About La Quinta Cliffhouse

78-250 Highway 111
La Quinta, CA 92253
View Larger Map

From the moment you approach the La Quinta Cliffhouse you are surrounded by the dramatic sights and sounds of this desert destination. Jutting from a massive rock outcropping above the desert floor the La Quinta Cliffhouse is renowned for its spectacular views across the valley and providing a lively, casual destination to enjoy a menu of American classics with innovative preparations focused on premium steaks and seafood at great prices. The menu highlights vibrant flavors from the valley along with a generous selection of fresh fish and seafood. The wine list has been thoughtfully chosen to complement the food and provide reasonably priced selections including rare and limited bottles. We DO NOT take reservations in the Bar area or for Happy Hour.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Daily 4:30pm - 9:00pm Sunday-Thursday and 4:30pm - 9:30pm Friday - Saturday

Sunset Dinner Special: Daily 4:30-5:30pm

Bar: Sunday-Thursday 3:30-9:30 PM Friday-Saturday: 3:30-10:00 PM

Happy Hour: Every night 3:30pm-6:30pm Sunday: all night

Cross Street:
Washington Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 360-5991

Website:
http://www.laquintacliffhouse.com/

Parking Details:
Both self-parking and valet offered.

Executive Chef:
Jorge Martinez

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Baked California Artichoke - La Quinta Cliffhouse, La Quinta, CA

Report a photo problem

Baked California Artichoke - La Quinta Cliffhouse, La Quinta, CA

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Wed 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Thu - Sat 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

La Quinta Cliffhouse offers 4 distinct event venues to accommodate intimate dinners to large celebrations. So whether it is a rehearsal dinner, corporate event, private party or holiday celebration, La Quinta Cliffhouse’s striking ambiance and warm staff will make your event a memorable one.

La Quinta Cliffhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (83)
Scenic View (72)
Good for a Date (67)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (63)
Neighborhood Gem (59)
Great for Outdoor Dining (55)
Happy Hour (51)
Romantic (49)
Good for Birthdays (44)
Casual (41)
Bar Seating (37)
Worth the Drive (37)
Good for Groups (34)
Cozy (34)
Quiet Conversation (34)
Notable Wine List (33)
Creative Cuisine (33)
Vibrant Bar Scene (26)
Outstanding Value (24)
Fit for Foodies (24)
Fun (23)
Fireplace (19)
Authentic (16)
Hot Spot (16)
Comfort Food (15)
Business Meals (15)
People Watching (13)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Historic (11)
Modern Decor (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Disabled Access (8)
Family Style (8)
Tasting Menu (6)
Seasonal (6)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Tapas (6)
Kid-friendly (6)
Private Room (5)
Healthy (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Vegan (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Quick Bite (3)
Live Sports (3)
Great Beer (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Wood Oven (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Organic (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Spicy (1)
Live Music (1)
Sort By:
S
2083 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Our food was great, but the server not s ...

 
·Dined 2 days ago

Our food was great, but the server not so great. She had an attitude and really wasn't very interested in any food allergies and trying make substitutions. She barely checked on us.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

One of our "Go-to" places in the desert. ...

 
·Dined 2 days ago

One of our "Go-to" places in the desert. We are never disappointed. Their food is top quality and the ambience is unique.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was great & loved their signature d ...

 
·Dined 2 days ago

Food was great & loved their signature dessert! Servers were very attentive & friendly!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent. Loved the atmosphere. Sat a ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent. Loved the atmosphere. Sat at the bar.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wish we would have requested where to be ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Wish we would have requested where to be seated. Loved the food, but got stuck back in an add on room.🙄

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

We always love going to the Cliffhouse. ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

We always love going to the Cliffhouse. Food and service is great!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We ordered off the sunset dinner menu. T ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

We ordered off the sunset dinner menu. The chicken gumbo soup was very good as was the BarBQ ribs entree. My wife always has the simple salmon which has a very tasty sauce.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great value, particularly on WED night, ...

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Great value, particularly on WED night, when wine by the bottle is 1/2 off.--- lamb meat ball APP. was a winner, and the short ribs were tender and flavorful--The scallops, as a APP, on the shell was a miss [more of a sauce with no real texture or substance]---The patio is a great setting, with plenty of warmth….Avoid the main dining room, as the noise level is HIGH---J.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Repeat customer, always enjoy, excellent ...

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Repeat customer, always enjoy, excellent waiter Nick

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

A wonderful evening in a gorgeous settin ...

 
·Dined 5 days ago

A wonderful evening in a gorgeous setting!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent overall experience and who kne ...

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent overall experience and who knew Weds was half price bottles of wine! Exceptionally knowledgeable server and did not rush us.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

We went there for a birthday We arrived ...

 
·Dined on January 7, 2017

We went there for a birthday

We arrived a bit before our reservation.

It took them a REAL long time to prepare our table

the service was good, once the waitress came to us

The food was ok to good

the noise level was , however, too energetic

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

I was disappointed by this visit to Clif ...

