Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi

About La Grotta - Richmond

Seldom can you take a few steps in the South and find yourself completely transported to another continent. Yet, this is the experience of La Grotta. Take one step inside the door and you’re suddenly in Northern Italy. Smell the roasted garlic and savor the rich flavors of innovative Italian cuisine paired with one of the fine wines that earned La Grotta the Wine Spectator Award of Excellence. Whether it’s a quiet romantic anniversary or a business meeting, La Grotta isn’t just dinner. It’s a destination.

Exclusive private rentals can be arranged for up to 137 guests. We also offer 2 private rooms that can hold up to 37 people each or can be combined to hold a larger party. From Corporate meetings to Bridal Showers or Rehearsal Dinners, La Grotta will make your event special!

529 E Broad St.
Richmond, VA 23219
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(804) 644-2466

Website:
http://lagrottaristorante.com/

Executive Chef:
Owner-Chef Antonio Capece

Private Party Facilities:
• Exclusive, private rental of our restaurant is available for up to 134 guests.
• Semi-private Dining Parties are available in both our Wine Cellar for up to 25 guests or on our Mezzanine level for up to 42.

Private Party Contact:
info@lagrottaristorante.com: (804) 644-2466

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

La Grotta - Richmond Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (62)
Special Occasion (58)
Good for Anniversaries (51)
See All
Business Meals (41)
Pre/post Theatre (40)
Notable Wine List (39)
Romantic (35)
Authentic (34)
Creative Cuisine (29)
Good for Birthdays (28)
Fit for Foodies (28)
Quiet Conversation (26)
Good for Groups (23)
Worth the Drive (18)
Modern Decor (16)
Great for Lunch (15)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Cozy (13)
Outstanding Value (11)
Private Room (10)
Hot Spot (9)
Comfort Food (9)
Historic (8)
Local Ingredients (8)
People Watching (6)
Fun (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Disabled Access (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Casual (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Seasonal (3)
Healthy (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Family Style (2)
Scenic View (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Great Beer (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Vegan (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
678 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 3 days ago

Enjoyed everything about the restaurant, even though we do miss the old location. The food and service were some of the best we have experienced in RVA.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 4 days ago

I think they have done a good job with the new location but to be honest, we really enjoyed the
Ambiance of the previous location. The food was good although we were disappointed that they did not box and save my wife's left overs after was asked the waiter to do so. The waiter realized the mistake and they supposedly remade her some fresh to go but it was not the same sauce and she had much more sea food left over. They only gave her one scallop and one shrimp. This was Wednesday evening and she had the spicy sauce and was given a plain sauce.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

Second time we have been there recently both times a fantastic dining experience

Tags: Tasting Menu, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Friday night dinner with family. Excellent apps, dinner and dessert.
Wonderful service. Looking forward to going back

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 14, 2017

This is my second time visiting La Grotta within a month, both for special occasions. Each visit was exceptional, the service and food were amazing!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 14, 2017

THE Best food AND Service IN RICHMOND.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 12, 2017

LaGrotta has been one of those great constant restaurants for over a decade now. Antonio's recipes are simple and straight-forward and perfectly executed. Pasta any most items are handmade in house. The food is simply outstanding. There is also an excellent wine list of nice impressive aged Italian's. I recommend turning your selection over to Antonio to choose. We enjoyed an amazing Barolo and conversation with the staff. It's like going to a good friends for dinner.

Tags: Private Room, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 9, 2017

We were disappointed. The entrees were ordinary. The desserts were good, as were the appetizers. Not worth the high price.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 8, 2017

First time at La Grotta, for was very good, and service was also very good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Food was great, but a group of ladies were LOUD. I hoped for more romantic when I drop 2 bills

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Wonderful food staff and settings. Every trip to Richmond we go to La Grotto it for the last 20+ years

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Third time we have gone to La Grotta. Delicious, friendly waitstaff.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Private Room, Cozy, Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Our waiter was so attentive
The food delicious
The wine exquisite

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 5, 2017

STILL RICHMOND'S BEST DOWNTOWN RESTAURANT. NOBODY COOKS FISH BETTER THAN THIS CHEF!!!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Recently relocated from the original location a few blocks away down in the Slip, the new dining space was much larger than it appeared from outside. Although I expected to order a traditional Italian entree, I ended up ordering a chef's seafood special. The snapper topped with crab cake was tasty and not overly seasoned. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Loved this place!! Wonderful Italian food! Great service! Everything we had not only looked wonderful in presentation but tasted wonderful! We can't wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 1, 2017

This was a marvelous experience! The food was fantastic and the service just as good. My husband and I are serious foodies and wine enthusiasts. We were there on business. It was so marvelous to have a comfortable fine dining experience where our waiter, Brendan, guided us beautifully through our food and wine choices and took all the stress out of our day. We will certainly be back when we return to Richmond

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Great experience!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 1, 2017

