About La Quinta Cliffhouse

78-250 Highway 111
La Quinta, CA 92253
View Larger Map

From the moment you approach the La Quinta Cliffhouse you are surrounded by the dramatic sights and sounds of this desert destination. Jutting from a massive rock outcropping above the desert floor the La Quinta Cliffhouse is renowned for its spectacular views across the valley and providing a lively, casual destination to enjoy a menu of American classics with innovative preparations focused on premium steaks and seafood at great prices. The menu highlights vibrant flavors from the valley along with a generous selection of fresh fish and seafood. The wine list has been thoughtfully chosen to complement the food and provide reasonably priced selections including rare and limited bottles. We DO NOT take reservations in the Bar area or for Happy Hour.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Daily 5pm - 9:00pm Sunday-Thursday and 5pm - 9:30pm Friday - Saturday

Sunset Dinner Special: Daily 5-6pm

Bar: Daily 4pm-9:30pm

Happy Hour: 4pm-6:30pm

Cross Street:
Washington Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 360-5991

Website:
http://www.laquintacliffhouse.com/

Parking Details:
Both self-parking and valet offered.

Executive Chef:
Kelly Walling

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Baked California Artichoke
Baked California Artichoke

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 8:00PM - 9:00PM

Fri - Sat 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

La Quinta Cliffhouse offers 4 distinct event venues to accommodate intimate dinners to large celebrations. So whether it is a rehearsal dinner, corporate event, private party or holiday celebration, La Quinta Cliffhouse’s striking ambiance and warm staff will make your event a memorable one.

La Quinta Cliffhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Scenic View
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
Special Occasion
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
American
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
7 More
Most Booked
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
Scenic View
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Special Occasion
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
American
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Most Booked
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Best Restaurants in La Quinta ›

Special Occasion (134)
Scenic View (118)
Romantic (90)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (77)
Great for Outdoor Dining (72)
Fit for Foodies (60)
Good for Groups (58)
Vibrant Bar Scene (54)
Notable Wine List (42)
Hot Spot (21)
Kid-friendly (11)
Great for Lunch (10)
Late-night Find (8)
Great for Brunch (8)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1819 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We just moved full time to the desert so ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined 3 days ago

We just moved full time to the desert so we will be frequenting bar/restaurant more

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Quick Bite, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

First time at The Cliff House, great at ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined 3 days ago

First time at The Cliff House, great atmosphere and good service. Food was good but nothing special and a little pricy. A very good job by the bar tender, knows how to make a proper martini. Would try again for drinks and small plates by the outside bar.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

First time at this restaurant. The setti ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined 4 days ago

First time at this restaurant. The setting is nice if you can get the main dining room.The also have a very lively bar area where you can dine. Service was excellent. Portion size was very large. The manage came over to ask us how we were doing and thanked us for visiting. The waitstaff was very attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We have dined at the Cliffhouse many tim ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined 6 days ago

We have dined at the Cliffhouse many times. The menu doesn't change much, but the choices offered are quite diversified and the food quality is good or better. If they are busy, the noise can be a little excessive, but they have installed noise damping architectural features which help a lot. The two dinning rooms are very pleasantly decorated, and the service is very good. We continue to recommend the Cliffhouse for a pleasant evening with good food at a reasonable value. We especially like the catfish (yes, the catfish, it is an excellent dish) and the Chilean Sea Bass. See previous reviews for more info.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Very good summer 3 course dinner for $20 ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Very good summer 3 course dinner for $20.00.

Nice view--Good service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Favorite restaurant in the valley. Great ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Favorite restaurant in the valley. Great ambience as always and food and service were terrific.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Came for the early bird specials. We had ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Came for the early bird specials. We had sweet salmon and beef short ribs. The food was delicious, the service was excellent and it was a nice ambiance.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We were seated immediately even though t ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We were seated immediately even though there were a lot of people waiting. Making a reservation through Open Table was perfect because the reservation was honored. The food was outstanding as was the service. The only negative was that the wine list is on a computer tablet which to me was not user friendly. The waiter also said they were having trouble with the computer. When I go to a restaurant, I appreciate looking at a wine list from a menu. Otherwise, we had a great experience and will come back over and over.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Prices too high for quality of good. Ser ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Prices too high for quality of good. Service was sporadic. Never asked if we wanted any wine nor if our party of six wanted any dessert. We saved a lot of money and time, but would have liked to have a better experience.

Seemed like the place is frequented by a much older (older than 70) crowd.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

Food and environment were great. The wa ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Food and environment were great. The waitpersons left a lot to be desired. They were

not attentive, we had to wave to get their attention - we were seated for at least 15 minutes

before we were acknowledged. Not the usual A+ service that we were accustomed to, and

expected. Disappointed to say the least.

Thanks for asking.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

On vacation in La Quinta, we went here f ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

On vacation in La Quinta, we went here for our anniversary dinner. The food and service was wonderful . We were pleasantly surprised at the very reasonable cost for our delicious meal.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place to have an ice dinner with t ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Great place to have an ice dinner with the family. Service was excellent and the staff extremely accommodating!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very nice restaurant. Easy to park. Nice ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Very nice restaurant. Easy to park. Nice bar. It was just very warm inside.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Manager greeted and seated four of us at ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Manager greeted and seated four of us at a beautiful table by the window. Our wait staffer Laurie, did an excellent job of taking care of us throughout our meal. We enjoy the Sunset dinners and we were not disappointed - salmon and ribs with bacon added on my wedge. Service is amazing and the prices are very reasonable. We'll definitely return soon!

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything great as usual.

