About La Mer at Halekulani

2199 Kalia Road
Honolulu, HI 96815
View Larger Map

La Mer is far more than a restaurant, it’s a degustation destination. Celebrated as Halekulani’s finest and Hawaii's longest, consecutively ranked AAA Five Diamond Restaurant, this consummate dining experience is unmatched. The internationally acclaimed menu features Neoclassic French cuisine expertly crafted and served amid majestic and romantic ocean views of Waikiki Beach and Diamond Head. Indigenous ingredients are uniquely blended in masterful dishes inspired by flavors from the south of France to produce an unsurpassed dining experience. An award-winning wine list is available to complement the perfect dining experience. Jacket or long sleeve dress shirt, slacks and dress shoes are required for men. As an elegant fine dining restaurant, La Mer restricts patrons to adults and children 8 years or older.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:30pm - 9:300pm

Cross Street:
Lewers Street

Dress Code:
Jacket Preferred

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 923-2311

Website:
http://www.halekulani.com/dining/la_mer/

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet and self parking is available.

Executive Chef:
Alexandre Trancher

Private Party Facilities:
Salon La Mer comfortably seats up to 16 guests and offers a tranquil private lanai for that pre dinner cocktail.


Salon du Vin entertains up to 22 guests and may open up to an elegantly appointed living room to indulge in a La Mer specialty cocktail

Private Party Contact:
Dining Reservations: 8089232311x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Sea Bass Carpaccio
Chocolate Souffle
Warm Foie Gras with Passion Fruit
Crab and Fennel Bavarois
Veal
Quail
Seared Foie Gras
Lobster Jelly
Crab Cakes
Lobster Meddalions And Lobster Bisque
Caramel Popcorn And Chocolate Ice Cream
Truffle Chocolate With Strawberries
Red Snapper

La Mer at Halekulani Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Hawaii
Best Service
Hawaii
Best Ambiance
Hawaii
9 More
Notable Wine List
Hawaii
Romantic
Hawaii
Special Occasion
Hawaii
Best Overall
Oahu
Best Food
Oahu
Best Service
Oahu
Best Ambiance
Oahu
Romantic
Oahu
Special Occasion
Oahu

Special Occasion (46)
Romantic (43)
Scenic View (37)
See All
Notable Wine List (24)
Fit for Foodies (20)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Waterfront (6)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Good for a Date (4)
Modern Decor (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Authentic (2)
Worth the Drive (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Healthy (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Historic (1)
Sort By:
Newest
773 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The atmosphere was without doubt fantast ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

The atmosphere was without doubt fantastic. The soft classical music playing in the background accompanied by the ocean waves and, if you are lucky, the soft cool Hawaiian breeze create a mini paradise within a paradise. The servers are attentive and friendly. They find a way to melt in the background while still serving your food and refilling your water.

The food, however, was not spectacular. For the money we expected to be blown out of our mind visually and gastronomically. While the presentation was nothing to sneeze at, I have seen better for this prize range.

The appetizers were okay. The entrees were good. The deserts saved the day. They were delicious and looked beautiful.

This is what we ordered:

Appetizers: bisque and foie gras. The bisque tasted really fishy and very mild. The foie gras was very tender but the beet glaze was non existent.

Entrees: Veal and beef. The veal was vey tender but mild. The presentation was not very visually appealing. The sauce saved the day. The beef was bomb and the foie gras was bombastic. Melted in your mouth and tasty.

Desert: Flan and soufflé. They were the highlight. Yummy delicious and presented like the $$$$ restaurant that it is rated.

After the dinner, if you happen to be seated by a balcony, take a minute to step out and smell the air and savor the sounds of the ocean. It is as close to idyllic as you will ever get.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

We couldn't have been happier with our ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

We couldn't have been happier with our experience with La Mer.The food was incredible and the servers were charming and helpful. I don't think we've ever had better service at any restaurant -we would highly recommend LaMer

Tags: Modern Decor, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The atmosphere is incredibly elevated ye ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

The atmosphere is incredibly elevated yet warm and personal. Service was impeccable. Food was perfection.

Tags: Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An unforgettable experience, our best di ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

An unforgettable experience, our best dinner in Honolulu to-date. White gloves services, classy and scenic ambience, excellent execution of a wonderful menu. Best among all the high end restaurants we visited in Honolulu. Bravo!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

La Mer is the place you go if you want t ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

La Mer is the place you go if you want the best dining experience in Oahu. The ocean view is spectacular, the staff is amazing, and the food is beyond exceptional. Everyone there is kind and very helpful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I have dined here 3 times before but had ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

I have dined here 3 times before but had not been here in 3yrs and frankly it did not come up to the standards of previous visits. Portions have got even smaller, choices fewer, service has dropped off and the menu seems to be trying to hard to be nouveau. Even the waiter rolled his eyes at some of the combinations and cooking methods. Having said that what we ate was made from obviously top grade ingredients and with the exception of some sauces that we, thankfully, had served on the side, the food was enjoyed.

