About La Plazuela at La Fonda on the Plaza

La Plazuela was the hotel’s original 1920s patio and it retains that sunlit Old World charm. Skylights flood the dining room with natural light and handsome carved furnishings, artisanal lighting, and our much-loved hand painted windows create a beautiful, inviting room to gather, to dine and to make memories in. The menu was crafted to showcase old favorites with New World influences and authentic New Mexican cuisine, and our award-winning wine list is exceptional. La Plazuela at La Fonda on the Plaza is Santa Fe’s gathering place. Come dine with us!

100 E. San Francisco Street
Santa Fe, NM 87501
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Southwest, Mexican / Southwestern, Contemporary Mexican

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm, Saturday - Sunday: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm; Breakfast: Monday - Sunday: 7:00am - 11:30am

Cross Street:
Old Santa Fe Trail

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(505) 995-2334

Website:
http://www.lafondasantafe.com/

Executive Chef:
Lane Warner

Additional:
Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

La Plazuela at La Fonda on the Plaza Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Authentic (34)
Special Occasion (33)
Good for Birthdays (26)
See All
Local Ingredients (25)
Good for Anniversaries (25)
Good for a Date (25)
Casual (24)
Romantic (20)
Creative Cuisine (19)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Historic (16)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Worth the Drive (12)
Spicy (10)
People Watching (10)
Comfort Food (9)
Business Meals (9)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Good for Groups (9)
Notable Wine List (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Great for Lunch (8)
Fun (7)
Cozy (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Seasonal (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Organic (2)
Tapas (2)
Scenic View (2)
Healthy (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
1095 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Fabulous as usual. Celebrating birthday. Armando best waiter ever👍👍

Tags: People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Disabled Access, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Seasonal, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 13, 2017

We met friends driving through for the evening. Great atmosphere, wonderful food and service made for a very enjoyable time.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on July 12, 2017

The burrito was a complete meal, so much I had to take some home. Great margaritas, too!

Tags: Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 8, 2017

This was our second time eating here. The first was three years ago. This was not quite as good as the first time. The service was less attentive. (Our server seemed to have too many tables; it wasn't his fault.) Some of our meal (side dishes) never was served, but the server did adjust the bill without any trouble. Overall, it felt like the restaurant wasn't making the same effort. The menus weren't clean, there were no specials, etc. Food was still really good, but it wasn't special.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 7, 2017

My husband and I enjoyed a fabulous meal at La Plazuela! The table side guacamole is a must ... gorgeous restaurant and the food was delicious ! Our server Alexis was personable and attentive but didn't hover. It was a wonderful birthday dinner for me!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Beutiful, historic restaurant in the middle of the historic La Fonda hotel on the Santa Fe Plaza. Wonderful food, great amniance, terrific staff. Highly recommend forbspecial occasions.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Afternoon Tea, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Amazing food!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on July 4, 2017

We had a lovely evening at La Plazuela. The room décor was beautiful! Our server was extremely attentive and gave us excellent service. We were visiting Santa Fe and the dining room had been recommended by a friend. The menu choices were great. The melon soup appetizer was delicious as were the vegetarian tacos. Two small comments - my husband had the Northern New Mexico Special/filet and enchilladas - the flavor was excellent, the filet slightly tough. The other comment is that the table for two was rectangular and longer than wide and made quiet conversation difficult as we were seated fairly apart. There were other tables near us that were empty, but in order to speak across the length of the table you had to lean across the table and speak somewhat loudly to hear each other. We considered switching chairs around to be seated next to each other instead of across, but then people were seated next to us and that didn't work very well as there wasn't enough room to move a chair around. I would ask for another table the next visit.

Tags: Fun, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Spicy, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 3, 2017

We had a lovely meal at La Plazuela .
Amando was an incredible server and we had a very nice dinner .
The trout and the relllenos with the green chile were delicious.

Tags: Local Ingredients, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 1, 2017

When I made the reservation, I told them it would be my son's birthday. I sort of expected a little special dessert or something. But, there was nada. I don't know if they do anything special or just ignored the fact that it was his birthday. :(

The food was I guess good especially the table prepared guacamole. I must have ordered the wrong thing, because my wasn't good. I ordered the Roasted Chili Poblano which was a vegetarian dish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Staff were very professional and helpful in describing the menu. Seating was very efficient. Food was very good. The chefs do tend to prepare the Southwest dishes with a little more heat as we learned but the chili heat can be brought down if requested. The dining area is in a large high ceiling central area of the hotel and the design is quite fitting for the expansive landscape that the surrounding area offers. Overall, La Plazuela produces some outstanding dishes. We look forward to returning.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Love the restaurant setting. Good food, service, and ambiance.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Great Santa Fe experience in a sun-lit skylight setting. Traditional New Mexican for the most part...we had fajitas for two, with an enormous serving of sizzling shrimp and chicken we could not finish. Very comfortable setting, casual, excellent service.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Organic, Worth the Drive, Spicy, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on June 26, 2017

The chile rellenos are the best! The fajitas I didn't care for so much. The guacamole is superb. Service is good and friendly, the ambience is lovely. Highly recommended.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 26, 2017

