About La Plazuela at La Fonda on the Plaza

100 E. San Francisco Street
Santa Fe, NM 87501
View Larger Map

La Plazuela was the hotel’s original 1920s patio and it retains that sunlit Old World charm. Skylights flood the dining room with natural light and handsome carved furnishings, artisanal lighting, and our much-loved hand painted windows create a beautiful, inviting room to gather, to dine and to make memories in. The menu was crafted to showcase old favorites with New World influences and authentic New Mexican cuisine, and our award-winning wine list is exceptional. La Plazuela at La Fonda on the Plaza is Santa Fe’s gathering place. Come dine with us!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Southwest, Mexican / Southwestern, Contemporary Mexican

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm, Saturday - Sunday: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm; Breakfast: Monday - Sunday: 7:00am - 11:30am

Cross Street:
Old Santa Fe Trail

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(505) 995-2334

Website:
http://www.lafondasantafe.com/

Executive Chef:
Lane Warner

Additional:
Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

La Plazuela at La Fonda on the Plaza Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Lunch
Santa Fe / Mountains
Most Booked
Santa Fe / Mountains
Best Restaurants in Santa Fe ›

special occasion (41)
romantic (35)
fit for foodies (32)
See All
good for groups (22)
great for lunch (22)
neighborhood gem (17)
kid-friendly (11)
great for brunch (11)
notable wine list (10)
hot spot (7)
 (5)
vibrant bar scene (4)
scenic view (3)
 (3)
 (3)
late-night find (2)
 (2)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
798 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food1
ambience5
service3

This place is terrible. Cheap Mexican f ...

Dined 5 days ago

This place is terrible. Cheap Mexican food and overpriced non Mexican food. Even my margarita was bad. Don't go if you care about what you are eating. Chipotle is better Mexican than this place. Not to mention the whole lobby of the hotel smelled like cheap air freshener.

food4
ambience3
service1
value2

Ambience at the refurbished La Plazuela ...

Dined 5 days ago

Ambience at the refurbished La Plazuela at the Hotel La Fonda is pleasant enough. The food is generally well prepared although I found my pork chop to be a bit tough. Unfortunately, our waiter couldn't seem to get every one's selection timed properly ( we had to remind him about getting all the entrees and deserts served at the same time). We sat for fifteen minutes before being acknowledged. Not the service I would expect for upscale prices.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We enjoyed a wonderful dinner and and gr ...

Dined 6 days ago

We enjoyed a wonderful dinner and and great service in a lovely setting. My husband and I split a nice Caesar salad and we both ordered the sea bass. It was perfectly prepared, delicious, and the presentation was excellent. We also ate breakfast there one morning, and that was terrific as well.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Lovely La Plazuela

Dined 6 days ago

Love the setting of this restaurant located in the La Fonda Hotel. It's a gem designed by Mary Colter and I love the hand painted windows done by a local artisan for her. Only problem with our dinner was that the room was cold! We asked for a table out of the "breeze" of the ventilation but it was still cold. Woman at the table next to us was wrapped in a blanket provided by them. So, bring a sweater!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My go-to in Santa Fe with guests

Dined on May 25, 2016

First, drinks upstairs to enjoy the view. Then dinner at La Plazuela. I love the food, the chili rellenos are my favorite in Santa Fe, and the gracious service, the lovely atmosphere, and the overall feeling of the restaurant appeal to me like no other in the city.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Food was authentic New Mexican and fabul ...

vip
Dined on May 23, 2016

Food was authentic New Mexican and fabulous to boot.

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Historic

Dined on May 19, 2016

Good restaurant in a beautiful, historic location. Food and service are very good.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome meal! Celebrated our 31st weddin ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Awesome meal! Celebrated our 31st wedding anniversary! Beautiful setting, delicious meal, impeccable service!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

LOvely dinner was spoiled by screaming y ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

LOvely dinner was spoiled by screaming young child. Nobody seemed to want to deal with the disruption. Would have been a great evening but it was ruined by inconsiderate young family.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fine dining in Santa Fe

Dined on May 8, 2016

We were very satisfied with our dinners in the beautiful dining area of La Fonda Hotel in Santa Fe. Service by Marco was outstanding. He was very attentive but not annoying and quite familiar with the wines and the menu and helpful with our selections. We had chili rellenos and enchiladas . The food was well prepared and fantastic. Servings were quite large and we could not quite finish. Our wine went quite well with our meal selection.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Atmosphere in Old Santa Fe

Dined on April 30, 2016

We had a lovely dinner at this restaurant, food was good, atmosphere was lovely and the service was excellent ! We had eaten here 2 years ago when traveling through Santa Fe. Would recommend La Plazuela at La Fonda for dinner too!

