Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

About La Fontana Siciliana

La Fontana is an urban oasis amidst the hustle and bustle of Belltown. As you step into the courtyard you are drawn in by the bubbling fountain and the aroma of Sicilian cuisine in the air. La Fontana has been a fixture in Belltown for over a decade. Proprietor Mario Fuenzalida’s food philosophy of utilizing the freshest ingredients prepared to order ensures that every meal is a pleasurable and memorable experience. The wine list has been specially crafted as a showcase to the food; it features quality Sicilian and Italian wines that highlight the unique flavors of La Fontana’s menu.

120 Blanchard Street
Seattle, WA 98121
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Sicilian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Thursday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 441-1045

Website:
http://www.lafontanasiciliana.com/

Executive Chef:
Mario Fuenzalida

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Corkage Fee, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

La Fontana Siciliana Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (30)
Good for a Date (28)
Authentic (27)
See All
Cozy (21)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Special Occasion (17)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Notable Wine List (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Historic (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Private Room (5)
Casual (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Worth the Drive (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
Live Music (2)
Fun (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Tapas (1)
Business Meals (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
476 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 2 days ago

Good location in Belltown. Very welcoming environment. Warm and friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 4 days ago

The food in this restaurant was amazing. The wine list was large and the food was delicious. The imported olive oil was the best I have ever tasted. The experience was wonderful.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 4 days ago

Price was a little high for average Italian cuisine. Nice rustic atmosphere and decent service. Nothing special . Would not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Cozy Italian restaurant in Belltown with delicious food and
warm, friendly service. They have a nice wine selection too.
My husband had the Chicken Parmesan and I had the Spaghetti
alla Norma, both were excellent. We shared a Tiramisù for dessert
which was also delicious. This was our second dining experience
at this restaurant and we will return again.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 22, 2017

We meet often for a family dinner evening and explore many Seattle restaurants. This past week La Fontana Siciliana was our choice. Excellent choice.

The setting is unique off a small courtyard down a few steps. You are certainly removed from the outside street life. Quite, cozy, comfortable, a little unique atmosphere.
Service was very attentive and knowledgeable about the wines and the menu.
Everyone enjoyed the Bruschetta, their entrees and wine. We also shared a couple desserts including a very good tiramisu.
We would all recommend to friends and family as a bit of a hidden jewel.
I am sure we will be returning to La Fontana Siciliana, sooner than later.

Cheers,

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Cozy, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Amazing food and good service as always. They weren't playing their normal Italian piano music at first, which ruined the ambiance a little, but still worth going to

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 18, 2017

This place is a jewel. The food is wonderful, the service is excellent, the ambience is inviting. We have been here before and will be back!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 16, 2017

I had been wanting to try this restaurant for a while. We had the place to ourselves for a mid-week lunch, which was a shame because the food was yummy (had cream of spinach soup and spaghetti with eggplant sauce). The latter was not spicy as these sauces sometimes are. The ambiance is great, too. It is an old space, not at all modern, which was very relaxing. I will definitely go again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Historic, Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Great food, awesome service! The ambiance is intimate, quiet. I came here with a group of friends for dinner. Everyone was pleased with their meals.

Tags: Private Room, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Great food but it was freezing in the restaurant maybe the heat was turned off

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 6, 2017

The food was pretty good, but expect small portions. However, if you have a groupon they are very shady in how they deal with it and end up charging you more than expected. Our bill was changed after we put the groupon on it and $30 was added and they said it was originally added up wrong. The owner also asked if we were sure we wanted to use it, which was very weird.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 4, 2017

I had forgotten how good this restaurant is! Food is wonderful as is the service. I can't wait for nice weather and the garden to open! Need to make this a regular dining spot.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Excellent food, wine and service. Expensive, but worth it.

Tags: Romantic, Fun, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Private Room, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 26, 2017

I cannot say enough things about this place! We had a craving for risotto and was not disappointed! I will definitely be back for the Risotto ai Funghi & the Risotto Primavera was pretty good. The calamari wasn't what we were expecting, but it still had excellent flavor and the texture was fresh and not chewy. Our waitress recommended the Ferrari Carano for a buttery Chardonnay. It was a little pricey, but a great choice. The Tiramisu is the best I've ever had! We ordered a 2nd piece!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 25, 2017

The spinach eggplant appetizer was nice. The wines by the glass were very limited, and the list provided no names of the wines. House Chardonnay - one option, no name. The linguini with fungi was salty and not very sophisticated for $25. It was just a brown sauce with common mushrooms sprinkled with dry parsley on top. We were not offered any Parmesan. The music alternated between opera and metal/rock - very strange.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 23, 2017

My wife and I were just here last week for Valentine's Day and were so impressed we recommended it to our friends as a great place to meet up with them. We all had a delightful experience, just as we expected we would.

Mario waited on us this time. He was very warm and welcoming, and when he found out we were return customers he thanked us wholeheartedly.

