Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi

About La Grotta - Richmond

Seldom can you take a few steps in the South and find yourself completely transported to another continent. Yet, this is the experience of La Grotta. Take one step inside the door and you’re suddenly in Northern Italy. Smell the roasted garlic and savor the rich flavors of innovative Italian cuisine paired with one of the fine wines that earned La Grotta the Wine Spectator Award of Excellence. Whether it’s a quiet romantic anniversary or a business meeting, La Grotta isn’t just dinner. It’s a destination.

Exclusive private rentals can be arranged for up to 137 guests. We also offer 2 private rooms that can hold up to 37 people each or can be combined to hold a larger party. From Corporate meetings to Bridal Showers or Rehearsal Dinners, La Grotta will make your event special!

529 E Broad St.
Richmond, VA 23219
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday : 5:00pm - 9:30pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(804) 644-2466

Website:
http://lagrottarva.com/

Executive Chef:
Owner-Chef Antonio Capece

Private Party Facilities:
• Exclusive, private rental of our restaurant is available for up to 134 guests.
• Semi-private Dining Parties are available in both our Wine Cellar for up to 25 guests or on our Mezzanine level for up to 42.

Private Party Contact:
info@lagrottaristorante.com: (804) 644-2466

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

La Grotta - Richmond Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (32)
Special Occasion (29)
Good for Anniversaries (29)
See All
Authentic (22)
Notable Wine List (22)
Business Meals (20)
Romantic (18)
Pre/post Theatre (18)
Good for Groups (17)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Great for Lunch (9)
Cozy (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Worth the Drive (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Casual (3)
People Watching (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Fun (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Spicy (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Happy Hour (1)
Private Room (1)
Historic (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Organic (1)
Vegan (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
S
734 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined 15 hours ago

Ok....just go. Chef came out to help us order wine....said if we didn't like it...he would drink it and we don't pay. We suggested a wine that was twice the price he picked for us! Then he volunteered to bring us free ravioli appetizer in a delicious walnut reduction...my buddy asked for a spoon to finish the sauce offf it was so good! Then the bison rib eye came and the filet. Both amazing. And another free side dish of wild boar....venison and two big lamb racks! Wow. Ok...we couldn't finish it all. But with the taste of everything to That point, we couldn't pass on amazing desserts...grand Marnier cake and chocolate mousse....both fantastic. Just go! And try the fifty seven year port....you won't be disappointed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

We were a part of eight who had just enough time for a quick meal before a show at the Carpenter Theatre. Our waiter was very sensitive to our time and we were able to enjoy a great meal, great conversation and yet not feel too rushed. Thanks for accommodating us!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

I had a wonderful time with husband and friends, great service, good food.

Tags: Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Food was spectacular. Service was slow and they must have been one to two waiters short that night. I would still recommend this restaurant but you may need patience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 3, 2017

The new location is a nice change. Floor to ceiling windows and a beautiful design make for very pleasant dining.
The food was stellar. A Fruit de Mer was excellent, and the sole was truly outstanding. The Italian escargot was great, served in mushroom caps was a nice touch. Plenty of standard and creative Italian menu choices means many return trips as this is the go to place for good high end Italian in my mind.
Only miss was the service was a little inattentive. We were not checked on, ever, during our visit. Each time we needed something I had to call our waiter over. Now,he was around, so it wasn't so bad, I just didn't like having to call out in a quiet restaurant. He didn't even look our way so I could signal. The other oddity was I asked to keep the wine list after we ordered drinks, as I knew we would want a bottle of wine. A short time later, I indeed ordered a bottle. And there the wine list sat until the food came and the food runner cleared it. I know I asked for it to be left, but you would think he would take it after I ordered a bottle. Perhaps a little picky, but it fit with not be checked on. Price range - Shared app, 2 glasses of wine, $40 bottle, 2 entrees, $165 with tip.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Great northern Italian food across the street from Richmond Marriott. Interesting wine list, attentive staff, and comfortable dining room.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Delicious food with personalized service and knowledge servers. Delightful enough for a second visit.

