About La Mer at Halekulani

2199 Kalia Road
Honolulu, HI 96815
View Larger Map

La Mer is far more than a restaurant, it’s a degustation destination. Celebrated as Halekulani’s finest and Hawaii's longest, consecutively ranked AAA Five Diamond Restaurant, this consummate dining experience is unmatched. The internationally acclaimed menu features Neoclassic French cuisine expertly crafted and served amid majestic and romantic ocean views of Waikiki Beach and Diamond Head. Indigenous ingredients are uniquely blended in masterful dishes inspired by flavors from the south of France to produce an unsurpassed dining experience. An award-winning wine list is available to complement the perfect dining experience. Jacket or long sleeve dress shirt, slacks and dress shoes are required for men. As an elegant fine dining restaurant, La Mer restricts patrons to adults and children 8 years or older.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:30pm - 9:300pm

Cross Street:
Lewers Street

Dress Code:
Jacket Preferred

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 923-2311

Website:
http://www.halekulani.com/dining/la_mer/

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet and self parking is available.

Executive Chef:
Alexandre Trancher

Private Party Facilities:
Salon La Mer comfortably seats up to 16 guests and offers a tranquil private lanai for that pre dinner cocktail.


Salon du Vin entertains up to 22 guests and may open up to an elegantly appointed living room to indulge in a La Mer specialty cocktail

Private Party Contact:
Dining Reservations: (808) 923-2311

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

La Mer at Halekulani Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.9

ambience

4.8

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (25)
Scenic View (25)
Special Occasion (24)
See All
Romantic (24)
Waterfront (23)
Good for a Date (21)
Quiet Conversation (21)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Tasting Menu (16)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Notable Wine List (13)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Authentic (11)
Cozy (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Local Ingredients (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Historic (5)
Healthy (5)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Seasonal (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Business Meals (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Private Room (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Fun (2)
Live Music (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Organic (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
870 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Hard to find a better setting any place ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 6 days ago

Hard to find a better setting any place in the world. We enjoyed pre-dinner drinks at the bar extraordinary. For dinnet seated in the southeast corner with views of Diamond Head, the Pacific Ocean, and sunset in the west. Open floor to ceiling shutters allowed unobstructed views. Our little perch on the Pacific.

Tags: Special Occasion, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our first time at La Mer. It wa ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 13, 2017

This was our first time at La Mer. It was fabulous! We started out the evening at their bar. The bar tender Henry was fantastic. He was very knowledgeable and made each of our drinks special. I've never been anywhere that paid so much attention to detail. Our waiter Tom for dinner was just as wonderful. He knew the menu and the wine and made wonderful suggestions. The food was exquisite. I especially loved the poached lobster and the vanilla soufflé for dessert. It was definitely an evening to remember. We'll be back the next time we visit the island.

Tags: Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing - great fish and looking lobster ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Amazing - great fish and looking lobster gnocchi.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing experience! This is by far the ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Amazing experience! This is by far the best restaurant in Hawsii!

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Fun, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfection on the Beach. Very surprisin ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Perfection on the Beach. Very surprising to find world class food in tacky Honolulu. Very French cooking. Try the foil gras. As good as anywhere. Both the duck and veal were perfect.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Superb restaurant experience one of our ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Superb restaurant experience one of our best

service drinks food all great, naturally so was the price!...but well worth it

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Absolutely fantastic. Cannot recommend e ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Absolutely fantastic. Cannot recommend enough. Wonderful food, ambience, service, and wine list.

Tags: Waterfront, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Gorgeous view, great service, and romant ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Gorgeous view, great service, and romantic mood. If you are seated near the windows to the House without a Key, you may be able to watch the performances taking place at the House without a Key. The food is prepared well, and since this is a French restaurant, dishes are more classic than astonishingly creative.

