Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi

About La Grotta - Richmond

Seldom can you take a few steps in the South and find yourself completely transported to another continent. Yet, this is the experience of La Grotta. Take one step inside the door and you’re suddenly in Northern Italy. Smell the roasted garlic and savor the rich flavors of innovative Italian cuisine paired with one of the fine wines that earned La Grotta the Wine Spectator Award of Excellence. Whether it’s a quiet romantic anniversary or a business meeting, La Grotta isn’t just dinner. It’s a destination.

Exclusive private rentals can be arranged for up to 137 guests. We also offer 2 private rooms that can hold up to 37 people each or can be combined to hold a larger party. From Corporate meetings to Bridal Showers or Rehearsal Dinners, La Grotta will make your event special!

529 E Broad St.
Richmond, VA 23219
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday : 5:00pm - 9:30pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(804) 644-2466

Website:
http://lagrottarva.com/

Executive Chef:
Owner-Chef Antonio Capece

Private Party Facilities:
• Exclusive, private rental of our restaurant is available for up to 134 guests.
• Semi-private Dining Parties are available in both our Wine Cellar for up to 25 guests or on our Mezzanine level for up to 42.

Private Party Contact:
info@lagrottaristorante.com: (804) 644-2466

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

La Grotta - Richmond Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

Noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (34)
Good for Anniversaries (32)
Special Occasion (30)
See All
Fit for Foodies (26)
Notable Wine List (26)
Authentic (21)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Romantic (15)
Worth the Drive (15)
Pre/post Theatre (15)
Business Meals (14)
Good for Groups (12)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Hot Spot (8)
Cozy (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
Casual (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Comfort Food (4)
People Watching (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Fun (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Organic (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Healthy (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Scenic View (1)
Spicy (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Vegan (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
S
777 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 3 days ago

Had the cannelonni. It was AMAZING. We arrived early for our reservation, but we're promptly seated anyway. Noise level was so loud that our server could not hear our order. :(

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined 3 days ago

Impeccable service and terrific dining choices. The marinara is among the best you’ll ever have, period.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 4 days ago

What a lovely experience. Quiet, romantic and food was amazing. I had the lobster ravioli in a shrimp bisque cream sauce. Do not miss this restaurant. Our waiter was attentive but not intrusive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 4 days ago

I tried La Grotta for a Saturday night dinner as it was close to an event venue I was attending. The atmosphere was great, interior comfy and appropriate, and it provided great people watching of the 5th/6th St and Broad St area of Richmond during peak evening hours. Unfortunately, the food was barely more than passable. I expect a restaurant serving Italian staples at their price point to really nail the fundamentals: Don't overcook the pasta; Use fresh ingredients; Stay away from gimmicky presentation; etc... They failed on most levels.

The pasta was far from al dente - it was more like pasta from the can. For fine Italian, this is the most basic of failures. I ordered the cannelloni and it came out as what appeared more like enchiladas - yet even moister! It was simply a pile of mush. The meat filling was fine and traditional, but the sauce was incompatible and contaminated by a pile of béchamel and ricotta which overwhelmed the taste and texture of the dish. My wife ordered the seafood linguine and had the same fall-apart pasta. Overcooked is de rigueur here. I could hear the crunch of the single shrimp when she bit into it.

Other nits: 1) Great try on the Carpaccio - one of my favorite starters and I was excited by the substitution of salt/arugula with capers, but the delicate dish was overwhelmed by the over-zealous caper usage. 2) The ever-present and unnecessary bread basket contained stale bread. 3) Instead of the watery, the Caesar salad was surprisingly oily. High point here was the spot-on taste of anchovy in the dressing, but we missed the Parmesan sprinkling as it was also incorporated in the dressing and simply left oily leaves with a rare bite of disappointingly small croutons.

I hope La Grotta simply had an ‘off’ night, but this was a tough dine. I would not write-off another visit for a redemption dinner, but this is a tough one considering the restaurant is in one of the hubs of Richmond’s performing arts districts.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
·Dined 4 days ago

The four of us had an early dinner on Saturday, October 14th. Olga was our server and she was wonderful - attentive but not intrusive, quick to bring drinks and refills and was very helpful with the menu and wine list. BTW dinner was also fabulous - gnocchi and spinach ricotta ravioli. It made our already special night that much better.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 4 days ago

Very authentic Italian food, tasted so good. I would recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 5 days ago

This was our first time at the new location. The ambiance of the other location was far superior to this one, but we still had a nice evening. Our waitress was great, and the food was good but we did prefer the cozy, romantic setting of the older location in downtown Richmond.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Great family oriented restaurant. Angelo was fantastic.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Service was horrible. It took about 1/2 hour to get a drink from the bar

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value1

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Went here based on T/A reviews. For a restaurant located off a hotel lobby this place is very nice. My wife and I had a wonderful meal here with a nice bottle of wine. The wines here are a bit pricey and most of them are Itailan or French so do your homework their wine list is available online from their website. Definitely worth another visit when we are in Richmond.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Our first visit to La Grotta for a pre-theater dinner. The food was excellent and we plan on returning to the restaurant in the future when we're in Richmond.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Great restaurant with an excellent menu. Their three, four, and five course fixe prix choices are excellent although the menu should be clearer at what dishes are included. The ambience is an ideal combination of cozy and lively. The service was excellent despite being very busy. The food was delicious. We had the fillet mignon and veal.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 25, 2017

