About La Mer at Halekulani

2199 Kalia Road
Honolulu, HI 96815
View Larger Map

La Mer is far more than a restaurant, it’s a degustation destination. Celebrated as Halekulani’s finest and Hawaii's longest, consecutively ranked AAA Five Diamond Restaurant, this consummate dining experience is unmatched. The internationally acclaimed menu features Neoclassic French cuisine expertly crafted and served amid majestic and romantic ocean views of Waikiki Beach and Diamond Head. Indigenous ingredients are uniquely blended in masterful dishes inspired by flavors from the south of France to produce an unsurpassed dining experience. An award-winning wine list is available to complement the perfect dining experience. Jacket or long sleeve dress shirt, slacks and dress shoes are required for men. As an elegant fine dining restaurant, La Mer restricts patrons to adults and children 8 years or older.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:30pm - 9:300pm

Cross Street:
Lewers Street

Dress Code:
Jacket Preferred

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 923-2311

Website:
http://www.halekulani.com/dining/la_mer/

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet and self parking is available.

Executive Chef:
Alexandre Trancher

Private Party Facilities:
Salon La Mer comfortably seats up to 16 guests and offers a tranquil private lanai for that pre dinner cocktail.


Salon du Vin entertains up to 22 guests and may open up to an elegantly appointed living room to indulge in a La Mer specialty cocktail

Private Party Contact:
Dining Reservations: (808) 923-2311

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Sea Bass Carpaccio - La Mer at Halekulani, Honolulu, HI
Chocolate Souffle - La Mer at Halekulani, Honolulu, HI
Warm Foie Gras with Passion Fruit - La Mer at Halekulani, Honolulu, HI
Crab and Fennel Bavarois - La Mer at Halekulani, Honolulu, HI
Veal - La Mer at Halekulani, Honolulu, HI
Quail - La Mer at Halekulani, Honolulu, HI
Seared Foie Gras - La Mer at Halekulani, Honolulu, HI
Lobster Jelly - La Mer at Halekulani, Honolulu, HI
Crab Cakes - La Mer at Halekulani, Honolulu, HI
Lobster Meddalions And Lobster Bisque - La Mer at Halekulani, Honolulu, HI
Caramel Popcorn And Chocolate Ice Cream - La Mer at Halekulani, Honolulu, HI
Truffle Chocolate With Strawberries - La Mer at Halekulani, Honolulu, HI
Red Snapper - La Mer at Halekulani, Honolulu, HI

La Mer at Halekulani Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.8

ambience

4.9

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (26)
Scenic View (23)
Romantic (22)
See All
Special Occasion (21)
Quiet Conversation (19)
Good for a Date (17)
Waterfront (17)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Tasting Menu (10)
Notable Wine List (9)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Cozy (7)
Authentic (6)
Worth the Drive (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Historic (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Private Room (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Live Music (1)
Healthy (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Seasonal (1)
Business Meals (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Fun (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Sort By:
S
854 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Best dining experience I have had. Unbel ...

 
·Dined 2 days ago

Best dining experience I have had. Unbelievable service and amazing food.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything presented in La Mer is excell ...

 
·Dined on January 16, 2017

Everything presented in La Mer is excellent! The wait staff are friendly and professional. The food items are delivered with perfection and in good timing.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent place for our 27th anniversary ...

 
·Dined on January 16, 2017

Excellent place for our 27th anniversary. It is definitely a keeper for us in the future.

Tags: Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant has everything going for ...

 
·Dined on January 15, 2017

This restaurant has everything going for it except the food. The menu gives you the impression they know French quisine , but the food, with the exception of the foie gras , was disappointing and nowhere close to the price they think it is worth.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

Well worth dining here. Beautiful ambien ...

 
·Dined on January 15, 2017

Well worth dining here. Beautiful ambience to match excellent degustation menu with superb service.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Waterfront, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first visit to Le Mer. From ...

 
·Dined on January 15, 2017

This was our first visit to Le Mer.

From the moment we arrived Le Mer restaurant surpassed our expectations.

Fine dining at it's best.

We had a wonderful night and will definitely make a return visit when we are next in Waikiki.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

素晴らしい接客と美味しい料理で英語が得意じゃなくても全く困らず素敵なハネムーンの ...

 
·Dined on January 14, 2017

素晴らしい接客と美味しい料理で英語が得意じゃなくても全く困らず素敵なハネムーンのディナーになりました。

次回のハワイ旅行でも行きたいお店です。

Tags: Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was ok but not fantastic.

 
·Dined on January 9, 2017

The food was ok but not fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

I took my bf here for a date. It was a g ...