I finally talked myself into trying something besides the veal marsala, which is what I had ordered every previous time we'd been there. I ended up having the pasta special, which featured spicy sausage in a tangy tomato sauce. It was very tasty. Our guests had risotto, which they loved. I guess I'll have to try that someday.

The house Malbec went very nicely with my pasta. My wife prefers the house Merlot. We've had great luck with all the house wine here.

As always the atmosphere was quiet and intimate. It's easy to have a nice, low-volume conversation.

The servers at La Fontana have somehow figured out how to consistently strike that delicate balance between neglectful and intrusive. They always seem to be there exactly when you want them.

Be sure to give La Fontana Siciliana a try. Oh, and don't forget to have a cannoli for dessert! They're très yummy!

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Authentic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 20, 2017

We were visiting from Vancouver Island, and were looking for a good Italian restaurant. After scouring the web, we found this delightful Sicilian-Italian restaurant with a most pleasing atmosphere and very attentive staff who made sure that our needs were taken care of from our arrival to departure. We shared an appetizer of bruschetta, which was prepared with just a hint of basil and the olive oil did not soak the bread as often happens. For our entree, my partner enjoyed the mouth watering Vitello Marsala, and I was pleased with the Vitello alla Salvia. Each were flavourful and the accompanying vegetables were cooked to perfection. We followed it up with a lemon custard dessert. Overall, we would highly recommend this restaurant!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Great place. Love the food and the environment. Totally worth it.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 16, 2017

I loved the ambiance and the service, plus the ability to hear what my husband was saying. My special of chicken braised ina cream sauce and topped with prosiutto was very tasty. My husband had one of the many risottos and enjoyed the large amount of seafood in it. I was a bit disappointed in the bread. Only had a good beer so can't comment on the wine.

Overall, thought we might bring our family group back to enjoy the quiet private room and good food.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Historic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 15, 2017

When I first started going to La Fontana in 2009 I felt the food to be nice simple Italian food. They weren't reinventing the wheel which gave customers a classic selection of dished. 8 years later I returned to find chef boyardee had taken over. The seafood risotto (aka white rice with red sauce) was thick with red sauce that tasted exactly the same as meat tortellini dish. The sauces were flavorless and couldn't even finish the dishes without feeling like I just ate something out of a can or a pasta from Dominos. We had an Orange caprese salad that came out to $17 which was $7 more than similar starters. The best part was the waitress forgot to ring in our order and tried to serve us the food from a table that came 20 minutes after us who finished their meals by the time we received ours. She blamed it on the kitchen which is BS. She just forgot to ring it in. I've worked front of the house for 6 years of my life and it's obvious when someone messes up. She offered nothing in exchange for her mistake. When the bill came I had a chuckle. It was $130 and I left her $25 for tip. Anyway, I felt like I was on set for National Lampoon's European Vacation. Im sure you remember the scene where they're at the French restaurant talking about how amazing French food is when they flash to the kitchen as a chef throughs in a Stouffer's frozen dish into a microwave. Do yourself a favor and book your next Italian dinner @ The Pink Door or make pasta at home. You can do a better job. I really hated writing this, but in a City with amazing food, this place is surviving off nostalgia.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 15, 2017

My wife and I have been here on numerous special occasions and we have never been less than thrilled with the experience. From start to finish this establishment is as classy as they come.

We are always greeted warmly and cheerfully when we arrive, and if we have reservations we never need to wait to be seated. The service here is consistently extremely friendly and efficient. The servers don't hover by any means, but seem to have an instinct for knowing exactly how often to check on us.

The atmosphere at La Fontana is très romantic. The dining area consists of several small rooms, each containing a small number of tables. You feel as if you're in a much smaller restaurant than you actually are. The décor is genuinely tasteful and upscale, not kitschy like you might find in some other Italian restaurants. The noise level is very low, allowing nice quiet conversation. If you're looking for someplace to go on a first date, or a fortieth anniversary dinner, or any other special occasion, you've hit the jackpot.

Last, but far from least, the food here is absolutely to die for. La Fontana has a wide selection of delicious pasta dishes, as well as many beef, chicken and veal choices. Try the veal marsala; it's my personal favorite! The wine list is also impressive. Oh, and be sure to leave room for dessert. You'll definitely want to indulge in a scrumptious cannoli!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Romantic, Special Occasion, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Cute place. Quiet and warm.

Food was meh. Especially for the price. We spent $70 per person for a meal that even at Spinasse, Cafe Lago or Il Corvo would have cost. And I think all those places are a few notches above this on the food quality.

The "house wine" was a supermarket-grade generic wine selling for $40. I saw the same exact wine at supermarket for $9.50. So 4x markup seems excessive, especially for house wine.

