About La Mar Cebicheria Peruana

Pier 1 1/2
San Francisco, CA 94111
View Larger Map

Inspired by the thousands of cebicherias found throughout Peru, La Mar Cebicheri­a Peruana, was created as an attempt to globalize and enshrine one of the best guarded treasures of Peruvian cuisine: cebiche, Peruvian seafood and the scenery created to enjoy them, the Peruvian style cebicheria.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Peruvian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: 7 days a week 11:30am - 2:30pm

Dinner: 7 days a week

Sunday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Washington and The Embarcadero

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 397-8880

Website:
http://www.lamarsf.com/

Entertainment:
Happy Hour Every day 3:00pm - 6:00pm

Parking Details:
Parking can be found on Pier 3.
Lunch: $10 for first 2 hours ($5 each additional hour)
Dinner: $20 Flat rate

There is also a public parking across the street on the Northwest corner of Washington St. and the Embarcadero.

Public Transit:
Muni:

To Embarcadero & Washington or Steuart & Market

BART:

To Embarcadero Station

Public Water Taxi Service: There is a public pier behind the restaurant, for small boats to park free for a maximum of 3 hours.

Executive Chef:
Gastón Acurio / Victoriano Lopez

Private Party Facilities:
We are open for private events ranging from 14 - 200 guests and can cater to your every need.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Go to Lamarsf.com to check out our weekly specials!

* Patio seating is on a first come first serve basis and cannot be guaranteed.
** Individual items may be subject to change depending on availability









Restaurant Photos

La Mar Cebicheria Peruana
La Mar Cebicheria Peruana
La Mar Cebicheria Peruana
La Mar Cebicheria Peruana
La Mar Cebicheria Peruana
La Mar Cebicheria Peruana
La Mar Cebicheria Peruana
La Mar Cebicheria Peruana
La Mar Cebicheria Peruana
La Mar Cebicheria Peruana
La Mar Cebicheria Peruana
La Mar Cebicheria Peruana
empanadas
Mango And Coconut Pastry
Picarones, Peruvian Desert! Best Ever.
Cebiche De Pescado
lomo saltado
Martini
Halibut & Mushrooms
Quinoa Chaufa
Maple Panna Cotta
Porfiteroles
Cebiche
Arroz De Mariscos
Pulpo
Causas Tasting
Pisco Punch

La Mar Cebicheria Peruana Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.2

ambience

4.3

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
San Francisco Bay Area
Most Booked
San Francisco
Best Restaurants in Financial District / Embarcadero ›

fit for foodies (226)
scenic view (184)
special occasion (176)
See All
good for groups (153)
great for outdoor dining (148)
great for lunch (91)
hot spot (84)
vibrant bar scene (84)
romantic (73)
great for brunch (37)
notable wine list (35)
neighborhood gem (34)
kid-friendly (15)
late-night find (13)
Sort By:
Newest
3173 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great fresh peruvian food! Excellent dri ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 4 days ago

Great fresh peruvian food!

Excellent drinks at the bar and the restaurant!! Great experience,would recommend it to everybody

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Some of the best, most interesting food ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

Some of the best, most interesting food I've ever eaten.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of the best Peruvian food in SF

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

One of the best Peruvian food in SF

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent view and ambience. Good, but n ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 7 days ago

Excellent view and ambience. Good, but not exceptional food. Arroz La Mar was really good. Waiters are all very courteous. Service was a bit slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Food was amazing as always. The service ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 7 days ago

Food was amazing as always. The service was terrible for some reason Saturday night. Maybe not enough staff. We waited a long time and when we had requests the waiter just seemed to disappear. We finally had to go and get some things ourselves, like a napkin, the chips that never came, and we had to get up to find where they put our wine bottle. They also kept filling our glasses of fizzy water with flat water. Even after the first mistake, they came around and did it again! We have been to the restaurant many times because we love the food, but this was the worst night of service.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

I have always enjoyed coming to Le Mar e ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 7 days ago

I have always enjoyed coming to Le Mar except this time. It took for ever to get someone to serve us. We had to keep asking for things. It seemed like there were not enough servers. It seemed also like the quality of the food went down.

I don't plan to go back any time soon. It is expensive and to end up not being serviced properly, it is not worth it!

