About La Mar Cebicheria Peruana

Inspired by the thousands of cebicherias found throughout Peru, La Mar Cebicheri­a Peruana, was created as an attempt to globalize and enshrine one of the best guarded treasures of Peruvian cuisine: cebiche, Peruvian seafood and the scenery created to enjoy them, the Peruvian style cebicheria.

Pier 1 1/2
San Francisco, CA 94111
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Peruvian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: 7 days a week 11:30am - 2:30pm

Dinner: 7 days a week

Sunday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Washington and The Embarcadero

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 397-8880

Website:
http://www.lamarsf.com/

Entertainment:
Happy Hour Every day 3:00pm - 6:00pm

Parking Details:
Parking can be found on Pier 3.
Lunch: $10 for first 2 hours ($5 each additional hour)
Dinner: $20 Flat rate

There is also a public parking across the street on the Northwest corner of Washington St. and the Embarcadero.

Public Transit:
Muni:

To Embarcadero & Washington or Steuart & Market

BART:

To Embarcadero Station

Public Water Taxi Service: There is a public pier behind the restaurant, for small boats to park free for a maximum of 3 hours.

Executive Chef:
Gastón Acurio / Victoriano Lopez

Private Party Facilities:
We are open for private events ranging from 14 - 200 guests and can cater to your every need.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Go to Lamarsf.com to check out our weekly specials!

* Patio seating is on a first come first serve basis and cannot be guaranteed.
** Individual items may be subject to change depending on availability









Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

empanadas - La Mar Cebicheria Peruana, San Francisco, CA
Mango And Coconut Pastry - La Mar Cebicheria Peruana, San Francisco, CA
Picarones, Peruvian Desert! Best Ever.  - La Mar Cebicheria Peruana, San Francisco, CA
lomo saltado - La Mar Cebicheria Peruana, San Francisco, CA
Cebiche De Pescado - La Mar Cebicheria Peruana, San Francisco, CA
Martini - La Mar Cebicheria Peruana, San Francisco, CA
Quinoa Chaufa - La Mar Cebicheria Peruana, San Francisco, CA
Halibut & Mushrooms - La Mar Cebicheria Peruana, San Francisco, CA
Porfiteroles - La Mar Cebicheria Peruana, San Francisco, CA
Maple Panna Cotta - La Mar Cebicheria Peruana, San Francisco, CA
Cebiche - La Mar Cebicheria Peruana, San Francisco, CA
Arroz De Mariscos - La Mar Cebicheria Peruana, San Francisco, CA
Pulpo - La Mar Cebicheria Peruana, San Francisco, CA
Causas Tasting - La Mar Cebicheria Peruana, San Francisco, CA
Pisco Punch  - La Mar Cebicheria Peruana, San Francisco, CA

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

La Mar Cebicheria Peruana Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.2

ambience

4.3

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (73)
Scenic View (62)
Fit for Foodies (60)
See All
Creative Cuisine (59)
Good for a Date (58)
Special Occasion (52)
Authentic (44)
Fun (38)
Good for Anniversaries (36)
Tapas (35)
Good for Groups (34)
Good for Birthdays (33)
Hot Spot (32)
Great for Outdoor Dining (26)
Romantic (26)
Healthy (25)
Business Meals (25)
Handcrafted Cocktails (25)
Modern Decor (24)
Casual (22)
Bar Seating (22)
Great for Lunch (21)
Open Kitchen (21)
Worth the Drive (21)
Family Style (20)
Tasting Menu (18)
Local Ingredients (18)
Happy Hour (18)
Spicy (17)
People Watching (12)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Outstanding Value (10)
Notable Wine List (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Great for Brunch (7)
Cozy (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Historic (6)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Paleo Friendly (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Private Room (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Seasonal (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Organic (3)
Live Music (1)
Vegan (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
3605 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Second time at this place! The food like ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined a day ago

Second time at this place! The food like always fantastic, best Peruvian cebiches around San Francisco by far.

