Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 13 times today

La Grotta - Richmond

4.5
933 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Italian
Top Tags:
  • Authentic
  • Special Occasion
  • Good for a Date
Seldom can you take a few steps in the South and find yourself completely transported to another continent. Yet, this is the experience of La Grotta. Take one step inside the door and you’re suddenly in Northern Italy. Smell the roasted garlic and savor the rich flavors of innovative Italian cuisine paired with one of the fine wines that earned La Grotta the Wine Spectator Award of Excellence. Whether it’s a quiet romantic anniversary or a business meeting, La Grotta isn’t just dinner. It’s a destination.

Exclusive private rentals can be arranged for up to 137 guests. We also offer 2 private rooms that can hold up to 37 people each or can be combined to hold a larger party. From Corporate meetings to Bridal Showers or Rehearsal Dinners, La Grotta will make your event special!
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Italian
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday : 5:00pm - 9:30pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(804) 644-2466
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Owner-Chef Antonio Capece
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
• Exclusive, private rental of our restaurant is available for up to 134 guests.
• Semi-private Dining Parties are available in both our Wine Cellar for up to 25 guests or on our Mezzanine level for up to 42.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
info@lagrottaristorante.com: (804) 644-2466
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine
What 933 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.5based on recent ratings
4.6
food
4.6
service
4.6
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Moderate
94% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 4 days ago

The food and the service was excellent; will definitely be back

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

Amazing as always, La Grotta never disappoints. The staff is knowledgeable, attentive and had given exceptional service each time we’ve visited (dozens of times over the past several years going back even to the old Shockoe location). The food is fresh, inventive, and lovely with a variety of exciting new specials each day and a menu of classic Italian fine dining. The wine list is also wonderful. This is absolutely one of Richmond’s finest restaurants.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 19, 2018

Very classy decor and ambience. Excellent pace for each course. We chose the Wine Dinner Special for both of us; pricey at $55 per, but the amount & quality of food & wine was worth it! Great service & recommendations by our server, who knew the menu well. Very authentic Italian cuisine. Can't come here regularly, but we will definitely be back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Great food. Lovely ambiance. This is our second time here, first in the newer location, and it does not disappoint. It was the perfect meal after our son's graduation and I'd come back again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Good table location, excellent service, excellent food and wine. My dessert had a birthday candle! Our first time since relocation from Shockhoe Slip, special atmosphere came with you! Thanks.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Awful service. Poor management. Kept forgetting to replace utensils.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

This was the best meal I have had in Richmond in a while, food was excellent. Will go back and tell folks.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Both the service and dinner were amazing!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 8, 2018

Always top-notch food and service here... never fails!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Fabulous start to finish!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Service was great! Food was ok. I got the lobster ravioli with a tomato based shrimp sauce. It was ok, a little oily for my taste. There were 3 in our party. We had 3 entrees (pasta only), 1 side of spinach, 2 desserts, 2 glasses of wine, and a soda and the bill before tip was $131. A little pricy for an average dinner. It was ok but I won't go back.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 3, 2018

As usual, the service was professional and the food delicious. It was especially pleasant to dine pre-theater, that is, before the crowd descended,

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 2, 2018

La Grotta does not disappoint. I had a wonderful lunch and will definitely be going back for the amazing cuisine. The staff are super attentive and lovey. And, the tiramisu is the best I ever had!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 1, 2018

The spinach ravioli was amazing! We wanted to lick our plates! The veal was very nice too. Our waiter kept forgetting about us and our orders, so this is the reason for the less than perfect rating.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 30, 2018

My wife and I celebrated our anniversary at this restaurant, The food selections were excellent, as was the service, which was attentive without being overbearing. As an aside, the location is convenient to both Broad Street and the Interstate. Parking was: complimentary, valet attended and in the same building.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

Love this place.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 28, 2018

The food was delicious and the server was wonderful.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

An excellent first class presentation of their restaurant-week benefit menu.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

