About La Mar Cebicheria Peruana

Pier 1 1/2
San Francisco, CA 94111
View Larger Map

Inspired by the thousands of cebicherias found throughout Peru, La Mar Cebicheri­a Peruana, was created as an attempt to globalize and enshrine one of the best guarded treasures of Peruvian cuisine: cebiche, Peruvian seafood and the scenery created to enjoy them, the Peruvian style cebicheria.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Peruvian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: 7 days a week 11:30am - 2:30pm

Dinner: 7 days a week

Sunday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Washington and The Embarcadero

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 397-8880

Website:
http://www.lamarsf.com/

Entertainment:
Happy Hour Every day 3:00pm - 6:00pm

Parking Details:
Parking can be found on Pier 3.
Lunch: $10 for first 2 hours ($5 each additional hour)
Dinner: $20 Flat rate

There is also a public parking across the street on the Northwest corner of Washington St. and the Embarcadero.

Public Transit:
Muni:

To Embarcadero & Washington or Steuart & Market

BART:

To Embarcadero Station

Public Water Taxi Service: There is a public pier behind the restaurant, for small boats to park free for a maximum of 3 hours.

Executive Chef:
Gastón Acurio / Victoriano Lopez

Private Party Facilities:
We are open for private events ranging from 14 - 200 guests and can cater to your every need.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Go to Lamarsf.com to check out our weekly specials!

* Patio seating is on a first come first serve basis and cannot be guaranteed.
** Individual items may be subject to change depending on availability









Restaurant Photos

La Mar Cebicheria Peruana
La Mar Cebicheria Peruana
La Mar Cebicheria Peruana
La Mar Cebicheria Peruana
La Mar Cebicheria Peruana
La Mar Cebicheria Peruana
La Mar Cebicheria Peruana
La Mar Cebicheria Peruana
La Mar Cebicheria Peruana
La Mar Cebicheria Peruana
La Mar Cebicheria Peruana
La Mar Cebicheria Peruana
empanadas
Mango And Coconut Pastry
Picarones, Peruvian Desert! Best Ever.
lomo saltado
Cebiche De Pescado
Martini
Quinoa Chaufa
Halibut & Mushrooms
Porfiteroles
Maple Panna Cotta
Cebiche
Arroz De Mariscos
Pulpo
Causas Tasting
Pisco Punch

La Mar Cebicheria Peruana Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
San Francisco Bay Area
Most Booked
San Francisco
Best Restaurants in Financial District / Embarcadero ›

Fit for Foodies (186)
Scenic View (170)
Special Occasion (160)
See All
Good for Groups (119)
Great for Outdoor Dining (109)
Hot Spot (82)
Great for Lunch (73)
Romantic (69)
Vibrant Bar Scene (60)
Neighborhood Gem (40)
Notable Wine List (37)
Waterfront (30)
Good for a Date (30)
Creative Cuisine (25)
Great for Brunch (18)
Authentic (18)
Tapas (14)
Fun (13)
Late-night Find (13)
Modern Decor (12)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Business Meals (11)
Tasting Menu (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Casual (9)
Healthy (9)
Open Kitchen (8)
People Watching (7)
Kid-friendly (7)
Family Style (7)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Happy Hour (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Spicy (4)
Seasonal (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Live Music (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Historic (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
Newest
3276 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Patio is heated At sunset. Very nice!

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined a day ago

Patio is heated At sunset. Very nice!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our server was really slow and when aske ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined a day ago

Our server was really slow and when asked for guidance on good suggested far too much (it was nowhere close to reasonable). Also, given the abundance of food we asked for the leftovers to be packed. Once the bill was paid I asked for the remaining food and he said he forgot and had tossed the food. The food was spectacular but our specific server was horrible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

Chef Victoriano Lopez is awesome. He was ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 6 days ago

Chef Victoriano Lopez is awesome. He was very kind and he has prepared an amazing tasting menu for us. Great food. Great service. Delightful ambiance.

