About La Provence

25020 Highway 190
Lacombe, LA 70445
View Larger Map

Country French inspired restaurant. At La Provence, “cooking with heart” means everything. The menu blithely ignores the cutting edge of urban contemporary French food, and instead reflects the time-honored, time-consuming rustic techniques that in turn reflect the rugged earthiness of the ingredients.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Wednesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Sunday Brunch: 10:00am - 3:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(985) 626-7662

Website:
http://www.laprovencerestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
From New Orleans: Take I10 west to Causeway Blvd. North towards Mandeville, approximately 24 miles. Upon exiting the bridge stay right on
Highway 190 East. Continue on 190 East approximately 8miles. La Provence will be located on your right side 2 miles past Fountainbleau State
Park.

Executive Chef:
Erick Loos IV

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Fireplace, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

La Provence, Lacombe, LA
La Provence, Lacombe, LA
La Provence, Lacombe, LA
Local Citrus Tart - La Provence, Lacombe, LA
Whole Cooked Porchetta - La Provence, Lacombe, LA
Turtle Soup - La Provence, Lacombe, LA
Crispy Softshell Crab, Heirloom Tomatoes, Country Ham & Garden Basil Pistou - La Provence, Lacombe, LA
Chilled Cucumber & Buttermilk Soup W/Shrimp Remoulade Stuffed Tomato - La Provence, Lacombe, LA
Rabbit Boudin Blanc Over Cavatelli & Chantrelles - La Provence, Lacombe, LA
Pan Seared Grouper With Truffed Farro "Risotto", Brussel Sprouts, Preserved Sour Cherries, Roast Acorn Squash - La Provence, Lacombe, LA
Shrimp And Mirliiton Salad  - La Provence, Lacombe, LA

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

At La Provence, we have a private dining room available for social and corporate events, with seating for up to 75 and 125 guests reception style. The beautiful Garden Room features a large fireplace, custom artwork and opens on to the courtyard with fountain.

La Provence Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (33)
Special Occasion (30)
Good for Anniversaries (27)
See All
Fireplace (27)
Worth the Drive (25)
Local Ingredients (25)
Cozy (22)
Good for a Date (20)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Notable Wine List (11)
Authentic (10)
Seasonal (10)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Great for Brunch (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Business Meals (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Wood Oven (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Historic (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Organic (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Family Style (2)
Scenic View (2)
Fun (2)
Casual (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Private Room (2)
Healthy (1)
People Watching (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
1415 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We had an incredible experience. The foo ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 3 days ago

We had an incredible experience. The food was excellent and the staff was friendly and accommodating. We look forward to coming back with friends.

Tags: Cozy, Comfort Food, Organic, Quiet Conversation, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always love our meal at La Provence! I a ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Always love our meal at La Provence! I am a fan of ordering what is in season locally and they are wonderful about offering these choices all across the menu, from cocktails to dessert!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Was incredibly underwhelmed. If you are ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Was incredibly underwhelmed. If you are asked to spend 700 dollars on a meal at a restaurant with an outstanding reputation and John Besh's name attached, you expect absolutely delicious, perfect food. The food was either overdone or completely lacking. In the past, this has been my wife's favorite restaurant, but after Friday night, I will be reluctant to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

The food was fabulous! The wait staff w ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 6, 2017

The food was fabulous! The wait staff was very friendly and attentive. And, as always the restaurant is simply beautiful.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service! Was not rushed t ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Great food and service! Was not rushed through the meal. Great place for a special occasion. Great ambience with fireplace. Would definitely return.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Cozy, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our first time dining at Chef Besh' rest ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Our first time dining at Chef Besh' restaurant. Wonderful rustic atmosphere and very friendly service. Food left a little to be desired but overall great experience!!!

