About La Mer at Halekulani

La Mer is far more than a restaurant, it’s a degustation destination. Celebrated as Halekulani’s finest and Hawaii's longest, consecutively ranked AAA Five Diamond Restaurant, this consummate dining experience is unmatched. The internationally acclaimed menu features Neoclassic French cuisine expertly crafted and served amid majestic and romantic ocean views of Waikiki Beach and Diamond Head. Indigenous ingredients are uniquely blended in masterful dishes inspired by flavors from the south of France to produce an unsurpassed dining experience. An award-winning wine list is available to complement the perfect dining experience. Jacket or long sleeve dress shirt, slacks and dress shoes are required for men. As an elegant fine dining restaurant, La Mer restricts patrons to adults and children 8 years or older.

Dress Attire
We request elegant evening attire for women. Dinner jackets or dress shirts, dress slacks and shoes for gentlemen.

2199 Kalia Road
Honolulu, HI 96815
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:30pm - 9:300pm

Cross Street:
Lewers Street

Dress Code:
Jacket Preferred

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 923-2311

Website:
http://www.halekulani.com/dining/la_mer/

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet and self parking is available.

Executive Chef:
Alexandre Trancher

Private Party Facilities:
Salon La Mer comfortably seats up to 16 guests and offers a tranquil private lanai for that pre dinner cocktail.


Salon du Vin entertains up to 22 guests and may open up to an elegantly appointed living room to indulge in a La Mer specialty cocktail

Private Party Contact:
Dining Reservations: (808) 923-2311

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Thu 5:30PM - 5:30PM

La Mer at Halekulani Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.9

ambience

4.9

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (39)
Special Occasion (34)
Romantic (34)
See All
Scenic View (30)
Good for Birthdays (29)
Waterfront (28)
Tasting Menu (24)
Quiet Conversation (23)
Creative Cuisine (23)
Good for a Date (21)
Notable Wine List (20)
Fit for Foodies (19)
Great for Outdoor Dining (15)
Worth the Drive (11)
Local Ingredients (10)
Authentic (10)
Cozy (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Business Meals (7)
Historic (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Seasonal (3)
Fun (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Healthy (2)
Organic (2)
People Watching (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Modern Decor (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Private Room (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Vegan (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Live Music (1)
Sort By:
S
926 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 2 days ago

Great! Could not have been better,

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Live Music, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 7 days ago

Not very happy with our experience at La Mer this year. We have dined here every time we are in Hawaii. It has always been an outstanding evening that we looked forward to, but the food was not up to their standard this year. The steak had to be returned as it was too chewy, the squab was tough and almost uneatable. The other entree was lamb which was perfection. The shrimp appetizer was not very good as mentioned by others at our table. Overall, the food was terribly disappointing. We celebrated our son's birthday and in the past a complimentary glass of champagne always greeted us upon arrival...not so this year.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Absolutely excellent, La Mer was so good that we came back for the second time on our
last night in Hawaii. During our vacation om the Islands, our only disappointment was
that the food was fair to good at best. At La Mer, every plate was expertly prepared with
the quality and taste meeting or surpassing the presentation. This is a "not to be missed"
restaurant.

Tags: Authentic, Scenic View, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Began the evening listening to Hawaiian Music and then proceeded to dinner. Service was excellent, and each course was delicious. Our guests were not only impressed with the food, wine, service, but the view of Diamond Head, the ocean, and Waikiki added a special touch to the evening.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Best you could get ! My favorite perio

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Beautiful in every way!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Excellent place for special occasion, my family really enjoy it. Will come back again! Thanks.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Quality place. Worth the money. Have been multiple times. Great food and wait staff very professional. Will go back

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Waterfront, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Outstanding - Lawrence was a fantastic waiter! The food was very good and the ambiance was wonderful. We'll be back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Excellent French inspired cuisine. Lovely wine service and inspired service.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Wonderful setting and ambiance. Food was underwhelming for this level of establishment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Have been enjoying this restaurant and spectacular ocean view since 1986, highly recommended dining in world class Halekulani Hotel.

Tags: Organic, Tasting Menu, Vegan, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Just a perfect evening. Great table overlooking Diamond Head and garden with music drifting in on the slight breeze. Met at the door with a caring staff that anticipated our needs. Excellent overview of menu options and details to answer questions. Helped with selections and wine pairings. Food was expertly prepared with imaginative insight and well presented.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 9, 2017

We enjoyed anniversary dinner with the chefs tasting menu. Everything was delicious. Service was amazing. The restaurant and setting is beautiful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 8, 2017

There is a reason why this is consistently named one of the best resaurants, the food is incredible and the service impeccable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Overrated. The dishes needed a bit more seasoning. Impeccable service let down by slightly above average food.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Had a wonderful evening at LaMer. I want to come back asap.
First quality service (gentle and reasonably friendly) and best quality foods!
We also enjoyed the wine pairing.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 2, 2017

