About La Mar Cebicheria Peruana

Pier 1 1/2
San Francisco, CA 94111
View Larger Map

Inspired by the thousands of cebicherias found throughout Peru, La Mar Cebicheri­a Peruana, was created as an attempt to globalize and enshrine one of the best guarded treasures of Peruvian cuisine: cebiche, Peruvian seafood and the scenery created to enjoy them, the Peruvian style cebicheria.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Peruvian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: 7 days a week 11:30am - 2:30pm

Dinner: 7 days a week

Sunday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Washington and The Embarcadero

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 397-8880

Website:
http://www.lamarsf.com/

Entertainment:
Happy Hour Every day 3:00pm - 6:00pm

Parking Details:
Parking can be found on Pier 3.
Lunch: $10 for first 2 hours ($5 each additional hour)
Dinner: $20 Flat rate

There is also a public parking across the street on the Northwest corner of Washington St. and the Embarcadero.

Public Transit:
Muni:

To Embarcadero & Washington or Steuart & Market

BART:

To Embarcadero Station

Public Water Taxi Service: There is a public pier behind the restaurant, for small boats to park free for a maximum of 3 hours.

Executive Chef:
Gastón Acurio / Victoriano Lopez

Private Party Facilities:
We are open for private events ranging from 14 - 200 guests and can cater to your every need.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Go to Lamarsf.com to check out our weekly specials!

* Patio seating is on a first come first serve basis and cannot be guaranteed.
** Individual items may be subject to change depending on availability









Restaurant Photos

La Mar Cebicheria Peruana
La Mar Cebicheria Peruana
La Mar Cebicheria Peruana
La Mar Cebicheria Peruana
La Mar Cebicheria Peruana
La Mar Cebicheria Peruana
La Mar Cebicheria Peruana
La Mar Cebicheria Peruana
La Mar Cebicheria Peruana
La Mar Cebicheria Peruana
La Mar Cebicheria Peruana
La Mar Cebicheria Peruana
empanadas
Mango And Coconut Pastry
Picarones, Peruvian Desert! Best Ever.
Cebiche De Pescado
lomo saltado
Martini
Halibut & Mushrooms
Quinoa Chaufa
Maple Panna Cotta
Porfiteroles
Cebiche
Arroz De Mariscos
Pulpo
Causas Tasting
Pisco Punch

La Mar Cebicheria Peruana Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.2

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
San Francisco Bay Area
Most Booked
San Francisco
Best Restaurants in Financial District / Embarcadero ›

fit for foodies (216)
scenic view (182)
special occasion (172)
See All
good for groups (151)
great for outdoor dining (144)
great for lunch (90)
hot spot (82)
vibrant bar scene (82)
romantic (71)
notable wine list (33)
great for brunch (33)
neighborhood gem (31)
late-night find (14)
kid-friendly (12)
Sort By:
Newest
3134 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

A Peruvian friend recommended La Mar, an ...

Dined 2 days ago

A Peruvian friend recommended La Mar, and so we had to try it when our schedule brought us into the city. Food was delicious, and a nice modern spin on Peruvian food. Seafood quality was also very good, which is key in a ceviche/tiradito. My only complaint is that our waiter was initially excited about our experience with Peruvian food, but seemed to shame us for not ordering more (and not finishing our veggies). I didn't appreciate being pressured into ordering more when we a) know we're not that hungry, b) don't want to waste food, and c) couldn't bring home leftovers at the time.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Excellent Peruvian food and great servic ...

Dined 3 days ago

Excellent Peruvian food and great service. I love especially the ceviches. Some of us found the noise level quite stressful.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience4
service3

Good food and good venue, nothing specta ...

