Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network.
If you like, we’ll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.
Is this your restaurant? Claim this listing

Permanently Closed - La Mancha

4.3
468 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Spanish
Perfect For:
  • Fit for Foodies
  • Neighborhood Gem
  • Good for Groups

Similar Restaurants

About

This restaurant is permanently closed. When you're in the mood for good times and great cuisine, be sure to check out La Mancha. The restaurant is located in one of the area's most pleasant settings and is known for its delightful staff and superb cuisine. The menu at La Mancha features a wide array of great selections, made from only the freshest and highest quality ingredients, with something sure to please every member of your group La Mancha has established itself as one of the area's favorite culinary destinations and is sure to offer you a pleasant and unique dining experience every time you visit. Please stop in soon!
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Spanish, Portuguese, Brazilian
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation

Dinner Mon. - Thur. 5:00pm - 9:30pm
Dinner Fri. 5:00pm - 9:30pm
Dinner Sat. 3:00pm - 9.30pm
Dinner Sun. 5:00pm - 9:30pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(904) 261-4646
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Dairy Queen
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Live Entertainment Friday, Sat. and Sun.
Additional
Beer, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 468 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
4.3based on all time ratings
4.4
food
4.4
service
3.9
ambience
3.9
value
Noise · Moderate
90% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined on October 21, 2017

The food was delicious, and our waiter Ben was fantastic. I went with a group of girlfriends, and everyone loved it. We will definitely go back when we return to Amelia Island.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 12, 2017

Started out questionable ended up being a great evening for sister's get together! Tapas were excellent and the Sangria was the best! Waiter was exceptionally accommodating.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 6, 2017

Highly recommend this restaurant. Food was very good and creatively prepared. Service was great once the waiter realized he had our table. In an older building but nicely renovated and good atmosphere.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 28, 2017

The waiter was very friendly and attentive. The food was excellent. Overall a great meal

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on September 2, 2017

Not nearly as good as previous visits. Too bad, this used to be one of my favorite.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on September 1, 2017

Food was terrible. Not tapas. Cuts of meat were poor. We were sick by the time we made it home from the restaurant. Expensive, too.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 1, 2017

The service was great, the tapas were excellent, the sangria was good. We ate in the covered patio area as it's also pet-friendly. Everything was very nice. We stayed at the Hampton Inn and walked over, they gave us 10 % off since they have an agreement. I highly recommend this place, it couldn't have been better.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on August 26, 2017

Excellent food and service. Large portions were served fresh and hot and yummy red sangria topped off the dinner for a fun and relaxing evening

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 17, 2017

W had an outstanding experience. The food was delicious- we ordered tapas including the shrimp, eggplant, calimari, and mozzarella and tomato along with a vegetable dish. Everything was fabulous and I especially recommend the shrimp. Our server was attentive and helpful and and the ambiance was much nicer than I expected as the outside may give the impression that it is not a fine dining establishment.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on August 13, 2017

The prices were high and the food was less than great.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 13, 2017

We went there for my wife's birthday and truly enjoyed it, nice mix of Spanish-Portuguese food

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 6, 2017

Great from start to finish!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on July 23, 2017

Service was great. Food was disappointing! Description said Spanish/Portuguese food but nothing like that. Our $20 salad had literally 3 pieces of shrimp. $10 Portuguese sausage appetizer was like any other good Polish hot dog. Went in excited, came out disappointed.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on July 20, 2017

Our waiter was very knowledgeable and friendly - suggested a special for two that was much more than we could eat! The lobster tails were tasty and the steak chargrilled and tasty, as well. The salad was fresh, and the special also came with rice, fried plantains (yum) and wedge potatoes, and beans and a mixed vegetable medley. I couldn't even try a lot of it bc I was getting full. Bread while you wait. Oh - and the red sangria was delish! I would say the location is not the best, but overall a place to get a lot of food, take a group and have sangria and fun

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on July 20, 2017

we were told of the specials (had to ask for her to repeat as it was hard for us to understand her accent the first time). never a price - surf and turf - main lobster and 16 oz rib eye. What the heck it was my wife's birthday so yeah. Took a while, and then came out on a wooden cutting board. Presentation as great. - included were one tail cut in half, and what looked like sirloin (quite a bit of fat), a salad (1 serving), vegetables (1 serving),4 plantain wedges and 2 potato wedges. Lobster was good as well as the steak . They had a tasty blue cheese sauce. Wanted a desert, but only flan and something with berries( once again could not understand our waitress), so no singing Happy Birthday tonight!. I was looking for a cake something - had the candle in my pocket! Was a bit shocked when the bill came and it was 101.65 with tax (we just had iced tea). Good food but a bit overpriced. 89.99 for surf and turf for two. My fault, I should have asked before ordering, but usually the daily special is the best dish wherever you go -----

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 18, 2017

Delicious & authentic! We had the Caldeira a Portuguesa & was seriously one of the best meals we have ever shared.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on July 9, 2017

We wanted a good meal near our hotel. La Mancha had an enticing website.
The food was actually better than photos! We had the surf and turf for two - outstanding! Juicy lobster tail and tender steak. Par excellent.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 9, 2017

This evening was an incredible dining experience. Our server was terrific. The food was incredible. The Sangria was excellent, The servic was outstanding. A group of old friends from Jacksonville Bch. met us for dinner and they agreed it was an awesome dining experience. They all intend to come back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 2, 2017

Great place for tapas and food. BEST sangria in town!!! Good service and you get your food quick

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 1, 2017

Great restaurant ! Excellent food , large portions, very friendly service ! Will return !

