About La Tavola Trattoria

992 Virginia Avenue NE
Atlanta, GA 30306
View Larger Map

"Best Italian" - The Sunday Paper's Reader's Choice Awards. "Top 50 Restaurant" - Atlanta Journal-Constitution.

Exposed brick, dark wood floors & rustic colors give La Tavola its authentic trattoria feel, while progressive touches hint at its innovative cuisine. The food is simple yet creative, elegant & certainly delicious - the kind of food you could eat every day or turn into a celebration.

La Tavola also offers one of the city's most unique brunch menus. It is a can't miss!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
DINNER NIGHTLY;
Monday-Thursday, 5:30-10pm;
Friday-Saturday, 5:30pm-11pm;
Sunday, 5:30pm-10pm;

SUNDAY BRUNCH, 11am-3pm

Cross Street:
N. Highland Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(404) 873-5430

Website:
http://fifthgroup.com/

Catering:
La Tavola is owned by Fifth Group Restaurants which also owns Bold American Events & Catering. For more information on catering, please visit http://boldamerican.com.

Parking Details:
La Tavola offers valet parking across the street at Wells Fargo Bank after 5pm and a private parking lot behind the restaurant; street parking is also available.

Executive Chef:
Justin Jordan

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Molto Monday - Every Monday choose one of four special pastas for $10.

Lasagna Sunday - Every Sunday is Traditional Lasagna Bolognese for $10.

Restaurant Photos

La Tavola Trattoria
La Tavola Trattoria
La Tavola Trattoria
La Tavola Trattoria
La Tavola Trattoria
Burrata With Fried Eggplant
Chicken Saltimbocca
Spaghetti
Meyer Lemon Olive Oil Cake
Ricotta Gnocchi With Rabbit Ragu
Braised Pork Belly Ravioli
Grilled Cotechino
Fiori D'arancio
Braised Wild Boar Shoulder
Smoked Salmon Crostini
Angelina, I Adore You Cocktail
Sausage & Eggs
Root Julep Cocktail
Bread & Butter
Manicotti
Octopus Salad
Grilled Octopus Salad
Fried Calamari
Roasted Trout W/ Walnut Agrodolce
Grilled Lamb Scottaditi
Salumi Plate
Bloody Mary
veal sweetbreads
Torte Di Mele
Black Linguine
Tiramisu
Mushroom Ragu
Baked Rigatoni
Ricotta Cavatelli & Ragu Alla Napoletana
Vanilla Panna Cotta
Rabbit Strozzapreti
Braised Tomato & Pork Cheek Crespelle
Flatiron Steak
Pan Di Spagna
Grilled Hangar Steak, Farro Antica, Grilled Radicchio, Beets, Gorgonzola Vinaigrette
Grilled Hangar Steak
Chestnut Gnocchi, Braised Wild Boar, Juniper Berries And Cacao Tartufo
Torte Di Nona, Salted Caramel And Pine Nuts
House-Made Ricotta Cavatelli
Sweetbreads

Private Dining

Whether you’re planning your rehearsal dinner or a cocktail party, La Tavola's personable and experienced managers work closely with you to provide customized menus and wine lists, food presentation, and flexible seating arrangements that maximize your budget and you and your guests’ enjoyment.

La Tavola Trattoria Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Atlanta / Georgia
Best Overall
Atlanta
Italian
Atlanta
Best Restaurants in Virginia Highland ›

Neighborhood Gem (107)
Fit for Foodies (93)
Special Occasion (77)
See All
Notable Wine List (70)
Romantic (59)
Great for Outdoor Dining (45)
Hot Spot (24)
Great for Brunch (23)
Good for Groups (15)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Late-night Find (10)
Kid-friendly (5)
Great for Lunch (3)
Scenic View (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1959 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent service from Randal

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined a day ago

Excellent service from Randal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was amazing - both the food a ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined 4 days ago

Everything was amazing - both the food and super friendly and attentive service. Pasta is homemade and you can tell. I had the pasta infused with ink sauce as an appetizer which was great, and would have been a good main course choice as well. Came with the family of 5, everyone was happy. Glad we reserved ahead- not a large place and not too many tables to accommodate a larger group.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Lovely, lovely dinner. I thought we wer ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 5 days ago

Lovely, lovely dinner. I thought we were back in Rome! And our server, Randall, took such fine care of us. We will dine there again.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food, ambience, and wine outstanding as ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Food, ambience, and wine outstanding as always. The lasagna with burrata is now a favorite! The service was a little shaky by what I expect from Fifth Group and La Tavola but didn't prevent a wonderful evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

My wife and I's favorite restaurant. To ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

My wife and I's favorite restaurant. Top notch service with knowledgeable wait staff and extensive wine list.

Everything on the menu is delicious and and always of exceptional quality and freshness.

