Is this your restaurant?Claim this listing.

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.35mi
  2. Distance: 0.46mi
  3. Distance: 0.75mi
  4. Distance: 0.95mi
  1. Distance: 0.35mi
  2. Distance: 0.46mi
  3. Distance: 0.75mi
  4. Distance: 0.95mi
Get Notified
We'll send you an email if this restaurant joins OpenTable.
Notify Me

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.35mi
  2. Distance: 0.46mi
  3. Distance: 0.75mi
  4. Distance: 0.95mi
  1. Distance: 0.35mi
  2. Distance: 0.46mi
  3. Distance: 0.75mi
  4. Distance: 0.95mi

About La Merenda

La Merenda is a bar and grill located in Milwaukee, Wisconsin that specializes in serving globally inspired cuisine, local beers and wine. The restaurant offers casual dining and complimentary valet parking.

La Merenda has an emphasis on using locally sourced ingredients as much as possible, so the menu is constantly being updated with new dishes based on available ingredients. The main menu at La Merenda offers a selection of snacks, seafood and meat entr�es. Menu selections include such dishes as Wisconsin farmers� salad, seasonal vegetable tart, market fish fiorentina, Singapore noodles with Gulf shrimp and Chinese sausage, Beijing duck and pork confit cavatelli.

125 E. National Ave.
Milwaukee, WI 53204
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Tapas / Small Plates, International

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Between 1st and Barclay

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(414) 389-0125

Website:
http://www.lamerenda125.com/

Parking Details:
Free Valet Parking at Dinner Monday-Saturday

Executive Chef:
Peter Sandroni

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please visit out website www.lamerenda125.com for upcoming special events or send your email address to info@lamerenda125.com to add your name to our newsletter mailing list.

Sort By:
S
1447 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 11, 2016

This was our 4th time at La Merenda & each time the food is so good. I love the small plates so you can share with the group & order lots of variety one dish after another. Had some great Spanish wine with the flavors. Need reservations!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 2, 2016

We booked a team dinner for 7 recently. Sampled about 12 small plates and 2 desserts along with a bottle (or two) of wine. Every single dish was fabulous. The table was in agreement that the empanadas were a great start. Most notable was the Korean BBQ bowl on special that night. I would recommend group dining so that you can order several dishes and pass them around. The service was great, too. Our waitress was ready to answer our questions and make suggestions. She staggered delivery of dishes so we'd all have time to pass plates without the meals getting cold. Highly recommend. I can't wait to go again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 26, 2016

Great service, delicious food with "local" food sources!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 26, 2016

Love, love, love this restaurant for the food it serves (Organic Vegetables and Alaskan Salmon). The food is excellent in preparation and quality of the products it prepares. We love the staff and would dine there more frequently if only we could get a reservation. You've got to think ahead or you will miss some of the best food Milwaukee has to offer. We are NEVER disappointed! Almost forgot--the Car Bomb is just the icing on the cake! A perfect way to end a fabulous dinner. Thank you LaMerenda for caring about food like you do!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 19, 2016

La Merenda is worth a long wait, or planning well in advance. Once you taste anything that the chef and his staff prepare, you will know that you have found a restaurant that you will return to many times. The diverse food offerings are incredible. You can dine on food from almost any continent on the face of the Earth. It is also nice that the menu changes on a regular basis. This place is phenomenal. The only criticism I have is the lack of a proper craft beer menu. I understand why wine is the focus, but with the craft beer industry as strong as it is right now, I believe La Merenda may be missing out on a demographic that enjoys to pay for food that's worth it! That said, the few beers available are good enough because the food is so unbelievably good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cancún)·Dined on February 18, 2016

Love the sharing of excellent food with great friends. If you do too, La Marenda is the place for you! All dishes come in 2-4 pieces, perfect for sharing. My party of 4 shared 5 items, each one as good as the last. Best word to describe...savory!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 13, 2016

The food here is absolutely amazing! Very interesting mix of flavors which no place in Milwaukee can compare too.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 12, 2016

We were able to finally go to La Merenda for dinner and were not disappointed. A tapas restaurant, known for sharing dishes, several were so good we ordered duplicates. The homemade sangria was also quite good, available by pitcher. (We also ordered two pitchers!!) Dessert is also a must with scrumptious chocolate dishes. We hope to return soon and highly recommend!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 11, 2016

A great place to go with another couple who will enjoy sharing the many flavors available. The pumpkin ravioli was a table favorite on this visit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 11, 2016

Great joint for Tapas food. I was surprised though, I was charged additional $20 for making open table reservation, which I was not ready for.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 10, 2016

A bit of an eclectic menu, done very well. Casual and comfortable atmosphere. The menu items are unique and excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 9, 2016

Me and my husband come here 2-3 times a month. Never dissapointed with the food we order. Goat cheese curds are a must along with the the pork empanadas. Only negative would be food comes out before drinks arrive almost every time. But we love it here!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 4, 2016

I always love the specials. They are fantastic, flavorful and unique. You can't go wrong with any of their house made sausages either. La Merenda gives Milwaukee, aka Sausage Town USA, a great place to have some of the most inventive and mouth watering sausages around!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 1, 2016

Incredible as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 30, 2016

Food and service outstanding...seated right on time for our reservation and waiter was excellent. Only potential downsides were the lighting at our table along the inside wall was difficult enough that I had to pull out flashlight function on my smartphone in order to read menu and the noise level/acoustics made it difficult to clearly hear conversations at our table or understand the server while speaking.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 29, 2016

