About La Grotta - Richmond

529 E Broad St.
Richmond, VA 23219
View Larger Map

Seldom can you take a few steps in the South and find yourself completely transported to another continent. Yet, this is the experience of La Grotta. Take one step inside the door and you’re suddenly in Northern Italy. Smell the roasted garlic and savor the rich flavors of innovative Italian cuisine paired with one of the fine wines that earned La Grotta the Wine Spectator Award of Excellence. Whether it’s a quiet romantic anniversary or a business meeting, La Grotta isn’t just dinner. It’s a destination.

Exclusive private rentals can be arranged for up to 137 guests. We also offer 2 private rooms that can hold up to 37 people each or can be combined to hold a larger party. From Corporate meetings to Bridal Showers or Rehearsal Dinners, La Grotta will make your event special!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(804) 644-2466

Website:
http://lagrottaristorante.com/

Executive Chef:
Owner-Chef Antonio Capece

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Salmon - La Grotta - Richmond, Richmond, VA
Shrimp Fra Diavolo - La Grotta - Richmond, Richmond, VA
Veal with Shrimp in Cream Sauce  - La Grotta - Richmond, Richmond, VA
Spagheti with Meat Sauce  - La Grotta - Richmond, Richmond, VA
Cake - La Grotta - Richmond, Richmond, VA
Blue Crab Stuffed Ravioli With Scallops - La Grotta - Richmond, Richmond, VA
Mixed Greens - La Grotta - Richmond, Richmond, VA
Sogliola Aurora (Sautéed Filet Of Sole) - La Grotta - Richmond, Richmond, VA
Pasta Tasting Trio - La Grotta - Richmond, Richmond, VA
Bistecca a la Fiorentina - La Grotta - Richmond, Richmond, VA

Private Dining

• Exclusive, private rental of our restaurant is available for up to 134 guests.
• Semi-private Dining Parties are available in both our Wine Cellar for up to 25 guests or on our Mezzanine level for up to 42.

La Grotta - Richmond Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.1

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (48)
Notable Wine List (47)
Good for a Date (43)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (40)
Business Meals (38)
Pre/post Theatre (33)
Authentic (33)
Fit for Foodies (30)
Good for Birthdays (30)
Romantic (29)
Good for Groups (21)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Worth the Drive (18)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Private Room (14)
People Watching (13)
Modern Decor (12)
Great for Lunch (9)
Comfort Food (9)
Hot Spot (8)
Fun (7)
Outstanding Value (7)
Casual (6)
Cozy (6)
Seasonal (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Healthy (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Scenic View (4)
Family Style (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Historic (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Tapas (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Organic (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Vegan (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
596 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This was our first visit to the new loca ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 2 days ago

This was our first visit to the new location. The ambiance was not anywhere near what the old location had.

The entre that I ordered was supposed to be "lightly seasoned" according to the waiter. It was anything but. I had to request extra bread to overcome the very hot seasoning.

My wife ordered one of the specials. It was overpowered with salt.

Overall we were disappointed, as we were there to celebrate her birthday with a special dinner.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

First of all, the service here is EXCELL ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 6 days ago

First of all, the service here is EXCELLENT. From the hostess, to the food runner, to our lovely server. I can't recall any of their names, but everyone working on the evening of January 14th was so wonderful. It was the kind of effortless non-smothering service that while you're dining you're just thinking how pleasant everything is, then later you realize how hard everyone was working to make it so.

The food was delicious as well, really great antipasti plate, salads, gnocchi, ravioli. All the vegetables were perfectly cooked and so deliciously seasoned, and everything seemed very fresh. Great wine too, we went for one of the lower priced bottles and it was delicious.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

The food was good and all was fine, real ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 6 days ago

The food was good and all was fine, really, with the exception of service. Our server was a bit abrupt. The restaurant was busy, I understand, but we felt like we were being rushed to make choices. When we asked for some time to decide, our server disappeared for awhile and we had to flag someone else down to assist us. He disappeared for so long while we waited to order dessert that we decided to skip dessert and have it elsewhere.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Staff are attentive, friendly and knowle ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 6 days ago

Staff are attentive, friendly and knowledgeable. The food is most excellent, and La Grotta doesn't want to be trendy with small plates that leave an appetite unsatiated. The restaurant has done a good job creating an ambience similar to its prior basement haunts.

Tags: Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Four of us enjoyed dinner here on a Frid ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Four of us enjoyed dinner here on a Friday night, and it was a great occasion. The menu was interesting, and the food was excellent: peppers in bagna caoda, beef carpaccio, veal scallopini and filet in a peppercorn and cognac sauce were the standouts. The only knock on the evening was the pacing, which was quite slow. Our server was friendly and attentive; it just took a long time for the appetizers and entrees to come out. Furthermore, one of our four entrees was several minutes later than the others coming out, a big miss which is, thankfully, pretty rare in restaurants at this level these days.

