About La Plazuela at La Fonda on the Plaza

100 E. San Francisco Street
Santa Fe, NM 87501
View Larger Map

La Plazuela was the hotel’s original 1920s patio and it retains that sunlit Old World charm. Skylights flood the dining room with natural light and handsome carved furnishings, artisanal lighting, and our much-loved hand painted windows create a beautiful, inviting room to gather, to dine and to make memories in. The menu was crafted to showcase old favorites with New World influences and authentic New Mexican cuisine, and our award-winning wine list is exceptional. La Plazuela at La Fonda on the Plaza is Santa Fe’s gathering place. Come dine with us!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Southwest, Mexican / Southwestern, Contemporary Mexican

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm, Saturday - Sunday: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm; Breakfast: Monday - Sunday: 7:00am - 11:30am

Cross Street:
Old Santa Fe Trail

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(505) 995-2334

Website:
http://www.lafondasantafe.com/

Executive Chef:
Lane Warner

Additional:
Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Penne
  • Red Snapper Ceviche
  • Gruet Blanc De Noirs
  • Meatloaf
  • Tortilla Soup
  • SMOKED TURKEY COBB SALAD
Penne
Red Snapper Ceviche
Gruet Blanc De Noirs
Meatloaf
Tortilla Soup
SMOKED TURKEY COBB SALAD

La Plazuela at La Fonda on the Plaza Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
New Mexico
Most Booked
Santa Fe / Mountains
Best Restaurants in Santa Fe ›

special occasion (50)
fit for foodies (43)
romantic (37)
See All
great for lunch (30)
neighborhood gem (24)
good for groups (22)
great for brunch (16)
notable wine list (11)
kid-friendly (10)
vibrant bar scene (8)
hot spot (6)
scenic view (5)
late-night find (2)
Sort By:
Newest
814 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our favorite places to eat when w ...

Dined 4 days ago

One of our favorite places to eat when we go to Santa Fe. Service is always the best, the food is incredible and the atmosphere gives us a feeling of being pampered.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Was disappointed. Was expecting a gastro ...

Dined 5 days ago

Was disappointed. Was expecting a gastronomical experience from all the hype we had heard. Was really average food. I had steak that was not of good quality. Tough and charred instead of tender attentive preparation. Squash blossoms were under cooked and doughy. Not worth the money spent

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Table side guacamole was fun to watch an ...

Dined on June 23, 2016

Table side guacamole was fun to watch and delicious!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food & accommodating chef. Ver ...

Dined on June 23, 2016

Excellent food & accommodating chef. Very relaxing atmosphere with high ceilings & fountain.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and ambiance is excellent. Still lo ...

Dined on June 22, 2016

Food and ambiance is excellent. Still love it after many trips to Santa Fe. The prickly pear is a thing of beauty! Artwork abounds. Ride the historic elevator to the rooftop bar for a view of the sunset.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Our go-to place whenever we have a speci ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Our go-to place whenever we have a special occasion to celebrate, or friends in town. The friendly staff, exceptional table-side guacamole, and prime rib on the weekends make this our place of choice.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Would recommend for any occasion. Outsta ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Would recommend for any occasion. Outstanding in every way

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Unfortunately, the dining room host woul ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Unfortunately, the dining room host would not acknowledge that we had made a reservation through Open Table. I was ready to pull out my phone and show the confirmation, but - unnecessary - the dining room was almost empty at 5 pm Friday evening. The place is usually packed with people waiting in the lobby - we picked a good time. We've been going to La Plazuela as a special treat for years. Margie A., the waitress, and the bus boy provided great service. The food is exceptional and the setting is completely unique. The restaurant used to be the open courtyard for an inn that has operated on the site since the 1600's. We love it - I'll just have a printed confirmation in hand next time I go.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

La Fonda is such a local landmark that I ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

La Fonda is such a local landmark that I forget how really great the food is! We had a lovely dinner in every respect. I must remember to count on La Fonda as a great place for entertaining out of town guests. My chiles rellenos were just the best in town (and there is plenty of competition in Santa Fe).

food2
ambience3
service3
value2

There are much better restaurants in San ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

There are much better restaurants in Santa Fe. I was very disappointed in the quality of my dinner -- both the appetizer (soup) and the entree. The taste of the food was less than at an average restaurant. If you want to go to La Fonda for dinner or lunch, I would stay away from this restaurant and try the lounge.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was excellent. Waitress was very n ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Food was excellent. Waitress was very nice and helpful. Loved the ambiance.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful service

Dined on June 10, 2016

I have been here a few times and every visit was wonderful

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

La Plazuela

Dined on June 5, 2016

The service and good were great. OK atmosphere. But the wine list was extremely overpriced and not that good. Would bring my own wine next time.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Santa Fe Ambiance