 
·Dined on January 6, 2017

I was disappointed by this visit to Cliff House although we have enjoyed it in the past. Our waiter was excellent but I asked for a recommendation and he suggested the ribeye which wasn't very good. It's a popular place and perhaps a bit better value than some other desert venues.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Great food, great atmosphere, exceptiona ...

 
·Dined on January 6, 2017

Great food, great atmosphere, exceptional staff! Wouldn't spend our anniversary anywhere else!!!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ribs were excellent but quite expensive ...

 
·Dined on January 6, 2017

Ribs were excellent but quite expensive for half rack with 4 small ribs and cole slaw. Menu was very limited.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Historic, Spicy, Live Sports, Family Style, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

We were a party of four and found this v ...

 
·Dined on January 3, 2017

We were a party of four and found this very disappointing. First, they tried to sat us in an area that had a sewer smell. Then they sat us next to the kitchen and we has reservations through you "Open Table". Then our waitress forgot our drinks. The waiters passed our food to us instead of placing it on the table in front of us. Also, the wait staff reached across in front of us with our plates. In my mind not high end or classy at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

Nice romantic dinner.

 
·Dined on January 2, 2017

Nice romantic dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We already knew this restaurant and all ...

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

We already knew this restaurant and all is still perfect. Good service, good food and pleasant place. We recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had reservations at 8:30 on NYE. We w ...

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

We had reservations at 8:30 on NYE. We were right on time but had to wait about 10 mins for our table. Other than that, service was pretty prompt, especially for NYE.

Food was very good but not amazing. My lobster bisque was very watery with 3 tiny flakes of lobster. Bread was delicious but no refill offered. My filet was NOT rare as requested (I literally stated "rare and I mean RARE" when I ordered, with my best friend chiming in "she means mooing still".) Had to send it back. 2nd filet was proper rare and quite good. Best friend's order of prime rib was very, very good. Not sure they were each worth $44 and $48 respectively but NYE usually has inflated prices at most places. Desert was a very yummy (and huge) slice of ice cream pie. We were seated down a side hallway in a narrow room overlooking the closed in patio so decor/ambience not the same as the main room but still pleasant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Our reservations on New Year's Eve were ...

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

Our reservations on New Year's Eve were at 8PM. We arrived a little early and were seated in a timely manner. We got menus, water and bread promptly and our friendly waiter took our order shortly after we were seated. The prime rib was not only beautifully presented, but the fairly thick cut was tender and delicious! The short ribs were lean and also tender; nicely paired with seasonal root vegetables. Nice wine list - we were able to order one of our favorite cabs at a reasonable price. We've dined here many times and plan to return when looking for a great dining experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, People Watching, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Private Room, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The Cliffhouse couldn't have been any be ...

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

The Cliffhouse couldn't have been any better for New Year's Eve. We had 2 reservations for 8 and another reservation for 4, making a total of 20 spots. We asked to have 2 of the tables close to each other. Not only did they do that, but they put the table of 4 with the other 16 so we could all be together.

Our waitress was amazing. The food was delicious. Not only were the orders all correct, but they came out at the same time, too! Even the steaks and prime rib were done perfectly. There was no problem with each couple having their own checks. We couldn't have been treated better.

I can't say enough about our experience on New Year's Eve. The Cliffhouse was phenomenal! We will definitely be back!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Molecular Gastronomy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a large group (20) get-together f ...

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

We had a large group (20) get-together for New Years Eve. They seated us all together in the patio area. Great food, no one was disappointed in their meal or the service. Our food was delivered to our tables at the same time. No waiting for food to arrive until we could begin eating.

Friendly staff and service.

Highly recommend the Cliff House for any event or night out.

Tags: Happy Hour, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful service, excellent food!

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

Wonderful service, excellent food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I would generally highly recommend the C ...

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

I would generally highly recommend the Cliff House however we went on New Year's Eve and it was so busy the staff were getting overwhelmed and things were missed. The Cliff House did take the responsibility and I will definitely be back for Happy Hour, one of the best!

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

good evening - great service on a busy n ...

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

good evening - great service on a busy night. Reservation honored. Food was good - if anything, our drinks were a little stronger than we like, but we will be back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

I have enjoyed the Cliff House on previo ...

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

I have enjoyed the Cliff House on previous occasions during their early-bird special. It is an excellent value with a limited, yet fulfilling menu. It also includes a wine special. The outside dining with the cliffs backdrop is great/ I look forward to future dinners at the Cliffs. I do have to say the New Years eve dinner was disappointing to my party. The prices were high, as I expected they would be, though I didn't expect the presentation and quanities to fall off as they did. I had the Scallops, very tasty, but four with a tasty micro-side for over $30.00? The same with the prime rib, very small, terrible presentation as well as the short rib, same thing. The value just wasn't there. I would not be comfortable in recommending the Cliffs for any specialty dinners such as New Years. The Early-bird dinner I had there was a better meal, for half the money, so I had high expectations for our New Years.

Tags: Scenic View, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

Best restaurant in the Valley!

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

Best restaurant in the Valley!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

We totally enjoyed our dinner. Food was ...