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 27, 2017

After reading several reviews we expected really good food that may be a little overpriced. The food was very expensive for a restaurant in the parking lot of a days inn that used to be a Shoney's. I honestly wasn't impressed with the food and felt like the server was offended when we didn't order the most expensive things on the money. It wasn't worth the money we spent on it and it was a disappointing way to start out vacation.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 25, 2017

Great sangria. Tapas were good. Paella excellent as was lobster ravioli. Generous portions. Friendly staff. Would recommend to all when in Fernandina Beach. Mui Bueno

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 24, 2017

It was rated very high .. the food was good .. onlybhave beer/wine .. no liquor .. was a bit pricy .. I don't mind paying for special occasions but the food vs price did not compare

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on June 24, 2017

With so many positive reviews, I thought this place would be perfect for a special dinner. Unfortunately, the experience was terrible. The food was over-priced and honestly not very good; maybe we should've stuck to tapas instead of entrees. (But we went with the server's recommendations...) A piece of the entree was missing when it came out (jasmine rice that tasted like Uncle Ben's), the food was subpar, and the app we got was very overpriced for 2 small pieces of mozzarella and tomato slices. The restaurant seemed busy in spite of the dated interior, lack of full bar, and underwhelming food. When asked how everything was we couldn't help but awkwardly smile and say it was fine - we just won't be going back. We're still puzzled by the glowing reviews, considering how many fantastic food options there are in the area.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 23, 2017

Attentive wait staff combined with deliciously prepared food and exceptional presentation. If you're feeling bold, order the whole red snapper!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 22, 2017

We enjoyed a wonderful meal (we got the paella - it was excellent) and the restaurant is fun and lively! The housemade Sangria was amazing !!! Service was wonderful and we'd recommend to couples and/or families!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 19, 2017

Excellent service. Great food. Had scallops and shrimp, tremendous presentation on a skewer, hanging from a stand brought by the server. Also had spicy grouper. Very good.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 9, 2017

I have to visit every time I come to the area. The staff is so delightful! Some people are put off by the higher prices, but don't let it fool you. The food is first rate, and if you order the dishes for 2, there's generally enough for 3. The food is also prepared remarkably quickly, so if you're hoping to linger with a date for a while, you may want to ask them to take their time! I see a lot of locals here: always a good sign. Great wine selection, and marvelous sangria! Spanish cuisine with a South American flair, heavy on the seafood. My favorite is this bubbling CAULDRON of seafood in a coconut sauce done Portuguese-style. It's huge and you've never tasted anything like it.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 6, 2017

LOVE the lobster ravioli!! This was a great place for our group to dine, a good variety w something for everyone

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 4, 2017

This restaurant is a great spot in Fernandina Beach. We had tapas which were delicious. Definitely is a spot we will return to. Portuguese and Spanish dishes were delicious, colorful, and satisfying. The staff was friendly and attentive.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 3, 2017

Very good food with a Spanish/Portuguese flair. Service was friendly and attentive. My only disappointments were no full bar (only beer and wine) and no espresso after dinner. Overall it was a very enjoyable evening.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 29, 2017

We made a meal out of tapas. Since it was an early dinner, some menu items were not svailable. It was an enjoyable meal.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 28, 2017

Fantastic food and great wine selection. We had a bottle of the Alvarino which was delicious. I had the lobster ravioli which was rich and creamy and fantastic, and the grouper and paella were also big hits. Great family run restaurant!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 22, 2017

Fast friendly service with good sized portions. Presentation of the "Espana" seafood dish was a delightful surprise-so much so that it made it to our family photo album! You'll have to try it yourself to see what I mean!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 14, 2017

Had geat dinner. After Mimosa, salad and appetizer plate, my wife had shrimp and I had the steak. The service was exceptional ... friendly and attentive.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2017

We had a lovely time for Mother's Day, our waiter was very attentive and we enjoyed the live music. Our table was very close to the musicians however, so at times it was hard to make conversation. Over all our experience was wonderful!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 12, 2017

Restaurant was out of first two requests. Had shrimp in olive oil. It was ok. The main dish was chicken with lemon and capers. There wasn't a lot of flavor except for the rice which was overpowering. The two things I liked very much: bread and sangria.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 9, 2017

La Mancha is always a great dinning experience every time we go there.
Amy greeted us as we walked in and she was so nice and so personable. She made us feel comfortable.
The last time we went there, we had the "Churrasco na Tábua" and it was amazing!!
Our waiter Joey was also fantastic! We will definitely go back and most certainly recommend to friends and family.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 8, 2017

This was the best meal we ate on the island. The service and the food far exceeded our expectations. The phrase "don't judge a book by its cover" comes to mind given the look of the restaurant. We stuck to tapas and wine and couldn't have been more happy. This is a must try restaurant when you visit Amelia Island.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2017

Excellent! We'll be back. Chicken empanadas were amazing! Presentation was perfect

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
12