About La Scala

Since our opening, La Scala has been dedicated to presenting a menu which balances the very best in traditional Italian cuisine and innovative specialties. We welcome you to stop in to experience our elegantly casual atmosphere accented perfectly with Chef Nino’s authentic and unforgettable creations.

La Scala features homemade pasta, an indoor bocce ball court, private event space and complimentary shuttle.

Ask about our Private Rooms available for special events, parties, and corporate meetings.

1012 Eastern Avenue
Baltimore, MD 21202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday : 4:30pm - 10 pm, Friday - Saturday : 4:30 pm - 11 pm,
Sunday : 2 pm - 10 pm

Happy Hour : Monday - Friday 4:30 - 7 pm, Sunday 3 pm - 8 pm

Cross Street:
S. Central/Exeter

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 783-9209

Website:
http://www.lascaladining.com/

Entertainment:
Home to Baltimore's only indoor bocce ball court! Available on a first-come first-serve basis for dinner customers. It can also be rented out for $100 an hour.

Catering:
Off-site catering is available for pickup or delivery, both lunch and dinner. Please contact a manager for details.

Parking Details:
We offer valet 7 nights a week. Cost is $8 per car. Street parking is also available for 3 hours, and the Little Italy Parking Garage is just around the corner.

Public Transit:
We offer a complimentary shuttle service to and from all downtown hotels.

Executive Chef:
Nino Germano

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
- Happy Hour - Mon-Fri 4:30 - 7 and Sun 3-8. Try our new MEXITALIAN menu!
- Wine dinners throughout the year.

Send your email and home address so we can update you on all of our upcoming events.

Specials

Cinco de Mayo - Special Menus & Offers

Friday, May 5, 2017

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Specials

Cinco de Mayo - Special Menus & Offers

Friday, May 5, 2017

Details

We are open!

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Details

Join us 2:00 - 10:00 in celebration of Mother's Day. All day we are offering our a la carte menu and daily specials. Mother's receive a complimentary Bellini to start their experience at La Scala!

Private Dining

La Scala offers private rooms that seat anywhere from 14 - 180 guests. Whatever your event may be, we can assure you that our wonderful team will make it memorable!

La Scala Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Authentic (88)
Special Occasion (86)
Good for a Date (82)
See All
Romantic (67)
Good for Anniversaries (62)
Neighborhood Gem (57)
Notable Wine List (55)
Fit for Foodies (50)
Worth the Drive (41)
Good for Birthdays (38)
Good for Groups (33)
Cozy (28)
Business Meals (28)
Creative Cuisine (26)
Quiet Conversation (22)
Bar Seating (21)
Casual (20)
Fun (19)
Comfort Food (18)
Historic (16)
Pre/post Theatre (14)
Outstanding Value (14)
Local Ingredients (14)
Hot Spot (12)
Family Style (11)
Kid-friendly (9)
Private Room (9)
Happy Hour (8)
Great for Lunch (6)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Molecular Gastronomy (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Healthy (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Organic (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Spicy (3)
Modern Decor (2)
People Watching (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Waterfront (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Seasonal (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Live Sports (1)
Vegan (1)
Great Beer (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
S
2030 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 2 days ago

Excellent food and service. A tad pricey.
Valet parking was plus. Liked chef checking to see how everything was.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined 3 days ago

Great food veal picatta was excellent and grilled Caesar salad , Hotel shuttle was also a plus

Tags: Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Great food, great menu and terrific wine selection...

