Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 18 times today

La Plazuela at La Fonda on the Plaza

4.5
1400 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Southwest
Top Tags:
  • Special Occasion
  • Good for Anniversaries
  • Good for Birthdays
La Plazuela was the hotel’s original 1920s patio and it retains that sunlit Old World charm. Skylights flood the dining room with natural light and handsome carved furnishings, artisanal lighting, and our much-loved hand painted windows create a beautiful, inviting room to gather, to dine and to make memories in. The menu was crafted to showcase old favorites with New World influences and authentic New Mexican cuisine, and our award-winning wine list is exceptional. La Plazuela at La Fonda on the Plaza is Santa Fe’s gathering place. Come dine with us! *We do not accept reservations for breakfast and lunch, it is walk-in based only.*
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Southwest, Mexican / Southwestern, Contemporary Mexican
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm, Saturday - Sunday: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm; Breakfast: Monday - Sunday: 7:00am - 11:30am *We do not accept reservations for breakfast and lunch, it is walk-in based only.*
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(505) 995-2334
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Lane Warner
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Old Santa Fe Trail
Additional
Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 1400 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.5based on recent ratings
4.4
food
4.6
service
4.6
ambience
4.1
value
Noise · Moderate
91% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 3 days ago

We had a wonderful 50th wedding anniversary stay at La Fonda! Perfect in every way...thank you!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 3 days ago

We had gone for my husband’s birthday. It was such a nice, quaint environment. The service was absolutely wonderful - very friendly, easily available and wanting to make sure our dining experience was enjoyable. The food and drinks were excellent. We enjoyed our experience a great deal and plan to return many times for any reason!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

We went to La Plazuela this time because of a midweek chef's special. We started with a cup of an excellent mango gazpacho. Tart and somewhat spicy. I ordered the chef's special for the week, a mixed grill consisting of an elk chop and a buffalo strip steak. It was served with a mushroom pilaf and asparagus. My spouse ordered the enchilada plate, which was as good as ever. We ended the night with flan and fresh cherry pie.

It was yet another great meal at an excellent restaurant.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined 5 days ago

A child was allowed to scream throughout our meal. The parents would not take their child outside and the management and wait staff pretended it wasn't happening. I saw other tables staring at the child's table in disbelief. The family had six adults and 4 children, yet they too ignored the problem. We quickly paid our bill and left without finishing our meal or wine to escape the cacophony. We complained to the manager, his remedy was to offer us free dessert, which was ridiculous because staying for desert would have put us there even longer. The restaurant has a high mezzanine ceiling, so the screams echoed throughout. I do not recommend this restaurant for couples wanting to have an enjoyable, intimate dining experience or groups of friends without children. The food was average but expensive, for two people eating just Mexican food and wine was $144.00 with tip.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 11, 2018

We were given a quiet table that we had asked for through open table. Service was friendly and appropriate. Food was quite good and we would highly recommend this place. It is a beautiful courtyard setting but inside a historic building which is also a hotel.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 10, 2018

Dining room is charming, food is good if not exceptional (table made guacamole is special and good), service is professional, although waitress got one order wrong. A B+ experience overall.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 8, 2018

La Plazuela at La Fonda remains a favorite. You can relax and have a conversation without screaming to be heard over the din. Unlike so many of today's restaurants, you won't have to compete with the noise of the exposed kitchen. It's a mystery why that became all the rage. Most importantly, the food is always delicious and varied enough for any palate.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 8, 2018

Wonderful atmosphere with good food!! Just sitting by the fountain is enough...

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 6, 2018

We truly enjoyed the southwest flair. The food was delicious and our server Morgan was great.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on June 6, 2018

We look forward to staying in Santa Fe and having dinner at La Plazuela in the La Fonda Hotel on our annual trip from Southern Arizona to Colorado. Unfortunately the experience this year did not come near to our prior visits. The most significant issue was the service - we'd say they were understaffed. Our wait person had 8 tables and 2 of the tables had 6 people - she just couldn't get all the way around. We waited about 20 minutes to get the beers we ordered and about 30 minutes to be served at which time I ordered another beer but never received it. No one checked on us from the time we were served until we received our bill. Other disappointments included: a price increase in our meal of 30% from last year; sopapillas that were over done and lastly I requested a table by the fountain. When we arrived there were 2 tables open by the fountain and stayed that way for at least 1/2 hour. I'm aware that requests can't always be fulfilled but given the time they were opened and that the greeting host, who wasn't very friendly, didn't offer an apology didn't sit too well. Not sure we'll return next year,

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on June 6, 2018

We dined there for breakfast and dinner. Breakfast was OK- just OK. Diner was very different. My wife ordered a ribeye steak- requesting medium "plus", stating "no blood". I ordered a filet with the same instructions. Both steaks were not cooked to our specific requests and my wife was served a steak that was not a ribeye. When we brought this up to our server, he advised us "that it was a ribeye, just cut differently." This was not our first time ordering steaks- we know all of the various "cuts". My wife sent the steak back and it was returned after a significant wait. Don't go here when there are so many other choices in Sante Fe!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 5, 2018

The La Plazuela is always wonderful and this time was no exception. The food was superb and the wine perfect. Our server was very helpful in explaining certain food items without any condescension. I love the wonderful ambience in the dining room - bright Santa Fe colors and architecture. I travel often and this is definitely one of my favorite restaurants.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 4, 2018

