About La Mar Cebicheria Peruana

Pier 1 1/2
San Francisco, CA 94111
View Larger Map

Inspired by the thousands of cebicherias found throughout Peru, La Mar Cebicheri­a Peruana, was created as an attempt to globalize and enshrine one of the best guarded treasures of Peruvian cuisine: cebiche, Peruvian seafood and the scenery created to enjoy them, the Peruvian style cebicheria.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Peruvian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: 7 days a week 11:30am - 2:30pm

Dinner: 7 days a week

Sunday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Washington and The Embarcadero

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 397-8880

Website:
http://www.lamarsf.com/

Entertainment:
Happy Hour Every day 3:00pm - 6:00pm

Parking Details:
Parking can be found on Pier 3.
Lunch: $10 for first 2 hours ($5 each additional hour)
Dinner: $20 Flat rate

There is also a public parking across the street on the Northwest corner of Washington St. and the Embarcadero.

Public Transit:
Muni:

To Embarcadero & Washington or Steuart & Market

BART:

To Embarcadero Station

Public Water Taxi Service: There is a public pier behind the restaurant, for small boats to park free for a maximum of 3 hours.

Executive Chef:
Gastón Acurio / Victoriano Lopez

Private Party Facilities:
We are open for private events ranging from 14 - 200 guests and can cater to your every need.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Go to Lamarsf.com to check out our weekly specials!

* Patio seating is on a first come first serve basis and cannot be guaranteed.
** Individual items may be subject to change depending on availability









Restaurant Photos

La Mar Cebicheria Peruana, San Francisco, CA
La Mar Cebicheria Peruana, San Francisco, CA
La Mar Cebicheria Peruana, San Francisco, CA
La Mar Cebicheria Peruana, San Francisco, CA
La Mar Cebicheria Peruana, San Francisco, CA
La Mar Cebicheria Peruana, San Francisco, CA
La Mar Cebicheria Peruana, San Francisco, CA
La Mar Cebicheria Peruana, San Francisco, CA
La Mar Cebicheria Peruana, San Francisco, CA
La Mar Cebicheria Peruana, San Francisco, CA
La Mar Cebicheria Peruana, San Francisco, CA
La Mar Cebicheria Peruana, San Francisco, CA
empanadas - La Mar Cebicheria Peruana, San Francisco, CA
Mango And Coconut Pastry - La Mar Cebicheria Peruana, San Francisco, CA
Picarones, Peruvian Desert! Best Ever.  - La Mar Cebicheria Peruana, San Francisco, CA
lomo saltado - La Mar Cebicheria Peruana, San Francisco, CA
Cebiche De Pescado - La Mar Cebicheria Peruana, San Francisco, CA
Martini - La Mar Cebicheria Peruana, San Francisco, CA
Quinoa Chaufa - La Mar Cebicheria Peruana, San Francisco, CA
Halibut & Mushrooms - La Mar Cebicheria Peruana, San Francisco, CA
Porfiteroles - La Mar Cebicheria Peruana, San Francisco, CA
Maple Panna Cotta - La Mar Cebicheria Peruana, San Francisco, CA
Cebiche - La Mar Cebicheria Peruana, San Francisco, CA
Arroz De Mariscos - La Mar Cebicheria Peruana, San Francisco, CA
Pulpo - La Mar Cebicheria Peruana, San Francisco, CA
Causas Tasting - La Mar Cebicheria Peruana, San Francisco, CA
Pisco Punch  - La Mar Cebicheria Peruana, San Francisco, CA

Specials

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Specials

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Details

HAPPY NEW YEARS!
First Seating: 4:45-5:30pm, $89 3-course menu with signature Pisco greeting
Second Seating: 6:45-7:30pm, $89 3-course menu with signature Pisco greeting Third Seating: 8:45-9:30pm, $129 4-course menu with signature Pisco greeting and midnight sparkling wine toast!

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

La Mar Cebicheria Peruana Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (83)
Waterfront (75)
Fit for Foodies (74)
See All
Special Occasion (71)
Good for a Date (63)
Creative Cuisine (61)
Authentic (46)
Good for Groups (44)
Hot Spot (44)
Great for Outdoor Dining (40)
Fun (37)
Tapas (37)
Good for Anniversaries (35)
Romantic (31)
Modern Decor (29)
Great for Lunch (29)
Business Meals (29)
Worth the Drive (27)
Good for Birthdays (27)
Healthy (26)
Handcrafted Cocktails (22)
Casual (21)
Open Kitchen (21)
Family Style (20)
Bar Seating (20)
Tasting Menu (18)
Vibrant Bar Scene (18)
Local Ingredients (18)
Happy Hour (17)
Spicy (17)
People Watching (16)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Outstanding Value (11)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Paleo Friendly (8)
Late-night Find (8)
Great for Brunch (8)
Notable Wine List (8)
Historic (7)
Cozy (7)
Kid-friendly (6)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Seasonal (4)
Private Room (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Organic (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Vegan (1)
Live Music (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
3378 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Everytime my husband and I have an overn ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

Everytime my husband and I have an overnight date night in the city we always come to LaMar! The specials are ridiculously delish to the point where I crave the food weeks later!

