Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 46.36mi
  2. Distance: 69.64mi
  3. Distance: 71.33mi
  4. Distance: 71.78mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 46.36mi
  2. Distance: 69.64mi
  3. Distance: 71.33mi
  4. Distance: 71.78mi

About La Piccola Fontana - El Conquistador Resort

In order to retain the authentic flavors of Italy suitable to the palette of our ever growing diverse customer base, we have brought together four of Italy and Puerto Rico's best to create a dining experience you will never forget. Executive Chef Alfonso Pescarino (Milan, Italy), Steve Clemente (Fajardo, P.R.), General Manager Jose Salgado (Carolina, P.R. ) have joined to create a powerful combination of Italian traditions. La Piccola Fontana has been the source of numerous awards since their partnerships started. The team's mission is to transport every clients' senses back to Italy while in the comforts of the warm Caribbean waters. For over 20 years La Piccola Fontana has been leading the market in luxury, authenticity, and style. Come experience all the pleasures it has to offer you.

1000 Ave El Conquistador
Fajardo, PR 00738
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary Italian, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday-Thursday: 5:30pm-10:00pm, Friday and Saturday: 5:30pm-11:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(787) 801-1008

Website:
http://lapiccolafontana.com/

Entertainment:
To see the lobby's entertainment calendar ask concierge for The Scene newspaper.

Executive Chef:
Alfonso Pescarino

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

La Piccola Fontana - El Conquistador Resort Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.0

ambience

3.9

value

3.0

noise

Moderate

57% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (4)
Comfort Food (2)
Special Occasion (2)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Authentic (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Romantic (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Sort By:
S
66 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined on August 14, 2017

Excellent food, impeccable service! We were extremely satisfied with our experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Food was great. Device was terrible. A large group came into the restaurant and our table became invisible and received no service. We left the restaurant without getting a check.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 25, 2017

Adamaris was our server and she was fabulous. Food was very tasty and portions were huge.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Birthday event for my daughter. Service was amazing the ambience was unchanged from the 10 years we've been going there. I must repeat that the team was great and service was outstanding but the food was overpriced and menu was limited. Overall we had a great night with friends and family.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value2

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on June 9, 2017

The ravioli plate was so small, but yet the chicken parm was huge. dinner for 4 with dessert, but no drinks was $200. It was only worth about $120-140. The food was tasty, but just not worth the price compared to other restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Have to try the risotto.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 17, 2017

They need more wait staff and more experienced managers. We literally saw a family get up and leave due to poor service. Another family was livid. We were not happy either. This was our second attempt at this restaurant- the first time they wanted to seat us a a table with a sopping wet seat cushion!! When we said no they said "well just all sit on one side of the table"... horribly inexperienced door person made that call.
Food wasn't bad, not great- not up to the level of the others at this resort. It's a shame, it's a pretty place in a premo location on the property.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Service was ridiculously slow. Did not have enough wait staff working. Ambience was terrible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 16, 2017

I wish I had read the other recent reviews before booking this restaurant because I agree with the low ratings given by other diners. We visited the El Conquistador resort for 6 days, and of all of our dinners at the various different restaurants, this was by far the worst and I would not recommend it. The staff clearly does not have their act together. As an example, for my appetizer I ordered the frisee salad with raspberries. While my family all got their appetizers, I waited approximately 15 minutes for my salad to arrive and had to ask 2 staff members before it was brought to me. When it arrived, I was given a salad composed of rotting, slimy spinach with old looking strawberries and a weird white dressing drizzled on top. It was disgusting. I sent it back and asked for it to be taken off of the bill (which it was) but there were no explanations or apologies given by the staff. I've never in my life had an experience like that at a fine dining restaurant! It was completely unacceptable. The entrees were not terrible -- my son really liked the chicken parmesan. But overall, I would say go anywhere else for dinner at the El Conquistador except for this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 15, 2017

The locations was a great dining location. La Piccolo was a well worth trip. We had a very enjoyable meal as well as great deserts. The staff was kind and caring of every detail. I would return to La Piccolo.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on April 15, 2017

The service was awful! They did not give any descriptions of entrees and seemed agitated when we asked questions. Wait staff did not check on us after food was delivered. Food was nothing great. Highly overpriced! Would not go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Not so good italian food. Bread was squashed and not cooked all the way. Not authentic italian.
For a Waldorf Astoria hotel you expect much much better in quality and presentation of food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value1

