About La Quinta Cliffhouse

78-250 Highway 111
La Quinta, CA 92253
View Larger Map

From the moment you approach the La Quinta Cliffhouse you are surrounded by the dramatic sights and sounds of this desert destination. Jutting from a massive rock outcropping above the desert floor the La Quinta Cliffhouse is renowned for its spectacular views across the valley and providing a lively, casual destination to enjoy a menu of American classics with innovative preparations focused on premium steaks and seafood at great prices. The menu highlights vibrant flavors from the valley along with a generous selection of fresh fish and seafood. The wine list has been thoughtfully chosen to complement the food and provide reasonably priced selections including rare and limited bottles. We DO NOT take reservations in the Bar area or for Happy Hour.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Daily 5pm - 9:00pm Sunday-Thursday and 5pm - 9:30pm Friday - Saturday

Sunset Dinner Special: Daily 5-6pm

Bar: Daily 4pm-9:30pm

Happy Hour: 4pm-6:30pm

Cross Street:
Washington Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 360-5991

Website:
http://www.laquintacliffhouse.com/

Parking Details:
Both self-parking and valet offered.

Executive Chef:
Kelly Walling

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Baked California Artichoke
Baked California Artichoke

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 8:00PM - 9:00PM

Fri - Sat 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

La Quinta Cliffhouse offers 4 distinct event venues to accommodate intimate dinners to large celebrations. So whether it is a rehearsal dinner, corporate event, private party or holiday celebration, La Quinta Cliffhouse’s striking ambiance and warm staff will make your event a memorable one.

La Quinta Cliffhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Scenic View
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
American
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
Most Booked
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
3 More
Scenic View
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
American
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Most Booked
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Best Restaurants in La Quinta ›

special occasion (169)
scenic view (147)
great for outdoor dining (110)
See All
romantic (104)
neighborhood gem (99)
fit for foodies (79)
good for groups (71)
vibrant bar scene (65)
notable wine list (50)
hot spot (30)
kid-friendly (15)
great for lunch (10)
great for brunch (9)
late-night find (9)
Sort By:
Newest
1796 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We had a nice window seat and were able ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined 4 days ago

We had a nice window seat and were able to watch a beautiful sunset. We were celebrating a birthday and after dinner we were presented with a humongous piece of ice cream pie with chocolate sauce and macadamia nuts. Overall , a nice relaxing dinner for an affordable price with great service.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our party had the ribs, to die for! The ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined 5 days ago

Our party had the ribs, to die for! They even accommodated with different sides because we weren't in the mood for the corn bread and coleslaw which was awesome! We also had a wedge and the mussels small plate... Great as always. Server was attentive but didn't rush us and knew how to lay low when we were in conversation. Thanks for a great visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The oysters were the best ever in the de ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined 5 days ago

The oysters were the best ever in the desert. The Sunset meals were fabulous, seafood stew was good but too fishy. Lovely evening, good service and ambience.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Two visits in a row and the food was jus ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined 6 days ago

Two visits in a row and the food was just okay. I had the lamb ball appetizer and it was far too spicy. The menu description did not say spicy.

Last week we dined at Pacifica Seafood and it was fantastic. Cliff House needs an update on the menu.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Great location, great atmosphere! My fa ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined 6 days ago

Great location, great atmosphere!

My family and I will visit again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Get there early- sunset specials and ho ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 6 days ago

Get there early- sunset specials and house wine are excellent find...

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great spot...great food. The AC was not ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Great spot...great food. The AC was not working well for the first 1/2 of our dinner..got very warm int he dining room...soon it began cooling off. The Salmon is wonderful.. Beet salad..yum

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great service!! Thank you Danielle for m ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Great service!! Thank you Danielle for making the birthday so special!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We made reservations for our anniversary ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

We made reservations for our anniversary. We arrived 30 min early to have drinks and apps in the bar. The menu on the website was not updated because we wanted the artichoke and they did not have that anymore. Food was good. Service was very slow. We then got sat at the first table next to the door. I had asked for a nice table. This was noisy. The waitress was nice but not great. No explanation of specials, had to ask for everything. Was handed a to go box. Asked for ground pepper was told it was on the table. No mention of dessert. I'm in the service industry and it would have been nice to have great service for our special event.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

Cliffhouse is a dining jewel in the dese ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Cliffhouse is a dining jewel in the desert. The Sunset Dinner menu offers a variety of tasty entrees. The main menu is superb. We visit Cliffhouse dining room, outdoor dining and the bustling outdoor bar. I have only kudos to report, never a disappointment. The wait staff is knowledgable, efficient and friendly. A 10+ dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing place, with great food and great ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Amazing place, with great food and great service, and a view that's just breathtaking. Good quality restaurant, and it's showing as, at 6p, all the tables were occupied, and through dinner we saw some tables having 3 seatings: as this is the height of the hot summer here, it's quite an achievement that reflects the efforts and attention of management and staff. Hats off!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my first time dining there and ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

