About La Grotta - Richmond

529 E Broad St.
Richmond, VA 23219
View Larger Map

Seldom can you take a few steps in the South and find yourself completely transported to another continent. Yet, this is the experience of La Grotta. Take one step inside the door off the cobblestone street of Shockoe Slip and you’re suddenly in Northern Italy. Smell the roasted garlic and savor the rich flavors of innovative Italian cuisine paired with one of the fine wines that earned La Grotta the Wine Spectator Award of Excellence. Whether it’s a quiet romantic anniversary or a business meeting, La Grotta isn’t just dinner. It’s a destination.

Exclusive private rentals can be arranged for up to 134 guests. We also offer Semi-private dining or meetings in our Wine Cellar for up to 25 guests. Our Mezzanine level is perfect for parties of up to 42 guests. From Corporate meetings to Bridal Showers or Rehearsal Dinners, La Grotta will make your event special!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
13th Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(804) 644-2466

Website:
http://lagrottaristorante.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary parking is available after 5pm in the parking deck on Virginia Street. Driving east on Cary Street, Virginia Street is located between 13th and 14th Streets on the right side. Other parking options include on-street parking and a variety of public parking garages within three blocks.

Executive Chef:
Owner-Chef Antonio Capece

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Restaurant closed from Monday, July 2, 2012 to Saturday, July 7, 2012. We will reopen on Monday, July 9, 2012 at 11:30 am.

Restaurant Photos

Salmon
Shrimp Fra Diavolo
Veal with Shrimp in Cream Sauce
Spagheti with Meat Sauce
Cake
Blue Crab Stuffed Ravioli With Scallops
Mixed Greens
Sogliola Aurora (Sautéed Filet Of Sole)
Pasta Tasting Trio
Bistecca a la Fiorentina

Private Dining

• Exclusive, private rental of our restaurant is available for up to 134 guests.
• Semi-private Dining Parties are available in both our Wine Cellar for up to 25 guests or on our Mezzanine level for up to 42.

La Grotta - Richmond Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Virginia
Romantic
Virginia
Italian
Virginia
6 More
Best Food
Richmond
Best Ambiance
Richmond
Notable Wine List
Richmond
Romantic
Richmond
Special Occasion
Richmond
Italian
Richmond
Best Restaurants in Richmond ›

Special Occasion (47)
Romantic (39)
Fit for Foodies (34)
See All
Notable Wine List (32)
Neighborhood Gem (23)
Good for Groups (23)
Great for Lunch (7)
Late-night Find (6)
Hot Spot (4)
Great for Brunch (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Scenic View (1)
Business Meals (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Sort By:
Newest
463 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Our food was *delicious*. While we miss ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined 3 days ago

Our food was *delicious*. While we missed the ambiance of the old location and it was noisier than we expected, it was still a nice location, and the quality of the food made up for the lack of atmosphere. The previous location had an old world charm & character that the new location won't be able to match, but for Richmonders, it was neat to be eating in old Miller & Rhoads. We'll definitely go back.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

still one of my favorite italian restaur ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined 7 days ago

still one of my favorite italian restaurants in rva. I liked the ambiannce of the previous location better but my wife preferred this more modern location. still some growing pains but all in all very nice experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

We wanted to try La Grotta because we ar ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

We wanted to try La Grotta because we are having our son's rehearsal dinner there next month.

My husband and I decided on their wine dinner, and we were most impressed with everything.

The food was wonderfully authentic Italian and generous in portion. The new location is elegant and warmly inviting. The owners, Andrea, and Antonio, are genuinely nice people.

We are looking forward to dining with them again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been a huge fan of La Grotta sinc ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

I have been a huge fan of La Grotta since moving here to Richmond in 2015. While I don't get her as often as I like, I was excited to check out the new space. The location may be different, but the food is still top notch, service outstanding, and the staff just as friendly. This is maybe my favorite restaurant in Richmond and definitely once of the best Italian restaurants I have been too. Great job Chef Tony and team!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We were disappointed in the food. We or ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We were disappointed in the food. We ordered the clams with linguine. There about 5-6 tiny clams on each plate and a huge portion of linguine with a bland white sauce, presumably alfredo sauce. The price was about $18 per plate which for the quality is overpriced. I understood that your reputation is built partially upon your Northern Italian dishes. This one didn't live up to my other experiences with Northern Italian in other restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

This restaurant has had an excellent rep ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

This restaurant has had an excellent reputation for the last 22 years in it previous location. Due to ever-changing picture of the Richmond dining scene, the owners decided to relocate to a different venue which may turn out to be the new "hot spot" in Richmond, the downtown Broad Street corridor. Although we went during what they deemed a "soft-opening", the food was excellent, but we didn't feel that our server (who has been with the restaurant in the old location) was at his best that evening - slightly inattentive and somewhat lacking in table manner and personality. The air conditioning that evening was not in full operation which may have put a damper to the kitchen and their excellent chef, but that really should not have had an impact on the wait staff. Other wait staff and servers who passed our table seemed to be more outgoing and attentive. The owner Antonio and his wife were doing their best to make the situation tolerable for their guests. The food quality and presentation was superb, and as before, the taste was wonderful. Overall, I would definitely encourage dining enthusiasts to go to this new location and have what should turn out to be a very pleasant experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

