About La Provence

25020 Highway 190
Lacombe, LA 70445
View Larger Map

Country French inspired restaurant. At La Provence, “cooking with heart” means everything. The menu blithely ignores the cutting edge of urban contemporary French food, and instead reflects the time-honored, time-consuming rustic techniques that in turn reflect the rugged earthiness of the ingredients.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Wednesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Sunday Brunch: 10:00am - 3:00pm;

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(985) 626-7662

Website:
http://www.laprovencerestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
From New Orleans: Take I10 west to Causeway Blvd. North towards Mandeville, approximately 24 miles. Upon exiting the bridge stay right on
Highway 190 East. Continue on 190 East approximately 8miles. La Provence will be located on your right side 2 miles past Fountainbleau State
Park.

Executive Chef:
Erick Loos IV

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Fireplace, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Restaurant Photos

La Provence, Lacombe, LA
La Provence, Lacombe, LA
Local Citrus Tart - La Provence, Lacombe, LA
Whole Cooked Porchetta - La Provence, Lacombe, LA
Turtle Soup - La Provence, Lacombe, LA
Crispy Softshell Crab, Heirloom Tomatoes, Country Ham & Garden Basil Pistou - La Provence, Lacombe, LA
Chilled Cucumber & Buttermilk Soup W/Shrimp Remoulade Stuffed Tomato - La Provence, Lacombe, LA
Rabbit Boudin Blanc Over Cavatelli & Chantrelles - La Provence, Lacombe, LA
Pan Seared Grouper With Truffed Farro "Risotto", Brussel Sprouts, Preserved Sour Cherries, Roast Acorn Squash - La Provence, Lacombe, LA
Shrimp And Mirliiton Salad  - La Provence, Lacombe, LA

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 25, 2016

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Details

In order to provide the best dining experience possible, a credit card number is required to confirm your reservation. We ask for a minimum 48-hour advance notice for cancellations. A $45 per person cancellation fee applies to all cancellations within 48-hours.

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 25, 2016

Details

In order to provide the best dining experience possible, a credit card number is required to confirm your reservation. We ask for a minimum 48-hour advance notice for cancellations. A $45 per person cancellation fee applies to all cancellations within 48-hours.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

At La Provence, we have a private dining room available for social and corporate events, with seating for up to 75 and 125 guests reception style. The beautiful Garden Room features a large fireplace, custom artwork and opens on to the courtyard with fountain.

La Provence Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
New Orleans / Louisiana
Best Ambiance
New Orleans / Louisiana
Romantic
New Orleans / Louisiana
3 More
Best Overall
New Orleans
Best Ambiance
New Orleans
Special Occasion
New Orleans
Best Restaurants in Northshore ›

Romantic (35)
Special Occasion (32)
Local Ingredients (23)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (20)
Worth the Drive (19)
Fit for Foodies (18)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Good for a Date (16)
Fireplace (15)
Notable Wine List (15)
Cozy (13)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Authentic (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Great for Brunch (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Seasonal (5)
Fun (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Historic (3)
Business Meals (3)
Organic (3)
Healthy (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Scenic View (2)
Casual (2)
Private Room (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Vegan (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Family Style (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
1332 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

A Northshore Standard. We have been goin ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 26, 2016

A Northshore Standard. We have been going to La Provence for 35 years, the first time to celebrate our anniversary. On our most recent visit, we were joined by our grown children and their spouses. We will always have a special affinity for La Provence, and will return. Service was very good. The warm mushroom salad was probably the best dish of the night, with great smoky roasted hen of the woods mushrooms. The eggplant neopolitan from the market menu was delightful, and the wild boar ragout was also good.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

12 Family members had an unforgettable T ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 24, 2016

12 Family members had an unforgettable Thanksgiving prix fix. Kids menu separate. Appetizer, entree and dessert. Kids loved going out to see the pigs and chickens grown on site out back. Staff exceedingly attentive but not intrusive. Wonderful experience...

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Fun, Tasting Menu, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was out of this world! This has ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 24, 2016

The food was out of this world! This has to be one of the most attractive restaurants around. The servic was attentive without being overbearing.

Tags: Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I spend the vening for the first time wi ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 20, 2016

I spend the vening for the first time with my Husband and we had a wondefull and tasty night. Thank you!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Wood Oven, Disabled Access, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went to La Provence for girlfriends birt ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Went to La Provence for girlfriends birthday. They gave us two glasses of champagne on the house for her birthday, and the rest of the service was also excellent. Took time to walk around the farm with a lantern they provided and got to pet the pigs. Sat by the fireplace and bar to finish our bottle of wine. It was a fantastic experience and can't wait to go back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a wonderful 5 star experience. L ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Always a wonderful 5 star experience. Lovely for Sunday brunch.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fireplace, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food! Wonderful dining experience.

