About La Plazuela at La Fonda on the Plaza

La Plazuela was the hotel’s original 1920s patio and it retains that sunlit Old World charm. Skylights flood the dining room with natural light and handsome carved furnishings, artisanal lighting, and our much-loved hand painted windows create a beautiful, inviting room to gather, to dine and to make memories in. The menu was crafted to showcase old favorites with New World influences and authentic New Mexican cuisine, and our award-winning wine list is exceptional. La Plazuela at La Fonda on the Plaza is Santa Fe’s gathering place. Come dine with us!

100 E. San Francisco Street
Santa Fe, NM 87501
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Southwest, Mexican / Southwestern, Contemporary Mexican

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm, Saturday - Sunday: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm; Breakfast: Monday - Sunday: 7:00am - 11:30am

Cross Street:
Old Santa Fe Trail

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(505) 995-2334

Website:
http://www.lafondasantafe.com/

Executive Chef:
Lane Warner

Additional:
Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

La Plazuela at La Fonda on the Plaza Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (37)
Historic (36)
Romantic (29)
See All
Authentic (29)
Good for Anniversaries (26)
Good for a Date (25)
Fit for Foodies (22)
Great for Lunch (21)
Casual (20)
Creative Cuisine (20)
Sunday Lunch (19)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Local Ingredients (19)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Worth the Drive (15)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Spicy (14)
Fun (13)
Good for Groups (13)
Business Meals (13)
Great for Brunch (12)
Comfort Food (12)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Outstanding Value (11)
Good Vegetarian Options (10)
Cozy (9)
People Watching (9)
Fireplace (8)
Notable Wine List (8)
Hot Spot (7)
Disabled Access (6)
Family Style (6)
Seasonal (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Healthy (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Live Music (2)
Organic (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Dancing (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Scenic View (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Tapas (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
1024 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 2 days ago

Really nice! Great food, service and ambiance

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

Tableside guacamole is delicious and fun! Service was excellent.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 15, 2017

We had a very nice evening at La Fonda. Staff was well trained and very attentive, table was ready on time, food was great, speedy service, we had a beautiful margarita. There was one little goof but so what-it was quickly resolved and did not interfere with our experience. We live in New Mexico and know what New Mexico style food should taste like. This dinner was very authentic and the presentation was perfect. Could not have been better. Thank You!

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Kid-friendly, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 14, 2017

This is a beautiful venue with a fountain in the center and excellent service.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 14, 2017

There was no waiting, our table was ready and we were seated immediately. Our waiter, Ian, was prompt in taking our order. He explained how the order was prepared and it was as I wanted. The quantity was filling and well displayed on the plate. We were very satisfied and will be returning.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Our server, Conny, was friendly and helpful with the menu. The filet mignon enchiladas with Christmas chili was done perfectly. My husband loved the Long Island Duck breast.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 7, 2017

The service was excellent, martini was very good and served as ordered, good wine list, charming ambience, and - best of all - excellent food.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 5, 2017

The wait staff was very personable and efficient. The atmosphere and lighting was superb. Their margaritas are the BEST!

Tags: Live Music, Scenic View, Seasonal, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Always enjoy eating at La Fonda whenever we are in Santa Fe.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 27, 2017

We were visiting santa fe and decided to have a late dinner. The service was great and everything was delicious. The ambience is very warm.

Tags: Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Charli our waitress was great. She kept our drinks refilled and answered all our questions. We had the vegetarian tacos and burrito with Christmas sauce. Both were delicious. We'll be back next time and enjoy the roof top bar.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Staying next door inn at Loretta, had been to bar but not ever eaten . It was great guacamole prepared table side, the best. Highly recommend make this a dinner spot.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Historic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Great Dinner, food is always well prepared , regional cuisine . Chili Rellanos are a favorite , as are the steaks, the oyster appetizer with bacon & avocado is great! Haven't had many desserts , rarely have room for one. Soppapias are good & come with some dishes as well. Can't go to Santa Fe without a meal or two in La Plazuela. Wish we lived closer to be able to visit more often. Now go & enjoy!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 26, 2017

My good was cold, but quickly taken care of. We will go back again.

Tags: Historic, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Visiting Santa Fe for a girls weekend, we were staying at La Fonda. Our first night in town after long flights, La Plazuaela was perfect. The food was wonderfully southwest with spice, flavor and variety. The restaurant is really beautiful. And the margaritas were wonderful!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 23, 2017

i have eaten here many times and never had a bad meal here. In this case it was my fiance's birthday and i wanted to make it a memorable meal for her. The waitress was excellent . She made sure each course came out hot and cooked to perfection. They even sat us next to a water fountain for additional ambiance . Very well done. i am moving from NM to Az soon. But each time i come back to visit Santa Fe, i will most certainly eat at La Plazuela again.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Always enjoy dining at La Fonda. One of the best. Our Waitperson Stormy was terrific.

