About La Mar Cebicheria Peruana

Pier 1 1/2
San Francisco, CA 94111
View Larger Map

Inspired by the thousands of cebicherias found throughout Peru, La Mar Cebicheri­a Peruana, was created as an attempt to globalize and enshrine one of the best guarded treasures of Peruvian cuisine: cebiche, Peruvian seafood and the scenery created to enjoy them, the Peruvian style cebicheria.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Peruvian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: 7 days a week 11:30am - 2:30pm

Dinner: 7 days a week

Sunday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Washington and The Embarcadero

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 397-8880

Website:
http://www.lamarsf.com/

Entertainment:
Happy Hour Every day 3:00pm - 6:00pm

Parking Details:
Parking can be found on Pier 3.
Lunch: $10 for first 2 hours ($5 each additional hour)
Dinner: $20 Flat rate

There is also a public parking across the street on the Northwest corner of Washington St. and the Embarcadero.

Public Transit:
Muni:

To Embarcadero & Washington or Steuart & Market

BART:

To Embarcadero Station

Public Water Taxi Service: There is a public pier behind the restaurant, for small boats to park free for a maximum of 3 hours.

Executive Chef:
Gastón Acurio

Private Party Facilities:
We are open for private events ranging from 14 - 200 guests and can cater to your every need. Please contact Melissa Lang at mlang@lamarcebicheria.com

Private Party Contact:
Melissa Lang : (415)397-8880 x205

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Go to Lamarsf.com to check out our weekly specials!

Come Join us from the week of January 31st - February7th for Special deals in celebration of San Francisco hosting Super Bowl 50!. Please visit our website lamarsf.com for more details

* Patio seating is on a first come first serve basis and cannot be guaranteed.
** Individual items may be subject to change depending on availability

Come celebrate Valentine's Day with La Mar. We will be running a special menu to coincide with our regular menu on Friday the 12th- Saturday the 13th. On Sunday the 14th we will only offer a special Valentine's menu.

* Patio seating is on a first come first serve basis and cannot be guaranteed.
** Individual items may be subject to change depending on availability
*** A credit card is required for all reservations







Restaurant Photos

La Mar Cebicheria Peruana Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.1

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
San Francisco Bay Area
Most Booked
San Francisco
Best Restaurants in Financial District / Embarcadero ›

fit for foodies (192)
scenic view (158)
special occasion (147)
See All
good for groups (140)
great for outdoor dining (124)
great for lunch (84)
hot spot (76)
vibrant bar scene (67)
romantic (66)
great for brunch (31)
notable wine list (23)
neighborhood gem (21)
late-night find (14)
kid-friendly (12)
 (2)
 (2)
 (2)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
3088 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience4
service5

We have been in many La Mar restaurants. ...

Dined 3 days ago

We have been in many La Mar restaurants...Santiago, Buenos Aires and this one is good but not the best...excellent causas ; plancha marina was really a deception: very little octopus compared with other la mar rest....however they were receptive and changed it for two tasty empanadas at no charge.

food3
ambience5
service2
value1

Though the main dining room was almost e ...

Dined 3 days ago

Though the main dining room was almost empty, we almost always have to wave on the waiter to give us service. Service was slow. Appetizers were excellent.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent food! One of the best in city!

vip
Dined 6 days ago

Food was fantastic! Superior outdoor dining! You cannot go wrong with the Tuna Belly!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I enjoyed the ambiance. The food was ex ...

Dined 6 days ago

I enjoyed the ambiance. The food was excellent. Great service.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Came for our 30th anniversary and were n ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

Came for our 30th anniversary and were not disappointed. Service and food were outstanding. We would not have known about it were it not for your TV review..

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love La Mar. Always great service and ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

I love La Mar. Always great service and wonderful food.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Top Notch Restaurant

Dined on May 22, 2016

I would highly recommend La Mar when in SF. Every aspect is high quality and professional . Will definitely be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great lunch with the view. except it is ...

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

Great lunch with the view. except it is expensive! the food was very good.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot
food4
ambience1
service3
value2

Have enjoyed dining at this restaurant, ...