Tags: Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We had reservations, and there were plen ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 13, 2017

We had reservations, and there were plenty of empty seats but we were seated 2 feet from another occupied table. We could easily hear their conversation, so I know they could hear ours. Just too close to enjoy our meal.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Our party of 6 enjoyed a meal and desser ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Our party of 6 enjoyed a meal and dessert on a busy Friday night. The ambiance was very nice - energetic and festive but not too loud for conversation. Every table was filled by the time we were finished eating. By this time the waiters were extremely busy and we had to wait longer than appropriate to get the bill. Not a big thing considering overall service was very good. Three people enjoyed their dinners (Italian dishes) very much but the three who ordered peppercorn filets were not so happy. The quality of the meat was well below standard for the price. All three steaks were ordered medium - one was served medium, one was rare and one was well done. So we switched steaks around to make the best of it and avoid sending them back. The desserts were nothing special to be so pricy. Perhaps it was a bad day in the kitchen and they were one or two waiters short. We have eaten at this restaurant before (at its previous location) and the food and service was always excellent. We would certainly try it again but we probably wouldn't order steak.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

What a wonderful evening the 2 of us had ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 13, 2017

What a wonderful evening the 2 of us had. If anything, our friends at La Grotta have upped their game since moving to the new location. Hard to accomplish that.

The night started off with a lovely greeting and warm attention by the hostess.

The food was at it's usual excellent standard.

The real treat was the incredible service that was provide by Brandon, David and Nan. It was a VERY busy night, not an empty seat. The 3 of them teamed our table and didn't miss a beat. Not too much attention, not too little. Their caring and conversation were spot on. Add the fact that the food was also perfectly timed and cooked.

The real mark of a professional, long lasting establishment is what they can do under significant stress. A+ is still too low of mark for what the whole team pulled off.

Kudos to all. Can't wait til the next time!

Doug and Jerri

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This is an absolutely beautiful restaura ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 12, 2017

This is an absolutely beautiful restaurant. The food was pretty good w/a good-sized menu and creative specials from the chef. Our waiter, Brendan, was excellent.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Family Style, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This was a great first visit to the rest ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 12, 2017

This was a great first visit to the restaurant. We had an early reservation so had time to visit with our invited friend in a relatively quiet atmosphere before all the tables were filled with diners. The food was outstanding and the deserts were exceptional. We will be back.

Tags: Vegan, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Healthy, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was my first time dining at the new ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 11, 2017

This was my first time dining at the new location. The restaurant is absolutely beautiful and the service is outstanding. The food is always to die for! I happened to have dietary restrictions the night I dined there and the waitress and kitchen couldn't have been more accommodating. You will not be disappointed eating at La Grotta!

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dined 1/10 with group of 5...arrived at ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Dined 1/10 with group of 5...arrived at 8:20 and left at 10:20..La Grotta has always been a favorite and they will still cook any dish to your specifications, but the food and staff were a bit off that evening...salt and more salt and average dishes....although clams got good review. Hope it was an off night and not a trend.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

We were there for a business meeting and ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 10, 2017

We were there for a business meeting and needed to be able to converse. The restaurant has some lovely smaller rooms with 4-5 tables in each room. Initially our room was quiet and conducive to conversation but then a large, loud party was added to our room. I immediately asked the hostess if we could move to a table outside the room as our dinner had not yet been served. She told me she would talk to the manager. As I returned to my table I noticed two tables that were empty. Then the manager began clearing one so I hoped she was getting it ready for us. Our food came and still no word from the hostess or manager about moving to a quieter table. I went and expressed my displeasure to the hostess that not only were we not moved but no one bothered to provide us with an update. She told me the manager told her we could not move. I asked to speak with the manager. She told me there was no other table available. I told her about the table that was available as I returned from making my request and how she had cleaned it. She argued with me that it was not available when I made the request. The hostess told me that it was reserved for another party but that party did not even arrive until we were leaving, and had they arrived earlier they could have been given our table. While our food and server were very good, I have difficulty recommending because a simple request was not acknowledged or accommodated. Our guests were also disappointed so it was embarrassing to have selected LaGrotta for this occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

New Year's Eve dinner with friends, 4 of ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 1, 2017

New Year's Eve dinner with friends, 4 of us total. We were seated 10 minutes after our reservation and given a glass of Moscato as a goodwill gesture for our wait, which was very classy. The menu was excellent and the food was outstanding. This was our first visit here and we will definitely return.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Authentic, Romantic, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Spent an enjoyable evening at La Grotta ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Spent an enjoyable evening at La Grotta for New Year's. Great time and great food.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food, service, and pricing were outstand ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Food, service, and pricing were outstanding. You cannot find a friendlier good food place in the Richmond area. The valet parking makes it perfect for downtown dinning.

