About La Fontana Siciliana

120 Blanchard Street
Seattle, WA 98121
View Larger Map

La Fontana is an urban oasis amidst the hustle and bustle of Belltown. As you step into the courtyard you are drawn in by the bubbling fountain and the aroma of Sicilian cuisine in the air. La Fontana has been a fixture in Belltown for over a decade. Proprietor Mario Fuenzalida’s food philosophy of utilizing the freshest ingredients prepared to order ensures that every meal is a pleasurable and memorable experience. The wine list has been specially crafted as a showcase to the food; it features quality Sicilian and Italian wines that highlight the unique flavors of La Fontana’s menu.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Sicilian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Thursday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 441-1045

Website:
http://www.lafontanasiciliana.com/

Executive Chef:
Mario Fuenzalida

Additional:
Beer, Gluten-free Menu, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Tortellini Gorgonzola
  • Risotto Di Mare
  • Linguini With Clams, Mussels, And Scallops
  • Lazagna
  • Tiramisu
  • Osso Bucco
  • Beef Ravioli
  • Veal Cannelloni
Tortellini Gorgonzola
Risotto Di Mare
Linguini With Clams, Mussels, And Scallops
Lazagna
Tiramisu
Osso Bucco
Beef Ravioli
Veal Cannelloni

La Fontana Siciliana Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Seattle
Italian
Seattle
Best Restaurants in Belltown / Pike Place Market ›

Romantic (34)
Neighborhood Gem (29)
Special Occasion (26)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (26)
Fit for Foodies (19)
Notable Wine List (15)
Good for Groups (4)
Late-night Find (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Scenic View (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Great for Lunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
389 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My party enjoyed the outdoor dining area ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined 6 days ago

My party enjoyed the outdoor dining area, however the fact that it is on a busy street makes it noisy. We were seated next to a family with small children which wasn't so great since we were celebrating a special occasion with adults. There were lots of flying insects, which was to be expected since it was outdoors, but one of our party had a large bug fly into his wine. When he told the server, she brought a clean glass, but no more wine!! The risotto prima vera was delicious, as was the tiramisu. The remainder of the dishes we ordered were just "OK".

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Red sauce was amazing. Pasta done right ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined 6 days ago

Red sauce was amazing. Pasta done right and desserts were scrumptious!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cool atmosphere. Street noise can be ann ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Cool atmosphere. Street noise can be annoying, but overall it was a great place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Excellent food. Great service. I would h ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Excellent food. Great service. I would highly recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We loved everything about our service an ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

We loved everything about our service and food. Mario treated us with excellence!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Never have I been disappointed with a bo ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Never have I been disappointed with a bottle of wine or a meal at La Fomtana. It's always on this list for friends visiting Seattle.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food tastes like it was frozen. The gril ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Food tastes like it was frozen. The grill needs to be cleaned, could taste weird char flavor (not good).

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

I was super excited for this place. I h ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

I was super excited for this place. I had high hopes of a nice eggplant dish, or a simple pasta. But I have strict dietary needs, so there was only one thing on the menu that I could have. Turns out I had that same thing the night before. I went with a simple caesar salad as it fit dietary needs more than the other items. The salad was artfully arranged and the items I requested on the side were. But a Caesar salad is a Caesar salad, it's hard to mess up and it's hard to make amazing. My family likes the dishes they had. Some kinda of pasta with Gorgonzola and a pasta special with prawns.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Very pleasant experience. Outside dining ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Very pleasant experience. Outside dining. Very kind servers. Great food.

Tags: Romantic, Late-night Find, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I took my fiancé for a birthday dinner. ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

I took my fiancé for a birthday dinner. The food and the atmosphere was amazing. Our server was very professional and kind. We loved our experience

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An absolutely lovely spot. Fabulous ser ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

An absolutely lovely spot. Fabulous service, perfect portion sizes -- we'll definitely be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous experience in a great outdoor a ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Fabulous experience in a great outdoor atmosphere that felt European.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our dining experience was excellent. Apr ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Our dining experience was excellent. April was our server and knowledgable about specials and gave me a great recommendation for a wine to pair with the mushroom risotto (which was out of this world). We sat on the patio which has a nice ambiance with flowers and fountain. My only recommendation would be they should consider upgrading the outdoor tables and chairs . We shared the tiramisu which was also delicious!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

La Fontana Siciliana is a cozy restauran ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

La Fontana Siciliana is a cozy restaurant in Belltown with a well shaded outdoor dining area. The pasta, gorganzola sauce, and seafood were all wonderfully prepared and excellent tasting. There was a wide variety of house wines and the lime tart I had for dessert was outstanding. Our server Mario took good care of us. The only negative was that they had some issues with fruit flies and having to swat at them every so often took away from the experience.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This place is absolutely adorable, servi ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

This place is absolutely adorable, service was great, and the food! Incredible. Highly recommend the mushroom risotto and the tiramisu. I warn you-- the dessert menu is a plate full of the dessert options brought to your table, so you can't really say no after seeing it all.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing is all I can say. A great place ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Amazing is all I can say. A great place for an authentic Italian meal.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Good atmosphere but overall I felt the r ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Good atmosphere but overall I felt the restaurant is a little too proud of itself. The waitress was impatient with us (and we were one of only two tables in the place). My meal was average for what I was expecting.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Felt like home. April, our waitress made ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Felt like home. April, our waitress made the evening. We had alot of fun and the food was delicious.

