About La Plazuela at La Fonda on the Plaza

La Plazuela was the hotel’s original 1920s patio and it retains that sunlit Old World charm. Skylights flood the dining room with natural light and handsome carved furnishings, artisanal lighting, and our much-loved hand painted windows create a beautiful, inviting room to gather, to dine and to make memories in. The menu was crafted to showcase old favorites with New World influences and authentic New Mexican cuisine, and our award-winning wine list is exceptional. La Plazuela at La Fonda on the Plaza is Santa Fe’s gathering place. Come dine with us!

100 E. San Francisco Street
Santa Fe, NM 87501
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Southwest, Mexican / Southwestern, Contemporary Mexican

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm, Saturday - Sunday: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm; Breakfast: Monday - Sunday: 7:00am - 11:30am

Cross Street:
Old Santa Fe Trail

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(505) 995-2334

Website:
http://www.lafondasantafe.com/

Executive Chef:
Lane Warner

Additional:
Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

La Plazuela at La Fonda on the Plaza Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (31)
Historic (31)
Authentic (25)
See All
Romantic (24)
Good for Anniversaries (23)
Fit for Foodies (22)
Good for a Date (22)
Casual (20)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Local Ingredients (18)
Sunday Lunch (17)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Great for Lunch (16)
Worth the Drive (14)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Comfort Food (12)
Good for Groups (11)
Business Meals (10)
Spicy (10)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Outstanding Value (9)
Fun (9)
People Watching (8)
Great for Brunch (7)
Cozy (6)
Disabled Access (6)
Fireplace (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Family Style (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Healthy (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Seasonal (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Tapas (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Dancing (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Live Music (1)
Scenic View (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
1037 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined 3 days ago

Great in every way as usual! We never miss a chance to dine at la Plazuela when we are in Santa Fe. Thank you for the wonderful service and cuisine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 5 days ago

It would be hard to imagine a more beautiful setting........central fountain, sparkling lighted trees, spacious historic dining room....The service was attentive, but not intrusive. The food was excellent and beautifully presented. I highly recommend the salad with a roasted pear, hazelnuts and raspberry vinaigrette . And for dessert, the raspberry enchiladas .......crepes stuffed with marscapone and drizzled with raspberry sauce...were both a visual and culinary treat. This meal was really one of the highlights of my visit to Santa Fe.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 12, 2017

the meal was very good, however, the menu does not seem to change very much. the only negative otherwise is that the chef apparently does not know how to cook a steak filet to the correct requested degree of done.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 9, 2017

La Fonda ia a wonderful historic hotel, and their dining room in the center of the hotel was once an outdoor courtyard. Now enclosed with a fountain in the center it is a lovely place for dinner. The duck was perfect. Our waitperson Celeste was very attentive and charming.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Historic, Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 2, 2017

This restaurant has the open dining room atmosphere. I had the duck breast with cherry compote reduction and polenta. I paired that dish with the Rodney Strong Cabernet Sauvignon. The dish was excellent and the wine was a good paring with the spiciness of the cherry reduction. My wife had the tortilla soup and she said it was very good. For desert we shared the Flan. Interesting taste that had the consistency of a firm custard. It was served with a butterscotch drizzle. A bit different but good all the same. I finished the meal with a Ramos Pinto, 10-Year port. All in all, a good meal for a hotel restaurant.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 30, 2017

We were staying at the "La Fonda" and had just driven from Albuquerque. There was a anthropology Convention going on and the Restaurant was very busy. That did not impact the quality of the food or the service. Our son's food; burrito with Christmas Chile and Pinto beans, was spicy and tasty. We had a very good bottle of wine and desserts.

Tags: People Watching, Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Seated right away and 30 minutes early for our reservation. Service was good overall. Guacamole made at table was nice. Other dishes...pork carnitas, other Mexican dishes...were fine but not remarkable. Margaritas were the same...fine but not exceptional. Pretty noisy overall. We've been here before and will be back again, but really not one of Santa Fe's best.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Food is excellent - have been here several times. However, service was TERRIBLE this time. Seated immediately, waited 5 minutes before waitress even acknowledged my wife and me. She had been all around our table with other customers, but not even "I'll be with you in a minute." Ordered a drink and appetizer. Appetizer was brought out quickly and waitress immediately wanted us to order entree - we hadn't even gotten our drink yet. She finally brought it and again wanted our entree order before finishing appetizer. Told "no." She was barely pleasant from then on. Ordered entree and it was very good. Ordered 2nd drink and it again took 5 minutes to come. With such good food, the waitresses need to be taught how to recognize customers and the pace of the service.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 27, 2017

The restaurant at La Fonda is beautiful, as are the surrounding bits of the hotel that I saw. Gorgeous fixtures, artwork, furnishings, etc. We were in general very disappointed in our meals, however, the more so because of the relatively high prices. I had the lump crab cakes and fried oysters; the crab cakes lacked both texture and flavor and the oysters were served on little beds of iceberg lettuce, which was watery and detracted from what little flavor the oysters had. I did enjoy my spinach, hazelnut, and grilled pear salad, although the fruit itself was fairly flavorless, even with the grilling. My mother-in-law had the vegetarian meal, which was poorly seasoned and otherwise uninspired. My husband had fish tacos, which were far from the most flavorful ones we encountered on our trip. The only bright spot was the duck that my father-in-law had; he said it was some of the best he had ever tasted.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 26, 2017

This dinner kicked off our visit in Santa Fe and was one of the best meals of the whole trip. Classic Santa Fe atmosphere, great service and delicious food. I'll be craving the shredded beef enchiladas Christmas style with an egg on top for a long time.

