About La Scala

1012 Eastern Avenue
Baltimore, MD 21202
View Larger Map

Regional Italian cooking at its finest

Since our opening, La Scala has been dedicated to presenting a menu which balances the very best in traditional Italian cuisine
as well as innovative specialties. We welcome you to stop in to experience our elegantly casual atmosphere accented perfectly
with Chef Nino’s authentic and unforgettable creations.

La Scala features an indoor bocce ball court, a large dining room, private event space and a wine room.

Ask about our Private Rooms available for special events, parties, and corporate meetings.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:30pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 2:00pm - 10:00pm

Happy Hour: Monday - Friday 4:30 - 7:00pm, Sunday 3:00 - 8:00pm

Cross Street:
S. Central/Exeter

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 783-9209

Website:
http://www.lascaladining.com/

Entertainment:
Home to Baltimore's only indoor bocce ball court! Available on a first-come first-serve basis for dinner customers only. Can also be rented out for $75/hour

Catering:
Off-site catering is available for pickup or delivery, both lunch and dinner. Please contact a manager for details.

Parking Details:
We offer valet 7 nights a week. Cost is $8 per car. Street parking is also available for 3 hours, and the Little Italy Parking Garage is just around the corner.

Public Transit:
We offer a complimentary shuttle service to and from all downtown hotels.

Executive Chef:
Nino Germano

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
- Happy Hour - Mon-Fri 4:30 - 7 and Sun 3-8. Try our new MEXITALIAN menu!
- Wine dinners throughout the year.
- Special Happy Hours monthly.

Send your email and home address so we can update you on all of our upcoming events

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Details
We are open!

Private Dining

La Scala offers private rooms that seat anywhere from 14 - 180 guests. Whatever your event may be, we can assure you that our wonderful team will make it memorable!

La Scala Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Baltimore / Maryland
Best Overall
Baltimore
Notable Wine List
Baltimore
1 More
Italian
Baltimore
Best Restaurants in Little Italy ›

special occasion (130)
neighborhood gem (106)
romantic (101)
See All
fit for foodies (96)
notable wine list (93)
good for groups (83)
hot spot (15)
vibrant bar scene (11)
kid-friendly (11)
late-night find (10)
great for lunch (8)
great for outdoor dining (6)
great for brunch (5)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1570 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

La Scala delivered a fantastic meal, aga ...

Dined 3 days ago

La Scala delivered a fantastic meal, again. Every time we visit Baltimore, it is a must to eat here! There was an issue with the lighting in the room we were seated in and asked to be moved but on every other level, it was wonderful! Can't wait to go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a wonderful place this is!! Our all ...

Dined 4 days ago

What a wonderful place this is!! Our all time fav place to eat when we are in Baltimore!! The Chef is awesome!! Family owned and run!! We absolutely love love love this place!!! Always here Preakness weekend👍🏻

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great every time

Dined 4 days ago

2nd time I've been here and 2nd time I've greatly enjoyed this place. You have to have the mortadella and various cheese/meats...fabulous. Great food, great dessert! Would always recommend this place.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a late evening reservation follow ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

We had a late evening reservation following a graduation ceremony. The only negative to our experience was that while we could hear a lively restaurant crowd upstairs, we were seated downstairs next to the kitchen and the restrooms. But, in the end, this turned out to be a quiet place to get together and dine with our party of eight after a long day of festivities. The service was excellent and the food was even better. Every member of our party agreed that they were not only happy with their selection, but that it was the best Italian food that we have ever had in a restaurant. The homemade pasta is not to be missed!!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

So, so, SO good. Some of the best Italia ...

vip
Dined on May 18, 2016

So, so, SO good. Some of the best Italian food anywhere. The penne vodka is so simple, but amazing. The chicken saltimbocca, when available on special (and it often is) is a must-have. The grilled Caesar and the goat cheese and tomato bruschetta are awesome starters. I can't say enough about La Scala.

food3
ambience3
service3

Chose this for an out of town business d ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Chose this for an out of town business dinner after lots of open table research but it was just ok and would not go back. None of us really enjoyed the meal or the appetizers. Service was slow and inattentive.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had a lovely evening meal with my parent ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Had a lovely evening meal with my parents who were in to visit for the weekend. Good place for a long meal when you want to catch up with someone. We didn't feel rushed at all. Plus the food is incredible, everything was delicious!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is our favorite spot for pre/post B ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

This is our favorite spot for pre/post Broadway shows in Baltimore. We love the food and the service is always excellent.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great restaurant but a little loud to be ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Great restaurant but a little loud to be romantic. I can help with sound proofing. Powerhouses Properties MD

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was one of the best meals of my lif ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

This was one of the best meals of my life. it's a shame I don't live in Baltimore because I'd probably visit la scala once a month if I did.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were looking for a new restaurant to ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

We were looking for a new restaurant to try in Little Italy to celebrate our birthday. We found LaScala online and decided to give it a try. We were overjoyed with our luck. From the cold green bean and potato they serve as an appetizer to our meals, everything was delicious. we will definitely be back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The server started with "I'm here to ins ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

The server started with "I'm here to insure you have an excellent experience" He did not disappoint! First class food and service.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was amazing, service was great. Hav ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Food was amazing, service was great. Have tried several restaurants in Little Italy in years past. This has been by far the best food I have tasted, all home made!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Authentic Italian Cuisine!

Dined on May 13, 2016

We really enjoyed La Scala. We found it through recommendations on TripAdvisor. Great restaurant right in the heart of Little Italy in Baltimore. The service was outstanding, Julio was our server and he was very knowledgeable and attentive. Even though there appeared to be several special occasions ongoing, he didn't forget about us. We would definitely come back again - the gnocchi was awesome; the marinara was outstanding; the shrimp scampi was just right. Everything was delicious!

