About La Mer at Halekulani

La Mer is far more than a restaurant, it’s a degustation destination. Celebrated as Halekulani’s finest and Hawaii's longest, consecutively ranked AAA Five Diamond Restaurant, this consummate dining experience is unmatched. The internationally acclaimed menu features Neoclassic French cuisine expertly crafted and served amid majestic and romantic ocean views of Waikiki Beach and Diamond Head. Indigenous ingredients are uniquely blended in masterful dishes inspired by flavors from the south of France to produce an unsurpassed dining experience. An award-winning wine list is available to complement the perfect dining experience. Jacket or long sleeve dress shirt, slacks and dress shoes are required for men. As an elegant fine dining restaurant, La Mer restricts patrons to adults and children 8 years or older.

Dress Attire
We request elegant evening attire for women. Dinner jackets or dress shirts, dress slacks and shoes for gentlemen.

2199 Kalia Road
Honolulu, HI 96815
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:30pm - 9:300pm

Cross Street:
Lewers Street

Dress Code:
Jacket Preferred

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 923-2311

Website:
http://www.halekulani.com/dining/la_mer/

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet and self parking is available.

Executive Chef:
Alexandre Trancher

Private Party Facilities:
Salon La Mer comfortably seats up to 16 guests and offers a tranquil private lanai for that pre dinner cocktail.


Salon du Vin entertains up to 22 guests and may open up to an elegantly appointed living room to indulge in a La Mer specialty cocktail

Private Party Contact:
Dining Reservations: (808) 923-2311

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Daily 5:30PM - 5:30PM

La Mer at Halekulani Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.9

ambience

4.9

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (38)
Special Occasion (37)
Scenic View (37)
See All
Romantic (32)
Waterfront (30)
Quiet Conversation (25)
Notable Wine List (23)
Creative Cuisine (21)
Good for a Date (21)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Tasting Menu (14)
Cozy (11)
Worth the Drive (11)
Local Ingredients (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Authentic (7)
Business Meals (6)
Hot Spot (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Fun (2)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Organic (1)
Vegan (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Live Music (1)
Good for Groups (1)
People Watching (1)
Historic (0)
Sort By:
S
957 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 6 days ago

Outstanding food and service!!! Very high end! We had a great time!

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Our experience at Le Mer was wonderful and exceeded our expectations. The service was impeccable- we were seated at a table facing the ocean which was cozy, secluded and intimate. We ordered the prix fixed menu with 4 options and found that the portions were generous and it was too much . The food was delicious - in fact everything I ordered was so good that I cannot recommend any one thing in particular ! Le Mer is expensive and worth it !

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 17, 2017

I believe this is one of the top restaurant in waikiki area.
We really enjoyed food and service.
Great +++++

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Love it! Amazing view, amazing food, excellent service! Elegant and classy! I would definitely go back and highly recommend this place. Do expect to spend $$$$.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 15, 2017

This is an expensive, high-end restaurant for a special occasion. Dress up; men wear a jacket. If you are looking for relaxed shorts-and-slippers elegance, save your money and go someplace else. The staff at La Mer respect their profession. Honor them by taking their work seriously and they will repay you a thousandfold.

I enjoyed the new menu which considers the meal as a whole. The old menu was standard a la carte. You first consider how big a meal you want. 7-course (fixed), 4-course, or 3-course. In the latter two cases, you then fill in your preferences.

The venue is elegant and the service is absolutely divine. The three gentleman that served our party of four were exactly on point -- perfect, professional, always appropriate, knowledgeable and never overbearing.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (London)·Dined on July 8, 2017

La Mer lived up to its lofty reputation as one of the top restaurants in Honolulu.
The cuisine was different & delectable,the souffle in particular represented a special treat.
The ambience & breathtaking views over Waikiki beach coupled with the courteous,prompt attention from staff made for a very special dining occasion.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Waterfront, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 8, 2017

This restaurant makes me feel special.
I love the attention to detail and of course the beautifully presented meal overlooking the majesty of Waikiki and diamond head - pure heaven!

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Absolutely amazing experience and good. Cannot recommend enough

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 5, 2017

その日は19時半しか予約できず、窓際が良かったのですが空いておらず、海が見えますが前席の方いる状態の真ん中の席になりました。日本語が少し話せるローレンさんに接客していただき、とても丁寧でラグジュアリーなla merにぴったりの方でした。
料理も美味しく前の席が空いたらすぐに前の席に変えて下さりサービスがとても良かったです。

ただ、1つ残念だったのがお客様の中にTシャツでとてもラフなスタイルの若い日本人のカップルがいらっしゃいました。
うちの主人も軽装はダメという事でしたので靴もシャツまでわざわざ用意して行きました、特別な雰囲気を楽しむのも1つでしたのでなんだ、そんなものかと思ってしまいました。

ローレンさんがオススメしてくださったスフレは絶品です!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Melbourne / VIC)·Dined on July 4, 2017

Meal and dining experience was lovely, until we paid our bill including the waiters tip, then he came back, made a fuss, then stood over us and demanded 3 times the generous tip we had already provided.
His tip was more than my bottle of French Champagne!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Wonderful classy service! Presentation of meal was beautifully done/ food was delicious!

Tags: Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 3, 2017

5 star all the way around. Hard to top for an elegant dining experience on Oahu.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Possibly one of the finest meals I've ever had. Rich sauces and my the soufflé was to die for!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 1, 2017

We at least once per year on anniversary ir her birthday.

