About La Tavola Trattoria

992 Virginia Avenue NE
Atlanta, GA 30306
View Larger Map

"Best Italian" - The Sunday Paper's Reader's Choice Awards. "Top 50 Restaurant" - Atlanta Journal-Constitution.

Exposed brick, dark wood floors & rustic colors give La Tavola its authentic trattoria feel, while progressive touches hint at its innovative cuisine. The food is simple yet creative, elegant & certainly delicious - the kind of food you could eat every day or turn into a celebration.

La Tavola also offers one of the city's most unique brunch menus. It is a can't miss!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
DINNER NIGHTLY;
Monday-Thursday, 5:30-10pm;
Friday-Saturday, 5:30pm-11pm;
Sunday, 5:30pm-10pm;

SUNDAY BRUNCH, 11am-3pm

Cross Street:
N. Highland Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(404) 873-5430

Website:
http://fifthgroup.com/

Catering:
La Tavola is owned by Fifth Group Restaurants which also owns Bold American Events & Catering. For more information on catering, please visit http://boldamerican.com.

Parking Details:
La Tavola offers valet parking across the street at Wells Fargo Bank after 5pm and a private parking lot behind the restaurant; street parking is also available.

Executive Chef:
Justin Jordan

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Molto Monday - Every Monday choose one of four special pastas for $10.

Lasagna Sunday - Every Sunday is Traditional Lasagna Bolognese for $10.

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Burrata With Fried Eggplant - La Tavola Trattoria, Atlanta, GA
Chicken Saltimbocca - La Tavola Trattoria, Atlanta, GA
Spaghetti - La Tavola Trattoria, Atlanta, GA
Meyer Lemon Olive Oil Cake - La Tavola Trattoria, Atlanta, GA
Ricotta Gnocchi With Rabbit Ragu - La Tavola Trattoria, Atlanta, GA
Braised Pork Belly Ravioli - La Tavola Trattoria, Atlanta, GA
Grilled Cotechino - La Tavola Trattoria, Atlanta, GA
Fiori D'arancio - La Tavola Trattoria, Atlanta, GA
Braised Wild Boar Shoulder - La Tavola Trattoria, Atlanta, GA
Smoked Salmon Crostini - La Tavola Trattoria, Atlanta, GA
Angelina, I Adore You Cocktail - La Tavola Trattoria, Atlanta, GA
Sausage & Eggs - La Tavola Trattoria, Atlanta, GA
Root Julep Cocktail - La Tavola Trattoria, Atlanta, GA
Bread & Butter - La Tavola Trattoria, Atlanta, GA
Manicotti - La Tavola Trattoria, Atlanta, GA
Octopus Salad - La Tavola Trattoria, Atlanta, GA
Grilled Octopus Salad - La Tavola Trattoria, Atlanta, GA
Fried Calamari - La Tavola Trattoria, Atlanta, GA
Roasted Trout W/ Walnut Agrodolce - La Tavola Trattoria, Atlanta, GA
Grilled Lamb Scottaditi - La Tavola Trattoria, Atlanta, GA
Salumi Plate - La Tavola Trattoria, Atlanta, GA
Bloody Mary - La Tavola Trattoria, Atlanta, GA
veal sweetbreads - La Tavola Trattoria, Atlanta, GA
Torte Di Mele - La Tavola Trattoria, Atlanta, GA
Black Linguine - La Tavola Trattoria, Atlanta, GA
Tiramisu - La Tavola Trattoria, Atlanta, GA
Mushroom Ragu - La Tavola Trattoria, Atlanta, GA
Baked Rigatoni - La Tavola Trattoria, Atlanta, GA
Ricotta Cavatelli & Ragu Alla Napoletana - La Tavola Trattoria, Atlanta, GA
Vanilla Panna Cotta - La Tavola Trattoria, Atlanta, GA
Rabbit Strozzapreti - La Tavola Trattoria, Atlanta, GA
Braised Tomato & Pork Cheek Crespelle - La Tavola Trattoria, Atlanta, GA
Flatiron Steak - La Tavola Trattoria, Atlanta, GA
Pan Di Spagna - La Tavola Trattoria, Atlanta, GA
Grilled Hangar Steak, Farro Antica, Grilled Radicchio, Beets, Gorgonzola Vinaigrette - La Tavola Trattoria, Atlanta, GA
Grilled Hangar Steak - La Tavola Trattoria, Atlanta, GA
Chestnut Gnocchi, Braised Wild Boar, Juniper Berries And Cacao Tartufo - La Tavola Trattoria, Atlanta, GA
Torte Di Nona, Salted Caramel And Pine Nuts - La Tavola Trattoria, Atlanta, GA
House-Made Ricotta Cavatelli - La Tavola Trattoria, Atlanta, GA
Sweetbreads - La Tavola Trattoria, Atlanta, GA

