About La Scala

1012 Eastern Avenue
Baltimore, MD 21202
View Larger Map

Regional Italian cooking at its finest

Since our opening, La Scala has been dedicated to presenting a menu which balances the very best in traditional Italian cuisine
as well as innovative specialties. We welcome you to stop in to experience our elegantly casual atmosphere accented perfectly
with Chef Nino’s authentic and unforgettable creations.

La Scala features an indoor bocce ball court, a large dining room, private event space and a wine room.

Ask about our Private Rooms available for special events, parties, and corporate meetings.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:30pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 2:00pm - 10:00pm

Happy Hour: Monday - Friday 4:30 - 7:00pm, Sunday 3:00 - 8:00pm

Cross Street:
S. Central/Exeter

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 783-9209

Website:
http://www.lascaladining.com/

Entertainment:
Home to Baltimore's only indoor bocce ball court! Available on a first-come first-serve basis for dinner customers only. Can also be rented out for $75/hour

Catering:
Off-site catering is available for pickup or delivery, both lunch and dinner. Please contact a manager for details.

Parking Details:
We offer valet 7 nights a week. Cost is $8 per car. Street parking is also available for 3 hours, and the Little Italy Parking Garage is just around the corner.

Public Transit:
We offer a complimentary shuttle service to and from all downtown hotels.

Executive Chef:
Nino Germano

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
- Happy Hour - Mon-Fri 4:30 - 7 and Sun 3-8. Try our new MEXITALIAN menu!
- Wine dinners throughout the year.
- Special Happy Hours monthly.

Send your email and home address so we can update you on all of our upcoming events

Restaurant Photos

La Scala
Chocolate Hazelnut Mousse
Chicken And Shrimp
Gamberi Alla Zucca
Spaghetti Con Funghi
Pollo And Shrimp Provola
Pollo Augostino
Pollo Al Bimbo
Manzo Al Balsamico
Gnocchi
Rum And Coke
Seasoned Green Beans
Espresso Martini
Garlic Bread
Steak Pizziola
Rigatoni
Shrimp over Penne Special
Grilled Caesar Salad
Veal Ravioli
Caesar Salad With Grilled Shrimp
Expresso Martini
Shrimp!
Gnocchi With Imported Gorgonzola Sauce And Walnuts
Peaches!
1/2 Portion Gamberi Luana
Grilled Blue Point Oysters
Gnocci Pancini
Shrimp Arugula
Chicken And Shrimp Lemone
Pollo Saltimbocca
Ravioli With Potato And Sundried Tomato Pesto
Veal And Shrimp Al Turino
Strawberry & Nutela Stuffed Crepe With Banana whipped cream

Private Dining

La Scala offers private rooms that seat anywhere from 14 - 180 guests. Whatever your event may be, we can assure you that our wonderful team will make it memorable!

La Scala Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Baltimore / Maryland
Notable Wine List
Baltimore
Italian
Baltimore
Best Restaurants in Little Italy ›

Special Occasion (92)
Neighborhood Gem (82)
Romantic (78)
See All
Fit for Foodies (72)
Notable Wine List (64)
Good for Groups (51)
Great for Outdoor Dining (14)
Hot Spot (14)
Good for a Date (14)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Authentic (11)
Kid-friendly (10)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Great for Lunch (9)
Late-night Find (9)
Scenic View (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Worth the Drive (4)
Business Meals (4)
Historic (4)
Cozy (4)
Family Style (3)
People Watching (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Fun (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Spicy (1)
Healthy (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Casual (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1688 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I have been to Baltimore dozens of times ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined 6 days ago

I have been to Baltimore dozens of times and have several "go-to" restaurants. This was my first time dining at La Scala and it has moved right to the top of the list! The food was superb and the service was just as good. Foodies will love it, as it's not your typical "red sauce" Italian restaurant. I'm already planning my next meal there. Run, don't walk, to La Scala!!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was good but the noise was a bit lo ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

Food was good but the noise was a bit loud. Wouldn't rush back

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Everything was excellent

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Everything was excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent!!! The food and service were ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Excellent!!! The food and service were wonderful. Get an exoresso martini. Yum! The filet Mignon was so tender it practically melted in my mouth.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We arrived early for our reservation and ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

We arrived early for our reservation and sat at the bar and had a drink. We were seated at our reservation time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was the third time I was at La Scal ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