Reservation was made at 830pm party of 6 !

the only problem was that they had no more food (chef special dishes) I recommended this place for our dinner because of the chefs special and because we are from Peru as well and from the 6 of us only myself and my girlfriend had the pleasure of dinning here a year ago and if you ask me we were extremely disappointed . If I would have known that they had no more signature dishes we would have gone to another place and maybe try la mar another time. Prior to that like I said the cebiches by far excellent.

Sever was knowledgeable of the food. But he seemed like he was in a rush . We felt rushed we were he's last table that's why . I know their suppose to tell us if they don't have any items left but it was all of the chefs special so ya I was a bit upset. But what it got to me was the originally I made a reservation at 930 I think. The hostess called me to see if we could change it to a bit early and we did!

I did mention that we were celebrating our one year anniversary because we were in sf a year ago myself and my girlfriend at this restaurant so why not celebrate our one year at the same place . My friend also was celebrating he's wedding .

But nothing was acknowledge by the server or the hostess. It was an special evening for all of us too bad

Their communication was extremely bad between the staff.

We will come back maybe in a few months and give it another chance we love Peruvian food specially my girlfriend.

We are from Los Angeles .

Communicate a bit better and please pay attention to the smallest details. Meaning special ocasiones

Muchas gracias

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value5

Delicious, especially the limena causa d ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 2 days ago

Delicious, especially the limena causa dish. But expect the meal to be on the pricey side.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Great experience overall. Food was crea ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 2 days ago

Great experience overall. Food was creative and delicious. We felt a little rushed by our waiter but appreciated his suggestions. Got a little chilly for some of us as we were in the tent area close to the water. The heat lamps did not cut it for the whole party. For the main course, two of us had the lomo saltado. It was very tender and cut into bite size pieces but I prefer the way it was served in Cuzco with an egg on top of a big steak, rice and french fries on the side. My buddy thought it was too salty but I did not think so. Desserts were wonderful. Would definitely return.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

I enjoyed my food, but unfortunately my ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 2 days ago

I enjoyed my food, but unfortunately my date had a terrible experience getting food poisoning from her sea food plate. I did notify the management today. The service was excellent.

Tags: Happy Hour, Tasting Menu, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

We were a party of 8. It had been sever ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined 3 days ago

We were a party of 8. It had been several years since I had been and no one in the party had been before. The wait staff was excellent. They made great pairing choices and recommended many alternatives for entrees and for food to share. My two favorites were the octopus and the beef shank (serves 2+). The wine pairing recommendations were also outstanding. This dining experience was one of the few times I wasn't upset about a prefixed service charge (tip for large party).

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

5% surcharge?!

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined 4 days ago

5% surcharge?!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, People Watching, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

wonderful experience. Will redefine you ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

wonderful experience. Will redefine your view of Peru and its amazing cuisine

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect setting for friends getting toge ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

Perfect setting for friends getting together, only thing I wished they have is live music

Tags: Notable Wine List, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Service was friendly and attentive. Atmo ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

Service was friendly and attentive.

Atmosphere was a little loud for a business meal.

Food was fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Great ceviche and the beef heart skewer ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Great ceviche and the beef heart skewer fantastic, never had it before - so tender! Big, fun and friendly place- highly recommended!

Tags: Special Occasion, People Watching, Fun, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place to be, nice food. Just a bit ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Great place to be, nice food. Just a bit loud.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The catch of the day was sold out at 7:3 ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The catch of the day was sold out at 7:30 which was really disappointing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

Wonderful tasting food . Great ambiance ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Wonderful tasting food . Great ambiance and you can hear conversation. The drawbacks were that the room must be hard to heat and the bathroom is disgusting with less than one ply toilet paper that was tracked all over the floor and even into the restaurant .