Tags: Special Occasion, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 2, 2017

La Grotta exceeds expectations with every visit. Food , service, timelines, ambience, staff, management, all 5-Star.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Organic, Tasting Menu, Vegan, Neighborhood Gem, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 31, 2017

Not as charming as the old location but very nice. Braised veal special was outrageous!!!!! Food still very good, authentic, and delicious homemade pasta.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Our waiter was attentive and the food was delicious! We will visit again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Bread and Salads were the highlight of the meal. The fish special was overcooked and covered in bland tomatos. all at a very high price! The mashed potato side was cold and had too much garlic. I am not sure what the cooked greens were but they were very stringy. Very Expensive meal that diappointed except for the service.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on July 24, 2017

Authentic food, excellent service and a good value. "Mangia"

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 21, 2017

Great food, excellent wine and friendly, accommodating service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Decided to make a reservation for lunch to treat myself just because. Had the octopus carpaccio and it was to die for! The lamb ravioli was also amazing! Great wait staff and service all around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Very good food / a bit pricey, hence the 3 on value - I would go back for a special occasion

Tags: Business Meals, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Our server was Oliver. He was very attentive. The food was marvelous. Not your average Italian fare-wonderfully different. My guests commented that it was the best dining experience they had in Richmond. Atmosphere was lovely and quiet allowing for some business exchange of conversation. Overall, I was very pleased with the experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 13, 2017

We went before a concert down the street. Service was great, food was very good, and the bartender made an excellent Old Fashioned. Will definitely go back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 1, 2017

The food was excellent and the service was excellent however it was a little loud because Of a party in the next room but other than that yes without a doubt I will return again and again and again.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Had a great time at La Grotta. The food was delicious and the waitress was friendly, helpful and attentive. The menu has many options to choose from. A great spot within walking distance from the Hilton.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 24, 2017

After being a customer at their Shockoe Slip location I wasn't sure that I would like the new one. Nice ambience, cozy but still spacious. Everyone in our party enjoyed their food. Lobster ravioli and Rockfish was to die for. Service was good.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 24, 2017

I went with a group of 10. Perfect service and wonderful food. Very filling, authentic flavor. A must go!

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Spicy, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 23, 2017

We came to celebrate my birthday and I was not disappointed! I ordered the special: Lobster and artichoke stuffed ravioli with a yellow bell pepper sauce. The dish was AMAZING! I literally had my entire party dip their forks into my sauce so they could taste it. Everyone got jealous. I win. Anyways, I loved the food and the atmosphere. Our waiter was actually Italian, too. I thought that was cool. Accent and everything...made my experience much more fun. :)

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on June 20, 2017

We expected more. Tenderloin was not very tender , nor was it very flavorful. Veal Marsala was ordinary. Veal chops were quite good and the portions were generous. Decor was nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Food is good but the service is not, seems very disorganized, then rushed, and takes a long time to be acknowledged. Lighting is too harsh for what could be an intimate, romantic atmosphere because the design is good. Seems like it has become a business dinner location. This was our second time and I would have said the same thing about the first. Maybe we will give it a try again in a few months to see if they have improved. But for the quality of the food, there are better places with better service and atmosphere in the same price category.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Me and my wife very munched enjoyed our 3 course dinner with a wine pairing.

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Sometime in 2004 I found La Grotta across the street from my office. It quickly became my go-to spot for interview lunches and then dinner with friends as well as family (4 young kids at the time). Being from NYC I know great Italian food and La Grotta to this day is still my favorite. This past weekend I had the chance to return, first time in nine years since we moved away. The new location was amazing, food absolutely fabulous and of course the home-made deserts are a must-have and we ordered everyone. Staff was quick and professional and Andrea even remembered me and my family after all this time. I highly recommend!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Casual, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find, Seasonal, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Good food and service
Limited menu
Wine tasting menu was very nice

