About La Grotta - Richmond

1218 E Cary Street
Richmond, VA 23219
View Larger Map

Seldom can you take a few steps in the South and find yourself completely transported to another continent. Yet, this is the experience of La Grotta. Take one step inside the door off the cobblestone street of Shockoe Slip and you’re suddenly in Northern Italy. Smell the roasted garlic and savor the rich flavors of innovative Italian cuisine paired with one of the fine wines that earned La Grotta the Wine Spectator Award of Excellence. Whether it’s a quiet romantic anniversary or a business meeting, La Grotta isn’t just dinner. It’s a destination.

Exclusive private rentals can be arranged for up to 134 guests. We also offer Semi-private dining or meetings in our Wine Cellar for up to 25 guests. Our Mezzanine level is perfect for parties of up to 42 guests. From Corporate meetings to Bridal Showers or Rehearsal Dinners, La Grotta will make your event special!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
13th Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(804) 644-2466

Website:
http://lagrottaristorante.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary parking is available after 5pm in the parking deck on Virginia Street. Driving east on Cary Street, Virginia Street is located between 13th and 14th Streets on the right side. Other parking options include on-street parking and a variety of public parking garages within three blocks.

Executive Chef:
Owner-Chef Antonio Capece

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Restaurant closed from Monday, July 2, 2012 to Saturday, July 7, 2012. We will reopen on Monday, July 9, 2012 at 11:30 am.

Restaurant Photos

Private Dining

• Exclusive, private rental of our restaurant is available for up to 134 guests.
• Semi-private Dining Parties are available in both our Wine Cellar for up to 25 guests or on our Mezzanine level for up to 42.

La Grotta - Richmond Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Virginia
Italian
Virginia
Best Food
Richmond
5 More
Best Ambiance
Richmond
Notable Wine List
Richmond
Romantic
Richmond
Special Occasion
Richmond
Italian
Richmond
Best Restaurants in Richmond ›

romantic (83)
special occasion (83)
notable wine list (62)
See All
fit for foodies (48)
good for groups (38)
neighborhood gem (37)
great for lunch (17)
late-night find (10)
hot spot (8)
scenic view (3)
great for brunch (3)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
442 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was perfect from the moment w ...

Dined 6 days ago

Everything was perfect from the moment we walked in. Our server was very professional and very well trained. The food was excellent and there was plenty of it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

An old standard...shame it is closing

vip
Dined 7 days ago

the restaurant is dated and a bit cold inside...with a moldy smell but it is an old standard and will be missed...the staff is always lovely and the food is good but often a bit heavy....but it has a homemade and family feeling that is lovely without having to go to a chain restaurant..can't wait to see the new place. Good luck

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The food at La Grotta was tremendous. Ne ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

The food at La Grotta was tremendous. Never before have I cleaned my plate after every course. The homemade pasta wasn't heavy, but melted in my mouth. The salad was outstandingly fresh, and the dessert was to die for. It was my first time at this restaurant, but I plan to be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Return to the scene of wedding rehearsal dinner

Dined on May 7, 2016

Well for my wife's birthday, I thought we would return to where we had our wedding rehearsal dinner 12 years ago. I made reservations through open table. I dropped my wife off and went to park the car. Apparently the hostess was not very nice when my wife approached. She actually went right by her to welcome a party of 10 people. Our table was not ready....and we were about 5 to 10 minutes late because of shockoe bottom traffic. After waiting 15 minutes, she gave us an option of two table that were the "only tables left' one of them being right next to the door. We chose the other one, right next to the part of 10. The food was great! Our waitress was great! And we had a nice dinner, but he hostess need to step it up a couple notches and when I make a reservation, I expect a table to be ready!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pre-prom success!

