About La Fontana Siciliana

120 Blanchard Street
Seattle, WA 98121
View Larger Map

La Fontana is an urban oasis amidst the hustle and bustle of Belltown. As you step into the courtyard you are drawn in by the bubbling fountain and the aroma of Sicilian cuisine in the air. La Fontana has been a fixture in Belltown for over a decade. Proprietor Mario Fuenzalida’s food philosophy of utilizing the freshest ingredients prepared to order ensures that every meal is a pleasurable and memorable experience. The wine list has been specially crafted as a showcase to the food; it features quality Sicilian and Italian wines that highlight the unique flavors of La Fontana’s menu.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Sicilian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Thursday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 441-1045

Website:
http://www.lafontanasiciliana.com/

Executive Chef:
Mario Fuenzalida

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Beer, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

  • Tortellini Gorgonzola
  • Risotto Di Mare
  • Linguini With Clams, Mussels, And Scallops
  • Lazagna
  • Tiramisu
  • Osso Bucco
  • Beef Ravioli
  • Veal Cannelloni
Tortellini Gorgonzola
Risotto Di Mare
Linguini With Clams, Mussels, And Scallops
Lazagna
Tiramisu
Osso Bucco
Beef Ravioli
Veal Cannelloni

La Fontana Siciliana Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

romantic (30)
neighborhood gem (26)
special occasion (25)
See All
fit for foodies (19)
notable wine list (18)
great for outdoor dining (15)
good for groups (7)
great for lunch (4)
kid-friendly (3)
late-night find (2)
great for brunch (2)
hot spot (2)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
377 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Our dining experience was excellent. Apr ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined 4 days ago

Our dining experience was excellent. April was our server and knowledgable about specials and gave me a great recommendation for a wine to pair with the mushroom risotto (which was out of this world). We sat on the patio which has a nice ambiance with flowers and fountain. My only recommendation would be they should consider upgrading the outdoor tables and chairs . We shared the tiramisu which was also delicious!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

La Fontana Siciliana is a cozy restauran ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

La Fontana Siciliana is a cozy restaurant in Belltown with a well shaded outdoor dining area. The pasta, gorganzola sauce, and seafood were all wonderfully prepared and excellent tasting. There was a wide variety of house wines and the lime tart I had for dessert was outstanding. Our server Mario took good care of us. The only negative was that they had some issues with fruit flies and having to swat at them every so often took away from the experience.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This place is absolutely adorable, servi ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

This place is absolutely adorable, service was great, and the food! Incredible. Highly recommend the mushroom risotto and the tiramisu. I warn you-- the dessert menu is a plate full of the dessert options brought to your table, so you can't really say no after seeing it all.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing is all I can say. A great place ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Amazing is all I can say. A great place for an authentic Italian meal.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Good atmosphere but overall I felt the r ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Good atmosphere but overall I felt the restaurant is a little too proud of itself. The waitress was impatient with us (and we were one of only two tables in the place). My meal was average for what I was expecting.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Felt like home. April, our waitress made ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Felt like home. April, our waitress made the evening. We had alot of fun and the food was delicious.

Can't wait till our next trip to eat there.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We came from Massachusetts to Seattle, i ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

We came from Massachusetts to Seattle, in part to celebrate my birthday with relatives. La Fontana Siciliana is in Belltown, the neighborhood where we were staying, just a couple of blocks from our hotel. I was able to make a reservation at the last minute on the Sunday night of the July 4th weekend, and was overjoyed to be seated in a beautiful, flower-filled courtyard set back on a residential street, away from the hustle and bustle. Everyone in our party thought the food was great, and the service matched it. A big thumbs up!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love this restaurant and the owner is ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

I love this restaurant and the owner is as hospitable as ever. I have never had a bad meal or even a mediocre meal. Everything is always high quality and each plate is prepared individually. The ambiance in the front part of the restaurant is quite romantic as is the the outside near the fountain. Viva la Sicily!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

La Fontana Siciliana is a venerable Seat ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

La Fontana Siciliana is a venerable Seattle restaurant I should have visited years ago! The ambiance was cozy really did remind me of Italy. The food was delicious and there was a nice variety of choices. I particularly enjoyed the orang caprese salad ( an nice twist on the traditional tomato version. I look forward to my next visit when I hope the weather permits us to dine outdoors!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

always predictably good. Never disappoi ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

always predictably good. Never disappointing. one of my favorites for close friends and out of town guests.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

La Fontana is exquisite! The charm of Si ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

La Fontana is exquisite! The charm of Sicily, the relaxed atmosphere and exceptional food and wine made for a perfectly beautiful evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Authentic food. Reminded me of family re ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Authentic food. Reminded me of family recipes cooked in my great grandmother's kitchen. Quaint dining rooms with character and soft ambience. Knowledgable and friendly wait staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

This was an excellent family owned tradi ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

This was an excellent family owned traditional Italian restaurant. Friendly take charge owner overseeing great food and service. Great for conversations.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent authentic Italian food (and we ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Excellent authentic Italian food (and we have been to Italy) and good quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Our seoond visit this year with friends. ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Our seoond visit this year with friends. LOVE the warm welcome and personal attention by the proprietor. Wait staff terrific. This is AUTHENTIC, I mean REAL, Italian. The house wine Montepulciano is good.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Loved everything about this neighborhood ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Loved everything about this neighborhood gem!!!!👍

