About La Scala

Since our opening, La Scala has been dedicated to presenting a menu which balances the very best in traditional Italian cuisine and innovative specialties. We welcome you to stop in to experience our elegantly casual atmosphere accented perfectly with Chef Nino’s authentic and unforgettable creations.

La Scala features homemade pasta, an indoor bocce ball court, private event space and complimentary shuttle.

Ask about our Private Rooms available for special events, parties, and corporate meetings.

1012 Eastern Avenue
Baltimore, MD 21202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday : 4:30pm - 10 pm, Friday - Saturday : 4:30 pm - 11 pm,
Sunday : 2 pm - 10 pm

Happy Hour : Monday - Friday 4:30 - 7 pm, Sunday 3 pm - 8 pm

Cross Street:
S. Central/Exeter

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 783-9209

Website:
http://www.lascaladining.com/

Entertainment:
Home to Baltimore's only indoor bocce ball court! Available on a first-come first-serve basis for dinner customers. It can also be rented out for $100 an hour.

Catering:
Off-site catering is available for pickup or delivery, both lunch and dinner. Please contact a manager for details.

Parking Details:
We offer valet 7 nights a week. Cost is $8 per car. Street parking is also available for 3 hours, and the Little Italy Parking Garage is just around the corner.

Public Transit:
We offer a complimentary shuttle service to and from all downtown hotels.

Executive Chef:
Nino Germano

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
- Happy Hour - Mon-Fri 4:30 - 7 and Sun 3-8. Try our new MEXITALIAN menu!
- Wine dinners throughout the year.

Send your email and home address so we can update you on all of our upcoming events.

Private Dining

La Scala offers private rooms that seat anywhere from 14 - 180 guests. Whatever your event may be, we can assure you that our wonderful team will make it memorable!

La Scala Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (95)
Good for Anniversaries (93)
Authentic (89)
See All
Romantic (78)
Good for a Date (78)
Neighborhood Gem (67)
Good for Birthdays (63)
Notable Wine List (56)
Worth the Drive (56)
Business Meals (50)
Fit for Foodies (49)
Good for Groups (46)
Creative Cuisine (45)
Quiet Conversation (43)
Cozy (34)
Bar Seating (29)
Casual (28)
Comfort Food (28)
Pre/post Theatre (24)
Fun (22)
Local Ingredients (16)
Good Vegetarian Options (15)
Sunday Lunch (13)
Tasting Menu (12)
Happy Hour (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Late-night Find (9)
Seasonal (9)
Family Style (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Historic (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Spicy (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Private Room (3)
People Watching (3)
Scenic View (3)
Live Music (3)
Vegan (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Live Sports (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Tapas (2)
Fireplace (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great Beer (1)
Organic (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Waterfront (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Sort By:
S
2186 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 2 days ago

It is time for Willy to retire. He has poor table side manners

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined 3 days ago

Chef Nino and the team at La Scala ate exemplary. Nino's passion for his food really shines through. The entire restaurant experience is influenced by his love for the food, his customers and the community. Really an excellent dining experience. I can never come to Baltimore again without having a meal at La Scala! Delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 7 days ago

LaScala is my favorite restaurant in Little Italy. It never disappoints! I always take family here when they visit from out of town. The food is authentic Italian and they import many of their ingredients from Italy. The food is always perfect - so full of old World flavor and so comforting. The service is always impeccable as well.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 7 days ago

I find the food at La Scala to be first rate. There are a number of menu offerings that are great and they offer great specials as well.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

awesome restaurant, love it love it love it love it

Tags: Business Meals, Healthy, Disabled Access, Live Sports, Spicy, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem, Tapas, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Brunch, Paleo Friendly, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Live Music, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vegan, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Late-night Find, Comfort Food, Gluten Free Options, Cozy, Organic, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Fun, Quick Bite, Seasonal, Waterfront, Afternoon Tea, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 11, 2017

This is a lovely restaurant in an old house. Food delicious. Service very professional. Recommend the grilled Caesar Salad, a unique item.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Company meeting

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Awesome food and service!! A favorite for a business dinner or date night!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Romantic, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 7, 2017

La scala is an amazing evening of food and fun. I've been traveling to Baltimore for 15 years and never miss this treasure on my trip.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Wonderful date night spot. Very quiet on a weeknight. Fantastic service and great food. Nice ambiance.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Can say it all in one word: fabulous. Best mussels with spicy marinara we've ever had.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Fantastic across the board. We come here for birthdays regularly. Great Italian.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Thoroughly impressed! My wife and I enjoyed everything that was brought to our table...everything from the wine to the appetizer, to the out-of-this-world Veal Marsala was amazing! I can't imagine Italian cuisine tasting any better if I were actually in Italy. We will definitely make this a regular date night location!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 4, 2017

I love this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Loved it! The food was delicious and the se rvice was great. They slso have a bocci ball court and free shuttle!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 4, 2017