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Had lunch with friend, Peruvian fried ri ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Had lunch with friend, Peruvian fried rice is awesome. When lunch ended, we meandered over to the bar for Happy Hour, there's no bad view in this place. Colorful dishes, bar area staff were friendly and attentive. Highly recommend the calamari. Drinks are strong and tasty. Happy Hour menu offered seven days a week, can't beat that. Location, location, location and near the Ferry Building Building, walk off the foods up and down Embarcadero.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Open Kitchen, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

A group of us celebrating a new baby had ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 7, 2017

A group of us celebrating a new baby had a fabulous time. The cocktails were unique and delicious, as were the non-alcoholic drinks. The special crab pasta was delicious to share. The skewers were fabulous. The empanadas were tasty and light and flakey. Even the gluten-free pescaterian and pain-in-the-butt kid in our group found plenty to eat and enjoy. The service was gracious and friendly. I've previously only come here for happy hour, but I'll definitely be back for meals in the future now!

Tags: Good for Groups, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bad uninspired food and careless service ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Bad uninspired food and careless service at exorbitant prices. What's there to like?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Great apps and main course. Great servic ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Great apps and main course. Great service! John was fantastic!

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Saw this place reviewed on KQED "ticket ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Saw this place reviewed on KQED "ticket please", loved the freshness and color of the cebiche, produce and accompaniment garnishes and other choice plates. Though still looking good but disappointed at what we got - did not appear, colors and freshness that our eyes ate it before entry in our mouths. So lacks consistency, hopefully it was not a special produced for TV only by the head Chef.

Tags: Bar Seating, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Price tag was high compared to the quali ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Price tag was high compared to the quality of the meal. Cocktails were good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Muy buena experiencia. Todo lo que pedim ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Muy buena experiencia. Todo lo que pedimos estuvo muy rico. La causa limeña, el tiradito cremoso y el cebiche mixto. La presentación es digna de mencionar aunque las porciones (como era de esperarse) no eran muy grandes. Los chifles con ají que te traen para picar buenazos y el tres leches también. El ambiente es relajado con buena música y la vista espectacular. Totalmente recomiendo una mesa afuera, vale la pena. Los precios no son los más económicos pero la experiencia en general lo vale. A pesar que con comida peruana no hay pierde, definitivamente la calidad de La Mar resalta su exquisita variedad y su sabor. Súper recomendado para locales y turistas.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

We went for NYE 2016-17. Menu was really ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We went for NYE 2016-17. Menu was really nice especially the ceviche starter. The pisco sour that came with the fixed menu was really nice. The service was mixed. Everyone was very nice but a lot of different people going back and forth. For the evening expected everyone to be in a good mood but the staff were a bit neutral. Perhaps they were not too happy having to work on NYE? We arrived a half hour early and were seated right away and beat the rush.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

We booked for New Years Eve. The food wa ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We booked for New Years Eve. The food was "good" however the price was very high. It is a large venue and we sat in the "tented" part of the restaurant. I enjoyed the king crab dish, however the beef dish was mostly onions and potatoes. The dessert was interesting and enjoyable. I had heard great reviews about this place and maybe because it was NYE - the food was less than perfect. I'd give it another go, maybe for lunch.The service was very good and staff attentive. Oh, the restroom was a disaster. Not clean. I would suggest they do something about that.

Tags: Authentic, Open Kitchen, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

We had a great time. However...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We had a great time. However...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

First time at La Mar. We close this res ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 30, 2016

First time at La Mar. We close this restaurant because we saw it on Bay Area Check Please. We arrived early and were warmly greeted and seated immediately. Immediately loved the ambiance. Everything we ordered was flavorful and delicious, and our waiter was perfectly attentive and friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love La Mar! Food and the pisco sours ca ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Love La Mar! Food and the pisco sours can't be beat. Wait staff and bartenders are always friendly. Only drawback is the noise level, too loud.