This was the third time I was at La Scala. the food and atmosphere has always been very good and the service on the first occasion was excellent. however, the service on both the second and third visits was poor. On our third visit we were not given our complimentary appetizer , the waiter did not make us aware of the daily specials, and did not periodically stop at our table to ask if everything was ok. I eventually had to speak to the manager about the situation. I would recommend this restaurant for the food and atmosphere but don't expect too much from the wait staff.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Beautiful restaurant and great service. ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Beautiful restaurant and great service. The food was very good but not amazing, alfredo was a bit bland. Presentation could have had a bit more "wow factor" to match the overall experience. Sicilian Martini was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Delicious homemade pasta and antipasto! ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Delicious homemade pasta and antipasto! Nice presentation of all courses. My personal favorite: the olive oil! My only regret: not being able to bring a bottle on the plane home with me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Others have said it - La Scala is amazin ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Others have said it - La Scala is amazing! An intimate dining room above a bar and bocce court provide a unique atmosphere. The service is impeccable - as in Italy, you are encouraged to take your time enjoying the experience. A three hour, 5-course meal is the speed La Scala fosters. With a sealed menu - suggesting you take the time to enjoy wine and a selection from the salumeria before even CONSIDERING appetizers - La Scala gently reminds you to enjoy la dolce vita.

Bring your appetite, and leave all sense of moderation at the door and you will have a fabulous time and a memorable meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The best restaurant experience I have ha ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

The best restaurant experience I have had. Food was amazing. Wait staff excellent. Happy hour was great.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went to La Scala two weeks ago Saturday ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Went to La Scala two weeks ago Saturday and had a more than excellent meal. Cured meats and cheeses to start, and an unforgettable ragu and pasta afterword. One of the best Italian meals we have had in the mid-Atlantic region. Better than any place we've tried in DC, save for La Tosca.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, People Watching, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Our meal was amazing...Whole Sea Bass, f ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Our meal was amazing...Whole Sea Bass, filleted and deboned at the table and Veal Saltimbocca. Julio our server was spot on. Two thumbs up!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I have lived in Baltimore for 30+ years ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

I have lived in Baltimore for 30+ years and continue to choose La Scala as a go to. Whether it is just my wife and I or a group of people, it is a great place. Definitely one my favorite restaurants and the food and service are always A+.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A real throwback in Little Italy with ma ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

A real throwback in Little Italy with mature waiters from a bygone era. Fine food and wine in a somewhat dated venue which is part of the Little Italy charm. They even provide a shuttle service. Did not partake of the indoor bocce ball court but worth a mention here for those who might. Did I say throwback?

Tags: Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Good for a Date, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Not seeing the Tripadvisor hype on this ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Not seeing the Tripadvisor hype on this one. The indoor bocce ball court is pretty cool but the rest of the decor is quite dated. Music started off with some jazz and Italian classics but quickly moved to various electronica and pop. The grilled Caesar salad wasn't bad - very large appetizer portions. Spinach and goat cheese and tomato penne was very disappointing though, as was the artichoke heart and crab appetizer, which was swimming in butter and only had a small amount of crab. Complimentary bread was rock hard - should have been an indication perhaps that the meal was going to be substandard. Extensive wine list, otherwise not recommended. And it is definitely NOT a special occasion restaurant.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

The food is amazing and creative. We ord ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

The food is amazing and creative. We order the meal from the pictures of tripadvisor, it taste very good.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I hate to write this negative review bec ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

I hate to write this negative review because it's not something I typically do. Unfortunately, my experience at Scala was so bad I have to write this.

First off, the restaurant earns two stars because Antonio, our waiter, was very accommodating. Also, the cheese platter, fried calamari, and tiramisu were delicious.

However, the real issue was the risotto. It was so dry, like just eating plain rice. Hardly any flavor at all. For $24.95 I could make my own at home. But the bad risotto wasn't the issue, it was more the terrible managerial service in dealing with an unhappy customer. First when I complained the waiter was receptive, but nothing happened. I was not offered an alternative or anything.

Thereafter, the check came, and it had $24.95 for bad risotto. I complained to our waiter, and he got the manager. The manager then proceeded to ask me why I didn't send it back at first and why I didn't ask for a manager at the onset. He then asked how much I ate. I didn't realize that a customer's satisfaction gauged to how much of the meal he ate. I ate very little and it should've been obvious that the meal was bad. The management ultimately accommodated my complaint, but there was clearly not a focus on customer service from the onset.

Also, my fiancé's penne a la vodka was less than adequate.

Seriously, not a place to return to!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

Incredible authentic Italian atmosphere ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Incredible authentic Italian atmosphere complete with an indoor bocce court. Phenomenal first date

Tags: Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for Groups, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We both had "old school" Italian, pasta ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

We both had "old school" Italian, pasta was aldente, sauces excellent as was service. We'll go again next time we're in Baltimore

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Nice, service was just okay. Food was g ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Nice, service was just okay. Food was good but expensive $$$. Would go elsewhere next time in little Italy

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

The service and food was excellent. We ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

The service and food was excellent. We met someone in little Italy in Cleveland , Ohio that recommended this place. It wa great.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

I've lived in the New York City area for ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

I've lived in the New York City area for over 40 years....Dined at almost every "famous" Italian restaurant in the NYC area...LaScala is among the best true Italian restaurants I have every had the pleasure to experience. A must visit while in Baltimore! Bon Appetito!