Tucked away in the Virginia Highland area with free valet parking available for dinner guests.

Even if you think you're not a fan of fine Italian food, you will love everything you order at this restaurant.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always enjoy the food here but this time ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Always enjoy the food here but this time I felt like Ambiance and Service was lacking. The food is always changing up and I love the seasonal items here. The restaurant itself is a bit crowded but overall they make use of the space they have! On this occasion, we reserved a table for 2 & it was clearly a date night, but they ended up putting two people (walk-ins) in the table next to us (it's a very tiny space & there were other open tables around). We ordered before the two people next to us (they ordered the EXACT same thing as us) and they got their food before us. Wasn't too pleased about having to wait so long for our entrees & I didn't feel the waiter was too attentive at our table anyways. Overall I have no complaints about the food or wine, just not sure I'd plan a date night here again and may even prefer ordering for take out! The place is cozy & they are knowledgeable about their menu & wine list which I appreciate!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

Our go-to place in the 'hood. Servers ar ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Our go-to place in the 'hood. Servers are knowledgable, efficient, team oriented, gracious (i.e., professional). Caitlin runs a tight operation. Go there. You will not be disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

2 of the 3 main dishes were not very goo ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

2 of the 3 main dishes were not very good. The chicken had so much pepper my husband could not eat it. I ordered mushroom ravioli that had layers of mushroom with what seemed like spaghetti.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

I've been to La Tavola several times and ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

I've been to La Tavola several times and it's always fantastic. My boyfriend and I were taken care of by Will, who is always super friendly, excited to talk about the specials, and provide insight to the menu. The food is delicious, we did the roast red pepper appetizer and each enjoyed a $10 pasta special, everything was out of this world!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went there for our anniversary. Food wa ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Went there for our anniversary. Food was great! Highly recommend.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Simply amazing from start to finish. Exc ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Simply amazing from start to finish. Excellent wine selection and the waiter was very knowledgeable about food pairings. The food was amazing. Staff was very friendly and attentive. The area around the restaurant is very nice with unique shops.

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went here for our wedding anniversary ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We went here for our wedding anniversary dinner. It was highly recommended. The food and service were exceptional. The only issue we had was with the seating. We were right up front in the tight area immediately to the right of the door when you walk in. It was extremely tight. Other than the seating, it was a great experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We met relatives here for a "reunion" di ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

We met relatives here for a "reunion" dinner. My cousin had already ordered a bottle of sauvignon blanc, which was delicious. I ordered a seafood stew as my entree, which was a little disappointing with shrimp heads taking up too much of the plate. My relatives enjoyed their pasta dishes.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Very, very tight restaurant, however fo ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Very, very tight restaurant, however food is good and worth a visit. A little pricey

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Our server, Anna, was terrific. She reco ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Our server, Anna, was terrific. She recommended a wine that was perfect for the three of us. La Tavola servers have always been knowledgable about the wine selection. The food was perfect as always.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Normally a top-notch place but my lasagn ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Normally a top-notch place but my lasagna portion was small and not hot. Others liked what they ordered more. Great wine list. Good service. Maybe an off night.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

The Food was fantastic along with excell ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

The Food was fantastic along with excellent and friendly service. Great atmosphere made for a wonderful dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything is always perfect!

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Everything is always perfect!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The restaurant is always consistent in e ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The restaurant is always consistent in every way from the service, the servers knowledge of the wine list and menu and timelIness of food arriving to our table. The chef's have done a wonderful job of coming up with new and innovative dishes, keeping the menu fresh, while maintaining some of their standard dishes. It is always something to look forward to. A fantastic neighborhood gem!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We really enjoyed our dinner at La Tavol ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

We really enjoyed our dinner at La Tavola; it was even more fun because it happened to be Tomato Fest!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We dined at La Tavola during their Tomat ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

We dined at La Tavola during their Tomato Feast. The restaurant is a little cramped inside, but luckily there was no one at the table next to us so we had a little privacy for most of our meal. Our waitress recommended several dishes on the special menu, and described some to help us get a better idea of preparation methods. I chose the swordfish with tomatoes and caperberries. The fish was cooked well and the tomatoes complimented the fish, althought the caperberries did not add much. My brother had the steak, which was overdone and not a "large" portion as we had been told. It came with squash caponata which he said was the best part of the dish. The spicy greens, which we thought would be cooked greens, turned out to be a handful of arugula with a vinaigrette- very disappointing. For dessert, I tried the tomato tart, a special dessert for Tomato Feast. Interesting, but not sweet like I like a dessert. The flourless chocolate cake was a better pick.

All in all, we were satisfied with the meal, but thought the food was just ok. I've been here a few times and have ordered off of the regular menu and enjoyed my dinner much more, so maybe we just hit a bad night or ordered wrong for our tastes.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Food was Fab. Our friends loved it!

