About La Tavola Trattoria

992 Virginia Avenue NE
Atlanta, GA 30306
View Larger Map

"Best Italian" - The Sunday Paper's Reader's Choice Awards. "Top 50 Restaurant" - Atlanta Journal-Constitution.

Exposed brick, dark wood floors & rustic colors give La Tavola its authentic trattoria feel, while progressive touches hint at its innovative cuisine. The food is simple yet creative, elegant & certainly delicious - the kind of food you could eat every day or turn into a celebration.

La Tavola also offers one of the city's most unique brunch menus. It is a can't miss!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
DINNER NIGHTLY;
Monday-Thursday, 5:30-10pm;
Friday-Saturday, 5:30pm-11pm;
Sunday, 5:30pm-10pm;

SUNDAY BRUNCH, 11am-3pm

Cross Street:
N. Highland Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(404) 873-5430

Website:
http://fifthgroup.com/

Catering:
La Tavola is owned by Fifth Group Restaurants which also owns Bold American Events & Catering. For more information on catering, please visit http://boldamerican.com.

Parking Details:
La Tavola offers valet parking across the street at Wells Fargo Bank after 5pm and a private parking lot behind the restaurant; street parking is also available.

Executive Chef:
Justin Jordan

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Molto Monday - Every Monday choose one of four special pastas for $10.

Lasagna Sunday - Every Sunday is Traditional Lasagna Bolognese for $10.

Restaurant Photos

Private Dining

Whether you’re planning your rehearsal dinner or a cocktail party, La Tavola's personable and experienced managers work closely with you to provide customized menus and wine lists, food presentation, and flexible seating arrangements that maximize your budget and you and your guests’ enjoyment.

La Tavola Trattoria Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Atlanta / Georgia
Italian
Atlanta
Best Restaurants in Virginia Highland ›

neighborhood gem (95)
fit for foodies (94)
special occasion (77)
See All
romantic (68)
notable wine list (61)
great for outdoor dining (32)
hot spot (26)
great for brunch (26)
vibrant bar scene (14)
late-night find (13)
good for groups (8)
kid-friendly (7)
great for lunch (5)
 (2)
scenic view (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1897 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

No risotto.

Dined 5 days ago

The maitre'd held our reservation although we were ccaught in traffic and 30 minutes late. Nice. My date had a bouillabaise type dish that she liked. I had risotto that had very little of the meat or whatever was added. Would definitely order something else next time. But I would return.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding and friendly service. Love ...

vip
Dined 5 days ago

Outstanding and friendly service. Loved the Veggie Lasagna

food5
ambience5
service5

It goes without saying, Fifth Group brin ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

It goes without saying, Fifth Group brings the best restaurants to the city. That being said, La Tavola, is one of the best Italian restaurants in Atlanta. You might be thinking, "Italian brunch?, I don't think so." However, do yourself a favor and check it out. From delicious homemade sausages, charcuterie, frittatas, and pastas, you can't go wrong. It's the perfect brunch paired with tasty bloody Mary's and mimosas. David Hobbs was managing and made sure we were taken care of, Randall, our server, made excellent recommendations from food to drinks. Thanks, Chef Justin for your excellent and perfect touches on your menu. Paired with a beautiful patio setting in the quaint Virginia-Highlands, we couldn't have asked for a more perfect dining experience.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

La Tavola never disappoints.

Dined on May 22, 2016

Came for brunch with six others and everyone raved about the food and the service. I couldn't be happier that I can walk to La Tav in 10 minutes. Neighborhood gem for sure.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

We had such an amazing time!!! The food ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

We had such an amazing time!!! The food was incredible!! The charcuterie board is best in Atlanta!! The pasta dishes.. Yum!

food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic food and service! The waiter w ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Fantastic food and service! The waiter was very knowledgable about the preparation of the dishes and the wine selection. The mushroom pasta is amazing and the grilled calamari was a great dish as well. Will definitely return

food4
ambience4
service4

Delicious squid ink pasta and the house- ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Delicious squid ink pasta and the house-made amaro was amazing!

food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Great pasta. Seriously, get the mushroom ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Great pasta. Seriously, get the mushroom truffle pasta, it's so good. I went with 2 others and we all enjoyed the food greatly. The service could've been a bit better, but it was quite busy. It was also a bit overpriced ($16 for maybe 4oz of pasta with no meat). Overall, very good though.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

Good but...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Room is good, service was friendly and attentive. But unfortunately the eggs were cold, to the point that they weren't very appetizing. I went ahead and ate them anyway because I was with people and didn't want to make everyone wait on me to have my meal re-prepared.

