About La Scala

1012 Eastern Avenue
Baltimore, MD 21202
View Larger Map

Regional Italian cooking at its finest

Since our opening, La Scala has been dedicated to presenting a menu which balances the very best in traditional Italian cuisine
as well as innovative specialties. We welcome you to stop in to experience our elegantly casual atmosphere accented perfectly
with Chef Nino’s authentic and unforgettable creations.

La Scala features an indoor bocce ball court, a large dining room, private event space and a wine room.

Ask about our Private Rooms available for special events, parties, and corporate meetings.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:30pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 2:00pm - 10:00pm

Happy Hour: Monday - Friday 4:30 - 7:00pm, Sunday 3:00 - 8:00pm

Cross Street:
S. Central/Exeter

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 783-9209

Website:
http://www.lascaladining.com/

Entertainment:
Home to Baltimore's only indoor bocce ball court! Available on a first-come first-serve basis for dinner customers only. Can also be rented out for $75/hour

Catering:
Off-site catering is available for pickup or delivery, both lunch and dinner. Please contact a manager for details.

Parking Details:
We offer valet 7 nights a week. Cost is $8 per car. Street parking is also available for 3 hours, and the Little Italy Parking Garage is just around the corner.

Public Transit:
We offer a complimentary shuttle service to and from all downtown hotels.

Executive Chef:
Nino Germano

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
- Happy Hour - Mon-Fri 4:30 - 7 and Sun 3-8. Try our new MEXITALIAN menu!
- Wine dinners throughout the year.
- Special Happy Hours monthly.

Send your email and home address so we can update you on all of our upcoming events

Restaurant Photos

La Scala
Chocolate Hazelnut Mousse
Chicken And Shrimp
Gamberi Alla Zucca
Spaghetti Con Funghi
Pollo And Shrimp Provola
Pollo Al Bimbo
Pollo Augostino
Manzo Al Balsamico
Shrimp!
Gnocchi
Seasoned Green Beans
Garlic Bread
Rum And Coke
Rigatoni
Steak Pizziola
Espresso Martini
Grilled Caesar Salad
Shrimp over Penne Special
Veal Ravioli
Caesar Salad With Grilled Shrimp
Gnocchi With Imported Gorgonzola Sauce And Walnuts
Expresso Martini
Chicken And Shrimp Lemone
Gnocci Pancini
Peaches!
Shrimp Arugula
1/2 Portion Gamberi Luana
Grilled Blue Point Oysters
Pollo Saltimbocca
Veal And Shrimp Al Turino
Ravioli With Potato And Sundried Tomato Pesto
Strawberry & Nutela Stuffed Crepe With Banana whipped cream

Private Dining

La Scala offers private rooms that seat anywhere from 14 - 180 guests. Whatever your event may be, we can assure you that our wonderful team will make it memorable!

La Scala Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Baltimore / Maryland
Notable Wine List
Baltimore
Italian
Baltimore
Best Restaurants in Little Italy ›

special occasion (109)
fit for foodies (87)
neighborhood gem (86)
See All
romantic (85)
good for groups (77)
notable wine list (73)
hot spot (16)
kid-friendly (11)
vibrant bar scene (10)
great for outdoor dining (10)
late-night find (9)
great for lunch (8)
great for brunch (5)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1626 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I took my friend who had just been accep ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined 4 days ago

I took my friend who had just been accepted to Nursing school to celebrate. She had never been to any of the wonderful restaurants in Little Italy, so I chose this one. Was not disappointed. From the service to the food, everything was wonderful. I will return and will recommend.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Every element was outstanding. Kudos on ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined 6 days ago

Every element was outstanding. Kudos on the stuffed calamari app! Attentive service, creative yet comfortable menu, great wine list--La Scala makes it all look effortless. And where else can you play bocce after your meal??

