About La Provence

25020 Highway 190
Lacombe, LA 70445
View Larger Map

Country French inspired restaurant. At La Provence, “cooking with heart” means everything. The menu blithely ignores the cutting edge of urban contemporary French food, and instead reflects the time-honored, time-consuming rustic techniques that in turn reflect the rugged earthiness of the ingredients.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Wednesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Sunday: 3:00pm - 9:00pm; Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(985) 626-7662

Website:
http://www.laprovencerestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
From New Orleans: Take I10 west to Causeway Blvd. North towards Mandeville, approximately 24 miles. Upon exiting the bridge stay right on
Highway 190 East. Continue on 190 East approximately 8miles. La Provence will be located on your right side 2 miles past Fountainbleau State
Park.

Executive Chef:
Erick Loos IV

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Restaurant Photos

La Provence
La Provence
Local Citrus Tart
Whole Cooked Porchetta
Turtle Soup
Crispy Softshell Crab, Heirloom Tomatoes, Country Ham & Garden Basil Pistou
Chilled Cucumber & Buttermilk Soup W/Shrimp Remoulade Stuffed Tomato
Rabbit Boudin Blanc Over Cavatelli & Chantrelles
Pan Seared Grouper With Truffed Farro "Risotto", Brussel Sprouts, Preserved Sour Cherries, Roast Acorn Squash
Shrimp And Mirliiton Salad

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

At La Provence, we have a private dining room available for social and corporate events, with seating for up to 75 and 125 guests reception style. The beautiful Garden Room features a large fireplace, custom artwork and opens on to the courtyard with fountain.

La Provence Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
New Orleans / Louisiana
Romantic
New Orleans
Special Occasion
New Orleans
Best Restaurants in Northshore ›

Special Occasion (57)
Romantic (49)
Fit for Foodies (44)
See All
Notable Wine List (26)
Great for Brunch (19)
Good for Groups (18)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Local Ingredients (9)
Good for a Date (8)
Great for Lunch (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Fireplace (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Cozy (5)
Scenic View (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Authentic (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Seasonal (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Historic (2)
Fun (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Organic (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Vegan (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Healthy (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1306 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Awesome food impeccable service. Best d ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Awesome food impeccable service.

Best dirty martini,ever-it was the ice crystals !

Best boudin in the world !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

In the past I have been a little disappo ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

In the past I have been a little disappointed with the strange menu with a lot of game as entrees, for example. The restaurant seems to have evolved over the past couple of years. The ambiance was always very nice. This time, we found the food to be very good also. There were a lot of items this time we could have chosen, instead of searching the menu to find one thing that sounded appetizing. I would go to this restaurant again soon. The last time I was there was a couple of years ago, and a similar time gap before that ... always leaving a little disappointed. Not so this time.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

Attention to detail & great service by o ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Attention to detail & great service by our female server.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always....food and service beyond com ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

As always....food and service beyond compare!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My husband and I celebrated our 25th wed ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

My husband and I celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary with our 9 year old daughter at La Provence. We enjoy trying upscale, local restaurants for any kind of occasion. The staff were friendly and made sure our special occasion was acknowledged (including complimentary glass of champagne). They even have an interesting children's menu.

The crostini and pate was interesting though the extra crunch was a bit difficult! The breads rolls and fresh butter were delightful. Our appetizers were delicious - a creamy salad for me, a cold tomato and vegetable dish for my husband, and the bisque for my daughter.

Entrees did not disappoint. I love a moist, tender and flavorful steak filet. My husband's pompano was good but could have used a larger serving size. Our daughter had their homemade crispy chicken strips (such a kid!).

We each had our own dessert. The dark chocolate tart with espresso ice cream was perfect for me. The cornbread pudding something was tasty but surprising to my husband. The little one went with ice cream and chocolate syrup!

Overall we enjoyed our little trip to Lacombe, LA.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Overall the food was good but not worth ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Overall the food was good but not worth the price. The menu was limited.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

Dining at La Provence is literally like ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Dining at La Provence is literally like dining at a french restaurant in the Provence countryside. The drive to the rural area just outside Mandeville is a fitting preparation for a meal in a fine french restaurant. The food is exceptional, and the service attentive but not overly so. While the cost is relatively higher than other restaurants, the quality of the food, the inventive cuisine and the ambiance and service all make very much worth it. It's a great place for a relaxing and rewarding meal.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Lovely evening. Celebrated my Dad's 90t ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Lovely evening. Celebrated my Dad's 90th birthday. Great service and food was delicious. The duck was outstanding. Thank you for making our visit so memorable.