This was my first time dining there and my expectation was high. But sadly the food fell slightly short of what I was hoping for. Ambience was nice but a bit loud. It was difficult to have a conversation at times with friends across the table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Took my wife for her birthday and we had ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Took my wife for her birthday and we had an excellent experience at the Cliffhouse. Would recommend.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Great place to meet up with friends or c ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Great place to meet up with friends or clients with a drink at the bar and then head to an area a bit more quiet for dinner. Love this place for any occasion!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great dinner for my b-day. The shrimp ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Great dinner for my b-day. The shrimp cocktail was served with huge prawns and a zesty cocktail sauce. I would have liked a little more lettuce with the sauce, so I could have enjoyed the entire dish. My seafood stew was excellent, with a good variety and quantity of seafood. My husband enjoyed the split pea soup and the ribs as well. Our cocktails were tasty from the bar as well. Have never been disappointed in this restaurant. Service is excellent as well, from the valet to the wait staff. A bit noisy in the room we were in, just everyone having a good time.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent as always! Seating is great. ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Excellent as always! Seating is great. Place is clean. Terrific menu!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good dining experience

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Good dining experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent service! The waitstaff is kind ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Excellent service! The waitstaff is kind, friendly and informative. The manager shows caring and concern for each diner without being intrusive. Love the ambience, whether dining inside or sitting outside on the bar patio.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

When we get back to the desert (lived th ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

When we get back to the desert (lived there from '87-'92), we try to have a meal at Cliffhouse. As usual they didn't dissapoint! Brought some friends from over the hill and they were similarly impressed. Great to see the Sea Bass, which had been a special item last time, is now on the menu. Creative apitizers and meals. Weren't able to save room this time for desert but they looked as appealing as always. Enjoy!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Absolutely delicious meal. Ribeye steak ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Absolutely delicious meal. Ribeye steak and Chilean seabass perfectly cooked. Friendly service and beautiful sunset view. I can't wait to come back to Palm Springs just to eat at this restaurant!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent experience!! From our table to ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Excellent experience!! From our table to our service by Carrie, everything was excellent!! Food was so good. I had braised short ribs, my wife had the salmon - both were on point. Ambiance was very nice. Carrie and her helpers were professional, friendly, and helpful.

On another note - separate - I reserve through Open Table. Why don't I accumulate points? I also made a reservation for a dinner I took my staff. There were twelve points - disclaimer of no points on that as well. Why is this?

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wow! My family and I had been here a co ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Wow! My family and I had been here a couple of times for drinks but never for dinner. So glad we decided to dine here. The ambiance is gorgeous and service was equally terrific. All of our meals were scrumptious and perfectly cooked. We ordered the salmon. seafood stew, and the kid's meal shrimp. Generous portions, fair prices, and an upscale yet casual atmosphere. Their Happy Hour menu and pricing is also great. You can find it all at the Cliffhouse and we highly recommend this gem to anyone who appreciates good food and service!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Enjoyed our meal, the wine and the servi ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Enjoyed our meal, the wine and the service. Marco our server was knowledgable and extremely friendly.

Tags: scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thank you to all the staff from the rece ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Thank you to all the staff from the receptionist to our sever. We had a very good dinner there for our 45th anniversary.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

We had a very nice meal and the service ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

We had a very nice meal and the service was great as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I won't say we were underwhelmed, as tha ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

I won't say we were underwhelmed, as that would be insulting to underwhelming restaurants... The atmosphere, the view, and the decor were great - service and food were lacking. My wife's martini showed up warm, as if it sat on the bar for 20+ minutes. Calamari was not "crispy" as described, but was still quite palatable, seared tuna was good, but rice undercooked and veggies WAY over cooked. I had ribs, they were over cooked and dry, but the sauce was good. I don't write bad reviews often, and I'm not condemning this spot, but simple fixes would have made this so much of a better experience that I hope management sees this and make it better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

Caitlin provided excellent service; she ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Caitlin provided excellent service; she was polite, had a great personality and was efficient.

The drinks were strong...loved the Moscow Mules! The food was prepared perfectly and even accommodated a couple changes (like a different sauce for the filet mignon and different veggies for the chicken dish); those little accommodations are what keep us coming back.

Hope to be back soon!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is always good. Service can be ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The food is always good. Service can be slow because they're busy. Bartenders are average at best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Great and friendly service Romantic sun ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Great and friendly service

Romantic sunset

Great location

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Our open table gift card was used toward ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Our open table gift card was used toward the bill but the manager could not figure out how to put the numbers into the computer. He was so kind as to remove that amount from our check.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

First time at the Cliffhouse and definit ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

First time at the Cliffhouse and definitely not our last. Recommended by our concierge. The food was presented beautifully and very delicious. Service was excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

When your in La Quinta CA do yourself a ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

When your in La Quinta CA do yourself a favor and eat at the Cliffhouse. Great food and great views.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mine and Gayles 22 year anniversary. We ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Mine and Gayles 22 year anniversary. We were there for Christmas dinner 2015. We love the Entire experience,food,service.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A unique experience with beautiful views ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

A unique experience with beautiful views. Warm ambience and excellent staff. Food was great!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Very good experience. Food and service ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Very good experience. Food and service were great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Food is great but their service is alway ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Food is great but their service is always a hit or miss.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Been here a few times. Always great serv ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Been here a few times. Always great service. Love that there are no screaming kids to put up with in dining room. Definitely not for the thrifty diner. That's why I like it.

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great time again! We went for the 2 cou ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Great time again! We went for the 2 course special meals between 5-6 p.m. Excellent choices, service. The staff was wonderful to the 6 year old twins who were very well behaved! Food was great as usual. This restaurant also has GREAT happy hour food and drinks daily!

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful Setting, Fabulous food & servi ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Beautiful Setting, Fabulous food & service, a wonderful dining experience!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Beautiful view. It is best to go at suns ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Beautiful view. It is best to go at sunset. It makes the dinner romantic. I will definitely be returning. The food was well prepared. The serve was very tentative to our needs. Great place for a date night.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.