We had high hopes for La Grotta. It had a good feel and a great look. I took my three teenagers and one of their friends to La Grotta for a special occasion. First, our waiter was less than honest about portion sizes so we ended up with too many starters. Then when I asked for a side of spinach as my main course, trying to watch calories and cost, he convinced me I needed to order a double portion. A mountain of sautéed spinach arrived. It was ridiculous. A single portion would have been too much after all the calamari etc that we had for starters. My "side order" of spinach ended up costing us $16. Finally, at the end of the evening when it came time to pay, I was mortified to discover I'd left my wallet at home. I know my credit card number by heart (we order delivery from Mary Angela's, etc often) so I wondered if we could avoid driving home to get my wallet. It was embarrassing but what I found extraordinary was the way the hostess reacted when I explained the situation and offered her the credit card number I knew by heart. She seemed convinced I was trying to get out of paying. I agree I did something idiotic by forgetting my wallet but we didn't need to be treated as criminals. The credit card went through as I knew it would. We paid a fortune for good but not great food and were treated rather shabbily. I'd rather cook at home as we usually do and go to less pretentious restaurants that offer food that's just as good without the deceitful Italian waiter, overpriced menu, and lack of customer service when I made an honest (albeit stupid) mistake AND offered a solution for that mistake. You've lost us, La Grotta.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Delicious dinner and desserts! Service was fast before the theater.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Great food and drinks. They were accommodating to people who didn't find something they wanted off the menu

Tags: Comfort Food, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 23, 2017

The food was good, but pricey. For the price, the servers were very casual. The restaurant was very loud.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Fantastic quality classic Italian food. Transports you to Italy.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Hot Spot, Good Vegetarian Options, Modern Decor, Historic, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Outstanding Value, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 22, 2017

I've always loved La Grotta, but had not been to the new location. Everything is just as good, and the new location is great - same chef, same great food and wine. A Richmond gem.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 18, 2017

First visit to La Grotta's new location. Such a lovely space and beautiful decor. We brought out of town guests to dinner and everyone loved their entrees. The waiter was attentive and recommended a most delicious wine. We are looking forward to our next visit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Ambience & food was very good. Waiter was very attentive & friendly. Would definitely go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Perfect pre-show dining location!
Excellent service! We visited as a group before we attended a show at the Carpenter Theater. The location to the theater is perfect, walking distance. The staff was amazing, our server was very nice, attentive and provided a perfect experience. The food presentation was beautiful and the food was fantastic. The beverages were very good, I had a margarita but others had wine.

Tags: Family Style, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Fun, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 11, 2017

This was our 5th visit to La Grotta. It is right across the street from the symphony and opera venue so is convenient for that. Also, the food is delicious and the service excellent. However, they cram so many people into the space that it is uncomfortable. Elbows from our table had to be in the way of the table wedged in between ours and 3 others. Previously, our table for 6 was in a corner that those of us in the corner part were claustrophobic. Also, this time my delightful spinach and ricotta ravioli were served just warm, which took away from my enjoyment. I didn't want to keep the rest of our table waiting for them to be re-heated, so I said nothing.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Exceptional, as always! We ordered two separate entrees and both were delicious.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Very creative Italian cuisine -- not normal tourist Italian. Owner/chef brought out different wines when the one I initially selected was not available. He let us taste each wine and then discounted the one I selected. He also sent us a desert combination gratis. His attention to customers shows his attention to cuisine.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 10, 2017

The snapper trading buttery smooth, the buffalo steak with gorgonzola sauce cooked perfectly,the octopus appetizer trading or of this world and the outburst of flavors from the Strawberry Gran Marnier desert left us all very happy and we will definitely return next year.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 10, 2017

This was our first visit since La Grotta moved from down on Carey Street to the Hilton Garden Inn. The occasion was a wedding anniversary for our friends. The food was superb, selection plenty, flavors lingering, presentation memorable and service spot-on. What a change in ambiance was bustling but comfortable. I highly recommend this eatery. Italian cuisine to die for and when presented with the check - a round of lemoncello for our table.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 9, 2017

La Grotta continues to deliver great food and service. Brendon is fantastic! Their dishes are very fresh and tremendous value.

Tags: Romantic, Outstanding Value, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Casual, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Great service and great food. The wait staff was attentive yet not intrusive. Menu recommendations were spot on. This is a very good restaurant for a downtown business lunch or special occasion. We have visited La Grotta several times in the former Shockoe Slip location and believe the move downtown is a good one. Menu selections are improved. Dessert options are amazing.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Excellent dinner. No loss of quality with move to new location.

Tags: Private Room, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Great food as always but you lost your intimacy with the move to Broad Street. The noise with a full house before the symphony was a real negative.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Delicious food, great ambiance, good service. Love this place.
Spinach Ravioli is my favorite.
They have an amazing wine collection :)

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Great nice food and ambience great service

Tags: Historic, Tasting Menu, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 25, 2017

If I could change one thing about our experience at La Grotta, it would be that we felt rushed. The salads were delivered before we had finished the appetizer.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Our waiter was wonderful! Help make the evening. Was very helpful and informative .

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.