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 30, 2017

We've eaten here before and had a much better experience. However, this visit we unfortunately had terrible service which made our dinner experience frustrating. It started at the host stand as we weren't greeted for almost 10 minutes. We had a reservation and our table was not set so after being greeted it took approximately 10 minutes to set our table. Our party of 7 which inleduded two younger children was seated at the same time as a party of 6 business professionals. (without a reservation) Once we were seated we were not greeted, nor did we have menus for close to 10 minutes. Table of 6 was delivered menus and had drink order then right away. We didn't even get water. The service went from bad to worse when our server apparently gave up our table and a the hostess was forced to take care of us. She tried to lighten the mood but by this point we were already too far gone with annoyance. The food is good and the location is convenient. This was an unfortunate experience so we might be willing to try it again next year if we visit again.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Ordered a bottle of wine for special occasion, service was slow in refilling glass, restaurant was very busy and waiter "Vincent" handed us our check, we indicated we were still enjoying our bottle. He turned and picked up the bottle, we thought to refill our glasses but instead he turned it upside and emptied it the ice bucket. When we asked why he did that he said, it was empty, as we disagreed with him the two tables next to us validated the bottle was only half empty. Vincent huffed and walked away bringing a glass of wine (cheaper than the bottle we ordered) for us to split since "we weren't going to let it go". He was rude, unprofessional and La Piccolo owes me for half a bottle of wine. Will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 28, 2017

We stayed at the El Conquistador for vacation. We tried all the nice restaurants onsite and this was the last one on the list. The service was abysmal!!! We sat down at 7:00 and left at almost 10:00. There were 3 people supposedly taking care of our table but we never could find anyone to refill our water glasses or order more wine or even take our order. We actually asked to speak to the manager who came to our table with such aggression and attitude that even our children asked if we could leave the restaurant. I feel bad for the wait staff if this is the person they have for leadership. It must be a miserable work environment.
The food was just ok. Not what I thought was up to the level of prices they charged. All over the resort we receive impeccable service and great tasting meals except at this restaurant. I do not recommend going to eat at La Piccola Fontana.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 13, 2017

One star because no stars is not an option.
Ordered antipasti for the table for our 1st course. After an hour of starving, decided nothing was going to salvage the experience, and requested the check for our wine, and kids meals. Our waiter did remove the children's meals from our tab, as an apology.
Can't comment of the food. Only had bread and butter,....FOR OVER AN HOUR. Nothing positive to say. Shocked by the experience at a Waldorf Astoria property.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Ate here while staying at Las Casitas on vacation with family. Wished we had skipped it. Chairs ripped and worn, servers not up to par. Just average basic Italian you could get from local pizza place, but long wait and high prices. Skip it and go to one of the great local restaurants. We went to da Yuka, estacion, and a few others were fabulous and half the cost with great service and experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Very poor service. We waited 45minutes to just order. Then food took 1 1/2 hours Could not waitresses attention. Horrible service. Food was decent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on February 17, 2017

We had a great meal I would recommend it to anyone.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 3, 2017

We were staying at the hotel and the food was delicious. I would recommend. We were with our 3 younger sons and they all enjoyed their meals as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We were staying at El Conquistador and ate here our second night. The restaurant is very dated. The chairs were threadbare...literally the stuffing from the chair was all over my dress. I was very excited to learn that they had gluten free pasta. I ordered a pasta and fish dish. The pasta was fair but the sauce was very thick and salty. My daughter had a chicken dish. She enjoyed it. The restaurant was extremely loud. The tables are very close together. We were practically eating with strangers. This was a 1.5 star meal at a 5 star price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Pasta dishes best steaks not to good everything very good but steaks had strange sauce

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Food was good. Service wasn't great and atmosphere was cold and uninviting. Would not go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 29, 2016

We had a terrific time- the food and service was excellent!
The pasta dishes were well executed. Best dish Angus Beef filet

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on December 22, 2016

The staff were amazing the food was the best it truly was one of the best restaurant we ate at while we were at El Conquistador Resort I truly recommend it for anybody to eat there all the food was amazing and it was absolutely by far the best meal we had

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 18, 2016

I was not impressed with the food. I would not have been impressed with the food even if it weren't in a 5-Star. The alfredo was mediocre. The pasta was mediocre.

The service and waitstaff were exemplary.

Ambiance was good. There were only about 3 or 4 tables the entire time we were there.

I do want to mention the size of their T-Bone. It was HUGE...at least 1.5 inches thick. The thing was a monster. It wasn't charbroiled though, but it was very tender.

