About La Plazuela at La Fonda on the Plaza

La Plazuela was the hotel’s original 1920s patio and it retains that sunlit Old World charm. Skylights flood the dining room with natural light and handsome carved furnishings, artisanal lighting, and our much-loved hand painted windows create a beautiful, inviting room to gather, to dine and to make memories in. The menu was crafted to showcase old favorites with New World influences and authentic New Mexican cuisine, and our award-winning wine list is exceptional. La Plazuela at La Fonda on the Plaza is Santa Fe’s gathering place. Come dine with us!

100 E. San Francisco Street
Santa Fe, NM 87501
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Southwest, Mexican / Southwestern, Contemporary Mexican

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm, Saturday - Sunday: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm; Breakfast: Monday - Sunday: 7:00am - 11:30am

Cross Street:
Old Santa Fe Trail

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(505) 995-2334

Website:
http://www.lafondasantafe.com/

Executive Chef:
Lane Warner

Additional:
Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

La Plazuela at La Fonda on the Plaza Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (35)
Historic (33)
Authentic (30)
See All
Good for a Date (26)
Romantic (26)
Local Ingredients (24)
Good for Anniversaries (24)
Casual (21)
Sunday Lunch (18)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Fit for Foodies (18)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Worth the Drive (16)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Great for Lunch (15)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Spicy (13)
Good for Groups (12)
Business Meals (11)
Comfort Food (10)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Outstanding Value (8)
Cozy (8)
Fun (7)
Great for Brunch (7)
People Watching (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Healthy (5)
Disabled Access (5)
Notable Wine List (4)
Seasonal (4)
Fireplace (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Quick Bite (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Scenic View (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Tapas (2)
Family Style (1)
Live Music (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
1060 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent food presented in a fun and appealing manner. Very reasonable pricing. Fast, friendly and professional staff. A gen of a restaurant in a restaurant rich Santa Fe.

Tags: Fun, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined 4 days ago

Very nice patio like ambiance. Indoors, but feeling of outdoors. Service was superb and food delicious. We ordered fajitas for two. Surprisingly reasonable prices and more than enough food. Even came with sopapillas. We were there for dinner, and will return there for breakfast or lunch when we visit again.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined 5 days ago

It was our 45th anniversary and we were put at a long table for two and had to almost yell to hear each other. The trout was dry and the whole plate looked unappealing. Loved the hotel but the restaurant was a big disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Great ambiance, excellent southwest food, and personable timely service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 17, 2017

My husband and I had a fantastic time and meal there. We always come here whenever we come to Santa Fe.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Beautiful and elegant setting, delicious food, attentive service. This was a treat!

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The service was fast and friendly. The food was awesome and they prepared it gluten free. Was a beautiful experience for our 1 year anniversary.

Tags: Hot Spot, Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We frequent the bar at La Fonda and have passed by Plazuela many times. I decided to bring my wife there for our anniversary, since we both were curious about the place. We were a bit underwhelmed; I probably would have been better off taking her to the Drury or something. The food was pretty good, and the quail tacos were excellent, although definitely a small plate. I had a house salad and some of my wife’s tri-tip, which were pretty good, also - nothing special here.

Tags: Romantic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Reservations are a must!!! But once you are seated, you are not rushed to relinquish your table to the next group of diners. Our server, Angel, was very attentive to our needs but not intrusive. I had the Squash Blossoms stuffed with Goat Cheese, dipped on tempura batter. They were perfectly deep fried - not a trace of excess oil. The menu is extensive enough to please all pallets. This was a perfect way to spend out last night in Santa Fe.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Casual, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 11, 2017

We were visiting from Texas. It was a very cold and rainy day to be tourists. Our experience at La Plazuela was exceptional. The Maitre 'd was waiting for us with a shared experience ( because of our last name ), the food was excellent, as was the service. This is a beautiful setting ( we were seated near the central fountain ), with much history and ambiance.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Casual, Healthy, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Great food overall, they have reduced the Beef filet size, still tasty and tender, the pesole is some of the best you will find. The service level of the wait staff should be more attentive for the caliber of restaurant.

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Really good food, well prepared and interesting menu, reasonably priced. We were on vacation and enjoyed our dinner so much we returned the next day. The servers were helpful and friendly.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Happy to have chosen La Plazuela for my birthday celebration with my family (group of 8)! The ambience was lovely. The incredibly delicious food along with the attentive servers made it a memorable experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Excellent food, great service, wonderful ambiance.
We will be back.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 5, 2017

We were seated immediately, served with drinks soon, and had our orders taken soon. The food, of a New Mexican type, was tasty and plentiful. The waitress was very competent. I would certainly go back there again.

Tags: Historic, Spicy, Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Loved the courtyard setting with the little white lights on the trees and the fountain. Our waitress was darling and helpful. The food was delicious. Like just about everyone else, we enjoyed the guacomole made tableside (interestingly, we agree with another reviewer that the chips tasted stale). We also found prices reasonable, compared to other local restaurants. We would definitely return and recommend to others.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Quick Bite, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Nice venue and atmosphere. Service 'acceptable' and food 'OK'.... worth a visit - but not 'special'

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 4, 2017

We had exceptional service. We were only interested in eating light (onion soup which was excellent) and were not made to feel like we were a waste of a table as has happened in other establishments.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Great for Lunch, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 1, 2017

The dining area is very open and airy. Welcoming ... it draws you in. The food is spectacular and in plentiful quantities. Service was very attentive.