Dined on April 30, 2016

My daughter and her friend are here on Saturday 4/30 for their pre-prom dinner. Her friends mom and I tagged along at a different table. I had only been here for lunch in the past. We took advantage of the 4 course meal and it was by far the best meal i have had in years! The food was impeccable, the service was divine. I can't wait to come back with my husband for a romantic dinner

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hidden gem.. My new fav

Dined on April 30, 2016

I grew up in Richmond and live about an hour away so we visit often. We seek out interesting and new restaurants usually thru articles/websites...For some reason , I had never been to La Grotta! If I had only known what I was missing!! We have been 2 times since we discovered it and brought friends last Friday night that also loved it. Here are the highlights....Hidden secret , friendly neighborhood restaurant . Outstanding food. Branzino ridiculously flavorful with mussels, clams... Super reasonable price wine list , fun and attentive staff! Relaxing comfortable but not too casual. Nice small intimate bar . We wil be back since we stay at Marriott Courtyard on the next block! Cheers!

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Everything was good except my filet was ...

Dined on April 29, 2016

Everything was good except my filet was a bit tough. Tables too close together. Couple next to us were super loud. Service was great. The salmon was very good and salad was great.

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Restaurant Week

Dined on April 24, 2016

We went for Restaurant Week and chose a 3 course meal from their prix fixe menu. This was our first time there and the food did not wow me (although the tiramisu was very good). However, I would definitely give it another shot. I enjoyed the ambiance and location.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Always Special

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

It had been a while since we had eaten at La Grotta - it was nice to discover that the wonderful food was still wonderful. We ate from the Restaurant Week menu but La Grotta is one of the rare restaurants that also offers it's regular menu during RRW - and what an extensive menu it is! If you are a fan of northern Italian food then you are bound to find something to your liking. The salad, entree (Chicken with Artichokes) and dessert (Tiramisu) were excellent.The only drawback was the service was a bit hit-and-miss; after giving us our water, our server disappeared for a long time. In her defense, it was Saturday of Restaurant Week and Prom Season! (at least 2 large groups). We are going to miss the ambiance, though we were told they will attempt to duplicate it as much as possible at the new location at the Hilton.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

You won't find these dishes anywhere else!

Dined on April 22, 2016

La Grotta's standard menu is exceptional with so many stellar items but it is the nightly specials that are the true gems. No where outside of Northern Italy will you find these delicacies. Delicate pastry stuffed with a variety of seafood is a decadent appetizer as the Chicken Galletin. A Wild Boar chop with a blueberry sauce is beyond description as is the Veal breast with tuna tonnato sauce. I almost hate giving this review as I don't want the place to become so crowded I can't drop in when I want!.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Best Seafood crepe. EVER!

vip
Dined on April 22, 2016

One of the biggest challenges dining at La Grotta is deciding what entree to order, and not filling up on the variety of appetizers. The seafood specials are always outstanding and the seafood crepe was phenomenal.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As usual!

Dined on April 21, 2016

So many restaurants lower the quantity, quality or service when they participate in "Restaurant Week". Not La Grotta. The usual high standards were obvious. Thank you.

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Still Great

Dined on April 20, 2016

Our visit was during Richmond Restaurant Week, so the menu was limited but still good. Standouts that are on the regular menu include the gnocchi and ravioli. Two of the RR Week specials that were superb were the seafood crepe and the veal with tuna sauce. Maybe they run those as specials sometimes. If so, try them. Service was outstanding. Our server was knowledgeable, pleasant, and present without being obtrusive. Still one of our favorite spots, and we look forward to their move to the Marriott.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Business Dinner

Dined on April 18, 2016

A perfect evening with colleagues from NJ and VA. The guests were very impressed with the quality and quantity of food. The service was great. Valet paring would have been great if existed. Worth visiting in their new location.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service, the food was wonderful an ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

Great service, the food was wonderful and the place is very cozy. Great option for a romantic meal!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great surprise

Dined on April 13, 2016

We were so pleased by the whole experience. Our Servicer, Shay, was at least half the fun of the experience, knowledgeable and quick witted, she kept us laughing throughout the evening. The food was inventive and plated beautifully. There was nothing that was not a surprise for the palette,very creative.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Our first visit. The ambiance is great. ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

Our first visit. The ambiance is great. Sorry to hear they will be moving as I'm not sure they can take that with them. The only thing that was negative about our experience was that they were about 40 minutes late seating us from our reservation. Food and service was good.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

La Grotta is great! Great food and ambi ...