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 16, 2017

This was my least liked visit to La Grotta - we have enjoyed so many wonderful meals but this time the food lacked that special taste and excellent preparation - my wife's evening special - Halibut was overcooked and dry. My Cannelloni Gratinati had very little taste. The caesar salad did not taste as fresh and flavorable as usual. The cooked spinnage lacked the garlic kick it usually has. My Taramisu was very average but my wife's panna cotta was 5 star. We love this place and will go back - we did not complain since they were very busy and we were celebrating our 49th anniversary with good friends who raved about their meal. Our service was also 5 star. We hope this will help one of our favorite restaurants to stay at the top!!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Food was great as was the location and ambiance. Waiter was focused on a group of "friends" that came in and we had to call for him several times for drinks; he did not check in to see if we needed anything, which was unfortunate because the place is great. The young man bussing the tables was more attentive than the waiter. If it weren't for this being a business dinner, I would have walked out....

I still would recommend this restaurant on the belief that everyone has a bad day and you should not let one bad apple spoil the bunch....

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 12, 2017

La Grotta has been one of our favorite Richmond restaurants since we moved here 7 years ago. We loved their old location with its Old World ambiance. It made for a truly romantic evening. We decided to celebrate our 42nd at La Grotta even though we knew the charm would be missing. We were wrong! They did a great job of transitioning from Old World to New World. We were pleasantly surprised. Of course, the food and service remained at its typical high quality. I highly recommend the stuffed quail and my wife is very partial to the ravioli. And, don't pass up the coconut cake!
It was a highly successful evening with the best of outcomes.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Somehow the food tasted so much better in their other location in the Slip. The wine was good, but overall the food was not. I had the mozzarella salad, and the cheese was sort of rubbery and flavorless. The pasta was the best part of the meal - I had the gnocchi. Finally, the filet mignon was awful. The sauce was too creamy and left a strange aftertaste, and the meat did not seem like a filet mignon cut. My husband says his octopus dish was amazing though!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 10, 2017

The new location is beautiful. A little tough to park. I would recommend they start valet service. Food was excellent and wine list extensive.The teramasu is the best in Richmond.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Spicy, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 3, 2017

very expensive red wine- should have some more reasonable ones available instead of just a $14 and $18 one.
food was good to VG for the most part- Caesar salad was very good.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 1, 2017

My wife and I went for our 21st Wedding Anniversary. The location was different from when we were married. We really preferred the old location in Shockoe Bottom, Richmond. The building was like being in a very rustic Italian country manor. The new building attempts to recreate some of that ambience but memory of the old overshadows the new. Our waiter, Angelo was very attentive, without being a pest, and had a nice exotic but heavy Italian accent. The food was wonderful. We choose the 5-course lunch and ordered as much variety as possible to sample everything we could. Overall, everything was delicious and my wife and I sample each others dishes. The 5-course meal proved to be way too much food for both of us and we wound up taking the last two course home and made two more meals out that. The bread was a definite top rating; fresh and yeasty. The sun-dried tomato and olive oil dipping sauce was lethal and set us up for having no room toward the latter courses. The chocolate mousse cake dessert is now one of our favorites. We will be ordering a whole cake for my Father's Day, hehehe. Good job La Grotta - you've lost nothing in 21 years!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Not my first visit. Food was excellent. Service person was a bit aloof. Street views are nice but overall decor is good. I think excellent for visitors, family dinners and before an event. I enjoyed and will return

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Food was good, service was "meh". We were celebrating our engagement and I felt like we were overshadowed by the masses of prom couples. Probably won't be back for a while!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Expected a great experience based on other reviews. However I was very underwhelmed. The food was decent but didn't leave enough of an impression to draw me back again. The server was very disengaged and distracted. Even to the point of walking behind me as he was asking if we wanted desert. And I mean he was walking away completely behind my seat, walking away and I heard him ask if we wanted desert. That left a very unprofessional impression.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Great for a family graduation celebration! The pre fix menu offers a great value!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 18, 2017

The food and service were excellent! Best meal I've had in Richmond in a long time.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 18, 2017

LA GROTTA continues to be the best restaurant in downtown Richmond. Even though it is an Italian Restaurant, go there for the best prepared seafood in town.

Tags: Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.