About La Tavola Trattoria

992 Virginia Avenue NE
Atlanta, GA 30306
View Larger Map

"Best Italian" - The Sunday Paper's Reader's Choice Awards. "Top 50 Restaurant" - Atlanta Journal-Constitution.

Exposed brick, dark wood floors & rustic colors give La Tavola its authentic trattoria feel, while progressive touches hint at its innovative cuisine. The food is simple yet creative, elegant & certainly delicious - the kind of food you could eat every day or turn into a celebration.

La Tavola also offers one of the city's most unique brunch menus. It is a can't miss!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
DINNER NIGHTLY;
Monday-Thursday, 5:30-10pm;
Friday-Saturday, 5:30pm-11pm;
Sunday, 5:30pm-10pm;

SUNDAY BRUNCH, 11am-3pm

Cross Street:
N. Highland Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(404) 873-5430

Website:
http://fifthgroup.com/

Catering:
La Tavola is owned by Fifth Group Restaurants which also owns Bold American Events & Catering. For more information on catering, please visit http://boldamerican.com.

Parking Details:
La Tavola offers valet parking across the street at Wells Fargo Bank after 5pm and a private parking lot behind the restaurant; street parking is also available.

Executive Chef:
Justin Jordan

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Molto Monday - Every Monday choose one of four special pastas for $10.

Lasagna Sunday - Every Sunday is Traditional Lasagna Bolognese for $10.

Restaurant Photos

La Tavola Trattoria
La Tavola Trattoria
La Tavola Trattoria
La Tavola Trattoria
La Tavola Trattoria
Spaghetti
Salumi Plate
Mushroom Ragu
Tiramisu
Meyer Lemon Olive Oil Cake
Ricotta Gnocchi With Rabbit Ragu
Braised Pork Belly Ravioli
Grilled Cotechino
Fiori D'arancio
Braised Wild Boar Shoulder
Angelina, I Adore You Cocktail
Smoked Salmon Crostini
Root Julep Cocktail
Sausage & Eggs
Bread & Butter
Manicotti
Octopus Salad
Grilled Octopus Salad
Fried Calamari
Grilled Lamb Scottaditi
Roasted Trout W/ Walnut Agrodolce
Bloody Mary
veal sweetbreads
Torte Di Mele
Black Linguine
Baked Rigatoni
Ricotta Cavatelli & Ragu Alla Napoletana
Vanilla Panna Cotta
Rabbit Strozzapreti
Braised Tomato & Pork Cheek Crespelle
Torte Di Nona, Salted Caramel And Pine Nuts
Chestnut Gnocchi, Braised Wild Boar, Juniper Berries And Cacao Tartufo
House-Made Ricotta Cavatelli
Pan Di Spagna
Grilled Hangar Steak, Farro Antica, Grilled Radicchio, Beets, Gorgonzola Vinaigrette
Grilled Hangar Steak
Flatiron Steak
Sweetbreads

Private Dining

Whether you’re planning your rehearsal dinner or a cocktail party, La Tavola's personable and experienced managers work closely with you to provide customized menus and wine lists, food presentation, and flexible seating arrangements that maximize your budget and you and your guests’ enjoyment.

La Tavola Trattoria Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Atlanta / Georgia
Best Overall
Atlanta
Notable Wine List
Atlanta
1 More
Italian
Atlanta
Best Restaurants in Virginia Highland ›

neighborhood gem (112)
fit for foodies (105)
special occasion (80)
See All
notable wine list (72)
romantic (65)
great for outdoor dining (47)
hot spot (27)
great for brunch (23)
vibrant bar scene (15)
good for groups (13)
late-night find (12)
kid-friendly (6)
scenic view (2)
great for lunch (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1940 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Everything is always perfect!

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 3 days ago

Everything is always perfect!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We really enjoyed our dinner at La Tavol ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 6 days ago

We really enjoyed our dinner at La Tavola; it was even more fun because it happened to be Tomato Fest!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We dined at La Tavola during their Tomat ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

We dined at La Tavola during their Tomato Feast. The restaurant is a little cramped inside, but luckily there was no one at the table next to us so we had a little privacy for most of our meal. Our waitress recommended several dishes on the special menu, and described some to help us get a better idea of preparation methods. I chose the swordfish with tomatoes and caperberries. The fish was cooked well and the tomatoes complimented the fish, althought the caperberries did not add much. My brother had the steak, which was overdone and not a "large" portion as we had been told. It came with squash caponata which he said was the best part of the dish. The spicy greens, which we thought would be cooked greens, turned out to be a handful of arugula with a vinaigrette- very disappointing. For dessert, I tried the tomato tart, a special dessert for Tomato Feast. Interesting, but not sweet like I like a dessert. The flourless chocolate cake was a better pick.