 
·Dined on January 7, 2017

I took my bf here for a date. It was a great experience and the food was phenomenal. We sat right next to the ocean. Its pricey but worth it and the staff makes it very personal for you

Tags: Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Fun, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for a Date, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

La Mer provides the finest French dining ...

 
·Dined on December 29, 2016

La Mer provides the finest French dining on the island (and likely the state), with service, style, and wine to match. It rivals the best restaurants worldwide, and the degustation menu is not to be missed. (Come hungry, though!)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

The food was good, up until the desserts ...

 
·Dined on December 28, 2016

The food was good, up until the desserts, but I actually think it was the wine paring that ruined it for me. Next time I think I'll just select my own wine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

This place is very expensive and we expe ...

 
·Dined on December 27, 2016

This place is very expensive and we expected it to be the best. The food was very good but not outstanding. While the view is fantastic the restaurant is very outdated and was half empty. Service was very attentive though and that helped a lot. The menu is either a tasting menu or a very limited ala carte menu. I just think there is better food in Honolulu at slightly lower prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Amazing service and wonderful food. Love ...

 
·Dined on December 25, 2016

Amazing service and wonderful food. Loved our dining experience at La Mer celebrating Christmas Eve.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic, inventive food and very helpf ...

 
·Dined on December 20, 2016

Fantastic, inventive food and very helpful, attentive and friendly service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous food, very friendly staff, they ...

 
·Dined on December 18, 2016

Fabulous food, very friendly staff, they placed us in front of a window in which we watch the sunset while eating 5 star dinner with wine comparison, would go back without a doubt. All the staff was very professional and superb.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was impeccable. Food outstandin ...

 
·Dined on December 17, 2016

Service was impeccable. Food outstanding! Very romantic atmosphere. Great for a special celebration.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Molecular Gastronomy, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Superb food and impeccable service. This ...

 
·Dined on December 8, 2016

Superb food and impeccable service. This the most memorable meal of our stay in Waikiki

Tags: Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Once again La Mer did not fail! This ha ...

 
·Dined on December 7, 2016

Once again La Mer did not fail! This has to be Chef Trancher's best menu so far. Everyone had the scallop appetizer based on the recommendation of Alex, our waiter. This was delicious or as us locals say "ono"--a must have. The filet mignon w/foie gras may appear to be a morsel but the dish was filling.

La Mer has been our go to holiday dinner restaurant and the exceptional service is what brings us back annually. I have tried to change the venue only to have everyone outvote me. Once again, thank you to the La Mer staff--you deserve those 5*. Special shout out to Alex, Cliff & Scott (our waiters for the evening) and Alvin who graciously and patiently is our photographer at the end of the evening.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Came here for my husband's birthday. Goo ...

 
·Dined on December 2, 2016

Came here for my husband's birthday. Good for special occasion. Very pricey. Would have liked it better had it not been pre-fixed 3 or 4 course meal option- tends to be too much food. Would prefer to order a la carte.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

ハネムーンで奮発して行きました。食事、サービス、雰囲気全てに満足でした。 味付け ...

 
·Dined on December 1, 2016

ハネムーンで奮発して行きました。食事、サービス、雰囲気全てに満足でした。

味付けも濃すぎず、ハワイの濃くてボリューミーな感じはなくとても上品でした。

また、サービスも丁寧で最後にお土産まで下さり至れり尽くせりでした。

値段相応かもしくはそれ以上に良かったです。

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was excellent. The staff wer ...

 
·Dined on November 28, 2016

The service was excellent. The staff were friendly, although I don't really like having 5 different. I'm going to go out on a limb and say that some of the dishes were confusing. Too many different flavours in each dish. Second time I have been and I felt the same before.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

La Mer has always been my all-time favor ...

 
·Dined on November 27, 2016

La Mer has always been my all-time favorite dining experience. I have never found another restaurant that performed at the same level of excellence. The other night, I introduced my favorite restaurant to my significant other. I was nervous and anxious to hear his opinion. The staff of Le Mer, as expected, did not disappoint. We were moved to a table with an excellent romantic view. Their excellent customer service was perfectly on point. The food was spectacular!!! My significant other was overwhelmed with his experience at Le Mer. Needless to say... we will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

First time in Hawaii for my wife and I c ...

 
·Dined on November 23, 2016

First time in Hawaii for my wife and I celebrating our 10 year anniversary and decided to reserve at La Mer to celebrate while we were here

What an awesome experience (food, service and location)

The staff was very accommodating to let us have a table with an ocean front view which was breathtaking

We asked the waitress to let the chef select our food and had one of the best dinners ever !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Super experience!! Wonderful food and a ...