Dined 5 days ago

Good food and good venue, nothing spectacular.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

La Mar in SF is every bit as good as Ast ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

La Mar in SF is every bit as good as Astrid Y Gaston in Lima, Peru & Santiago, Chile. Whole Halibut & Squid Ink Pasta specials were wonderful. Dinner menu is more extensive than lunch menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service1

From my profile-you can see that I have ...

vip
Dined on June 20, 2016

From my profile-you can see that I have been here many many many times. Our waiter was awesome-however, I still had a fork full of food ready to go into my mouth and the busboys were clearing the plates and table. There was still plenty of food to be consumed yet they were taking the plates away. Never have I experienced this before and was extremely put out by it-I hate it when plates are cleared when people are still eating. Tsk tsk.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect Father's Day lunch out on the pa ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Perfect Father's Day lunch out on the patio overlooking the bay. Our special needs son was treated with respect and compassion - we truly appreciated this!

food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Ceviche too soupy as it drowned its cont ...

vip
Dined on June 19, 2016

Ceviche too soupy as it drowned its contents. Very disappointing. Ceviche at Limon much tastier with its citrus zing.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food at La Mar is always wonderful. ...

vip
Dined on June 19, 2016

The food at La Mar is always wonderful. Such creative dishes with fabulous flavor combinations. We love that they have lots of fish. Be sure to sample their ceviches and their empanadas. The fish entrees as well as the lamb and beef tenderloin are wonderful. Also, our waiter Roberto was terrific! Attentive, careful about our eating restrictions, personable. We take all of our out-of-town guests here and they always love it!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Really good Peruvian food, fresh seafood ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Really good Peruvian food, fresh seafood. Kind of pricy tho. Good service . We are late for reservation because of the traffic , but they still honor my seat. Will go back for special event .

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4

The halibut collard was incredible.

vip
Dined on June 17, 2016

The halibut collard was incredible.

food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We had just come back from a trip to Per ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

We had just come back from a trip to Peru and were looking forward to dining at La Mar. The restaurant is in a lovely location, with glorious views of the Bay, and we enjoyed our outside table. The wait staff was good, but there was a bit of upselling, the constant barrage of suggestions. The food was good, nice presentation, but not as flavorful as expected. All in all, we were glad we tried La Mar, but felt it catered to the expense account clientele, more than to foodies.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

We were surprised that the restaurant wa ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

We were surprised that the restaurant was virtually empty when we showed up at noon but pleased with the pleasant service, the delicious cebiche sampler and the best Pisco sours I have ever had.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

The ahi tuna ceviche was very good, as w ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

The ahi tuna ceviche was very good, as was the lomo saltado and chicken cabobs. Salmon sushi also very good. Considering the price was expecting a greater variety of seafood dishes.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

La Mar was excellent. Service was very g ...

vip
Dined on June 12, 2016

La Mar was excellent. Service was very good, though a bit slow as the place was crowded The food was worth waiting for. The portions are enormous--our entree could easily have serve ed two people. Would go again in a heart beat.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5

Delicious! One of our favorite places to ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Delicious! One of our favorite places to eat in the city!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delightful

vip
Dined on June 11, 2016

A delightful dining experience. Food and service wonderful.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a great time, a wonderful meal, a ...

vip
Dined on June 10, 2016

We had a great time, a wonderful meal, and enjoyed a beautiful setting. We sat on the patio and it was a great way to enjoy SF.

food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Around the world

Dined on June 10, 2016

Last year we spent a month in Peru and relalized it is this worlds best kept secret for culinary experiences and beautiful history and people! La Mar brings back the wonderful bursts of flavors and creations only Peru has experimented with. It brings together land and sea and many different cultures to form a truly creative flavor! You must try it!!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent overall experience

Dined on June 10, 2016

Cebiche was outstanding with super tender fresh seafood chunks and so full of flavor, great dessert and great service as well, I'll be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great cebiche

Dined on June 9, 2016

Had lunch with wife and daughter in the patio on windy but clear day. Started with pisco sours and prickly pear margarita that were very good, accenting the empanadas appetizer. Then had a delicious nikei tuna cebiche, tuna salad and causas limeñas. Service was attentive and food superior. Not cheap, but I recommend this authentic Peruvian restaurant.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Excellent flavors, seasoned perfectly

Dined on June 8, 2016

Pleasant find on the bay, great menu strong in seafood. Peruvian flair was presented well in each dish. One of the better meals in SF, highly recommended

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

Terrible service!

Dined on June 7, 2016

I always visit La Mar when I go to a place where they have a restaurant (Santiago, Lima etc). This was, however, a huge disappointment! The food was ok (not the grilled octopus, though!), but the service was terrible. A rude and arrogant waiter! Not good at all. Ruined our day!

