About La Scala

Since our opening, La Scala has been dedicated to presenting a menu which balances the very best in traditional Italian cuisine and innovative specialties. We welcome you to stop in to experience our elegantly casual atmosphere accented perfectly with Chef Nino’s authentic and unforgettable creations.

La Scala features homemade pasta, an indoor bocce ball court, private event space and complimentary shuttle.

Ask about our Private Rooms available for special events, parties, and corporate meetings.

1012 Eastern Avenue
Baltimore, MD 21202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday : 4:30pm - 10 pm, Friday - Saturday : 4:30 pm - 11 pm,
Sunday : 2 pm - 10 pm

Happy Hour : Monday - Friday 4:30 - 7 pm, Sunday 3 pm - 8 pm

Cross Street:
S. Central/Exeter

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 783-9209

Website:
http://www.lascaladining.com/

Entertainment:
Home to Baltimore's only indoor bocce ball court! Available on a first-come first-serve basis for dinner customers. It can also be rented out for $100 an hour.

Catering:
Off-site catering is available for pickup or delivery, both lunch and dinner. Please contact a manager for details.

Parking Details:
We offer valet 7 nights a week. Cost is $8 per car. Street parking is also available for 3 hours, and the Little Italy Parking Garage is just around the corner.

Public Transit:
We offer a complimentary shuttle service to and from all downtown hotels.

Executive Chef:
Nino Germano

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
- Happy Hour - Mon-Fri 4:30 - 7 and Sun 3-8. Try our new MEXITALIAN menu!
- Wine dinners throughout the year.

Send your email and home address so we can update you on all of our upcoming events.

Private Dining

La Scala offers private rooms that seat anywhere from 14 - 180 guests. Whatever your event may be, we can assure you that our wonderful team will make it memorable!

La Scala Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Authentic (85)
Special Occasion (78)
Good for Anniversaries (75)
See All
Romantic (73)
Good for a Date (66)
Neighborhood Gem (65)
Good for Birthdays (47)
Notable Wine List (47)
Business Meals (46)
Worth the Drive (43)
Good for Groups (43)
Fit for Foodies (43)
Creative Cuisine (33)
Cozy (32)
Quiet Conversation (31)
Casual (27)
Comfort Food (24)
Fun (20)
Local Ingredients (19)
Bar Seating (19)
Pre/post Theatre (16)
Family Style (14)
Historic (12)
Good Vegetarian Options (12)
Tasting Menu (11)
Kid-friendly (8)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Hot Spot (7)
Private Room (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Great for Lunch (5)
Seasonal (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Healthy (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Spicy (3)
Vegan (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Scenic View (2)
Modern Decor (1)
Live Sports (1)
Fireplace (1)
Tapas (1)
Great Beer (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Waterfront (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Live Music (1)
Sort By:
S
2110 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 days ago

Food was phenomenal. Our waiter was entertaining, so knowledgeable and made our experience great! And props to the water guy, we never saw him, but our waters were magically always full! However, I made reservations a few days in advance (as we had a group of 7 - and it was for an important celebration) but when we showed up, within 10 minutes of our reservation time, the hostess acted as though she had no idea we were coming and that we were annoying her by showing up. That really left a bad taste in our mouth, but luckily our waiter turned that all around by being so accommodating for a group of our size and demographic! Overall, a great experience though.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

Chef Nino and his staff always seem to out do themselves. Great meal and atmosphere. Always professional and knowledgeable. Best Italian restaurant in Baltimore!!

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

I may be biased because I have known Nino my entire life, but ever since he closed down his pizza restaurant in Timonium and opened La Scala in Little Italy, he has been a staple in my fine dining repertoire. NEVER have I had a meal that I didn't thoroughly enjoy. The atmosphere is always lively; the staff is seasoned, professional, friendly, and knowledgeable; and the kitchen is absolutely unmatched. On the off-chance that I, or anyone else at my table, is unable to find something on the menu that really stands out, the kitchen staff will easily whip up a dish exactly to your liking. It's not often that I truly feel that there is no downside to any experience, but La Scala is that rare exception that proves itself time and time again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Disabled Access, Bar Seating, Spicy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 3 days ago

Had an early seating. Atmosphere wonderful. Food great. Just felt rushed by the waiter.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 4 days ago

Absolutely amazing experience overall!! Everything was perfect, from the birthday card to my boyfriend, appetizers/wine, entrees, and a special birthday dessert for us. Perfection!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 6 days ago

Great restaurant, great service, pricey but you get what you pay for

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Disabled Access, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Overall very good. The fish special was a little pricy. We were not told the price of the special. Since most entrees were 25 to 30 so fish special at 45 was unexpected.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Great food, great service, and a bocce court as a cherry on top!! When we are back in Baltimore we'll be back for sure!! I started with mussels and grilled Caesar salad. Veal Parm w/ homade gnocchi for my main. Lemon sorbet for dessert. All top notch!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 18, 2017

