Atlanta, GA
Grilled Lamb Scottaditi - La Tavola Trattoria, Atlanta, GA
Salumi Plate - La Tavola Trattoria, Atlanta, GA
Bloody Mary - La Tavola Trattoria, Atlanta, GA
veal sweetbreads - La Tavola Trattoria, Atlanta, GA
Torte Di Mele - La Tavola Trattoria, Atlanta, GA
Black Linguine - La Tavola Trattoria, Atlanta, GA
Tiramisu - La Tavola Trattoria, Atlanta, GA
Mushroom Ragu - La Tavola Trattoria, Atlanta, GA
Baked Rigatoni - La Tavola Trattoria, Atlanta, GA
Ricotta Cavatelli & Ragu Alla Napoletana - La Tavola Trattoria, Atlanta, GA
Vanilla Panna Cotta - La Tavola Trattoria, Atlanta, GA
Rabbit Strozzapreti - La Tavola Trattoria, Atlanta, GA
Braised Tomato & Pork Cheek Crespelle - La Tavola Trattoria, Atlanta, GA
Flatiron Steak - La Tavola Trattoria, Atlanta, GA
Pan Di Spagna - La Tavola Trattoria, Atlanta, GA
Grilled Hangar Steak, Farro Antica, Grilled Radicchio, Beets, Gorgonzola Vinaigrette - La Tavola Trattoria, Atlanta, GA
Grilled Hangar Steak - La Tavola Trattoria, Atlanta, GA
Chestnut Gnocchi, Braised Wild Boar, Juniper Berries And Cacao Tartufo - La Tavola Trattoria, Atlanta, GA
Torte Di Nona, Salted Caramel And Pine Nuts - La Tavola Trattoria, Atlanta, GA
House-Made Ricotta Cavatelli - La Tavola Trattoria, Atlanta, GA
Sweetbreads - La Tavola Trattoria, Atlanta, GA

Private Dining

Whether you’re planning your rehearsal dinner or a cocktail party, La Tavola's personable and experienced managers work closely with you to provide customized menus and wine lists, food presentation, and flexible seating arrangements that maximize your budget and you and your guests’ enjoyment.

La Tavola Trattoria Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Atlanta / Georgia
Best Value
Atlanta
Italian
Atlanta
Best Restaurants in Virginia Highland ›

Neighborhood Gem (58)
Good for a Date (42)
Special Occasion (35)
See All
Fit for Foodies (33)
Good for Anniversaries (30)
Romantic (30)
Worth the Drive (28)
Cozy (26)
Notable Wine List (24)
Good for Birthdays (22)
Creative Cuisine (21)
Casual (21)
Authentic (21)
Great for Outdoor Dining (18)
Bar Seating (15)
Fun (12)
Comfort Food (12)
Local Ingredients (11)
Outstanding Value (11)
Open Kitchen (11)
Business Meals (11)
Hot Spot (10)
Seasonal (9)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Great for Brunch (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Late-night Find (5)
People Watching (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Great Beer (2)
Scenic View (2)
Family Style (2)
Tapas (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Healthy (1)
Organic (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Live Sports (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Sort By:
S
2035 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Our experience was great, Chrystal was o ...

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Our experience was great, Chrystal was our server; she guided us through the dinning experience start to finish. It is by far one of my new favorite places to have a nice quiet date night. I love the decor on the patio it really has an authentic feel to it.

Tags: Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Kitchen was very slow. Meals came out t ...

 
·Dined on December 3, 2016

Kitchen was very slow. Meals came out to our table later then those who ordered after ours. Lasagna was over baked and bitter around the edges--cheese top was dried out and brown. If you order a glass of wine expect a serving about half the size you receive anywhere else. Very disappointing.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

In the past three years we've eaten at L ...

 
·Dined on December 2, 2016

In the past three years we've eaten at La Tavola four times. The first time was excellent, the second experience pretty good, the third OK, and the most recent also OK. The question we ask ourselves is, "has something changed?". Mistake may be ordering salads and non-pasta entrees. They do not live up to the quality of pasta dishes and appetizers.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Always enjoy the relaxing time here with ...

 
·Dined on November 28, 2016

Always enjoy the relaxing time here with great vegetarian options

Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was spectacular as always. Grea ...

 
·Dined on November 27, 2016

The food was spectacular as always. Great place for brunch and comfortable space

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

After hearing rave reviews for years, I ...

 
·Dined on November 18, 2016

After hearing rave reviews for years, I finally tried La Tavola and it lived up to the hype in every way. Wonderful food, almost under-priced, great service and cozy ambiance.

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been coming here for years. The ...

 
·Dined on November 17, 2016

We have been coming here for years. The food is always great. Totally worth the drive past several local and wonderful Italian restaurants. Love the intown neighborhood location!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

love it! Come here all the time for the ...

