Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi

About La Grotta - Richmond

Seldom can you take a few steps in the South and find yourself completely transported to another continent. Yet, this is the experience of La Grotta. Take one step inside the door and you’re suddenly in Northern Italy. Smell the roasted garlic and savor the rich flavors of innovative Italian cuisine paired with one of the fine wines that earned La Grotta the Wine Spectator Award of Excellence. Whether it’s a quiet romantic anniversary or a business meeting, La Grotta isn’t just dinner. It’s a destination.

Exclusive private rentals can be arranged for up to 137 guests. We also offer 2 private rooms that can hold up to 37 people each or can be combined to hold a larger party. From Corporate meetings to Bridal Showers or Rehearsal Dinners, La Grotta will make your event special!

529 E Broad St.
Richmond, VA 23219
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday : 5:00pm - 9:30pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(804) 644-2466

Website:
http://lagrottarva.com/

Executive Chef:
Owner-Chef Antonio Capece

Private Party Facilities:
• Exclusive, private rental of our restaurant is available for up to 134 guests.
• Semi-private Dining Parties are available in both our Wine Cellar for up to 25 guests or on our Mezzanine level for up to 42.

Private Party Contact:
info@lagrottaristorante.com: (804) 644-2466

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

La Grotta - Richmond Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (49)
Special Occasion (44)
Good for Anniversaries (39)
See All
Notable Wine List (35)
Pre/post Theatre (35)
Business Meals (31)
Authentic (30)
Romantic (27)
Creative Cuisine (26)
Good for Groups (24)
Good for Birthdays (24)
Fit for Foodies (23)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Great for Lunch (16)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Worth the Drive (13)
Cozy (10)
Modern Decor (9)
Hot Spot (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Private Room (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Casual (5)
Historic (5)
Fun (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
People Watching (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Great Beer (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Spicy (1)
Family Style (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Scenic View (1)
Healthy (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
S
711 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 3 days ago

Food is good but the service is not, seems very disorganized, then rushed, and takes a long time to be acknowledged. Lighting is too harsh for what could be an intimate, romantic atmosphere because the design is good. Seems like it has become a business dinner location. This was our second time and I would have said the same thing about the first. Maybe we will give it a try again in a few months to see if they have improved. But for the quality of the food, there are better places with better service and atmosphere in the same price category.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 5 days ago

Me and my wife very munched enjoyed our 3 course dinner with a wine pairing.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 5 days ago

Sometime in 2004 I found La Grotta across the street from my office. It quickly became my go-to spot for interview lunches and then dinner with friends as well as family (4 young kids at the time). Being from NYC I know great Italian food and La Grotta to this day is still my favorite. This past weekend I had the chance to return, first time in nine years since we moved away. The new location was amazing, food absolutely fabulous and of course the home-made deserts are a must-have and we ordered everyone. Staff was quick and professional and Andrea even remembered me and my family after all this time. I highly recommend!!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Casual, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find, Seasonal, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 5 days ago

Good food and service
Limited menu
Wine tasting menu was very nice

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 6 days ago

This was my least liked visit to La Grotta - we have enjoyed so many wonderful meals but this time the food lacked that special taste and excellent preparation - my wife's evening special - Halibut was overcooked and dry. My Cannelloni Gratinati had very little taste. The caesar salad did not taste as fresh and flavorable as usual. The cooked spinnage lacked the garlic kick it usually has. My Taramisu was very average but my wife's panna cotta was 5 star. We love this place and will go back - we did not complain since they were very busy and we were celebrating our 49th anniversary with good friends who raved about their meal. Our service was also 5 star. We hope this will help one of our favorite restaurants to stay at the top!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Food was great as was the location and ambiance. Waiter was focused on a group of "friends" that came in and we had to call for him several times for drinks; he did not check in to see if we needed anything, which was unfortunate because the place is great. The young man bussing the tables was more attentive than the waiter. If it weren't for this being a business dinner, I would have walked out....

