About La Provence

25020 Highway 190
Lacombe, LA 70445
View Larger Map

Country French inspired restaurant. At La Provence, “cooking with heart” means everything. The menu blithely ignores the cutting edge of urban contemporary French food, and instead reflects the time-honored, time-consuming rustic techniques that in turn reflect the rugged earthiness of the ingredients.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Wednesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Sunday: 3:00pm - 9:00pm; Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(985) 626-7662

Website:
http://www.laprovencerestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
From New Orleans: Take I10 west to Causeway Blvd. North towards Mandeville, approximately 24 miles. Upon exiting the bridge stay right on
Highway 190 East. Continue on 190 East approximately 8miles. La Provence will be located on your right side 2 miles past Fountainbleau State
Park.

Executive Chef:
Erick Loos IV

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Restaurant Photos

La Provence
La Provence
Local Citrus Tart
Whole Cooked Porchetta
Turtle Soup
Crispy Softshell Crab, Heirloom Tomatoes, Country Ham & Garden Basil Pistou
Chilled Cucumber & Buttermilk Soup W/Shrimp Remoulade Stuffed Tomato
Rabbit Boudin Blanc Over Cavatelli & Chantrelles
Pan Seared Grouper With Truffed Farro "Risotto", Brussel Sprouts, Preserved Sour Cherries, Roast Acorn Squash
Shrimp And Mirliiton Salad

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

At La Provence, we have a private dining room available for social and corporate events, with seating for up to 75 and 125 guests reception style. The beautiful Garden Room features a large fireplace, custom artwork and opens on to the courtyard with fountain.

La Provence Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
New Orleans / Louisiana
Fit for Foodies
New Orleans / Louisiana
Notable Wine List
New Orleans / Louisiana
8 More
Romantic
New Orleans / Louisiana
Special Occasion
New Orleans / Louisiana
Best Service
New Orleans
Best Ambiance
New Orleans
Fit for Foodies
New Orleans
Notable Wine List
New Orleans
Romantic
New Orleans
Special Occasion
New Orleans
Best Restaurants in Northshore ›

Special Occasion (66)
Romantic (51)
Fit for Foodies (50)
See All
Notable Wine List (27)
Great for Brunch (24)
Good for Groups (23)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Great for Lunch (11)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Scenic View (6)
Kid-friendly (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1296 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

La Provence is a true experience. The w ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined 2 days ago

La Provence is a true experience. The warm atmosphere and welcome are great. The service and food are phenomenal. Wonderful for any celebration or just a fabulous meal.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Outstanding Value, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful restaurant. Best on the Norths ...

vip
 (Little Rock)
·Dined 2 days ago

Wonderful restaurant. Best on the Northshore.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I love La Provence. The food, service an ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

I love La Provence. The food, service and ambience are fabulous. My only complaint is that I'm not sure why, for a $36 fish entree, a couple of asparagus or some other vegetable can't be added to the entree plate. It's a little strange to just see a piece of fish sitting on a big plate with nothing else except the butter sauce. It gives the appearance of being cheap. How much could a couple of asparagus cost a restaurant? This would also add to the presentation. Just my humble opinion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value1

One of the brst!

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

One of the brst!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

John Besh's Northshore restaurant is a d ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

John Besh's Northshore restaurant is a definite must do. We went for Brunch but I imagine dinner would be just as great or better.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Have been to La Provence on several occa ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Have been to La Provence on several occasions over the years, both before and after it was acquired by John Besh.

This last visit was disappointing. The food lacked is former zest. Service was only mediocre. The menu has been trimmed back. The company has taken a lot of price...too much!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

We have dined here a few times over the ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We have dined here a few times over the past several years and have never been disappointed. This meal we repeated the crab bisque (with tapioca) and the drum with crabmeat, along with a good bottle of champagne. Most important our server, Liam, was a helpful and friendly, as always.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

La Provence has lays been an outstanding ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

La Provence has lays been an outstanding resturaunt. However, the current version is incredibly consistent, professional, and simply delicious! A wonderful event each time that you go!

