About La Quinta Cliffhouse

78-250 Highway 111
La Quinta, CA 92253
View Larger Map

From the moment you approach the La Quinta Cliffhouse you are surrounded by the dramatic sights and sounds of this desert destination. Jutting from a massive rock outcropping above the desert floor the La Quinta Cliffhouse is renowned for its spectacular views across the valley and providing a lively, casual destination to enjoy a menu of American classics with innovative preparations focused on premium steaks and seafood at great prices. The menu highlights vibrant flavors from the valley along with a generous selection of fresh fish and seafood. The wine list has been thoughtfully chosen to complement the food and provide reasonably priced selections including rare and limited bottles. We DO NOT take reservations in the Bar area or for Happy Hour.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Daily 4:30pm - 9:00pm Sunday-Thursday and 4:30pm - 9:30pm Friday - Saturday

Sunset Dinner Special: Daily 4:30-5:30pm

Bar: Sunday-Thursday 3:30-9:30 PM Friday-Saturday: 3:30-10:00 PM

Happy Hour: Every night 3:30pm-6:30pm Sunday: all night

Cross Street:
Washington Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 360-5991

Website:
http://www.laquintacliffhouse.com/

Parking Details:
Both self-parking and valet offered.

Executive Chef:
Jorge Martinez

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Baked California Artichoke - La Quinta Cliffhouse, La Quinta, CA
Baked California Artichoke - La Quinta Cliffhouse, La Quinta, CA

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Wed 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Thu - Sat 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

La Quinta Cliffhouse offers 4 distinct event venues to accommodate intimate dinners to large celebrations. So whether it is a rehearsal dinner, corporate event, private party or holiday celebration, La Quinta Cliffhouse’s striking ambiance and warm staff will make your event a memorable one.

La Quinta Cliffhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Scenic View
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
American
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
Most Booked
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
3 More
Scenic View
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
American
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Most Booked
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Best Restaurants in La Quinta ›

Special Occasion (79)
Scenic View (72)
Good for a Date (63)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (57)
Great for Outdoor Dining (53)
Neighborhood Gem (52)
Romantic (49)
Good for Birthdays (46)
Happy Hour (44)
Casual (34)
Worth the Drive (33)
Vibrant Bar Scene (32)
Good for Groups (32)
Fit for Foodies (28)
Bar Seating (27)
Creative Cuisine (26)
Quiet Conversation (25)
Cozy (23)
Fun (21)
Notable Wine List (20)
Hot Spot (18)
Business Meals (18)
Outstanding Value (15)
Comfort Food (14)
Authentic (13)
Fireplace (13)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
People Watching (11)
Modern Decor (11)
Disabled Access (10)
Historic (8)
Seasonal (7)
Kid-friendly (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Family Style (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Tapas (5)
Healthy (5)
Great Beer (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Vegan (4)
Quick Bite (3)
Private Room (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Live Sports (1)
Sort By:
S
1947 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Loved the ambience. Service was very goo ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 4 days ago

Loved the ambience. Service was very good, very knowledgeable. Food and selection was mediocre.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Very pleasant experience. Celebrated a b ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 4 days ago

Very pleasant experience. Celebrated a birthday with parents, son and granddaughter. Everyone enjoyed it.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

One of our favorites. We especially lik ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 4 days ago

One of our favorites. We especially like the Sunset Dinner values.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

We go here a lot. My only complaint eve ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 6 days ago

We go here a lot. My only complaint every is time is how long it takes the waitress to get to your table. Even if she comes and says she will be right back, just ack nowlege that your there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

This was our eighth time to come for a b ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 7 days ago

This was our eighth time to come for a birthday dinner, we also have been here for numerous happy hours with friends.

We have never been dissapointed and look forward to many more visits.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We came here for my girlfriends birthday ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We came here for my girlfriends birthday. We had a reservation and we were seated quickly. Our server, Lori, was very hospitable and recommended some excellent appetizers. The steak tar-tar, and the baked artichoke were both phenomenal. My ribeye was griled to perfection and her prime rib was exceptionally tender. We will absolutely be coming here again.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was so nicely done for a perf ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Everything was so nicely done for a perfect Holiday dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We always enjoy having thanksgiving dinn ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 25, 2016

We always enjoy having thanksgiving dinner here. We are never disappointed. Their squash soup was to die for!

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice place to spend thanksgiving

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Nice place to spend thanksgiving

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Thanksgiving dinner was delicious! Serv ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Thanksgiving dinner was delicious! Service was gracious and prompt.

Tags: Authentic, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

It was rated so well, I had high expecta ...

 
·Dined on November 24, 2016

It was rated so well, I had high expectations. The restaurant fell short. Our server was terrible. He never returned to the table after our food was served. He never refilled our wine glasses. He was only friendly when it was time to pay the bill. The food was good, not fantastic.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

A decanter is not a carafe for decanting ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on November 24, 2016

A decanter is not a carafe for decanting red wine.

Bread plates should be left on table during dinner.

When drinks are ordered in the bar, a request was made for payment and closed out. When ordered a second round, a credit card was needed again.

Very different procedure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

We had a nice dinner outside on the pati ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 22, 2016

We had a nice dinner outside on the patio. Service was a little slow and sporadic

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

First time in Palm Springs- friend recom ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 22, 2016

First time in Palm Springs- friend recommended ! Lovely setting , did "Sunset Dining " - so it was a great value and we had delicious food !

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a very nice dinner. The service ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on November 20, 2016

We had a very nice dinner. The service was a little slow, but the food was good. I would recommend this restaurant for a nice casual dinner.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

The entree that I ordered (which the wai ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The entree that I ordered (which the waiter recommended) the sugar glazed salmon was amazing! My husband enjoyed his pork shank (the size of the meat which was on the bone) was huge. My kids had some good options to choose from. I decided to order dessert for my husband and I to share ( I can't remember the name of it) but it was chocolate and it was amazing! I think it was a caramel chocolate panna cotta.

