About La Plazuela at La Fonda on the Plaza

100 E. San Francisco Street
Santa Fe, NM 87501
View Larger Map

La Plazuela was the hotel’s original 1920s patio and it retains that sunlit Old World charm. Skylights flood the dining room with natural light and handsome carved furnishings, artisanal lighting, and our much-loved hand painted windows create a beautiful, inviting room to gather, to dine and to make memories in. The menu was crafted to showcase old favorites with New World influences and authentic New Mexican cuisine, and our award-winning wine list is exceptional. La Plazuela at La Fonda on the Plaza is Santa Fe’s gathering place. Come dine with us!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Southwest, Mexican / Southwestern, Contemporary Mexican

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm, Saturday - Sunday: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm; Breakfast: Monday - Sunday: 7:00am - 11:30am

Cross Street:
Old Santa Fe Trail

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(505) 995-2334

Website:
http://www.lafondasantafe.com/

Executive Chef:
Lane Warner

Additional:
Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Penne
  • Red Snapper Ceviche
  • Gruet Blanc De Noirs
  • Meatloaf
  • Tortilla Soup
  • SMOKED TURKEY COBB SALAD
Penne
Red Snapper Ceviche
Gruet Blanc De Noirs
Meatloaf
Tortilla Soup
SMOKED TURKEY COBB SALAD

La Plazuela at La Fonda on the Plaza Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Santa Fe / Mountains
Best Restaurants in Santa Fe ›

special occasion (59)
fit for foodies (48)
romantic (44)
See All
great for lunch (37)
neighborhood gem (29)
good for groups (26)
great for brunch (20)
notable wine list (17)
kid-friendly (14)
vibrant bar scene (11)
scenic view (6)
hot spot (5)
late-night find (2)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
841 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I love the ambiance of this restaurant, ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined 6 days ago

I love the ambiance of this restaurant, you can feel the quality of service echoed by the art on the walls, the history of the place and of course the food is fantastic and I can always expect the quality to be that way each and every time. We eat there for special occasion as well as 'every day' dining...

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent venue - great service - excell ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined 7 days ago

Excellent venue - great service - excellent recommendations re specials and wine list

Enjoyed the evening and next time in Santa Fe it will be visited again

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

the architecture and design very nice. i ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

the architecture and design very nice. interesting painted windows.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

had reservations had to wait 45 minutes ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

had reservations

had to wait 45 minutes after reservation time

brought over cooked wrong food 30 minutes after ordered

would not recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value3

Always consistently good. Love that they ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Always consistently good. Love that they take a reservation.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is great! We had vey slow serv ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The food is great! We had vey slow service which was the only downfall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

The sea bass was tasteless and not prepa ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

The sea bass was tasteless and not prepared well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3

Great food with a nice presentation. Ser ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Great food with a nice presentation. Service is outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellentallarounddiningexperience isalw ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Excellentallarounddiningexperience isalwaysfoundatLaFonda.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

No wait to get seated, got a table in th ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

No wait to get seated, got a table in the middle next to the fountain which was great.

Table side Guacamole is a must, absolutely fantastic. Main dish of shrimp and chicken fajitas was not only big but also very tasty.

Our waiter Armando was very attentive and provided a lot of recommendations and help.

Love to come back there again.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our favorite restaurant in Santa Fe. Foo ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Our favorite restaurant in Santa Fe. Food was outstanding, as usual. Service was not so great on this visit. My wife, her sister, and our son ordered the guacamole appetizer which is prepared table-side. The poor fellow was so backed up that our entrées came while he was preparing the appetizer at our table. Fajitas for four plus sides, plus the guacamole and fresh tortilla chips, plus our dinner plates, drinks and other side plates, flowers, etc. did not fit on the table. No one offered to sort things out for us. We were forced to move things ourselves-flowers to an empty table, bread plates to another place and so on. Two of us ordered iced tea, only one came. Had to ask twice for the other one. Unfortunately, all the little and not-so-little things resulted in a rushed, harried dinner experience. It is clear that the restaurant was understaffed this evening. We had an early dinner with only a few tables filled when we arrived. By the time we left the restaurant was filled. I can only imagine the service those people received.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Armando, our waiter, was the most polite ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Armando, our waiter, was the most polite, well mannered waiter that I have ever met.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Only failure the communication between b ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Only failure the communication between bar and restaurant; the martinis arrived tepid.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Food was really good. Service was slow t ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Food was really good. Service was slow to start. Ambiance is, well, part of the hotel lobby, with other guests to-ing and fro-ing while we ate.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Upscale menu delivers as promised! The ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Upscale menu delivers as promised! The cucumber gazpacho with goats milk yoghurt exceed expectations as did the cauliflower steak. This is our second trip, but won't be our last!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed the hotel and service very mu ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

We enjoyed the hotel and service very much but we were very disappointed in the food. I ordered the salmon which was so overcooked that it was hard and dry. I am surprised that it was served like this. We have been here before and the food was much better.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