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Anna was fantastic! Excellent knowledg ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Anna was fantastic! Excellent knowledge of the menu and just attentive enough.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lamb Ragu with Mint Strozzapreti

Dined on May 11, 2016

Great Italian specialties cooked from scratch. I have been a patron for several years, and have shared this gem of a restaurant with dozens of friends. Any time I am in Atlanta, I go to La Tavola. I always get the Veal Meat Balls and Marinated Olives. They are must haves. Their selection of Charcuterie is always very good. During my visit Tuesday night, I had the Casarecce. It is a braised lamb ragu, with mint strozzapreti (made in house), tossed with pistachios, and topped with fresh grated ricotta salata. Very nice buttery finish. It is lick your plate awesome! Chef Justin Jordan is passionate about his food, and it shows. His take on Italian food is inspiring. Really. His Sugos and Ragus are always spot on. Bottom line......Great Food, Great Service and Very Friendly Staff. You can't go wrong. ***If Chef ever puts the lamb belly on the menu again, GET IT!. It is to die for!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

It was Mother's Day and they seated us r ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

It was Mother's Day and they seated us right on our reservation time. The sever was friendly and knowledgeable about the menu. Our drinks were always full. Our daughter who is a very picky eater finished her plate in entirety. We had a lovely afternoon.

food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Overall it's good not great...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Went there for Mother's Day...nothing spectacular hence nothing much to say about it...

food4
ambience4
service2

We love coming here for special occasion ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

We love coming here for special occasions. Last time we had the sweetest server. This time our server was very snooty and kind of pompus. While I appreciate his knowledge of food and wine. He can explain. In a way we can understand and not sound like a snotty know it all.

food5
ambience3
service4
value1

This was our first visit to the restaura ...

Dined on May 6, 2016

This was our first visit to the restaurant. The Food was excellent. As an Italian, i am pretty selective as to where I will each out for Italian food. I was a bid disappointed in the portions though. Both my wife and I finished our meals and were still hungry. When serving pasta, that generally cost about $1 per pound, bringing home leftovers is an easy way to allow your customers to feel the value was well worth the $18-$25 price. Again, the taste was excellent, just don't like leaving hungry when you drop $100 for dinner. Wine and dessert were also great.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5

We are always on the quest for the holy ...

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

We are always on the quest for the holy grail of Italian food.!We finally found it! There isn't a negative word I can say about this place except that the night had to end! From the moment we walked in and we were greeted by a lovely young lady and young man. They were so pleasant and welcoming. The place is small but the service and food more than makes up for it. Our server Jennifer was OUTSTANDING! The way she described the food with such detail and passion made us want to order everything on the menu. We go out every weekend and hands down she has been the best server that we have ever had! We will definitely go back to la tavola. You can't go wrong with what you order. The wine, cocktails, appetizers,pasta, entrees and desserts all to die for. We ❤️ this place!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Just Great

Dined on April 28, 2016

Have been dining here for several years. Just great food all the time. Have never been disappointed with the food or service. Great neighborhood restaurant in the Virginia Highlands area of Atlanta.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's always a good time

Dined on April 25, 2016

I love their special menus, they always have something unique, and their seafood days are awesome. Love the homemade pasta. Highly recommend the back patio.deck if the weather is nice.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5

Pork Milanese over cooked. Otherwise th ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

Pork Milanese over cooked. Otherwise the entire experience was great.

food5
ambience3
service5

We were visiting Atlanta from out of tow ...

Dined on April 21, 2016

We were visiting Atlanta from out of town and loved sitting on the back patio in a small neighborhood spot away from the hustle of downtown and Buckhead. The service and staff were incredibly friendly and knowledgable. A seafood sausage with pasta and cream sauce was a special-- there are no words for how amazing that was. Everything was delicious that I tasted but I have to give an extra nod to the veal saltimbocca. Loved the meal, the ambiance, the people and the neighborhood.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Business dinner for 3

Dined on April 21, 2016

Our server, I think his name was Mike (??), was a joy. He had a beard, very gregarious in a good and appropriate way. Lot of fun. Food was excellent, perfect evening to sit outside with a glass of wine. Overall a very pleasant experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Service was fantastic Will was very good ...

Dined on April 19, 2016

Service was fantastic Will was very good and engaging. Food was delicous and was as close to authentic Italian that I have had compared to Milan itself. Noise level on the patio was bit louder than my manager would have liked but I felt it was good. Excellent wine list for the true Italians. Two gentlemen from Milan Italy said it was GOOD which is the first time I have heard that from them in US at any italian Resturant.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not Enough Superlatives

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

There isn't much more that we can say about LaTavola, it continues to be as good as it gets from food, to service, to ambiance. While we usually favor the pasta dishes this time it was lamb chops and veal. My wife has had lamb from Florida to Maine to Arizona to Las Vegas and these were the best she has ever had. My veal was outstanding. As stated before the atmosphere is such that we feel like we are in New York. Perfect background music. Servers and management recognize us and always stop to say hi. It just doesn't get any better.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service4

Consistently Exquisite!

