About La Scala

Since our opening, La Scala has been dedicated to presenting a menu which balances the very best in traditional Italian cuisine and innovative specialties. We welcome you to stop in to experience our elegantly casual atmosphere accented perfectly with Chef Nino’s authentic and unforgettable creations.

La Scala features homemade pasta, an indoor bocce ball court, private event space and complimentary shuttle.

Ask about our Private Rooms available for special events, parties, and corporate meetings.

1012 Eastern Avenue
Baltimore, MD 21202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday : 4:30pm - 10 pm, Friday - Saturday : 4:30 pm - 11 pm,
Sunday : 2 pm - 10 pm

Happy Hour : Monday - Friday 4:30 - 7 pm, Sunday 3 pm - 8 pm

Cross Street:
S. Central/Exeter

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 783-9209

Website:
http://www.lascaladining.com/

Entertainment:
Home to Baltimore's only indoor bocce ball court! Available on a first-come first-serve basis for dinner customers. It can also be rented out for $100 an hour.

Catering:
Off-site catering is available for pickup or delivery, both lunch and dinner. Please contact a manager for details.

Parking Details:
We offer valet 7 nights a week. Cost is $8 per car. Street parking is also available for 3 hours, and the Little Italy Parking Garage is just around the corner.

Public Transit:
We offer a complimentary shuttle service to and from all downtown hotels.

Executive Chef:
Nino Germano

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
- Happy Hour - Mon-Fri 4:30 - 7 and Sun 3-8. Try our new MEXITALIAN menu!
- Wine dinners throughout the year.

Send your email and home address so we can update you on all of our upcoming events.

Private Dining

La Scala offers private rooms that seat anywhere from 14 - 180 guests. Whatever your event may be, we can assure you that our wonderful team will make it memorable!

La Scala Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.4

Noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (82)
Special Occasion (79)
Good for Anniversaries (73)
See All
Authentic (70)
Romantic (58)
Good for Birthdays (54)
Neighborhood Gem (54)
Notable Wine List (54)
Worth the Drive (47)
Fit for Foodies (44)
Creative Cuisine (40)
Quiet Conversation (40)
Business Meals (37)
Good for Groups (35)
Cozy (31)
Bar Seating (24)
Pre/post Theatre (22)
Fun (21)
Casual (20)
Comfort Food (20)
Good Vegetarian Options (14)
Happy Hour (12)
Sunday Lunch (12)
Local Ingredients (11)
Great for Outdoor Dining (11)
Hot Spot (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Tasting Menu (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Late-night Find (7)
Great for Lunch (6)
Disabled Access (5)
People Watching (5)
Seasonal (5)
Spicy (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Scenic View (3)
Live Music (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Waterfront (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Vegan (1)
Great Beer (1)
Live Sports (1)
Organic (1)
Tapas (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
2248 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 2 days ago

An amazing dinner!!! Good quality Sicilian cooking!!! Not your average italian restaurant.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined 2 days ago

Food and service were excellent. Leftovers for lunch too!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 3 days ago

Our experience at La Scala was great! We've eaten at every restaurant in Little Italy and La Scala is our new favorite. Really excellent menu with traditional and non-traditional Italian dishes. Everything we received was well-prepared and tasty. Good wine list.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

We had a fantastic meal celebrating our tenth anniversary. The food was delicious and they gave us a free dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined 3 days ago

If you are looking for great food, service and atmosphere this is the place. The bar makes the best Capachino martinis any where, Every night the owner and chef has more specials then you would find anywhere, will always go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 3 days ago

We were new to La Scala but thoroughly enjoyed our meal. Our waiter Alfredo was very attentive and made great dinner suggestions. We were not rushed in any way and made to feel very welcome.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

Food and service were outstanding. Pasta, veal chop and grilled Caesar were great.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined 6 days ago

This was our group's first visit to the Baltimore area. The restaurant was an absolute pleasure for us and the food was outstanding.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 10, 2017

La Scala is always excellent dining. This was our third visit as a family and it certainly did not disappoint. We first ordered Antipasto Originale, which was impeccably good. For my main course, I ordered Risotto Mare E Monti, which was incredible. We finished off our meal with lemon and chocolate cannolis, which rounded out dinner nicely. Overall, it was absolutely delicious. Our waiter was humorous as well as very professional. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Amazing experience from service to food and wine. Highly recommend for traditional Italian dinner.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Visiting from out of town and chose La Scala based on reviews. Coming from an Italian family, our expectations of Italian food might be slightly elevated. La Scala did not disappoint! Great selections, some with a twist to reflect the Baltimore area. Will definitely return when we are back in the area. Fried calamari done to precision! Had the veal and shrimp Baltimore myself, my husband a special of the night. Could not fit dessert but took a Tiramisu to go- AWESOME late night snack!

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 6, 2017

This was my first time and we enjoyed the meal. The waiters were very attentive just not very friendly. There were three waiters/busboys that worked our table of 4. The head waiter seemed annoyed that we did not get coffee or dessert. He just wasn't great and that is why I did not give the restaurant a great review. The food was really good and the atmosphere is really great. I would go back for sure just hopefully a nicer waiter in the future. The bar looked like a nice place to meet up with friends.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
·Dined on October 5, 2017

La Scala NEVER disappoints. If you are Italian (or love Italian food), love a good charcuterie board and wine as much as I do, and aren't opposed to a warm, thin nutella filled crepe with strawberries and fluffy whipped cream, this is the place for you. You won't regret it and the service is unprecedented! Nothing says personal like the Chef stopping by your table to make sure everything was to your liking. I went with 6 other girls for a birthday dinner and La Scala treated the birthday girl like a princess. Love it every time and will always be back.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 4, 2017

Great service and pace. Extensive menu with even more specials.