All in all, we were satisfied with the meal, but thought the food was just ok. I've been here a few times and have ordered off of the regular menu and enjoyed my dinner much more, so maybe we just hit a bad night or ordered wrong for our tastes.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Food was Fab. Our friends loved it!

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Food was Fab. Our friends loved it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a pleasure to eat here. Was very ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Always a pleasure to eat here. Was very excited to get to meet the bar manager who had plenty of great wine recommendations.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food matched by excellent serv ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Excellent food matched by excellent service from the GM to the wait staff and kitchen team!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

One of the few we go back to every time ...

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

One of the few we go back to every time in Atlanta. Great food . Part of the fifth group. Recommend all their restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The staff was very professional and atte ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

The staff was very professional and attentive. We had a small issue with some noise (and slight smell :O) caused by the City pumping sewer lines but the staff made up for it by comp-ing a bottle of wine which was very appreciated. We had a great meal! Thank you!

Tim

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The server was not attentive but the foo ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

The server was not attentive but the food made up for it .

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

We visit La Tavola every six months when ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

We visit La Tavola every six months when in town for market. It is a standing event with two other friends. Our food was outstanding as always. Everything is cooked to perfection and service is impeccable. The only complaint was our waiter really messed up our ticket. We were using a special $40 for $20 coupon and the waiter didn't see the bar code at first and I was calling my husband to see where the missing page was (there all along). Then he took a birthday discount off of our bill, but it belonged to our companion. So we had to give our friend $20 cash to balance everything.

Tags: fit for foodies, outdoor eating, romance, special occasions, neighbourhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Amazing as always. Atlantas best Italian ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Amazing as always. Atlantas best Italian restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A great neighborhood vibe backed up with ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

A great neighborhood vibe backed up with great food!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The entire meal/experience was wonderful ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

The entire meal/experience was wonderful from start to finish!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We live in TN and visit ATL several time ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We live in TN and visit ATL several times a year. Even with all the fabulous restaurant offerings in the city, we more often than not choose to dine at La Tavola. This restaurant is very special to my husband and myself as it was the location of our first date 17 years ago. We celebrated our 15th wedding anniversary last weekend and it was just as enjoyable as the first time. The food is so well prepared and the service is extrodinary! The atmosphere is comfortable and cozy, and it always feels so special when we have the opportunity to stop in. La Tavola is a true gem!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We had a wonderful dining experience at ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We had a wonderful dining experience at La Tavola this past weekend. Our server was very attentive and coursed out our meal wonderfully. The food was extremely flavorful and came out quickly. Management was friendly and professional. We had an all around great time!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Coming from a food snob, the food here w ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Coming from a food snob, the food here was absolutely excellent. The staff was knowledgeable and respectful.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been to La Tavola a dozen times ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We have been to La Tavola a dozen times or more. July 3 was the worst experience we have had in terms of service, food quality, and the overall experience.

Our visit was to celebrate a birthday. Not only was that noted on the original reservation, but confirmed with a phone call the day of the visit. But the occasion would have been completely ignored if not for the hostess stopping by to check on us over coffee at the end of the meal. It was a nice touch - but far to late.

Our waitress was clueless. I don't know whether she was new, poorly trained, or what but she seemed unable to manage our experience. It took her more than 10 minutes to visit our table for a drink order, she only mentioned specials after prompting, and she did nothing to rise above average. Normally wait staff is very good so we were surprised.

We had two apps - burrata with grilled peaches and a special - salmon with a cucumber trio. Both were good - the salmon was my favorite dish of the evening. We ordered a side of heirloom tomatoes - a special. There was nothing special about several mealy refrigerated tomatoes on a plate with no seasoning, oil, or herbs of any type. I can pick up better product at my local grocer.

The entrees were the saltimbocca and swordfish. Both were overly salty. The swordfish sounded good on the menu but was served with a heavy topping of tomato sauce - way too heavy for a hot day. I would not recommend either entree.

I'll give La Tavola another try because it has been good in the past. But this meal was poor - far below the level that I have come to expect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

As always - EXCELLENT with great food an ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

As always - EXCELLENT with great food and outstanding service.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I started with the pasta with mushroom s ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

I started with the pasta with mushroom sugo (the appetizer portion). The flavor was good and the pasta cooked well but it was very salty. I had my husband try it and he thought it was salty too. He had the roast pepper and they were okay but nothing amazing. The bread was amazing though - like NY bakery bread - crisp on the outside and soft and warm on the inside.