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great sampling of New Mexico style food

Dined on April 30, 2016

We went there specifically to get New Mexico regional food. It was delicious. The chicken tortilla soup was beautifully and uniquely presented along with being one of the best tasting soups. The Hatch chili rellanos with Christmas sauce (red and green) were also a highlight. The chile sauces were so good and rich tasting. Nice ambiance in the center of the historic hotel. FYI there is validated parking in the hotel parking garage.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Go-to restaurant in Santa Fe

Dined on April 29, 2016

La Plazuela is always amazing, from appetizers to dessert, all with the gorgeous setting inside La Fonda. Our waitress was super and always there right when we needed her. It's always a special treat to eat at this restaurant.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

See hotel, avoid restaurant

Dined on April 26, 2016

We took an out-of-town guest to La Fonda's La Plazuela for dinner thinking the ambiance would be inviting and the food good. What a shock. While the ambiance was nice, the food -- we all ordered Northern New Mexican specialties -- was not good at all. In addition, the server was quite surly as soon as we ordered glasses of wine rather than a bottle. The hotel is charming, but I would not recommend this restaurant.

food3
ambience4
service1
value2

Dinner

Dined on April 25, 2016

$19 for rellenos that were good, but I have a hard time convincing myself they were $19 good. Wife had salmon, which also was good, but nothing special about the plating or garnish; it was served on a bed of rice with steamed broccoli, which is fine, but again, the price, whatever it was, belied the actual value of the dish--very "unspecial." The service was painfully slow from getting the food (on a Sunday with lower than average crowd) to receiving the second drink--order was taken just before food arrived, and I was nearly finished by the time a bottled beer arrived. Once the check came, however, the server miraculously appeared quite rapidly after the credit card was out. Pretty below average experience. We've always had great service and food at lunchtime, so my recommendation would be ONLY for lunch at this beautiful restaurant.

Tags: great for lunch
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Rango

Dined on April 24, 2016

The food was very good although from time to time is inconsistent. Additionally, the menu does not seem to change except for perhaps twice a year and this restaurant never has any "specials". The service staff is very good.

Tags: great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Very good food!

Dined on April 23, 2016

We were in Santa Fe for the weekend and had dinner and lunch at La Plazuela. Both meals were very tasty and enjoyable. The food is spiced very well and complimented the entrees. Definitely recommend.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

Almost

Dined on April 22, 2016

Ambiance special except they ruined the bar area with a contemporary (remodel) look. Service ok. Margaritas not quite right and server didn't care. Fajitas perfectly seasoned and cooked just right.

food1
ambience4
service2
value1

We found the food not to be the best Mexican food

Dined on April 17, 2016

Service was just ok. When we had finished our appetizers, the service box the rest and not to gently place them on our table before we even had our meal. The helpers then tried to clear the table with items we were still going to use. NOT a very nice time for our special occation

food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Okay, convenient since was stayed at LaFonda.

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

The only part of the meal that was memorable was the pozole. I had Christmas enchiladas.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent

Dined on April 14, 2016

This is the second time we dined here and we were just as happy this time. The table side guacamole is very good. We split the Roasted Corn & Green Chile Chowder which is also very good. I had the Filet y Enchiladas, just like I did last time, it is so unbelievably yummy! The filet melt in your mouth tender resting on top of two lovely cheese enchiladas. My husband had the Rellenos de La Fonda and he loved it. We both really enjoyed the posole side that came with both of our dishes--very unique. There is a nice wine selection at reasonable prices--we like ordering a bottle of the Chime Pinot Nior. We made early reservations just a few hours prior to the restaurant opening; however, by about 6pm the place filled up and people were turned away (and this was a week night!).

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service3

My wife and I eat here several times a y ...

vip
Dined on April 13, 2016

My wife and I eat here several times a year when we are in SF and always enjoy the meal. The service on this visit was adequate but not remarkable. Food was good as usual. Soups and salads are always excellent. The classic entrees are good choices and my wife is especially fond of the salmon. Wine selections are good. The dining room design is unique, maintaining the ambience of a Harvey historic hotel.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Couldn't Have Been Better!

Dined on April 12, 2016

It Couldn't Have Been Better! We enjoyed a truly wonderful meal at La Pazuela. The southwest style of Mexican food can't be beat and La Pazuela is the best. Plus the service was excellent, making the meal fun and enjoyable.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Santa Fe must !

Dined on April 11, 2016

The wait staff was excellent . I ordered I thought a chicken that was a southwest recipe with chilies etc. the sauce was cranberries with a very small couple of green somethings. The potatoes were excellent but the chicken was dry. A disappointment.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

We enjoyed a wonderful meal; the chile f ...