Tags: Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 4, 2017

We had dinner before attending the ballet and will definitely be back. The food was the most delicious food I've ever eaten.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Paleo Friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 2, 2017

I took my son to this fantastic Italian restaurant after the football game. A number of people recommended it to us. We couldn't have had a better experience. The seared Caesar Salad was amazing. The grilled octopus succulent and flavorful. The daily pasta was a creamy tomato based lobster and shrimp mix over homemade penne. It was perfect! The veal Saltimbocca was also delicious. Overall this was a 5 star meL.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 1, 2017

My mother, aunt, boyfriend and I had such an amazing time at La Scala. Having been there a few times before, we were just as impressed with the outstanding service. Our servers are always so friendly and attentive and most importantly, KNOWLEDGEABLE. You cannot beat having all of your questions answered with ease and without feeling like a burden. As for the food, everything was phenomenal, with the exception of my grilled caesar salad special I ordered. The others at the table were delicious, but mine got pretty burnt. The gorgonzola bread is something made from heaven. I mentioned in the reservation that we were celebrating two birthdays, and they had cards at the table for us as well as complementary pieces of tiramisu! Will definitely be back and will continue to recommend this place to everyone I know who is looking for excellent Italian cuisine with equally excellent service.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 30, 2017

This was our first time at La Scala and it won't be our last. Great food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Amazing! This place is the real deal.... Nothing was average!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 27, 2017

The restaurant has gone through some changes to attract a more casual / tourist crowd. The ‘fine dining atmosphere’ has suffered in the process. The indoor bocci court, when in use, creates a great deal of noise in the open restaurant. Antonio, our server, was very good and the food quality was excellent.

Tags: Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 27, 2017

Wonderful experience. Great staff. Great chef. And great wine list. All of the ingredients for a great dinner.

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 27, 2017

Place was just OK--very noisy. Athletic game available for diners to participate--have to listen to that nonsense when dining. Recommend getting rid of it. Server was a nice guy--took him a long time to get through the specials--hard to understand him.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (London)·Dined on September 26, 2017

A very attractive restaurant, which was pleasantly busy on a Tuesday evening. Delicious antipasti and each of our main courses lived up to expectations. Definitely to be recommended.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 25, 2017

Staff is friendly and competent. Specials were creative and all dishes were good. Good price value too!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

Top notch service from Alfredo ... nice wine list with a couple very good Corsicans. Friendly bar conversation before dinner. Very nice evening.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Spicy, People Watching, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 23, 2017

My husband and I ate at LaScala during our most recent stay in Baltimore. My husband had contacted them in advance since we were celebrating our anniversary and they went out of their way to help him make the night special including specialized place cards and place settings. The food also did not disappoint, the lobster pasta special was one of the best dishes I've ever had! Would definitely visit LaScala on our next Baltimore visit!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 22, 2017

We found the restaurant wonderful in all respects. It was unfortunate that we were seated near a table o very loud talkers . I could hear their conversation better than the conversation with my friends. That is not the fault of the restaurant however, although there could be some noise abatement in wall hangings etc to make it quieter.
The valet was good except for turning off the automatic lights. I had a rental car and didn't know how to put the switch beac to auto. I wish valets in general would not change the settings like that; if it is on auto leave it there.
Otherwise great evening and we will return..

Tags: Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on September 21, 2017

Service and Food was phenomenal! Was an amazing experience. Great Italian!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 21, 2017

Good friendly atmosphere for any occasion & shuttle service was perfect for my out of town friends. Loved the grilled caesar.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Romantic, Hot Spot, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 20, 2017

Great food exceptional service. We made a reservation and our table was waiting when we got there. Food was excellent.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 19, 2017

Highly recommended. They have great service and a spectacular menu. Cheese and charcuterie menu was amazing. Gret italian food with a wonderful wine list. Great experience.

Tags: Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Spicy, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Casual, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 18, 2017

perfect as always! love it here and look forward to my next meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Why eat at one of the chains on the Harbor when you can walk two blocks and eat here? Great classic Italian food, nice wine list (good low and mid-priced wines, but also some high end too), service is very professional. Nice atmosphere too - wish I lived closer! I rated it outstanding for what it is - a great neighborhood Italian restaurant.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 16, 2017

I go here often for special occasions. The food and service is always top notch.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 16, 2017

We've been coming here for many years and every visit has been exceptional. Great food, ambience and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Our Anniversary. Food was mostly very good. Started with figs stuffed with gorgazola cheese & wrapped in prosciutto on a bed of greens. It was absolutely delicious! Next was a Caprese Salad, a tomato, mozzarella cheese, olive oil presentation. This dish was our only disappointment. The mozzarella was very good but the tomatos were not and spoiled the dish. Entrees were Veal Picata and Veal Baltimore and both were excellent. To top off the evening our waiter brought us a lovely piece of lucious Tiramisu with a lit candle to help us celebrate!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Only thing better than the food was the service. This is the go-to Italian restaurant in Baltimore!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (London)·Dined on September 13, 2017

Still the reigning champion of fine Italian dining in Baltimore. Multiple dining rooms on different levels keeps the sound level down. Muscles in fra diavlo sauce is too good you want to drink the remainder in your bowl. Bravo!!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on September 11, 2017

The GM of the Marriott suggested la Scala....as did the bellman at the Royal Sonesta. The place is tucked into a great Italian neighborhood with lots of local color and charm.
While we did not have the best table (near the hallway to the kitchen) the atmosphere was very classy. I expected to see The Godfather walk through any moment!
Great service. Food was outstanding. The grilled Caesar salad is not on the menu, but it was awesome!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Really very good all around. I would recommend La Scala to anyone.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.