 
·Dined on December 30, 2016

We totally enjoyed our dinner. Food was excellent as was the service. A beautiful patio and ambiance.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fun, Open Kitchen, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding food and host attention. We ...

 
·Dined on December 30, 2016

Outstanding food and host attention. We had never been to the Cliffhouse and requested a seat by the outside bar, which we didn't know is first come first serve. David, the host, kindly called and I relied on him to pick a good table for us. He did an excellent job; the restaurant was extremely crowded and we had a perfectly sized table on the outside patio. The only drawback was the closeness of the tables and the loud conversation next to us. Our dinners were very healthy portions and Delicious across the board. The waitstaff was a bit overwhelmed but everything came hot and correct as ordered. The wine list also had many by the glass options, which is always nice. Would love to come back when it's not high vacation season, and for the sunset dinners.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Had a reservation for 6:15, but got ther ...

 
·Dined on December 27, 2016

Had a reservation for 6:15, but got there an hour early, and there was no problem getting in. Glad we did, the view of the sun setting over the mountains was spectacular. We got there for the early menu, which was very reasonably priced and had many of the same items as the regular menu. Would definitely go back.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was timely and not in your f ...

 
·Dined on December 26, 2016

The service was timely and not in your face.

The food was delicious. I strongly recommend the mushroom burrata appetizer - for anyone that likes mushrooms. The sea bass was fabulous. The fish was seasoned perfectly with sides that complemented the fish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Went there on Christmas day with a party ...

 
·Dined on December 26, 2016

Went there on Christmas day with a party of 7. Ambiance was nice and we sat near fireplace. Bread was excellent although had trouble getting a second basket. Food was very good, but a bit pricey! I had scallops and they were good. My boyfriend had prime rib which was cooked perfect, and he gave it a 4 out of 5. My daughter had filet mignon and she said it was good, but tasted a little burnt on the bottom and she had wished it had mashed potato instead of boiled. I had checked menu in advance and the prices seemed a little lower then when we got there, hmmmm!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

The service was weird.I ordered the sea ...

 
·Dined on December 26, 2016

The service was weird.I ordered the sea bass but because I am gluten free I could not have the soy sauce that was mentioned on the menu. No alternative was offered. The sea bass was served without a sauce; it was very bland. We were still eating our soup when they brought our entrees. Someone noticed this and took them away. Someone apologized for the mess up. Overall strange but we would return.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

I eat at the Cliffhouse a lot but my exp ...

 
·Dined on December 26, 2016

I eat at the Cliffhouse a lot but my experience on Christma was not great. We were rushed through so quickly that we didn't even have time to hardly start our Cadillac margaritas and our food was already at our table. My brother was still eating and they removed his plate and was left holding his bread in his hand with no knife to butter with, while at the same time, handing us the bill all within 50 minutes from the time we sat down. We wanted to order another drink and sit for a few minutes, but felt like cows being herded through quickly. I realize you were very busy, but I didn't appreciate not feeling welcome to enjoy another drink. I must say, the food was excellent, as always. The pork shank was the very best I have had and the brussel sprouts were cooked perfectly.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Dined at The Cliffhouse for Christmas da ...

 
·Dined on December 26, 2016

Dined at The Cliffhouse for Christmas day dinner - it didn't disappoint! Food was delicious, great service, nice location, good ambiance. Two thumbs up!

Tags: Scenic View, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Cozy, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My family of 7 had an outstanding Christ ...

 
·Dined on December 25, 2016

My family of 7 had an outstanding Christmas lunch/dinner at Cliffhouse while visiting Palm Desert for the holidays. Everyone enjoyed their meal immensely. The food was delicious and beautifully presented. We ordered a bottle of red and white wine, both of which were very good and a good price point. Our server, Karina, was extremely attentive and took tare of our every request. We originally had an earlier reservation time and called to ask if we could move it back by an hour. They were cheerfully able to accommodate the change and we even had a table in the bar where our guys could keep up with the football game (on mute). This is such a lovely restaurant and only our second time here. It will be our go to place any time we're in town.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wow - Visiting Coachella Valley for Chri ...

 
·Dined on December 25, 2016

Wow - Visiting Coachella Valley for Christmas vacation, we had Christmas Day dinner here - and it was nothing short of superb.

Immediately seated upon approaching reception podium, very quickly greeted by our server, and served wine and appetizers very timely - all with the restaurant all full occupancy. This is a place that definitely has their act together.

Then main courses came and they were generously portioned and very tasty. Deserts were excellent. Very pleasant environment and atmosphere. Not inexpensive but a true value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our friends and family gather every year ...

 
·Dined on December 25, 2016

Our friends and family gather every year for Christmas dinner. Our server was attentive and the food was good.

Tags: Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We had great dinner and service was exc ...

 
·Dined on December 25, 2016

We had great dinner and service was exceptional. We had a 7 and 5 year old. Nice that you have children's menu.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

always enjoy. My son loved the scallops ...

 
·Dined on December 24, 2016

always enjoy. My son loved the scallops and I always enjoy the vegetable curry

Tags: Organic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.