Not bookable

Online reservations at La Merenda can only be made directly on their website.

La Merenda

4.8
1511 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Tapas / Small Plates
Top Tags:
  • Creative Cuisine
  • Tapas
  • Fit for Foodies

Similar Restaurants

About

La Merenda is a bar and grill located in Milwaukee, Wisconsin that specializes in serving globally inspired cuisine, local beers and wine. The restaurant offers casual dining and complimentary valet parking.

La Merenda has an emphasis on using locally sourced ingredients as much as possible, so the menu is constantly being updated with new dishes based on available ingredients. The main menu at La Merenda offers a selection of snacks, seafood and meat entr�es. Menu selections include such dishes as Wisconsin farmers� salad, seasonal vegetable tart, market fish fiorentina, Singapore noodles with Gulf shrimp and Chinese sausage, Beijing duck and pork confit cavatelli.

Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Tapas / Small Plates, International
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(414) 389-0125
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Peter Sandroni
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Between 1st and Barclay
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Free Valet Parking at Dinner Monday-Saturday
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
Please visit out website www.lamerenda125.com for upcoming special events or send your email address to info@lamerenda125.com to add your name to our newsletter mailing list.
Additional
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 1511 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.8based on recent ratings
4.8
food
4.7
service
4.6
ambience
4.6
value
Noise · Moderate
98% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 4 days ago

We were fortunate to sit on their beautiful patio. Our waitress was wonderful. We had the pistachio salad (which I dream about), butter chicken (delicious) and the special pork enchiladas which had a fabulous depth of flavor. Outstanding! Finished it up with the tres leches cake. Still my favorite place to eat in Milwaukee

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

Food was outstanding, it had been a while since we were there. The outdoor patio was very lovely. My only negative was that we had to ask for new plates after a few small plates.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 4 days ago

My main dish (beef filet w potatoes) was too salty.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

New summer menu was excellent!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 12, 2018

One of my favorite restaurants in Milwaukee. Menu changes regularly, but these are my current suggestions:
Argentina beef, trout, octopus, patatas bravas with chorizo, empanadas, Korean dumplings

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 10, 2018

My brother and I met here for a brother-sister dinner evening. I really do not have enough words to express just how remarkable our meals were. We ordered a few different dishes so that we could share, try and explore. Neither one of us were disappointed. All of the dishes were seasoned to perfection. The steak just about melted in our mouths.

We ordered the empanadas, butter chicken, Patatas Bravas Y Chorizo (Spain)*, Argentinian Style Beef (Argentina), Risotto con Funghi (Italy) and Pork and Shrimp Dumplings (China). We brought food home!

Our server was exceptional, friendly and extremely knowledgeable about all of the dishes that we ordered.

We will definitely be back to sample the fare again and I highly recommend trying it out! You won't be sorry making a reservation.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 10, 2018

Everything was excellent!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 9, 2018

Best all around restaurant in Milwaukee. Very well executed plates. Food choices that are always exciting. Should be Zagat best list not to mention James Beard Best Midwest Chef.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 8, 2018

Food was all flavorful and delicious!
Love the outdoor patio!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 8, 2018

La Merenda is always great. The menu is always changing, so don't expect to find the same things each time you go. There are a lot of vegetarian options and the food is so creative. The staff is helpful, friendly and engaging.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 3, 2018

La Merenda continues to impress! We love trying what's new on the menu and that the staff is always willing to offer food and drink recommendations. There's a wide variety of options for everyone!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 3, 2018

Loved the food, service and decor. Also, like the small plate options and ability to sample and share with table :)

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 1, 2018

Wife and I visiting from out of town and tried La Merenda based on the recommendation of a local friend.
What a great find! We enjoyed a casual dinner on the patio with great weather. If you like to try various foods,
this is the place. Throw in a bottle of wine and a welcoming staff and we were happy to have chosen this for our night
out. Don’t be run off by the location or “street” looks....behind the door is a world of food to explore.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 31, 2018

My ladies’ birthday dinner was amazing as always. Love La Merenda and there’s nothing better than a candle in a Car Bomb Cupcake!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 27, 2018

This was definitely a gem in the Walker Point area. The food was delicious and it was a great experience overall. I would highly recommend La Merenda to everyone.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 23, 2018

