Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 39 times today
Special offers available. See details

La Mer at Halekulani

4.8
1095 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$50 and over
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
French
Top Tags:
  • Special Occasion
  • Romantic
  • Waterfront
La Mer is far more than a restaurant, it’s a degustation destination. Celebrated as Halekulani’s finest and Hawaii's longest, consecutively ranked AAA Five Diamond Restaurant, this consummate dining experience is unmatched. The internationally acclaimed menu features Neoclassic French cuisine expertly crafted and served amid majestic and romantic ocean views of Waikiki Beach and Diamond Head. Indigenous ingredients are uniquely blended in masterful dishes inspired by flavors from the south of France to produce an unsurpassed dining experience. An award-winning wine list is available to complement the perfect dining experience. Jacket or long sleeve dress shirt, slacks and dress shoes are required for men. As an elegant fine dining restaurant, La Mer restricts patrons to adults and children 8 years or older.

Dress Attire
We request elegant evening attire for women. Dinner jackets or dress shirts, dress slacks and shoes for gentlemen.
Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
French
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(808) 923-2311
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Diners Club, JCB, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Jacket Preferred
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Alexandre Trancher
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Lewers Street
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Complimentary valet and self parking is available.
Additional
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Daily 5:30PM - 5:30PM

What 1096 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.8based on recent ratings
4.7
food
4.9
service
4.9
ambience
4.3
value
Noise · Quiet
92% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 2 days ago

This was me and my girlfriend's favorite dining experience of all time, and we have been to several Michelin star restaurants back on the mainland including a 3 star Michelin restaurant. The food here was exceptional and the ambiance was incredible. We were celebrating an anniversary and were seated right at the open window with a view of Waikiki beach while the sun was setting. There was also live Hawaiian music playing from the restaurant next door and we had a perfect view of it. We each ordered the 7 course meal which was $202 and a few cocktails at $18 each. Although it was pricey, it was perfect in every way and the service was amazing. The waiters were genuinely nice and kept offering to take our pictures. This was our most memorable dining experience ever and one of the main highlights of our trip.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 3 days ago

Fabulous food and service. Expensive but wonderful.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

There are not enough stars to describe this restaurant. We had Alex and Dan look after us and their excellent service highlighted a delightful meal. It is the place to CELEBRATE a special occasion.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Great food. Great service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2018

One of best experiences, food and service ! This is a five star place! Worth the stop.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2018

Our server chip and dan made the night very enjoyable and treated us with the best service. Highly recommend to sit in their sections

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Spectacular meal, with exquisite food and attentive, professional service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 5, 2018

味、雰囲気、サービスのほとんどが申し分のないものでした。
ただ、今まで経験した中でも最も高価なお料理だと思います。

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 2, 2018

Felt there was discrimination at our particular dinner event. Very disappointing.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

We were in honeymoon and staying at Halekulani. Being a good chance, we had dinner at La Mer.
Because we had told that it was honeymoon, they had preserved seats next to each other besides the window.
The dishes were quite excellent, and the staff were more excellent and fabulous for us.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 30, 2018

The food was excellent. Service was exemplary. The view of the ocean from our table was exquisite. We came here on the last night of our honeymoon in Hawaii and the staff made us feel as though our day was as important to them as it was to us. I would definitely go again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 30, 2018

This was a true special culinary splurge worth doing. A month in advance, I asked for and received received an idyllic sunset table overlooking the ocean. 5:30pm was the perfect time to arrive. Wife and I thoroughly enjoyed and raved about our 7 course degustation menu, as well as their premium wine pairings. The meal was expertly paced and presented. Food ingredients and classic French selections with Hawaiian flairs were simply superb. Our team servers Jason, Alex, and Norvin are true professionals, and their team training, timing and demeanor should be emulated by all other servers in Honolulu. For me this was big money well spent for a priceless and memorable romantic dinner evening with my wife.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2018

World class restaurant expensive but not overpriced for the quality. Our waiter was Chip who was pleasant and welcoming but not intrusive. Located in the hanekulani hotel it should be a must for a romantic return to old world Hawaii. Waterfront and picturesque. Menu de gustasion can be modified and wine pairings are thoughtful and precise. Foie gras with selected sauterne a must Definitely going back on this trip

