About La Scala

Regional Italian cooking at its finest

Since our opening, La Scala has been dedicated to presenting a menu which balances the very best in traditional Italian cuisine
as well as innovative specialties. We welcome you to stop in to experience our elegantly casual atmosphere accented perfectly
with Chef Nino’s authentic and unforgettable creations.

La Scala features an indoor bocce ball court, a large dining room, private event space and a wine room.

Ask about our Private Rooms available for special events, parties, and corporate meetings.

1012 Eastern Avenue
Baltimore, MD 21202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:30pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 2:00pm - 10:00pm

Happy Hour: Monday - Friday 4:30 - 7:00pm, Sunday 3:00 - 8:00pm

Cross Street:
S. Central/Exeter

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 783-9209

Website:
http://www.lascaladining.com/

Entertainment:
Home to Baltimore's only indoor bocce ball court! Available on a first-come first-serve basis for dinner customers only. Can also be rented out for $75/hour

Catering:
Off-site catering is available for pickup or delivery, both lunch and dinner. Please contact a manager for details.

Parking Details:
We offer valet 7 nights a week. Cost is $8 per car. Street parking is also available for 3 hours, and the Little Italy Parking Garage is just around the corner.

Public Transit:
We offer a complimentary shuttle service to and from all downtown hotels.

Executive Chef:
Nino Germano

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
- Happy Hour - Mon-Fri 4:30 - 7 and Sun 3-8. Try our new MEXITALIAN menu!
- Wine dinners throughout the year.
- Special Happy Hours monthly.

Send your email and home address so we can update you on all of our upcoming events

Specials

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Cinco de Mayo - Special Menus & Offers

Friday, May 5, 2017

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Specials

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Details

We are open!

Cinco de Mayo - Special Menus & Offers

Friday, May 5, 2017

Details

We are open!

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Details

We are open!

Private Dining

La Scala offers private rooms that seat anywhere from 14 - 180 guests. Whatever your event may be, we can assure you that our wonderful team will make it memorable!

La Scala Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (81)
Authentic (80)
Good for a Date (77)
See All
Romantic (56)
Good for Anniversaries (55)
Notable Wine List (54)
Neighborhood Gem (49)
Good for Birthdays (46)
Worth the Drive (38)
Fit for Foodies (36)
Good for Groups (35)
Business Meals (24)
Creative Cuisine (23)
Cozy (23)
Bar Seating (23)
Fun (22)
Quiet Conversation (22)
Casual (21)
Comfort Food (20)
Outstanding Value (20)
Pre/post Theatre (17)
Historic (14)
Local Ingredients (11)
Private Room (11)
Hot Spot (10)
Family Style (9)
Kid-friendly (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Open Kitchen (5)
Healthy (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Seasonal (3)
Organic (3)
People Watching (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Waterfront (2)
Live Sports (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Vegan (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Tapas (1)
Fireplace (1)
Spicy (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
S
1981 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 2 days ago

A large group of colleagues and I (16 people) met up here for dinner & drinks. The waitstaff was able to merge our reservations into two tables, which was nice because I was not able to reserve a table of more than 10 via OpenTable. The did was good - not a lot of veggies but everyone seemed to enjoy their food.

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Food was great but it was crowded so service was a little slow.

My wife never did get her soda refill.

I had finished my cappucino by the time dessert actually arrived.

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Very good food, wonderful service. The menu was traditional Italian unfortunately the taste was par with traditional. With so many restaurants nearby, i would think this venue would add a little more thought to their recipes and presentation.
Gorgonzola cheese bread was VERY tasty!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 4 days ago

One of the best meals I've had in a while. Our waiter was terrific and the food outstanding.

Tags: Family Style, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 5 days ago

Just moved to the Baltimore area and had family in town for the week. Wanted to treat them to dinner in Little Italy. Plenty of choices in the area if you love Italian. This place was fabulous. Food and service were spot on. Noise level is a little high so expect to yell over the table at peak hours. But the experience is well worth it.

