About La Scala

1012 Eastern Avenue
Baltimore, MD 21202
View Larger Map

Regional Italian cooking at its finest

Since our opening, La Scala has been dedicated to presenting a menu which balances the very best in traditional Italian cuisine
as well as innovative specialties. We welcome you to stop in to experience our elegantly casual atmosphere accented perfectly
with Chef Nino’s authentic and unforgettable creations.

La Scala features an indoor bocce ball court, a large dining room, private event space and a wine room.

Ask about our Private Rooms available for special events, parties, and corporate meetings.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:30pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 2:00pm - 10:00pm

Happy Hour: Monday - Friday 4:30 - 7:00pm, Sunday 3:00 - 8:00pm

Cross Street:
S. Central/Exeter

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 783-9209

Website:
http://www.lascaladining.com/

Entertainment:
Home to Baltimore's only indoor bocce ball court! Available on a first-come first-serve basis for dinner customers only. Can also be rented out for $75/hour

Catering:
Off-site catering is available for pickup or delivery, both lunch and dinner. Please contact a manager for details.

Parking Details:
We offer valet 7 nights a week. Cost is $8 per car. Street parking is also available for 3 hours, and the Little Italy Parking Garage is just around the corner.

Public Transit:
We offer a complimentary shuttle service to and from all downtown hotels.

Executive Chef:
Nino Germano

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
- Happy Hour - Mon-Fri 4:30 - 7 and Sun 3-8. Try our new MEXITALIAN menu!
- Wine dinners throughout the year.
- Special Happy Hours monthly.

Send your email and home address so we can update you on all of our upcoming events

Restaurant Photos

La Scala
Chocolate Hazelnut Mousse
Chicken And Shrimp
Gamberi Alla Zucca
Spaghetti Con Funghi
Pollo And Shrimp Provola
Pollo Al Bimbo
Pollo Augostino
Manzo Al Balsamico
Shrimp!
Gnocchi With Imported Gorgonzola Sauce And Walnuts
Chicken And Shrimp Lemone
Gnocci Pancini
Peaches!
Shrimp Arugula
Ravioli With Potato And Sundried Tomato Pesto
Gnocchi
Seasoned Green Beans
Garlic Bread
Rum And Coke
Rigatoni
Steak Pizziola
Espresso Martini
Grilled Caesar Salad
Shrimp over Penne Special
Veal Ravioli
Caesar Salad With Grilled Shrimp
Expresso Martini
1/2 Portion Gamberi Luana
Grilled Blue Point Oysters
Pollo Saltimbocca
Veal And Shrimp Al Turino
Strawberry & Nutela Stuffed Crepe With Banana whipped cream

Private Dining

La Scala offers private rooms that seat anywhere from 14 - 180 guests. Whatever your event may be, we can assure you that our wonderful team will make it memorable!

La Scala Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Baltimore / Maryland
Best Overall
Baltimore
Best Food
Baltimore
2 More
Notable Wine List
Baltimore
Italian
Baltimore
Best Restaurants in Little Italy ›

special occasion (116)
neighborhood gem (93)
fit for foodies (92)
See All
romantic (87)
good for groups (86)
notable wine list (80)
hot spot (18)
vibrant bar scene (11)
late-night find (10)
great for lunch (10)
kid-friendly (10)
great for outdoor dining (10)
great for brunch (6)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1596 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I can only say good things about La Scal ...

Dined 4 days ago

I can only say good things about La Scala the only bad thing is that I was visiting my daughter from out of town and I can't dine there on a regular basis. Not only was the food five star quality but my wife is medically gluten free and all the selections on the menu were available gluten free.The owner made my wife at ease with his explanation of preparation and knowledge of gluten free cooking. The wait staff were also well versed in my wife's dietary needs just adding to the positive experience for her. Her food was served separately and was just as delicious as everybody else's. When in Baltimore I'll be sure to arrange my schedule around dinner at La Scala.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

While food was good, it is very old scho ...

