About La Piccola Fontana - El Conquistador Resort

1000 Ave El Conquistador
Fajardo, PR 00738
View Larger Map

In order to retain the authentic flavors of Italy suitable to the palette of our ever growing diverse customer base, we have brought together four of Italy and Puerto Rico's best to create a dining experience you will never forget. Executive Chef Alfonso Pescarino (Milan, Italy), Steve Clemente (Fajardo, P.R.), General Manager Jose Salgado (Carolina, P.R. ) have joined to create a powerful combination of Italian traditions. La Piccola Fontana has been the source of numerous awards since their partnerships started. The team's mission is to transport every clients' senses back to Italy while in the comforts of the warm Caribbean waters. For over 20 years La Piccola Fontana has been leading the market in luxury, authenticity, and style. Come experience all the pleasures it has to offer you.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary Italian, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday-Thursday: 5:30pm-10:00pm, Friday and Saturday: 5:30pm-11:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(787) 801-1008

Website:
http://lapiccolafontana.com/

Entertainment:
To see the lobby's entertainment calendar ask concierge for The Scene newspaper.

Executive Chef:
Alfonso Pescarino

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

La Piccola Fontana - El Conquistador Resort Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.1

ambience

3.8

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

notable wine list (4)
good for groups (3)
special occasion (3)
See All
neighborhood gem (1)
romantic (1)
vibrant bar scene (1)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
33 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience4
service1

The food quality and service did not cor ...

vip
Dined on April 25, 2016

The food quality and service did not correspond to the price point. Had both been better, we would have been happy to spend $100+ for two people without cocktails/wine. We could see what the restaurant was trying to achieve, but it has a lot of work to do.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great food and service

Dined on April 15, 2016

Quick service, food was excellent. We ordered the Prosecco and it was delicious.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Service was very attentive, yet speedy f ...

Dined on March 31, 2016

Service was very attentive, yet speedy for the children (who were crabby from a day of travel). Every one LOVED their meal and as I mentioned above the service was really great. We definitely challenged the staff with atypical order placements to get the kids fed quickly and they pulled it off without a hitch! Definitely a must if you enjoy fine Italian and are visiting Puerto Rico!

food5
ambience4
service5

Service was friendly and not over-attent ...

vip
Dined on March 24, 2016

Service was friendly and not over-attentive; wine list was good and the food was absolutely excellent! As with the other restaurants at the El Conquistador it is pricey but well worth it.

food1
ambience4
service3

Pasta dishes were amazing Lamb had NO f ...

Dined on February 18, 2016

Pasta dishes were amazing Lamb had NO flavor.

food5
ambience2
service5

The food was great. Service was spot on. ...

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

The food was great. Service was spot on. Ambience was close to awful chiefly because of all the loud kids and tourists dressed like they had just come from the beach. If you can adjust to the surroundings, you should really enjoy your dinner.

food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Disapointing

Dined on February 11, 2016

Pretty decor. Very Disapointing food. Service was good and pleasant. Would not recommend

food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Courteous staff. Well presented food.

Dined on February 5, 2016

Not a typical Italian menu. Much more interesting choices. Waiter was very helpful with selecting menu items and checking with the chef for gluten -free dishes (they also offer a gluten free pasta you can substitute in some of their pasta entrees. Nice wine list. My only complaint is that the music, which is rock and pretty loud, doesn't go with the ambiance.

Tags: romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Terrific meal

Dined on January 2, 2016

La Piccola Fontana was a terrific spot in all respects ... by far the top dining spot at El Conquistador - varied choice on menu and everything we had from appetizers to mains to dessert was terrific - very good wine list with some surprisingly good options by the glass as well - service was extremely warm and efficient - catered to both the grown-ups and the kids

food2
ambience2
service1
value2

Many kids, our table for two was near th ...

vip
Dined on December 31, 2015

Many kids, our table for two was near the waiter station, super loud. Sat us without giving menus. App came quickly, dinner 45 minutes later! My husband couldn't even eat his steak, luckily server offered to take his meal off. My pasta was under cooked. Thought this would be more of an adult restaurant, was disappointed.