Tags: Family Style, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

Great meal. Great service. Great time - highly recommend.

Tags: Business Meals, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined 5 days ago

Our food was delicious as always. The best Italian food in Maryland. Consistent quality and service. Superb service from wait staff and bus staff.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined 5 days ago

Great food, the staff is fantastic, love the bar they can make you what ever you want, the great thing is you want you can also eat at the bar.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Awesome food on the edge of Little Italy and Harbor East. Lots to do in that area and La Scala is a great way to cap off the day. We love the indoor bocce ball court!

Tags: Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Outstanding Value, Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Old world waiters and authentic southern Italian food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Amazing service by Bulot. Food was delicious in a cozy setting. Would definitely recommend La Scala.

Tags: Cozy, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 12, 2017

La Scala was a delightful surprise. The unassuming exterior, opens to a number of intimate dining rooms that are tastefully decorated giving the diner an impression of a much smaller restaurant. The food is simply delicious and the service was prompt and accurate. The prices were quite reasonable for such a good dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 11, 2017

I have been to this restaurant a couple of times and it is always good. It is very hard to decide what to get, because everything on the menu looks and sounds good. They have a nice bar when you walk in which makes waiting for your party very easy. The wine list is extensive and the wait staff are well informed, so you can ask for a suggest.

If you are looking for a nice Italian dinner, this is the place to go.

They also have $8 valet parking which is great, since parking is sometimes are to find in this area.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Service received 4 stars only because they were almost too tentative not giving us as much time to relax between courses as we would have liked which provided a feeling of being rushed.

Tags: Historic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Our 1st time at La Scala. Everything was terrific, from our arrival to our departure. Food and service were right on target. We WILL be back!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 11, 2017

I came to Baltimore a few weeks ago and my Uber driver had said many good things about La Scala. He said it's a local favorite, and highly recommended it. I came back a week ago with my girlfriend and figured we would give it a try. It had a lot of promising reviews. Valet made it easy to park. They accommodated us with a table where we could sit next to eachother as opposed to across. The food wasn't bad, and it wasn't great. It was somewhere in between. Given all the reviews and previous suggestion I was expecting a lot more. Perhaps it was an off night, but it just felt overly hyped. Calamari was chewy, chicken parm was lackluster, penne was too al dente, and my girlfriends meal was warm not hot. She didn't finish eating it, and the morning didn't feel well.

There was a mix of people from awkward first dates to long time friends to families catching up. I wouldn't go for the food. It seemed more like the type of place to pass time while catching up and indulging in a selection of wines and cocktails with a sampling of Italian classics.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Good, attentive service and food that was well prepared. We enjoyed the specials and the profiteroles for dessert, but would have preferred a dark chocolate sauce to the lighter chocolate pudding that was used.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 10, 2017

The food here is absolutely amazing. From appetizers to our main dishes to dessert, there was not one bad item.

Tags: Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Authentic, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Always lots of good choices -- love having a table overlooking the bocce ball court!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 6, 2017

This was a great place to celebrate my birthday. I cannot wait to come back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Hot Spot, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Had great service and an enjoyable meal with Julian as our server. Especially enjoyed the grilled Caesar salad and cannoli. Hostess Shelby at the front was also very helpful and informative about the menu as we waited for our table.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Our food was served hot and was delicious. Everybody enjoyed their meal.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 2, 2017

We went for my son's 21st birthday and had a wonderful time. Although we ended up with quite a large group (he invited 12 of his closest friends) the service was fantastic and the food delicious. A rousing game of bocce on the indoor court was the perfect way to end the evening. I would definitely recommend this restaurant!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Historic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 26, 2017

The food at La Scala is top notch and the service is impeccable!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Food was excellent. However, service felt rushed and food came to the table too early. We didn't feel relaxed. It was Saturday night and felt they needed to move tables quickly.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 25, 2017

The entire dinner was special but make sure to save room for dessert. The pistachio Gelato and cream puffs were excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 25, 2017

La Scala impressed yet again. Wonderful calamari and bruschetta, best Sangiovese I've had in years, just incredible main pasta and chicken dishes. Desserts excellent. Plus the family got to play a bocce match after. We've been about four times now over the past year and it is excellent each time. Much better than any Italian we've had in DC.