Although convenient to the hotel, the so ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Although convenient to the hotel, the soup was cold, the crab cakes were greasy, food was not good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service4
value1

We enjoyed the fajitas for two with chic ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

We enjoyed the fajitas for two with chicken and shrimp. The house margarita was small for the price. Service was excellent. Meal included sopapillas but they had no cinnamon! Agreed to seating us early.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Guacamole prepared tableside... Chilean ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Guacamole prepared tableside... Chilean sea bass w/cauliflower mash and grilled asparagus... also Alaskan salmon were light and fabulous. Just enough room for chocolate choc-chip gelato and raspberry sorbet. Outstanding professional service. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We chose to eat here based upon atmosphe ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

We chose to eat here based upon atmosphere, menu selections and popularity. Many other choices nearby, but we were not disappointed. Great New Mx food choices. Reasonable prices overall. Busy place but spacious seating and beautiful décor consistent with SW themes. A fun place and were all satisfied with our choices for entrees. No live music but not needed and available locally. Recommend reservations for prime time.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

internal decor excellent and worth a ret ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

internal decor excellent and worth a return trip! also loved the guacamole!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Delicious food, particularly the norther ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Delicious food, particularly the northern New Mexico dishes. Service was kind, courteous, and responsive. A good wine list that pairs well with the menu items. Charming ambience.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food, great service! Wonderful wa ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Great food, great service! Wonderful way to start our evening at the opera!!

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The restaurant was extremely noisy. Lots ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The restaurant was extremely noisy. Lots of poorly behaved children. The food was ok. Nothing spectacular. I wish we'd have been able to make reservations at another restaurant. The staff was good but clearly overwhelmed.

Tags: kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

Always a beautiful place to celebrate an ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Always a beautiful place to celebrate an event or just go on a whim. La Plazuela's food is very tasty and my filet and enchiladas serving was so generous we had lunch the next day as well. We were also able to bring in a birthday cake for the two of us celebrating our birthday. The trees with their tiny lights reflecting off the hand-painted window panes helps make La Plazuela a special place in Santa Fe.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Has been a local favorite of ours for ma ...

vip
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Has been a local favorite of ours for many years. Always great food and great service.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Too many other good restaurants to choos ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Too many other good restaurants to chooses from. Wouldn't go again!

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

One of our favorite places to eat when w ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

One of our favorite places to eat when we go to Santa Fe. Service is always the best, the food is incredible and the atmosphere gives us a feeling of being pampered.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was disappointed. Was expecting a gastro ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Was disappointed. Was expecting a gastronomical experience from all the hype we had heard. Was really average food. I had steak that was not of good quality. Tough and charred instead of tender attentive preparation. Squash blossoms were under cooked and doughy. Not worth the money spent

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Table side guacamole was fun to watch an ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Table side guacamole was fun to watch and delicious!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food & accommodating chef. Ver ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Excellent food & accommodating chef.

Very relaxing atmosphere with high ceilings & fountain.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and ambiance is excellent. Still lo ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Food and ambiance is excellent. Still love it after many trips to Santa Fe. The prickly pear is a thing of beauty! Artwork abounds. Ride the historic elevator to the rooftop bar for a view of the sunset.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our go-to place whenever we have a speci ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Our go-to place whenever we have a special occasion to celebrate, or friends in town. The friendly staff, exceptional table-side guacamole, and prime rib on the weekends make this our place of choice.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Would recommend for any occasion. Outsta ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Would recommend for any occasion. Outstanding in every way

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unfortunately, the dining room host woul ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Unfortunately, the dining room host would not acknowledge that we had made a reservation through Open Table. I was ready to pull out my phone and show the confirmation, but - unnecessary - the dining room was almost empty at 5 pm Friday evening. The place is usually packed with people waiting in the lobby - we picked a good time. We've been going to La Plazuela as a special treat for years. Margie A., the waitress, and the bus boy provided great service. The food is exceptional and the setting is completely unique. The restaurant used to be the open courtyard for an inn that has operated on the site since the 1600's. We love it - I'll just have a printed confirmation in hand next time I go.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

La Fonda is such a local landmark that I ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

La Fonda is such a local landmark that I forget how really great the food is! We had a lovely dinner in every respect. I must remember to count on La Fonda as a great place for entertaining out of town guests. My chiles rellenos were just the best in town (and there is plenty of competition in Santa Fe).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

There are much better restaurants in San ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

There are much better restaurants in Santa Fe. I was very disappointed in the quality of my dinner -- both the appetizer (soup) and the entree. The taste of the food was less than at an average restaurant. If you want to go to La Fonda for dinner or lunch, I would stay away from this restaurant and try the lounge.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Food was excellent. Waitress was very n ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Food was excellent. Waitress was very nice and helpful. Loved the ambiance.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful service

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

I have been here a few times and every visit was wonderful

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

La Plazuela

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

The service and good were great. OK atmosphere. But the wine list was extremely overpriced and not that good. Would bring my own wine next time.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.