food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Arrogant and incompetent staff

vip
Dined on December 25, 2015

Terrible service. Forgot about two entries in party of 10. Charged us anyway. Blunder after blunder. Shameful treatment. They act like they have captive clientele stranded at remote El Conquistador and were abusive.

food5
ambience4
service4

Restaurant was super slow. We had a team ...

vip
Dined on December 14, 2015

Restaurant was super slow. We had a team of 4 waiters and it felt like they wanted to rush us through our meal rather than let us enjoy everything slowly. I'm guessing it's because hotel was extremely slow, but very strange experience. Truffle butter ravioli (special) was excellent. Restaurant was so quiet we could hear every word of table behind us.

food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely amazing experience. Food was ...

Dined on August 21, 2015

Absolutely amazing experience. Food was exquisite and the people were very attentive.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great birthday dinner

Dined on August 9, 2015

Was my wife birthday, good appetizers choice of cheese, gourmet hams , pecan, toast with special butter. For entry we choose cheese rabbioly and lobster, blueberry cheese cake, cream Brule. Waitress help to choose a perfect Red wine bottle.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service5

I'd stay with the risotti, the pastas ar ...

Dined on July 10, 2015

I'd stay with the risotti, the pastas are forgettable.

food3
ambience3
service4

Good Food, High Price

Dined on June 15, 2015

The menu had a fair amount of selections, but nothing that really WOW-ed us. For the very high price they charge, we expected a bit more. Typical Italian food with a decent portion. Food was a bit on the salty side. Not sure if we'd go back... Ambiance was nice but a bit too dark for our liking. Had a hard time reading the menu and seeing our food because of how dark our seating location was. But the dessert (coconut flan & flourless chocolate cake) was good so it gave us a good ending to the meal.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

A very good Italian Restaurant in San Juan

vip
Dined on April 29, 2015

I had the veal scallopini. The veal was a touch overcooked, but the flavor was spectacular! A great wine list, good single malt Scotch selection, and very good service make this a nice place. I only have two other comments; the linguini that came with my veal attacked my white shirt, and the restaurant was fairly empty. The first is somewhat expected, but from my experience, this place should be packed. I do recommend this restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4

Big Shrimp

vip
Dined on March 31, 2015

While it's not the best Italian find, it's tucked away in a truly serene resort, providing hotel guests with a good dinner choice. If staying at El Conquistador, it's worth it to have dinner there one evening.

Tags: kid-friendly, romantic
food3
ambience4
service3

decent but little knowledge of gluten free dining

vip
Dined on March 5, 2015

My husband has Celiac Disease and typically we only dine where they have a dedicated GF menu but we were on vacation so our options were limited. The wait staff had minimal knowledge and understanding of gluten free dining. We were nervous ordering. We ended up having to speak with the Chef directly to assist in ordering. He had to educate the waiter a bit. The waiter had no idea what ingredients were used in basic menu items, nor did he seem to understand what gluten free meant. For example, he mentioned that there was no "bread" in the salad dressing. We were inquiring about what kind of vinegar was used, e.g.. was it derived from wheat, barley or rye? I'm a vegetarian and ordered a non-GF vegetarian entrée. They brought it out topped with my husband's GF grilled chicken. Boo. Once all was sorted out, the meal was ok, not outstanding. I think my veggie entrée was like $46 dollars or something ridiculous like that. it was not a terrible meal, but it was not worth the money for an Italian restaurant.

food1
ambience3
service4

food was not good.Pasta sause tasted lik ...

Dined on March 1, 2015

food was not good.Pasta sause tasted like canned sause .Nothing special about the veal. $12 glass of wine was horrible.My request for wifes birthday was not honored. Extremely over priced for the quality of the meal. I wlll not return.

food1
ambience3
service3

Not worth the money.

vip
Dined on February 26, 2015

Service was good and everyone was friendly. The food had a lot to be desired. It was nothing special for the high prices. Was probably the worst meal i have had at a resort.

food4
ambience3
service2

Nice Friday nite with good friends abd good eats!!

Dined on February 13, 2015

Good food, my filet steak was great! And the fetuchinni was great. Good pastas. Second time there and will go again. Expensive but worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious!

