About La Mer at Halekulani

2199 Kalia Road
Honolulu, HI 96815
View Larger Map

La Mer is far more than a restaurant, it’s a degustation destination. Celebrated as Halekulani’s finest and Hawaii's longest, consecutively ranked AAA Five Diamond Restaurant, this consummate dining experience is unmatched. The internationally acclaimed menu features Neoclassic French cuisine expertly crafted and served amid majestic and romantic ocean views of Waikiki Beach and Diamond Head. Indigenous ingredients are uniquely blended in masterful dishes inspired by flavors from the south of France to produce an unsurpassed dining experience. An award-winning wine list is available to complement the perfect dining experience. Jacket or long sleeve dress shirt, slacks and dress shoes are required for men. As an elegant fine dining restaurant, La Mer restricts patrons to adults and children 8 years or older.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:30pm - 9:300pm

Cross Street:
Lewers Street

Dress Code:
Jacket Preferred

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 923-2311

Website:
http://www.halekulani.com/dining/la_mer/

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet and self parking is available.

Executive Chef:
Alexandre Trancher

Private Party Facilities:
Salon La Mer comfortably seats up to 16 guests and offers a tranquil private lanai for that pre dinner cocktail.


Salon du Vin entertains up to 22 guests and may open up to an elegantly appointed living room to indulge in a La Mer specialty cocktail

Private Party Contact:
Dining Reservations: 8089232311x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Sea Bass Carpaccio
Chocolate Souffle
Crab and Fennel Bavarois
Warm Foie Gras with Passion Fruit
Lobster Jelly
Veal
Crab Cakes
Caramel Popcorn And Chocolate Ice Cream
Lobster Meddalions And Lobster Bisque
Quail
Seared Foie Gras
Truffle Chocolate With Strawberries
Red Snapper

La Mer at Halekulani Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Hawaii
Romantic
Hawaii
Special Occasion
Hawaii
5 More
Best Service
Oahu
Best Ambiance
Oahu
Romantic
Oahu
Scenic View
Oahu
Special Occasion
Oahu

romantic (41)
special occasion (39)
scenic view (37)
See All
notable wine list (23)
fit for foodies (22)
great for outdoor dining (5)
good for groups (4)
hot spot (2)
late-night find (2)
neighborhood gem (2)
kid-friendly (1)
great for brunch (1)
vibrant bar scene (1)
great for lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
745 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

A wonderful experience as a whole. Enjoy ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined 5 days ago

A wonderful experience as a whole. Enjoyed it very much, beautiful restaurant and view and excellent food. A bit overpriced although..

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This place was a once in a great while c ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

This place was a once in a great while cant miss restaurant if you want to experience fine dining. The location was amazing. The atmosphere formal and the presentation matched. The experience is 3 hours long for the tasting menu. It left us very satiated. The flavors and textures are obviously well thought out and work well together.

It was quite an experience and Birthday for my wife...

Mahalo

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall, we really enjoyed our dining ex ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Overall, we really enjoyed our dining experience at La Mer. Pros: the service, the view, the food, presentation. Cons: the menu is restrictive and confusing somewhat - the only options are a fixed price 7 course menu ($195/person), a 4 course menu (about $145/person) with a few choices and a 3 course menu ($110/person) with a few choices. If you choice a menu item off the 7 course menu there is a substantial surcharge - see, a bit confusing. The signature mixed drinks were amazing.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We never recommend this first food Frenc ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

We never recommend this first food French !

Not French! This restaurant don't know French cooking?

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Excellent service and food, slightly ove ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Excellent service and food, slightly overpriced but service was a 10

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Amazing Diamond Head and ocean views, de ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Amazing Diamond Head and ocean views, delicious entrees and dessert, very romantic atmosphere, excellent spot for a special celebration, excellent value

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We fine dine domestically (Los Angeles, ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We fine dine domestically (Los Angeles, Las Vegas) and internationally (Paris, Italy... Comparing with other French restaurants that we've been to, the foods at La Mer didn't stand out at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Awesome cuisine, great exploration of fl ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Awesome cuisine, great exploration of flavors, the wine pairings were perfect. It was a fantastic experience. La Mer - a precious gem of dinning in Waikiki, Honolulu, Oahu, Hawaii.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

La Mer is a very high class restaurant w ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

La Mer is a very high class restaurant with outstanding food and services. The ocean view was great, especially our table was next to the window. Great place for romantic and special occasions.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I really enjoyed my dinner at La Mer. I ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

I really enjoyed my dinner at La Mer. I was celebrating my 40th birthday. Gorgeous view of the beach, and unbelievable service. I tried the tasting menu because there were so many things on there I hadn't tried before. Fois gras was excellent: smooth buttery texture served with beets. I hate beets, but they were prepared so wonderfully , I actually enjoyed them! Also the chocolate ravioli dish was excellent. Never tasted anything like it! If you are celebrating a special occasion in Honolulu, this is the place to go.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

We've been to the French Laundry and oth ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

We've been to the French Laundry and other gourmet restaurants - New York , Las Vegas, Paris- this is among the best. And the setting is second to none. If you're only thirsty it's also great for cocktails.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service. Great views. Great ambi ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

Great service. Great views. Great ambiance. And great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding Service

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

My wife and I were very impressed with the quality service offered at this restaurant. Thank you for a wonderful dinner and the nice surprise desert treats the chef gave us for our anniversary.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wow!!