Dined on June 2, 2016

Unlike many slick new restaurants in the "City Different," La Plazuela at La Fonda retains the Southwest charm that people come to the city in search of. So many hotels have abandoned fine dining in favor of a limited room-service menu and off-site recommendations from the concierege. La Plazuela continues to offer both ambiance and a delicious menu that encourages hotel guests to eat in without compromising the experience of dining out. Those not staying at La Fonda are able to park free in the hotel garage--a real bonus given the limited parking around the Plaza. As for the staff at La Plazuela, they are welcoming and attentive without seeming to hover. Best of all, you can engage in conversation without yelling over fellow diners and clanging kitchen noises so common in trendy open-kitchen-see-the-chef-at-work restaurants.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

This is old school, home style New Mexic ...

Dined on May 30, 2016

This is old school, home style New Mexico cooking just off the main lobby of Hotel La Fonda. I can highly recommend the Chile Rellenos. The squash blossoms were great also but needed a little salt. Get yourself a top shelf margarita, enjoy the complimentary sopapillas with honey after your meal and check out the rooftop bar at sunset while you're there. Great ambience with a casual non pretentious vibe.

food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Poor service. Just okay food. BAD margs

Dined on May 29, 2016

It took 10 minutes just to be talked to. Once we ordered, another 15 minutes just to get water and about 20 to get our margs, which were warm, sweet and syrupy. We could tell they came from a big vat of generic mix. Food was okay- I had the polenta which was pretty good, the heirloom tomato salad was good and fresh. Over all, I would not go back.

Tags: good for groups
food1
ambience5
service3

This place is terrible. Cheap Mexican f ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

This place is terrible. Cheap Mexican food and overpriced non Mexican food. Even my margarita was bad. Don't go if you care about what you are eating. Chipotle is better Mexican than this place. Not to mention the whole lobby of the hotel smelled like cheap air freshener.

food4
ambience3
service1
value2

Ambience at the refurbished La Plazuela ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

Ambience at the refurbished La Plazuela at the Hotel La Fonda is pleasant enough. The food is generally well prepared although I found my pork chop to be a bit tough. Unfortunately, our waiter couldn't seem to get every one's selection timed properly ( we had to remind him about getting all the entrees and deserts served at the same time). We sat for fifteen minutes before being acknowledged. Not the service I would expect for upscale prices.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We enjoyed a wonderful dinner and and gr ...

Dined on May 26, 2016

We enjoyed a wonderful dinner and and great service in a lovely setting. My husband and I split a nice Caesar salad and we both ordered the sea bass. It was perfectly prepared, delicious, and the presentation was excellent. We also ate breakfast there one morning, and that was terrific as well.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Lovely La Plazuela

Dined on May 26, 2016

Love the setting of this restaurant located in the La Fonda Hotel. It's a gem designed by Mary Colter and I love the hand painted windows done by a local artisan for her. Only problem with our dinner was that the room was cold! We asked for a table out of the "breeze" of the ventilation but it was still cold. Woman at the table next to us was wrapped in a blanket provided by them. So, bring a sweater!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My go-to in Santa Fe with guests

Dined on May 25, 2016

First, drinks upstairs to enjoy the view. Then dinner at La Plazuela. I love the food, the chili rellenos are my favorite in Santa Fe, and the gracious service, the lovely atmosphere, and the overall feeling of the restaurant appeal to me like no other in the city.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Food was authentic New Mexican and fabul ...

vip
Dined on May 23, 2016

Food was authentic New Mexican and fabulous to boot.

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Historic

Dined on May 19, 2016

Good restaurant in a beautiful, historic location. Food and service are very good.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome meal! Celebrated our 31st weddin ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Awesome meal! Celebrated our 31st wedding anniversary! Beautiful setting, delicious meal, impeccable service!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

LOvely dinner was spoiled by screaming y ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

LOvely dinner was spoiled by screaming young child. Nobody seemed to want to deal with the disruption. Would have been a great evening but it was ruined by inconsiderate young family.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fine dining in Santa Fe

Dined on May 8, 2016

We were very satisfied with our dinners in the beautiful dining area of La Fonda Hotel in Santa Fe. Service by Marco was outstanding. He was very attentive but not annoying and quite familiar with the wines and the menu and helpful with our selections. We had chili rellenos and enchiladas . The food was well prepared and fantastic. Servings were quite large and we could not quite finish. Our wine went quite well with our meal selection.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Atmosphere in Old Santa Fe

Dined on April 30, 2016

We had a lovely dinner at this restaurant, food was good, atmosphere was lovely and the service was excellent ! We had eaten here 2 years ago when traveling through Santa Fe. Would recommend La Plazuela at La Fonda for dinner too!