Tags: Casual, Outstanding Value, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Healthy, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Tapas, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Peruvian flavors and welcoming ser ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

Great Peruvian flavors and welcoming service. Drinks are tasty too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Ceviche, Tiradito, Anticuchos, Lomo salt ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Ceviche, Tiradito, Anticuchos, Lomo saltado, all very delicious! Lovely atmosphere

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love Peruvian food, and have been Acur ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

I love Peruvian food, and have been Acurio's restaurants in Miami, Chicago, and Lima. The Nikkei criollo is the best as is the tiradito w aji amarillo. Pisco sours super nice and do try a Chilcano! Chifles (thinly sliced fried plantain chips) w aji sauce were addictive.

Would definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Jalea is a completely fried plate! Very ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Jalea is a completely fried plate! Very disappointing as an entree.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

We had a fantastic time at La Mar Cebich ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

We had a fantastic time at La Mar Cebicheria Peruana. Everything was flawless. The food was incredible from start to finish. Our servers were on point all evening. We could not have been more pleased with our experience. We would highly recommend La Mar as a must go to when anyone is in San Francisco. 10++++

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Peruvian food rocks! So innovative, with ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Peruvian food rocks! So innovative, with use of wide range of interesting ingredients. So different from the same old, same old. Aside from super fresh ceviche, the beef heart is super tasty and the octopus is grilled to tender perfection and then, I don't know what the sauce was, but it was delicious.

Our server Lauren was super peppy, super pleasant. It was a business lunch so we couldn't chat much, but she was efficient and attentive. That's exactly what I need for business lunch though.

Overall a great dining experience.

Tags: Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Paleo Friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was great my friends from out ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Everything was great my friends from out of town enjoyed their food and view.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my 3rd time dining at this rest ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

This was my 3rd time dining at this restaurant and the food was amazing as always. I love the fresh seafood/fish options, especially the ceviche. Great wine and cocktails too. I didn't know that I liked Peruvian food so much until I ate at LeMar.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, ambience and beautiful atmos ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Great food, ambience and beautiful atmosphere. Great seafood and the traditional Peruvian choices were delicious. And cocktails were lovely.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Spicy, Casual, Disabled Access, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value1

When visiting Miami Florida ,my husban ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

When visiting Miami Florida ,my husband and I stay in the Mandarin Hotel which has the Lar Mar restaurant . We love everything about that restaurant in Florida the food the ambience the service - Impeccable. So when traveling with friends to San Francisco we saw there was a La Mar there, we were so excited to recommend this place..WRONG! From the moment we walked in, we didnt have a good feeling . It was like walking into a cafeteria, bright lights , worn and not very clean looking -and where we seated- on the deck was even noisier. This was not th place we bragged about to our friends. It literally felt like we were in a cafeteria, I asked for a table inside, which they did accommodate . The server was great. The food was hit and miss. We were dressed very nice, we expected La Mar Miami Abience , but we were way out of place, so needless to say it was a big let down for us and our friends. Please change the name, or come up to Lar Mar Miami standards- subperb food, ambience and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

It was really good - food and service. I ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

It was really good - food and service. I had a gift card this time but I definitely want to go more often.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We felt the meal was good well prepared ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

We felt the meal was good well prepared and delivered as expected. The drinks were as overpriced as we had experienced. Paying $16 for a house Tempranillo is over the top and I had a Grey Goose Martini served is a lousy glass (poor presentation) with as little goose as I received in a drink at any restaurant I had frequented.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Overall, very positive experience. Very ...

 
 (Rheinland Pfalz)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Overall, very positive experience. Very good food and an exceptionall nice waiter / service.

The place just is extremely noisy and crowded.

Tags: Good for a Date, Waterfront, Family Style, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

Food was absolutely amazing! This place ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Food was absolutely amazing! This place stands out for location and quality of food. Great for date night if you have $$$

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A classic. Solid Peruvian food with a mo ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

A classic. Solid Peruvian food with a modern/American twist. Fun place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great food and great service !