Tags: Good for a Date, Waterfront, Live Music, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent romantic dining experience! We ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Excellent romantic dining experience! We'd never had French cuisine, so it was an adventure. Each course was intricately planned and perfectly executed. The wine pairings really added to each course and we enjoyed having the slow pacing to discuss and truly enjoy the food without rush. The tasting menu took over 3 hours with coffee and was such a special treat. Staff was very knowledgeable and took time to explain all of the elements of each course and how it was best enjoyed. We probably won't go back due to cost, but highly recommended as a special treat you must experience once!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Asked for a nice ocean view table during ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Asked for a nice ocean view table during reservation. Went to the restaurant the next day to make sure to get one. Talked to the reservation desk and was told that will get one. Went for the dinner and never got anything even close to the ocean view.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

I took my husband to La Mer to celebrate ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 26, 2017

I took my husband to La Mer to celebrate his Birthday. I chose this restaurant as it had the highest rating on Zagat for a Waikiki restaurant. It lived up to the reviews. It was fabulous! The setting was amazing - a table overlooking the ocean, the food and presentation exquisite, and the service superb!

Tags: Waterfront, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

La Mer was absolutely delicious. Exceed ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 24, 2017

La Mer was absolutely delicious. Exceed my already high expectations. The food and the staff were exceptional.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

superb cuisine, ambience, wines and serv ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 23, 2017

superb cuisine, ambience, wines and service

absolutely world class Michelin three star experience.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Modern Decor, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Terrific food, service & ambiance! Wine ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Terrific food, service & ambiance!

Wine selection could be more balanced with more selections under 100.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best dining experience I have had. Unbel ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Best dining experience I have had. Unbelievable service and amazing food.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great as usual. Fine food. Great wine. E ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Great as usual. Fine food. Great wine. Expert, attentive service. The atmosphere sets this dining experience beyond ALL competitors BAR NONE!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Historic, Good for Groups, Authentic, Healthy, Seasonal, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything presented in La Mer is excell ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Everything presented in La Mer is excellent! The wait staff are friendly and professional. The food items are delivered with perfection and in good timing.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent place for our 27th anniversary ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Excellent place for our 27th anniversary. It is definitely a keeper for us in the future.

Tags: Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant has everything going for ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 15, 2017

This restaurant has everything going for it except the food. The menu gives you the impression they know French quisine , but the food, with the exception of the foie gras , was disappointing and nowhere close to the price they think it is worth.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

Well worth dining here. Beautiful ambien ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Well worth dining here. Beautiful ambience to match excellent degustation menu with superb service.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Waterfront, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first visit to Le Mer. From ...

 
 (Melbourne / VIC)·Dined on January 15, 2017

This was our first visit to Le Mer.

From the moment we arrived Le Mer restaurant surpassed our expectations.

Fine dining at it's best.

We had a wonderful night and will definitely make a return visit when we are next in Waikiki.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

素晴らしい接客と美味しい料理で英語が得意じゃなくても全く困らず素敵なハネムーンの ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 14, 2017

素晴らしい接客と美味しい料理で英語が得意じゃなくても全く困らず素敵なハネムーンのディナーになりました。

次回のハワイ旅行でも行きたいお店です。

Tags: Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was ok but not fantastic.

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 9, 2017

The food was ok but not fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

I took my bf here for a date. It was a g ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 7, 2017

I took my bf here for a date. It was a great experience and the food was phenomenal. We sat right next to the ocean. Its pricey but worth it and the staff makes it very personal for you

Tags: Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Fun, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for a Date, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

La Mer provides the finest French dining ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 29, 2016

La Mer provides the finest French dining on the island (and likely the state), with service, style, and wine to match. It rivals the best restaurants worldwide, and the degustation menu is not to be missed. (Come hungry, though!)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

The food was good, up until the desserts ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 28, 2016

The food was good, up until the desserts, but I actually think it was the wine paring that ruined it for me. Next time I think I'll just select my own wine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

This place is very expensive and we expe ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 27, 2016

