Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Mon, 5/21
Time
8:30 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 32 times today
Special offers available. See details

La Mer at Halekulani

4.8
1113 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$50 and over
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
French
Top Tags:
  • Special Occasion
  • Romantic
  • Waterfront
La Mer is far more than a restaurant, it’s a degustation destination. Celebrated as Halekulani’s finest and Hawaii's longest, consecutively ranked AAA Five Diamond Restaurant, this consummate dining experience is unmatched. The internationally acclaimed menu features Neoclassic French cuisine expertly crafted and served amid majestic and romantic ocean views of Waikiki Beach and Diamond Head. Indigenous ingredients are uniquely blended in masterful dishes inspired by flavors from the south of France to produce an unsurpassed dining experience. An award-winning wine list is available to complement the perfect dining experience. Jacket or long sleeve dress shirt, slacks and dress shoes are required for men. As an elegant fine dining restaurant, La Mer restricts patrons to adults and children 8 years or older.

Dress Attire
We request elegant evening attire for women. Dinner jackets or dress shirts, dress slacks and shoes for gentlemen.
Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
French
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(808) 923-2311
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Diners Club, JCB, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Jacket Preferred
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Alexandre Trancher
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Lewers Street
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Complimentary valet and self parking is available.
Additional
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Daily 5:30PM - 5:30PM

What 1113 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.8based on recent ratings
4.7
food
4.9
service
4.9
ambience
4.3
value
Noise · Quiet
93% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 3 days ago

La Mer is exquisite!
Excellent food!
Excellent service!
Excellent setting!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

Another wonderful meal at La Mer. Fantastic ambience/view overlooking the ocean in Waikiki and always excellent French food. Wait staff is phenomenal and take every opportunity to make your dining experience unforgettable and enjoyable. Every time I come I am not disappointed.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 14, 2018

An amazing experience, we loved it so much!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

The atmosphere at La Mer was outstanding, exceeding our expectations. The food was good but not spectacular. However, the service, the ambiance and the attention to detail easily qualified La Mer for a top rating.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

I took my wife for her Birthday toLa Met. The staff was very attentive and cordial since we step to the reception. The place is quiet, serene fabulous view next to the ocean. The food was really good. The staff went the extra mile to make sure the time was enjoyable. I will go again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 9, 2018

LaMer was perfect in every way from the attentive service and carefully crafted menu to the beautiful presentation of all courses. Just beautiful!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 8, 2018

We had the tasting menu -- $205 and worth it if you really enjoy wonderful tastes and beautiful presentations. A great variety of foods that left us saying "that was delicious" after each of the 7+ servings.

Knockout view of Diamond Head with the Halekulani 's Hawaiian music and dance on the patio below (5:30 - 8:30 pm).

Service was very attentive and respectful and not at all obtrusive or invasive.

Loved our three-hour dining experience. It satisfied all senses.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

The evening at La Mer's was superb with the very attentive, informative, and accommodating servers. The ambiance was perfect with the breathtaking views. The various menus served our needs . II was a perfect evening. I would gladly recommend La Mer to anyone who wants a memorable meal and moment.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 6, 2018

The food was very impressive and generous serving sizes. The lobster course was definitely a standout

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

A table with a nice view, good wine, elegant and tasteful dishes, kind japanese menu, sophisticated services and so on .....We had the happiest moment.
We ordered Three Courses. Just a good amount for us. We have more dishes with interest. So we decided to visit here next year.
And we are planning to study english hard to enjoy the conversation with the staff of LA MER.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 1, 2018

Be prepared for a sticker shock, but worth the indulgence in food par excellence..

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 30, 2018

We celebrated my wife’s birthday and we had the best dinner in a long time. We had a view of the ocean and Diamond Head, outside a Hawaiian band was playing along with a Hula dancer, to provide entertainment for our quiet meal. The food was out of this world, from the cold appetizer of fresh king crab legs, the scallops seafood entree is their speciality. I had the Filet Mignon and my wife had the lobster, both of which were exquisite, and their signature soufflé for dessert was amazing. Overall, the perfect evening experience for a special day, the ambiance, the service and the food are the best in Hawaii, Mahalo Nui Loa to Alex, Chase and the rest of the staff @ La Mer.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

If you are looking to splash out on a fancy date or celebrate in a quiet cosy intimate spot, then this is your perfect venue. Make sure you arrive early enough to have a cocktail at the bar first. Highly recommend the Miss Bonde cocktail!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 25, 2018

A truly outstanding French restaurant overlooking the ocean within the Halekulani hotel. Excellent cuisine with a 7 course tasting menu - you can also order 3 courses from this menu as I did - or a la carte. Very good champagne selection. Nicholas (Nick) and Scott from the service staff took very good care of me.
Overall a definite recommendation for a memorable dinner in Honolulu.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 24, 2018

Great food and service!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

We celebrated our 50th wedding anniversary and were treated like royalty. The food was excellent, service superb, and atmosphere great (we sat at a table where we could see the ocean and the musicians and hula dancers below). I would highly recommend La Mer for a special occasion.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 20, 2018

This was me and my girlfriend's favorite dining experience of all time, and we have been to several Michelin star restaurants back on the mainland including a 3 star Michelin restaurant. The food here was exceptional and the ambiance was incredible. We were celebrating an anniversary and were seated right at the open window with a view of Waikiki beach while the sun was setting. There was also live Hawaiian music playing from the restaurant next door and we had a perfect view of it. We each ordered the 7 course meal which was $202 and a few cocktails at $18 each. Although it was pricey, it was perfect in every way and the service was amazing. The waiters were genuinely nice and kept offering to take our pictures. This was our most memorable dining experience ever and one of the main highlights of our trip.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 20, 2018

