About La Tavola Trattoria

992 Virginia Avenue NE
Atlanta, GA 30306
View Larger Map

"Best Italian" - The Sunday Paper's Reader's Choice Awards. "Top 50 Restaurant" - Atlanta Journal-Constitution.

Exposed brick, dark wood floors & rustic colors give La Tavola its authentic trattoria feel, while progressive touches hint at its innovative cuisine. The food is simple yet creative, elegant & certainly delicious - the kind of food you could eat every day or turn into a celebration.

La Tavola also offers one of the city's most unique brunch menus. It is a can't miss!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
DINNER NIGHTLY;
Monday-Thursday, 5:30-10pm;
Friday-Saturday, 5:30pm-11pm;
Sunday, 5:30pm-10pm;

SUNDAY BRUNCH, 11am-3pm

Cross Street:
N. Highland Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(404) 873-5430

Website:
http://fifthgroup.com/

Catering:
La Tavola is owned by Fifth Group Restaurants which also owns Bold American Events & Catering. For more information on catering, please visit http://boldamerican.com.

Parking Details:
La Tavola offers valet parking across the street at Wells Fargo Bank after 5pm and a private parking lot behind the restaurant; street parking is also available.

Executive Chef:
Justin Jordan

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Molto Monday - Every Monday choose one of four special pastas for $10.

Lasagna Sunday - Every Sunday is Traditional Lasagna Bolognese for $10.

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 12:45PM - 2:00PM 9:00PM - 9:30PM

Mon - Tue 5:00PM - 5:45PM 8:15PM - 9:30PM

Wed - Thu 5:00PM - 5:45PM 8:45PM - 9:30PM

Private Dining

Whether you’re planning your rehearsal dinner or a cocktail party, La Tavola's personable and experienced managers work closely with you to provide customized menus and wine lists, food presentation, and flexible seating arrangements that maximize your budget and you and your guests’ enjoyment.

La Tavola Trattoria Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (56)
Good for a Date (51)
Special Occasion (48)
See All
Fit for Foodies (40)
Romantic (32)
Good for Anniversaries (31)
Authentic (31)
Notable Wine List (29)
Good for Birthdays (29)
Casual (27)
Cozy (26)
Worth the Drive (24)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Bar Seating (17)
Business Meals (15)
Open Kitchen (14)
Local Ingredients (13)
Comfort Food (12)
Outstanding Value (10)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Seasonal (9)
Great for Brunch (8)
Hot Spot (8)
Fun (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Modern Decor (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
People Watching (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Healthy (3)
Great Beer (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Family Style (2)
Organic (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Scenic View (1)
Historic (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Sort By:
S
2286 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Handmade pasta, great wine and great ser ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 4 days ago

Handmade pasta, great wine and great service to match, what's not to like! Cannolis made from scratch here, they are a must for dessert

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The space is very compact which increase ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined 6 days ago

The space is very compact which increases the noise level

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

Awesome food and wine! Service was grea ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined 6 days ago

Awesome food and wine! Service was great and our early Valentine's Day dinner was special.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Always enjoy the food and overall pleasa ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined 6 days ago

Always enjoy the food and overall pleasant evening

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our first visit to La Travola. The food ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 6 days ago

Our first visit to La Travola. The food was outstanding and the service excellent. Only problem for us was the very modest size of the dining room. Will definitely return.

Tags: Special Occasion, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Exceptional service very good meal. The ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined 6 days ago

Exceptional service very good meal. The patio is quieter than inside.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Overall service was prompt and offered s ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Overall service was prompt and offered suggestions as to specials and wine selection based upon food ordered. Creative presentation and taste was superb.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Service and food were both good. We wer ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Service and food were both good. We were a party of six located at a somewhat isolated table. The isolation made it challenging to get our waiters attention, but otherwise the service was good. Our waiter made helpful suggestions for first and second course, and with the wine list. His recommendations were appreciated and turned out to meet our expectations. Dining room was loud, but not so loud that conversation was difficult. Everyone enjoyed their meals and we will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

New favorite Italian spot. Great food an ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 11, 2017

New favorite Italian spot. Great food and amazing service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Amazing restaurant and experience. Won ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Amazing restaurant and experience. Wonderful Italian selections, super fresh ingredients.

The only feedback is that the lasagna was in the broiler for a bit too long and the edges were overdone.

I would return here and looking forward to next visit.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Always great food and excellent service! ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Always great food and excellent service! This is our favorite place to eat because the food is consistently delicious and the service is outstanding. The servers are friendly and knowledgeable about the dishes and explain the ingredients and preparations. This night we had one of our favorites, the tagliolini, which is a wonderful mushroom pasta, and the veal shank, which was also delicious. La Tavola is never a disappointment!

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

LOVE La Tavola!!! We have been here seve ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 5, 2017

LOVE La Tavola!!! We have been here several times and each time is just awesome. The food is fresh and amazing and the service is always attentive. LA Tavola never, ever disappoints!

Tags: Romantic, Casual, Healthy, Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

the food was very good, but the service ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 4, 2017

the food was very good, but the service made the experience. not to be missed if italian is the desire...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

The food and service are always outstand ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 30, 2017

The food and service are always outstanding. It's a little cramped and can be loud, but La Tavola is consistently one of the best restaurants in Atlanta.

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Brush Italian cuisine in the city. Best ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Brush Italian cuisine in the city. Best customer service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We three went for a pre and post bday ce ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We three went for a pre and post bday celebration for two of my favorite people, my wife and one of my best friends. Our server John was exceptional. Perfect in every way!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

LaTavola continues to delight. The serve ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 29, 2017

LaTavola continues to delight. The servers are on top of everything.You're always greeted with warmth. The food was perfectly prepared and delicious. It is a comfortable and relaxing space. Every time we leave we say we must come back sooner. Love this restaurant.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was not as good as it's been in the ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Food was not as good as it's been in the past. Very average. Everything else was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value4

Fantastic service throughout the entire ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Fantastic service throughout the entire experience and the food was absolutely delicious!

