About La Fontana Siciliana

120 Blanchard Street
Seattle, WA 98121
View Larger Map

La Fontana is an urban oasis amidst the hustle and bustle of Belltown. As you step into the courtyard you are drawn in by the bubbling fountain and the aroma of Sicilian cuisine in the air. La Fontana has been a fixture in Belltown for over a decade. Proprietor Mario Fuenzalida’s food philosophy of utilizing the freshest ingredients prepared to order ensures that every meal is a pleasurable and memorable experience. The wine list has been specially crafted as a showcase to the food; it features quality Sicilian and Italian wines that highlight the unique flavors of La Fontana’s menu.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Sicilian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Thursday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 441-1045

Website:
http://www.lafontanasiciliana.com/

Executive Chef:
Mario Fuenzalida

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Corkage Fee, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Tortellini Gorgonzola - La Fontana Siciliana, Seattle, WA
  • Risotto Di Mare - La Fontana Siciliana, Seattle, WA
  • Linguini With Clams, Mussels, And Scallops - La Fontana Siciliana, Seattle, WA
  • Lazagna - La Fontana Siciliana, Seattle, WA
  • Tiramisu - La Fontana Siciliana, Seattle, WA
  • Osso Bucco - La Fontana Siciliana, Seattle, WA
  • Beef Ravioli - La Fontana Siciliana, Seattle, WA
  • Veal Cannelloni - La Fontana Siciliana, Seattle, WA

Report a photo problem

Tortellini Gorgonzola - La Fontana Siciliana, Seattle, WA
Risotto Di Mare - La Fontana Siciliana, Seattle, WA
Linguini With Clams, Mussels, And Scallops - La Fontana Siciliana, Seattle, WA
Lazagna - La Fontana Siciliana, Seattle, WA
Tiramisu - La Fontana Siciliana, Seattle, WA
Osso Bucco - La Fontana Siciliana, Seattle, WA
Beef Ravioli - La Fontana Siciliana, Seattle, WA
Veal Cannelloni - La Fontana Siciliana, Seattle, WA

La Fontana Siciliana Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Cozy (9)
Authentic (8)
Quiet Conversation (7)
See All
Romantic (7)
Good for a Date (6)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Special Occasion (4)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Casual (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Historic (1)
Live Music (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Fun (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
439 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food is genuine Sicilian and it is great ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 3 days ago

Food is genuine Sicilian and it is great. Order the carrot soup if it's available. It's better than the squash soup. Rich creamy base with ground carrots, cheese and other mystery ingredients. It's out of this world. Not at all noisy; great for good conversation. Good standard desserts but order the sherbet - it's specially prepared and delightful. My favorite is lemon. And, if he's in, be sure to talk with Mario.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our third visit to LaFontana, a ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 7 days ago

This was our third visit to LaFontana, a hidden gem of a restaurant. Each time we've been very happy with the entire experience. This visit was to celebrate our anniversary and we decided that this is our new favorite restaurant to celebrate special occasions !!

The food is absolutely delicious each and every time we've gone. The mushroom risotto is one of the best dinners I've ever had. My husband had veal that he said was delicious too. When they realized it was our anniversary they brought us special liqueurs to enjoy with our desserts. The presentation is beautiful. Obviously they care very much and it shows!

We are already planning another visit in the spring and hopefully the weather will cooperate and we will be able to eat in the fabulous courtyard.

This restaurant isn't to be missed!!

Tags: Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I took my mom and her hus ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 7 days ago

My husband and I took my mom and her husband here for a birthday dinner before a show. It had been many years since we have been there, but they only proved to have made incredible improvements since we were last in!

The service was excellent - the perfect mix of personable and playful (it was a birthday after all), yet didn't skimp on formalities.

It's the same ambiance and vibe as it's always had, but the food blew us away! Apologies to the chef for saying this, but my memories of visits prior were "ok" and standard. However, we were pleasantly surprised and so impressed with our entrees (Linguini seafood special, Mushroom risotto, tortellini with meat sauce)... Alm of our dishes were amazing and delicious. Outstanding.

Appetizers and desert were good, but didn't give the same "wow" as the entrees.

I'm going to have to add this to our list of go-to restaurants for when we're craving Italian! This is definitely an "oldy but goody" that proves that it's only getting better with age.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great meal! Love this place. Good atmosp ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Great meal! Love this place. Good atmosphere. Will be coming back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food as always, and great mana ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Excellent food as always, and great management. Will be back soon....

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Lovely restaurant, our waitperson was at ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Lovely restaurant, our waitperson was attentive but not intrusive, music was the right level, patrons s bit noisy - but hey it was New Year's Eve! Overall, very nice, we'd go again - and my hubby is Italian!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Authentic Sicilian. Warm, cozy white tab ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Authentic Sicilian. Warm, cozy white table cloth atmosphere. Relatively quiet. Very good service. No cocktails but nice wine selections

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Awesome. Great night with real good food ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Awesome. Great night with real good food. Definitely will return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful intimate restaurant. Great men ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Wonderful intimate restaurant. Great menu. The food was fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We go to La Fontana Siciliana every time ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We go to La Fontana Siciliana every time we are in Seattle. We love visiting Mario and the food is always fantastic! I highly recommend you eat here!

