About La Fontana Siciliana

120 Blanchard Street
Seattle, WA 98121
View Larger Map

La Fontana is an urban oasis amidst the hustle and bustle of Belltown. As you step into the courtyard you are drawn in by the bubbling fountain and the aroma of Sicilian cuisine in the air. La Fontana has been a fixture in Belltown for over a decade. Proprietor Mario Fuenzalida’s food philosophy of utilizing the freshest ingredients prepared to order ensures that every meal is a pleasurable and memorable experience. The wine list has been specially crafted as a showcase to the food; it features quality Sicilian and Italian wines that highlight the unique flavors of La Fontana’s menu.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Sicilian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Thursday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 441-1045

Website:
http://www.lafontanasiciliana.com/

Executive Chef:
Mario Fuenzalida

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Beer, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

La Fontana Siciliana Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

romantic (30)
special occasion (25)
neighborhood gem (23)
See All
fit for foodies (18)
notable wine list (13)
good for groups (7)
great for outdoor dining (5)
kid-friendly (5)
late-night find (4)
great for lunch (3)
great for brunch (1)
hot spot (1)
Sort By:
Newest
353 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

We were so impressed with ourfirst exper ...

Dined 4 days ago

We were so impressed with ourfirst experience a year ago during oyr first trip to Seattle, we just had to re-experience the same quality, service, and ambience whoch was delivered a second time.

food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Had the yummiest spinach soup and spaghe ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

Had the yummiest spinach soup and spaghetti. Good options for vegetarians. Had a nice dessert selection too. More on the expensive side for the portion size.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great spot to get a full multiple course ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Great spot to get a full multiple course Italian meal.

food5
ambience3
service4

We both ordered the nightly special, and ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

We both ordered the nightly special, and it was fantastic!

food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Perfect place for a romantic dinner!

Dined on May 1, 2016

We had an eggplant appetizer, a salad, lamb and a vegetarian risotto. The food was excellent! The service was great and we loved the ambiance.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

La Fontana

Dined on April 24, 2016

I don't live in Seattle but anytime I visit I try to come to La Fontana. The service is excellent but what I really come for is the cheese ravioli in the tomato mascarpone sauce. It's amazing. The desserts are also really good. I totally went off my diet and it was worth every single bite.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed

Dined on April 24, 2016

Really good ambiance and great place to chat over a great meal

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Charming Sicilian bistro

Dined on April 17, 2016

Delicious food from the old country. We will definitely come back.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

La Fontana is an all time favorite hidden gem.

Dined on April 16, 2016

I love La Fontana for special occasions, as well as no occasion dining. Always amazing food, authentic rustic Italian vibe, with fantastic staff and service. It's a hidden gem, tucked away, and private.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Lovely

Dined on April 9, 2016

Very nice ambiance with excellent service. My husband and I shared risotto and halibut entrees and server was very accommodating with our "family style" dinners. Would recommend to anyone who would like to get away from the fray in Seattle.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Not good.

vip
Dined on April 3, 2016

Our server wasn't friendly and was REALLY slow and didn't care. The risotto was soupy and didn't taste like risotto, the pasta and wine average. Pretty quiet for Italian, (if you like Terrazzo Carmine or Spinasse, for example). Almost a creepy vibe, but maybe it was just our server. Won't go back ever, because the food just isn't very good.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Italian Delight

Dined on April 3, 2016

We have eaten at La Fontana many times now and it is one of our favorite restaurants. Food and service is excellent!! I would recommend this to anyone who has a love for authentic Italian food!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Elegant

Dined on March 31, 2016

My evening at La Fontana Siciliana was truely awesome. The restaurant was very quiet on the wednesday night i went only two other couples there. My girlfriend and i enjoyed the food and atmosphere immensly. I especially suggest the garlic bread! It was nice and quiet, and very relaxing. I felt very welcomed despite being a minor. All in all a great expirience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Always take advantage of and enjoy the d ...

vip
Dined on March 20, 2016

Always take advantage of and enjoy the daily specials.

food2
ambience3
service1
value1

This place was absolutely awful. The ser ...

Dined on March 11, 2016

This place was absolutely awful. The service was poor, the food was bland, and the food + wine were severely overpriced (not expensive, but certainly not worth the cost). I suspect that they stay in business purely based on the location.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A favorite spot!

Dined on February 21, 2016

What an incredibly romantic place with ambiance, tradition, and simple elegance. Food is incredible!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Bon Appétit

Dined on February 21, 2016

Service was very warm, friendly and attentive. Ambiance was comfortable, romantic and had a authentic nod to Italy. They even had live piano which really set the mood. The food was outstandingly delicious! You could tell they made the fresh handmade pasta in house. They had a great selection of appetizers and salads with fresh produce. They bring the desserts to your table for you to see and choose, which I actually prefered to the dinner menu. For a small fee you can split the salads and entrees, which is what we ended up doing. Fantastic meal and we will be back... Thank You!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Authentic with great service!!

Dined on February 21, 2016

We would eat a this restaurant every night if we could afford to!! We don't have a complaint and have had great food and service every time we have gone!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

The atmosphere is what is so quaint abou ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

The atmosphere is what is so quaint about this place. The service is great, the food was ok, I wanted something a little more unique, but it was good none the less.

food5
ambience5
service5

Romantic and outstanding food paired wit ...

