About La Scala

Since our opening, La Scala has been dedicated to presenting a menu which balances the very best in traditional Italian cuisine and innovative specialties. We welcome you to stop in to experience our elegantly casual atmosphere accented perfectly with Chef Nino’s authentic and unforgettable creations.

La Scala features homemade pasta, an indoor bocce ball court, private event space and complimentary shuttle.

Ask about our Private Rooms available for special events, parties, and corporate meetings.

1012 Eastern Avenue
Baltimore, MD 21202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday : 4:30pm - 10 pm, Friday - Saturday : 4:30 pm - 11 pm,
Sunday : 2 pm - 10 pm

Happy Hour : Monday - Friday 4:30 - 7 pm, Sunday 3 pm - 8 pm

Cross Street:
S. Central/Exeter

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 783-9209

Website:
http://www.lascaladining.com/

Entertainment:
Home to Baltimore's only indoor bocce ball court! Available on a first-come first-serve basis for dinner customers. It can also be rented out for $100 an hour.

Catering:
Off-site catering is available for pickup or delivery, both lunch and dinner. Please contact a manager for details.

Parking Details:
We offer valet 7 nights a week. Cost is $8 per car. Street parking is also available for 3 hours, and the Little Italy Parking Garage is just around the corner.

Public Transit:
We offer a complimentary shuttle service to and from all downtown hotels.

Executive Chef:
Nino Germano

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
- Happy Hour - Mon-Fri 4:30 - 7 and Sun 3-8. Try our new MEXITALIAN menu!
- Wine dinners throughout the year.

Send your email and home address so we can update you on all of our upcoming events.

Specials

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 31, 2017

Specials

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 31, 2017

Details

Join us for New Year's Eve 2017! We offer our a la carte menu with several outstanding specials for this occasion. Cheers!

Private Dining

La Scala offers private rooms that seat anywhere from 14 - 180 guests. Whatever your event may be, we can assure you that our wonderful team will make it memorable!

La Scala Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.5

Noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (69)
Authentic (59)
Special Occasion (58)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (54)
Notable Wine List (53)
Romantic (48)
Good for Anniversaries (46)
Worth the Drive (40)
Good for Birthdays (39)
Cozy (33)
Fit for Foodies (33)
Quiet Conversation (32)
Good for Groups (31)
Business Meals (29)
Creative Cuisine (27)
Comfort Food (19)
Fun (19)
Bar Seating (15)
Casual (15)
Pre/post Theatre (15)
Local Ingredients (12)
Hot Spot (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Great for Lunch (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Happy Hour (6)
Healthy (6)
People Watching (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Seasonal (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Spicy (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Scenic View (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort by
S
2304 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 7 days ago

Great as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 7 days ago

Wonderful evening. We were seated in a room with a large party and we asked to be moved due to the noise level. We were moved to another table and we were asked on several occasions if we were pleased with our new spot. Waiter was very knowledgeable and very attentive. Food was excellent and the meal was paced well, no rush. Love a restaurant with no tv's in the dining rooms. Bus staff was very attentive as well. We were celebrating my husband's birthday and they brought us dessert on the house. All in all a very nice evening.

Tags: People Watching, Authentic, Cozy, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 8, 2017

Fabulous from start to finish!! We went to La Scala on Friday 12/8/17 to celebrate my birthday and it could not have been better. Caesar salad, fresh bruschetta, veal saltimbocca, spaghetti puttanesca, ossobuco, and risotto were all flavorful and delicious. I even received a complimentary tiramisu to celebrate my birthday! I can’t wait to go again!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 6, 2017

The food is delicious! We all loved our meals and we will definitely be back.

Tags: Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 3, 2017

Incredible! Wonderful food and service. Try the mussels! Melt in your mouth. Celebrated birthday and enjoyed the whole night. Took advantage of the complimentary shuttle and had an extra glass of Proseco!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 1, 2017

Classic Italian food. Extensive menu. There were 10 veal dishes and veal is our benchmark entree. Both of ours very nice. Tiramisu was outstanding and worth the calories.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 26, 2017

Fabulous restaurant! Very reasonably price. Delicious food and wine. Definitely make reservations! We will be going back again and again!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 26, 2017

We love La Scala and a chance for some bocce before dinner!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 25, 2017

I use to LOVE this resturant, one of my favorite in Little Italy. I was sooooo disappointed this time! Let's just start with trying to get some bread to the table, really. It just feel short of what it use to be. It felt very commercial so sad!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 24, 2017

We love coming to La Scala, knowing we’ll enjoy our exceptional food and service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Authentic, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 23, 2017

The complimentary bread and green beans are really good. It only gets better. Appetizers, veal dishes, pastas...GET IN MY BELLY!!! You can't go wrong here. Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 21, 2017

Awesome food and service as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 19, 2017

The veal and chicken dishes were delightful...in fact they were superb. The waiter was knowledgeable. Desserts are to die for!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Romantic, Happy Hour, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 19, 2017

Quintessential Italian American restaurant serving old world classics. Love the environment and love the food. These guys deliver.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 17, 2017

Everything was absolutely delicious. In our party of four everyone had something different and it was all delicious. My dad had a glass of Merlot and said it was the best he had ever had. The service was top notch. I would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone who is looking for a fabulous meal. While I want to try other places in Little Italy it's going to be tempting to just go back here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on November 17, 2017

The food was excellent and the service was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 11, 2017

We went there for our daughter’s 16th Birthday with her friends. The service was awesome. The food was amazing. They even offer gluten free pasta. We will return again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 11, 2017

Outstanding food and service with very nice ambience.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 11, 2017

My girlfriend and I had a great time at La Scala! It was her birthday and La Scala gave her a birthday card and a piece of Tiramisu with a candle for dessert. The waiter and I sung her happy birthday when the dessert came out. The food was delicious as well! Will be back again 5/5.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 10, 2017

Just wow! I can't rave enough about our recent dining experience here! The staff doesn't ask what you need. They anticipate it and fulfill it before you need to ask! Best meal ever ! Ever! Ever! The restaurant is authentic, cozy, and caters to your every wish! The best!