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

Have enjoyed dining at this restaurant, but this time we were seated in the back patio and it truly felt like we were eating in a cafeteria. Our table was one table away from the door (very drafty)along the rail. The floor tiles moved each time the waiters walked by, it was cold and very noisy. I believe if a couple, like us will be paying at minimum $150 dollars for your wonderful food, I would suggest offering a different price for those that sit in the patio.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Server helped translate and explain the ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Server helped translate and explain the menu, I tried a raw marinated tuna dish (and Idon't eat sushi) whichwas fabulous appetizer. Main dishes hadgood character. Enjoyable experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

The place has a great atmosphere and sit ...

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

The place has a great atmosphere and sitting on the deck in the back is really nice with a great vibe. The bus boys are very attentive and the waitstaff is also reasonably attentive. The food, however, is rather ordinary. It sounds splashy on the menu but it tastes rather bland (I had the quinoa salad and the cordero). My wife ordered the estofado nikei, which tasted like an average dish from a middle of the road Chinese restaurant. For desert she did however enjoy the alfajorzon. If you want to have a good time, only go for the atmosphere, maybe just visit the bar, keep your expectations for the food low and you should be happy. Otherwise go to one of SF's many many other good places.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent! The empanadas are amazing!

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

Excellent! The empanadas are amazing!

food5
ambience5
service5

The BEST BEST BEST restaurante in town. ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

The BEST BEST BEST restaurante in town. By far, The BEST

food5
ambience5
service5

Will definitely visit again! The food wa ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Will definitely visit again! The food was very good!!

food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Too expensive for a lunch. Exotic foods ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Too expensive for a lunch. Exotic foods and very tasty but difficult to trap verse the menu.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We met friends traveling from Asia. We ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

We met friends traveling from Asia. We had drinks in the bar first and loved the Pisco Sours, especially the one with pineapple. We sat outside during dinner under the heat lamps. The setting was lovely and quiet enough for conversation if spoken at a normal volumn. The menu had a variety of items suitable for vegetarians, meat eaters, and seafood lovers. My husband tried the ceviche Japanese style with raw tuna and loved it. He does not eat raw fish normally. There are small plates and main dishes to choose from and we tried both. I loved the paella-like dish. We met people in the bar that raved about the Octopus. I would recommend this restaurant to those wanting dining experience that is different from the norm in a high-energy setting.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food; great service; great locatio ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Great food; great service; great location. We didn't sit outside but it was okay since it was cold out and we preferred inside. The ceviches were amazing--very fresh! We also had the seafood paella, which was delicious. For dessert, we had the chocalate mousse, which was different than other mousse since it was topped with quinoa to give it a crunchiness--yum! Also great music -- I wanted to get up and dance but sadly, no dance floor!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

The food tasted amazing!!!

Dined on May 15, 2016

The food tasted amazing!!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Graduation Made Special

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

We went here for my daughter's graduation - and we had an excellent time. Fabulous and exciting food,good wine and drink list, and lively ambience.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Used-to-be restaurant

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

This clearly restaurant is sitting on their laurels. It is way past its prime. I really got fed up with attitude from staff and lack of meal synchronization on the 8th or 9th time I went there. Too bad because it is a nice venue that was well designed and the setting is truly spectacular. They should get a new manager that teaches pleasant manners back to the service staff and seeks to present a better face for the Bay Area to the many tourists that go there.

Tags: scenic view
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

very disappointing

Dined on May 13, 2016

My daughter and I had the day together to enjoy a special museum exhibit and have lunch. The service was extremely harried, the waiter very unattentive. Although the food is beautifully presented, it was very oily, and the taste did not live up to the presentation. Given how expensive it is, and what I've already said, we will not be returning.

food4
ambience5
service4
value3

We really enjoyed the atmosphere and our meals

Dined on May 13, 2016

This was a great place to meet old friends for interesting drinks and food. The high quality food comes at a price - a very expensive meal especially for lunch, but the uniqueness and the great atmosphere helped to justify the price points. We did have a drink, but $80. per person with tip is a lot for a lunch. But it was very good.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Peruvian food.