I still would recommend this restaurant on the belief that everyone has a bad day and you should not let one bad apple spoil the bunch....

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 13, 2017

It was easy to make an online reservation for a lunchtime party of five that morning, and the restaurant is easily accessible from our office. More important, the portion sizes were large enough for most of us to take home leftovers, and there was no sacrifice whatsoever in terms of the quality of the food -- definitely an excellent value. That, in combination with the efficient and friendly table service, and the restaurant's restful ambiance made this group meal a pleasant, relaxing and tasty experience.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 12, 2017

La Grotta has been one of our favorite Richmond restaurants since we moved here 7 years ago. We loved their old location with its Old World ambiance. It made for a truly romantic evening. We decided to celebrate our 42nd at La Grotta even though we knew the charm would be missing. We were wrong! They did a great job of transitioning from Old World to New World. We were pleasantly surprised. Of course, the food and service remained at its typical high quality. I highly recommend the stuffed quail and my wife is very partial to the ravioli. And, don't pass up the coconut cake!
It was a highly successful evening with the best of outcomes.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 10, 2017

The new location is beautiful. A little tough to park. I would recommend they start valet service. Food was excellent and wine list extensive.The teramasu is the best in Richmond.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Spicy, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 3, 2017

very expensive red wine- should have some more reasonable ones available instead of just a $14 and $18 one.
food was good to VG for the most part- Caesar salad was very good.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 1, 2017

My wife and I went for our 21st Wedding Anniversary. The location was different from when we were married. We really preferred the old location in Shockoe Bottom, Richmond. The building was like being in a very rustic Italian country manor. The new building attempts to recreate some of that ambience but memory of the old overshadows the new. Our waiter, Angelo was very attentive, without being a pest, and had a nice exotic but heavy Italian accent. The food was wonderful. We choose the 5-course lunch and ordered as much variety as possible to sample everything we could. Overall, everything was delicious and my wife and I sample each others dishes. The 5-course meal proved to be way too much food for both of us and we wound up taking the last two course home and made two more meals out that. The bread was a definite top rating; fresh and yeasty. The sun-dried tomato and olive oil dipping sauce was lethal and set us up for having no room toward the latter courses. The chocolate mousse cake dessert is now one of our favorites. We will be ordering a whole cake for my Father's Day, hehehe. Good job La Grotta - you've lost nothing in 21 years!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Not my first visit. Food was excellent. Service person was a bit aloof. Street views are nice but overall decor is good. I think excellent for visitors, family dinners and before an event. I enjoyed and will return

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Food was good, service was "meh". We were celebrating our engagement and I felt like we were overshadowed by the masses of prom couples. Probably won't be back for a while!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Great for a family graduation celebration! The pre fix menu offers a great value!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Expected a great experience based on other reviews. However I was very underwhelmed. The food was decent but didn't leave enough of an impression to draw me back again. The server was very disengaged and distracted. Even to the point of walking behind me as he was asking if we wanted desert. And I mean he was walking away completely behind my seat, walking away and I heard him ask if we wanted desert. That left a very unprofessional impression.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 18, 2017

The food and service were excellent! Best meal I've had in Richmond in a long time.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 18, 2017

LA GROTTA continues to be the best restaurant in downtown Richmond. Even though it is an Italian Restaurant, go there for the best prepared seafood in town.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Fantastic food as always. Tony is doing a great job with cooking amazing meals.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Healthy, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Best calamari in RVA! They were more than happy to split an entree for us, and the service was exceptional. Solid menu with a touch of creativity while being very approachable. Convenient to The National for pre-concert dining. The National Garden Club convention just happened to be going on across the street, so the place was busy with sassy older women having a good time out on the town.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Everything was perfect best Italian I have had in Richmond and maybe ever!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Great place t o eat authentic Italian that's hard to find in the south

