About La Provence

25020 Highway 190
Lacombe, LA 70445
View Larger Map

Country French inspired restaurant. At La Provence, “cooking with heart” means everything. The menu blithely ignores the cutting edge of urban contemporary French food, and instead reflects the time-honored, time-consuming rustic techniques that in turn reflect the rugged earthiness of the ingredients.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Wednesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Sunday: 3:00pm - 9:00pm; Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(985) 626-7662

Website:
http://www.laprovencerestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
From New Orleans: Take I10 west to Causeway Blvd. North towards Mandeville, approximately 24 miles. Upon exiting the bridge stay right on
Highway 190 East. Continue on 190 East approximately 8miles. La Provence will be located on your right side 2 miles past Fountainbleau State
Park.

Executive Chef:
Erick Loos IV

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Restaurant Photos

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

At La Provence, we have a private dining room available for social and corporate events, with seating for up to 75 and 125 guests reception style. The beautiful Garden Room features a large fireplace, custom artwork and opens on to the courtyard with fountain.

La Provence Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
New Orleans
Special Occasion
New Orleans
Best Restaurants in Northshore ›

special occasion (55)
romantic (51)
fit for foodies (46)
See All
notable wine list (23)
great for brunch (19)
good for groups (14)
great for lunch (10)
neighborhood gem (10)
scenic view (5)
great for outdoor dining (4)
kid-friendly (4)
 (3)
hot spot (2)
vibrant bar scene (2)
 (2)
 (1)
 (1)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1255 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Always good

Dined on May 21, 2016

La Provence is a lovely French farmhouse type building with great ambiance and excellent food. The puppy drum is fabulous and the pork tenderloins great also. The desserts were as expected, but not great, so I didn't give 5 stars for food. Also, the menu, while fine for me, is a little limited. Service, as always, was fast, but never rushed, with perfect timing of courses. All in all, still a great dining experience.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A party of six celebrating a birthday! ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

A party of six celebrating a birthday! Had a great Sunday afternoon! Enjoyed food, service, atmosphere, etc.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Always Awesome! Merci Beaucoup

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

Always Awesome! Merci Beaucoup

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Mother's Day dinner!

Dined on May 8, 2016

First, I love the fact that for Mother's Day they offered a fixed price dinner with great options. For me, a much better choice than a mid-day brunch with too many egg dishes. The buttermilk fried quail appetizer was absolutely outstanding. The soft shell crab was also excellent but the accompaniments were odd: olives didn't belong at all, cous cous perfectly cooked but bland, sliced almonds not crisp. This dish desperately needed a sauce of some kind and oily olives and almonds with fried food just doesn't work for me. My daughter had the smoked prime rib and it was outstanding, we have eaten beef here several times and this was the best ever. Plus it was unexpectably huge. Desserts were merely OK: we don't subscribe to the notion of little dabs of stuff on a plate like a kindergarten project although we do like a small dessert. Coffee was excellent as always. And thanks to the waitress who went out to the garden to pick some mint so I would have a great mojito.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4

Food was not as good as remembered from ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Food was not as good as remembered from last visit. Service was great.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Love the atmosphere of this restaurant. ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Love the atmosphere of this restaurant. All of the desserts looked good, but I decided on the peanut butter with chocolate. It was a great choice and highly recommended.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Vive la Mother's Day!

Dined on May 8, 2016

It was a beautiful day and LaProvance made it perfect! I enjoy the comfortable and homey environment. The food has always been superb and the Mother's Day menu never disappoints!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This is the second time , we have been h ...

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

This is the second time , we have been here that La Provence was right on in all instances. Having an old friend back to lead the restaurant has helped immensely and the chef is right on. Again a five[5] yum visit!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A Lovely Evening

Dined on May 7, 2016

My wife had wanted to have dinner at La Provence since we moved here nearly 3 years ago...so for her birthday we took the trip to see if the restaurant lived up to our expectations. In a word, yes. Yes, indeed. We had assumed that the food would be grand, but what was the truly pleasant surprise was the overall ambiance of a relaxed, friendly evening. From the hostess who graciously seated us, to our servers who presented the amazing plates in a professional manner, to the general manger, Dale...we felt as if we were in their home, not some stuffy, overbearing spot. As for the food, the pork on toasted risotto was wonderful, and the lacquered duck, the best duck my wife has ever eaten. Again, as much as we loved the food, it truly was the staff that made the evening one we will remember for a long time. Thank you Dale and his staff for a lovely evening. See y'all soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always enjoy La Provence.

