About La Mer at Halekulani

2199 Kalia Road
Honolulu, HI 96815
View Larger Map

La Mer is far more than a restaurant, it’s a degustation destination. Celebrated as Halekulani’s finest and Hawaii's longest, consecutively ranked AAA Five Diamond Restaurant, this consummate dining experience is unmatched. The internationally acclaimed menu features Neoclassic French cuisine expertly crafted and served amid majestic and romantic ocean views of Waikiki Beach and Diamond Head. Indigenous ingredients are uniquely blended in masterful dishes inspired by flavors from the south of France to produce an unsurpassed dining experience. An award-winning wine list is available to complement the perfect dining experience. Jacket or long sleeve dress shirt, slacks and dress shoes are required for men. As an elegant fine dining restaurant, La Mer restricts patrons to adults and children 8 years or older.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:30pm - 9:300pm

Cross Street:
Lewers Street

Dress Code:
Jacket Preferred

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 923-2311

Website:
http://www.halekulani.com/dining/la_mer/

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet and self parking is available.

Executive Chef:
Alexandre Trancher

Private Party Facilities:
Salon La Mer comfortably seats up to 16 guests and offers a tranquil private lanai for that pre dinner cocktail.


Salon du Vin entertains up to 22 guests and may open up to an elegantly appointed living room to indulge in a La Mer specialty cocktail

Private Party Contact:
Dining Reservations: 8089232311x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Sea Bass Carpaccio
Chocolate Souffle
Warm Foie Gras with Passion Fruit
Crab and Fennel Bavarois
Veal
Quail
Seared Foie Gras
Lobster Jelly
Crab Cakes
Lobster Meddalions And Lobster Bisque
Caramel Popcorn And Chocolate Ice Cream
Truffle Chocolate With Strawberries
Red Snapper

La Mer at Halekulani Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Hawaii
Best Service
Hawaii
Best Ambiance
Hawaii
10 More
Romantic
Hawaii
Scenic View
Hawaii
Special Occasion
Hawaii
Best Overall
Oahu
Best Food
Oahu
Best Service
Oahu
Best Ambiance
Oahu
Romantic
Oahu
Scenic View
Oahu
Special Occasion
Oahu

Romantic (50)
Special Occasion (47)
Scenic View (43)
See All
Notable Wine List (25)
Fit for Foodies (24)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Good for Groups (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
761 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Service was exceptional

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined 4 days ago

Service was exceptional

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Taste of all meal was excellent.I felt p ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined 4 days ago

Taste of all meal was excellent.I felt pigeon a little hard texture. Actually,it was the first experience for me to have a pigeon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

By far, the most attentive, friendly and ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

By far, the most attentive, friendly and warm service of any restaurant I've experienced!!! The food was fabulous! Absolutely delicious and beautifully composed dishes! I can't wait to visit again!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent experience! Great service duri ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Excellent experience! Great service during the dinner. Everythinks ok!

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First of all, I felt special feeling whe ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

First of all, I felt special feeling when having dinner with the sound of lapping of waves against the shore! Of course, dishes were very fine.It's striking that most of time for dinner were spent inside of the dinning room, then they prepared a table beside the window for us after the table was empty. My wife was absolutely delighted about this arrangement.

Tags: Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The setting, the food and the service wa ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

The setting, the food and the service was it worth every penny, however cannot give them 5 stars for service as they disappeared at the end of our meal. We waited too long to receive our bill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Always a wonderful way to end our Hawaii ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Always a wonderful way to end our Hawaiian vacation. The service is impeccable, as always. Don't order the cheapest champagne...too dry. We ordered the 3 course meals. Gave us complimentary dessert for our 53rd anniversary. My daughter wanted a jalapeno margarita and they went out of their way to make her one (not on menu). The cuddle fish with scallops were to die for as an appetizer.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Friendly attentive service and the elega ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Friendly attentive service and the elegant and creative cuisine was memorable.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Its sunset is very beautiful. And dinner ...

 
 (東京)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Its sunset is very beautiful. And dinner is so delicious.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We had the degustation menu with paired ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

We had the degustation menu with paired premium wines. It was a fantastic experience. We requested a change to one of the courses for dietary reasons which they happily accommodated and even changed the paired wine to suit.

