About La Plazuela at La Fonda on the Plaza

100 E. San Francisco Street
Santa Fe, NM 87501
View Larger Map

La Plazuela was the hotel’s original 1920s patio and it retains that sunlit Old World charm. Skylights flood the dining room with natural light and handsome carved furnishings, artisanal lighting, and our much-loved hand painted windows create a beautiful, inviting room to gather, to dine and to make memories in. The menu was crafted to showcase old favorites with New World influences and authentic New Mexican cuisine, and our award-winning wine list is exceptional. La Plazuela at La Fonda on the Plaza is Santa Fe’s gathering place. Come dine with us!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Southwest, Mexican / Southwestern, Contemporary Mexican

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm, Saturday - Sunday: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm; Breakfast: Monday - Sunday: 7:00am - 11:30am

Cross Street:
Old Santa Fe Trail

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(505) 995-2334

Website:
http://www.lafondasantafe.com/

Executive Chef:
Lane Warner

Additional:
Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Penne - La Plazuela at La Fonda on the Plaza, Santa Fe, NM
  • Red Snapper Ceviche - La Plazuela at La Fonda on the Plaza, Santa Fe, NM
  • Gruet Blanc De Noirs - La Plazuela at La Fonda on the Plaza, Santa Fe, NM
  • Meatloaf - La Plazuela at La Fonda on the Plaza, Santa Fe, NM
  • Tortilla Soup - La Plazuela at La Fonda on the Plaza, Santa Fe, NM
  • SMOKED TURKEY COBB SALAD - La Plazuela at La Fonda on the Plaza, Santa Fe, NM
Penne - La Plazuela at La Fonda on the Plaza, Santa Fe, NM
Red Snapper Ceviche - La Plazuela at La Fonda on the Plaza, Santa Fe, NM
Gruet Blanc De Noirs - La Plazuela at La Fonda on the Plaza, Santa Fe, NM
Meatloaf - La Plazuela at La Fonda on the Plaza, Santa Fe, NM
Tortilla Soup - La Plazuela at La Fonda on the Plaza, Santa Fe, NM
SMOKED TURKEY COBB SALAD - La Plazuela at La Fonda on the Plaza, Santa Fe, NM

La Plazuela at La Fonda on the Plaza Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Santa Fe / Mountains
Best Value
Santa Fe / Mountains
Special Occasion
Santa Fe / Mountains
1 More
Most Booked
Santa Fe / Mountains
Best Restaurants in Santa Fe ›

Special Occasion (36)
Historic (36)
Authentic (33)
See All
Good for a Date (24)
Romantic (23)
Good for Anniversaries (20)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Great for Lunch (13)
Worth the Drive (13)
Good for Groups (13)
People Watching (12)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Cozy (11)
Casual (11)
Local Ingredients (11)
Fun (10)
Spicy (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Business Meals (8)
Hot Spot (8)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Healthy (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Fireplace (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Great Beer (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Seasonal (2)
Organic (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Scenic View (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Waterfront (1)
Family Style (1)
Vegan (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
925 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I was a little disappointed to be seated ...

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined 5 days ago

I was a little disappointed to be seated at the entrance but really wasn't a problem. Great people watching spot. Our food was prompt and very tasty. I had the salmon and my husband had chili rellenos. Personable wait staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food , great location.

 
 (Denver)·Dined 6 days ago

Great food , great location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Restaurant was very nice, but I searched ...

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Restaurant was very nice, but I searched for Mexican food. This is not their specialty as they have a limited Mexican menu. Other entrees looked very good though!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Outstanding service, fish was great, app ...

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Outstanding service, fish was great, apps excellent, wine by outstanding

Tags: Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Spicy, Gluten Free Options, Hot Spot, Organic, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Seasonal, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Fun, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Historic, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, People Watching, Casual, Good for Groups, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful venue with table side guacamol ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Beautiful venue with table side guacamole preparation and lovely soapapillas with honey! Kale salad served in a tortilla shell and all our food delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding...always great...chef is cre ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Outstanding...always great...chef is creative and has been a consistent presence for this restaurant for years! In many years, he has never missed in creating a wonderful experience. Staff is well-trained and attentive. Beautiful surroundings.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had reservations for Thanksgiving din ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 25, 2016

We had reservations for Thanksgiving dinner not realizing that the main buffet was only from 11-3. It had ice sculptures and looked great--wish we would have known. The dinner plate we had was certainly good and filled the need for our Thanksgiving meal. We also had breakfast a couple of times which was very good.

Tags: Spicy, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Historic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Would not choose again. Food was ok but ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Would not choose again. Food was ok but not as

Good as previous times

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

We keep going back to LaFonda every year ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 18, 2016

We keep going back to LaFonda every year and one of the main reasons is the food !

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Authentic, People Watching, Spicy, Historic, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Margie our server was amazingly helpful ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Margie our server was amazingly helpful and made our Anniversary Celebration especially nice. Great food and Blueberry Pie was fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The staff was very accommodating to our ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The staff was very accommodating to our group of ten. They bWe had a party of ten and were well taken care of. The background noise in the restaurant is very quiet so I was able to easily converse and hear the person across the table from me. This is really unusual at least in my experience with restaurants. The food was fine. And the space is gorgeous. A true delight.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was very good and wines are rea ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on November 9, 2016

The food was very good and wines are reasonably priced. We were having dinner with a friend we see only once a year or so and the environment was perfect for lots of conversation. The only negative was my pork chop had to be sent back as it was quite under-cooked; when it came back out it was perfect.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Spicy, Historic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Awesome time! Angel was great! The food ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Awesome time! Angel was great! The food was outstanding!