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Great experience. The food and service were just wonderful. Thank you Anton for making it an enjoyable evening.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 5 days ago

Some of the best Italian food ever!!! We used their shuttle which we easy and right on time. Antonio was our waiter and I asked him to compare two entries and he was spot on. Excellent!!!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 23, 2017

May be best Italian restaurant a guest from Philadelphia told me.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Service and ambience are great. Friendly and prompt shuttle service from hotel. Food was good, not great for value. Pasta was over cooked (smooth rigatoni described to be penne). Veal Marsala, Saltimboca and Bragiole like an "Olive Garden" offering. Small drizzle of very good olive oil with a good bread. $15-$20 wine for $60

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 22, 2017

La Scala is my new go-to place in Baltimore. The menu is 'essential Italian' but filled with inventive and inspired twists. The wine list is superb with excellent breadth and depth at all price points. The staff is well trained, knowledgeable, and very personable. They are an extension of the chef/owner Nino who takes the time to visit tableside and interact with his customers. A memorable night that I hope to repeat many times.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 21, 2017

The food here is absolutely delicious. The cost can be a little pricey with dinner, salads, and drinks, but for a special occasion or once in a while, the cost is totally worth the cost. The waiter was excellent and had no problem repeating specials for us upon request. I would absolutely recommend La Scala.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for Groups, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 20, 2017

LaScala always offers outstanding service and food. It is my go to restaurant for both personal and business events. I recommend you take some olive oil home with you.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 20, 2017

The food was excellent. The sevice was only fair. Our waiter was not very gracious and at times seemed very crabby. He also hovered too much. However, what really spoiled the evening for us was the almost unbearable noise level. There was a wedding rehearsal dinner party, a good size crowd, at the bar for over one and 1/2 hours, and they were unbelievably loud and boisterous. By the time they went upstairs to the private dining room for their dinner, having ruined mine, we were just about finished with our dinner. We were celebrating my sister's 83rd birthday, but because of the noise level, conversation was almost impossible. It was like eating in a football stadium with screamin fans. we could not wait to l;eave and thus skipped dessert. I would not recomend this restaurant to anyone unless the management would gurantee there was no large party celebration in the bar area.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 20, 2017

This was our first time there. We were celebrating our daughter getting her PhD. The staff was wonderful and helped make our celebration very special. The food was delicious and service impeccable. This was the perfect place to end a wonderful day. We will be back!

Tags: Authentic, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We had a very enjoyable dinner, great food, nice wine by the glass selection, and great service. We will be going back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Always exceeds expectations. Excellent food and service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Family Style, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Service was excellent, food delicious. Looking forward to going back and trying more on the menu.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Jose Miguel our waiter was fantastic. Verified with the kitchen a specific dish can be made not using chicken broth (vegetarian). Fantastic food & will be back soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Wonderful in every possible way. Highly recommend this restaurant. And they offer FREE shuttle service!

We will definitely dine there during our next visit to the Inner Harbor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 13, 2017

We had an amazing dinner and were grateful for the shuttle that picked us up from the hotel and brought us back. The driver George was very entertaining and helpful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Excellent service and food!!! Would definitely return and recommend to others

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 12, 2017

We were being led to our table and noticed the 2nd floor balcony with tables. The staff was happy to accommodate us on such a beautiful evening. The waitstaff was knowledgeable and helpful. The food was delicious and the portions were big enough to send home leftovers. Would definitely recommend this restaurant and will be back!

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 12, 2017

The food was delicious! The service was very good and the servers knowledgeable about the food. We ate so much we had no room for dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 12, 2017

I went with a friend and we had a very nice experience. Service was very good in spite of the fact that they had two large parties going on at the same time. Sometimes service suffers when big parties are going on, but they clearly had enough wait staff.

My friend and I wanted to try a few things, so we split a salad, an appetizer and an entree. They were very accommodating and split the salad and entree and brought it out on two plates. Much nicer than bringing it out on one plate and letting us split it up, so we appreciated that.

The grilled caesar salad was excellent. The sautéed mushroom appetizer was also very good (save a piece of bread to dip in the sauce if you get it!!). The chicken with artichokes and lump crab was delicious.

Very nice experience all around. I will go back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 10, 2017

La Scala was recommended to me by a friend, we were so happy with our decision to check it out. The food was so delicious, and the wine was perfection... the restaurant is a neighborhood gem, so if your in town check it out you won't be disappointed.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 9, 2017

La Scala is the best Italian restaurant in Baltimore, and Nino always makes sure it's a special occasion!

