About La Mer at Halekulani

2199 Kalia Road
Honolulu, HI 96815
View Larger Map

La Mer is far more than a restaurant, it’s a degustation destination. Celebrated as Halekulani’s finest and Hawaii's longest, consecutively ranked AAA Five Diamond Restaurant, this consummate dining experience is unmatched. The internationally acclaimed menu features Neoclassic French cuisine expertly crafted and served amid majestic and romantic ocean views of Waikiki Beach and Diamond Head. Indigenous ingredients are uniquely blended in masterful dishes inspired by flavors from the south of France to produce an unsurpassed dining experience. An award-winning wine list is available to complement the perfect dining experience. Jacket or long sleeve dress shirt, slacks and dress shoes are required for men. As an elegant fine dining restaurant, La Mer restricts patrons to adults and children 8 years or older.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:30pm - 9:300pm

Cross Street:
Lewers Street

Dress Code:
Jacket Preferred

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 923-2311

Website:
http://www.halekulani.com/dining/la_mer/

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet and self parking is available.

Executive Chef:
Alexandre Trancher

Private Party Facilities:
Salon La Mer comfortably seats up to 16 guests and offers a tranquil private lanai for that pre dinner cocktail.


Salon du Vin entertains up to 22 guests and may open up to an elegantly appointed living room to indulge in a La Mer specialty cocktail

Private Party Contact:
Dining Reservations: 8089232311x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Sea Bass Carpaccio - La Mer at Halekulani, Honolulu, HI
Chocolate Souffle - La Mer at Halekulani, Honolulu, HI
Warm Foie Gras with Passion Fruit - La Mer at Halekulani, Honolulu, HI
Crab and Fennel Bavarois - La Mer at Halekulani, Honolulu, HI
Veal - La Mer at Halekulani, Honolulu, HI
Quail - La Mer at Halekulani, Honolulu, HI
Seared Foie Gras - La Mer at Halekulani, Honolulu, HI
Lobster Jelly - La Mer at Halekulani, Honolulu, HI
Crab Cakes - La Mer at Halekulani, Honolulu, HI
Lobster Meddalions And Lobster Bisque - La Mer at Halekulani, Honolulu, HI
Caramel Popcorn And Chocolate Ice Cream - La Mer at Halekulani, Honolulu, HI
Truffle Chocolate With Strawberries - La Mer at Halekulani, Honolulu, HI
Red Snapper - La Mer at Halekulani, Honolulu, HI

La Mer at Halekulani Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.9

ambience

4.9

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Hawaii
Best Service
Hawaii
Best Ambiance
Hawaii
7 More
Romantic
Hawaii
Best Overall
Oahu
Best Food
Oahu
Best Service
Oahu
Best Ambiance
Oahu
Best Value
Oahu
Special Occasion
Oahu

Special Occasion (33)
Romantic (32)
Scenic View (26)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (24)
Waterfront (16)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Good for a Date (13)
Notable Wine List (12)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Tasting Menu (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Cozy (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Historic (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Worth the Drive (3)
Authentic (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Healthy (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Seasonal (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Business Meals (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Private Room (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Live Music (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
801 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

ハネムーンで奮発して行きました。食事、サービス、雰囲気全てに満足でした。 味付け ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 6 days ago

ハネムーンで奮発して行きました。食事、サービス、雰囲気全てに満足でした。

味付けも濃すぎず、ハワイの濃くてボリューミーな感じはなくとても上品でした。

また、サービスも丁寧で最後にお土産まで下さり至れり尽くせりでした。

値段相応かもしくはそれ以上に良かったです。

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was excellent. The staff wer ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 28, 2016

The service was excellent. The staff were friendly, although I don't really like having 5 different. I'm going to go out on a limb and say that some of the dishes were confusing. Too many different flavours in each dish. Second time I have been and I felt the same before.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

La Mer has always been my all-time favor ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 27, 2016

La Mer has always been my all-time favorite dining experience. I have never found another restaurant that performed at the same level of excellence. The other night, I introduced my favorite restaurant to my significant other. I was nervous and anxious to hear his opinion. The staff of Le Mer, as expected, did not disappoint. We were moved to a table with an excellent romantic view. Their excellent customer service was perfectly on point. The food was spectacular!!! My significant other was overwhelmed with his experience at Le Mer. Needless to say... we will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

First time in Hawaii for my wife and I c ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on November 23, 2016

First time in Hawaii for my wife and I celebrating our 10 year anniversary and decided to reserve at La Mer to celebrate while we were here

What an awesome experience (food, service and location)

The staff was very accommodating to let us have a table with an ocean front view which was breathtaking

We asked the waitress to let the chef select our food and had one of the best dinners ever !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Super experience!! Wonderful food and a ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Super experience!! Wonderful food and ambiance! Excellent management and presentation!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We enjoyed the delicious dinner at LA Me ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We enjoyed the delicious dinner at LA Mer whilst staying at The Halekulani hotel .. well crafted French dishes classic with some variations .. well executed .. we had a lovely night in beautiful surroundings quiet and elegant atmosphere and with good staff

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

A reserved dining experience not to be c ...

