About La Scala

1012 Eastern Avenue
Baltimore, MD 21202
View Larger Map

Regional Italian cooking at its finest

Since our opening, La Scala has been dedicated to presenting a menu which balances the very best in traditional Italian cuisine
as well as innovative specialties. We welcome you to stop in to experience our elegantly casual atmosphere accented perfectly
with Chef Nino’s authentic and unforgettable creations.

La Scala features an indoor bocce ball court, a large dining room, private event space and a wine room.

Ask about our Private Rooms available for special events, parties, and corporate meetings.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:30pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 2:00pm - 10:00pm

Happy Hour: Monday - Friday 4:30 - 7:00pm, Sunday 3:00 - 8:00pm

Cross Street:
S. Central/Exeter

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 783-9209

Website:
http://www.lascaladining.com/

Entertainment:
Home to Baltimore's only indoor bocce ball court! Available on a first-come first-serve basis for dinner customers only. Can also be rented out for $75/hour

Catering:
Off-site catering is available for pickup or delivery, both lunch and dinner. Please contact a manager for details.

Parking Details:
We offer valet 7 nights a week. Cost is $8 per car. Street parking is also available for 3 hours, and the Little Italy Parking Garage is just around the corner.

Public Transit:
We offer a complimentary shuttle service to and from all downtown hotels.

Executive Chef:
Nino Germano

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
- Happy Hour - Mon-Fri 4:30 - 7 and Sun 3-8. Try our new MEXITALIAN menu!
- Wine dinners throughout the year.
- Special Happy Hours monthly.

Send your email and home address so we can update you on all of our upcoming events

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Chocolate Hazelnut Mousse - La Scala, Baltimore, MD
Chicken And Shrimp - La Scala, Baltimore, MD
Gamberi Alla Zucca - La Scala, Baltimore, MD
Spaghetti Con Funghi - La Scala, Baltimore, MD
Pollo And Shrimp Provola - La Scala, Baltimore, MD
Pollo Al Bimbo - La Scala, Baltimore, MD
Pollo Augostino - La Scala, Baltimore, MD
Gnocchi - La Scala, Baltimore, MD
Rum And Coke - La Scala, Baltimore, MD
Seasoned Green Beans - La Scala, Baltimore, MD
Espresso Martini - La Scala, Baltimore, MD
Garlic Bread - La Scala, Baltimore, MD
Steak Pizziola - La Scala, Baltimore, MD
Rigatoni - La Scala, Baltimore, MD
Shrimp over Penne Special - La Scala, Baltimore, MD
Grilled Caesar Salad - La Scala, Baltimore, MD
Veal Ravioli - La Scala, Baltimore, MD
Caesar Salad With Grilled Shrimp - La Scala, Baltimore, MD
Manzo Al Balsamico - La Scala, Baltimore, MD
Expresso Martini - La Scala, Baltimore, MD
Shrimp! - La Scala, Baltimore, MD
Gnocchi With Imported Gorgonzola Sauce And Walnuts - La Scala, Baltimore, MD
Peaches! - La Scala, Baltimore, MD
1/2 Portion Gamberi Luana - La Scala, Baltimore, MD
Grilled Blue Point Oysters - La Scala, Baltimore, MD
Gnocci Pancini - La Scala, Baltimore, MD
Shrimp Arugula - La Scala, Baltimore, MD
Chicken And Shrimp Lemone - La Scala, Baltimore, MD
Pollo Saltimbocca - La Scala, Baltimore, MD
Ravioli With Potato And Sundried Tomato Pesto - La Scala, Baltimore, MD
Veal And Shrimp Al Turino - La Scala, Baltimore, MD
Strawberry & Nutela Stuffed Crepe With Banana whipped cream - La Scala, Baltimore, MD

Private Dining

La Scala offers private rooms that seat anywhere from 14 - 180 guests. Whatever your event may be, we can assure you that our wonderful team will make it memorable!

La Scala Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (63)
Special Occasion (56)
Authentic (49)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (43)
Good for Anniversaries (42)
Romantic (39)
Notable Wine List (37)
Good for Birthdays (37)
Worth the Drive (32)
Good for Groups (31)
Business Meals (22)
Fun (22)
Casual (22)
Creative Cuisine (21)
Comfort Food (21)
Cozy (20)
Bar Seating (19)
Fit for Foodies (18)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Pre/post Theatre (14)
Outstanding Value (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Private Room (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Family Style (8)
Historic (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Hot Spot (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Kid-friendly (6)
People Watching (5)
Seasonal (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Healthy (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Live Sports (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Scenic View (2)
Spicy (1)
Live Music (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Fireplace (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Tapas (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1900 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

What a great experience ! La Scalia has ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined 20 hours ago

What a great experience ! La Scalia has a shuttle and picked us up at our hotel (and returned us - for no charge!) by the harbor. The restaurant wasn't crowded when we arrived, but a huge party came later. I had the veal chop special - was actually two veal chops and my only complaint was it was too much food. I did have to send it back because it was undercooked, but no big deal. The grilled Cesar was delicious as a starter. The Gorgonzola cheese bread was good - a little too much Gorgonzola for my taste though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