Tags: Historic, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Outstanding Value, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Delicious food. Excellent service. Beautiful atmosphere and probably the best restaurant in Santa Fe

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Excellent dining experience . Highly recommend La Plazuela for excellent food, attentive service and relaxing ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Ordered medium rare filet minion and received well done. What am I going to do, send it back and wait while my companion eats or lets her food get cold? The last thing I want on Valentines day is an unpleasant experience. The waitress did not bother to ask how things were going until the meal was mostly over. Yes, they did remove the charges for my meal and for the desert without me asking, but the money cannot fix the unpleasant experience on a special occasion. Such a shame for such a beautiful dinning room.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great meal for a special ocassion. Service and atmosphere excellent. Felt like we were dining outside. Large portions with reasonable prices.

Tags: Fireplace, Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Spicy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great meal, great service. Just a fantastic experience all the way throughout. Armando was out server and he was nearly perfect!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The food itself was fine, but the service was not great. We arrived promptly for a 6:00pm reservation, and waited a good 5 minutes at the entrance to be seated because the Maitre D' had to answer a sudden slew of phone calls. Finally he motioned to a server to seat us. I happen to be wearing a leg brace, but I don't like to stand around feeling ignored under any circumstances.

The servers were polite (bordering on obsequious) but slow, and they needed to be reminded to bring a new napkin and more bread. They all appeared to have too many patrons to take care of.

And the chairs - very heavy and nearly imporssible to slide along the floor in order to "belly up" to the dining table. I practically needed a winch to get back out after dinner.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Greatly exceeded our expectations. Excellent food and service made a birthday celebration memorable.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Always love this restaurant. You can feel the Santa Fe history when dining here. It's beautiful with the fountain and sparkling lights. Great steak and enchilada dish - my husband said it's one of the best he has ever had. Guacamole made at table side is a special touch.

Tags: Romantic, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 3, 2017

We love it here. Fajitas for two, margaritas and tableside guacomole make for a great dinner, but that combined with the staff and service have is always coming back...for years and years now.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Outstanding Value, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 3, 2017

This is my favorite restaurant in Santa Fe. The food is very good and they offer a good selection of vegetarian items. The restaurant is very pretty. Most seating is arranged so that you are not too close to your neighbor. The service is impeccable - they are attentive and so nice - they make you feel welcome. This is also a great place to take visitors so they can get a taste of old world New Mexican charm.

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Absolutely Delicious. One of our favorite Restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Restaurant is located within an historic hotel on the plaza. Charming, with a quaint ambiance. Great food and outstanding service.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We visit this restaurant in La Fonda every time we're in Santa Fe. As always, the food and service were exceptional.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Romantic, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 27, 2017

A fully enjoyable experience th Felix was tasty and tender. We are going to do it again...

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Excellent meal - perfectly cooked filet and tasty cheese enchiladas with Christmas chile, and sides of posole and black beans are well-seasoned. We asked for the plates to be "extra hot" which really melted the cheese in the enchiladas and kept the steak hot, too. Ask for the sopapillas to be brought after your meal, instead of with. Generous dinner serving, with enough to take home leftovers. La Plazuela is always a festive place and we love the ambiance.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Family Style, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Disabled Access, Comfort Food, Historic, Spicy, Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Great and prompt service, however quantity of wine is small for the price. In addition, the chef needs some education on how to cook a steak as ordered. Ordered a steak medium, came out very rare almost "blue". in Addition, vegetable were very much under cooked. Maybe they are too much of a hurry to get the meals out they don't properly cook them.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 26, 2017

We just got into town and couldn't wait for our first meal in Santa Fe. We come every three or four years and read the glowing reviews for Plazuela ahead of time.

The service was amazing. So fast, in fact, that I felt like the food must've been sitting in chafing dishes in the kitchen. That is the way the salmon tasted, too. It was poached, with a cilantro hollandaise, and the server assured me ahead that it would be moist. It was hard and tasteless. The hollandaise was thin and watery. I thought there must be a mistake-that perhaps they left the sauce off and the liquid on the plate was just from the fish juices. I asked for more sauce and what came out looked like chicken soup and had the same consistency- and with no cilantro!

The salad dressing was a cloying sweet dressing, and my husband's soup (tortilla) was, in two words, boring and bad. His fajita was filled with tough chicken and dry tasting steak. I have not one positive thing to say about this restaurant except that the service was quick. We were so sorry to have wasted one of our three evenings on this place and cannot understand the great reviews. I guess you never know whose review you are reading.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 26, 2017

I always enjoy the ambiance, and the meal was very good. I had the salmon and loved it. The waitress and/or water server did not keep up with filling water glasses, and that was what 2 of the 4 of us were drinking that evening. It wasn't a busy night, so that was a little surprising. Still, highly recommend.

Tags: Historic, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Had great meal with visiting family. Everyone enjoyed their meal. Delicious sopapillas as well. Vegetarian entree terrific. Will be back.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Family Style, Good Vegetarian Options, Historic, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 23, 2017

The poached salmon is excellent as is the pork shank - ambience and service very good too.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 23, 2017

As always, La Plazuela is lovely. Delicious food, outstanding service, and table-side guacamole that keeps us coming back. Try the duck... delicious!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 22, 2017

A lovely dinner ! Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 21, 2017

The reviews were accurate! Love this place....great food and great ambiance. Authentic cuisine and the service was amazing...

Tags: Good for a Date, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.