The only downside to our dinner was the noise level. We were seated next to the kitchen exit doors and also had a table of 8-10 people who were very loud. I would go back again but maybe request a different seating location

Tags: Special Occasion, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The kind of place to go to celebrate! Th ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The kind of place to go to celebrate! The ambience and food was amazing and the service was great.

Tags: Bar Seating, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service and good food. Friendly st ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Great service and good food. Friendly staff. A perfect evening. Thank you.

Tags: Scenic View, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Everything was great. Will be back. Than ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Everything was great. Will be back. Thanks for everything.

Tags: Bar Seating, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

The main dining room for a table of 8-10 ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on November 17, 2016

The main dining room for a table of 8-10 is way too noisy to hear anyone at your own table. Next time I'll know better. The server never checked on us AFTER dinner was served. .....just came to ask if we wanted to see a dessert menu.

We've had great group dinners there before and great service as well. Just hoping this was an OFF night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

We have eaten here several times in the ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 15, 2016

We have eaten here several times in the last 15 years. Each time the food has been very good and the overall experience is the same. The consistency is what brings us back time after time.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Fabulous! Nick was a wonderful bartende ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Fabulous! Nick was a wonderful bartender, and the food and happy hour specials were great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great wine list brought to us on an iPad ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Great wine list brought to us on an iPad- first we had seen that. Food was exceptional. Highly recommend Tropical.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fun, Authentic, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Ribs were tough, stopped serving two of ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Ribs were tough, stopped serving two of their best appetizers quail lowly pops and the stuffed mushrooms sea bass was very good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

Outstanding location in La Quinta with e ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Outstanding location in La Quinta with exceptional food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Unique surroundings, sufficient menu and ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Unique surroundings, sufficient menu and tastey food at a reasonable price.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

it is fun place to go and have a drink a ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 12, 2016

it is fun place to go and have a drink at the bar or sit in the dinning area having a nice dinner as well. They have private rooms, nice comfortable booth for 2 to 5 ( i think) people, or patio seating. You have to go there and see it yourself. You won't get disappointed.

Hostesses and servers are all nice and polite. Valet, or self parking.

Tags: Good for a Date, People Watching, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Great location and excellent food qualit ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Great location and excellent food quality and presentation. Fun place to take friends and always reliable.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great restaurant for a special occasion. ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Great restaurant for a special occasion. This was our first time and loved it! It was my spouse's birthday! Had heard about it for years. Our choices for dinner were excellent! I would recommend the Cliffhouse to family members , friends, or anyone!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our granddaughter loves the views at the ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Our granddaughter loves the views at the Cliffhouse and requests return visits on every visit to the desert. The staff is always very efficient and friendly , with a great selection of various food types.

Tags: Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We love coming to the La Quinta Cliffhou ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We love coming to the La Quinta Cliffhouse. Arrive early to blast happy hour scene at the bar! Sunset dinner, right on schedule; they always try to provide us our favorite table. Our waiter, Rafael, went out of his way to make sure salmon and chicken were prepared piping hot and tasty and paired well with our wine. Extra bread provided with bacon and dressing for my wedge. We'll definitely return soon.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Bar Seating, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

What a wonderful dinner! Marco our serve ...

vip
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on November 10, 2016

What a wonderful dinner! Marco our server provided outstanding service! The food was delicious! We will return soon!

Tags: Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, People Watching, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Scenic View, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was very surprised at how good the food ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Was very surprised at how good the food was after coming here in the past and being disappointed!!! Coming from San Francisco we are spoiled with quality restaurants, and the new Chef has brought the Cliffhouse's food to a high level! All our meals were excellent! We stopped coming for awhile because of the poor quality, but now will return whenever in the Desert!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We loved this place - past tense. The l ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 9, 2016

We loved this place - past tense. The last two times have been frustrating. Our last visit we took my Mom for her Birthday. We waited an hour and a half for the waiter to take our order and finally asked the manager for a new waiter.... So we could put our order in. The table next to us got up and walked out they were so frustrated. A table who was seated after us had their order taken before us. . . Talk about leaving with a sour a taste in your mouth. 3 hours later we left. It was a repeat experience of 2 weeks earlier. The wait staff (Raphael) caters to those who order bottles of wine. If you order a mixed drink or god forbid hot tea - you are chopped liver. We tip well and order starters, salad, nice entrees and dessert. We entertain often. . .there are other nice restaurants in the Palm Springs area that will welcome our business.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

Had happy hour drinks on lovely patio an ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Had happy hour drinks on lovely patio and a wonderful meal in dining room. Great service in both places!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What can I say? The food was superb, an ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on November 8, 2016

What can I say? The food was superb, and the service was fantastic! The entrees all came out together for the four of us, they filled our water glasses when they were empty, every need taken care of without being intrusive.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We dine here frequently. Every year the ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on November 8, 2016

We dine here frequently. Every year the Cliff House gives back to the local veterans by giving them a free dinner....how nice is that!!!??? It is a lovely venue and food is pretty good. The Pacifica House wines are of good value too! Most the food is pretty good, but once in awhile they fall short. DO try the baked artichoke when on the menu...it is seasonal. FABULOUS!

Tags: Disabled Access, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Great service and great food, this is my ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Great service and great food, this is my third time for Veterans Day. They always give the meal to the veteran free of charge. Great job

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We have dined here before and we like th ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on November 8, 2016

We have dined here before and we like the food, service, and ambiance. We were very pleased with the entire dining experience.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always good food beautifully plated and ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Always good food beautifully plated and served professionally

Tags: Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.