Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

About La Fontana Siciliana

La Fontana is an urban oasis amidst the hustle and bustle of Belltown. As you step into the courtyard you are drawn in by the bubbling fountain and the aroma of Sicilian cuisine in the air. La Fontana has been a fixture in Belltown for over a decade. Proprietor Mario Fuenzalida’s food philosophy of utilizing the freshest ingredients prepared to order ensures that every meal is a pleasurable and memorable experience. The wine list has been specially crafted as a showcase to the food; it features quality Sicilian and Italian wines that highlight the unique flavors of La Fontana’s menu.

120 Blanchard Street
Seattle, WA 98121
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Sicilian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Thursday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 441-1045

Website:
http://www.lafontanasiciliana.com/

Executive Chef:
Mario Fuenzalida

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Corkage Fee, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

La Fontana Siciliana Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (41)
Cozy (34)
Authentic (34)
See All
Good for a Date (31)
Neighborhood Gem (30)
Quiet Conversation (27)
Special Occasion (26)
Good for Anniversaries (20)
Notable Wine List (12)
Great for Outdoor Dining (12)
Casual (10)
Historic (10)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Comfort Food (8)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Private Room (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Great for Lunch (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Family Style (3)
Fun (3)
Good for Groups (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Live Music (2)
Business Meals (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Tapas (2)
Healthy (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
S
503 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 4 days ago

This is one of my favorite restaurants in Seattle. I love the setting, especially in summer when we can sit outside by the fountain. I love the food--I mean come on, olive oil and balsamic vinegar direct from Sicily, aged for years--how can that not create wonderful salads and dipping sauces? The staff and owner are friendly and helpful. It may be a bit pricey but the servings are good sized and the tastes are wonderful. My sister said the other night when we were there that the Caesar salad dressing was the best she had ever had. I loved my caprese made with oranges instead of tomatoes. One person in our party soaked up every bit of sauce on his plate. We all thought the evening was a great success and the new comers in our party said they would return.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Fun, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 5 days ago

The calamari (unbreaded) was great, as was the fresh black linguini with salmon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

We both loved the ambiance, menu selection, and outstanding service by the owner. We'll return often!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Special Occasion, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 6 days ago

Great to be seated next to a fountain in a quiet courtyard. The Italian fare was delicious and the service was very warm. Definitely will return.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 21, 2017

The ambiance is delightful and reminds you of a cozy restaurant in Brooklyn with the old red brick building and apartments/condos upstairs. There was a good variety on the menu. I was disappointed there was no full bar since I don't drink wine. My entree consisted of three scallops with risotto which I thought was pricey at $33.95. Their tiramisu was excellent.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Wow! The vitella alla salvia was stunningly delicious- I could eat it forever. My wife had the Risotto primavera and raved about it. Then the deserts came, my oh my! I could put on some serious weight here and wouldn't mind one bit.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Authentic Italian dining in Seattle's Belltown. We arrived early on a Saturday evening and the place was empty but started filling up quickly around 6:00. The weather was nice so we ate in the courtyard and we're glad we did. Flavors of the lamb tenderloin with goat cheese and figs were subtle and the dish was well prepared. We usually skip dessert but couldn't pass up the sorbet in a whole lemon, a dish we haven't seen since we left Italy. Service, supervised by the owner, was efficient but not rushed. Other diners appeared to be enjoying themselves as well. All in all a pleasant evening. We'll be back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Hidden gem in seattle - passed by many times and never knew it was there. Will be back for sure.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Always superb dining experience, but a bit on the cold side (room temp) this evening and noisier in the back room due, in part, to a large group of businessmen speaking in unmoderated voice levels.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Mothers Day dinner, great food with some terrific specials on the day. Up there in price, but for the quality of the food, it was reasonable value. Every meal was excellent with some interesting flavors.

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food, Molecular Gastronomy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The food was fine. Do not go here if you are on any kind of schedule. Dinner took two hours total and there were only two of us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 12, 2017

I had never been to La Fontana and was so glad that we tried it! Everything was delicious! Of course we tried each other's entrees! I went with 2 girlfriends! I want to go back with my husband!

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 10, 2017

This authentic neighborhood Italian restaurant is a real gem! The restaurant is located in the courtyard of a beautiful brick building. Dine outside next to the bubbling fountain and it'll fill more like you're in Europe than modern Seattle. I definitely recommend!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 7, 2017

The waitress was very pleasant and welcoming. Great service and great ambient. Enjoyed very much my three color sauces with homemade pasta. Owner (I presumed) was quiet and politely pleasant. He kept the place/outdoor fountains area clean as well.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 24, 2017

We love La Fontana! Great food, excellent service and ambiance. Will definitely be going back soon!

Tags: Historic, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 19, 2017

April and staff were great and food was delicious.

