About La Piccola Fontana - El Conquistador Resort

1000 Ave El Conquistador
Fajardo, PR 00738
View Larger Map

In order to retain the authentic flavors of Italy suitable to the palette of our ever growing diverse customer base, we have brought together four of Italy and Puerto Rico's best to create a dining experience you will never forget. Executive Chef Alfonso Pescarino (Milan, Italy), Steve Clemente (Fajardo, P.R.), General Manager Jose Salgado (Carolina, P.R. ) have joined to create a powerful combination of Italian traditions. La Piccola Fontana has been the source of numerous awards since their partnerships started. The team's mission is to transport every clients' senses back to Italy while in the comforts of the warm Caribbean waters. For over 20 years La Piccola Fontana has been leading the market in luxury, authenticity, and style. Come experience all the pleasures it has to offer you.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary Italian, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday-Thursday: 5:30pm-10:00pm, Friday and Saturday: 5:30pm-11:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(787) 801-1008

Website:
http://lapiccolafontana.com/

Entertainment:
To see the lobby's entertainment calendar ask concierge for The Scene newspaper.

Executive Chef:
Alfonso Pescarino

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

La Piccola Fontana - El Conquistador Resort Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.5

service

4.0

ambience

3.3

value

3.0

noise

Moderate

50% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (2)
Good for a Date (2)
Good for Groups (1)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Family Style (1)
Authentic (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Cozy (1)
Special Occasion (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Sort By:
S
46 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We were staying at El Conquistador and a ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 16, 2017

We were staying at El Conquistador and ate here our second night. The restaurant is very dated. The chairs were threadbare...literally the stuffing from the chair was all over my dress. I was very excited to learn that they had gluten free pasta. I ordered a pasta and fish dish. The pasta was fair but the sauce was very thick and salty. My daughter had a chicken dish. She enjoyed it. The restaurant was extremely loud. The tables are very close together. We were practically eating with strangers. This was a 1.5 star meal at a 5 star price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

Pasta dishes best steaks not to good eve ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Pasta dishes best steaks not to good everything very good but steaks had strange sauce

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was good. Service wasn't great and ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Food was good. Service wasn't great and atmosphere was cold and uninviting. Would not go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2

We had a terrific time- the food and ser ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 29, 2016

We had a terrific time- the food and service was excellent!

The pasta dishes were well executed. Best dish Angus Beef filet

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

The staff were amazing the food was the ...

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on December 22, 2016

The staff were amazing the food was the best it truly was one of the best restaurant we ate at while we were at El Conquistador Resort I truly recommend it for anybody to eat there all the food was amazing and it was absolutely by far the best meal we had

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Family Style, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was not impressed with the food. I wou ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 19, 2016

I was not impressed with the food. I would not have been impressed with the food even if it weren't in a 5-Star. The alfredo was mediocre. The pasta was mediocre.

The service and waitstaff were exemplary.

Ambiance was good. There were only about 3 or 4 tables the entire time we were there.

I do want to mention the size of their T-Bone. It was HUGE...at least 1.5 inches thick. The thing was a monster. It wasn't charbroiled though, but it was very tender.

My gf really really liked the guava flavored butter.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Decidí pasar unos días de vacaciones en ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Decidí pasar unos días de vacaciones en PR (vivir en la Florida) con mi mama y celebrar el Dia de Accion de Gracias en su restaurante. Tenia reservaciones para las 7y30 PM el jueves Noviembre 24th. Fuimos recibidas a tiempo y como tenían un menu especial de Thanksgiving, con mi mama decidimos probar diferentes opciones para poder compartir y probas diferentes opciones. Mi mama pidió la sopa de calabaza. Yo pedi la ensalada. Mi ensalada traia 2 cherry tomatoes partido x la mitad y quizás 2 pedazos de queso miniatura. Los greens de la ensalada estaban amargos. Pedi que me cambiaran la ensalada por otra sopa con lo que no tube ningún inconveniente. la sopa estaba ok .. nada del otro mundo pero si mucho mejor que la ensalada. La sopa decía que traía almendras rostizadas y acarameladas pero solo tenia slices almonds de paquete. Como entree, mi mama pedido el pavo y yo los raviolis con salsa de calabaza. Mi mama dejo el 80% del plato. Dijo que el pavo estaba seco y sin sabor, y el stuffing era un pan seco y duro. Mis raviolis estaban duros (no al dente) y la misma salsa de calabaza que tratan los raviolis era la sopa que había tomado para comenzar ... exactamente la misma !! como es posible que hagan eso??? yo entiendo que pumkin es pumkin pero pude hacer algo diferente con la sopa .. andar una cream o algo para q sea algo diferente para los raviolis. Por ese motivo, me sentí tomando mas de la misma sopa con pedazo duros de pasta y otra vez, pedazos de almendras de una bolsa .... me comí la mitad y porque tenia hambre mas no porque estuviera bueno. El postre .... horrible !! El flan se veía seco y parecía que llevaba en la nevera anos. Y el pudín de pan era el mismo pan duro y feo del stuffing the main dish de pavo. Disgusting. Al final pague $ 95.00 por nuestra horrible cena. Es una pena que preciso esa haya sido la experiencia para comenzar vacaciones en PR y para celebrar un día tan importante como Accion de Gracias.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Arrived at 7:30 for reservation. Order ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Arrived at 7:30 for reservation. Order was taken shortly after (by manager - older female). Salads brought out 5 min later. After 45 minutes food still not out and wait staff never checked with us. We were then informed around 8:40 they had "forgotten" our order. Finally had main course brought out at 9:00. Manager who had taken order wasn't very apologetic nor did she ever come back to check on meals. Food was just warm and quality was average. Don't waste your time here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

