About La Tavola Trattoria

992 Virginia Avenue NE
Atlanta, GA 30306
View Larger Map

"Best Italian" - The Sunday Paper's Reader's Choice Awards. "Top 50 Restaurant" - Atlanta Journal-Constitution.

Exposed brick, dark wood floors & rustic colors give La Tavola its authentic trattoria feel, while progressive touches hint at its innovative cuisine. The food is simple yet creative, elegant & certainly delicious - the kind of food you could eat every day or turn into a celebration.

La Tavola also offers one of the city's most unique brunch menus. It is a can't miss!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
DINNER NIGHTLY;
Monday-Thursday, 5:30-10pm;
Friday-Saturday, 5:30pm-11pm;
Sunday, 5:30pm-10pm;

SUNDAY BRUNCH, 11am-3pm

Cross Street:
N. Highland Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(404) 873-5430

Website:
http://fifthgroup.com/

Catering:
La Tavola is owned by Fifth Group Restaurants which also owns Bold American Events & Catering. For more information on catering, please visit http://boldamerican.com.

Parking Details:
La Tavola offers valet parking across the street at Wells Fargo Bank after 5pm and a private parking lot behind the restaurant; street parking is also available.

Executive Chef:
Justin Jordan

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Molto Monday - Every Monday choose one of four special pastas for $10.

Lasagna Sunday - Every Sunday is Traditional Lasagna Bolognese for $10.

Restaurant Photos

La Tavola Trattoria
La Tavola Trattoria
La Tavola Trattoria
La Tavola Trattoria
La Tavola Trattoria
Burrata With Fried Eggplant - La Tavola Trattoria
Chicken Saltimbocca - La Tavola Trattoria
Spaghetti - La Tavola Trattoria
Meyer Lemon Olive Oil Cake - La Tavola Trattoria
Ricotta Gnocchi With Rabbit Ragu - La Tavola Trattoria
Braised Pork Belly Ravioli - La Tavola Trattoria
Grilled Cotechino - La Tavola Trattoria
Fiori D'arancio - La Tavola Trattoria
Braised Wild Boar Shoulder - La Tavola Trattoria
Smoked Salmon Crostini - La Tavola Trattoria
Angelina, I Adore You Cocktail - La Tavola Trattoria
Sausage & Eggs - La Tavola Trattoria
Root Julep Cocktail - La Tavola Trattoria
Bread & Butter - La Tavola Trattoria
Manicotti - La Tavola Trattoria
Octopus Salad - La Tavola Trattoria
Grilled Octopus Salad - La Tavola Trattoria
Fried Calamari - La Tavola Trattoria
Roasted Trout W/ Walnut Agrodolce - La Tavola Trattoria
Grilled Lamb Scottaditi - La Tavola Trattoria
Salumi Plate - La Tavola Trattoria
Bloody Mary - La Tavola Trattoria
veal sweetbreads - La Tavola Trattoria
Torte Di Mele - La Tavola Trattoria
Black Linguine - La Tavola Trattoria
Tiramisu - La Tavola Trattoria
Mushroom Ragu - La Tavola Trattoria
Baked Rigatoni - La Tavola Trattoria
Ricotta Cavatelli & Ragu Alla Napoletana - La Tavola Trattoria
Vanilla Panna Cotta - La Tavola Trattoria
Rabbit Strozzapreti - La Tavola Trattoria
Braised Tomato & Pork Cheek Crespelle - La Tavola Trattoria
Flatiron Steak - La Tavola Trattoria
Pan Di Spagna - La Tavola Trattoria
Grilled Hangar Steak, Farro Antica, Grilled Radicchio, Beets, Gorgonzola Vinaigrette - La Tavola Trattoria
Grilled Hangar Steak - La Tavola Trattoria
Chestnut Gnocchi, Braised Wild Boar, Juniper Berries And Cacao Tartufo - La Tavola Trattoria
Torte Di Nona, Salted Caramel And Pine Nuts - La Tavola Trattoria
House-Made Ricotta Cavatelli - La Tavola Trattoria
Sweetbreads - La Tavola Trattoria

Private Dining

Whether you’re planning your rehearsal dinner or a cocktail party, La Tavola's personable and experienced managers work closely with you to provide customized menus and wine lists, food presentation, and flexible seating arrangements that maximize your budget and you and your guests’ enjoyment.