Dined on January 28, 2015

We had a group of 7, which included a child, and the food and service was great. The staff made accomodations for the child, as you know how fussy children can be, and the dinner was wonderful. Even through we were ALL stuffed, we ALL had dessert. They are also Gluten-Free friendly.....try the warm flourless chocolate cake with ice cream.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food3
ambience3
service5

Not bad

vip
Dined on January 1, 2015

Food was pretty standard but good. Nothing special. Kids were happy. The impressive part was the speed of service. Even though the place was packed and over-booked, we were out of there in less than an hour and a half, even with getting dessert.

Tags: kid-friendly
food5
ambience4
service5

The lobster ravioli...

vip
Dined on November 29, 2014

We were a party of six and had excellent service without being rushed in any way. The rack of lamb was very generously sized, the lobster ravioli was extraordinary and everything we ordered was cooked to specifications (including one no-dairy restriction). Worth every dollar!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food3
ambience2
service1

resort prices and poor service

Dined on November 27, 2014

high resort prices with poor service, very loud, food was good but not amazing. I don't mind paying the resort prices if the service is outstanding. We have met some amazing staff here at the resort but our servers at this restaurant were not only not friendly but didn't do there job as well. Had to ask for water 3 different time, waiter never came back to check on us and I had to finally ask another server for help. The food was ok, my shrimp was extremely tough and I left 2 of the 5 jumbo shrimp on the plate. My husbands and daughters risotto were both very good. My other daughters ravioli was just okay. It's a resort restaurant with resort food.... and that is what I expected, however, I was surprised by the poor service and lack of attentiveness.

food3
ambience3
service2

Maybe an off night

vip
Dined on September 27, 2014

Service was very slow and inattentive. We felt like we were inconveniencing them by eating there. Food was just ok.

food5
ambience5
service5

Birthday

Dined on August 3, 2014

My wife wanted to eat here for her birthday. Made reservations with 2 weeks in advance and had coordinated for some friends to arrive earlier as a surprise. Great table, excelent service and great food! The next day, we went for desserts to take home!

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

best of El conq.

vip
Dined on April 7, 2014

Visited all the high end resturants in the first four days and for our fifth night we came back to La Piccola. We had a one year old and and four year old and we our foodies so its tough to balance kid friendly and high end but they did it. You can sit inside or in the lobby area (better for kids unless its quite inside). Loved the Lobster Risotto and Lamb! They even were nice enough to give us a shot of lemonchello!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience2
service3

Very loud dinner

Dined on March 26, 2014

food was good but our dinner was ruined by too many loud unruly children whose parents have no concept that people were spending $200+ for dinner. I had a ten year old with me but he knows how to act appropriately in a nice restaurant. I think management should have asked the parents of the loud and out of control kids to either remove the children from the restaurant or have them behave appropriately. Too expensive to feel like you are in a day care center. I understand it is a family friendly hotel but if management wants to offer a "fine dining establishment" then they need to be prepared to make it a pleasant environment for all diners.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service2

Good food, but pricey & problems

Dined on March 20, 2014

We ate here twice. The first night was very good, though expensive. The second night was still reasonably good, and still expensive, but not as good as the first night. What was great: There is an appetizer dish with 4-5 cheeses, salami and prosciutto, and a walnut and black cherry combination. That was excellent both nights. Also very good was the steak in black truffle sauce, which had great flavor. Other dishes were mostly good. What wasn't great: First of all the prices. Like everything else in El Conquistador, it's expensive. And when you're ordering a chicken entree for over $30 and you ask for a vegetable instead of pasta, the waiter should not tell you there are no substitutions. This is not the early bird specials menu.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service3

Great food, but expensive

Dined on March 17, 2014

The food was very good. We had a steak in black truffle sauce that was outstanding. Also, an appetizer plate that came with a few cheeses, meats, and a tiny walnut/black cherry dish - that was excellent. The other dishes were all good too. It was not cheap, however. And we made the mistake of ordering bottled water. The tap water is fine, we later realized.

Tags: fit for foodies
food2
ambience3
service1

would not return

Dined on February 17, 2014

extremely slow service. we went during February break so I;m sure hotel was very crowded but they should have anticipated that.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.