About La Provence

25020 Highway 190
Lacombe, LA 70445
View Larger Map

Country French inspired restaurant. At La Provence, “cooking with heart” means everything. The menu blithely ignores the cutting edge of urban contemporary French food, and instead reflects the time-honored, time-consuming rustic techniques that in turn reflect the rugged earthiness of the ingredients.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Wednesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Sunday: 3:00pm - 9:00pm; Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(985) 626-7662

Website:
http://www.laprovencerestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
From New Orleans: Take I10 west to Causeway Blvd. North towards Mandeville, approximately 24 miles. Upon exiting the bridge stay right on
Highway 190 East. Continue on 190 East approximately 8miles. La Provence will be located on your right side 2 miles past Fountainbleau State
Park.

Executive Chef:
Erick Loos IV

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Restaurant Photos

La Provence
La Provence
Local Citrus Tart
Whole Cooked Porchetta
Turtle Soup
Crispy Softshell Crab, Heirloom Tomatoes, Country Ham & Garden Basil Pistou
Chilled Cucumber & Buttermilk Soup W/Shrimp Remoulade Stuffed Tomato
Rabbit Boudin Blanc Over Cavatelli & Chantrelles
Pan Seared Grouper With Truffed Farro "Risotto", Brussel Sprouts, Preserved Sour Cherries, Roast Acorn Squash
Shrimp And Mirliiton Salad

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

At La Provence, we have a private dining room available for social and corporate events, with seating for up to 75 and 125 guests reception style. The beautiful Garden Room features a large fireplace, custom artwork and opens on to the courtyard with fountain.

La Provence Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
New Orleans / Louisiana
Romantic
New Orleans / Louisiana
Special Occasion
New Orleans / Louisiana
4 More
Best Food
New Orleans
Best Ambiance
New Orleans
Romantic
New Orleans
Special Occasion
New Orleans
Best Restaurants in Northshore ›

special occasion (58)
romantic (49)
fit for foodies (45)
See All
great for brunch (24)
notable wine list (24)
good for groups (23)
great for lunch (12)
neighborhood gem (12)
scenic view (7)
kid-friendly (5)
great for outdoor dining (5)
hot spot (1)
vibrant bar scene (1)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1280 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Wonderful dining experience. Entire sta ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Wonderful dining experience. Entire staff took care of us. Great for a romantic or family dinner (we brought our 5 and 2 year olds and they were treated great.)

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very enjoyable late lunch , food and ser ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Very enjoyable late lunch , food and service very good, friendly .

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

We had a wonderful time at La Provence. ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We had a wonderful time at La Provence. It felt like we were automatically visiting family or good friends as we were warmly welcomed into the kitchen and got a tour of the farm! The service was fantastic and the food was so tasty! I would highly recommend going here for a change of scenery from New Orleans :)

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just a great meal. The Quail gumbo was ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Just a great meal. The Quail gumbo was so rich and tasty. had the soft shell crab which was excellent. The tomato salad was super fresh. The drinks and wine were great. Ambiance super. Well worth the trip from New Orleans.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Celebrated with my husband on the evenin ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Celebrated with my husband on the evening of his birthday. It was a really memorable meal with friendly service. They even provided a few surprises for us in honor of our occasion. I'd say that the atmosphere of the restaurant was fancy, but approachable.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The presentation was not pleasing. The a ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The presentation was not pleasing. The appetizer was on a big plate and half the plate was empty which took away from the artistic intention. The 15.00 cost of the appetizer could have had a two Tablespoons of crabmeat instead of one. The entre was not pleasing on the plate. The waitress described the dish with a small amount of hollandaise circled on the plate. Well the sauce was bigger than the fish. The pompano was not skinned which made it hard to eat. I usually don't complain but I was surprised since it was talked up on the Tom Fitzmorris radio show. The wine selection was poor. The soup was good and the waitress was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

Outstanding as has been our dinner there ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Outstanding as has been our dinner there on the past 2 occasions over the past year.

You wont be disappointed. Be sure to reserve well ahead.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had been looking forward to dining at ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We had been looking forward to dining at La Provence but left disappointed. While the appetizers were excellent and the dessert was fantastic, the entrees were not up to expectations. The lamb's neck was over salted, potatoes were undercooked, and the short rib was tough and difficult to slice. Paying over $250 for two, one would expect a better better dining experience.