The food was mediocre with cream on many of the dishes.
We've been to many fancy restaurants like Morimoto and Roy's. This is the by far the most disappointing meal ever.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 19, 2018

Fabulous food and service. Expensive but wonderful.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

There are not enough stars to describe this restaurant. We had Alex and Dan look after us and their excellent service highlighted a delightful meal. It is the place to CELEBRATE a special occasion.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Great food. Great service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2018

One of best experiences, food and service ! This is a five star place! Worth the stop.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2018

Our server chip and dan made the night very enjoyable and treated us with the best service. Highly recommend to sit in their sections

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Spectacular meal, with exquisite food and attentive, professional service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 5, 2018

味、雰囲気、サービスのほとんどが申し分のないものでした。
ただ、今まで経験した中でも最も高価なお料理だと思います。

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 2, 2018

Felt there was discrimination at our particular dinner event. Very disappointing.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

We were in honeymoon and staying at Halekulani. Being a good chance, we had dinner at La Mer.
Because we had told that it was honeymoon, they had preserved seats next to each other besides the window.
The dishes were quite excellent, and the staff were more excellent and fabulous for us.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 30, 2018

The food was excellent. Service was exemplary. The view of the ocean from our table was exquisite. We came here on the last night of our honeymoon in Hawaii and the staff made us feel as though our day was as important to them as it was to us. I would definitely go again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 30, 2018

This was a true special culinary splurge worth doing. A month in advance, I asked for and received received an idyllic sunset table overlooking the ocean. 5:30pm was the perfect time to arrive. Wife and I thoroughly enjoyed and raved about our 7 course degustation menu, as well as their premium wine pairings. The meal was expertly paced and presented. Food ingredients and classic French selections with Hawaiian flairs were simply superb. Our team servers Jason, Alex, and Norvin are true professionals, and their team training, timing and demeanor should be emulated by all other servers in Honolulu. For me this was big money well spent for a priceless and memorable romantic dinner evening with my wife.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2018

World class restaurant expensive but not overpriced for the quality. Our waiter was Chip who was pleasant and welcoming but not intrusive. Located in the hanekulani hotel it should be a must for a romantic return to old world Hawaii. Waterfront and picturesque. Menu de gustasion can be modified and wine pairings are thoughtful and precise. Foie gras with selected sauterne a must Definitely going back on this trip

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2018

Wonderful evening, excellent food & service. All personnel were professional & courteous in their work performance.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 24, 2018

Doing in a piece of Waikiki history with great food better than excellent service and an overall tenbest dining experiences!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 24, 2018

La Mer is an outstanding restaurant. This was our second visit, both times for a special occasion. It seems that people who live here tend to shy away from the restaurant because of its world-renowned reputation, perhaps the cost, and a belief that it is meant for visitors. The service is impeccable. Their wait staff has been there for 20+ years. We observed how other diners were treated and everyone was treated very nicely, even a couple that appeared to be "scamming" the restaurant in order to receive a complimentary dish or two. The menu is creative and the wine list is vast. I asked for a wine pairing for my fish entree, and it was a wine I wouldn't have normally chosen, but it was a perfect pairing. The view from this second floor location is superb, looking at Diamond Head and the lawn below with Hawaiian music and Hula.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 23, 2018

Thank you for your special service !!!
We have to come back next time too.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 22, 2018

Overall excellent although a little pricy. US$11 for an espresso coffee is a bit over the top!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 18, 2018

Friends of ours recommended that we go to Le Mer while we were in Oahu. It was wonderful!
First the service. It was impeccable! While it is obviously a team effort there, Chip was our main waiter and he was very professional and nice. Once we started talking to him more he seemed to loosen up a little. He is from Oahu and gave us a list of places that locals go to. Dan was our back waiter. While still very professional, he provided the levity and definitely made us more relaxed.
The food... there are several choices. There was a 7 course chef's choice menu that was $205 per person and everyone at the table had to order it. While the food options were for me better than the regular menu we opted for the 3 course menu. It was more than enough food!
I started off with the lobster bisque which I thought was wonderful. My main course was the Abalone with bacon. It was ok. I know that I am used to California Abalone but I felt it was very tough. I think it was the sommelier took our food order and her was explaining to me that it is very different from the Abalone that I am used to. Ok I get it but it took me really chewing through 2 whole pieces before I got to something that I could chew. My husband had the Sea Bass and it was very good. The offer wine pairings for $95 which we thought was very reasonable. We did not order it but the table next to us did and the wines sounded sublime.
We opted for the cheese course has dessert and that was a meal in itself! Because it was my birthday, they also sent out a dessert. We also received candy to go!
Overall the experience was fantastic. I might go back the next time I am in Waikiki I just won't order the Abalone.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 16, 2018

Fine French dining with the Waikiki breeze brushing your face is pretty much paradise. We had the tasting menu and among other things, had what both my wife and I agree was the best piece of meat we've ever eaten (beef tenderloin with a truffle demiglace). Not cheap for us normal folks but for a very special meal I can't imagine it being much better than La Mer.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 14, 2018

I have dined at La Mer well over 20X and each one is exceptional. The level of service is consistent with each visit. This was the first time dining at La Mer for my two friends & we were celebrating a milestone birthday for one of them. They could not stop raving about their dining experience and both thought their husbands would also be impressed. Both are considering a gift of La Mer for a partial gift for their sons’ nuptials.

Thank you to Laurence & Jason who exceeded the restaurant’s mantra of service excellence. They even sang happy birthday.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 11, 2018

Food and service were great and we got a wonderful ocean view table on that balcony

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 9, 2018

It was very nice. Our family had a lovely time. The dinner was very good and the staff was very nice too. We are all satisfied with everything.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
28

Tweets by La Mer at Halekulani