About La Grotta - Richmond

529 E Broad St.
Richmond, VA 23219
View Larger Map

Seldom can you take a few steps in the South and find yourself completely transported to another continent. Yet, this is the experience of La Grotta. Take one step inside the door off the cobblestone street of Shockoe Slip and you’re suddenly in Northern Italy. Smell the roasted garlic and savor the rich flavors of innovative Italian cuisine paired with one of the fine wines that earned La Grotta the Wine Spectator Award of Excellence. Whether it’s a quiet romantic anniversary or a business meeting, La Grotta isn’t just dinner. It’s a destination.

Exclusive private rentals can be arranged for up to 134 guests. We also offer Semi-private dining or meetings in our Wine Cellar for up to 25 guests. Our Mezzanine level is perfect for parties of up to 42 guests. From Corporate meetings to Bridal Showers or Rehearsal Dinners, La Grotta will make your event special!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
13th Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(804) 644-2466

Website:
http://lagrottaristorante.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary parking is available after 5pm in the parking deck on Virginia Street. Driving east on Cary Street, Virginia Street is located between 13th and 14th Streets on the right side. Other parking options include on-street parking and a variety of public parking garages within three blocks.

Executive Chef:
Owner-Chef Antonio Capece

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Restaurant closed from Monday, July 2, 2012 to Saturday, July 7, 2012. We will reopen on Monday, July 9, 2012 at 11:30 am.

Restaurant Photos

Salmon - La Grotta - Richmond, Richmond, VA
Shrimp Fra Diavolo - La Grotta - Richmond, Richmond, VA
Veal with Shrimp in Cream Sauce  - La Grotta - Richmond, Richmond, VA
Spagheti with Meat Sauce  - La Grotta - Richmond, Richmond, VA
Cake - La Grotta - Richmond, Richmond, VA
Blue Crab Stuffed Ravioli With Scallops - La Grotta - Richmond, Richmond, VA
Mixed Greens - La Grotta - Richmond, Richmond, VA
Sogliola Aurora (Sautéed Filet Of Sole) - La Grotta - Richmond, Richmond, VA
Pasta Tasting Trio - La Grotta - Richmond, Richmond, VA
Bistecca a la Fiorentina - La Grotta - Richmond, Richmond, VA

Private Dining

• Exclusive, private rental of our restaurant is available for up to 134 guests.
• Semi-private Dining Parties are available in both our Wine Cellar for up to 25 guests or on our Mezzanine level for up to 42.

La Grotta - Richmond Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.1

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Virginia
Italian
Richmond
Best Restaurants in Richmond ›

Special Occasion (46)
Good for a Date (38)
Notable Wine List (38)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (34)
Authentic (31)
Fit for Foodies (30)
Good for Birthdays (28)
Pre/post Theatre (27)
Romantic (24)
Business Meals (22)
Good for Groups (19)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Worth the Drive (13)
Quiet Conversation (12)
People Watching (12)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Modern Decor (9)
Fun (8)
Private Room (8)
Hot Spot (8)
Comfort Food (8)
Outstanding Value (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Casual (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Healthy (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Scenic View (4)
Family Style (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Cozy (4)
Open Kitchen (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Bar Seating (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Historic (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Seasonal (1)
Tapas (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
530 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Really beautiful setting, attentive and ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined 4 days ago

Really beautiful setting, attentive and knowledgeable servers, and excellent food made for a perfect evening. I will definitely be back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I visited La Grotta restaurant to celebr ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 23, 2016

I visited La Grotta restaurant to celebrate a family member birthday and I was very pleased with the service and dinner... food was delicious and chef came to our table to ensure we have a good experience..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Best pasta in town.

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Best pasta in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything over-the top. Food excellen ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Everything over-the top. Food excellent; service excellent, friendly and not rushed. Ambience in Wine Cellar Room delightful and cozy.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our first time service and food outstand ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Our first time service and food outstanding

Atmosphere outstanding

But I would suggest that you ask to be in main dining room

We where in one of smaller room

And two larger party came in and with there excitement of the day and larger party was very loud try to out talk each other it was very hard to talk across the table

If back in Richmond I would try it again 

But request to be larger room

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nothing at all.