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Absolutely the best fine dining experience I've had in all of Virginia. We had a party of 6 for my birthday dinner and they were attentive, kind, and accommodated my celiac's wonderfully. I will definitely be back.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Well, to be honest, the shrimps in my meal were over cooked and chewy. I'm sure they're hard to cook just right when you have so many people to cook for but the scallops were a little rare. Wish it was the other way around. The service was absolutely the finest and fun personalities. The food was a little pricey for the quality but I would visit again on account of the fantastic service.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Wonderful and authentic Italian food. It was incredibly delicious! It is very busy, but there's a reason why! It's fantastic. Perfect for our Prom dinner!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Healthy portions of food with lots of flavor. The restaurant is now located in a hotel, but folks should know the restaurant has been a main stay in Richmond for years.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Delicious! We had been to their old location many times. I was worried that the quality would change but that wasn't the case. The food was delicious and the service was awesome as usual. The restaurant itself doesn't have the old world feel of the previous location but rather a more modern look. Great evening!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 26, 2017

We had a wonderful experience. My wife and I went there for restaurant week and ordered off the regular menu. If you go there, ask for Tony. He was extremely helpful and attentive. He gave us great recommendations for food and treated us like VIPs. All the pasta is fresh made and the desserts are amazing. It was the best dining experience I have had in quite some time. While I enjoyed the ambiance of the old location, this still has an intimate feeling and the food is great. I recommend this to anyone in town as a great place to dine out. I thought the price was in line for the quality and quantity of food you receive and did not feel like pricing was too expensive. This was our fourth time dining there and we will be back for number five soon.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Private Room, Modern Decor, Cozy, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 26, 2017

We were here for Restaurant Week. The service was attentive and friendly, but not obtrusive. Portions were very generous (especially for a prix fixe meal), and the food was very tasty. This is our second visit - we were here when they first opened Broad St location and it was a bit inconsistent. Glad we returned! We will be back.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 26, 2017

We went to La Grotta as part of Richmond's Restaurant week. The food was really good and the service was top notch. I'll definitely head back there again.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 24, 2017

We really enjoyed our meals, (seabass and veal ravioli special) the food was fantastic and the server was very attentive despite how busy the restaurant was. The specials were extensive, always a really nice suprise. The only downside was it was a little noisy, but expected given it was a busy night. We will definitely be back.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Went for Restaurant Week! It did not disappoint!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Haven't been to La Grotta since they moved to new larger location. Everything was excellent, and they still serve the best Caesar salad in Richmond!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Fun, Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Enjoyed everything about the restaurant, even though we do miss the old location. The food and service were some of the best we have experienced in RVA.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 19, 2017

I think they have done a good job with the new location but to be honest, we really enjoyed the
Ambiance of the previous location. The food was good although we were disappointed that they did not box and save my wife's left overs after was asked the waiter to do so. The waiter realized the mistake and they supposedly remade her some fresh to go but it was not the same sauce and she had much more sea food left over. They only gave her one scallop and one shrimp. This was Wednesday evening and she had the spicy sauce and was given a plain sauce.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Second time we have been there recently both times a fantastic dining experience

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Tasting Menu, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Friday night dinner with family. Excellent apps, dinner and dessert.
Wonderful service. Looking forward to going back

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 14, 2017

This is my second time visiting La Grotta within a month, both for special occasions. Each visit was exceptional, the service and food were amazing!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 14, 2017

THE Best food AND Service IN RICHMOND.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 12, 2017

LaGrotta has been one of those great constant restaurants for over a decade now. Antonio's recipes are simple and straight-forward and perfectly executed. Pasta any most items are handmade in house. The food is simply outstanding. There is also an excellent wine list of nice impressive aged Italian's. I recommend turning your selection over to Antonio to choose. We enjoyed an amazing Barolo and conversation with the staff. It's like going to a good friends for dinner.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Private Room, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 9, 2017

We were disappointed. The entrees were ordinary. The desserts were good, as were the appetizers. Not worth the high price.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.