Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi

About La Grotta - Richmond

Seldom can you take a few steps in the South and find yourself completely transported to another continent. Yet, this is the experience of La Grotta. Take one step inside the door and you’re suddenly in Northern Italy. Smell the roasted garlic and savor the rich flavors of innovative Italian cuisine paired with one of the fine wines that earned La Grotta the Wine Spectator Award of Excellence. Whether it’s a quiet romantic anniversary or a business meeting, La Grotta isn’t just dinner. It’s a destination.

Exclusive private rentals can be arranged for up to 137 guests. We also offer 2 private rooms that can hold up to 37 people each or can be combined to hold a larger party. From Corporate meetings to Bridal Showers or Rehearsal Dinners, La Grotta will make your event special!

529 E Broad St.
Richmond, VA 23219
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday : 5:00pm - 9:30pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(804) 644-2466

Website:
http://lagrottarva.com/

Executive Chef:
Owner-Chef Antonio Capece

Private Party Facilities:
• Exclusive, private rental of our restaurant is available for up to 134 guests.
• Semi-private Dining Parties are available in both our Wine Cellar for up to 25 guests or on our Mezzanine level for up to 42.

Private Party Contact:
info@lagrottaristorante.com: (804) 644-2466

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

La Grotta - Richmond Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (66)
Special Occasion (58)
Good for Anniversaries (50)
See All
Pre/post Theatre (42)
Notable Wine List (40)
Romantic (39)
Authentic (35)
Business Meals (34)
Good for Birthdays (32)
Fit for Foodies (32)
Creative Cuisine (30)
Quiet Conversation (23)
Good for Groups (21)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Worth the Drive (16)
Great for Lunch (15)
Cozy (12)
Modern Decor (11)
Hot Spot (8)
Private Room (8)
Local Ingredients (8)
Historic (8)
Outstanding Value (7)
Fun (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Comfort Food (7)
People Watching (6)
Casual (6)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Disabled Access (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Scenic View (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Healthy (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Great Beer (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Spicy (1)
Seasonal (1)
Family Style (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
S
700 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

Not my first visit. Food was excellent. Service person was a bit aloof. Street views are nice but overall decor is good. I think excellent for visitors, family dinners and before an event. I enjoyed and will return

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 3 days ago

Food was good, service was "meh". We were celebrating our engagement and I felt like we were overshadowed by the masses of prom couples. Probably won't be back for a while!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 4 days ago

Great for a family graduation celebration! The pre fix menu offers a great value!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined 4 days ago

Expected a great experience based on other reviews. However I was very underwhelmed. The food was decent but didn't leave enough of an impression to draw me back again. The server was very disengaged and distracted. Even to the point of walking behind me as he was asking if we wanted desert. And I mean he was walking away completely behind my seat, walking away and I heard him ask if we wanted desert. That left a very unprofessional impression.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined 5 days ago

The food and service were excellent! Best meal I've had in Richmond in a long time.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined 5 days ago

LA GROTTA continues to be the best restaurant in downtown Richmond. Even though it is an Italian Restaurant, go there for the best prepared seafood in town.

Tags: Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 5 days ago

Fantastic food as always. Tony is doing a great job with cooking amazing meals.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Healthy, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

Best calamari in RVA! They were more than happy to split an entree for us, and the service was exceptional. Solid menu with a touch of creativity while being very approachable. Convenient to The National for pre-concert dining. The National Garden Club convention just happened to be going on across the street, so the place was busy with sassy older women having a good time out on the town.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Everything was perfect best Italian I have had in Richmond and maybe ever!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Great place t o eat authentic Italian that's hard to find in the south

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Absolutely the best fine dining experience I've had in all of Virginia. We had a party of 6 for my birthday dinner and they were attentive, kind, and accommodated my celiac's wonderfully. I will definitely be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Well, to be honest, the shrimps in my meal were over cooked and chewy. I'm sure they're hard to cook just right when you have so many people to cook for but the scallops were a little rare. Wish it was the other way around. The service was absolutely the finest and fun personalities. The food was a little pricey for the quality but I would visit again on account of the fantastic service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Wonderful and authentic Italian food. It was incredibly delicious! It is very busy, but there's a reason why! It's fantastic. Perfect for our Prom dinner!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Healthy portions of food with lots of flavor. The restaurant is now located in a hotel, but folks should know the restaurant has been a main stay in Richmond for years.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Delicious! We had been to their old location many times. I was worried that the quality would change but that wasn't the case. The food was delicious and the service was awesome as usual. The restaurant itself doesn't have the old world feel of the previous location but rather a more modern look. Great evening!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 26, 2017

We had a wonderful experience. My wife and I went there for restaurant week and ordered off the regular menu. If you go there, ask for Tony. He was extremely helpful and attentive. He gave us great recommendations for food and treated us like VIPs. All the pasta is fresh made and the desserts are amazing. It was the best dining experience I have had in quite some time. While I enjoyed the ambiance of the old location, this still has an intimate feeling and the food is great. I recommend this to anyone in town as a great place to dine out. I thought the price was in line for the quality and quantity of food you receive and did not feel like pricing was too expensive. This was our fourth time dining there and we will be back for number five soon.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Private Room, Modern Decor, Cozy, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 26, 2017