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great sampling of New Mexico style food

Dined on April 30, 2016

We went there specifically to get New Mexico regional food. It was delicious. The chicken tortilla soup was beautifully and uniquely presented along with being one of the best tasting soups. The Hatch chili rellanos with Christmas sauce (red and green) were also a highlight. The chile sauces were so good and rich tasting. Nice ambiance in the center of the historic hotel. FYI there is validated parking in the hotel parking garage.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Go-to restaurant in Santa Fe

Dined on April 29, 2016

La Plazuela is always amazing, from appetizers to dessert, all with the gorgeous setting inside La Fonda. Our waitress was super and always there right when we needed her. It's always a special treat to eat at this restaurant.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

See hotel, avoid restaurant

Dined on April 26, 2016

We took an out-of-town guest to La Fonda's La Plazuela for dinner thinking the ambiance would be inviting and the food good. What a shock. While the ambiance was nice, the food -- we all ordered Northern New Mexican specialties -- was not good at all. In addition, the server was quite surly as soon as we ordered glasses of wine rather than a bottle. The hotel is charming, but I would not recommend this restaurant.

food3
ambience4
service1
value2

Dinner

Dined on April 25, 2016

$19 for rellenos that were good, but I have a hard time convincing myself they were $19 good. Wife had salmon, which also was good, but nothing special about the plating or garnish; it was served on a bed of rice with steamed broccoli, which is fine, but again, the price, whatever it was, belied the actual value of the dish--very "unspecial." The service was painfully slow from getting the food (on a Sunday with lower than average crowd) to receiving the second drink--order was taken just before food arrived, and I was nearly finished by the time a bottled beer arrived. Once the check came, however, the server miraculously appeared quite rapidly after the credit card was out. Pretty below average experience. We've always had great service and food at lunchtime, so my recommendation would be ONLY for lunch at this beautiful restaurant.

Tags: great for lunch
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Rango

Dined on April 24, 2016

The food was very good although from time to time is inconsistent. Additionally, the menu does not seem to change except for perhaps twice a year and this restaurant never has any "specials". The service staff is very good.

Tags: great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Very good food!

Dined on April 23, 2016

We were in Santa Fe for the weekend and had dinner and lunch at La Plazuela. Both meals were very tasty and enjoyable. The food is spiced very well and complimented the entrees. Definitely recommend.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

Almost

Dined on April 22, 2016

Ambiance special except they ruined the bar area with a contemporary (remodel) look. Service ok. Margaritas not quite right and server didn't care. Fajitas perfectly seasoned and cooked just right.

food1
ambience4
service2
value1

We found the food not to be the best Mexican food

Dined on April 17, 2016

Service was just ok. When we had finished our appetizers, the service box the rest and not to gently place them on our table before we even had our meal. The helpers then tried to clear the table with items we were still going to use. NOT a very nice time for our special occation

food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Okay, convenient since was stayed at LaFonda.

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

The only part of the meal that was memorable was the pozole. I had Christmas enchiladas.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent

Dined on April 14, 2016

This is the second time we dined here and we were just as happy this time. The table side guacamole is very good. We split the Roasted Corn & Green Chile Chowder which is also very good. I had the Filet y Enchiladas, just like I did last time, it is so unbelievably yummy! The filet melt in your mouth tender resting on top of two lovely cheese enchiladas. My husband had the Rellenos de La Fonda and he loved it. We both really enjoyed the posole side that came with both of our dishes--very unique. There is a nice wine selection at reasonable prices--we like ordering a bottle of the Chime Pinot Nior. We made early reservations just a few hours prior to the restaurant opening; however, by about 6pm the place filled up and people were turned away (and this was a week night!).

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service3

My wife and I eat here several times a y ...

vip
Dined on April 13, 2016

My wife and I eat here several times a year when we are in SF and always enjoy the meal. The service on this visit was adequate but not remarkable. Food was good as usual. Soups and salads are always excellent. The classic entrees are good choices and my wife is especially fond of the salmon. Wine selections are good. The dining room design is unique, maintaining the ambience of a Harvey historic hotel.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Couldn't Have Been Better!

Dined on April 12, 2016

It Couldn't Have Been Better! We enjoyed a truly wonderful meal at La Pazuela. The southwest style of Mexican food can't be beat and La Pazuela is the best. Plus the service was excellent, making the meal fun and enjoyable.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Santa Fe must !

Dined on April 11, 2016

The wait staff was excellent . I ordered I thought a chicken that was a southwest recipe with chilies etc. the sauce was cranberries with a very small couple of green somethings. The potatoes were excellent but the chicken was dry. A disappointment.

Tags: special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.