Dined on May 1, 2016

The food was wonderful and the ambiance is great. Always a wonderful visit.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding meal. Attentive and friendl ...

vip
Dined on April 29, 2016

Outstanding meal. Attentive and friendly staff. Food was great. Will stop by again. Highly recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Special Place

Dined on April 24, 2016

To find a special place to dine is always a find, but on the north shore it is exquisite. New Orleans has many fine establishments to choose from, but it isn't always convenient to cross the longest bridge in the world. Our server Bridget was new to the restaurant but passionate about service and we wanted for nothing, and could not of asked for a better server. We were visited by the Bartender and GM, who not only were informative but knowledgeable about interesting facts of La Provence. It ended up being one of the top 5 dining experiences of my life, and my wife and have dined all over the world. Again, I highly recommend La Provence.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was fantastic.The service profe ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

The food was fantastic.The service professional! It's worth every penny.

food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Different for the Northshore

Dined on April 22, 2016

Somewhere between August and Luke New Orleans in value and service. The location is the biggest drawback. Not the easiest place to find and very few people were at the resturant which is a huge contrast to the outstanding San Antonio Luke location. Staff was very friendly and informative. Menu was brief and somewhat lacking in the "Provence" theme. Food quality was good but overpriced in comparison to Luke and nothing is of the same caliber as August. I'm also disappointed that Mr. Besh has never been at any of his restuarants that I've visited.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

GREAT RESTAURANT

vip
Dined on April 17, 2016

SERVICE, FOOD AND ATMOSPHERE WERE INCREDIBLE... GREAT RESTAURANT FOR ANY OCCASSION!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

Incredible food, charming atmosphere, id ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

Incredible food, charming atmosphere, ideal service. Turns out favorite restaurant in New Orleans is across the lake, a well-worth-the-drive 45 minutes from downtown.

food3
ambience5
service2
value1

Disappointment

Dined on April 15, 2016

We are long-time patrons of this restaurant, having first dined there in, the 70's. When John Besh took the torch from aging and ailing Chris Keragiou, being fans of Besh's restaurants in New Orleans, we were thrilled. Since then, frankly, the restaurant has had its ups and downs. We continue to try it episodically. Our last visit was very disappointing. The prices are very high, and not really matched by the quality of the menu, which is abbreviated and rarely changes. On our last visit, the service was lamentable...a long wait for drinks, lack of information about menu items, quite unprofessional. We will probably try it again, but not for some time.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

PERSNICKITY

vip
Dined on April 2, 2016

At last La Provence has come up to snuff. Perhaps it's the new maitre'd? Service was excellent and the food the best we have had there lately. We drank wine that night, so haven't had a chance to try the bar. Hopefully, that to has been revitalized. I give it five yums this evening.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

nice for easter sunday....

vip
Dined on March 27, 2016

everyone loved their food choices.....service was good too since there were several large groups

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding Easter Brunch

Dined on March 27, 2016

This was the perfect place for our Easter Brunch. The menu offered a choose-your-own three course meal for a flat rate. The food was incredible. Service was attentive. Couldn't ask for a better experience. We'll definitely be bach.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best food and service

Dined on March 27, 2016

I loved the food ! I grew up in Europe and I've found the food here to be so beautifully cooked and seasoned, delicate and exquisite. The service was impeccable and the location, French country inspired. Well worth the drive. The food, again, is spectacular!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding

Dined on March 26, 2016

Everything about our dinner here was excellent, from the moment we walked in to leaving. Food was some of the best we have ever tasted!

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Special

Dined on March 6, 2016

Staff handled dinner party on a Saturday night for 10 with ease, even though some of our party were 30 mins late & 2 " no- shows". The menu was varied and exceptional. Next visit will be to just enjoy this outstanding facility.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

quaint French country setting

Dined on March 5, 2016

Very nice and creative menu! The ambience is quiet and quaint with a nice little bar. The service was impeccable. We will definitely eat here again!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

really incredible experience. Everything ...

Dined on March 3, 2016

really incredible experience. Everything i tried, the quail gumbo, the swordfish, the duck, the deserts - all incredible. Very high expectations going in - all were met. Worth the hype.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service3

Chef Chris's GUMBO with quail was the BE ...

Dined on February 27, 2016

Chef Chris's GUMBO with quail was the BEST! Always love the complimentary pate!

food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Nice, but his other restaurants are much better

Dined on February 20, 2016

We had a perfectly nice dinner at La Provence. The food was solidly good, but the service was only ok and my dinner started with a French 75 cocktail that was served over ice and with a large plastic straw; something that instantly set the wrong tone for the dinner. Seafood pasta was tasty, though it took some time for the flavors to meld, and the puppy drum fish special was delicious. Dessert of strawberry ricotta cakes were very tasty!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Good food! meh service...