 
·Dined on November 22, 2016

Super experience!! Wonderful food and ambiance! Excellent management and presentation!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We enjoyed the delicious dinner at LA Me ...

 
·Dined on November 19, 2016

We enjoyed the delicious dinner at LA Mer whilst staying at The Halekulani hotel .. well crafted French dishes classic with some variations .. well executed .. we had a lovely night in beautiful surroundings quiet and elegant atmosphere and with good staff

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

A reserved dining experience not to be c ...

 
·Dined on November 14, 2016

A reserved dining experience not to be confused with a casual night out. The luxurious setting is complimented perfectly with a thoughtful staff who made every attempt to accommodate our needs... including a convenient "wallet/purse stool" next to our chairs

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tasty dishes,splendid atmosphere,service ...

 
·Dined on November 12, 2016

Tasty dishes,splendid atmosphere,service,

Everything is perfect.

I'd love to go again.

Tags: Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Scenic View, Tasting Menu, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

La Mer at Halekulani is our absolute fav ...

 
·Dined on November 6, 2016

La Mer at Halekulani is our absolute favorite restaurant in Waikiki! We wouldn't miss enjoying a lovely meal there when we're in town. It's where we had our wedding reception several years ago!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anniversary dinner every year. New menu, ...

 
·Dined on November 5, 2016

Anniversary dinner every year. New menu, great food, great service and beautiful view.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent meal. Superb service. Elegan ...

 
·Dined on November 5, 2016

Excellent meal. Superb service. Elegant ambience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went to La Mer to celebrate a birthda ...

 
·Dined on November 3, 2016

We went to La Mer to celebrate a birthday and were extremely disappointed with the quality of the food. The lobster was over cooked and tough, so much so that it was inedible.

The service was impeccable, but the lighting in the restaurant was too low to allow for reading the menu without a pen light.

After all of the build up of the chef from Tour d'Argent being the new culinary genius at La Mer, we had high expectations and were significantly disappointed.

I don't mind paying top dollar for a meal but my expectation is if top dollar is to be charged the meal should exceed expectations and it failed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

We celebrated our 20th wedding anniversa ...

 
·Dined on November 3, 2016

We celebrated our 20th wedding anniversary at La Mer at Halekulani & it was a great choice for the magnificent food, ambiance & service. Delighted we chose it!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Historic, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Waterfront, Sunday Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chief tasting menu & premium wine pairi ...

 
·Dined on November 1, 2016

Chief tasting menu & premium wine pairing fantastic. Our waiter Mark, top notch with exquisite demeanor, masterful food & wine knowledge.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

La Mer is an outstanding restaurant all ...

 
·Dined on October 30, 2016

La Mer is an outstanding restaurant all around! Due to the expense, for most people, it would be best reserved for special occasions. However, you can count on it to make it a truly special evening.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Live Music, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I travel all over the world, and I have ...

 
·Dined on October 30, 2016

I travel all over the world, and I have to say that our night at La Mer was one of the best dining experiences we have ever had! The food was amazing, but the service and attention we received were over the top.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We ate a La Mer for our anniversary whic ...

 
·Dined on October 23, 2016

We ate a La Mer for our anniversary which was sadly postponed due to my mom passing away. I had to reschedule to a later date which they had evidently noted in the computer. They seated us at the table I requested to have a spectacular view of Diamondhead at sunset. The waiter made the most beautiful touching gesture of bringing a 3rd glass of (not inexpensive) champagne "for my mom" as my husband and I toasted the sunset. It was a very thoughtful and healing gesture and to me went well beyond Aloha. The food is excellent. The service is excellent and we had a lovely evening. This is uniquely fine dining in Waikiki. They have earned my business for as many times as we travel to Waikiki in the future. Thank you La Mer.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perhaps our 17th visit or more over the ...

 
·Dined on October 16, 2016

Perhaps our 17th visit or more over the past 20+ years. It still wins all areas of ambience and classic service at a pace you can truly enjoy. Cocktails and aperitif is always a perfect start. The menu over the years does change. I wish I could manage the 10 course degustation menu with wine pairings but having tried once - better starve for a day or 2 first. I admit I miss their whole salt-crusted local fish. The lamb dish was flavorful and perfect sizing for me but small by "over-eaters-anonymous " desires. Of course we plan to return next anniversary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding dining experience exceeded e ...

 
·Dined on October 12, 2016

Outstanding dining experience exceeded expectations, well worth the price

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent, will return

 
·Dined on October 6, 2016

Excellent, will return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful view and beautiful food. Wait ...

 
·Dined on September 24, 2016

Beautiful view and beautiful food. Wait staff was over the top wonderful!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.