Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi

About La Grotta - Richmond

Seldom can you take a few steps in the South and find yourself completely transported to another continent. Yet, this is the experience of La Grotta. Take one step inside the door and you’re suddenly in Northern Italy. Smell the roasted garlic and savor the rich flavors of innovative Italian cuisine paired with one of the fine wines that earned La Grotta the Wine Spectator Award of Excellence. Whether it’s a quiet romantic anniversary or a business meeting, La Grotta isn’t just dinner. It’s a destination.

Exclusive private rentals can be arranged for up to 137 guests. We also offer 2 private rooms that can hold up to 37 people each or can be combined to hold a larger party. From Corporate meetings to Bridal Showers or Rehearsal Dinners, La Grotta will make your event special!

529 E Broad St.
Richmond, VA 23219
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(804) 644-2466

Website:
http://lagrottaristorante.com/

Executive Chef:
Owner-Chef Antonio Capece

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Private Dining

• Exclusive, private rental of our restaurant is available for up to 134 guests.
• Semi-private Dining Parties are available in both our Wine Cellar for up to 25 guests or on our Mezzanine level for up to 42.

La Grotta - Richmond Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (56)
Good for a Date (56)
Good for Anniversaries (45)
See All
Business Meals (39)
Pre/post Theatre (38)
Notable Wine List (38)
Romantic (38)
Fit for Foodies (29)
Authentic (28)
Good for Birthdays (25)
Creative Cuisine (25)
Quiet Conversation (22)
Good for Groups (20)
Worth the Drive (18)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Modern Decor (12)
Great for Lunch (12)
Cozy (11)
Private Room (10)
Outstanding Value (10)
Hot Spot (9)
Comfort Food (9)
Local Ingredients (9)
People Watching (7)
Fun (7)
Historic (7)
Casual (5)
Disabled Access (5)
Seasonal (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Family Style (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Healthy (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Scenic View (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Tapas (1)
Organic (1)
Spicy (1)
Great Beer (1)
Vegan (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
653 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined 6 days ago

First visit to La Grotta's new location. Such a lovely space and beautiful decor. We brought out of town guests to dinner and everyone loved their entrees. The waiter was attentive and recommended a most delicious wine. We are looking forward to our next visit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 6 days ago

Ambience & food was very good. Waiter was very attentive & friendly. Would definitely go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Perfect pre-show dining location!
Excellent service! We visited as a group before we attended a show at the Carpenter Theater. The location to the theater is perfect, walking distance. The staff was amazing, our server was very nice, attentive and provided a perfect experience. The food presentation was beautiful and the food was fantastic. The beverages were very good, I had a margarita but others had wine.

Tags: Family Style, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Fun, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 11, 2017

This was our 5th visit to La Grotta. It is right across the street from the symphony and opera venue so is convenient for that. Also, the food is delicious and the service excellent. However, they cram so many people into the space that it is uncomfortable. Elbows from our table had to be in the way of the table wedged in between ours and 3 others. Previously, our table for 6 was in a corner that those of us in the corner part were claustrophobic. Also, this time my delightful spinach and ricotta ravioli were served just warm, which took away from my enjoyment. I didn't want to keep the rest of our table waiting for them to be re-heated, so I said nothing.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Exceptional, as always! We ordered two separate entrees and both were delicious.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Very creative Italian cuisine -- not normal tourist Italian. Owner/chef brought out different wines when the one I initially selected was not available. He let us taste each wine and then discounted the one I selected. He also sent us a desert combination gratis. His attention to customers shows his attention to cuisine.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 10, 2017

The snapper trading buttery smooth, the buffalo steak with gorgonzola sauce cooked perfectly,the octopus appetizer trading or of this world and the outburst of flavors from the Strawberry Gran Marnier desert left us all very happy and we will definitely return next year.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 10, 2017

This was our first visit since La Grotta moved from down on Carey Street to the Hilton Garden Inn. The occasion was a wedding anniversary for our friends. The food was superb, selection plenty, flavors lingering, presentation memorable and service spot-on. What a change in ambiance was bustling but comfortable. I highly recommend this eatery. Italian cuisine to die for and when presented with the check - a round of lemoncello for our table.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 9, 2017

La Grotta continues to deliver great food and service. Brendon is fantastic! Their dishes are very fresh and tremendous value.

Tags: Romantic, Outstanding Value, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Casual, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Great service and great food. The wait staff was attentive yet not intrusive. Menu recommendations were spot on. This is a very good restaurant for a downtown business lunch or special occasion. We have visited La Grotta several times in the former Shockoe Slip location and believe the move downtown is a good one. Menu selections are improved. Dessert options are amazing.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Excellent dinner. No loss of quality with move to new location.

Tags: Private Room, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Great food as always but you lost your intimacy with the move to Broad Street. The noise with a full house before the symphony was a real negative.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Delicious food, great ambiance, good service. Love this place.
Spinach Ravioli is my favorite.
They have an amazing wine collection :)

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 25, 2017

If I could change one thing about our experience at La Grotta, it would be that we felt rushed. The salads were delivered before we had finished the appetizer.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Our waiter was wonderful! Help make the evening. Was very helpful and informative .

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 25, 2017

The food was good but not excellent. The waiter was not very accommodating w special requests.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 24, 2017

The food is as good as it always was, but the service had real timing problems, apparently due to the kitchen, not the servers. At a table for four, two dinners came out and then we waited for the third and even longer for the fourth - that's pretty amateurish and awkward. The tiramisu also involved a lengthy wait, and was surrounded by an overabundance of creme anglaise. Sitting near the window showed us how vibrant the downtown nightlife has become and was great for people watching.