The food is GREAT. Authentic! The feel is like Italy. Wait staff attentive, knowledgeable and accommodating. I would recommend to anyone, including friends visiting from Italy! The need for a quiet corner due to hearing issues was gladly accommodated. Much appreciated.
Will go there for all my special occasions!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 18, 2017

third eye blind concert

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 18, 2017

A great find in Little Italy! The food ranged from very good to excellent and we sampled the range of options. The service was fine but the pacing of dishes was very slow.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Food was amazing!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Everything was great! My husband and I celebrated our 10th wedding anniversary at La Scala and couldn't have asked for a better experience. Will definitely go back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Servers and waiters were all great and very knowledgeable of the specials and different dishes on the menu. Seemed genuine and we were even able to joke with them throughout our meal. Food was phenomenal as well. Will definitely be coming back

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for Groups, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Excellent. Extensive menu. Superb chef truly knows how to cook and use fresh ingredients and flavor combinations. Wait staff is professional, pleasant, courteous, well dressed, and attentive without hovering or rushing guests. Atmosphere has wonderful ambiance conductive to conversation. It can be noisy but because there is no obnoxious loud music drowning everything else it works for conversation. Not for young children; fine for well behaved older kids age 12+.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Paleo Friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Totally met expectations, which were extremely high due to the great write ups this establishment gets. Waiter was one of the sadly now rare breed of long time professional waiters. He helped us navigate thur the menu and insure that the meal was special. La Scala is a rare gem that hopefully will stay true to it roots.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Awesome, great food, extensive menu, would definitely go if anywhere in the area

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 10, 2017

We were in Baltimore for a long weekend. Wish we had eaten there both nights. Loved the food and atmosphere.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 10, 2017

One of the best Italian restaurants I have ever been to. Food and service were excellent. Chicken alla scala was 5 stars

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Not only was the food incredible, especially the Caesar salad (and I am not one for salads), but the staff was so friendly and accommodating, and with a great sense of humor! They made a really nice effort to make me feel special on my birthday.

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on June 9, 2017

If you want an AUTHENTIC Italian experience, come here. A neighborhood gem that serves great Italian cuisine, the wine list is also notable. The numerous Italian based selections are simple and fresh, sure to please any palette. An old house converted into a neighborhood eatery, it met my expectations and then some. Get the grilled Cesar Salad, and the Veal Saltimbocca was out of sight!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Wonderful service and phenomenal Italian food.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Must have been one of the best meals and nights we ever had! We are also going to make another trip to Baltimore from Philly, just so we can bring our son to La Scala. It was THAT good!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Live Music, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Excellent food, great service, reasonable prices. The wait staff was attentive but not disruptive, helpful and engaged. The food was incredibly good, and the prices were reasonable entrees from $15.95 to $42 with a good selection at both ends of the scale.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Food was terrific! Classic home town meal!! Brought half home for another meal!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 3, 2017

This is a must try! Excellent food and service. We will definitely be coming back to visit in the near future!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Great food and outstanding service. Repeat customer who will continue to return when in Baltimore.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Wonderful staff, delicious homemade food. Great value and ambiance. ❤❤❤❤ ❤ 5 hearts!

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 1, 2017

We split grilled romaine salad which I didnt care for, too much dressing on it. Loved our main dishes, a sole over asparagus and veal dish. Also delicious bread and olive oil. Service was excellent

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Great experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 31, 2017

20 Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 30, 2017

Excellent choice for food and atmosphere in Little Italy.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 29, 2017

I have been to a lot of restaurants in my life but La Scala was incredible, service was top notch, food very authentic Italian and every dish was incredible, the hazelnut cannoli was probably the freshest and best tasting cannoli I've ever had in my life

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 29, 2017

Located in the little Italy section of Baltimore and just a short cab ride from the inner harbor. The food , service and overall experience was fantastic ! I highly recommend giving it a try if your in the area. They also provide a complementary shuttle service to and from
local hotels.

Tags: Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 29, 2017

We went to La Scala based off of the ratings while on our trip to Baltimore. Needless to say, they lived up the the rating as the best Italian restaurant in Little Italy. We even went back for a 2nd night after looking for somewhere else to go, we realized we couldn't find another place that was a combination of everything that La Scala had......an added bonus was we were able to meet Joe Girardi and the Yankee coaches after they had dinner as well!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Wonderful food, service and atmosphere. There were nine in our party celebrating my son's high school graduation. Not one bad review. We loved it and will be back again:)

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 28, 2017

This was always our go to choice but this time it was a little disappointing. The gnocchi was drowned in butter and seasoning to the point of being inedible. The broccoli rapini was also over-seasoned to the point where no one could eat it. The bronzino was excellent. The veal acceptable. The wait staff were very friendly and attentive. While I thoroughly enjoyed my main course, my guests were unimpressed; not the evening we were looking for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Food was great Bartender Brian was great to talk to.. Waited 20 minutes for a waiter. I was told they were confused as to who had our table. I didn't buy that. Wine glasses on the table were dirty. I explained that to the waiter. He removed them and put them back on the shelf.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Excellent service. Well paced..no rush
Excellent dinner options. Entrees were delicious

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Great service! Friendly and accommodating staff! An overall fine dining experience that didn't break the bank.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.