About La Scala

1012 Eastern Avenue
Baltimore, MD 21202
View Larger Map

Regional Italian cooking at its finest

Since our opening, La Scala has been dedicated to presenting a menu which balances the very best in traditional Italian cuisine
as well as innovative specialties. We welcome you to stop in to experience our elegantly casual atmosphere accented perfectly
with Chef Nino’s authentic and unforgettable creations.

La Scala features an indoor bocce ball court, a large dining room, private event space and a wine room.

Ask about our Private Rooms available for special events, parties, and corporate meetings.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:30pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 2:00pm - 10:00pm

Happy Hour: Monday - Friday 4:30 - 7:00pm, Sunday 3:00 - 8:00pm

Cross Street:
S. Central/Exeter

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 783-9209

Website:
http://www.lascaladining.com/

Entertainment:
Home to Baltimore's only indoor bocce ball court! Available on a first-come first-serve basis for dinner customers only. Can also be rented out for $75/hour

Catering:
Off-site catering is available for pickup or delivery, both lunch and dinner. Please contact a manager for details.

Parking Details:
We offer valet 7 nights a week. Cost is $8 per car. Street parking is also available for 3 hours, and the Little Italy Parking Garage is just around the corner.

Public Transit:
We offer a complimentary shuttle service to and from all downtown hotels.

Executive Chef:
Nino Germano

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
- Happy Hour - Mon-Fri 4:30 - 7 and Sun 3-8. Try our new MEXITALIAN menu!
- Wine dinners throughout the year.
- Special Happy Hours monthly.

Send your email and home address so we can update you on all of our upcoming events

Restaurant Photos

La Scala
Chocolate Hazelnut Mousse
Chicken And Shrimp
Gamberi Alla Zucca
Spaghetti Con Funghi
Pollo And Shrimp Provola
Pollo Al Bimbo
Pollo Augostino
Manzo Al Balsamico
Shrimp!
Gnocchi
Rum And Coke
Seasoned Green Beans
Espresso Martini
Garlic Bread
Steak Pizziola
Rigatoni
Shrimp over Penne Special
Grilled Caesar Salad
Veal Ravioli
Caesar Salad With Grilled Shrimp
Expresso Martini
Gnocchi With Imported Gorgonzola Sauce And Walnuts
Peaches!
1/2 Portion Gamberi Luana
Grilled Blue Point Oysters
Gnocci Pancini
Shrimp Arugula
Chicken And Shrimp Lemone
Pollo Saltimbocca
Ravioli With Potato And Sundried Tomato Pesto
Veal And Shrimp Al Turino
Strawberry & Nutela Stuffed Crepe With Banana whipped cream

Private Dining

La Scala offers private rooms that seat anywhere from 14 - 180 guests. Whatever your event may be, we can assure you that our wonderful team will make it memorable!

La Scala Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Baltimore / Maryland
Best Overall
Baltimore
Best Food
Baltimore
3 More
Best Service
Baltimore
Notable Wine List
Baltimore
Italian
Baltimore
Best Restaurants in Little Italy ›

Special Occasion (132)
Romantic (107)
Neighborhood Gem (106)
See All
Fit for Foodies (96)
Notable Wine List (91)
Good for Groups (76)
Hot Spot (19)
Kid-friendly (14)
Great for Outdoor Dining (14)
Late-night Find (12)
Great for Lunch (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Great for Brunch (5)
Scenic View (5)
Sort By:
Newest
1657 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

La Scala Ristorante had amazing food, se ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined 5 days ago

La Scala Ristorante had amazing food, service, and atmosphere. It brought me back to my time in Italy! Through our Open Table booking, we only had to wait 10 minutes for our table! Definitely a recommendation with reservations to save you from waiting on a weekend night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Shrimp Scampi was beyond amazing!!!