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 14, 2016

A reserved dining experience not to be confused with a casual night out. The luxurious setting is complimented perfectly with a thoughtful staff who made every attempt to accommodate our needs... including a convenient "wallet/purse stool" next to our chairs

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tasty dishes,splendid atmosphere,service ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Tasty dishes,splendid atmosphere,service,

Everything is perfect.

I'd love to go again.

Tags: Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Scenic View, Tasting Menu, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anniversary dinner every year. New menu, ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Anniversary dinner every year. New menu, great food, great service and beautiful view.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent meal. Superb service. Elegan ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Excellent meal. Superb service. Elegant ambience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went to La Mer to celebrate a birthda ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 3, 2016

We went to La Mer to celebrate a birthday and were extremely disappointed with the quality of the food. The lobster was over cooked and tough, so much so that it was inedible.

The service was impeccable, but the lighting in the restaurant was too low to allow for reading the menu without a pen light.

After all of the build up of the chef from Tour d'Argent being the new culinary genius at La Mer, we had high expectations and were significantly disappointed.

I don't mind paying top dollar for a meal but my expectation is if top dollar is to be charged the meal should exceed expectations and it failed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

We celebrated our 20th wedding anniversa ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 3, 2016

We celebrated our 20th wedding anniversary at La Mer at Halekulani & it was a great choice for the magnificent food, ambiance & service. Delighted we chose it!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Historic, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Waterfront, Sunday Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chief tasting menu & premium wine pairi ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Chief tasting menu & premium wine pairing fantastic. Our waiter Mark, top notch with exquisite demeanor, masterful food & wine knowledge.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I travel all over the world, and I have ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 30, 2016

I travel all over the world, and I have to say that our night at La Mer was one of the best dining experiences we have ever had! The food was amazing, but the service and attention we received were over the top.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

La Mer is an outstanding restaurant all ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 30, 2016

La Mer is an outstanding restaurant all around! Due to the expense, for most people, it would be best reserved for special occasions. However, you can count on it to make it a truly special evening.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Live Music, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perhaps our 17th visit or more over the ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Perhaps our 17th visit or more over the past 20+ years. It still wins all areas of ambience and classic service at a pace you can truly enjoy. Cocktails and aperitif is always a perfect start. The menu over the years does change. I wish I could manage the 10 course degustation menu with wine pairings but having tried once - better starve for a day or 2 first. I admit I miss their whole salt-crusted local fish. The lamb dish was flavorful and perfect sizing for me but small by "over-eaters-anonymous " desires. Of course we plan to return next anniversary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding dining experience exceeded e ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 12, 2016

Outstanding dining experience exceeded expectations, well worth the price

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent, will return

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 6, 2016

Excellent, will return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was outstanding. I would real ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Everything was outstanding. I would really recommend to order their "Menu degustation" if you wish to experience their true quality. The dishes were real french but incorporated local food and seasonings, which was amazing! Some may feel the taste is a bit too rich, but the portion size is small so most of the people would enjoy it.

The scenery was also great and there was a photo taking service during sunset and after our dinner.

Although the price is expensive, it must worth to try for the special occasion.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a lovely dinner, delicious food, ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 23, 2016

We had a lovely dinner, delicious food, exceptional service and beautiful view!

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Healthy, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The atmosphere was without doubt fantast ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 17, 2016

The atmosphere was without doubt fantastic. The soft classical music playing in the background accompanied by the ocean waves and, if you are lucky, the soft cool Hawaiian breeze create a mini paradise within a paradise. The servers are attentive and friendly. They find a way to melt in the background while still serving your food and refilling your water.

The food, however, was not spectacular. For the money we expected to be blown out of our mind visually and gastronomically. While the presentation was nothing to sneeze at, I have seen better for this prize range.

The appetizers were okay. The entrees were good. The deserts saved the day. They were delicious and looked beautiful.

This is what we ordered:

Appetizers: bisque and foie gras. The bisque tasted really fishy and very mild. The foie gras was very tender but the beet glaze was non existent.

Entrees: Veal and beef. The veal was vey tender but mild. The presentation was not very visually appealing. The sauce saved the day. The beef was bomb and the foie gras was bombastic. Melted in your mouth and tasty.

Desert: Flan and soufflé. They were the highlight. Yummy delicious and presented like the $$$$ restaurant that it is rated.

After the dinner, if you happen to be seated by a balcony, take a minute to step out and smell the air and savor the sounds of the ocean. It is as close to idyllic as you will ever get.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

We couldn't have been happier with our ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 16, 2016

We couldn't have been happier with our experience with La Mer.The food was incredible and the servers were charming and helpful. I don't think we've ever had better service at any restaurant -we would highly recommend LaMer

Tags: Modern Decor, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The atmosphere is incredibly elevated ye ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 16, 2016

The atmosphere is incredibly elevated yet warm and personal. Service was impeccable. Food was perfection.

