About La Plazuela at La Fonda on the Plaza

100 E. San Francisco Street
Santa Fe, NM 87501
View Larger Map

La Plazuela was the hotel’s original 1920s patio and it retains that sunlit Old World charm. Skylights flood the dining room with natural light and handsome carved furnishings, artisanal lighting, and our much-loved hand painted windows create a beautiful, inviting room to gather, to dine and to make memories in. The menu was crafted to showcase old favorites with New World influences and authentic New Mexican cuisine, and our award-winning wine list is exceptional. La Plazuela at La Fonda on the Plaza is Santa Fe’s gathering place. Come dine with us!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Southwest, Mexican / Southwestern, Contemporary Mexican

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm, Saturday - Sunday: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm; Breakfast: Monday - Sunday: 7:00am - 11:30am

Cross Street:
Old Santa Fe Trail

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(505) 995-2334

Website:
http://www.lafondasantafe.com/

Executive Chef:
Lane Warner

Additional:
Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Penne
  • Red Snapper Ceviche
  • Gruet Blanc De Noirs
  • Meatloaf
  • Tortilla Soup
  • SMOKED TURKEY COBB SALAD
Penne
Red Snapper Ceviche
Gruet Blanc De Noirs
Meatloaf
Tortilla Soup
SMOKED TURKEY COBB SALAD

La Plazuela at La Fonda on the Plaza Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Santa Fe / Mountains
Best Restaurants in Santa Fe ›

Special Occasion (69)
Fit for Foodies (53)
Romantic (47)
See All
Great for Lunch (34)
Neighborhood Gem (33)
Good for Groups (28)
Great for Brunch (22)
Notable Wine List (19)
Kid-friendly (14)
Hot Spot (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Scenic View (5)
Late-night Find (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Sort By:
Newest
865 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Fantastic Meal! We had a fantastic meal ...

vip
 (Ottawa)
·Dined 5 days ago

Fantastic Meal!

We had a fantastic meal here. Great New Mexican food with excellent service in a beautiful setting. I had perhaps the best Chile relleno I have hired, combined with a lovely Pinot Noir from New Mexico. Would love to return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is an old restaurant with great amb ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined 5 days ago

This is an old restaurant with great ambiance. Menu is standard fare with southwestern touches. Everything we tried was excellent and service was superb. Very relaxing, would recommend for anyone visiting Santa Fe.

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Outstanding Value, Historic, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had out of town guests and wanted a ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

We had out of town guests and wanted a Santa Fe

evening. So we went to the Plaza,

and ended the evening at La Plazuela.

The service was excellent, our meals first rate. We had and steaks and sea bass. Everyone was delighted. Service was delightful.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Offered a wide variety of special items, ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined 6 days ago

Offered a wide variety of special items, steak and enchaladas were good. Accomidating to dietary needs. Varied wine list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

A must see in Santa Fe! I have eaten br ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

A must see in Santa Fe! I have eaten breakfast, lunch and dinner at La Plazuela and all have been wonderful. Restaurant is located in La Fonda Hotel on the plaza which is very historical and you almost feel transported back in time. The main dining area has a domed glass ceiling and you feel as if you are sitting in a courtyard. Great made-at-the-table guacamole! Don't miss it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Organic, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

fantastic food, great service, feeling i ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

fantastic food, great service, feeling is of being in old Santa Fe. Wonderful experience.

Tags: Spicy, Outstanding Value, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food service and atmosphere ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Wonderful food service and atmosphere Could not have been better

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

After a very long travel day, disappoi ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

After a very long travel day, disappointed in slow service . Was the waiter, not the bus person. Had been there before with better service and food. Waiter was not interested in our business .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Always nice service and good food. Stra ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Always nice service and good food. Strange table in corner not our favorite.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This is a lovely room. Spectacular, in f ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

This is a lovely room. Spectacular, in fact. Very traditional Southwest.

The service was also attentive and well versed.

However, the food was average. Not the New Mexican spectacular that we were expecting. I think the sopadillas were the best of the things we tried--pillowy and light and fluffy. A perfect carrier for honey. Otherwise, the rest of the meal was not memorable. I had a pork tamale that was luke warm and had too much dried masa. Nothing special.

I think that the Plazuela is a good place to eat as a tourist to get the Southwest Vibe, but not so much if you are there as a foodie from the SF Bay Area. We are hard to please...or maybe we just did not order the right things?