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful service and exceptional Italia ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Wonderful service and exceptional Italian food from Tony and Andrea. They make you feel at home.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food at La Grotta is always excellen ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The food at La Grotta is always excellent, especially the homemade spinach ravioli and the nightly special of lobster artichoke ravioli. The tiramisu and the coconut were also superb. Even though the restaurant was packed on New Year's Eve, all the staff were courteous and friendly.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

We had 6:00 pm reservations on New Year' ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We had 6:00 pm reservations on New Year's Eve and when we arrived, we were seated at a bar "table" in the bar area that faced the front door. This was not what we were expecting for our New Year's Eve dinner. This is a very awkward place to sit because it's so close to the check in desk and front door and you have no choice but to sit next to each other since it's not a table. My husband and I prefer to sit across from each other because it's easier for us to talk to each other that way. You feel like you're on display to everyone coming in the front door. We asked to be moved and they did move us to a table next to the wine wall which was very nice. Our server, Mehmet, was very nice as well as the young man who brought us our food. This was our 1st time eating at the new location and other than the seating issue, we have no complaints. The food was delicious as usual and the restaurant is very pretty. We'll be back, we'll just make sure to ask for a table and to not be seated in the bar area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Meal was good but not remarkable. My wif ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Meal was good but not remarkable. My wife had the pasta special and it was tasty. I had the manicotti which was simply overpowered by the amount of cheese. The service was adequate. The place was noisy and the tables are too close together.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

New location is beautiful and food is st ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 30, 2016

New location is beautiful and food is still delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant is beautiful and the food ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 30, 2016

The restaurant is beautiful and the food very good but there are a few issues that were unacceptable. First of all, the restaurant has been located in Shockoe Bottom for many years. This was a perfect location and lots of parking. When I made the reservation for lunch, there was no mention of a new location. Unfortunately, a large group of us walked from our office on the corner of 8th and Cary to the old location and it was quite a long walk from there to their new location.

When we arrived, they seated us at an "inferior" location in the restaurant and this is WITH reservations AND during the least busiest time of the day. We were all disappointed to be plopped in the middle of a huge empty room. I am certain other smaller groups wouldn't have appreciated being close to a large group of diners. Seating should be made with the ultimate pleasure of the guest in mind NOT the convenience of the restaurant staff.

The restaurant had just opened for the day and yet the bread was served cold and stale. Shame on an Italian restaurant for not taking more pride in their bread! I am a "bread snob" so I was not pleased. For our large table, they only put one basket of bread and dipping sauce and at no point offered more.

Our waiter was arrogant to say the least. When he took our orders, he asked each person if they wanted soup or salad ...as if it came with the meal. Everyone, including me was confused and thought it came with the meal. An experience and gracious waiter would have chosen different words and not mislead the customer into ordering more food or drink to make more money. He was arrogantly rude when I asked him about it.

Wake up La Grotta! If La Grotta wants to be a great restaurant, they need to treat their customers better. If they want the daily and loyal business customers, they need to figure out what they want and need.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Lovely setting for an Anniversary or oth ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Lovely setting for an Anniversary or other special occasion. Would highly recommend pasta dishes.

Service was outstanding.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

In downtown Richmond, if you want Italia ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 28, 2016

In downtown Richmond, if you want Italian food, LA GROTTA is the place to go. The chef and his wife know how to make everyone feel that you have come to a first class restaurant. The food and the service are top notch.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Stopped by La Grotta for a business lunc ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Stopped by La Grotta for a business lunch meeting. We were all blown away by the price point, the service and the quality of food. Great option for lunch!

Tags: , Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

This was my first time in the new locati ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 25, 2016

This was my first time in the new location since moved from Shockhoe Bottom to Broad Street. The feel in the new location is very different, not nearly the warm and cozy old world feel of the "cave", but nice. The food and service were excellent as always.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Organic, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Upon entering the restaurant the hostess ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Upon entering the restaurant the hostess waived me off while she was on the phone. We waited a few minutes and she curtly asked she we were and then seated us 7 people in all. The waiter was less than attentive and seemed preoccupied with another table. The room was ok but lacked the ambiance of the former location. The new location is in a hotel and now you must pay as much as $10 for parking. When we finished our meal it was 9pm on a Saturday night and no one else was left in the restaurant and the staff were cleaning and vacuuming. Food is good but not worth the the price ( $650 with gratuity automatically added to bill) or hassle unless you are on a business dinner or guest in the hotel. This was a much better experience at the former location. Not likely to return.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

We celebrated my son's and his fiancée's ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 23, 2016