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

What a wonderful experience. Fine dining with excellent staff and sommelier and a view to die for. Ask to sit by the open doors and feel the sea breeze. Every single detail was super, the cocktails with the roses, the fabulous menu, the special dessert , and the bag of house made candy beautifully wrapped and bagged to return home with. All four of us had classic french dishes, beautifully prepared. The wine list was extensive and the sommelier very helpful and knowledgeable. A real treat...you will need to save up for this worthwhile experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Probably, the best restaurant on the island

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

The food, service, ambiance and outstanding ocean views are not to be missed!

Tags: fit for foodies, romance, special occasions, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

What an absolute delight. I organised di ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

What an absolute delight. I organised dinner at this lovely restaurant for my husband's 60th. Service and food was outstanding, nothing was too much trouble.

I was trying to organise a surprise cake and the service I received via email was exception, they even suggested a cake would be too much just for the 2 of us, so had a special desert organised instead.

I especially enjoyed the lamb and for desert you can't go past the soufflé.

You don't see old fashioned service like this much these days, they were superb. Highly recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderfully romantic spot to celebrate 31st anniv.

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on April 28, 2016

What a wonderful meal to celebrate our anniversary! We had an ocean view table and were able to watch the sunset before starting on the tasting menu/wine paring. All the staff were friendly and knowledgeable and the food was fantastic. The final dessert was so beautiful, I "almost" did not want to eat it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Perfect dinner to celebrate birthday

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on April 25, 2016

We were there to celebrate a birthday and had 4-course menu. All plates were so beautifully prepared and served. The taste was beyond expectation!! We got to try some of the new menu items (foie gras and scallop). One of the best I have ever had!! The atmosphere is so romantic and the service was impeccable as always. The best place for a special dinner in Hawaii!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome Dinner Experience!

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

The Service was impeccable, the Food was Worthy of the price, the Chaine should be viewing This Restaurant.... Delighted to say this was our Best experience on Oahu to date! Will return for sure!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Gourmet dining

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

Had an absolutely terrific evening. The restaurant, staff and food were 5 star in every aspect.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Revisiting La Mer

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 14, 2016

It has been 30 years since we have had an opportunity to dine at La Mer while vacationing on Oahu. La Mer is such a special dining experience. From the minute you walk in until the time you leave you are treated with such kind, caring and attentive service. The food is inventive, more than delicious and presented artistically. Most of the staff have worked at La Mer for at least 20 years. Speaks volumes about how employees are treated as well. Lovely, lovely dinner overlooking the beach and ocean. A night to remember!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place, terrible food

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 13, 2016

Really like this place, been here many times but this time the menu, food, were awful. Odd

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

Food was so yummy, and the service was a ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 11, 2016

Food was so yummy, and the service was amazing! Can't wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Perhaps I am not a fan of deconstructed food.

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on April 8, 2016

The restaurant it self is very very nice. Location outstanding. Service impeccable.

But, I expected much more of a wow factor on the food. If the price of the meal was more in the realm of "making sense" I would not hold them to such a high standard, but when the tab is $150 a person before drinks the main memorable factors ought not to be the peculiarity of chorizo foam, or the question of how chorizo foam adds anything you want.

We had a total of eight different dishes. A couple were good, a couple just OK, and at least two were borderline mistakes. The beautiful presentation did not make up for the oddball aspects of the food. Overall, the experience was one of less than pleasing textures and a bland essence.

Perhaps the oddest part of the meal was the jasmine cake. We thought maybe they had brought out something else, but the cake itself was crumbled into less than bite size bits that were more like left overs than dessert, with something else green that looked a bit like seaweed.

It was in essence the Emperor's New clothes of the fine dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Like No Other

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

The amuse bouche was the most notable item of the evening. A bright, refreshing panna cotta with an asparagus cream sauce that I can't stop thinking about days later. The foie gras appetizer and the delicate fish entrée were a bit complicated with one too many sauces. Desserts were to die for. Best, ever, chocolate mousse like none other I've had in my lifetime. Sommelier wine recommendation was spot on. Service was impeccable without being overbearing. And with the moonlit sky and ocean waves lapping on the shore below, it just doesn't get any better.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Special evening

 
 (Yorkshire)
·Dined on March 24, 2016

We started by having cocktails at the bar before dinner great service and really good fun.