Zeydi

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

Ceviches and empanadas were excellent! ...

vip
 (New Mexico)
·Dined 7 days ago

Ceviches and empanadas were excellent! We always come here every time we come to San Francisco. Pisco Sours are a specialty cocktail. Try them!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

La Mar never disappoints. The food is am ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

La Mar never disappoints. The food is amazing and the portions are generous. The decor was a little more understated than I expected (after having visited LaMar Miami). Service was great as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Service slow, server forgot about us and ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Service slow, server forgot about us and we had to ask twice about entrees. Good lacked the taste that made the restaurant an exciting place to dine and socialize

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1

Food not as good as I remembered it, ser ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Food not as good as I remembered it, service a bit cold for the price. Felt like the server didn't want to give us his recommendations, only recited how the menu sections worked. For me - a foodie that eats out a lot - service is key to the experience.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

After 9 months of pregnancy I couldn't w ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

After 9 months of pregnancy I couldn't wait to have some ceviche! The ceviche itself was nice and the Peruvian sashimi dishes were even better and all served with warm root vegetable chips. The problem? It was lunch and it seemed like they couldn't wait to get us out of there. We asked that they wait between dishes and no later had we taken our last bite when the plate was whisked away. The same happened with our second sampler - we weren't finished mopping up the delicious sauces with the chips while finishing our drinks before they were whisked away. I understand you want to maximize lunchtime but in the interim you sacrificed 2 customers that won't be coming back...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1

Get there before 6pm to enjoy Happy Hour ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Get there before 6pm to enjoy Happy Hour prices on great Pisco Sours.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Delicious dinner and drinks. Interesting ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Delicious dinner and drinks. Interesting colors in the imaginative dishes. Highly recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Very very good food. Not cheap, but you ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Very very good food.

Not cheap, but you can't expect cheap for that kind of healthy perfection.

Highly recommended.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Expensive, perhaps, but always over the ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Expensive, perhaps, but always over the top tasty and creative, yet authentic. This has become a "must go" place for me whenever I'm in San Francisco. I sat at the bar and had excellent recommendations from the server, who seemed to take particular pleasure that his patrons were enjoying their meal as much as we all were. The seafood is particularly fresh and perfectly spiced. This is a huge place that doesn't seem that large.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Peruvian food, great ceviches, unusual ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Peruvian food, great ceviches, unusual sushis, semi-tapas, family style. Full bar, skimpy wine glasses, big room, nice deck. Good service. Fun.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Awesome food, great service, nice view f ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Awesome food, great service, nice view from outside tables!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very expensive but very good fish dishes ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Very expensive but very good fish dishes with well-made marinades and sauces. Service somewhat slow (20 minutes to get a glass of wine), but unusual food with good presentation.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

The food was fantastic, but the service ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The food was fantastic, but the service was quite slow the night we were there. We also didn't receive the food we ordered, but the food we did receive was quite delicious. It was much louder than I remembered from a prior visit and it was difficult to hear the people I was dining with.

Tags: scenic view, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

While the food was good, it wasn't excel ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

While the food was good, it wasn't excellent. I was expecting to wow with every bite, but of our table of 7, we all agreed the food was just ok at best for the price of the food. It was great to try the place but won't return. The paella like dish, was good, but barely had any rice in it. Is that not the point of a paella???

The drinks are amazing. Definitely try the Piscos.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

Food does not meet the standard I ex ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Food does not meet the standard I expected and did not stand out from other restaurants in area seafood must be Cooked to perfection some of it undercooked or over cooked

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Delicious food, causa and quinoa salad

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Delicious food, causa and quinoa salad

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was incredible and the service ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

The food was incredible and the service was excellent. Do your best to sample the more traditional dishes - you'll be well rewarded. The Santa Lucia Highlands Pinot Noir on the wine list (available by the glass) is made by the owner worth trying if you enjoy a good pinot.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great seafood . Good size potion. The gl ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Great seafood . Good size potion. The glass of wine was good w good price.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

I like La Mar, but as the portions shrin ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

I like La Mar, but as the portions shrink, quality gets worse, and prices go up, I am reaching the point where I may not come anymore. On this visit, the ceviche was not that good, and the increasingly small empanadas (they used to give 3 fairly large ones, then they gave 2, then they shrunk the size) were not even as tasty as those in the ferry building food stands. They used to give 3 small salsas with the chips (provided for free) but now they give fewer chips and only 1 small salsa. I'd prefer to pay a few bucks and get the larger salsa selection. My small $12 pisco sour was more than half egg froth, and not much liquid. The potential is still there for this restaurant, but they are taking risks with their clientele by acting this way.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

We met friends from Australia here for a ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

We met friends from Australia here for a reunion. We were seated in a corner table under a "tent." At first I was skeptical but it turned out to be a perfect setting. There were 6 of us. Our server was terrific. He was very accommodating to our different tastes and exceptions. Our guests were delighted with the variety of food and drink. They had never tasted Peruvian food. It was a lovely dinner and all 6 of us were happy and sated.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been there once before! had amazi ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

I have been there once before! had amazing food and service! This time it was a very bad experience. The cebiche was water down! It was very bad, maybe because we got there right before the kitchen closed..?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

great location food is good but overpric ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

great location food is good but overpriced I would spend my money elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