We have eaten here several times. The ambiance remains stunning in Hawaiian authentic decor. Food is gastronomic. Wine is expensive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 28, 2017

The setting is lovely and the service is excellent. The food was good but not amazing. We enjoyed the flexibility to mix and match our selections for the tasting menu. The wine pairing was fairly pedestrian. The local cheeses were quite good.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Anniversary delight

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Our experience was great! My husband and I celebrated our first anniversary at this restaurant and everything was beautiful--from our table's view of the ocean to the decor to the way the food was prepared. In addition to the incredible location, the service and staff were outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Bit disappointed in this restaurant. Expected it to be top notch, but it was a bit stuffy, wait staff a bit over attentive and restaurant near empty. View was lovely. Prices very high. Lobster bisque was a standout for flavour.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Took the girlfriend here for her birthday. The service and ambiance was truly impeccable and they accommodated my request for a ocean side view seat. The food was delicious; I don't recall the last time I ever had duck that tasted that good. My girlfriend certainly enjoyed the romantic setting.
Of course it was pricey but it's very fancy and on par with many of the other upper scale restaurants. Would definitely take my girlfriend here again.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Impeccable service, wonderful setting, expensive and worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Very attentive service and accommodated several dietary restrictions.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Enjoyed the evening, but VERY expensive. Food a bit fufu for my tastes.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Took my wife for her 30th birthday to La Mer. The staff all greeted us by name and wished her a happy birthday, led us to a great ocean view table. She was ecstatic. Great food, plenty of options, exceptional staff and unbeatable views.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 13, 2017

La Mer is everything you could ask for and more. The service is of the highest standard, staffs' knowledge of dishes and recommended wine pairings exceptional. My husband and I both decided on the four course menu. I can recommend the oysters, scallops and abalone. The deserts were so beautifully presented and taste equal to the presentation. The view and ambience added to a very special night out. Dining at La Mer was truly an amazing experience that I will never forget, and can't wait to return when I visit Hawaii next.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Birthday dinner. Service was outstanding . .. Chip, Scott and Lawrence made the evening memorable. Also never had a stool for my purse tho!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 10, 2017

ホノルル一のレストランというのは本当だと思います。どの料理も味わったことのないような複雑な味付けで大変満足しました。一番品数の少ないコースにグラスワインでチップ込みで350ドルは、ディナーでは決して高くないと思います。接客も決して堅苦しくなく気さくで、とてもくつろいで過ごうことができました。今度訪れる機会があったら、7品のコースに挑戦してみようと思います。ダイヤモンドヘッド側の席だったので、カトレアのプールとハウスウイッズアウトキーのフラのショーも見られて、最高の眺望でした。

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 7, 2017

The dinner on April 6, 2017 was very delicious, it gave me detailed attention and it became a memorable night. All the meals were delicious, but "Raviole de Chocolat Lacte Ananas Dedhydrate", "Emulsion Glacee de Cassis Gelee de Creme Miel et The Vert" was an unforgettable taste and cooking method. I would like to visit you again by all means next year. Thank you for a happy time.

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Dan was our server and he just really looked out for us. I loved this place! Food was fantastic and the view of Diamond Head was beautiful. Such a classic restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Fantastic restaurant in every way

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 22, 2017

La Mer is a classic haute-cuisine French restaurant that gives this dining genre a refreshed and delightful relevance. No doubt it has one of the most beautiful views in Waikiki that amplifies the sense of refined style and romance. The food was wonderfully done with an elegant and thoughtful but not ostentacious presentation. The wonder food and the glorious location is complimented by the smooth and practiced service. Everything was delicious. The baked oyster dish was magical. On the menu that night was a local reef fish called ‘weke’. A small delicate fish deboned and reassembled into the original fish shape. Divine! An impressive wine list but let the sommelier choose for you. Jacket or long-sleeved shirt required for gentlemen. The adjoining bar L'Aperitif bar located inside the restaurant looks elegantly cozy and private. Going back as soon as I can afford it.

Tags: Scenic View, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Very expensive but worth it for a special occasion. Beautiful restaurant and excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Austin)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Exquisite-perfect for a special occasion

Tags: Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 18, 2017

The service was was great. I didn't expect the level of attention that we received. There was an actual vegetarian menu which is a rare find here in a seafood mecca. Romantic, quiet, escorts, waves crashing, and very formal. Definitely a rare treat, it is not cheap, beware of that.

Tags: Waterfront, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value1

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Absolutely superb in every way. One of the best restaurants I've dined in in the United States. Service, food and decor are perfection. Not cheap, but nothing of this quality ever is. Enjoy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Service was disappointing with the stacking and loud crashing of dishes as the table was cleared. Server seemed stressed and rushed. I thought I might be at a diner...

Tags: Bar Seating, Historic, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Excellent food as always, but a bit dead and service slightly more hovering than normal.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Waterfront, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.