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food, ambience and service! We h ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

Amazing food, ambience and service! We had the best waiter, Moses. Will definitely come back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous food and friendly, impeccable s ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

Fabulous food and friendly, impeccable service. The tuna belly special was the best I've ever tasted.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Went for a client lunch, and a party of ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 7 days ago

Went for a client lunch, and a party of 8 was perfectly accommodated. Delicious empenanadas and very share-friendly. A wonderful experience!

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We loved our server, Roxie. She was able ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 28, 2016

We loved our server, Roxie. She was able to help us select menu items that we were not familiar with and she was so knowledgeable, kind and fun. Our evening was perfect in every way!

Tags: Fun, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always La Mar delivered. Great, fresh ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 27, 2016

As always La Mar delivered. Great, fresh seafood, perfectly prepared and pleasantly served. We had a relatively quiet corner in the southeast corner in the outer room that well suited us.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We went here as a recommendation, but I ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 25, 2016

We went here as a recommendation, but I would never recommend this place to anyone. The receptionist was very kind, the food was good, the service was absolutely terrible, bathrooms not clean. The restaurant was not busy, and our server was inattentive. We ordered appetizers, and they came with half the entrees, while we waited for the other half of the entrees. He never checked back...we had to flag him down to find out about my son's missing entree and then again to get a refill of my mother's iced tea. It was just very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

Whenever I have out of town guests, I al ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Whenever I have out of town guests, I always bring them here because how many people get to taste Peruvian food? I always do family style so everyone gets to try a bit of everything.

Tags: Hot Spot, Scenic View, Family Style, Tasting Menu, Happy Hour, Spicy, Gluten Free Options, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very pricey but well worth it! Everythin ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Very pricey but well worth it! Everything was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I have been here several times and love ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 21, 2016

I have been here several times and love the food. The atmosphere is never that great because it is so cavernous, unless you are at one of the bars. Despite the food being so great and the place being somewhat of a cattle market, I always figure the food and service will make up for those things. This time, the service was truly abominable. it was not busy, and the waiter pretty much ignored us for the most part. Wine came after the meal came, etc, etc. Luckily, we were not on a time constraint, and had a lot of catching up to do...

Tags: Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

Super evening in San Francisco. We were ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Super evening in San Francisco.

We were very surprised by the exquisit serving of cheviche.

Restaurant you certainly must try.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Bar Seating, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

A bit pricey but food is excellent and p ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 21, 2016

A bit pricey but food is excellent and portions are big

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

I visited LA MAR with my friend from JAP ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 20, 2016

I visited LA MAR with my friend from JAPAN.

My daughter strongly recommended LA MAR.

The food was really fabulous and I hope I can come back soon.

My friend from Japan was thoroughly impressed with everything.

Tags: Tapas, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent restaurant. I only wish there ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Excellent restaurant. I only wish there was one close to home. super representation of peruvian food in an elegant and tasty way.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Good atmosphere, good food, excellent se ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Good atmosphere, good food, excellent service. 2 min. walk from the Ferry Bldg. Easy parking across the street.

Tags: Tapas, Scenic View, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Is Mar was very good but the service- es ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Is Mar was very good but the service- especially from the bar, was very slow. They could have doubled the amount of alcohol we had if they had been responsive. Overall, the service was ok and everyone was very nice - but they were slow. Very slow to respond and bring food out.

Quality of the food was very good and the setting is beautiful.

Need to step up the service to get people to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Amazing food. The beef empanadas were to ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Amazing food. The beef empanadas were to die for! The ceviche taster was excellent. Though it was on the expensive side, every cent I spent there was worth it. Highly recommend!

Tags: Authentic, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Spicy, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Fun, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

La Mar is an original and memorable addi ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 18, 2016

La Mar is an original and memorable addition to San Francisco's fabled waterfront - yes, it has the view and location, just a few steps from the Ferry Building. But I would put its ceviche and empanadas head and shoulders above any others on Fisherman's Wharf. The setting impressed our friends from Los Angeles - which has to be an outstanding compliment by itself. They had been to Peru, so they appreciated the spices. We chose the clasico ceviche featuring the daily catch, halibut, with the signature "leche de tigre" marinade. One guest wolfed down the ahi tuna tataki salad, another chose vegetarian empanadas, I had the salmon with salmon, shrimp, seasonal vegetables, mushrooms, and coconut milk, and my friend next to me wolfed down the choclo + camarones - grilled Atlantic whole prawns over corn ravioli, parihuela sauce and sorrel salad (yes, he is married to and shared his dish with the ahi tuna wolf. Our dessert featured a chocolate mouse served on passion fruit and disappeared in a flash. Viva La Mar!

