About La Plazuela at La Fonda on the Plaza

100 E. San Francisco Street
Santa Fe, NM 87501
View Larger Map

La Plazuela was the hotel’s original 1920s patio and it retains that sunlit Old World charm. Skylights flood the dining room with natural light and handsome carved furnishings, artisanal lighting, and our much-loved hand painted windows create a beautiful, inviting room to gather, to dine and to make memories in. The menu was crafted to showcase old favorites with New World influences and authentic New Mexican cuisine, and our award-winning wine list is exceptional. La Plazuela at La Fonda on the Plaza is Santa Fe’s gathering place. Come dine with us!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Southwest, Mexican / Southwestern, Contemporary Mexican

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm, Saturday - Sunday: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm; Breakfast: Monday - Sunday: 7:00am - 11:30am

Cross Street:
Old Santa Fe Trail

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(505) 995-2334

Website:
http://www.lafondasantafe.com/

Executive Chef:
Lane Warner

Additional:
Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Penne - La Plazuela at La Fonda on the Plaza, Santa Fe, NM
  • Red Snapper Ceviche - La Plazuela at La Fonda on the Plaza, Santa Fe, NM
  • Gruet Blanc De Noirs - La Plazuela at La Fonda on the Plaza, Santa Fe, NM
  • Meatloaf - La Plazuela at La Fonda on the Plaza, Santa Fe, NM
  • Tortilla Soup - La Plazuela at La Fonda on the Plaza, Santa Fe, NM
  • SMOKED TURKEY COBB SALAD - La Plazuela at La Fonda on the Plaza, Santa Fe, NM

Report a photo problem

Penne - La Plazuela at La Fonda on the Plaza, Santa Fe, NM
Red Snapper Ceviche - La Plazuela at La Fonda on the Plaza, Santa Fe, NM
Gruet Blanc De Noirs - La Plazuela at La Fonda on the Plaza, Santa Fe, NM
Meatloaf - La Plazuela at La Fonda on the Plaza, Santa Fe, NM
Tortilla Soup - La Plazuela at La Fonda on the Plaza, Santa Fe, NM
SMOKED TURKEY COBB SALAD - La Plazuela at La Fonda on the Plaza, Santa Fe, NM

La Plazuela at La Fonda on the Plaza Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Historic (39)
Authentic (32)
Special Occasion (32)
See All
Romantic (25)
Good for a Date (24)
Good for Birthdays (22)
Creative Cuisine (19)
Good for Anniversaries (16)
Casual (16)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Fun (14)
Great for Lunch (14)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
People Watching (12)
Worth the Drive (12)
Spicy (11)
Local Ingredients (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (10)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Good for Groups (10)
Cozy (9)
Business Meals (9)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Hot Spot (8)
Notable Wine List (7)
Healthy (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Fireplace (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Seasonal (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Family Style (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Organic (2)
Great Beer (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Dancing (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Happy Hour (1)
Live Music (1)
Scenic View (1)
Vegan (1)
Waterfront (1)
Tapas (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
980 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

service was outstanding. meal was great. ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined 5 days ago

service was outstanding. meal was great. would have rated it as excellent except the green beans were very vey much undercooked to the point they were left uneaten.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional chile rellenos. Wine choice ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined 6 days ago

Exceptional chile rellenos. Wine choices were also very good. Did not feel rushed at dinner although the pace may be a bit too slow.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Historic, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

This is always a favorite and the servic ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 7, 2017

This is always a favorite and the service is always excellent but the steak I had was pretty dry and far from the medium rare I ordered.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

my favorite in santa fe - - all around. ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 5, 2017

my favorite in santa fe - - all around. our server - stormy - was the best with recommendations on great wines and with help on the menu ( not that you go wrong! ).

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first visit to Santa Fe and ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 4, 2017

This was our first visit to Santa Fe and since La Fonda is at the heart of downtown, La

Plazuela lived up to its reputation of being a top notch venue. We had not eaten at a nice restaurant, except for Julia at La Posada (which was very disappointing food wise), but La Plazuela overshadowed that, with excellent cuisine and top notch service. Yes, it's fairly expensive, though not as much as some places, but for ambience in a historic venue, with excellent cuisine, local to the area and with fun and friendly service, it was certainly worth going to. If we make it back to Santa Fe, we will certainly return. Allowing dogs in the restaurant may turn off some diners, so that is a consideration that the management must think about, regardless of pedigree.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options, Spicy, Disabled Access, Fireplace, Historic, People Watching, Tapas, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service was great, and the food was ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 3, 2017

The service was great, and the food was amazing. Traditional New Mexican, but at the same time, creative.

