About La Fontana Siciliana

La Fontana is an urban oasis amidst the hustle and bustle of Belltown. As you step into the courtyard you are drawn in by the bubbling fountain and the aroma of Sicilian cuisine in the air. La Fontana has been a fixture in Belltown for over a decade. Proprietor Mario Fuenzalida’s food philosophy of utilizing the freshest ingredients prepared to order ensures that every meal is a pleasurable and memorable experience. The wine list has been specially crafted as a showcase to the food; it features quality Sicilian and Italian wines that highlight the unique flavors of La Fontana’s menu.

120 Blanchard Street
Seattle, WA 98121
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Sicilian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Thursday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 441-1045

Website:
http://www.lafontanasiciliana.com/

Executive Chef:
Mario Fuenzalida

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Corkage Fee, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

La Fontana Siciliana Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (16)
Authentic (14)
Romantic (14)
See All
Cozy (12)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Special Occasion (9)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Historic (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Casual (3)
Worth the Drive (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Live Music (2)
Private Room (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Business Meals (1)
Fun (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Tapas (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
456 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great place. Love the food and the envir ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 4 days ago

Great place. Love the food and the environment. Totally worth it.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I loved the ambiance and the service, pl ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 4 days ago

I loved the ambiance and the service, plus the ability to hear what my husband was saying. My special of chicken braised ina cream sauce and topped with prosiutto was very tasty. My husband had one of the many risottos and enjoyed the large amount of seafood in it. I was a bit disappointed in the bread. Only had a good beer so can't comment on the wine.

Overall, thought we might bring our family group back to enjoy the quiet private room and good food.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Historic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

When I first started going to La Fontana ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 5 days ago

When I first started going to La Fontana in 2009 I felt the food to be nice simple Italian food. They weren't reinventing the wheel which gave customers a classic selection of dished. 8 years later I returned to find chef boyardee had taken over. The seafood risotto (aka white rice with red sauce) was thick with red sauce that tasted exactly the same as meat tortellini dish. The sauces were flavorless and couldn't even finish the dishes without feeling like I just ate something out of a can or a pasta from Dominos. We had an Orange caprese salad that came out to $17 which was $7 more than similar starters. The best part was the waitress forgot to ring in our order and tried to serve us the food from a table that came 20 minutes after us who finished their meals by the time we received ours. She blamed it on the kitchen which is BS. She just forgot to ring it in. I've worked front of the house for 6 years of my life and it's obvious when someone messes up. She offered nothing in exchange for her mistake. When the bill came I had a chuckle. It was $130 and I left her $25 for tip. Anyway, I felt like I was on set for National Lampoon's European Vacation. Im sure you remember the scene where they're at the French restaurant talking about how amazing French food is when they flash to the kitchen as a chef throughs in a Stouffer's frozen dish into a microwave. Do yourself a favor and book your next Italian dinner @ The Pink Door or make pasta at home. You can do a better job. I really hated writing this, but in a City with amazing food, this place is surviving off nostalgia.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

My wife and I have been here on numerous ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 5 days ago

My wife and I have been here on numerous special occasions and we have never been less than thrilled with the experience. From start to finish this establishment is as classy as they come.

We are always greeted warmly and cheerfully when we arrive, and if we have reservations we never need to wait to be seated. The service here is consistently extremely friendly and efficient. The servers don't hover by any means, but seem to have an instinct for knowing exactly how often to check on us.

The atmosphere at La Fontana is très romantic. The dining area consists of several small rooms, each containing a small number of tables. You feel as if you're in a much smaller restaurant than you actually are. The décor is genuinely tasteful and upscale, not kitschy like you might find in some other Italian restaurants. The noise level is very low, allowing nice quiet conversation. If you're looking for someplace to go on a first date, or a fortieth anniversary dinner, or any other special occasion, you've hit the jackpot.

Last, but far from least, the food here is absolutely to die for. La Fontana has a wide selection of delicious pasta dishes, as well as many beef, chicken and veal choices. Try the veal marsala; it's my personal favorite! The wine list is also impressive. Oh, and be sure to leave room for dessert. You'll definitely want to indulge in a scrumptious cannoli!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Romantic, Special Occasion, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cute place. Quiet and warm. Food was m ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined 7 days ago

Cute place. Quiet and warm.

Food was meh. Especially for the price. We spent $70 per person for a meal that even at Spinasse, Cafe Lago or Il Corvo would have cost. And I think all those places are a few notches above this on the food quality.

