About La Tavola Trattoria

992 Virginia Avenue NE
Atlanta, GA 30306
View Larger Map

"Best Italian" - The Sunday Paper's Reader's Choice Awards. "Top 50 Restaurant" - Atlanta Journal-Constitution.

Exposed brick, dark wood floors & rustic colors give La Tavola its authentic trattoria feel, while progressive touches hint at its innovative cuisine. The food is simple yet creative, elegant & certainly delicious - the kind of food you could eat every day or turn into a celebration.

La Tavola also offers one of the city's most unique brunch menus. It is a can't miss!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
DINNER NIGHTLY;
Monday-Thursday, 5:30-10pm;
Friday-Saturday, 5:30pm-11pm;
Sunday, 5:30pm-10pm;

SUNDAY BRUNCH, 11am-3pm

Cross Street:
N. Highland Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(404) 873-5430

Website:
http://fifthgroup.com/

Catering:
La Tavola is owned by Fifth Group Restaurants which also owns Bold American Events & Catering. For more information on catering, please visit http://boldamerican.com.

Parking Details:
La Tavola offers valet parking across the street at Wells Fargo Bank after 5pm and a private parking lot behind the restaurant; street parking is also available.

Executive Chef:
Justin Jordan

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Molto Monday - Every Monday choose one of four special pastas for $10.

Lasagna Sunday - Every Sunday is Traditional Lasagna Bolognese for $10.

Restaurant Photos

La Tavola Trattoria
La Tavola Trattoria
La Tavola Trattoria
La Tavola Trattoria
La Tavola Trattoria
Spaghetti
Salumi Plate
Mushroom Ragu
Tiramisu
Meyer Lemon Olive Oil Cake
Ricotta Gnocchi With Rabbit Ragu
Braised Pork Belly Ravioli
Grilled Cotechino
Fiori D'arancio
Braised Wild Boar Shoulder
Angelina, I Adore You Cocktail
Smoked Salmon Crostini
Root Julep Cocktail
Sausage & Eggs
Bread & Butter
Manicotti
Octopus Salad
Grilled Octopus Salad
Fried Calamari
Grilled Lamb Scottaditi
Roasted Trout W/ Walnut Agrodolce
Bloody Mary
veal sweetbreads
Torte Di Mele
Black Linguine
Baked Rigatoni
Ricotta Cavatelli & Ragu Alla Napoletana
Vanilla Panna Cotta
Rabbit Strozzapreti
Braised Tomato & Pork Cheek Crespelle
Torte Di Nona, Salted Caramel And Pine Nuts
Chestnut Gnocchi, Braised Wild Boar, Juniper Berries And Cacao Tartufo
House-Made Ricotta Cavatelli
Pan Di Spagna
Grilled Hangar Steak, Farro Antica, Grilled Radicchio, Beets, Gorgonzola Vinaigrette
Grilled Hangar Steak
Flatiron Steak
Sweetbreads

Private Dining

Whether you’re planning your rehearsal dinner or a cocktail party, La Tavola's personable and experienced managers work closely with you to provide customized menus and wine lists, food presentation, and flexible seating arrangements that maximize your budget and you and your guests’ enjoyment.

La Tavola Trattoria Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Atlanta / Georgia
Italian
Atlanta
Best Restaurants in Virginia Highland ›

neighborhood gem (107)
fit for foodies (102)
special occasion (77)
See All
notable wine list (71)
romantic (67)
great for outdoor dining (42)
great for brunch (28)
hot spot (23)
vibrant bar scene (14)
good for groups (11)
late-night find (11)
kid-friendly (6)
great for lunch (4)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1914 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service5

Went here for an anniversary dinner, I a ...

vip
Dined 5 days ago

Went here for an anniversary dinner, I actually had reservations at another place at first but switched it here last minute. Very nice place for a date and/or special occasion, I like the small intimate feel it has as well. The mushroom ragu was good, I preferred the tagliatelle bolognese. Our service was outstanding ---Anna gave great suggestions and was very attentive.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was a fantastic brunch! Great food! Serv ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Was a fantastic brunch! Great food! Service was amazing!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

great food and excellent service. love t ...

vip
Dined on June 16, 2016

great food and excellent service. love the mushroom ragu and squid ink pastas

Tags: romantic, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Great food, very good value. Our table ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Great food, very good value. Our table was a bit cramped, but most weren't. Staff was very friendly and helpful. It will become a regular when we visit Atlanta.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Whole fish branzino,lasagna,caesar salad ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

Whole fish branzino,lasagna,caesar salad, piedmontwineallsuperb

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was amazing, the seafood, the ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

The food was amazing, the seafood, the pasta, desert,all was delicius, i love this place

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is an excellent and comfortable spo ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