Tags: Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was terrible. I cannot believe ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

The food was terrible. I cannot believe Zagat rated this restaurant as one of the best in Baltimore. The food was prepared thoughtlessly, with no taste or care.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value2

Three couples had dinner at La Scala on ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Three couples had dinner at La Scala on Saturday, August 27. We were seated quickly upstairs, and the table had ample room. Our waiter (from Kazakhstan) was easy to hear and did a nice job in understanding our customized requests and in making sure the chefs complied. The food was very good, came within a reasonable time, and completely satisfied our hungers. I've been to La Scala before, and each time it has been very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was ok but not really a good va ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

The food was ok but not really a good value for the money! Didn't like the fact that they gave you pasta with every entree. I ordered chicken Marsala and when I asked for potatoes instead of pasta they charged entire price for the side instead of an up charge! They were accommodating when the steaks were tough and had a lot of fat. They took them back and let them get a different type of steak. Overall it was ok but I would have rather gone somewhere like Capital Grill for those prices! My friend did love her sea-bass fish though! Parking accommodations were good. Atmosphere was very nice!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Took my kids here after a college visit/ ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Took my kids here after a college visit/tour at Loyola University. The food was AMAZING and the server Antonio was extremely knowledgeable and friendly. One of the best meals I have had and we live right outside NYC. Highly recommend!!

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent experience! Very accommodating ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Excellent experience! Very accommodating... My family loved it! We will return when visiting the inner harbor!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We dined there with our 12 year old daug ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

We dined there with our 12 year old daughter...the staff was friendly and the food very good. The options were plenty and the meat board was super! The grilled Caesar salad was great!!!

Would go back and recommend to friends

Tags: Late-night Find, Family Style, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Pleasant evening. Great ambience includ ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Pleasant evening. Great ambience including the very unique bocci ball court indoors. Food was very good. Staff was diverse in approach - we had an older waiter who was not very descriptive but was attentive; younger waiters were more elaborative. Only negative was the valet service- brought the car and then quickly disappeared without closing my door or assisting my wife who had a cane. Maitre de was surprised and apologetic when I called later to complain and report this. There probably is ample street parking, and a public lot around the corner for half the cost of the valet.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Cool place with a bocce court inside. Fo ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Cool place with a bocce court inside. Food was very traditional and there is a large menu. My favorite was the cheese and meat tray.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

La Scala Ristorante had amazing food, se ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

La Scala Ristorante had amazing food, service, and atmosphere. It brought me back to my time in Italy! Through our Open Table booking, we only had to wait 10 minutes for our table! Definitely a recommendation with reservations to save you from waiting on a weekend night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Shrimp Scampi was beyond amazing!!!

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Shrimp Scampi was beyond amazing!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was too heavy, made us sick. Very o ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Food was too heavy, made us sick. Very overpriceding the poor quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Outstanding!!!!

vip
 (Richmond)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Outstanding!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The bolognese using spinach fettuccine w ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

The bolognese using spinach fettuccine was incredible - a relaxing, delicious meal. We cannot wait to go back

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This is a wonderful , upbeat, lively res ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

This is a wonderful , upbeat, lively restaurant in Baltimore's Little Italy district. We liked it so much, we came back again the next night! The appetizers were delicious, the entrees some of the best I have eaten and the cannolli ...better than the North End in Boston! We will definitely return next time we are in Baltimore!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Many visits in past for excellent meals ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Many visits in past for excellent meals but Sunday August 14th very poor for 4 of us. Food was mediocre at best Service borderline.

Very disappointed!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value2

Came here for a friend's Bachelorette pa ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Came here for a friend's Bachelorette party.y We had nothing but an incredible experience. The food was amazing, the waiter was amazing, and the chef even came out to do Limoncello shots with us! This was the third time I have been here, and I will continue to go back, even on date night :)

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I don't get the love for these old Balti ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

I don't get the love for these old Baltimore favorites. The food was pretty terrible. The pasta bolognese was chilli mac. How hard to make is a plate of pasta with meat sauce on it? The caesar salad wasn't bad, nor the bread. I had the fish special. The sauce was good, but the fish itself had no flavor. Is anyone in the house tasting the food coming out of the kitchen? The service was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

Always wonderful! Will certainly return. ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Always wonderful! Will certainly return.

Thank you!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.