The "house wine" was a supermarket-grade generic wine selling for $40. I saw the same exact wine at supermarket for $9.50. So 4x markup seems excessive, especially for house wine.

Summary: Go for the cute warm house, quiet atmosphere. Don't expect much from the food. Expect to pay mid-high prices.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

My favorite Italian restaurant in Seattl ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 12, 2017

My favorite Italian restaurant in Seattle. Even better when the weather is warmer and the outdoor dining area is available.

Great food.

If you are going to the Crocodile for a show, I recommend dinner here beforehand. It's a very short walk.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I celebrated Valentine's Day with my gir ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I celebrated Valentine's Day with my girlfriend. We both agree the food is excellent. The service at the front could have been better, but when we sat down our waiter was very good providing customer service. The vibe of the place feels like a traditional vintage Italian restaurant. The pricing is reasonable. Overall I enjoyed the experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Historic, , Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Been going there for 20 years. It's auth ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Been going there for 20 years. It's authentic, family owned, and reasonably priced for the food quality and service you receive. We love La Fontana!

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

When you walk in, you feel you traveled ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 12, 2017

When you walk in, you feel you traveled back to Italy. The restaurant reminded me of my Italian grandmother- the food as well, which was so delightful. Excellent food, from the soups and starters, to our mains. We had reservations at RN74, but at the last minute, read this place was excellent, and it was!! Make reservations, and enjoy the delicious pastas and sauces- we had the meat ravioli, funghi risotto and salmon w linguine- all amazing!!! Very friendly server and owner is a sweetheart! Can't wait to return!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I can't really give a full review becaus ...

 
·Dined on February 7, 2017

I can't really give a full review because despite the fact that we made a reservation that was confirmed, they were completely closed when we got there. I did not receive any email or phone call notification of this & therefore had to make other plans very quickly. Not impressed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

A favorite of mine, especially in the su ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 2, 2017

A favorite of mine, especially in the summer when you can dine al fresco. The food is authentic Sicilian, well presented, and delicious. It's a little costy, running in the upper $20-30 range, but worth it for those who don't care or those who want something a little special.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

My wife and I both enjoyed the scallops ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 30, 2017

My wife and I both enjoyed the scallops special. The flavor was excellent and the atmosphere was cozy and felt very authentic. Don't miss the tiramisu, made on site. It was fabulous.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's always wonderful-especially for a d ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 29, 2017

It's always wonderful-especially for a date-very romantic.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Live Music, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was the third visit for us, the fir ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 28, 2017

This was the third visit for us, the first being in 2007, the next 2014 and now early 2017. Food most decidedly had worsened. It was very bland and unremarkable. Our first meal there 10 years ago was memorable for the attentive and very knowleable waiter and delicious food. Something major has changed. We won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

We love this restaurant! It really is a ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 24, 2017

We love this restaurant! It really is a hidden gem in Belltown. Authentic, romantic, and great food! It should not be overlooked.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was So so, and the food was luke ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Service was So so, and the food was luke warm upon arrival. I ordered chianti and they supposedly didn't have it, (at an Italian restaurant?) And then they miraculously found it after I ordered another glass of wine...that was weird and unnecessary. Overall, not a great experience and not very tasty food. It probably would have been better had it been hot. But that being said, the overall experience was just not great. Ambiance is cozy and fun, live piano music.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

Food is genuine Sicilian and it is great ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Food is genuine Sicilian and it is great. Order the carrot soup if it's available. It's better than the squash soup. Rich creamy base with ground carrots, cheese and other mystery ingredients. It's out of this world. Not at all noisy; great for good conversation. Good standard desserts but order the sherbet - it's specially prepared and delightful. My favorite is lemon. And, if he's in, be sure to talk with Mario.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our third visit to LaFontana, a ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 14, 2017

This was our third visit to LaFontana, a hidden gem of a restaurant. Each time we've been very happy with the entire experience. This visit was to celebrate our anniversary and we decided that this is our new favorite restaurant to celebrate special occasions !!

The food is absolutely delicious each and every time we've gone. The mushroom risotto is one of the best dinners I've ever had. My husband had veal that he said was delicious too. When they realized it was our anniversary they brought us special liqueurs to enjoy with our desserts. The presentation is beautiful. Obviously they care very much and it shows!

We are already planning another visit in the spring and hopefully the weather will cooperate and we will be able to eat in the fabulous courtyard.

This restaurant isn't to be missed!!