Dined 5 days ago

While food was good, it is very old school Italian and a little pricey for what you get. Heavy on the pasta and potatoes. I would like to see some vegetable options available for side dishes rather than just more pasta. The bocci court is a nice touch.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Antonio was a great server. He was enthu ...

Dined 5 days ago

Antonio was a great server. He was enthusiastic and helpful with menu choices. They had a lot of specials and most of us ordered from the specials menu. Willing to change a sauce on a menu item. The food was excellent. Overall, great experience.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We dined upstairs at a quiet table. I n ...

Dined 7 days ago

We dined upstairs at a quiet table. I noticed they had outdoor balcony seating and would like to try that next time. New York Strip Pizzaiola and Grilled Veal chop with mushroom sauce were perfectly prepared. The service was excellent and the wine recommendation paired perfectly with our food. I definitely recommend and will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The food is always excellent and the sta ...

vip
Dined 7 days ago

The food is always excellent and the staff is very professional!! It's always a treat to dine here

food3
ambience2
service1
value1

We had a terrible dining experience, wit ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

We had a terrible dining experience, with the worst service in memory. Arriving at 6:45, we waited and waited for our entrees to arrive. Finally, after an hour, I hailed our waiter and pointed out that the next table had its entrees despite the fact that they arrived after us and put in their orders long after we did. The waiter claimed that the food was cooking, but we think he completely forgot to put in our order. Finally, after another 14 minutes (74 minutes total on empty, growling stomachs), we got our food. But the homemade gluten-free pasta, which cost $6 extra, tasted like cardboard. I sent it back. On the basis of this experience, I would not recommend this restaurant.

food3
ambience3
service3
value2

La Scala did not live up to expectation. ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

La Scala did not live up to expectation. I was visiting Baltimore on business and decided to try this highly regarded restaurant. The reviews were positive and anecdotal feedback from the "locals" was generous. The food was good -- but not great. Wait staff were attentive and provided many personal recommendations on the food. I ordered the Gamberi Luana, which was salty and tasted of strong garlic. My husband's veal was good but not great. The wine list included many California wines, which was disappointing as I was hoping for more Italian wine options.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love it pre-theatre. Everything was and ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

Love it pre-theatre. Everything was and always is great!

Tags: neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Our experience with Antonio and Hector w ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Our experience with Antonio and Hector was simply First Class - service was excellent and the food was delicious - well worth a visit and we love Chesly on the Host Stand - so professional and personable! The shuttle to our hotel was icing on the cake

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The restaurant and food were excellent. ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

The restaurant and food were excellent. I understand why it has good ratings. The only thing i found odd were some of the unprofessional staff like the hostess who didnt speak english and just stared at us when we walked in the door. I would never let someone like that be the first person a customer interacts with. She was also very young and wearing regular clothes not an outfit suitable for being a hostess. The valet was also weird. He was not friendly at all for a job reliant on tips. Some of the wait staff were strange also. Lets just say the food is excellent but they could definitely do some staff training on professionalim and being pleasant and nice. I would find a new hostess stat.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was great and the Chef-Owner ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Everything was great and the Chef-Owner (Nino) treats you like family visiting his home in Italy! Tutto era delizioso !!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience1
service2
value4

Arrived on-time for reservation...was to ...

vip
Dined on June 10, 2016

Arrived on-time for reservation...was told the table wasn't ready...had to check twice on the table and they said it was ready on the 2nd time (they didn't come to us). Was waiting at the bar and had a drink with my guess...it was a challenge to get the bar tenders attention. Once we were shown to our table - we could see the table from where we were waiting...there had been no one there. Our waiter for our table was good and the food was good.....but the ambiance, attitude of individuals before that was poor

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience4
service4

Save room for dessert! I highly recomme ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

Save room for dessert! I highly recommend the lemon cannoli! Always homemade and always delicious.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