Tags: Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Somebody get these guys a star. Service and food were impeccable from beginning to end. Excellent experience. Thank you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 30, 2017

My husband and I came here for our 10 year Anniversary and they treated us like royalty..Amazing food and service..Worth every penny, if I ever come back to Hawaii we will be going there again!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Beautiful ambiance and exceptional French food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Very expensive, great location, excellent service. Good Menu, However, they over try to the point the food is presented well and when as an example they added a mouse to the lobster bisque it had no taste and texture was unsavory. I thought a small piece of lobster would have been more desireable. I was not pleased given the money we spent. Servers were very attentive. Ask details of menu item it sounds amazing but not tasty. $350 for modest meal for two.

Tags: Scenic View, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 25, 2017

They treated us like we were in a fine restaurant in Paris. Superb service, no rush, great food, never had to ask-they were always there & aware.

Tags: Scenic View, Live Music, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Best restaurant experience we have ever had. The food, service, and ambience were perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Impeccable service

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Service was impeccable. The setting just gorgeous, the views are spectacular. Very nice wine list, one of the best in Hawaii. All the dishes were executed beautifully. However there was just something missing in terms of flavor in each course. Often times it was salt. The sauces were a little bland. Was also served my 100 year Madeira at room temperature i.e. 77-78°. After a few sips, I asked why it hadn't been served with a slight chill, som said it have been a service oversight and put a chill on what was remaining but considering how pricey that little baby was, it was a bit distressing... (double checked my sources to make sure I wasn't wrong here and yes, very old Madeiras should be served at about 60 degrees.) Just a little blip but noticeable when all other service was perfect :-)

Tags: Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic, Waterfront, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 22, 2017

母の喜寿のお祝いで予約しました。サービス料びっくりしますが思い出つくりには最高です。驚きと優しさがあります。それなりのサービスを受けたい時にはしっかりドレスコードを守って行くべきだと再確認しました。ノーストレスです

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 19, 2017

I was told this was the loveliest, and best restaurant in Hawaii.
I would agree hands down.
The service was exceptional being both professional and approachable.
The staff new their jobs, be it the wine the food or combining the two.
The meals were exceptional, delicate and beautifully presented.
In all the experience made a special evening even more special.

Tags: Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 16, 2017

La Mer is unparalleled in Honolulu. This is the utmost in a fine dining experience. It is more than the gorgeous setting along the beach and the quiet, elegant room where you can hear the waves. The menu continues to evolve with excellent ingredients, beautiful presentations and outstanding flavors. The poached oysters are a particular favorite, as is the lobster consomme. We have tried most of the menu and are never disappointed. Wines are pricey, as expected, but there are some gems on the list.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Absolutely incredible. The staff both at the hotel and the restaurant itself were world class, the food was delicious, the views incredible, the ambiance was serene... just an A+ experience all around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 6, 2017

素晴らしいお食事と、サービスありがとうございます。
星は満点、言うことなしです。
一度、大切な人を連れていく価値があるお店です。男性諸君、頑張って下さい。
今回は一人で利用させて頂きました。宿泊先ではなく、迷いましたがフロントの方が丁寧に対応してくれました。
次回はレストランだけでなく、宿泊先としても利用させて頂きたいです。

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Cozy, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Excellent service and food! We would love to return!

Tags: Waterfront, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 3, 2017

This is the second time that I have gone to this restaurant. From the moment that I got there, I found the staff gracious, accommodating, and not intrusive. The view is exquisite, the decor is peaceful not overtaking the food, and the food was well presented, tasty, along with being of excellent quality. I will go back there many times in the future.

Tags: Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 2, 2017

We wanted to treat another couple to a special occasion and they're always out and about on the who's who dining scene. La Mer though was a treat for them - excellent service, renowned food and exquisite ambiance. Highly recommend as a unique experience in Honolulu's crowded dining choices.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Great! Could not have been better,

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Not very happy with our experience at La Mer this year. We have dined here every time we are in Hawaii. It has always been an outstanding evening that we looked forward to, but the food was not up to their standard this year. The steak had to be returned as it was too chewy, the squab was tough and almost uneatable. The other entree was lamb which was perfection. The shrimp appetizer was not very good as mentioned by others at our table. Overall, the food was terribly disappointing. We celebrated our son's birthday and in the past a complimentary glass of champagne always greeted us upon arrival...not so this year.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Absolutely excellent, La Mer was so good that we came back for the second time on our
last night in Hawaii. During our vacation om the Islands, our only disappointment was
that the food was fair to good at best. At La Mer, every plate was expertly prepared with
the quality and taste meeting or surpassing the presentation. This is a "not to be missed"
restaurant.

Tags: Authentic, Scenic View, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Began the evening listening to Hawaiian Music and then proceeded to dinner. Service was excellent, and each course was delicious. Our guests were not only impressed with the food, wine, service, but the view of Diamond Head, the ocean, and Waikiki added a special touch to the evening.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Best you could get ! My favorite perio

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Beautiful in every way!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Excellent place for special occasion, my family really enjoy it. Will come back again! Thanks.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Quality place. Worth the money. Have been multiple times. Great food and wait staff very professional. Will go back

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Waterfront, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Outstanding - Lawrence was a fantastic waiter! The food was very good and the ambiance was wonderful. We'll be back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Excellent French inspired cuisine. Lovely wine service and inspired service.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.