What a great find. The meal was outstanding, everything was well balanced in preparation, presentation and taste. My wife and I shared a salad and three small plates. The amount of food was perfect. The chocolate cake was a little dry. What really stood out was our waitress who was efficient, friendly, knowledgeable of the menu, made great recommendation, and was appropriately attentive. We look forward to returning soon.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 20, 2018

We sat outside and loved every dish we ordered. Have been coming here since they opened and the food just keeps getting better!!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 15, 2018

Great food and wonderful service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

I don’t hear people talk about La Merenda much anymore, but it is still a gem. I took my husband and teenage sons for dinner and we had an exceptional time. Our server was excellent and we loved every item we ordered (and shared). My only other feedback is that the tables inside are too close together for comfort? Though we asked to be moved and were immediately accommodated. I didn’t check out the patio but heard it’s lovely. We plan to return soon.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 22, 2018

You should add this restaurant to being able to book through this app! Maybe I’m just missing where to do that.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 22, 2018

My wife and I went for date night and it couldn’t have been more perfect! The food and service was excellent. We live in Gurnee and will definitely make the trip multiple times a year to have dinner here. Highly recommended!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 21, 2018

La Merenda is a great concept. They have a great variety of clever and tasty shared dishes. I want to go back and try their other dishes.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 19, 2018

Outstanding service from the bar to the table. Tapas offer the chance a variety ofexcellent food. Valet service a huge plus.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 17, 2018

Great food, great service. It's a must try! I would recommend that you try this at least once. Because once you do you'll be back again.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 12, 2018

Wonderful menu with great international options. We liked about half the dishes we ordered, but there are so many others that we wanted to try on the menu! The sangria was great and the restaurant was fun. Wonderful service and will definitely be back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 11, 2018

First time for me....It was wonderful and looking forward to going back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 10, 2018

Stellar dinner as always at La Merenda! So tasty and such variety.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2018

Great food. Great staff. Fantastic experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 3, 2018

Fantastic, fresh, tasty and creative items on the menu. Lunch is a great time to go to avoid the weekend evening crowds. One of the best tapas restaurants in town!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 3, 2018

Enjoyed the half price bottle wine night on Mondays. Ordered four tapas plates. Two of the four were excellent. The other two were far to salty. Always wish a restaurant would let each diner put there own salt on to taste.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 31, 2018

This is my favorite restaurant ever. I have never had anything there that was less than amazing. Each trip back we are surprised with delicious new options, but our old favorites never disappoint as well.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 27, 2018

It was exceptional experience, food, atmosphere, service all exceptional and truly enjoyed it a lot

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 27, 2018

Excellent as always. The service, the food, over all ... we had another great meal.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 24, 2018

Made a 5pm reservation because the next available time was 8:30pm. We arrived on time. We were told that there was no one to seat us because they were in the middle of a staff meeting. We were asked to sit at the bar. We sat at the bar and there was no bartender either. About 5:10 the bartender arrived and we were given our first drink on the house. We were finally seated around 5:15pm and we were the only ones there. By 6pm it was pretty full and very noisy. I will say this. The food was exceptional and was priced fairly.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 23, 2018

We ordered a total of 5 plates. Every one was way over salted. Painfully over salted. Great menu, great ideas, just disappointing.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 20, 2018

The only thing that could have made our experience better would have been still having patatas bravas back on the menu:)

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 15, 2018

La Merenda is one of the best restaurants in MKE.
So good!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 10, 2018

We love La Merenda-it is our favorite restaurant in Milwaukee. It is our go to place if relatives are in town or just a fun time for friends to get together. The food is superb and the wait staff are incredibly attentive. What more can I say?

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 6, 2018

We haven't been there in a while, glad to see La Merenda hasn't lost a step.
Still one of the best restaurants in Milwaukee.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 4, 2018

It is a great place to go and try different items. Three of ordered three rounds - 3 appetizers, 3 main dishes and 2 desserts. We loved the variety and quality of food. We also liked that it is locally sourced. Although a little pricey for our every day budget; it's a great place to treat yourself. I like the quirkiness of the mismatched tables and chairs. Service was superb. I definitely plan to go again.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
38

Tweets by La Merenda