About La Mer at Halekulani

La Mer is far more than a restaurant, it’s a degustation destination. Celebrated as Halekulani’s finest and Hawaii's longest, consecutively ranked AAA Five Diamond Restaurant, this consummate dining experience is unmatched. The internationally acclaimed menu features Neoclassic French cuisine expertly crafted and served amid majestic and romantic ocean views of Waikiki Beach and Diamond Head. Indigenous ingredients are uniquely blended in masterful dishes inspired by flavors from the south of France to produce an unsurpassed dining experience. An award-winning wine list is available to complement the perfect dining experience. Jacket or long sleeve dress shirt, slacks and dress shoes are required for men. As an elegant fine dining restaurant, La Mer restricts patrons to adults and children 8 years or older.

2199 Kalia Road
Honolulu, HI 96815
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:30pm - 9:300pm

Cross Street:
Lewers Street

Dress Code:
Jacket Preferred

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 923-2311

Website:
http://www.halekulani.com/dining/la_mer/

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet and self parking is available.

Executive Chef:
Alexandre Trancher

Private Party Facilities:
Salon La Mer comfortably seats up to 16 guests and offers a tranquil private lanai for that pre dinner cocktail.


Salon du Vin entertains up to 22 guests and may open up to an elegantly appointed living room to indulge in a La Mer specialty cocktail

Private Party Contact:
Dining Reservations: (808) 923-2311

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

La Mer at Halekulani Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.8

ambience

4.9

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (30)
Good for Anniversaries (29)
Special Occasion (29)
See All
Scenic View (27)
Good for a Date (27)
Waterfront (26)
Good for Birthdays (23)
Quiet Conversation (22)
Tasting Menu (21)
Creative Cuisine (19)
Notable Wine List (19)
Fit for Foodies (18)
Authentic (13)
Local Ingredients (11)
Worth the Drive (11)
Cozy (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Historic (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Business Meals (5)
Healthy (4)
Seasonal (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Private Room (3)
Comfort Food (2)
People Watching (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Fun (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Live Music (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Organic (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
888 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined 6 days ago

La Mer is a classic haute-cuisine French restaurant that gives this dining genre a refreshed and delightful relevance. No doubt it has one of the most beautiful views in Waikiki that amplifies the sense of refined style and romance. The food was wonderfully done with an elegant and thoughtful but not ostentacious presentation. The wonder food and the glorious location is complimented by the smooth and practiced service. Everything was delicious. The baked oyster dish was magical. On the menu that night was a local reef fish called ‘weke’. A small delicate fish deboned and reassembled into the original fish shape. Divine! An impressive wine list but let the sommelier choose for you. Jacket or long-sleeved shirt required for gentlemen. The adjoining bar L'Aperitif bar located inside the restaurant looks elegantly cozy and private. Going back as soon as I can afford it.

Tags: Scenic View, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Very expensive but worth it for a special occasion. Beautiful restaurant and excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 18, 2017

The service was was great. I didn't expect the level of attention that we received. There was an actual vegetarian menu which is a rare find here in a seafood mecca. Romantic, quiet, escorts, waves crashing, and very formal. Definitely a rare treat, it is not cheap, beware of that.

Tags: Waterfront, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value1

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Absolutely superb in every way. One of the best restaurants I've dined in in the United States. Service, food and decor are perfection. Not cheap, but nothing of this quality ever is. Enjoy.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Service was disappointing with the stacking and loud crashing of dishes as the table was cleared. Server seemed stressed and rushed. I thought I might be at a diner...

Tags: Bar Seating, Historic, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Excellent food as always, but a bit dead and service slightly more hovering than normal.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Waterfront, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Fabulous service, food and view. Our waiter Laurence had just been recognized as the best waiter in Hawaii.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Le Mer offers quiet elegance, extraordinary food, an incredible wine list and a memorable evening

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 5, 2017

They don't make restaurants like this any more! Classy, formal in a good way, wonderful views, terrific food and service. Really like the prie fixe options and the wine by the glass selections are amazing; Coche Dury and y'Quem by the glass! Yes!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 3, 2017

I have been going to LaMer for the past 15 years and each experience gets better and better. I have never been disappointed.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Cozy, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on March 2, 2017

A very special place in our family. A 'must' when in HNL. Never disappoints! A place where superior service, an excellent wine list, and exceptionally prepared food combine to provide a memorable experience, ALWAYS!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Waterfront, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Paleo Friendly, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 1, 2017

La Mer lived up to expectations and more. From the bite size hor d'oeuvre served with specialty cocktails to the elegant seating at a balcony overlooking the sea it was fit for a king. (And so was the price but well worth it on a special occasion). There were two very minor infractions. During our romantic anniversary dinner another waiter from another section brought three men over to our seating area so they could take photos at an adjacent balcony. Kind of broke the mood for a moment. We did the wine pairings and I believe it was a faux pas to not uncork one of the wines in our presence. We paid for the fancier wines so it was even more important not to uncork away from the table. The food was beyond reproach. The steak was melt in your mouth delicious.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We came in with another couple to discuss the Transfer of my Business to the other couple.
Thinking of the best restaurants on Oahu, we agreed upon La Mer.
I wish I could say that everything was spectacular....
We were warmly Greeted
The Service was disjointed sometimes not there and other times good.
The food was another story
The starter dishes that were good= Fois Gras,Scallop,Vege Starter.
The Oysters were not easily removed from the shell...
The Lobster was good and the Vege Entrees
The other Main Courses not so much
Veal was tough & lacked flavor
Duck the same...
The Squab had better flavor & also tough
Thought that Squab would be a Split Bird & was a Split Breast only
Desserts were not exciting
Wine was excellent
Not sure why our experience was not amazing....
Having eaten there in the past, this was not a night up to the Standards of La Mer that we know!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 26, 2017

This is a most impressive restaurant. Perhaps, one of the best in the USA at this point (Feb 2017). Not only are the high-end dishes delicious and beautifully presented, but they are ample-size portions, even generous given the degree of sophistication. Amazing French-style cuisine with new, creative spark.