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Everything great as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was ok, but nothing special. The Ja ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Food was ok, but nothing special. The Japanese clam chowder soup was bad. The restaurant was not bad but nothing special, ok food, ok ambiance,

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

The shrimp were over cooked and the muss ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

The shrimp were over cooked and the mussels were not as fresh as they should be. Both were not up to the standard you would expect at a quality restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5

I had been there on business before and ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

I had been there on business before and had a chance to take my husband. We had a great dinner!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service is impeccable. Food is always m ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Service is impeccable. Food is always mouthwatering delicious. Value cannot be compared. We LOVE the sunset dinners. The icing on the cake is the rewards program! The Cliffhouse is our absolute favorite restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had the sunset dinner & it was very g ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

We had the sunset dinner & it was very good. My husband had the soup and I had the wedge salad and we both had the sugar salmon. We each had a glass of the house wine.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

we went in for the sunset dinner. GREAT ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

we went in for the sunset dinner. GREAT value! loved it and will go back again. loved the vibe and our waiter was great! all other service staff were attentive as well which is not always the case. we are new the area and will be back again for sure! :)

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

There were 8 of us celebrating our 44th ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

There were 8 of us celebrating our 44th wedding anniversary. Everyone at the Cliff house gave us their kind attention especially. the host, the waiter and Bif, the manager. Bif inquired about the occasion and then without asking, provided us with a special dessert for the occasion. Everyone in our party was impressed with the food, the presentation and the ambiance. Everyone said they will be returning to the Cliff House.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Every time we come to visit Indian Wells ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Every time we come to visit Indian Wells we always eat at the Cliff House. This is our favorite restaurant. The Service is great and the food/drinks is great too!!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a nice window seat and were able ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

We had a nice window seat and were able to watch a beautiful sunset. We were celebrating a birthday and after dinner we were presented with a humongous piece of ice cream pie with chocolate sauce and macadamia nuts. Overall , a nice relaxing dinner for an affordable price with great service.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our party had the ribs, to die for! The ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Our party had the ribs, to die for! They even accommodated with different sides because we weren't in the mood for the corn bread and coleslaw which was awesome! We also had a wedge and the mussels small plate... Great as always. Server was attentive but didn't rush us and knew how to lay low when we were in conversation. Thanks for a great visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The oysters were the best ever in the de ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

The oysters were the best ever in the desert. The Sunset meals were fabulous, seafood stew was good but too fishy. Lovely evening, good service and ambience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Two visits in a row and the food was jus ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Two visits in a row and the food was just okay. I had the lamb ball appetizer and it was far too spicy. The menu description did not say spicy.

Last week we dined at Pacifica Seafood and it was fantastic. Cliff House needs an update on the menu.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Great location, great atmosphere! My fa ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Great location, great atmosphere!

My family and I will visit again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Get there early- sunset specials and ho ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Get there early- sunset specials and house wine are excellent find...

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great spot...great food. The AC was not ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Great spot...great food. The AC was not working well for the first 1/2 of our dinner..got very warm int he dining room...soon it began cooling off. The Salmon is wonderful.. Beet salad..yum

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great service!! Thank you Danielle for m ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Great service!! Thank you Danielle for making the birthday so special!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We made reservations for our anniversary ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

We made reservations for our anniversary. We arrived 30 min early to have drinks and apps in the bar. The menu on the website was not updated because we wanted the artichoke and they did not have that anymore. Food was good. Service was very slow. We then got sat at the first table next to the door. I had asked for a nice table. This was noisy. The waitress was nice but not great. No explanation of specials, had to ask for everything. Was handed a to go box. Asked for ground pepper was told it was on the table. No mention of dessert. I'm in the service industry and it would have been nice to have great service for our special event.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

Cliffhouse is a dining jewel in the dese ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Cliffhouse is a dining jewel in the desert. The Sunset Dinner menu offers a variety of tasty entrees. The main menu is superb. We visit Cliffhouse dining room, outdoor dining and the bustling outdoor bar. I have only kudos to report, never a disappointment. The wait staff is knowledgable, efficient and friendly. A 10+ dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing place, with great food and great ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Amazing place, with great food and great service, and a view that's just breathtaking. Good quality restaurant, and it's showing as, at 6p, all the tables were occupied, and through dinner we saw some tables having 3 seatings: as this is the height of the hot summer here, it's quite an achievement that reflects the efforts and attention of management and staff. Hats off!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my first time dining there and ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

This was my first time dining there and my expectation was high. But sadly the food fell slightly short of what I was hoping for. Ambience was nice but a bit loud. It was difficult to have a conversation at times with friends across the table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Took my wife for her birthday and we had ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Took my wife for her birthday and we had an excellent experience at the Cliffhouse. Would recommend.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Great place to meet up with friends or c ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Great place to meet up with friends or clients with a drink at the bar and then head to an area a bit more quiet for dinner. Love this place for any occasion!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great dinner for my b-day. The shrimp ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Great dinner for my b-day. The shrimp cocktail was served with huge prawns and a zesty cocktail sauce. I would have liked a little more lettuce with the sauce, so I could have enjoyed the entire dish. My seafood stew was excellent, with a good variety and quantity of seafood. My husband enjoyed the split pea soup and the ribs as well. Our cocktails were tasty from the bar as well. Have never been disappointed in this restaurant. Service is excellent as well, from the valet to the wait staff. A bit noisy in the room we were in, just everyone having a good time.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent as always! Seating is great. ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Excellent as always! Seating is great. Place is clean. Terrific menu!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good dining experience

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Good dining experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.