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

Great food and great service !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Cebiche Mixtos and Causas Nikei were ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

The Cebiche Mixtos and Causas Nikei were impressive. We would order them again in a heartbeat. I am sad the Bayflower cocktail was no longer offered this time, but the prickly pear margarita was a nice substitute. We will be regulars at La Mar each time we visit San Francisco!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent combination of flavours in eac ...

vip
 (London)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Excellent combination of flavours in each dish. Cocktails we're really good too.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Tip: located conveniently near the Ferry ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Tip: located conveniently near the Ferry Building and the Exploratorium, La Mar is a tourist friendly spot with both great food and waterfront views. Order any of the ceviche dishes to share and the excellent grilled plates. The empanadas are excellent too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great Piso cocktails! The Ceviche Class ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Great Piso cocktails! The Ceviche Classico and the Lomo Saltado were fabulous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

We were blown away by the food AND the s ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

We were blown away by the food AND the service. Everyone who came to our table was genuinely kind and patient. We went for a birthday and they were very nice and gave us a dessert with a candle :) no singing which was great because we didn't want to be pointed out haha

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Good!! Perfect!!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Good!! Perfect!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent and authentic flavor, friendl ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Excellent and authentic flavor, friendly staff and great location.

Tags: Tapas, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a really enjoyable dinner at la m ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

We had a really enjoyable dinner at la mar. The food was creative and satisfying without being heavy. The service is excellent and we are happy that we considered going to a restaurant in the Embarcadaro even though it is a touristy area.

Tags: Healthy, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Fun, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Food, service and ambience was absolutel ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Food, service and ambience was absolutely incredible. My wife and I are both huge foodies, and we will be back.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

If you love ceviche, this is the place. ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

If you love ceviche, this is the place. The Peruvian ceviche is awesome and done at the next level at this restaurant. We have been here before and will be back again on our next visit to San Francisco.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Open Kitchen, Modern Decor, Healthy, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Tapas, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food, wonderful drinks. The w ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Excellent food, wonderful drinks. The wait staff are friendly but busy so sometimes a tad slow to serve. The patio area is extremely noisy. I recommend staying inside if you're sensitive to noise.

Tags: Waterfront, Authentic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Only problem was that the waiter got my ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Only problem was that the waiter got my order wrong, so my friend had to sit there with her food for quite a while, while waiting for my correct order to come. There was no courtesy discount or offer to make it better, which I would expect from a restaurant like this.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Nice variety of food items. Service nee ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Nice variety of food items. Service needs a help. Our waiter had several larger tables, and our party felt neglected most of the evening.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Food is ok but overpriced (we paid 28 do ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Food is ok but overpriced (we paid 28 dollars for 1 octopus tentacle).

Location is nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Very tasty South American food , large p ...

 
 (Worcestershire)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Very tasty South American food , large portion sizes (a bit too large), good choice of menu items and very good pisco sours.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Really great Peruvian food, particularly ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

Really great Peruvian food, particularly the Lomo Saltado. Outstanding service as well.

Tags: Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

All good. Felt rushed out at the end of ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

All good. Felt rushed out at the end of the night

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We enjoyed the atmosphere and had a wond ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

We enjoyed the atmosphere and had a wonderful time sampling delicious dishes from all over the world - it was a real treat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent restaurant with yummy food. I ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Excellent restaurant with yummy food. I had the seafood ceviche and grilled octopus and both of them were out of this world. Unfortunately, there was a very loud party rot next table which tamed our experience a bit. Otherwise great place to try Peruvian food with excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Extreme new and lovable experience. We w ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Extreme new and lovable experience. We went for a second taste few days later. The first positive judgment was confirmed !!

Tags: Scenic View, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

We absolutely loved Le Mar Cebicheria... ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

We absolutely loved Le Mar Cebicheria....from the wonderful beef and mushroom empanadas, the extremely tasty and varied cebiches, to our favorite: lomo saltado! The flavors and presentations were so compelling that we absolutely can't wait to revisit to further explore the Chef's other wonderful offerings.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Spicy, People Watching, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Tapas, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.