Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.83mi
  3. Distance: 1.04mi
  4. Distance: 1.23mi
  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.83mi
  3. Distance: 1.04mi
  4. Distance: 1.23mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.83mi
  3. Distance: 1.04mi
  4. Distance: 1.23mi
  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.83mi
  3. Distance: 1.04mi
  4. Distance: 1.23mi

About La Tavola Trattoria

"Best Italian" - The Sunday Paper's Reader's Choice Awards. "Top 50 Restaurant" - Atlanta Journal-Constitution.

Exposed brick, dark wood floors & rustic colors give La Tavola its authentic trattoria feel, while progressive touches hint at its innovative cuisine. The food is simple yet creative, elegant & certainly delicious - the kind of food you could eat every day or turn into a celebration.

La Tavola also offers one of the city's most unique brunch menus. It is a can't miss!

992 Virginia Avenue NE
Atlanta, GA 30306
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
DINNER NIGHTLY;
Monday-Thursday, 5:30-10pm;
Friday-Saturday, 5:30pm-11pm;
Sunday, 5:30pm-10pm;

SUNDAY BRUNCH, 11am-3pm

Cross Street:
N. Highland Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(404) 873-5430

Website:
http://fifthgroup.com/

Catering:
La Tavola is owned by Fifth Group Restaurants which also owns Bold American Events & Catering. For more information on catering, please visit http://boldamerican.com.

Parking Details:
La Tavola offers valet parking across the street at Wells Fargo Bank after 5pm and a private parking lot behind the restaurant; street parking is also available.

Executive Chef:
Justin Jordan

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Molto Monday - Every Monday choose one of four special pastas for $10.

Lasagna Sunday - Every Sunday is Traditional Lasagna Bolognese for $10.

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 12:45PM - 2:00PM 9:00PM - 9:30PM

Mon - Tue 5:00PM - 5:45PM 8:15PM - 9:30PM

Wed - Thu 5:00PM - 5:45PM 8:45PM - 9:30PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Whether you’re planning your rehearsal dinner or a cocktail party, La Tavola's personable and experienced managers work closely with you to provide customized menus and wine lists, food presentation, and flexible seating arrangements that maximize your budget and you and your guests’ enjoyment.

La Tavola Trattoria Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (62)
Good for a Date (58)
Special Occasion (48)
See All
Romantic (38)
Cozy (36)
Fit for Foodies (35)
Authentic (34)
Worth the Drive (32)
Good for Anniversaries (32)
Notable Wine List (30)
Casual (28)
Creative Cuisine (25)
Great for Outdoor Dining (24)
Good for Birthdays (22)
Comfort Food (21)
Bar Seating (19)
Sunday Lunch (16)
Great for Brunch (15)
Business Meals (15)
Hot Spot (13)
Local Ingredients (13)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Fun (9)
Seasonal (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Late-night Find (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Open Kitchen (5)
Healthy (5)
People Watching (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Great Beer (3)
Spicy (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Modern Decor (1)
Scenic View (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Family Style (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Historic (1)
Sort By:
S
2402 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

My boyfriend and I went to La Tavola for the first time and we are still raving over how great our experience was. The restaurant has an amazing feel to it and a great atmosphere. I loved that the wine list was from a variety of regions rather than Italian wines only. The food was unreal and the service was outstanding! We were pleasantly surprised by our bill as well. I'm already planning my next dinner or brunch at La Tavola!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 3 days ago

This restaurant never disappoints. Food and service is outstanding!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined 4 days ago

Great experience overall. Wonderful service and outstanding food. Went for Tomato Feast.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 16, 2017

One of my favorite brunch spots. Great cappuccinos (Lavazza is the best) and the salmon crostinis are not to be skipped. The Italian sausage with fried eggs and gnocchi is also great. Just wish they'd do brunch on Saturdays too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 16, 2017

What looks like an " ordinary" place... Is more than that. Atmosphere and the food makes this place great!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Casual, Cozy, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Perfect little neighborhood spot!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Receptionist was less than pleasant. (We called ahead to say we were running about 20 minutes late for our reservation due to heavy traffic.) It appeared she took too much time in what we thought was a search for a table after our arrival. (There were many empty booths.) After discovering to our disappointment our 1,000 points were reduced to 100, it was apparent she was making this Open Table change while we stood there.

On the other hand, our server was very pleasant (good service) and the food, as always, excellent! My date took leftovers in a box and then noticing an apparent homeless person outside just a couple of doors down, offered him the food. Wow, we can tell he enjoyed La Tavola's menu as well. He ate it all in 'seconds flat!'