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 9, 2017

We had a terrible table between two special event doors. Very loud and distracting. The manager on duty was lame in his response to our complaint.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 9, 2017

The selection of Entrees is amazing. Being form an Italian family I can first hand assure you the food is authentic. I happened to be dining alone but would loved to have shared the experience with my wife. The restaurant came highly recommended and I am very pleased I chose this gem in the Little Italy section of Baltimore.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 8, 2017

Relaxed and friendly service, great food. What moe could you ask for?

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 7, 2017

This place is delicious, reasonably priced, and serves large portions. There is also a bocce court on the lower level that is viewable from much of the main and second floors, and a complimentary shuttle to area hotels. Would recommend this place highly.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 5, 2017

I lived in Italy 18 years. This was the most authentic Italian food that I’ve found in Baltimore. Everything was excellent.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 5, 2017

We were greeted at the street level by a well dressed, handsome young man who held the door for us and guided us to the bar. The atmosphere was elegant, classy, understated and quite spacious. Our bartender was poised and knowledgeable. Upon being seated, immediately upon request, we were greeted by an elegantly dressed, Italian speaking waiter. His knowledge of the menu, drink selections and specials was superb. The bread was delicious and was served with cold marinated green beans that were quite good. Our meals were quick in coming and outstanding; the perfect mix of flavors, textures and visuals; portions were very large with plenty of leftovers for all of the members of our group. We will be coming back from Delaware for any special occasion that arises. We couldn't have been more pleased with our evening at La Scala!

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 5, 2017

Dined here based on reviews by others. Had a one night stay near BWI for an early flight the next day. I live in NJ. I would drive back to Baltimore and spend the night just to have dinner here again. It was that good.

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 4, 2017

My husband and I have loved coming to La Scala in the past but they were very off last Saturday. I don't know that we'll want to return after the disappointment of our last visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 4, 2017

I took my sister here for her birthday. My meal was amazing along with the great service. I really wish I lived in Baltimore so I can visit La Scala for every occasion.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 4, 2017

Went to La Scala for a birthday dinner for my daughter. What a great place! The waiter was tremendous. The food was spectacular. The wine was great. We went at what we though was very early on a Sunday afternoon (4:30) but it was busy and quickly filled up. We had a sampler from the meat and cheese menu which reminded us of our years living in Italy. We sampled the specials in addition to the menu items and everything was terrific. Fortunately we all saved room for desert - they were to die for.
La Scala in my opinion is the go to place in Little Italy - the food is great, the wine list is magnificent and the deserts are great.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 4, 2017

Good food. Good staff

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 4, 2017

Authentic Italian cuisine - one of the BEST I’ve ever had including Boston’s North End & South Philly.

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 2, 2017

We celebrated our 27th anniversary with a fabulous dinner at La Scala. Service was impeccable, the food was so delicious and everyone working at the restaurant made us feel special and welcome. The server was very familiar with the extensive wine list and he provided us with a great (and reasonably priced) recommendation which we really enjoyed. La Scala was totally worth all of the rave reviews I've seen online. It was a wonderful night to remember.

Oh, and the mussels in marinara were to die for!! Even after sopping up the sauce with our bread!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Authentic, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 2, 2017

We enjoyed the authentic Italian meal. It was a special occasion and we were seated at the very back table in the last corner of the back room (after passing by empty tables on our trek there) - a bit disappointing.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 30, 2017

Great service and food. Felt like I was in Italy!!! Grilled caesar! Yum

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Casual, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 29, 2017

Great place, always go when I am in Baltimore.
Love everything about it.
And they provide a free shuttle to and from the restaurant if you are staying at any of the local hotels.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 28, 2017

The food and atmosphere at La Scala were good. I think we were just "lost" on a busy night. After waiting close to a half hour after our salads had been removed, I flagged a server and suggested we had been forgotten. Miraculously, our food - lukewarm on cool plates- arrived instantaneously. They said the food has just come out. In fairness, they replated the food which was fine on hot plates so the dinner remained warm while we ate. I might try La Scala again but there are so many other options in Little Italy, this will probably be my only visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 28, 2017

It had been too long since we had been to La Scala and this visit was a reminder of how much we had been missing. Food, service, ambiance, were all excellent. Two of us had veal, one had salmon, and the other had shrimp. Portion sizes are generous. The appetizer specials were all terrific, especially the pork-filled ravioli. Our server made an excellent wine recommendation and was attentive without being intrusive.

The restaurant was crowded, but we had no trouble conversing, as the noise level was energetic but not offensive.

As always, an outstanding experience.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 28, 2017

This is our favorite Italian restaurant in Little Italy in Baltimore. Plus, you can play bocce after dinner!

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 26, 2017

Wait service disappointing. He was assigned too many tables. Constantly had to flag waiter down for our needs.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.