We were seated promptly at our set reservation time. We liked the roomy table and it's location. Our server Celeste was the best!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 26, 2017

Overall it was a very good experience. The food was a little slow coming out but they compensated us for that so I can't complain. The only main complaint I have was that the table for two was huge! It felt like we had to yell to have a conversation because we were so far apart.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Great prime rib on Friday and Saturday! Well seasoned and enough for a lunch the next day. Very nice wine list.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Good guacamole made at your table.
Nice setting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 18, 2017

This was our first visit to La Plazuela and it was top notch. It's the hub of a lovely hotel. It has an authentic Southwestern vibe. We sat adjacent to a circular water fountain. Nice. The service was excellent. Our server was knowledgeable and helpful, steering us to the restaurant's Northern Southwestern specialties. After a week in the Southwest we were pretty satiated, so we passed on a first course. We each ordered the taco platter. Soft corn tacos--one red snapper and one pork carnitas--with papaya, red and green chile sauces, slaw and a side of black beans. Everything was delicious, including the margaritas (La Fonda version with Cointreau and cognac). We'd have no hesitation returning on a future Santa Fe visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Great authentic Southwestern cuisine, prepared fresh. Service is wonderful. Ambience is traditional upper end New Mexico. Prices are quite reasonable. Definitely recommend.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on June 18, 2017

La Plazuela at La Fonda is our favorite restaurant for special occasions and holidays. We celebrated Father's Day there this past Sunday and it did not disappoint...the food was superb and the service was excellent. Although the recent remodeling of the hotel has drastically changed the historical ambiance & quaintness (we are very disappointed about that), fortunately the dining room was not touched and remains quintessential Santa Fe!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Armando was a real pro server. He always kept on eye on us but didn't ever disturb the conversation. I will always ask for him.

I loved the petite filet with enchiladas and would order it again. She had two huge fish filets cooked perfectly.

We sat by the fountain with plenty of privacy.

It was a very enjoyable meal.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 18, 2017

La Plazuela was exactly what we wanted in a restaurant with a little bit of everything when it came to food. The service was impeccable and the staff was very knowledgeable. The food came out quickly and hot. The ambiance was perfect. Peaceful inside the beloved and historic La Fonda of Santa Fe.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 10, 2017

We have stopped before and it continues to have great food and service.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Excellent authentic Mexican food in a historic setting. Delicious!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Authentic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 5, 2017

Our server was excellent. Our entrees were well prepared and the presentation was perfect. Lovely room!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 4, 2017

The food was wonderful and the server was extremely helpful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 4, 2017

I'm a local vegan and was making plans with my Aunt who is not vegan. She selected La Plazuela from a list I provided her of places I hoped would satisfy us both. I'm not going back to La Plazuela. The $12 Tableside Guacamole had fried to death chips that were too hard. The Roasted Cashew Cake is not and cannot be made vegan - so disappointed. I ordered a stuffed poblano hold the non-vegan polenta and ended up with my most dreaded meal ... roasted veggies with sauce - no rice no beans no tofu. I don't think my Aunt really enjoyed her dish either. The local Santa Fe beer was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Always good, local food. Great atmosphere, excellent service and, in general, a rather "up" dining experience. As locals, it is one of our favorite dining destinations.

The one weakness was the Hosts, but they have corrected that and now the host is a "professional" and it is much more welcoming.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Beautiful room, dinners were delicious and our server was delightful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 1, 2017

The food was subpar, the risotto looked like mushy oatmeal & the vegetables had obviously been sitting under a warmer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 31, 2017

We were going to a concert at the Basilica so the restaurant was very conveniently located.
The food was good and we went early to dinner because the basilica opened at 6:30 for the concert. Going early was good because it was quiet and we could have a conversation. As we were leaving, it was getting busier.
The service and food were good and I really liked having the parking covered (the lot below the
restaurant). I had a stamp and they did not charge us for parking.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 28, 2017

This restaurant was the Bomb. The marguritas were delicious . Our waiter I think his name was Armada, was very helpful- knowledgeable about the drinks and the food. I would recommend this restaurant to my friends. We had a late reservation , but the place was in full swing. Loved it.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Excellent service; enjoyable ambiance. Don't pass up the table side guacamole!

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Disabled Access, Organic, Spicy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 24, 2017

We stop here every year on our trip from Arizona to Colorado for the past 4 years and have never been disappointed. Will be here again next year

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Excellent food presented in a fun and appealing manner. Very reasonable pricing. Fast, friendly and professional staff. A gen of a restaurant in a restaurant rich Santa Fe.

Tags: Fun, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Very nice patio like ambiance. Indoors, but feeling of outdoors. Service was superb and food delicious. We ordered fajitas for two. Surprisingly reasonable prices and more than enough food. Even came with sopapillas. We were there for dinner, and will return there for breakfast or lunch when we visit again.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 20, 2017

It was our 45th anniversary and we were put at a long table for two and had to almost yell to hear each other. The trout was dry and the whole plate looked unappealing. Loved the hotel but the restaurant was a big disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Great ambiance, excellent southwest food, and personable timely service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 16, 2017

My husband and I had a fantastic time and meal there. We always come here whenever we come to Santa Fe.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.