About La Scala

1012 Eastern Avenue
Baltimore, MD 21202
View Larger Map

Regional Italian cooking at its finest

Since our opening, La Scala has been dedicated to presenting a menu which balances the very best in traditional Italian cuisine
as well as innovative specialties. We welcome you to stop in to experience our elegantly casual atmosphere accented perfectly
with Chef Nino’s authentic and unforgettable creations.

La Scala features an indoor bocce ball court, a large dining room, private event space and a wine room.

Ask about our Private Rooms available for special events, parties, and corporate meetings.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:30pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 2:00pm - 10:00pm

Happy Hour: Monday - Friday 4:30 - 7:00pm, Sunday 3:00 - 8:00pm

Cross Street:
S. Central/Exeter

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 783-9209

Website:
http://www.lascaladining.com/

Entertainment:
Home to Baltimore's only indoor bocce ball court! Available on a first-come first-serve basis for dinner customers only. Can also be rented out for $75/hour

Catering:
Off-site catering is available for pickup or delivery, both lunch and dinner. Please contact a manager for details.

Parking Details:
We offer valet 7 nights a week. Cost is $8 per car. Street parking is also available for 3 hours, and the Little Italy Parking Garage is just around the corner.

Public Transit:
We offer a complimentary shuttle service to and from all downtown hotels.

Executive Chef:
Nino Germano

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
- Happy Hour - Mon-Fri 4:30 - 7 and Sun 3-8. Try our new MEXITALIAN menu!
- Wine dinners throughout the year.
- Special Happy Hours monthly.

Send your email and home address so we can update you on all of our upcoming events

Private Dining

La Scala offers private rooms that seat anywhere from 14 - 180 guests. Whatever your event may be, we can assure you that our wonderful team will make it memorable!

La Scala Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (82)
Special Occasion (78)
Authentic (74)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (58)
Notable Wine List (57)
Romantic (54)
Neighborhood Gem (52)
Good for Birthdays (47)
Worth the Drive (44)
Fit for Foodies (37)
Good for Groups (33)
Fun (27)
Bar Seating (26)
Creative Cuisine (26)
Business Meals (25)
Cozy (25)
Casual (23)
Comfort Food (21)
Quiet Conversation (20)
Outstanding Value (19)
Pre/post Theatre (17)
Historic (15)
Private Room (11)
Local Ingredients (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Happy Hour (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Hot Spot (7)
Family Style (7)
Kid-friendly (6)
Healthy (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
People Watching (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Open Kitchen (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Organic (3)
Seasonal (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Spicy (2)
Scenic View (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Tapas (1)
Fireplace (1)
Live Sports (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Live Music (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
1952 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 6 days ago

We've visited La Scala many times and never had a bad experience. The ambiance is wonderful. Sam was very patient and helped us go through the impressive menu to find just the right entrees. Nino, the owner, made time to chat with us. Our only regret was that we didn't finish our delish meal until after 11 and there were no Cannoli to be found! It was another great evening and we'll be back soon!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Spicy, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Private Room, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 6 days ago

La Scala continues to be one of my favorite Little Italy restaurants. The food is always good and the atmosphere is quiet and perfect for date night or a special occasion.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

Make sure that you book a reservation as the food and service are that good!

Fresh ingredients and homemade pasta with the sauce graciously made to order was extra delicious!

Also there was an indoor bocci ball court if you are interested in playing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 6 days ago

There were 6 of us in our party and we all loved our entrees. Service was wonderful and we had fun playing bocce ball after our meal. Would definitely return.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 6 days ago

This was our 4th visit to La Scala. We consider it one of the best Italian restaurants on the East Coast. The food, wine and ambiance are exceptional. We shared an eggplant rollatini appetizer and each had a grilled Caesar salad. I should add that the complimentary marinated vegetables and bread are very good. We had wine off the large "by the glass" list. For entrees my wife had Chicken alla Scala with crab meat and artichokes in a white wine sauce which she loved. I had a monster grilled veal chop with mushrooms. It was so large I could only eat one half of it, I'm looking forward to the left overs. There was no room for dessert.