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great time. The food was absol ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 6 days ago

We had a great time. The food was absolutely perfect. Wine pairings from their extensive wine cellar make it a breeze. The chef Nino came out to speak with us and arranged a limo ride for us back to the hotel. Well worth the visit, highly recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I will be back when we are i ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 7 days ago

My wife and I will be back when we are in Baltimore!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was outstanding especially the ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 7 days ago

The food was outstanding especially the specials. The service was impeccable and the entire wait staff was very attentive. A special thank you to the host Jose' who assisted my wife in making my 60th birthday party unforgettable.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mushroom appetizer was amazing. Gnocchi ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Mushroom appetizer was amazing. Gnocchi with pesto was good but heavy. Espresso cannoli was great!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Brought family from pittsburgh to see my ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Brought family from pittsburgh to see my son who is law student at Maryland great food

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The food is very good and reasonably pri ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

The food is very good and reasonably priced. The service was outstanding, having a server who was obviously very experienced and attentive without being obtrusive. The restaurant interior is very pleasant and comfortable. I definitely plan to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We were in Baltimore for vacation and re ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We were in Baltimore for vacation and read that this restaurant was highly rated. We were not disappointed! Our dinner was great! We were sad we couldn't bring home a doggie bag. The service and atmosphere were very nice. It might have been a bit noisy for some, but to me this kind of restaurant should be boisterous! We had a wonderful time and I would recommend this restaurant to anyone visiting Baltimore.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best restaurants in Baltimore ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

One of the best restaurants in Baltimore. Excellent professional service and food is amazing. Great wine list. This is a top quality restaurant. Owner comes to the table and helps with everything. Not inexpensive but that is because of the quality of what you are getting. We go to La Scala every time we visit Baltimore.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

LaScala in Little Italy section was very ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

LaScala in Little Italy section was very quaint home like atmosphere. The food was excellent from start to finish. A family member recommended it whom hasn't been there in years. It didn't disappoint and I'm still taking about it a week later

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food at La Scala is always good. Th ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The food at La Scala is always good. This was my 4th time dining there. On this particular night, we felt rushed by the waiter, he was in a hurry to get our orders in. It was a very warm evening, the temperature inside the building progressively warmer; they must have been turning back the air conditioning

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Great evening in Little Italy with the F ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Great evening in Little Italy with the Family. Loved the Veal and the atmosphere. Finished off with amazing homemade canollis and bocci ball!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Phenomenal service. Birthday accommodati ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Phenomenal service. Birthday accommodations were amazing and Antonio is an outstanding waiter. Overall, worthwhile and enjoyable experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Wonderful service! Highly recommended ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Wonderful service! Highly recommended for any occasion.

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The entire experience was great. Service ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The entire experience was great. Service was excellent and the food was wonderful. Carlos was our waiter and was very attentive. Would return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was fantastic, the service was ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The food was fantastic, the service was attentive, definitely a go to restaurant!! All of us loved it!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One reason we visit Baltimore is Little ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

One reason we visit Baltimore is Little Italy - especially La Scala. The food is excellent, even if there are so many specials, it's hard to remember the firsts ones on the list. Enjoyable place.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent atmosphere and cuisine. A grea ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Excellent atmosphere and cuisine. A great choice for a night in Baltimore.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food Authentic Italian. Fun plac ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Great food Authentic Italian. Fun place with indoor bocce. Will be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Although a bit on the pricey end, the fo ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Although a bit on the pricey end, the food was excellent and served in a timely fashion. Thought the staff was well informed and knowledgeable about the entrees and special meals.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

This has always been one of our favorite ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

This has always been one of our favorite restaurants in Baltimore, but this time we were a little disappointed. They no longer allow you to bring your own wine and pay a corkage fee and the portion for the $10 Caprese Salad was quite deficient (8 slices of tomato with some mozzarella and balsamic vinegar) and disappointing. Not sure we will be visiting next time we are in Baltimore's Little Italy.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Fantastic service!!!

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Fantastic service!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A world class restaurant. Consistently e ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

A world class restaurant. Consistently excellent food with careful preparation. Attentive service that caters to the diner. Yes it can be expensive but you get what you pay for.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My family and I enjoyed dinner at La Sca ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

My family and I enjoyed dinner at La Scala on a weekend trip to the Inner Harbor. The service was exceptional, the menu extensive and the food fantastic. I would highly recommend trying this little gem whenever you have the chance.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Kept waiting for a server. Finally had ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Kept waiting for a server. Finally had to call a manager over. Very slow service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

First time there. My wife's birthday. Wa ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

First time there. My wife's birthday. Was a lot more than we had expected. Waiter and staff wonderful. I wanted something that was not on the menu and the chef came out and said he would fix anything the way I wanted it!!!! That's a first! The food and service was outstanding!! We will go back for more than special occasions!!