My gf really really liked the guava flavored butter.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Decidí pasar unos días de vacaciones en PR (vivir en la Florida) con mi mama y celebrar el Dia de Accion de Gracias en su restaurante. Tenia reservaciones para las 7y30 PM el jueves Noviembre 24th. Fuimos recibidas a tiempo y como tenían un menu especial de Thanksgiving, con mi mama decidimos probar diferentes opciones para poder compartir y probas diferentes opciones. Mi mama pidió la sopa de calabaza. Yo pedi la ensalada. Mi ensalada traia 2 cherry tomatoes partido x la mitad y quizás 2 pedazos de queso miniatura. Los greens de la ensalada estaban amargos. Pedi que me cambiaran la ensalada por otra sopa con lo que no tube ningún inconveniente. la sopa estaba ok .. nada del otro mundo pero si mucho mejor que la ensalada. La sopa decía que traía almendras rostizadas y acarameladas pero solo tenia slices almonds de paquete. Como entree, mi mama pedido el pavo y yo los raviolis con salsa de calabaza. Mi mama dejo el 80% del plato. Dijo que el pavo estaba seco y sin sabor, y el stuffing era un pan seco y duro. Mis raviolis estaban duros (no al dente) y la misma salsa de calabaza que tratan los raviolis era la sopa que había tomado para comenzar ... exactamente la misma !! como es posible que hagan eso??? yo entiendo que pumkin es pumkin pero pude hacer algo diferente con la sopa .. andar una cream o algo para q sea algo diferente para los raviolis. Por ese motivo, me sentí tomando mas de la misma sopa con pedazo duros de pasta y otra vez, pedazos de almendras de una bolsa .... me comí la mitad y porque tenia hambre mas no porque estuviera bueno. El postre .... horrible !! El flan se veía seco y parecía que llevaba en la nevera anos. Y el pudín de pan era el mismo pan duro y feo del stuffing the main dish de pavo. Disgusting. Al final pague $ 95.00 por nuestra horrible cena. Es una pena que preciso esa haya sido la experiencia para comenzar vacaciones en PR y para celebrar un día tan importante como Accion de Gracias.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Arrived at 7:30 for reservation. Order was taken shortly after (by manager - older female). Salads brought out 5 min later. After 45 minutes food still not out and wait staff never checked with us. We were then informed around 8:40 they had "forgotten" our order. Finally had main course brought out at 9:00. Manager who had taken order wasn't very apologetic nor did she ever come back to check on meals. Food was just warm and quality was average. Don't waste your time here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on August 23, 2016

We have been to La piccola Fontana twice now and it still impress me every time , great food, superb service and a very clean , very modern looking restaurant inside one of the best hotels in the island!. Greatly recommended!!

Tags: Authentic, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Outstanding Value, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Restaurant too expensive for the food quality. Service was low for a fine dinning restaurant. We order 4 meals and the waiter serve 2 first and the other 2 person need to wait 5 minutes to get there meals.
Never refill our wine glasses.
Service was bad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 29, 2016

The rest was too dark, not enough light to even read the menu. We were left unattended for periods of time were glasses were empty or we were done with appetizers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 29, 2016

Bad combination of food and service. There were two waiters for the entire restaurant (sufficient number for the number of people there); one waiter was working very hard and the other seemed out of it. The food was ill-prepared (may have been old quite frankly) and the pasta was tough. Better options are at the resort unless you really want Italian food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on April 24, 2016

The food quality and service did not correspond to the price point. Had both been better, we would have been happy to spend $100+ for two people without cocktails/wine. We could see what the restaurant was trying to achieve, but it has a lot of work to do.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on April 15, 2016

Quick service, food was excellent. We ordered the Prosecco and it was delicious.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 31, 2016

Service was very attentive, yet speedy for the children (who were crabby from a day of travel). Every one LOVED their meal and as I mentioned above the service was really great. We definitely challenged the staff with atypical order placements to get the kids fed quickly and they pulled it off without a hitch! Definitely a must if you enjoy fine Italian and are visiting Puerto Rico!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 24, 2016

Service was friendly and not over-attentive; wine list was good and the food was absolutely excellent! As with the other restaurants at the El Conquistador it is pricey but well worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on February 23, 2016

Nadie nos atendio, no habia un "host", para recibirnos, nisiquiera un mesero nos atendio, aun parados en la puerta nos ignoraban. Luego de 18 minutos de espera sin nisiquiera un "buenas noches", decidimos irmos a otro restaurante a celebrar nuestro aniversario.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 17, 2016

Pasta dishes were amazing

Lamb had NO flavor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 14, 2016

The food was great. Service was spot on. Ambience was close to awful chiefly because of all the loud kids and tourists dressed like they had just come from the beach. If you can adjust to the surroundings, you should really enjoy your dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 11, 2016

Pretty decor. Very Disapointing food. Service was good and pleasant. Would not recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.