Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

About La Fontana Siciliana

La Fontana is an urban oasis amidst the hustle and bustle of Belltown. As you step into the courtyard you are drawn in by the bubbling fountain and the aroma of Sicilian cuisine in the air. La Fontana has been a fixture in Belltown for over a decade. Proprietor Mario Fuenzalida’s food philosophy of utilizing the freshest ingredients prepared to order ensures that every meal is a pleasurable and memorable experience. The wine list has been specially crafted as a showcase to the food; it features quality Sicilian and Italian wines that highlight the unique flavors of La Fontana’s menu.

120 Blanchard Street
Seattle, WA 98121
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Sicilian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Thursday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 441-1045

Website:
http://www.lafontanasiciliana.com/

Executive Chef:
Mario Fuenzalida

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Corkage Fee, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

La Fontana Siciliana Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Quiet

94% would recommend it to a friend

Authentic (32)
Romantic (28)
Great for Outdoor Dining (25)
See All
Good for a Date (25)
Neighborhood Gem (23)
Special Occasion (22)
Good for Anniversaries (19)
Cozy (19)
Quiet Conversation (18)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Comfort Food (10)
Notable Wine List (10)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Worth the Drive (9)
Business Meals (8)
Casual (8)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Good for Groups (6)
Fun (5)
Local Ingredients (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Seasonal (2)
Spicy (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Tapas (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
555 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 3 days ago

Noise level was horrible. They need to work on fixing that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Outstanding as usual! Our favorite Italian in Seattle!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined 3 days ago

Went based on the recommendation of a friend. A quiet cut little place tucked away. The food and service were excellent. Highly recommend this little restaurant for a quiet dinner.

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 18, 2017

Charming, romantic tucked away Italian restaurant that would fit in perfectly to a side street in one of NYC's villages. Chef easily makes adjustments for food allergies and gluten-free. Service paced nicely for a relaxed meal. You'll want to savor the experience! We hope to return many times.

Tags: Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Romantic, Comfort Food, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Gluten Free Options, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 17, 2017

The food just wasn't that good for how much it was.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

 
·Dined on September 13, 2017

This place is romantic and was great for my girlfriend and I. We sat outside and it was very intimate. We could talk and smile at each other. It was an overall great night! Thank you.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 11, 2017

Delicious Italian food in a cute courtyard setting. Staff was very friendly and quick. Tiramisu for desert was delicious as well!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Fantastic! A hidden gem in Seattle. The food and wine were wonderful and the setting is a beautiful surprise.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 8, 2017

I have come here 3 times and always enjoyed it. The food was excellent the service could have come to the table sooner but nothing too bad. I was loud because I was at one of the outside courtyard tables and the city was extra loud. Despite the noise outside is a great place to eat and enjoy your meal.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 8, 2017

We had a wonderful meal at this restaurant. The food was very authentic--we had been to Sicily a couple of years ago and the pasta con sarde was just like the dish I enjoyed tonite. The service provided by Adam was professional and the outdoor terrace setting was magical. I highly recommend this wonderful hidden gem.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Good experience. Jordan was an excellent waiter, knowledgeable and willing to share his thoughts of menu. Clams in light white wine sauce was tasty but a bit salty. Lasagna was tasty also albeit a bit soupy...could not appreciate the layers of lasagna because too much sauce. Pasta of the lasagna was soft, not al dente. Lemon sorbet was tasty and refreshing with great presentation in a frozen lemon!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 3, 2017

A quaint Italian/Sicillian restraunt! We love to eat here.
In the nice months there is outside eating with a fountain!

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 31, 2017

What a treasure! I'm so glad I found this space, and hope to be back much more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 31, 2017

My date and I had a wonderful time eating out on the patio. We couldn't decide on our second round of wine so the waiter brought us a sampler. Food and ambiance were great. Highly recommend.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 26, 2017

We love this place, especially when the weather is nice and outdoor seating is available by the fountain. Food is always tasty, wine list is good and reasonably priced, and service is smooth. This restaurant feels like you're stopping by to visit an old-fashioned neighbor -- warm, comfortable and familiar.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Had a great date night here. The food and the service were tremendous! We will definitely be back, absolutely delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 25, 2017

The service was extremely slow even though the place was not busy. The menu looked exciting but my daughter's chicken Marsalis was too sweet a day they used the same sauce on my lamb. I will not be attempting this place again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 21, 2017

Came here with my mom, her boyfriend & my new husband (married 1 week)! The food is excellent with perfect flavor & portions! Hubby & I have been here twice before & as much as I wanted my usual Mushroom Risotto, I opted for the Tortellini Gorgonzola & hubby got Vitello alla Salvia & both were better than anything we have had before. We were also excited for the tiramisu but unfortunately they sold out from the night before. That made us very sad as it's the best tiramisu we have ever had. Will be back for that meal again very soon!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 16, 2017

Great food however service was noticeably slow. Was about 20 min before we were told about food specials and only given bread until after our food already came. Other than that the food was great.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

 
·Dined on August 16, 2017

We went for dinner to celebrate our anniversary. Menu had plenty of variety and the specials were very tantalizing too. I had to do appetizer, salad, entree AND dessert because there were so many things that sounded delicious and I wanted to try And none of them disappointed. My husband and I traded bites of each so we could try as many flavors. Everything was wonderful. We sat outside in the courtyard where the bubbling fountain took the edge off of any street noise. My one recommendation would be more comfortable chairs outside instead of the plastic stackables. We didn't care to linger partly because the chairs were uncomfortable.

