Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.83mi
  3. Distance: 1.04mi
  4. Distance: 1.23mi
  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.83mi
  3. Distance: 1.04mi
  4. Distance: 1.23mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.83mi
  3. Distance: 1.04mi
  4. Distance: 1.23mi
  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.83mi
  3. Distance: 1.04mi
  4. Distance: 1.23mi

About La Tavola Trattoria

"Best Italian" - The Sunday Paper's Reader's Choice Awards. "Top 50 Restaurant" - Atlanta Journal-Constitution.

Exposed brick, dark wood floors & rustic colors give La Tavola its authentic trattoria feel, while progressive touches hint at its innovative cuisine. The food is simple yet creative, elegant & certainly delicious - the kind of food you could eat every day or turn into a celebration.

La Tavola also offers one of the city's most unique brunch menus. It is a can't miss!

992 Virginia Avenue NE
Atlanta, GA 30306
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
DINNER NIGHTLY;
Monday-Thursday, 5:30-10pm;
Friday-Saturday, 5:30pm-11pm;
Sunday, 5:30pm-10pm;

SUNDAY BRUNCH, 11am-3pm

Cross Street:
N. Highland Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(404) 873-5430

Website:
http://fifthgroup.com/

Catering:
La Tavola is owned by Fifth Group Restaurants which also owns Bold American Events & Catering. For more information on catering, please visit http://boldamerican.com.

Parking Details:
La Tavola offers valet parking across the street at Wells Fargo Bank after 5pm and a private parking lot behind the restaurant; street parking is also available.

Executive Chef:
Justin Jordan

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Molto Monday - Every Monday choose one of four special pastas for $10.

Lasagna Sunday - Every Sunday is Traditional Lasagna Bolognese for $10.

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 12:45PM - 2:00PM 9:00PM - 9:30PM

Mon - Tue 5:00PM - 5:45PM 8:15PM - 9:30PM

Wed - Thu 5:00PM - 5:45PM 8:45PM - 9:30PM

Private Dining

Whether you’re planning your rehearsal dinner or a cocktail party, La Tavola's personable and experienced managers work closely with you to provide customized menus and wine lists, food presentation, and flexible seating arrangements that maximize your budget and you and your guests’ enjoyment.

La Tavola Trattoria Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (69)
Good for a Date (59)
Special Occasion (52)
See All
Fit for Foodies (45)
Cozy (41)
Romantic (39)
Authentic (34)
Notable Wine List (33)
Good for Anniversaries (28)
Worth the Drive (27)
Creative Cuisine (24)
Casual (22)
Good for Birthdays (22)
Business Meals (17)
Bar Seating (17)
Comfort Food (17)
Great for Outdoor Dining (16)
Sunday Lunch (13)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Local Ingredients (12)
Great for Brunch (11)
Open Kitchen (11)
Hot Spot (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Seasonal (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Healthy (6)
Fun (6)
Great for Lunch (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
People Watching (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Historic (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Family Style (1)
Great Beer (1)
Scenic View (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (0)
Sort By:
S
2361 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined 4 days ago

La Tavola was a great dining experience overall, but the true star was their delicious Italian cuisine. I am so happy they are in Virginia Highland!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 5 days ago

The waiter (Male bald guy with Pot belly) was very rude and in extreme rush all the time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined 5 days ago

My favorite neighborhood "go to." Love it.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 6 days ago

My colleagues and I headed here on a whim while in Atlanta for business earlier this week, and couldn't have been more pleased. The staff was friendly and knowledgeable, and the food was spectacular. Highlights included a well-curated wine list, the perfectly prepared grilled calamari appetizer, the saltimbocca and the tagliatelle.

Tags: Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Always fabulous

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 18, 2017

It was my first visit La Tavola and it is definitely a hidden jewel! The patio was very quaint and had a great ambiance. Our server John took time to explain different items on the menu and was very attentive. The food was extremely light but yet so flavorful!

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Always a good choice. On this particular occasion there seemed to be a little confusion with portion sizes between half or full. We were told that full orders were big enough for 2-3 people. Based on that information, I ordered a half portion and was disappointed because it was not big at all

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We had brunch here, and we were very impressed at the quality of the food. Our server was amazing. She gave recommendations that we accepted, and we were not disappointed. We are going back for dinner soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Great Beer, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Well trained staff always makes our dining visit a special occasion. Every detail, from beverages to our meal is perfectly prepared every time. A neighborhood gem that keeps us coming back for more of what you expect, a friendly staff and tasty creations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 7, 2017

My wife and I were in town for the weekend and wanted great Italian food. Our friends recommended this spot and it did not disappoint. The food and wine list was excellent, the ambiance was great and the service effective. We would definitely return!

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Went for Sunday Brunch and had the frittata with zucchini and squash. Very delicious! La Tavola never disappoints.

Tags: Cozy, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Just our favorite Atlanta brunch. And Jessica, our server, was outstanding.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Awesome experience while visiting Atlanta. Our waitress was very sweet and attentive. Would defiantly recommend this for people visiting, dates, or business dinners. A little small, and on the louder side, but charming!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 6, 2017

four words...black squid ink pasta

never disappoints- ever

go!!!