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Overall pasta was tasty and portions fin ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Overall pasta was tasty and portions fine- but owner not very friendly and lack of kid menu (they both had to order 20$ meals). Veal was meh and small-wine menu vague for anything by the glass.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Delicious Italian

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

I love this place and their delicious food. I got the Gorgonzola tortellini and it was FANTASTIC. I've only ever gotten vegetarian pasta dishes and they've been spot on each time I'm in. And then the tiramisu for dessert was a heavenly experience all on its own. I would go back for the tiramisu alone.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love this place! The ambience is won ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

We love this place! The ambience is wonderful and the food is delicious. The service was a little slow tonight but only because they were so swamped. Also a good wine list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Consistently wonderful

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

The servers are charming.

The restaurant is adorable

The food is really good.

I love bringing new people here

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Anniversary Dinner

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

Since it was our 30th wedding anniversary, we decided to splurge on a beautiful trip to Seattle. Our dinner at La Fontana Siciliana was delicious. The ambience was quaint and romantic. We were waited on by the owner and hostess who made it a perfect evening. I decided on the tortellini gorgonzola and my husband requested the pollo Marsala. Both were delicious. The pollo Marsala was the best I have ever tasted. It was a special evening!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Worder full atmosphere. Great food.

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

The owner and wait staff were very friendly. Great food. Will be back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love it!

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

I absolutely enjoy La Fontana. Great Belltown location, great atmosphere. authentic sicilian fare. A perfect place for a quiet delicious meal - hard to find that in Seattle.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were so impressed with ourfirst exper ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

We were so impressed with ourfirst experience a year ago during oyr first trip to Seattle, we just had to re-experience the same quality, service, and ambience whoch was delivered a second time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had the yummiest spinach soup and spaghe ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

Had the yummiest spinach soup and spaghetti. Good options for vegetarians. Had a nice dessert selection too. More on the expensive side for the portion size.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Wow! Absolutely fantastic Italian food! ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Wow! Absolutely fantastic Italian food! We arrived as a group of 6 to this small family-owned restaurant in an old house. The ambiance is classy and quaint, with friendly servers. The food was served promptly, and was absolutely fantastic. I had the bruschetta and prawn fettuccine with spicy marinara - outstanding flavours and very fresh pasta. The cannoli was also amazing! Everyone else also loved their meals. There was a good wine selection, and we were happy with the bottle we got (the house sauvignon blanc). The only hiccup came with the bill - we ordered a $40 bottle of wine but were charged $50 because the waiter came out with a 1L bottle instead of 750mL (without asking us). This was quickly corrected by the owner, and he was very gracious about it. Overall, a very nice experience on our trip to Seattle!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Great spot to get a full multiple course ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Great spot to get a full multiple course Italian meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We both ordered the nightly special, and ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

We both ordered the nightly special, and it was fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Perfect place for a romantic dinner!

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

We had an eggplant appetizer, a salad, lamb and a vegetarian risotto. The food was excellent! The service was great and we loved the ambiance.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

La Fontana

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

I don't live in Seattle but anytime I visit I try to come to La Fontana. The service is excellent but what I really come for is the cheese ravioli in the tomato mascarpone sauce. It's amazing. The desserts are also really good. I totally went off my diet and it was worth every single bite.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

Really good ambiance and great place to chat over a great meal

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Charming Sicilian bistro

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

Delicious food from the old country. We will definitely come back.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

La Fontana is an all time favorite hidden gem.

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

I love La Fontana for special occasions, as well as no occasion dining. Always amazing food, authentic rustic Italian vibe, with fantastic staff and service. It's a hidden gem, tucked away, and private.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

Very nice ambiance with excellent service. My husband and I shared risotto and halibut entrees and server was very accommodating with our "family style" dinners. Would recommend to anyone who would like to get away from the fray in Seattle.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Not good.

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

Our server wasn't friendly and was REALLY slow and didn't care. The risotto was soupy and didn't taste like risotto, the pasta and wine average. Pretty quiet for Italian, (if you like Terrazzo Carmine or Spinasse, for example). Almost a creepy vibe, but maybe it was just our server. Won't go back ever, because the food just isn't very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Great Italian Delight

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

We have eaten at La Fontana many times now and it is one of our favorite restaurants. Food and service is excellent!! I would recommend this to anyone who has a love for authentic Italian food!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Elegant

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on March 31, 2016

My evening at La Fontana Siciliana was truely awesome. The restaurant was very quiet on the wednesday night i went only two other couples there. My girlfriend and i enjoyed the food and atmosphere immensly. I especially suggest the garlic bread! It was nice and quiet, and very relaxing. I felt very welcomed despite being a minor. All in all a great expirience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always take advantage of and enjoy the d ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

Always take advantage of and enjoy the daily specials.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

This place was absolutely awful. The ser ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on March 11, 2016

This place was absolutely awful. The service was poor, the food was bland, and the food + wine were severely overpriced (not expensive, but certainly not worth the cost). I suspect that they stay in business purely based on the location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

A favorite spot!

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

What an incredibly romantic place with ambiance, tradition, and simple elegance. Food is incredible!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.