Tags: Spicy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 24, 2017

We've eaten here a lot over the years, and La Plazuela has usually been quite good. This time it was a disappointment. The food was, at best, ordinary, and it arrived lukewarm. A pity, because it's a great space, especially since they eliminated the fluorescent lighting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Really nice! Great food, service and ambiance

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 22, 2017

A lovely dinner at a table by the fountain in honor of my husband's birthday. Atmosphere, food and service were wonderful. We will return.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Food was average and service was so-so. Beautiful atmosphere and decor, which made the experience somewhat enjoyable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Tableside guacamole is delicious and fun! Service was excellent.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 15, 2017

We had a very nice evening at La Fonda. Staff was well trained and very attentive, table was ready on time, food was great, speedy service, we had a beautiful margarita. There was one little goof but so what-it was quickly resolved and did not interfere with our experience. We live in New Mexico and know what New Mexico style food should taste like. This dinner was very authentic and the presentation was perfect. Could not have been better. Thank You!

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Kid-friendly, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 14, 2017

This is a beautiful venue with a fountain in the center and excellent service.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 14, 2017

There was no waiting, our table was ready and we were seated immediately. Our waiter, Ian, was prompt in taking our order. He explained how the order was prepared and it was as I wanted. The quantity was filling and well displayed on the plate. We were very satisfied and will be returning.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Our server, Conny, was friendly and helpful with the menu. The filet mignon enchiladas with Christmas chili was done perfectly. My husband loved the Long Island Duck breast.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 7, 2017

The service was excellent, martini was very good and served as ordered, good wine list, charming ambience, and - best of all - excellent food.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 5, 2017

The wait staff was very personable and efficient. The atmosphere and lighting was superb. Their margaritas are the BEST!

Tags: Live Music, Scenic View, Seasonal, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Always enjoy eating at La Fonda whenever we are in Santa Fe.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 27, 2017

We were visiting santa fe and decided to have a late dinner. The service was great and everything was delicious. The ambience is very warm.

Tags: Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Charli our waitress was great. She kept our drinks refilled and answered all our questions. We had the vegetarian tacos and burrito with Christmas sauce. Both were delicious. We'll be back next time and enjoy the roof top bar.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Staying next door inn at Loretta, had been to bar but not ever eaten . It was great guacamole prepared table side, the best. Highly recommend make this a dinner spot.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Historic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Great Dinner, food is always well prepared , regional cuisine . Chili Rellanos are a favorite , as are the steaks, the oyster appetizer with bacon & avocado is great! Haven't had many desserts , rarely have room for one. Soppapias are good & come with some dishes as well. Can't go to Santa Fe without a meal or two in La Plazuela. Wish we lived closer to be able to visit more often. Now go & enjoy!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 26, 2017

My good was cold, but quickly taken care of. We will go back again.

Tags: Historic, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Visiting Santa Fe for a girls weekend, we were staying at La Fonda. Our first night in town after long flights, La Plazuaela was perfect. The food was wonderfully southwest with spice, flavor and variety. The restaurant is really beautiful. And the margaritas were wonderful!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 23, 2017

i have eaten here many times and never had a bad meal here. In this case it was my fiance's birthday and i wanted to make it a memorable meal for her. The waitress was excellent . She made sure each course came out hot and cooked to perfection. They even sat us next to a water fountain for additional ambiance . Very well done. i am moving from NM to Az soon. But each time i come back to visit Santa Fe, i will most certainly eat at La Plazuela again.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Always enjoy dining at La Fonda. One of the best. Our Waitperson Stormy was terrific.

Tags: Historic, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Outstanding Value, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Delicious food. Excellent service. Beautiful atmosphere and probably the best restaurant in Santa Fe

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Excellent dining experience . Highly recommend La Plazuela for excellent food, attentive service and relaxing ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Ordered medium rare filet minion and received well done. What am I going to do, send it back and wait while my companion eats or lets her food get cold? The last thing I want on Valentines day is an unpleasant experience. The waitress did not bother to ask how things were going until the meal was mostly over. Yes, they did remove the charges for my meal and for the desert without me asking, but the money cannot fix the unpleasant experience on a special occasion. Such a shame for such a beautiful dinning room.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great meal for a special ocassion. Service and atmosphere excellent. Felt like we were dining outside. Large portions with reasonable prices.

Tags: Fireplace, Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Spicy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great meal, great service. Just a fantastic experience all the way throughout. Armando was out server and he was nearly perfect!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The food itself was fine, but the service was not great. We arrived promptly for a 6:00pm reservation, and waited a good 5 minutes at the entrance to be seated because the Maitre D' had to answer a sudden slew of phone calls. Finally he motioned to a server to seat us. I happen to be wearing a leg brace, but I don't like to stand around feeling ignored under any circumstances.

The servers were polite (bordering on obsequious) but slow, and they needed to be reminded to bring a new napkin and more bread. They all appeared to have too many patrons to take care of.

And the chairs - very heavy and nearly imporssible to slide along the floor in order to "belly up" to the dining table. I practically needed a winch to get back out after dinner.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Greatly exceeded our expectations. Excellent food and service made a birthday celebration memorable.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Always love this restaurant. You can feel the Santa Fe history when dining here. It's beautiful with the fountain and sparkling lights. Great steak and enchilada dish - my husband said it's one of the best he has ever had. Guacamole made at table side is a special touch.

Tags: Romantic, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 3, 2017

We love it here. Fajitas for two, margaritas and tableside guacomole make for a great dinner, but that combined with the staff and service have is always coming back...for years and years now.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Outstanding Value, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 3, 2017

This is my favorite restaurant in Santa Fe. The food is very good and they offer a good selection of vegetarian items. The restaurant is very pretty. Most seating is arranged so that you are not too close to your neighbor. The service is impeccable - they are attentive and so nice - they make you feel welcome. This is also a great place to take visitors so they can get a taste of old world New Mexican charm.

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.