I liked their old location a lot better. ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

I liked their old location a lot better. With the move they have lost the ambience they once had. It no longer felt romantic and private. I will still come back because I love the service and food.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Good food and ambiance. When servers tel ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Good food and ambiance. When servers tell the specials, they should include the prices also.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

The end of an era has come with the clos ...

vip
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

The end of an era has come with the closing of LA GROTTA in its Shoekoe Slip location. A GREAT 22 YEAR RUN!!!!!! However, the good news is that sometime in early August 2016, LA GROTTA will emerge at a new location on Broad Street. All of us that had the pleasure of dining in the old location wish Andrea and Tony the best of luck when they open on Broad.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

LA GROTTA HAS BEEN AND REMAINS THE # 1 R ...

vip
 (Virginia)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

LA GROTTA HAS BEEN AND REMAINS THE # 1 RESTAURANT IN DOWNTOWN RICHMOND. HOWEVER, SATURDAY, JULY 2, 2016 WILL BE THE LAST DAY IN THE CURRENT LOCATION. I WISH TONY AND ANDREA THE BEST OF LUCK IN THEIR NEW SPACE AT 5TH AND BROAD IN THE HILTON GARDEN INN. IF I KNOW TONY, IT WILL BE EVERYTHING THAT WE HOPE FOR (OLD ITALY AT ITS BEST)!!!! LOOK FOR A NEW OPENING BEGINNING THE FIRST WEEK OF AUGUST.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Could not think of a more romantic place ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Could not think of a more romantic place to take my sweetie than the wine room/cellar at La Grotta. Wonderful atmosphere for a special date. Excellent service and food.

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Favorite restaurant of ours. Filet was ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Favorite restaurant of ours. Filet was really good...slightly more gristle than last time but still extremely good. Everything else was exceptional.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

First of all we were given a bad table, ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

First of all we were given a bad table, so bad that it is right at the entrance. We had to wait for 20 min to get a decent table. Not too many options for Vegetarians. Chef's special is too costly with a moderate taste. Ordered some Fish fillet which I was charged $35 and it had just a small fish fillet, 5-6 prawns and some mashed potato with some savory sauce. Did not taste good though. However the chicken appetizer which chef customized for me was good.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

We enjoyed everything. Shea was great pe ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

We enjoyed everything. Shea was great per usual. Look forward to checking out the new location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were looking for a good Italian resta ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We were looking for a good Italian restaurant and we couldn't have been more pleased with La Grotta. Even though we had never eaten at this restaurant before, we decided to give it a try and we were glad we did. The food, service and ambiance were fantastic. We will definitely eating at this restaurant in the future and highly recommend it to others.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service very good, food very good, eveni ...

vip
 (Virginia)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Service very good, food very good, evening was great! Read about prix fix in RTD and checked it out. Was a nice having wine pairings!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our experience was excellent service, a ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Our experience was excellent service, a delicious meal, and an overall fine dining experience. We look forward to visiting them when they open in their new location.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was great from our waitress t ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Everything was great from our waitress to the food. I will comeback!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Experience!

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

Had a great experience! The service, food and ambiance was excellent. I will definitely be back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Smoking waiter

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

We go through Richmond every year on our way to the outer banks. This year we decided to try a different restaurant. The food was good but the waiter smelled of cigarettes each time he came back to the table. The smell was overwhelming and disgusting. Management must know this exists but allows it to continue. Sorry we wont be returning. Too many other good choices to select.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

Everything was perfect from the moment w ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

Everything was perfect from the moment we walked in. Our server was very professional and very well trained. The food was excellent and there was plenty of it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An old standard...shame it is closing

vip
 (Virginia)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

the restaurant is dated and a bit cold inside...with a moldy smell but it is an old standard and will be missed...the staff is always lovely and the food is good but often a bit heavy....but it has a homemade and family feeling that is lovely without having to go to a chain restaurant..can't wait to see the new place. Good luck

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

The food at La Grotta was tremendous. Ne ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

The food at La Grotta was tremendous. Never before have I cleaned my plate after every course. The homemade pasta wasn't heavy, but melted in my mouth. The salad was outstandingly fresh, and the dessert was to die for. It was my first time at this restaurant, but I plan to be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Return to the scene of wedding rehearsal dinner

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Well for my wife's birthday, I thought we would return to where we had our wedding rehearsal dinner 12 years ago. I made reservations through open table. I dropped my wife off and went to park the car. Apparently the hostess was not very nice when my wife approached. She actually went right by her to welcome a party of 10 people. Our table was not ready....and we were about 5 to 10 minutes late because of shockoe bottom traffic. After waiting 15 minutes, she gave us an option of two table that were the "only tables left' one of them being right next to the door. We chose the other one, right next to the part of 10. The food was great! Our waitress was great! And we had a nice dinner, but he hostess need to step it up a couple notches and when I make a reservation, I expect a table to be ready!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Pre-prom success!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