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Once again, I had an excellent experienc ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Once again, I had an excellent experience at la Tavola. This time I had a fabulous sword fish, very fresh and tender with a nice glass of Nipozzano Chianti. I ended with a lemon sorbet.

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I booked the reservation for a 1000 pt. ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 25, 2017

I booked the reservation for a 1000 pt. table. The restaurant called asking if I would be honoring the reservation; I asked the woman calling if it would be all right to show up early, Open Table heard about it and subtracted 900 pts. No big deal ($9) on a tab that ran over $200. Still the next time a restaurant calls me to ask if I'm going to honor my Open Table reservation I will ask them not to tell me that I'm doing them a favor by coming early on a weeknight and then blab that to Open Table. What is this, a police state?

By the way the restaurant is very good. We might even go back.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had been looking for an establishment ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 22, 2017

We had been looking for an establishment that matched the food we came to know in Tuscany. Found it! Amazing food, fantastic wine list, and the desserts - wow! Not to mention the lemoncello. We'll be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always consistent with a good variety of ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Always consistent with a good variety of high quality dishes. Great wine list. Friendly service - be sure to ask for Pretzel she's great!

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome place! Very tasty food, simply p ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Awesome place! Very tasty food, simply perfect! Will be back.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I really love this place. Every time we ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 16, 2017

I really love this place. Every time we go we say "Why don't we come here more often?" The staff is great and knowledgeable, and the food is second to none. Try the Squid Ink Spaghetti.

Tags: Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We always enjoy our complete experience ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 16, 2017

We always enjoy our complete experience at LaTavola. The service is impeccable even when compared to much more highly priced options. The menu change to add sides of vegetables as an add on is great. The fennel with the lemon aioli was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were able to get a spur of the moment ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 16, 2017

We were able to get a spur of the moment reservation for a Sunday evening. The service was terrific. The grilled calamari was wonderful - as was the mushroom ragu. The rigatoni for the duck ragu, however, was a bit undercooked. Just wish it wasn't so hard to get a reservation!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

Used to love it but it's lost its charm. ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Used to love it but it's lost its charm. Went for late dinner and was an hour before we got our entree- very slow, food was average

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

The pasta is fresh and delicious. Came f ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 14, 2017

The pasta is fresh and delicious. Came for dinner with friends. Unfortunately, the service was a bit slower than expected, even for a Fri night.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Consistency in food preparation & wait s ...

 
 (London)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Consistency in food preparation & wait staff is essential. La Tavola possesses both. Unique combination of localally sourced ingredients & wines --- with knowledgeable staff helps assure our returning multiple times.

Tags: Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Casual, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We have been to La Tavola a number of ti ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 13, 2017

We have been to La Tavola a number of times, but my son thought this was the best meal he'd ever had there. The salads were imaginative and wonderful: kale and chard, roasted beet. As a small eater, I appreciate being able to order a half portion of pasta, and the duck sausage was interestingly spicy, perhaps a little less balsamic would be good. The tagliatelle was perfect. The desserts were out of this world: chocolate torte and cannoli.

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

La Tavola has consistently been one of m ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 12, 2017

La Tavola has consistently been one of my favorite restaurants in Atlanta for the past several years. The food is consistent and delicious every time (truffle mushroom pasta is to die for), and the atmosphere is intimate, yet always buzzy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service always outstanding.Wine was good ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Service always outstanding.Wine was good but not up to standard (rare) Emily was wonderful and they opened a new bottle for me. It was much better. Usuallyi it's very good. My risotto was just ok and my wife's dish ( bolognese ) was not as good as we usually experience. We will continue to eat here. We understand that in the business you sometimes have an off night. Not a deal killer. We are big fans of La tavola. Be well

Tags: Casual, Open Kitchen, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The service here was by far one of the b ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 11, 2017

The service here was by far one of the best experiences that I've ever had dining out. My girlfriend and I went here as our first time to this restaurant and we absolutely loved it! The food, the wine and the service were all phenomenal, I can't wait to go here again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was my first time at La Tavola. It ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 10, 2017

This was my first time at La Tavola. It was amazing. Three of us split five appetizer size pastas, an appetizer, a salad, and a side...and we ate it all! Randall made perfect recommendations and we enjoyed our drinks too! I had a great Negroni! As for food, the ricotta gnocchi was unlike any other gnocchi I've ever had. It basically melted in my mouth like butter. Thanks and I am already dying to go again!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Excellent restaurant, keep coming back t ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Excellent restaurant, keep coming back there.

The ceasar salad is oustanding and wine selection great!

Tags: Late-night Find, Casual,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Food and drinks were delicious. Not your ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Food and drinks were delicious. Not your typical Italian dining experience. This is definitely a special occasion restaurant. The food and cocktails were delicious and picture perfect. I can't wait to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

I brought my wife here for her birthday ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 8, 2017

I brought my wife here for her birthday dinner. We ordered the spaghetti and the bolognese tagliatelle for appetizers. The spaghetti was so phenomenal that we ordered it again in full entree size with meatballs for our main course. The food and the service were excellent! We will definitely be back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cozy and terrific, among the best restau ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Cozy and terrific, among the best restaurants on the east side

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall a lovely evening. Only complaint ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Overall a lovely evening. Only complaint is draftiness/uneven temperature throughout the evening.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.