Great evening! Recommend the table side guacamole but it’s pricey! Food and service fantastic! Ask for Angel!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 4, 2018

It’s a landmark and the food is great. In the lobby of an historic hotel. Has everything. Start your visit to Santa Fe with a dinner here. We always do.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 2, 2018

A beautiful restaurant and good service. We enjoyed the food.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 27, 2018

Food average to below average. Nice ambiance, but overall would not recommend.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 26, 2018

The atmosphere is so nice, especially at night. The food was excellent, too! I love getting the enchiladas Christmas-style. Our service was exellent, too. It was a great place to start our trip to Santa Fe.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 26, 2018

La Plazuala never disappoints. The manager Carol was extraordinary she took such good care of our dinner reservation she helped set up the exact section I wanted to sit in and honored my special Birthday reservation on a very busy Saturday night. So grateful for all of her kindness, she is truly an extraordinary employee of La Fonda Hotel. Andrew was a delight and always great to see while dining at the restaurant. Overall La Plazuala is consistent and must be tried during a visit to Santa Fe. Thank you for your kindness. Eric S.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 25, 2018

We were in Santa Fe for five nights and ate here three of these, twice as a couple and once with a local friend. It was a holiday weekend so reservations elsewhere were hard to get. However, I didn’t feel deprived. The service is the best I’ve ever experienced and the diverse menu gave plenty of choices. I love the atmosphere and the ability to carry on a conversation without too much noise. Breakfasts were also excellent with delicious choices. Perfect!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 24, 2018

This was a truly wonderful experience - great decor, great service, wonderful food, and really very reasonable prices.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 24, 2018

Have always wanted to try La Fonda restaurant and finally got the opportunity. Our waitress was exceptional in discussing the various specials and ingredients. food was served casually and hot. Very nice dinner.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 23, 2018

Anniversary

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 22, 2018

We came for the historic location. Menu is limited, food was average at best. Wine was very low quality. Friendly staff, but a little slow.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 22, 2018

Best salmon I have ever had! It melted in my mouth!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 21, 2018

We had a great meal, excellent service and lots of ambience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 21, 2018

La Plazuela is one of our favorite places because it is so Santa Fe and the food is consistently—more consistently than any other place—delightful. On Friday, Saturday and Sunday evenings they feature prime rib of beef au jus that is amazingly delicious. And they happily prepare leftovers for tomorrow’s lunch. Do make reservations!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 20, 2018

Great food and service! My wife is allergic to wheat and the staff was very knowledgeable and accommodating for her. HIGHLY recommend the guacamole prepared tableside and the filet y enchiladas is spectacular!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 18, 2018

We drove from Denver to Santa Fe just to dine here. It is always worth it. There are many unique items on the menu that are orgasmic in flavor sensations.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 18, 2018

My wife and I were visiting Santa Fe for the first time. We were looking for southwestern cuisine and La Plazuela did not disappoint our cravings. Oliver - host, Angel - waiter, and Ruben - guacamole mixer were all attentive. Our foods were delicious and captured our appetite for southwestern cuisine. We had no room for desert. The atmosphere was lively and relaxed. A great and memorable experience!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 16, 2018

My wife and I had a lovely romantic dinner at La Fonda. Drinks and food were excellent.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 16, 2018

Loved the ambience of the entire property, food quite good, don’t miss the roof top bar at sunset

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 15, 2018

Fantastic chili rellenos

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 15, 2018

Husband and sister in-law birthdays. We were visiting the area from FL. Very nice evening

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Great food, and the atmosphere is amazing. If you get a chance go have dinner.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 11, 2018

My prime rib was perfect. The table side guacamole delicious. Service was good. They even got us in early. The only problem was my wife’s soup was thin and tasteless however they did remove it from our check

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 11, 2018

We loved everything about it!! The decor is original to Santa Fe. It is a beautiful place. The service was perfect and everyone was very friendly. The food was delicious and very reasonably priced too!! I highly recommend this restaurant!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 10, 2018

We visit Santa Fe, NM, at least three times per year and definitely have dined at La Plazuela at La Fonda each visit having enjoyed the cuisine and the various menu selections. However, it seems chefs nowadays try to create unique creations to compete against other chefs. The significant changes to the La Plazuela at La Fonda menu are not to our liking and almost all are spicy which are not to my liking for medical reasons. Yes, I totally understand spicy and Southwest go together being residents of the Southwest, however, let's be reasonable.
The service has always been outstanding as it was this time along with accommodating our request for a special table location.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 10, 2018

I expect a better service level of wait staff at this upscale restaurant. Water glasses empty, waitress never comes by to see if you need anything or check on the table, steak knifes come after the steak has been delivered to your table. When food is delivered, the waitress did not ask if we had everything we needed. Food and atmosphere is very good!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 9, 2018

Centrally located in an historic hotel in Santa Fe, New Mexico, this moderately priced dining room has a varied menu that includes the New Mexico style recipes as well as some standard fare for those who cannot handle spicy. It has an upscale feeling without being stuffy. The table-side guacamole was a big hit with our group of four. We were all very happy with our selections and enjoyed sharing a dessert. One of our dinner guests was celebrating her 80th birthday and she felt that the evening was a treat. The setting is relaxing and spacious with colorful Mexican flare. Service was attentive but not obtrusive.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 9, 2018

Waiter was excellent and knowledgeable, food great as usual. We get to Santa Fe every few years and always make sure to have dinner there.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
35

Tweets by La Plazuela at La Fonda on the Plaza