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Nothing at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

I had a reservation at seven, ended up w ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 16, 2016

I had a reservation at seven, ended up waiting for almost an hour with little explanation before we left and went somewhere else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

I am leaving this review because overall ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 16, 2016

I am leaving this review because overall disappointment in my experience. I have worked the industry for many years so I can be critical; overall I tend to be more forgiving because of my understanding of the process of providing a dining experience. I will say that the food was excellent. it more than met my expectations. Service and ambiance; not so much. When I made my reservations I noted that it was my anniversary and I would like an intimate table. I understand that it was a 7 pm reservation and it was obvious that they were extremely busy. After what seemed like an interminable amount of time a hostess "greeted" us checked our reservation, and guided us hurriedly to our table, and dropped us at a two top in the middle of walkway leading to a private room with a large corporate party in it. I literally laughed and commented to my wife regarding how "un-intimate" the table was. The hostess just looked at me and quickly walked away, ignoring my comment. I recognized that the room was full and there was no point in asking for another table. I can only guess that they simply ignored our table request because of the timing and size of the reservation. Our server while experienced and knowledgeable, was so harried that he blurted through the specials so quickly I had to ask for him to repeat them. He did not quote the prices and I felt too pressured in placing my order to ask. We were abandoned for long periods of time between courses and despite the fact that we were not in a hurry we had to ask for water and extra plates to be picked up by passing waitstaff. the noise level was so high that conversation was difficult at best. I ordered a fish special and I was shocked at the price of when I received our bill. I would have made an alternate choice had I known. Additionally I would have chosen to come in earlier or gone elsewhere had I known that they could not accommodate my table request. A total lack of communication. I will not likely return.

Tags: Authentic, Notable Wine List, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value2

We booked a table two weeks in advance f ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 15, 2016

We booked a table two weeks in advance for our 29th Anniversary. When we arrived at our romantic table , which was crammed into the corner next to a wine rack under very bright lights. I had to find a waitress after waiting too long. She found the switch to turn down the lights and moved us to better table. There was no bartender so the waitress made the drinks. Food was slow arriving, but ultimately good. They need to do better. Prefer the old location.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Foods was as good as ever. My first visi ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Foods was as good as ever. My first visit to this new location. The only issue was the flow. Some tables are right up against others. One of my guest's chair was right up against another table's.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

I have never had a bad experience at LaG ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 12, 2016

I have never had a bad experience at LaGrotta. Food is always delicious, wine selection is good and reasonably priced, wait staff is fun and friendly. Worth the trip into the city!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I was excited to try La Grotto at the ne ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 12, 2016

I was excited to try La Grotto at the new location-- and it is nice but I missed the ambiance of the Shockoe Bottom restaurant. Our service started off VERY slow and we sat for about 10 minutes before our drink orders were even taken. It was a busy night and they had a packed house with several large parties. We had 5:30 reservations (when they opened) and tickets to a show at the Coliseum that started at 7. We were getting a little nervous about getting there on time. The food was good but the portion on the ravioli seemed a little skimpy. I will go back but I am not sure they have worked out the kinks yet.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Tapas, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Great meal, delicious food, attentive wa ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Great meal, delicious food, attentive waiter, and the chef/owner was extremely nice to speak with after our meal.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Server helped me design my own pasta dis ...

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Server helped me design my own pasta dish. Expensive but delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and service. I got the rockfi ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Great food and service. I got the rockfish topped with shrimp daily special. It was spectacular.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wow, awesome. Was worried about new ven ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Wow, awesome. Was worried about new venue, but it is outstanding. And the Cannelloni...wow and wow some more. Big wine list. Study in advance.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Scenic View, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful space, excellent service and f ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Beautiful space, excellent service and food. We had tickets to the theatre, so couldn't linger which was a shame. The waitstaff was very attentive and timed our meal perfectly so that we were finished in time without feeling rushed. Next time we will go without time constraints!

Tags: Authentic, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was fantastica and the service ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 3, 2016

The food was fantastica and the service was the best I have had in a very long time. This is on the top of my list for Classic Italian in all of Richmond

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The seafood crepes were PHENOMENAL, and ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 3, 2016

The seafood crepes were PHENOMENAL, and the specials are always a difficult decision. Tony and Andrea have done a wonderful job transforming the new space into a vibrate space augmented by outstanding Italian cuisine. If you have a sweet tooth, try the Tartufo.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Although A New Location Everything Is St ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Although A New Location Everything Is Still FANTASTIC .. jf

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was our first visit to the new locati ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 29, 2016

It was our first visit to the new location. While we missed the ambiance of the old place, this location is very pretty. The service was prompt and couteous, and the food was incredible. We were there for Restaurant week, and I was so glad. We never order dessert, but since it was part of the deal, we indulged. We're still talking about the delicious Tiramisu. I would highly recommend this restaurant

Tags: People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We dined at La Grotta for Richmond Resta ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 29, 2016

We dined at La Grotta for Richmond Restaurant Week and loved it. The new space is fresh with the charm of the old location. The food and service have not skipped a beat with the relocation. If the Seafood Crepes are on the menu for your visit, order them and don't look back.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Private Room, Authentic, People Watching, Business Meals, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful, flavorful food and impeccable ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Wonderful, flavorful food and impeccable service keeps us coming back to La Grotta. Love the new location next to the Hilton in the old Miller & Rhodes building. Excellent choice for fine dining option and special occasion or birthday celebrations.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

La Grotta's regular menu is always fabu ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 28, 2016

La Grotta's regular menu is always fabulous but for restaurant week they really out did themselves. The seafood crepe appetizer and Royal Seabass entree we unbeatable!