La Tavola Trattoria Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Atlanta / Georgia
Italian
Atlanta
Best Restaurants in Virginia Highland ›

Neighborhood Gem (101)
Fit for Foodies (76)
Special Occasion (67)
See All
Notable Wine List (60)
Romantic (48)
Great for Outdoor Dining (34)
Hot Spot (19)
Good for a Date (16)
Great for Brunch (14)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Good for Groups (12)
Cozy (12)
Worth the Drive (11)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Casual (9)
Authentic (9)
Late-night Find (9)
Bar Seating (7)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Kid-friendly (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Business Meals (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Seasonal (4)
Open Kitchen (4)
Fun (3)
Wood Oven (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Scenic View (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Live Sports (1)
Healthy (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Organic (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1994 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent food! Excellent service!! Tha ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent food! Excellent service!!

Thank you Alessia

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Too dark. Almost impossible to read the ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

Too dark. Almost impossible to read the menu without turning the cell phone lantern on.

The food very good.

Nice decor and bar.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

It was quite an amazing night. The only ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 6 days ago

It was quite an amazing night. The only problem I had was that when we arrived, our table wasn't ready yet and we had to wait outside. Also, it got a little warm in the restaurant.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Organic, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

LaTavola is just hands down our favorite ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 7 days ago

LaTavola is just hands down our favorite. The food, atmosphere, people outshine them all. It just feels like home but in New York, San Francisco or Boston. Even though I've learned to make the squid in calamari at home that is passable it is still a treat to get theirs. New fall dishes are amazing. The music and vibe are perfect. It is nice to be known when we walk in, Caitlin, Brian, Chris, Will are fantastic. Can't wait to return.

Tags: Cozy, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Food. Friendly service. Well price ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

Great Food. Friendly service. Well priced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Great food, great service, lovely atmosp ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

Great food, great service, lovely atmosphere! We love La Tavola because we never have a bad meal there and the service is always excellent. The flavors are unique and wonderful, from the mushroom ragu to the veal saltimbocca, and it's great to be able to get pastas in a small or large portion. We had semifreddo for the first time and it was yummy as well! All in all a wonderful restaurant for any occasion!

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Always one of our favorites. Quaint wit ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

Always one of our favorites. Quaint with great service and excellent wine selection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

I eat out regularly in Atlanta (work in ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

I eat out regularly in Atlanta (work in Buckhead and live in Midtown); this was my first time dining at La Tavola and I thoroughly enjoyed it. Justin's preparation of his food was top notch - perhaps the finest meal I have eaten in Atlanta. Bon Appetite!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great little spot for brunch, wonderful ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Great little spot for brunch, wonderful patio, and the Tiramisu and rosemary peach cake are awesome!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

This visit the service was not up to Fif ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

This visit the service was not up to Fifth group standards. Used dishes sat on our table through multiple courses and our server was inattentive. We have been customers for years and this visit was disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value4

Food was excellent as usual. Service ou ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Food was excellent as usual. Service outstanding. They were able to move us into a booth and the manager came by to let us know he had added the "booth" preference to our profile.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Authentic, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, great service. Can't wait ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Great food, great service. Can't wait to go back

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Squid ink pasta was even better than the ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Squid ink pasta was even better than the last time I had it- the perfect amount of spice! The milk braised pork ravioli was RIDICULOUSLY good! The cannolis with shaved chocolate and candied orange zest were the perfect ending! Service was good. Love La Tavola!

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Not our first visit. I can honestly say ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Not our first visit. I can honestly say I've never been disappointed. Over the top great service from our waitress. This is the kind of restraunt where a generous tip is truly earned.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Good meal, but certain things were overd ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Good meal, but certain things were overdone . . . for example, the Caesar's salad was overdressed and the pasta was overcooked. Other than that, our server was wonderful and the other food ordered was tasty & satisfying.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value3

I was disappointed to see they had taken ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

I was disappointed to see they had taken the lasagna off the menu. Would have given them 5 stars if they had offered some kind of lasagna - it is outstanding no matter what version they do. If there are not fresh vegetables in season to choose from, why not go back to their original version they used to offer. It was phenomenal! Other than that, the dinner was delicious, as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

LaTavola has been my favorite restaurant ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

LaTavola has been my favorite restaurants for well over a decade but lately I feel like the food has been a little less than I I have come to expect. In the past I've had difficulty choosing because everything on the menu looks so good. My last two visits I've had difficulty choosing because nothing looked really great.

What I eventually chose was a pasta dish that was a little bit spicy and had some pork in it but neither of attributes were described in the menu.

My companion - dining at LaTavola for the first time - chose the bolognese. It was solidly delicious but nothing "wow" enough to get him to want to run back there anytime soon.

The gnocchi and ravioli were not on the menu and in my opinion a bolognese and spaghetti & meatballs are not different enough to appear on a well curated menu.

Missing the La Tavola of 3-5 years ago.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Crystal(sp?) was great, the food was ama ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

Crystal(sp?) was great, the food was amazing especially the mushroom ragu and the ribeye. The basil limonada is very tasty and refreshing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great atmosphere. Menu was creative but ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Great atmosphere. Menu was creative but had staples as well. Amazing food.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

I loved La Tavola! The food was amazing. ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

I loved La Tavola! The food was amazing. The service and staff were amazing. The ambiance was amazing.