Dined on April 3, 2016

La Grotta is great! Great food and ambiance. Sorry to hear that they are moving since I live in Shockoe Slip and love to stop by there to eat.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best choice for a surprise dinner

vip
Dined on April 2, 2016

It was fabulous. The presentation of the dishes alone was amazing.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Homemade pastas & tiramisu best in Richmond

Dined on April 1, 2016

The octopus tartare appetizer was very unique and delicious. The duck ravioli with mushroom sauce special was especially tasty. My husband's favorite is the homemade ravioli filled with spinach and ricotta. It is always the best thing on the menu. All the homemade pastas are excellent. The tiramisu is the best dessert in Richmond.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

It's a really great meal, i went there w ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

It's a really great meal, i went there with my girlfriend and we had Snapper sautéed with butter and lime. It came with Mashed patatoes, some lime soaked mushrooms, this was thir specialty that night so overall - Exquisite 👌🏼 and the ambiance gives off a very relaxed and mellow feel that allows you to relax in your seat.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Experience

Dined on March 27, 2016

This restaurant proved to be one of the best dining experiences. When I casually mentioned a dietary restriction, the server went out of his way to accommodate my need. I was served a very delicious meal, and I felt like the staff at La Grotta were very respectful of the customer's needs. Dining here was truly delightful, thanks to the old world ambiance created by the beautiful decor, delicious food, great wine, and caring staff.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

BEST MEAL EVER!

Dined on March 12, 2016

LaGrotta is one of my favorite restaurants hands down. I have been mostly for lunch but dinner was to die for! Servers make you feel like royalty and the food was absolutely amazing. I have NEVER had an even so so meal here.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Welcoming Environment

Dined on March 6, 2016

We have been to LaGrotta several times now. It is a little pricey, but it is a nice place to splurge and enjoy a celebration. This our go to location for New Years and special occassions. We have been here on good nights and on bad nights (couple of people didn't show up) . But, no matter the owners are extremely classy, warm and inviting. A New Year'e celebration with them is like one enormous family. The husband spends most of the time in the kitchen, but is very engaging and vibrant when he comes out to enjoy his customers. The food is always great. The biggest problem is deciding what to order. There are so many great choices available. You can come back time and time again and still never enjoy them all. The classic Italian dishes are superb and the non-traditional are a close second. The bread before the meal could be a meal in itself, it is delicious and always cooked to perfection

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service5

Nice restaurant serving Italian food. Ou ...

vip
Dined on March 3, 2016

Nice restaurant serving Italian food. Our waiter was outstanding, but the cuisine was not that impressive. It had simple goodness and it was pretty basic which rated 3 stars from me.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic Experience

Dined on February 29, 2016

We brought a few customers to this location downtown and it was fantastic. The food was great and the staff was right on top of it. Great selection and the food was delicious!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

RICHMOND'S PREMIER ITALIAN RESTAURANT

vip
Dined on February 25, 2016

YES, it is Italian, but don't forget that the best seafood in town is here.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Gem of a Find!

Dined on February 24, 2016

Using Google I searched an Italian Restaurant in the Richmond area for our 13th wedding anniversary. The look from the website of the inside and the menu caught my attention so I used the online reservation form to reserve a table. I called ahead and asked if I could drop off flowers to have them put on the table. Andrea Capece met me when I stopped by and allowed me to pick out my table and to set the flowers up on the table for our arrival. When we arrived, they knew right away when i told them my name and took my wife and I back to our table. Everything was perfect and our waiter (Mehmet I believe was his name) was attentive, charming and never once did we have to call him over. He knew when a drink was needed and when to take a dish. We both ordered the 5 course dinner and each and every dish was authentic and amazing. dishes were cooked as requested and presented beautifully in every way. For desert, they even wrote Happy Anniversary around the plate for us both. That was a really nice personal touch. Our entire experience; from planning, to setting it up to the people to the atmosphere was 100% perfect. Not a single negative thought comes to mind when i think of La Grotta other than I wish I could dine there more often. It will indeed be more than once a year!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Last Minute Find for a Group of 5 in Black Tie