The food and wines were excellent, and the service was exceptional.

A special mention must be made of having a pre dinner drink at L'Aperitif. The cocktail selection was amazing and the quality of the drinks outstanding.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food good but not exceptional given the ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Food good but not exceptional given the overall cost of the experience. A restaurant that is very pleased with itself and not always pleased with its clientele.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Outstanding land and sea menu selections ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Outstanding land and sea menu selections. Gracious and attentive service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

La Mer is French, refined, and expensive ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

La Mer is French, refined, and expensive. It is the perfect place to share an evening, and a meal, with a special person. The food is wonderful, the wine list deep, the service attentive. My only complaint, a small one, is relative dearth of vegetables. A fish dish in the nouvelle style--a few select filets with delicious light sauces, all laid out artistically on the plate--is wonderful. But it might be even more wonderful with a few spears of asparagus (or fiddleheads, or something more exotic).

Our visit coincided with the height of the Tropical Storm Darby downpour, with water cascading from every outside surface. The staff displayed a genuine concern for our wellbeing in battling the flood on the way home (it turned out not to be a big deal), but I was even more taken by their concern for each other.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The food and service was outstanding, I ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

The food and service was outstanding, I used the waiters experience and all of the recommendations hit the spot. The view over of the ocean, sunset and Diamond Head were spectacular. Would recommend for anyone wanting to celebrate a special occasion or just simply to appreciate the fine dining

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

A wonderful experience as a whole. Enjoy ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

A wonderful experience as a whole. Enjoyed it very much, beautiful restaurant and view and excellent food. A bit overpriced although..

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

If you want to experience food and servi ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

If you want to experience food and service perfection, this place is for you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This place was a once in a great while c ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

This place was a once in a great while cant miss restaurant if you want to experience fine dining. The location was amazing. The atmosphere formal and the presentation matched. The experience is 3 hours long for the tasting menu. It left us very satiated. The flavors and textures are obviously well thought out and work well together.

It was quite an experience and Birthday for my wife...

Mahalo

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall, we really enjoyed our dining ex ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Overall, we really enjoyed our dining experience at La Mer. Pros: the service, the view, the food, presentation. Cons: the menu is restrictive and confusing somewhat - the only options are a fixed price 7 course menu ($195/person), a 4 course menu (about $145/person) with a few choices and a 3 course menu ($110/person) with a few choices. If you choice a menu item off the 7 course menu there is a substantial surcharge - see, a bit confusing. The signature mixed drinks were amazing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We never recommend this first food Frenc ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

We never recommend this first food French !

Not French! This restaurant don't know French cooking?

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Excellent service and food, slightly ove ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Excellent service and food, slightly overpriced but service was a 10

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Amazing Diamond Head and ocean views, de ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Amazing Diamond Head and ocean views, delicious entrees and dessert, very romantic atmosphere, excellent spot for a special celebration, excellent value

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We fine dine domestically (Los Angeles, ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We fine dine domestically (Los Angeles, Las Vegas) and internationally (Paris, Italy... Comparing with other French restaurants that we've been to, the foods at La Mer didn't stand out at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Awesome cuisine, great exploration of fl ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Awesome cuisine, great exploration of flavors, the wine pairings were perfect. It was a fantastic experience. La Mer - a precious gem of dinning in Waikiki, Honolulu, Oahu, Hawaii.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

La Mer is a very high class restaurant w ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

La Mer is a very high class restaurant with outstanding food and services. The ocean view was great, especially our table was next to the window. Great place for romantic and special occasions.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I really enjoyed my dinner at La Mer. I ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

I really enjoyed my dinner at La Mer. I was celebrating my 40th birthday. Gorgeous view of the beach, and unbelievable service. I tried the tasting menu because there were so many things on there I hadn't tried before. Fois gras was excellent: smooth buttery texture served with beets. I hate beets, but they were prepared so wonderfully , I actually enjoyed them! Also the chocolate ravioli dish was excellent. Never tasted anything like it! If you are celebrating a special occasion in Honolulu, this is the place to go.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

We've been to the French Laundry and oth ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

We've been to the French Laundry and other gourmet restaurants - New York , Las Vegas, Paris- this is among the best. And the setting is second to none. If you're only thirsty it's also great for cocktails.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service. Great views. Great ambi ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

Great service. Great views. Great ambiance. And great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding Service

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

My wife and I were very impressed with the quality service offered at this restaurant. Thank you for a wonderful dinner and the nice surprise desert treats the chef gave us for our anniversary.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wow!!

