About La Mer at Halekulani

La Mer is far more than a restaurant, it’s a degustation destination. Celebrated as Halekulani’s finest and Hawaii's longest, consecutively ranked AAA Five Diamond Restaurant, this consummate dining experience is unmatched. The internationally acclaimed menu features Neoclassic French cuisine expertly crafted and served amid majestic and romantic ocean views of Waikiki Beach and Diamond Head. Indigenous ingredients are uniquely blended in masterful dishes inspired by flavors from the south of France to produce an unsurpassed dining experience. An award-winning wine list is available to complement the perfect dining experience. Jacket or long sleeve dress shirt, slacks and dress shoes are required for men. As an elegant fine dining restaurant, La Mer restricts patrons to adults and children 8 years or older.

Dress Attire
We request elegant evening attire for women. Dinner jackets or dress shirts, dress slacks and shoes for gentlemen.

2199 Kalia Road
Honolulu, HI 96815
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:30pm - 9:300pm

Cross Street:
Lewers Street

Dress Code:
Jacket Preferred

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 923-2311

Website:
http://www.halekulani.com/dining/la_mer/

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet and self parking is available.

Executive Chef:
Alexandre Trancher

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Daily 5:30PM - 5:30PM

La Mer at Halekulani Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.8

ambience

4.9

value

4.2

noise

Quiet

98% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (37)
Scenic View (36)
Good for Anniversaries (34)
See All
Romantic (32)
Waterfront (31)
Good for a Date (22)
Notable Wine List (22)
Quiet Conversation (19)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Cozy (15)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Tasting Menu (13)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Local Ingredients (7)
Authentic (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Live Music (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Business Meals (3)
Good for Groups (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Seasonal (2)
Comfort Food (1)
Fun (1)
Happy Hour (1)
People Watching (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Sort By:
S
981 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 18, 2017

Aloha everywhere at Le Mer! The meal, the drink, the staff, the setting...all contribute to the best night on the island! Thanks Mark, Dan and staff for making our experience unforgettably, perfectly, Aloha! Mahalo!

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 16, 2017

We had a fantastic dining experience here. Wait staff was super attentive and even though we did not get the prime window spot facing diamond head at first, we were promptly offered the opportunity to move when it became available. The chefs menu was also nicely created with a fine balance of my favorite shellfish, foie, cheeses, sweets, and meats. Would highly recommend to anyone looking to celebrate a special occasion or fine dining experience out in the islands.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 14, 2017

If you enjoy fine French food, this is probably the best option available in Waikiki. The food is exceptional, although portions are small. The wine list is excellent, too, with a good selection of French as well as New World options. The restaurant is waterfront, but it is not noisy at all so it is the perfect spot for a quiet romantic dinner.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 13, 2017

A welcome was handed down from the correspondence of the reception fantastically.It was very delicious for delicate taste.It was made one one carefully, and a feeling came.Each staff called out to you and was able to be relaxed very much.I want to go by all means in the next year that was the best restaurant full of the dignity.

Tags: Bar Seating, Live Music, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 12, 2017

Our special occasion was our last night in Honolulu and we wanted to revisit La Mer from several years previous. We arrived early and asked for an ocean front seating, which did not disappoint.
Our friendly wait staff, both long time employees, treated us royally. From the specialty cocktails until the last few bites of dessert, we felt well taken care of. The restaurant offers a tasting menu or a 3 course meal from any where on the menu, just one of the items has to be dessert. This suited our appetites so we chose scallop carpaccio and foie gras for our appetizers and local abalone and filet mignon for our mains. The abalone had a texture like giant clam, geoduck, a bit chewy but in a tasty prosciutto cream and foam. Foie gras showed up with the filet too. Our desserts were a cheese board - choose as much as you want - and a vanilla shuffle. Both desserts were a wonderful play off each other.
We chose our own Oregon pinot noir, not the pairings, plus port and calvados with the sweets.
We really love this restaurant, wish we could come back more often, but we'd have to win the lottery.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 11, 2017

Having been to France and dining in the big cities from Los Angeles to New York it was an excellent dining experience from appetizers, to main course, to dessert. Although we didn't have any, they had a very large wine selection. We stuck to the cocktails and they were well presented and very good. Service was top notch, accommodating, and very professional. Highly recommend for a birthday or anniversary, you won't be disappointed.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Outstanding service at an outstanding restaurant. Be prepared to spend some money.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 29, 2017

perfect!
We are french, and we know everything that was cooked, it was so better than we can hope... thank you

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 27, 2017

The best restaurant in Hawaii!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 25, 2017

料理も美味しく、接客も素晴らしかった。

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 24, 2017

I love most restrunt
Describe outstanding dishes, beverages or service experiences

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 23, 2017

Great foods with nice liquors!
Good Service and quiet place.

Tags: Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

A truly unique gastronomic experience. Seven courses, 6 wines paired perfectly. Some dishes brought questions. . .how did he do that? How did he (chef) think of this. Amazing.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Expensive! Atmosphere outstanding! Service tops! Food presentation excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 18, 2017

Wonderful cocktails and food, amazing service, beautiful restaurant and views!!!

