About La Plazuela at La Fonda on the Plaza

La Plazuela was the hotel’s original 1920s patio and it retains that sunlit Old World charm. Skylights flood the dining room with natural light and handsome carved furnishings, artisanal lighting, and our much-loved hand painted windows create a beautiful, inviting room to gather, to dine and to make memories in. The menu was crafted to showcase old favorites with New World influences and authentic New Mexican cuisine, and our award-winning wine list is exceptional. La Plazuela at La Fonda on the Plaza is Santa Fe’s gathering place. Come dine with us!

100 E. San Francisco Street
Santa Fe, NM 87501
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Southwest, Mexican / Southwestern, Contemporary Mexican

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm, Saturday - Sunday: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm; Breakfast: Monday - Sunday: 7:00am - 11:30am

Cross Street:
Old Santa Fe Trail

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(505) 995-2334

Website:
http://www.lafondasantafe.com/

Executive Chef:
Lane Warner

Additional:
Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

La Plazuela at La Fonda on the Plaza Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (41)
Good for a Date (37)
Authentic (36)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (36)
Local Ingredients (32)
Good for Birthdays (32)
Casual (31)
Romantic (30)
Creative Cuisine (28)
Neighborhood Gem (28)
Quiet Conversation (28)
Fit for Foodies (24)
People Watching (16)
Fun (14)
Spicy (14)
Great for Lunch (13)
Notable Wine List (13)
Worth the Drive (13)
Cozy (12)
Good for Groups (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Business Meals (11)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Good Vegetarian Options (11)
Great for Brunch (10)
Comfort Food (9)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Disabled Access (7)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Seasonal (6)
Bar Seating (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Scenic View (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Live Music (2)
Organic (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
1160 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 3 days ago

Trout was wonderful. However, pork ribs were tough, undercooked. I do much better myself. Expensive for quality received.

Service was only average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined 3 days ago

A low spot in our Santa Fe weekend. Would not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

A great place to dine in Santa Fe. It captures the beautiful culture and enchantment of the State of New Mexico.

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Fun, Spicy, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined 6 days ago

Above average food and service. Decor was traditional. Historical location. Nose level is average to above average depending on functions hosted on the second floor.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Casual, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 13, 2017

High quality food, best margaritas

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on September 12, 2017

A local favorite, ideal location and casual ambience with excellent food served by very competent, unobtrusive waitstaff. Highly recommended.

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 12, 2017

This restaurant, despite being located in a hotel, provides an interesting and varied menu in a perfect local setting. Choices range from local New Mexican to continental and the charm of the room is a main attraction.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 12, 2017

We came for dinner our first night in Santa Fe and it did not disappoint. Our waiter, Angel, was fantastic and very helpful concerning my gluten sensitivity. Our meal was excellent, as were the margaritas. We had fresh table side guacamole that was amazing. The atmosphere in the restaurant was really nice; light and colorful. We were very happy that we started our vacation here.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

My birthday and my first time to Santa Fe! Dinner was fantastic! Our food was fresh and cooked to perfection. Connie took excellent care of us! We will be back!

Tags: Authentic, Scenic View, Tasting Menu, Tapas, Handcrafted Cocktails, Live Music, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Spicy, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 9, 2017

The space is beautiful. The food is NOT good! The prime rib was hardly warm and was tough. Even the second one was the same!! The server was nice. There are so many nice restaurants in SF, don't waste time and money eating at this sub-par place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Great place and AMAZING food. Had the filet y enchilada and don't remember the last time I are something so good... Alexis, thank you ..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 8, 2017

You don't usually think of a hotel restaurant as being one of the best in town, especially in Santa Fe, but this one is. Possible the best chile relleno and margarita we have ever had. Plus it's a beautiful, open and fun space. And no more expensive that most of the downtown restaurants. Don't miss it.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 4, 2017

lovely place and the guacamole is a must try cause it is fresh made in front of you

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Quite wonderful. We enjoyed both dinner (for which we had reservations) and breakfast in this lovely restaurant. Both experiences were noteworthy. The room is large, the noise level is moderate, but we were able to have an easy conversation. Maybe because we sat near the fountain both times, but irrespective of the number of others, it felt intimate. Service was attentive without being intrusive.
We'll return during out next trip to Santa Fe.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on September 4, 2017

The service was just fair. We had to ask for our bread as the waiter forgot it. The trout was a large portion but so dry and overcooked. The prime rib was to be medium, but half of it was well done and the other half was rare. All the food was disappointing. It was nice ambiance, but that is about the only good thing I have to say.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Beautiful, historic dining room and good service. Food was just ok, as were the cocktails.