Tags: Special Occasion, Wood Oven, Cozy, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Recommending La Provence mainly based on ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Recommending La Provence mainly based on past good experiences. We went for the special "cool inary" menu and the word for our experience was "scorched". First was a crab soup that was bland and crabby smelling and not in a good way. In it were two pieces of burnt toast. And, yes, it definitely tasted burned, not just browned. The soup was a total loss. The entree was some delicious fresh shrimp with some fluffy potato gnocchi. I thought they needed some salt and pepper but my daughter, a fan of gnocchi, thought they were perfect. We both agree they were in a wonderful brown sauce flavored with smoky bacon and onions. Inexplicably big hunks of burned bread were tossed on top of it. Maybe to add some texture, maybe for the sauce, but it just didn't work. Seemed cheap and detracted from the dish. The creme brulee with fruit and a cookie was wonderful. But, the sugar topping on mine had been scorched in a couple of places. Pressed coffee and one drink were great, but the peach mint julep was a lot of bourbon and mint with no taste of peach. We wondered if Eric Loos was on vacation. Service was superb as usual.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Fireplace, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

La Provence is a true experience. The w ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

La Provence is a true experience. The warm atmosphere and welcome are great. The service and food are phenomenal. Wonderful for any celebration or just a fabulous meal.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Outstanding Value, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful restaurant. Best on the Norths ...

vip
 (Little Rock)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Wonderful restaurant. Best on the Northshore.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I love La Provence. The food, service an ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

I love La Provence. The food, service and ambience are fabulous. My only complaint is that I'm not sure why, for a $36 fish entree, a couple of asparagus or some other vegetable can't be added to the entree plate. It's a little strange to just see a piece of fish sitting on a big plate with nothing else except the butter sauce. It gives the appearance of being cheap. How much could a couple of asparagus cost a restaurant? This would also add to the presentation. Just my humble opinion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value1

One of the brst!

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

One of the brst!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

John Besh's Northshore restaurant is a d ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

John Besh's Northshore restaurant is a definite must do. We went for Brunch but I imagine dinner would be just as great or better.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Have been to La Provence on several occa ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Have been to La Provence on several occasions over the years, both before and after it was acquired by John Besh.

This last visit was disappointing. The food lacked is former zest. Service was only mediocre. The menu has been trimmed back. The company has taken a lot of price...too much!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

We have dined here a few times over the ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We have dined here a few times over the past several years and have never been disappointed. This meal we repeated the crab bisque (with tapioca) and the drum with crabmeat, along with a good bottle of champagne. Most important our server, Liam, was a helpful and friendly, as always.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

La Provence has lays been an outstanding ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

La Provence has lays been an outstanding resturaunt. However, the current version is incredibly consistent, professional, and simply delicious! A wonderful event each time that you go!

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We are so happy that La Provence is agai ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We are so happy that La Provence is again at the top of its game. Dale's return has made a big difference and the kitchen is going great guns. THREE YUM, YUM, YUMS AND A SMILEY!!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always changing, mostly good sometimes n ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Always changing, mostly good sometimes not to my liking. The Coolinary Menu wanted to take the soup bowl and turn it up to get the last drop. Excellent meal

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great anniversary dinner...complimentary ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Great anniversary dinner...complimentary champagne

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

We really enjoyed everything! The barten ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We really enjoyed everything! The bartender who waited on our table took 30 minutes to take our drink order and was seemingly walking away every time we wanted to talk to her. We didn't expect it to be a 2 hour brunch, but we certainly enjoyed every minute of it! The food was exceptional! We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Service was very good. Sorry I can't sa ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Service was very good. Sorry I can't say the same about the food. Rather sad when the best part of the meal was the coffee and dessert. May give La Provence another try in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Great food , Great service , Great atmos ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Great food , Great service , Great atmosphere , a little to expensive to eat there on a regular basis but worth the cost for a romantic evening .