Tags: Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Romantic, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Cozy, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Great romantic French-country restaurant ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great romantic French-country restaurant with exceptional food and service. Our pre-dinner drinks at the bar were smooth and delicious. My wife had amazing venison on the Réveillon Dinner and I had the pork chop. Both food selections were top notch. Overall this place is really special and we will be back in the spring.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Night before New Years!

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Night before New Years!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We were celebrating a milestone birthday ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We were celebrating a milestone birthday and it was our first visit to the restaurant. It exceeded our expectations. We were greeted with champagne, which was an unexpected surprise. From the appetizers to the entrée and dessert, everything was perfection. The food was delicious, our server was magnificent, we couldn't ask for anything more. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

La Provence has always been consistently ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 29, 2016

La Provence has always been consistently good. Our dinner did not disappoint. One of our party required gluten free options and there were many. Was a lovely evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The restaurant was a huge disappointment ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 25, 2016

The restaurant was a huge disappointment on Christmas Day due to the menu offerings that had been sold out....Prime Rib and Goose, two Christmas traditions. The chef was not able to substitute and the remaining offerings were not appealing to our party....a local lake fish, wild boar with pasta, shrimp with pasta and a venison offering with an additional $27 charge. The manager appropriately comped the round of cocktails and a bottle of wine that we ordered. The reviews and star ratings built up our excitement to be able to travel over two thousand miles for a culinary holiday and it was not met.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Had Ms. Brittany (Britney ?) for a waitr ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Had Ms. Brittany (Britney ?) for a waitress. Told her how much we appreciated her working Christmas Day so people like us had some good food to experience.She looked a little tired but took fine care of my wife and me. Liked the setting,liked my food and will return when we can...

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Have been here many times. The food is ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Have been here many times. The food is always wonderful, the service just seem to run into a snag at the end of the meal. Once the entree's were dropped we seemed to be ignored. After entrée plates were removed we had about a 45 minute gap of any table visit or maintenance. Has never really happened before so I with out a doubt be back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Dinner on Christmas Eve started with bei ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Dinner on Christmas Eve started with being seated 30 minutes late. It seemed as though the restaurant was not staffed adequately as service was a bit slow. The food was very good and overall it was a nice experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

When you spend 600.00

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 25, 2016

When you spend 600.00

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

This is a special place to enjoy the con ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 24, 2016

This is a special place to enjoy the consumption of food at leisure, and without any annoyances. We have given several of our friends, a gift certificate for their pleasure in dining.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As usual, great food!! My other half lov ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 18, 2016

As usual, great food!! My other half loves the pumpkin soup. Karen, our server, who is THE best!, last time said they were not going to have it on themenu this season. Then a couple of weeks passed and she called me and said she talked to the chef and if we give him a couple of days, he would make ir specially for her!! And that they did!!

Great place!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fireplace, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My meal was extraordinary two of my coll ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 18, 2016

My meal was extraordinary two of my colleagues didn't fare so well

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Great food, good wine selection, and goo ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Great food, good wine selection, and good wines by the glass. Fine dining with creative dishes.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Best Besh Restaurant. Love the food, the ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Best Besh Restaurant. Love the food, the relaxed experience. Never disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I brought my wife here to celebrate her ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 11, 2016

I brought my wife here to celebrate her birthday. We went on a particularly cold night, so they had the fireplaces going--the restaurant was cozy and inviting.

While there were reasonably healthy options on the menu, I wouldn't recommend it if you're on a diet. There also isn't a big selection for vegan folks, but the food is excellent.

We also enjoyed some of the seasonal cocktails, which featured cider and local satsumas.