Dined on April 11, 2016

We enjoyed a wonderful meal; the chile flavors were especially good. The service was also excellent.

food3
ambience4
service2
value1

Overpriced bar menu and poor value for cost

Dined on April 10, 2016

We had a business dinner at La Plazuela that was expensed, so we went deep on the whole menu and ordered off all the menus. In particular, the drinks were a major disappointment for our party of five. At $16 a margarita, you not only expect top shelf liquor, but you expect liquor in the drinks period. After six of these margaritas I could have passed a roadside sobriety test with flying colors. There was almost no alcohol in these drinks. Not a $16 drink. Not even a $3 drink. The portions were modest (especially the appetizers), and while the food was good, it was overpriced relative to the size of the meal. This establishment has nothing on the competition save for a quieter and more elegant atmosphere. So go drink your $16 glass of sweet & sour mix in a great lobby. Otherwise, go next door to The Shed and get a decent drink and the same food at half the cost. We will not be back, and if I'd paid for this out of my own pocket, i'd have asked to see a manager about a refund of my drink bill.

food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Food4me

vip
Dined on April 9, 2016

A nice setting; service is not friendly. the food is decent, but the restaurant is not a welcoming place--kind of operates as a fast food establishment,

food5
ambience4
service4

Vegetarian tacos and chiles rellenos wer ...

Dined on April 6, 2016

Vegetarian tacos and chiles rellenos were excellent

food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious dishes!

vip
Dined on April 2, 2016

Delicious dishes!

food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Food was good I had the pasta. I had to ...

Dined on March 30, 2016

Food was good I had the pasta. I had to ask for more olive oil for it. It was very dry. Salad and drinks along with raspberry tarte a la mode was very good

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Northern New Mexico Cuisine

Dined on March 23, 2016

I'd eaten here many years ago, when I was a student, and my professors treated to us to lunch. I'd had good memories, and I was pleased to discover that there's excellent Northern New Mexican cuisine along with great ambience as I'd recalled from those years ago! I had a margarita, but I was impressed by the wine list, too!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Limited

Dined on March 20, 2016

Although food is very good, the restaurant features a very limited menu which only changes as the seasons change. They offer not "specials" to allow one to vary from the somewhat mundane offerings.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

La Plazuela is always top notch. Great f ...

vip
Dined on March 15, 2016

La Plazuela is always top notch. Great food and great service in a beautiful spot. We go time and again and are never disappointed.

food5
ambience5
service5

We enjoyed everything (food, service, am ...

Dined on March 13, 2016

We enjoyed everything (food, service, ambiance) that we went back again. Highly recommend this restaurant!

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Perfect sw experience.

Dined on March 5, 2016

Lived the Historic Hotel that restaurant was in. The dining room was large and charming with high ceilings and 2 large trees lit up with tWinkle lights in the center of the room. Colorful hand painted glass windows covered the walls Food was delish. A must to visit. Magical!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Beautiful room, mediocre food

Dined on February 28, 2016

Our waiter was friendly and very knowledgeable about the wine list. We ordered guacamole that was prepared table-side, it was tasty. I started with the Tortilla Soup and was disappointed that it arrived lukewarm and lacked flavor. My main course was the free range chicken, it was flavorful and juicy but nothing extraordinary. Dessert was the highlight of my meal, the flan was creamy and delicious..

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As good as always.

Dined on February 23, 2016

Usually our first night out restaurant when we are vacationing in Santa Fe. Always a fun atmosphere. My poached sea bass was heavenly. Will be back again.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, great for lunch, hot spot
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Mains pretty good; rest quite average; service ok

Dined on February 15, 2016

Full house for Valentine's day and glad their regular menu was available in addition to a special menu. The mandarin oranges, goji berry salad was pretty heavy and garlicy but a nice change of pace from the usual salad. Her free range chicken was tender and juicy; ditto for my Chilean sea bass which was ever-so-lightly seasoned that the fish flavor shown through. But the accompanying rice was a bit overcooked and salty. The stir fried pea pods were crunchy and not overcooked but they kitchen hadn't removed the straw tails that emerge from the end of the pods -- an oversight indicating a lack of attention to detail. Our chardonnay arrived and the bottle was barely room temperature, much less chilled. The molten chocolate cake was 2x or 3x too sweet to the point that the sugar overwhelmed the chocolate. Will say the service was otherwise pretty attentive and friendly.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Unexpected gem

Dined on February 15, 2016

Extremely well prepared food. Attentive service normally not found in a hotel setting.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great environment and service. All of t ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

Great environment and service. All of the food we ate was delicious!

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.