This is an excellent and comfortable spot to dine when in Atlanta. Located in a great older neighborhood, I love the food and the staff. I've dined here half dozen times over last year - this is one of my go-to spots when I travel to Atlanta. I highly recommend it.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Gave value low rate due to our appetizer ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

Gave value low rate due to our appetizer being $16.00 ! Shocked for sea scallops and argula (that was used from the onsite garden boxes)...But still one of my favorite restraunts!!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

I feel that the person at the reception ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

I feel that the person at the reception could be more warm and should have given me more choice for the table. Maybe I wasn't too warm either as I was dying of hot weather. Also, the brunch is expensive. With four cocktails and two dishes, the check came out to be over $60. Pricey!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Favorite Italian Place

Dined on June 11, 2016

This is by far my favorite Italian place in Atlanta. Would absolutely recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food and service.

vip
Dined on June 7, 2016

Amazing food and service.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Better than Italy

Dined on June 1, 2016

I must confess. I have had bad meals in Italy. I am always expecting the best and have been disappointed frequently. Not so tonight. Tonight's meal tasted like I expected meals in Italy to taste. There were four of each and each of us raved about the food. The best risotto ever (Georgia peach risotto), the best swordfish ever, the best bolognese ever, the best SALAD ever. Wines available by the glass were impressive. This was the first of many nights I intend to spend here.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Impressed!

Dined on June 1, 2016

We went to La Tavola for the first time and fell in love with the place!! Everyone from the hostess to the waiter to the chef were all so attentive and knowledgeable. The food was excellent as was the atmosphere. Wish we lived closer... It's over an hour drive but we will be back!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food!

Dined on May 29, 2016

Great food!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding service!

Dined on May 28, 2016

Our servicer Jennifer was excellent. She described the menu selection in a way that made out mouths water. Our dinners were fantastic. The bread, strawberry appetizer, gnocchi sardi and saltimbocce alla romana were to die for. Our cocktails were also very good. I had the Basil limonada and it was very refreshing. W drove 70 miles and it was well worth the drive.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

La Tavola is one of our favorites! Alway ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

La Tavola is one of our favorites! Always a great selection on the menu that is changed up seasonally. The staff is always very knowledgeable and very attentive. Great food, great service!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

No risotto.

Dined on May 25, 2016

The maitre'd held our reservation although we were ccaught in traffic and 30 minutes late. Nice. My date had a bouillabaise type dish that she liked. I had risotto that had very little of the meat or whatever was added. Would definitely order something else next time. But I would return.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding and friendly service. Love ...

vip
Dined on May 25, 2016

Outstanding and friendly service. Loved the Veggie Lasagna

food5
ambience5
service5

It goes without saying, Fifth Group brin ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

It goes without saying, Fifth Group brings the best restaurants to the city. That being said, La Tavola, is one of the best Italian restaurants in Atlanta. You might be thinking, "Italian brunch?, I don't think so." However, do yourself a favor and check it out. From delicious homemade sausages, charcuterie, frittatas, and pastas, you can't go wrong. It's the perfect brunch paired with tasty bloody Mary's and mimosas. David Hobbs was managing and made sure we were taken care of, Randall, our server, made excellent recommendations from food to drinks. Thanks, Chef Justin for your excellent and perfect touches on your menu. Paired with a beautiful patio setting in the quaint Virginia-Highlands, we couldn't have asked for a more perfect dining experience.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

La Tavola never disappoints.

Dined on May 22, 2016

Came for brunch with six others and everyone raved about the food and the service. I couldn't be happier that I can walk to La Tav in 10 minutes. Neighborhood gem for sure.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

We had such an amazing time!!! The food ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

We had such an amazing time!!! The food was incredible!! The charcuterie board is best in Atlanta!! The pasta dishes.. Yum!

food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic food and service! The waiter w ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Fantastic food and service! The waiter was very knowledgable about the preparation of the dishes and the wine selection. The mushroom pasta is amazing and the grilled calamari was a great dish as well. Will definitely return

food4
ambience4
service4

Delicious squid ink pasta and the house- ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Delicious squid ink pasta and the house-made amaro was amazing!

food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Great pasta. Seriously, get the mushroom ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Great pasta. Seriously, get the mushroom truffle pasta, it's so good. I went with 2 others and we all enjoyed the food greatly. The service could've been a bit better, but it was quite busy. It was also a bit overpriced ($16 for maybe 4oz of pasta with no meat). Overall, very good though.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

Good but...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Room is good, service was friendly and attentive. But unfortunately the eggs were cold, to the point that they weren't very appetizing. I went ahead and ate them anyway because I was with people and didn't want to make everyone wait on me to have my meal re-prepared.