Summary: Go for the cute warm house, quiet atmosphere. Don't expect much from the food. Expect to pay mid-high prices.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 12, 2017

My favorite Italian restaurant in Seattle. Even better when the weather is warmer and the outdoor dining area is available.
Great food.
If you are going to the Crocodile for a show, I recommend dinner here beforehand. It's a very short walk.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I celebrated Valentine's Day with my girlfriend. We both agree the food is excellent. The service at the front could have been better, but when we sat down our waiter was very good providing customer service. The vibe of the place feels like a traditional vintage Italian restaurant. The pricing is reasonable. Overall I enjoyed the experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Historic, Outstanding Value, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Been going there for 20 years. It's authentic, family owned, and reasonably priced for the food quality and service you receive. We love La Fontana!

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great ambiance. Friendly Staff. Great food. A great place to have a romantic date night that does not feel rushed. Would definitely dine here again as well as recommend to friends and family visiting Seattle.

Tags: Casual, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 12, 2017

When you walk in, you feel you traveled back to Italy. The restaurant reminded me of my Italian grandmother- the food as well, which was so delightful. Excellent food, from the soups and starters, to our mains. We had reservations at RN74, but at the last minute, read this place was excellent, and it was!! Make reservations, and enjoy the delicious pastas and sauces- we had the meat ravioli, funghi risotto and salmon w linguine- all amazing!!! Very friendly server and owner is a sweetheart! Can't wait to return!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 7, 2017

I can't really give a full review because despite the fact that we made a reservation that was confirmed, they were completely closed when we got there. I did not receive any email or phone call notification of this & therefore had to make other plans very quickly. Not impressed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 2, 2017

A favorite of mine, especially in the summer when you can dine al fresco. The food is authentic Sicilian, well presented, and delicious. It's a little costy, running in the upper $20-30 range, but worth it for those who don't care or those who want something a little special.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 30, 2017

My wife and I both enjoyed the scallops special. The flavor was excellent and the atmosphere was cozy and felt very authentic. Don't miss the tiramisu, made on site. It was fabulous.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 29, 2017

It's always wonderful-especially for a date-very romantic.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Live Music, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 28, 2017

This was the third visit for us, the first being in 2007, the next 2014 and now early 2017. Food most decidedly had worsened. It was very bland and unremarkable. Our first meal there 10 years ago was memorable for the attentive and very knowleable waiter and delicious food. Something major has changed. We won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 24, 2017

We love this restaurant! It really is a hidden gem in Belltown. Authentic, romantic, and great food! It should not be overlooked.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Service was So so, and the food was luke warm upon arrival. I ordered chianti and they supposedly didn't have it, (at an Italian restaurant?) And then they miraculously found it after I ordered another glass of wine...that was weird and unnecessary. Overall, not a great experience and not very tasty food. It probably would have been better had it been hot. But that being said, the overall experience was just not great. Ambiance is cozy and fun, live piano music.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Food is genuine Sicilian and it is great. Order the carrot soup if it's available. It's better than the squash soup. Rich creamy base with ground carrots, cheese and other mystery ingredients. It's out of this world. Not at all noisy; great for good conversation. Good standard desserts but order the sherbet - it's specially prepared and delightful. My favorite is lemon. And, if he's in, be sure to talk with Mario.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 14, 2017

This was our third visit to LaFontana, a hidden gem of a restaurant. Each time we've been very happy with the entire experience. This visit was to celebrate our anniversary and we decided that this is our new favorite restaurant to celebrate special occasions !!
The food is absolutely delicious each and every time we've gone. The mushroom risotto is one of the best dinners I've ever had. My husband had veal that he said was delicious too. When they realized it was our anniversary they brought us special liqueurs to enjoy with our desserts. The presentation is beautiful. Obviously they care very much and it shows!
We are already planning another visit in the spring and hopefully the weather will cooperate and we will be able to eat in the fabulous courtyard.
This restaurant isn't to be missed!!

Tags: Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 14, 2017

My husband and I took my mom and her husband here for a birthday dinner before a show. It had been many years since we have been there, but they only proved to have made incredible improvements since we were last in!

The service was excellent - the perfect mix of personable and playful (it was a birthday after all), yet didn't skimp on formalities.

It's the same ambiance and vibe as it's always had, but the food blew us away! Apologies to the chef for saying this, but my memories of visits prior were "ok" and standard. However, we were pleasantly surprised and so impressed with our entrees (Linguini seafood special, Mushroom risotto, tortellini with meat sauce)... Alm of our dishes were amazing and delicious. Outstanding.

Appetizers and desert were good, but didn't give the same "wow" as the entrees.

I'm going to have to add this to our list of go-to restaurants for when we're craving Italian! This is definitely an "oldy but goody" that proves that it's only getting better with age.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Great meal! Love this place. Good atmosphere. Will be coming back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Excellent food as always, and great management. Will be back soon....

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Lovely restaurant, our waitperson was attentive but not intrusive, music was the right level, patrons s bit noisy - but hey it was New Year's Eve! Overall, very nice, we'd go again - and my hubby is Italian!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.