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food in a lovely historic setting. ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Great food in a lovely historic setting. Great service

Tags: Historic, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

food. I had the steak and it was delicio ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 30, 2016

food. I had the steak and it was delicious. Celeste, server, was outstanding.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Historic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This restaurant more than exceeded our e ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 30, 2016

This restaurant more than exceeded our expectations. The service was outstanding and the meal was fantastic. It made me so happy.

I highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dissapointed in the fajitas. Not deliver ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Dissapointed in the fajitas. Not delivered sizzling and the meat was rough.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Seating was prompt, food was tasty and w ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Seating was prompt, food was tasty and well presented and service was attentive, timely and gracious. We were lucky. We had Armando and his assistant. Thank you. It was a birthday dinner and you didn't disappoint!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is our fourth time eating at the re ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 27, 2016

This is our fourth time eating at the restaurant. I have the exact same thing every time...the enchiladas with the filet...very yummy. I tried the cucumber gazpacho which was very good. My husband had the chile rellenos and loved them.

Tags: People Watching, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The service was excellent. Staff very so ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 26, 2016

The service was excellent. Staff very solicitous. They went out of their way to prepare my food with reduced salt as requested. Food very good. Rustic decor beautiful. The hotel decor is wonderful--a lot of art work. We loved it!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everyone at the table enjoyed all the fo ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Everyone at the table enjoyed all the food ordered. Service was good, but not intrusive.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Healthy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been here 4 times this month. Whe ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 23, 2016

I have been here 4 times this month. Whenever anyone comes to town I take them there. It has a wonderful history with the painted windows, and is just a beautiful space in which to spend some time. The food and service is fabulous without being prententious. They make you feel like you are an old friend. The Guac made right at your table is among the best I have had. I've had both New Mexico spiced dishes and not, neither disappoint. The portions are good size and we have felt with the quality of the food, service and decor you definitely get good value here.

Tags: Romantic, Fun, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Tortilla soup, fajitas and crab cakes ar ...

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Tortilla soup, fajitas and crab cakes are our staples. There is newer front house staff that now does reservations and seating, we do miss the more familiar staff that we've seen for years and always made it feel like seeing family. But the food is still great, the service always attentive and we always go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food and Service a 10! Filet a perfect m ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Food and Service a 10! Filet a perfect medium rare. The homeny was awesome. Drinks from bar ok some not identifiable. Caprihina was not one. Tanqaury was a substitute flowery gin.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

As always, perfect. The tableside guacam ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 19, 2016

As always, perfect. The tableside guacamole is always to die for. Beautiful setting. They've ruined the old lobby architecture and that's sad but at least the restaurant is still nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Disappointing; we expected great food... ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 17, 2016

Disappointing; we expected great food...guamacole great...made table side, but food messy presentation...tamales and enchiladas overly spicy, stringy beef and very odd rice...we were in the cantina....hand painted glass panels very interesting

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

La Plazuela never disappoints! The ambia ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 16, 2016

La Plazuela never disappoints! The ambiance is great, food is great and the service is exemplary.

Tags: Historic, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, People Watching, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We waited waaaaay too long for our food. ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 15, 2016

We waited waaaaay too long for our food. The food was ok but the long wait ruined it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

The atmosphere was very nice. It had a f ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 12, 2016

The atmosphere was very nice. It had a fountain in the middle with several live trees in the room so that it appeared you were dining outdoors. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fun, Historic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

La Plazuela always has good food, good s ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 6, 2016

La Plazuela always has good food, good service, and one of the most interesting decors in town. It's true Santa Fe style.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Good for a Date, Historic, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chairs are very uncomfortable food is g ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 5, 2016

Chairs are very uncomfortable food is good. Service is excellent. Chair backs make it very hard to relax and enjoy the meal.

Tags: Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

Had a nice dinner there. Good variety of ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 5, 2016

Had a nice dinner there. Good variety of New Mexican and classic "American" dishes. Pleasant staff. Our wait staff was Stormi and she's always great. Pleasant "patio" atmosphere inside a lovely historic hotel. Really need reservations - they are often fully booked.

Tags: Historic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

All four of us were very disappointed in ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 5, 2016

All four of us were very disappointed in this restaurant. . .We all started with a "house margarita" which was weak in taste and alcohol. . .none of us ordered a second, which is unusual for this group. The food was just so-so. . .we would not return nor would we recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

The dining experience was nice after we ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 4, 2016

The dining experience was nice after we got past the host. We felt he was upset that we showed up ten minutes before our reservation time. We had been traveling/sight seeing by car all day and had no way to know that the restaurant did not open until our reservation time. We explored the hotel a bit before the the restaurant opened and returned at our reservation time. Our reward for being early was to be seated by the kitchen. The restaurant was about one quarter full throughout our entire time dining. I would have given overall 5 stars had our initial impression been different.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Nice place for dinner. Good menu options ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on October 4, 2016

Nice place for dinner. Good menu options, although my filet didn't appear to be a filet (skirt steak?) OUr server was nice but didn't see her very often. I would go again.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Great place to have a nice meal for brea ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 3, 2016

Great place to have a nice meal for breakfast, lunch or dinner.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Disabled Access, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were a group of 6 visiting from Switz ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 2, 2016

We were a group of 6 visiting from Switzerland. We had a wonderful time, food was excellent and the atmosphere just great. Always worth a visit when staying in Santa Fe!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We had friends in from Illinois who were ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 2, 2016

We had friends in from Illinois who were very impressed.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Seasonal, Vibrant Bar Scene, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love this restaurant. It is a great ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 1, 2016

We love this restaurant. It is a great place to bring kids, yet still enjoy a good meal. Atmosphere is unique.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.