Tags: Business Meals, People Watching, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Our 3rd time, but 1st time for the other two people we were with. We all had the 3 course fixed price with wine pairing. Food was outstanding, and wines were wonderful. Our server was enthusiastic and helpful. We did have to wait for the wines after each course was already served. He forgot the dessert wine and we had to remind him. Otherwise, it was wonderful and we want to dine there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 24, 2017

The food was very good but not excellent. Portion sizes were large. Service was spotty and it might not be appropriate for folks who are in a rush. Our original waiter must have decided to take a bath in some stinky cologne which was not good for my wife who gets migraines around pungent scents. Finally, cocktail prices were quite high, so you might want to stop elsewhere before dining here to enjoy you favorite libation (half-bottles of wine were not available).

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Excellent. Waiter was new so he made a few gaffes but still far better than established waiters at other restaurants. Food was incomparable. Very impressed. Will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 24, 2017

This is the closest one can get to feel like you are in Italy having an excellent dinner.

Tags: Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Fun, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Overall good Italian food. Not authentic, but better than any chain restaurant. Service was poor, however, we believe it was not typical of most of their staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 24, 2017

The food was bland and oily. Won't go back. I really wanted to like it:(

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 18, 2017

My date and I had reservations but came in early. They accommodated us by setting us at a small table by the bar. Service staff was wonderful. Everything was five star exceptThe entrée with the shrimp and scallops. Not as much of the shrimp and scallops as I would've expected for that price point.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 17, 2017

The food was absolutely delicious. Our waiter was very helpful and patient since we asked him to repeat himself twice. My only downside: Ask the table if they want more bread and that sensational sauce. That was truly to die for! All good wishes and bon appetite!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Disabled Access, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 17, 2017

We look forward to our next date at La Grotta. We love this restaurant and its great menu and specials. There is a great wine cellar to enjoy. The desserts are great so save some room.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Historic, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients, Disabled Access, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Wonderful food, great wine and love the atmosphere. Had veal parmesan not on the menu. Huge portions and pasta was full of rich sauce. Gets busy fast glad we had early reservations. Would definitely come back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 16, 2017

The food was excellent & the ambience lovely but what made our dining excellent was our waiter, Mehmet; I hope I spelled his name correctly. When he found that my husband's red wine of choice was off, he brought a new bottle & poured us both a glass which turned out to be very good. We had thought the original wine was just supposed to taste that way! He made the extra effort to make us pleased with our dining experience. Well done!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 15, 2017

First time going and I was absolutely amazed. The food is exquisite. You can taste the freshness. The service was amazing all around. The atmosphere is warm and romantic. I highly recommend and will definitely be going back.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 15, 2017

If the food had been good we would have been happy to pay the price --- but there was nothing interesting on the menu. At an Italian restaurant you would expect several exceptional choices but not here. Dinner was lack luster as was the service.
No reason to return when there are so many other great places in Richmond.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Not as good as the old one down in the cellar, but they have made good use of the space. Food isn't as good as I remembered, but maybe I hyped it up in my head. Everything considered, it's still a nice place for a romantic evening with good italian food.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 14, 2017

This was our first visit to the new location and a great pick for our Valentines Day night out. Our server Brennan was spot on with everything from wine suggestions to food recommendations. We LOVED it! We will not wait for a special occasion to return, we would go back the next time we want a relaxing lovely dinner.

Tags: Business Meals, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Server was very friendly and the food was great. We were not happy with the seating. We were cramped along a wall just outside of the entrance to the kitchen. There were plenty of open tables for four, but the hostess told us everything else was for four people. Parties of two were later seated in those spots that had four seats. So, that was a little annoying to us...

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We had a wonderful experience at La Grotta. This was our first visit since their move, and the new site was as good (or better) than the old.

The service was exceptional and the food was second-to-none.

We did the five-course meal. Highlights include: fettuccine alla papalina (my favorite), the grand marnier strawberry cake, the fracosta alla moutarda, and the lumache alla piemontese. Everything was great, these items just stand out.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great food and our waiter, Oliver, is the best. He makes great recommendations and always welcomes us like old friends. We love the restaurant and the ambiance. It is one of our favorites in Richmond.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 11, 2017

I love the new location on Broad st. It was amazing as always. We got the 4 course dinner that was amazing! Loved every moment and every morsel! Delicious!

Tags: Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Good time! Service was excellent and good was very tasty!

Tags: Special Occasion, People Watching, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 10, 2017

My wife and I have never been to Richmond other than driving through on I95. We decided to spend the night and I found La Grotta on Open table and it was highly recommended. The recommendation was absolutely right. Great food, good service, and nice atmosphere. You can't go wrong! Enjoy La Grotta!

Tags: Casual, Outstanding Value, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Our meal was amazing!! The octopus carpaccio was a phenomenal starter! I had the halibut special and my husband has the ribeye and they were both prepared perfectly and absolutely delicious! We will be back!

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Private Room, Special Occasion, Romantic, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Decor, atmosphere, and service were exceptional. Food and wine are always a matter of taste. Considering that, one of our entrees was exceptional and the other was just good. Our server was a great help navigating their extensive wine list; we actually settled on a wine that wasn't even on the list after we were allowed to taste. For our special occasion we thought the evening was perfect. BTW, as with all fine restaurants, allow yourself plenty of time; it's worth it.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.