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Return visit, still wonderful

Dined on June 6, 2016

Party of four, two were new to restaurant. dinner was very good. They accommodated the food allergies we had with no issues. Service was excellent as always. I find the restaurant to be noisy, especially on the outside patio. Will return when I return to SF

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Peruvian

vip
Dined on June 5, 2016

Great Peruvian food on the water and the famous Pisco sour.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

How can you choose which dish to get and ...

Dined on June 5, 2016

How can you choose which dish to get and not to get? Everything we ordered was amazing. Not a single complaint.

food4
ambience4
service4

Was lucky enough to sit out on the back ...

vip
Dined on June 4, 2016

Was lucky enough to sit out on the back patio with the screen out on a rare warm SF evening. As always, was freed immediately and seated with a few minutes of my reservation. The beverages were perfect and hit the spot. We chose the usual ceviche sampler as our starter and got a few entrees. Absolutely on point!

food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect service. Everyone smiled, gree ...

Dined on June 4, 2016

Perfect service. Everyone smiled, greeted with warmth. A wonderful, not to be missed experience.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious Food!

Dined on June 3, 2016

The food and drinks were amazing! Our servers were very attentive. Although the host forgot about us and we were not seated until 20 minutes after our arrival - while others were being seated, I decided to ask - it was still a great experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

La Mar Cebicheria Peruana

vip
Dined on June 3, 2016

Gloriously beautiful presentation of traditions, causes and ceviches. Why order anything other than the left side of the menu--the food is so terrific. Only issue is noise. We had a table for 10 and it was set up in rectangular fashion - made talking amongst us a bit difficult, but the bay view was nice.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Best resto of my life!

Dined on June 3, 2016

Best resto of my life!

food4
ambience4
service4

I appreciate that the servant followed m ...

Dined on June 1, 2016

I appreciate that the servant followed my additional requirement to write a congrats-card for my boyfriend. It was secretly done and was a surprise for him:)

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great dinner

Dined on June 1, 2016

Very delicious food!! We enjoyed everything! The service was very attentive and friendly. One our favorite Restaurants in San Francisco.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

excellent, as usual

Dined on May 31, 2016

wonderful flavors and service, great view, festive

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Service

vip
Dined on May 30, 2016

While the food was delicious the service was not up to par. It was busy and our server seemed very rushed. He didn't take our drink order until his 3rd trip to our table. I was going to have a glass of wine with dinner but by the time he showed up to order one we were almost finished with our entrees

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Ceviche by the water!

vip
Dined on May 30, 2016

We like to eat here as a family for special occasions. We always order the ceviche. On this visit, we added the special soft-shell crab ceviche to our usual roster. The food is good, if expensive. The cocktails are yummy. The outdoor dining experience is excellent.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food1
ambience1
service1

I was so disappointed with the service a ...

vip
Dined on May 29, 2016

I was so disappointed with the service and the server. I specifically ordered a vegan item and when my food was served - I repeatedly asked about he dish being vegan and they confidently said a few times that it was but to my horror and suspect it turned out to be seafood with octopus. They took it back but no apologies or any regret. I am never going back or even recommending the place to anyone.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Relaxing atmosphere and awesome food!

vip
Dined on May 28, 2016

I loved the ceviche, so fresh. Definitely will be coming back ASAP

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Special Occasion Perfection

Dined on May 28, 2016

The food was to die for,if a little pricey. Had a perfect San Francisco evening to walk by the water and then go in for a scrumptious dinner. Everything was very fresh and perfectly cooked. Foodies will love the tastes and textures.

Tags: fit for foodies
food3
ambience4
service5

We have been in many La Mar restaurants. ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

We have been in many La Mar restaurants...Santiago, Buenos Aires and this one is good but not the best...excellent causas ; plancha marina was really a deception: very little octopus compared with other la mar rest....however they were receptive and changed it for two tasty empanadas at no charge.

food3
ambience5
service4
value3

The jalna was great as were the crab, ca ...

Dined on May 26, 2016

The jalna was great as were the crab, caviar on purple mashed potatoes. Prickly pear margarita great. Pass on yucca fries appetizer.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.