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 12:45PM - 2:00PM 9:00PM - 9:30PM

Mon - Tue 5:00PM - 5:45PM 8:15PM - 9:30PM

Wed - Thu 5:00PM - 5:45PM 8:45PM - 9:30PM

Private Dining

Whether you’re planning your rehearsal dinner or a cocktail party, La Tavola's personable and experienced managers work closely with you to provide customized menus and wine lists, food presentation, and flexible seating arrangements that maximize your budget and you and your guests’ enjoyment.

La Tavola Trattoria Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (54)
Good for a Date (42)
Special Occasion (38)
See All
Fit for Foodies (33)
Good for Anniversaries (29)
Authentic (27)
Romantic (27)
Good for Birthdays (26)
Cozy (25)
Worth the Drive (25)
Notable Wine List (25)
Casual (25)
Bar Seating (18)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Business Meals (15)
Open Kitchen (14)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Local Ingredients (12)
Outstanding Value (11)
Fun (11)
Comfort Food (11)
Hot Spot (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Seasonal (8)
Great for Brunch (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Modern Decor (6)
People Watching (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Great Beer (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Organic (3)
Tapas (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Scenic View (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Family Style (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Healthy (1)
Historic (1)
Sort By:
S
2263 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We had been looking for an establishment ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 2 days ago

We had been looking for an establishment that matched the food we came to know in Tuscany. Found it! Amazing food, fantastic wine list, and the desserts - wow! Not to mention the lemoncello. We'll be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome place! Very tasty food, simply p ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 5 days ago

Awesome place! Very tasty food, simply perfect! Will be back.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I really love this place. Every time we ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 7 days ago

I really love this place. Every time we go we say "Why don't we come here more often?" The staff is great and knowledgeable, and the food is second to none. Try the Squid Ink Spaghetti.

Tags: Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We always enjoy our complete experience ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined 7 days ago

We always enjoy our complete experience at LaTavola. The service is impeccable even when compared to much more highly priced options. The menu change to add sides of vegetables as an add on is great. The fennel with the lemon aioli was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were able to get a spur of the moment ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 16, 2017

We were able to get a spur of the moment reservation for a Sunday evening. The service was terrific. The grilled calamari was wonderful - as was the mushroom ragu. The rigatoni for the duck ragu, however, was a bit undercooked. Just wish it wasn't so hard to get a reservation!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

Used to love it but it's lost its charm. ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Used to love it but it's lost its charm. Went for late dinner and was an hour before we got our entree- very slow, food was average

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

The pasta is fresh and delicious. Came f ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 14, 2017

The pasta is fresh and delicious. Came for dinner with friends. Unfortunately, the service was a bit slower than expected, even for a Fri night.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Consistency in food preparation & wait s ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Consistency in food preparation & wait staff is essential. La Tavola possesses both. Unique combination of localally sourced ingredients & wines --- with knowledgeable staff helps assure our returning multiple times.