Tags: Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 24, 2017

This was hands down the best meal of my life. The food was beyond compare with a wine list that stretched my palette.

Our table and service coupled with the ambiance made for an unforgettable evening. We would absolutely recommend this place to anybody seeking the best food in Honolulu.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 23, 2017

A wonderful dinner experience in one of Hawaii's most elegant hotels. Beautiful view from our table looking down onto the ocean. Truly a 5 star restaurant. And, a nice, slow paced four course dinner. Do wear dress slacks and a dress shirt as this restaurant has a dress code. Ric

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 21, 2017

This was our first visit to La Mer but it won't be our last. The ambiance and service are second to none. They take great care of you without hovering or going overboard. They seem to know just when to check on you. The food was an experience as well. We enjoyed the three course dinner and it was perfect. Highly recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Hard to find a better setting any place in the world. We enjoyed pre-dinner drinks at the bar extraordinary. For dinnet seated in the southeast corner with views of Diamond Head, the Pacific Ocean, and sunset in the west. Open floor to ceiling shutters allowed unobstructed views. Our little perch on the Pacific.

Tags: Special Occasion, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 13, 2017

This was our first time at La Mer. It was fabulous! We started out the evening at their bar. The bar tender Henry was fantastic. He was very knowledgeable and made each of our drinks special. I've never been anywhere that paid so much attention to detail. Our waiter Tom for dinner was just as wonderful. He knew the menu and the wine and made wonderful suggestions. The food was exquisite. I especially loved the poached lobster and the vanilla soufflé for dessert. It was definitely an evening to remember. We'll be back the next time we visit the island.

Tags: Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Amazing - great fish and looking lobster gnocchi.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Amazing experience! This is by far the best restaurant in Hawsii!

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Fun, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Perfection on the Beach. Very surprising to find world class food in tacky Honolulu. Very French cooking. Try the foil gras. As good as anywhere. Both the duck and veal were perfect.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Superb restaurant experience one of our best
service drinks food all great, naturally so was the price!...but well worth it

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Absolutely fantastic. Cannot recommend enough. Wonderful food, ambience, service, and wine list.

Tags: Waterfront, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Gorgeous view, great service, and romantic mood. If you are seated near the windows to the House without a Key, you may be able to watch the performances taking place at the House without a Key. The food is prepared well, and since this is a French restaurant, dishes are more classic than astonishingly creative.

Tags: Good for a Date, Waterfront, Live Music, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Excellent romantic dining experience! We'd never had French cuisine, so it was an adventure. Each course was intricately planned and perfectly executed. The wine pairings really added to each course and we enjoyed having the slow pacing to discuss and truly enjoy the food without rush. The tasting menu took over 3 hours with coffee and was such a special treat. Staff was very knowledgeable and took time to explain all of the elements of each course and how it was best enjoyed. We probably won't go back due to cost, but highly recommended as a special treat you must experience once!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Asked for a nice ocean view table during reservation. Went to the restaurant the next day to make sure to get one. Talked to the reservation desk and was told that will get one. Went for the dinner and never got anything even close to the ocean view.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 26, 2017

I have dined at Jules Verne, Ducasse, the Captain's table and so may fine restaurants throughout the world and this is absolutely my favorite. The food is more than exquisite, it's an experience in which the chef astounds your palate. The service is perfect, quiet and unnoticeable, anticipating. The ambiance on the waters edge of the gently lit ocean from Waikiki cannot be duplicated. Just incredible. Thank you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 26, 2017

I took my husband to La Mer to celebrate his Birthday. I chose this restaurant as it had the highest rating on Zagat for a Waikiki restaurant. It lived up to the reviews. It was fabulous! The setting was amazing - a table overlooking the ocean, the food and presentation exquisite, and the service superb!

Tags: Waterfront, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 24, 2017

La Mer was absolutely delicious. Exceed my already high expectations. The food and the staff were exceptional.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 23, 2017

superb cuisine, ambience, wines and service
absolutely world class Michelin three star experience.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Modern Decor, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Terrific food, service & ambiance!
Wine selection could be more balanced with more selections under 100.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Best dining experience I have had. Unbelievable service and amazing food.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Great as usual. Fine food. Great wine. Expert, attentive service. The atmosphere sets this dining experience beyond ALL competitors BAR NONE!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Historic, Good for Groups, Authentic, Healthy, Seasonal, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Everything presented in La Mer is excellent! The wait staff are friendly and professional. The food items are delivered with perfection and in good timing.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Excellent place for our 27th anniversary. It is definitely a keeper for us in the future.

Tags: Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 15, 2017

This restaurant has everything going for it except the food. The menu gives you the impression they know French quisine , but the food, with the exception of the foie gras , was disappointing and nowhere close to the price they think it is worth.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Well worth dining here. Beautiful ambience to match excellent degustation menu with superb service.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Waterfront, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Melbourne / VIC)·Dined on January 15, 2017

This was our first visit to Le Mer.
From the moment we arrived Le Mer restaurant surpassed our expectations.
Fine dining at it's best.
We had a wonderful night and will definitely make a return visit when we are next in Waikiki.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 14, 2017

素晴らしい接客と美味しい料理で英語が得意じゃなくても全く困らず素敵なハネムーンのディナーになりました。
次回のハワイ旅行でも行きたいお店です。

Tags: Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.