We came there after seeing a play at Altria and it was also my birthday as well. I had eaten many times at La Grotta when it was still on Shockoe Slip but not since they moved. You had a great deal because of Restaurant Week (it was the last day), it was something like $29.18 per person. I did purchase a $27 bottle of when, so without the alcohol it was $94 for two, not the most I paid for two people but it's up there. I really like the Buffalo Rib-eye which I will get next time but I may skip the alcohol to keep the price in a respectable range. Everything about the ambiance and the waiter were perfect! The food was absolutely excellent as well! Will look to come during another special occasion in the future and I will be getting the Buffalo Rib-eye!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 27, 2018

This restaurant is without a doubt the best Italian this side of Italy ....well, maybe including Italy! The chef is superb, able to accommodate allergies and preferences and the wait staff is professional and welcoming......a gem in Richmond!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 26, 2018

Two of my three courses were excellent but my fish entree was not fresh and therefore had a bit of an off taste as did my friend’s. Our husbands enjoyed their meat entrees and our salads and desserts were excellent.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 25, 2018

I dined during restaurant week. The seafood crepe was delicious as was the osso bucco. And the tiramisu is the best in town. The place was packed and we were seated next to a large table of people celebrating an occasion so the noise level was uncomfortably loud. Service was outstanding.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 25, 2018

Food and service was excellent, however too loud to hear dinner conversation. Had to lower overall ratings due to noise level. Dinner was fantastic but can't return because of excessive screaming by patrons.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 25, 2018

Our meal at La Grotta was the best restaurant week meal we've ever had since we've been attending Richmond Restaurant Week, about 10 years. The food, service and atmosphere were fantastic. I recommend this restaurant without reservation for restaurant week or anytime.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 25, 2018

Went for restaurant week, the service was amazing and the lamb was amazing. Highly recommend!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 23, 2018

Beautiful restaurant and excellent service - food is even better. La Grotta is a well-planned, cozy and intimate restaurant that still feels bright and expansive, with large windows and glass walls separating the dining rooms. Service was friendly and very professional. We went here for Restaurant Week and the entrees were very large and exquisite. We will definitely be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 20, 2018

Great meal, lovely ambiance, excellent service. What more could you ask for?

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 20, 2018

We had a fantastic dining experience at LaGrotta to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Everything was perfect.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 19, 2018

Outstanding in every aspect. Food was wonderful and our server Oxana (spelled incorrectly) was extremely knowledgeable and made some great suggestions. The wine pairings and pice fixed menu worked well for our group.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 18, 2018

Fantastic as always. The chef himself delivered our meals and we all cleaned our plates! We always enjoy going to La Grotta.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Perfection!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 13, 2018

Friends from out of state and we met with a local Richmond friend for dinner at La Grotta at our local friend's suggestion. What a great meal! Many classic Italian options, the elegant white tablecloth setting, and our server Carolina were exceptional! Her suggestions for food selections were spot on and her elegance in serving were high spots. We will definitely return on our next stay in Richmond and we have already recommended La Grotta to friends.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 13, 2018

Everytime we have eaten at this restaurant it has been an amazing dining experience. Great food, service and value.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 13, 2018

enjoyed the atmosphere and especially the bar tender who was very nice. I enjoyed my food but my wife's was outstanding

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 7, 2018

The pasta dishes were light but had so much flavor. The pasta could tell was made in house. Sauces were delicious and complimented the pasta dishes well. Had the tiramisu which was also made in house and was terrific. Wait staff was very pleasant and attentive. Overall experience was very enjoyable. We would go again if staying in the Richmond area.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 6, 2018

Awesome meal. Loved the quail

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 6, 2018

Fantastic, authentic Italian food. It rivals any restaurant I have dined at in Italy. We had the five course meal, asked for the chef to select each course and we were astounded how good it all was.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 4, 2018

Everything was delicious!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 31, 2018

Dinner was excellent, service was superb. Great location, high end inside.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 26, 2018

Pleasant atmosphere, attentive service and delicious food. Good value.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
24

Tweets by La Grotta - Richmond