Overall we were very pleased with the service, food, and drinks. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fireplace, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Well worth the drive from New Orleans. G ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Well worth the drive from New Orleans. Great great food with a much nicer environment than can be found in the city. Excellent food quality and service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Pate and the Satsuma Sage Breeze Coc ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 10, 2016

The Pate and the Satsuma Sage Breeze Cocktail are to die for!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is my "go-to" place for special occ ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 9, 2016

This is my "go-to" place for special occasions, birthdays, anniversaries, etc. it's always quiet and cozy, and especially on a cool autumn or winter evening, a table by the fire is delightful. Service is always excellent and food is the best in the area. I'd recommend it to everyone.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A Northshore Standard. We have been goin ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 26, 2016

A Northshore Standard. We have been going to La Provence for 35 years, the first time to celebrate our anniversary. On our most recent visit, we were joined by our grown children and their spouses. We will always have a special affinity for La Provence, and will return. Service was very good. The warm mushroom salad was probably the best dish of the night, with great smoky roasted hen of the woods mushrooms. The eggplant neopolitan from the market menu was delightful, and the wild boar ragout was also good.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

We love La Provance. We had to take our ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 25, 2016

We love La Provance. We had to take our out of town family there when they come. It's so nice to have a John Besh restaurant on the Northshore!

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

12 Family members had an unforgettable T ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 24, 2016

12 Family members had an unforgettable Thanksgiving prix fix. Kids menu separate. Appetizer, entree and dessert. Kids loved going out to see the pigs and chickens grown on site out back. Staff exceedingly attentive but not intrusive. Wonderful experience...

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Fun, Tasting Menu, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was out of this world! This has ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 24, 2016

The food was out of this world! This has to be one of the most attractive restaurants around. The servic was attentive without being overbearing.

Tags: Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I spend the vening for the first time wi ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 20, 2016

I spend the vening for the first time with my Husband and we had a wondefull and tasty night. Thank you!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Wood Oven, Disabled Access, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went to La Provence for girlfriends birt ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Went to La Provence for girlfriends birthday. They gave us two glasses of champagne on the house for her birthday, and the rest of the service was also excellent. Took time to walk around the farm with a lantern they provided and got to pet the pigs. Sat by the fireplace and bar to finish our bottle of wine. It was a fantastic experience and can't wait to go back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a wonderful 5 star experience. L ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Always a wonderful 5 star experience. Lovely for Sunday brunch.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fireplace, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food! Wonderful dining experience.

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Great food! Wonderful dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, great service, a great place ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Great food, great service, a great place for a special occasion, pricey but worth every penny

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The most outstanding menu ever. The rust ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 10, 2016

The most outstanding menu ever. The rustic setting is special. It is worth driving here. We go every time we are in New Orleans.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolute perfection, time and time again ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Absolute perfection, time and time again. This visit, Dale and the staff at La Provence helped create an unforgettable evening. I haven't been able to stop raving about the incredible food, romantic environment, and total attention to detail every step of the way.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All courses of the meal were excellent.T ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 4, 2016

All courses of the meal were excellent.The receipes were unique and prepared as described.The staff were well trained and friendly.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just THE best restaurant for food, ambia ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Just THE best restaurant for food, ambiance, and a terrific wait staff. Ask for Karen, she is the best server!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful food. Wonderful service.

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Wonderful food. Wonderful service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Thoroughly enjoyed our brunch. Creative ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed our brunch. Creative cuisine, with lots of choices for appetizers, entree and dessert. Attentive service. Comfortable, relaxing dining room.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We went to La Provence for my wife's bir ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 23, 2016

We went to La Provence for my wife's birthday and took a chance on this somewhat distant restaurant. I wanted to enjoy a farm-to-table restaurant, and taking a nice drive to get to the restaurant was made more romantic by the sunset over Lake Pontchartrain and a beautiful sky. We were met with an immediate table, and felt the vibe of the restaurant perfectly suited our desires to enjoy some quiet time together without the kids. The manager brought us champagne to celebrate my wife's birthday and the service never once faltered from this point forward. Timely, friendly, warm, and unhurried, we were free to enjoy each amazing course without issue and we loved every item we were served. Kudos to the staff and chef, we couldn't have been happier. The first of many returns to La Provence is what I predict. We've already talked about having a major holiday dinner at La Provence to give us a break from the effort for the first time in years! Perfecto!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.