Tags: Special Occasion, People Watching, Scenic View, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was amazing, the service even bette ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Food was amazing, the service even better. Thank you John it was a special evening for me and my wife.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a wonderful experience! I've had ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 17, 2016

We had a wonderful experience! I've had lomo saltado many many times and this was by far the best I've ever tasted! The yuquitas were spectacular and the maracuya was so refreshing!

We wanted to send a special thank you to the support or busser. He was so attentive to us (more than our server) and was very friendly. He took very good care of us. He made our experience even better. We will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Wine pour was weak and not fair for pric ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Wine pour was weak and not fair for price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Never had Peruvian food until I ate here ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Never had Peruvian food until I ate here. Great experience. Seafood tasted fresh. Really unique and tasty flavors.

Tags: Spicy, Scenic View, Bar Seating, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My partner and I both got bad food poiso ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 14, 2016

My partner and I both got bad food poisoning at this place on Sunday night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value3

Promoting our beautiful Latin culture th ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Promoting our beautiful Latin culture through the gastronomical world.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food and wine. And, they were so n ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Great food and wine. And, they were so nice about accommodating me the next day to retrieve a forgotten item

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Very good food, excellent service. The o ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Very good food, excellent service. The only downside was the bill. It seemed about 30% higher than it should be. However, I suspect the rent and overhead is very high.

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Service was terrible. Took too long to g ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Service was terrible. Took too long to get drinks. Waitress new nothing about drink menu.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

The Pisco at the Bar is always a good st ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 11, 2016

The Pisco at the Bar is always a good start into the dinner. They have a great wine list were you can find a good fit with the "must have" Ceviche variations. Good Service .

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

The restaurant has great Peruvian food a ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 9, 2016

The restaurant has great Peruvian food and the service was good. It was my wife's bday, and they brought out a bday treat at the end of the meal, which was nice. The location of the restaurant is great and right on the waterfront. The food is a little pricey, and I would probably make this place a "once-in-while" type restaurant. I would recommend this place to friends to try.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

The food was really great. Along with r ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 7, 2016

The food was really great.

Along with really nice cocktails.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

The food was amazing as usual! Always de ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 6, 2016

The food was amazing as usual! Always delicious, fresh, light yet satisfying, even my non-foodie family absolutely loved everything we ordered. Heck, my family loved the food so much that they ultimately did not care about the fact that we were seated nearly an hour after our reservation time, and that the kitchen had run out of a dish we were very much looking forward to. N.B. This is something that would normally turn them off from a restaurant in any other situation.

The hostess and manager comped a couple appetizers and our drinks, which we very much appreciated.

Tags: Fun, Waterfront, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Everything was absolutely divine! I If y ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Everything was absolutely divine! I If you love seafood, this is the place to be. Every single dish was my favorite but the octopus, camarones and salmon stood out!!

Tags: Tapas, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect service, delicious food! I wrote ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Perfect service, delicious food! I wrote a small note to my reservation.They brought surprise dessert with a candle for my husbnds birthday. They made us very happier after eating very delicious food.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My only complaint is my usual one: music ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 5, 2016

My only complaint is my usual one: music so loud that it's hard to have a conversation. Otherwise, the food was fantastic and reasonably priced. Great location, original menu, excellent quality and service. Very nice decor too.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Their ceviche and octopus dish were fant ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Their ceviche and octopus dish were fantastic. The noise level was higher than I would liked it to be but regardless it has fun and energetic ambiance.

Tags: Waterfront, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food and atmosphere, but the meal ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Great food and atmosphere, but the meal was ruined by the terrible service.--and the service was terrible in every possible way. What a shame.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

Overall, excellent food and service. Wha ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Overall, excellent food and service. What was really impressive was their attention to detail regarding a food allergy (gluten) for one member of our party. We had noted it on the reservation, and from the moment we were seated, our server was on top of it, taking care to point out dishes that were "safe", mentioning that the restaurant uses tamari vs regular soy sauce (tamari is safe for celiacs) and so on. The food was fabulous and I would definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I came to this restaurant with my family ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 3, 2016

I came to this restaurant with my family three years ago. sat at the counter in front of the kitchen. I saw the chef double dipping from a plate that was ready for a customer. I brought it up to the GM, he said you don't need to make a big deal out of it. He was very rude. We decided to leave.

I thought I would give it another chance three days ago. the bartender was very nice and cordial. Went to the dining room, service was below mediocre. Tuna salad had absolutely no tast.

Not going back, there are way better choices in SF.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Server was very nice, he was patient whe ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Server was very nice, he was patient when we asked him questions about the menu and even recommended some of the most popular and tasty dishes. The pisco cocktails were well balanced and the classic ceviche was also tasty with the "Tigre de leche".

Overall our party had a good time and the restaurant was able to accommodate one more person to our original reservation for 4. Everyone had a good time and the staff was quite friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

51st wedding anniversary group of 5, 2 o ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 30, 2016

51st wedding anniversary

group of 5, 2 of them being from Boston

excellent in every way, especially the server, as one of our group has celiac disorder, and the server was attentive without being irritating.

Tags: Authentic, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.