Tags: Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, People Watching, Fun, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

First time at new location in Hilton Hot ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 28, 2016

First time at new location in Hilton Hotel. Didn't have quite the ambience the old location had but the food was fabulous. Lobster ravioli with a light cream sauce for appetizer scrumptious and the sea bass melted in your mouth and out of this world. No words that describe the tarimasu. Bar tender was from Argentina and was delightful and funny. Wait staff very attentive and friendly.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Appreciate that they participate in Rich ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Appreciate that they participate in Richmond's Restaurant Week for the benefit of FeedMore!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Cozy, Private Room, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great as always!

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 28, 2016

great as always!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Waiter Marco was very attentive and prof ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Waiter Marco was very attentive and professional. We enjoyed our meal and having Marco as our waiter. Food was delicious. We had the chicken with sun dried tomatoes and artichokes and my husband had rockfish. We took our tiramisu home, and it was fabulous!

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We love La Grotta and have been several ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 26, 2016

We love La Grotta and have been several times. This last time was our first at the new location and it was during Restaurant Week. The place was packed and the staff were very busy, so service was a bit slower than usual. However, the food was wonderful and the staff was friendly and attentive when they could get to the table. We're getting acclimated to the new location (there was a wonderful coziness and atmosphere to the prior location) but it should be a great choice for people heading downtown (especially around the corner at the Carpenter Theatre).

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Excellent food, staff was very nice and ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Excellent food, staff was very nice and helpful. My biggest complaint was the noise level in the restaurant. Very noisy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Enjoyed our drinks at the bar beforehand ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Enjoyed our drinks at the bar beforehand - friendly, knowlegeable bartender from Argentina! Were pleased with our meals and waitstaff. Attractively set tables, and nice stemwear. The furnishings appear to be attractive, but the glaring recessed lights overhead detracted greatly from the ambiance. Dimmer lighting would have been nice. The lights leading into the restaurant from the hotel's lobby were absolutely blinding!

We'll try it again, though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

Great food. It was restaurant Week and ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Great food. It was restaurant Week and took a very long time to get our main course. Would definitely go back.

Tags: Romantic, Historic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Server was terrific. Oliver warned us ri ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Server was terrific. Oliver warned us right off that the kitchen was running low on one special which we ordered immediately. My veal chop with artichokes and sundried tomatoes with cognac cream sauce was fabulous. Seafood crepe appetizer was almost entree size. Space is nicely broken up by sliding glass doors to control sound. Once it is dark outside no one cares that the view is Broad Street. Great location for pre-theater dinner. Valet parking at Hilton is a bonus.

Tags: Good for a Date, Private Room, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enormously convenient for attending even ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Enormously convenient for attending events at the theatre/concert venue across Sixth Street from it. We arrived at 6 p.m., had three courses without wine/liquor, and were out at 7:30 p.m. in time for an 8 p.m. curtain. It was a little to noisy for me, but not as noisy as many other places. Food was better than OK. Service was attentive, friendly, and accurate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The new venue is absolutely beautiful! ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 21, 2016

The new venue is absolutely beautiful! The stone walls and wood accent on the ceiling give the effect of being in a grotto. Very much in step with the old location. As always the food is stellar and you never know what delicacies will be on special! The staff are all friendly and professional - they work together seemingly effortlessly.

Tags: Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding food but WOW it's loud in th ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Outstanding food but WOW it's loud in there. Could use some sound proofing.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

This was our second visit to La Grotta. ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 15, 2016

This was our second visit to La Grotta. The service was not as good as the first time we were there. Two members of our party ordered appetizers, two ordered a salad to share. The appetizers were served before the entrees, but the salad was not served until the entrees arrived and the server was reminded that we needed a salad. We also had to ask for water refills. Finally, the sides with the delicious salmon enters were too salty to eat. The other entrees were very good. We will return; everyone can have an "off" night.

Tags: Hot Spot, Authentic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

"EXCELLANT" once again. First time to t ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 15, 2016

"EXCELLANT" once again. First time to the new location and some old friends and we loved everything.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Healthy, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always have an excellent meal at La Grot ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Always have an excellent meal at La Grotta! Food is delicious and expertly prepared. I love their new location as it makes it easy to pull right up to the Hilton and valet the car. The new dining room is cozy and charming. Waitstaff is always the best especially Mamet! I always feel like family when we come in. Signed the two ladies.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Authentic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just as god, if not better, than the las ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Just as god, if not better, than the last location

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.