About La Grotta - Richmond

529 E Broad St.
Richmond, VA 23219
View Larger Map

Seldom can you take a few steps in the South and find yourself completely transported to another continent. Yet, this is the experience of La Grotta. Take one step inside the door and you’re suddenly in Northern Italy. Smell the roasted garlic and savor the rich flavors of innovative Italian cuisine paired with one of the fine wines that earned La Grotta the Wine Spectator Award of Excellence. Whether it’s a quiet romantic anniversary or a business meeting, La Grotta isn’t just dinner. It’s a destination.

Exclusive private rentals can be arranged for up to 137 guests. We also offer 2 private rooms that can hold up to 37 people each or can be combined to hold a larger party. From Corporate meetings to Bridal Showers or Rehearsal Dinners, La Grotta will make your event special!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(804) 644-2466

Website:
http://lagrottaristorante.com/

Executive Chef:
Owner-Chef Antonio Capece

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Private Dining

• Exclusive, private rental of our restaurant is available for up to 134 guests.
• Semi-private Dining Parties are available in both our Wine Cellar for up to 25 guests or on our Mezzanine level for up to 42.

La Grotta - Richmond Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.1

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (56)
Good for a Date (53)
Good for Anniversaries (49)
See All
Notable Wine List (40)
Romantic (39)
Business Meals (36)
Pre/post Theatre (34)
Fit for Foodies (34)
Authentic (32)
Good for Birthdays (29)
Creative Cuisine (22)
Good for Groups (20)
Quiet Conversation (19)
Worth the Drive (18)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Private Room (14)
Modern Decor (13)
People Watching (13)
Great for Lunch (11)
Comfort Food (10)
Cozy (9)
Hot Spot (8)
Outstanding Value (8)
Local Ingredients (8)
Seasonal (6)
Historic (6)
Fun (6)
Healthy (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Disabled Access (5)
Casual (4)
Scenic View (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Family Style (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Tapas (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Vegan (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Organic (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Spicy (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
629 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My date and I had reservations but came ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 3 days ago

My date and I had reservations but came in early. They accommodated us by setting us at a small table by the bar. Service staff was wonderful. Everything was five star exceptThe entrée with the shrimp and scallops. Not as much of the shrimp and scallops as I would've expected for that price point.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The food was absolutely delicious. Our ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

The food was absolutely delicious. Our waiter was very helpful and patient since we asked him to repeat himself twice. My only downside: Ask the table if they want more bread and that sensational sauce. That was truly to die for! All good wishes and bon appetite!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Disabled Access, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We look forward to our next date at La G ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 3 days ago

We look forward to our next date at La Grotta. We love this restaurant and its great menu and specials. There is a great wine cellar to enjoy. The desserts are great so save some room.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Historic, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients, Disabled Access, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food, great wine and love the ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 3 days ago

Wonderful food, great wine and love the atmosphere. Had veal parmesan not on the menu. Huge portions and pasta was full of rich sauce. Gets busy fast glad we had early reservations. Would definitely come back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

The food was excellent & the ambience lo ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

The food was excellent & the ambience lovely but what made our dining excellent was our waiter, Mehmet; I hope I spelled his name correctly. When he found that my husband's red wine of choice was off, he brought a new bottle & poured us both a glass which turned out to be very good. We had thought the original wine was just supposed to taste that way! He made the extra effort to make us pleased with our dining experience. Well done!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time going and I was absolutely am ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 6 days ago

First time going and I was absolutely amazed. The food is exquisite. You can taste the freshness. The service was amazing all around. The atmosphere is warm and romantic. I highly recommend and will definitely be going back.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, , Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

If the food had been good we would have ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 6 days ago

If the food had been good we would have been happy to pay the price --- but there was nothing interesting on the menu. At an Italian restaurant you would expect several exceptional choices but not here. Dinner was lack luster as was the service.

No reason to return when there are so many other great places in Richmond.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value2

Not as good as the old one down in the c ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 6 days ago

Not as good as the old one down in the cellar, but they have made good use of the space. Food isn't as good as I remembered, but maybe I hyped it up in my head. Everything considered, it's still a nice place for a romantic evening with good italian food.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

This was our first visit to the new loca ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 6 days ago

This was our first visit to the new location and a great pick for our Valentines Day night out. Our server Brennan was spot on with everything from wine suggestions to food recommendations. We LOVED it! We will not wait for a special occasion to return, we would go back the next time we want a relaxing lovely dinner.

Tags: Business Meals, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful experience at La Grot ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We had a wonderful experience at La Grotta. This was our first visit since their move, and the new site was as good (or better) than the old.

The service was exceptional and the food was second-to-none.