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined 5 days ago

Shrimp Scampi was beyond amazing!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was too heavy, made us sick. Very o ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 5 days ago

Food was too heavy, made us sick. Very overpriceding the poor quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Outstanding!!!!

vip
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Outstanding!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The bolognese using spinach fettuccine w ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

The bolognese using spinach fettuccine was incredible - a relaxing, delicious meal. We cannot wait to go back

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This is a wonderful , upbeat, lively res ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

This is a wonderful , upbeat, lively restaurant in Baltimore's Little Italy district. We liked it so much, we came back again the next night! The appetizers were delicious, the entrees some of the best I have eaten and the cannolli ...better than the North End in Boston! We will definitely return next time we are in Baltimore!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Many visits in past for excellent meals ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Many visits in past for excellent meals but Sunday August 14th very poor for 4 of us. Food was mediocre at best Service borderline.

Very disappointed!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value2

Came here for a friend's Bachelorette pa ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Came here for a friend's Bachelorette party.y We had nothing but an incredible experience. The food was amazing, the waiter was amazing, and the chef even came out to do Limoncello shots with us! This was the third time I have been here, and I will continue to go back, even on date night :)

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I don't get the love for these old Balti ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

I don't get the love for these old Baltimore favorites. The food was pretty terrible. The pasta bolognese was chilli mac. How hard to make is a plate of pasta with meat sauce on it? The caesar salad wasn't bad, nor the bread. I had the fish special. The sauce was good, but the fish itself had no flavor. Is anyone in the house tasting the food coming out of the kitchen? The service was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

Always wonderful! Will certainly return. ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Always wonderful! Will certainly return.

Thank you!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience great food great servic ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Great experience great food great service. The appetizers were especially tasty

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed our dinner at La Scala. The a ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We enjoyed our dinner at La Scala. The atmosphere is congenial, and the wait staff attentive and friendly. The food was very good, but not excellent. We will dine here again. A good value. We spent three hours at dinner, and it flew by. A very enjoyable evening...

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Fabulous service, fantastic food and bea ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Fabulous service, fantastic food and beautiful ambiance. Perfect for a special night out. Perfection from start to finish!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Have never visited before, but we reall ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Have never visited before, but we really enjoyed our dinner at La Scala. The food and the great service were excellent. We had the fettucini bolognese and the carbonara pasta. Can recommend both! Good appetizers good crunchy bread. Great wine list, but by the glass is expensive. Lively when crowded. Anxious to return and try other dishes.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

La Scala is an excellent restaurant with ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

La Scala is an excellent restaurant with service, taste, atmosphere and more! Highly recommend

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

If you can get one of the tables, great ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

If you can get one of the tables, great upstairs outdoor seating. Some of the best Italian food I've ever had.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

With all the positive reviews, I was exp ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

With all the positive reviews, I was expecting much more. Decent Italian food, but not over the top at all. Walking in the neighborhood, other restaurants looked more appealing. I should have done more homework.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Just the perfect place for our anniversa ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Just the perfect place for our anniversary dinner. When we visit Baltimore in the future, this will definitely be at the top of the restaurant list.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the restaurant. The food was delic ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Love the restaurant. The food was delicious. Next time we go, maybe we will sit outside.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We heard such amazing things about this ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

We heard such amazing things about this place from just about everyone. Being from out of state, we prepped and did our homework for a special restaurant. So while the ambiance, service, and people were great the food was awful. Both my father and I had the NY Strip (Al's Way), which was the worst piece of meat I have ever had. I took about three bites and was done. So fatty with grizzle. My father choked down about four bites and he was done. The manager came over and asked how everything was, saw our plates, but nothing was done. We do not like to make a big deal out of poor dinners so we just let it go. It was too bad since we were all looking forward to a great meal especially after three of us dropped over $220 for a terrible meal. At least the place was nice (ambiance). Quite disappointed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3

Food was amazing. Attentive and knowledg ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Food was amazing. Attentive and knowledgeable server. Upscale without being pretentious. Very relaxing wonderful experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a favorite! Meet up with friends ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Always a favorite! Meet up with friends every month and have such fun at the bar happy hour. Food is so good and Felix makes a wonderful martini! Highly recommend LaScala any occasion!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Awesome Brazino!!!! One of the very best ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Awesome Brazino!!!! One of the very best preparations ever. Simple but Devine!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I do not understand the rave reviews tha ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

