Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi

About La Grotta - Richmond

Seldom can you take a few steps in the South and find yourself completely transported to another continent. Yet, this is the experience of La Grotta. Take one step inside the door and you’re suddenly in Northern Italy. Smell the roasted garlic and savor the rich flavors of innovative Italian cuisine paired with one of the fine wines that earned La Grotta the Wine Spectator Award of Excellence. Whether it’s a quiet romantic anniversary or a business meeting, La Grotta isn’t just dinner. It’s a destination.

Exclusive private rentals can be arranged for up to 137 guests. We also offer 2 private rooms that can hold up to 37 people each or can be combined to hold a larger party. From Corporate meetings to Bridal Showers or Rehearsal Dinners, La Grotta will make your event special!

529 E Broad St.
Richmond, VA 23219
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday : 5:00pm - 9:30pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(804) 644-2466

Website:
http://lagrottarva.com/

Executive Chef:
Owner-Chef Antonio Capece

Private Party Facilities:
• Exclusive, private rental of our restaurant is available for up to 134 guests.
• Semi-private Dining Parties are available in both our Wine Cellar for up to 25 guests or on our Mezzanine level for up to 42.

Private Party Contact:
info@lagrottaristorante.com: (804) 644-2466

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

La Grotta - Richmond Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

Noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (38)
Special Occasion (36)
Good for Anniversaries (35)
See All
Notable Wine List (30)
Pre/post Theatre (30)
Fit for Foodies (29)
Romantic (28)
Good for Birthdays (26)
Worth the Drive (25)
Authentic (24)
Creative Cuisine (21)
Business Meals (20)
Good for Groups (18)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Great for Lunch (12)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Casual (10)
Cozy (10)
Comfort Food (8)
People Watching (8)
Fun (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Healthy (3)
Organic (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Scenic View (2)
Seasonal (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Tapas (1)
Vegan (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort by
S
817 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 7, 2017

Our service was wonderful, but our food was not. One of our guests ordered a caprese salad. (It was not on the dinner menu, but the kitchen kindly offered to make one.) The tomatoes and cheese were flavorless and the seasoning was almost non-existent. The chef made a second one. It was better, but still not good.

All guests ordered the seafood special with fettuccine, lobster, shrimp and scallops. The pasta was well done. The sauce was ok, but could have used more seasoning. The lobster and shrimp were overcooked and tough. The scallops were discolored. (One guest ate them and didn't say anything. The others declined. )

While the location, ambience and service were excellent, the food was barely passable. We travel to Richmond a lot on business and were happy to have found a new place to eat. Sadly, I can't imagine returning.

Tags: People Watching, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 6, 2017

Been here numerous times, never disappointed. Great traditional Italian fare. The calamari was outstanding. Great for pre show and post show drinks and apps.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 6, 2017

Went before Trans-Siberian orchestra concert. Excellent food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 5, 2017

Waiter got the order wrong on a simple salad - correct item did not end up being served until the rest of my 5-person party was almost finished. It being a business lunch, it made all in attendance quite uncomfortable.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 2, 2017

We had 6 diners and all of us but 1 thought our entrees were average. The desserts on the other hand were spectacular! Loved the atmosphere and awesome service.
Entrees need improvement.

Tags: Authentic, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 29, 2017

Love dinner at LaGrotta. Great food and service. great specials and the menu is expansive.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 27, 2017

Have been to 1st lagrotta for dinner food was much better than lunch
I liked the 1st restaurant on Cary st because it was unique.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 24, 2017

Very enjoyable. Good food and good service! Did not have a lot for children to chose but luckily not a problem.

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 22, 2017

Food wasn’t served hot, just warm. Pasta needs to have excellent sauces at a restaurant like this. This was just ok, more like Olive Garden.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 18, 2017

We met our son and his girlfriend at La Grotta to celebrate our son's birthday. Our waitress, Olga, was very attentive. The food, including dessert, was delicious. After dinner it was a short walk over the Carpenter Center for our program. Great location - great food!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 17, 2017

LeRoy was great. We live in Fredericksburg and our dining experience was like we were in DC or NYC. Excellent!!!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 13, 2017

Food and service were outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on November 12, 2017

Great service, wonderful food. We will 100% be back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 11, 2017

Lovely evening with family before attending a concert. La Grotta was busy but the staff was attentive and we got to the theatre before the curtain rise. The lamb was delicious and the home made ravioli was perfect. Great ambience. Go and enjoy.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 11, 2017

Our waitress, Olga, was particularly helpful, especially to one in our group who is handicapped. My request to be away from the bar and front door was honored, which I appreciate.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 10, 2017

Food was delicious! However it took 20 minutes after they sat us to get us drinks, bread, etc. not acceptable.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 7, 2017

Food is always good. Street construction made it difficult to get to. Hopefully it will be over sooner than later.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 5, 2017

La Grotta is a frequent special occasion destination for my wife and myself. Just recently, we celebrated our sixth anniversary there!

While we miss the ambiance of the old location, we have come to appreciate the new as well. The food is as good as ever, the service just as attentive. I've personally never had a bad meal there.