I have to begin by stating that I rarely ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

I have to begin by stating that I rarely write reviews but because I felt so misled by all of the reviews on this place which led me to dine here, I need to share my experience. After waiting over 10 minutes for a server to acknowledge us in the dusty second floor (the restaurant had 5 tables sat max) I was pretty sure I knew where this night was going. Our server, while late to engage initially, was perfectly polite but the food truly missed the mark. Pollo alla Scalla - you give this dish your namesake but serve some pale boiled chicken breasts that are flavorless with canned artichokes? Pasta on the side was so over cooked it was unbelievable. Cannoli left more to be desired and my dates dish was subpar. The only standouts were the house salad - full of fresh vegetables and the perfect amount of dressing - as well as the pineapple sorbet. I was sadly not impressed for what's supposed to be a Little Italy staple and frankly embarrassed for choosing this over all of the other places we could have dined before a show in the city.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Great Service, great food, the epitome o ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 4 days ago

Great Service, great food, the epitome of what Baltimore's Little Italy might be.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Remains our favorite restaurant in or ar ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined 4 days ago

Remains our favorite restaurant in or around Little Italy. The selection of veal entrees is also exceptional and the Saltimboca a la Romana is the best in the region.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful experience, food and waitstaff ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 5 days ago

Wonderful experience, food and waitstaff are incredible. Shuttle is terrific and one of the reasons we keep going back.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Private Room, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

My wife and I enjoyed everything we orde ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 5 days ago

My wife and I enjoyed everything we ordered and our service was impeccable.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Authentic Italian food! Everything on t ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 5 days ago

Authentic Italian food! Everything on the menu is amazing! One of my favorite restaurants.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Authentic, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We wanted to get dinner before going to ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

We wanted to get dinner before going to a show at the Hippodrome Theatre. Good food and good company.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Always has great food and the service is ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 6 days ago

Always has great food and the service is top drawer.

Tags: Bar Seating, Kid-friendly, Family Style, Business Meals, Casual, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Without question, worth the drive from t ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 7 days ago

Without question, worth the drive from the western suburbs of Philadelphia. Carbonara made the way it is supposed to, with an egg on top. Penne alla vodka with a kick of heat, you really can't go wrong with that. Very attentive staff and lively atmosphere maintains this as the neighborhood gem it has been for years and a must when I am in Baltimore.

Tags: , Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always consistantly good. This is probab ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Always consistantly good. This is probably our 8th time there. We visit Baltimore once a month & never miss a chance to eat dinner there.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My boyfriend and I went to La Scala in s ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 8, 2017

My boyfriend and I went to La Scala in search of traditional Italian flavors and we weren't disappointed! Had a great time and look forward to visiting again!

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

OMG so good! Happened to be in town une ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 8, 2017

OMG so good! Happened to be in town unexpectedly- Sunday early afternoon. They were open and ready! So authentic but also really interesting takes on traditional Italian. Worth a special side trip anytime I'm within a few hours of Baltimore!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dinner with friends. Was seated a ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Great dinner with friends. Was seated as soon as we walked in for our reservation. Everyone ordered a different meal and nobody was dissapointed. All was deeeelish! Will be back soon.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best Italian food in Baltimore

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Best Italian food in Baltimore

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a return visit. We love this re ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 6, 2017

This was a return visit. We love this restaurant! Exceptional service!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My favorite restaurant in Little Italy B ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 4, 2017

My favorite restaurant in Little Italy Baltimore!!

Tags: Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We were told La Scala was the best Itali ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 3, 2017

We were told La Scala was the best Italian restaurant in Little Italy, and we would definitely agree. Everything we tried was delicious. At our waiter's suggestion, we ordered the grilled Caesar salad as a first course--it was very unusual and delicious. We liked it so much that we're going to try to make it at home! For our second course, we both had veal--Saltimbocca alla Romano and Vitello Francese. Both dishes were cooked to perfection--tender and delicious. Our service was prompt (sometimes overly) and the waiter very genial--even humorous at times. The ambiance was elegant, but casual. We almost felt we were back in Sicily. Highly recommended!

Tags: Cozy, Comfort Food, Historic, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

This is our favorite restaurant in Littl ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 31, 2016

This is our favorite restaurant in Little Italy, a hidden gem! Nino cooks the best Italian food. We split the grilled Caesar salad and grilled octopus appetizer, they were delicious. Loved the seafood pasta dish, chicken saltimbocca, and the chicken with artichokes, prosciutto and Marsala sauc. Mama's cannolis are to die for. We had the lemon one. Service is great. This was our fourth time here and we will be back in February with a large group. The only down side was that we didn't see Nino - it was a busy New Years Eve!

Tags: Cozy, Fun, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our experience was fantastic! Carlos did ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Our experience was fantastic! Carlos did a great job in waiting on us.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, , Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

La Scala never disappoints. Food is fres ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 31, 2016

La Scala never disappoints. Food is fresh and immaculately prepared. The flavors are simple but outstanding and really show how simple foods can be the best when done right. Every course is good, from appetizers to dessert and the espresso is a perfect way to finish it off. Looking forward to our next visit.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, , Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food as always. Mussel in mari ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Excellent food as always. Mussel in marinara is superb as is the grilled cedar salad and every pasta dish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic, as usual!