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 6, 2017

LOVE La Tavola. A favorite date spot that never disappoints.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Great meal and service. We really enjoyed what we had from the special menu offerings.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 30, 2017

We've always had a great experience at this restaurant!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Wonderful choices of food. We've all had calamari, but served with asparagus coins and shaved radish makes it very light. And the scallop appetizer with fava bean was another great spring like dish. But maybe the best was the radish top pasta. I was a bit nervous about that but it blew me away. Really enjoyable. Wonderful neighbor cozy feel to the restaurant. We will be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 30, 2017

This was my second time visiting La Tavola, and overall, it was not a good experience. I had originally gone to eat the Squid Ink Spaghetti, but they did not have the same entrée that night, which I understand they had a special menu that night. When I asked our server what similar appetizers she could suggest for bruschetta, she seemed a bit annoyed we did not choose from the limited menu that night.

Throughout the night, she only checked with us twice after ordering our food and did not follow up after receiving our food. What was disappointing is when we requested Parmesan cheese for our Squid Ink pasta, she dismissively said it would make the food too salty if we added too much. At that point, it was apparent we were not of her liking and we had to depend on another server who kindly refilled our waters and brought our check upon our request.

Management had explained the menu was different for that weekend, proceeded to apologize for that small inconvenience and suggested we return on Wednesday when that plate was available. While that gesture was very much appreciated, this experience made our night an unpleasant one and will unfortunately not return.

It is rare for me to write a negative review because I have worked in a restaurant and I understand when things are out of one's control. However, the demeanor coming from the service was so consistently unpleasant that it prompted this concern to be written. I hope it is taken into consideration by the restaurant to avoid losing another customer, because otherwise, it is a great place to dine at.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Imaginative feast! David (Manager/Host) and Will (Server) made Our trip special and accommodated and anticipated Our every need.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 29, 2017

It was great. Knowledgeable staff and super helpful. Amazing dessert

Tags: Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Excellent Italian food and service. Has never disappointed us or those of our friends new to the restaurant..

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 24, 2017

After reading some of the reviews on Yelp and other sites, I was tempted to cancel our reservation. I am glad I didn't. The service was outstanding. Our server was very knowledgeable and attentive and I would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone, whether you like Italian cuisine or not. My only disappointment--there wasn't a risotto on the menu and the fusilli and royal red shrimp made up for it.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Excellent as always. This is our go to place for good wine atmosphere and food!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Amazing, unique, and fresh food. Great service as well. Fabulous night out!! Never disappoints.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Our first visit to Atlanta brought us to LaTavola. We thoroughly enjoyed our total experience from food to service. The wait staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful and management was sure to check in to make sure we were enjoying our experience. I would highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 17, 2017

It was a great place to meet friends we had not seen in years and to catch up with them.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 16, 2017

they reduced and cheapened their menu. It wasn't as nice of an experience, and the food wasn't as good as on my previous visits.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We love La Tavola. One of the best brunches in Atlanta. I had the Pork Milanese and it was wonderful. Cannot wait to go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Awesome place.. First time for the four of us.
Was greeted at the front door by friendly hostess. We chose to try the patio and very happy to be outside as it was a nice evening. Our server Adrienne made the night special as she was attentive to our needs. Food and wine were great. Definitely will recommend this restaurant to others.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Had a wonderful waitress who was very knowledgeable and helpful. The cocktails were delicious and the back porch was lovely.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 10, 2017

I love LaTavolia. Everything is spot on every visit. Kitchen, bar, wait-staff...all 5 stars.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 9, 2017

The food, staff and deck seating were fantastic. Our party included a preteen and teenager and both enjoyed the Italian experience. We will come back. I don't know if we will try something the different as all dishes were great.

Thank you, La Tavola, for the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Good italian food. Enjoyed it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Amazing grilled calamari. Really excellent food. Will come back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 7, 2017

We really enjoyed dinner on the patio. Great atmosphere and service!

Tags: Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Amazing Italian experience. Highly recommend the tagliolini w/ mushroom ragu and the saltimbocca.

The waitress we had also recommended the flourless cake with a single scoop of strawberry sorbet, and as she said, it tasted just like a chocolate covered strawberry. A fantastic first date location!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Healthy, Bar Seating, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Celebrated my husbands birthday and it was lovely! I have never been let down by the quality of food or service at a Fifth Group establishment! Always my go to!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 2, 2017

When we walked in and noticed how cozy it was, we thought we were in for a good time, and we were not disappointed. Our waiter, Will, was fantastic. Very attentive, but not overbearing. The bartender was full of life and spirit. Scott (the manager?) was very nice. The meat plate with cheese and pickled butternut squash was amazing as was the Caesar salad. Rigatoni with a side of meatballs for the man, along with the Bolognese also with a side of meatballs was perfect. We finished with the flourless chocolate cake and a mango sorbet that literally tasted like a perfectly ripe mango. I had one mimosa and one glass of a sulfate free Shiraz. And even though they closed at 3:00 to reopen at 5:00, we didn't leave until about 3:40 and never felt rushed. I would absolutely eat here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 2, 2017

The best Italian food in Atlanta combined with the best service and atmosphere. Randall makes drinks with LOVE. He cleans every glass before he pours anything and will ensure each guest always is attended to. The wait staff is also superb with filling ice water and removing used dishes. Proactive, smiling and informative. This is a can't miss dining experience.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Historic, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.