This place is very expensive and we expected it to be the best. The food was very good but not outstanding. While the view is fantastic the restaurant is very outdated and was half empty. Service was very attentive though and that helped a lot. The menu is either a tasting menu or a very limited ala carte menu. I just think there is better food in Honolulu at slightly lower prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Amazing service and wonderful food. Love ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Amazing service and wonderful food. Loved our dining experience at La Mer celebrating Christmas Eve.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic, inventive food and very helpf ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Fantastic, inventive food and very helpful, attentive and friendly service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous food, very friendly staff, they ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Fabulous food, very friendly staff, they placed us in front of a window in which we watch the sunset while eating 5 star dinner with wine comparison, would go back without a doubt. All the staff was very professional and superb.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was impeccable. Food outstandin ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Service was impeccable. Food outstanding! Very romantic atmosphere. Great for a special celebration.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Molecular Gastronomy, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Superb food and impeccable service. This ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Superb food and impeccable service. This the most memorable meal of our stay in Waikiki

Tags: Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Once again La Mer did not fail! This ha ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Once again La Mer did not fail! This has to be Chef Trancher's best menu so far. Everyone had the scallop appetizer based on the recommendation of Alex, our waiter. This was delicious or as us locals say "ono"--a must have. The filet mignon w/foie gras may appear to be a morsel but the dish was filling.

La Mer has been our go to holiday dinner restaurant and the exceptional service is what brings us back annually. I have tried to change the venue only to have everyone outvote me. Once again, thank you to the La Mer staff--you deserve those 5*. Special shout out to Alex, Cliff & Scott (our waiters for the evening) and Alvin who graciously and patiently is our photographer at the end of the evening.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Came here for my husband's birthday. Goo ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Came here for my husband's birthday. Good for special occasion. Very pricey. Would have liked it better had it not been pre-fixed 3 or 4 course meal option- tends to be too much food. Would prefer to order a la carte.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

ハネムーンで奮発して行きました。食事、サービス、雰囲気全てに満足でした。 味付け ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 1, 2016

ハネムーンで奮発して行きました。食事、サービス、雰囲気全てに満足でした。

味付けも濃すぎず、ハワイの濃くてボリューミーな感じはなくとても上品でした。

また、サービスも丁寧で最後にお土産まで下さり至れり尽くせりでした。

値段相応かもしくはそれ以上に良かったです。

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was excellent. The staff wer ...

 
 (Melbourne / VIC)·Dined on November 28, 2016

The service was excellent. The staff were friendly, although I don't really like having 5 different. I'm going to go out on a limb and say that some of the dishes were confusing. Too many different flavours in each dish. Second time I have been and I felt the same before.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

La Mer has always been my all-time favor ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 27, 2016

La Mer has always been my all-time favorite dining experience. I have never found another restaurant that performed at the same level of excellence. The other night, I introduced my favorite restaurant to my significant other. I was nervous and anxious to hear his opinion. The staff of Le Mer, as expected, did not disappoint. We were moved to a table with an excellent romantic view. Their excellent customer service was perfectly on point. The food was spectacular!!! My significant other was overwhelmed with his experience at Le Mer. Needless to say... we will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

First time in Hawaii for my wife and I c ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on November 23, 2016

First time in Hawaii for my wife and I celebrating our 10 year anniversary and decided to reserve at La Mer to celebrate while we were here

What an awesome experience (food, service and location)

The staff was very accommodating to let us have a table with an ocean front view which was breathtaking

We asked the waitress to let the chef select our food and had one of the best dinners ever !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Super experience!! Wonderful food and a ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Super experience!! Wonderful food and ambiance! Excellent management and presentation!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We enjoyed the delicious dinner at LA Me ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We enjoyed the delicious dinner at LA Mer whilst staying at The Halekulani hotel .. well crafted French dishes classic with some variations .. well executed .. we had a lovely night in beautiful surroundings quiet and elegant atmosphere and with good staff

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.