I do not understand the rave reviews that this restaurant receives. Just came from there and the dinner was not edible. Calamari appetizer was absolutely tasteless. Chicken parmigiana was awful. Sauce was watery, penne pasta was overcooked and mushy, mozzarella on top of chicken was barely cooked. The meal was awful and I had to send it back as it was not edible. Credit to the waiter they did not charge for the entree. I am Italian and this is possibly the worst Italian meal I have had in my life. That is saying alot

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

FOOD & REST WERE GREAT......OPEN TABLE R ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

FOOD & REST WERE GREAT......OPEN TABLE RES SERVICE POOR HAD TO CALL UP TO MAKE MY RES

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were in Baltimore to look at a Univer ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

We were in Baltimore to look at a University. Mother and daughter. We chose La Scala based upon their excellent ratings. We were not disappointed! Antonio, our server, was exceptional! He allowed us to take our time enjoying each course. He was very sweet and attentive. The chef was also superb! We loved the fig appetizer with gorgonzola and pancetta. WOW it just melted in your mouth! Our dinners were equally superb! Our trip to Baltimore was very special, made more so by dining at La Scala! Thank you!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding! Would definitely go back.An ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Outstanding! Would definitely go back.And was even wheelchair accessible for my son.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Been to LaScala many times and have neve ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Been to LaScala many times and have never been disappointed

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food, perfectly served. Anothe ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Delicious food, perfectly served. Another great meal at one of Baltimore's best restaurants.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a wonderful experience for our anni ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

What a wonderful experience for our anniversary. The complimentary shuttle to and from from our hotel with the entertaining driver George was so convenient. The service, food, and ambiance at dinner were excellent and they even through in a complementary dessert for our anniversary. Wonderful date night. Highly recommend.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exquisite cuisine, wonderful service. S ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Exquisite cuisine, wonderful service. Shuttle service appreciated. Would recommend. Can't wait to return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

I took my friend who had just been accep ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

I took my friend who had just been accepted to Nursing school to celebrate. She had never been to any of the wonderful restaurants in Little Italy, so I chose this one. Was not disappointed. From the service to the food, everything was wonderful. I will return and will recommend.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Every element was outstanding. Kudos on ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Every element was outstanding. Kudos on the stuffed calamari app! Attentive service, creative yet comfortable menu, great wine list--La Scala makes it all look effortless. And where else can you play bocce after your meal??

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great time. The food was absol ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We had a great time. The food was absolutely perfect. Wine pairings from their extensive wine cellar make it a breeze. The chef Nino came out to speak with us and arranged a limo ride for us back to the hotel. Well worth the visit, highly recommended.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I will be back when we are i ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

My wife and I will be back when we are in Baltimore!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was outstanding especially the ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The food was outstanding especially the specials. The service was impeccable and the entire wait staff was very attentive. A special thank you to the host Jose' who assisted my wife in making my 60th birthday party unforgettable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mushroom appetizer was amazing. Gnocchi ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Mushroom appetizer was amazing. Gnocchi with pesto was good but heavy. Espresso cannoli was great!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Brought family from pittsburgh to see my ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Brought family from pittsburgh to see my son who is law student at Maryland great food

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The food is very good and reasonably pri ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

The food is very good and reasonably priced. The service was outstanding, having a server who was obviously very experienced and attentive without being obtrusive. The restaurant interior is very pleasant and comfortable. I definitely plan to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We were in Baltimore for vacation and re ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We were in Baltimore for vacation and read that this restaurant was highly rated. We were not disappointed! Our dinner was great! We were sad we couldn't bring home a doggie bag. The service and atmosphere were very nice. It might have been a bit noisy for some, but to me this kind of restaurant should be boisterous! We had a wonderful time and I would recommend this restaurant to anyone visiting Baltimore.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.