Maybe an off day? Perhaps.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Great food, excellent service in a beaut ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Great food, excellent service in a beautiful setting. I highly recommend La Provence, you will not be disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful experience. Seated immediately ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Wonderful experience. Seated immediately. Served one of the best cocktails I've ever had. Duck pate' was mouthwatering. "oysters ooh la la" to die for. Excellent amberjack with side of pork belly. Service friendly, professional, attentive. Sadly, no room for dessert.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding as always! We recently visi ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Outstanding as always! We recently visited for our anniversary. We were greeted with a glass of sparkling wine. The wait staff and manager were all extremely friendly and helpful. The food was truly amazing.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We enjoyed another great dinner at La Pr ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We enjoyed another great dinner at La Provence. Food and service were excellent.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This restaurant has had some highs and l ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

This restaurant has had some highs and lows since Chef Chris sold to John Besh years ago. Right now, it is at a high point. Food was great. Menu was varied, with a great selection of affordable French wines. For some reason, bar service to table is always very slow, now as before. Over all, it is a fine restaurant with farm to table ingredients and with the atmosphere of Provence, France. Highly recommend.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We went for Father's day. A special occ ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We went for Father's day. A special occasion menu was offered for a fixed price. Assumed that the price probably did not include drinks which would have been fine. But found out when we received the check that it not only didn't include drinks, but that refills on soft drinks and tea were not free. This is the first time that I have ever been charged for 3 1/3 Iced Tea's. I would recommend the restaurant, but next time I'll stick with water. We paid almost $30 for a group of six for our drinks (non-alcoholic).

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Exceptional dining experience, as usual. ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Exceptional dining experience, as usual. La Provence goes above and beyond with delicious, fresh, local fare, great atmosphere, and always great service.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I took my husband to La Provence for Fat ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

I took my husband to La Provence for Father's Day. The food was fresh and delicious. My husband said the Old Fashioned was the best Old Fashioned he has ever had. My Provence 75 was fantastic also. I was pleased to find that this upscale restaurant was quite kid-friendly. There was a kid's menu with several options. The portion was so big that my 20 month old son had leftovers, and he was able to eat those leftovers for two additional meals at home. Also, the bathroom had a very nice changing table complete with wipes! After our meal, we took our son to see the chickens and pigs in the back, which he throughly enjoyed. Overall, we had a lovely experience at La Provence, and we are already planning our next meal there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was good, but I can't say that ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

The food was good, but I can't say that it was better than any other nice restaurant we've been to. Maybe my expectations were too high to begin with, but we really were expecting food that was going to be so good that we would want to lick the plate clean and we did not have that experience. Our waitress was very nice and attentive. Overall, it was a nice time and nice food, just not the experience that we were expecting.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

we enjoyed the evening, the food was hig ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

we enjoyed the evening, the food was high quality, the server was knowledgeable about the menu. Timely in bringing out the next course, friendly atmosphere.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Excellent food and excellent service. A ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Excellent food and excellent service. All in party enjoyed this outing.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter was very nice. It was my spou ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Our waiter was very nice. It was my spouse birthday and we got a complimentary glass of champagne which was a very nice touch. The appetizer and the entree were very good but I only put 3 stars for food as I thought the desserts could be a little more elaborate for a place like this (they were still good though).

I would recommend it for a special occasion.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Very very high prices with fair food and ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Very very high prices with fair food and unprofessional service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

40th wedding anniversary brunch

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed the experience. Our server Brittany was great and her manager took time to tour us through their on site garden. Gave us a glass of champagne each in honour of our special occasion. Very processional , friendly and the food super. Hope to go back soon, but not wait another 40 years.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Wonderful dining...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Everything, starting with the glorious chicken pate was wonderful. Excellent service, cocktails, wine, entrees, and dessert. We took our sister there for her birthday, and they sent us special champagne and a candle on her dessert. Very special night. Excellent restaurant in every way, we will go again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best of the best!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

I moved away from the area in 2011, since that time I make it back about twice per year. This is one of my must do items when I go home. Usually bring the family for brunch, lunch or dinner. All are great. My kids love this place too, all around my favorite restaurant on the Northshore, in my opinion the best restaurant on the Northshore. Great job John Besh! I look forward to visiting your restaurants every time I come home!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always good

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

La Provence is a lovely French farmhouse type building with great ambiance and excellent food. The puppy drum is fabulous and the pork tenderloins great also. The desserts were as expected, but not great, so I didn't give 5 stars for food. Also, the menu, while fine for me, is a little limited. Service, as always, was fast, but never rushed, with perfect timing of courses. All in all, still a great dining experience.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was excellent, restaurant is beauti ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Food was excellent, restaurant is beautiful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A party of six celebrating a birthday! ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

A party of six celebrating a birthday! Had a great Sunday afternoon! Enjoyed food, service, atmosphere, etc.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always Awesome! Merci Beaucoup

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Always Awesome!