Tags: Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Romantic, Authentic, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sydney / NSW)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Great food and service. Everything you expect in Little Italy.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Our first time here, but won't be our last. We got there way early and they made us feel comfortable. Calamari and grilled caesar salad were yummy. One of us had special of rockfish with crab and shrimp topping, one had veal marsala and the other had veal with prosciutto and mozzarella and artichokes. Everything was superb and very reasonably priced; portions were quite large.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We've visited La Scala many times and never had a bad experience. The ambiance is wonderful. Sam was very patient and helped us go through the impressive menu to find just the right entrees. Nino, the owner, made time to chat with us. Our only regret was that we didn't finish our delish meal until after 11 and there were no Cannoli to be found! It was another great evening and we'll be back soon!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Spicy, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Private Room, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 19, 2017

La Scala continues to be one of my favorite Little Italy restaurants. The food is always good and the atmosphere is quiet and perfect for date night or a special occasion.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Make sure that you book a reservation as the food and service are that good!
Fresh ingredients and homemade pasta with the sauce graciously made to order was extra delicious!
Also there was an indoor bocci ball court if you are interested in playing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 19, 2017

There were 6 of us in our party and we all loved our entrees. Service was wonderful and we had fun playing bocce ball after our meal. Would definitely return.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 18, 2017

This was our 4th visit to La Scala. We consider it one of the best Italian restaurants on the East Coast. The food, wine and ambiance are exceptional. We shared an eggplant rollatini appetizer and each had a grilled Caesar salad. I should add that the complimentary marinated vegetables and bread are very good. We had wine off the large "by the glass" list. For entrees my wife had Chicken alla Scala with crab meat and artichokes in a white wine sauce which she loved. I had a monster grilled veal chop with mushrooms. It was so large I could only eat one half of it, I'm looking forward to the left overs. There was no room for dessert.
Please make reservations as La Scala is deservedly very busy.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Great food, wine list, and restaurant. Only issues were it was very noisy, expected on a beautiful Saturday night, and we were placed by the bathroom. Definitely would go back and try again.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We have been here many times and are never disappointed. Most recently we ordered the octopus salad over arugula. Amazing. My husband ordered veal and I odered pastsa with pesto. Both were superb. Our waiter Jose was attentive but not annoying; funny and sincere.

Tags: Historic, Waterfront, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We had an amazing meal. Even our picky kids loved all the food. Service was outstanding as well. I'd recommend this to anyone looking for an delicious authentic Italian meal.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Excellent Italian meal. Authentic cuisine. Service was great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Went here for Valentine's Day. Before we were even seated, the hostess was extremely friendly. They had a special menu which had some terrific entrees, I took much much longer than I normally do because every one looked amazing. Their wine list was lengthy and again took awhile to pick the one I liked the most. Service was excellent, food was excellent, wine was excellent. Cannot recommend enough for a fancy night out for Italian.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Good for Groups, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I am not a fan of Italian places because they give such small portions for entrees. I have come to realize that you do not go to Italian restaurants to get full unless you go the entire 3 to 4 course route. With that said La Scala had small portions (as to be expected) but the food was delicious. Nothing fancy but it is what you should expect from a great Italian. GREAT tasting Veal (which I order) and my lady had Shrimp and Crab Fettuccini and could not finish it. Decor was classy and elegant. Big dining area is on the second floor. This is a perfect date restaurant/special night place. I am giving it 4 stars based on other restaurants in its class, it is among the best of them

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.