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 9, 2017

One of my favorite Italian restaurants, fabulous food, fantastic service, fun, family friendly atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 9, 2017

There was 6 in our party. Two of us ordered crab meat fra diavolo which was not on the menu and it was way too spicy and had very little crab meat. The other people at our table loved their meal. Service was great when we sat down until some VIP's were seated at the table next to us. From that point on our waiter was hard to track down. We ordered a second bottle of wine which we had to remind the waiter about 10 minutes later. The VIP'S asked for wine and the waiter ran to get it. All in all the food and atmosphere was nice and the food was good. I have been here before but I would try another place next time.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 8, 2017

We went their to celebrate my friend's 50th birthday. Started with a antipasto plate and the roasted Caesar salad. Both were excellent. Ordered a couple filets and some seafood dishes. Everyone was very happy with their meal. The fillets were particularly outstanding. They brought my friend a complimentary tiramisu with a candle in it to blow out. Nice touch. We finished with espresso martini's that were great. Our waiting was very attentive and enjoyable. All in all, a great night and eating experience. Looking forward to coming back again whenever in Baltimore.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 8, 2017

We are frequent diners of La Scala and it is our favorite restaurant in Little Italy. It's always consistently good from the service to the food and wine. I would highly recommend it to a friend or business colleague.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Fantastic as usual! I've been going to LaScala for years and it's never disappoints.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 5, 2017

We went here on a recent business trip to the area. It was rated as one of the top restaurants in town and we absolutely love Italian food. The night started out pretty good (waiter took some time to get to our table but nothing worth getting upset about), the food was very good, but then towards the end of the meal the service dropped off significantly. It was so noticeable that we thought the waiter may have left the restaurant. Even worse, multiple other staff walked past our table of dirty empty dishes and did not bother to clear our plates. We've dined in some great places and exceptional service will have anyone and everyone there to ensure that the dirty dishes are not sitting around or that you go without water or you are waiting on anything for that matter. We finally had to ask a random guy to get our waiter and our bill. He ran the bill for us and took our payment. We never saw our waiter again. It was very odd.

Nonetheless, you can have great food but terrible service will kill the deal every time. For this reason, we will probably try another place the next time.

Work on your service and you could be a great restaurant! Thanks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 3, 2017

The cozze were simply terrible, though the broth was quite nice, the mussels themselves were mealy and tasteless. Veal piccata was better, but still not as good as hoped and the scampi al aglio was pretty good. All and all, La Scala did not live up to its ratings.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Old world Italian gem. Shuttle picked us up which was super,
Food outstanding.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Thoroughly Enjoyed! Great Food - Great Service - When in Baltimore the ONLY place for Great Italian!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Casual, Fun, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Awesome dinner as always. Outstanding food and staff.

Tags: Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Lovely traditional Itlalian in busy bistro atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Server was arrogate and non attentive. Food fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 31, 2017

This place is forever on my go to list when I visit Baltimore. Lively crowd and fantastic food. Service was top notch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 30, 2017

My wife and I enjoyed the mushrooms that we ordered when we arrived. I chose a Spagetti carbonara fhat was reasonsble, but I have had some that were better. My wife's capellini was overcooked snd she refused it and ate just a salad. I do not think that restaurant deserves the reputation that it apparently has.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value2

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 30, 2017

La Scale is an southern Italian-style restuarant in the old-school manner of Little Italy even though it is relatively new. The food was excellent! I had saltimbocca which was served with a brown cognac sauce they way it should be. They slammed the night I was there from a convention that was in town so service was a little slow, but the food was still excellent! I thought the wine list was good but skimpy in its range of Italian wines. Selected a vino nobile which was very good at a not-too-expensive price.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 29, 2017

The food was amazing! The service was great ! I will definitely go back when I travel back to Baltimore!

Tags: Good for a Date, Historic, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.