We did the five-course meal. Highlights include: fettuccine alla papalina (my favorite), the grand marnier strawberry cake, the fracosta alla moutarda, and the lumache alla piemontese. Everything was great, these items just stand out.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and our waiter, Oliver, is th ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great food and our waiter, Oliver, is the best. He makes great recommendations and always welcomes us like old friends. We love the restaurant and the ambiance. It is one of our favorites in Richmond.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I love the new location on Broad st. It ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 11, 2017

I love the new location on Broad st. It was amazing as always. We got the 4 course dinner that was amazing! Loved every moment and every morsel! Delicious!

Tags: Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good time! Service was excellent and go ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Good time! Service was excellent and good was very tasty!

Tags: Special Occasion, People Watching, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

My wife and I have never been to Richmon ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 10, 2017

My wife and I have never been to Richmond other than driving through on I95. We decided to spend the night and I found La Grotta on Open table and it was highly recommended. The recommendation was absolutely right. Great food, good service, and nice atmosphere. You can't go wrong! Enjoy La Grotta!

Tags: Casual, , Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Our meal was amazing!! The octopus carpa ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Our meal was amazing!! The octopus carpaccio was a phenomenal starter! I had the halibut special and my husband has the ribeye and they were both prepared perfectly and absolutely delicious! We will be back!

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Private Room, Special Occasion, Romantic, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Decor, atmosphere, and service were exce ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Decor, atmosphere, and service were exceptional. Food and wine are always a matter of taste. Considering that, one of our entrees was exceptional and the other was just good. Our server was a great help navigating their extensive wine list; we actually settled on a wine that wasn't even on the list after we were allowed to taste. For our special occasion we thought the evening was perfect. BTW, as with all fine restaurants, allow yourself plenty of time; it's worth it.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great experience! The tables are little ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Great experience! The tables are little close together and it was a little noisy but our food and service were both wonderful!

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Have been several times before the symph ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Have been several times before the symphony. As the menu is very dependable the specials are even more exceptional. A special note that BRANDON our server made our dinner even a better experience. He added advice without being stiff, genuine interest in our likes and went out of his way to insure our night was great!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It was very loud, very difficult to hear ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 4, 2017

It was very loud, very difficult to hear my dear friends who I haven't seen for months. I felt crammed into a space that had too many tables in too small of a space. I requested a corner table 5 days before our visit and was ignored. The food was good but not amazing enough to make up for the miserable noise level and crowded room.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value2

The ambiance of this restaurant is poor. ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 3, 2017

The ambiance of this restaurant is poor. The tables are too close together and everyone is out in the open. There is no coziness or intimacy. The tiled floor makes the noise level very loud. Although the food was OK and the service was very good, I would not go there again. Given that this restaurant is fairly expensive for Richmond, I would expect the ambiance to live up to the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service5
value2

Another delicious authentic Italian dinn ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Another delicious authentic Italian dinner at La Grotta! Chef Tony never disappoints and always has both creative and familiar entrees on the menu. Andrea greets us like family. This is my favorite restaurant in Richmond. I always come here with my mother and we sit in Mamets section who happens to be our favorite waiter! Highly recommend and love the ambiance of their new location at the Hilton.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful service. Had many servers read ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Wonderful service. Had many servers ready to take care of us. Beautiful restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I like the fact they had gluten-free opt ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 29, 2017

I like the fact they had gluten-free options. It was fairly expensive but the food was good, the waiter was excellent and it was a delightful evening.

Tags: Comfort Food, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

La Grotta is a beautiful restaurant with ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 28, 2017

La Grotta is a beautiful restaurant with beautifully presented plates. It is authentic Northern Italian Cusine. There are nightly specials as well. The service was too notch, which made our meal there a wonderful experience. To be honest, while my meal was delicious, I like simpler menus. If you are a foodie, or enjoy authentic dishes...you will love this place.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The "grotto" atmosphere of previous site ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 27, 2017

The "grotto" atmosphere of previous site has been transformed in a very swanky new location. The food remains excellent. Tried the wine dinner prix fixe. 1/2 glass wine with each course. Perfectly matched with each individual course selections. The pasta sampler appetizer was wonderful. The quail stuffed with Italian sausage was divine. Tried different desserts so we could taste each. Beautiful presentations. Too eager to eat to take photos. Cheers to Andrea and Antonio.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Authentic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our meal was delicious and our service w ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Our meal was delicious and our service was excellent. We do however miss the cozy ambiance of the old location. The new location is convenient and beautiful but just not as intimate or as quiet. It was difficult to hear conversations due to the noise level.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Been going to LaGrotta since 2006. Love ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Been going to LaGrotta since 2006. Love their new location. The food NEVER disappoints. They are very professional and accommodating.

Tags: Private Room, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The pasta here is fabulous. And the che ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on January 24, 2017

The pasta here is fabulous. And the chef clearly has a talent for fish, as the grouper was melt-in-your-mouth delicious. Our server, Brendan, was also a pleasure - very attentive, knowledgeable, and polite. I do miss the old location though...

Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Service was excellent! The food was spec ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Service was excellent! The food was spectacular! Love the new space, it's open with big windows looking out to Broad St.!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food, great service. Love the loca ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Great food, great service. Love the location - an historic department store in downtown Richmond transformed into a wonderful Italian restaurant. The wait staff was very attentive and got us out in time for our event. Very convenient for The Carpenter Center and Altria Theatre.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our first visit to the new loca ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 18, 2017

This was our first visit to the new location. The ambiance was not anywhere near what the old location had.

The entre that I ordered was supposed to be "lightly seasoned" according to the waiter. It was anything but. I had to request extra bread to overcome the very hot seasoning.

My wife ordered one of the specials. It was overpowered with salt.

Overall we were disappointed, as we were there to celebrate her birthday with a special dinner.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

First of all, the service here is EXCELL ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 15, 2017

First of all, the service here is EXCELLENT. From the hostess, to the food runner, to our lovely server. I can't recall any of their names, but everyone working on the evening of January 14th was so wonderful. It was the kind of effortless non-smothering service that while you're dining you're just thinking how pleasant everything is, then later you realize how hard everyone was working to make it so.

The food was delicious as well, really great antipasti plate, salads, gnocchi, ravioli. All the vegetables were perfectly cooked and so deliciously seasoned, and everything seemed very fresh. Great wine too, we went for one of the lower priced bottles and it was delicious.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

The food was good and all was fine, real ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The food was good and all was fine, really, with the exception of service. Our server was a bit abrupt. The restaurant was busy, I understand, but we felt like we were being rushed to make choices. When we asked for some time to decide, our server disappeared for awhile and we had to flag someone else down to assist us. He disappeared for so long while we waited to order dessert that we decided to skip dessert and have it elsewhere.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Staff are attentive, friendly and knowle ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Staff are attentive, friendly and knowledgeable. The food is most excellent, and La Grotta doesn't want to be trendy with small plates that leave an appetite unsatiated. The restaurant has done a good job creating an ambience similar to its prior basement haunts.

Tags: Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Four of us enjoyed dinner here on a Frid ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Four of us enjoyed dinner here on a Friday night, and it was a great occasion. The menu was interesting, and the food was excellent: peppers in bagna caoda, beef carpaccio, veal scallopini and filet in a peppercorn and cognac sauce were the standouts. The only knock on the evening was the pacing, which was quite slow. Our server was friendly and attentive; it just took a long time for the appetizers and entrees to come out. Furthermore, one of our four entrees was several minutes later than the others coming out, a big miss which is, thankfully, pretty rare in restaurants at this level these days.

Tags: Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We had reservations, and there were plen ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 13, 2017

We had reservations, and there were plenty of empty seats but we were seated 2 feet from another occupied table. We could easily hear their conversation, so I know they could hear ours. Just too close to enjoy our meal.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Our party of 6 enjoyed a meal and desser ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Our party of 6 enjoyed a meal and dessert on a busy Friday night. The ambiance was very nice - energetic and festive but not too loud for conversation. Every table was filled by the time we were finished eating. By this time the waiters were extremely busy and we had to wait longer than appropriate to get the bill. Not a big thing considering overall service was very good. Three people enjoyed their dinners (Italian dishes) very much but the three who ordered peppercorn filets were not so happy. The quality of the meat was well below standard for the price. All three steaks were ordered medium - one was served medium, one was rare and one was well done. So we switched steaks around to make the best of it and avoid sending them back. The desserts were nothing special to be so pricy. Perhaps it was a bad day in the kitchen and they were one or two waiters short. We have eaten at this restaurant before (at its previous location) and the food and service was always excellent. We would certainly try it again but we probably wouldn't order steak.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

What a wonderful evening the 2 of us had ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 13, 2017

What a wonderful evening the 2 of us had. If anything, our friends at La Grotta have upped their game since moving to the new location. Hard to accomplish that.

The night started off with a lovely greeting and warm attention by the hostess.

The food was at it's usual excellent standard.

The real treat was the incredible service that was provide by Brandon, David and Nan. It was a VERY busy night, not an empty seat. The 3 of them teamed our table and didn't miss a beat. Not too much attention, not too little. Their caring and conversation were spot on. Add the fact that the food was also perfectly timed and cooked.

The real mark of a professional, long lasting establishment is what they can do under significant stress. A+ is still too low of mark for what the whole team pulled off.

Kudos to all. Can't wait til the next time!

Doug and Jerri

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This is an absolutely beautiful restaura ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 12, 2017

This is an absolutely beautiful restaurant. The food was pretty good w/a good-sized menu and creative specials from the chef. Our waiter, Brendan, was excellent.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Family Style, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This was a great first visit to the rest ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 12, 2017

This was a great first visit to the restaurant. We had an early reservation so had time to visit with our invited friend in a relatively quiet atmosphere before all the tables were filled with diners. The food was outstanding and the deserts were exceptional. We will be back.

Tags: Vegan, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Healthy, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.