The cashew cake, kind of a vegetarian meatloaf, was served with sweet potato polenta, rotated butternut squash quinoa, grilled cauliflower "steaks," steamed broccoli and a roasted tomatoes sauce. Delightful!

On the more traditional side, we tried three dishes.

The roasted green chile-corn chowder was light, with a variety of herbs, and some potato. The potato could have made it heavy, but did not. The chowder was more substantial than a regular green chile stew, but not as creamy and rich as a corn chowder: A great blend.

The rellenos de La Fonda was comprised of two green Hatch chiles, stuffed with Mexican cheeses, beer battered, and fried, then covered with Christmas chile.

The burrito La Plazuela was a simple shredded chicken burrito with a flour tortilla and topped with Christmas chile. Both of these traditional dishes came with posole, beans, and a sopapilla. Each item was cooked expertly, and the sopapillas were still warm when we got to them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were pleasantly surprised at how good ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 2, 2017

We were pleasantly surprised at how good the food and service was. They made a dish for me that was not on the menu. We certainly will go back

Tags: Romantic, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice dinner!

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Very nice dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Went on New Year's Eve, food was good no ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Went on New Year's Eve, food was good not great. Veggies were lukewarm to cool and we felt rushed for dinner. Service was average, long waits between visits from the waiter, but New Year's Eve always seems to be an issue at restaurants. Expect on another night it would be just fine.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Guacamole prepared tableside was the hig ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Guacamole prepared tableside was the highlight!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Table side quacamole is amazing! Great s ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Table side quacamole is amazing! Great service. Make a reservation if around the holidays or special occasion.

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The dining room was pretty--all decorate ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The dining room was pretty--all decorated for the holidays. My white wine was fine. One of our party said his margarita was tasteless, the other 2 said their wine & beer were "OK." But none of the 4 of us had a good meal, even though we all had different things. The vegetarian option, a "cashew cake" had no sign or flavor of cashews and the only thing on my plate that was good was the mashed sweet potato -- probably due to sugar. Very disappointing experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Beautiful, historical setting

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Beautiful, historical setting

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Outstanding as always. Probably our ha ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Outstanding as always. Probably our hands-down favorite place to go in Santa Fe. Located right on the plaza within the historic La Fonda hotel. La Plazuela offers the best of New Mexico, a visually stunning setting, and outstanding service at a reasonable price. Try their table-side guacamole. You'll never want store-bought again. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food and service as always!

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Excellent food and service as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had dinner at La Plazuela (which is in t ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Had dinner at La Plazuela (which is in the La Fonda Hotel) while visiting Santa Fe, NM. Both the service and the food were very good. Many of the menu items feature local New Mexico flavors. Prices are very reasonable- especially for tourist restaurant. The only criticism (a minor one) would be that the portions are huge! We had enough leftovers to have a very nice lunch on the following day (had a fridge in our hotel room). I'd highly recommend La Plazuela as a very good value.

Tags: Family Style, Fun, Kid-friendly, Casual, Historic,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I went to La Plazuela three years ago wi ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 30, 2016

I went to La Plazuela three years ago with my husband, and the food and service were wonderful. I raved about the food to my closest friends and we were excited to return this Christmas with our 3 adult kids. With no reservation we tried to eat at 6:00, and the host was snooty and laughed in my face telling me we couldn't have a table for 2, much less for 7. So, we left and ate elsewhere. Then we tried again w/2 days' notice on open table and reserved at 5:00, and had to split our party of 7 into 2 tables to even be able to be seated. (unless we chose 9:00) Nothing else was available. Again, it was apparent that the restaurant was VERY BUSY.

However, when we arrived, there were 2 large tables in the restaurant that REMAINED empty the entire time our 2 tables of 3 and 4 were there eating. They clearly could have seated us together.

I tried to convince my party that the food would be worth the aggravation...not... We chose the chile relleno plate, as my hubby and I distinctly remembered the food from 2013. The chips were overcooked and were dark brown. Another 2 minutes in the fryer, and they would have been burned. Also, the basket had at least 50% crumb chips...not even edible unless you had a spoon. :( The rellenos were not fully cooked, as the cheese inside was not melted. I believe they were previously cooked and reheated. The guacamole was excellent. The hominy was wonderful, and our son loved his fajitas. The most noteworthy part of the evening was the sopapilla dessert that came with our plates. They were just as we remembered, so the night ended well. Overall, I was disappointed. We told our kids days prior to our trip that we had the meal of a lifetime waiting for them at La Fonda.

Our waitstaff were polite, and tea and water were continually refilled.

The charm of the hotel saved the meal, as did the sopapillas and honey! I feel the notoriety of the restaurant is superseding the manager's desire to create a welcome atmosphere.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

Great choices in a great room! Would co ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Great choices in a great room! Would come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Great service during a busy holiday time ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Great service during a busy holiday time. Food was delicious and well done!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

This was a delightful evening with the C ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 23, 2016

This was a delightful evening with the Christmas decorations and quiet prompt service.