Dined on February 20, 2016

Great ambiance, service, they were flexible as my group was running behind. The food was phenomenal and we did not feel out of place in our black tie attire. Will definitely return. Thanks for being so flexible and accommodating!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Excellent Italian in Richmond

vip
Dined on February 18, 2016

Very nice ambiance and wonderful food. We enjoyed the special sea bass. Lovely preparation and presentation. Served with escarole that was delicious despite being only luke warm. A very nice evening that made a one night stopover in Richmond feel like a special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tasty

Dined on February 15, 2016

As always, the food was exceptional. We always look forward to eating there when we are in Richmond.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5

My wife and I both enjoyed our Valentine ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

My wife and I both enjoyed our Valentine's Day dinner at LaGrotta. Excellent, attentive, and knowledgeable service complemented the romantic subterranean atmosphere. To date, the best tiramisu I've ever had.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

La Grotta

Dined on February 14, 2016

It was absolutely amazing and was a great surpise for my girlfriend and I on Valetine's Day. I was blown away by the food and service and the how nice the restaurant was. The bill was high, but you should expect that going to a restaurant with amazing fast well done service and food.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

Very very slow when busy

Dined on February 14, 2016

We had reservations for 8:30, and arrived a few minutes early. We were seated in about twenty minutes after checking in, and had a hard time doing that quickly, since the hostess was indisposed. One of the other hostesses sat a person who showed up after us with the same reservation time right as they walked in. After we were seated, we were waited on by no less than three servers and it still took two hours to make it through the three course meal. The servers are very polite, and the food was good, but for the price, it was not a great experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Exceptional Service

Dined on February 14, 2016

Made a reservation and was seated 10 minutes earlier. Excellent service, we ordered, received our food and paid within 20 minutes of sitting and they didn't rush us. The food was also incredible!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Valentine's Day

Dined on February 14, 2016

My husband and I enjoyed a wonderful dinner for Valentine's Day. There wereTONS of people more than we'd ever seen there before. The staff was busy getting everyone seated and was great. Couples seemed to be seated at the reservation time or just a few moments after. Some patrons were very rude about not being seated exactly on time, the staff did a great job accommodating everyone! Food was great, looking forward to our next visit!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Delightful V-day dinner

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

As always LaGrotta delivers! It never ceases to amaze me how creative Tony is with his wide range of specials and the consistency of his everyday items. You can always count on exceptional food and great service. Andrea, Tony and the staff always go above and beyond to assure a positive dining experience. The Agnolotti is one of our ALL TIME favorite pasta dishes ever!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Great food...once you get a table!

Dined on February 13, 2016

Food was great, waiter was great...recommend for those special occasions where only the best will do! Only issue was getting a table. I had a 6:45 reservation for 4 people, but was not seated until after 7:30. Was told when we arrived, that our table was being cleared. After 10 minutes I asked again and got a blank stare. She obviously messed up and seated someone else at our table. This process of "we are clearing your table" continued on for 4 more times over a 45 minute period. Rather than lie, admit you made a mistake and then work to immediately correct the problem. There were several two person tables that could have been pulled together in order to seat us, however, she continued to seat couples at those spots and ignored us. Thank goodness our waiter was excellent and the food was perfect.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Review on La Grotta Richmond, VA

Dined on February 13, 2016

I took a friend to this hidden gem in Richmond to celebrate a major birthday. We were both surprised by the quality of the Italian cuisine and the authenticity of the ingredients. I am of Italian descent and a gourmet cook. This place equals any in DC, NY, SF or other major US cities. I loved the preparation of the Pulpo as outstanding and better than I had in Venice. We will return to this wonderful Italian Restaurant in RVA.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

La Grotta for any Occasion

Dined on February 13, 2016

La Grotta is a great choice for any special occasion. The food is delicious and has a great presentation. The wait staff is very friendly and attentive. Great job recommending food items. Well worth trying at least once to see if you like it. You won't regret it!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.