My daughter and her friend are here on Saturday 4/30 for their pre-prom dinner. Her friends mom and I tagged along at a different table. I had only been here for lunch in the past. We took advantage of the 4 course meal and it was by far the best meal i have had in years! The food was impeccable, the service was divine. I can't wait to come back with my husband for a romantic dinner

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hidden gem.. My new fav

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

I grew up in Richmond and live about an hour away so we visit often. We seek out interesting and new restaurants usually thru articles/websites...For some reason , I had never been to La Grotta! If I had only known what I was missing!! We have been 2 times since we discovered it and brought friends last Friday night that also loved it. Here are the highlights....Hidden secret , friendly neighborhood restaurant . Outstanding food. Branzino ridiculously flavorful with mussels, clams... Super reasonable price wine list , fun and attentive staff! Relaxing comfortable but not too casual. Nice small intimate bar . We wil be back since we stay at Marriott Courtyard on the next block! Cheers!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was good except my filet was ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

Everything was good except my filet was a bit tough. Tables too close together. Couple next to us were super loud.

Service was great. The salmon was very good and salad was great.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Restaurant Week

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

We went for Restaurant Week and chose a 3 course meal from their prix fixe menu. This was our first time there and the food did not wow me (although the tiramisu was very good). However, I would definitely give it another shot. I enjoyed the ambiance and location.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Always Special

vip
 (Virginia)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

It had been a while since we had eaten at La Grotta - it was nice to discover that the wonderful food was still wonderful. We ate from the Restaurant Week menu but La Grotta is one of the rare restaurants that also offers it's regular menu during RRW - and what an extensive menu it is! If you are a fan of northern Italian food then you are bound to find something to your liking. The salad, entree (Chicken with Artichokes) and dessert (Tiramisu) were excellent.The only drawback was the service was a bit hit-and-miss; after giving us our water, our server disappeared for a long time. In her defense, it was Saturday of Restaurant Week and Prom Season! (at least 2 large groups). We are going to miss the ambiance, though we were told they will attempt to duplicate it as much as possible at the new location at the Hilton.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

You won't find these dishes anywhere else!

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

La Grotta's standard menu is exceptional with so many stellar items but it is the nightly specials that are the true gems. No where outside of Northern Italy will you find these delicacies. Delicate pastry stuffed with a variety of seafood is a decadent appetizer as the Chicken Galletin. A Wild Boar chop with a blueberry sauce is beyond description as is the Veal breast with tuna tonnato sauce. I almost hate giving this review as I don't want the place to become so crowded I can't drop in when I want!.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Seafood crepe. EVER!

vip
 (Virginia)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

One of the biggest challenges dining at La Grotta is deciding what entree to order, and not filling up on the variety of appetizers. The seafood specials are always outstanding and the seafood crepe was phenomenal.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

As usual!

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on April 21, 2016

So many restaurants lower the quantity, quality or service when they participate in "Restaurant Week". Not La Grotta. The usual high standards were obvious. Thank you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent. It's such a nice place to go. ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on April 21, 2016

Excellent. It's such a nice place to go. I hope there new location will have some of the old Richmond heritage.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Still Great

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on April 20, 2016

Our visit was during Richmond Restaurant Week, so the menu was limited but still good. Standouts that are on the regular menu include the gnocchi and ravioli. Two of the RR Week specials that were superb were the seafood crepe and the veal with tuna sauce. Maybe they run those as specials sometimes. If so, try them. Service was outstanding. Our server was knowledgeable, pleasant, and present without being obtrusive. Still one of our favorite spots, and we look forward to their move to the Marriott.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Business Dinner

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on April 18, 2016

A perfect evening with colleagues from NJ and VA. The guests were very impressed with the quality and quantity of food. The service was great. Valet paring would have been great if existed. Worth visiting in their new location.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great service, the food was wonderful an ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Great service, the food was wonderful and the place is very cozy. Great option for a romantic meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great surprise

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 13, 2016

We were so pleased by the whole experience. Our Servicer, Shay, was at least half the fun of the experience, knowledgeable and quick witted, she kept us laughing throughout the evening. The food was inventive and plated beautifully. There was nothing that was not a surprise for the palette,very creative.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our first visit. The ambiance is great. ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

Our first visit. The ambiance is great. Sorry to hear they will be moving as I'm not sure they can take that with them. The only thing that was negative about our experience was that they were about 40 minutes late seating us from our reservation. Food and service was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

La Grotta is great! Great food and ambi ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

La Grotta is great! Great food and ambiance. Sorry to hear that they are moving since I live in Shockoe Slip and love to stop by there to eat.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best choice for a surprise dinner

vip
 (Virginia)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

It was fabulous. The presentation of the dishes alone was amazing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.