About La Scala

1012 Eastern Avenue
Baltimore, MD 21202
View Larger Map

Regional Italian cooking at its finest

Since our opening, La Scala has been dedicated to presenting a menu which balances the very best in traditional Italian cuisine
as well as innovative specialties. We welcome you to stop in to experience our elegantly casual atmosphere accented perfectly
with Chef Nino’s authentic and unforgettable creations.

La Scala features an indoor bocce ball court, a large dining room, private event space and a wine room.

Ask about our Private Rooms available for special events, parties, and corporate meetings.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:30pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 2:00pm - 10:00pm

Happy Hour: Monday - Friday 4:30 - 7:00pm, Sunday 3:00 - 8:00pm

Cross Street:
S. Central/Exeter

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 783-9209

Website:
http://www.lascaladining.com/

Entertainment:
Home to Baltimore's only indoor bocce ball court! Available on a first-come first-serve basis for dinner customers only. Can also be rented out for $75/hour

Catering:
Off-site catering is available for pickup or delivery, both lunch and dinner. Please contact a manager for details.

Parking Details:
We offer valet 7 nights a week. Cost is $8 per car. Street parking is also available for 3 hours, and the Little Italy Parking Garage is just around the corner.

Public Transit:
We offer a complimentary shuttle service to and from all downtown hotels.

Executive Chef:
Nino Germano

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
- Happy Hour - Mon-Fri 4:30 - 7 and Sun 3-8. Try our new MEXITALIAN menu!
- Wine dinners throughout the year.
- Special Happy Hours monthly.

Send your email and home address so we can update you on all of our upcoming events

Restaurant Photos

La Scala, Baltimore, MD
Chocolate Hazelnut Mousse - La Scala, Baltimore, MD
Chicken And Shrimp - La Scala, Baltimore, MD
Gamberi Alla Zucca - La Scala, Baltimore, MD
Spaghetti Con Funghi - La Scala, Baltimore, MD
Pollo And Shrimp Provola - La Scala, Baltimore, MD
Pollo Al Bimbo - La Scala, Baltimore, MD
Pollo Augostino - La Scala, Baltimore, MD
Gnocchi - La Scala, Baltimore, MD
Rum And Coke - La Scala, Baltimore, MD
Seasoned Green Beans - La Scala, Baltimore, MD
Espresso Martini - La Scala, Baltimore, MD
Garlic Bread - La Scala, Baltimore, MD
Steak Pizziola - La Scala, Baltimore, MD
Rigatoni - La Scala, Baltimore, MD
Shrimp over Penne Special - La Scala, Baltimore, MD
Grilled Caesar Salad - La Scala, Baltimore, MD
Veal Ravioli - La Scala, Baltimore, MD
Caesar Salad With Grilled Shrimp - La Scala, Baltimore, MD
Manzo Al Balsamico - La Scala, Baltimore, MD
Expresso Martini - La Scala, Baltimore, MD
Shrimp! - La Scala, Baltimore, MD
Gnocchi With Imported Gorgonzola Sauce And Walnuts - La Scala, Baltimore, MD
Peaches! - La Scala, Baltimore, MD
1/2 Portion Gamberi Luana - La Scala, Baltimore, MD
Grilled Blue Point Oysters - La Scala, Baltimore, MD
Gnocci Pancini - La Scala, Baltimore, MD
Shrimp Arugula - La Scala, Baltimore, MD
Chicken And Shrimp Lemone - La Scala, Baltimore, MD
Pollo Saltimbocca - La Scala, Baltimore, MD
Ravioli With Potato And Sundried Tomato Pesto - La Scala, Baltimore, MD
Veal And Shrimp Al Turino - La Scala, Baltimore, MD
Strawberry & Nutela Stuffed Crepe With Banana whipped cream - La Scala, Baltimore, MD

Specials

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Specials

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Details

We are Open!

Private Dining

La Scala offers private rooms that seat anywhere from 14 - 180 guests. Whatever your event may be, we can assure you that our wonderful team will make it memorable!

La Scala Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Baltimore
Best Restaurants in Little Italy ›

Good for a Date (51)
Special Occasion (43)
Neighborhood Gem (40)
See All
Romantic (37)
Authentic (36)
Good for Anniversaries (35)
Notable Wine List (33)
Good for Birthdays (26)
Good for Groups (24)
Fit for Foodies (21)
Creative Cuisine (20)
Worth the Drive (19)
Comfort Food (17)
Cozy (17)
Business Meals (17)
Bar Seating (15)
Casual (15)
Fun (14)
Family Style (10)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Historic (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Outstanding Value (7)
People Watching (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Local Ingredients (5)
Healthy (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Private Room (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Seasonal (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Scenic View (2)
Spicy (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Live Sports (1)
Live Music (1)
Fireplace (1)
Tapas (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
1753 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Our first time here. A friend recommend ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined 5 days ago