Tags: Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An unforgettable experience, our best di ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 6, 2016

An unforgettable experience, our best dinner in Honolulu to-date. White gloves services, classy and scenic ambience, excellent execution of a wonderful menu. Best among all the high end restaurants we visited in Honolulu. Bravo!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

La Mer is the place you go if you want t ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 4, 2016

La Mer is the place you go if you want the best dining experience in Oahu. The ocean view is spectacular, the staff is amazing, and the food is beyond exceptional. Everyone there is kind and very helpful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I have dined here 3 times before but had ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 3, 2016

I have dined here 3 times before but had not been here in 3yrs and frankly it did not come up to the standards of previous visits. Portions have got even smaller, choices fewer, service has dropped off and the menu seems to be trying to hard to be nouveau. Even the waiter rolled his eyes at some of the combinations and cooking methods. Having said that what we ate was made from obviously top grade ingredients and with the exception of some sauces that we, thankfully, had served on the side, the food was enjoyed.

I had a lamb dish. center loin, prepared sous vide, that must have been all of 3oz - literally a couple of bites and this was the main course. Cooked as it was, it tasted like you would expect, unseasoned lamb. It came with a raisin sauce - excellent, eggplant caviar- interesting and a lamb au jus that was inedible - both wife and I thought detergent like. Oh and the first time the meal was brought, I sent it back as calling it lukewarm is being generous - it was cool to the touch - though it was medium as advertised. My wife's roasted duck was two small strips of breast. Looked like they cut a half inch thick slice of breast and then cut it again in strips and she got two of them. Once again a few ounces total..

Neither dish came with a starch but when I asked if we could have a side of soufflé potatoes, something that was offered with another dish, they accommodated me for an extra $10.00

The pouring of our Champagne was left to me except for initial pour and one other.

Not to shabby, but, for $400 I found the overall experience lacking. I do not think I will be back.

While jackets are not mandatory, and no one in our section wore one while eating (one person wore one in but quickly removed it before seating)I was brought a jacket which they wanted to put on the back of my chair even though it was side by side booth seating with no chair. I explained I would prefer not - was told she would check with the manager but she never returned.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

It is one of the best restaurants in my ...

vip
 (London)·Dined on August 30, 2016

It is one of the best restaurants in my life. Of course food is superb, but their service level and hospitality is most significant. It is best for anniversaries of life, not for usual dinner.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

it was my first time to visit la mer ce ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 29, 2016

it was my first time to visit la mer celebrating 5th wedding anniversary. everything was great, espacially modern and romantic atmosphere.

Tags: Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

fantastic restaurant in the superb halek ...

 
 (Melbourne / VIC)·Dined on August 28, 2016

fantastic restaurant in the superb halekalani..service exceptional and wide menu range...if you sophisticated dining this is the place

Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Waterfront, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I celebrated our 10 year ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 27, 2016

My husband and I celebrated our 10 year wedding anniversary and selected this place. The service was top notch. The servers were professional with a super laid back personality, light humor and incredible views on the water. Next door was live music with a hula dancer. The mood was romantic and every bite simply scrumptious!! For such a special occasion.. This was definitely one of my favorites! I highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The best dining experience we ever had. ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on August 26, 2016

The best dining experience we ever had. The service was outstanding. I was celebrating my birthday, and the staff made me feel extra special and gave us the best table. The service was outstanding.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Service was exceptional

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 23, 2016

Service was exceptional

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Taste of all meal was excellent.I felt p ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 23, 2016

Taste of all meal was excellent.I felt pigeon a little hard texture. Actually,it was the first experience for me to have a pigeon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

By far, the most attentive, friendly and ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 18, 2016

By far, the most attentive, friendly and warm service of any restaurant I've experienced!!! The food was fabulous! Absolutely delicious and beautifully composed dishes! I can't wait to visit again!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent experience! Great service duri ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 17, 2016

Excellent experience! Great service during the dinner. Everythinks ok!

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First of all, I felt special feeling whe ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 16, 2016

First of all, I felt special feeling when having dinner with the sound of lapping of waves against the shore! Of course, dishes were very fine.It's striking that most of time for dinner were spent inside of the dinning room, then they prepared a table beside the window for us after the table was empty. My wife was absolutely delighted about this arrangement.

Tags: Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The setting, the food and the service wa ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 16, 2016

The setting, the food and the service was it worth every penny, however cannot give them 5 stars for service as they disappeared at the end of our meal. We waited too long to receive our bill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Always a wonderful way to end our Hawaii ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Always a wonderful way to end our Hawaiian vacation. The service is impeccable, as always. Don't order the cheapest champagne...too dry. We ordered the 3 course meals. Gave us complimentary dessert for our 53rd anniversary. My daughter wanted a jalapeno margarita and they went out of their way to make her one (not on menu). The cuddle fish with scallops were to die for as an appetizer.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Friendly attentive service and the elega ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 10, 2016

Friendly attentive service and the elegant and creative cuisine was memorable.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Its sunset is very beautiful. And dinner ...

 
 (東京)·Dined on August 9, 2016

Its sunset is very beautiful. And dinner is so delicious.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.