Terrific good but they nickle and dine you if you want to make changes to sides, etc. not what you would expect from the branding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 22, 2017

very much a truly genuine Italian restaurant...food,ambiance,service,wine!
great location downtown in former Miller & Rhoads bldg right next to street level parking.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 21, 2017

First time st their new location. Ambiance is elegant, service superb, and as always the good was delicious. They have a great selection of wine st all price levels. This is one of my favorite restaurants and I highly recommend you give it a try.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 20, 2017

The food was excellent! The service and ambiance left something to be desired. It felt crowded and was very loud. We had to repeat ourselves several times and still correct our orders later. Our entrees still made the trip worthwhile.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Authentic, Bar Seating, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on September 19, 2017

I love the new location. Large windows right on Broad Street. Great downtown feel. The food was outstanding. The wait staff was very attentive.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 18, 2017

Great ambiance; great food; friendly staff. The best upscale Italian restaurant around.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 16, 2017

We enjoyed our evening at La Grotta very much. The food was excellent and service friendly and knowledgeable. The menu is varied enough that we will return and try other things.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 15, 2017

We were there for a special occasion, my husband's birthday, and we were immediately greeted with a glass of prosecco. The dinner was delicious and we enjoyed both the first and second course. I had the special which was grouper and it was really outstanding. I would highly recommend this restaurant. We were also treated to a sampling of desserts which were all wonderful.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 14, 2017

The food is excellent all the pasta is made in house the staff is wonderful and the bartender is great! On best places in Richmond for great Italian!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Great pre concert dinner! Everyone loved the food, service was good, will repeat!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 13, 2017

Despite having made a reservation for two, we were seated at a table for four. It was situated in the middle of what was clearly the main thoroughfare for the wait staff and main route for the hostess taking customers to other tables. The net effect was that we had constant foot traffic passing by our table the entire night. The wait staff seemed to be moving around the restaurant at an almost frantic pace. This was the exact opposite of the relaxing atmosphere that we had come to look forward to at the old location on Cary Street. For reasons that were never explained to us, we had two waitresses who did not seem to have any coordinated method of serving our table. Two different men brought our food. While the food is still good, there is nothing relaxing about dining there. Overall, very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (Sydney / NSW)·Dined on September 6, 2017

La Grotta is home-cooked Italian food at its best. They're in a new location, in the Hilton on Broad in downtown Richmond. The atmosphere is charming, the service personable and the food delicious. It was was our anniversary so ambiance was important. La Grotta is equally good for a romantic dinner or a business meal. The salads are inventive and delicious, the pastas are fresh - the gnocchi, our favorite, was almost as good as my Faggionato mother made! The wine selection, especially the Italian wines as one would imagine, was excellent. In a foodie town like Richmond is great to see an old standby holds its own for a fine and memorable dining experience. Buon appetito!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on September 2, 2017

It was the perfect choice for a birthday celebration. The food and the wine were spectacular.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Outstanding food and service. Have been there on many occasions and never been dissapointed.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Our recent trip to Richmond from Palm Beach introduced us to the restaurant's new location. Italian in Richmond? This is the best! Better than most anywhere! Our new 'go to' when in Richmond, Va!

Thank you Antonio!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Halibut was the special, not fresh! Disappointing dinner, then they overcharged us and we had to request the bill adjustment. Will not go back
People were friendly

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Delicious!! An absolute must visit! Wait staff was knowledgeable and patient. Great wines to choose from!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 28, 2017

Second visit here. Our waiter was not as attentive as the gentleman who waited on us during my precious visit, but that was the only drawback. Wonderful food and ambiance.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 26, 2017

La Grotta was great. The food was fresh and the pasta home made. We did the 4 course dinner and was pleased. Our entrees were prepared to perfection. The wine list was good overall. I woudl go back again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 25, 2017

The homemade pasta was exquisite. I had the pasta special of beet fettuccine with asparagus and truffle oil. My husband has his favorite - the homemade ravioli with ricotta and spinach. The excellent wine list was filled with many great selections. The tiramisu is always the best in Richmond.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Wonderful food, decent wine selections. Grilled octopus carpaccio was imaginative and fantastic, as was aged prosciutto/parmigiano app, agnolotti, buffalo steak. Great service also

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 23, 2017

My husband and I travel for business and always look for a nice place to have a nice dinner. La Grotta has very good Italian food. We were very pleased and will definitely go back. We've already recommended it to family and friends. The staff is very knowledgeable and friendly.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Great dinner and great service. Celebrated our 33 anniversary and the team was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 22, 2017

Excellent service and great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 20, 2017

LaGrotta is our favorite Richmond restaurant. The food is the best and the service is great. The menu is so interesting with so many options.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Organic, Good for Groups, Casual, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 19, 2017

We called about valet parking and we were told no. Meanwhile the restaurant has an agreement with the hotel. Our second car valeted with no issue. When I asked about it from the manager, we were told no yet half our party got validated valet parking. All the manger wanted to do was argue. No customer service. In addition to rude management, the wait staff was not as polished as expected for this level of restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 19, 2017

This was our first time to La Grotta's Hilton location. Loved the decor and ambiance. The food was great and service was wonderful as well. Will definitely go back soon.

Tags: Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Recently a group of 12 of us went to La Grotta to celebrate a few of our birthdays. As always, the food was fantastic and our server was nothing less than perfect for us. I wish I could remember her name. Everyone in our party loved their meal and we had a great time. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Disabled Access, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.