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Anna was fantastic! Excellent knowledg ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Anna was fantastic! Excellent knowledge of the menu and just attentive enough.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lamb Ragu with Mint Strozzapreti

Dined on May 11, 2016

Great Italian specialties cooked from scratch. I have been a patron for several years, and have shared this gem of a restaurant with dozens of friends. Any time I am in Atlanta, I go to La Tavola. I always get the Veal Meat Balls and Marinated Olives. They are must haves. Their selection of Charcuterie is always very good. During my visit Tuesday night, I had the Casarecce. It is a braised lamb ragu, with mint strozzapreti (made in house), tossed with pistachios, and topped with fresh grated ricotta salata. Very nice buttery finish. It is lick your plate awesome! Chef Justin Jordan is passionate about his food, and it shows. His take on Italian food is inspiring. Really. His Sugos and Ragus are always spot on. Bottom line......Great Food, Great Service and Very Friendly Staff. You can't go wrong. ***If Chef ever puts the lamb belly on the menu again, GET IT!. It is to die for!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

It was Mother's Day and they seated us r ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

It was Mother's Day and they seated us right on our reservation time. The sever was friendly and knowledgeable about the menu. Our drinks were always full. Our daughter who is a very picky eater finished her plate in entirety. We had a lovely afternoon.

food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Overall it's good not great...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Went there for Mother's Day...nothing spectacular hence nothing much to say about it...

food4
ambience4
service2

We love coming here for special occasion ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

We love coming here for special occasions. Last time we had the sweetest server. This time our server was very snooty and kind of pompus. While I appreciate his knowledge of food and wine. He can explain. In a way we can understand and not sound like a snotty know it all.

food5
ambience3
service4
value1

This was our first visit to the restaura ...

Dined on May 6, 2016

This was our first visit to the restaurant. The Food was excellent. As an Italian, i am pretty selective as to where I will each out for Italian food. I was a bid disappointed in the portions though. Both my wife and I finished our meals and were still hungry. When serving pasta, that generally cost about $1 per pound, bringing home leftovers is an easy way to allow your customers to feel the value was well worth the $18-$25 price. Again, the taste was excellent, just don't like leaving hungry when you drop $100 for dinner. Wine and dessert were also great.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5

We are always on the quest for the holy ...

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

We are always on the quest for the holy grail of Italian food.!We finally found it! There isn't a negative word I can say about this place except that the night had to end! From the moment we walked in and we were greeted by a lovely young lady and young man. They were so pleasant and welcoming. The place is small but the service and food more than makes up for it. Our server Jennifer was OUTSTANDING! The way she described the food with such detail and passion made us want to order everything on the menu. We go out every weekend and hands down she has been the best server that we have ever had! We will definitely go back to la tavola. You can't go wrong with what you order. The wine, cocktails, appetizers,pasta, entrees and desserts all to die for. We ❤️ this place!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Just Great

Dined on April 28, 2016

Have been dining here for several years. Just great food all the time. Have never been disappointed with the food or service. Great neighborhood restaurant in the Virginia Highlands area of Atlanta.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's always a good time

Dined on April 25, 2016

I love their special menus, they always have something unique, and their seafood days are awesome. Love the homemade pasta. Highly recommend the back patio.deck if the weather is nice.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5

Pork Milanese over cooked. Otherwise th ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

Pork Milanese over cooked. Otherwise the entire experience was great.

food5
ambience3
service5

We were visiting Atlanta from out of tow ...

Dined on April 21, 2016

We were visiting Atlanta from out of town and loved sitting on the back patio in a small neighborhood spot away from the hustle of downtown and Buckhead. The service and staff were incredibly friendly and knowledgable. A seafood sausage with pasta and cream sauce was a special-- there are no words for how amazing that was. Everything was delicious that I tasted but I have to give an extra nod to the veal saltimbocca. Loved the meal, the ambiance, the people and the neighborhood.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Business dinner for 3

Dined on April 21, 2016

Our server, I think his name was Mike (??), was a joy. He had a beard, very gregarious in a good and appropriate way. Lot of fun. Food was excellent, perfect evening to sit outside with a glass of wine. Overall a very pleasant experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Service was fantastic Will was very good ...

Dined on April 19, 2016

Service was fantastic Will was very good and engaging. Food was delicous and was as close to authentic Italian that I have had compared to Milan itself. Noise level on the patio was bit louder than my manager would have liked but I felt it was good. Excellent wine list for the true Italians. Two gentlemen from Milan Italy said it was GOOD which is the first time I have heard that from them in US at any italian Resturant.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not Enough Superlatives

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

There isn't much more that we can say about LaTavola, it continues to be as good as it gets from food, to service, to ambiance. While we usually favor the pasta dishes this time it was lamb chops and veal. My wife has had lamb from Florida to Maine to Arizona to Las Vegas and these were the best she has ever had. My veal was outstanding. As stated before the atmosphere is such that we feel like we are in New York. Perfect background music. Servers and management recognize us and always stop to say hi. It just doesn't get any better.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service4

Consistently Exquisite!

Dined on April 15, 2016

Consistently Exquisite!

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.