Tags: Authentic, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

Excellent food and atmosphere. Very nice staff.
Perfect for a nice night out or special occasion.

Tags: Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 9, 2017

Food portions were ridiculously small especially considering the price.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 31, 2017

This is one of my favorite restaurants in Seattle. I love the great outdoor seating in the summer by the fountain and the cozy, intimate interior in the colder months. The food is great--that aged balsamic vinegar and great olive oil makes every salad and dipping sauce a treasure. Maybe a tad overpriced but it is an excellent experience.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

So cute! Food was excellent, service was great & the atmosphere was so pleasant.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Excellent food. Waiter a little pushy against changes to authentic Sicilian style food. Plastic chairs very unauthentic

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Our visit began with an older gentleman, who we believe is the owner, not addressing us in any way, other than to repeat our name. He seated us without a word or greeting...not even a polite smile or acknowledgment. No “Hello,” “Good evening,” NOTHING. We had noted on the reservation that it was our 21st anniversary. That went unrecognized as well.

The young, female server came after waiting quite a while. She was quiet, no niceties were exchanged once again, not even an “enjoy your evening” or “how are you tonight?” We ordered, and getting our 2 glasses of wine took another 10-15 minutes. We were never offered a second glass or anything else.

We waited quite a while for the bruschetta appetizer, then waited even longer for the entrée. We were not in a rush, but had the service been better, the waiting wouldn’t have been so bad. Our entrees, both veal scallopine, were delicious, but the side dishes of potatoes and snap peas were very, very meager. It was actually not enough food, especially for the price ($28-30/each) although it was delicious. Our empty plates and empty wine glasses sat before us on the table for a long time before they were removed. The restaurant was not particularly busy. The service was inefficient.

Finally another gentleman came and cleared our plates. We ordered a shared dessert and espresso. The “homemade” tiramisu was the worst we’ve ever had. There were simply no nice touches; nothing to make the experience special, except for the pretty courtyard.

As we paid, no one said “Thank you,” or “enjoy the rest of your evening.” NOTHING. We left stunned and disappointed. This was the first time we’ve left less than a 20% tip. I sincerely wish we could have given this restaurant and experience a better review, but the disappointment after waiting a few years to be able to go to La Fontana on our actual anniversary date and relive our engagement in Italy years ago was a bitter pill. We won’t be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

 
·Dined on July 26, 2017

Amazing place. Have been coming here for a few years for our anniversary. The food is amazing. Their sauces they make are the most incredible thing you will have.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 25, 2017

Loved the food. Waitress and ushers were professional and thorough.
Highly recommend any pasta dish with their marinara..it is to die for.
Need either pesto or possible garlic, basil and olive oil dip for their breads. But very satisfied with the visit.
The only bad thing about my visit was with it's location. It's located in the heart of Seattle and you get bothered by plenty of homeless people trying to get money from you for helping park the car and tips. Parking is very expensive during the weekdays as well.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Spicy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Great ambiance, we dined in the garden, it was a beautiful evening. Salad with fresh baby mozzarella was excellent. I had the veal marsala (not a lot of places serve veal in Seattle. Thank you Mario!) Pounded thin ans tender, the sauce was prefect. Limoncello flan for dessert and an espresso was the perfect topper. Excellent meal in a beautiful venue.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 22, 2017

This place is a gem! The courtyard is wonderful for conversations with friends. I recommend the rissoto with a glass of Sicilian white!

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Casual, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 21, 2017

I took a picture of pretty courtyard seating area as we were walking back to our AirBnB. We then stopped to have a beer at another place and the bartender said La Fontana was a great place to eat. I booked a table for that evening and so glad we did. Great atmosphere, food, and desserts!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Gloucestershire)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Found this restaurant on Trip Advisor. It was the last evening of our trip to Seattle from the UK. What a great restaurant - good food and friendly staff. A lovely way to finish a great vacation.

Tags: Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Upon arriving we were the only party in the dining room which made me a little nervous (5:30 PM). However my concerns were put to rest with the service that was received. Hostess, order taker and owner visited our table to make sure that everything was perfect. The two different dinner meals that were consumed were very tasty. The peach salad, other than dessert was probably close to the best of all. However, it comes in second compared to the Italian flan. It was lemoncello based with a drizzle of sweetened and thickened Amaretto. Cost is higher than I normally pay, but it was worth the price.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Excellent "real" Italian meals with some of the best Italian desserts outside of Italy!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Very good authentic style Italian food, outdoor courtyard was nice, attentive servers, intimate setting, beer and wine only very small beer selection

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 13, 2017

La Fontana Siciliana was recommended by an acquaintance and billed as a "hidden treasure." The description couldn't be more perfect. Well attended yet easy to secure a reservation, it is a genuine but unheralded find. The courtyard seating was absolutely perfect - filled yet quiet from table to table. The service was superb. And the food . . . I'm not certain I've ever heard more oooohs and aaaaahs coming from five diners ever. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Mario is an incredible host. My friends and I had a great time sitting in the courtyard. Well curated wine list and beautiful fresh food.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic, Cozy, Good for a Date, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 5, 2017

We live in the neighborhood and asked Mario to serve us and friends a dinner of his choice plus wine. Could not have been better. Such a treat to not have to order from the menu! You won't be disappointed.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Amazing food and beautiful courtyard. The eggplant appetizer was wonderful as was my tortellini!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Daughter and granddaughter ate there prior to our cruise and recommended to us for post cruise. We took our family of eight. If was wonderful. Service was great too.

Tags: Comfort Food, Late-night Find, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Tapas, Spicy, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Casual, Fun, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.