We had the tasting menu every course was excellent.

It was a very special and memorable evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Pricey

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

This restaurant is a great for location location location in respect to proximity in Waikiki but the price was way to high for what was not a lot of food. I know these type of places is designed for great chef cuisine and ambience(romantic or other wise) setting but it took too long. It was the good the chef came out afterwards to meet the guests. Getting the menu took to long in between receiving the menu and ordering. Not sure why it took 3 waiters to serve the meal and why after finishing it takes another 15 minutes to get the check. Again I know it is not designed to be in a hurry type location but lets get after it already.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value1

Outstanding Service, Food not so much....

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on March 10, 2016

Beautiful view, restaurant, and service! But the food....yikes! Spent a little over $400 and left hungry and disappointed. Party of 6, with 5 of 6 guests feeling the same. Mostly it was about texture and taste, the presentation was beautiful.

Lobster Bisque was a mass of gelantinous lobster ( think panna cotta) in a brown broth, not really what you image when thinking lobster bisque. The flavor was smokey, strong broth.

One guest had the chicken entrée ( more gelantinous mass), one the Ravioli with 7 small ravioli only ( not much of an entrée), the snapper entrée was the only one the group liked and while it was delicious it was sparse in portions. We filled up mostly on bread ( offered frequently) the French baguettes and slated butter from Normandy was a hit.

Dessert was a mixed bag too...thumbs up on the vanilla soufflé with sauces, all others were a disappointment . Wine list was nice and we enjoyed two bottles of nice Cabernet.

Would not go again, the food does not match the service or location unfortunately.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value1

Probably the best in Honolulu

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on February 29, 2016

Everything about Le Mer is elegant and tasteful: from the venue to the service and of course the magnificent food. Sunset time is special as you sip champagne and indulge in a very pampered and special experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The ambiance was fantastic, the food was ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

The ambiance was fantastic, the food was delectable and the portions were just right. The wine list was also extensive. This is a 5 star restaurant in every category.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lives up to its outstanding reputation!

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

Lived in HI most of my life and have always heard of this outstanding restaurant, so visited for the first time. The tasting menu with the wine pairings were memorable and well suited for a very special occasion. Comparable to the finest kitchens of Europe, NY and CA. Solid French technique with subtle international & regional accents. The wine pairing was nicely done, though the spectrum bent toward the sweet side...probably to accommodate the local palate.

Would love to return to explore more of the menu and wine list.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Finest most elegant dining experience on Waikiki!

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on February 25, 2016

The ambience is impeccable. Sophisticated atmosphere framed in woods, dramatic with pale colors, vibrant contrasting floral arrangements, dim lighting with choice of open-air seaside dining under the palm trees overlooking the ocean or down the beach with Diamond Head in the distance. This restaurants exudes traditional Hawaiian elegance, class and charm from the old world style. The food selections, preparations, presentation and service by devoted professionals is like none other. Absolutely a must for the discerning few that enjoy the diminishing fine dining establishments in today's modern world. Thank you Halekulani for preserving this dining jewel.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our dinner at La Mer was an extraordinar ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on February 25, 2016

Our dinner at La Mer was an extraordinary experience. The Halekulani is known for its service and that was clearly demonstrated at La Mer. I cannot say enough positive things about our experience. Yes, it is a special occasion restaurant for me but one worth every dollar. Our table overlooked the evening's live music and hula show, the wait staff are extraordinary, and the food is delicious. They have all of the finishing touches that some might expect but they were all a pleasant and well thought through bonus for us. A truly memorable evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best meal we had in Honolulu but be prep ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on February 24, 2016

Best meal we had in Honolulu but be prepared to shell out the dough. Service was excellent. Food was so yummy. I'm still dreaming about it. I had the Lobster bisque, Duck for the entree and the chocolate mousse. The view was breath taking. Go, you won't be disappointed!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Unique ambiance sitting up high looking ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on February 18, 2016

Unique ambiance sitting up high looking out to the calm ocean water all night drinking a Margarita. Whilst enjoying every mouthful of the degustation menu. The waiters were superb. The chef one of the best! Thank you for the candle in my husband's dessert it was a nice finishing touch to a special birthday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

That's too bad

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on February 18, 2016

Sea did not come true to have been booked in advance a seat overlooking. Accounting also took time, became a miserable mood. I do not think to go anymore.

Tags: scenic view
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Finest dining in Honolulu

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Always exceptional from the service to the food to the ambience. Definition of first class. Our favorite fine dining restaurant in Honolulu.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best in Honolulu

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

In my mind, by far the best fine dinning in Honolulu, from the service to the food to the location it is all a 5 star experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service food everything was Michelin qua ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on February 6, 2016

Service food everything was Michelin quality!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on February 5, 2016

From service, food to "purse perch" fabulous memorable dining experience !😊

Tags: special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.