First time at this restaurant, excellent service, food was out of this world! Chef came out and asked how we enjoyed the dinner! I thought that was fantastic to pay them a complement on such a great meal!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Outstanding! Wait staff were very attentive!
Food amazing!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Heavenly is the word that came up repeatedly
Antonio was absolutely fabulous; knowledgeable, personable &
skilled at all aspects of great dining! Food-heavenly! Branzino excellent! But the finest dish was the calamari we ordered sautéed. This should be on the menu all the time! We order it every where we can for years & years . Hands down-best!!!! Smokey not saucy not rubbery-dare I say it...HEAVENLY!!!!!
We come here whenever in town & it has been a few years. Never disappointed...ever. It is a staple for us.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Casual, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fun, Business Meals, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 3, 2017

All the food here is homemade and is fantastic. I have never had a bad or even a so-so meal. The cannoli's are fantastic!!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 3, 2017

Twin sister birthday celebration with family was wonderful here. Our server Jose was professional, friendly and knowledgeable of the cuisine and specials of the day. Everyone was happy with their selection. From beginning of the evening with birthday cards at our table to the complimentary tiramisu cake slice and candles at the end, all were delighted.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Authentic, fresh, Italian food. Service was attentive without being intrusive. We will visit again.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Authentic, incredible food! Fantastic service! Our server was true professional!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Great place for a special date. Very authentic

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

Expensive but nice. A typical European type restaurant. Slow but excellent service. No rush.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Healthy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 30, 2017

This is my wife's favorite restaurant in Little Italy, so the perfect spot for her birthday dinner. A great evening, as always.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

Our server Jose, was very rude. I got Risotto and it wasn't good. Everyone else said their food was fine, but not worth the money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value2

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

I went to La Scala as recommended by an Italian friend. There are no good options in DC. The ambience as ok, but the food was really good. The filet mignon with shrimp with veal scallopine was the best of the three entrees we ordered. The Lobster fra Diavolo was also excellent, but it was oddly light on sauce. To me, pasta is a sauce delivery device. Give it to me! The sauce we got was spicy and delicious. The last dish was the branzino. Very good! Wish we had some capers, but the skin was crispy and delicious. We'd come back. When a customer is nit-picky like I am now, he just wants to complain, but can't find much to complain about. Eat here for sure!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 28, 2017

La Scala is an excellent restaurant. The food and service are consistently good. The restaurant offers free van service that is reliable and convenient for those staying at nearby hotels.

I visit Baltimore 4 times per year, and always eat at La Scala.

Tags: Good for Groups, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 27, 2017

EXCELLENT FOOD. PRICEY. A BIT OF AN ATTITUDE. LEFT US WAITING FOR A LITTLE WHILE BEFORE THEY CAME TO GREAT US, AND PERIODS OF TIME WHEN THE SOMALLIER DISAPPEARED.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Fresh homemade pasta and delicious Alfredo with crab and shrimp. Caprese salad had ripe tomatoes and good basic mozzarella cheese. Strawberry crepes for desert filling and sweet. Service very attentive. Overall a positive experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
·Dined on July 26, 2017

A plus all around!
!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!'

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 25, 2017

Wait staff was excellent as was cuisine. We arrived early intending to wait at the bar but instead we were told our table was ready. Seated right away. Meal was delicious. Comfortable unrushed service. Jose did an excellent job filleting our fish table side.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 25, 2017

La Scala is one of the best restaurants I've ever had the pleasure of dining at. Everything, from the warm welcome to the attentive service and the exceptional food, was perfect. Our server went out of his way to find us a wonderful bottle of Rosé, which complemented our meal very well. We were celebrating my birthday and I was brought a generous slice of their heavenly tiramisu, complete with a candle. I'm already planning my next visit!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 24, 2017

The service was outstanding. The food was absolutely delicious.

Tags: Authentic, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 23, 2017

We have been going to La Scala for years. We have Never been disappointed. The food, service, and wine is always excellent.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Visit was to celebrate an anniversary. Found an Anniversary card waiting at the table and received a complimentary after dinner cocktail. Food was excellent and server was quite attentive.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value1

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 19, 2017

In town after moving 6 years ago. Loved it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 19, 2017

My go to when I can't get to NY lil
Italy!
Worth the drive from NVA!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Really delicious! I had the chicken parm and it was great. The portion sizes are pretty big. At first they said we couldn't sit outside, but that was mainly what we wanted so when we said we'd just go to another place they opened up the deck just for us! The deck was really cute with lots of flowers. Lots of specials every night as well. I recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 18, 2017

What a great find in Little Italy for our Wedding Anniversary dinner this year! The food was fabulous and the service was superb! Thank you Chef Nino (who personally greeted us and provided a lovely personal note! - see photo) and Sammy who took great care of us, including a complimentary special dessert. We will be back soon! :)

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.