Dined on February 15, 2016

We went here for Valentines day. Loved most of the food, and had a great time. The service was not very impressive. I would expect it to be better for the price and quality of food.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

GD

vip
Dined on February 15, 2016

I never take the time to fill out a Review - but felt compelled to communicate here. I was shocked at the lack of organization in the front of the house from the moment we arrived until we left. The restaurant was understaffed with most employees ambivalent or borderline rude. I expect more from a Besh property and especially one with the blood line of this place. Someone in management here is asleep at the wheel. I hope it gets corrected. The place is truly a New Orleans jewel.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything as always is perfection.

vip
Dined on February 15, 2016

Everything as always is perfection.

food5
ambience5
service5

Consistently eccellent.

Dined on February 14, 2016

Consistently eccellent.

food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Good stuff

Dined on February 14, 2016

Food was very good and was individually prepared, not a big batch sauce ladled onto a protien like many of the other local "high end" restaurants. The paté appetizer was awesome. All in all it was really good but also really expensive. Best has done a great job in keeping this north shore gem a destination to travel to. Service was good, ambiance was very nice, it really was like being in a French country dining establishment. I will go back, but not as often as I would if it weren't so pricey.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

La Provence nevers disappoints.

Dined on February 14, 2016

Their seasonal menu adds twists, but also retains familiar tastes and bites you want to have again. And, again. It is such a gem and we always love to walk the garden area before we go in to see what's in season. Sit close to the fireplace in the front dining room for a nice touch. We crave their micro greens. And, the chicken liver pate is simply an amazing way to start any meal. So happy to have La Provence on the Northshore!

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Valentine's Day Dinner

Dined on February 13, 2016

La Provence is one of my favorite restaurants. Our entrees and salad (roasted beet, which we split) were fabulous. My only disappointment was the quail gumbo. Although it was delicious, the bird was overcooked. While it was still edible, it did take away from what is a truly great dish.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Long Drive, Big Reward

Dined on February 12, 2016

Having tried most of John Besh's restaurants in New Orleans over the years La Provence was on our list this trip. Getting there involved a 24 mile bridge over Lake Pontchartrain and some dark country roads on the other side. We were late for our reservation and met with a gracious hostess who was quick to say, "No problem." Quickly seated we ordered wine and drinks. The Sazerac was one of the best I've ever tasted. Wine selections were broad and included a number of good choices by the glass. Starting with Oysters Ooh La La we enjoyed the plump oysters baked in a crab fat butter crust. The saffron and chili flakes added to the flavor without overpowering it. Similar results came with dinner. Gulf Puppy Drum, Grilled Swordfish and Lamb Chops were all prepared and presented with care. Most of what we ate came from area farmers and fishermen. Many vegetables and herbs were grown on-site. Our server was very helpful in making selections and keeping the evening flowing. Knowing we had to meet a flight on the other side of the lake she did not rush but was ready with the next stage as we moved through dinner. Dinner at La Provence was the highlight of this long weekend in New Orleans. As for the 24-mile bridge...that's 24 miles of not getting lost in a city famous for its confusing streets.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The setting is magical and reminiscent o ...

Dined on February 1, 2016

The setting is magical and reminiscent of rural France. The food is exquisite. Portions are reasonable , with the focus being quality and not excess quantity. The bread is to-die-for. Wonderful, professional, yet personal, service. Every bite of every dish was truly great!

food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Would not go back

Dined on January 31, 2016

Food was odd, wife's crab bisque appetizer was so bad she refused it and chose different which was better. We were charged for both. The pate' on toast was the best part of the meal.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding dinner

Dined on January 31, 2016

Not at all surprised at the wonderful food and service at La Provence. Really great diverse menu-something for everyone.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Country French Treasure

Dined on January 31, 2016

We celebrated a family birthday with children and even the children were asking when can we go back to La Provence! The service was impeccable and made our 5 year olds feel important. The menu was so intriguing it was hard to select. But everything from the pate' to the desserts was so delicious and special. A very memorable experience everyone should try at least once!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Never disappointed.

Dined on January 31, 2016

My wife and I were on our way to La Provence from out of town and realized we would be there at least 45 minutes prior to our reservation time. I phoned ahead and was assured that we would be seated when we arrived. The service, food, and amenities at La Provence are outstanding. We have never been disappointed when enjoying your restaurant.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.