Tags: Casual, Tapas, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 1, 2017

The food and service were fantastic! Only negative was the host. When we said we had a reservation, I asked if we could sit by the fountain. He replied, "No, the table is set aside for someone who has a reservation. " Other than the haughtiness in his voice, I felt he was making a non verbal comment about our Open Table reservation. But, the wait staff and quality of food put a really good taste in our mouth!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 25, 2017

We have eaten there several times, but in this occasion the service was quite slow and instead of sopapillas we got more rolls. An off night for the staff! The food was great though and the room is beautiful.

Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 22, 2017

First time dining at this restaurant. We were pleasantly surprised by how good the food was; service was excellent as well. Our server, Armando, was especially attentive. We would definitely recommend La Plazuela for New Mexican food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Authentic, Historic, Spicy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Great in every way as usual! We never miss a chance to dine at la Plazuela when we are in Santa Fe. Thank you for the wonderful service and cuisine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 20, 2017

It would be hard to imagine a more beautiful setting........central fountain, sparkling lighted trees, spacious historic dining room....The service was attentive, but not intrusive. The food was excellent and beautifully presented. I highly recommend the salad with a roasted pear, hazelnuts and raspberry vinaigrette . And for dessert, the raspberry enchiladas .......crepes stuffed with marscapone and drizzled with raspberry sauce...were both a visual and culinary treat. This meal was really one of the highlights of my visit to Santa Fe.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 12, 2017

the meal was very good, however, the menu does not seem to change very much. the only negative otherwise is that the chef apparently does not know how to cook a steak filet to the correct requested degree of done.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 9, 2017

La Fonda ia a wonderful historic hotel, and their dining room in the center of the hotel was once an outdoor courtyard. Now enclosed with a fountain in the center it is a lovely place for dinner. The duck was perfect. Our waitperson Celeste was very attentive and charming.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Historic, Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 4, 2017

La Plazuela is on our list of regular visits when we are in Town. We love the atmosphere in this former Harvey House. The food and service are consistently very good and we always enjoy our meals.

Tags: Quick Bite, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 2, 2017

This restaurant has the open dining room atmosphere. I had the duck breast with cherry compote reduction and polenta. I paired that dish with the Rodney Strong Cabernet Sauvignon. The dish was excellent and the wine was a good paring with the spiciness of the cherry reduction. My wife had the tortilla soup and she said it was very good. For desert we shared the Flan. Interesting taste that had the consistency of a firm custard. It was served with a butterscotch drizzle. A bit different but good all the same. I finished the meal with a Ramos Pinto, 10-Year port. All in all, a good meal for a hotel restaurant.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 30, 2017

We were staying at the "La Fonda" and had just driven from Albuquerque. There was a anthropology Convention going on and the Restaurant was very busy. That did not impact the quality of the food or the service. Our son's food; burrito with Christmas Chile and Pinto beans, was spicy and tasty. We had a very good bottle of wine and desserts.

Tags: People Watching, Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Seated right away and 30 minutes early for our reservation. Service was good overall. Guacamole made at table was nice. Other dishes...pork carnitas, other Mexican dishes...were fine but not remarkable. Margaritas were the same...fine but not exceptional. Pretty noisy overall. We've been here before and will be back again, but really not one of Santa Fe's best.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Food is excellent - have been here several times. However, service was TERRIBLE this time. Seated immediately, waited 5 minutes before waitress even acknowledged my wife and me. She had been all around our table with other customers, but not even "I'll be with you in a minute." Ordered a drink and appetizer. Appetizer was brought out quickly and waitress immediately wanted us to order entree - we hadn't even gotten our drink yet. She finally brought it and again wanted our entree order before finishing appetizer. Told "no." She was barely pleasant from then on. Ordered entree and it was very good. Ordered 2nd drink and it again took 5 minutes to come. With such good food, the waitresses need to be taught how to recognize customers and the pace of the service.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 27, 2017

The restaurant at La Fonda is beautiful, as are the surrounding bits of the hotel that I saw. Gorgeous fixtures, artwork, furnishings, etc. We were in general very disappointed in our meals, however, the more so because of the relatively high prices. I had the lump crab cakes and fried oysters; the crab cakes lacked both texture and flavor and the oysters were served on little beds of iceberg lettuce, which was watery and detracted from what little flavor the oysters had. I did enjoy my spinach, hazelnut, and grilled pear salad, although the fruit itself was fairly flavorless, even with the grilling. My mother-in-law had the vegetarian meal, which was poorly seasoned and otherwise uninspired. My husband had fish tacos, which were far from the most flavorful ones we encountered on our trip. The only bright spot was the duck that my father-in-law had; he said it was some of the best he had ever tasted.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 26, 2017

This dinner kicked off our visit in Santa Fe and was one of the best meals of the whole trip. Classic Santa Fe atmosphere, great service and delicious food. I'll be craving the shredded beef enchiladas Christmas style with an egg on top for a long time.

Tags: Spicy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 24, 2017

We've eaten here a lot over the years, and La Plazuela has usually been quite good. This time it was a disappointment. The food was, at best, ordinary, and it arrived lukewarm. A pity, because it's a great space, especially since they eliminated the fluorescent lighting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Really nice! Great food, service and ambiance

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 22, 2017

A lovely dinner at a table by the fountain in honor of my husband's birthday. Atmosphere, food and service were wonderful. We will return.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Food was average and service was so-so. Beautiful atmosphere and decor, which made the experience somewhat enjoyable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Tableside guacamole is delicious and fun! Service was excellent.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 15, 2017

We had a very nice evening at La Fonda. Staff was well trained and very attentive, table was ready on time, food was great, speedy service, we had a beautiful margarita. There was one little goof but so what-it was quickly resolved and did not interfere with our experience. We live in New Mexico and know what New Mexico style food should taste like. This dinner was very authentic and the presentation was perfect. Could not have been better. Thank You!

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Kid-friendly, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 14, 2017

This is a beautiful venue with a fountain in the center and excellent service.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.