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always changing, mostly good sometimes n ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Always changing, mostly good sometimes not to my liking. The Coolinary Menu wanted to take the soup bowl and turn it up to get the last drop. Excellent meal

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great anniversary dinner...complimentary ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Great anniversary dinner...complimentary champagne

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

We really enjoyed everything! The barten ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We really enjoyed everything! The bartender who waited on our table took 30 minutes to take our drink order and was seemingly walking away every time we wanted to talk to her. We didn't expect it to be a 2 hour brunch, but we certainly enjoyed every minute of it! The food was exceptional! We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Service was very good. Sorry I can't sa ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Service was very good. Sorry I can't say the same about the food. Rather sad when the best part of the meal was the coffee and dessert. May give La Provence another try in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Great food , Great service , Great atmos ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Great food , Great service , Great atmosphere , a little to expensive to eat there on a regular basis but worth the cost for a romantic evening .

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

It was a wonderful evening. Best place t ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

It was a wonderful evening. Best place to be on the northshore for sure

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

had a group of 13 for a sunday birthday ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

had a group of 13 for a sunday birthday brunch. Everything was great. Our server did a wonderful job. The brunch menu price is an outstanding value, 3 courses for $38. Food was outstanding. Atmosphere was excellent as always

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful dining experience. Entire sta ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Wonderful dining experience. Entire staff took care of us. Great for a romantic or family dinner (we brought our 5 and 2 year olds and they were treated great.)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very enjoyable late lunch , food and ser ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Very enjoyable late lunch , food and service very good, friendly .

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

We had a wonderful time at La Provence. ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We had a wonderful time at La Provence. It felt like we were automatically visiting family or good friends as we were warmly welcomed into the kitchen and got a tour of the farm! The service was fantastic and the food was so tasty! I would highly recommend going here for a change of scenery from New Orleans :)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just a great meal. The Quail gumbo was ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Just a great meal. The Quail gumbo was so rich and tasty. had the soft shell crab which was excellent. The tomato salad was super fresh. The drinks and wine were great. Ambiance super. Well worth the trip from New Orleans.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Celebrated with my husband on the evenin ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Celebrated with my husband on the evening of his birthday. It was a really memorable meal with friendly service. They even provided a few surprises for us in honor of our occasion. I'd say that the atmosphere of the restaurant was fancy, but approachable.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The presentation was not pleasing. The a ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The presentation was not pleasing. The appetizer was on a big plate and half the plate was empty which took away from the artistic intention. The 15.00 cost of the appetizer could have had a two Tablespoons of crabmeat instead of one. The entre was not pleasing on the plate. The waitress described the dish with a small amount of hollandaise circled on the plate. Well the sauce was bigger than the fish. The pompano was not skinned which made it hard to eat. I usually don't complain but I was surprised since it was talked up on the Tom Fitzmorris radio show. The wine selection was poor. The soup was good and the waitress was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

Outstanding as has been our dinner there ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Outstanding as has been our dinner there on the past 2 occasions over the past year.

You wont be disappointed. Be sure to reserve well ahead.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had been looking forward to dining at ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We had been looking forward to dining at La Provence but left disappointed. While the appetizers were excellent and the dessert was fantastic, the entrees were not up to expectations. The lamb's neck was over salted, potatoes were undercooked, and the short rib was tough and difficult to slice. Paying over $250 for two, one would expect a better better dining experience.