Tags: Cozy, Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 13, 2017

From walking in the door to leaving. Everything was absolutely fantastic. Had a 6:15pm reservation. Arrived around 5:50. Was seated at 6. The bartender was very knowledgeable about the beer choices and wine choices. When seated, we were greeted right away by our waiter. He was very helpful by describing the choices on the menu. Food was fantastic.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Happy Hour, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Our server, Will, was most attentive. Easy to talk to. He made some great food recommendations. Recommended 2 wines and let us sample both. It's a great neighborhood dinning experience. We were amazed at the number of people that came in on a Tuesday night.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 9, 2017

My wife and I go all the time. We LOVE IT!!!! It's our anniversary place, our birthday celebration place, take friends from out of town place, New Years Eve place, you name it!! Impeccable everything from service to food and everything in between.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Great place, hostess, Lauren, and waiter , Will provided excellent service. Great Vodka cocktails

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Fantastic as always. One of our favorite restaurants in Atlanta.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Our server, Crystal, was excellent. The wine was perfect. As always the food was dependably delicious.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 7, 2017

The pasta was absolutely fresh, and everything was great. Our server, Randall, was particularly friendly and helpful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Restaurant and service were great. Recommend the grilled calamari appetizer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 6, 2017

The menu said, "Spaghetti - tomatoes, basil", - but when it arrived, it was spaghetti in tomato sauce w/ tiny bits of basil. I was extremely disappointed as I was anticipating fresh tomato with fresh basil leaves, especially since it is summer in the South. The dish wasn't even decorated with a leaf of fresh basil on top! -- Although I could have picked some from the window box a few tables down on the deck.
It was very disappointing, and a poor, misleading explanation for the dish which ended up tasting very mediocre.
I re-orderd the taglionlini, mushroom ragu, which was okay.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 5, 2017

As always, outstanding. Well informed and engaging server.

Tags: Casual, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Fresh in house made dishes! The spaghetti and meatballs were amazing. The desert was phenomenal! Excellent service!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 3, 2017

fabulous ambiance and the food is always excellent. had the squid ink pasta which was perfectly spiced to taste.

Tags: People Watching, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Romantic, Cozy, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Great meal and atmosphere, the staff was very kind and courteous, would definitely go back

Tags: Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 1, 2017

The food and the service were phenomenal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Excellent service and some of the best Italuan food! Amazing!

Tags: Cozy, Casual, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 24, 2017

LaTavola continues to set the standard . Amazing food, drinks, atmosphere and service. We have had about every entree at one time or another and all leave us drooling for more. Have learned to make the squid ink and others at home, but can't quite match theirs and look forward to ordering it again. Such a special place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Excellent service. Under terrific management. Loved the chicken and swordfish dishes and veal meatballs as a starter. Tiramisu Dessert was ok but the rest of the meal and service made it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Chris behind the bar was fabulous!!! She recommended a great glass of wine and was a pleasure to chat with throughout my entire meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 18, 2017

As my favorite Italian restaurant in Atlanta, I always take my out of town guests to La Tavola. On this evening, we had the veal saltimbocca and the swordfish as our entrees, saving room for the flourless chocolate cake for dessert. Both of the entrees were delicious and are currently regulars on the menu. There were no specials that evening but I can say from experience, the specials are alway excellent as well. The flour less chocolate cake was rich and as always, more then enough for 2 people. La Tavola remains the best Italian in Atlanta!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Attentive service and consistently great food that will not disappoint. Atmosphere is low-key understated; the menu while consistent usually includes several variations to favorites well as new items.
I discovered a new very likable IPA from Monday Night Brewery on my last visit (Blood Orange IPA)

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Visiting Atlanta and received recommendation from concierge. Location was a short ride from our hotel and worth the trip.

Service was friendly, fast and attentive. Food was outstanding!

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Fun, Comfort Food, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Dinner was outstanding. Restaurant is small and tables are tight together, but the service was exceptional. Jennifer made this night so special for all of us. We were visiting for the Rotary International Convention in Downtown Atlanta, and went here based on excellent reviews. Everything we had was so delicious, and the wait staff never let your water glass get empty I highly recommend if you want food and service that exceed your expectations. THANKS JENNIFER!!!!

Tags: Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 10, 2017

As always simply stellar service and outstanding menu. One of my favorite Wine Lists anywhere too.

Tags: Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 5, 2017

Birthday day lunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Chris at the bar is the best .The food is awsome.Great atmosphere

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 31, 2017

Great food, as always. One of our dining companions who was just back from a trip to Rome said the cuisine at La Tavola beat anything she had in Italy -- high praise!

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 29, 2017

La Tavola is one of my go to restaurants when I'm looking for a great, relaxed meal. The food is always delicious and the service leaves nothing to be desired. I've been coming for years and have yet to have a bad experience. I live in the neighborhood, so I will continue to be a regular for a long time to come!

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 29, 2017

As always just simply devine

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 28, 2017

My dining experience at la tavola was flawless
I look forward to returning very soon

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 27, 2017

A must go to restaurant. The atmosphere was perfect for us celebrate our wedding anniversary. Yes we go back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Excellent! Food was outstanding, service was friendly and knowledgeable, and the back patio is quiet and relaxing. Highly recommended!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 23, 2017

La Tavola was a great dining experience overall, but the true star was their delicious Italian cuisine. I am so happy they are in Virginia Highland!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 22, 2017

The waiter (Male bald guy with Pot belly) was very rude and in extreme rush all the time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.