 
·Dined on November 15, 2016

love it! Come here all the time for the Molto Monday!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had the best time ever. The food was s ...

 
·Dined on November 13, 2016

I had the best time ever. The food was so delicious. The veal meatballs with polenta and marinara melted in my mouth. We had a great date night.

Tags: Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Casual, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Romantic, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

La Tavola is a Va-Hi mainstay, and doesn ...

 
·Dined on November 13, 2016

La Tavola is a Va-Hi mainstay, and doesn't seem concerned with the latest/greatest in hipster cuisine, which makes it a reliable date night choice. The food is excellent, perfectly executed, with enough piques of interest to keep my wife and me enthralled. No great risks, no disappointments. Our server (bless her heart) was a "quiet talker" who didn't move her mouth enough to allow for lip-reading. The space is tight (some might say "intimate") and the acoustics are noisy, so we found ourselves leaning in toward her in an effort to hear what she said. Still have no idea. We ended up ordering lightly, unsure whether she advocated or discouraged a Primi and a Secondi course for each of us. Oh well. It was nice to leave a restaurant not feeling like a dirigible for once.

Our immediate neighbors' dishes all looked amazing and the audible endorsements from each lead me to believe the whole menu is worthwhile.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

I have been a long time guest (over 10ye ...

 
·Dined on November 12, 2016

I have been a long time guest (over 10years) and something has drastically changed with the food. I am hoping this was just a bad night but I have never experienced a just average meal at La Tavalo.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

Always outstanding. Never a bad meal or ...

 
·Dined on November 10, 2016

Always outstanding. Never a bad meal or service in over a decade.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is our go-to restaurant for special ...

 
·Dined on November 10, 2016

This is our go-to restaurant for special occasions. We were celebrating yet another birthday. The food was good but I would not say outstanding this time. They really do not change their menu all that often and I think it's due a change. The grilled octopus appetizer continues to rock. The ravioli was somewhat mushy (perhaps overcooked) and the portion size was disappointing. Kudos on the flourless chocolate cake. I really did not like the table for two that we were given in the front of the restaurant. It was too close to other diners. I should have held out for a booth or a table near the kitchen but the wait would have been too long. We still like this restaurant despite these minor inconveniences.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

I selected La Tavola for dinner with my ...

 
·Dined on November 9, 2016

I selected La Tavola for dinner with my wife and out of town cousin from Boston because in past I had great times & food there. The day after the election was a disappointment.

My Cioppino did not have the sparkle that I remember. My wife's dinner the daily special, Rabbit Ragu tasted like a refrigerated left over, my cousin never commented on his veal saltimbocca. All in all a disappointment. On previous trips to La Tavola, a restaurant I considered a favorite, I always left thinking about my return visit, not this time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4

I fully expected the noise level to be a ...

 
·Dined on November 9, 2016

I fully expected the noise level to be as high as I remembered from last time. This time, however, the place was not jam-packed and we requested a booth where I sat right next to my date. Everything was practically perfect...no complaints.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Server wasn't the strongest, also seated ...

 
·Dined on November 9, 2016

Server wasn't the strongest, also seated us in a tiny nook right by the door with another table 18 inches away

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Rock solid as always which is why I go b ...

 
·Dined on November 6, 2016

Rock solid as always which is why I go back over and over again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have eaten at this restaurant twice an ...

 
·Dined on November 5, 2016

I have eaten at this restaurant twice and it is delicious! The atmosphere is very lively - you are in close quarters with other diners but it has that trendy New York/hidden gem feel!

When my husband and I dined just the two of us, we were sat a two-person table that was very small and close to the other guests (able to perfectly hear your neighbor's conversation). But when my family of four dined, we were seated in a comfortable booth that felt very private. I would not recommend going to this restaurant if you want a private, intimate dinner date unless you are able to request a booth for the two of you!

The food is wonderful! I order the Caesar Salad (the dressing is so good) and the Spaghetti with tomato sauce (add the Veal meatballs on top)! The pasta is perfectly cooked - flavor of the sauce and texture of the pasta remind me of Italy! I always finish my plate here!

Both times I have visited, the Manager or Chef have come by the table to ask about the meal. That is always a nice thing to see!

Tags: Authentic, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We live in the neighborhood and frequen ...

 
·Dined on November 5, 2016

We live in the neighborhood and frequently bring friends here. It is always delicious and the service is great.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

La Tavola is my favorite restaurant in A ...

 
·Dined on November 5, 2016

La Tavola is my favorite restaurant in Atlanta for many reasons - the quality of the food, the gracious service, the creativity of the menu, the wonderful ambiance. I love watching the kitchen work from my table in the cozy dining room, smelling the fabulous ingredients as they cook for my or other tables. The wine list is concise with delicious gems. I enjoy the vibrant Atlanta food scene and trying new restaurants, but La Tavola is my bedrock, my touchstone. This trip I had the Pear Parmaesan Black Pepper Risotto, which was by far the best risotto I've had in many many years. I'm already looking forward to my return.

