About La Mar Cebicheria Peruana

Pier 1 1/2
San Francisco, CA 94111
View Larger Map

Inspired by the thousands of cebicherias found throughout Peru, La Mar Cebicheri­a Peruana, was created as an attempt to globalize and enshrine one of the best guarded treasures of Peruvian cuisine: cebiche, Peruvian seafood and the scenery created to enjoy them, the Peruvian style cebicheria.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Peruvian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: 7 days a week 11:30am - 2:30pm

Dinner: 7 days a week

Sunday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Washington and The Embarcadero

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 397-8880

Website:
http://www.lamarsf.com/

Entertainment:
Happy Hour Every day 3:00pm - 6:00pm

Parking Details:
Parking can be found on Pier 3.
Lunch: $10 for first 2 hours ($5 each additional hour)
Dinner: $20 Flat rate

There is also a public parking across the street on the Northwest corner of Washington St. and the Embarcadero.

Public Transit:
Muni:

To Embarcadero & Washington or Steuart & Market

BART:

To Embarcadero Station

Public Water Taxi Service: There is a public pier behind the restaurant, for small boats to park free for a maximum of 3 hours.

Executive Chef:
Gastón Acurio / Victoriano Lopez

Private Party Facilities:
We are open for private events ranging from 14 - 200 guests and can cater to your every need.

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Go to Lamarsf.com to check out our weekly specials!

* Patio seating is on a first come first serve basis and cannot be guaranteed.
** Individual items may be subject to change depending on availability









Restaurant Photos

La Mar Cebicheria Peruana
La Mar Cebicheria Peruana
La Mar Cebicheria Peruana
La Mar Cebicheria Peruana
La Mar Cebicheria Peruana
La Mar Cebicheria Peruana
La Mar Cebicheria Peruana
La Mar Cebicheria Peruana
La Mar Cebicheria Peruana
La Mar Cebicheria Peruana
La Mar Cebicheria Peruana
La Mar Cebicheria Peruana
empanadas
Mango And Coconut Pastry
Picarones, Peruvian Desert! Best Ever.
lomo saltado
Cebiche De Pescado
Martini
Quinoa Chaufa
Halibut & Mushrooms
Porfiteroles
Maple Panna Cotta
Cebiche
Arroz De Mariscos
Pulpo
Causas Tasting
Pisco Punch

La Mar Cebicheria Peruana Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.1

ambience

4.2

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
San Francisco Bay Area
Most Booked
San Francisco
Best Restaurants in Financial District / Embarcadero ›

Fit for Foodies (216)
Scenic View (185)
Special Occasion (176)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (139)
Good for Groups (137)
Hot Spot (85)
Great for Lunch (84)
Romantic (75)
Vibrant Bar Scene (73)
Neighborhood Gem (44)
Notable Wine List (42)
Great for Brunch (27)
Late-night Find (15)
Kid-friendly (12)
Live Music (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Family Style (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Sort By:
Newest
3236 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

All good. Felt rushed out at the end of ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 2 days ago

All good. Felt rushed out at the end of the night

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Excellent restaurant with yummy food. I ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent restaurant with yummy food. I had the seafood ceviche and grilled octopus and both of them were out of this world. Unfortunately, there was a very loud party rot next table which tamed our experience a bit. Otherwise great place to try Peruvian food with excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

We absolutely loved Le Mar Cebicheria... ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined 4 days ago

We absolutely loved Le Mar Cebicheria....from the wonderful beef and mushroom empanadas, the extremely tasty and varied cebiches, to our favorite: lomo saltado! The flavors and presentations were so compelling that we absolutely can't wait to revisit to further explore the Chef's other wonderful offerings.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Spicy, People Watching, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Tapas, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant is exceptional. The food ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 5 days ago

This restaurant is exceptional. The food, drinks and atmosphere are amazing!

Tags: Good for a Date, Healthy, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Waterfront, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The chicken sandwich was dry, I asked fo ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 6 days ago

The chicken sandwich was dry, I asked for the meal without a bun as I am Paleo and it came with a bun.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food, but be ready to pay for it a ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined 7 days ago

Great food, but be ready to pay for it as it is a bit expensive. A meal for two with only two cocktails was $200.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

4 friends get together for lunch every o ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

4 friends get together for lunch every other month. This month we decided to try La Mar Cebicheria Peruana. Our server came over to the table several times to talk to us, not take our orders, but to talk to us. It took him several tries to get our lunch order correct. He came back 2 more times to check what we wanted to eat. He recommended that we share a $70 dish and was apparently very disappointed with us when we did not want to order it to share. One of our party is severely allergic to tomatoes and asked that they do not put them on her lunch. He "forgot" and she had to send it back to be re-made. Also, when she ordered her lunch he spent about 5 minutes trying to convince her that she didn't want that entree and that she should get something else. It was difficult to enjoy lunch as he kept coming over to talk. The food was good but with this type of service we will not be back. We came to eat good food, not socialize with the waiter.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

Very great but being a busy Saturday nig ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Very great but being a busy Saturday night we felt the service was a little subpar. Would return for the great food, probably mid-week at an off hour!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Late-night Find, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Excellent fish and meat dishes - nice en ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Excellent fish and meat dishes - nice enclosed outdoor eating area overlooking the bay. Excellent service try the chocolate mousse.

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My second time here and we brought frien ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

My second time here and we brought friends. The food is simply amazing, super fresh seafood. I loved the squid ink pasta dish as well as the ceviche and empanadas. Our server was great in that he understaood we were visiting with out of town friends and did not want to rush through meal, he was very accomodating.

Tags: Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

La Mar was delicious. I enjoyed the Caus ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

La Mar was delicious. I enjoyed the Causa with crab meat. My favorite.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Tapas, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The food is awesome - and the atmosphere ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The food is awesome - and the atmosphere is casual and lively, allowing conversation and fun. Would take anyone there.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very good but it is not the saem like Pe ...