Tags: Disabled Access, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Spicy, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Casual, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Honey moon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 31, 2017

Great food, poor service. Our server was so busy talking she did not pay attention to us. Dinner was 1 1/2 hours with only a few people in the restaurant. The food was great.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Fantastic restaurant. Best hotel dining. Great food and service. A must if you are in Sante Fe.

Tags: People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Disabled Access, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on August 30, 2017

The gold medal winning chicken dish was fantastic. As a special, it was unlike anything that we have had. A wonderful mix of flavors.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Excellant food & attentive staff. Good wine list. Great surroundings. We always love to come here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Tucson)·Dined on August 27, 2017

The dining room is elegant. The food is spectacular. The evening was magical

Tags: Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 27, 2017

The homemade guacamole was divine! My wife has an allergy to onions. Having it made to order at table side was special & ensured that no onions were added.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 27, 2017

The food, service and ambiance was spot on. Thank you La Fonda for a wonderful evening

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on August 27, 2017

La Plazuela offers great Santa Fe ambiance and delicious food. We shared the fajitas which were excellent. The appetizer of asparagus was perfectly made and beautifully presented. We're hoping to go back for the same meal while on this vacation!

Tags: People Watching, Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

The food is good and authentic. However the guacamole is out of this world . That is what we will remember. They have a guacamole expert who prepares it fresh at your table

Tags: Casual, Spicy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on August 25, 2017

We ate here for a pre-opera dinner. I requested a combination of appetizer plates for my dinner, and the chef kindly accommodated this request in a beautifully presented fashion. The dining room is lovely and , even as it filled, never became too noisy.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Normally we avoid hotel dining rooms when visiting a new city. Seems traveling means branching out and attempting new dining ventures. After reviewing the menus of other nearby New Mexican restaurants, it seemed that La Plazuela would be worth a try. Our choice was well rewarded. Excellent service, food choices, portions and prices made for an excellent meal. My wife's Chili Rellenos were lightly breaded, crisp and just the right spice. My shredded beef enchiladas topped with 2 over easy fried eggs were exceptional. The added surprise on both entrees was a portion of pork and posole instead of the normal rice component. Each of us had a warm sopapilla that we filled with warm honey. We enjoyed the ambiance of the room with the decorated window glass sections that had been hand painted and colorful decor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 25, 2017

We visit Santa Fe often and La Plazuela is one of our go to restaurants for breakfast, lunch or dinner during every trip. Love their sauces!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Really enjoyed the lively scene here, food was excellent, service was great and the hand-crafted cocktails were super! Surrounded by the beautiful traditional Santa Fe architecture and history of this place made it a perfect place to dine.

Tags: People Watching, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 24, 2017

The experience was good overall. We made reservations and was immediately seated. The choice of food was good and we enjoyed the evening. Service was a little slow and we had to remind the waitress. The quality of food was good and the price was fair. Location was great and we will return on our next trip to Santa Fe.

Tags: Business Meals, Authentic, Casual, Fun, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Shreveport)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Very nice ambiance, good food and reasonably priced. Portions were generous. Good for a nice dinner out. Service was good, not rushed.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on August 23, 2017

A local favorite...a consistently excellent hotel restaurant...good selection, deservedly famous table side-prepared guacamole, and terrific vegetarian/vegan options as well...great food for all tastes. Service always excellent and attentive. Oh, and that lovely room!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 22, 2017

Just ordered salads and took approximately 45 minutes to be served. Terrible service. Don't eat here

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value1

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on August 20, 2017

La Fonda Hotel is a beautiful historic hotel with prime location on corner of the Santa Fe plaza. The restaurant is outstanding for Mexican specialities done perfectly, plus outstanding southwestern American food. Guaquamole prepared tableside, fish & beef specials, perfect Mexican dishes! Great breakfast too! Don't miss if in Santa Fe.

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on August 20, 2017

A Santa Fe institution, and still a great place to eat. We were there during Indian Market, the busiest weekend of the year, and they still delivered friendly, relaxed service.

Tags: Casual, Quiet Conversation, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Waitress was very friendly and attentive and the food choices were varied and very good.

Tags: Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Our server, Stormy, helped make this vacation dinner even more special. Just a wonderful experience!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 17, 2017

We made reservations and then found we could eat earlier. The restaurant moved up our reservation without issue. Nice serving staff. Food was good. Our first dinner in Santa Fe.

Tags: Fun, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 16, 2017

Overpriced food took long time to serve, like over half hour at least. Then the lamb was tough, and the filet grey and overcooked. Broccoli flan tasteless. Fourth dinner there was worst ever. Waitress credited part of cost, but prefer the nice meal to begin with.

Tags: Disabled Access, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.