 
 (Naples)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Fantastic, as usual!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The food was great and the waiter and ot ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 28, 2016

The food was great and the waiter and others were very attentive. I liked that you ask them to tweek anything on the menu and there were also a lot of extra specials to choose from.

the food was hot when served which is a plus and the wine selection was great.

would like to have seen that you offered a carafe instead of glass option if you have red and white drinkers.

would definitely go back!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Casual, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful 4 generation family g ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 27, 2016

We had a wonderful 4 generation family get together at La Scala with my niece who has just moved to Baltimore. The food was excellent. The staff was extremely friendly, accommodating, and efficient. My granddaughter loved being able to get up to play bocce which made it easier for a four-year-old to be entertained while we took our time through various courses and enjoyed ourselves. We've already recommended the restaurant to others!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Cozy, , Good for Groups, Romantic, Comfort Food, Authentic, Casual, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was simply outstanding. Service by ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Food was simply outstanding. Service by Antonio fabulous as was the ambience of the restaurant We appreciated the shuttle service as it allowed us to safely enjoy a bottle of wine together. We look forward to coming back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Best Italian meal my husband and I have ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Best Italian meal my husband and I have ever eaten! We've traveled all over and our meal was the absolute best of any location. Highly recommend!

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter Jose made this the most enjoy ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Our waiter Jose made this the most enjoyable first time experience. He was attentive, but not intrusive. The food was outstanding. Simply the best Italian restaurant In Little Italy. Well done to the staff and Nino for a job well done. We will return without a doubt. Highly highly recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our holiday season "let somebody else co ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Our holiday season "let somebody else cook" dinner. Very tasty! Osso buco was divine ... so was pasta with fresh spinach, goat cheese, and tomatoes.... second time there since moving to this area three months ago. Will return. Valet parking very efficient.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Historic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I took my fiance here for one of his Chr ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 22, 2016

I took my fiance here for one of his Christmas gifts and decided on La Scala based on other reviews. The food was incredible. We shared the charcuterie plate and it was as good as any other I have had. My fiance got the gnocchi with an alfredo/cream sauce and it was delectable. The gnocchi almost tasted as if it melted in your mouth. I had the spinach fettuccine in a bolognese sauce and the sauce was one of the best sauces I have ever had. The wine was really great as well and they have a pretty wide variety of wines. The price was well worth the quality of the food and drink. The ambiance was great; we were able to have a nice evening and good conversation despite being seated next to a larger family Christmas party. It appeared the larger party was having just as great a time as we were, so I would definitely recommend La Scala for either a small intimate gathering or a larger group. The service did not suffer at our table when the larger group arrived, which was greatly appreciated.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Authentic, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and wine and service. The be ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Great food and wine and service. The best Chicken Marsala I've ever had (and I've had a lot).

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food is always delicious and invitin ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 20, 2016

The food is always delicious and inviting atmosphere. There was a party going on but Nino and staff still made everyone feel special and gave each table attention. One of my favorite restaurants.

Tags: , Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

After making a reservation weeks ago I w ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 19, 2016

After making a reservation weeks ago I was disappointed for our party of 6 to be seated right by the restroom. When we asked to be moved, they moved us to the downstairs which was not only next to another restroom but the kitchen too! So we went back to the first table. It was very disappointing as this was our offices Christmas party.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

A wonderful dinner!! Food was excellent ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 19, 2016

A wonderful dinner!! Food was excellent. Wine selections diverse and reasonable. And service was excellent. An overall great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We never miss La Scala when we're in the ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 17, 2016

We never miss La Scala when we're in the area. The grilled Caesar Salad is terrific and we highly recommend the whole bronzino!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Dinner was amazing. Told them it was our ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Dinner was amazing. Told them it was our birthdays (my sister and I) and the restaurant gave us complimentary desserts with candles and birthday cards. Exceptional service

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Carlos was amazing! Best server I've had ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Carlos was amazing! Best server I've had in a while and was super accommodating and attentive. I had the Scampi al Aglio and my boyfriend had their special which was a lobster tail and crabmeat pasta. When Carlos found out it was a birthday dinner, he brought by a slice of tiramisu with a lit candle. We will definitely be back again soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We came here to celebrate my girlfriend' ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 12, 2016

We came here to celebrate my girlfriend's birthday. We were not disappointed. We were recommended this place by some of the locals and it was outstanding. We both had the Veal Saltimbocca. The veal was some the best tasting , tender veal I have had in a very long time and the portion was very generous. I would definitely recommend La Scala.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was one of many visits to La Scalia ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 10, 2016

This was one of many visits to La Scalia. As in the past this restaurant continues to provide a great meal with great service at a fair price. Our table was ready upon our arrival (on time) despite being a very busy weekend for Baltimore (Army/ Navy Game). La Scalia remains my favorite Italianrestaurant in Baltimore.

Tags: Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was excellent. Good location and a ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Food was excellent. Good location and accessible for walking from Inner Harbor hotels, etc.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Authentic, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.