The tables are far enough apart to enhance a degree of privacy within the atmosphere of

friendly patrons.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, , Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Healthy, Afternoon Tea, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to La Plazuela before our concer ...

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 22, 2016

We went to La Plazuela before our concert at the Basilica. We wanted to eat near the plaza so we could walk around and see the beautiful lights. La Plazuela was a perfect venue. We had a very good dinner. The prime rib looked perfect. My relines were excellent and our margaritas were delicious. Service was a little slow but they were slammed with pre concert goers like us. We will go back soon.

Tags: Family Style, Historic, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Good Vegetarian Options, Spicy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

La Plazuela is the New Mexico version of ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 18, 2016

La Plazuela is the New Mexico version of the Plaza's Palm Court. Glass doors and windows are hand painted and it's simply beautiful. During Christmas, the center fountain is filled with poinsettias. My favorite place to eat during the holiday season. I think the food is good, but not spectacular. The service is excellent so combined with the ambiance, it more than makes up for any disappointment with the food.

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great menu, but we always stop for the M ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Great menu, but we always stop for the Mexican food, when in town. Wonderful atmosphere.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Our favorite restaurant in Santa Fe! Gre ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Our favorite restaurant in Santa Fe! Great for both lunch and dinner. Wonderful food in a lovely setting. Wait staff is friendly and efficient.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Romantic, Casual, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Dancing, Fun, Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Tea, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our filet mignons were very, very rare i ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Our filet mignons were very, very rare instead of medium rare. They had to be sent back and then we had to wait while the other party members ate. That colored the night. The guacamole was excellent and sever very good.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Authentic, Casual, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

I was a little disappointed to be seated ...

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 6, 2016

I was a little disappointed to be seated at the entrance but really wasn't a problem. Great people watching spot. Our food was prompt and very tasty. I had the salmon and my husband had chili rellenos. Personable wait staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food , great location.

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 5, 2016

Great food , great location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Restaurant was very nice, but I searched ...

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Restaurant was very nice, but I searched for Mexican food. This is not their specialty as they have a limited Mexican menu. Other entrees looked very good though!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Outstanding service, fish was great, app ...

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Outstanding service, fish was great, apps excellent, wine by outstanding

Tags: Special Occasion, , Fit for Foodies, Spicy, Gluten Free Options, Hot Spot, Organic, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Seasonal, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Fun, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Historic, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, People Watching, Casual, Good for Groups, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful venue with table side guacamol ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Beautiful venue with table side guacamole preparation and lovely soapapillas with honey! Kale salad served in a tortilla shell and all our food delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding...always great...chef is cre ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Outstanding...always great...chef is creative and has been a consistent presence for this restaurant for years! In many years, he has never missed in creating a wonderful experience. Staff is well-trained and attentive. Beautiful surroundings.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had reservations for Thanksgiving din ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 25, 2016

We had reservations for Thanksgiving dinner not realizing that the main buffet was only from 11-3. It had ice sculptures and looked great--wish we would have known. The dinner plate we had was certainly good and filled the need for our Thanksgiving meal. We also had breakfast a couple of times which was very good.

Tags: Spicy, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Historic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We were not very pleased with our dining ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We were not very pleased with our dining at La Fonda. Restaurant is very pretty but not warm and inviting. The bar makes awesome martinis that makes the evening better. Sorry we were not raving about this restaurant. There are so many to choose from that puts this one on our do not repeat list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

We keep going back to LaFonda every year ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 18, 2016

We keep going back to LaFonda every year and one of the main reasons is the food !

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Authentic, People Watching, Spicy, Historic, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Margie our server was amazingly helpful ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Margie our server was amazingly helpful and made our Anniversary Celebration especially nice. Great food and Blueberry Pie was fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The staff was very accommodating to our ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The staff was very accommodating to our group of ten. They bWe had a party of ten and were well taken care of. The background noise in the restaurant is very quiet so I was able to easily converse and hear the person across the table from me. This is really unusual at least in my experience with restaurants. The food was fine. And the space is gorgeous. A true delight.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was very good and wines are rea ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on November 9, 2016

The food was very good and wines are reasonably priced. We were having dinner with a friend we see only once a year or so and the environment was perfect for lots of conversation. The only negative was my pork chop had to be sent back as it was quite under-cooked; when it came back out it was perfect.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Spicy, Historic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Awesome time! Angel was great! The food ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Awesome time! Angel was great! The food was outstanding!

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food in a lovely historic setting. ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Great food in a lovely historic setting. Great service

Tags: Historic, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.