Tags: Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Casual, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We have been to La Tavola a number of ti ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 13, 2017

We have been to La Tavola a number of times, but my son thought this was the best meal he'd ever had there. The salads were imaginative and wonderful: kale and chard, roasted beet. As a small eater, I appreciate being able to order a half portion of pasta, and the duck sausage was interestingly spicy, perhaps a little less balsamic would be good. The tagliatelle was perfect. The desserts were out of this world: chocolate torte and cannoli.

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

La Tavola has consistently been one of m ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 12, 2017

La Tavola has consistently been one of my favorite restaurants in Atlanta for the past several years. The food is consistent and delicious every time (truffle mushroom pasta is to die for), and the atmosphere is intimate, yet always buzzy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service always outstanding.Wine was good ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Service always outstanding.Wine was good but not up to standard (rare) Emily was wonderful and they opened a new bottle for me. It was much better. Usuallyi it's very good. My risotto was just ok and my wife's dish ( bolognese ) was not as good as we usually experience. We will continue to eat here. We understand that in the business you sometimes have an off night. Not a deal killer. We are big fans of La tavola. Be well

Tags: Casual, Open Kitchen, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The service here was by far one of the b ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 11, 2017

The service here was by far one of the best experiences that I've ever had dining out. My girlfriend and I went here as our first time to this restaurant and we absolutely loved it! The food, the wine and the service were all phenomenal, I can't wait to go here again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was my first time at La Tavola. It ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 10, 2017

This was my first time at La Tavola. It was amazing. Three of us split five appetizer size pastas, an appetizer, a salad, and a side...and we ate it all! Randall made perfect recommendations and we enjoyed our drinks too! I had a great Negroni! As for food, the ricotta gnocchi was unlike any other gnocchi I've ever had. It basically melted in my mouth like butter. Thanks and I am already dying to go again!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Excellent restaurant, keep coming back t ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Excellent restaurant, keep coming back there.

The ceasar salad is oustanding and wine selection great!

Tags: Late-night Find, Casual, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Food and drinks were delicious. Not your ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Food and drinks were delicious. Not your typical Italian dining experience. This is definitely a special occasion restaurant. The food and cocktails were delicious and picture perfect. I can't wait to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

I brought my wife here for her birthday ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 8, 2017

I brought my wife here for her birthday dinner. We ordered the spaghetti and the bolognese tagliatelle for appetizers. The spaghetti was so phenomenal that we ordered it again in full entree size with meatballs for our main course. The food and the service were excellent! We will definitely be back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cozy and terrific, among the best restau ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Cozy and terrific, among the best restaurants on the east side

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall a lovely evening. Only complaint ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Overall a lovely evening. Only complaint is draftiness/uneven temperature throughout the evening.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food and service was excellent and t ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 4, 2017

The food and service was excellent and the wine list was great. We sat on the heated porch on a cold night and it was quite warm. It was quite a loud atmosphere however---my partner and I almost had to sit on the same side of the table in order to communicate and there were periods where we simply didn't talk because the roar from other parties made communication difficult even with raised voices. When I asked if there was a location that was a bit quieter, we were informed that there was nowhere quieter because "this isn't a quiet restaurant." This isn't necessarily a problem, but I wouldn't recommend showing up for a quiet dinner.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Wonderful restaurant! Chose this for New ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Wonderful restaurant! Chose this for New Year's Eve and was not disappointed. I was with two friends who both have dietary restrictions and the were so accommodating. Even with the set menu due to the holiday. Amazing food and service. Will be back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were disappointed on New Years Eve. U ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We were disappointed on New Years Eve. Usually our favorite spot to dine but we were unhappy with menu and food that night.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

Great food and service. It is tiny and c ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great food and service. It is tiny and cramped when at full capacity. I wouldn't recommend for a quiet romantic date.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Nice little slice of Italy. Great appeti ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Nice little slice of Italy. Great appetizers and wine list. Very cramped and crowded seating in the dining area which leads to a very noisy loud space. The food and service was fantastic and more than makes up for the ambiance.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Visited for dinner with my daughter and ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Visited for dinner with my daughter and a friend after receiving a gift card. Remember the space from when it was Capos in the 80s and it was good to back there. We enjoyed the pasta with squid ink, the ravioli and the tagliatelle with the salami and cheese tray as an appetizer. Wine list was great as well. Wonderful experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always an amazing experience & always am ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Always an amazing experience & always amazing food! Thanks again for such great hospitality! <3