Please make reservations as La Scala is deservedly very busy.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 6 days ago

Great food, wine list, and restaurant. Only issues were it was very noisy, expected on a beautiful Saturday night, and we were placed by the bathroom. Definitely would go back and try again.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 6 days ago

We have been here many times and are never disappointed. Most recently we ordered the octopus salad over arugula. Amazing. My husband ordered veal and I odered pastsa with pesto. Both were superb. Our waiter Jose was attentive but not annoying; funny and sincere.

Tags: Historic, Waterfront, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 6 days ago

We had an amazing meal. Even our picky kids loved all the food. Service was outstanding as well. I'd recommend this to anyone looking for an delicious authentic Italian meal.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Excellent Italian meal. Authentic cuisine. Service was great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Went here for Valentine's Day. Before we were even seated, the hostess was extremely friendly. They had a special menu which had some terrific entrees, I took much much longer than I normally do because every one looked amazing. Their wine list was lengthy and again took awhile to pick the one I liked the most. Service was excellent, food was excellent, wine was excellent. Cannot recommend enough for a fancy night out for Italian.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Good for Groups, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I am not a fan of Italian places because they give such small portions for entrees. I have come to realize that you do not go to Italian restaurants to get full unless you go the entire 3 to 4 course route. With that said La Scala had small portions (as to be expected) but the food was delicious. Nothing fancy but it is what you should expect from a great Italian. GREAT tasting Veal (which I order) and my lady had Shrimp and Crab Fettuccini and could not finish it. Decor was classy and elegant. Big dining area is on the second floor. This is a perfect date restaurant/special night place. I am giving it 4 stars based on other restaurants in its class, it is among the best of them

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Food was great and the service was phenomenal! I'll definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Amazing food and service as always, Love La Scala!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 14, 2017

La Scala never disappoints. They had a special Valentines menu so some things weren't available but I think its the most authentic Italian restaurant in Baltimore. would never hesitate to recommend to all.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Great food, great service. Good for romantic night or special occasion. Can be quite pricey, but good for that special night. Homemade pasta and sauces. Great for food lovers.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Great food, upscale dining, attentive service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 12, 2017

This has become our favorite spot for business or pleasure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The wait staff is very strong, as always. Long term employees are very knowledeable. The italian food is perfection, the wines are great, served at proper temperatures. The bourbon / scotch selection is great as well. The place has such a great old style look to it with a little modern flare. I have been there 3 times, and it was excellent. The grilled ceasar was superb, the sauteed octopus was as perfect. The Veal Osso bocco over fettucine was "fall of the bone" good. Chocolate mousse covered cream puffs were a great desert. I will continue to go back, and gladly drive and hour. The place is special and if its not broken then don't fix it. We love "La Scala"

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Historic, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The dinner at LaScala was amazing. What a wonderful Anniversary! Absolutely delicious

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The food was fantastic, great service, wonderful selection on the menu, and the restaurant has a lot of character. I decided to rent this place for The rehearsal dinner for my son's wedding

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Delicious food, great atmosphere, and excellent service. We're definitely going back again!

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Our evening at LaScala was quite memorable! It was " date night" for my husband and I. I had gone on the website a week earlier and got an idea of options...like to think I'm a home-grown foodie and I'm Italian.

We began with the milbrandt waluke Merlot. Exceptional..great notes, smooth finish, velvet-like texture.

Appetizer was the shrimp with brown butter sauce, very good.

Entrees were savory, delicious and piping hot. We enjoyed the leftovers as well!!

Yes, we would enjoy visiting again. Might also try Happy Hour. The bar looked festive, warm and inviting.

Thanks for a great evening!