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

It was a wonderful evening. Best place t ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

It was a wonderful evening. Best place to be on the northshore for sure

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

had a group of 13 for a sunday birthday ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

had a group of 13 for a sunday birthday brunch. Everything was great. Our server did a wonderful job. The brunch menu price is an outstanding value, 3 courses for $38. Food was outstanding. Atmosphere was excellent as always

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful dining experience. Entire sta ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Wonderful dining experience. Entire staff took care of us. Great for a romantic or family dinner (we brought our 5 and 2 year olds and they were treated great.)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very enjoyable late lunch , food and ser ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Very enjoyable late lunch , food and service very good, friendly .

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

We had a wonderful time at La Provence. ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We had a wonderful time at La Provence. It felt like we were automatically visiting family or good friends as we were warmly welcomed into the kitchen and got a tour of the farm! The service was fantastic and the food was so tasty! I would highly recommend going here for a change of scenery from New Orleans :)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just a great meal. The Quail gumbo was ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Just a great meal. The Quail gumbo was so rich and tasty. had the soft shell crab which was excellent. The tomato salad was super fresh. The drinks and wine were great. Ambiance super. Well worth the trip from New Orleans.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Celebrated with my husband on the evenin ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Celebrated with my husband on the evening of his birthday. It was a really memorable meal with friendly service. They even provided a few surprises for us in honor of our occasion. I'd say that the atmosphere of the restaurant was fancy, but approachable.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The presentation was not pleasing. The a ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The presentation was not pleasing. The appetizer was on a big plate and half the plate was empty which took away from the artistic intention. The 15.00 cost of the appetizer could have had a two Tablespoons of crabmeat instead of one. The entre was not pleasing on the plate. The waitress described the dish with a small amount of hollandaise circled on the plate. Well the sauce was bigger than the fish. The pompano was not skinned which made it hard to eat. I usually don't complain but I was surprised since it was talked up on the Tom Fitzmorris radio show. The wine selection was poor. The soup was good and the waitress was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

Outstanding as has been our dinner there ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Outstanding as has been our dinner there on the past 2 occasions over the past year.

You wont be disappointed. Be sure to reserve well ahead.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had been looking forward to dining at ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We had been looking forward to dining at La Provence but left disappointed. While the appetizers were excellent and the dessert was fantastic, the entrees were not up to expectations. The lamb's neck was over salted, potatoes were undercooked, and the short rib was tough and difficult to slice. Paying over $250 for two, one would expect a better better dining experience.

Maybe an off day? Perhaps.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Great food, excellent service in a beaut ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Great food, excellent service in a beautiful setting. I highly recommend La Provence, you will not be disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful experience. Seated immediately ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Wonderful experience. Seated immediately. Served one of the best cocktails I've ever had. Duck pate' was mouthwatering. "oysters ooh la la" to die for. Excellent amberjack with side of pork belly. Service friendly, professional, attentive. Sadly, no room for dessert.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding as always! We recently visi ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Outstanding as always! We recently visited for our anniversary. We were greeted with a glass of sparkling wine. The wait staff and manager were all extremely friendly and helpful. The food was truly amazing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We enjoyed another great dinner at La Pr ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We enjoyed another great dinner at La Provence. Food and service were excellent.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This restaurant has had some highs and l ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

This restaurant has had some highs and lows since Chef Chris sold to John Besh years ago. Right now, it is at a high point. Food was great. Menu was varied, with a great selection of affordable French wines. For some reason, bar service to table is always very slow, now as before. Over all, it is a fine restaurant with farm to table ingredients and with the atmosphere of Provence, France. Highly recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We went for Father's day. A special occ ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We went for Father's day. A special occasion menu was offered for a fixed price. Assumed that the price probably did not include drinks which would have been fine. But found out when we received the check that it not only didn't include drinks, but that refills on soft drinks and tea were not free. This is the first time that I have ever been charged for 3 1/3 Iced Tea's. I would recommend the restaurant, but next time I'll stick with water. We paid almost $30 for a group of six for our drinks (non-alcoholic).

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Exceptional dining experience, as usual. ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Exceptional dining experience, as usual. La Provence goes above and beyond with delicious, fresh, local fare, great atmosphere, and always great service.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.