Tags: kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

La Scala

Dined on May 10, 2016

We went to La Scala for my son's 15th birthday. Everything was awesome. Something he wanted was not on the menu that evening, but they prepared it for him anyway. The whole staff made the evening special for the whole family. W e have been going to La Scala for 20 years and are never disappointed. Thank you!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4

Second time back and it was even better ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Second time back and it was even better than my first... Definitely my go-to spot in Little Italy!!!

food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and a great experience. Top ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Great food and a great experience. Top notch service and attention to detail. Get the tiramisu.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

La Scala - amazing

Dined on May 7, 2016

Excellent Italian food, with impeccable service. Highly recommended.

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant. Food is fantastic. Ser ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Great restaurant. Food is fantastic. Service is top notch. The restaurant has an extensive menu of many different Italian entrees. I have tried many different selections and have never been disappointed.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Good As always

vip
Dined on May 3, 2016

Food was great, service excellent. The only negative was that it was quite loud this evening. I've been here many times before and not had that problem. This time there seemed to be several large tables with people talking loudly. But this will surely not deter me from coming back

Tags: kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Lots of happy people

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

LaScalla offers good food and service. On a rainy Sunday evening it was quite busy. It was full of families and couples. Energetic vibe!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great meal

Dined on May 1, 2016

fabulous food. The apps, main courses and desserts were all top notch. I highly recommend La Scala.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I go every time I'm in Baltimore

Dined on April 30, 2016

I first enjoyed a meal at La Scala 5 years ago when I was in Baltimore for a conference. Whenever the conference is held there (it rotates around different cities), I make a point of booking a reservation early so I'm sure to dine there again. This year, I went twice and introduced two colleagues to the restaurant. Excellent food, service and always memorable!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4

Awesome food, everything is very fresh. ...

Dined on April 29, 2016

Awesome food, everything is very fresh. Sometimes service can be a little slow.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great menu

Dined on April 23, 2016

Tons of wine choices. Great menu. Our waiter Antonio was charming and helpful. The atmosphere was perfect. The downstairs bar was perfect for one more drink on the way out. I'm already recommending it to friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Forever my favorite place to celebrate o ...

vip
Dined on April 18, 2016

Forever my favorite place to celebrate or go to for no special reason. Was treated like a queen for my birthday with friends. Love Nino, Felix, Ches and everyone there! Baltimore's best!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Best Italian restaurant in Baltimore......

Dined on April 16, 2016

The food was good, the service was great. The Cesar Salad was fantastic.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went here for our 50th wedding annive ...

Dined on April 15, 2016

We went here for our 50th wedding annivery dinner.They made it real special for us.Great table in a quite area and at the end of dinner they gave us a dessert with a candle on it and sang to us.I would high recommend to to all my friends who go to Baltimore.They also picked us up and returned us to our hotel.

Tags: special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5

Gnocchi was just perfect, light, and the ...

vip
Dined on April 15, 2016

Gnocchi was just perfect, light, and the Alfredo sauce incredible.

food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Good reviews and I agree

Dined on April 14, 2016

I was in Baltimore & searching for an Italian restaurant with good reviews. I was nit disappointed . Tried the much talked about Grilled Caesar salad and also the gorganzola garlic bread . Both were delicious . I had veal piccata , which was also very lean . The dessert selection had nothing to my liking. No gelato , no menu . Sevice was good to start but our main course took very long to get .

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5

Service was top notch, food was excellen ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

Service was top notch, food was excellent, what a great night.

food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was amazing!!!!

Dined on April 9, 2016

Everything was amazing!!!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best restaurant

Dined on April 8, 2016

I found this restaurant last year and have been to it about six times since. It is my favorite restaurant in Baltimore and is my "go-to" for special occasions. You can tell the workers of this restaurant have a passion for the food they prepare. Every dish I've had was excellent. The flash-grilled caesar salad is a must have. You really can't go wrong with this restaurant! I give it 5 stars.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

I have never had a bad meal here. A favo ...

Dined on April 7, 2016

I have never had a bad meal here. A favorite.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Favorite Restaurant in Baltimore

Dined on March 30, 2016

La Scala NEVER disappoints! A small group visited for dinner prior to touring Light City Baltimore, it was a Tuesday evening, and the place was filled! Several of us ordered the rock fish special, top with lump crabmeat, and a light sauce - it was excellent! Their grilled Caesar salad is a must - wish they was a way to duplicate this at home, have tried, but nothing compares.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience2
service1
value1

Absolutely rude servers Food is above average

Dined on March 28, 2016

Absolutely rude servers and a manager who cares nothing for customer satisfaction. Food is above average but not worth driving from DC for.

food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Good experience

Dined on March 27, 2016

Nothing is easy at Easter time, but we enjoyed the regular menu and the food was good overall. Avoid the artichoke crab appetizer, but octopus grilled was excellent. Dinner the rock fish special and stuffed veal chop were very good. Desserts very expensive but good.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The van pick up was a great start. Our ...

Dined on March 26, 2016

The van pick up was a great start. Our waiter was great. Food great too. We will go back for sure. George was great taking us home

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

So delicious!!! Their grilled Cesar sala ...

Dined on March 26, 2016

So delicious!!! Their grilled Cesar salad was awesome and mmm the Gnocchi!!!! The bruschetta with goat cheese was awesome. Our waiter was great as well. I cannot wait to go back for more delicious food.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food

Dined on March 22, 2016

I took two coworkers who live in MN and NY here for dinner. They loved the food. I was told the 4 cheese fettuccine was the best pasta she ever had (and she's Italian)!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.