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Dined here on the one night we were in S ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Dined here on the one night we were in Santa Fe. Menu had a lot of excellent choices - it was hard to make a decision.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Two of us had lamb, which unfortunately ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Two of us had lamb, which unfortunately was very fatty. The other 2 had chile rellenos, which were good. The server forgot the margarita, so we had to remind her.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value3

Attentive servers, delicious meals,wonde ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Attentive servers, delicious meals,wonderful ambience. Alexis highly recommended,ask for her

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

good for black out..it was the first rea ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

good for black out..it was the first reastaurant that was avaible after the power was restored

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We were there the night the power went o ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

We were there the night the power went off and they couldn't serve us dinner! So we all improvised and had another round of margaritas, table side quacamole and desserts and it was wonderful! Thank you for trying to take care of us during this act of nature!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great meal and a lovely night. Must for ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Great meal and a lovely night. Must for the Santa Fe experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great ambiance in a beautiful setting. ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Great ambiance in a beautiful setting. Food was average and staff was attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

One of our favorites for many years, it ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

One of our favorites for many years, it seldom disappoints in flavors, service, atmosphere... Had some tacos made from spinalis (the tender tail of the ribeye) which had wonderful flavors, as did the appetizer pork carnitas on polenta... Any of their new mexican specialties are excellent, as are their lamb and sea bass.

Breakfast coffee is delicious, as is the Chile Relleno con Huevos...

ANY meal there will build a memory...

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful restaurant setting. Wait staff ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Beautiful restaurant setting. Wait staff goes out of there way to be attentive. Prices are high, but we got fajitas for 2 and shared a salad and it worked out fine

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great entree selections and interesting ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Great entree selections and interesting wine list. Service was excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Location is great, ambiance is great, se ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Location is great, ambiance is great, service was great, food was great. What more can you ask for.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've eaten at La Plazuela several times ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

We've eaten at La Plazuela several times for special occasions and it's our favorite for that special place and romantic without breaking the wallet.

Wait staff are wonderful and food is delicious too.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a pleasure at La Fonda. We like ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Always a pleasure at La Fonda. We like to have dinner here before going on to the Santa Fe Opera. This is a great start for the evening. Excellent staff and service, for outstanding. The room itself is worth the experience. This is a family favorite for many years.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love the ambiance of this restaurant, ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

I love the ambiance of this restaurant, you can feel the quality of service echoed by the art on the walls, the history of the place and of course the food is fantastic and I can always expect the quality to be that way each and every time. We eat there for special occasion as well as 'every day' dining...

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent venue - great service - excell ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Excellent venue - great service - excellent recommendations re specials and wine list

Enjoyed the evening and next time in Santa Fe it will be visited again

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

the architecture and design very nice. i ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

the architecture and design very nice. interesting painted windows.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

had reservations had to wait 45 minutes ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

had reservations

had to wait 45 minutes after reservation time

brought over cooked wrong food 30 minutes after ordered

would not recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value3

Always consistently good. Love that they ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Always consistently good. Love that they take a reservation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is great! We had vey slow serv ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The food is great! We had vey slow service which was the only downfall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

The sea bass was tasteless and not prepa ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

The sea bass was tasteless and not prepared well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3

Great food with a nice presentation. Ser ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Great food with a nice presentation. Service is outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellentallarounddiningexperience isalw ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Excellentallarounddiningexperience isalwaysfoundatLaFonda.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

No wait to get seated, got a table in th ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

No wait to get seated, got a table in the middle next to the fountain which was great.

Table side Guacamole is a must, absolutely fantastic. Main dish of shrimp and chicken fajitas was not only big but also very tasty.

Our waiter Armando was very attentive and provided a lot of recommendations and help.

Love to come back there again.

Tags: Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our favorite restaurant in Santa Fe. Foo ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Our favorite restaurant in Santa Fe. Food was outstanding, as usual. Service was not so great on this visit. My wife, her sister, and our son ordered the guacamole appetizer which is prepared table-side. The poor fellow was so backed up that our entrées came while he was preparing the appetizer at our table. Fajitas for four plus sides, plus the guacamole and fresh tortilla chips, plus our dinner plates, drinks and other side plates, flowers, etc. did not fit on the table. No one offered to sort things out for us. We were forced to move things ourselves-flowers to an empty table, bread plates to another place and so on. Two of us ordered iced tea, only one came. Had to ask twice for the other one. Unfortunately, all the little and not-so-little things resulted in a rushed, harried dinner experience. It is clear that the restaurant was understaffed this evening. We had an early dinner with only a few tables filled when we arrived. By the time we left the restaurant was filled. I can only imagine the service those people received.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Armando, our waiter, was the most polite ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Armando, our waiter, was the most polite, well mannered waiter that I have ever met.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Only failure the communication between b ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Only failure the communication between bar and restaurant; the martinis arrived tepid.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Food was really good. Service was slow t ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Food was really good. Service was slow to start. Ambiance is, well, part of the hotel lobby, with other guests to-ing and fro-ing while we ate.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Upscale menu delivers as promised! The ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Upscale menu delivers as promised! The cucumber gazpacho with goats milk yoghurt exceed expectations as did the cauliflower steak. This is our second trip, but won't be our last!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed the hotel and service very mu ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

We enjoyed the hotel and service very much but we were very disappointed in the food. I ordered the salmon which was so overcooked that it was hard and dry. I am surprised that it was served like this. We have been here before and the food was much better.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

Although convenient to the hotel, the so ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Although convenient to the hotel, the soup was cold, the crab cakes were greasy, food was not good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service4
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.