Tags: Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I took my mom and her hus ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 14, 2017

My husband and I took my mom and her husband here for a birthday dinner before a show. It had been many years since we have been there, but they only proved to have made incredible improvements since we were last in!

The service was excellent - the perfect mix of personable and playful (it was a birthday after all), yet didn't skimp on formalities.

It's the same ambiance and vibe as it's always had, but the food blew us away! Apologies to the chef for saying this, but my memories of visits prior were "ok" and standard. However, we were pleasantly surprised and so impressed with our entrees (Linguini seafood special, Mushroom risotto, tortellini with meat sauce)... Alm of our dishes were amazing and delicious. Outstanding.

Appetizers and desert were good, but didn't give the same "wow" as the entrees.

I'm going to have to add this to our list of go-to restaurants for when we're craving Italian! This is definitely an "oldy but goody" that proves that it's only getting better with age.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great meal! Love this place. Good atmosp ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Great meal! Love this place. Good atmosphere. Will be coming back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food as always, and great mana ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Excellent food as always, and great management. Will be back soon....

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Lovely restaurant, our waitperson was at ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Lovely restaurant, our waitperson was attentive but not intrusive, music was the right level, patrons s bit noisy - but hey it was New Year's Eve! Overall, very nice, we'd go again - and my hubby is Italian!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Authentic Sicilian. Warm, cozy white tab ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Authentic Sicilian. Warm, cozy white table cloth atmosphere. Relatively quiet. Very good service. No cocktails but nice wine selections

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Awesome. Great night with real good food ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Awesome. Great night with real good food. Definitely will return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful intimate restaurant. Great men ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Wonderful intimate restaurant. Great menu. The food was fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We go to La Fontana Siciliana every time ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We go to La Fontana Siciliana every time we are in Seattle. We love visiting Mario and the food is always fantastic! I highly recommend you eat here!

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was quick but not rushed and the ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Service was quick but not rushed and the food was incredible. Mario recommended a wine pairing for my boyfriend's meal and it was perfect. It was quiet and cozy where we sat. We will definitely be back here again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delightful small Sicilian restaurant. W ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Delightful small Sicilian restaurant. Wonderful servers and food. Great outdoor dining in the summer. my favorite spot in Belltown.

Tags: Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

La Fontana is one of my favorite restaur ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 18, 2016

La Fontana is one of my favorite restaurants in Seattle. It never disappoints. The wonderful imported olive oil, along with the aged balsalmic, makes perfect salads. The menu is authentically Sicilian.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Small, cozy with delicious food!!! After ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Small, cozy with delicious food!!! After returning from Italy this summer we felt like we are back in Italy again!

Tags: Live Music, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The service was impeccable. The food was ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 18, 2016

The service was impeccable. The food was divine. To top it all off... A fabulous bottle of wine!!

Seriously, the wait staff were by enough to never need anything, but not enough to be a bother. The food was of a caliber you don't get in other restaurants. The marsala reduction was amazing to say the least. Dessert was a cannoli with white chocolate and ricotta cheese filling... OMG, I could have died happy right then!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

From the minute you walk in the door you ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 17, 2016

From the minute you walk in the door you are met with a friendly atmosphere by staff. We were promptly brought water, something I appreciate a lot, and the staff could not have been nicer. The owner greeted us when we came in and left. The food was superb, and everything was timed perfectly. I can't wait to go back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

What a great hidden away spot in Belltow ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 16, 2016

What a great hidden away spot in Belltown. Lunch was very good and I will definately return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Everything was great; no complaints. Res ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Everything was great; no complaints. Restuarantbwas not busy which was nice because I could actually hear my date.

Tags: Historic, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely atmosphere, fantastic good, great ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Lovely atmosphere, fantastic good, great service. I plan to go again!

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing food and atmosphere! We loved th ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Amazing food and atmosphere! We loved the food, the service and the feel of the place. The live piano player was a plus!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

What a lovely gem to find in downtown Se ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 4, 2016

What a lovely gem to find in downtown Seattle. The maitre'd (owner?) was very kind and showed us to our table. The service was excellent and the ambiance quiet and lovely. The place is fairly small which contributed to the cozy feel. I had the mushroom linguine which was awesome - even the left overs!

Definitely recommend it and will return during our next trip to SEA.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of my favorite places, so cozy and g ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 30, 2016

One of my favorite places, so cozy and great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Nice and cozy and the food is good

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Nice and cozy and the food is good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We love this place! This was only our se ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 23, 2016

We love this place! This was only our second time and the servers remembered us from a week prior! Great service and the food is fabulous!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.