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

Romantic and outstanding food paired with excellent services

food5
ambience5
service5

We had an excellent experience, and plan ...

vip
Dined on February 10, 2016

We had an excellent experience, and plan to return soon with friends!

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

we loved the food!

Dined on February 6, 2016

the service and food were all outstanding - theme from The Godfather played 3 times, but maybe we sipped our wine for a little too long. A fun night!

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Dinner

Dined on February 1, 2016

Wonderful location just north of Pikes Place but out of the crowds. Service was impeccable. Food was great. Prosciutto wrapped fig appetizer was delicious. Entrees were very good as well. Very nice Sicilian house red wine. Overall very nice experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service3

The food was excellent, and came out pre ...

Dined on January 16, 2016

The food was excellent, and came out pretty fast. We only had to wait 2 mins to be seated. Our server seemed very busy with credit cards so I understand his lack of attention. Waited 10 mins to get a wine glass refilled so I went to the kitchen and got it myself. He put that on the house to make up for it I suppose. Overall it was great and would surely go again.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is my favorite restaurant in seattle.

Dined on January 14, 2016

This is my favorite restaurant in Seattle. Love the people here, they are amazing and always make you feel like you are at their home. Food very traditional.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Good but not great

Dined on January 10, 2016

We were a little disappointed. The food was good but fairly basic and we were expecting better considering the price. We just got back from a week in Sicily so maybe our expectations were out of line. My wife's pasta alla Norma was basically spaghetti with some decent red sauce but no visible eggplant or basil leaves. My Vitello al Marsala lacked pizzaz, it was ok and served with about 10 little steamed snap peas and a few pieces of unseasoned roasted potatoes for $29.98. Two appetizers, two glasses of wine, two dishes and two dessert was $140 plus tip. A glass of unremarkable house red wine was $10.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Loved this place

Dined on January 10, 2016

When you find the restaurant you have a beautiful welcome with lights and a fountain. The prices are steep but so worth it. The wine was fantastic and the whole atmosphere was very romantic and a sweet spot to wind down and enjoy time with your loved one. Definitely will be coming back for a romantic dinner again sometime! Oh and their pasta is to die for!!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All in all, a great night

Dined on January 6, 2016

La Fontana Siciliana has become my "go to" restaurant for meeting friends for dinner in Seattle. I've dined here several times and have yet to be disappointed. The ambiance is cozy, like dining at a friend's house. The wait staff have been wonderfully accommodating and very friendly. As for the food, the only word I can think of is delicious. Doesn't matter if its a regular menu item or a special... Delicious. Highly recommended, and even though I was just there on 1/5, I'm already looking forward to my next visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience2
service1

Service was poor!!! Was not told about e ...

Dined on January 1, 2016

Service was poor!!! Was not told about evening specials, house salads. Had to request to be told what the other two tables around us were told.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A gem!

Dined on January 1, 2016

Went in for New Years Eve dinner and was very pleased with the food. Mario was excellent at tending to our every need. We will definitely make this one of our regular spots.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Amazing food!

vip
Dined on January 1, 2016

For new years even, was one of the very few places with a regular menu and we loved it. Their tomato sauce is to die for, and their eggplant 'Melenzana' is fantastic (mouth watering just thinking about it). Their service is very attentive as well, despite a very busy night. Thank you for a great new years eve dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food, service and atmosphere. ...

Dined on January 1, 2016

Excellent food, service and atmosphere. Very romantic for a great dinner for two.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice romantic restaurant!

Dined on January 1, 2016

This is a fabulous place, the food & service was top notch, we will defiantly go back again.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great! We loved this place. Celebrated a ...

Dined on January 1, 2016

Great! We loved this place. Celebrated a birthday here-everybody loved it.

food5
ambience5
service4

Fantastic meal. Took my Italian mother t ...

Dined on December 25, 2015

Fantastic meal. Took my Italian mother to dinner and she fell in love. One of the best wine selections in Seattle!

food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food - specials and regular me ...

Dined on December 20, 2015

Excellent food - specials and regular menu items were superb. Perfect spot for a romantic evening or pre-theatre dinner.

food5
ambience5
service5

A hidden gem!

Dined on December 14, 2015

My husband and I have been searching for a great authentic little Italian restaurant that we could call "our place" and this is it! I took him for his birthday and he loved it. The red sauce is to die for, the ambiance, the music, the wine - we can't wait to return!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service3

Go Back for more Great Italian

Dined on December 13, 2015

My wife and I have eaten here many times over the years. It is our "go to" Italian. The specials are always interesting and very tasty, pasta is fresh, sauces are close to homemade. The sauteed calamari appetizer, one of the best (not fried!!).

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5

Lovely little neighborhood bistro

Dined on December 1, 2015

Walking in feels like you're in Europe. The food is really good, the waitstaff are attentive but not overbearing, and the house pinot grigio is the best I've ever had. Very Italian, very quaint, very lovely.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4

Homemade Italian

Dined on November 28, 2015

We went to La Fontana on Friday (Black Friday) it was very quiet, only 2 other groups dining. The waiter said that normally the restaurant is busy. Our food was very good and my friends said they would definitely go back. The value was excellent. We all thought that it would be a super fun place to eat if it was a little busier.

Tags: neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.