Tags: Authentic, People Watching, Comfort Food, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food, expertly prepared. Excel ...

 
·Dined on November 4, 2016

Delicious food, expertly prepared. Excellent service. Our server was very knowlegable about the menu and the wine list and helpful with selections. We thoroughly enjoyed the evening and plan to return.

Tags: Casual, Quick Bite, Late-night Find, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of my favorite things is the Sea Isl ...

 
·Dined on October 31, 2016

One of my favorite things is the Sea Island red peas. I wish they were less salty. I am going to have to quit ordering them. :-/

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was amazing except the Brusse ...

 
·Dined on October 31, 2016

Everything was amazing except the Brussels sprouts. My whole table was dissapointed with the dish and we all love them! But besides this, everything else was on point!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Friendly, helpful server. Delicious past ...

 
·Dined on October 28, 2016

Friendly, helpful server. Delicious pasta. Our group of four each tried a different one. Excellent buratta and some nice Italian wines.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

my fourth time. It is excellent. Bread i ...

 
·Dined on October 25, 2016

my fourth time. It is excellent. Bread is great, croutons on the ceasar salad are so crusty and fresh, italian wine list is (rosso) is very complete, past cooking (dente) excellent. I love this restaurant,

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent meal. Good wine list but a bit ...

 
·Dined on October 23, 2016

Excellent meal. Good wine list but a bit heavy on price per bottle overall.

Special occasion and hospital with extra dessert. All desserts were great and the main courses were fantastic.

Definitely a good local gem.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great place for Birthdays or even date n ...

 
·Dined on October 23, 2016

Great place for Birthdays or even date night. We came with our friends for my birthday and it was a great ambiance, great food, & great conversation! I had the bolognese and it was AMAZING, My bf had the chicken and it was also great (it is spicy too which was even better), my friend had the lasagna & it was also creamy & good. I would definitely suggest this little gem to everybody!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent restaurant. Scott Black the m ...

 
·Dined on October 22, 2016

Excellent restaurant. Scott Black the manager was outstanding

Tags: Outstanding Value, Authentic, Disabled Access, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely stunning preparations and sup ...

 
·Dined on October 22, 2016

Absolutely stunning preparations and superb service ! They know what they are doing!

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

If you enjoy Italian food this is the pl ...

 
·Dined on October 19, 2016

If you enjoy Italian food this is the place for you. Being from Philadelphia we have a wealth of quality Italian eatery's and this restaurant rivals The best we have to offer. One of the winners was the tagliolini with mushrooms. Outstanding! Our server was friendly intelligent and attentive thanks for an enjoyable evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Food was awesome. Service was amazing!! ...

 
·Dined on October 18, 2016

Food was awesome. Service was amazing!! Great neighborhood find!! Thanks!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Casual atmosphere. Fabulous apps & dinne ...

 
·Dined on October 14, 2016

Casual atmosphere. Fabulous apps & dinner. Great service. Desert was not that great, but other than that, food was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

The food was good. However the service w ...

 
·Dined on October 13, 2016

The food was good. However the service was not good at all. We had to a few times find our waiter to get our stuff. For this type of restaurant I would expect service to be much better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

Food and service was excellent! However ...

 
·Dined on October 12, 2016

Food and service was excellent! However, the tables are so close to each other that it felt like an aisle seat on an airplane, being pushed around every 10 minutes. Granted it was a weekend but it was a little ridiculous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

We have been to La Tavola many times now ...

 
·Dined on October 11, 2016

We have been to La Tavola many times now and are always pleased with our experience. This was our first time sitting at the bar for a meal, which I would not recommend when they are busy/crowded. The staff is attentaive and the food was very good as always.

We'll be back and highly recommend you check it out too!

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Always a first class experience. The foo ...

 
·Dined on October 8, 2016

Always a first class experience. The food and the staff are first rate!

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have had betterfood at the olive garde ...

 
·Dined on October 8, 2016

I have had betterfood at the olive garden i wasvery disappointed. The atmosphere wasgreat but 👎 and thed rinks were terrible

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Delicious meal in a cute neighborhood. W ...

 
·Dined on October 6, 2016

Delicious meal in a cute neighborhood. We stayed in the Virginia Highlands area and came upon this restaurant. It was delicious and we really enjoyed ourselves. The food, service and setting were all wonderful. Will definitely be back

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We went for a date before an event and t ...

 
·Dined on October 1, 2016

We went for a date before an event and the service was good, the food was good, and the atmosphere was good. We will be back!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Fabulous dinner. Sitting in the back cou ...

 
·Dined on September 30, 2016

Fabulous dinner. Sitting in the back courtyard felt like we were in New Orleans. Food was excellent and our server made it a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.