Our first time here. A friend recommended this restaurant. We are glad we went. The appetisers were delicious; loved the crusty bread; great entrees. We will be back!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Amazing food. Service upstairs with a la ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

Amazing food. Service upstairs with a large group, was a bit slow, but worth the wait. Amazing food from the basic chicken parm to a shrimp/pasta over zucchini wine sauce was unbelievable. Great house chianti. The complimentary shuttle was fun and perfect from the Inner Harbor. Delicious and worth visiting!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Excellent food. great wait staff and alw ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent food. great wait staff and always a pleasure to visit.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We selected the restaurant from a review ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined 7 days ago

We selected the restaurant from a review and it's a gem! Food is outstanding, service is the best I've seen in many years, ambiance is perfect for any occasion, excellent wine list and full bar and I plan on eating there when I'm in Baltimore. It's a must check out the next time your in town and they run a free shuttle to local hotels!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Late-night Find, Fireplace, Tapas, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Outstanding Value, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Paleo Friendly, Private Room, Family Style, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Quick Bite, Bar Seating, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Relaxed and charming Italian restaurant ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Relaxed and charming Italian restaurant in Little Italy. Service was inconsistent with two waiters handling our table but they were not coordinated. Food was good and I enjoyed my meal. Background music was annoying. They provided a shuttle back to our hotel and the driver was very nice.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

Beautiful decorations and with delicious ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Beautiful decorations and with delicious food. Best grilled Caesar salad ever. Veal osso bucco was also delicious. A bit overpriced but our favorite place in Little Italy.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Authentic, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Great food, excellent and friendly servi ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Great food, excellent and friendly service! La Scala has become one of our favorite restaurants in Baltimore.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went Friday Nov 25th. Can't cheer enoug ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Went Friday Nov 25th. Can't cheer enough about our waiter. Knew the menu, answered our questions, attentive without being overbearing, funny! Loved the food, calamari tender and sweet, sauce was mild but inviting. Scampi had enough garlic (even for garlic overs) without being heavy. Spouse's lamb shank was to die for, tender and savory. Even made room for their tiramisu - not try like so many others, and not floating in liquid. I'm Italian and this was a great meal! Made reservations and got corner table. If we lived nearby, would like to sit at the bar - looked very inviting. Thanks for a great evening!

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

First time back in over 10 years. Did no ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 22, 2016

First time back in over 10 years. Did not disappoint. Was excellent..if you are a cheese lover, I recommend the "primadonna" cheese from Holland to start with...absolutely fantastic. Left after 2 hours very content and full...will go back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Appetizers were very creative. Main dis ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Appetizers were very creative. Main dishes well done with sizable portions. Large wine list. Many Italian regions and USA wines. Excellent service. Chef Nino is exceptional and very hospitable.

Tags: Cozy, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Casual, Romantic, Good for a Date, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good Italian food, second time here ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Very good Italian food, second time here, will definitely return!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Private Room, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a fantastic time. All was excellent ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Had a fantastic time. All was excellent food, service and atmosphere.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best meals I've had in recent ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 14, 2016

One of the best meals I've had in recent memory. Fantastic appetizer from the (in-house) salumeria, well-made traditional Caesar salad, a wonderful stuffed veal chop, and a very nice house-made hazelnut cannoli. My buddy is also a wine enthusiast so we splurged on a very nice bottle of Amarone (Masi), which complemented the meal perfectly. The service is very attentive but not intrusive, and chef Nino is always very visible and making sure everyone's happy. La Scala is my go-to place in Little Italy, and will remain so as long as it keeps turning out meals like this.

Tags: Authentic, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

LaScala had very good fresh Italian food ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 12, 2016

LaScala had very good fresh Italian food. The ambiance is so very Little Italy.

Our group enjoyed it immensely and we appreciate shuttle service to and from our hotel!

Good find and would highly recommend it.

Tags: Fun, Historic, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Casual, Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was very good but unfortunately ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The food was very good but unfortunately my review is influenced by the fact that there was a miscommunication with the server and kitchen and it took over one hour to receive our entrees.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

Food was amazing! Steak was cooked perfe ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Food was amazing! Steak was cooked perfectly and the pasta was all homemade. Our waiter was awesome, friendly and wanted to make sure we had a great experience! They have a bocce ball court in the dinning room as well, great place to have a drink while we waited to be seated (which was right on time for our reservation)!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is the 2nd time I've scheduled a bu ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 10, 2016