We celebrated my son's and his fiancée's engagement at the new location of La Grotta on East Broad Christmas week. The 5-course meal we selected was first class in taste and appearance from appetizers to dessert. A reasonable child-friendly menu was available, too. Our server, Oliver, did an incredible job from start to finish. The ambiance of La Grotta is upscale, making it our new favorite Richmond restaurant, especially for special occasions.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, Romantic, Historic, Modern Decor, Private Room, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful! It was my first visit and I w ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Wonderful! It was my first visit and I was not disappointed. Everyone in my party said that thier food was delicious! It will become a favorite spot for special occasion lunches and dinners.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We held a business, holiday lunch for 10 ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 19, 2016

We held a business, holiday lunch for 10 at La Grotta at the end of the lunch hour (which is why the noise level was rated "quiet"). The Chef was a little anxious for us to get our orders in, as we had a late reservation, but it all worked out well and it was an incredible afternoon. The staff (Brendan) was very accommodating; the food was impeccably prepared. Recommendations were spot-on. Many of the group chose the Fixed Course 4 and 5 selections and were happy to take home the extras. Food portions were generous but not overwhelming. Food was prepared well and plated and presented beautifully. Wine selection was ample and recommendations fit the group well. The location on Broad Street and attached to the Hilton is convenient with a parking lot immediately adjacent to the restaurant. I would recommend background music (maybe even some Christmas/Holiday instrumental?); at the lulls in our conversations, it was pretty quiet! We will definitely return; the group asked for me to book it again next year!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Fun, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, People Watching, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

It was fabulous. This was the first time ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 18, 2016

It was fabulous. This was the first time at the new location and food was just as good if not better than at old location. Service was great and new atmosphere is nice, right in the thick of things down town Richmond. We will definitely be back soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We love La Grotta and were saddened to h ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 18, 2016

We love La Grotta and were saddened to hear they moved from their old location which was so cool and cozy. I understand the move but was still disappointed to hear it. Luckily, they brought the food with them because although the new place does not lack the uniqueness and charm of the Shockoe Slip location, the service and the food is exactly the same....perfect!!! We will miss the old location but will still be La Grotta fans!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Not the best experience I've had. Actual ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Not the best experience I've had. Actually the worst since I started using Open Table. Service was poor. We were halfway through our salads when asked if we wanted fresh ground pepper. Before we could even try our Entrées they asked how it was. Tables were also very tight and close together. Felt like we were sitting with the couple next to us.

Aside from really good bread and a decent salad minus fresh ground pepper, the Entrées were very disappointing. Mine was way too salty.

We won't be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1

Wonderful fresh pasta. The fennel and ra ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Wonderful fresh pasta. The fennel and radicchio salad great.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Really good but not as nice as original ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Really good but not as nice as original location. Seemed loud, but the restaurant was full. Several large parties. It also seemed crowded with a couple extra tables squeezed into the restaurant. Observed a couple ask for different seating as they were originally seated along a wall where lots of people had to walk past. Service was excellent and food was very good, but not as excited about going back there as I was going to the original.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Seventieth birthday celebration. Table f ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Seventieth birthday celebration. Table for two was nice and quiet. We ate early - 5:30 - due to holiday parties later in the evening so it was relatively quiet. Most likely much noisier later in the evening. Food was fabulous. Service was excellent as well. We enjoyed our time very much and will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful and great Food, We all 4 drove ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Beautiful and great Food, We all 4 drove separate and met down there, and we Had to Pay $13 for parking? Total of $52 for parking?

Which will probably be the only reason it will be a 2nd choice in the future?

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great restaurant and they always make us ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Great restaurant and they always make us feel welcome. Our waiter, Oliver, is a true professional and makes the dinner even better with his great service and suggestions.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

1. Menu choice and food quality even bet ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 11, 2016
  1. Menu choice and food quality even better than before. 2. Service not so much. Our waiter needed more seasoning. 3. Too many tables, too little space between them. Seating is now a contact sport.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value3

Two of our three meals were excellent, h ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Two of our three meals were excellent, however, the third was poor. My wife's veal was tough (veal should NEVER be tough) and had little flavor. Our table was in a doorway so there was constant traffic around us. We ate early (5:30) and explained to the waiter that we had just over an hour before having to attend the ballet performance around the corner at the Carpenter Center (7:00). We told the waiter that is was a birthday celebration for my wife and daughter, ordered quickly and looked at the desert menu during the meal. The food came fairly quickly but the waiter never came back and we ran out of time. We had to ask another waiter to bring us the bill and when we were leaving our waiter appeared and made some excuses as to why he didn't serve our table. We never had an opportunity to have desert and I don't know why he asked if we were celebrating anything because the service was poor. Very disappointing!

Tags: Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.