Tags: Seasonal, Live Sports, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service is always on point. Food fantas ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Service is always on point. Food fantastic! Can't go wrong with spaghetti and meatballs with tiramisu for dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding Resturant.

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Outstanding Resturant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Location of Table for us was not great ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Location of Table for us was not great Important interview dinner and wished had better sitting options than backmo

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

What a wonderful place! Staff was incred ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

What a wonderful place! Staff was incredibly friendly, and the food was fantastic!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

As usual, our dining experience at La Ta ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

As usual, our dining experience at La Tavola was excellent. The food was fantastic and the service impeccable.

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was disappointed in cocktails and wine. ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Was disappointed in cocktails and wine. Martinis were skimpy. I asked for a cucumber garnish- NO. Red wine is served hot. Needed to place red wine in ice to cool it to recommended 58-60 degrees. Was surprised with all this.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Cuisine well prepared. Hot on arrival an ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Cuisine well prepared.

Hot on arrival and jennifer our waitress -Excellent.

Will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Again my wife and I went on our Friday n ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Again my wife and I went on our Friday night date or family night and Italian was our target and boy did La.Tavola Trattoria fit the bill the squid ink spaghetti is the best I have eternal had the roasted garlic potatoes although a little too much salt I could stop eating them. And what the use of going for Italian and not have a meat ball or two well I did the veal meat meat balls were absolutely Devine. However. The best part of our experience at la Tavola was the DESERT we had real oven baked cheese cake with wild cherry puree and all at a reasonable price . I have to say last night was the first time I saw my wife eat risotto and mushroom and did not pick them out and throw them away she though she was eating some kind of weird type of Italian meat and she can't wait to go to Italy now. Thank La Tavola.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Worth the drive from Roswell to have din ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Worth the drive from Roswell to have dinner in Virginia Highlands area. Very good restaurant, food and service

Tags: Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food is incredible! Especially the calam ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Food is incredible! Especially the calamari and mushroom ragu!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

La Tavola is our favorite birthday and a ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

La Tavola is our favorite birthday and anniversary spots. The service is top notch, and the food is incredible. They have delicious specials which never disappoint, but I am a fan of their regular items, like their pasta and risotto dishes. Whether you are visiting Atlanta or just live around the corner, it will not disappoint.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous food, terrific service. Highly ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Fabulous food, terrific service. Highly recommend.

Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent service from Randal

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Excellent service from Randal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Special night special food and special s ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Special night special food and special service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was amazing - both the food a ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Everything was amazing - both the food and super friendly and attentive service. Pasta is homemade and you can tell. I had the pasta infused with ink sauce as an appetizer which was great, and would have been a good main course choice as well. Came with the family of 5, everyone was happy. Glad we reserved ahead- not a large place and not too many tables to accommodate a larger group.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Lovely, lovely dinner. I thought we wer ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Lovely, lovely dinner. I thought we were back in Rome! And our server, Randall, took such fine care of us. We will dine there again.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food, ambience, and wine outstanding as ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Food, ambience, and wine outstanding as always. The lasagna with burrata is now a favorite! The service was a little shaky by what I expect from Fifth Group and La Tavola but didn't prevent a wonderful evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

My wife and I's favorite restaurant. To ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

My wife and I's favorite restaurant. Top notch service with knowledgeable wait staff and extensive wine list.

Everything on the menu is delicious and and always of exceptional quality and freshness.

Tucked away in the Virginia Highland area with free valet parking available for dinner guests.

Even if you think you're not a fan of fine Italian food, you will love everything you order at this restaurant.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always enjoy the food here but this time ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Always enjoy the food here but this time I felt like Ambiance and Service was lacking. The food is always changing up and I love the seasonal items here. The restaurant itself is a bit crowded but overall they make use of the space they have! On this occasion, we reserved a table for 2 & it was clearly a date night, but they ended up putting two people (walk-ins) in the table next to us (it's a very tiny space & there were other open tables around). We ordered before the two people next to us (they ordered the EXACT same thing as us) and they got their food before us. Wasn't too pleased about having to wait so long for our entrees & I didn't feel the waiter was too attentive at our table anyways. Overall I have no complaints about the food or wine, just not sure I'd plan a date night here again and may even prefer ordering for take out! The place is cozy & they are knowledgeable about their menu & wine list which I appreciate!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

Our go-to place in the 'hood. Servers ar ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Our go-to place in the 'hood. Servers are knowledgable, efficient, team oriented, gracious (i.e., professional). Caitlin runs a tight operation. Go there. You will not be disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.