Merci Beaucoup

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Mother's Day dinner!

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

First, I love the fact that for Mother's Day they offered a fixed price dinner with great options. For me, a much better choice than a mid-day brunch with too many egg dishes. The buttermilk fried quail appetizer was absolutely outstanding. The soft shell crab was also excellent but the accompaniments were odd: olives didn't belong at all, cous cous perfectly cooked but bland, sliced almonds not crisp. This dish desperately needed a sauce of some kind and oily olives and almonds with fried food just doesn't work for me. My daughter had the smoked prime rib and it was outstanding, we have eaten beef here several times and this was the best ever. Plus it was unexpectably huge. Desserts were merely OK: we don't subscribe to the notion of little dabs of stuff on a plate like a kindergarten project although we do like a small dessert. Coffee was excellent as always. And thanks to the waitress who went out to the garden to pick some mint so I would have a great mojito.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was not as good as remembered from ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Food was not as good as remembered from last visit. Service was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Love the atmosphere of this restaurant. ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Love the atmosphere of this restaurant. All of the desserts looked good, but I decided on the peanut butter with chocolate. It was a great choice and highly recommended.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Vive la Mother's Day!

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

It was a beautiful day and LaProvance made it perfect! I enjoy the comfortable and homey environment. The food has always been superb and the Mother's Day menu never disappoints!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is the second time , we have been h ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

This is the second time , we have been here that La Provence was right on in all instances. Having an old friend back to lead the restaurant has helped immensely and the chef is right on. Again a five[5] yum visit!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

A Lovely Evening

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

My wife had wanted to have dinner at La Provence since we moved here nearly 3 years ago...so for her birthday we took the trip to see if the restaurant lived up to our expectations. In a word, yes. Yes, indeed. We had assumed that the food would be grand, but what was the truly pleasant surprise was the overall ambiance of a relaxed, friendly evening. From the hostess who graciously seated us, to our servers who presented the amazing plates in a professional manner, to the general manger, Dale...we felt as if we were in their home, not some stuffy, overbearing spot. As for the food, the pork on toasted risotto was wonderful, and the lacquered duck, the best duck my wife has ever eaten. Again, as much as we loved the food, it truly was the staff that made the evening one we will remember for a long time. Thank you Dale and his staff for a lovely evening. See y'all soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We always enjoy La Provence.

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

The food was wonderful and the ambiance is great. Always a wonderful visit.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding meal. Attentive and friendl ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

Outstanding meal. Attentive and friendly staff. Food was great. Will stop by again. Highly recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Special Place

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

To find a special place to dine is always a find, but on the north shore it is exquisite. New Orleans has many fine establishments to choose from, but it isn't always convenient to cross the longest bridge in the world.

Our server Bridget was new to the restaurant but passionate about service and we wanted for nothing, and could not of asked for a better server. We were visited by the Bartender and GM, who not only were informative but knowledgeable about interesting facts of La Provence.

It ended up being one of the top 5 dining experiences of my life, and my wife and have dined all over the world.

Again, I highly recommend La Provence.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was fantastic.The service profe ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

The food was fantastic.The service professional! It's worth every penny.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Different for the Northshore

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

Somewhere between August and Luke New Orleans in value and service. The location is the biggest drawback. Not the easiest place to find and very few people were at the resturant which is a huge contrast to the outstanding San Antonio Luke location. Staff was very friendly and informative. Menu was brief and somewhat lacking in the "Provence" theme. Food quality was good but overpriced in comparison to Luke and nothing is of the same caliber as August. I'm also disappointed that Mr. Besh has never been at any of his restuarants that I've visited.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

GREAT RESTAURANT

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

SERVICE, FOOD AND ATMOSPHERE WERE INCREDIBLE... GREAT RESTAURANT FOR ANY OCCASSION!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.