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2018

Wonderful evening, excellent food & service. All personnel were professional & courteous in their work performance.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 24, 2018

Doing in a piece of Waikiki history with great food better than excellent service and an overall tenbest dining experiences!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 24, 2018

La Mer is an outstanding restaurant. This was our second visit, both times for a special occasion. It seems that people who live here tend to shy away from the restaurant because of its world-renowned reputation, perhaps the cost, and a belief that it is meant for visitors. The service is impeccable. Their wait staff has been there for 20+ years. We observed how other diners were treated and everyone was treated very nicely, even a couple that appeared to be "scamming" the restaurant in order to receive a complimentary dish or two. The menu is creative and the wine list is vast. I asked for a wine pairing for my fish entree, and it was a wine I wouldn't have normally chosen, but it was a perfect pairing. The view from this second floor location is superb, looking at Diamond Head and the lawn below with Hawaiian music and Hula.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 23, 2018

Thank you for your special service !!!
We have to come back next time too.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 22, 2018

Overall excellent although a little pricy. US$11 for an espresso coffee is a bit over the top!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 18, 2018

Friends of ours recommended that we go to Le Mer while we were in Oahu. It was wonderful!
First the service. It was impeccable! While it is obviously a team effort there, Chip was our main waiter and he was very professional and nice. Once we started talking to him more he seemed to loosen up a little. He is from Oahu and gave us a list of places that locals go to. Dan was our back waiter. While still very professional, he provided the levity and definitely made us more relaxed.
The food... there are several choices. There was a 7 course chef's choice menu that was $205 per person and everyone at the table had to order it. While the food options were for me better than the regular menu we opted for the 3 course menu. It was more than enough food!
I started off with the lobster bisque which I thought was wonderful. My main course was the Abalone with bacon. It was ok. I know that I am used to California Abalone but I felt it was very tough. I think it was the sommelier took our food order and her was explaining to me that it is very different from the Abalone that I am used to. Ok I get it but it took me really chewing through 2 whole pieces before I got to something that I could chew. My husband had the Sea Bass and it was very good. The offer wine pairings for $95 which we thought was very reasonable. We did not order it but the table next to us did and the wines sounded sublime.
We opted for the cheese course has dessert and that was a meal in itself! Because it was my birthday, they also sent out a dessert. We also received candy to go!
Overall the experience was fantastic. I might go back the next time I am in Waikiki I just won't order the Abalone.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 16, 2018

Fine French dining with the Waikiki breeze brushing your face is pretty much paradise. We had the tasting menu and among other things, had what both my wife and I agree was the best piece of meat we've ever eaten (beef tenderloin with a truffle demiglace). Not cheap for us normal folks but for a very special meal I can't imagine it being much better than La Mer.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 14, 2018

I have dined at La Mer well over 20X and each one is exceptional. The level of service is consistent with each visit. This was the first time dining at La Mer for my two friends & we were celebrating a milestone birthday for one of them. They could not stop raving about their dining experience and both thought their husbands would also be impressed. Both are considering a gift of La Mer for a partial gift for their sons’ nuptials.

Thank you to Laurence & Jason who exceeded the restaurant’s mantra of service excellence. They even sang happy birthday.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 11, 2018

Food and service were great and we got a wonderful ocean view table on that balcony

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 9, 2018

It was very nice. Our family had a lovely time. The dinner was very good and the staff was very nice too. We are all satisfied with everything.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 7, 2018

Ambience, location and service were superb. food was good but not unforgettably great (a surprise, given ratings and prices)

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 5, 2018

It was definitely most memorable dining experience in my life. Ambience was so romantic with the live music from House without a Key and lovely breeze from the ocean. This place is absolutely for any special occasions for you. I came here to celebrate my birthday. Their food was a top notch and the service was extraordinary. They made my birthday unforgettable. I really appreciate their service and everything!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 4, 2018

Very good food, service and ambiance. The sunset view was a plus!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 3, 2018

For the past 20 years, I have been coming here to celebrate birthdays and the excellent overall never fails. I plan on coming back every year for all birthday and special occasion celebrations. Thank you La Met staff for always making these visits special.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 2, 2018