We were here for Restaurant Week. The service was attentive and friendly, but not obtrusive. Portions were very generous (especially for a prix fixe meal), and the food was very tasty. This is our second visit - we were here when they first opened Broad St location and it was a bit inconsistent. Glad we returned! We will be back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 26, 2017

We went to La Grotta as part of Richmond's Restaurant week. The food was really good and the service was top notch. I'll definitely head back there again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 24, 2017

We really enjoyed our meals, (seabass and veal ravioli special) the food was fantastic and the server was very attentive despite how busy the restaurant was. The specials were extensive, always a really nice suprise. The only downside was it was a little noisy, but expected given it was a busy night. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Went for Restaurant Week! It did not disappoint!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Haven't been to La Grotta since they moved to new larger location. Everything was excellent, and they still serve the best Caesar salad in Richmond!

Tags: Fun, Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Enjoyed everything about the restaurant, even though we do miss the old location. The food and service were some of the best we have experienced in RVA.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 19, 2017

I think they have done a good job with the new location but to be honest, we really enjoyed the
Ambiance of the previous location. The food was good although we were disappointed that they did not box and save my wife's left overs after was asked the waiter to do so. The waiter realized the mistake and they supposedly remade her some fresh to go but it was not the same sauce and she had much more sea food left over. They only gave her one scallop and one shrimp. This was Wednesday evening and she had the spicy sauce and was given a plain sauce.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Second time we have been there recently both times a fantastic dining experience

Tags: Tasting Menu, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Friday night dinner with family. Excellent apps, dinner and dessert.
Wonderful service. Looking forward to going back

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 14, 2017

This is my second time visiting La Grotta within a month, both for special occasions. Each visit was exceptional, the service and food were amazing!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 14, 2017

THE Best food AND Service IN RICHMOND.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 12, 2017

LaGrotta has been one of those great constant restaurants for over a decade now. Antonio's recipes are simple and straight-forward and perfectly executed. Pasta any most items are handmade in house. The food is simply outstanding. There is also an excellent wine list of nice impressive aged Italian's. I recommend turning your selection over to Antonio to choose. We enjoyed an amazing Barolo and conversation with the staff. It's like going to a good friends for dinner.

Tags: Private Room, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 9, 2017

We were disappointed. The entrees were ordinary. The desserts were good, as were the appetizers. Not worth the high price.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 8, 2017

First time at La Grotta, for was very good, and service was also very good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Food was great, but a group of ladies were LOUD. I hoped for more romantic when I drop 2 bills

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Wonderful food staff and settings. Every trip to Richmond we go to La Grotto it for the last 20+ years

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Third time we have gone to La Grotta. Delicious, friendly waitstaff.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Private Room, Cozy, Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Our waiter was so attentive
The food delicious
The wine exquisite

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 5, 2017

STILL RICHMOND'S BEST DOWNTOWN RESTAURANT. NOBODY COOKS FISH BETTER THAN THIS CHEF!!!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Recently relocated from the original location a few blocks away down in the Slip, the new dining space was much larger than it appeared from outside. Although I expected to order a traditional Italian entree, I ended up ordering a chef's seafood special. The snapper topped with crab cake was tasty and not overly seasoned. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Loved this place!! Wonderful Italian food! Great service! Everything we had not only looked wonderful in presentation but tasted wonderful! We can't wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 1, 2017

This was a marvelous experience! The food was fantastic and the service just as good. My husband and I are serious foodies and wine enthusiasts. We were there on business. It was so marvelous to have a comfortable fine dining experience where our waiter, Brendan, guided us beautifully through our food and wine choices and took all the stress out of our day. We will certainly be back when we return to Richmond

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Great experience!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 1, 2017

We had high hopes for La Grotta. It had a good feel and a great look. I took my three teenagers and one of their friends to La Grotta for a special occasion. First, our waiter was less than honest about portion sizes so we ended up with too many starters. Then when I asked for a side of spinach as my main course, trying to watch calories and cost, he convinced me I needed to order a double portion. A mountain of sautéed spinach arrived. It was ridiculous. A single portion would have been too much after all the calamari etc that we had for starters. My "side order" of spinach ended up costing us $16. Finally, at the end of the evening when it came time to pay, I was mortified to discover I'd left my wallet at home. I know my credit card number by heart (we order delivery from Mary Angela's, etc often) so I wondered if we could avoid driving home to get my wallet. It was embarrassing but what I found extraordinary was the way the hostess reacted when I explained the situation and offered her the credit card number I knew by heart. She seemed convinced I was trying to get out of paying. I agree I did something idiotic by forgetting my wallet but we didn't need to be treated as criminals. The credit card went through as I knew it would. We paid a fortune for good but not great food and were treated rather shabbily. I'd rather cook at home as we usually do and go to less pretentious restaurants that offer food that's just as good without the deceitful Italian waiter, overpriced menu, and lack of customer service when I made an honest (albeit stupid) mistake AND offered a solution for that mistake. You've lost us, La Grotta.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.