La Scala

Dined on June 9, 2016

By far the best service I received while in Baltimore. I took out some clients and we all ended up ordering the specials that were offered and they were amazing. The wait staff was very friendly and was always there to fill up our drinks and anything else we needed all without being intrusive. I would highly recommend La Scala to anyone looking for a great place to eat in Baltimore.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Little Italy gem

Dined on June 6, 2016

Found La Scala on line while at a Baltimore conference. A friend and I loved it! Friendly server, knowledgeable suggestions on food and wine. Highly recommend the veal Marsala and gnocchi.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Perfect Dinner

Dined on June 4, 2016

Everything about the evening was perfect. Staff was welcoming and conscientious and food was perfectly prepared. Three of us had distinctly different meals - chicken breast, filet mignon, and seafood pasta, and they arrived simultaneously all perfectly prepared. Waiter checked back often and allowed us to enjoy an extended dinner with family from California with no feeling of pressure to leave or rush.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful experience

Dined on June 4, 2016

Enjoyed a birthday dinner for my son, his wife and a friend. Everyone raved about their meals. I had the Big Al's steak which was terrific, perfectly cooked with a wonderful crab/sauce/ topping. Everyone else had either a shrimp dish or veal, and all said it was wonderful. The service was great. A bit noisy at times, When they brought out my son's cake, the whole dining room sang along, it was so nice. will definitely return in the future.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exquisite

Dined on June 3, 2016

commendable experience from the free shuttle ride over, to the shuttle ride back. The driver recommended the grilled salad which was delicious! The service was seamless, never any hungry pauses, a constant flow of food from the complimentary small plate bean salad to bread to app, to salad to entree! My crab and lobster pasta was fabulous!!!! sooo good! Totally worth the high-ish price tag ! Bravo

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great for our special celebration

Dined on June 2, 2016

They made us feel very welcome from the time they picked us up at our hotel. The ambience was fun / bar downstairs and white table cloth / formal dinner upstairs. The food and service were both excellent. It was a memorable evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

This was our first time and we really en ...

Dined on June 1, 2016

This was our first time and we really enjoyed the experience. Wonderful food, excellent service and well priced. We'll be back on our next visit!

food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Menza menz

Dined on May 30, 2016

I was with the service and the food was fair. Portions small both dishes the pasta was mush. Overall disappointed. The cannolis were runny.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service

Dined on May 27, 2016

Handmade pasta, great service, long wine list...it was a wonderful evening - thanks!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great for a special occasion. George th ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

Great for a special occasion. George the van driver was prompt and courteous. Antonio our server was professional and helpful. Overall a great dinner.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was AMAZING!

Dined on May 26, 2016

Food was AMAZING!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful experience at LaScala ...

Dined on May 26, 2016

We had a wonderful experience at LaScala Restaurant. We had a party of nine celebrating a SPECIAL 21st birthday....Our service was outstanding, the food was wonderful, presentation was good. We were very excited to end our evening with a couple games of Bocci Ball💞 Definitely a FAVORITE!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

La Scala delivered a fantastic meal, aga ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

La Scala delivered a fantastic meal, again. Every time we visit Baltimore, it is a must to eat here! There was an issue with the lighting in the room we were seated in and asked to be moved but on every other level, it was wonderful! Can't wait to go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a wonderful place this is!! Our all ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

What a wonderful place this is!! Our all time fav place to eat when we are in Baltimore!! The Chef is awesome!! Family owned and run!! We absolutely love love love this place!!! Always here Preakness weekend👍🏻

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Fine Italian Dining On Preakness Night!