Can't wait till our next trip to eat there.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We came from Massachusetts to Seattle, i ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

We came from Massachusetts to Seattle, in part to celebrate my birthday with relatives. La Fontana Siciliana is in Belltown, the neighborhood where we were staying, just a couple of blocks from our hotel. I was able to make a reservation at the last minute on the Sunday night of the July 4th weekend, and was overjoyed to be seated in a beautiful, flower-filled courtyard set back on a residential street, away from the hustle and bustle. Everyone in our party thought the food was great, and the service matched it. A big thumbs up!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love this restaurant and the owner is ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

I love this restaurant and the owner is as hospitable as ever. I have never had a bad meal or even a mediocre meal. Everything is always high quality and each plate is prepared individually. The ambiance in the front part of the restaurant is quite romantic as is the the outside near the fountain. Viva la Sicily!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

La Fontana Siciliana is a venerable Seat ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

La Fontana Siciliana is a venerable Seattle restaurant I should have visited years ago! The ambiance was cozy really did remind me of Italy. The food was delicious and there was a nice variety of choices. I particularly enjoyed the orang caprese salad ( an nice twist on the traditional tomato version. I look forward to my next visit when I hope the weather permits us to dine outdoors!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

always predictably good. Never disappoi ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

always predictably good. Never disappointing. one of my favorites for close friends and out of town guests.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

La Fontana is exquisite! The charm of Si ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

La Fontana is exquisite! The charm of Sicily, the relaxed atmosphere and exceptional food and wine made for a perfectly beautiful evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Authentic food. Reminded me of family re ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Authentic food. Reminded me of family recipes cooked in my great grandmother's kitchen. Quaint dining rooms with character and soft ambience. Knowledgable and friendly wait staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

This was an excellent family owned tradi ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

This was an excellent family owned traditional Italian restaurant. Friendly take charge owner overseeing great food and service. Great for conversations.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent authentic Italian food (and we ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Excellent authentic Italian food (and we have been to Italy) and good quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Our seoond visit this year with friends. ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Our seoond visit this year with friends. LOVE the warm welcome and personal attention by the proprietor. Wait staff terrific. This is AUTHENTIC, I mean REAL, Italian. The house wine Montepulciano is good.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Loved everything about this neighborhood ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Loved everything about this neighborhood gem!!!!👍

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Overall pasta was tasty and portions fin ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Overall pasta was tasty and portions fine- but owner not very friendly and lack of kid menu (they both had to order 20$ meals). Veal was meh and small-wine menu vague for anything by the glass.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Delicious Italian

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

I love this place and their delicious food. I got the Gorgonzola tortellini and it was FANTASTIC. I've only ever gotten vegetarian pasta dishes and they've been spot on each time I'm in. And then the tiramisu for dessert was a heavenly experience all on its own. I would go back for the tiramisu alone.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love this place! The ambience is won ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

We love this place! The ambience is wonderful and the food is delicious. The service was a little slow tonight but only because they were so swamped. Also a good wine list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Consistently wonderful

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

The servers are charming.

The restaurant is adorable

The food is really good.

I love bringing new people here

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Anniversary Dinner

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

Since it was our 30th wedding anniversary, we decided to splurge on a beautiful trip to Seattle. Our dinner at La Fontana Siciliana was delicious. The ambience was quaint and romantic. We were waited on by the owner and hostess who made it a perfect evening. I decided on the tortellini gorgonzola and my husband requested the pollo Marsala. Both were delicious. The pollo Marsala was the best I have ever tasted. It was a special evening!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Worder full atmosphere. Great food.

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

The owner and wait staff were very friendly. Great food. Will be back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love it!

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

I absolutely enjoy La Fontana. Great Belltown location, great atmosphere. authentic sicilian fare. A perfect place for a quiet delicious meal - hard to find that in Seattle.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were so impressed with ourfirst exper ...

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

We were so impressed with ourfirst experience a year ago during oyr first trip to Seattle, we just had to re-experience the same quality, service, and ambience whoch was delivered a second time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had the yummiest spinach soup and spaghe ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

Had the yummiest spinach soup and spaghetti. Good options for vegetarians. Had a nice dessert selection too. More on the expensive side for the portion size.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Wow! Absolutely fantastic Italian food! ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Wow! Absolutely fantastic Italian food! We arrived as a group of 6 to this small family-owned restaurant in an old house. The ambiance is classy and quaint, with friendly servers. The food was served promptly, and was absolutely fantastic. I had the bruschetta and prawn fettuccine with spicy marinara - outstanding flavours and very fresh pasta. The cannoli was also amazing! Everyone else also loved their meals. There was a good wine selection, and we were happy with the bottle we got (the house sauvignon blanc). The only hiccup came with the bill - we ordered a $40 bottle of wine but were charged $50 because the waiter came out with a 1L bottle instead of 750mL (without asking us). This was quickly corrected by the owner, and he was very gracious about it. Overall, a very nice experience on our trip to Seattle!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Great spot to get a full multiple course ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Great spot to get a full multiple course Italian meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We both ordered the nightly special, and ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

We both ordered the nightly special, and it was fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.