Tags: Waterfront, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Beautiful setting up excellent service, food very underwhelming.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 16, 2017

La Mer is THE fine dinning restaurant in Honolulu. My wife and I go there every year for our anniversary (for the past 15+ years). The food, service and ambiance are all elegant. It is pricey but not out of line with other top spots. There are options to ordering that can go from reasonable to "the sky's the limit" if that's your thing. Recommend especially for special occasions.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 31, 2017

Spectacular. The Food was amazing and the service was phenomenal. There are too many words to describe the perfection of the evening, not to mention the Food was First class.

Tags: Waterfront, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

Every person who served us greeted us by name. Everyone made us feel as though we had their complete attention and made our anniversary a very special one--we celebrated on July 28 (one day after our anniversary). The three course dinner was beyond our expectation from the poached oysters to the filet of beef, foil gras, duck, and souffle...although we had high expectations...the food exceeded our imagination.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Outstanding menu selections. Excellent wine selections. Gracious and attentive service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Waterfront, Scenic View, Seasonal, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 25, 2017

ハワイ最終日に訪問。

さーびす、雰囲気、食事どれを取ってもよかったですです!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 25, 2017

Excellent restaurant. Website needs to change because they allow dining with elegant aloha attire. Coats no longer required.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 23, 2017

We had such a wonderful wedding anniversary dinner there, that we have decided to celebrate our anniversary every year from now on at La Mer. The service was impeccable and the food was delicious. Though it is fine dining, it did not feel stuffy. Staff were very polite and accommodating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 21, 2017

宿泊先であったので最後の夕食をとることにしました。みなさん、ドレスコードをま守り、素敵な雰囲気でした。お料理も接客もとても素晴らしかったです。他にも人気の高級と言われる部類のお店に何軒か行きましたが、ラメールほどのところはありませんでした。次回も必ず伺います。

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Outstanding food and service!!! Very high end! We had a great time!

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Our experience at Le Mer was wonderful and exceeded our expectations. The service was impeccable- we were seated at a table facing the ocean which was cozy, secluded and intimate. We ordered the prix fixed menu with 4 options and found that the portions were generous and it was too much . The food was delicious - in fact everything I ordered was so good that I cannot recommend any one thing in particular ! Le Mer is expensive and worth it !

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 17, 2017

I believe this is one of the top restaurant in waikiki area.
We really enjoyed food and service.
Great +++++

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Love it! Amazing view, amazing food, excellent service! Elegant and classy! I would definitely go back and highly recommend this place. Do expect to spend $$$$.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 15, 2017

This is an expensive, high-end restaurant for a special occasion. Dress up; men wear a jacket. If you are looking for relaxed shorts-and-slippers elegance, save your money and go someplace else. The staff at La Mer respect their profession. Honor them by taking their work seriously and they will repay you a thousandfold.

I enjoyed the new menu which considers the meal as a whole. The old menu was standard a la carte. You first consider how big a meal you want. 7-course (fixed), 4-course, or 3-course. In the latter two cases, you then fill in your preferences.

The venue is elegant and the service is absolutely divine. The three gentleman that served our party of four were exactly on point -- perfect, professional, always appropriate, knowledgeable and never overbearing.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (London)·Dined on July 8, 2017

La Mer lived up to its lofty reputation as one of the top restaurants in Honolulu.
The cuisine was different & delectable,the souffle in particular represented a special treat.
The ambience & breathtaking views over Waikiki beach coupled with the courteous,prompt attention from staff made for a very special dining occasion.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Waterfront, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 8, 2017

This restaurant makes me feel special.
I love the attention to detail and of course the beautifully presented meal overlooking the majesty of Waikiki and diamond head - pure heaven!

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Absolutely amazing experience and good. Cannot recommend enough

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 5, 2017

その日は19時半しか予約できず、窓際が良かったのですが空いておらず、海が見えますが前席の方いる状態の真ん中の席になりました。日本語が少し話せるローレンさんに接客していただき、とても丁寧でラグジュアリーなla merにぴったりの方でした。
料理も美味しく前の席が空いたらすぐに前の席に変えて下さりサービスがとても良かったです。

ただ、1つ残念だったのがお客様の中にTシャツでとてもラフなスタイルの若い日本人のカップルがいらっしゃいました。
うちの主人も軽装はダメという事でしたので靴もシャツまでわざわざ用意して行きました、特別な雰囲気を楽しむのも1つでしたのでなんだ、そんなものかと思ってしまいました。

ローレンさんがオススメしてくださったスフレは絶品です!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Melbourne / VIC)·Dined on July 4, 2017

Meal and dining experience was lovely, until we paid our bill including the waiters tip, then he came back, made a fuss, then stood over us and demanded 3 times the generous tip we had already provided.
His tip was more than my bottle of French Champagne!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Wonderful classy service! Presentation of meal was beautifully done/ food was delicious!

Tags: Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 3, 2017

5 star all the way around. Hard to top for an elegant dining experience on Oahu.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Possibly one of the finest meals I've ever had. Rich sauces and my the soufflé was to die for!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 1, 2017

We at least once per year on anniversary ir her birthday.

Tags: Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Somebody get these guys a star. Service and food were impeccable from beginning to end. Excellent experience. Thank you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 30, 2017

My husband and I came here for our 10 year Anniversary and they treated us like royalty..Amazing food and service..Worth every penny, if I ever come back to Hawaii we will be going there again!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.