Tags: Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

This was my second time at La Mar. Both ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 27, 2016

This was my second time at La Mar. Both times, our focus was on the fantastic cebiches, empanadas, and causas, so I can't comment on the main dishes. The sampling of flavors was wonderful and the presentations were just stunning. Pair this with a nice wine list and a wonderful view from the back deck and you have a winner!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Over rated. Very expensive for what it i ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Over rated. Very expensive for what it is.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Food was ok, service was excellent excep ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Food was ok, service was excellent except the bar tender. She was rude and had no customer service attitude. The front desk staff was also friendly and professional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

Our first time to dine here was very imp ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Our first time to dine here was very impressed with the menu and execution of the menu items - very authentic flavors, nice plate presentations. Service staff very knowledgeable, attentive and professional- never felt rushed or pressured. We decided to go small plate and ordered one item from each of the sections on the left hand side of the menu - Mercado ceviche was outstanding, there's a salmon item we loved and the causas with Dungeness crab was excellent. We also ordered Beef empanadas (2/order) and the "street food style" grilled octopus which is a must try. We'll go back and would recommend you give it a try!

Tags: Tapas, Authentic, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food and service was a little lackluster ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Food and service was a little lackluster compared to previous visits.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Excellent restaurant. Everything we tri ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Excellent restaurant. Everything we tried was very good! Wait staff was attentive and patient. We will definitely be returning!

Tags: Waterfront, Family Style, Great for Lunch, Tapas, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

My third time there and this one was a r ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 24, 2016

My third time there and this one was a real disappointment (unlike the other two times). The squid ink pasta with crab was super expensive and it was an enormous mountain of not so good pasta (overcooked, not hot enough, gummy sauce) with hard to find bits of crab. At $58 I kicked myself for having made such a poor choice. Worse -- the only reason I ordered it was because the waiter recommended it. The pulpo was really good. The ceviche good. other two dishes not very good this time... perhaps the chef was off.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

One of my fav places in SF! Ceviche is a ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 23, 2016

One of my fav places in SF! Ceviche is amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Service was very good. Food well prepar ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Service was very good. Food well prepared and delicious. Can be hard to find a quiet table. Food is unique.

Tags: Fun, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was our second fantastic dining exp ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 23, 2016

This was our second fantastic dining experience here. Again the food and service were amazing. Japanese influenced Peruvian seafood is full of interesting flavors with lovely presentations that makes a really special meal. I would definitely come back again. Though the prices are a steep, it is great for a special occasion or a treat!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent seafood and service!

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Excellent seafood and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A lovely date!

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 21, 2016

A lovely date!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Absolutely horrible experience. The foo ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Absolutely horrible experience.

The food was minimally OK.

The tab had no resemblance to what we ordered. The menu did not have all or accurate pricing. The server was perfectly sweet but she did not tell us the cost of what she suggested.

I ordered an Jalea entree off the menu at $28 but there was nothing on the bill at that price. The entree itself was messy. It wasn't what I expected.

We ordered a tasting of ceviche/appetizers (the tasting of 3 items were listed on the menu at under $20. The server recommended a 4th tasting item - the Causa Limena (menu listed item at $14) - but no tasting cost was quoted. The tastings items were the only things that were good.

My friend ordered the LAST of the special - crab and black squid ink pasta. Again, no price quoted (the amount of crab was not enough to fill a damn claw).

There was something on the bill priced at +$55 ????? What was it? We had 2 Pisco Sours and 2 Cappuccinos. Our tab was $210 . We were shocked . We paid it plus $40 for the server. In retrospect, I should have immediately called the manager. But I had no time.

There is no way that our meal was worth $210. Nothing listed on the tab made sense. I didn't keep a copy of the bill or I would have contacted the restaurant.

I have eaten here before. It is not cheap. But it was good food. This time, there was something wrong. Food not up to the standard and we felt cheated with the final tally.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

The food was very good and the service w ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 19, 2016

The food was very good and the service was excellent. Surprisingly, the Pisco Sour was very acidic and we had to send it back. We started with the tiradito, which was the best thing we had. The anticucho was good, but was cold and we had to ask for it to be heated. We shared the crab with ink linguine as our main course. This was very good, but a little too greasy, perhaps from too much butter. The presentation of the crab was just okay.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Our experience was excellent. The food, ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Our experience was excellent. The food, service and ambiance were perfect. We had been there before for dinner, and many times for Pisco's. All was easy going, casual but attentive. Great night after Cirque.

Tags: Hot Spot, Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.