Tags: Modern Decor, Casual, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 16, 2017

very good experience here overall-- amazing food, very helpful and friendly staff, cozy and romantic

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Price vs quality was fair

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 9, 2017

La Fontana has a warm, cozy, rustic, authentic old Italian house atmosphere. The dining space is intimate, with small number of tables divided by two rooms. The ambiance can depend on who is sharing the space. Large tables with louder people can make the noise level pretty high, otherwise it's pretty quiet. If you want quiet, you may want to ask if there are large parties expected at the time of your reservation - or ask to be seated in the front room away from the noise. The owner is always there, very friendly, talking to everyone. The menu varies, and my favorite entrees are the big flavor, rich dishes with cheese sauce or port reductions. I always have a nice experience with delicious food and a good wine selection. Our favorite server is not longer there, and though our most recent server was nice and good - the staff seemed a little short and I didn't get the level of attention I usually get.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Cozy, Good for a Date, Authentic, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Last minute decision to come here. What an absolute delight! Warm hospitality and incredible authentic rustic cuisine. We lapped up all our pasta sauces with the wonderful bread! We didn't have room for dessert but I am sure we would have loved it! The outdoor fountain before the restaurant makes for lovely pictures too.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Quick Bite, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 9, 2017

The service, food & setting is absolutely amazing. There is a courtyard for dining in the Summer months. We'll be sure to make it back to enjoy it. A word of warning, order 2 cannolis for dessert. They are wayyyyyy to good to share 😀. I had a lamb dish that was out of this world & my wife a chicken marsala dish that we are still talking about.
Just go there, you'll be glad you did!!!

Tags: Tapas, Casual, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 7, 2017

This place is sure one of your most amazing italian food. All hand rolled an cooked fresh. What a delicouse place to be. An even the court yard they have is beautiful.

Tags: Historic, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 1, 2017

La Fontana is not a typical Seattle restaurant. You will not find the usual line up of a pork chop, a steak or two, a duck breast, and some fish -- canted in the way of the restaurant in question. The food is authentically Sicilian. Veal, lamb, chicken with beautiful fresh sauces. Plenty of pasta of various shapes and sizes. Excellent fresh and creative salads and antipasti. No it isn't cheap, but it is quiet and pleasant. The service may vary, but it is never bad.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Great food as usual. Excellent service. Exquisite special lasagna with cream sauce on this visit.

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 30, 2017

This has been a favorite of ours for years! A little gem tucked away, just like many European restaurants, off a courtyard with a delightful fountain in the center which allows for seating seating in the summer. The inside is private and small with a separate room for larger groups and a nice intimate bar at the front. The food is always fresh and tasty. We have celebrated New Years, Anniversaries and lunch date with friends here and it all works!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Afternoon Coffee, Authentic, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 30, 2017

I thoroughly enjoyed the cozy atmosphere, good wine, great service and will go again. I had chosen this place for my female friends and they were not disappointed.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Good food & great service. Unfortunate that outside parking is inhabited with transients who are intimidating diners in the area & passerby's because of the marijuana dispensary across the street

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Good location in Belltown. Very welcoming environment. Warm and friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 26, 2017

The food in this restaurant was amazing. The wine list was large and the food was delicious. The imported olive oil was the best I have ever tasted. The experience was wonderful.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Price was a little high for average Italian cuisine. Nice rustic atmosphere and decent service. Nothing special . Would not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Cozy Italian restaurant in Belltown with delicious food and
warm, friendly service. They have a nice wine selection too.
My husband had the Chicken Parmesan and I had the Spaghetti
alla Norma, both were excellent. We shared a Tiramisù for dessert
which was also delicious. This was our second dining experience
at this restaurant and we will return again.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 22, 2017

We meet often for a family dinner evening and explore many Seattle restaurants. This past week La Fontana Siciliana was our choice. Excellent choice.

The setting is unique off a small courtyard down a few steps. You are certainly removed from the outside street life. Quite, cozy, comfortable, a little unique atmosphere.
Service was very attentive and knowledgeable about the wines and the menu.
Everyone enjoyed the Bruschetta, their entrees and wine. We also shared a couple desserts including a very good tiramisu.
We would all recommend to friends and family as a bit of a hidden jewel.
I am sure we will be returning to La Fontana Siciliana, sooner than later.

Cheers,

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Cozy, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Amazing food and good service as always. They weren't playing their normal Italian piano music at first, which ruined the ambiance a little, but still worth going to

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 18, 2017

This place is a jewel. The food is wonderful, the service is excellent, the ambience is inviting. We have been here before and will be back!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 16, 2017

I had been wanting to try this restaurant for a while. We had the place to ourselves for a mid-week lunch, which was a shame because the food was yummy (had cream of spinach soup and spaghetti with eggplant sauce). The latter was not spicy as these sauces sometimes are. The ambiance is great, too. It is an old space, not at all modern, which was very relaxing. I will definitely go again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Historic, Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Great food, awesome service! The ambiance is intimate, quiet. I came here with a group of friends for dinner. Everyone was pleased with their meals.

Tags: Private Room, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Great food but it was freezing in the restaurant maybe the heat was turned off

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 6, 2017

The food was pretty good, but expect small portions. However, if you have a groupon they are very shady in how they deal with it and end up charging you more than expected. Our bill was changed after we put the groupon on it and $30 was added and they said it was originally added up wrong. The owner also asked if we were sure we wanted to use it, which was very weird.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 4, 2017

I had forgotten how good this restaurant is! Food is wonderful as is the service. I can't wait for nice weather and the garden to open! Need to make this a regular dining spot.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Excellent food, wine and service. Expensive, but worth it.

Tags: Romantic, Fun, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Private Room, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.