I then had veal saltimbocca. It was also very salty. I was also disappointed because the whole dish was just swimming in liquid. The sauce wasn't fully rendered as it has a very fatty raw broth taste. I could taste the wine and lemon in it too but it tasted like it needed more cooking and the plate could have used less of it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Great little gem in the heart of Virgini ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Great little gem in the heart of Virginia Highlands.

Tags: romantic, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

It's always a great standby - great food ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

It's always a great standby - great food and wine list.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Fifth Group restaurants never fail. Cons ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Fifth Group restaurants never fail. Consistency between all of their establishments is impressive. The service on a surprisingly busy Monday night was spot on. The staff even accommodated our arriving early. The food was remarkable, especially the gluten-free veal saltimbocca. The wine selections are always exceptional, and the cocktails consistently good. We don't frequent LaTavola as much as other FG restaurants (location), but always so glad when we do. Beautiful night out!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I took my wife to La Tavola for a date n ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

I took my wife to La Tavola for a date night. It was our first time there. We had a great experience! We sat outside on their back deck. It's covered and has misters so it's fine in the summertime.

Our server was excellent, very friendly and helpful. The food was just amazing! Everything tastes really good. We will definitely go there again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food very well prepared. Server was top ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Food very well prepared. Server was top notch. Very pleasant anniversary dinner.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Went here for an anniversary dinner, I a ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Went here for an anniversary dinner, I actually had reservations at another place at first but switched it here last minute. Very nice place for a date and/or special occasion, I like the small intimate feel it has as well. The mushroom ragu was good, I preferred the tagliatelle bolognese. Our service was outstanding ---Anna gave great suggestions and was very attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Was a fantastic brunch! Great food! Serv ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Was a fantastic brunch! Great food! Service was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What can I say it is part of the Fifth G ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

What can I say it is part of the Fifth Group(South City Kitchen). I haven't been here is so many years, I decided a visit was needed....OMG the risotto was super duper good. We had the black spaghetti with calamari and fish soup, I wanted to lick the plate the food was so good. I would highly recommend LaTavola great food and atmosphere.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

great food and excellent service. love t ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

great food and excellent service. love the mushroom ragu and squid ink pastas

Tags: romantic, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food, very good value. Our table ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Great food, very good value. Our table was a bit cramped, but most weren't. Staff was very friendly and helpful. It will become a regular when we visit Atlanta.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Whole fish branzino,lasagna,caesar salad ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Whole fish branzino,lasagna,caesar salad, piedmontwineallsuperb

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was amazing, the seafood, the ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

The food was amazing, the seafood, the pasta, desert,all was delicius, i love this place

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, late-night find, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is an excellent and comfortable spo ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

This is an excellent and comfortable spot to dine when in Atlanta. Located in a great older neighborhood, I love the food and the staff. I've dined here half dozen times over last year - this is one of my go-to spots when I travel to Atlanta. I highly recommend it.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Gave value low rate due to our appetizer ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Gave value low rate due to our appetizer being $16.00 !

Shocked for sea scallops and argula (that was used from the onsite garden boxes)...But still one of my favorite restraunts!!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I feel that the person at the reception ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

I feel that the person at the reception could be more warm and should have given me more choice for the table. Maybe I wasn't too warm either as I was dying of hot weather. Also, the brunch is expensive. With four cocktails and two dishes, the check came out to be over $60. Pricey!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

Favorite Italian Place

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

This is by far my favorite Italian place in Atlanta. Would absolutely recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food and service.

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

Amazing food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Better than Italy

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

I must confess. I have had bad meals in Italy. I am always expecting the best and have been disappointed frequently. Not so tonight. Tonight's meal tasted like I expected meals in Italy to taste. There were four of each and each of us raved about the food. The best risotto ever (Georgia peach risotto), the best swordfish ever, the best bolognese ever, the best SALAD ever. Wines available by the glass were impressive. This was the first of many nights I intend to spend here.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Impressed!

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

We went to La Tavola for the first time and fell in love with the place!! Everyone from the hostess to the waiter to the chef were all so attentive and knowledgeable. The food was excellent as was the atmosphere. Wish we lived closer... It's over an hour drive but we will be back!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food!

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding service!

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Our servicer Jennifer was excellent. She described the menu selection in a way that made out mouths water. Our dinners were fantastic. The bread, strawberry appetizer, gnocchi sardi and saltimbocce alla romana were to die for. Our cocktails were also very good. I had the Basil limonada and it was very refreshing. W drove 70 miles and it was well worth the drive.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.