We will be back, and I'm already looking forward to it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 1, 2017

Food was superb and the atmosphere was great. Overall the experience was fanatic. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 30, 2017

we had not been to La Grotta since they relocated. We had a great dinner prior to a concert at the Carpenter Center... Lovely location

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on October 28, 2017

We enjoyed a lovely dinner during restaurant week. The food and the service were excellent.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Business Meals
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 28, 2017

Wonderful ambiance, great service, lovely people. Food just not as good as price tag would suggest. Mashed potatoes with veal a little too country food. Be more Italian!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 28, 2017

Dinner during restaurant week with foiends before Symphony at the Dominion Arts Center just a scant block performance was perfect. The food was top notch! The swordfish steak almondine was perfectly prepared, though another time I’d ask for it without the sauce, the coconut cake is moist and delightful!

Tags: Cozy, People Watching, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 28, 2017

We were attending Symphony so we had an earlier reservation than normal. It was also restaurant week so we chose one of three selections. Not as good as their menu which is outstanding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 27, 2017

Dinner with friends during restaurant week. Enjoyed great appetizers, entree and dessert. Great value during restaurant week.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Casual, Business Meals, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 26, 2017

The food was creative and delicious Italian cuisine. The waiter was the right amount of attentive and made sure our waters and wine were kept full. My only complaint is that I only ate 2 of my 7 delicious beef and fontina ravioli after the app, intending it to be a great lunch the next day. A different waiter stopped to clear dirty plates from our table while our waiter was taking the order at a new table. That was awesome until I realized he had stacked dirty plates on top of my ravioli. The majority of my meal was untouched and now ruined. When I mentioned that I had intended to take them home, he boxed my now crushed pasta instead of replacing them. I promptly threw them away when we got to the street. I would definitely return but I'll guard my plate a lot better next time.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 26, 2017

Booked a table for three to participate in la Grotta’s Richmond Restaurant Week offerings and to celebrate a birthday. We found the service impeccable, equal to any number of the the finer restaurants in NYC from where we have located. The only mishap was the overdone/swordfish steak I ordered from the Restaurant Week special menu. But that didn’t seem to matter. The whole experience was worth the 1/2 drive in rush hour traffic from Richmond’s West End. We plan to return to sample some of La Grotta’s regular menu. Incidentally, I had thought I made the Open Table res for 5:30 pm. The res was actually 5 pm. At approximately 5:20 when we hadn’t arrived, the hostess called us (we were stuck in traffic on the Interstate about 10 minutes from the restaurant. We assured her we were on the way. Sure enough, when we arrived at @5:35, we were promptly seated. Such accommodating service. It was an evening of gracious service and expertly (except for my dry swordfish streak) prepared food.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 25, 2017

The Grotta had excellent food from cocktail to after dinner coffee and everything in between. It is my new favorite restaurant. Perfect for a CO-worker gathering to an intimate dinner. Suggestions from the waitress were helpful and spot on. I would highly recommend La Grotta and you can’t go wrong with anything you order.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 24, 2017

We went for Restaurant Week and everything was still top notch. My tiramisu was to die for - I felt like I died and went to dessert heaven.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 23, 2017

Food was overall delicious. However the waiter present as if he didn't want to serve us. We were the only african Americans in the whole place with the exception of one employee. Waiter would only return to our table to bring next course. Service was slow as well.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on October 21, 2017

Very popular on a Saturday night. High noise level. Great food!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 21, 2017

We had a wonderful meal but the service detracted from the evening. The hostess was rude. There is no other way to put it. Apparently they require all members of a party to be at the restaurant before they seat you. Sadly there is no room to stand and wait for the entire party to arrive so there were MANY people just standing around the cramped front desk. Upon arrival a little before 6:00, I confirmed that all 8 of our people were there, but the hostess ignored us. She circled back several times and confirmed our reservation name and that all 8 were there but still she did not seat us. In this checking process, she seated many groups in front of us who arrived after us. As we were finally being seated, she sternly asked me again if everyone was there. The reservations were at 6 and we were not seated until after 6:15. We had a 7:30 show to attend that was a 2 minute walk away. We told the waiter about time frame and yet we did not have enough time to complete our meal. The waiter was very nice and was taking care of way too many tables. It took a significant amount of time before we got our wine much less our food. My 3 course wine dinner was cut short as there was no time for dessert. We were rushed to get out in time.

The food was outstanding and I would go back again. Just do not count on an efficient meal or a friendly welcome and for goodness sake make sure your entire party is there!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 21, 2017

This was a fantastic Italian restaurant. The ambience, server, and food was top notch. When I was researching restaurants, this was exactly what I had in mind. Being able to secure a reservation with Open Table was easy and very convenient.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 21, 2017

The food and service is always great when I come here. No complaints at all.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 20, 2017

Great dinner experience, varied menu choices, good value.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 20, 2017

Exceptional Food and Service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 20, 2017

Couldn't have been better... everything fresh, cooked perfectly, and large portions. Dinner recommendation: go for the sole!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 19, 2017

We've been going to LaGrotta in their old location and their new spot. Food is always fantastic. Chef Tony is a wizard in the kitchen, and Andrea is the best hostess in the city. You can't go wrong with LaGrotta!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 15, 2017

Had the cannelonni. It was AMAZING. We arrived early for our reservation, but we're promptly seated anyway. Noise level was so loud that our server could not hear our order. :(

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 15, 2017

Impeccable service and terrific dining choices. The marinara is among the best you’ll ever have, period.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.