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Great food! Wonderful dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, great service, a great place ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Great food, great service, a great place for a special occasion, pricey but worth every penny

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The most outstanding menu ever. The rust ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 10, 2016

The most outstanding menu ever. The rustic setting is special. It is worth driving here. We go every time we are in New Orleans.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolute perfection, time and time again ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Absolute perfection, time and time again. This visit, Dale and the staff at La Provence helped create an unforgettable evening. I haven't been able to stop raving about the incredible food, romantic environment, and total attention to detail every step of the way.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All courses of the meal were excellent.T ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 4, 2016

All courses of the meal were excellent.The receipes were unique and prepared as described.The staff were well trained and friendly.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food. Wonderful service.

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Wonderful food. Wonderful service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Thoroughly enjoyed our brunch. Creative ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed our brunch. Creative cuisine, with lots of choices for appetizers, entree and dessert. Attentive service. Comfortable, relaxing dining room.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We went to La Provence for my wife's bir ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 23, 2016

We went to La Provence for my wife's birthday and took a chance on this somewhat distant restaurant. I wanted to enjoy a farm-to-table restaurant, and taking a nice drive to get to the restaurant was made more romantic by the sunset over Lake Pontchartrain and a beautiful sky. We were met with an immediate table, and felt the vibe of the restaurant perfectly suited our desires to enjoy some quiet time together without the kids. The manager brought us champagne to celebrate my wife's birthday and the service never once faltered from this point forward. Timely, friendly, warm, and unhurried, we were free to enjoy each amazing course without issue and we loved every item we were served. Kudos to the staff and chef, we couldn't have been happier. The first of many returns to La Provence is what I predict. We've already talked about having a major holiday dinner at La Provence to give us a break from the effort for the first time in years! Perfecto!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

the ambiance was great, the food was gre ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 22, 2016

the ambiance was great, the food was great BUT the service was outstanding!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

My wife and I celebrated our 7yr anniver ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 9, 2016

My wife and I celebrated our 7yr anniversary here and we could ask for a better place for our special day. Wonderful cuisine, wine and cocktails!! Dessert is a must!! This is a perfect date night dinner or for a small group.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always enjoy the food and ambiance of ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 9, 2016

We always enjoy the food and ambiance of La Provence. Yesterday we took out-of-town friends to brunch. The food and facility was excellent as always, but we were especially impressed with our server, Miranda. She had an excellent knowledge of the wine list and the food. It was refreshing to be able to discuss appropriate wines with someone who knows their stuff. Miranda made what would have been a great meal at a beautiful restaurant exceptional.

Tags: Fireplace, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We recently celebrated our 29th wedding ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 8, 2016

We recently celebrated our 29th wedding anniversary at La Provence, and it was a wonderful evening. The food was delicious, and the service was outstanding. The restaurant surprised us with two complimentary glasses of champagne to start the evening, and they did everything possible to make it a wonderful occasion. We will definitely return!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

In our opinion, this is the best of the ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 8, 2016

In our opinion, this is the best of the John Besh restaurants. We make what for us is a 90 mile round trip drive 3 or 4 times each year. The food and the service are well worth it.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Fireplace, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went to La Provence at the request of ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 2, 2016

We went to La Provence at the request of the birthday girl. Having heard nothing but good things we gladly accepted to please her! Loved the first impression of the rustic, warm cottage feel and it was great to see the garden and pigs after brunch! All of the staff were very nice but in need of training. The building itself needs some tlc, it had a musky smell, mildew was coming out of the AC vents and there were dried water spots on the ceiling. The bisque was delicious , the duck was OK and the omelets were salty. The ice cream was amazing! We tried 3 different flavors and they were all delicious. Overall we had a good time, company was great but the food and service were unfortunately just ok. We won't be back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Great restaurant, love the French countr ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Great restaurant, love the French country feel to the whole place. Food was great from beginning to end, starting with the sausage plate, fantastic tomato salad, and ravioli. Entrees we're all good, but the star of the table was the pork dish made with the mangalistas raised on premises. Such an intense porky flavor, the chop and shoulder were simple fantastic. Desserts were good as well; only critique is that the delicacy of the green apple sorbet was overwhelmed by the big flavors and spices in the apple spice cake. Overall, a fantastic meal. Not cheap, but worth every penny of the moderately high price you're going to pay.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Pate, salads and Puppy drum were special ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Pate, salads and Puppy drum were specially good. entire staff was very cheerful and friendly which made us feel quite welcome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

This is a "class" restaurant. Food and ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 30, 2016

This is a "class" restaurant. Food and service were great. Although my main entrée was too salty for my taste, they were very quick to offer we an alternative of my choice to replace it. The appetizer and dessert courses were original and delicious. The ambiance is fantastic - like a country French restaurant. My husband and I will definitely be going back, and we recommend this restaurant to everyone.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

We're big fans of John Besh establishmen ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 25, 2016

We're big fans of John Besh establishments as it is, but this is a unique take on farm-to-table, and it's very much appreciated. The freshness of the food came through, the animals and ingredients that are just out back of the restaurant adds to the authenticity of the meal.

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome food impeccable service. Best d ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Awesome food impeccable service.

Best dirty martini,ever-it was the ice crystals !