Dined on May 13, 2016

Everything was excellent. Had pisco and empanadas first, then I had an Amazonian whitefish served over a quinoa tamal (not really Peruvian) but every bit delicious. Ended it all with a very unusual chocolate mousse with crispy quinoa on top very delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was amazing! every dish delish. ser ...

vip
Dined on May 9, 2016

Food was amazing! every dish delish. service was top notch! will be back!

food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Good Food Selective service but, you can get lucky

Dined on May 7, 2016

Good pricy entries, appetizers, well appointed wine list. Our waitress was excellent and knowledgeable. Mixed review for the hostess'. One was quite pleasant and another quite clearly wanted nothing to do with servicing us when we checked in... bad attitude, if you could get her to acknowledge you. Luckily we got the more pleasant of the two hostess' to seat us. Overall a good dining experience...but I probably would not go back, far too many great restaurants in SF.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Already reviewed this place! It's fantas ...

Dined on May 3, 2016

Already reviewed this place! It's fantastic don't think twice!

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Good place for lunch

Dined on May 2, 2016

It was a very nice place for lunch with some special out of town friends

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
food2
ambience3
service3

Overrated. The food was not great for th ...

Dined on May 2, 2016

Overrated. The food was not great for the price.

food5
ambience5
service2
value5

Great Restaurant manager

Dined on May 2, 2016

The waitress was not doing a great job but the restaurant manager approached us and helped.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was impressive I went in for ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

The service was impressive I went in for my anniversary this Saturday it was amazing our server was awesome she checked on us at least 3 times and they gave us a glass of champagne in the house it was awesome and we will definitely be going back.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We were seated promptly when we arrived ...

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

We were seated promptly when we arrived for our reservation. It was our first visit so we really appreciated our server Alexa who took the time to explain the menu. She's knowledgable, friendly and attentive. We ordered the grilled halibut which was accompanied by rice with red quinoa and broccoli, and arugula salad with pickled beets. Everything was fresh and delicious!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great food. This was our second time we'll be back

Dined on April 30, 2016

Food is fantastic. Skewers are ridiculously good, and the ceviche is outstanding. We love this place!

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

yummy fresh cebiches

Dined on April 28, 2016

I went here on a date. As I walked, I thought it was noisy in the main dining room, but once seated next to a wooden panel it was quiet and very easy to hear. Our waiter, James, was wonderful and tolerant of my date, who was late and picky. On James' recommendation, he order the cebiche sampler which was a perfect way to introduce him to the wonders of Peruvian flavors. The clasico was the favorite as well as the salmon taking a close second place. I typically dine here for work event and was delighted it was easy to have a conversation with someone who I didn't know over wonderful cebiches.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place to dine with friends

Dined on April 28, 2016

My favorite restaurant for lunch, but my dinner experience with two other couples was even better. We all enjoyed our foods. The service was good, place is relaxed, not pretentious and the view of the water improves the dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Excellent ceviches

Dined on April 25, 2016

The food was excellent and so was the wine. The only thing not up to expectation was the pisco sour which wan't sour enough.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Best Peruvian restaurant experience on t ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

Best Peruvian restaurant experience on the planet!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Peruvian gem

Dined on April 23, 2016

I haven't had a lot of Peruvian food before, but this place has to be one of the best. The ceviche was extremely fresh and artfully prepared. We could have settled on just the ceviche sampler tray and we would have been extremely satisfied, but we wanted to try other dishes on the menu. Again, the empanadas and the octopus skewers were gems also. And to top it off, the tiered cookie desert with passion fruit sorbet was another magical treat. My only criticism is that the noise level in the back outdoor room can get noisy if you're seated next to a large, loud party. But that's a pretty minor issue. We're definitely coming back the next time we are in town.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

terrible service

Dined on April 23, 2016

very disappointed by the slow and lack of service. the only request that they accommodated really quickly was to give us our bill. terrible.

food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Interesting Peruvian Cuisine

Dined on April 23, 2016

We really enjoyed this restaurant. It is waterfront on the bay near the Embarcadero. We ate out on the enclosed patio and ordered several dishes to share for the three of us. The menu is very interesting!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

good

Dined on April 21, 2016

The staff was great. Especially Chris the manager. We were next to the kitchen and the noise from a blender? was high making it difficult for the people at the table to hear each other-it was a business meeting--. Chris made sure to shut the blender off which allows us to continue with our business conversation. Thank you to all for a very productive and wonderful eating experience.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.