About La Quinta Cliffhouse

78-250 Highway 111
La Quinta, CA 92253
View Larger Map

From the moment you approach the La Quinta Cliffhouse you are surrounded by the dramatic sights and sounds of this desert destination. Jutting from a massive rock outcropping above the desert floor the La Quinta Cliffhouse is renowned for its spectacular views across the valley and providing a lively, casual destination to enjoy a menu of American classics with innovative preparations focused on premium steaks and seafood at great prices. The menu highlights vibrant flavors from the valley along with a generous selection of fresh fish and seafood. The wine list has been thoughtfully chosen to complement the food and provide reasonably priced selections including rare and limited bottles. We DO NOT take reservations in the Bar area or for Happy Hour.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Daily 5pm - 9:00pm Sunday-Thursday and 5pm - 9:30pm Friday - Saturday

Sunset Dinner Special: Daily 5-6pm

Bar: Daily 4pm-9:30pm

Happy Hour: 4pm-6:30pm

Cross Street:
Washington Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 360-5991

Website:
http://www.laquintacliffhouse.com/

Parking Details:
Both self-parking and valet offered.

Executive Chef:
Kelly Walling

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Baked California Artichoke
Baked California Artichoke

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

La Quinta Cliffhouse offers 4 distinct event venues to accommodate intimate dinners to large celebrations. So whether it is a rehearsal dinner, corporate event, private party or holiday celebration, La Quinta Cliffhouse’s striking ambiance and warm staff will make your event a memorable one.

La Quinta Cliffhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Scenic View
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
American
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
Most Booked
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
5 More
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
Scenic View
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
American
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Most Booked
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Best Restaurants in La Quinta ›

Special Occasion (111)
Scenic View (91)
Romantic (74)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (62)
Great for Outdoor Dining (50)
Good for Groups (48)
Vibrant Bar Scene (44)
Fit for Foodies (42)
Hot Spot (24)
Notable Wine List (24)
Good for a Date (22)
Good for Anniversaries (19)
Happy Hour (19)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Great for Lunch (11)
Worth the Drive (11)
Casual (10)
Kid-friendly (10)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Great for Brunch (8)
Late-night Find (8)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Business Meals (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Cozy (6)
Fun (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Disabled Access (4)
People Watching (4)
Fireplace (4)
Authentic (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Great Beer (2)
Historic (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Seasonal (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Tapas (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Healthy (1)
Family Style (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1851 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Service from the host was outstanding fo ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined 4 days ago

Service from the host was outstanding food was great waitresses were pleasant and helpful !

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The place was ok but they need to dim th ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined 5 days ago

The place was ok but they need to dim the dinner lighting.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value3

This restaurant is in a beautiful settin ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined 5 days ago

This restaurant is in a beautiful setting. It is built into a cliff with desert plants and a waterfall. The staff is very friendly and the atmosphere relaxed. I would recommend it for any occasion or simply as a great place for a meal. Reasonably priced and a varied menu.

Tags: Good for Groups, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Great food & great service ! Tables are ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined 5 days ago

Great food & great service ! Tables are so close together you have to talk over the next couple :(

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

I was celebrating my 70th B-Day with 2 g ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

I was celebrating my 70th B-Day with 2 good friends. We had wonderful food, great service and a nice view table. We had a wonderful

Dessert compted to us and we loved the whole experience!!!!

Tags: Happy Hour, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were joined by friends to belatedly c ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

We were joined by friends to belatedly celebrate my birthday and enjoyed a pleasant meal and conversation. Food was excellent and service was comfortably paced to our request. The evening was successful and we plan to return soon.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Excellent visit from start to finish. I ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Excellent visit from start to finish. I had mentioned on the reservation that it was our 15th anniversary celebration, just hoping to get a table off to the side. To our surprise every staff member we saw stated 'Happy Anniversary' and we were even given a desert to celebrate at the conclusion of dinner. Was very impressed

Tags: Happy Hour, Fireplace, Romantic, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen, Scenic View, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Cliff House was recommended to me by ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

The Cliff House was recommended to me by some locals I played golf with and it did not disappoint. It is beautiful building and dining area and the food was excellent.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good food, good service, full bar scene, ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Good food, good service, full bar scene, good happy hour.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Outstanding. We had eight guys on a golf ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Outstanding. We had eight guys on a golf weekend and we all said we'd be back.

Each guy ordered something different for dinner and very meal was terrific.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was very good and the venue was ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

The food was very good and the venue was really cool with the restaurant built into the side of the rocks. I would recommend this restaurant, even though it was a little pricey.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We had driven by this restaurant for yea ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

We had driven by this restaurant for years and always wanted to go for dinner. A special occasion came up and we booked it right away. The ambiance was great, we had attentive food servers and absolutely delicious meals. We will definitely be back with friends.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As expected this was a goo evening. We u ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

As expected this was a goo evening. We usually go for Happy Hour as they have the best in town. The early dinner menu was great .. good choices, good value and great service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was good, not stellar. But the ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

The food was good, not stellar. But the great ambiance makes it even better. Service was solid. Not intrusive or overly attentive but courteous and friendly. I had the seafood stew. The fish was tender with nice size chunks. My fiancé had the short ribs which are hard to do wrong. The wam sourdough bread was addictive and I definitely dipped one too many into my tomato broth.