I had a lamb dish. center loin, prepared sous vide, that must have been all of 3oz - literally a couple of bites and this was the main course. Cooked as it was, it tasted like you would expect, unseasoned lamb. It came with a raisin sauce - excellent, eggplant caviar- interesting and a lamb au jus that was inedible - both wife and I thought detergent like. Oh and the first time the meal was brought, I sent it back as calling it lukewarm is being generous - it was cool to the touch - though it was medium as advertised. My wife's roasted duck was two small strips of breast. Looked like they cut a half inch thick slice of breast and then cut it again in strips and she got two of them. Once again a few ounces total..

Neither dish came with a starch but when I asked if we could have a side of soufflé potatoes, something that was offered with another dish, they accommodated me for an extra $10.00

The pouring of our Champagne was left to me except for initial pour and one other.

Not to shabby, but, for $400 I found the overall experience lacking. I do not think I will be back.

While jackets are not mandatory, and no one in our section wore one while eating (one person wore one in but quickly removed it before seating)I was brought a jacket which they wanted to put on the back of my chair even though it was side by side booth seating with no chair. I explained I would prefer not - was told she would check with the manager but she never returned.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

It is one of the best restaurants in my ...

vip
 (London)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

It is one of the best restaurants in my life. Of course food is superb, but their service level and hospitality is most significant. It is best for anniversaries of life, not for usual dinner.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

it was my first time to visit la mer ce ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

it was my first time to visit la mer celebrating 5th wedding anniversary. everything was great, espacially modern and romantic atmosphere.

Tags: Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

fantastic restaurant in the superb halek ...

 
 (Melbourne / VIC)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

fantastic restaurant in the superb halekalani..service exceptional and wide menu range...if you sophisticated dining this is the place

Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Waterfront, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I celebrated our 10 year ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

My husband and I celebrated our 10 year wedding anniversary and selected this place. The service was top notch. The servers were professional with a super laid back personality, light humor and incredible views on the water. Next door was live music with a hula dancer. The mood was romantic and every bite simply scrumptious!! For such a special occasion.. This was definitely one of my favorites! I highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The best dining experience we ever had. ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

The best dining experience we ever had. The service was outstanding. I was celebrating my birthday, and the staff made me feel extra special and gave us the best table. The service was outstanding.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Service was exceptional

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Service was exceptional

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Taste of all meal was excellent.I felt p ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Taste of all meal was excellent.I felt pigeon a little hard texture. Actually,it was the first experience for me to have a pigeon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

By far, the most attentive, friendly and ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

By far, the most attentive, friendly and warm service of any restaurant I've experienced!!! The food was fabulous! Absolutely delicious and beautifully composed dishes! I can't wait to visit again!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent experience! Great service duri ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Excellent experience! Great service during the dinner. Everythinks ok!

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First of all, I felt special feeling whe ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

First of all, I felt special feeling when having dinner with the sound of lapping of waves against the shore! Of course, dishes were very fine.It's striking that most of time for dinner were spent inside of the dinning room, then they prepared a table beside the window for us after the table was empty. My wife was absolutely delighted about this arrangement.

Tags: Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The setting, the food and the service wa ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

The setting, the food and the service was it worth every penny, however cannot give them 5 stars for service as they disappeared at the end of our meal. We waited too long to receive our bill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Always a wonderful way to end our Hawaii ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Always a wonderful way to end our Hawaiian vacation. The service is impeccable, as always. Don't order the cheapest champagne...too dry. We ordered the 3 course meals. Gave us complimentary dessert for our 53rd anniversary. My daughter wanted a jalapeno margarita and they went out of their way to make her one (not on menu). The cuddle fish with scallops were to die for as an appetizer.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Friendly attentive service and the elega ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Friendly attentive service and the elegant and creative cuisine was memorable.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Its sunset is very beautiful. And dinner ...

 
 (東京)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Its sunset is very beautiful. And dinner is so delicious.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We had the degustation menu with paired ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

We had the degustation menu with paired premium wines. It was a fantastic experience. We requested a change to one of the courses for dietary reasons which they happily accommodated and even changed the paired wine to suit.

The food and wines were excellent, and the service was exceptional.