Dined on April 15, 2016

Consistently Exquisite!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Food!

Dined on April 14, 2016

My wife and I enjoyed superb cocktails in a very friendly atmosphere. We were in town for business and found La Tavola on Trip Advisor, highly recommended. We were most impressed by the unique dishes, like the green pea lasagna with lemon ricotta and their wonderful ramps ravioli...YUM. You can get hum-drum Italian food anywhere. La Tavola offered the kind of creativity we experienced while visiting Italy. Even the Tiramisu was unique and delicious! We will definitely eat here again on the next trip!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Bolognese is amazing!

Dined on April 13, 2016

Bolognese is amazing! Definitely better than the spaghetti and meatballs

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Not as good as it used to be

Dined on April 13, 2016

I haven't been there in about a year. I always found it to be consistently good and good value but can't say that now. Seems overpriced and really mediocre.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Second time was the charm

Dined on April 8, 2016

Thus was my second time eating at La Tavola . I ordered the exact same thing I ordered the first time it was so good (mushroom ragu with truffle oil) ! We were seated in the restaurant this time as before we sat outside. I prefer sitting outside since it is a little tight in the restaurant. That would be my only complaint since the food and service were excellent both times.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent yet once again

vip
Dined on April 5, 2016

We have been to La Tavola many times over the years. Each time, we walk away with an amazing experience tasting their amazing food. My wife and I generally go there ourselves, but this time decided to take the kids for an early dinner. Each dish that was served elicited some form of ecstatic comment on the wonderful flavors. I had the squid ink pasta, and my wife was jealous. My wife had the sword fish special, and it was cooked to perfection (I was jealous). The kids each enjoyed their meals, and a good time was had by all.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Nice Place

Dined on March 29, 2016

I tried the "Squid-Ink Linguine" and even though my boyfriend wouldn't try any I can vouch for myself it was pretty great. Small yet diverse menu leaves you with just enough options for a simple yet elegant dinner. Great for a semi-intimate date or a glass of wine with friends. The Italian Bolognese was amazing as well. Friendly staff was fairly accomodating.

Tags: late-night find, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great Brunch - Give it a try!

vip
Dined on March 27, 2016

Enjoyed an Easter Brunch at La Tavola recently. The pork sausage with eggs and polenta was excellent. Sausage is lean but very flavorful. Menu choices are plentiful so there should be something for everyone. Server was friendly and professional. Highly recommended.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a wonderful place. You'll never b ...

vip
Dined on March 26, 2016

Always a wonderful place. You'll never be disappointed. An ATL fav.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Favorite Place for a Nice Dining Experience

Dined on March 24, 2016

My husband and I dine at La Tavola when we have something we want to celebrate. The service, food, and ambiance are always exactly what we want for a nice evening out. My husband longs for the Bolognese and we always enjoy the grilled calamari for our antipasto. For my entree I usually try one of the specials of the night and I am never disappointed. On this night, I had a spring time pasta with asparagus, peas , and a melted cheese blend sauce, it was very good. We also tried the Pistachio Cake for out dessert which was new to the menu and it was delicious, as well. We look forward to our next night out at La Tavola.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

One of the best places in Atlanta. Aweso ...

vip
Dined on March 22, 2016

One of the best places in Atlanta. Awesome food, awesome service, awesome experience. A must visit if you want the best.

food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Food and atmosphere wonderful as always. ...

Dined on March 21, 2016

Food and atmosphere wonderful as always. Server efficient but abrupt and remote. Not the norm at La Tavola. One of my favorite restaurants and has been since it opened. A bit like coming home when I dine there.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

The food here is always amazing. I'm a b ...

Dined on March 19, 2016

The food here is always amazing. I'm a big fan of the squid ink linguine. Staff is always very attentive. It's a nice ambiance and not too stuffy. A great date night place!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Italian Food

Dined on March 12, 2016

As someone who group up Italian, it is not often I am willing to go to this kind of restaurant. This is the second time I have been here. The dishes are well thought out and put together. The Chef is kind and courteous to his guests and wait staff. I will be returning again to introduce a few friends to some delicious Italian food.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently Terrific

Dined on March 6, 2016

A regular "go to" that is consistent, yet never boring. The food is delicious, the service is friendly and professional, and the atmosphere is very "bistro"! I love the bloody Mary's, and the bar tenders are as awesome as the wait staff. Keep doing what you are doing!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A FAVORITE BRUNCH SPOT

Dined on March 6, 2016

We love LaTavola. We especially love the Brunch Menu. It is fantastic food and a great value. The wine list is terrific and so are the brunch cocktails. I especially love the Basil Limonada!!! The service is consistently great.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4

Monk Fish was to die for...Delicious.

Dined on March 5, 2016

Monk Fish was to die for...Delicious.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.