About La Plazuela at La Fonda on the Plaza

100 E. San Francisco Street
Santa Fe, NM 87501
View Larger Map

La Plazuela was the hotel’s original 1920s patio and it retains that sunlit Old World charm. Skylights flood the dining room with natural light and handsome carved furnishings, artisanal lighting, and our much-loved hand painted windows create a beautiful, inviting room to gather, to dine and to make memories in. The menu was crafted to showcase old favorites with New World influences and authentic New Mexican cuisine, and our award-winning wine list is exceptional. La Plazuela at La Fonda on the Plaza is Santa Fe’s gathering place. Come dine with us!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Southwest, Mexican / Southwestern, Contemporary Mexican

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm, Saturday - Sunday: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm; Breakfast: Monday - Sunday: 7:00am - 11:30am

Cross Street:
Old Santa Fe Trail

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(505) 995-2334

Website:
http://www.lafondasantafe.com/

Executive Chef:
Lane Warner

Additional:
Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Penne
  • Red Snapper Ceviche
  • Gruet Blanc De Noirs
  • Meatloaf
  • Tortilla Soup
  • SMOKED TURKEY COBB SALAD
Penne
Red Snapper Ceviche
Gruet Blanc De Noirs
Meatloaf
Tortilla Soup
SMOKED TURKEY COBB SALAD

La Plazuela at La Fonda on the Plaza Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Santa Fe / Mountains
Best Restaurants in Santa Fe ›

Special Occasion (70)
Fit for Foodies (47)
Romantic (42)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (31)
Great for Lunch (31)
Good for Groups (28)
Notable Wine List (18)
Great for Brunch (18)
Kid-friendly (14)
Hot Spot (13)
Authentic (12)
Historic (10)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Good for a Date (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Local Ingredients (5)
People Watching (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Scenic View (4)
Cozy (4)
Business Meals (3)
Casual (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Spicy (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Fun (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Family Style (1)
Organic (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
Newest
882 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food was just ok, think there are better ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined a day ago

Food was just ok, think there are better choices around. Had a reservation and checked in with host, who told me our table was just about ready. He told me to have seat in the lobby(restaurant in middle of lobby of hotel) and he would come and get me. After a while I went back to ask him what the holdup was and he asked who I was and tried to check me in again. He had forgotten me and gave no apology for his oversight. If it was up to him I would still be waiting for my table. Had the stuffed squash blossom for app and they were swimming in grease. Very disappointing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Disappointing. The guacamole made table ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 4 days ago

Disappointing. The guacamole made table side was quite good. My husband had enchilada Del Norte with eggs and describe it as okay. I had the fish tacos and found them both dry and extremely fishy. Service was slow and incomplete. When the lights went off, staff did nothing to reassure or explain to the customers. Nothing made it worthwhile to try again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

Service was not bad. Food was pretty goo ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined 5 days ago

Service was not bad. Food was pretty good. Enjoyable experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

NIce dinner in pretty setting. Not forma ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 5 days ago

NIce dinner in pretty setting. Not formal and decent but not amazing food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

They did a great job with eight people a ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 6 days ago

They did a great job with eight people and helped us all find our personal choices for dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Visit to Santa Fe - This was on my list ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on September 22, 2016

Visit to Santa Fe - This was on my list as a restaurant to visit for an evening meal while in Santa Fe. I had eaten there several years ago and found it enjoyable. I was pleased with the meal and the great selection of margaritas. I would go again.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Hotel dining nicely done. Not so upscal ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Hotel dining nicely done. Not so upscale as to be intimidating. Some people were dressed up and some casual . I had the special that evening, prime rib, it was cooked to order and was delicious. My husbands steak was good too. We didn't feel rushed and enjoyed the restaurant ambience. From there we went to the fifth floor outdoor bar to watch the sunset! All in all a very nice finish to our Santa Fe vacation.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our first night in Santa Fe and this di ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Our first night in Santa Fe and this dinner got us off to a great start. The food was delicious and nicely presented. Both the pork chop and lambchops were fine choices, not to mention their outstanding version of tortilla soup. The charming room with painted windows and the attentive service certainly added to the experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Historic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Especially good server, Angel. Lovely at ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Especially good server, Angel. Lovely atmosphere and tasty food.

Tags: Authentic, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good food and service in a beautifu ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Very good food and service in a beautiful setting. A great place for a nice dinner out in Santa Fe. My wife had chile rellenos and I had the grilled pork chop. Both were excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent service, very good food. The ...

vip
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Excellent service, very good food. The hostesses can using some training. They're not very welcoming.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

What a delightful place to gather with f ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

What a delightful place to gather with friends for dinner!. The colorful ambiance, friendly staff and excellent food made our stay all the more pleasurable. Thank you!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely evening for 2 of us celebrating o ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Lovely evening for 2 of us celebrating our birthdays. Our server, Angel, was excellent and friendly....cuisine et our palettes, varied wine menu, and overall a delightful occasion in the ambience of La Plazuela.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

La Fonda food is always beyond what anyo ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

La Fonda food is always beyond what anyone unfamiliar with them would ever expect. I rate it among the top 2 Restaurants in Santa Fe. The food has never failed to be anything except wonderful. We have been visiting from Seattke since the late 90's. We make it at least every 2 years, 1 is a goal we don't always reach. Often we have dinner at La Fonda 2 times while we are there. It never fails to impress us. We have enjoyed the same woman server several times over the years. She is wonderful. Feels like she's a friend, even the 1st time. I am sure she doesn't recognize us from year to year, be we always remember her. All other interactions with all of the Restaurant staff has been great as well. We always leave happy, and full!