Best boudin in the world !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

In the past I have been a little disappo ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 17, 2016

In the past I have been a little disappointed with the strange menu with a lot of game as entrees, for example. The restaurant seems to have evolved over the past couple of years. The ambiance was always very nice. This time, we found the food to be very good also. There were a lot of items this time we could have chosen, instead of searching the menu to find one thing that sounded appetizing. I would go to this restaurant again soon. The last time I was there was a couple of years ago, and a similar time gap before that ... always leaving a little disappointed. Not so this time.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

Attention to detail & great service by o ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Attention to detail & great service by our female server.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always....food and service beyond com ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 4, 2016

As always....food and service beyond compare!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My husband and I celebrated our 25th wed ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 3, 2016

My husband and I celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary with our 9 year old daughter at La Provence. We enjoy trying upscale, local restaurants for any kind of occasion. The staff were friendly and made sure our special occasion was acknowledged (including complimentary glass of champagne). They even have an interesting children's menu.

The crostini and pate was interesting though the extra crunch was a bit difficult! The breads rolls and fresh butter were delightful. Our appetizers were delicious - a creamy salad for me, a cold tomato and vegetable dish for my husband, and the bisque for my daughter.

Entrees did not disappoint. I love a moist, tender and flavorful steak filet. My husband's pompano was good but could have used a larger serving size. Our daughter had their homemade crispy chicken strips (such a kid!).

We each had our own dessert. The dark chocolate tart with espresso ice cream was perfect for me. The cornbread pudding something was tasty but surprising to my husband. The little one went with ice cream and chocolate syrup!

Overall we enjoyed our little trip to Lacombe, LA.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We just love this place. The staff is am ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 28, 2016

We just love this place. The staff is amazing, our waitresses went out of their way to take care of us. We felt so special. She helped us with the menu and made some great suggestions for us. Loved that they knew the menu so well. Very impressed. The food was delicious. If you go ask for Karen or Liam. They are the best of the best. Crazy, But the best. Very professional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall the food was good but not worth ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Overall the food was good but not worth the price. The menu was limited.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

Dining at La Provence is literally like ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Dining at La Provence is literally like dining at a french restaurant in the Provence countryside. The drive to the rural area just outside Mandeville is a fitting preparation for a meal in a fine french restaurant. The food is exceptional, and the service attentive but not overly so. While the cost is relatively higher than other restaurants, the quality of the food, the inventive cuisine and the ambiance and service all make very much worth it. It's a great place for a relaxing and rewarding meal.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Lovely evening. Celebrated my Dad's 90t ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 26, 2016

Lovely evening. Celebrated my Dad's 90th birthday. Great service and food was delicious. The duck was outstanding. Thank you for making our visit so memorable.

Tags: Special Occasion, Wood Oven, Cozy, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Recommending La Provence mainly based on ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 24, 2016

Recommending La Provence mainly based on past good experiences. We went for the special "cool inary" menu and the word for our experience was "scorched". First was a crab soup that was bland and crabby smelling and not in a good way. In it were two pieces of burnt toast. And, yes, it definitely tasted burned, not just browned. The soup was a total loss. The entree was some delicious fresh shrimp with some fluffy potato gnocchi. I thought they needed some salt and pepper but my daughter, a fan of gnocchi, thought they were perfect. We both agree they were in a wonderful brown sauce flavored with smoky bacon and onions. Inexplicably big hunks of burned bread were tossed on top of it. Maybe to add some texture, maybe for the sauce, but it just didn't work. Seemed cheap and detracted from the dish. The creme brulee with fruit and a cookie was wonderful. But, the sugar topping on mine had been scorched in a couple of places. Pressed coffee and one drink were great, but the peach mint julep was a lot of bourbon and mint with no taste of peach. We wondered if Eric Loos was on vacation. Service was superb as usual.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Fireplace, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

La Provence is a true experience. The w ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 21, 2016

La Provence is a true experience. The warm atmosphere and welcome are great. The service and food are phenomenal. Wonderful for any celebration or just a fabulous meal.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Outstanding Value, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful restaurant. Best on the Norths ...

vip
 (Little Rock)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Wonderful restaurant. Best on the Northshore.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I love La Provence. The food, service an ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 14, 2016

I love La Provence. The food, service and ambience are fabulous. My only complaint is that I'm not sure why, for a $36 fish entree, a couple of asparagus or some other vegetable can't be added to the entree plate. It's a little strange to just see a piece of fish sitting on a big plate with nothing else except the butter sauce. It gives the appearance of being cheap. How much could a couple of asparagus cost a restaurant? This would also add to the presentation. Just my humble opinion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value1

One of the brst!

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 14, 2016

One of the brst!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

John Besh's Northshore restaurant is a d ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 14, 2016

John Besh's Northshore restaurant is a definite must do. We went for Brunch but I imagine dinner would be just as great or better.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Have been to La Provence on several occa ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Have been to La Provence on several occasions over the years, both before and after it was acquired by John Besh.

This last visit was disappointing. The food lacked is former zest. Service was only mediocre. The menu has been trimmed back. The company has taken a lot of price...too much!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.