This place is a great option if you're in or near La Quinta.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

The waitress was fantastic, BUT to begin ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

The waitress was fantastic, BUT to begin, the bread came after the salads. The blue cheese wedge was ok, but the filet was awful! Terribly overcooked when I asked for medium rare. It was inedible. In fact, I passed it on to my BF who couldn't chew it either. Terribly disappointed. We loved the setting up against the rocks but it was a wind tunnel and hard to really enjoy the patio.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5

The food was fine, the service was great ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

The food was fine, the service was great.

I am disappointed I was unable to use the rewards points for the dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We had a really nice experience. The fo ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

We had a really nice experience. The food was very good. We did not feel rushed.

Felt the bar drinks could have been better (especially if they are signature cocktails)

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The location is very unique and special. ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

The location is very unique and special. We sat outside and could hear and see the beautiful waterfall. The food was delicious. I had the Chilean Sea Bass which was excellent! My husband enjoyed the ribeye. Great service! We were with a large party and service was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've lived in the desert for a bit and n ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

I've lived in the desert for a bit and never ate here. I came back for a visit and know that I will be coming back to make this a fav. They were so accommodating and love the staff.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The LQ Cliff House remains one of our fa ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

The LQ Cliff House remains one of our favorite restaurants. We particularly love just being there. It is a unique location. The food and service were excellent. Wish it was just one $ less expensive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Great atmosphere with great food to comp ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Great atmosphere with great food to compliment the atmospheric sphere.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Food very good. Services attentive but n ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Food very good. Services attentive but not overbearing. Avery nice dining experience.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

They management , wait staff and food wa ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

They management , wait staff and food was perfect!

We celebrated our 40th wedding anniversary!

Thank You!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

This is my go to restaurant to take frie ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

This is my go to restaurant to take friends and family.

Food is great.

Service is very attentive.

Word to the wise, if you go for the baked artichoke appetizer, wait til November when they are back in season.

$20 Sunset Dinners are the best. Just order before 6 p.m,

Tags: Late-night Find, Happy Hour, Disabled Access, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was delicious. Great ambience. Serv ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Food was delicious. Great ambience. Service was wonderful. Recommend the ginger martini.

Sunset dinners are a great value.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner was ok, but no where as good as i ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Dinner was ok, but no where as good as it used to be when under different ownership.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Groups, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

The service was over the top excellent ! ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

The service was over the top excellent ! We were able to see the sunset ! The manager was wonderful ans caring ans making sure everyone was enjoying the cuisine . We will be back when we visit the area . The sunset menus were awesome . The Salmon and skirt steak . Ice cream pie was a great ending .

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Food was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was a return visit after an absence ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

This was a return visit after an absence. We selected the Cliff House to celebrate our anniversary. The staff made the event memorable and enjoyable. The quality of the food was outstanding.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food. Great service. The decor o ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Great food. Great service. The decor of the restaurant is very nice. Cozy but not cramped. The wait staff if extremely attentive but are careful not to "hover". The food came out in a timely manner and was prepared to our requests. The rib eye steak and roasted port loin were fabulous. Nice desert menu as well. I'd recommend this place to anyone wanting an enjoyable evening with great food and service. We'll be back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very unimpressed. Cornbread muffins were ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Very unimpressed. Cornbread muffins were ice cold on delivery, indicating they were frozen, not freshly baked. Ribs were so dry as to be beef jerkey, not ribs. Will not go there again

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

One word, Outstanding. I would dine her ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

One word, Outstanding. I would dine here anytime for any occasion.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We just moved full time to the desert so ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

We just moved full time to the desert so we will be frequenting bar/restaurant more

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Quick Bite, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

First time at The Cliff House, great at ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

First time at The Cliff House, great atmosphere and good service. Food was good but nothing special and a little pricy. A very good job by the bar tender, knows how to make a proper martini. Would try again for drinks and small plates by the outside bar.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

First time at this restaurant. The setti ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

First time at this restaurant. The setting is nice if you can get the main dining room.The also have a very lively bar area where you can dine. Service was excellent. Portion size was very large. The manage came over to ask us how we were doing and thanked us for visiting. The waitstaff was very attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We have dined at the Cliffhouse many tim ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

We have dined at the Cliffhouse many times. The menu doesn't change much, but the choices offered are quite diversified and the food quality is good or better. If they are busy, the noise can be a little excessive, but they have installed noise damping architectural features which help a lot. The two dinning rooms are very pleasantly decorated, and the service is very good. We continue to recommend the Cliffhouse for a pleasant evening with good food at a reasonable value. We especially like the catfish (yes, the catfish, it is an excellent dish) and the Chilean Sea Bass. See previous reviews for more info.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Very good summer 3 course dinner for $20 ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Very good summer 3 course dinner for $20.00.

Nice view--Good service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Favorite restaurant in the valley. Great ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Favorite restaurant in the valley. Great ambience as always and food and service were terrific.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Came for the early bird specials. We had ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Came for the early bird specials. We had sweet salmon and beef short ribs. The food was delicious, the service was excellent and it was a nice ambiance.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We were seated immediately even though t ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We were seated immediately even though there were a lot of people waiting. Making a reservation through Open Table was perfect because the reservation was honored. The food was outstanding as was the service. The only negative was that the wine list is on a computer tablet which to me was not user friendly. The waiter also said they were having trouble with the computer. When I go to a restaurant, I appreciate looking at a wine list from a menu. Otherwise, we had a great experience and will come back over and over.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.