Best ceviche in SF! We tried the ceviche ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Best ceviche in SF! We tried the ceviche tasting, which was 3: classic, rocoto and nikei. The Anticuchos corazon (beef hearts) in a spicy rocoto sauce were tender and delicious. For our main, we tried the special, a fried halibut collar which got the immediate attention of those sitting around us and promptly ordered the same for their main. The collar dish was HUGE! Could easily feed 2 people. The service was excellent, friendly and the drinks were amazing too. And you can't beat the view from the Embarcadero. Wr will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Peruvian food. Typical and tas ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Excellent Peruvian food. Typical and tasty. Nice view on the bay.

The restaurant is very big and, unfortunately, very noisy.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

We took clients here from the East Coast ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

We took clients here from the East Coast and could not have chosen a better spot. They were very impressed with the ambiance, water view, unique food and drinks. Our waiter was wonderful in suggesting we let him take over and order for us family style so we were able to try a bit of everything. A fantastic and unforgettable experience for all!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Peruvian food has got to be the next new ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Peruvian food has got to be the next new wave. It is so bright and fresh and compared to the rest of South American cuisine is really quite distinct. Just their sheer range of different corn and potatoes is incredible.

La Mar Cebicheria is a very hip and happening bar and restaurant. It is pricey though, but that doesn't impact its popularity. It is often heaving so a reservation is strongly recommended.

All their cerviches are wonderful as are their grilled skewers 'Attochuco" (sp?).

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Judgy servers Our group ordered large s ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Judgy servers

Our group ordered large share platters of appetizers and entrees. All the food was good and beautifully presented. However when our party asked for two more baskets of chips, the server gave what can only be described as a "judgy" response and attitude. If we're spending at least $100 per person, we would have appreciated a more gracious attitude.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Very expensive , not really value for mo ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Very expensive , not really value for money. I ordered the day special, tunabelly with quinoa and the quinoa was really good but the tuna fish was an extremely large portion. I could only eat a quarter of it, really pitiful. Very nice waiter though . However I would not recommand this place if you have a normal appetite . Wines were expensive.

Tags: good for groups, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Went for a business dinner and the 5 of ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Went for a business dinner and the 5 of us had several orders of empanadas (do the assortment of beef, chicken, shrimp and vergtarian) and cerviches before ordering entrees to share. We had lamb shank ( cooked so it was fall off the bone quality), beef sautéed with onions, shrimp dish, fried rice and a salmon dish. All came with sides and it was plenty to share and all were great! We then shared three dessert, a tres leche, a chocolate dish and a cake and all were tasty but the chocolate was the best.

Wine prices were average priced around $100 per bottle which included a great selection of Spanish wines

Great place and very busy so book in advance because you will not be able to just walk in.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Spectacular setting- overlooking bay jus ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Spectacular setting- overlooking bay just south of the ferry building. Courteous, diligent and professional servers. Loved the ceviche among other fare. My guests from outside SF were thrilled. My only disappointment: the Ahi tuna was unappealing in presentation and uneven in preparation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

I have been coming here since it opened ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

I have been coming here since it opened and have noticed a steady decline in service and options. They used to bring their chips with three different dipping sauces; now, you get one container of chips and one sauce. When asked for more chips, it took three requests to get more. It also took two requests to get the one non-alcoholic beverage we ordered. Our waiter disappeared for long periods of time. We sat inside and it appears that those out on the deck were getting better service than we were. Compared to the early days of this venue, it appears they are cutting corners and have less staff. This was a disappointing, yet very expensive visit. I am not likely to return.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

One of the best dining experiences I hav ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

One of the best dining experiences I have ever had. We were in San Francisco and went to La Mar for my 60th birthday dinner. The food was outstanding and the service impeccable. I highly recommend this restaurant for that special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service at first was a bit stuffy but re ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Service at first was a bit stuffy but relaxed eventually

If it's a nice day request patio seating when reserving

The food and drinks are exceptional, but pretty expensive, that said, if you just order and share small plates it's pretty reasonable with the added benefit of tasting a greater variety of dishes.

Highly recommend this place c

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

A Peruvian friend recommended La Mar, an ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

A Peruvian friend recommended La Mar, and so we had to try it when our schedule brought us into the city. Food was delicious, and a nice modern spin on Peruvian food. Seafood quality was also very good, which is key in a ceviche/tiradito. My only complaint is that our waiter was initially excited about our experience with Peruvian food, but seemed to shame us for not ordering more (and not finishing our veggies). I didn't appreciate being pressured into ordering more when we a) know we're not that hungry, b) don't want to waste food, and c) couldn't bring home leftovers at the time.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.