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I can only say good things about La Scal ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

I can only say good things about La Scala the only bad thing is that I was visiting my daughter from out of town and I can't dine there on a regular basis. Not only was the food five star quality but my wife is medically gluten free and all the selections on the menu were available gluten free.The owner made my wife at ease with his explanation of preparation and knowledge of gluten free cooking. The wait staff were also well versed in my wife's dietary needs just adding to the positive experience for her. Her food was served separately and was just as delicious as everybody else's. When in Baltimore I'll be sure to arrange my schedule around dinner at La Scala.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

While food was good, it is very old scho ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

While food was good, it is very old school Italian and a little pricey for what you get. Heavy on the pasta and potatoes. I would like to see some vegetable options available for side dishes rather than just more pasta. The bocci court is a nice touch.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Antonio was a great server. He was enthu ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Antonio was a great server. He was enthusiastic and helpful with menu choices. They had a lot of specials and most of us ordered from the specials menu. Willing to change a sauce on a menu item. The food was excellent. Overall, great experience.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We dined upstairs at a quiet table. I n ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We dined upstairs at a quiet table. I noticed they had outdoor balcony seating and would like to try that next time. New York Strip Pizzaiola and Grilled Veal chop with mushroom sauce were perfectly prepared. The service was excellent and the wine recommendation paired perfectly with our food. I definitely recommend and will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food is always excellent and the sta ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The food is always excellent and the staff is very professional!! It's always a treat to dine here

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a terrible dining experience, wit ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

We had a terrible dining experience, with the worst service in memory. Arriving at 6:45, we waited and waited for our entrees to arrive. Finally, after an hour, I hailed our waiter and pointed out that the next table had its entrees despite the fact that they arrived after us and put in their orders long after we did. The waiter claimed that the food was cooking, but we think he completely forgot to put in our order. Finally, after another 14 minutes (74 minutes total on empty, growling stomachs), we got our food.

But the homemade gluten-free pasta, which cost $6 extra, tasted like cardboard. I sent it back.

On the basis of this experience, I would not recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

La Scala did not live up to expectation. ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

La Scala did not live up to expectation. I was visiting Baltimore on business and decided to try this highly regarded restaurant. The reviews were positive and anecdotal feedback from the "locals" was generous. The food was good -- but not great. Wait staff were attentive and provided many personal recommendations on the food. I ordered the Gamberi Luana, which was salty and tasted of strong garlic. My husband's veal was good but not great. The wine list included many California wines, which was disappointing as I was hoping for more Italian wine options.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Love it pre-theatre. Everything was and ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Love it pre-theatre. Everything was and always is great!

Tags: neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our experience with Antonio and Hector w ...

 
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Our experience with Antonio and Hector was simply First Class - service was excellent and the food was delicious - well worth a visit and we love Chesly on the Host Stand - so professional and personable! The shuttle to our hotel was icing on the cake

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The restaurant and food were excellent. ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

The restaurant and food were excellent. I understand why it has good ratings. The only thing i found odd were some of the unprofessional staff like the hostess who didnt speak english and just stared at us when we walked in the door. I would never let someone like that be the first person a customer interacts with. She was also very young and wearing regular clothes not an outfit suitable for being a hostess. The valet was also weird. He was not friendly at all for a job reliant on tips. Some of the wait staff were strange also. Lets just say the food is excellent but they could definitely do some staff training on professionalim and being pleasant and nice. I would find a new hostess stat.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Everything was great and the Chef-Owner ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Everything was great and the Chef-Owner (Nino) treats you like family visiting his home in Italy!

Tutto era delizioso !!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Arrived on-time for reservation...was to ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Arrived on-time for reservation...was told the table wasn't ready...had to check twice on the table and they said it was ready on the 2nd time (they didn't come to us). Was waiting at the bar and had a drink with my guess...it was a challenge to get the bar tenders attention. Once we were shown to our table - we could see the table from where we were waiting...there had been no one there.

Our waiter for our table was good and the food was good.....but the ambiance, attitude of individuals before that was poor

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value4

Save room for dessert! I highly recomme ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Save room for dessert! I highly recommend the lemon cannoli! Always homemade and always delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.