This is the 2nd time I've scheduled a business dinner at La Scala. The first was 4 years ago. I must say it was incredible both times! They have a very good wine list that includes many Italian wines. The waiter did a great job handling the (7) of us effectively. Steak was cooked perfectly, and the prosciutto wrapped cheese appetizer was phenomenal. Just go and have a good time! With (3) bottles of wine, drinks, appetizers, salads, dinner, and desert, it was under $150/person including gratuity. My customers were very impressed

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food. Great service. Will definite ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Great food. Great service. Will definitely go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We love dining at La Scala when we visit ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We love dining at La Scala when we visit Baltimore. The menu is fabulous. You can't go wrong with any of the entrees and the homemade cannolis are out of this world!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was amazing!! Special touches made ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Food was amazing!! Special touches made our anniversary to enjoyable. Thank you!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice atmosphere, good food, friendly wai ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Nice atmosphere, good food, friendly wait-staff, and there is a bocce ball court which we didn't take advantage of but looked fun.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Ridiculously overpriced. Food was good b ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Ridiculously overpriced. Food was good but not exceptional and the cost of food and wine for that type and quality of restaurant, in my opinion, were not justified.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value1

I love coming to La Scala for dinner occ ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 31, 2016

I love coming to La Scala for dinner occasions. They have great staff and the homemade noodles are amazing.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have dined at La Scala a number of ti ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 30, 2016

We have dined at La Scala a number of times and have always had a great experience and this was no exception. The service is first rate and the food is exceptional. A never fail restaurant for us - we'll always come back.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were a group of 8 with 5 coming from ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 30, 2016

We were a group of 8 with 5 coming from the Boston area. We all thoroughly enjoyed the food and atmosphere. The Little Italy charm added to the evening. We never felt rushed and again the food was delicious.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value2

Despite being crowded service was outsta ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Despite being crowded service was outstanding and every request was honored with a smile. Food was outstanding as well.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Bar Seating, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Shuttle 1 hour late. Calamari tuff and c ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Shuttle 1 hour late. Calamari tuff and cold, 2 small shrimp w/ some crab, grouper w/ spinach not good. Really expensive night and bad experience. Sorry, but no more visits for me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

Another fantastic meal @ LaScala. Every ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Another fantastic meal @ LaScala. Every time I dine here it is better than the last.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Fun, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding evening! Our server was kno ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Outstanding evening! Our server was knowledgeable and always available but never intrusive. The pasta was incredible, as was the veal chop w/mushrooms special. My wife had the lobster tails and said that they were perfect. Can't wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One word: WOW. Probably the best Italia ...

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on October 29, 2016

One word: WOW. Probably the best Italian food I have ever eaten. Great wine selection nd wait till you see the presentation.

Tags: Spicy, Casual, Family Style, Special Occasion, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Fun, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our son had never been to little Italy s ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Our son had never been to little Italy so we took him here for his BD. Was fantastic! Neat place. Will go back again.

Tags: Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Special Occasion, Casual, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fresh pasta, gnocchi was heavenly, gril ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Fresh pasta, gnocchi was heavenly, grilled Cesar was superior!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

La Scala has a friendly atmosphere with ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 28, 2016

La Scala has a friendly atmosphere with a nice selection of food. It was my first time there and I liked the setting, decorations, good service, and the Italian music in the background that did not impede our conversation. The portions are big, so either you come very hungry or you share the food, so you can have more options to try. I found the price on the expensive range.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Family Style, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The restaurant was nice. I took my wife ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 27, 2016

The restaurant was nice. I took my wife there for our anniversary. The ambience wasn't quite as romantic as I'd hoped, but it was nice. The food was very tasty. I noticed that my wife had to use the salt ave pepper multiple times to get through her Shrimp/Lobster Alfredo. The wine list is impressive. The service was excellent - very friendly, attentive and fast. Prices were a bit high which is fine, but at that price point I want to be impressed. I've had my experience, and although it wasn't a bad experience, I doubt I'll go back.

Tags: Casual, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Really delicious food that was affordabl ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Really delicious food that was affordably priced Service personnel were good and knowledgeable

We would go again

Tags: Cozy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Felt like we were in Italy. Our waiter ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Felt like we were in Italy. Our waiter was from the old country and was very attentive. We had the veal and it was very good. We will definitely go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

First time here and it was for our 7th w ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 23, 2016

First time here and it was for our 7th weeding anniversary. Everything was wonderful from the service, ambiance, food and even the complementary dessert at the end. You will not b disappointed!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Terrible service and just ok food. Not ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Terrible service and just ok food. Not worth the prices

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

Guissepe was great. And chef came out t ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Guissepe was great. And chef came out to ask us how our meal was a few times. Good is excellent and I love bringing home the fresh olive oil.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Really authentic Italian restaurant! Th ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Really authentic Italian restaurant! The food was very good, and the atmosphere takes you back in time. We had a great time and meal.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Historic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.