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Food was Fab. Our friends loved it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a pleasure to eat here. Was very ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Always a pleasure to eat here. Was very excited to get to meet the bar manager who had plenty of great wine recommendations.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food matched by excellent serv ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Excellent food matched by excellent service from the GM to the wait staff and kitchen team!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

One of the few we go back to every time ...

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

One of the few we go back to every time in Atlanta. Great food . Part of the fifth group. Recommend all their restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The staff was very professional and atte ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

The staff was very professional and attentive. We had a small issue with some noise (and slight smell :O) caused by the City pumping sewer lines but the staff made up for it by comp-ing a bottle of wine which was very appreciated. We had a great meal! Thank you!

Tim

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The server was not attentive but the foo ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

The server was not attentive but the food made up for it .

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

We visit La Tavola every six months when ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

We visit La Tavola every six months when in town for market. It is a standing event with two other friends. Our food was outstanding as always. Everything is cooked to perfection and service is impeccable. The only complaint was our waiter really messed up our ticket. We were using a special $40 for $20 coupon and the waiter didn't see the bar code at first and I was calling my husband to see where the missing page was (there all along). Then he took a birthday discount off of our bill, but it belonged to our companion. So we had to give our friend $20 cash to balance everything.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Outdoor Eating, Neighbourhood Gem, Romance, Special Occasions
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Amazing as always. Atlantas best Italian ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Amazing as always. Atlantas best Italian restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A great neighborhood vibe backed up with ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

A great neighborhood vibe backed up with great food!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The entire meal/experience was wonderful ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

The entire meal/experience was wonderful from start to finish!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We live in TN and visit ATL several time ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We live in TN and visit ATL several times a year. Even with all the fabulous restaurant offerings in the city, we more often than not choose to dine at La Tavola. This restaurant is very special to my husband and myself as it was the location of our first date 17 years ago. We celebrated our 15th wedding anniversary last weekend and it was just as enjoyable as the first time. The food is so well prepared and the service is extrodinary! The atmosphere is comfortable and cozy, and it always feels so special when we have the opportunity to stop in. La Tavola is a true gem!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We had a wonderful dining experience at ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We had a wonderful dining experience at La Tavola this past weekend. Our server was very attentive and coursed out our meal wonderfully. The food was extremely flavorful and came out quickly. Management was friendly and professional. We had an all around great time!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Coming from a food snob, the food here w ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Coming from a food snob, the food here was absolutely excellent. The staff was knowledgeable and respectful.

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food - great price!

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Delicious food - great price!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We have been to La Tavola a dozen times ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We have been to La Tavola a dozen times or more. July 3 was the worst experience we have had in terms of service, food quality, and the overall experience.

Our visit was to celebrate a birthday. Not only was that noted on the original reservation, but confirmed with a phone call the day of the visit. But the occasion would have been completely ignored if not for the hostess stopping by to check on us over coffee at the end of the meal. It was a nice touch - but far to late.

Our waitress was clueless. I don't know whether she was new, poorly trained, or what but she seemed unable to manage our experience. It took her more than 10 minutes to visit our table for a drink order, she only mentioned specials after prompting, and she did nothing to rise above average. Normally wait staff is very good so we were surprised.

We had two apps - burrata with grilled peaches and a special - salmon with a cucumber trio. Both were good - the salmon was my favorite dish of the evening. We ordered a side of heirloom tomatoes - a special. There was nothing special about several mealy refrigerated tomatoes on a plate with no seasoning, oil, or herbs of any type. I can pick up better product at my local grocer.

The entrees were the saltimbocca and swordfish. Both were overly salty. The swordfish sounded good on the menu but was served with a heavy topping of tomato sauce - way too heavy for a hot day. I would not recommend either entree.

I'll give La Tavola another try because it has been good in the past. But this meal was poor - far below the level that I have come to expect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

As always - EXCELLENT with great food an ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

As always - EXCELLENT with great food and outstanding service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I started with the pasta with mushroom s ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

I started with the pasta with mushroom sugo (the appetizer portion). The flavor was good and the pasta cooked well but it was very salty. I had my husband try it and he thought it was salty too. He had the roast pepper and they were okay but nothing amazing. The bread was amazing though - like NY bakery bread - crisp on the outside and soft and warm on the inside.

I then had veal saltimbocca. It was also very salty. I was also disappointed because the whole dish was just swimming in liquid. The sauce wasn't fully rendered as it has a very fatty raw broth taste. I could taste the wine and lemon in it too but it tasted like it needed more cooking and the plate could have used less of it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Great little gem in the heart of Virgini ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Great little gem in the heart of Virginia Highlands.

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

It's always a great standby - great food ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

It's always a great standby - great food and wine list.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.