Maybe an off day? Perhaps.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Great food, excellent service in a beaut ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Great food, excellent service in a beautiful setting. I highly recommend La Provence, you will not be disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful experience. Seated immediately ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Wonderful experience. Seated immediately. Served one of the best cocktails I've ever had. Duck pate' was mouthwatering. "oysters ooh la la" to die for. Excellent amberjack with side of pork belly. Service friendly, professional, attentive. Sadly, no room for dessert.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding as always! We recently visi ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Outstanding as always! We recently visited for our anniversary. We were greeted with a glass of sparkling wine. The wait staff and manager were all extremely friendly and helpful. The food was truly amazing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We enjoyed another great dinner at La Pr ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We enjoyed another great dinner at La Provence. Food and service were excellent.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This restaurant has had some highs and l ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

This restaurant has had some highs and lows since Chef Chris sold to John Besh years ago. Right now, it is at a high point. Food was great. Menu was varied, with a great selection of affordable French wines. For some reason, bar service to table is always very slow, now as before. Over all, it is a fine restaurant with farm to table ingredients and with the atmosphere of Provence, France. Highly recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We went for Father's day. A special occ ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We went for Father's day. A special occasion menu was offered for a fixed price. Assumed that the price probably did not include drinks which would have been fine. But found out when we received the check that it not only didn't include drinks, but that refills on soft drinks and tea were not free. This is the first time that I have ever been charged for 3 1/3 Iced Tea's. I would recommend the restaurant, but next time I'll stick with water. We paid almost $30 for a group of six for our drinks (non-alcoholic).

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Exceptional dining experience, as usual. ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Exceptional dining experience, as usual. La Provence goes above and beyond with delicious, fresh, local fare, great atmosphere, and always great service.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I took my husband to La Provence for Fat ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

I took my husband to La Provence for Father's Day. The food was fresh and delicious. My husband said the Old Fashioned was the best Old Fashioned he has ever had. My Provence 75 was fantastic also. I was pleased to find that this upscale restaurant was quite kid-friendly. There was a kid's menu with several options. The portion was so big that my 20 month old son had leftovers, and he was able to eat those leftovers for two additional meals at home. Also, the bathroom had a very nice changing table complete with wipes! After our meal, we took our son to see the chickens and pigs in the back, which he throughly enjoyed. Overall, we had a lovely experience at La Provence, and we are already planning our next meal there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was good, but I can't say that ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

The food was good, but I can't say that it was better than any other nice restaurant we've been to. Maybe my expectations were too high to begin with, but we really were expecting food that was going to be so good that we would want to lick the plate clean and we did not have that experience. Our waitress was very nice and attentive. Overall, it was a nice time and nice food, just not the experience that we were expecting.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

we enjoyed the evening, the food was hig ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

we enjoyed the evening, the food was high quality, the server was knowledgeable about the menu. Timely in bringing out the next course, friendly atmosphere.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Excellent food and excellent service. A ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Excellent food and excellent service. All in party enjoyed this outing.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter was very nice. It was my spou ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Our waiter was very nice. It was my spouse birthday and we got a complimentary glass of champagne which was a very nice touch. The appetizer and the entree were very good but I only put 3 stars for food as I thought the desserts could be a little more elaborate for a place like this (they were still good though).

I would recommend it for a special occasion.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

The lighting and art made for a comforta ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

The lighting and art made for a comfortable atmosphere, interesting and easy on the eyes. The quiet was peaceful and staff was respectful of the table conversation. We had a bottle of wine and several appetizers, all delicious, would certainly recommend.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Very very high prices with fair food and ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Very very high prices with fair food and unprofessional service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

40th wedding anniversary brunch

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed the experience. Our server Brittany was great and her manager took time to tour us through their on site garden. Gave us a glass of champagne each in honour of our special occasion. Very processional , friendly and the food super. Hope to go back soon, but not wait another 40 years.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Wonderful dining...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Everything, starting with the glorious chicken pate was wonderful. Excellent service, cocktails, wine, entrees, and dessert. We took our sister there for her birthday, and they sent us special champagne and a candle on her dessert. Very special night. Excellent restaurant in every way, we will go again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best of the best!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

I moved away from the area in 2011, since that time I make it back about twice per year. This is one of my must do items when I go home. Usually bring the family for brunch, lunch or dinner. All are great. My kids love this place too, all around my favorite restaurant on the Northshore, in my opinion the best restaurant on the Northshore. Great job John Besh! I look forward to visiting your restaurants every time I come home!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.