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We had a party at this restaurant and two special event dinners here. We love this place! Great staff! Great food! Very nice wine selection. We are going back again and again!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 5, 2017

There was a good range of choices. Everyone in our party of 10 enjoyed his or her meal. It is not inexpensive but also not highly expensive. Overall a good representation of Baltimore's Little Italy at a reasonable price level.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 4, 2017

I went to La Scala with my boyfriend for our anniversary. We were both blown away with the restaurant. The staff was very attentive, the food was delicious, and the wine list was extensive. The ambiance was very warm, cozy, quiet and romantic. I ordered the Gnocchi special (with tomato sauce and fresh mozzarella) and it was amazing. My boyfriend ordered Veal Saltimbocca and he practically licked the plate clean. All in all a wonderful night!

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 4, 2017

LaScala never disappoints! Great dinner, great atmosphere, great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 4, 2017

I loved this restaurant. Service was excellent and staff attentive. The pasta was homemade and sauce was like I make!

Everything that was served was delicious and cooked to perfection. Cozy and warm.

Would definitely go back if I'm in that area again.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 2, 2017

The Bronzini was superbly prepared and mouth-wateringly delicious as was the homemade Canolli. My fiance was also very pleased with his NY Strip Alla Pizzaiola and Grilled Caesar Salad. A couple of very nice bottles of Chianti and a bit of bocce ball made for a perfect evening with our friends.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on January 29, 2017

All homemade pasta! The gnocchi was heavenly. Desserts made on premises. Although a bit pricey on some of the specials, the portions are large enough for dinner leftovers. In fact, everyone seemed to be leaving with a bag! Complimentary shuttle service made the night - no worries about driving - enjoy the wine!

Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 29, 2017

There are many good Italian restaurants in little Italy but when I have to choose la scala always wins.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Delicious. With the exception of the Bruschetta, everything we had was a special of the evening. The grilled romain caesar was devine! The homemade gnocci was light as a cloud....so hard to find that these days.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We were disappointed. The food was good, but not stellar considering the price. For example, the dressing on the house salad was mostly tasteless - I expected a little more. The garlic bread with mozzarella was delicious, but the waiter missed the part about the mozzarella and so it took forever to get the correct version and then it was quite burnt on one side. I appreciated that someone was constantly filling my water glass, but it needed refilling so often because they kept pouring from the side of the pitcher which meant a preponderance of ice and a paucity of water. Plus, they would do it so quickly that it went up to the very very top and inevitably I spilled it on myself when I tried to drink it.

Veal and pasta dishes were good, but again not excellent. The marinara sauce was too sweet for my taste, although the fresh pasta served with the veal was wonderfully al dente - not easy to do with such a large clientele.

The tables were jammed close together which meant it was very loud. Luckily we were leaving as the party of drunks stumbled in - glad we didn't have to deal with that. We really appreciated the shuttle service to and from our hotel so we didn't have to try to find parking!

Overall, I felt as though we were being rushed out, even though the entree took a very long time to come. We aren't lingerers, so it was OK for us to be more or less hurried out, but it just added to what was ultimately a mediocre experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Worth the drive from New jersy. We had a really great time off as couple. The food is outstanding and after long time we tasted the authentic Italian food. Thanks guys

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Organic, Outstanding Value, Cozy, Healthy, Fun, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The chicken marsala was absolutely amazing,food was out of this world.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Took my Italian In-laws there for dinner and they were impressed. Food portions were perfect and they loved the décor. When they come back to town I am sure we will be back.