Service was great, food was exceptional and ambiance is top notch. Highly recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 23, 2016

Excellent mix of delicious food from around the world!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 20, 2016

the chefs and staff at La Merenda delivered! We brought a local foodie friend to join us and he raved about everything, from the pierogies to the lamb stew on special. Service was perfect too. Can't wait to come back for more.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 19, 2016

La Merenda is hands down one of the best restaurants in Milwaukee. Considering how many great ones there are, that's saying a lot. I love small plates and theirs are always fresh, local and interesting. Whether you want meat, fish or vegetarian, there is something for you, along with an imaginative wine list. The service is always good. The decor is eclectic, so if you are looking for posh, this is not the place. But it is pure Milwaukee: unpretentious and pretty great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 12, 2016

My favorite spot in the Milwaukee area. Always perfection! Flavor, variety, quality. It's all here.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 9, 2016

Plan ahead to get in, don't try and make reservation the week you want to go. They are busy. But totally worth the wait to get a reservation. This place is excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 30, 2015

Everything was perfect!! The food is always amazing!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 30, 2015

La Merenda was spot on again. Great small plates, perfect service. 5 stars

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 26, 2015

We just love La Merenda. Looks like nothing from the outside but inside it is surprisingly large with a wonderful atmosphere, and the food is absolutely amazing. The people in the kitchen REALLY know what they are doing. Favorite dishes this visit were the gnocchi with brussel sprouts and spinach and the butter chicken (thank goodness they kept that on their new menu!). Just like on our first trip we can't wait to go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 26, 2015

Always have amazing service and great food! Love that the menu has tapas from all over the world rather than one general region. Pork belly crepes are awesome. Ingredients are locally sourced and prices are reasonable, especially for tapas!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 26, 2015

By far my favorite restaurant in Milwaukee. The food is exceptional... When possible everything is organic, locally sourced, and the menu changes regularly so there's always something new to try. I have been here probably a dozen times, and I haven't had a dish yet that disappointed. I'd recommend a favorite dish, but I'd end up giving you half the menu! Something to note... It is a small and very popular restaurant. If you want to eat there you have to have reservations. For a weekend plan on booking two or three weeks in advance.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 22, 2015

I visited the restaurant twice. Once for lunch and the second time we went for dinner. On both occasions, the food was excellent. The food is extremely tasty and seasoned just right with exceptional flavors.
The room was a bit too warm for dinner but I'm assuming that was an anomaly. Overall, I would highly recommend that you try the place.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 21, 2015

Second time here. Great food, fun way to dine. Small plates and still ate too much.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 16, 2015

Le Merenda offers a great variety of food, all excellent. Well paced dining, excellent service. Great wine selection.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 14, 2015

Great food and service. Some music would be nice though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 10, 2015

I had been to La Merenda once before and enjoyed it. This second visit was no different. Wide variety of flavors, diverse menu, and good/prompt service made for an enjoyable evening. I highly recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 5, 2015

My husband and I love trying new restaurants, however we continue to frequent La Merenda, as it is THAT good. The menu changes seasonally, and there is always something on there for everyone. The nightly specials are continuously worth trying as well. This place is great for groups, a date, anything-you will certainly want a reservation!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 5, 2015

We had a group of 7 and did the chef's choice. Not only did we get the specials and some of the regular dishes but they also made some off menu items. Always a great time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 5, 2015

We enjoyed everything we ordered right through the desserts. Service was very efficient too, we had a very helpful and pleasant server. One person had never been there and I had been there several years ago. You really need a reservation because they are so busy. Lots of fun with the small plates. Noise level is high (high ceiling) but did not really bother the party who is noise sensitive. So it was a delightful evening. Even the valet parking man was a nice guy. Would recommend it to others and go again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 4, 2015

Our waitress Nikki was spot-on with suggestion off the menu. Specials are always a sure bet to be outstanding. Tuffled potatoes skins and Pistachio salad are favorites along with Argentinian Beef. For dessert you can not go wrong with the tres leches cake or Irish car bomb choc. cake.

We cannot say enough about LaMerenda, we've never had something we did not love!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 3, 2015

The food at La Merenda is consistently of the highest standard. There are regularly new menu items to try, which is a welcome change. Service is always excellent. I love the relaxed atmosphere and the casual feel of the place. We have never been disappointed with anything we have ordered and by now we've tried virtually everything on the menu - we LOVE this place!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 27, 2015

Milwaukee's expanding restaurant scene is enhanced by La Merenda - can't say enough good things about the innovative locally-sourced global tapas, and the friendly service. We loved the pierogies, the charcuterie, and the gnocchi. AND the quesadillas with huitlacoche were so incredible that we asked for the recipe - and were delighted when our waitperson wrote it down for us, direct from the chef. Definitely a foodie destination. We'll be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 25, 2015

We love La Merenda and the seasonal menu offerings. Each plate is excellent!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 24, 2015

The food is always excellent, service is great, easy parking. During the summer, best outdoor space in Milwaukee.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 23, 2015

Varied and interesting food selections. We have tried over a dozen different selections and all of them were excellent. The service is both pleasant and efficient.
Monday is half priced bottles of wine which makes it a great place for a Monday dinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.