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

What a wonderful experience. Fine dining with excellent staff and sommelier and a view to die for. Ask to sit by the open doors and feel the sea breeze. Every single detail was super, the cocktails with the roses, the fabulous menu, the special dessert , and the bag of house made candy beautifully wrapped and bagged to return home with. All four of us had classic french dishes, beautifully prepared. The wine list was extensive and the sommelier very helpful and knowledgeable. A real treat...you will need to save up for this worthwhile experience!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Probably, the best restaurant on the island

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

The food, service, ambiance and outstanding ocean views are not to be missed!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romance, Scenic View, Special Occasions
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

What an absolute delight. I organised di ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

What an absolute delight. I organised dinner at this lovely restaurant for my husband's 60th. Service and food was outstanding, nothing was too much trouble.

I was trying to organise a surprise cake and the service I received via email was exception, they even suggested a cake would be too much just for the 2 of us, so had a special desert organised instead.

I especially enjoyed the lamb and for desert you can't go past the soufflé.

You don't see old fashioned service like this much these days, they were superb. Highly recommended.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

That was incredible!!!

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

That was incredible!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderfully romantic spot to celebrate 31st anniv.

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on April 28, 2016

What a wonderful meal to celebrate our anniversary! We had an ocean view table and were able to watch the sunset before starting on the tasting menu/wine paring. All the staff were friendly and knowledgeable and the food was fantastic. The final dessert was so beautiful, I "almost" did not want to eat it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Perfect dinner to celebrate birthday

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on April 25, 2016

We were there to celebrate a birthday and had 4-course menu. All plates were so beautifully prepared and served. The taste was beyond expectation!! We got to try some of the new menu items (foie gras and scallop). One of the best I have ever had!! The atmosphere is so romantic and the service was impeccable as always. The best place for a special dinner in Hawaii!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome Dinner Experience!

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

The Service was impeccable, the Food was Worthy of the price, the Chaine should be viewing This Restaurant.... Delighted to say this was our Best experience on Oahu to date! Will return for sure!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Gourmet dining

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

Had an absolutely terrific evening. The restaurant, staff and food were 5 star in every aspect.

Tags: Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Revisiting La Mer

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 14, 2016

It has been 30 years since we have had an opportunity to dine at La Mer while vacationing on Oahu. La Mer is such a special dining experience. From the minute you walk in until the time you leave you are treated with such kind, caring and attentive service. The food is inventive, more than delicious and presented artistically. Most of the staff have worked at La Mer for at least 20 years. Speaks volumes about how employees are treated as well. Lovely, lovely dinner overlooking the beach and ocean. A night to remember!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place, terrible food

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 13, 2016

Really like this place, been here many times but this time the menu, food, were awful. Odd

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

Food was so yummy, and the service was a ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 11, 2016

Food was so yummy, and the service was amazing! Can't wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Perhaps I am not a fan of deconstructed food.

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on April 8, 2016

The restaurant it self is very very nice. Location outstanding. Service impeccable.

But, I expected much more of a wow factor on the food. If the price of the meal was more in the realm of "making sense" I would not hold them to such a high standard, but when the tab is $150 a person before drinks the main memorable factors ought not to be the peculiarity of chorizo foam, or the question of how chorizo foam adds anything you want.

We had a total of eight different dishes. A couple were good, a couple just OK, and at least two were borderline mistakes. The beautiful presentation did not make up for the oddball aspects of the food. Overall, the experience was one of less than pleasing textures and a bland essence.

Perhaps the oddest part of the meal was the jasmine cake. We thought maybe they had brought out something else, but the cake itself was crumbled into less than bite size bits that were more like left overs than dessert, with something else green that looked a bit like seaweed.

It was in essence the Emperor's New clothes of the fine dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.