Tags: Fun, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The grilled ceasar salad, which we started off with, was the most unique presentation and preparation of a salad that I have ever seen. The lettuce is warmed but remains crunchy with the croutons and ceasar dressing providing just the right amount of flavor to the dish. The spaghetti, as well as penne were both cooked perfectly and the tomato sauce used on both complimented it very well. The crab meat used in one of the dishes that we ordered was fresh and was delectable when paired with a garlic sauce and chicken. For dessert, the cannoli stood out as one of the better canolis that I've had, however a trip to Vaccaros down the street might yield better.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The service was excellent and the food was awesome!!!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Food was very good and service was excellent. The tables are close together, so there was an initial feeling of being crowded. Overall, I thought the food and wine selections were over priced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 26, 2017

It will forever be my favorite Italian food in Baltimore.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 26, 2017

We celebrated our one year anniversary at La Scala and they made it exceptionally special the entire evening. The food , the service, the atmosphere and the end of evening memento will always be part of our very special first year celebration. Thank you for making the evening perfect!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 24, 2017

What a find! My husband and I had occasion to stay overnight in Baltimore and we wanted to dine in Little Italy. La Scala was highly recommended and it did not disappoint. Everything was simply delicious. The veal dishes were spectacular. Melt in your mouth good. Wish we lived in Baltimore so we could enjoy this gem of a restaurant more often.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Great food in a cozy environment. The bread was warm and freshly baked. The salad was okay, I don't expect great tomatoes in January. My veal parmigiana was delicious. The others in my group raved about their food. I would recommend it to my friends.

Tags: Family Style, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 23, 2017

La Scala was a great find while on a business trip! Great staff and customer focus and the food was delicious. I wish I was closer to try a night of bocce! And the shuttle service back to my hotel was a surprising addition!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Absolutely amazing. Thought about making next reservations sitting there. Best food I've ever had.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Kid-friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Historic, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Family Style, Organic, Healthy, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 22, 2017

My wife and I dined at La Scala to celebrate her birthday. The menu was exceptional - to include the daily specials. Our waiter, Balut, was among the best we've had; I hope that my spelling of Balut is okay - I'm going by the receipt. Balut clearly explained the menu, answered our questions, and made a fine recommendation for our choice of wine. Each dish was delicious! Chef Nino stopped by our table and we enjoyed a nice conversation. Our evening was exceptional, thanks to the food, drink, and ambiance of our new favorite Little Italy (Baltimore!) restaurant! We are looking forward to returning.

Tags: Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 21, 2017

I am attending the lacrosse convention room and dragged my boyfriend down with me. We didn't know where to go to dinner and states looking at yelp reviews for restaurants and stumbled across la scala's. We were not disappointed and greatly enjoyed our meal.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Nino is an Italian magician . Perfect spot for a birthday dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Great service, excellent menu choices with lots of specials. Little touches like the limoncello and a visit from the chef capped off a perfect evening in little Italy. I would absolutely recommend it versus the pricey chain restaurants popping up around Baltimore

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 18, 2017

What a great experience ! La Scalia has a shuttle and picked us up at our hotel (and returned us - for no charge!) by the harbor. The restaurant wasn't crowded when we arrived, but a huge party came later. I had the veal chop special - was actually two veal chops and my only complaint was it was too much food. I did have to send it back because it was undercooked, but no big deal. The grilled Cesar was delicious as a starter. The Gorgonzola cheese bread was good - a little too much Gorgonzola for my taste though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 16, 2017

I have to begin by stating that I rarely write reviews but because I felt so misled by all of the reviews on this place which led me to dine here, I need to share my experience. After waiting over 10 minutes for a server to acknowledge us in the dusty second floor (the restaurant had 5 tables sat max) I was pretty sure I knew where this night was going. Our server, while late to engage initially, was perfectly polite but the food truly missed the mark. Pollo alla Scalla - you give this dish your namesake but serve some pale boiled chicken breasts that are flavorless with canned artichokes? Pasta on the side was so over cooked it was unbelievable. Cannoli left more to be desired and my dates dish was subpar. The only standouts were the house salad - full of fresh vegetables and the perfect amount of dressing - as well as the pineapple sorbet. I was sadly not impressed for what's supposed to be a Little Italy staple and frankly embarrassed for choosing this over all of the other places we could have dined before a show in the city.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.