We have been to La piccola Fontana twice ...

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on August 24, 2016

We have been to La piccola Fontana twice now and it still impress me every time , great food, superb service and a very clean , very modern looking restaurant inside one of the best hotels in the island!. Greatly recommended!!

Tags: Authentic, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Outstanding Value, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Restaurant too expensive for the food qu ...

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Restaurant too expensive for the food quality. Service was low for a fine dinning restaurant. We order 4 meals and the waiter serve 2 first and the other 2 person need to wait 5 minutes to get there meals.

Never refill our wine glasses.

Service was bad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

The rest was too dark, not enough light ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 30, 2016

The rest was too dark, not enough light to even read the menu. We were left unattended for periods of time were glasses were empty or we were done with appetizers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

Bad combination of food and service. Th ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 29, 2016

Bad combination of food and service. There were two waiters for the entire restaurant (sufficient number for the number of people there); one waiter was working very hard and the other seemed out of it. The food was ill-prepared (may have been old quite frankly) and the pasta was tough. Better options are at the resort unless you really want Italian food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

The food quality and service did not cor ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on April 25, 2016

The food quality and service did not correspond to the price point. Had both been better, we would have been happy to spend $100+ for two people without cocktails/wine. We could see what the restaurant was trying to achieve, but it has a lot of work to do.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1

Great food and service

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on April 15, 2016

Quick service, food was excellent. We ordered the Prosecco and it was delicious.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Service was very attentive, yet speedy f ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 31, 2016

Service was very attentive, yet speedy for the children (who were crabby from a day of travel). Every one LOVED their meal and as I mentioned above the service was really great. We definitely challenged the staff with atypical order placements to get the kids fed quickly and they pulled it off without a hitch! Definitely a must if you enjoy fine Italian and are visiting Puerto Rico!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Service was friendly and not over-attent ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 24, 2016

Service was friendly and not over-attentive; wine list was good and the food was absolutely excellent! As with the other restaurants at the El Conquistador it is pricey but well worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

horrible

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on February 24, 2016

Nadie nos atendio, no habia un "host", para recibirnos, nisiquiera un mesero nos atendio, aun parados en la puerta nos ignoraban. Luego de 18 minutos de espera sin nisiquiera un "buenas noches", decidimos irmos a otro restaurante a celebrar nuestro aniversario.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Pasta dishes were amazing Lamb had NO f ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 18, 2016

Pasta dishes were amazing

Lamb had NO flavor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3

The food was great. Service was spot on. ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 14, 2016

The food was great. Service was spot on. Ambience was close to awful chiefly because of all the loud kids and tourists dressed like they had just come from the beach. If you can adjust to the surroundings, you should really enjoy your dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5

Disapointing

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 11, 2016

Pretty decor. Very Disapointing food. Service was good and pleasant. Would not recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Courteous staff. Well presented food.

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on February 5, 2016

Not a typical Italian menu. Much more interesting choices. Waiter was very helpful with selecting menu items and checking with the chef for gluten -free dishes (they also offer a gluten free pasta you can substitute in some of their pasta entrees. Nice wine list. My only complaint is that the music, which is rock and pretty loud, doesn't go with the ambiance.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Terrific meal

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 2, 2016

La Piccola Fontana was a terrific spot in all respects ... by far the top dining spot at El Conquistador - varied choice on menu and everything we had from appetizers to mains to dessert was terrific - very good wine list with some surprisingly good options by the glass as well - service was extremely warm and efficient - catered to both the grown-ups and the kids

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Many kids, our table for two was near th ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 31, 2015

Many kids, our table for two was near the waiter station, super loud. Sat us without giving menus. App came quickly, dinner 45 minutes later! My husband couldn't even eat his steak, luckily server offered to take his meal off. My pasta was under cooked. Thought this would be more of an adult restaurant, was disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

Arrogant and incompetent staff

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 25, 2015

Terrible service. Forgot about two entries in party of 10. Charged us anyway. Blunder after blunder. Shameful treatment. They act like they have captive clientele stranded at remote El Conquistador and were abusive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Restaurant was super slow. We had a team ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 14, 2015