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was quick but not rushed and the ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Service was quick but not rushed and the food was incredible. Mario recommended a wine pairing for my boyfriend's meal and it was perfect. It was quiet and cozy where we sat. We will definitely be back here again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Small, cozy with delicious food!!! After ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Small, cozy with delicious food!!! After returning from Italy this summer we felt like we are back in Italy again!

Tags: Live Music, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

La Fontana is one of my favorite restaur ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 18, 2016

La Fontana is one of my favorite restaurants in Seattle. It never disappoints. The wonderful imported olive oil, along with the aged balsalmic, makes perfect salads. The menu is authentically Sicilian.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was impeccable. The food was ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 18, 2016

The service was impeccable. The food was divine. To top it all off... A fabulous bottle of wine!!

Seriously, the wait staff were by enough to never need anything, but not enough to be a bother. The food was of a caliber you don't get in other restaurants. The marsala reduction was amazing to say the least. Dessert was a cannoli with white chocolate and ricotta cheese filling... OMG, I could have died happy right then!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

From the minute you walk in the door you ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 17, 2016

From the minute you walk in the door you are met with a friendly atmosphere by staff. We were promptly brought water, something I appreciate a lot, and the staff could not have been nicer. The owner greeted us when we came in and left. The food was superb, and everything was timed perfectly. I can't wait to go back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

What a great hidden away spot in Belltow ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 16, 2016

What a great hidden away spot in Belltown. Lunch was very good and I will definately return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Everything was great; no complaints. Res ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Everything was great; no complaints. Restuarantbwas not busy which was nice because I could actually hear my date.

Tags: Historic, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely atmosphere, fantastic good, great ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Lovely atmosphere, fantastic good, great service. I plan to go again!

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing food and atmosphere! We loved th ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Amazing food and atmosphere! We loved the food, the service and the feel of the place. The live piano player was a plus!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

What a lovely gem to find in downtown Se ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 4, 2016

What a lovely gem to find in downtown Seattle. The maitre'd (owner?) was very kind and showed us to our table. The service was excellent and the ambiance quiet and lovely. The place is fairly small which contributed to the cozy feel. I had the mushroom linguine which was awesome - even the left overs!

Definitely recommend it and will return during our next trip to SEA.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of my favorite places, so cozy and g ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 30, 2016

One of my favorite places, so cozy and great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Nice and cozy and the food is good

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Nice and cozy and the food is good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We love this place! This was only our se ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 23, 2016

We love this place! This was only our second time and the servers remembered us from a week prior! Great service and the food is fabulous!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Cozy and intimate setting. I got the spe ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Cozy and intimate setting. I got the special Pumpkin Ravioli with butter sage sauce and it was truly amazing. The bread and oil was great too as well as the house Pinot Noir.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fair in every way. Not a second time res ...

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Fair in every way. Not a second time restaurant. We had a late reservation and the service reflected that.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

The food and service here, is always gre ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 12, 2016

The food and service here, is always great and we appreciate their hospitality.

Thank you .

J

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Lovely food in a location that feels lik ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Lovely food in a location that feels like a secret neighborhood find. The kitchen accomodated a severe food allergy with grace and efficiency. Nice wine list with correct and good vintages.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was quite good, but not spectacular ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Food was quite good, but not spectacular. Service was very good, however, and everything felt very authentic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great location and interior, but service ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Great location and interior, but service was erratic and slow. Food was under seasoned, bread was stale, and the whole meal was ludicrously overpriced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2

The service was slow and the food was po ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 1, 2016

The service was slow and the food was poor to mediocre. The lasagna tasted like the sauce was made from canned cream of tomato soup but it was pink. No presentation of the dishes to make them look appetizing, which matched with the taste of the entrees. Risotto Marsala was a little better than the lasagna but not close to being comparable to others I've had from restaurants in the area. Very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

We had a great meal! Everything we had w ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 24, 2016

We had a great meal! Everything we had was great! We will be going back soon.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exquisitely charming! April and Mario a ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Exquisitely charming! April and Mario are always lovingly attentive.

Tags: Vegan, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find, Healthy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The mushroom risotto was fabulous!. We w ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 18, 2016

The mushroom risotto was fabulous!. We will definitely be back to try other dishes. The perfect date night spot for dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lovely setting liked being in front room ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Lovely setting liked being in front room by bar other room lighting was to bright for me

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Great food. Waitress was very helpful. ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Great food. Waitress was very helpful.

We were on a group trip and were very happy with the experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

The best Italian dining experience in th ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 16, 2016

The best Italian dining experience in the city.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, dining at La Fontana Sicilian ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 15, 2016

As always, dining at La Fontana Siciliana was a pleasure for the food and ambience. The staff are wonderful and it is a very pleasant spot, whether indoors or outside, to spend an evening.

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Food was very salty . very dissapointed. ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Food was very salty . very dissapointed. I paid over $70. I've always wanted to go so I was pretty dissapointed . thanks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

OMG, simply the best. Food is amazing an ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 4, 2016

OMG, simply the best. Food is amazing and I love the outside court with the water fountain. You are transported to a small European resturant instantly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very romantic, with the fountain and fo ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Very romantic, with the fountain and foliage everywhere. Great food too. Loved it!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.