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I just came back from an extended stay i ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 27, 2016

I just came back from an extended stay in NYC, where I sampled some of The City's finest Italian restaurants. The meal we had at La Tavola two nights ago exceeded by a long shot our culinary experience at iL Buco, the Italian restaurant in NYC that takes a reservation WAY in advance to get into (like over a month). There is not a bad note at La Tavola. You will not be disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect pace of experience— neither slug ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Perfect pace of experience— neither sluggish nor rushed. Our server (Emily) was a doll and the Monday pasta special (rigatoni) was to die for. Lasagna was a twist on a classic favorite and featured ricotta, bechamel and squash. Will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

La tavola is one of our favorite Italian ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 21, 2016

La tavola is one of our favorite Italian spots in the city. The food is always delicious and the staff always welcoming.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always love La Tavola and this was one o ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Always love La Tavola and this was one of our best meals ever! We were celebrating a birthday and we always go to La Tavola because it's our favorite restaurant. We shared the spaghetti with tomato sauce for the first time and it was very good and then we shared the veal chop, which was outstanding! They slice the veal thinly off the bone and it's paired with spinach with lemon and olive oil for a nice light side. The flavors were fantastic! We didn't order dessert because we were full, but they brought my friend a tiramisu bar as a birthday treat and he loved it! Service is always great and the food never disappoints. We're already planning a Valentine's visit!

Tags: Casual, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our favorite restaurants in Atlan ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 19, 2016

One of our favorite restaurants in Atlanta. I proposed to my fiance there..

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always enjoy la tavola. Waitlady beyond ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Always enjoy la tavola. Waitlady beyond exceptional!!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cozy atmosphere and great food. We had t ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Cozy atmosphere and great food. We had the olive and salumi platter appetizers. For the entrees, we had risotto and squid ink spaghetti. We both enjoyed the meal and will definitely be back! The server acted strange when we requested to have our appetizer order put in before ordering entrees, saying that it was a burden on the kitchen. It took some convincing to let us do this. This part was a little unusual, but still a great place!

Tags: Romantic, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

While I have been to LaTavola several ti ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 11, 2016

While I have been to LaTavola several times this was the first time I had brunch there. The menu was diverse and interesting and delicious. Our server was excellent. We enjoyed spaghetti carbonara and skirt steak both with eggs.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

We went here for a date and it was perfe ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 9, 2016

We went here for a date and it was perfect. Yummy food and great service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Our experience was great, Chrystal was o ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 6, 2016

Our experience was great, Chrystal was our server; she guided us through the dinning experience start to finish. It is by far one of my new favorite places to have a nice quiet date night. I love the decor on the patio it really has an authentic feel to it.

Tags: Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Kitchen was very slow. Meals came out t ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Kitchen was very slow. Meals came out to our table later then those who ordered after ours. Lasagna was over baked and bitter around the edges--cheese top was dried out and brown. If you order a glass of wine expect a serving about half the size you receive anywhere else. Very disappointing.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

In the past three years we've eaten at L ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 2, 2016

In the past three years we've eaten at La Tavola four times. The first time was excellent, the second experience pretty good, the third OK, and the most recent also OK. The question we ask ourselves is, "has something changed?". Mistake may be ordering salads and non-pasta entrees. They do not live up to the quality of pasta dishes and appetizers.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Always enjoy the relaxing time here with ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Always enjoy the relaxing time here with great vegetarian options

Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was spectacular as always. Grea ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 27, 2016

The food was spectacular as always. Great place for brunch and comfortable space

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

After hearing rave reviews for years, I ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 18, 2016

After hearing rave reviews for years, I finally tried La Tavola and it lived up to the hype in every way. Wonderful food, almost under-priced, great service and cozy ambiance.

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.