Restaurant was super slow. We had a team of 4 waiters and it felt like they wanted to rush us through our meal rather than let us enjoy everything slowly. I'm guessing it's because hotel was extremely slow, but very strange experience. Truffle butter ravioli (special) was excellent. Restaurant was so quiet we could hear every word of table behind us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Absolutely amazing experience. Food was ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 21, 2015

Absolutely amazing experience. Food was exquisite and the people were very attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great birthday dinner

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on August 9, 2015

Was my wife birthday, good appetizers choice of cheese, gourmet hams , pecan, toast with special butter. For entry we choose cheese rabbioly and lobster, blueberry cheese cake, cream Brule. Waitress help to choose a perfect Red wine bottle.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I'd stay with the risotti, the pastas ar ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 10, 2015

I'd stay with the risotti, the pastas are forgettable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Good Food, High Price

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 15, 2015

The menu had a fair amount of selections, but nothing that really WOW-ed us.

For the very high price they charge, we expected a bit more. Typical Italian food with a decent portion. Food was a bit on the salty side. Not sure if we'd go back...

Ambiance was nice but a bit too dark for our liking. Had a hard time reading the menu and seeing our food because of how dark our seating location was.

But the dessert (coconut flan & flourless chocolate cake) was good so it gave us a good ending to the meal.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

A very good Italian Restaurant in San Juan

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 29, 2015

I had the veal scallopini. The veal was a touch overcooked, but the flavor was spectacular! A great wine list, good single malt Scotch selection, and very good service make this a nice place.

I only have two other comments; the linguini that came with my veal attacked my white shirt, and the restaurant was fairly empty. The first is somewhat expected, but from my experience, this place should be packed.

I do recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Big Shrimp

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 31, 2015

While it's not the best Italian find, it's tucked away in a truly serene resort, providing hotel guests with a good dinner choice. If staying at El Conquistador, it's worth it to have dinner there one evening.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

decent but little knowledge of gluten free dining

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 5, 2015

My husband has Celiac Disease and typically we only dine where they have a dedicated GF menu but we were on vacation so our options were limited. The wait staff had minimal knowledge and understanding of gluten free dining. We were nervous ordering. We ended up having to speak with the Chef directly to assist in ordering. He had to educate the waiter a bit. The waiter had no idea what ingredients were used in basic menu items, nor did he seem to understand what gluten free meant. For example, he mentioned that there was no "bread" in the salad dressing. We were inquiring about what kind of vinegar was used, e.g.. was it derived from wheat, barley or rye?

I'm a vegetarian and ordered a non-GF vegetarian entrée. They brought it out topped with my husband's GF grilled chicken. Boo.

Once all was sorted out, the meal was ok, not outstanding. I think my veggie entrée was like $46 dollars or something ridiculous like that.

it was not a terrible meal, but it was not worth the money for an Italian restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

food was not good.Pasta sause tasted lik ...

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on March 1, 2015

food was not good.Pasta sause tasted like canned sause .Nothing special about the veal. $12 glass of wine was horrible.My request for wifes birthday was not honored. Extremely over priced for the quality of the meal. I wlll not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4

Not worth the money.

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 26, 2015

Service was good and everyone was friendly. The food had a lot to be desired. It was nothing special for the high prices. Was probably the worst meal i have had at a resort.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3

Nice Friday nite with good friends abd good eats!!

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on February 13, 2015

Good food, my filet steak was great! And the fetuchinni was great. Good pastas. Second time there and will go again. Expensive but worth it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

Delicious!

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 28, 2015

We had a group of 7, which included a child, and the food and service was great. The staff made accomodations for the child, as you know how fussy children can be, and the dinner was wonderful. Even through we were ALL stuffed, we ALL had dessert. They are also Gluten-Free friendly.....try the warm flourless chocolate cake with ice cream.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Not bad

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 1, 2015

Food was pretty standard but good. Nothing special. Kids were happy. The impressive part was the speed of service. Even though the place was packed and over-booked, we were out of there in less than an hour and a half, even with getting dessert.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

The lobster ravioli...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 29, 2014

We were a party of six and had excellent service without being rushed in any way. The rack of lamb was very generously sized, the lobster ravioli was extraordinary and everything we ordered was cooked to specifications (including one no-dairy restriction). Worth every dollar!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

resort prices and poor service

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 27, 2014

high resort prices with poor service, very loud, food was good but not amazing. I don't mind paying the resort prices if the service is outstanding. We have met some amazing staff here at the resort but our servers at this restaurant were not only not friendly but didn't do there job as well. Had to ask for water 3 different time, waiter never came back to check on us and I had to finally ask another server for help. The food was ok, my shrimp was extremely tough and I left 2 of the 5 jumbo shrimp on the plate. My husbands and daughters risotto were both very good. My other daughters ravioli was just okay.

It's a resort restaurant with resort food.... and that is what I expected, however, I was surprised by the poor service and lack of attentiveness.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

Maybe an off night

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 27, 2014

Service was very slow and inattentive. We felt like we were inconveniencing them by eating there. Food was just ok.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.