 
 (México)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Very good but it is not the saem like Peru , If you dont know the Food from Peru is good , the best thing to eat is the tuna grill

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

LaMar never disappoints. Service is alwa ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

LaMar never disappoints. Service is always impeccable, food fabulous with flavors you will not find anywhere else. Presentation gorgeous. It's hard to get beyond the Peruvian pork fried rice dish and the sample ceviche platter but did have the beef skewers and would have them again as well.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing meal, probably the best I've had ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Amazing meal, probably the best I've had in San Francisco. Service, however was mediocre at best. The server wasn't attentive at all, forgot the second cocktail and took almost 20 minutes to bring it, and then when our table was cleared we waited more than 20 minutes for our check. The server apologized for 'spacing out.' Very bizarre behavior.

Oh. And I still got charged for the second drink that came late and I barely touched since my meal was almost gone when it arrived. Very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

Best Latin style cooking I have ever had ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Best Latin style cooking I have ever had. Amazing food, never ceases to dazzle you. Gorgeous setting, best location - next to the Ferry Building on the Embarcadero - the one restaurant we go back to over and over.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious Peruvian food, a must to intro ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Delicious Peruvian food, a must to introduce people to this fusion cuisine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The empanada sampler is packed with flav ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The empanada sampler is packed with flavor!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

First time at the restaurant, it was rec ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

First time at the restaurant, it was recommended by a coworker. My family (4 of us) thoroughly enjoyed it! Good was fantastic!!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great food and atmosphere

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Great food and atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

What more needs to be said? This restaur ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

What more needs to be said? This restaurant turned my vegetarian friend into a Peruvian food lover! She had the veggie empanadas and could not have been more thrilled. I had a sampling of Peruvian appetizers (all cold) and found the presentation to be superb and the taste sublime. Highly recommend the lump crab over potato! I literally cannot stop thinking about how mouth-wateringly great that dish was.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Wonderful experience. Prickly pear marga ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Wonderful experience. Prickly pear margarita is quite tasty to start the evening. We all picked different dishes and were not disappointed in any of the five.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good pisco drinks, excellent cebiches an ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Good pisco drinks, excellent cebiches and seafood. Very attentive service and a nice view of the bay. A very loud place - not a spot for a quiet meal.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Amazing service. Great views and best fo ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Amazing service. Great views and best food in city.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

If you love seafood and flavour this res ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

If you love seafood and flavour this restaurant is for you. The ceviche was AMAZING!!! I could eat it all day. The texture was perfectly balanced by the accompanying items in the dish. I also had the grilled halibut and its portion size was fit for a King! It was fresh and flavourful. I'd highly recommend both dishes. If I visit San Francisco again I'll definitely be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Awesome place with great food and servic ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Awesome place with great food and service. We had a fantastic waiter who gave us good hints for the meals. Highly recommanded !

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding food Great service Beautifu ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Outstanding food

Great service

Beautiful looking

Too noisy

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfectly blends East Asian and South Am ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Perfectly blends East Asian and South American traditions.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

We had an amazing meal. It's such a spec ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

We had an amazing meal. It's such a special place. The outside dining

Is beautiful! The menu captures all the flavors of Peru.

Every time is a dining adventure. The waiters are enthusiastic and attentive. If you want a memorable meal, this is the place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The "Lomo Saltado" is really good! The b ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

The "Lomo Saltado" is really good! The best I have tried in many years, but it is way overpriced for the plate size ($36.=)

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value1

The food and the service were great as a ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

The food and the service were great as always. We were a party of five and were crammed at a table that would have barely sufficed for four--there wasn't enough rom for all the plates.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Amazing ceviche! Great service too! Went ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Amazing ceviche! Great service too! Went there after we walked out of The Slanted door because of how rude the hosts were. La Mar is by far the best restaurant in/near the Ferry Building. Do not go to The Slanted Door, they have horrible customer service (hostesses).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The food was uneven. The cebiche was ex ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

The food was uneven. The cebiche was excellent; so was the potato causa; the skewer we left on the plate. It took forever to get our drinks, and the waiter lectured us on how it's such a large place that they just can't move quickly (which meant that we were nearly done before we got the second glasses we ordered). You got the feeling that they wanted to get people in and out. Big, corporate restaurant, in other words. People seemed to be having fun, though, so maybe it was just us!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

A great menu with lots of choices of fre ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

A great menu with lots of choices of fresh fish. The waiter was very helpful and gave an outline of each category. Would recommend to anyone. Ps. It's pricy though!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I have been to this San Francisco locati ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

I have been to this San Francisco location of La Mar on three separate occasions and while it lacks the ambiance of the original location in Lima, Peru (to which I have also been), it is a lot closer for a lot of us. The meal is great nonetheless and this is a spot certainly not to be overlooked.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Nice wait staff but ridiculously slow gi ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Nice wait staff but ridiculously slow given how NOT busy it appeared. They did a great job recommending dishes and accommodating a food allergy at the table. They get 5 stars for that. It was just way slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

The food and service was great and sitti ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

The food and service was great and sitting in the back patio area was the best.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The lunch menu was very limited for hot ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

The lunch menu was very limited for hot food. Mostly cold food and appetizer type food. The outdoor seating was nice with a view to the ferry terminal. It was a nice day so the view was great.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Proudly Southamerican... Still my favour ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Proudly Southamerican... Still my favourite restaurant in Bogotá and in San Francisco :)!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The sampler plate and cebiches were exce ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The sampler plate and cebiches were excellent. The service, which I usually don't care much about, was also amazing. The modern decor is very tasteful. I would highly recommend dining here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.