Tags: Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Casual, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was delicious and beautifully pres ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Food was delicious and beautifully presented. Service was excellent. Loved the ambiance of La Plazuela.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The main dining room is truly a feast fo ...

 
 (Caribbean)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

The main dining room is truly a feast for the eyes. Wonderful colors and the wood is simply stunning. The service we experienced was terrific, including the table-side preparations. Our server was efficient, friendly and professional. The food was outstanding and the presentation was authentic. Fantastic evening!

Tags: Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, People Watching, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Atmosphere was beautiful, and food was a ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Atmosphere was beautiful, and food was adequate but not memorable. We ordered the weekend evening prime rib, and there was nothing wrong with it, but it wasn't particularly tender or particularly well seasoned. The sides (mashed potatoes and snow peas) were not sufficient to accompany the meat. Caesar salad was just okay. All in all, we were a little bit disappointed.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Fantastic Meal! We had a fantastic meal ...

vip
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Fantastic Meal!

We had a fantastic meal here. Great New Mexican food with excellent service in a beautiful setting. I had perhaps the best Chile relleno I have hired, combined with a lovely Pinot Noir from New Mexico. Would love to return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is an old restaurant with great amb ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

This is an old restaurant with great ambiance. Menu is standard fare with southwestern touches. Everything we tried was excellent and service was superb. Very relaxing, would recommend for anyone visiting Santa Fe.

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Outstanding Value, Historic, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had out of town guests and wanted a ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

We had out of town guests and wanted a Santa Fe

evening. So we went to the Plaza,

and ended the evening at La Plazuela.

The service was excellent, our meals first rate. We had and steaks and sea bass. Everyone was delighted. Service was delightful.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Paleo Friendly, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Offered a wide variety of special items, ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Offered a wide variety of special items, steak and enchaladas were good. Accomidating to dietary needs. Varied wine list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

A must see in Santa Fe! I have eaten br ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

A must see in Santa Fe! I have eaten breakfast, lunch and dinner at La Plazuela and all have been wonderful. Restaurant is located in La Fonda Hotel on the plaza which is very historical and you almost feel transported back in time. The main dining area has a domed glass ceiling and you feel as if you are sitting in a courtyard. Great made-at-the-table guacamole! Don't miss it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Historic, People Watching, Organic, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

fantastic food, great service, feeling i ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

fantastic food, great service, feeling is of being in old Santa Fe. Wonderful experience.

Tags: Spicy, Outstanding Value, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food service and atmosphere ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Wonderful food service and atmosphere Could not have been better

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

After a very long travel day, disappoi ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

After a very long travel day, disappointed in slow service . Was the waiter, not the bus person. Had been there before with better service and food. Waiter was not interested in our business .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Always nice service and good food. Stra ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Always nice service and good food. Strange table in corner not our favorite.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This is a lovely room. Spectacular, in f ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

This is a lovely room. Spectacular, in fact. Very traditional Southwest.

The service was also attentive and well versed.

However, the food was average. Not the New Mexican spectacular that we were expecting. I think the sopadillas were the best of the things we tried--pillowy and light and fluffy. A perfect carrier for honey. Otherwise, the rest of the meal was not memorable. I had a pork tamale that was luke warm and had too much dried masa. Nothing special.

I think that the Plazuela is a good place to eat as a tourist to get the Southwest Vibe, but not so much if you are there as a foodie from the SF Bay Area. We are hard to please...or maybe we just did not order the right things?

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Dined here on the one night we were in S ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Dined here on the one night we were in Santa Fe. Menu had a lot of excellent choices - it was hard to make a decision.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Two of us had lamb, which unfortunately ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Two of us had lamb, which unfortunately was very fatty. The other 2 had chile rellenos, which were good. The server forgot the margarita, so we had to remind her.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value3

Attentive servers, delicious meals,wonde ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Attentive servers, delicious meals,wonderful ambience. Alexis highly recommended,ask for her

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

good for black out..it was the first rea ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

good for black out..it was the first reastaurant that was avaible after the power was restored

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We were there the night the power went o ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

We were there the night the power went off and they couldn't serve us dinner! So we all improvised and had another round of margaritas, table side quacamole and desserts and it was wonderful! Thank you for trying to take care of us during this act of nature!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great meal and a lovely night. Must for ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Great meal and a lovely night. Must for the Santa Fe experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great ambiance in a beautiful setting. ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Great ambiance in a beautiful setting. Food was average and staff was attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

One of our favorites for many years, it ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

One of our favorites for many years, it seldom disappoints in flavors, service, atmosphere... Had some tacos made from spinalis (the tender tail of the ribeye) which had wonderful flavors, as did the appetizer pork carnitas on polenta... Any of their new mexican specialties are excellent, as are their lamb and sea bass.

Breakfast coffee is delicious, as is the Chile Relleno con Huevos...

ANY meal there will build a memory...

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful restaurant setting. Wait staff ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Beautiful restaurant setting. Wait staff goes out of there way to be attentive. Prices are high, but we got fajitas for 2 and shared a salad and it worked out fine

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great entree selections and interesting ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Great entree selections and interesting wine list. Service was excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Location is great, ambiance is great, se ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Location is great, ambiance is great, service was great, food was great. What more can you ask for.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've eaten at La Plazuela several times ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

We've eaten at La Plazuela several times for special occasions and it's our favorite for that special place and romantic without breaking the wallet.

Wait staff are wonderful and food is delicious too.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a pleasure at La Fonda. We like ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Always a pleasure at La Fonda. We like to have dinner here before going on to the Santa Fe Opera. This is a great start for the evening. Excellent staff and service, for outstanding. The room itself is worth the experience. This is a family favorite for many years.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.