They made my wife's birthday a memorable event. Excellent staff, great food, wonderful location.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 1, 2018

Best restaurant in Waikiki! Wine list to die for, impeccable service, French food at it’s absolute best, and we travel a lot. Worth the top price. Lamb and duck are my favorite!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 28, 2018

I was very very very veryvery happy!!!!!!!!
Thank you!!!!!!!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on February 26, 2018

I went to this restaurant with my girlfriend for her birthday. We wanted to make it a bit special. It turned out to be and EPIC FAIL. Never in my life have I experienced a restaurant so expensive and so bad! I know that Hawaii is expensive, but $63 for a meal - for what??? First, the waiter's accent was so bad that we could barely understand him, then he brought the wrong mineral water, then the other waiter poured tap water into our glasses with mineral water. However, all of this was nothing compared to the absolutely rancid taste of their lobster bisque, which I have ordered. I ordered lobster bisque in many places before and can tell for sure - that was not lobster bisque. In fact, it tasted so bad, that I don't think even my dog would have eaten it. Then they brought the beef fillet, and it was just putrid. I could not believe that a 5-star restaurant could serve poison instead of food! I don't know where all these positive reviews come from. I have been living in United States for over 15 years now and I have never experienced food so bad. Even McDonalds is better for you. My girlfriend ate her food, mostly because she felt ashamed not to. And after all of this, they charged us a whopping $193 !!! I still cannot believe this happened to me.
On top of all of this, I looked at their dessert menu - every single pastry was a crazy combination of things that should never ever be combined together and it cost a whopping $29 each! I understand that nowadays chefs and restaurants make crazy food to set themselves apart from the competition, but this one went way overboard. I am not sure what their chef is smoking, but I could not call what he made - food. Definitely not fit for humans.
My recommendation - if you care about your health and our wallet - stay away from this restaurant as far as possible.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 26, 2018

Perfection! We had a romantic dining experience with an amazing view, delicious cocktails, decadent food, and superb service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 25, 2018

It begins with a thoughtful, custom cocktail at the intimate bar, followed by being taken to a cozy table where the culinary dreams unfold in a French course menu embraced with very beautiful and touching island values. Memories are made of such things as these. A timeless moment by the sea in Honolulu - La Mer.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 23, 2018

料理も接客も最高でした!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 20, 2018

Very nice restaurant overlooking the water with great food and unbeatable service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 20, 2018

今回は2回目でした。4コースを選びました。前菜、魚料理、肉料理、デザートのどれも美味しかったです。
ワインも白、赤とも料理に合うグラスワインを選ぶことができました。デザートのスフレは絶品です。
今回も海が目の前に見えるテラス席に座りました。夕日が沈む瞬間や、夕方から夜にかけて景色の変化を楽しむことができます。また、スタッフの方がきれいに写真がとれるタイミングで写真をとって下さるのがよいです。
ゆったりとした時間の中で最高のディナーを味わうことができます。
また、お伺いしたいです。

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 20, 2018

Really appreciate for everything. The dinner strongly affected my proposal and it was success!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 19, 2018

Quite simply, the best dining experience my wife and I have ever had. It is an experience like no other and is a “must” for any visit to Waikiki, but be prepared for an expensive evening and a priceless experience. The very private dining room is located within the Halekulani Hotel on Waikiki.
As a former New Yorker, a fitting analogy might be to take the cuisine, service and elegance of Restaurant Daniel on the upper east side, and now add sitting on the ocean in Waikiki and that is La Mer.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 18, 2018

Magical evening. Asked for and got a table next to the ocean. We watched lightning flashes offshore all evening as our own private light show. Extremely attentive servers: discreet, friendly, accommodating, knowledgeable, knew when to come or stay away. Food was outstanding, beautifully presented, and delicious but not as WOW as when Chef Mavro was there. La Mer used to be very hoity-toity before but now it's more relaxed and fits the vacation vibe. Still costs a lot but worth every penny.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 18, 2018

The best service I have ever had. Excellent food but the service really put the restaurant over the top. Excellent!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
28

Tweets by La Mer at Halekulani