A special mention must be made of having a pre dinner drink at L'Aperitif. The cocktail selection was amazing and the quality of the drinks outstanding.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It is worth every penny to dune at La Me ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

It is worth every penny to dune at La Mer. Certainly, it is not a cheap place. In fact it might be considered an expensive place to dine. But if you are into great service, wonderful food, super atmosphere---there is no better place in Honolulu than La Mer. The 4 course taster menu is plenty...... plenty good plenty filling, and plenty amazing! I just have to go to La Mer each time U am in the island

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food good but not exceptional given the ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Food good but not exceptional given the overall cost of the experience. A restaurant that is very pleased with itself and not always pleased with its clientele.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Outstanding land and sea menu selections ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Outstanding land and sea menu selections. Gracious and attentive service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

La Mer is French, refined, and expensive ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

La Mer is French, refined, and expensive. It is the perfect place to share an evening, and a meal, with a special person. The food is wonderful, the wine list deep, the service attentive. My only complaint, a small one, is relative dearth of vegetables. A fish dish in the nouvelle style--a few select filets with delicious light sauces, all laid out artistically on the plate--is wonderful. But it might be even more wonderful with a few spears of asparagus (or fiddleheads, or something more exotic).

Our visit coincided with the height of the Tropical Storm Darby downpour, with water cascading from every outside surface. The staff displayed a genuine concern for our wellbeing in battling the flood on the way home (it turned out not to be a big deal), but I was even more taken by their concern for each other.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The food and service was outstanding, I ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

The food and service was outstanding, I used the waiters experience and all of the recommendations hit the spot. The view over of the ocean, sunset and Diamond Head were spectacular. Would recommend for anyone wanting to celebrate a special occasion or just simply to appreciate the fine dining

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

A wonderful experience as a whole. Enjoy ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

A wonderful experience as a whole. Enjoyed it very much, beautiful restaurant and view and excellent food. A bit overpriced although..

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

If you want to experience food and servi ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

If you want to experience food and service perfection, this place is for you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This place was a once in a great while c ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

This place was a once in a great while cant miss restaurant if you want to experience fine dining. The location was amazing. The atmosphere formal and the presentation matched. The experience is 3 hours long for the tasting menu. It left us very satiated. The flavors and textures are obviously well thought out and work well together.

It was quite an experience and Birthday for my wife...

Mahalo

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall, we really enjoyed our dining ex ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Overall, we really enjoyed our dining experience at La Mer. Pros: the service, the view, the food, presentation. Cons: the menu is restrictive and confusing somewhat - the only options are a fixed price 7 course menu ($195/person), a 4 course menu (about $145/person) with a few choices and a 3 course menu ($110/person) with a few choices. If you choice a menu item off the 7 course menu there is a substantial surcharge - see, a bit confusing. The signature mixed drinks were amazing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We never recommend this first food Frenc ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

We never recommend this first food French !

Not French! This restaurant don't know French cooking?

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Excellent service and food, slightly ove ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Excellent service and food, slightly overpriced but service was a 10

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Amazing Diamond Head and ocean views, de ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Amazing Diamond Head and ocean views, delicious entrees and dessert, very romantic atmosphere, excellent spot for a special celebration, excellent value

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We fine dine domestically (Los Angeles, ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We fine dine domestically (Los Angeles, Las Vegas) and internationally (Paris, Italy... Comparing with other French restaurants that we've been to, the foods at La Mer didn't stand out at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Awesome cuisine, great exploration of fl ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Awesome cuisine, great exploration of flavors, the wine pairings were perfect. It was a fantastic experience. La Mer - a precious gem of dinning in Waikiki, Honolulu, Oahu, Hawaii.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

La Mer is a very high class restaurant w ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

La Mer is a very high class restaurant with outstanding food and services. The ocean view was great, especially our table was next to the window. Great place for romantic and special occasions.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I really enjoyed my dinner at La Mer. I ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

I really enjoyed my dinner at La Mer. I was celebrating my 40th birthday. Gorgeous view of the beach, and unbelievable service. I tried the tasting menu because there were so many things on there I hadn't tried before. Fois gras was excellent: smooth buttery texture served with beets. I hate beets, but they were prepared so wonderfully , I actually enjoyed them! Also the chocolate ravioli dish was excellent. Never tasted anything like it! If you are celebrating a special occasion in Honolulu, this is the place to go.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

We've been to the French Laundry and oth ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

We've been to the French Laundry and other gourmet restaurants - New York , Las Vegas, Paris- this is among the best. And the setting is second to none. If you're only thirsty it's also great for cocktails.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service. Great views. Great ambi ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

Great service. Great views. Great ambiance. And great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding Service

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

My wife and I were very impressed with the quality service offered at this restaurant. Thank you for a wonderful dinner and the nice surprise desert treats the chef gave us for our anniversary.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.