Dined on May 22, 2016

The 2016 Preakness saw a record crowd and, apparently so too did Little Italy in Baltimore on May 21, 2016. La Scala was packed! We made our reservation a few months in advance of the Preakness and upon leaving the track right after the race and getting stuck in traffic, it was clear we'd never make the 8:15 reservation. I called and was told the table would be held. We arrived an hour late. By that time, the table had been given away and understandably so. The hostess remembered my call and brought us to a table with a very, very minimal wait. It was packed. Every table full. It was loud, but in an enjoyable way. Meal started with a plate of potato and free bean salad, crisp and fresh. Appetizers included a special soft shell crab with asparagus which was beautifully presented and very flavorful. Also, fried calamari was very good. Entrees are huge, yet expertly prepared. Chicken and Veal Parmesan were excellent, using whole milk sliced mozzarella and served with homemade elbow pasta. Homemade spaghetti bolognese was spectacular with a sauce that clearly took hours to make and pasta that could hold up to such a heavy sauce without becoming mushy, even the day after as leftovers. Dessert, a hazelnut cannoli had a dynamically flavored filling in a fried-wonton-like crust; definitely more than one person could eat. Service was good, especially those in charge of water (we were outside and drinking for about 10 hours at the track; we were thirsty) and I enjoyed how they all worked together on what was a very busy night. I am so happy they gave us a table despite being so late and that the food was great. We hope to return for a perhaps earlier dinner on a quieter night when we're able to enjoy some wine!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great every time

Dined on May 21, 2016

2nd time I've been here and 2nd time I've greatly enjoyed this place. You have to have the mortadella and various cheese/meats...fabulous. Great food, great dessert! Would always recommend this place.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a late evening reservation follow ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

We had a late evening reservation following a graduation ceremony. The only negative to our experience was that while we could hear a lively restaurant crowd upstairs, we were seated downstairs next to the kitchen and the restrooms. But, in the end, this turned out to be a quiet place to get together and dine with our party of eight after a long day of festivities. The service was excellent and the food was even better. Every member of our party agreed that they were not only happy with their selection, but that it was the best Italian food that we have ever had in a restaurant. The homemade pasta is not to be missed!!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

So, so, SO good. Some of the best Italia ...

vip
Dined on May 18, 2016

So, so, SO good. Some of the best Italian food anywhere. The penne vodka is so simple, but amazing. The chicken saltimbocca, when available on special (and it often is) is a must-have. The grilled Caesar and the goat cheese and tomato bruschetta are awesome starters. I can't say enough about La Scala.

food3
ambience3
service3

Chose this for an out of town business d ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Chose this for an out of town business dinner after lots of open table research but it was just ok and would not go back. None of us really enjoyed the meal or the appetizers. Service was slow and inattentive.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had a lovely evening meal with my parent ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Had a lovely evening meal with my parents who were in to visit for the weekend. Good place for a long meal when you want to catch up with someone. We didn't feel rushed at all. Plus the food is incredible, everything was delicious!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is our favorite spot for pre/post B ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

This is our favorite spot for pre/post Broadway shows in Baltimore. We love the food and the service is always excellent.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great restaurant but a little loud to be ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Great restaurant but a little loud to be romantic. I can help with sound proofing. Powerhouses Properties MD

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was one of the best meals of my lif ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

This was one of the best meals of my life. it's a shame I don't live in Baltimore because I'd probably visit la scala once a month if I did.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were looking for a new restaurant to ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

We were looking for a new restaurant to try in Little Italy to celebrate our birthday. We found LaScala online and decided to give it a try. We were overjoyed with our luck. From the cold green bean and potato they serve as an appetizer to our meals, everything was delicious. we will definitely be back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The server started with "I'm here to ins ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

The server started with "I'm here to insure you have an excellent experience" He did not disappoint! First class food and service.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was amazing, service was great. Hav ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Food was amazing, service was great. Have tried several restaurants in Little Italy in years past. This has been by far the best food I have tasted, all home made!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Authentic Italian Cuisine!

Dined on May 13, 2016

We really enjoyed La Scala. We found it through recommendations on TripAdvisor. Great restaurant right in the heart of Little Italy in Baltimore. The service was outstanding, Julio was our server and he was very knowledgeable and attentive. Even though there appeared to be several special occasions ongoing, he didn't forget about us. We would definitely come back again - the gnocchi was awesome; the marinara was outstanding; the shrimp scampi was just right. Everything was delicious!

Tags: kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.